# Opposition Brief — Washington Restaurant Management, Inc. v. Vons Cos., Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_0696%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1997
- **Citation:** 522 U.S. 808

## Text

ns Supreme Conve, U.S. "7

\9.) FILED

a JUN 20 1997

‘

i

{

CLERK
4

No. 96-1762 — idisilineaneadil

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

WASHINGTON RESTAURANT MANAGEMENT, INC.,
Petitioner,
V.
THE VONS COMPANIES, INC.,
Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of California

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

KRISTIN ANDREA LINSLEY
Counsel of Record

GREGORY P. STONE

KRISTIN S. ESCALANTE

MUNGER, TOLLES & OLSON LLP
355 South Grand Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90071-1560
(213) 683-9100

Counsel for Respondent

Bowne of Los Angeles, Inc., Law Printers (213) 627-2200

i

RULE 29.1 LISTING

Respondent The Vons Companies, Inc. is a wholly-owned
subsidiary of Safeway Southern California, Inc., which in
turn is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Safeway Inc. The
shares of Safeway Inc. are publicly traded. Vons has no
subsidiaries that are not wholly-owned.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
STATEMENT OF SHEE CARE . 0.5. cccnccccvess l
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT ........ 10

A. The Decision Below Rests Upon A Straightforward
Application Of This Court’s Decision In Burger
King Corp. v. Rudzewicz And Does Not Merit This
Cents TRIO. isin 55k 5 ae erates 13

B. Petitioner Overstates The Claimed Conflict Among
The Lower Courts As To The Standard for Deter-
mining Whether A Claim “Arises Out Of Or Re-
lates To” A Defendant’s Contacts With The Forum 17

1. Since The Decision In Shute, The Lower Courts
Have Moved Away From Tort-Based Tests For
Personal Jurisdiction, Alleviating The Circuit

Split Created By Earlier Decisions........... 18
2. The Legal Question That Petitioner Poses Is Not
Fl SU Ge TD hn ook nciks ci esenvenes 23

A aso ts banca tenky cede senenaanud 25

iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases
Pages
Agency Rent A Car System, Inc. v. Grand Rent A Car
Ce, Se cee Be Ae CEE, TSG) on es coc eves 20

Akro Corp. v. Luker, 45 F.3d 1541 (Fed. Cir. 1995)6, 7, 17
Asahi Metal Industry Co. v. Superior Court, 480 U.S.

SEE C4 GAGES 60 W EME Wed as Ue bs os ens 6, 16
Ballard v. Savage, 65 F.3d 1495 (9th Cir. 1995) ... 22
Beacon Enterprises, Inc. v. Menzies, 715 F.2d 757

NGL ca ss oa aaah aka es en ap xe dneee os 20
Bell Paper Box, Inc. v. U.S. Kids, Inc., 22 F.3d 816

i at ae cau cca ad Wade 4 sd 60 21
Burger King Corp. v. Rudzewicz, 471 U.S. 462

OE CERES EE STARE aa ee Passim
Carnival Cruise Lines, Inc. v. Shute, 499 U.S. 585

A ae eke tad sodas 6 skews eweasy ees 18
City of Virginia Beach v. Roanoke River Basin Ass'n,

776 F.2d 484 (4th Cir. 1985) ................. 22
Doe v. American Nat'l Red Cross, 1197 U.S. App.

eee Qo By oe . ) er 22
Francosteel Corp. v. M/V Charm, 19 F.3d 624 (11th

a oy sss Vas kb S ab aelea sk 50's 6,7
Gelfand v. Tanner Motor Tours, Ltd, 339 F.2d 317

ls yas ca ve kiwis 64d wae Ga ie bn 13, 20
Helicopteros Nacionales de Colombia v. Hall, 466

U.S. 408, 414 (1984) .............. 6, 7, 16, 17, 18, 20
In re Oil Spill by Amoco Cadiz, 699 F.2d 909

(Tth Cir. 1983) ....cccesvccccccssccscccees 6, 17, 21

International Shoe Co. v. Washington, 326 U.S. 310 (1945)
Pe rdaa eens eb ONSEN eed ewe R 8, 9, 10, 12, 17, 18, 22

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Pages
Keeton v. Hustler Magazine, Inc., 465 U.S. 770
CESDOD cin cuts sue kde tic thaerted dduxtuaedenss 6, 16

Marino v. Hyatt Corp., 783 F.2d 427 (ist Cir. 1986) 20
Northrup King Co. v. Compania Productora

Bemillas, 51 F.3d 1383 (8th Cir. 1995) ........ 6
Nowak v. Tak How Investments, Ltd., 94 F.3d 708

( bet Cr. Pe 6 se bole ee wees wuiwabeuareeiiees 13, 19
Pearrow v. National Life & Acc. Ins. Co., 703 F.2d

LOGT COR GC See ea ais Ras hbase ee 20, 21
Pizarro v. Hoteles Concorde Int'l Barbadas, Ltd., 976

Pa THE Cae Gas ROD CR hee L OO hE Se ee 20
Prejean v. Sonatrach, Inc., 652 F.2d 1260

bat a RE Oe 9
Shaffer v. Heitner, 433 U.S. 186 (1977) .......... 6, 16

Shute v. Carnival Cruise Lines, Inc., 897 F.2d
377 (9th Cir. 1990), reversed on other grounds,

OOF Gia He AEE ab adie W ed vie es aes on 9, 13, 18
Southwire Co. v. TransWorld Metals & Co., 735 F.2d

£11: . BS . Se eee rere 22
Third National Bank v. WEDGE Group, Inc.,

S62 F.2d 1087 (6th Cir. 1969) ... 0. nv cciticececs 6, 21
Vermeulen v. Renault, U.S.A. Inc., 985 F.2d 1534

CORE FUE oi 6 660-00 he ees 246s RU 7
Vons Companies, Inc. v. Seabest Foods, Inc., 37 Cal.

A TE Fae LARD och sks check clesebh Vine’ 3

Wessel, Arnold & Henderson v. National Med. Waste,
Inc., 65 F.3d 1427 (8th Cir. 1995)............. 21

No. 96-1762

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

WASHINGTON RESTAURANT MANAGEMENT, INC.,
Petitioner,
v.
THE VONS COMPANIES, INC.,
Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of California

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Respondent The Vons Companies, Inc. respectfully prays
that the Court deny the petition for a writ of certiorari filed
by Washington Restaurant Management, Inc.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case arises from an outbreak of illnesses among
customers of Jack In The Box restaurants in several western
states, including Washington and California. The customers
became ill after eating undercooked hamburger patties con-
taining Escherichia coli O157:H7, a pathogenic bacteria that
occurs naturally in raw beef but is killed with proper
cooking.

Foodmaker, Inc. is a California-based corporation that
manages the Jack In The Box restaurant chain through its
corporate headquarters in San Diego, California. Petitioner

2

Washington Restaurant Management, Inc. (“WRMI”)
owned and operated Jack In The Box outlets in the State of
Washington pursuant to a detailed franchise agreement with
Foodmaker. WRMI was among the Jack In The Box
franchisees whose restaurants were implicated in the out-
break. Respondent The Vons Companies, Inc. became in-
volved in the Jack In The Box litigation because it processed
the hamburger patties from raw meat delivered by upstream
suppliers.

The present action began in mid-1993, when cighty-five
Jack In The Box franchisees from California and elsewhere
(not including petitioner WRMI or any other franchisee
that was implicated in the outbreak) sued Foodmaker,
Vons, and several suppliers of raw beef in the California
Superior Court, seeking damages for loss of business caused
by the adverse publicity surrounding the outbreak. Food-
maker cross-complained against Vons, based upon Vons’
role in processing the hamburger patties.

Vons then filed a cross-complaint against Foodmaker and
the Jack In The Box franchisees that had been identified
with specific reported illnesses. Among the cross-defendants
were petitioner WRMI and Seabest Foods, Inc. (Seabest
was a party to the proceedings below but did not file a
petition for certiorari.) Vons alleged that the standard cook-
ing procedures required by Foodmaker’s franchise agree-
ment were inadequate to ensure that hamburger patties
would be properly cooked and thus safe for human con-
sumption. Vons also alleged that the equipment and training
procedures mandated by Foodmaker’s franchise agreement
were below industry standard, with the result that petitioner
and other Jack In The Box franchisees did not properly cook
the hamburger products and customers consequently were
placed at risk of illness. Vons claimed damages for indem-
nity, as well as lost profits resulting from negative publicity
caused by the outbreak.

3

The Superior Court granted WRMI’s motion to quash
service of Vons’ cross-complaint for lack of personal juris-
diction, and the California Court of Appeal affirmed. See
Vons Companies, Inc. v. Seabest Foods, Inc., 37 Cal. App.
4th 1090 (1995). The Supreme Court of California then
granted Vons’ petition for review.

The California Supreme Court reversed the judgment of
the Court of Appeal, holding that the Due Process Clause of
the Fourteenth Amendment did not prohibit California from
exercising personal jurisdiction over WRMI. The court
rested its decision primarily upon this Court’s decision in
Burger King Corp. v. Rudzewicz, 471 U.S. 462 (1985),
which the court concluded “largely governs the outcome
here.” Pet. App. 14a. The court found that the Jack In The
Box franchisees here, like the franchisee in Burger King, had
“reached out beyond” their state of residence and “purpose-
fully availed themselves of benefits in the forum by reaching
out to forum residents to create an ongoing franchise rela-
tionship.” Pet. App. 14a-15a.

The California Supreme Court’s analysis turned upon a
detailed comparison between the franchise agreement at
issue here and the contract terms considered by this Court
in Burger King. As in Burger King, petitioner affiliated itself
with a business with headquarters in the forum state, know-
ing “that [its] operations would be supervised by that
headquarters.” Pet. App. 15a. The court cited this Court’s
reasoning that “‘[i]n light of [the franchisee’s] voluntary
acceptance of the long-term and exacting regulation of his
business from Burger King’s Miami headquarters, the
“quality and nature” of his relationship to the company in
Florida can in no sense be viewed as “random,” “fortui-

4

tous,” or “attenuated.” ’” Jd. at 1Sa-l16a (quoting Burger
King, 471 U.S. at 480).'

The California Supreme Court found that WRMI and
Seabest, “like the defendants in Burger King,” had “pur-
posefully availed themselves of benefits in the forum by
reaching out to forum residents to create an ongoing
franchise relationship.” Pet. App. 14a. “As in Burger King,
the franchisees here reached out to the California Food-
maker business, and clearly sought out and benefited from
the California business’s multi-state name-recognition and
organization,” including “the standardization provided for
under the franchise agreement.” Jd. at 16a, 27a-28a. The
court noted that Seabest and WRMI “purposefully under-
took ongoing contractual obligations to the California busi-
ness,” and made “substantial and continuing purchases from
Foodmaker in California.” Jd. at 16a. Among other things,
WRMI and Seabest were required by the franchise agree-
ment to use only equipment approved by Foodmaker, to
adopt the uniform food preparation standards designed by
Foodmaker, to purchase its hamburger meat through Food-
raaker, and to allow Foodmaker to inspect its restaurants on
@ regular basis to ensure compliance. Jd. at 4a-6a, 25a. As
noted below, Vons’ claims arose directly from these provi-
sions of the franchise agreement.

The California Supreme Court concluded, based on Bur-
ger King, that if Foodmaker had sued Seabest and WRMI in
California in a breach of contract action based on the
franchise agreements, California clearly would have had

'In its petition, WRMI suggests that the California Supreme Court's
finding of jurisdiction was based upon sporadic contacts with California.
Pet. 4. That is not the case, as is evident from the court’s extensive
discussion of the franchise relationship between Foodmaker and its
franchisees, pursuant to which the franchisees, including WRMI, sub-
mitted to detailed and extensive regulation from the State of California
of their franchise operation.

5

jurisdiction over the action (Pet. App. 16a) — a proposition
that WRMI does not dispute here and did not dispute
below. Likewise, the court noted that if Foodmaker were to
seek indemnity from the franchisees based upon a violation
of the franchise agreement, jurisdiction would be readily
established. Jd. at 16a-17a. Thus, the only remaining ques-
tion was whether it made a difference that a “third party”
such as Vons, rather than Foodmaker, was the plaintiff
bringing the suit against the franchisees. Jd. at 17a.

The California Supreme Court held that it did not. Pet.
App. 17a. Because it was Seabest and WRMI themselves —
and not Vons or any other third party — that purposefully
established extensive contacts with the forum state, it could
not be said that requiring them to answer Vons’ claim in that
state would be “to allow a third party unilaterally to draw
them into a connection with the state.” Jd. Likewise, be-
cause Seabest and WRMI “had an ongoing commercial
relationship” with California, the exercise of jurisdiction
over them would not “depend on ‘random, fortuitous or
attenuated’ contacts.” Id.

The court further explained that, under precedent of this
Court and the lower courts, “the defendant’s forum activi-
ties need not be directed at the plaintiff in order to give rise
to specific jurisdiction.” Jd. at 26a (emphasis in original).
Rather, this Court’s decisions all have emphasized the
relationship among “the defendant, the forum, and the
litigation — not between the plaintiff and the defendant.”
Id. at 27a (emphasis in original). In each of this Court’s
cases in this area, the court noted, “the relevant contacts are
said to be with the forum, because it is the defendant’s
choice to take advantage of opportunities that exist in the
forum that subjects it to jurisdiction.” Jd. (emphasis in
original; citing Asahi Metal Industry Co. v. Superior Court,
480 U.S. 102, 112 (1987) (plurality opinion); Burger King,
471 U.S. at 475, 479; Helicopteros Nacionales de Colombia

6

v. Hall, 466 U.S. 408, 414 (1984); and Shaffer v. Heitner,
433 U.S. 186, 204 (1977) ). The court relied upon Keeton v.
Hustler Magazine, Inc., 465 U.S. 770 (1984), where this
Court held that a publisher could be held accountable in
New Hampshire for defamatory publications there, even
though the plaintiff had no relationship with New Hamp-
shire. The court also cited decisions of the Seventh Circuit
and the Federal Circuit holding that it is the defendant’s
relationship with the forum, and not with the particular
plaintiff bringing the action, that drives the personal juris-
diction analysis. Pet. App. 26a-27a (citing Akro Corp. v.
Luker, 45 F.3d 1541 (Fed. Cir. 1995) and Jn re Oil Spill by
Amoco Cadiz, 699 F.2d 909 (7th Cir. 1983)).

The court also rejected petitioner’s argument that there
was not a sufficient connection between Vons’ claims and
petitioner’s contacts with California. The court looked to its
earlier precedent holding that there must be a “substantial
connection” between the action and the defendant’s forum-
based contacts, and also looked to this Court’s stated re-
quirement that the action be “ ‘related to or “arise[ ] out
of” a defendant’s contacts with the forum.’” Pet. App. 20a
(citing Helicopteros, 466 U.S. at 414 and Burger King, 471
U.S. at 472). The court also noted that its formulation of
the test was consistent with the decisions of the Sixth
Circuit in Third National Bank v. WEDGE Group, Inc., 882
F.2d 1087, 1091 (6th Cir. 1989); the Seventh Circuit in
Amoco Cadiz, 699 F.2d at 917; the Eighth Circuit in
Northrup King Co. v. Compania Productora Semillas, 51
F.3d 1383, 1388 (8th Cir. 1995); the Eleventh Circuit in
Francosteel Corp. v. M/V Charm, 19 F.3d 624, 627 (11th
Cir. 1994) and Vermeulen v. Renault, U.S.A. Inc., 985 F.2d
1534, 1546 (11th Cir. 1992); and the Federal Circuit in
Akro Corp. v. Luker, 45 F.3d at 1547. The court concluded
that, under the standard established by these cases, “Vons
has demonstrated a substantial nexus between WRMI’s and

7

Seabest’s business contacts in California and Vons’ tort
claims against WRMI and Seabest.” Pet. App. at 24a.

The California Supreme Court explained that the terms
of the franchise contract between WRMI and Foodmaker
were at the heart of Vons’ claims against WRMI, thereby
creating a “substantial connection” between WRMI’s con-
tacts with the forum and Vons’ claims. Pet. App. 18a-20a.
The court noted that petitioner’s contacts with the forum
“bore a substantial relationship to the claimed injury to
Vons’s business and reputation” because Foodmaker’s
franchise agreement required petitioner to purchase the
hamburger patties from Foodmaker and to prepare them
“according to the standards provided under the franchise
agreement.” Jd. at 28a.” “Vons’ cross-complaint alleged that
the franchisees failed to cook the meat properly because of
deficiencies in the cooking and training procedures and
equipment requirements provided for by Foodmaker on a
systemwide basis.” Jd. The court concluded that Vons’
claims were substantially related to petitioner's contacts
with California, including its voluntary submission to an
ongoing and extensive contractual relationship with
Foodmaker:

The franchise relationship, with its uniform stan-
dards for cooking food, training employees, and
buying equipment, itself was a source of injury to
Vons. ... Accordingly, both the negligence claims
and the claim for indemnification arose out of the
contractual relationship between Foodmaker,
WRMI and Seabest, a relationship that had a
substantial connection to California. Pet.
App. 24a-25a.

? Petitioner erroneously states that it purchased the hamburger meat
from “distributors and suppliers in the State of Washington.” Pet. 4. In
fact, as the California Supreme Court correctly noted, petitioner pur-
chased the hamburger patties from Foodmaker.

8

The court also found significant the terms of Foodmaker’s
franchise agreement stating that in any dispute regarding the
franchise agreement, the parties would be bound both by
California law and by provisions establishing California
courts as the venue for any such dispute. Pet. App. 16a.
Given these provisions, the court observed, “it was not only
predictable that [the franchisees] might face litigation in
California — it was settled that any litigation on the contract
would occur in this forum.” Jd.

In determining the standard that should apply to assess
the relationship between the defendant’s contacts with the
forum and the plaintiffs cause of action, the California
Supreme Court rejected two prior decisions of the California
appellate court, which had applied a “proximate cause” test
that formed the basis for the California Court of Appeal’s
decision below. Pet. App. at 3la-33a. The California Su-
preme Court held that the “proximate cause” analysis used
in these cases was inconsistent with this Court’s formulation
in Burger King and Helicopteros, which “states in the
disjunctive that jurisdiction is proper when litigation results
from alleged injuries that ‘arise out of or relate to’ forum
activities.” Jd. at 33a (citing Burger King, 471 U.S. at 472;
Helicopteros, 466 U.S. at 414, n.9; and International Shoe
Co. v. Washington, 326 U.S. 310, 319 (1945)). The court
also reasoned that a “proximate cause” test would inappro-
priately prohibit jurisdiction in most contract actions arising
out of ongoing interstate relations — because in most such
cases, as in Burger King itself, it cannot be said that the
contractual relationship with the forum caused a party to fail
to honor the terms of the contract. Pet. App. 34a. Accord-
ingly, the court rejected the suggestion of the lower Califor-
nia courts that a “proximate cause” test should govern the
personal jurisdiction analysis. Jd. at 34a-36a. The court did
not point to any federal circuit that had applied a “proxi-
mate cause” test.

9

The California Supreme Court did note that two federal
circuits have articulated a broad “but for’ test for determin-
ing whether an exercise of specific jurisdiction is sufficiently
related to a defendant’s forum-based contacts. Specifically,
the court cited the Ninth Circuit’s decision in Shute v.
Carnival Cruise Lines, 897 F.2d 377 (9th Cir. 1990),
reversed on other grounds, 499 U.S. 585 (1991), as well as a
footnote in the Fifth Circuit’s opinion in Prejean v. Sona-
trach, Inc., 652 F.2d 1260, 1270 n.21 (Sth Cir. 1981) —
both of which set forth a broad “but for” test for determin-
ing whether a claim is sufficiently related to a defendant’s
contacts with the forum. Pet. App. 38a-39a. The California
Supreme Court rejected the “but for” test advanced in these
cases, concluding that the importation of tort-based causa-
tion standards that focus on physical factors — such as the
“but for” test— are not useful in analyzing “the social
activities that are part of the causal chain in typical personal
jurisdiction disputes.” Pet. App. 40a. The court reasoned
that “contacts in personal jurisdiction cases are generally
social acts, like advertising directed at forum residents.” Jd.
at 41a. The court concluded that analyzing these issues
under a relational test, rather than a causal test, is more
consistent both with the concerns underlying personal juris-
diction questions, and with this Court’s precedents speaking
“of a relationship between the cause of action and the
contacts in the forum,” and using “relatively broad terms to
describe the necessary relationship.” Jd. (citing Jnterna-
tional Shoe, 326 U.S. at 319; Burger King, 471 U.S. at 472;
and Helicopteros, 466 U.S. at 414, n.9).

Finally, the court rejected Seabest’s invitation to adopt a
“substantive relevance” test, which would look to whether
acts forming each essential element of the plaintiff's sub-
stantive cause of action occurred in the forum. Pet. App.
43a-52a. The court found that this test — which has been
advanced by one legal commentator in the area but not

10

adopted by any court? — focused unduly on the particular-
ized elements of each cause of action under state law, and
was inconsistent with this Court’s cases establishing a rela-
tional test and making clear that jurisdiction need not be
based solely upon a defendant's activities within, the physical
boundaries of the forum state. Jd. at 49a-50a.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

Nothing in the California Supreme Court’s carefully
reasoned decision warrants review by this Court. As that
court recognized, this Court’s decision in Burger King
largely controls the personal jurisdiction analysis in this
case. To the limited extent that Burger King is not directly
controlling — i.e., to the extent that the claims against
WRMI are asserted by Vons, rather than by the franchisor
itself — the California Supreme Court correctly held that
the proper focus is on the relationship between the defen-
dant and the forum, not on the relationship between the
defendant and the plaintiff. Because there is no split on this
issue and the point was correctly decided, it is not worthy of
this Court’s review.

The only other issue identified by petitioner is the proper
standard to be applied in determining whether an action
“arises out of or relates to” a defendant’s forum-based
contacts so as to warrant application of the Jnternational
Shoe “minimum contacts” analysis — rather than the gen-
eral jurisdiction standard that must be met when an action
does not relate to the defendant’s forum contacts. See
generally Helicopteros, 466 U.S. at 414-15. For three rea-

> The court soundly rejected Seabest’s argument that this test “now
represents the majority view in the federal circuits.” Pet. App. 44a.

11

sons, this issue does not warrant granting the petition in this
case.

First, petitioner dramatically overstates the degree to
which confusion continues to exist in the lower courts on
this issue. Despite petitioner’s contention that there is a split
between courts applying a “proximate cause” test and those
applying a different standard, there is no federal circuit that
continues to apply the “proximate cause” standard. Of the
three circuits to which petitioner attributes this test, one of
those courts — the First Circuit — has explicitly abandoned
any strict “proximate cause” test, and the two other cases
that petitioner cites — decisions of the Second and Eighth
Circuits — have been construed as merely interpreting the
state long-arm statutes rather than establishing a constitu-
tional standard. More recent decisions of the Second and
Eighth Circuits apply a relational standard much like that
applied by the California Supreme Court here.

Second, the issue is not squarely presented in this case
because, under any of the standards discussed by the Cali-
fornia Supreme Court, the result would be the same. As the
court explained, the extensive and detailed provisions of the
franchise agreement between Foodmaker and petitioner are
more than sufficient to establish the requisite contacts with
the State of California. It is these contacts that form the
basis for Vons’ claims, which are based upon the allegation
that the procedures, equipment, and training mandated by
Foodmaker’s standard franchise agreement were insufficient
to ensure proper cooking of the hamburger patties involved
in the outbreak. In short, Vons’ claims flow directly from the
franchise agreement itself — and thus would satisfy both
this Court’s “arises out of or relates to” test as generally
stated (see Burger King, 471 U.S. at 472), and any of the
variations on that test that have been applied by the lower
courts.

12

Third, petitioner’s more general request for “clarification’”’
of this Court’s standards for personal jurisdiction is nothing
more than an invitation to engage in a fact-bound inquiry
into whether petitioner’s extensive contacts with California
through its franchise agreements with Foodmaker are suffi-
ciently related to Vons’ claims to warrant the exercise of
personal jurisdiction — as is evident from fact-specific na-
ture of the “Question Presented for Review” in the petition.
This Court has frequently and clearly stated the relatedness
requirement in its previous cases. See, e.g., International
Shoe, 326 U.S. at 319-20 (minimum contacts analysis is
appropriate where the claims “arose out of or are connected
with” the defendant’s contacts with the forum state);
Helicopteros, 466 U.S. at 414 and n.9. Most recently, in
Burger King, the Court again discussed the “relatedness”
requirement, restating the standard as whether the plaintiff's
claims “arise from or relate to” the defendant’s forum
contacts. As long as the defendant’s forum activities satisfy
this broad standard and constitute “minimum contacts”
with the forum, the Court is assured that the fairness and
predictability concerns of the Due Process Clause have been
met. Moreover, because this Court’s test is inevitably fact-
specific, it is unlikely that any one case will definitively settle
the law in this area. See Burger King, 471 U.S. at 485-86
(noting that “the facts of each case must be weighed in
determining whether personal jurisdiction would comport
with fair play and substantial justice”).

In sum, whatever confusion may have existed among the
lower courts as to when an action “arises out of or relates to”
a defendant’s forum-based contacts largely has been allevi-
ated by recent cases, including the decision below, rejecting
tort-based analogies and focusing instead on the relationship
between the defendant and the forum. Given the growing
consensus on this issue, this Court should await further
developments in the lower courts. At the very least, the
Court should await a case in which resolution of the issue

13

will determine the outcome, such as cases in which a
fortuitous contact with the forum is a “but for” cause of an
injury in a distant state but might not meet more stringent
relational standards for specific jurisdiction. See, e.g., Shute,
897 F.2d 377 (jurisdiction upheld where plaintiff's purchase
of travel tickets in the state of Washington were held to be
the “but for” cause of a slip-and-fall injury in international
waters on a cruise ship that departed from Florida).

A. The Decision Below Rests Upon A Straightforward
Application Of This Court’s Decision In Burger King
Corp. v. Rudzewicz And Does Not Merit This Court’s
Review

As the California Supreme Court recognized, the per-
sonal jurisdiction issue in this case was largely determined
by this Court’s analysis in Burger King. In Burger King, this
Court found that the Michigan franchisee’s extensive con-
tacts with the State of Florida through his closely regulated
contractual relationship were more than sufficient to com-
port with applicable due process standards — even though
the franchisee had never physically set foot in Florida. The
Court reasoned that “where the defendant... has created
‘continuing obligations’ between himself and residents of the
forum, he manifestly has availed himself of the privilege of
conducting business there... [B]ecause his activities are
shielded by ‘the benefits and protections’ of the forum’s
laws, it is presumptively not unreasonable to require him to
submit to the burdens of litigation in that forum as well.” Jd.
at 475-76 (citations omitted).

This Court concluded that the defendant’s franchise
agreement with Burger King constituted “a substantial
connection”’ with the State of Florida. Jd., at 479 (emphasis
in original). “Eschewing the option of operating an indepen-
dent local enterprise, [the defendant] deliberately
‘reach[ed] out beyond’ Michigan and negotiated with a
Florida corporation for the purchase of a long-term

io

franchise and the manifold benefits that would derive from
affiliation with a nationwide organization.” Jd. at 479-80.
“TH Je entered into a carefully structured 20-year relation-
ship that envisioned continuing and wide-reaching contacts
with Burger King in Florida.” Jd. at 480. “In light of [the
defendant’s] voluntary acceptance of the long-term and
exacting regulation of his business from Burger King’s
Miami headquarters, the ‘quality and nature’ of his relation-
ship to the company in Florida can in no sense be viewed as
‘random,’ ‘fortuitous,’ or ‘attenuated.’ ” Jd.

This case is virtually indistinguishable from Burger King.
As in Burger King, the California Supreme Court held that
petitioner had subjected itself to jurisdiction in the Califor-
nia courts when it contracted for the significant benefits
associated with an affiliation with a national fast food chain
and, in return, submitted to extensive regulation of its
activities through the franchise agreement. Pet. App. 16a-
18a, 39a-30a. The agreement that petitioner entered into
with Foodmaker was nearly identical to those in Burger
King, including the strong emphasis on uniformity of all
aspects of the operation of restaurants within the Jack In
The Box “System.” Jd. at 4a, 16a-17a, 27a-28a. Foodmaker
franchisees, including petitioner, were required to submit to
exacting regulation of every aspect of their operations,
including “uniform standards for cooking food, training
employees, and buying equipment.” Jd. at 25a-26a. Com-
pare also JA II 629% (franchise agreement requiring fran-
chisee to submit to uniform standards for “restaurant
designs and color scheme, signage, interior decor, equipment
systems, product and supplies, specifications, menu formats
and service methods and procedures”) with Burger King,
471 U.S. at 464, n.1 (mandating uniform “restaurant format
and operating system, including a recognized design, decor,

“References to “JA” are to the Joint Appendix, Volumes I and II, in
the record before the California Court of Appeal.

15

color scheme and style of building, uniform standards,
specifications and procedures of operation, quality and uni-
formity of products and services offered”). As in Burger
King, the parties acknowledged that these standards were
“necessary and essential to the image and success of each
Jack In The Box restaurant and the [Jack In The Box]
system [as a whole].” JA II 629 (franchise agreement).

66 6

Like the franchisee in Burger King, petitioner “ ‘reached
out beyond’”’ its state of residence and negotiated with a
California corporation “for the purchase of a long-term
franchise and the manifold benefits that would derive from
affiliation” with a multistate organization. Burger King, 471
U.S. at 479-80. It entered into a carefully structured long-
term relationship that “envisioned continuing and wide-
reaching contacts” with Foodmaker in California. Jd. at 480.
Finally, it voluntarily accepted “the long-term and exacting
regulation” of its business from Foodmaker’s San Diego
headquarters. Jd. As the California Supreme Court noted,
WRMI’s contacts with California “can in no sense be
viewed as ‘random,’ ‘fortuitous,’ or ‘attenuated.’ ” Pet. App.
at 15a-16a (quoting Burger King, 471 U.S. at 480).

Indeed, petitioner had more extensive ties with California
than the individual franchisee in Burger King, who had “no
physical ties to Florida” other than his partner’s attendance
at a brief training course. /d. at 479. Petitioner had signifi-
cant physical contacts with California, including attendance
at training sessions at Foodmaker facilities in California,
trips by its principals to California in connection with the
franchise relationship, and the negotiation and partial execu-
tion of the franchise agreements in California. Pet. App. 5a-
6a. Because the Burger King defendant’s very limited con-
tacts were enough to constitute “purposeful availment” of
the benefits and protections of the forum, it follows that
WRMI’s more extensive contacts meet that standard.

16

This Court in Burger King also emphasized the choice of
law provision in Burger King’s franchise agreement, which
was a significant indication that the franchisee “ ‘purpose-
fully availed himself of the benefits and protections of
Florida’s laws’ by entering into contracts expressly providing
that those laws would govern franchise disputes.” Burger
King, 471 U.S. at 482. Once again, this case is even stronger
because petitioner not only availed itself of California’s Jaws,
but also invoked the protection and jurisdiction of its courts
in any action — including an action brought by petitioner
itself — to enforce the agreements. Pet. App. 4a-Sa. As the
California Supreme Court noted, this provision clearly indi-
cates that petitioner purposefully availed itself of the bene-
fits of California law. Jd. at 16a.

The only difference between this case and Burger King is
that here the plaintiff is not a party to the franchise agree-
ment that gives rise to “minimum contacts” with the forum.
As to this issue, the California Supreme Court correctly
held that it is the relationship between the defendant and
the forum, and not the relationship between the defendant
and the plaintiff, that controls the personal jurisdiction issue.
See Pet. App. 26a (citing Asahi, 480 U.S. at 112 (plurality
opinion); Burger King, 471 U.S. at 475, 479; Helicopteros,
466 U.S. at 414; Shaffer, 433 U.S. at 204 and Keeton, 465
U.S. at 775. As the court also noted, the federal courts to
address this issue — the Seventh Circuit and the Federal
Circuit — have reached the same conclusion, holding that it
is the defendant’s relationship with the forum, and not with
the particular plaintiff bringing the action, that drives the
personal jurisdiction analysis. Pet. App. 26a-27a (citing
Akro Corp., 45 F.3d at 1547 and Amoco Cadiz, 699 F.2d at
917). Because there is no conflict on this issue and the point
was correctly decided below, it is not worthy of this Court’s
review.

17

B. Petitioner Overstates The Claimed Conflict Among The
Lower Courts As To the Standard For Determining
Whether A Claim “Arises Out Of Or Relates To” A
Defendant’s Contacts With The Forum

The petition focuses entirely on a claimed conflict among
the federal courts as to the appropriate standard for deter-
mining whether a cause of action “arises out of or relates to”
the defendant’s forum-based contacts. Since /nternational
Shoe, this Court has held that the Due Process Clause is not
offended by a state’s exercise of jurisdiction over an out-of-
state defendant where the defendant has availed itself of the
benefits of the forum state and the obligations that the State
seeks to enforce “arise out of or are connected with the
activities within the state.” 326 U.S. at 319. More recently,
this Court has reiterated that the “minimum contacts”
analysis of International Shoe applies where the plaintiffs’
claims “arise out of or relate to” the defendants’ contacts
with the forum. Burger King, 471 U.S. at 472-73; see also id.
at 474 (where defendant has engaged in activities with
respect to the forum, specific jurisdiction is proper “for
disputes relating to such activity”); Helicopteros, 466 U.S.
at 414 (relevant test for application of International Shoe is
whether “a controversy is related to or ‘arises out of ” the
defendant’s forum-related activities). It is this latter stan-
dard, petitioner claims, that has given rise to confusion in
the lower courts.

1. Since The Decision In Shute, The Lower Courts Have
Moved Away From Tort-Based Tests For Personal
Jurisdiction, Alleviating the Circuit Split Created By
Earlier Decisions

WRMI asserts that a serious conflict exists among the
circuit courts over the degree of relatedness required be-
tween the defendant’s contacts with the forum and the
plaintiff's claims in order for the Jnternational Shoe “mini-
mum contacts” test to apply. Petitioner asserts that the

18

circuits are split into “two general camps” — one advocating
a stringent “proximate cause” standard for relatedness and
the other a “broad ‘but for’ ” standard. Pet. 11.

Petitioner’s statement might have had some merit in
1990, when this Court granted certiorari in Carnival Cruise
Lines, Inc. v. Shute, 498 U.S. 807-08 (1990). That case
arose from a decision of the Ninth Circuit, in which the
Ninth Circuit had noted that the federal courts had reached
different conclusions on the issue, some applying a “but for”
test and others using a “proximate cause” standard. The
Ninth Circuit specifically noted that the choice between
these two tesis determined the outcome in that case because
the plaintiffs’ purchase of travel tickets in the forum — a
fact that the Ninth Circuit found to be a “but for” cause of
their injury on a cruise ship in international waters — would
not have been sufficient under a “proximate cause” test. The
Ninth Circuit selected the “but for” standard and upheld
jurisdiction. 9

This Court granted certiorari on this question in Shute,
see 498 U.S. 807-08 (1990), but ultimately decided the case
on another ground without reaching the personal jurisdiction
issue. Carnival Cruise Lines, Inc. v. Shute, 499 U.S. 585
(1991). The Court noted that “it is not the habit of the
Court to decide questions of a constitutional nature unless
absolutely necessary to a decision of the case.” Jd. at 589-90
(citation omitted).

Although the tort-based “proximate cause” and “but for”
standards may have been a perceived source of circuit
conflict in 1990, when this Court granted certiorari in Shute,
the lower courts more recently have moved away from
analyzing the “relatedness” requirement in these terms. The
general trend among the federal circuit courts — like the
California Supreme Court’s decision below — is to look
directly to this Court’s “arise out of or relates to” test rather
than apply tort-based causation standards such as “proxi-

19

mate cause” or “but for.” Indeed, the “proximate cause”
standard — one side of the split that Petitioner asks this
Court to resolve — has been all but abandoned by the First
Circuit, the only federal circuit in which it continued to be
the law. See Nowak v. Tak How Investments, Lid., 94 F.3d
708, 716 (1st Cir. 1996). Petitioner concedes that Nowak
represents a retreat from the stringent “proximate cause”
standard. Pet. 11.

In Nowak, the plaintiff's decedent drowned in the pool of
the defendant’s Holiday Inn in Hong Kong. Plaintiff's em-
ployer was a Massachusetts corporation that had contracted
for a minimum number of nights at the Holiday Inn in
return for a discounted rate. The defendant kept in regular
contact with the Massachusetts corporation as to their rates,
and mailed promotional material to Massachusetts.

The First Circuit found that the necessary degree of
relatedness between contacts and cause of action had been
met, reasoning that “[w]hile the nexus between Tak How’s
solicitation of [the Massachusetts corporations] business
and Mrs. Nowak’s death does not constitute a proximate
cause relationship, it does represent a meaningful link be-
tween Tak How’s contact and the harm suffered.” Nowak,
94 F.2d at 716. The court concluded that this “meaningful
link” satisfied due process limits on the court’s exercise of
personal jurisdiction over the defendants.

The First Circuit in Nowak rejected the argument that a
line of First Circuit cases, beginning with Marino v. Hyatt
Corp., 793 F.2d 427 (1st Cir. 1986) and including Pizarro v.
Hoteles Concorde Int'l, C_A., 907 F.2d 1256 (1st Cir. 1990)
(cited by petitioner here), established “proximate cause”’ as
the applicable federal standard. The court recognized, as it
had previously, that these cases rested upon an interpreta-
tion of Massachusetts’s long-arm statute that since had been
rejected by the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court.
Nowak, 94 F.3d at 713 (citations omitted). The court

20

concluded that a strict “proximate cause” test was nol
appropriate in the constitutional context because it was
“unnecessarily restrictive.” Jd. at 715.

Petitioner attempts to resurrect the proximate cause test
by erroneously claiming that the Second and Eighth Cir-
cuits adhere to this standard. However, the two cases cited
for this proposition — Pearrow v. National Life & Acc. Ins.
Co., 703 F.2d 1067 (8th Cir. 1983), and Gelfand v. Tanner
Motor Tours, Lid., 339 F.2d 317 (2nd Cir. 1964) — do not
support the point. Both cases were decided before this
Court’s decisions in Burger King and Helicopteros, and both
have been construed as mere interpretations of the relevant
state long-arm statutes, which require a more stringent
relationship between the forum contacts and the cause of
action. See, e.g., Beacon Enterprises, Inc. v. Menzies, 715
F.2d 757, 765 (1983) (construing Gelfand as an application
of New York’s longarm statute); Pet. App. 46a (noting that
Pearrow has been construed as an interpretation of the state
long-arm statute, rather than a constitutional ruling).

Petitioner fails to cite other, more recent decisions of both
the Second and the Eighth Circuits assessing the relation-
ship between the defendant’s contacts with the forum and
the cause of action under a relational standard very similar
to the standard applied by the California Supreme Court
here. In Agency Rent A Car System, Inc. v. Grand Rent A
Car Corp, 98 F.3d 25 (2nd Cir. 1996), for example, the
Second Circuit relied upon this Court’s analysis in Burger
King to conclude that the defendants were subject to per-
sonal jurisdiction in New York:

As in Burger King, licensees have ‘deliberately
reach[ed] out’ beyond their home states for the
purpose of ‘a long-term franchise and the manifold
benefits that would derive from affiliation with a
nationwide organization.’ As such, they purpose-
fully availed themselves of the forum and

2!

shouldhave reasonably foreseen being haled into
court here.

98 F.3d at 32 (citing Burger King, at 479-80). Significantly,
Gelfand is no longer cited by any court as authority on the
degree of “relatedness” required by the due process clause.

The Eighth Circuit also has changed its standard since its
decision in Pearrow. In Bell Paper Box, Inc. v. U.S. Kids,
Inc., 22 F.3d 816 (8th Cir. 1984), the Eighth Circuit
explicitly acknowledged adjusting its “relatedness” standard
to comport with recent decisions of this Court. It then
applied the “arising out of or related to” standard to find
that it had specific jurisdiction over the defendant. /d. at
819; see also Wessel, Arnold & Henderson v. National Med.
Waste, Inc., 65 F.3d 1427 (8th Cir. 1995). As these cases
indicate, the Eighth Circuit has moved toward a relational
standard rather than a tort-based causation test to determine
the scope of personal jurisdiction.

Most of the lower federal courts have acknowledged that
their standards, though differently stated, are similar in
application. The Sixth Circuit has stated that although a
cause of action need not “formally ‘arise from’ defendant’s
contacts with the forum,” there must be a “substantial
connection” with the defendant’s forum activities. Third
National Bank v. WEDGE Group, 882 F.2d 1087, 1091 (6th
Cir. 1989). It has equated its “substantial connection”
requirement with the “lies in the wake of” standard em-
ployed by the Seventh Circuit in Amoco Cadiz, 699 F.2d at
915-16. The Sixth Circuit also has noted that its position is
consistent with the Fourth and Eleventh Circuit standards,
as well as with this Court’s precedents. Third Nat'l Bank,
882 F.2d at 1091 (“The law of this circuit... is consistent
with the Supreme Court’s language in /nternational
Shoe... [and] with [the standard applied] by at least two
other circuits. See City of Virginia Beach v. Roanoke River
Basin Ass'n, 776 F.2d 484, 487 (4th Cir. 1985); Southwire

22

_Co v. Trans-World Metals & Co., 735 F.2d 440, 442 (11th
Cir. 1984).”’)

The California Supreme Court similarly noted here that
its “substantial connection” standard is consistent with the
standards adopted by most federal circuits. Pet. App.
21a-23a. Moreover, the standard applied by the court below
and the federal courts discussed above comporis with this
Court’s precedents setting forth the values underlying the
Due Process Clause. The “substantial connection” between
defendant’s forum activities and the cause of action, coupled
with the requirement that those activities constitute “mini-
mum contacts” with the forum, ensures that the defendant
will be forewarned that his purposeful availment of the
forum may subject him to suit there.

The only circuit court that clearly remains separate from
the others is the Ninth Circuit, which continues to apply a
tort-based “but for” test rather than the relational standard
suggested by this Court’s decisions and applied by other
federal courts. See Ballard v. Savage, 65 F.3d 1495, 1500
(9th Cir. 1995) (reaffirming the “but for” test of Shute);
Doe v. American Nat'l Red Cross, 1197 U.S. App. LEXIS
9650 (May 2, 1997) at *9 (same).° Given the near-
unanimity with which the other federal courts are reaching
consensus, there is a substantial possibility that the Ninth
Circuit will follow suit. If it does not, then a case from the
Ninth Circuit directly posing the question would be a more
appropriate vehicle for resolving the issue.

> Even the Ninth Circuit has qualified its “but for” standard some-
what by noting that the “reasonableness” element of the due process
analysis may allow a defendant to defeat personal jurisdiction even
where the defendant's activities were purposefully directed at the forum
and were the “but for” cause of the plaintiff's injuries, but where
exercising jurisdiction under the circumstances would be unreasonable.
Doe, 1997 U.S. App. LEXIS 9650 at *10.

23

2. The Legal Question That Petitioner Poses Is Not At
Issue In This Case

Even if further guidance by this Court were needed to
resolve variations among the “relatedness” standards ap-
plied by the lower courts, this case is a poor vehicle for doing
so because it does not squarely present the issue. As the
California Supreme Court explained here, petitioner’s long-
term franchise agreement with a California corporation is at
the heart of Vons’ counterclaim and was a direct and
immediate cause — even in a strict tort sense — of Vons’
injuries. Petitioner’s franchise agreements with Foodmaker,
a California corporation, required it to prepare and cook
hamburger meat in an unsafe manner, causing injury to Jack
In The Box customers. Petitioner’s extensive contractual
ties with California dictated the very actions that form the
substantive basis for Vons’ claims. These actions — the
inadequate preparation and cooking of hamburger meat —
are both the “proximate” and the “but for” cause of the
injuries caused by petitioner. As a result, California’s asser-
tion of personal jurisdiction in this case simply does not rest
upon this Court’s selection of a “relatedness” standard.

Even if this Court concludes that guidance is needed at
some point to clarify the necessary relationship between the
defendant’s contacts with the forum and the cause of action,
it should await a case that squarely presents the issue.
Specifically, the Court should await one of the many cases
where a sporadic contact with the forum state is a “but for”
cause of an injury in a foreign state, but otherwise bears
little relation to the plaintiffs’ action or the injury itself.

In Shute, for example, the defendant’s forum contacts
consisted merely of advertising in the forum and distributing
brochures to travel agents within the forum. One such travel
agent booked passage on defendant’s cruise ships for Wash-
ington residents. Although the defendant’s contacts were
extensive enough to constitute the “but for” cause of plain-

24

tiffs injuries aboard defendant’s cruise lines, they were not
the proximate cause of those injuries. As the Ninth Circuit
itself recognized, its application of a “but for” standard,
rather than a “proximate cause” standard, was determina-
tive of that court’s finding of jurisdiction.

This case does not frame the relatedness requirement in
such sharp relief. Accordingly, rather than granting certio-
rari in a case that will not require the Court to reach the
only question that the petitioner has identified as certworthy,
this Court should await a case in which the relatedness
standard determines the forum’s assertion of personal
jurisdiction.

CONCLUSION

In sum, the conflict that petitioner claims exists among
the lower federal courts has largely resolved itself. To the
extent that further clarification is necessary, this Court
should await a case that presents a more appropriate vehicle
for resolving the issue. The petition for a writ of certiorari
should be denied.

Dated: June 26, 1997 Respectfully submitted,

KRISTIN ANDREA LINSLEY

Counsel of Record
GREGORY P. STONE
KRISTIN S. ESCALANTE
MUNGER, TOLLES & OLSON
355 South Grand Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90071
(213) 683-9100

Counsel for Respondent

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_0696%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
