# Reply Brief — Morgan v. Chris L. ex rel. Mike L.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_0619%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1997
- **Citation:** 520 U.S. 1271

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
La FILED

_
—— MAY 19 1997

LERK
In THE " OFFICE OF THE CLER |

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

ALLEN MORGAN,
SUPERINTENDENT, KNOx COUNTY SCHOOLS,
- Petitioner,
Curis L., A MINOR BY NEXT FRIEND, MIKE L.,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit

REPLY BRIEF OF PETITIONER

CHARLES L. WEATHERLY CARTER G. PHILLIPS *
JULIE J. WEATHERLY SIDLEY & AUSTIN

THE WEATHERLY LAW FIRM 1722 Eye Street, N.W.
3700 Crestwood Parkway, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20006
Suite 140 (202) 736-8000

Duluth, Georgia 30136
(770) 564-9400

RICHARD T. BEELER
Law Director
KNOX COUNTY GOVERNMENT
Suite 612
City-County Building
400 Main Street
Knoxville, Tennessee 37902
(423) 215-2327
Counsel for Petitioner

May 19, 1997 * Counsel of Record

WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

a BEL meee

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES Page

Arizonans for Official English v. Arizona, 117
ie a O _ ; PNR Ba en ee 2,3
Church of Scientology v. United States, 506 U.S. 9
| RE OF ER a AOR a MEET SSA ARE 3
Hendrick Hudson Dist. Bd. of Educ. v. Rowley, 458
Pei emi I ecstatic d cccaced ects tan eastplocienion Snsiceapntnsids 1,4
Honig V. Doe, 484 U.S. 305 (1988) ...0000 1, 2,4
Lewis v. Casey, 116 S. Ct. 2174 (1996) .... 0... 6
In re McCann, 1990 WL 16883 (Tenn. Ct. App.
I a I itch aha citare Gee a
Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1032 (1983) ...............
Missouri V. Jenkins, 115 S. Ct. 2038 (1995) ............
Moore v. Sims, 442 U.S. 415 (1979) ...........00000.000..
Virginia Dep’t of Educ. v. Riley, 106 F.3d 559 (4th
RE, NE Gace digits canbe cea Se eet oo 1, 5, 6
Younger V. Harris, 401 U.S. 837 (1971) ................... 6

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Robert L. Stern et al., Supreme Court Practice
gs ER, SAORI a ae ead cen Or. eet ih ela ane 2

In THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

No. 96-1681

ALLEN MORGAN,
SUPERINTENDENT, KNOX COUNTY SCHOOLS,

- Petitioner,

Curis L., A MINOR BY NEXT FRIEND, MIKE L.,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit -

REPLY BRIEF OF PETITIONER

In his petition, the Superintendent of the Knox County
Schools demonstrated that the extraordinary order of the
federal courts in this case purporting to divest the Ten-
nessee Juvenile Court of the opportunity to review the
juvenile complaint filed against respondent as mandated
by state law warranted review by this Court. In particu-
lar, petitioner argued that the decision below conflicts
with the logic and reasoning of the Fourth Circuit in
Virginia Department of Education v. Riley, 106 F.3d
559 (4th Cir. 1997), and this Court’s decisions in
Hendrick Hudson District Board of Education v. Rowley,
458 U.S. 176 (1982) and Honig v. Doe, 484 U.S. 305
~ (1988). Moreover, the question of whether the Individ-
uals with Disabilities Education Act (“IDEA”) authorizes
interference with a state’s juvenile justice system is a
question of profound importance both to the public
schools and the juvenile courts.

2

Respondent desperately opposes certiorari at all costs,
even taking the extreme, and ultimately self-defeating,
tack of arguing the case is moot. The reply to respond-
ent’s primary contention is simple: either the entire case
should be dismissed under Arizonans for Official English
v. Arizona, 117 S. Ct. 1055, 1072 (1997), or the case
should be granted so that the vital issue presented con-
cerning the scope of a federal court’s remedial authority
under the IDEA can be decided by this Court.

1. Respondent goes to great lengths (Opp. 4-6) to
establish that this case has become moot. It is true that
the juvenile petition has been dismissed (albeit solely
because respondent is no longer a juvenile—not because
of the decision below).’ It also is true that respondent
for now has dropped out of school. Still, it is not clear
that the lawsuit is moot. Cf. Honig v. Doe, 484 US. at
318-20 (former student’s claim is not moot because he
still is protected by the Act). Respondent remains subject
to the IDEA and can return to school in Knox County at
any time prior to his 21st birthday. Thus, the injunction
against reporting him to criminal authorities for school-
related activities will remain viable for three more years.
This residual effect of the underlying decree satisfies the
minimal injury in fact requirement for Article III and
ensures that the Court, by reversing, could grant relief
that would have “effect.” Jd. (“capable of repetition yet

1 Respondent implies (Opp. 4) that the mootness issue arose
solely because petitioner did not timely file a rehearing petition
or seek a stay. In fact, the mootness issue began to arise in Janu-
ary 1997, when respondent turned 18. Resp. App. 3a. Of course,
if respondent genuinely believed that his departure from school
mooted this dispute, his counsel had a duty to bring that to the
court’s attention immediately. Robert L. Stern et al., Supreme
Court Practice 721 (7th ed. 1993) (and cases cited therein). He
did not do so and the Sixth Circuit decided the case under precisely
the same circumstances that respondent now asserts mooted this
dispute. If the case is moot, it should be dismissed so that it has
no consequences. If it is not moot, it should be reviewed by this
Court.

Ten eRe ET Na mn Nn

3

evading review”). Cf. Church of Scientology v. United
States, 506 U.S. 9, 12 (1992).

If, however, petitioner is incorrect and the case is moot,
then it is absolutely clear that the proper course now is
not to deny the petition. The appropriate disposition of
the petition is to grant it, vacate the judgment of the court
of appeals and remand for dismissal of the underlying
cause of action. Given respondent’s voluntary action in
mooting the proceeding prior to final resolution of the
dispute, the case should have no collateral consequences.
This result is compelled by this Court’s recent decision in
Arizonans for Official English, supra.

In that case, the Court considered the proper course
to follow when the plaintiff obtained a favorable judg-
ment and then voluntarily withdrew from state employ-
ment. The Court held that it was not proper simply to
dismiss the proceeding before this Court or to deny the
petition, even though the petitioners before this Court
lacked standing to bring the case here. Instead, the entire
proceeding had to be dismissed. Quoting the State of
Arizona’s brief, the Court reasoned: “It would certainly
be a strange doctrine that would permit a plaintiff to
obtain a favorable judgment, take voluntary action [that]
moot[s] the dispute, and then retain the [benefit of the]
judgment.” 117 S. Ct. at 1072 (alterations in original).
Here, respondent voluntarily withdrew from school after
obtaining protection from juvenile proceedings by the
courts below. His voluntary act, like that taken by re-
spondent in Arizonans for Official English requires that
the proceedings below be treated as if they never occurred.

2. If the Court concludes that this case is not moot,
then the Court should grant the petition for the reasons
outlined therein and summarized above. Respondents offer
four responses, none of which remotely justifies denying
the petition.

a. First, petitioner concocts a state law basis for the
decision below. Any fair reading of the Sixth Circuit’s
opinion dispels this claim immediately. The opinion only

4

discusses the IDEA and its requirements. The decision
unquestionably is based solely on that court’s interpreta-
tion of federal law.

Respondent’s assertion to the contrary is based purely
on a throwaway citation in the opinion of the Sixth Cir-
cuit to a Tennessee appeals court decision, In re McCann,
1990 WL 16883 (Tenn. Ct. App. Feb. 27, 1990) (perm.
app. denied). Pet. App. lla. But even that discussion
reveals that the issue being decided by the court below
was the proper interpretation of the IDEA. The court of
appeals plainly did not view McCann as a decision in-
volving state law. To the contrary it explicitly cited
McCann for the proposition that “[p]ursuant to IDEA’s
procedural safeguards,” a school system must have a plan
and internal meetings before it can initiate a juvenile court
proceeding. Pet. App. lla (emphasis added). Moreover,
even if state law were coterminous with federal law, this
Court would review the federal law question, where, as
here, only federal authority is cited to support the decision
of the court below. See Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1032
(1983). In sum, respondent’s reliance on state law to
defeat certiorari is misplaced.

b. Respondent next argues (Opp. 9-11) that the de-
cision in this case does not conflict with this Court’s
decisions in Hendrick Hudson District School Board of
Education v. Rowley, 458 U.S. 176 (1982) and Honig
v. Doe, 484 U.S. 305 (1988). But respondent does noth-
ing but quote platitudes from those decisions extolling
the virtues of the procedures embodied in the IDEA. In
the run-of-the-mill situation where a student’s individuai-
ized educational situation warrants reevaluation, these
procedures make sense. But when the process is inter-
posed to undermine the functioning of the State’s juvenile
justice system, then the value of those procedures becomes
suspect and Congress must speak clearly to allow the
IDEA to interfere with the state’s method of treating
juveniles. Respondent nowhere argues that the “change
in placement” language in the statute speaks clearly to
the question presented in this case, nor could he.

ie sk Al 3 dah en a ae

hs)

Respondent argues (Opp. 11) that the clear statement
principle relied upon by petitioner does not apply because
the IDEA is not “Spending Clause” legislation. That
argument, by itself, justifies review by this Court because
the Fourth Circuit quite clearly concluded that the IDEA
involved an exercise of Congress’s spending power. Vir-
ginia Dep’t of Educ. v. Riley, 106 F.3d 559, 566 (4th
Cir. 1997).

c. Respondent argues that the decision below is cor-
rect on the merits. Of course, respondent does not deal
with the clear statement requirement, which completely
undermines any argument that the IDEA really justifies
the result in this case. But even on their own terms, none
of respondent’s arguments has merit.

First, respondent asserts (Opp. 11) that the ALJ made
a “finding of fact” that the filing of a Juvenile Court
petition was a proposed “change of placement.” This is
absurd. As explained in the petition (at 6-7), the ALJ,
district court and court of appeals all held that the ques-
tion of whether filing a juvenile petition triggers the pro-
tections of the IDEA was a pure question of law. Re-
spondent’s attempt to convert the clear holdings below
into factual findings cannot withstand even a cursory
reading of those opinions.

Second, respondent asserts (Opp. 12), without citation
to anything in any opinion below or anything in the
record, that the filing of a juvenile charge as required by
state law was a “disciplinary action.” The holdings below
all depended upon the interpretation of “change in place-
ment” and the “stay-put” injunction in the IDEA, and
that is the only question before this Court.

Third, respondent claims (Opp. 12-13) that the federal
court’s broad remedial authority under the IDEA supports
the decision to order the juvenile petition withdrawn.’

2 Respondent elevates form over substance by arguing that there
is no interference with the state’s juvenile proceedings because the
injunction merely operates against the school system. But as this

iia

6

This, of course, merely begs the question. Petitioner con-
cedes that federal courts have broad authority to remedy
violations of the IDEA, but the question remains whether
that authority extends to interfering with the State’s juven-
ile justice system. Absent clear statutory authority to
that effect, the decision of the Fourth Circuit in Virginia
Department of Education v. Riley, 106 F.3d 559 (4th
Cir. 1997), and this Court’s decisions in Rowley and
Honig plainly indicate that the answer is no. At a mini-
mum, the issue is of sufficient national importance to
warrant review by this Court.

d. Finally, respondent argues that this case is fact-
driven. The courts below described the question they
decided as a pure issue of law. Wishing the issue were
a fact question does not make it so. What the holding
below involves is nothing more nor less than an extraor-
dinary exercise of federal judicial power. No doubt con-
cerned about the sweeping nature of that decision in light
of this Court’s recent decisions viewing with suspicion
excessive use of federal judicial power, respondent shows
no restraint in opposing the petition. According to him,
the case is moot, the decision below is based on state
law, the issue was purely factual and, in any event, his
argument is correct.

case reveals, the mere filing of the IDEA lawsuit caused the juvenile
court to halt its proceedings. Resp. App. 3a. Moreover, the cases
involving federal court injunctions against state court proceedings
do not directly enjoin the state court; the federal courts enjoin the
litigants. Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 87, 39 (1971) (injunction
against prosecutor not court). Nevertheless, this Court long has
recognized the serious injury to federalism arising out of those
injunctions, which is the basic rationale for Younger abstention.
See, e.g., Moore Vv. Sims, 442 U.S. 415, 434 (1979).

3 See, e.g., Lewis v. Casey, 116 S. Ct. 2174, 2183 (1996) (setting
aside federal court regulation of prison libraries); id. at 2196
(Thomas, J., concurring) (pointing out “the danger of continuing
to afford federal judges ... virtually unbridled equitable power”) ;
Missouri v. Jenkins, 115 S. Ct. 20388 (1995) (striking down
interdistrict desegregation remedy for intradistrict violation as
excessive).

7

Missing from this litany is any suggestion that the
public schools will be better able to manage disciplinary
problems by reliance upon the procedures of the IDEA
when school officials are confronted by juvenile delin-
quency or criminal misconduct by students. Also missing
from this laundry list of considerations is the importance
of state law and the state’s juvenile justice system and the
importance of allowing that system to operate without
unwarranted interference from federal courts. It is this
“arrogation of federal power” that the Fourth Circuit
condemned in Riley and that ultimately warrants review
by this Court.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons and those stated in the peti-
tion, the petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.
If the Court should conclude that the case has become
moot, then the judgment should be vacated and the
matter remanded to the district court for dismissal of
the complaint.

Respectfully submitted,

CHARLES L. WEATHERLY CARTER G. PHILLIPS *
JULIE J. WEATHERLY SIDLEY & AUSTIN

THE WEATHERLY LAW FIRM 1722 Eye Street, N.W.
3700 Crestwood Parkway,N.W. Washington, D.C. 20006
Suite 140 (202) 736-8000

Duluth, Georgia 30136
(770) 564-9400

RICHARD T. BEELER

Law Director

KNOX COUNTY GOVERNMENT
Suite 612

City-County Building

400 Main Street

Knoxville, Tennessee 37902
(423) 215-2327

Counsel for Petitioner
May 19, 1997 * Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_0619%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
