# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Peeler v. Spartan Radiocasting, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_0571%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1997
- **Citation:** 520 U.S. 1275

## Text

D ~~ aa en

961629 apr 1 4 1997,

No.___ggeice GF THE GLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

HARVEY S. PEELER,
Petitioner,

vs.

SPARTAN RADIOCASTING, INC.
AND ALLAN RAY TEDDER,
Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SOUTH CAROLINA SUPREME COURT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

CLARENCE S. NORRIS
Counsel of Record

26 North Main Street
Sumter, SC 29151
(803) 778-6531

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

HARVEY S. PEELER,

Petitioner,
VS.

SPARTAN RADIOCASTING, INC.
AND ALLAN RAY TEDDER,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SOUTH CAROLINA SUPREME COURT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

CLARENCE S. Norris
Counsel of Record
26 North Main Street
Sumter, SC 29151
(803) 778-6531

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. May the South Carolina Supreme Court interpret the
First Amendment as imposing burdens on a public figure
plaintiff greater than the burdens imposed by the decision of
the United States Supreme Court?

2. May a state court - in conducting a de novo review of
whether the record contains clear and convincing evidence of
actual malice in a public figure defamation case — reject the
jury's finding of falsity, require that faisity be proven by clear
and convincing evidence, reject the jury's credibility
determinations, and then rule that the plaintiff's failure to
prove falsity precludes a finding of actual malice?

3. Where a television reporter splices video interviews
with citizens to make it appear that the citizens believe that a
public figure plaintiff is involved in criminal conduct — even
though the citizens expressly told the reporter that they did
not believe the plaintiff was involved with the forgeries — and
then broadcasts the spliced interviews to the public, does the
reporter's conduct in fabricating the "interviews" and altering
the meaning of the responses in this fashion provide
sufficient evidence of actual malice to Support a jury verdict
in favor of the public figure?

4. Where a television reporter misquotes a candidate for
public office and falsely broadcasts to the public that the
candidate has accused his public figure opponent of
involvement in a crime when the candidate in fact accused
only the public figure's supporters of involvement in the
crime, does the misquotation provide sufficient evidence of
actual malice to support a jury verdict in favor of the public

figure?

Re Pe

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The parties to this proceeding are Harvey S. Peeler,
Petitioner, and Spartan Radiocasting, Inc., and Allan Ray
Tedder, Respondents.

tee

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR a inj, , SARS OE ee i
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING... IS li
SABLE OF AUTHORITIOS. vi
PONE II ois ccccscscuina e l
sictecopscoteh iaicnsnatt re tT EE Ee en l
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED............. l
STATEMENT OF THE CASE..ww... 2
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE OF THE POPE sec: 13

I. THE MAJORITY'S DECISION WITH
RESPECT TO THE AUGUST 27
BROADCAST IS CONTRARY TO
THE DECISIONS OF THIS COURT
BECAUSE THE MAJORITY MADE
A DE NOVO REVIEW OF FALSITY,
APPLIED A CLEAR AND CON-
VINCING EVIDENCE STANDARD
TO THE ISSUE OF FALSITY, AND
MADE A FORBIDDEN CREDIBIL-
ITY DETERMINATION IN CON-
CLUDING THAT NEITHER
FALSITY NOR MALICE HAD BEEN
PROVEN BY CLEAR AND CON-
VERIOaPO SWRI 13

sib os

Il. THE MAJORITY'S DECISION IS
CONTRARY TO THIS COURT'S
DECISION IN MASSON V. NEW
YORKER MAGAZINE AND EFFEC-

TIVELY IMPOSES A GREATER
BURDEN ON PUBLIC FIGURE
PLAINTIFFS THAN ANY PRIOR
UNITED STATES SUPREME
CRP PED peepasuseconsenoupicdeibictiansioseunsos 18

CEFF cnsijnissncersd pictvankah etetacroeanesienda Meena 23
APPENDIX A

Decision of South Carolina Supreme Court
in Peeler v. Spartan Radiocasting, Inc.............0.. A

APPENDIX B
Order Denying Petition for Rehearing................. B
APPENDIX C

June 10, 1992 Order of Trial Court
Denying Summary Judgment Motion ................. &

APPENDIX D

December 22, 1992 Order of Trial Court
Denying Post-Trial Motions....................0006 D

APPENDIX E

Fie PON sca hdc eeaonieenaen E

ELAS accesses eee

APPENDIX F

United States Constitution, Amendment I... F

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases

Bose Corp. v. Consumers Union, 466 U.S. 485

ERSTE csintissdiecnckstinesessselousdcenelsiwiad uassco aia taitaree 13, 15
Harte-Hanks Communications, Inc. v.

Connaughton, 491 U.S. 657 (1989)........ 14, 15, 17, 21
Masson v. New Yorker Magazine, 501 U.S. 496

EMD scvcle sec cnainichiceignvisditpeesbssesuiiemscavabiencedavarens 14, 18
McFarlane v. Sheridan Square Press, Inc., 91

ae RR Cars Ss HUE vc testers ron od sisoscdonss coms et
New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254

RIPE scicaneceisssoncetacnniicekeiiaatiatias ised aieaaiod, 13
Newton v. National Broadcasting Co., 930 F.2d

662 (9th Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 502 U.S.

RE sititiciienccusains becahaudinouds Sous caesauiees 17
Reuber v. Food Chemical News, Inc., 925 F.2d

703 (4th Cir.), cert. denied, 501 U.S. 1212

MIR sc icealscucs ces catcemann de tacit ses nagecsnca ata ma eae 17
St. Amant v. Thompson, 390 U.S. 727, 732

EDD ssiessa thin sab) weaves pilcsoe es sous asile dane wim accra: 21
Townes Associates Ltd. v. City of Greenville, 266

SA. Sh, ZEAE S.A TIS, TIS CEST OD vscvsivcssenceansnsscaes 15

ie

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the South Carolina Supreme Court,
(Harvey S. Peeler v. Spartan Radiocasting, Inc. and Allan Ray
Tedder, No. 24531, November 18, 1996) is reported at _
S.C. __, 478 SE.2d 282 (1996). A copy of the opinion
appears in Appendix A. The January 13, 1997 order of the
South Carolina Supreme Court denying the Petition for
Rehearing appears in Appendix B.

JURISDICTION

The South Carolina Supreme Court entered and filed the
judgment and opinion in this case on November 18, 1996.
The Petitioner timely filed a Petition for Rehearing which was
denied by Order filed January 13, 1997. This petition for
Writ of Certiorari has been filed within 90 days of that date.

This Court has jurisdiction of the Petition for Wnit of
Certiorari under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a) because Petitioner has
timely filed a petition for writ of certiorari of a final judgment
of a state supreme court in which the state court in a public
figure plaintiff defamation case applied incorrect and
unsettled principles of constitutional malice.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION
INVOLVED

"Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment
of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or
abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the nght
of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the
Government for a redress of grievances." U. S. Const. amend
I.

x

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This defamation by fabrication action arose out of two
televised news reports concerning Petitioner Harvey S.
Peeler, a candidate for re-election to the South Carolina
Senate, and a controversy involving the forging of signatures
on a petition drive to have one J.R. Stroupe placed on the
ballot. These news reports were prepared by Respondent
Alian Ray Tedder and were broadcast by his employer
Spartan Radiocasting, Inc. In one news report, Tedder
reported that J.R. Stroupe had accused Senator Peeler of
being involved in the forgeries, although the evidence
presented at trial showed that Stroupe never made the
accusation and that Tedder knew this. In the other news
report, Tedder edited on camera interviews he conducted with
two citizens to make it appear that these citizens believed
Senator Peeler had been involved in the forgeries, even though
both citizens "testified that they specifically told Tedder
they did not think Peeler was involved with the forgeries."
(478 S.E.2d at 285, Waller, J., dissenting). On appeal from a
jury verdict in favor of Senator Peeler, the South Carolina
Supreme Court reversed on grounds that the record lacked
clear and convincing evidence of actual malice. The court
reversed the jury’s verdict even though Respondents’ own
news director testified with respect to the reports that “it
would seem to me we are dealing with fabrication.” (R.
00255, lines 16-18).

Following incumbent state Senator Harvey Peeler's
victory in the 1988 Democratic primary for a South Carolina
Senate seat, J.R. Stroupe began a petition drive to have his
name placed on the November ballot as a candidate opposing
Senator Peeler. Stroupe and his supporters gathered petition
signatures for this purpose and filed the petitions with the
state Election Commission. After receipt of the petitions, the
Election Commission received reports that the signatures of

Ts

some of the people whose names appeared on the petitions
had been forged. The State Law Enforcement Division
(SLED) began an investigation of the allegations.

On Monday, August 29, 1988 WPSA, a television
station owned by Respondent Spartan Radiocasting, assigned
television reporter Ray Tedder to cover the story. Tedder
interviewed or talked with a number of people connected
with the controversy. As Tedder acknowledged at trial,
neither the state investigating agents, the voter registration
people, the Election Commission, or anyone else gave him
any indication that Senator Peeler himself was under
suspicion of being involved with the forgeries.

Later that day Tedder conducted a telephone interview
with Stroupe and proceeded to Stroupe's one room grocery
store to talk with Stroupe and his supporters. Tedder talked
with Stroupe friend and supporter Haynes Mullinax about
the controversy. Tedder also talked with Stroupe. As
Mullinax testified, Stroupe was visibly drunk at this time and
in fact had been drunk for about three or four previous days.
Stroupe looked "terrible," with "bloodshot eyes." Stroupe
donned sunglasses and went outside the store where Tedder
conducted an on camera interview with Stroupe.

At no time during the on camera interview did the
intoxicated Stroupe accuse Senator Peeler of being involved
with the forgeries. Haynes Mullinax, who was present at the
grocery store when Tedder talked with Stroupe and also
observed the on-camera interview filmed outside the store,
expressly testified that Stroupe never told Tedder that Peeler
had anything to do with the forgeries. Although Tedder
testified at trial that Stroupe did tell him off-camera that
Stroupe believed that "Senator Peeler or someone in his
camp...somehow caused these forgeries to occur" (R. 00151),
Senator Peeler impeached this testimony by introducing
deposition testimony in which Tedder had stated that he

could not remember "for sure" whether Stroupe had accused
Peeler of the forgeries and that he only remembered Stroupe
accusing Peeler’s supporters of this. (R. 00152, 00154).

Tedder returned to the station and prepared the newscast
for broadcast. On Monday, August 29, 1988 WPSA
broadcast the report prepared by Tedder. Referring to the
problem with the forged petitions, Tedder told viewers that
Stroupe had claimed that "Peeler or his supporters engineered
this problem.” Tedder, however, presented no video of
Stroupe actually making this accusation. The transcript of
the entire newscast is as follows:

RAY TEDDER: These SLED agents are
pouring over petitions that have been filed by
JR Stroupe, a former Cherokee County
Councilman who wants to run for state senate.
The State Election Commission says twenty
people have signed affidavits saying they
didn't sign the petitions, that someone forged
their signatures. These agents are trying to
find out if there are more. At Stroupe's service
station near Thickety Mountain supporters
are claiming its just dirty politics.

J.R. STROUPE: Everything was fine until I
asked to see them.

RAY TEDDER: Stroupe says he _ had
hundreds of people working for him trying to
get enough signatures to get him on the ballot
in November opposite incumbent State
Senator Harvey Peeler. He says he doesn't
know who might have forged the signatures,
but he claims Peeler or his supporters

engineered this problem. Peeler says, that's
nonsense.

~ a

HARVEY S. PEELER, JR.: The first time |
heard about it, Ray, was yesterday afternoon.
It took me totally by surprise.

RAY TEDDER: For election officials finding
out who did it is not as important as finding
out how many signatures are valid. They have
to certify the petitions by September Ist. In
Gaffney, Ray Tedder, TV-7 eyewitness news.

Tedder's declaration that Stroupe had accused Senator
Peeler of the forgeries was a WPSA "exclusive." Four local
newspapers were also covering the controversy that week.
None of these newspapers reported that Stroupe had accused
Senator Peeler of committing the forgeries — consistent with
Haynes Mullinax’s eyewitness testimony, they reported
only that Stroupe had accused Peeler's supporters of
involvement in the forgeries.

On Thursday, September 1, 1988, Tedder prepared a
second newscast conceming the controversy. After leaming
from state officials that Stroupe had failed to qualify for the
ballot, he interviewed Stroupe to obtain his reaction. He then
went to a local supermarket and conducted an on camera
interview of two shoppers, John Gimball and Arthur Hall,
who had exited the store. According to Gimball, Tedder
during this interview asked him Only questions pertaining to
politics in - general. Specifically, Tedder asked Gimball
whether he believed it was “possible in America that
politicians may do some things that were not exactly right to
win." (R. 00126). Tedder also asked Gimball whether he
thought that "there is a lot of things that people would know
but they not going to come forward or to this effect?” (R.
00126). Gimball responded "It wouldn't surprise me. I mean
there's so much things that go on that people won't say
nothing about it." Tedder did not ask Gimball whether he
believed Senator Peeler had been involved in the forgeries.

me Oe

And Gimball's final comment to Tedder was that Gimball did
not believe that Peeler "would do anything like we were
discussing in general with politics." (R. at 00128).

Tedder also interviewed shopper Arthur Hall. He asked
Hall whether Hall believed that Senator Peeler had anything
to do with SLED coming to Cherokee County to investigate.
Hall responded "[m]y opinion is that Harvey has something
to do with it." At no time during the interview, however, did
Tedder ask Hall if believed Senator Peeler had anything to
with the forgeries.

Tedder returned to the station and prepared the second
newscast. On Thursday, September 1, 1988, Channel Seven
broadcast Tedder's report. Appearing on camera, Tedder told
viewers that state agents were continuing to investigate to
determine who had committed the crime of forging the
petitions; that Stroupe supporters believed that someone in
the Peeler camp had set Stroupe up; and that Peeler had
stated that he had nothing to do with it. After stating Senator
Peeler's denial, Tedder commented "Peeler will be hard
pressed to convince a lot of people. They believe its
Cherokee County politics as usual." Immediately following
these comments, the on-camera answers given by Gimball and
Hall during their interviews were spliced into the footage so
that it appeared that they were commenting on Tedder's
statement that it would be "hard to convince people" that
Peeler was not involved in the forgeries. The transcript of the
entire newscast is as follows:

RAY TEDDER: According to the South
Carolina elections officials twenty people
claim their names were forged on these
petitions and that helped keep J.R. Stroupe
twenty-seven away from having enough to get
on the ballot opposite incumbent state
senator, Harvey Peeler. These SLED agents

=

sorting the petitions are continuing to
investigate hoping to find out who committed
the crime. J. R. Stroupe is conducting his own
investigation. Stroupe wants to prove he had
nothing to do with the forgeries and the
supporters who gathered at his service station
believe someone in the Peeler camp set
Stroupe up. Peeler says he has nothing to do
with it. But Peeler will be hard pressed to
convince a lot of people. They believe its
Cherokee County Politics as usual.

John Gimball:

It_wouldn't surprise me. I mean there's so
much things that go on that people won't say
nothing about it.

Arthur Hall:

My_opinion is Harvey has got something to
with it.

After the second broadcast, Senator Peeler became angry
at WPSA because they had failed to give him an opportunity
to respond to the accusations that he was involved in the
forgeries. Senator Peeler complained to Channel 7 and he and
his brothers went to a meeting at the station to discuss the
Situation. They met with Tedder and news director Harvey
Cox and complained about not being given an opportunity to
respond to Stroupe's accusation. Prior to the meeting, Cox
attempted to locate the recording of the Thursday newscast —
the "air check" — that was played on the air. Cox discovered,
however, that the air check of the Thursday broadcast had
"disappeared." Cox later leamed that this air check tape had
been bulk erased.

=~ oo

The absence of an air check for this particular broadcast
was quite unusual. Cox testified that Channel Seven kept air
checks of ninety-nine percent of its broadcasts for about one
week after each week's broadcasts. Cox could remember only
one prior occasion when an air check had been erased. Cox
did not know who had erased the air check and testified that
he did not mean to suggest that he thought that Tedder had
done so. Cox did locate a tape which contained the news
story that Tedder prepared. At the meeting with Senator
Peeler and his brothers, Cox played this tape. Senator Peeler,
however, insisted that the tape did not contain the entire
story broadcast over the news. In particular, Senator Peeler
told Cox that the actual broadcast had contained a still picture
of himself and that an anchor lead-in to the story proclaimed
“Peeler accused of forgery.”

On August 6, 1990 Senator Peeler filed suit against
Spartan Radiocasting, Inc. and Allan Ray Tedder in the Court
of Common Pleas of Spartanburg County, South Carolina. In
this suit, Senator Peeler alleged that the Respondents had
published defamatory matter about him during two television
newscasts and sought to recover compensatory and punitive
damages. (R. 00018-00028). The Respondents filed an
Answer and Amended Answer denying that they had
published any actionable false or defamatory statements
about the Respondent and alternatively contending that any
defamatory matter published was not published with actual
malice. (R. 00030, 00058).

The Respondents subsequently moved for summary
judgment on grounds, inter alia, that the Petitioner had failed
to present evidence sufficient to submit to the jury on the
question of whether the defamatory newscasts had been
published with actual malice. (R. 00047). Senator Peeler
opposed this motion on grounds that the jury could find
actual malice, from the evidence showing that Tedder had
fabricated the false allegations. (R. 00110-00111). By Order

ain

dated June 9, 1992 the trial court denied the motion on
grounds that the evidence showing that Tedder had materially
altered the meaning of the statements made by the
interviewees raised questions of fact as to whether the
publications had been made with actual malice. (R. 00002-
00004).

At trial a number of people, including Gimball and Hall,
testified that they understood this broadcast as containing
declarations by Gimball and Hall that they believed that
Senator Peeler was involved in the forgeries. Gimball testified
that the broadcast was not an accurate reflection of what he
told Tedder and that he did not think at the time he gave the
interview that his response would imply that Peeler was
involved in forgeries. The words which Tedder said on the
video preceding Gimball's comment ("But Peeler will be hard
pressed to convince a lot of people. They believe its
Cherokee County Politics as usual") were never mentioned to
Gimball during the interview. According to Gimball, his
answer "“[i]t wouldn't surprise me" was an answer to a
question about general politics.

Hall also testified that the broadcast made it appear that
he said something he did not say — viz., that he believed that
Senator Peeler was involved in the forgeries. Hall described
the broadcast as "a damn lie, I didn't say nothing about no
forgery." (R. 00236). He felt that the broadcast hurt Senator
Peeler's reputation. After hearing the testimony of the
eyewitnesses who testified that they never said what Tedder
reported, Harvey Cox, the news director at Tedder’s station,
testified that “[b]ased on what I have heard, it would seem to
me we are dealing with fabrication.” (R. 00255, lines 16-18).

The trial court denied the directed verdict motion filed by
the Respondents on grounds, inter alia, that Senator Peeler
had presented evidence from which the jury could find
publication with actual malice. (R. 00386). At the close of

- 19 —

evidence, the trial court instructed the jury that the plaintiff
had the burden to prove both falsity and actual malice by
clear and convincing evidence. (R. 00427). With respect to
the state of mind required to prove actual malice, the tral
court instructed the jury, inter alia, that "[a] deliberate
fabrication or alteration of a statement or publication may
equate with knowledge of its falsity if the jury finds that the
alteration materially changed the meaning conveyed by the
statements." (R. 00466). The jury was given special verdict
forms requiring the jury to make findings on each element of
defamation. These special verdict forms also asked the jury
to determine if falsity and actual malice had been proven by
clear and convincing evidence.

The jury returned a verdict specifically finding as
follows:

THE COURT: Hand up the verdict, please,
sir. All right, sir. To the question of whether
or not the jury finds that the plaintiff has
proven by a preponderance of the evidence
that the broadcasts in question were
defamatory, the answer of the jury is yes; to
the question of whether or not the jury has
unanimously found that the plaintiffs have
proven by clear and convincing evidence that
the broadcasts complained of by the plaintiff
were false, the answer is yes; to the question
of whether or not the jury has found
unanimously that the plaintiff has proved by
clear and convincing evidence that the
broadcasts were published by the defendants
with actual knowledge of the falsity thereof or
with a reckless disregard for the truth or
falsity thereof, the answer is yes....

(R. 00476).

os Be

The jury found in favor of Senator Peeler and against
both Tedder and Spartan Radiocasting in the amount of
$50,000 in compensatory damages. The jury also returned a
verdict against Spartan Radiocasting, Inc. for $625,000 on the
punitive damages claim.

On December 22, 1992 the trial court denied the
Respondents’ post-trial motions for § judgment
notwithstanding the verdict and for a new trial on the same
grounds that it denied their directed verdict motion. (R.
00006). The trial court also conducted an independent review
of the punitive damages award and concluded that it was
properly supported by the evidence. On December 23, 1992
the trial court accordingly entered judgment on the jury
verdict.

In an astounding decision, the South Carolina Supreme
Court with one justice dissenting reversed the judgment on
grounds Senator Peeler had failed to prove actual malice. In
its opinion, the majority stated that it would conduct a de
novo review of the record only to determine if there was clear
and convincing evidence of malice and would not review the
finding of falsity by this standard. Nonetheless, with respect
to the first broadcast, the majority ruled that Senator Peeler
had failed to provide clear and convincing evidence of falsity
~"Peeler may have proven he did not commit the forgeries,
but he failed to prove by clear and convincing evidence that
Stroupe did not make the accusation." 478 S.E.2d at 284.
Noting that other newspapers had printed quotes from
Stroupe that Peeler's supporters had forged the signatures,
the majority concluded that Peeler “may have practiced
sloppy journalism by referring to Peeler rather than only his
supporters" but "there is no evidence in the record that he did
so with actual malice." Id. at 285.

With respect to the second broadcast, the majority ruled
that Gimball and Hall's testimony —

~~

did not clearly show that Tedder deliberately
misrepresented his interviews with them.
Tedder's comment prior to airing these quotes
may have been ambiguous, but without
additional evidence, we hold that this does not

amount to clear and convincing evidence of
actual malice.

478 S.E.2d at 285. Dissenting, Justice Waller noted that
Tedder's deposition and the testimony of Haynes Mullinax

reveal that Stroupe accused only Peeler’s
supporters, and not Peeler himself, of
involvement in the forgeries... [T]he fact that
Tedder misquoted Stroupe as accusing Peeler
himself of participation in the
forgeries...provide clear and convincing
evidence sufficient to submit the case to the

jury.
478 S.E.2d at 285.

With respect to the second broadcast, Justice Waller
agreed that "it is clear that Tedder edited portions of his
interviews with Gimball and Hall, then spliced them in at
appropriate junctures to convey the impression their
statements implicated Peeler in the forgeries." 478 S.E.2d at
285. He concluded:

As broadcast, the statements of both Gimball
and Hall convey to the listener the impression
they believed Peeler was involved in the
forgeries. This, however, is not the
information reported to Tedder. Moreover,
the information which was given to Tedder is
spliced and reported out of context. In my
opinion, as a whole, the record reflects more
than merely "sloppy jourmalism." In my

on EB ee

Opinion, the actions of appellants in
misquoting Stroupe, and in splicing and editing
the statements of Hall and Gimball,
demonstrate a deliberate attempt to convey
the false impression that people were
questioning Peeler's involvement in the
forgeries. In my opinion, this constitutes an
"extreme departure from the standards of
investigation and reporting ordinarily adhered
to by responsible publishers," so as to provide
clear and convincing evidence of malice.

478 S.E.2d at 286.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
I.

THE MAJORITY'S DECISION WITH
RESPECT TO THE AUGUST 29 BROAD-
CAST IS CONTRARY TO THE DECISIONS
OF THIS COURT BECAUSE ‘THE MAJOR-
ITY MADE A DE NOVO REVIEW OF
FALSITY, APPLIED A CLEAR AND CON-
VINCING EVIDENCE STANDARD TO THE
ISSUE OF FALSITY, AND MADE A FOR-
BIDDEN CREDIBILITY DETERMINATION
IN CONCLUDING THAT NEITHER FALS-
ITY NOR MALICE HAD BEEN PROVEN BY
CLEAR AND CONVINCING EVIDENCE

In Bose Corp. v. Consumers Union, 466 U.S. 485 (1984)
the Court held that, in cases governed by the actual malice
standard fashioned in New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376
U.S. 254 (1964), appellate courts are required to exercise
independent judgment to "determine whether the record
establishes actual malice with convincing clarity." Although

ao si

the Court provided some guidance as to the scope of this
review in Harte-Hanks Communications, Inc. _ v.
Connaughton, 491 U.S. 657 (1989), the Court has never
clearly set forth the guidelines which govern this de novo
review. In particular, the Court has never determined the
extent to which a reviewing court in conducting a de novo
malice review may disregard actual or presumed jury findings
on related issues such as falsity, even though the findings
would be unreviewable under the clearly erroneous or
comparable state law standard.

The Peeler majority's decision with respect to the
August 29 broadcast demonstrates the perils created by this
indefinite standard. Although the jury specifically found by
clear and convincing evidence that Stroupe never made the
accusation reported by Tedder, the Peeler majority -
purporting to conduct a de novo review only of actual malice
— actually conducted a de novo review of whether Senator
Peeler had proven that Tedder’s report was false by clear and
convincing evidence. The majority accordingly ruled that
Senator Peeler "failed to prove by clear and convincing
evidence that Stroupe did not make the accusation." This
ruling required the majority to make a de novo review that
went beyond any review ever sanctioned by this Court.
First, this Court has never held that reviewing courts have
free rein to conduct an independent review of whether the
plaintiff proved falsity. In Masson v. New Yorker Magazine,
501 U.S. 496 (1991) the Court recognized that a de novo
review of malice does require some consideration of the issue
of falsity. But the Court indicated that a reviewing court in
an altered quotation case must consider falsity only to the
extent of determining whether the requisite falsity inheres in
the attribution of words to the speaker which he did not
speak. In this case, the falsity at issue clearly was the
attribution by Tedder of words to Stroupe which the jury
found that Stroupe did not speak. The Peeler majority went

mt on

far beyond this limited inquiry and made its own ruling that
the publication had not been proven false.

The Petitioner asserts that the Peeler majority could
disturb the jury's falsity finding only if there was no evidence
which reasonably supported the jury's findings, the South
Carolina counterpart to the federal clearly erroneous standard
of review. Townes Associates Ltd. v. City of Greenville, 266
S.C. 81, 221 S.E.2d 773, 775 (1976). And because the
evidence in fact overwhelmingly supported the jury's finding
on this point, the Peeler majority was bound by this finding.
Although the Court has never expressly ruled that a reviewing
court may not disturb falsity findings supported by
substantial evidence, the Petitioner believes that this is the
tule indicated by the decisions in Bose, Masson, and Harte-
Hanks Communications. This rule also best balances the
tension between the deference normally afforded the jury and
a reviewing court's duty to "independently decide whether
the evidence in the record is sufficient to cross the
constitutional threshold that bars the entry of any judgment
that is not supported by clear and convincing proof of actual
malice." Bose, supra, 466 U.S. at 511.

Second, the Peeler majority compounded the problem
created by its review of the falsity issue by applying the
wrong standard of proof to the falsity determination.
Although the jury in this case was instructed to find and did
find that falsity had been proven by clear and convincing
evidence, the Court has never required falsity to be proven by
clear and convincing evidence. See Harte-Hanks
Communications, Inc. v. Connaughton, supra (affirming a
jury verdict where the jury was instructed to find falsity by
the preponderance of the evidence but declining to pass on
whether this is the correct standard). The Petitioner believes
that the preponderance standard governs the falsity
determination and a reviewing court should not be able to

aes

=

reverse a jury verdict because the court finds clear and
convincing evidence of falsity lacking.

Third, in order to disturb the jury's specific finding that
Stroupe never made the accusation, the Peeler majority
improperly made a crucial credibility determination. It must
be remembered that eyewitness Haynes Mullinax expressly
testified that Stroupe never made the accusation; that Tedder
admitted no one else told him Peeler was suspected in
involvement in the forgeries; and that none of the four
newspapers covering the controversy reported that Stroupe
had accused Peeler. The only evidence that Stroupe did make
the accusation was Tedder's trial testimony that Stroupe
purportedly told him off-camera that Peeler or his supporters
committed the forgeries. But Senator Peeler impeached this
self-serving testimony by showing that Tedder in his
deposition had told a different story:

Q. In any event, under oath two years ago
you didn't indicate that Mr. Stroupe had
accused Senator Peeler directly, did you?

A. That's correct, but I also have indicated
that I didn't have a recolléction of every
detail.

(R. 00155). Faced with his conflicting deposition testimony,
Tedder attempted to explain this discrepancy on grounds that
he had been unable to recall whether Stroupe made the
accusation at the deposition but that he somehow had
"remembered" the accusation given time to think about it.

The members of the jury — who observed Tedder's
demeanor as he attempted to explain the direct contradiction
between his trial and deposition testimony — found this
explanation uncredible and effectively found by clear and
convincing evidence that Tedder's assertion that Stroupe had
accused Peeler was false. But the Peeler majority — by

att

stating that Peeler never proved Stroupe did not make the
accusation — could only have reached this conclusion by
accepting Tedder’s trial testimony as credible and rejecting the
jury's determination that he was not credible.

All prior decisions of this Court indicate that a reviewing
court may not reject a jury's credibility determination unless
clearly erroneous. In Bose, supra, 466 U.S. at 499, 500 and
Harte Hanks the Court stated that credibility determinations
are reviewed under the clearly erroneous standard. See also
Harte-Hanks Communications, Inc. v. Connaughton, supra,
491 U.S. at 694 (White, J., concurring) ("[i]n my view, in
cases like this the historical facts - e.g., who did what to
whom and when - are reviewable only under the clearly
erroneous standard mandated by Rule 52. Credibility
determinations fall in this category"); Reuber v. Food
Chemical News, Inc., 925 F.2d 703, 714 (4th Cir.), cert.
denied, 501 U.S. 1212 (1991)"[w]e are mindful...that this
standard of review does not transfer an appellate court into a
super-jury, nor does it give us free reign to revisit credibility
determinations or to redetermine findings of historical fact");
Newton v. National Broadcasting Co., 930 F.2d 662, 670-671
(9th Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 502 U.S. 866 (1991)("[t]he
presumption of correctness carries its maximum force when
we review findings of fact that turn or credibility
determinations because of the factfinder’s ‘unique
Opportunity to observe the demeanor of the witnesses...’ In
sum, we read Bose and Harte-Hanks as creating a credibility
exception to the New York Times rule of independent
review"). Because the jury's rejection of Tedder’s self-serving
explanation was certainly not clearly erroneous given the
other evidence presented, the Peeler majority was bound by
this finding.

Finally, after engaging in the foregoing unrestrained
review of the issue of falsity, the Peeler majority improperly
used its finding that falsity had not been proved as the basis

ee

for concluding that there was no clear and convincing evidence
of actual malice. If the Peeler majority had accepted the
jury's finding on falsity as it was required to do, then — as
discussed in more detail infra — the Peeler majority could have
only concluded under Masson that Tedder made the false
statement with actual malice. By attributing words to
Stroupe that Stroupe never said, Tedder materially altered the
meaning of Stroupe's words and, therefore, this defamatory
publication was made with actual malice. Although the
Peeler majority alternatively suggested that Tedder may have
been guilty simply of sloppy journalism —i.e., suggesting that
he simply made a mistake as to the scope of the accusation
made by Stroupe — there was no evidence to support this
notion because Tedder never testified that he made a mistake
and in fact insisted that Stroupe did make the accusation.

As the foregoing discussion demonstrates, the Peeler
majority used the constitutionally mandated de novo review
of malice to reach and destroy jury findings that do not
implicate First Amendment values. This goes too far and the
Court should grant this petition to correct these
constitutional errors and to provide more precise guidelines as
how the de novo review should be conducted.

Il.

THE MAJORITY'S DECISION IS
CONTRARY TO THIS COURT'S
DECISION IN MASSON V. NEW YORKER
MAGAZINE AND EFFECTIVELY IMPOSES A
GREATER BURDEN ON PUBLIC FIGURE
PLAINTIFFS THAN ANY PRIOR UNITED
STATES SUPREME COURT DECISION

In Masson v. New Yorker Magazine, 501 U.S. 496
(1991) the Court considered the circumstances in which a
reporter's attribution of words to a public figure which the
public figure did not speak provided evidence sufficient to

a

reach the jury on the question of actual malice. The Court
rejected the notion that any alteration of a verbatim quotation
constituted the knowledge of falsity required to prove actual
malice. The Court explained that minor changes to correct
grammar and syntax did not show malice and that even a
deliberate alteration of words did not necessarily show
malice. The Court concluded, however, that

a deliberate alteration of the words uttered by
a plaintiff does not equate with knowledge of
falsity for purposes of ..[New York
Times...and Gertz] unless the alteration results
in a material change in the meaning conveyed
by the statement. The use of quotations to
attribute words not in fact spoken bears in a
most important way to that inquiry, but it is
not dispositive in every case.

501 U.S. at 517. Stating the Masson standard conversely, a
deliberate alteration of the words uttered by a speaker which
results in a material change in meaning does equate with
knowledge of falsity.

With respect to the first broadcast, Senator Peeler
presented clear and convincing evidence that Stroupe never
accused him of involvement in the forgeries, that Stroupe
only accused Peelers supporters of involvement in the
forgeries, that Tedder nonetheless reported that Stroupe did
accuse Peeler, and that Tedder's attribution of words to
Stroupe which he did not say materially altered the meaning
of what he did say. With respect to the second broadcast,
Senator Peeler presented undisputed evidence that Tedder
deliberately altered the intended meaning of the words spoken
by Gimball and Hall by omitting from the newscast the
questions he actually asked them and instead by inserting
their answers following his comment that Peeler would be
hard pressed to convince people that he was not involved in

on

the forgeries. In other words, Tedder in effect changed the
questions to which they were responding so that it appeared
that they were answering a different question — viz., whether
Senator Peeler was involved in the forgeries. The evidence
was also undisputed that the splicing caused a material change
in the meaning of the answers intended by Hall and Gimball.
Hall and Gimball and other witnesses all testified that they
understood the broadcast to imply that Hall and Gimball
believed Senator Peeler was involved with forgeries. This
change rendered their answers — which in the context reported
to Tedder had no defamatory implication — defamatory as to
Senator Peeler in the context broadcasted to the public. As
Respondents’ own news director admitted, Tedder fabricated
this defamatory meaning by his tape splicing.

The trial court expressly instructed the jury that "[a]
deliberate fabrication or alteration of a statement or
publication may equate with knowledge of its falsity if the
jury finds that the alteration materially changed the meaning
conveyed by the statements." (R. 00466). The jury returned
a verdict for Senator Peeler finding with respect to both
broadcasts that malice and falsity had been proven by clear
and convincing evidence. In light of the instruction given, the
jury necessarily found that Tedder deliberately fabricated or
altered first Stroupe's and then Gimball's and Hall's
statements so as to materially change their meaning and,
therefore, that Tedder had knowledge of the falsity. And
knowledge of falsity is actual malice.

Assuming arguendo, however, that Tedder somehow
lacked actual knowledge that neither Stroupe, Gimball, nor
Hall had implicated Senator Peeler in the forgeries, the record
is replete with evidence that Tedder acted with "reckless
disregard" in publishing the statements. Reckless disregard is
shown where “the defendant must have made the false
publication with a ‘high degree of awareness of...probable
falsity...,,or must have ‘entertained serious doubts as to the

a
Red
4

eS

truth of his publication..." Harte-Hanks Communications v.
Connaughton, 491 U.S. 657, 667 (1989). Because it is
undisputed that Tedder conducted the interviews of Stroupe,
Gimball, and Hall and prepared the reports broadcasts to the
public, he certainly must have had a high degree of awareness
that his reports — which contained statements that the
interviewees never made — were untrue. See St Amant v.
Thompson, 390 U.S. 727, 732 (1968) ("[p]rofessions of good
faith will be unlikely to be persuasive...where a story is
fabricated by the defendant...[or] is the product of his
imagination").

Although the jury, the trial judge, and Justice Waller all
followed the Masson opinion to the letter and agreed that the
Respondents had acted with malice under this standard, the
South Carolina Supreme Court majority disagreed. Without
applying the Masson standard, the majority refused to accept
the jury's finding that Tedder had fabricated the Stroupe
accusation and stated that Gimball and Hall's testimony did
not show that Tedder deliberately misrepresented his
interviews with them.

Finally, the Peeler majority- ignored additional
circumstantial evidence of malice which supported the jury's
finding. First, the Court has recognized that actual malice
may be shown by evidence establishing that a news story has
been fabricated or is a product of the reporter's imagination.
St. Amant v. Thompson, supra, 390 U.S. 732; see also
McFarlane v. Sheridan Square Press, Inc., 91 F.3d 1501,
1512 (D.C. Cir. 1996)("[t]he Supreme Court in St Amant
identified three types of circumstantial evidence that would
likely support a finding of actual malice: They are evidence
establishing that the story was ...'fabricated"). In fabrication
cases, of course, the fabricator normally has actual knowledge
that the publication is false. The Peeler majority simply
ignored the evidence — including news director Harvey Cox’s
explicit acknowledgement that fabrication had occurred -

<. -

showing that Tedder fabricated the false publications and that
the very act of fabrication provided an inference of malice.
Second, in Harte-Hanks Communications, Inc. vy.
Connaughton, supra, the Court recognized that evidence of a
motive for publishing defamatory matter is circumstantial
evidence of actual malice. Here Senator Peeler presented
evidence and argued to the jury that Tedder was motivated to
fabricate the stories to scoop the competition. It is obviously
a major news story when a candidate accuses his opponent of
a crime. Third, the missing air check — which would have
shown an anchor lead-in proclaiming “Peeler accused of
forgery” — provided further circumstantial evidence of actual
malice as the jury could have inferred that Tedder erased the
tape in an effort to destroy evidence of the defamatory
broadcast.

In refusing to follow Masson in a case where the jury
found a reporter fabricated a defamatory news story, the
South Carolina Supreme Court has imposed an impossibly
high standard on public figure plaintiffs seeking to remedy
"made up" stories broadcast by television reporters. If the
evidence presented by Senator Peeler did not establish malice,
the Petitioner submits that no evidence short of an explicit
admission by the reporter that he knew the story was false
can survive the South Carolina Supreme Court's de novo
review of actual malice. This imposes a greater burden in
proving malice on public figures in South Carolina than any
prior decision of the Supreme Court has imposed.

A case of fabrication by a television reporter is unlike
any other kind of defamation case insofar as the issue of
actual malice is concerned. It does not implicate the concern
of New York Times Co. v. Sullivan and its progeny that the
media should be able to publish what “someone else said”
without liability, unless the media knows the statement is
false or acts with reckless disregard as to the truth or falsity
of the statement. If the reporter makes up a defamatory

LNA Li ERA A 6 Be

a, ome

statement and then broadcasts it, he has to know that it is
untrue or at least that he has no basis for knowning whether
the made up statement is true.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, the Petition for Writ of Certiorari
should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Clarence S. Norris
Counsel of Record
Counsel for Petitioner

APPENDIX

APPENDIX A

ok Pen

THE STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA
In The Supreme Court

Harvey S. Peeler, Respondent,
v.

Spartan Radiocasting, Inc.,

and Allan Ray Tedder, Appellants.

Appeal from Spartanburg County
J. Derham Cole, Judge

Opinion No. 24531
Heard April 16, 1996 — Filed November 18, 1996

REVERSED

William U. Gunn and Perry D. Boulier, both of Holcombe,
Bomar, Cothran, & Gunn, P.A., of Spartanburg; Bruce W.
Sanford, Henry S. Hoberman, and Stephanie S. Abrutyn, all
of Baker & Hostetler, of Washington, D.C., for appellants.

Robert G. McCulloch, Jr., and J. Edward Bell, III, both of
Bell & Bagley, of Sumter, for respondent.

Jay Bender, of Baker, Barwick, Ravenel & Bender, of
Columbia, for amicus curiae, South Carolina Press’
Association.

PER CURIAM: This is an appeal of a defamation case. The
jury awarded respondent Harvey S. Peeler $50,000.00 actual
damages and $625,000.00 punitive damages. We reverse.

ae Lo

PEELER, v. SPARTAN RADIOCASTING, INC., et al.
FACTS

On August 29 and September 1, 1988, appellants
broadcast two television news stories on channel WSPA'
about forgeries of names on a petition to place J.R. Stroupe’s
name on the ballot for election to the South Carolina Senate.
The incumbent, Peeler, brought this libel action alleging these
news stories conveyed that Peeler had a role in the forgeries
and the public believed he was guilty of forgery? The
following is a transcript of the August 29th broadcast:

Ray Tedder: These SLED agents are pouring
over petitions that have been filed by J.R.
Stroupe, a former Cherokee County
Councilman who wants to run for the State
Senate. The State Election Commission says
that twenty people have signed affidavits
saying that they didn’t sign the petitions; that
someone forged their signatures. These agents
are trying to find out if there are more. At
Stroupe’s Service Station near Thickety
Mountain, supporters are claiming it’s just
dirty politics.

J.R. Stroupe: Everything was fine until |
asked to see them.

Tedder: Stroupe says he has hundreds of
people working for him trying to get enough
signatures to get him on the ballot in
November, opposite incumbent State Senator

WSPA is owned by appellant Spartan Broadcasting, Inc. (Spartan)

Stroupe eventually pled guilty to forgery.

ay om

PEELER, v. SPARTAN RADIOCASTING, INC., et al.

Harvey Peeler. He says he doesn’t know who
might have forged the signatures, but he claims
Peeler or his supporters engineered this
problem. Peeler says that’s nonsense.

Harvey Peeler: The first I heard about it, Ray,
was yesterday afternoon. It took me totally
by surprise.

Tedder: For election officials, finding out who
did it is not as important as finding out how
many signatures are valid. They have to
certify the petition by September the first. In
Gaffney, Ray Tedder, TV-7, Eyewitness
News.

The following is a transcript of the September Ist
broadcast:

Tedder: According to South Carolina Election
Officials, twenty people claim their names
were forged on these petitions: That helped
keep J.R. Stroupe twenty-seven away from
having enough to get on the ballot opposite
incumbent State Senator Harvey Peeler. These
SLED agents sorting the petitions are
continuing to investigate hoping to find out
who committed the crime. J.R. Stroupe is
conducting his own investigation. Stroupe
wants to prove he had nothing to do with the
forgeries, and the supporters who gathered at
his service station believe someone in the
Peeler camp set Stroupe up. Peeler says he
had nothing *o do with it. But Peeler wil! be
hard pressed to convince a lot of people.

SOAR bh aH

9 abs EEE CaN

.
:
:
}
©

a

PEELER, v. SPARTAN RADIOCASTING, INC., et al.

They believe it’s just Cherokee County
politics as usual.

John Gimball: It wouldn’t surprise me. I
mean, there’s so much things that go on that
people won’t say nothing about.

Arthur Hall: My opinion is that Harvey’s got
something to do with it.

Tedder: Stroupe says he’s not decided
whether to wage a write-in campaign, but his
supporters say they will carry on one with or
without his active participation. In Cherokee
County, Ray Tedder, TV-7, Eyewitness
News.

Peeler alleges Tedder misquoted Stroupe in the August
29th story by stating Stroupe had accused Peeler of forgery.
In the second story, Peeler alleges Tedder misquoted Gimball
and Hall.

The jury returned a verdict of $50,000 actual damages
against both appellants and $625,000 punitive damages
against Spartan. The trial judge denied appellant’s motions
for a new trial nisi new trial absolute, and judgment
notwithstanding the verdict (JNOV).

DISCUSSION

To recover damages for defamation, a public figure must
prove by clear and convincing evidence that the statements
were made with actual malice, that is, with knowledge that it
was false or with reckless disregard as to its truth or falsity.
Harte-Hanks Communications, Inc. v. Connaughton, 491

~~

PEELER, v. SPARTAN RADIOCASTING, INC., et al.

U.S. 657, 109 S.Ct. 2678, 105 L.Ed.2d 562 (1989); Bose
Corp. v. Consumers Union, 466 U.S. 485, 104 S.Ct. 1949, 80
L.Ed.2d 502 (1984); New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376
U.S. 254, 84 S.Ct. 710, 11 L.Ed.2d 686 (1964).

Appellants contend we are to conduct an independent de
novo review of the entire record to determine if there is clear
and convincing evidence to support findings of actual malice
and falsity.‘ We agree our scope of review on the issue of
actual malice is a de novo review to determine if there is clear
and convincing evidence. However, we do not agree this is
the proper scope of review on the issue of falsity.

In Bose, the United States Supreme Court held there
must be an independent review by the appellate court to
determine if the evidence in the record supports a finding of
actual malice by clear and convincing evidence. In Harte-
Hanks, supra, the Supreme Court declined to address
whether this mandatory review of actual malice should also
be applied to the issue of falsity. Cf. Locricchio v. Evening
News Ass'n, 438 Mich. 84, 476 N.W.2d 112 (1991)in
private figure plaintiff case independent review of falsity is
required as logical corollary of independent review of actual

> Peeler conceded below that he is a public official and therefore must
prove actual malice by clear and convincing evidence under New York
Times v. Sullivan.

“Clear and convincing evidence is that degree of proof which will
produce in the mind of the trier of facts a firm belief as to the
allegations sought to be established. Such measure of proof is
intermediate, more than a mere preponderance but less than is required
for proof beyond a reasonable doubt, it does not mean clear and
unequivocal.” Middleton v. Johnson, 221 Va. 797, 273 S.E.2d 800,
802. Accord Clark v. Cotton, 207 Ga. App. 883, 429 S.E.2d 291
(1993).

2
a
}

=

PEELER, v. SPARTAN RADIOCASTING, INC., et al.

malice required in public figure case). Accordingly, we are
required to conduct an independent de novo review of the
record only on the issue of actual malice.°

Actual malice is a subjective standard testing the
publisher’s good faith belief in the truth of his or her
statements. The publisher must have entertained serious
doubts as to the truth of his publication. St Amant vy.
Thompson, 390 U.S. 727, 88 S.Ct. 1323, 20 L.Ed2d 262
(1968). To establish recklessness, there must be an extreme
departure from the standards of investigation and reporting
ordinarily adhered to by responsible publishers. Curtis Pub.
Co. v. Butts, 388 U.S. 130, 87 S.Ct. 1975, 18 L-Ed.2d 1094
(1967). “Mere negligence does not suffice.” Masson v. New
Yorker Magazine, Inc., 501 U.S. 496, 111 S.Ct. 2419, 2429,
115 L.Ed.2d 447 (1991).

As to the August 29th newscast, Peeler may have
proven he did not commit the forgeries, but he failed to prove
by clear and convincing evidence that Stroupe did not make
the accusation. Peeler presented Haynes Mullinax who
testified he was present when Tedder spoke with Stroupe for
the interview and Stroupe accused Peeler’s supporters but
not Peeler. Peeler also offered as evidence of actual malice
that no other newspaper or television station had reported
that Stroupe. had accused Peeler when this story was aired.
However, several newspapers did print quotes from Stroupe
stating Peeler’s supporters had forged the signatures. “A
subjective awareness of probable falsity cannot be

b

At oral argument, appellants in essence stated if we declined to adopt
a de nova review on the evidence of falsity, the focus of this appeal
should be on whether there is clear and convincing evidence of actual
malice.

a

PEELER, v. SPARTAN RADIOCASTING, INC., et al.

demonstrated under the standard of ‘convincing clarity’ by
evidence showing that the publisher and the plaintiff
disagreed with respect to their perceptions of events which
they both observed.” McMurray v. Howard Publications,
Inc., 612 P.2d 14 (Wyo. 1980). At best, Tedder may have
practiced sloppy journalism by referring to Peeler rather than
only his supporters, however, there is no evidence in the
record that he did so with actual malice.

As to the September Ist newscast, Peeler presented the
testimony of Gimball and Hall, the two men interviewed by
Tedder. The testimony of these two men does not clearly
show that Tedder deliberately misrepresented his interviews
with them. Tedder’s comment prior to airing these quotes
may have been ambiguous, but without additional evidence,
we hold this does not amount to clear and convincing
evidence of actual malice.

Peeler also offered as evidence of actual malice the
erasure of the tape containing the newscasts. This is not
evidence of actual malice since there was no evidence the
erasure was anything other than a routine practice. Strange v.
Cox Enterprises, Inc., 211 Ga. App. 731, 440 S.E.2d 503
(1994)(destruction of notes is not evidence of actual malice).

Pursuant to a de novo review of the record, we hold
there is not clear and convincing evidence to support a finding
of actual malice. We need not address appellants’ remaining
issue.

REVERSED.
/s/_ Ernest A. Finney, Jr. C3
/s/_ James E. Moore A.J.
/s/_ George T. Gregory, Jr. A.A.J.
/s/ Thomas C. Huff A.A.J.

Waller, A.J., dissenting in separate opinion.

i
3
5
2
3

rf; ob ee ae

ve

ee MS Seca en Ne nite

i Te

PEELER, v. SPARTAN RADIOCASTING, INC., et al.

WALLER, A.J.: (Dissenting). I respectfully dissent. In my
opinion, a de novo review of the record demonstrates clear
and convincing evidence of malice.

In the August 29th broadcast, Tedder stated, with respect to
the forged signatures, that Stroupe “Claims Peeler or his
supporters engineered this problem.” However, both
Tedder’s deposition, and the testimony of Haynes Mullinax,
who was present when Stroupe made the statement, reveal
that Stroupe accused only Peeler’s supporters, and not Peeler
himself, of involvement in the forgeries. In my opinion, the
fact that Tedder misquoted Stroupe as accusing Peeler himself
of participation in the forgeries is evidence of actual malice
which, when coupled with the misrepresentations of the
September Ist broadcast, provide clear and convincing
evidence sufficient to submit the case to the jury.

In regard to the September Ist broadcast, it is clear that
Tedder edited portions of his interviews with Gimball and
Hall, then spliced them in at appropriate junctures to convey
the impression their statements implicated Peeler in the
forgeries. For example, Tedder says;

Stroupe wants to prove he had nothing to do
with the forgeries, and the supporters who
gathered at his service station believe someone
in the Peeler camp set Stroupe up. Peeler says
he had nothing to do with it. But Peeler will
be hard pressed to convince a lot of people.
They believe it’s just Cherokee County
politics as usual.

-A9-

PEELER, v. SPARTAN RADIOCASTING, INC., et al.

In response to these statements, Gimball and Hall are
immediately quoted, stating:

Gimball: It wouldn’t surprise me. I mean
there’s so much things that go on that people
won’t say nothing about.

Hall: My opinion is that Harvey’s [Peeler]
got something to do with it.

As reported and spliced into the broadcast, these statements
clearly imply that Hall and Gimball believed Peeler had
something to do with the forgeries. However, both Gimball
and Hall testified that they specifically told Tedder they did
not think Peeler was involved with the forgeries. Gimball
testified that his statement was, in reality, a response to an
inquiry about general politics and whether or not some
politicians may do things which are not nght to win an
election. It was not, he testified, a statement concerning
Peeler or his alleged involvement with the forgeries.
Similarly, Hall testified that his statement was made in
response to a question as to whether or not Peeler was
involved in the investigation of the forgeries; it was not
intended to imply that he believed Peeler had anything to do
with the forgeries.

As broadcast, the statements of both Gimball and Hall
convey to the listener the impression they believed Peeler
was involved in the forgeries. This, however, is not the
information reported to Tedder. Moreover, the information
which was given to Tedder is spliced and reported out of
context. In my opinion, as a whole, the record reflects more

-A10-

PEELER, v. SPARTAN RADIOCASTING, INC., et al.

than mere “sloppy journalism.” In my opinion, the actions
of appellants in misquoting Stroupe, and in splicing and
editing the statements of Hall and Gimball, demonstrate a
deliberate attempt to convey the false impression that people
were questioning Peeler’s involvement in the forgeries. In my
opinion, this constitutes an “extreme departure from the
standards of investigation and reporting ordinarily adhered to
by responsible publishers,” so as to provide clear and
convincing evidence of malice. I would affirm the trial court’s
denial of the motion for JNOV:!

Further, I would affirm the punitive damage award. In my opinion,
the verdict is neither inconsistent nor violative of Spartan’s due
process rights.

“aie ebb

APPENDIX B

wo BI

The Supreme Court of South Carolina

CLYDE N. DAVIS, JR. P.O. BOX 11330
CLERK OF COURT COLUMBIA, S.C. 29211
BRENDA F. SHEALY (803) 734-1080

DEPUTY CLERK
January 13, 1997

J. Edward Bell, III, Esquire
Eugene C. Fulton, Jr. Esquire
Bell & Moore

P.O. Box 460

Sumter, SC 29150

RE: Harvey S. Peeler v. Spartan Radiocasting, Inc. 90-CP-
42-1890

Dear Counsel:

The Court has refused your Petition for Rehearing in the
above case in the followig Order:

“Petition for rehearing is denied.

/s/_Ernest A. Finney, Jr. CJ
/s/_ James E. Moore AJ.
/s/_ George T. Gregory, Jr. A.A.J.
/s/_ Thomas C. Huff A.A.J.

I would grant rehearing.
/s/_ John H. Waller, Jr. AJ

January 13, 1997.”

~a2

J. Edward Bell, IIT, Esquire
Eugene C. Fulton, Jr. Esquire
January 13, 1997

Page 2

The remittitur in this matter is today being forwarded to the
Clerk of Court for Spartanburg County.

Very truly yours,

CLERK

CND, Jr./djp

cc: Bruce W. Sanford, Esquire
Henry S. Hoberman, Esquire
Stephanie S. Abruthin, Esquire
William U. Gunn, Esquire
Perry D. Boulier, Esquire
Jay Bender, Esquire

APPENDIX C

eg

STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA)
) IN THE COURT OF
COUNTY OF SPARTANBURG) COMMON PLEAS

Harvey S. Peeler, )
Plaintiff, )
)
vs. )
) ORDER
Spartan Radiocasting, Inc., )
and Alan Ray Tedder, ) 90-CP-42-1890
)
Defendent )

Defendants have filed a Motion for Summary Judgment
in this case. A hearing on the motion was held before me on
June 5, 1992. After reviewing the arguments by counsel as
well as the memoranda, affidavits and case law submitted and
considering them in a light most favorable to the Plaintiff I
hereby deny the Motion for Summary Judgment.

This is an action for Defamation in which Plaintiff
contends that two (2) broadcasts aired by the Defendants on
August 28, 1988 and September 1, 1988 contained statements
that were false and defamatory. Defendants primarily
focused on two (2) grounds in their argument for Summary
Judgment.

First, Defendants assert Plaintiff has shown no falsity of
the statements contained in the two (2) broadcasts in
question. Defendants rationale in essence is that Ray Tedder
made remarks to the effect that there was a belief among
certain individuals in Gaffney, SC that Mr. Peeler had
something to do with the forged signatures on petitions.
Defendants assert that these statements are true, because
what they state is that there is “a belief’ among Gaffney

late aT ei sr eit hes tic rat ssh hd

se

IR ae En ete Or ee

wil

residents that Mr. Peeler was involved with the forgeries of
signatures on the petitions. At issue, the Defendants
contend, is not whether it is true that Mr. Peeler was
involved but rather whether there actually was a “belief”
among certain Gaffney residents that Mr. Peeler was
involved. The truth of this belief, Defendants contend, is
evidenced by numerous newspaper articles discussing such
beliefs and which were printed before the broadcasts were
aired. Secondly, Defendants contend Plaintiff has not shown
any evidence of actual malice which is required under New
York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254 (19 ) since Mr.
Peeler is a State Senator and thus, a public official.

Plaintiff argues that Defendants’ first ground is incorrect
and not applicable under the facts of this case and the tuling
of Masson v. New Yorker Magazine, Inc., 117 LE. 2d 447
(1991). Plaintiff agrees that there is a principle in such cases
krown as the “rational Interpretation.” Such principle would
protect a reporter and broadcaster from a defamation suit if
the reporter’s publication of other individual’s notations were
substantially representative of the actual quotations.
However, Plaintiff contends the protection just mentioned
does not extend to situations where the reporter materially
alters or amends the quotations of others. Plaintiff produced
affidavits of two (2) individuals whose quotes were used by
Defendant Tedder in the second broadcast. Plaintiff admits
the quotes were substantially accurate representations of the
individual’s comments, but alleges the quotes were to
questions other than the one used in the broadcast. More
specifically, Plaintiff asserts when actually interviewed the
individuals were asked if they believed Mr. Peeler had
anything to do with calling for the SLED investigation. One
individual replied “It wouldn’t surprise me. I mean, there’s
so much things that go on that people won't say nothing
about.” The second individual responded “My opinion’s
that Harvey’s got something to do with it.” However, when
these quotes were aired they were used as answers to a

= Pe

question of whether Mr. Peeler was guilty of or connected to
the crimes of forgery involved in the signatures on the
petition. Plaintiff claims that using the quotations of
individuals to a specific question as the answer or response to
another question is a material alteration and results in a
falsification. Moreover, Plaintiff asserts that this allegedly
deliberate and material alteration changes the meaning of the
quotation thereby creating a deliberate falsification and thus
proves actual malice. In support of this contention Plaintiff
relies upon the following language from Masson, supra:

We conclude that a deliberate alteration of the
words uttered by a Plaintiff does not equate
with knowledge of falsity for purposes of New
York Times Co. v. Sullivan,... unless the
alteration results in a material change in the
meaning conveyed by the statement. The use
of quotations to attribute words not in fact
spoken bears in a most important way on that
inquiry, but it is not dispositive in every case.

Deliberate or reckless falsification that
comprises actual malice turns upon words and
punctuation only because words and
punctuation express meaning. Meaning is the
life of language. And, for the reasons we have
given, quotations may be a devastating
instrument for conveying false meaning.

Id. at 473.

Plaintiff's argument essentially is that the meaning
conveyed by the quotations is materially altered when they
are used as answers to questions other than the onginal
question to which they were given.

até.

I believe Plaintiff has presented facts and arguments
which present question of material fact, and therefore,
Summary Judgment is DENIED.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

June 9, 1992 JAMES B. STEPHEN, JUDGE
SEVENTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT

APPENDIX D

me | ee

STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA)
) IN THE COURT OF
COUNTY OF SPARTANBURG) COMMON PLEAS

Harvey S. Peeler, )

Plaintiff, )

)

VS. )

) ORDER

Spartan Radiocasting, Inc., )
and Alan Ray Tedder, ) 90-CP-42-1890

| )

Defendent )

This matter comes before the court on post-trial motions
of the defendants wherein the defendants move for a new
trial, a new trial absolute pursuant to Rule 59(a) of the South
Carolina Rules of Civil Procedure, a new trial nisi, and a post-
trial review of the punitive damage award.

This suit started as a result of the defendants
broadcasting two television articles on August 29" and
Septemberl, 1988. The plaintiff claimed that he was libeled
when the broadcast indicated to the public that he had
committed the crime of forgery in connection with certain
petitions filed by another candidate who was attempting to
get on the General Election Ballot of November, 1988, in
order to oppose the Plaintiff. This action was tried by the
court and a jury commencing on June 15, 1992. Opening
statements and testimony lasted three days. On June 19,
1992, final arguments were made and the case was submitted
to the jury by way of a special interrogatory verdict form.
The jury returned a verdict awarding the plaintiff $50,000.00
actual damages as to both defendants and $625,000.00
punitive damages against Spartan Radiocasting, Inc.

a.

After the jury verdict was returned, the defendants
moved for judgment notwithstanding verdict on the same
grounds raised at the directed verdict stage. Additionally and
in the alternative, the defendants moved for a new trial or for
a new trial nisi on the grounds that the jury verdict was
contrary to the fair preponderance of the evidence and that
the jury verdict was so grossly excessive in that it was the
result of arbitrariness, capriciousness, passion, prejudice or
other consideration not found in the evidence.

This court has considered the defendants’ motion for
judgment notwithstanding the verdict on the same grounds
raised by the defendants at the directed verdict stage. This
court finds that the defendants’ motion for judgment
notwithstanding the verdict should be denied.

The defendants further move this court for a new trial or
in the alternative a new trial nisi. This court finds that “under
the thirteenth juror doctrine” that the evidence in this case
justifies the verdict which was rendered. This court finds
that there is sufficient evidence from which a jury could have
found by clear and convincing proof that the defendants were
aware of the probable falsity of the -publications and that
they entertained serious doubts as to the truth of those
publications. There also exists sufficient evidence from which
a jury could have found damages suffered by plaintiff as a
result of the defamatory publications.

The defendants further move for a new trial nisi and asks
this court to throw out the reject the verdict as being
excessive. The defendants urge this court to find that the
verdict is grossly excessive and due to passion and prejudice
rather than reason.

This court finds after a complete review of the evidence
that the verdict is not excessive. This court is not shocked by
the amount of the verdict and finds it to be fair and reasonable

eth Ha

and supported by the evidence. This court finds that the
verdict was not unduly liberal and further finds that the
defendants’ motion for a new trial nisi should be denied.

The defendants further move for a new trial upon the
ground that the jury returned an inconsistent and illogical
verdict. In this regard, the defendants contend that the jury
verdict is inconsistent and illogical because the jury verdict is
inconsistent and illogical because the jury assessed punitive
damages against the defendant Spartan Radiocasting, Inc. but
did not assess punitive damages against the defendant Allan
Ray Tedder.

Under South Carolina law, a new trial may be ordered on
grounds of inconsistent jury verdicts only where the verdicts
are irreconcilably inconsistent. Indeed, the South Carolina
Supreme Court has emphasized that “[i]t is the duty of the
court to sustain verdicts when a logical reason for reconciling
them can be found.” Rhodes v. Winn-Dixie 249 §.C. 526, 155
S.E.2d 308, 310 (1967). Accord Haskins v. Fairfield Electric
Co-op., 283 S.C. 229, 321 S.E.2d 185, 190 (Ct. App. 1984).
With respect to punitive damages, the South Carolina
Supreme Court has repeatedly stated that the decision of
whether to award punitive damages and their amount are
“particularly within the judgment and discretion of the jury,
subject to supervisory power of the trial judge over jury
verdicts.” Hicks v. Herring, 246 S.C. 429, 144 S.E.2d 151,
154 (1965); Accord Gamble v. Stevenson, S.C. ;
406 S.E.2d 350 (1991). Thus the Defendants face a heavy
burden in obtaining a new trial on grounds of the purportedly
inconsistent verdicts on the -punitive damages claim. If a
logical reason for sustaining the verdicts can be identified, the
verdicts must be upheld as a proper exercise of jury
discretion.

The verdicts returned by the jury in the instant case can
be reconciled. At the close of evidence, the Court properly

Sevate ith aabetaten Si, Wines Abie DCN ane Ree:

pe

instructed the jury that it could consider the various factors
set forth in Gamble v. Stevenson, supra, in deciding whether
to award punitive damages. In Gamble the court stated:

to ensure that a punitive damage award is
proper, the trial court shall conduct a post trial
review and may consider the following: (1)
defendant’s degree of culpability; (2) duration
of the conduct; (3) defendant’s aware new or
concealment; (4) the existence of similar past
conduct; (5) likelihood the award will deter the
defendant or others from like conduct; (6)
whether the award is reasonably related to the
harm likely to result from such conduct; (7)
defendant’s ability to pay; and, finally (8) as
noted in Haslip', “other factors” deemed
appropriate.

Gamble v. Stevenson, supra, 406 S.E.2d at 354.

In deciding whether to award punitive damages, the jury
was instructed to assess each of the foregoing factors against
each Defendant. Although in case where the master’s liability
is based on respondent superior some of the foregoing factors
may be identical as to both the master and the servant. This
is certainly not true as to all of the factors. Most notably,
the ability of defendant to pay punitive damages usually will
vary where multiple defendants are involved. In the instant
case, the record reflects evidence showing that Spartan
Radiocasting, Inc. had a net worth of some Eighteen Million
($18,000.000) Dollars. On the other hand, there is absolutely
no evidence in the record showing the net worth or ability to
pay of Mr. Tedder. The jury quite properly could have
assumed that Mr. Tedder lacked the substantial assets of his
former corporate employer and could have substantial assets

Pacific Mutual Life Insurance Co. v. Haslip, 111 S.Ct. 1032 (1991).

ates.

of his former corporate employer and could have decided in
its discretion not to award punitive damages against Mr.
Tedder because of the lack of evidence as to his ability to

pay.

The jury was also instructed that punitive damages are
awarded, inter alia, to deter the defendant from engaging in
similar wrongful conduct in the future. See eg., Mattison v.
Dallas Carrier Corp., 947 F.2d 95 (4" Cir. 1991) (“[t]he law
of South Carolina permits jury to award punitive damages to
punish, deter, and vindicate the rights of the plaintiff
whenever the conduct of the defendant is willful, wanton or
reckless”). Although the evidence presented at trial showed
that Spartan Radiocasting, Inc. remains in the television news
business, the evidence disclosed that Mr. Tedder no longer
works for Spartan Radiocasting, Inc.

The jury was also instructed that one of the elements
that should be considered in assessing punitive damages is the
defendants’ awareness or concealment. There was evidence in
the record to show that the corporate defendant may have
engaged in conduct which amounted to an attempt to hide
and/or destroy the evidence. The evidence revealed that after
the two broadcasts, the permanent copy of the broadcasts
was in fact erased. Additionally, the transcripts of the
broadcasts are also “lost or unable to be found.” The jury
could have found that the corporate defendant, Spartan
Radiocasting, Inc. perpetrated the attempt to hide and/or
destroy the evidence and the single defendant, Allan Ray
Tedder, did not participate in this act of concealment. Hence,
the jury could have decided against imposing punitive
damages on Mr. Tedder because of the difference in their
conduct after the publications had occurred.

The defendants’ argument that the verdicts are
inconsistent fails to take into account that the foregoing
factors differ as to the two defendants. Additionally, there

t

f

|
t
:
,
,
;

tote RINE CSRS ine tld cal Sg ale

ay

were other factors that the jury, having listened to this
court’s charge, most probably took into consideration and
decided that the corporate defendant should have punitive
damages imposed upon it and not Mr. Tedder. The
defendants in effect urge the Court to construe the jury’s
failure to impose punitive damages on Mr. Tedder as an
implicit finding that Mr. Tedder did not act with the wanton
conduct necessary to support a punitive damages award.

In Collins v. Johnson, 245 S.C. 215, 139 $E.2d 915
(1965) the South Carolina Supreme Court recognized that a
verdict imposing punitive damages on a principal but not on
his agent did not necessarily exonerate the agent from willful
and wanton conduct. The court explained that the jury could
reasonably decide to impose punitive damages on the
principal only because of the principal’s greater ability to

pay:

Since the jurors were told that punitive
damages were left to their sound judgment and
discretion, and were correctly charged that the
ability of the respective defendants to pay
could be taken into consideration ingrading the
amount of the punishment, the jurors could
well have reasoned that even though Johnson
was guilty of willfulness, still under all of the
circumstances of the case, including the ability
of the defendant Johnson to pay, a verdict
against him for punitive damages, in even a
small or nominal amount, would be a
punishment which, in their sound judgment
and discretion, the jurors did not see fit to
inflict. The jurors could have further reasoned,
in their sound judgment and discretion, that
under all of the circumstances, the coach
company alone was able to and should pay the
amount of $25,000 by way of punishment

ee

even though Johnson was guilty of
willfulness. ..

139 S.E.2d at 9217.
Although Collins was decided prior to Gamble v.

Stevenson and the Collins record does not disclose whether
the jury was instructed as to the other Gamble factors, the
reasoning employed by the Collins court on this point is
certainly persuasive. In_Kirby v. Gulf Refining Co., 173 S.C.
224, 175 SE. 535 (1934), the primary case cited by the
Defendants in their brief, the Court did not mandate that the
verdicts be deemed inconsistent. In that case the evidence
and instructions presented below indicated that the jury
verdict exonerating the agent from punitive damages
amounted to a finding that he was innocent of malice:

If the agent is exonerated, can the principal be
held liable? In other words, the jury have
acquitted Livingston of malice in what he did
in the premises and have held Gulf Refining
Company liable in punitive damages. Malice
is the essential ingredient necessary to sustain
a verdict for punitive damages. The jury say
Livingston, the agent, is innocent of malice,

2

In Collins the trial court did not find the verdicts to be illogical. On
appeal the South Carolina Supreme Court, based on the evidence and
instructions in the record, ruled that it agreed with the trial court on
this point. This ruling does not, however, mean that all judgments
where such verdicts have been rendered are defective. Rather, the
Collins court in effect found no abuse of discretion in the trial court’s
determination that the verdicts were illogical based on the record.
While the evidence presented in Collins may have led the trial court
to conclude that the verdicts were illogical, the evidence in the instant
case leads to the contrary conclusion. To the extent that Collins does

rt a mule that verdicts of this nature are inconsistent as a matter of
law, the Plaintiff submits that Co/lins has been overruled by Gamble
v. Stevenson.

Lo Car gio

an.

but that Gulf Refining Co., who acted alone
through its said agent, is guilty of malice.
How can that be?

175 S.E. at 537.

We say here, if [the agent] had no malice in his
conduct toward plaintiff, and the jury by their
verdict have said he had none, “there was no
other chance for... [the principal] to have it.”

Id. at 539.

In the instant case, by contrast, there is absolutely no
reason to presume from the jury’s verdicts that they intended
to absolve Mr. Tedder from the wanton conduct necessary to
Support a punitive damages award. On the contrary, the
special interrogatory verdict form clearly showed that the
verdict was not inconsistent and not illogic. It is just as
logical to presume that the jury found that Mr. Tedder had
engaged in conduct sufficiently egregious to justify the
imposition of punitive damages but nonetheless declined to
impose this sanction on him because of the lack of evidence
of his ability to pay, because the jury perceived no need to
deter him from future similar conduct and because he was not
involved in trying to hide or destroy the evidence. Because
the verdicts thus can be reconciled, and because it is the
court’s duty to attempt to reconcile the verdicts if this can be
done reasonably, this court finds the verdicts to be consistent
and deny the motion for a new trial on this ground.

This court now addresses the issue of punitive damages.
In the recent case of Gamble v. Stevenson, S.C. :
406 S.E.2d 350 (1991), the Supreme Court of South Carolina
established new standards for the trial court’s review of
punitive damage verdicts.

ins.

This court has conducted a post-trial review and has
considered the factors and guidelines as set forth by our
Supreme Court in the Gamble decision. This court, in
charging the jury, set forth the factors that the jury may
consider in awarding punitive damages, and this court has
considered those factors among others and the evidence and
testimony in this case in making its decision. The court finds
no evidence that the verdict of the jury was the result of
arbitrariness, capriciousness, or other factors that would have
had an improper impact on the jury’s verdict. Taken as a
whole, this court finds no reason to alter the jury’s punitive
damage award.

Of significant importance to this court is the fact that
this case involved the intentional tort of defamation and later
concealment, as well as denial. As opposed to negligence
cases, those involving intentional torts certainly justify
punitive damage awards to a much greater degree.

The defendants argue that the punitive damage award of
Six Hundred and Twenty-Five Thousand ($625,000) Dollars
is excessive because it is twelve and one-half times the Fifty
Thousand Dollar actual damage award: The court finds this
argument without merit. Indeed, our Supreme Court has held
on numerous occasions that even nominal awards of actual
damages will support a substantial award of punitive
damages. The court finds that the actual damage award of
Fifty Thousand ($50,000) Dollars is supported by clear and
convincing evidence in the record; and, further, that the
punitive damage award of Six Hundred Twenty-Five
Thousand ($625,000) Dollars is not excessive. The
defendants argue that the award of Six Hundred Twenty-Five
Thousand ($625,000) Dollars is excessive; however, the court
notes that this amount is 3.4722% of the defendant’s net
worth of Eighteen Million ($18,000,000) Dollars. Clearly,
this is not excessive and the court so finds.

~ 0 8 et

-D10-

Now, in returning to the factors set forth in Gamble and
charged to the jury, the court must assume without evidence
to the contrary that the jury followed the court’s instructions
and considered those factors along with other they were
advised they could consider. This court, in making its
independent review of the punitive damage award based upon
those factors, finds that the jury’s award was supported by
the evidence and testimony in the case.

This court therefore finds as a matter of law that the jury
in fact properly considered the guidelines that this court set
out in its charge to the jury and, after making an independent
review, finds that the jury verdict is proper, is consistent
with the guidelines as set out by this court in its charge and
the punitive damage award should be affirmed.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED that all motions
of the defendants are denied.

J. DERHAM COLE
RESIDENT JUDGE
SEVENTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT

Spartanbug, S.C.
December 22, 1992

APPENDIX E

oi -—

THE COURT: Hand up the verdict, please,
sir. All right, sir. To the question of whether
or not the jury finds that the plaintiff has
proven by a preponderance of the evidence
that the broadcasts in question were
defamatory, the answer of the jury is yes; to
the question of whether or not the jury has
unanimously found that the plaintiffs have
proven by clear and convincing evidence that
the broadcasts complained of by the plaintiff
were false, the answer is yes; to the question
of whether or not the jury has found
unanimously that the plaintiff has proved by
clear and convincing evidence that the
broadcasts were published by the defendants
with actual knowledge of the falsity thereof or
with a reckless disregard for the truth or
falsity thereof, ihe answer is yes, to the....

(R. 00476).

APPENDIX F

on

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION
INVOLVED

“Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment
of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof: or
abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right
of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the
Government for a redress of grievances.” U.S. Constitution
Amendment 1.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_0571%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
