# Opposition Brief — IBP, Inc. v. Wilson

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_0743%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1997
- **Citation:** 522 U.S. 810

## Text

~ Supreme Court, U.S,

in FILED
AY

YUN I3 1997

No. 96-1813 _

fret ewe ow —

OFFICE OF IKE CLERH
In the yr reon ae

SUPREME COURT OF THE
UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

IBP, Inc. and Diane Arndt,
Petitioners,

V.

Kevin Wilson,
Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari
to the Supreme Court of Iowa

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

David L. Brown

Counsel of Record

218 6th Ave., 8th Floor
Des Moines, Iowa 50311
(515) 244-2141

Randall J. Shanks
409 West Broadway
Council Bluffs, Iowa 51503

Counsel for Respondent

i
Counter-Statement of Questions Presented

Whether the Supreme Court of Iowa
correctly applied BMW v. Gore, 134
L.Ed.2d 809 (1996), to fix punitive damages
at $2 million given the intentional threat of
physical harm to Respondent’s health and
safety from Petitioner’s conduct?

Whether Petitioners’ claim that receipt by
the State Civil Reparations Trust Fund of
a portion of the punitive damage award
under Iowa Code § 668A.1(2)(b) violates
due process is properly before the Court
when it was not raised in the State courts?

il
Parties Involved and Rule 29.6 Statement

Following the decision below, the Civil Reparations
Trust Fund was granted permission to intervene. (App. p.
47a) The Trust Fund is created pursuant to lowa Code §
668A. 1(2)(b) (1995) and is under the control of the Governor
and four other elected executive officers of the State of Iowa.
Iowa Code § 7D.1 (1995) Funds are disbursed only for
indigent civil litigation or insurance assistance programs.
Iowa Code § 668A.1(2)(b) (1995).

ill

Table of Contents

Se OE Auioiiee Vv
Statutory Provision es... ]
Statement ofthe Case..........00000022 2 2
Course of Proceedings Below......__- 2
Factual Background ............ 3
Reasons for Denying the Writ ...........0000 7

A. The Supreme Court of Iowa correctly
applied the settled law of BMW V.
oe ee 7

The degree of reprehensibility
Supports the decision below .......__- 9

Ratio alone is not
determinative............000 13

There are no Statutory

sanctions which can be

Compared to IBP’s

misconduct ................. | 15

The Gore concurrence supports
the decision below ............___ 16

The need for deterrence
Supports the decision below ......__. 18

iv

B. The Petition depends on resolution of
disputed issues of fact and application of
OE SU 18 Eee os 19

The decision below is consistent with |
other federal and state cases ........... 20

CO

D. IBP has not preserved error regarding
its claim of a Due Process violation
in Iowa’s statutory allocation of the
punitive damage award .............. 21

E. IBP has limited the remedy it seeks
in this Court to a determination of
whether summary reversal is
ee er 24

Rae oe rte ere A Pen ee ome ae” 27

Vv

Table of Authorities
Cases

Adams v. Robertson, 65 U.S.L.W.
Bisninih ison) ee ae ee 22, 23

Adler v. Board of Education,
342 U.S. 485, 496 ae en ey a 22

BMW of North America v. Gore,
134 L.Ed.2d 809 (| _——— 6, 8, 9, 13, 16, 18, 2]

Board of Directors of Rotary
International v. Rotary Club of
Duarte, 481 U.S. 537, 549-50 SE sk Oe wv Creeks 22

Burke v. Deere & Co., 780 F.Supp.
1225 (S.D. Iowa 1991), rev'd on
other grounds, 6 F.3d 497 (8th Cir. 1993) ...... 0. 24

Continental Trend Resources, Inc. v.

OXY U.S.A., Inc., 101 F.3d 634

(10th Cir. 1996), cert. denied

(Docket No. 96-1546, May 27, 1997) .. 8, 10, 11, 16, 19

Cooper v. Casey, 97 F.3d 914
I TIPO ire Sic, ak vase 2G 14

Eaton v. City of Tulsa,
i adh | 26

Fernandez v. Curley,
463 N.W.2d 5 (Iowa PO ire ced nhs ete 24

v1

Lee v. Edwards, 101
ee ae, rear a 14, 15

Raley v. Ohio, 360
ee ee, EID. Gon ss nes es RO SS eee ous 22

Schweiker v. Hauser,
a arene eee arr 26

Spaur v. Owens-Corning
Fiberglas Corp., 510 N.W.2d

es a 5 wo « 6d wee Ales Cae le ee 23
Street v. New York,

ee I aw go wh @ aa Gee @ Rea mes 22
Yee v. City of Escondido,

nS eo ads book wo wi oie be ede tears 22, 20
Statutes

Le Ee ee. >| re ee er ere oar 1]
Iowa Code § 668A.1(1)(a) (1995) ................ 8

Supreme Court Rules

OE Wg 66, 6:0 tc ce sso eee eee aed 7

Supreme Court Rule 14(g)f1) . 0... cee 21

_ ee ee total stn'’

ee ee ene ee

No. 96-1813
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

IBP, Inc. and Diane Arndt,
Petitioners,

V.

Kevin Wilson,
Respondent,

On Petition for Writ of Certiorar;
to the Supreme Court of Iowa

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Respondent Kevin Wilson (hereinafter "Wilson")
respectfully opposes the Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of Iowa.

Statutory Provision Involved

Iowa Code § 668A. 1 (1995) Punitive or exemplary
damages

1. In a trial of a claim involving the request for
punitive or exemplary damages, the court shall instruct the
jury to answer special interrogatories or, if there is no jury,
shall make findings, indicating all of the following:

2

a. Whether, by a preponderance of clear,
convincing, and satisfactory evidence, the conduct of the
defendant from which the claim arose constituted willful and
wanton disregard for the rights or safety of another.

b. Whether the conduct of the defendant was
directed specifically at the claimant, or at the person from
which the claimant’s claim is derived.

2. An award for punitive or exemplary damages
shall not be made unless the answer or finding pursuant to
subsection 1, paragraph "a", is affirmative. If such answer or
finding is affirmative, the jury or court if there is no jury,
shall fix the amount of punitive or exemplary damages to be
awarded, and such damagers shall be ordered paid as follows:

a. If the answer or finding pursuant to subsection 1,
paragraph "b", is affirmative, the full amount of the punitive
or exemplary damages awarded shall be paid to the claimant.

b. If the answer or finding pursuant to subsection 1,
paragraph "b", is negative, after payment of all applicable
costs and fees, an amount not to exceed twenty-five percent
of the punitive or exemplary damages awarded may be
ordered paid to the claimant, with the remainder of the award
to be ordered paid into a civil reparations trust fund
administered by the state court administrator. Funds placed
in the civil reparations trust shall be under the control and
supervision of the executive council, and shall be disbursed
only for purposes of indigent civil litigation programs or
insurance assistance programs.

3. [This provision relating to discovery of
defendant’s wealth is omitted.]

Statement of the Case

Course of proceedings below

On May 27, 1997, IBP filed a notice of appeal to the

3

Supreme Court of Iowa from the entry of judgment in the
Iowa District Court for Pottawattamie County dated April 30,
1997. A copy of the notice of appeal from the judgment
entry is reprinted in the appendix to this brief in Opposition.

Factual Background

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 15(2), Wilson objects
to the factual summary presented by IBP.

The Supreme Court of lowa determined that IBP had
engaged in a course of willful and wanton conduct which
threatened the health and safety of Wilson. (Slip. Op. at
Petitioner’s Appendix p. 2la-22a) (hereinafter "App.") This
conduct was part of a larger practice of manipulating the
health care received by injured employees by using economic
pressure to force doctors to avoid expensive procedures and
high disability ratings, punishing employees who complained
about their treatment, and falsifying reports of injuries in
internal reporting and to the Occupational Health and Safety
Administration. (App. p. 21a-22a)

IBP, a self-insured employer under the Iowa Workers’
Compensation Acct, began its control over the treatment of
injured employees by selecting only those doctors who were
“ultra-conservative," meaning they would avoid surgery.
(App. p. 21a) Surgical procedures are expensive themselves
and often mean that the worker will be assigned a disability
rating which is compensable under the workers’
compensation system. (App. p. 21a)

After this selection process occurred, IBP would
pressure doctors to limit treatment costs by refusing to refer
new patients to doctors who did not prescribe inexpensive
treatment. Specifically, one of Wilson’s treating doctors, Dr.
Agarwal, lost all referrals because he was not conservative
enough in his treatment. He met with IBP and agreed to be
more conservative in exchange for future referrals. (Tr. pp.

4

70-74) Dr. Agarwal was ultimately fired by IBP for ordering
too many surgeries, but at the time he saw Wilson he was
still in the good graces of IBP. (Tr. pp. 73-76, 101)

Diane Arndt was the IBP employee who was
responsible for administering this workers’ compensation
program. Following his back injury, Wilson was sent to Dr.
Agarwal who initially prescribed only bed rest. (App. p. 2a)
After complaining about the lack of treatment, Wilson was
sent to Dr. Hamsa. (Tr. pp. 101, 25) Although Amdt
admitted at trial that she knew the injury was legitimate,
when she learned that Dr. Hamsa ordered Wilson off work
for two more weeks, her response was, "we'll see about that."
(App. p. 19a)

After Wilson’s condition failed to improve, Dr.
Hamsa ordered three more weeks of bed rest with the
understanding that without improvement, surgery would be
necessary. (App. p. 19a) It was at this time, the Supreme
Court of Iowa determined, that Arndt made good on her
promise and intervened to avoid this increased expenditure.
In a telephone conversation Arndt told Dr. Hamsa that IBP
had videotaped Wilson "working on his car and out doing
other activities without any apparent distress." (App. p. 19a)
Of course, no such tape existed', Arndt knew this, admitted
as much to her co-worker, Karen Beam, and intended with

' Although IBP refers to a video tape existing (Pet. p. 13, n. 4), this
is not a videotape showing what Amdt claimed. IBP denied during
discovery that any videotape existed. (Tr. 235-36, Ex. 13) About four
weeks before trial IBP produced a tape showing Wilson walking (which
was consistent with doctor’s orders), but not doing any strenuous activity.
(Ex. 17) There was no date imprinted on the tape or any report generated
to show when the videotape was made. (Tr. pp. 229-30) There was
sufficient evidence for the jury to conclude that IBP had fabricated this
videotape for the purpose of furthering the "cover-up." This conduct,
therefore, is certainly relevant to determining an appropriate sanction
through a punitive damage award.

5

her deception to stop Wilson from getting needed surgery.
The Supreme Court of Iowa expressly found that "Arndt
knew this was a lie" regarding her statement to Dr. Hamsa.
(App. p. 19a)

Karen Beam testified that Arndt asked her, after
Wilson had hired a lawyer, to help create a cover-up story
about confusing Wilson’s case with another where a
videotape existed. (App. at 20a-21a) Beam also warned
Amdt about the dangers of interfering with medical
treatment, but Arndt assured her that Dr. Hamsa would not
mention the conversation. (App. at 20a)

Arndt admitted at trial that her lie "assisted" a change
in Dr. Hamsa’s plan of treatment for Wilson. (App. p. 20a)
Dr. Hamsa confronted Wilson and accused him of lying. (Tr.
pp. 32, 41, 46) Dr. Hamsa thereafter advised against surgery,
ordered Wilson back to light duty, (Tr. pp. 91, 273, 276) and
refused to provide any further treatment for the back injury.
(Tr. pp. 36, 47, 287-88)

Wilson was ultimately treated by a neurosurgeon who
performed surgery to correct the ruptured disc and impinged
nerve condition. (Tr. pp. 35-38) Wilson settled his workers’
compensation claim and instituted the case at bar seeking
damages for breach of fiduciary duty and defamation.

At trial in the Iowa District Court IBP chose to
present no evidence in its defense. (Tr. p. 322) The jury
determined that IBP’s actions toward Wilson were not
isolated, but part of IBP’s program to reduce workers’
compensation costs. A "safety award system" had been
instituted whereby employees of divisions of IBP with low
injury statistics would receive gifts or cash bonuses. (App.
p. 20a) One way in which statistics were improved was to
require employees to punch in at work soon after being
disabled by an injury. (App. p. 20a-21a) Although the
employee would then return home to convalesce, these days
would not be counted as lost due to injury. Wilson, for

6

example, was ordered in to work only three days after
rupturing a disc in his back. (App. p. 21a) The Supreme
Court of Iowa found that IBP required other workers to
punch in on the same day as having surgery, (App. p. 21a) or
the day after having his finger amputated. (App. p. 21a)

This practice of falsifying records carried over to
illegally under reporting lost days-to OSHA and reporting
injuries incorrectly in internal documents so that they would
not have to be forwarded to OSHA under applicable
regulations. (App p. 21a)

IBP’s callous attitude toward its employees was
demonstrated by Arndt’s "openly low opinion of workers,
referring to them as ‘idiots’ and ‘jerks.” She made remarks
to doctors that other injured IBP workers were lying about
their injuries," (App. p. 20a) and told treating physicians that
"this guy’s full of shit." (App. p. 20a.)

One method to encourage employee submission to
IBP was to force those workers who complained about
treatment decisions to work unpleasant light duty jobs
including watching gauges in the rendering plant (where
animal parts are boiled to produce byproducts). (App. p.
22a) The monotony of the work was compounded by the
terrible smell associated with this type of animal processing.
(App. p. 22a)

As the Supreme Court of Iowa stated:

This climate of suspicion toward the
legitimacy of injuries to workers and their
treatment, well known to Arndt, could be
found by a reasonable juror to corroborate a
finding of willful and wanton disregard for the
rights and safety of Wilson.

(App p. 22a)
The application of BMW of North America v. Gore

7

134 L.Ed.2d 809 (1996), must be considered against this
factual background and in light of the decision by the
Supreme Court of Iowa to order a remittitur of $13 million
(striking nearly 87% of the jury’s award) based on both Gore
and state law principles. Although certainly under these
facts, IBP’s deliberate and harmful conduct would have
justified a substantially higher award than $2 million, the
decision by the Supreme Court of Iowa is well within the due
process parameters of Gore.

Reasons for Denying the Writ

A. The Supreme Court of Iowa
Correctly Applied BMW _v. Gore

Supreme Court Rule 10 provides:

Review on a writ of certiorari is not a matter
of right, but of judicial discretion. A petition
for a writ of certiorari will be granted only for
compelling reasons....A petition for a writ of
certiorari is rarely granted when the asserted
error consists of erroneous factual findings or
the misapplication of a properly stated rule of
law.

The Petition does nothing more than dispute how the
Supreme Court of Iowa found facts and applied Gore. Under
the long-established standards of this Court, these grounds do
not give rise to a compelling reason to grant the writ.

This Court announced three principles in Gore which
guide an inquiry into whether an award of punitive damages
has been rendered consistent with the Due Process Clause of
the Fourteenth Amendment. These settled principles of law
were applied in the decision below after a thoughtful review

of the facts in the record.

First, a state may not allow a jury verdict which
punishes conduct occurring in another state. Gore, 134
L.Ed.2d at 825. Of concern in Gore was that the disclosure
policy at issue in the suit was legal in many other
jurisdictions. Unlike in Gore, IBP’s conduct would be
tortious in any jurisdiction. Furthermore, conduct which
occurred outside the state may be properly considered in "the
determination of the degree of reprehensibility of the
defendant’s conduct." Id. at 825, n. 21

All of the tortious conduct suffered by Wilson was
perpetrated in Iowa. IBP made no objection to the
jurisdictional nature of the evidence at trial or on appeal to
the Supreme Court of Iowa.

Second, the defendant must receive fair notice of what
conduct will subject him to punishment. Although there was
some question in Gore regarding the different types of
disclosure laws in the several States, there can be no doubt
that IBP was aware that a breach of fiduciary duty and
defamation would subject it to liability. Iowa Code §
668A.1(1)(a) provides for punitive damages based on conduct
"constitut[ing] willful and wanton disregard for the rights or
safety of another." A similar statute was found by the Tenth
Circuit to provide sufficient notice of the possibility of
punitive damages in a case involving interference with
contractual relationships and prospective business advantage.
Continental Trend Resources, Inc. v. OXY USA, Inc., 101
F.3d 634, 638 (10th Cir. 1996), cert. denied (Docket No. 96-
1546, May 27, 1997).

The third factor is whether the defendant has notice
of the severity of the punitive damage award which may
result. Gore, 134 L.Ed.2d at 826. Three "guideposts" are set
forth to analyze: the degree of reprehensibility of the
defendant’s conduct, the ratio of the punitive award to the
actual harm inflicted on the plaintiff, and the comparison

9

between the punitive award and the civil or criminal penalties
that could be imposed for comparable misconduct. Id.

The degree of reprehensibility supports the
decision below

The Court in Gore identified the degree of
wrongdoing as "perhaps the most important indicum of the
reasonableness of a punitive damage award." Id. at 826.
"This principle reflects the accepted view that some wrongs
are more blameworthy than others." Id. "The flagrancy of
the misconduct is thought to be the primary consideration in
determining the amount of punitive damages." Id. at n. 23
(citing Owen, A Punitive Damages Overview: Functions,
Problems and Reform, 39 Vill. L. Rev. 363, 387 (1994)).

The Gore decision also noted that Dr. Gore suffered
“purely economic" damages. Id. at 827. The conduct did not
"effect [the] performance or safety features, or even its
appearance for at least nine months after his purchase.
BMW’s conduct evinced no indifference to or reckless
disregard for the health and safety of others." Id. Factors
such as "trickery and deceit" and "intentional malice" were
also cited as allowing for higher punitive damage awards
consistent with due process requirements. Id.

In every way which BMW’s conduct could be
characterized as less wrongful, IBP’s is more so. The harm
here was physical, not just economic. IBP lied deliberately
about a critical fact, whereas BMW believed the damage to
the car was immaterial as a matter of law. This is not a case
of a doctor with a damaged luxury car; it is of an injured
worker in need of medical care who was victimized by a
corporate policy of deception and abuse. The difference is
stark and cries out for a remedy.

The Tenth Circuit, applying the Gore decision,
summarized the analysis of the level of misconduct as an

10
inquiry into:

whether a defendant’s behavior: causes
economic rather than physical harm; would be
considered unlawful in all states; involves
repeated acts rather than a single one; is
intentional; involves deliberate false statements
rather than omissions; and is aimed at a
vulnerable target.

OXY, 101 F.3d at 638.

Applying this analysis to the facts at bar demonstrates
the reasonableness of the decision of the Supreme Court of
Iowa. IBP caused physical harm in the manipulation of the
medical care provided Wilson by delaying his needed back
surgery. Although Wilson was fortunate that his disc did not
rupture further and cause more neurological problems during
IBP’s period of malfeasance, the type of conduct is markedly
more serious than the loss of value in a luxury car.

The tortious behavior in this case is recognized as
wrongful in every jurisdiction. The Court in Gore was
concerned that BMW was punished for a disclosure policy
which was legal in many states. Such is not a concern here.

The record demonstrates a pattern of conduct by IBP
in pursuing lower workers’ compensation expenditures
regardless of the human cost. The Supreme Court of Iowa
determined:

The evidence indicated that Wilson’s treatment
as an injured worker was not a one-time or
isolated instance. The interference with the
diagnosis and treatment of his injury could
have resulted in a pronounced worsening of an
already serious condition. Other workers with
injuries could be profoundly affected as a

1]

result of the policy actions carried out by
Arndt and IBP.

(App. p. 32a) This case is squarely within the concept of
"repeated acts" of wrongdoing and merits a higher award.

The conduct here was intentional as well, both in the
implementation of the general business policy and in the
deliberate falsehood told by Arndt to Dr. Hamsa. Although
the specific nature of the deliberate conduct in OXY
consisted of business torts rather than slander, there is
nothing in that case to suggest a distinction between these
types of misconduct.

Finally, IBP’s actions were aimed at a highly
vulnerable target. Aside from the manifest imbalance of
power associated with the employee-employer relationship,
IBP enjoyed statutory authority to control Wilson’s medical
care through the workers’ compensation system. See, Iowa
Code § 85.27 (1995). Furthermore, the jury determined that
a fiduciary relationship existed between Arndt and Wilson at
the time she lied to Dr. Hamsa. (App. pp. 9a-10a) It is also
worth noting that the OXY court found vulnerable plaintiffs
in the business competitors with the larger defendants. OXY,
101 F.3d at 639. As an individual, Wilson is even more
vulnerable under this standard.

The flagrant misconduct of IBP is markedly different
from the business decision made by BMW. When presented
with the understandably difficult task of explaining away this
damaging factor, IBP does nothing more than ignore the
factual findings made by the jury, ignore the express
statements of the Supreme Court of Iowa as to the state of
the appellate record, and ignore those factors which were
relevant in finding egregious conduct meriting a severe
punishment.

For example, IBP goes on at length citing cases
approving of the practice of putting injured workers under

12

surveillance. (Pet. pp. 11-12) IBP ignores the fact that there
was no surveillance of Wilson which showed him violating
his restrictions. It was the lie that was told about the
existence of a videotape showing such a violation which lead
to the decision here, not the idea of surveillance in general.
IBP’s argument is nothing more than a "red herring."

IBP attempts to cast the statements by Arndt to Dr.
Hamsa as being "in large part true." (Pet. p. 11) IBP fails,
again, to tell the whole story. The Supreme Court of Iowa
specifically rejected the argument that the "gist or sting" of
the defamatory statement was true:

We agree with the trial court in that the
essence of the alleged defamatory statement
was that Wilson was faking the severity of his
injury and was being untruthful to his doctor,
i.e., that he was a liar. It was not, as
defendants suggest, that he was working on
his car or driving his children to school.

(App. p. 13a)

This deception is made worse by the attempt to smear
Wilson further by throwing in the fact that he was in jail
during part of the time he was on medical restrictions. The
trial court sustained the motion in limine made by the
plaintiffs but allowed IBP to present evidence on a violation.
The trial court simply ruled that the location of the alleged
violation could not be mentioned.

IBP cannot avoid the fact that its version of events
was not believed by the jury or the Supreme Court of Iowa.
Nor can it ignore that the record which stands before this
Court paints a damning picture of IBP’s conduct, conduct
which threatened the health and safety of Wilson and every
other employee of IBP. This most important factor in
determining reasonableness has been satisfied many times over.

13

Ratio alone is not determinative

IBP fundamentally misreads Gore by its reliance on
the ratio factor as grounds for summary reversal. Gore does
not require a particular ratio as the upper constitutional limit
in isolation from other facts in the case. In fact, the Gore
decision recognized that "low awards of compensatory
damages may properly support a higher ratio than high
compensatory awards, if, for example, a_ particularly
egregious act has resulted in only a small amount of
economic damages." Gore, 134 L.Ed.2d at 831. The Court
also stated it:

cannot draw a mathematical bright line
between the constitutionally acceptable and the
constitutionally unacceptable that would fit
every case. We can say however that [a]
general concer[n] of reasonableness
properly enter[s] into the constitutional
calculus.

Id. (citing Pacific Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Haslip, 499 U.S. 1,

18 (1991)). The 500:1 ratio present in this case is of little
use in assessing the constitutionality of the decision below.

The Seventh Circuit recognized the difficulty in
applying ratio analysis in a civil rights action where each
plaintiff received $5,000 in compensatory damages and
$60,000 in punitive damages:

The smaller the compensatory damages, the
higher the ratio of punitive to compensatory
damages has to be in order to fulfill the
objectives of awarding punitive damages ...
The compensatory damages were low here
in part because of the inherent difficulties of

14

fixing a dollar equivalent for subjective
injuries, such as fright and pain. An award of
punitive damages proportioned to the low
compensatory damages that were awarded
would have a very meager deterrent effect,
would fail to signal to the prison authorities
that savage treatment of prisoners will not be
tolerated, and would not be commensurate
with the moral gravity of the defendant’s
action.

Cooper _v. Casey, 97 F.3d 914, 919-20 (7th Cir. 1996)
(Posner, J.) (internal citations omitted).

The Second Circuit applied similar logic in another
civil rights claim, one based on malicious prosecution, where
the jury awarded $1 compensatory damages and $200,000 in
punitive damages.

The court stated:

In Gore, a 500 to 1 ratio was "breathtaking."
However, in a § 1983 case in which the
compensatory damages are nominal, a much
higher ratio can be contemplated while
maintaining normal respiration. Since the use
of a multiplier to assess punitive damages is
not the best tool here, we must look to the
punitive damages awards in other civil rights
cases to find limits and proportions.

Lee v: Edwards, 101 F.3d 805, 811 (2d Cir. 1996). The
court, after analyzing other awards in civil rights cases and
the manner in which the jury had been instructed on who
would pay the damages, ordered a remittitur of $125,000.
It should be noted that this 75,000 to 1 ratio was
approved in a case where the malicious prosecution claim

15

"entailed little overt violence" and was based on a detention
of two hours. Id. at 810. "[T]he jury ... was obviously
unimpressed by Lee’s claim to have suffered harm...." Id.

IBP is highly critical of the Supreme Court of lowa’s
statement that the ratio was of "minor significance." (Pet. p.
14) IBP fails to recognize, however, that the Gore decision
emphasized the degree of reprehensibility factor and qualified
the application of ratio analysis when a low award of
compensatory damages is based on an egregious act causing
little economic harm. This is exactly the case at bar. The
reduction of the $15 million award to a 500:1 ratio is
therefore entirely consistent with Gore, and, indeed, a higher
ratio would be justified given IBP’s actions here. No valid
basis to overturn the methodical review of previous punitive
damage cases by the Supreme Court of Iowa has been
demonstrated.

There are no statutory sanctions which can
be compared to IBP’s misconduct

In Gore, the Court was able to compare the punitive
damage award to the consumer protection measures of
Alabama law which provided penalties for non-disclosure of
damage to a new car before safe. Here, however, the
conduct at issue is not covered by any statutory measure
because IBP violated common law tort duties. IBP has cited
no provision of the lowa Code or Iowa Administrative Code
which, if applied to this case, would provide an adequate
remedy for its misconduct. This factual difference limits the
applicability of the third Gore factor.

As the Tenth Circuit stated when faced with the same
issue:

OXY’s misconduct involved a violation of
common law tort duties that do not lend

16

themselves to a comparison with statutory
penalties. The fundamental question 1s
whether OXY had reasonable notice that its
tortious interference with contracts and
prospective business advantage could result in
such a large punitive award.

OXY, 101 F.3d at 641.

The problem with IBP’s analysis, as already stated, is
that the wrongs committed here were not statutory in nature.
The common law, not the Iowa legislature, provides the
remedy to IBP’s actions. IBP cannot possibly claim that they
did not know manipulating with medical care, defamation and
maintaining a culture of lying could result in a significant
jury verdict.

The Gore Concurrence supports the
decision below

The three concurring Justices in Gore recognized that
if "fair procedures were followed, a judgment that is a
product of that process is entitled to a strong presumption of
validity." Gore, 134 L.Ed.2d at 833 (Breyer, J., concurring).
This system of fair procedures, "need not be precise;"
however, it "must offer some kind of constraint upon a jury
or court’s discretion, and thus protection against purely
arbitrary behavior." Id. at 834.

IBP expressly accuses the Supreme Court of Iowa of
being blind to previous decisions of that court in determining
that a $13 million remittitur was warranted. (Pet. p. 14)
IBP’s disrespectful argument that this unanimous, en banc,
decision of the Supreme Court of Iowa ignored the law of
Iowa is flatly inconsistent with the state law standards
expressed by the court:

17

In 1994, we decided Spaur .... We quoted the
standards of Haslip and applied them on the
posttrial review process. Id. at 867. Also in
1994, we had occasion to again consider a
punitive damage award in Ezzone [v. Riccardi,
525 N.W.2d 388 (Iowa 1994)]. The suit
involved an action against a bank for
interference with shareholders’ rights. Citing
the Supreme Court case of Honda Motor Co.
[v. Oberg, 512 US. 415 (1994)] as
establishing due process requirements, we
structured our review process as follows: ...

Awards will be tested with a view of the
extent and nature of the outrageous conduct,
the amount necessary for future deterrence,
and with deference to the relationship between
the punitive award and plaintiff's injury, as
reflected in any award for compensatory
damages. In addition to these traditional
factors, we shall consider all circumstances
surrounding the conduct and relationship
between the parties. Any provocation of the
conduct by plaintiff will be a factor. We take
the provocation to include participation in the
conduct complained of.

(App. pp. 30a-3 1a)

The decision below was based on a comprehensive
review of both federal and state law concerning punitive
damages. IBP has couched its reasons for granting the writ
in broad and argumentative terms without any showing of
how the presumption of validity is overcome in this case.
The Court should properly deny the petition as the Supreme
Court of Iowa has faithfully applied due process analysis in
ordering a remittitur of $13 million already and in so doing

18

set a level of punitive damages which reflects the outrageous
conduct of IBP.

The need for deterrence supports the
decision below

The Court in Gore recognized that when a "defendant
has repeatedly engaged in prohibited conduct while knowing
or suspecting that it was unlawful [it] would provide relevant
support for an argument that strong medicine is required to
cure the defendant’s disrespect for the law." Gore, 134
L.Ed.2d at 827. IBP’s actions here were found by the
Supreme Court of Iowa to be part of a repeated pattern of
unlawful conduct and that the deterrent effect of punitive
damages would be well served here. (App. p. 32a)

IBP argues that the use of the defendant’s wealth by
the Iowa court to aid in the determination of what level of
punitive damages would be reasonable was inconsistent with
Gore. (Pet. pp. 15-16) The Gore opinion simply held that
a defendant’s size does not alter the requirement of fair
notice. "While each State has ample power to protect its own
consumers, none may use the punitive damages deterrent as
a means of imposing its regulatory policies on the Nation."
Id. at 833.

Here, however, the size of the defendant is not being
used to justify a lack of fair notice, it is being used to
determine what is fair punishment. As the Tenth Circuit
stated:

From [Gore] we conclude that a large punitive
award against a large corporate defendant may
not be upheld on the basis that it is only one
percent of its net worth or a week’s corporate
profits. Yet wealth must remain relevant,
because $50,000 may be awesome punishment

19

for an impecunious individual defendant but
wholly insufficient to influence the behavior
of a prosperous corporation...

A rich defendant may act oppressively
and force or prolong litigation simply because
it can afford to do so and a plaintiff may not
be able to bear the costs and the delay. We
have held that the costs of litigation to
vindicate rights is an appropriate element to
consider in justifying a punitive damages
award.

OXY, 101 F.3d at 641-42 (citations omitted). A substantial
award of punitive damages is the only way to get the
attention of IBP and have it realize its pattern of abusive
conduct was and is completely unacceptable.

B. The Petition depends on resolution of
disputed issues of fact and
application of settled law to facts

Much of Petitioners’ disagreement with the decision
below rests on disputed assertions of fact. The Petition, for
example, criticizes the Supreme Court of Iowa’s conclusion
that IBP’s treatment of Wilson was "not a one-time or
isolated instance." (Pet. p. 12) It complains of other claimed
factual inaccuracies in the decision below. (Pet. p 13, n. 4)
Although the Petition seeks to couch this argument in an
assertion that the lower court "flouted" the guidelines in Gore
(Pet. p. 10), the heart of Petitioners’ argument is that the
record does not support the Supreme Court of lIowa’s
application of the Gore factors to the facts of the case. (Pet.
pp. 10-16)

The court found that IBP created a "climate of
suspicion toward the legitimacy of injuries to workers and

20

their treatment" which a reasonable juror could find
corroborated a finding of "willful and wanton disregard for
the rights and safety of Wilson." (App. p. 22a) Yet, IBP
characterizes Arndt’s statements as "allegedly slanderous,"
being "in large part true," and claims that the conduct at
issues was simply "legal conduct designed to preclude
workers’ compensation waste and fraud." (Pet. pp. 10-11)

Note four on page 13 of the Petition complains about
"several fundamental inaccuracies" in the facts of the case.
The issue of the videotape, however, was fully addressed by
the decision below. The Supreme Court of Iowa found that
there was never any videotape showing a violation of
restrictions by Wilson. (App. p. 19a) (See, supra p. 4, n. 1)
The remaining inaccuracy alleged by IBP is that Karen Beam
was not really a nurse. IBP fails to cite any decision of this
Court suggesting that it will grant a writ of certiorari, much
less a summary reversal, on the basis of this kind of
allegation of error. No compelling basis exists under
Supreme Court Rule 10 for the exercise of the Court’s
judicial discretion when the claim of error is founded on
factual determinations, especially those which are immaterial
to the real issue of how IBP threatened Wilson’s health and
safety.

C. The decision below is consistent with
other federal and state cases

IBP cites several cases in which Gore was applied to
reduce punitive damage awards. None of the cases cited
involve the type of wrongdoing involved in the case at bar.
IBP was found to have engaged in conduct which threatened
health and safety in addition to defaming Wilson. IBP offers
cases dealing with business torts or, at worst, discrimination
claims. Not one even remotely approaches IBP’s misdeeds.

Furthermore, the above argument demonstrates that

21

each case must be carefully analyzed on its own merits to
determine if the award violates the due process clause. There
is no meaningful way for IBP to summarize each case in a
few words or sentences and compare it to the instant case.
Indeed, the Gore opinion stresses that due process analysis
cannot be reduced to a bare comparison to previous punitive
damage cases. Gore, 134 L.Ed.2d at n. 37.

D. IBP has not preserved error regarding
its claim of a due process violation in
the receipt of some of the punitive
damages awarded to the Civil
Reparations Trust Fund

IBP’s argument that the provisions of lowa Code §
668A.1 which require apportionment to the state’s Civil
Reparations Trust Fund of a portion of the punitive damage
award is not properly before the court because IBP raises this
issue for the first time in their petition.

Supreme Court Rule 14(g)(i) requires the Petitioner to
make a:

specification of the stage in the proceeding,
both in the court of first instance and in the
appellate courts, when the federal questions
sought to be reviewed were raised; the method
or manner of raising them and the way in
which they were passed on by those courts;
and pertinent quotations of specific portions of
the record or summary thereof, with specific
reference to the places in the record where the
matter appears...so as to show that the federal
question was timely and properly raised and
that this Court has jurisdiction to review the

22

judgment on a writ of certiorari.

IBP has utterly failed to make the required
specification. There has been no allegation that this issue has
ever been raised and it was plainly not addressed by the
Supreme Court of Iowa. It is, therefore, not properly before
the Court.

It is a fundamental rule of Supreme Court practice
that a federal claim cannot be considered by the Court unless
it has either been raised in the state court or considered and
resolved in the state court. Yee v. City of Escondido, 503
U.S. 519, 532 (1992). When the state court fails to pass
expressly upon a federal question "it will be assumed that the
omission was due to want of proper presentation in the state
courts, unless the aggrieved party in this Court can
affirmatively show the contrary." Street v. New York, 394

U.S. 576, 582 (1969). See, Board of Directors of Rotary
International v. Rotary Club of Duarte, 481 U.S. 537, 549-50
(1987), Adler v. Board of Education, 342 U.S. 485, 496
(1952), Raley v. Ohio, 360 U.S. 423, 434-36 (1959).

"This rule [requiring raising of the issue in the state
court] serves an important interest of comity." Adams v.
Robertson, 65 U.S.L.W. 4180, 4181 (1997). "It would be
unseemly in our dual system of government to disturb the
finality of state judgments on a federal ground that the state
court did not have occasion to consider." Id. (internal
quotation marks omitted) (citing Webb v. Webb, 451 U.S.
493, 500 (1981)).

The necessity to properly raise issues below is not
insignificant:

Our traditional standard also reflects practical
considerations relating to this Court’s capacity
to decide issues. Requiring parties to raise
issues below not only avoids unnecessary

23

adjudication in this Court by allowing state
courts to resolve issues on state law grounds,
but also assists us in our deliberations by
promoting the creation of an adequate factual
and legal record.

Adams, 65 U.S.L.W. at 4181-82. Here, there is no
information in the record or the decision below with which
the Court could make a thoughtful analysis. The Court
would be left to speculate regarding the validity of IBP’s
claim of abuse.

In addition to this fatal procedural posture, IBP has
also failed to cite in its Petition the leading Iowa case
upholding the constitutionality of Iowa Code § 668A.1
against a challenge on due process, double jeopardy and

excessive fines grounds. See, Spaur_v. Owens-Corning
Fiberglas Corp., 510 N.W.2d 854 (Iowa 1994). The Spaur

court found:

a clear distinction between the [Civil
Reparations Trust] Fund and the general state
treasury. The damage awards are not
commingled with state revenues and are to be
disbursed only for the "purposes of indigent
civil litigation programs or _ insurance
assistance programs."

We explained in Shepard [Components v.
Brice Petrides et al., 473 N.W.2d 612 (Iowa
1991)] that "a plaintiff is a fortuitous
beneficiary of a punitive damage award
simply because there is no one else to receive
it." Section 668A.1 "was designed to divert a
portion of a resulting punitive damage award
to a public purpose."

24

Id. at 868-69. The same result occurred in an excessive fines
challenge in federal court. See, Burke v. Deere & Co., 780
F.Supp. 1225 (S.D. Iowa 1991), rev'd on other grounds, 6
F.3d 497 (8th Cir. 1993).

IBP incorrectly characterizes how the punitive damage
award is apportioned in the statement of questions presented.
It is not correct that "the State collects a 75 percent share of
the punishment and pays the plaintiff's attorney’s fees out of
the punishment." (Pet. p. i) Under the Supreme Court of
lowa’s conclusive interpretation of lowa §668A.1, the State
of Iowa only recovers punitive damages after the plaintiff has
received 25 percent of the award and all applicable fees and
costs have been paid, including attorney’s fees. See,
Fernandez v. Curley, 463 N.W.2d 5 (1990). The decision
below applied the Fernandez rule. (App. pp. 33a-34a)

IBP has offered no explanation of how a private
prosecution occurs given the divergence of interests between
Wilson (who wants the entire punitive damage award) and
the Fund (which wants its share). IBP wants nothing more
than to have the Supreme Court rule that such a provision is
per se unconstitutional. This argument has been waived,
lacks support in the record, and is internally inconsistent.

E. IBP has limited the remedy it seeks
in this Court to a determination of
whether summary reversal is
warranted

IBP has presented the Court with a petition
specifically limited? to seeking summary reversal of the

>

IBP expressly requests summary reversal in the questions
presented. (Pet. p. i), the reasons for granting the writ (Pet. pp. 10, 16)
and in its conclusion. (Pet. p. 22) In contrast, IBP requests plenary
(continued...)

25

unanimous, en banc, decision of the Supreme Court of Iowa.
The only question before the Court in considering the correct
application of Gore is, therefore, whether the Court may
exercise the extreme remedy of summary reversal, not
whether plenary review may be granted.

It is up to the petitioner to phrase the questions
presented for review. The Court has stated previously:

A litigant seeking review in this Court of a
claim properly raised in the lower courts thus
generally possesses the ability to frame the
question to be decided in any way he chooses,
without being limited to the manner in which
the question was framed below.

Yee, 503 U.S. at 535. The freedom granted by the Court
carries with it the necessity to phrase the questions precisely,
and define those issues on which review is sought:

The framing of the question presented has
significant consequences...because under this
Court’s Rule 14.1(a), "[oJnly the question set
forth in the petition, or fairly included therein,
will be considered by the Court." While
"[t]he statement of any question presented will
be deemed to comprise every subsidiary
question fairly included therein," ibid., we
ordinarily do not consider questions outside
those presented in the petition for certiorari.

Id. (citing Berkemer v. McCarty, 468 U.S. 420 (1984)).

?(...continued)
consideration of its claim that lowa Code § 668A.1 violates the due
process clause. (Pet. pp. 18, 22).

26

Under this principle, IBP has waived any claim to
plenary review as to whether the lower court decision was
consistent with Gore. While a request for plenary
consideration might include the subsidiary question of
whether summary disposal on the merits would be
appropriate, the reverse is not true. As the late Justice
Marshall wrote:

A summary reversal is a rare disposition,
usually reserved by this Court for situations in
which the la’~’ is settled and stable, the facts
are not in dispute, and the decision below is
clearly in error.’

Schweiker v. Hauser, 450 U.S. 785, 791 (1981) (Marshall, J.,
dissenting). Because IBP has only sought the subcategory of
options for review, summary reversal, it has foregone any
claim to plenary consideration on this issue. Although the
decision of the Supreme Court of Iowa survives even the
normal standard for granting the petition contained within

Petitioner cites the language of then-Justice Rehnquist that
"summary reversal is appropriate in ‘palpably clear cases of constitutional

error.’" (Pet. p. 10) This citation somewhat disingenuously turns the
standard expressed on its head. The full quote is:

This Court each year reviews thousands of cases from
the state courts, many of which, like this one, are
characterized by less than perfect records. Reversal of
state court judgments of conviction, especially in
summary fashion, without argument, should be reserved
for palpably clear cases of constitutional! error.

Eaton v. Tulsa, 415 U.S. 697 (1974) (Rehnquist, J., dissenting).

Thus, as with the language of Justice Marshall in Schweiker, the
rule of when summary reversal is appropriate is generally cast in negative
terms, not the positive rule cited by Petitioner.

27

Supreme Court Rule 10, IBP’s petition must be reviewed
under the more stringent and extraordinary step of summary
disposition.

Under this standard, and in light of the detailed and
thorough application of the correct principles of law in the
decision below, summary disposition is manifestly
inappropriate. The petition should be denied.

Conclusion

Wilson respectfully requests the Court deny the
Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the Supreme Court of Iowa.

David L. Brown

Counsel of Record

218 6th Ave., 8th Floor
Des Moines, Iowa 50311
(515) 244-2141

(515) 244-2931 (facsimile)

Randall J. Shanks
409 West Broadway
Council Bluffs, Jowa 51503

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_0743%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
