# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Toland v. Prudential Securities Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_0666%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1997
- **Citation:** 521 U.S. 1119

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

ae SS a
961731 APR 28 1997

No OFFICE OF THE CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1996

oa

LESLIE AND DOROTHY BISHOFBERGER,

Petitioners,
VS.

PRUDENTIAL SECURITIES INCORPORATED,
Respondent.

¢

Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Second Circuit

¢

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

¢

ALLAN S. HALey
Counsel of Record

Hacey & BILHEIMER
505 Coyote Street, Suite A
Nevada City, California 95959
Telephone: (916) 265-5831
Facsimile: (916) 265-5836
Attorneys for Petitioners

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a court who certifies an expansive class
definition that aids the defendant in circumventing its
contractual and regulatory obligations to arbitrate should
relax its standard in allowing persons who had already
elected to arbitrate, who were engaged in arbitration, and
who were not represented at the certification hearing, to
opt out from the class after the deadline has passed?

il

LIST OF PARTIES BELOW

Appellants in the Second Circuit:

John D. Toland, Christal Toland (deceased),
MacDaniel Jackson, Miriam Jackson, Matt
Nilson, David Matus, Melinda Matus, Carl
Roba, Vincent Lazara, Jay Jablonski, James
Barrett, Jeffrey Schiller, Leslie Bishofberger, and
Dorothy Bishofberger.

Appellee in the Second Circuit:
Prudential Securities Incorporated.

LIST OF AFFILIATED ENTITIES

The Prudential Insurance Company of America
(parent corporation)

lil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
CPaPRNE MITE FETE EEA woe sco eK widseeaveceausees i
Cee GE SIME EEE RAI VE + vib acecevenvsvivcescuedves ii
eee MAE PURURAOSE EEE? PINE IEIES 6 os ccc cc eccccuncns ii
BERN ME PEE hs cece cine codwceenstossuucs iii
RIE ET PEATE SERIA A EON 6 5 vc ck odes av atonsacnives iv
Nos ge dns ok Cowen obo S a OU ASA 1
8 BRS RRA Ea bs AGP rat aber prea nea aD 1
STATUTES AND RULES INVOLVED............... 1
PUNE REET GOR CRON SOAS oie eve cuca cs vececee® 2
REASONS FOR GRANTING REVIEW.............. 4
This Court Should Act to Limit Abuses of the Class
PURE RUUUNOE WRONG. 6 oes vc ick ves ewan scduacs 4

SE aa 9S 65 0b 5 6 dee wacwn eaesae anes 9

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Eisen v. Carlisle & Jacquelin, 417 U.S. 156 (1974) ..

Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co., 339

Sh Ne Oe cE eet en

Shearson/American Express, Inc. v. McMahon, 482

er | CRO a eens iy oohene Gat eerie eas

STATUTES

Racketeering Influenced and Corrupt Organiza-

Hots Act, 15 U5. & FIG Ol O88. cece cesccevs
Se A Rh SMES 38a PEAR OA Ge ERE Ee

Ruies or Court
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

PE aie hed ei eR ok ER be Lae da
RN Es oo ok ck TEAC REE coeds och
ES Fahl aes bo ee RE ERLE HEL ER elend

Supreme Court Rules
EE SNE Shak COKER REO EOAD MOREE SO ees

Bas oe coe oh ee eae ek ees

te

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion below of the Second Circuit Court of
Appeals and of the United States District Court for the
Southern District of New York are unreported. The opin-
ion of the Court of Appeals is reprinted in the Appendix
to the related Petition for Certiorari in No. 96-1538 filed
by John D. and Christal Toland (“Toland Petition”),
beginning at Toland App. 1. The District Court’s order as
to these Petitioners is reproduced infra, at App. 1.

¢

JURISDICTION

The summary order of the Second Circuit affirming
the district court was entered on December 27, 1996
(Toland App. 1). Following a timely petition, the Second
Circuit entered an order denying rehearing on January
27, 1997 (Toland App. 58). This petition, as well as the
Toland Petition, have been filed within ninety days fol-
lowing the entry of the order denying rehearing, as per-
mitted by Rule 13.3 of the Rules of this Court. This Court
has jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

¢

STATUTES AND RULES INVOLVED

This case involves the interpretation and application
of the following rule:

Rule 60. Relief from Judgment or Order

(b) On motion and upon such terms as are just, the
court may relieve a party or a party’s legal representative
from a final judgment, order, or proceeding for the fol-
lowing reasons: (1) mistake, inadvertence, surprise, or
excusable neglect; .. . or (6) any other reason justifying
relief from the operation of the judgment... .

¢

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This petition seeks review of a summary order of the
Second Circuit Court of Appeals affirming the denial, by
the United States District Court for the Southern District
of New York, of petitioners’ motion under Rule 60 (b),
Fed.R.Civ.P., to be excluded from a previously certified
class. Jurisdiction in the district court was based on the
Racketeering Influenced and Corrupt Organizations Act,
18 U.S.C. § 1961 et seq.

In the early 1980’s petitioners, Leslie and Dorothy
Bishofberger, were sold $266,000 worth of interests in
private limited partnerships sponsored by the respondent
Prudential Securities Incorporated (PSI). In October 1993,
the Securities Exchange Commission and PSI entered into
a consent decree that established a special claims pro-
cedure to make restitution to those customers who could
show, without taking into account any statute of limita-
tions defense, that they had been sold unsuitable partner-
ship investments. Acting through their stockbroker, the
Bishofbergers submitted a claim in the SEC proceedings.

PSI rejected their claim. In June 1995 the Bishofbergers
signed forms to elect expedited arbitration of their claim
in accordance with the SEC’s procedures. As before, they
sent their forms to their broker, who was no longer with
PSI, to fill in the details of their investments and to
submit the forms to the claims administrator. The next
day, however, their broker was hospitalized with a heart
attack. Their papers apparently never reached the claims
administrator.

The Bishofbergers were unaware of what had hap-
pened, and believed that they were in the SEC’s expe-
dited arbitration process. When they received a notice of
the pendency of a class action against PSI in the Southe
District of New York, they read in the notice that they
were automatically excluded if they had previously
elected to join the SEC proceedings. Because they had
done so, they took no action to opt out of the class.

Some weeks later, they spoke to their broker and
asked him about their expedited arbitration. He checked
with his office, but could not determine what had hap-
pened to their submission papers. He came to their home
and had them fill out a duplicate set. He told them what
to write in a letter to explain the reason for the late
submission, and they sent the package off to the claims
administrator. That official forwarded a copy of the
papers to PSI, who received them on October 16, 1995.

An in-house attorney for PSI contacted the Bish-
ofbergers two weeks later to obtain more details of their
excuse for late submittal. They told him about their
broker’s heart attack. He told them that they should do
nothing until they got a ruling on their late submission.

Instead of passing on the details about the heart attack to
the claims administrator, however, PSI’s attorney recom-
mended only that the Bishofbergers’ late submittal be
rejected because it had been “postmarked after the dead-
line.” The claims administrator did not contact the Bish-
ofbergers, but simply sent a notice of rejection based on
PSI’s recommendation. By the time the Bishofbergers
received the rejection, the deadline to opt out of the class
had passed. Their broker referred them to an attorney,
who filed a motion on their behalf under Rule 60(b),
Fed.R.Civ.P., to exclude them from the class so that they
could apply to the claims administrator for relief. (The
judgment in the class action barred them from pursuing
any remedy in any other forum [Toland App. 39, at { 6].)
The district court held that the Bishofbergers should have
taken the precaution of opting out of the class before the
October 30 deadline, and denied their motion. The court
of appeals, while noting that the Bishofbergers’ situation
was “unusual”, affirmed on the ground that the district
court had not abused its discretion in denying relief from
its judgment under Rule 60 (Toland App. 21-23).

¢

REASONS FOR GRANTING REVIEW

This Court Should Act to Limit Abuses of the Class
Action Notice Procedure

The narrow issue before this court is whether the
district court abused its discretion in denying the Bish-
ofbergers the right to opt out of the class after the initial
deadline had passed. PSI stressed that because of an
option to cancel out of its proposed settlement which it

had reserved in the event that too many individuals
opted out, it would be prejudiced by the late exclusion of
the Bishofbergers. Although the district court agreed with
PSI, its order did not take into account the fact that PSI
already had in its hands the Bishofbergers’ papers sub-
mitting their claim to the SEC when its counsel told them
to “do nothing” while waiting for the claims administra-
tor to act. PSI could not rationally claim that it would be
prejudiced by allowing the Bishofbergers to proceed in
the forum which it knew they had previously elected. The
same is true of the other appellants below, who were
already in private arbitrations with PSI when the opt-out
deadline passed.

This case is about more than the legal sufficiency of
excuses offered under Rule 60, however. It is impossible
to review the discretion exercised below without at the
same time reviewing what happened before the deadline
for opting out had passed. While the earlier orders certi-
fying the class and finding the proposed settlement fair
and reasonable are not at issue here, it is the district
court’s refusal to exclude petitioners from their operation
that requires them to be examined in the context of peti-
tioners’ individual situations. When that is done, the
abuse of discretion that occurred becomes manifest.

The record in this case demonstrates a gross abuse of
class action notice procedures under Fed. R. Civ. P. Rule
23. This Court should exercise its power of review in
order to rein in excesses of the type that occurred below,
which were given only cursory review by the Court of
Appeals in an unpublished summary order. See Rule 10(a)
of the Rules of this Court; Eisen v. Carlisle & Jacquelin, 417
U.S. 156, 174-76 (1974); Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank &

Trust Co., 339 U.S. 306, 314-18 (1950). Consider the roles
played by:

(a) Defendant Prudential Securities Incorporated
(“PSI”), which was accused by the Securities and
Exchange Commission (“SEC”) of bilking hundreds of
thousands of public customers in the sale of limited part-
nerships in the 1980’s. As a member of the securities
industry, it had supported the enforceability of standard
industry arbitration clauses in customer agreements,
which were upheld by this Court for the first time in
Shearson/American Express, Inc. v. McMahon, 482 U.S. 220
(1987). Notwithstanding those agreements to arbitrate,
PSI below used the power of the District Court under
Rule 23 to nullify arbitration proceedings against it that
had been ongoing for more than two years, and in which
claimants, the Tolands, had invested $100,000. In a
number of other cases consolidated for appeal below, PSI
used the broad class definition to sweep in a number of
its own former sales representatives who were in the
middle of arbitrating employment claims, not partnership
investment claims, with their employer PSI. Without
actual notice of the class proceedings in several instances,
all of the former PSI employees were determined to be
included in a class that (a) contained not one representa-
tive member who was a present or former PSI employee,
and (b) afforded no relief for the type of claims which
they were then arbitrating. The district court held, and
the Court of Appeals affirmed, that persons who had no
actual notice of the proceedings and who did not have
claims typical of the class nevertheless were bound, at
their peril, to show up at the fairness hearing and present
their objections to the scope of the class!

In the case of these petitioners, the Bishofbergers, PSI
was able to get the district court to make a nullity of their
continuing attempts to participate in an expedited arbi-
tration procedure established by the SEC for the benefit
of defrauded PSI customers. The class notice sent to them
told them that they were excluded from the class if they
had previously elected the SEC claims administration
procedure. They had done everything humanly possible
to make that election by the class opt-out date. Neverthe-
less the district court held, and the Court of Appeals
affirmed, that despite the express language of the class
notice they were in retrospect required not only affirma-
tively to elect the SEC’s forum, but also to opt out of the
New York class before the deadline.

In this manner, PSI was able to escape from the terms
of its own arbitration agreements, and even from the
terms of a consent decree it had negotiated with the SEC.
It yanked the petitioners, both represented (the Tolands)
and unrepresented by counsel (the Bishofbergers), out of
their elected arbitrations by negotiating a dragnet class
definition that no one was present to oppose.

The second major role was played by:

(b) Class plaintiffs and their counsel, public customers
who had not chosen arbitration in front of any forum, but
who were financially interested in having as big a class as
possible, and who therefore cooperated with PSI in defin-
ing the class so broadly that it swept up people like the
Tolands who were in ongoing industry arbitration pro-
ceedings; people like the Bishofbergers who were doing
all they could to join the expedited proceedings set up by
the SEC; and people who were not even investors, but

present and former employees of PSI who happened to
have complaints against PSI based on their employment
contracts, which also contained mandatory arbitration
clauses.

Finally, there was:

(c) The District Court itself, which approved the class
definition proposed by PSI and the named plaintiffs with-
out the benefit of objections from any of the other classes
of persons included in its sweep. Having engaged in the
fiction that misdirected and undelivered notices were
legally adequate, it went on to chastise those who never
got the notices for not appearing and objecting to their
inclusion in the class. The result was a Kafkaesque pro-
ceeding in which those who did not represent the inter-
ests of the absent petitioners were allowed to act as if
they had done so, and those who did not object for the
very good reason that they either had no notice, or read
the notice to mean that they were excluded, were held
accountable for failing to appear and object.

These were all of the active participants in the pro-
ceedings below. Not one of them could be expected to
represent fairly or adequately the interests of these par-
ticular petitioners. What is equally not surprising is that
all of them have circled the wagons in defending the
procedural excesses for which they are jointly responsi-
ble.

It is unreasonable to expect that a plaintiff who
brings a class action will narrow or restrict the definition
of the class if the defendant also has an interest in sweep-
ing in as many potential adversaries as possible. In such a
circumstance, both sides have their own reasons for

wanting the class made as large as the court will allow.
Absent objective opposition, the court has no way of
perceiving the unjust consequences of its certifying the
proposed class. When it caps its arbitrary creation of a
class with a “tough . . . exercise of discretion” (Toland
App. at 16) in adjudicating Rule 60 motions for late
exclusion, the court gives the impression that it is collud-
ing with the named parties to achieve a one-sided result.
The result is a process that transforms the class action
from a vehicle to aid those who are too weak to obtain
individual relief into a sword to punish those who are
already obtaining their own individual relief. This was
not the intent of Rule 23. Only this Court is in a position,
by granting certiorari in this case and by reversing the
orders denying late opt-outs, to put reasonable limits on
the excesses of power asserted by the courts below.

¢

CONCLUSION

Having fashioned an extremely broad class via a
stipulation between PSI and the named class representa-
tives, the district court was obliged to see that the judg-
ment did not operate unfairly to prejudice parties who
had already affirmatively elected an alternative forum. It
failed to protect the interests of those who received inad-
equate notice, and by refusing late opt-outs to these and
other petitioners, transformed the class action into a tool
that PSI was able to use to evade its contractual and

regulatory obligations to arbitrate. For the reasons given

10

in the preceding section, the Court should grant this

petition for certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

ALLAN S. HALEY
Counsel of Record

Hacey & BILHEIMER

505 Coyote Street, Suite A
Nevada City, California 95959
Telephone: (916) 265-5831
Attorneys for Petitioners

A-1

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

X MDL Docket

In re: PRUDENTIAL SECURITIES : No. 1005

INCORPORATED LIMITED

PARTNERSHIPS LITIGATION M-21-67 (MP)
ORDER NO. 57

oe

ORDER
(Filed Jan. 30, 1996)

Leslie and Dorothy Bishofberger (the “Bishof-
bergers”) having moved this Court for an order determin-
ing that they are excluded from the class certified therein;
or, alternatively, pursuant to Rule 60(b) of the Federal
Rules of Civil Procedure, for relief from this Court's
November 20, 1995 Order and Final Judgment; and for an
order excluding them from the class; it is hereby

ORDERED that the Bishofbergers are Class Members
in this action and accordingly are bound by this Court’s
November 20, 1995 Order and Final Judgment; and it is
further

ORDERED that the Bishofberger’s motion is denied
in its entirety.

Dated: New York, New York
January 30, 1996

/s/ Milton Pollack
MILTON POLLACK
SENIOR UNITED STATES
DISTRICT JUDGE

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_0666%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
