# Reply Brief — City & County of Denver v. Sonnenfeld

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_0244%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1997
- **Citation:** 520 U.S. 1228

## Text

My
Some

No. 96-1268 APR 25

In The PN ates

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1996
®

THE CITY AND COUNTY OF DENVER, COLORADO,

Petitioner,

BONNIE SONNENFELD, individually and on behalf of
all those similarly situated, KARL NICOLETTI, on behalf
of himself and all others similarly situated, HILDA
EBLING STOLLER TRUST, by Hilda Stoller a/k/a Hilda
Stoller Milstein, Trustee, and LARRY RABINOWITZ, on
behalf of himself and all others similarly situated,

Respondents.

«

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Tenth Circuit
>

PETITIONER’S REPLY BRIEF
*

James M. Lyons

Counsel of Record

FREDERICK J. BAUMANN

JoANN L. Vocrt

ROTHGERBER, APPEL, Powers &
JoHNson LLP

1200 Seventeenth Street,
Suite 3000

Denver, CO 80202

Tel: (303) 623-9000

Attorneys for Petitioner,
The City and County
of Denver, Colorado

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

; ; 4 ea 6
uk 4 ‘ A tly oe
{ii ye e * we Bites,

a aw te ra co aw eee ; : ‘ , i
; ese ’ 5 ‘ ae &
ie tis mara 4 AAs Ee iosk sawn de ah vy saree : AEE p pa
$6 hs EE e Ce AR ac oe I Oat a ee ee are PEE Te ator kn ch en POE RE EH og :

TABLE OF CONTENTS

RA Ce FO CTS vb nk ccdeeeranaccaveceess ii, iii

I. CERTIORARI REVIEW IS WARRANTED NOT-
WITHSTANDING THE INTERLOCUTORY
NATURE OF THE TENTH CIRCUIT’S DECI-
PEE abbas eH etE Ra dana kaneebas Ketewusoubeas 1

Il. WHETHER THERE IS AN IMPLIED PRIVATE
RIGHT OF ACTION UNDER FEDERAL SECU-
RITIES LAWS AGAINST MUNICIPAL
ISSUERS IS AN UNSETTLED QUESTION
THAT SHOULD BE DECIDED BY THIS
RPM Shs K5648% cae eS Avia event een bakeees 3

III. LEGISLATIVE HISTORY CANNOT BE
IGNORED, OR CITED ONLY SELECTIVELY,
IN DECIDING THE QUESTION PRESENTED
ET Tre oer er ae ee gear DRS 5

IV. THERE WAS NO JUDICIAL RECOGNITION
OF A PRIVATE RIGHT OF ACTION UNDER
THE SECURITIES LAWS AGAINST MUNICI-
SOMAEEAE EO BOE TOFS og viteccincckenrenes 7

V. INFERRING A PRIVATE RIGHT OF ACTION
AGAINST MUNICIPAL ISSUERS IS UNNEC-
ESSARY FOR THE PROTECTION OF INVES-
TORS AND IS CONTRARY TO PUBLIC
RMA AG 6 85a eos ahs anes ae een 8

ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CasES

Air Line Pilots Ass'n, Int'l v. UAL Corp., 897 F.2d
SIS OU Che. BOI oi icicectvccesntasesiaees

Baron v. Shields, 131 F. Supp. 370 (S.D.N.Y. 1954)
Central Bank of Denver, N.A. v. First Interstate Bank
of Denver, N.A., 511 U.S. 164, 114 S. Ct. 1439, 128
Ss EOP CUOMO ac ensccscscadvesseseeteders
Coleman v. Paccar, Inc., 424 U.S. 1301 (1976) .....

Fed. Power Comm’n v. Transcont’l Gas Pipe Line
Corp., S23 US. TRB GASPED. 000 csccesseecisssess

Hamilton-Brown Shoe Co. v. Wolf Bros. & Co., 240
tt 8: Peer rrr ere ee ee ree

In re CitiSource, Inc. Sec. Litigation, 694 F. Supp.
BOSD GOEAIY.. BOE osc dcicackvisscncovesecces

In re Wash. Pub. Power Supply Systems Sec. Litiga-
tion, 623 F. Supp. 1466 (W.D. Wash. 1985), aff'd,
S23 F.2d 1309 Oth Cie. 1987)... .. 5 .ccceseses

J.I. Case Co. v. Borak, 377 U.S. 426 (1964)........

Nixon v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 731 (1982)..........

STATUTES AND RULES

Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995,
Pub. L. No. 104-67, 109 Stat. 737 (1995).......

BE TSE. © TS hi kc avcctcccendeussdcasssecris
G2. Th. Mes caocnn Catepeqaesiaahsswstensis

ili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
OTHER AUTHORITIES
Gellis, Ann Judith, Municipal Securities Market:
Same Problems — No Solutions, 21 Del. J. Corp. L.
Ne UREA aoa ics ha ove ia O56 oo ied oe oe. 8, 9
Schwarz, Thomas J., Municipal Bonds and the Secu-
rities Laws: Do Investors Have an Implied Private
Remedy?, 7 Sec. Reg. L. J. 119 < . EASE eee a2

Steinberg, Marc I., Securities Regulation: Liabilities
ee I NN as rg ne pee oa 3

I. CERTIORARI REVIEW IS WARRANTED NOT-
WITHSTANDING THE INTERLOCUTORY
NATURE OF THE TENTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION.

The question which Denver presents for review was
decided by the Tenth Circuit on interlocutory appeal.
That fact does not “militate against the exercise of cer-
tiorari jurisdiction,” as Respondents contend (Brief in
Opposition (“Brief”) at 1).

Respondents cite a 1916 case, Hamilton-Brown Shoe
Co. v. Wolf Bros. & Co., 240 U.S. 251 (1916), in support of
their contention. However, in Hamilton, this Court simply
held that its denial of certiorari after an interlocutory
appeal did not preclude it from reviewing issues that
arose during the interlocutory proceedings when it
granted certiorari after a second appeal. Id. at 257-58.
More recently, this Court has made it clear that the inter-
locutory nature of an appeal does not warrant denial of
certiorari where the question presented is otherwise
appropriate for review. See Fed. Power Comm'n v. Trans-
cont’l Gas Pipe Line Corp., 423 U.S. 326, 330-31 (1976) (“We
agree with the Commission that the challenged order,
although interlocutory in nature, is properly reviewable
by this Court pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1)”); Nixon v.
Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 731, 742-43 (1982); Coleman v. Paccar,
Inc., 424 U.S. 1301, 1304 (1976) (per Rehnquist, J., as
Circuit Justice); see also Air Line Pilots Ass’n, Int’l v. UAL
Corp., 897 F.2d 1394, 1397 (7th Cir. 1990) (“A litigant in a
federal case is not compelled to wait until the case is over
before seeking certiorari, because it is not a requirement
of certiorari to review an order of a federal court that the
order be a final decision”). Indeed, in at least one of the
cases relied on by Respondents in their brief, J.I. Case Co.

v. Borak, 377 U.S. 426, 428 (1964), the securities law issue
on which certiorari was granted had been decided by the
court of appeals on interlocutory appeal.

In Nixon, concerns of judicial economy warranted
immediate review where the question presented was a
pure issue of law as to which the court of appeals had
made a binding decision. 457 U.S. at 743 n.23. In Fed.
Power Comm'n, the Court found it appropriate to review
an interlocutory order because “any review by this Court
of the propriety of the order must be immediate to be
meaningful.” 423 U.S. at 331. The same considerations
warrant immediate review of the issue in this case as
well. Whether there is an implied private right of action
under the securities laws against municipal issuers is a
pure question of law, and has been definitively decided
by the Tenth Circuit. Resolution of the issue requires no
additional factual development in the lower courts.
Although Respondents’ class action against Denver and
other parties is proceeding, nothing in the ongoing litiga-
tion will have any bearing on the issue presented for
review.

The Tenth Circuit’s decision means that Denver must
now mount a defense in what promises to be protracted
and expensive securities fraud class action suits. Denver
should net be required to defend, go through a trial on
the merits and pursue a further appeal if — as it believes —
Respondents had no right of action against it from the
outset. There is no basis for deferring review of the
question presented here simply because it was decided by
the Tenth Circuit on interlocutory appeal.

Il. WHETHER THERE IS AN IMPLIED PRIVATE
RIGHT OF ACTION UNDER FEDERAL SECURI-
TIES LAWS AGAINST MUNICIPAL ISSUERS IS
AN UNSETTLED QUESTION THAT SHOULD BE
DECIDED BY THIS COURT.

Certiorari review is warranted when a court of
appeals has decided an important question of federal law
that has not been, but should be, settled by this Court.
Sup. Ct. R. 10(c). Contrary to Respondents’ assertions, the
issue presented here is just such a question.

Respondents state that the Tenth Circuit’s decision is
in accord with the “vast majority” of district courts and
commentators (Brief at 5); that the decision is consistent
with the precedents of this Court and with the position of
the SEC (id. at 13); and that there is “great unanimity of
opinion on this issue” (id.). Not so.

Neither this Court nor any federal appeals court
except the Tenth Circuit has addressed the issue raised in
Denver's petition. As evidenced by the authorities cited
by each side in this case, the commentators are split; as
recently as 1995, a leading treatise stated that “the extent
of liability of municipal issuers under the federal securi-
ties laws is far from settled.” Marc I. Steinberg, Securities
Regulation: Liabilities and Remedies (1995), § 13.05, at 13-20.
Respondents’ “vast majority” of district courts consists of
exactly two cases — neither of which can serve as a basis
for upholding the Tenth Circuit’s decision.!

1 The first of these, In re Wash. Pub. Power Supply Systems
Sec. Litigation, 623 F. Supp. 1466 (W.D. Wash. 1985), aff'd, 823
F.2d 1349 (9th Cir. 1987), ignored legislative history and simply
hypothesized that the language of the 1975 amendment defining

As for the SEC, Respondents are correct in stating
that that agency has “long taken the position that the
securities laws’ antifraud provisions apply to munici-
palities” (Brief at 13 n.7). However, this is not the same as
taking a position on the question whether municipal
issuers are subject to private damages actions for alleged
violations of the securities laws. As to that issue, no less
an authority than former SEC Chairman Roderick M.
Hills stated during Senate hearings on the Municipal
Securities Full Disclosure Act of 1976 that he “was certain
of the SEC’s authority to act under the securities acts
against fraud in municipal securities transactions, but he

“person” to include governments “appears to expand” the class
of persons liable for fraudulent practices to include
municipalities, and that in expanding the definition of person,
Congress “must have intended” that governments were to be
treated the same as other persons under the Act except where
specifically exempted. Id. at 1479. It is evident from this
language that the court was simply making an assumption
without any support for such assumption in the case law or in
the legislative history. Further, as noted in Denver’s petitioti,
the Ninth Circuit’s decision on the appeal of this case casts
doubt on the district court’s resolution of the municipal issuer
liability issue. See Petition at 8 n.3. In In re CitiSource, Inc. Sec.
Litigation, 694 F. Supp. 1069 (S.D.N.Y. 1988), the primary issue
was not whether New York City was subject to liability as an
issuer, but whether it could be held liable for alleged
misrepresentations made by its employees that led to the
decline in value of CitiSource stock. Id. at 1072-73. In answering
this question in the affirmative, the court acknowledged that the
principal concern of Congress in 1975 was not with municipal
issuers, but with professionals trading in the municipal
securities market, and added: “Congress took pains to make
explicit that it did not intend by the 1975 amendments to
regulate municipalities qua issuers.” Id. at 1074 n.8.

was uncertain as to whether a municipal securities inves-
tor could bring a private suit under the securities acts.”
Thomas J. Schwarz, Municipal Bonds and the Securities
Laws: Do Investors Have an Implied Private Remedy?, 7 Sec.
Reg. L. J. 119, 153-54 (1979), citing Hearings on S. 2574
and S. 2969 before the Subcomm. on Securities of the
Senate Comm. on Banking, Housing & Urban Affairs,
94th Cong., 2d Sess. 22 (1976).

In sum, the issue on which Denver seeks review is far
from “settled,” as Respondents contend. The Tenth Cir-
cuit attempted to resolve the issue, but its analysis is
flawed and its result is wrong. The issue needs to be
decided by this Court.

III. LEGISLATIVE HISTORY CANNOT BE
IGNORED, OR CITED ONLY SELECTIVELY, IN
DECIDING THE QUESTION PRESENTED
HERE.

In regard to the role of legislative history in resolving
the issue presented for review, Respondents’ position
appears to be that legislative history is irrelevant — unless
something can be found in that history that would sup-
port the Tenth Circuit’s conclusion.? Denver believes leg-
islative history is not only relevant, but in fact must be

2 Respondents first argue that recent decisions of this Court
cast doubt on the value of legislative history as an interpretive
device (Brief at 7); they then “submit that this Court has
provided more than enough ‘guidance’ on the uses of legislative
history as an interpretive tool” (id. at 9); and they finally
conclude that it “is unnecessary to resort to legislative history in
this case” (id. at 9-10). In the next breath, Respondents launch
into a discussion of legislative history relied on by the Tenth
Circuit which, in their view, demonstrates that Congress

considered in order to decide whether Congress intended
that there should be a private right of action against
municipal issuers.

This issue cannot be resolved simply by looking at
“clear statutory language” (Brief at 9). In the first place,
there is no language whatever in any federal securities
statute that affords a private right of action for alleged
violations of the antifraud provisions. Moreover, Respon-
dents’ reliance on Central Bank of Denver, N.A. v. First
Interstate Bank of Denver, N.A., 511 U.S. 164, 114 S. Ct.
1439, 128 L.Ed.2d 119 (1994), for this proposition is mis-
placed. In Central Bank, the Court’s concern was not with
whether a private right of action existed, but with deter-
mining the scope of conduct prohibited by Section 10(b).
The Court carefully distinguished the inquiries required
to resolve the two issues. When the issue is the scope of
conduct prohibited by Section 1i0(b), “the text of the
statute controls our decision.” 128 L.Ed.2d at 129. How-
ever, when the issue relates to the elements of a private
liability scheme, a court must infer how Congress would
have addressed the issue, since “Congress did not create
a private § 10(b) cause of action and had no occasion to
provide guidance about the elements of a private liability
scheme.” Id.

“clearly intended that municipal securities would remain
subject to the antifraud provisions.” Id. at 10. If anything,
Respondents’ analysis illustrates the truth of the statement that
using legislative history to interpret statutory language is “like
looking over a crowd and picking out your friends” (see Petition
at 17), and supports Denver’s argument that this Court needs to
provide guidance as to how legislative history should be used to
ascertain congressional intent.

IV. THERE WAS NO JUDICIAL RECOGNITION OF A
PRIVATE RIGHT OF ACTION UNDER THE
SECURITIES LAWS AGAINST MUNICIPALITIES
PRIOR TO 1975.

The Tenth Circuit found that the lack of discussion of
a private right of action against municipalities in the
legislative history of the 1975 securities amendments was
“not necessarily anomalous.” In the court’s view, Con-
gress may have intended the 1975 amendments as a clari-
fication of existing law because there was “some
authority suggesting municipalities could be subject to
the well-established private cause of action under
§ 10(b).” Petition at App. 9. Denver pointed out in its
petition that this explanation was unsupportable, since
the one case cited by the Tenth Circuit (Baron v. Shields,
131 F. Supp. 370 (S.D.N.Y. 1954)) did not even address the
issue.

Respondents assert that “several othei pre-1975 fed-
eral securities cases similarly recognized a Section 10(b)
private right of action against municipal defendants.”
Brief at 8 n.2. This statement is misleading at best. The
“several other cases” cited by Respondents are simply
other rulings by the same district court in cases brought
by various bond purchasers against a bridge commission
in Nebraska and its members. As in Baron (which is cited
in all these rulings), there is nothing in any of these cases
to indicate that the issue of the availability of a private
right of action against municipal issuers was even raised,
let alone decided.

V. INFERRING A PRIVATE RIGHT OF ACTION
AGAINST MUNICIPAL ISSUERS IS UNNECES-
SARY FOR THE PROTECTION OF INVESTORS
AND IS CONTRARY TO PUBLIC POLICY.

Although they claim that the issue raised by Denver
is not important enough to be reviewed by this Court,
Respondents assert at the same time that any result other
than the one reached by the Tenth Circuit would have a
“devastating impact” on the municipal securities market.
Brief at 13-14. In support of this statement, Respondents
refer to assorted municipal bond fiascoes in New York,
Washington and California,> and cite expressions of con-
cern from various sources about the effect of a holding
that the antifraud statutes do not “apply to” municipal
issuers. Id. at 16 and 16 n.10. However, whatever the
merits of these concerns, they say nothing about the issue
raised here — namely, whether there is an implied private
right of action against municipal issuers under the securi-
ties laws. As explained in Denver’s petition, the securities
laws can “apply to” municipal issuers, in the sense of
subjecting them to SEC enforcement actions for violations
of antifraud provisions, without subjecting municipalities
to private damages liability under Section 10(b) and Rule
10b-5.

3 In contrast to the situations described by Respondents,
there has never been a default on the Denver bonds. Moreover,
Respondents’ own authority commented, after discussing the
effect of municipal bond defaults in New York, Washington, and
Orange County, that: “A Rule 10b-5 suit cannot correct these
municipal securities market disasters.” Ann Judith Gellis,
Municipal Securities Market: Same Problems — No Solutions, 21 Del.
J. Corp. L. 427, 469 (1996).

Respondents also assert that “there is no reason to
believe that the SEC has sufficient resources or incentives
to effectively police the municipal securities industry” (id.
at 16), and cite a law review article in support of that
statement. However, the same article notes that since the
appointment of Arthur Levitt as Chairman of the SEC,

the SEC has, both directly and indirectly, advo-
cated for major regulation of the municipal
securities market. It has also focused its enforce-
ment energies on cleaning up the market. It has
conducted a record number of investigations
against municipal securities dealers. Within
days of the news of Orange County’s debacle in
December 1994, the SEC began an investigation
to see if there were any violations of the anti-
fraud provisions of the federal securities laws.
In March 1995, the SEC created, for the first
time, a division specifically devoted to issues of
municipal finance, the Office of Municipal
Finance.

Gellis, supra, 21 Del. J. Corp. L. at 429.

There is no basis for inferring a private right of action
against municipal issuers based on the perception that
existing mechanisms are inadequate, or that failure to do
so will somehow mean that municipal issuers will no
longer need to be concerned about the adequacy of their
bond disclosures. Municipal issuers are subject to certain
regulation by the SEC, which is empowered in appropriate
cases to order restitution for municipal securities inves-
tors. See Schwarz, 7 Sec. Reg. L. J. at 154. In addition,
municipal securities investors may have remedies against
issuers under state law, and may bring private actions
against underwriters, brokers and dealers in municipal
securities under the federal securities laws as well.

10

As Denver pointed out in its petition, not only is
implication of a private right of action against municipal
issuers unnecessary, but it will also have serious effects
on the ability of municipalities to use bonds to fund their
capital needs. Respondents attempt to downplay this con-
cern by suggesting that the widely recognized abuses that
accompany private securities fraud actions have some-
how been “eliminated” by Congress’s enactment of the
Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995, Pub. L.
No. 104-67, 109 Stat. 737 (1995) (Brief at 15). While it is to
be hoped that this legislation will alleviate some of the
most burdensome aspects of defending a securities fraud
class action, it is unlikely to eliminate meritless 10b-5
actions. Under the Tenth Circuit’s opinion, municipal
issuers such as Denver can be sued in private damages
litigation, and will still have to defend themselves. There
is no reason to impose on them the financial hardship
that such a defense will entail even under the 1995
Reform Act, when doing so is both unnecessary to protect
investors and contrary to the intent of Congress.

Respectfully submitted,

James M. Lyons,

Counsel of Record

FREDERICK J. BAUMANN

JoANN L. Voct

ROTHGERBER, APPEL, Powers &
JoHNson LLP

1200 Seventeenth Street,
Suite 3000

Denver, CO 80202

(303) 623-9000

Attorneys for Petitioner, The City
& County of Denver, Colorado

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_0244%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
