# Opposition Brief — Arias v. California

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_0405%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1997
- **Citation:** 520 U.S. 1251

## Text

COPY

No. 96-1444

, pene eee

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES:

OCTOBER TERM, 1996
APR 2S

PEDRO ARIAS,
Petitioner,
V.

PO Orr wt hee
.
1

STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION
FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

DANIEL E. LUNGREN
Attorney General
GEORGE WILLIAMSON
Chief Assistant Attorney General
ROBERT R. ANDERSON
Senior Assistant Attorney General
MARGARET VENTURI
Supervising Deputy Attorney General
WARD A. CAMPBELL, Assistant
Supervising Deputy Attorney General
ALISON ELLE ALEMAN
Deputy Attorney General
Counsel of Record
1300 I St., Suite 125; P.O. Box 944255
Sacramento, CA 94244-2550
Telephone: (916) 324-5164
Counsel for Respondent

CAPITAL CASE

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Does a determination by the state’s highest
court that trial courts need not engage in comparative
analysis of the responses of excluded minority venire
members violate the holding of Batson v. Kentucky and the
equal. protection clause of the Fourteenth Amendment?

2. Dothe due process right to an impartial jury
and the Eighth Amendment requirement of reliability in
capital sentencing prohibit allowing the same jury which
has just convicted a defendant of murder in the guilt trial
to then adjudicate in a penalty trial whether the defendant
is guilty of other uncharged crimes?

3. Does California’s 1978 Capital Punishment
Statute violate the Eighth Amendment because it fails to
narrow the class of offenders who are eligible for the
death penalty?

LIST OF PARTIES

Petitioner Pedro Arias is a prisoner incarcerated
under judgment of death at the California State Prison at
San Quentin, California. Respondents are James H.
Gomez, Director, California Department of Corrections,
Daniel Vasquez, Warden of the California State Prison at
San Quentin, and the People of the State of California.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
OPINION AND ORDER BELOW 1
STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION 1
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS 2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE 2
STATEMENT OF FACTS 3
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT 4
ARGUMENT 4

I. THE CALIFORNIA SUPREME COURT DID
NOT VIOLATE THE EQUAL PROTECTION
CLAUSE OF THE FOURTEENTH
AMENDMENT 4

Ii. THE TRIAL COURT PROPERLY DENIED
PETITIONER’S MOTIONS FOR SEPARATE
JURIES AT THE GUILT- AND PENALTY-
PHASE TRIALS 12

a ae

iil

TABLE OF CONTENTS, CONT’D

III. PETITIONER LACKS STANDING TO CLAIM
THAT THE CALIFORNIA STATUTORY
SCHEME DOES NOT ADEQUATELY
NARROW THE CATEGORIES OF DEATH-
ELIGIBLE MURDERERS NOR DOES HE
PRESENT A CASE OR CONTROVERSY FOR
THIS COURT’S REVIEW SINCE
PETITIONER WAS NOT SENTENCED TO
DEATH UNDER THE CURRENT
CALIFORNIA LAW AND SINCE THE STATE
LAW APPLIED IN PETITIONER’S CASE
ACTUALLY APPLIES TO A NARROWER
CLASS OF MURDERERS 14

CONCLUSION 16

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Arave v. Creech
507 U.S. 463 (1993)

Arizonians for Official English v. Arizona
US. , 117 SA. 1055 (3997)

Bacigalupo v. California
506 U.S. _, 121 L.Ed.2d 5 (1992)

Batson v. Kentucky
476 U.S. 79 (1986)

Buchanan v. Kentucky
483 U.S. 402 (1987)

Burks v. Borg
27 F.3d 1424 (9th Cir. 1994)

Holland v. Illinois
493 U.S. 474 (1990)

Lockhart v. Fretwell
506 U.S. 364 (1993)

People v. Arias
13 Cal.4th 92 (1996)

People v. Bacigalupo
1 Cal.4th 103 (1991)

=
®

15

10

12

i, 4-6, 9, 11

12

10

Di ty OA

12

TABLE CF AUTHORITIES, CONT’D

People v. Balderas
41 Cal.3d 144 (1985)

People v. Dunn
40 Cal.App.4th 1039 (1995)

People v. Espinoza
3 Cal.4th 806 (1992)

People v. Garceau
6 Cal.4th 140 (1993)

People v. Gordon
3 Cal.4th 195 (1992)

People v. Hall
35 Cal.3d 168 (1983)

People v. Johnson
3 Cal.4th 1183 (1992)

People v. Johnson
47 Cal.3d 1194 (1989)

People v. McPeters
2 Cal.4th 1148 (1992)

People v. Trevino
39 Cal.3d 667 (1985)

People v. Wheeler
22 Cal.3d 258 (1978)

12

10

12

10

4, 10, 2]

5, 11

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES, CONT’D

Picard v. Connor

404 U.S. 270 (1971) 5 |
Purkett v. Elam |
514 U.S. 765 (1995) 5
Sochor v. Florida
504 U.S. 527 (1992) 15
Teague v. Lane |
489 U.S. 288 (1989) 5
Tison v. Anzona

481 U.S. 137 (1987) 15

Tuilaepa v. California

512 U.S. _, 114 S.Ct. 2630 (1994) 15

United States v. Chinchilla

874 F.2d 695 (9th Cir. 1989) 10

Walton v. Arizona ;
497 U.S. 639 (1990) 15 i

ee ee eee

Constitutional Provisions

aS NC Ahi ree!

United States Constitution

Fifth Amendment 2
Sixth Amendment 2, 32 |
Eighth Amendment De eT i

4

Fourteenth Amendment i, 4, 12, 14 ;

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES, CONT’D

Statutes
28 U.S.C. § 1257, subd. (a)
California’s 1978 Capital Punishment Statute

California Penal Code
§ 187
§ 189
§ 190.2, subd. (a)(17)
§ 190.4, subd. (e)
§ 207, subd. (a)
§ 209, subd. (b)
§ 211
§ 261, subd. (2)
§ 288a, subd. (c)
§ 289, subd. (a)
§ 664/286, subd. (c)
§ 12022, subd. (b)
§ 12022.3, subd. (a)

NMNMYNN NNN ND NHN NH WNW PD tO

Tt Se ree RET

Tee

OPINION AND ORDER BELOW

The opinion of the California Supreme Court is reported
at 13 Cal.4th 92 (1996). A copy is attached to the petition as
petitioner’s Appendix A, pages one through one hundred twenty-
eight. A copy of the order denying rehearing is attached to the
petition as petitioner’s Appendix B.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

This Court’s jurisdiction to grant certiorari is properly
invoked under 28 U.S.C. section 1257, subdivision (a). The
opinion of the California Supreme Court was filed April 11, 1996,
and that court denied petitioner’s timely petition for rehearing on
July 10, 1996. Pet. Apps. A & B. On October 1, 1996, Associate
Justice O’Connor granted petitioner’s request for an extension of
time within which to file this petition to and including November
7, 1996. Pet. App. C. Thereafter, petitioner’s first petition for a
writ of certiorari, dated November 7, 1996, was submitted to this
Court for filing. However, petitioner did not submit a declaration
of indigency with the petition. On November 20, 1996, petitioner’s
counsel submitted a motion for leave to file in forma pauperis
without a declaration of indigency, which informed the Court that
petitioner refused to cooperate with counsel and sign the
declaration. Pet. App. C-1. Petitioner’s motion was denied by this
Court on January 6, 1997. Pet. App. C-2. On January 7, 1997,
petitioner’s counsel confirmed by letter this Court’s permission to
refile the petition, without in forma pauperis status, within sixty
(60) days from January 6, 1997. Pet. App. C-3. The instant
petition was submitted by mail by petitioner on March 7, 1997, and
was filed by this Court on March 13, 1997.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

Petitioner is invoking the Fifth, Sixth, Eighth and
Fourteenth Amendments of the United States Constitution.
Petitioner has set forth said amendments in Appendix D, attached
to his petition.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On November 20, 1989, a jury convicted petitioner Pedro
Arias of the May 23, 1987, first degree murder, California Penal
Code sections 187, 189,4 of Jon Waltrip, and robbery, section 211,
of Jon Waltrip, Tina Cheatham, and Larry Galvin. The jury also
found true the special circumstance under California’s 1978 death
penalty laws that the murder was committed during the
commission of a felony, robbery, section 190.2, subdivision (a)(17);
and found true the allegation that petitioner was personally armed
with a knife within the meaning of section 12022, subdivision (b),
in the commission of these charges. The jury also convicted
petitioner of the June 5, 1987, kidnap, section 207, subdivision (a),
robbery, section 211, kidnap for robbery, section 209, subdivision
(b), forcible penetration, section 289, subdivision (a), attempted
forcible sodomy, sections 664/286, subdivision (c), forcible oral
copulation, section 288a, subdivision (c), and forcible rape, section
261, subdivision (2), of Judy N.; and of the June 5, 1987, robbery,
section 211 of Linda McCord. The jury also found true allegations
that petitioner personally used a firearm within the meaning of
section 12022.3, subdivision (a), in the commission of the June 5,
1987, offenses.

On December 21, 1989, following a penalty trial, the jury
returned its verdict fixing the penalty at death.

On February 22, 1990, the trial court denied petitioner’s
automatic motion for modification of the verdict, section 190.4,

1. Hereinafter, all statutory references are to the California
Penal Code unless otherwise indicated.

]
{
|
|
iia)

subdivision (e), and sentenced petitioner to death for the first
degree murder, plus an aggregate determinate term of sixty-nine
years, four months, for all remaining counts.

Petitioner’s appeal to the Supreme Court of California
was automatic. On April 11, 1996, that court was convinced after
“careful review of the record" that "the trial was fundamentally fair
and its determinations reliable. No basis for reversal appears." In
a majority opinion of six justices, plus one concurring opinion, all
justices joined in the affirmance. People v. Arias, 13 Cal.4th 92
(1996), hereinafter "Arias," Pet. App. A 1-126. The court denied
rehearing on July 10, 1996. Pet. App. B.

STATEMENT OF FACTS

The facts of the offenses, which are not pertinent to the
issues raised in the within petition for certiorari, are set forth in
detail in the California Supreme Court opinion attached to the
petition as Appendix A, pages one through twenty, and are
incorporated herein by reference. In summary, on May 23, 1987,
petitioner robbed a Beacon gas station at knifepoint and stabbed
clerk John Waltrip to death. Subsequently, on June 5, 1987,
petitioner kidnapped, raped, robbed and otherwise sexually
assaulted June N. The specific facts pertaining to each issue are
addressed within the arguments in opposition to this petition.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

ARGUMENT

I.

THE CALIFORNIA SUPREME COURT DID NOT VIOLATE
THE EQUAL PROTECTION CLAUSE OF THE FOURTEENTH
AMENDMENT

Petitioner contends that California Supreme Court erred
in concluding that the trial court has no obligation to perform a
comparative analysis in deciding the validity of an equal protection
claim pursuant to Batson v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 79 (1986)
("Batson")* He argues that California defendants cannot show
that they have been denied equal protection under Batson because
of the California Supreme Court’s holding. Arg. I at Pet. 11-16.
Respondent disagrees.

Initially, this Court should reject, as procedurally barred,
petitioner’s claim of federal constitutional error involving the rights
to a fair trial and to equal protection of the laws. In making his
objection, petitioner’s counsel said, "At this time we'd like to make
a motion under People v. Wheeler on the basis of the systematic
exclusion of two different minority groups, blacks and also
Mexicans, which my client is Mexican, himself." (RT 3867.) The
defense did not invoke equal protection principles, did not cite
Batson nor any other federal case, and did not object as the trial

2. In Batson v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 79 (1986), the United States
Supreme Court held that the use of peremptory challenges to exclude
potential jurors on account of their race violates the federal
Constitution and that equal protection principles do apply within the
confines of a particular trial. Batson also established standards for
resolving claims of discrimination in the jury selection process. (Jd.
at 95-98.)

et ee CoN on cmb ca we wie

court considered and applied the Wheeler format. <=qual
protection claims must be presented in the state trial court or will
be deemed waived. This is true even if the defendant presented
all the facts in connection with an objection on other grounds, if he
has failed to bring the equal protection claim to the attention of
the court. Picard v. Connor, 404 U.S. 270, 277-78 (1971); Holland
v. Illinois, 493 U.S. 474, 480, 482-83 (1990); see also People v.
Garceau, 6 Cal.4th 140, 173 (1993); People v. McPeters, 2 Cal.4th
1148, 1174 (1992); cf. Teague v. Lane, 489 U.S. 288, 298 (1989).
Therefore, petitioner’s specific reliance on the representative cross-
section rule and Wheeler, coupled with his failure to suggest an
equal protection and/or Batson basis for his objection, preclude
him from raising independent federal grounds for his objection at
this time. At any rate, petitioner’s equal protection claim lacks
merit and should be rejected because, as discussed below, the trial
court’s finding that there was no improper use of the peremptory
challenges exercised by the prosecutor is supported by the record.

In Purkett v. Elam, 514 U.S. 765 (1995), this Court
recently explained its Batson jurisprudence:

... [O]nce the opponent of a peremptory challenge
has made out a prima facie case of racial discrimination
(step 1), the burden of production shifts to the proponent
of the strike to come forward with a race-neutral
explanation (step 2). If a race neutral explanation is
tendered, the trial court must then decide (step 3)
whether the opponent of the strike has proved
purposeful racial discrimination. [Citations.]

Id. at 766-67.

Petitioner argues that the California Supreme Court’s
opinion in the instant case "essentially vitiates step 3 of the Purkett
standard" by permitting California trial courts to ignore factors
which show that a prosecutor has excluded Black and Hispanic

3. People v. Wheeler, 22 Cal.3d 258 (1978).

jurors allegedly because of responses they gave, but has permitted
White jurors with the same responses to serve. Pet. 14. Petitioner
is mistaken.

This Court in Batson v. Kentucky held:

Once the defendant makes a prima facie showing,
the burden shifts to the State to come forward with a
neutral explanation for challenging [B]lack jurors. .. .
[T]he prosecutor’s explanation need not rise to the level
justifying exercise of a challenge for cause. [Citations.]

Id. at 97.

The prosecutor therefore must articulate a neutral
explanation related to the particular case to be tried.
[Footnote omitted.] The trial court then will have the
duty to determine if the defendant has established
purposeful discrimination. [Footnote omitted.]

Id. at 98.

The prosecutor’s reasons must be "clear and reasonably specific’
and must provide "legitimate reasons for exercising the challenges."
Id. at 98, n. 20.

Since the trial judge’s findings in the context under
consideration here largely will turn on evaluation of
credibility, a reviewing court ordinarily should give those
findings great deference. [Citation.]

Id. at n. 21.

The California Supreme Court reviewed the voir dire in
light of these requirements and found:

With these standards in mind, we conclude that the
instant trial court’s ruling satisfies Wheeler/Batson
standards. Certain aspects of the trial court’s findings
were neither necessary nor relevant, since a Wheeler
violation does not require "systematic" discrimination

A Nae at ini Uae AN Dok, ob gy.

He iS ns a a es CONN aS i Bes Gt wisebpoaen

[citation] and is not negated simply because both sides
have dismissed minority jurors or because the final jury
is "representative." However, after observing the relevant
voir dire explanations, the court also found in effect that
the reasons offered for each individual suspect excusal,
including those of panelists Barber, Campos, and
Nevarez, were both genuine and _ acceptably
nondiscriminatory.

The record discloses no basis for suspicion that the
court’s effort to evaluate the prosecutor’s good faith in
this regard was anything other than "sincere and
reasoned." [Citation.] Hence, if the responses given by
the individual excused panelists support the court’s
findings, we must accept them.

People v. Arias, 13 Cal.4th at 137-38.

In People v. Johnson, 47 Cal.3d 1194 (1989), the
California Supreme Court found that an experienced trial court
judge, who had seen and heard the entire voir dire proceeding by
which the defendant’s jury was selected, was sensitive to the
manner in which peremptory challenges were used and,
accordingly, properly found no improper use of the peremptory
challenge by the prosecutor. "Under these circumstances we see
no good reason to second-guess [the trial court’s] factual
determination." Jd. at 1221. The Johnson Court further noted
that, "if we [the California Supreme Court] cannot trust trial courts
to do their job fairly, we might as well close up shop... ." Jd. at
1219, citing People v. Trevino, 39 Cal.3d 667, 704, n. 4. (1985)
(Kaus, J., dissenting).

Further, the use of comparative analysis to evaluate the
bona fides of the prosecutor’s peremptory challenges does not take
into account the variety of factors and considerations that go into
a lawyer’s decision to select certain jurors while challenging others
that appear to be similar. In its disapproval of People v. Trevino,
39 Cal.3d 667, the California Supreme Court in People v. Johnson,
47 Cal.3d 1194, stated that comparisons are one-sided since they
ignore the characteristics of the other jurors against whom the

prosecutor also exercised peremptory challenges. Furthermore, it
is unrealistic to expect a trial judge to make such a detailed review
mid-trial or during a two-month voir dire. Jd. at 1220.

The Johnson Court further stated:

Trial lawyers recognize that it is a combination of
factors rather than any single one which often leads to
the exercise of a peremptory challenge. In addition, the
particular combination or mix of jurors which a lawyer
seeks may, and often does, change as certain jurors are
removed or seated in the jury box. It may be acceptable,
for example, to have one juror with a particular point of
view but unacceptable to have more than one with that
view. If the panel as seated appears to contain a
sufficient number of jurors who appear strong-willed and
favorable to a lawyer’s position, the lawyer might be
satisfied with a jury that includes one or more passive or
timid jurors. However, if one or more of the supposed
favorable or strong jurors is excused for cause or
peremptory challenge and the replacement jurors appear
to be passive or timid types, it would not be unusual or
unreasonable for the lawyer to peremptorily challenge
one of these apparently less favorable jurors even though
other similar types remain. These same considerations
apply when considering the age, education, training,
employment, prior jury service, and experience of the
prospective jurors.

It is also common knowledge among trial lawyers
that the same factors used in evaluating a juror may be
given different weight depending on the number of
peremptory challenges the lawyer has at the time of the
exercise of the particular challenge and the number of
challenges remaining with the other side. Near the end
of the voir dire process a lawyer will naturally be more
cautious about ‘spending’ his increasingly precious
peremptory challenges. Thus at the beginning of voir
dire the lawyer may exercise his challenges freely against

a person who has had a minor adverse police contact and
later be more hesitant with his challenges on that ground
for fear that if he exhausts them too soon, he may be
forced to go to trial with a juror who exhibits an even
stronger bias. Moreover, as the number of challenges
decreases, a lawyer necessarily evaluates whether the
prospective jurors remaining in the courtroom appear to
be better or worse than those who are seated. If they
appear better, he may elect to excuse a previously passed
juror. hoping to draw an even better juror from the
remaining panel.

It should be apparent, therefore, that the very
dynamics of the jury selection process make it difficult, if
not impossible, on a cold record, to evaluate or compare
the peremptory challenge of one juror with the retention
of another juror which on paper appears to be
substantially similar. The dissent’s attempt to make such
an analysis of the prosecutor’s use of his peremptory
challenges is highly speculative and less reliable than the
determination made by the trial judge who witnessed the
process by which the defendant’s jury was selected. It is
therefore with good reason that we and the United States
Supreme Court give great deference to the trial court’s
determination that the use of peremptory challenges was
not for an improper or class bias purpose. As stated in
Batson: "Since the trial judge’s findings in the context
under consideration here largely will turn on evaluation
of credibility, a reviewing court ordinarily should give
those findings great deference." [Citation.]

People v. Johnson, 47 Cal.3d at 1220-21.

The California Supreme Court’s deference to the trial
court was proper under Batson. As a practical matter, a trial
judge, in determining whether a prospective juror has been
challenged by the prosecution on a racial basis in violation of the
United States Constitution, see Batson, supra, has an obligation to
weigh the evidence and assess the credibility of witnesses. In short,

10

the trial judge is a factfinder. If from the evidence he believes that
the prosecutor exercised peremptory strikes to exclude
venirepersons based upon racial considerations, it is his duty to so
find and to provide appropriate relief. This Court and the State
Courts of Appeal are principally reviewing courts. They should not
substitute their judgments of witnesses’ credibility and evidentiary
weight for those of the factfinder, but should affirm those
judgments whenever the record discloses sufficient evidence in
their support.

A prosecutor’s statement alone might not be completely
dispositive. The trial judge must gauge his credibility as in any
other fact finding enterprise. Further, interjuror comparisons may
be probative on the issue, but should be advanced before the trial
court.*

4. Petitioner relies upon United States v. Chinchilla, 874 F.2d 695,
699 (9th Cir. 1989) in arguing that any disparate treatment between
jurors is strongly suggestive of bias. Pet. 12. Any reliance upon this
9th Circuit holding is not dispositive in this case:

... The Supremacy Clause demands that state law yield to

federal law, but neither federal supremacy nor any other

principle of federal law requires that a state court’s

interpretation of federal law give way to a (lower) federal

court’s interpretation. In our federal system, a state trial

court’s interpretation of federal law is no less authoritative

than that of the federal court of appeals in whose circuit

the trial court is located.
Lockhart v. Fretwell, 506 U.S. 364 (1993) (Thomas, J., concurring);
Burks v. Borg, 27 F.3d 1424, 1428 (9th Cir. 1994); Arizonians for
Official English vy. Arizona, __U.S._, 117 S.Ct. 1055, 1064, fn. 11
(1997); see also People v. Dunn, 40 Cal.App.4th 1039, 1050-51 (1995).

Furthermore, Chinchilla is hardly persuasive authority.

Unlike the California Supreme Court’s decision in Johnson, the
Chinchilla opinion offers no analysis to support its comparative
analysis approach. As authority, it relies on the Califnia Supreme
Court’s opinion in People v. Hall, 35 Cal.3d 168 (1983). To the extent
Hall actually relied upon any comparative analysis, it was essentially
disavowed by the California Supreme Court in People v. Johnson, 47
Cal.3d at 1218-22.

Pade vind woke lake

MRR IN ce RC AME MES es aR EADS Hae,

PTE

11

A reviewing court should reverse a trial court’s findings
only when they are not supported by sufficient evidence. If the
trial judge was not urged to make, and did not make, a finding
based upon a comparison analysis in deciding the issue whether
the prosecutor’s neutral explanations were rebutted or impeached
at the Wheeler/Batson hearing with evidence that unchallenged
veniremen also possessed the same purporiedly undesirable
characteristics, this Court should not undertake this fact-finding
task or reconsider this circumstance in reviewing the trial judge’s
findings. .

The California Supreme Court generally adhered to these
principles in reviewing petitioner’s challenges to voir dire. It
properly concluded that the "instant trial court’s ruling satisfies
Wheeler/Batson standards." People v. Arias, 13 Cal.4th at 137.

In summary, California prosecutors and trial judges have
been leaders in the effort to eliminate group bias as a factor in
criminal jury trials. That is evident in the extensive exposition of
reasons which the prosecutor provided in support of his challenges
in this case. For each one of the three prospective jurors whose
exclusion is in issue here, the prosecutor gave a large number of
neutral reasons for exercising a challenge, and at least several of
those reasons are objectively verifiable from the written record.
No further comparative review was requested or argued. We
respectfully submit that petitioner’s complaint is nothing more than
an invitation for this Court to "micro-manage" the jury selection
process in California. People v. Johnson, 47 Cal.4th at 1219-22.
We submit that it would be totally inappropriate for this Court to
substitute itself as the factfinder on the credibility and bona fides
of the trial prosecutor.

12

Il.

THE TRIAL COURT PROPERLY DENIED
PETITIONER’S MOTIONS FOR SEPARATE JURIES
AT THE GUILT- AND PENALTY-PHASE TRIALS

Petitioner further contends that the trial court’s denial of
his motions for separate juries to adjudicate the guilt phase and
the penalty phase at trial violated his right to an impartial jury
under the Sixth, Eighth and Fourteenth Amendments. Arg. II at
Pet. 17-21. He bases this contention on the argument that the
jury, which had just convicted him of capital murder, could not
impartially determine the truth of prior unadjudicated and violent
criminal acts and the weight to be given such aggravating factors
in the jury’s sentencing determination.

Both the California Supreme Court and this Court have
already rejected this argument in numerous cases, despite
petitioner’s request to disregard them. Buchanan v. Kentucky, 483
U.S. 402, 414-21 (1987); People v. Bacigalupo, 1 Cal.4th 103, 135-36
(1991) (judgment vacated and remanded on other grounds,
Bacigalupo v. California 506 U.S. _, 121 L.Ed.2d 5 (1992)); People
v. Gordon, 3 Cal.4th 195, 252 (1992); People v. Espinoza, 3 Cal.4th
806, 827 (1992); People v. Johnson, 3 Cal.4th 1183, 1212-13 (1992);
People v. Balderas, 41 Cal.3d 144, 204 (i985).

We cannot agree. Even if a separate jury were
empaneled to decide the penalty, it would be entitled to
hear, in aggravation or mitigation, "[t]he circumstances of
the crime of which the defendant was convicted in the
present proceeding," including "the existence of any
special circumstance found true" at the guilt trial. (§
190.3, subd. (a).) Under these circumstances, the strong
legislative preference for a unitary jury outweighs any
"supposed disadvantage" to defendant in the single-jury
process. (See § 190.4, subd. (c).) [Citations.]

Id. at 204.

mses Matibiahess

13

Accordingly, petitioner’s argument is contrary to this
Court’s holding and should be rejected.

14

Ill.

PETITIONER LACKS STANDING TO CLAIM THAT THE
CALIFORNIA STATUTORY SCHEME DOES NOT
ADEQUATELY NARROW THE CATEGORIES OF DEATH-
ELIGIBLE MURDERERS NOR DOES HE PRESENT A CASE
OR CONTROVERSY FOR THIS COURT'S REVIEW SINCE
PETITIONER WAS NOT SENTENCED TO DEATH UNDER
THE CURRENT CALIFORNIA LAW AND SINCE THE STATE
LAW APPLIED IN PETITIONER’S CASE ACTUALLY APPLIES
TO A NARROWER CLASS OF MURDERERS

Petitioner further requests this court to review the
adequacy of California’s capital punishment law under the Eighth
and Fourteenth Amendments. He argues that the California law
does not genuinely narrow the class of persons eligible for the
death penalty because it is so broad as to include "nearly every first
degree murder." Arg. III at Pet. 21-29. However, review is not
appropriate in this case since petitioner was not convicted and
sentenced to death under the California law currently in effect.
Indeed, he was actually tried under a law that is more selective of
California murderers than the current statutory scheme described
in the petition.*

As this Court is aware, under California law, a murderer
is Only death-penaity eligible when the murderer is convicted of
first degree murder and the jury finds a special circumstance true.
Petitioner asserts that the special circumstances that trigger
eligibility "taken together . . . cover virtually all first degree
murders." Pet. at 22 [emphasis added]. He argues that the
drafters of California law intended the statute to apply to every
murderer and that the "felony murder" special circumstance in
particular fails to narrow_the category of eligible felony-murderers.

5. Respondent in no way concedes that the current California law
fails Eighth Amendment eligibility standards. However, petitioner
was not sentenced under that law.

15

Petitioner’s own case is fatal to his claim. Petitioner was
not tried and sentenced under the law he now attacks. Rather, his
case was decided under a state law no longer in effect.

The problem with petitioner’s argument is that an "intent
to kill" was required for the felony murder special circumstances
in his case. Although California law no longer requires an "intent
to kill" for a felony murder special circumstance, such a mental
state was required at the time petitioner murdered John Waltrip.
Pet., App. A at 21-22. Thus, the felony murder special
circumstance in petitioner’s case did not simply duplicate the
elements of first degree felony murder in California. Once the jury
convicted petitioner of first degree murder, it was also necessary
for the jury to find that petitioner intended to kill John Waltrip
when he robbed him in order for petitioner to be death penalty
eligible.

This Court has long settled that an intentional firsi degree
felony murderer is an appropriate candidate for the death penalty
under the Eighth Amendment. See, e.g. Tison v. Arizona, 481 U.S.
137, 157-58 (1987). Furthermore, there is nothing improper under
Eighth Amendment jurisprudence for a jury to consider this factor
in deciding the appropriate sentence. Tuilaepa v. California, 512
US. __, 114 S.Ct. 2630, 2637 (1994). Whatever complaint
petitioner has about the current California death penalty law, it is
not a complaint that applies to his case since he was not tried
under that law. His petition on this question should be denied.
See, e.g. Sochor v. Florida, 504 U.S. 527, 537 (1992); Arave v.
Creech, 507 U.S. 463, 476-78 (1993); Walton v. Arizona, 497 US.
639, 655-56 (1990).

16

CONCLUSION

Accordingly, for the reasons stated, respondent
respectfully requests that the petition for writ of certiorari be

denied.

Dated: May 2, 1997.

AEA:Ims

Respectfully submitted,

DANIEL E. LUNGREN

Attorney General

GEORGE WILLIAMSON

Chief Assistant AttorOney General
ROBERT R. ANDERSON

Senior Assistant Attorney General
MARGARET VENTURI
Supervising Deputy Attorney General
WARD A. CAMPBELL, Assistant
Suprevising Attorney General

ALISON ELLE ALEM AN
Deputy Attorney General
California Bar No. 117566
Counsel of Recora

Counsel for Respondent

SA96XU0005

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_0405%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
