# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Statewide Reapportionment Advisory Committee v. Beasley

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_0179%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1997
- **Citation:** 520 U.S. 1166

## Text

rc ues wv

No. 961201 JAN 28 1997

In ThegfFice OF Ine CLERK
Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1996
¢

STATEWIDE REAPPORTIONMENT ADVISORY
COMMITTEE; WILLIAM GIBSON, Doctor; FREDERICK
CALHOUN JAMES, Bishop; HERBERT WILLIAMS,
Reverend; WILLIE B. OWENS; SOUTH CAROLINA
CONFERENCE OF THE NAACP BRANCHES; MICHAEL G.
BURTON, as Executive Director on behalf of the Republican
Party; WILLIAM P. COLLINS, HI; EARLY COPELAND;
WILLIAM PATRICK FLACK; FRANK E. GIBSON, III;
NANCY D. HAWK; and GUS ROBERTS,

versus Petitioners,

DAVID M. BEASLEY, in his official capacity as Governor of
South Carolina; DAVID H. WILKINS, in his official capacity
as Speaker of the South Carolina House of Representatives,

and THE SOUTH CAROLINA SENATE,

Respondents.
4

Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari To The United States
Court Of Appeals For The Fourth Circuit

4

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

¢

LAUGHLIN McCDoNALD
(Counsel of Record)

Neit BRADLEY

Mauna ZAKI

CRISTINA CORREIA
American Civil Liberties

Union Foundation, Inc.

44 Forsyth Street, N.W.
Suite 202

Atlanta, Georgia 30303
(404) 523-2721

DENNIS COURTLAND Hayes

Witur ABRAMS

NAACP Speciat CONTRIBUTION FUND
4805 Mount Hope Drive
Baltimore, Maryland 21215-3297
(301) 358-8900

JOHN Roy Harper II

P.O. Box 843

Columbia, South Carolina 29202
(803) 771-4723

Counsel for SRAC Petitioners

THOMAS R. GOTTSHALL

SINKLER & Boyp, P.A.

1426 Main Street

Suite 1200

Columbia, South Carolina 29201
(803) 779-3080

Counsel for Republican Party
Petitioners

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

ea ”

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Whether the court of appeals erred in rejecting, in
conflict with the decisions of every other circuit, “cata-
lyst” theory of causation in determining prevailing party
status under 42 U.S.C. §§ 1973l(e) and 1988, and in ruling
that petitioners were not entitled to a fee award because
they did not secure “an enforceable judgment” against
the defendants?

2. Whether the court of appeals erred in denying
fees to petitioners, who secured an enforceable judgment
against the defendants on their claim that special senate
elections were subject to Section 5 of the Voting Rights
Act, on the ground that the judgment was not “material?”

LIST OF ALL PARTIES BELOW

The caption contains the names of all parties to the

proceedings in the court of appeals.

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Questions Presented For Review................+.- i
Te ee ii
SOO SER EES EL TET TET ORT EEE LEE as ae
NOI oo 5 ape vse ce vedcceseveeseseeees iv
CUTTS TEIOW «220. ccc cee teeter e sv ncvneones 1
Eee 1
Statutory Provisions Involved..................++55 1
ET ERT ERLE EEE 2
A. The Decision of the Court of Appeals ....... 7
Reasons for Granting the Writ.................+55. 9
A. There Is a Conflict Among the Circuits...... 9

B. The Opinion Below Is in Conflict with the Deci-
sions of this Court for Determining Prevailing

ok ee eee ae |.
C. Petitioners’ Success on Their Section 5 Claim
I IE, oo ccc sessesrcvessevens l
ie a re 24
PIs noc ce cise ccs serene cscecsscccceccnes App. 1
A. Opinion of the Court of Appeals........... App. 1

BS Onder of the District Court................. App. 11

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CASES:
Allen v. State Board of Elections, 393 U.S. 544

COMO 6 50k 5s eek salads ia ce ee ke ee eee 20
American Council of the Blind, Inc. v. Romer, 992

Pee ee CHE RAR BOO is sno scx kere a bane cesuaes 14
Army & Airforce Exchange Service v. Sheehan,

Cae Rha. Fae ORE sk oes Fearon eee A a aeae eee 18
Arriola v. Harville, 781 F.2d 506 (5th Cir. 1986) ..... 23
Baumgartner v. Harrisburg Housing Authority, 21

Piaek en Ce EE Pes eke eo ee ewe van eeees oe eee. 13
Beard v. Teska, 31 F.3d 942 (10th Cir. 1994) ......... 14
Brooks v. Georgia State Board of Elections, 997

Wie G7 Tele Gi. Bi os ek eines ase verdes cs 23
Brown v. Local 58, IBEW, 76 F.3d 762 (6th Cir.

BE so sa 0s wh wh ow eee ae er ook, 14

Burton v. Sheheen, 793 F.Supp. 1329 (D.S.C. 1992) ...3, 4

Campbell v. Theodore, No. 92-219 (S.Ct.)............. >
Campbell v. Theodore, 508 U.S. 968 (1993) ........... 3
Chisom v. Roemer, 501 U.S. 380 (1991).............. 20
Citizens Against Tax Waste v. Westerville City

School, 985 F.2d 255 (6th Cir. 1993)............... 14
Craig v. Gregg County Texas, 988 F.2d 18 (5th Cir.

WOU « 5.ks 400 ora e ona eaeeens eee ower eres 13
Dawson v. Patrick, 600 F.2d 70 (7th Cir. 1979)....... 11

DeMier v. Gondles, 676 F.2d 92 (4th Cir. 1982)...... 12

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Farrar v. Hobby, 115 S.Ct. 566 (1992)............ passim
Fields v. City of Tarpon Springs, 721 F.2d 318 (11th

Cis WO eae viecn cekens es eeutete ieee 9, 11
Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v. Risjord, 449 U.S.

DO TA iciwik sco eae caenceeee arenes eee 15
Gerena-Valentin v. Koch, 739 F.2d 755 (2d Cir.

CO iis vis OG ee ee ee ee 10

Heath v. Brown, 858 F.2d 1092 (5th Cir. 1988)....... 10

Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424 (1983).. 9, 16, 17, 18
Hewitt v. Helms, 482 U.S. 755 (1987)............. 12, 17

Kilgour v. City of Pasadena, 53 F.3d 1007 (9th Cir.
FORO so .vxs ces iaee hs Be rahe eh eet ee eel eee 14

Lads Trucking Co. v. Board of Trustees, 777 F.2d
1S7h Gr Re PEE). 6s hen eee 11

Little Rock School District v. Pulaski County Spe-
cial School District, No. 1, 17 F.3d 260 (8th Cir.

BOs occ iee cer bus kses ews cea eee ree NS aera ne 14
Luethje v. Peavine School District, 872 F.2d 352

4. ke eee rrr e ry rere gee een 11
Maher v. Gagne, 448 U.S. 122 (1980)............. 12, 13
Maloney v. City of Marietta, 822 F.2d 1023 (11th

CUR SOE) car kn scaceseneetwekneees erase eee eon 22
McElroy v. United States, 455 U.S. 642 (1982) ....... 15

Morse v. Republican Party of Virginia, 116 S.Ct.
9) | reer er peer ore errr een 20

Nadeau v. Helgemoe, 581 F.2d 275 (1st Cir. 1978)..... 9

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES —- Continued

Page
Newman v. Piggie Park Enterprises, Inc., 390 U.S.

OOS CYIOG) ono vccctnvsisntecertes suet 22
Paris v. HUD, 988 F.2d 236 (1st Cir. 1993)........... 13
Perket v. Secretary of Health & Human Services,

P0S Baa 129 (60h (ie PROG). oc ce accewccpsecueseens 10
Public Citizen Health Research Group v. Young,

wor FAG S46 GC. Cit Bois ccceeseee ee 11
Robinson v. Alabama State Department of Educa-

tion, 727 F.Supp. 1422 (M.D.Ala. 1989)............ 23
S-1 and S-2 v. State Board of Education of North

Carolina, 21 F.3d 49 (4th Cir. 1994) ....... i, 5 ee
S-1 and S-2 v. State Board of Education of North

Carolina, 6 F.3d 160 (4th Cir. 1993) ................ 7
Smith v. University of North Carolina, 632 F.2d

316 (4th Cit, 19GG} «0.0005 0540 bd5e 005 ae eee 11
South Carolina v. Katzenbach, 383 U.S. 301 (1966)

UPETET TET TETITTLETeTTTETT TT 19, 22, 23
SRAC v. Theodore, No. 92-155 (S.Ct.) ..............45. 5
SRAC v. Theodore, 508 U.S. 968 (1993)............. 3, 5

Texas State Teachers Association v. Garland Inde-
pendent School District, 489 U.S. 782 (1989)
Kb e eR Ne Oe re th06 0040486686 nbaaeeane. 16, 17, 18, 23

Truax v. Bowen, 842 F.2d 995 (8th Cir. 1988) ........ 11
United States v. Gaddis, 424 U.S. 544 (1976)......... 15
Vasquez v. Hillery, 474 U.S. 254 (1986).............. 13
Wheeler v. Towanda Area School District, 950 F.2d

026 (3a Car. 1991) «0 ccoscvkstantascasetesr een 10

Zinn By Blankenship v. Shalala, 35 F.3d 273 (7th
CAE. TODE) oc ccncccccccccsavsnceumetyeeneeneereune 14

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES —- Continued

Page

STATUTES:
eo Se a ee er. eee wy we 1
OE Saal | ee err re rere rere rrr eee 3
42 U.S.C. § 1973, Section 2 of the Voting Rights

een CCR Ce oare 5 RES ERECTA ee
42 U.S.C. § 1973a(c), Section 3 of the Voting Rights

SE epee aL aE Se ar sn at ange 20
42 U.S.C. § 1973c, Section 5 of the Voting Rights

Se Pe Sede ee ee ee ee REE EST re NA passim
42 U.S.C. § 1973h, Section 10 of the Voting Rights

bce canes ca kaw seks 040404 0s 6b od 4e keene EECA es 20
Cae RPP OM cares ctaketinsevceuss 1, 7, 9, 16, 21
ee PE ok oo 20 0 caea se aeean a cen ks oes L,.7, 16
fame ee ae eer re err rr 5
CONGRESSIONAL REPORTS:
S.Rep. No. 295, 94th Cong., Ist Sess. (1975)

reprinted in 1975 U.S.C.C.A.N. 774 ......... 20, 21, 22
S.Rep. No. 1011, 94th Cong. (1976), reprinted in

i BR ae ce Dey eee 12
S.Rep. No. 417, 97th Cong., 2d Sess. (1982),

reprinted in 1982 U.S.C.C.A.N. 177 ........00 ee eee 21
OTHER:

Chandler Davidson & Bernard Grofman, “The
Voting Rights Act and the Second Reconstruc-
tion,” in Quiet Revolution in the South: The
Impact of the Voting Rights Act, 1965-1990 385
(Chandler Davidson & Bernard Grofman eds.,
PN ACORN Cs aSer ee Ea ORD ES Dae ene 20

OPINIONS BELOW

The October 30, 1996 opinion of the court of appeals
affirming the decision of the district court denying peti-
tioners attorney’s fees is unreported and appears in the
appendix hereto, App. 1. The December 15, 1995 order of
the district court is unreported and appears in the appen-
dix hereto, App. 11.

JURISDICTION

The opinion of the court of appeals sought to be
reviewed was entered on October 30, 1996. Jurisdiction to
review on a writ of certiorari the opinion in question is
conferred by 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1). This petition is being
filed within 90 days after entry of the opinion of the court
of appeals.

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The statutory provisions involved in this case are 42
U.S.C. § 1973l(e), which provides that:

In any action or proceeding to enforce the vot-
ing guarantees of the fourteenth or fifteenth
amendment, the court, in its discretion, may
allow the prevailing party, other than the Uniied
States, a reasonable attorney’s fee as part of the
costs.

and, 42 U.S.C. § 1988, which provides that:

In any action or proceeding to enforce a provi-
sion of sections 1981, 1981la, 1982, 1983, 1985,

ee ee

and 1986 of this title, title IX of Public Law
92-318, the Religious Freedom Restoration Act
of 1993, title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964,
or section 13981 of this title, the court, in its
discretion, may allow the prevailing party, other
than the United States, a reasonable attorney’s
fee as part of the costs.

?

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioners appeal the denial by the court below of
attorney’s fees and costs.! The court of appeals, rejecting
the catalyst theory of causation adopted by all 11 of the i
other circuits which have considered the matter, held that
petitioners were not prevailing parties, despite the fact
that they secured both court ordered and subsequently '
legislative redistricting, because they had not secured “an
enforceable judgment.” :

The facts in this case are not in dispute. The 1990
census showed that South Carolina’s congressional and
legislative districts were malapportioned. App. 4. The
general assembly failed to pass any redistricting plans
before the 1990-91 legislative session adjourned in June,

1 Petitioners, who were the plaintiffs /appellants below, are
the Statewide Reapportionment Advisory Committee (an
unincorporated association of private individuals and
organizations in South Carolina), the South Carolina State
Conference of NAACP Branches, and several African-American
residents of the state (hereinafter collectively referred to as
“SRAC”), and the executive director of the South Carolina
Republican Party and several of its members (hereinafter
“Republican Party”).

1991. Id. The Republican Party filed its complaint on
October 4, 1991, and SRAC filed its complaint on October
31, 1991. The law suits were an effort to break the legisla-
tive impasse and insure that elections would be held in a
timely, constitutional manner. Id. Petitioners succeeded in
all of these objectives.

Both the Republican Party and SRAC alleged that the
existing congressional and legislative districts in South
Carolina violated one person, one vote and diluted
minority voting strength in violation of Section 2 of the
Voting Rights Act, 42 U.S.C. § 1973. They requested the
district court to order interim court ordered redistricting
on the grounds that the general assembly had failed to
redistrict during the 1991 legislative session, and that
there was not enough time prior to the 1992 elections for
the state to redistrict and comply with the preclearance
provisions of Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act, 42 U.S.C.
§ 1973c. A three-judge court was constituted to hear the
complaints pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2284, and the cases
were consolidated for trial. App. 4.

The general assembly reconvened on January 14,
1992 and adopted redistricting plans for the senate and
house. The governor vetoed the plans on January 29, 1992
on the ground that they did not comply with Section 2,
and the vetoes were sustained. The senate and house
passed separate bills for congressional redistricting but
no plan was enacted by the general assembly. App. 4;
Burton v. Sheheen, 793 F.Supp. 1329, 1339 (D.S.C. 1992)
(prior decision of the district court), vacated, SRAC v.
Theodore, 508 U.S. 968 (1993), and Campbell v. Theodore, 508
U.S. 968 (1993). After the governor’s veto was sustained,

the court declared that the legislative process was dead-
locked. App. 4. These cases were tried beginning in Feb-
ruary, 1992. During the three week trial the parties
submitted evidence probative of minority vote dilution
and various remedial redistricting plans. App. 5.2

On May 1, 1992 the court issued an order concluding
that none of the plans proposed by the parties fully
satisfied constitutional and statutory mandates, and
directed that court ordered legislative and congressional
plans “shall be the lawful election districts for each of
those bodies for the general elections scheduled for 1992,
and for all subsequent elections until redistricting plans
for those bodies are lawfully enacted by the South Caro-
lina General Assembly.” Burton v. Sheheen, 793 F.Supp. at
1369; App. 5.3 The court’s plans, which were put into
effect as a result of the litigation initiated by petitioners,
were used by the state for the 1992 elections for the
senate, house, and Congress. Those elected, with the

2 At the senate phase of the trial, the Republican Party,
SRAC, the senate, the lieutenant governor, and the governor
presented plans for consideration by the court. Burton v.
Sheheen, 793 F.Supp. at 1362. At the house phase of the trial, the
Republican Party, SRAC, the house, the speaker of the house,
and the governor presented proposed remedial plans. Id. at 1364
and n.72. At the congressional phase of trial the state defendants
agreed with petitioners that a majority black congressional
district could and should be drawn. Id. at 1368.

3 The court’s plan created ten majority black senate
districts, compared to seven in the pre-existing plan, 23 majority
black house districts, compared to 20 in the pre-existing plan,
and, for the first time since Reconstruction, a majority black
congressional district. Burton v. Sheheen, 793 F.Supp. at 1362,
1364 and n.72, and 1368.

exception of the senator from Senate District One, served
out their full terms.

SRAC appealed the decision of the district court. It
contended that the three judge court had not properly
applied Section 2 in implementing its court ordered
plans. SRAC v. Theodore, No. 92-155 (S.Ct.). The governor
subsequently filed a similar appeal. Campbell v. Theodore,
No. 92-219 (S.Ct.).

This Court vacated and remanded for “further con-
sideration in light of the position presented by the Solici-
tor General in his brief for the United States filed May 7,
1993.” SRAC v. Theodore, 508 U.S. at 968. The Solicitor
General’s position was that the district court erred in
failing to conduct a full Section 2 review of its plans
“before imposing those plans for use in future elections.”
SRAC v. Theodore, No. 92-155, Brief for the United States
as Amicus Curiae, p. 18. The Solicitor General, acknow]l-
edging the electoral time constraints the district court
faced, did not question the court’s decision “to impose its
plans in their current form for purposes of the 1992
elections.” Id.

On remand, the district court provided the state an
opportunity to enact legislative redistricting plans. App.
5. The general assembly enacted a new plan for the house
in February, 1994 which drew heavily upon the court
ordered plan. App. 10. Following an initial objection and
subsequent modification, the plan was precleared by the
Attorney General under Section 5 on May 31, 1994. App.
6. The legislative plan for the house increased the number
of majority black districts compared to the court ordered
plan from 23 to 31. S.C. Act 415, May 19, 1994. Neither the

Republican party nor SRAC challenged the precleared
house plan. On March 28, 1994 the general assembly
passed a new congressional plan which made only slight
changes in the court ordered plan and retained a majority
black district. The plan was precleared by the Attorney
General on April 28, 1994. App. 6, 14. Neither SRAC nor
the Republican Party challenged the precleared congres-
sional: plan.

The 1994 elections for the house and Congress were
held under the legislatively enacted plans. The next regu-
lar election for the senate was scheduled for 1996.

In July, 1994, the senate moved the court to allow the
state to hold a special election to fill a vacancy in Senate
District One using the lines in the court ordered plan.
SRAC and the Republican Party opposed the motion on
the grounds that the state’s decision to conduct the spe-
cial election using the court ordered lines was a legisla-
tive decision subject to preclearance under Section 5. The
district court agreed and ruled that the proposed special
election plan “must be submitted for preclearance under
Section 5.” Order, August 22, 1994, shp op. at 12; App.
5-6. The state made a submission which was approved on
December 12, 1994.

In May, 1995 the state enacted a legislative plan for
the senate which was based substantially on the court
ordered plan. App. 10. The plan was submitted to the
Attorney General and was precleared. App. 6. The legis-
lative plan for the senate increased the number of-major-
ity black districts compared to the court ordered plan
from ten to 11. S. 9, Ratification No. 667 (1995). Neither

ernment

the Republican party nor SRAC opposed the preclez‘zed
senate plan.

SRAC and the Republican Party filed separate
motions for costs and fees as prevailing parties pursuant
to 42 U.S.C. §§ 1973l(e) and 1988. The motions were
denied by the district court and the denial was affirmed
per curiam by the court of appeals. App. 8.

A. The Decision of the Court of Appeals.

The court of appeals, relying upon S-1 and S-2 v. State
Board of Education of North Carolina, 21 F.3d 49, 51 (4th Cir.
1994) (en banc), rejected “’catalyst’ analysis of causation in
determining prevailing party status,” and held that peti-
tioners were not prevailing parties because they “were
not entitled to enforce any judgment against the defen-
dants.” App. 7-8. According to the court of appeals, “nei-
ther the district court’s vacated judgment, nor the
Supreme Court’s decision to remand to the district court
for further consideration in light of the Solicitor General’s
brief constitutes an enforceable judgment against the
defendants.” App. 8.4

# In S-1 and S-2, 21 F.3d at 51, the en banc court adopted the
dissenting panel opinion of Judge Wilkinson in S-1 and S-2, 6
F.3d 160, 172 (4th Cir. 1993), in which he interpreted Farrar v.
Hobby, 113 S.Ct. 566 (1992), as rejecting the catalyst theory of
prevailing party status. Six members of the en banc court
adopted the panel majority opinion, which noted that the Court
in Farrar “never mentioned the catalyst theory, and the passage
upon which the State relies occurs, as dicta, in a general
discussion of ‘prevailing party’ status.” 6 F.3d at 167.

Although petitioners secured an enforceable judg-
ment against the defendants on their claim that special
senate elections were required to be precleared under
Section 5, the court of appeals denied a fee award for that
portion of the litigation on the ground that petitioners’
success “does not represent a ‘material alteration in the
relationship between the parties.’” App. 8.

In a concurring opinion, Judge Motz acknowledged
that petitioners were “the ‘catalyst’ ” for the action taken
by the district court and subsequently the legislature.
App. 10.

SRAC and the Republican Party advance the
classic ‘but for’ scenario: had it not been for the
filing of their complaints in the district court,
the court would not have intervened in the reap-
portionment process. Without such intervention,
the South Carolina General Assembly would not
have adopted a scheme that drew heavily from
that judicially-crafted plan.

Id. judge Motz joined the judgment because she was
obligated to follow S-1 and S-2. App. 9 (“[n]Jo panel can
refuse to follow a circuit precedent . . . established by the
entire court sitting en banc”). She expressed doubt, how-
ever, that Farrar v. Hobby, 113 S.Ct. 566 (1992), required
the same outcome, noting that the Fourth Circuit’s “con-
clusion that Farrar dicta eviscerated the catalyst analysis
was contrary to the view of every other circuit to address
the question,” and that “[i]n the three years since the
issuance of S-1 and S-2 no circuit has followed our hold-
ing.” App. 10.

—

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The petition for writ of certiorari should be granted
because the decision of the Court of Appeals for the
Fourth Circuit for which review is sought is squarely and
irreconcilably in conflict with the decisions of ali 11 of the
other circuits which have addressed the issue of whether
catalyst theory of causation is sufficient to support an
award of attorney’s fees under 42 U.S.C. §§ 1973l(e) and
1988.5

The opinion below is also contrary to the decisions of
this Court for determining prevailing party status.

A. There Is a Conflict Among the Circuits.

Catalyst theory justifying an award of fees “requires
showing that the lawsuit is a causal link that prompted
some remedial action.” Fields v. City of Tarpon Springs, 721
F.2d 318, 321 (11th Cir. 1983). See also Nadeau v. Helgemoe,
981 F.2d 275, 280 (1st Cir. 1978) (“[t]he key issue is the
provocative role of the plaintiff’s lawsuit”). Only the
Fourth Circuit has rejected the catalyst theory.

In interpreting the fee statutes, catalyst theory has
been applied by the following circuits:

First Circuit Nadeau v. Helgemoe, 581 F.2d
at 279 (“when plaintiff’s law-
suit acts as a ‘catalyst’ in
prompting defendants to take
action to meet plaintiff's

> In Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424, 433 n.7 (1983), the
Court indicated that the standards for awarding fees under the
two statutes are generally the same.

10

claims, attorney’s fees are
justified despite the lack of
judicial involvement in the
result”).

Second Circuit Gerena-Valentin v. Koch, 739
F.2d 755, 758-59 (2d Cir. 1984)
(plaintiffs may recover where
the litigation was “a cata-
lytic . . . factor” in obtaining
relief).

Third Circuit Wheeler v. Towanda Area School
District, 950 F.2d 128, 132 (3d
Cir. 1991) (“causation can be
established through a ‘cata-
lyst’ theory, where even
though the litigation did not
result in a favorable judg-
ment, the pressure of the
lawsuit was a material con-
tributing factor in bringing
about extra judicial relief”).

Fifth Circuit Heath v. Brown, 858 F.2d 1092,
1093 (Sth Cir. 1988) (plaintiffs
may recover where the litiga-
tion was a “significant cata-
lyst in the abandonment of a
policy which had been chal-
lenged as unconstitutional”).

Sixth Circuit Perket v. Secretary of Health &
Human Services, 905 F.2d 129,
132 (6th Cir. 1990) (plaintiffs
are prevailing parties who
were a “catalyst” in prompt-
ing defendants to take
action).

Ere venoemnemerneee

11

Seventh Circuit Dawson v. Patrick, 600 F.2d 70,
79 (7th Cir. 1979) (applying
“catalyst” analysis).

Eighth Circuit Truax v. Bowen, 842 F.2d 995,
997 (8th Cir. 1988) (approving
“the catalyst approach”).

Ninth Circuit Lads Trucking Co. v. Board of
Trustees, 777 F.2d 1371, 1375
(9th Cir. 1985) (fees may be
awarded “even though there
is no judgment on the
merits”).

Tenth Circuit Luethje v. Peavine School Dis-
trict, 872 F.2d 352, 354 (10th
Cir. 1989) (“it is enough [for a
fee award] that plaintiff’s
actions were a significant cat-
alyst or a substantial factor in
causing defendants to act”).

Eleventh Circuit Fields v. City of Tarpon
Springs, 721 F.2d at 321 (“[t]o
determine if a party has pre-
vailed when there is no judi-
cial relief this circuit has used
the catalyst test”).

D.C. Circuit Public Citizen Health Research
Group v. Young, 909 F.2d 546,
549 (D.C.Cir. 1990) (plaintiffs
may recover as prevailing
parties if the litigation was a
causal factor in obtaining the
relief sought).

Prior to S-1 and S-2, the Fourth Circuit itself recog-
nized and applied the catalyst rule. See, e.g., Smith v.

12

University of North Carolina, 632 F.2d 316, 347 (4th Cir.
1980) (fees are authorized where “a plaintiff’s actions
were a catalyst which caused a defendant to remedy his
errant ways”); DeMier v. Gondles, 676 F.2d 92, 93 (4th Cir.
1982) (“a settlement, consent decree, or other resolution
of the underlying dispute short of formal adjudication
may still support an award of fees”).

Although the Court in Hewitt v. Helms, 482 U.S. 755,
761, 763 (1987), did not reach the catalyst theory, it recog-
nized that fees can be appropriately awarded when a
plaintiff secures some of the relief sought “despite the
absence of a formal judgment in his favor.” And in Maher
v. Gagne, 448 U.S. 122, 129 (1980), the Court held that
“[njothing in the language of § 1988 conditions the Dis-
trict Court’s power to award fees . . . on a judicial
determination that the plaintiff’s rights have been vio-
lated.” See also S.Rep. No. 1011, 94th Cong. 5 (1976),
reprinted in 1976 U.S.C.C.A.N. 5908, 5912 (“parties may be
considered to have prevailed when they vindicate rights
through a consent judgment or without formally obtain-
ing relief”).

Farrar did not, as the court of appeals held, reject the
catalyst theory. Instead, the Court recognized that a
plaintiff could be a prevailing party under two different
circumstances. The first was where the plaintiff
“obtain{ed] an enforceable judgment against the defen-
dant.” 113 S.Ct. at 573. The second was where the plain-
tiff obtained “relief through a consent decree or
settlement.” Id. (citing Maher v. Gagne, 448 U.S. at 129).
The court of appeals improperly ignored, or considered

ee

13

redundant, the second basis for determining prevailing
party status identified by this Court.®

The circuits, moreover, have continued to apply the
catalyst rule since this Court’s decision in Farrar, fre-
quently expressly rejecting the position taken in S-1 and
S<2. off, €2.:

@°°

First Circuit Paris v. HUD, 988 F.2d 236,
241 (ist Cir. 1993) (holding
post-Farrar that plaintiffs
were prevailing parties
under the “catalyst” theory).

Third Circuit Baumgartner v. Harrisburg
Housing Authority, 21 F.3d
541, 547 (3d Cir. 1994) (“[t]he
view that the ‘catalyst the-
ory’ was sub silentio abro-
gated in Farrar is
incompatible with the
Supreme Court’s approach to
attorney’s fees under section
1988”).

Fifth Circuit Craig v. Gregg County Texas,
988 F.2d 18, 20-1 (5th Cir.
1993) (applying the catalyst
test).

6 Had the Court intended to overrule or depart from its
holding in Maher that “[nJothing in the language of § 1988
conditions the District Court’s power to award fees... ona
judicial determination that the plaintiff’s rights have been
violated,” it would surely have said so. See Vasquez v. Hillery,
474 U.S. 254, 266 (1986) (“the careful observer will discern that
any detours from the straight path of stare decisis in our past
have occurred for articulable reasons”).

14

Sixth Circuit Brown v. Local 58, IBEW, 76
F.3d 762, 772 (6th Cir. 1996)
(approving the catalyst for-
mulation); Citizens Against
Tax Waste v. Westerville City
School, 985 F.2d 255, 257-58
(6th Cir. 1993) (plaintiffs
were prevailing parties
where defendants made vol-
untary changes plaintiffs
sought by their lawsuit).

Seventh Circuit Zinn By Blankenship v. Shalala,
35 F.3d 273, 276 (7th Cir.
1994) (“plaintiffs who attain
the relief they seek through
defendants’ voluntary action
may qualify for fees by way
of the catalyst theory not-
withstanding Farrar’).

Eighth Circuit Little Rock School District v.
Pulaski County Special School
District, No. 1, 17 F.3d 260,
263 n.2 (8th Cir. 1994) (Farrar
does not affect “our forego-
ing [catalyst] analysis”).

Ninth Circuit Kilgour v. City of Pasadena, 53
F.3d 1007, 1010 (9th Cir. 1995)
(“the catalyst test survives
Farrar”).

Tenth Circuit American Council of the Blind,
Inc. v. Romer, 992 F.2d 249,
251 (10th Cir. 1993) (Farrar
does not condemn “use of
the ‘catalyst rule’ ”); Beard v.
Teska, 31 F.3d 942, 951 (10th

15

Cir. 1994) (rejecting the argu-
ment that Farrar repudiated
catalyst theory).

The conflict among the circuits here is not only pat-
ent, but as the concurring opinion of Judge Motz makes
clear, it cannot be resolved except by the action of this
Court. The petition should be granted. See McElroy v.
United States, 455 U.S. 642, 643 (1982) (certiorari granted
because of “a conflict among the Circuits on this issue of
statutory construction”); Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v.
Risjord, 449 U.S. 368, 373 (1981) (certiorari granted “to
resolve a conflict among the Circuits”); United States v.
Gaddis, 424 U.S. 544, 547 (1976) (certiorari granted
“because of the discordant views in the Circuits regard-
ing the proper application” of prior Supreme Court deci-
sions).

B. The Opinion Below Is in Conflict with the
Decisions of this Court for Determining Pre-
vailing Party Status.

Petitioners were not only the catalyst for judicial and
legislative action, as Judge Motz found, App. 10, but their
success in this case was exceptional. They succeeded in
breaking through the legislative impasse and in invalidat-
ing the pre-existing malapportioned legislative and con-
gressional districting plans. They secured declaratory and
injunctive relief in the form of court ordered legislative
and congressional redistricting. The court ordered plans
were a substantial improvement over the pre-existing
plans and increased in each instance the number of
majority black districts. Appellants secured injunctive

16

relief insuring that legislative and congressional elections
were held in a timely manner in 1992.

The SRAC petitioners prevailed in their appeal to the
Supreme Court and secured an order vacating the deci-
sion of the district court and remanding for further con-
sideration of petitioners’ Section 2 claims. Petitioners also
secured an injunction preventing the implementation of a
special election for Senate District One absent Section 5
preclearance.

As a result of the litigation, the general assembly
enacted legislative and congressional plans which com-
plied with one person, one vote. Moreover, the legislative
plans for the house and senate, from the standpoint of
minority political participation, were an improvement
even over the court ordered plans.

According to the precedents of this Court, plaintiffs
are deemed prevailing parties within the meaning of the
fee statutes, 42 U.S.C. §§ 1973l(e) and 1988, “’if they
succeed on any significant issue in litigation which
achieves some of the benefit the parties sought in bring-
ing suit.’ ” Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424, 433 (1983). In
Texas State Teachers Association v. Garland Independent
School District, 489 U.S. 782, 784, 790 (1989), the Court
reaffirmed the Hensley formulation and unanimously
rejected the contention that plaintiffs must prevail on the
“central issue” in a case and achieve the “primary relief
sought” in the litigation to be deemed prevailing parties.
The search for the “central” issue and “primary” relief,
“much like the search for the golden fleece, distracts the
district court from the primary purposes behind § 1988

17

and is essentially unhelpful in defining the term ‘prevail-
ing party.’ ” 489 U.S. at 791. Instead, “[a] prevailing party
must be one who has succeeded on any significant claim
affording it some of the relief sought.” 489 U.S. at 791.
According to the Court, the central inquiry is whether
there was a “material alteration of the legal relationship
of the parties.” 489 U.S. at 792-93. Accord, Hewitt v. Helms,
482 U.S. at 761 (a plaintiff is prevailing who settles “some
dispute which affects the behavior of the defendant
towards the plaintiff”).

The Hensley standard, described by the Court as “a
generous formulation,” 461 U.S. at 433, is designed to
effectuate the intent of Congress in enacting the fee stat-
utes “to ensure ‘effective access to the judicial process’
for persons with civil rights grievances.” 461 U.S. at 429.
Accord, Texas State Teachers Association, 489 U.S. at 793
(“Congress meant to promote [the role of ‘private attor-
ney general’] in enacting the Civil Rights Attorney’s Fees
Awards Act of 1976”). Applying the legal standards
required by Hensley and Texas State Teachers Association,
and mindful of the underlying congressional purpose in
enacting the fee statutes, petitioners were prevailing par-
ties. They succeeded not merely on “any” significant
issue that achieved “some” of the benefit sought in bring-
ing suit, but they achieved essentially all of the basic
goals of their litigation.

Farrar v. Hobby further supports an award in this
case. Farrar was an action in which the plaintiffs sought
$17 million in money damages. Instead, the jury gave
them nothing; they recovered only nominal damages in
the amount of $1.00. While the Court held they were
prevailing parties, plaintiffs were not entitled to an award

18

of fees because their victory was purely “technical.” 113
S.Ct. at 574. However, as Justice O’Connor held in her
concurring opinion, “[nJominal relief does not necessarily
a nominal victory make.” 113 S.Ct. at 578. Recognizing
that the fee statute “is a tool that ensures the vindication
of important rights, even when large sums of money are
not a stake,” a court’s analysis should take into account
“the extent of relief, the significance of the legal issue on
which the plaintiff prevailed, and the public purpose
served.” 113 S.Ct. at 579 (O’Connor, J., concurring).

In Farrar there was no evidence of any “public pur-
pose this litigation might have served.” 113 S.Ct. at 578
(O’Connor, J., concurring). In this case, by contrast, the
litigation directly served the very important public pur-
poses of insuring that elections were held in a timely
manner under fairly apportioned redistricting plans, and
that legislatively enacted plans were implemented. Under
Farrar, these factors weigh heavily in support of a fee
award.

The court of appeals failed to apply the standards for
prevailing party status adopted by the Court in Hensley
and Texas State Teachers Association. The petition should be
granted because the lower court decided a federal ques-
tion in conflict with the applicable decisions of this Court.
Army & Airforce Exchange Service v. Sheehan, 456 U.S. 728,
733 (1982) (granting certiorari where the decision below
“appeared to be in conflict with our precedents”).

19

C. Petitioners’ Success on their Section 5 Claim
Was not Immaterial.

The court of appeals acknowledged that petitioners
prevailed on their claim that the special senate election
was subject to Section 5 preclearance. It held, however,
that the victory “does not represent a ‘material alteration
in the relationship between the parties’ such as to merit
treatment as a ‘prevailing party.’” App. 8. The court’s
ruling is in conflict with the decisions of this Court which
have recognized the importance of Section 5 in protecting
minority voting rights, as well as the crucial role played
by private enforcement, and the decisions of other federal
courts which have awarded attorney’s fees to plaintiffs
who have secured compliance with the statute.”

The Court in South Carolina v. Katzenbach, 383 U.S.
301, 334 (1966), upheld the constitutionality of Section 5
because of the exceptional history of voting discrimina-
tion in the jurisdictions covered by the statute and the
critical role of preclearance. The Court noted the “unre-
mitting and ingenious defiance of the Constitution” in
certain sections of the country, the failure of the case-by-
case method to end discrimination, and the “extraordin-
ary stratagem of contriving new rules of various kinds for
the sole purpose of perpetuating voting discrimination”
which Section 5 was designed to pretermit. Id. at 309, 335.

7 The actual time spent on the Section 5 issue was a small
part of the total litigation. But that does not mean, as the court of
appeals held, that securing compliance with Section 5 was
immaterial.

20

The Court has also stressed the importance of private
enforcement of the Act, particularly Section 5. In Allen v.
State Board of Elections, 393 U.S. 544, 554-57 (1969), the
Court inferred a private cause of action to enforce Section
5 based on the Act’s objective of protecting minority
citizens from discrimination in voting, concluding that
“achievement of the Act’s laudable goal could be severely
hampered . . . if each citizen were required to depend
solely on litigation instituted at the discretion of the
Attorney General.” 393 U.S. at 556.

In its 1975 amendments of the Act, Congress made
explicit its intent that private citizens could enforce Sec-
tion 5; it provided that every time “Attorney General”
appeared in Section 3, the “pocket trigger,” the words
“Attorney General or any aggrieved person” should be
substituted. 42 U.S.C. § 1973a(c); S.Rep. No. 295, 94th
Cong., 1st Sess. 40 (1975) reprinted in 1975 U.S.C.C.A.N.
774, 807 (“it is sound policy to authorize private remedies
to assist the process of enforcing voting rights”). The
Senate report explained that in voting rights cases “Con-
gress depends heavily upon private citizens to enforce
the fundamental rights involved.” S.Rep. No. 295 at 40.
See also Chisom v. Roemer, 501 U.S. 380 (1991) (private_
action to enforce Section 2); Morse v. Republican Party of
Virginia, 116 S.Ct. 1186, 1213 (1996) (recognizing a private
cause of action to enforce Section 10 of the Act, 42 U.S.C.
§ 1973h).8

8 Private enforcement has proved indispensable to the
effective implementation of the Act since its passage. See
Chandler Davidson & Bernard Grofman, “The Voting Rights Act
and the Second Reconstruction,” in Quiet Revolution in the

21

Congress has extended Section 5 three times since its
enactment in 1965 — in 1970, 1975, and in 1982. In the 1982
extension, Congress indicated that the gains in minority
political participation “are fragile,” and that “[w]Jithout
the preclearance of new laws, many of the advances of
the past decade could be wiped out overnight with new
schemes and devices.” S.Rep. No. 417, 97th Cong., 2d
Sess. 10 (1982), reprinted in 1982 U.S.C.C.A.N. 177, 187.
The Senate report noted the “virtual unanimity among
those who have studied the record that Section 5 pre-
clearance should be extended.” Id. at 9 and 186.

In light of the strong congressional commitment to
Section 5 preclearance, the statute’s function in protecting
minority voting rights, and the central role played by
private enforcement in effectuating the Act’s purposes,
the court of appeals erred in concluding that petitioners’
successful efforts in securing compliance with the statute
were not “material.”

When it extended Section 5 in 1975, Congress also
amended the Act to authorize “a reasonable attorney’s
fee as part of the costs” to the prevailing party. 42 U.S.C.
§ 1973l(e). According to the Senate report, “[flee awards
are a necessary means of enabling private citizens to
vindicate these Federal [voting rights].” S.Rep. No. 295 at
40. To deny fees to a prevailing party, as here, would not
only be contrary to the intent of Congress, but would
improperly cast the burdens of litigation and delay upon

South: The Impact of the Voting Rights Act, 1965-1990, 385
(Chandler Davidson & Bernard Grofman eds., 1994) (the private
bar has had “a major role in enforcing public voting rights
law ... [t]his fact cannot be emphasized too strongly”).

22

the victims of possibly discriminatory practices. South
Carolina v. Katzenbach, 383 U.S. at 328.

Other lower federal courts, recognizing the impor-
tance of Section 5 enforcement, have awarded attorney’s
fees to plaintiffs who secured compliance with the statute
even when the voting change was determined not to
injure minority voting rights. In Maloney v. City of Mar-
ietta, 822 F.2d 1023 (11th Cir. 1987), the plaintiff was
deemed a prevailing party entitled to a fee award because
he succeeded in his action to require the city to comply
with Section 5 in using an unprecleared ward residency
requirement. Although the Attorney General precleared
the requirement, the court awarded fees because the leg-
islative history and the decisions of this Court provided
that a prevailing party “should ordinarily recover an
attorney’s fee unless special circumstances would render
such an award unjust.” 822 F.2d at 1026, quoting S.Rep.
No. 295 at 40, 1975 U.S.C.C.A.N. at 807, and Newman v.
Piggie Park Enterprises, Inc., 390 U.S. 400, 402 (1986).

The court also concluded in Maloney that the plaintiff
had protected important rights “guaranteed under the
[Voting Rights] Act.” Id.

By enacting the Voting Rights Act and subse-
quent amendments, Congress has evidenced its
determination that compliance with the Act’s
provisions is of importance in protecting minor-
ity race participation in government and gov-
ernment’s response to the legitimate interests of
minority citizens. Where there has been non-
compliance, the actor whose litigation brings
about compliance has protected important civil
rights of minorities.

23

822 F.2d at 1026 n.5. See also Arriola v. Harville, 781 F.2d
506, 512 (5th Cir. 1986) (plaintiffs entitled to fees for
securing an injunction against use of an unprecleared
voting practice); Brooks v. Georgia State Board of Elections,
997 F.2d 857 (11th Cir. 1993) (awarding plaintiffs fees in
successful effort to require state to submit new judge-
ships for preclearance); Robinson v. Alabama State Depart-
ment of Education, 727 F.Supp. 1422, 1425 (M.D.Ala. 1989)
(“fees for prevailing plaintiffs” are critical to Section 5
enforcement).

The decision of the court of appeals will weaken
enforcement of the Voting Rights Act in all the jurisdic-
tions located within the Fourth Circuit by making it more
difficult for economically disadvantaged minorities to
redress their grievances in the courts.? Further, it will
undermine the private attorney general aspect of the fee
statutes for other parties with important public issues.
Such a result is at odds with the intent of Congress in
enacting the fee statutes and of promoting the role of
“private attorney general” in vindicating protected vot-
ing and other rights. Texas State Teachers Association, 489
U.S. at 793.

9 The states in the Fourth Circuit covered in whole or in
part by Section 5 are Virginia, North Carolina, and South
Carolina, states which Congress specifically found had histories
of discrimination and “unremitting and ingenious defiance of
the Constitution” in the area of voting rights. South Carolina v.
Katzenbach, 383 U.S. at 309-10.

24

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for a writ of
certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

LAUGHLIN McDoNaLD

(Counsel of Record)

Neri BRADLEY

Mana ZAKI

CRISTINA CORREIA

American Civil Liberties Union
Foundation, Inc.

4 Forsyth Street, N.W.

Suite 202

Atlanta, Georgia 30303

(404) 523-2721

DENNIS COURTLAND Hayes

Wriure ABRAMS

NAACP Special Contribution
Fund

4805 Mount Hope Drive

Baltimore, Maryland 21215-3297

(301) 358-8900

JOHN Roy Harper II

P. O. Box 843

Columbia, South Carolina 29202
(803) 771-4723

Counsel for SRAC Petitioners

THoMAS R. GOTTSHALL

SINKLER & Boyp, P.A.

1426 Main Street, Suite 1200
Columbia, South Carolina 29201
(803) 779-3080

Counsel for Republican Party
Petitioners

App. 1

PUBLISHED

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

)
STATEWIDE REAPPORTIONMENT ADVISORY)
CommItrEE; WILLIAM GiBson, Doctor; )
FREDERICK CALHOUN JAMES, Bishop; )
Hersert Wiiuiams, Reverend; Willie)
B. Owens; South Carolina
Conference of the NAACP
Branches,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,
v.

Davip M. BEas_-ey, in his official
capacity as Governor of South
Carolina; Davin H. Wrixins, in his
official capacity as Speaker of the
South Carolina House of
Representatives,

Defendants-Appellees,
THE SOUTH CAROLINA SENATE,

Intervenor.

Nm me ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee”

No. 96-1086

App. 2

MicHaAset G. BurTON, as Executive
Director on behalf of the
Republican Party; WituaM P.
Couuns, [I]; EArt CopeLanp;
WILLIAM Patrick FLACK; FRANK E.
Gipson, II]; Nancy D. Hawk; Gus
ROBERTS,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

7 No. 96-1099
Davip M. Brastey, in his official
capacity as Governor of South
Carolina; Davip H. Wikins, in his
official capacity as Speaker of the
South Carolina House of
Representatives,

Defendants-Appellees,
THE SOUTH CAROLINA SENATE,

Intervenor.

ee ee ee ee ee ee , _e, _e__

Appeals from the United States District Court
of South Carolina, at Columbia.
Clyde H. Hamilton, Circuit Judge; G. Ross Anderson, Jr.,
District Judge; Falcon B. Hawkins, Senior District Judge.
(CA-91-3310-3, CA-91-2983-3)

Argued: September 24, 1996
Decided: October 30, 1996

Before NIEMEYER, MICHAEL, and MOTZ,
Circuit Judges.

tien

App. 3

Affirmed by published per curiam opinion. Judge
Niemeyer and Judge Motz wrote concurring opinions.

COUNSEL

ARGUED: Moffatt Laughlin McDonald, AMERICAN
CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION FOUNDATION, INC., Atlanta,
Georgia; Thomas Rush Gottshall, SINKLER & BOYD,
P.A., Columbia, South Carolina, for Appellants. Kenneth
Paul Woodington, Senior Assistant Attorney, General,
Columbia, South Carolina, for Appellees. Fred
Thompson, III, STOKES & THOMPSON, Charleston,
South Carolina, for Intervenor. ON BRIEF: Dennis Court-
land Hayes, Willie Abrams, NAACP SPECIAL CONTRI-
BUTION FUND, Baltimore, Maryland; John Roy Harper,
II, Columbia, South Carolina, for Appellants. Charles
Molony Condon, Attorney General, Treva G. Ashworth,
Deputy Attorney General, Columbia, South Carolina, for
Appellee Wilkins; Charles E. Carpenter, Jr., Frederick A.
Crawford, Deborah M. Sheffield, RICHARDSON, PLOW-
DEN, GRIER & HOWSER, P.A., Columbia, South Caro-
lina, for Appellee Beasley. Mark Packman, DICKSTEIN,
SHAPIRO & MORIN, Washington, D.C.; Gedney Howe,
Ill, Charleston, South Carolina, for Intervenor.

OPINION
PER CURIAM:

The Statewide Reapportionment Advisory Commit-

tee and the South Carolina Republican Party appeal the

App. 4

denial of attorney’s fees in this action brought pursuant
to the Voting Rights Act. We affirm.

I.

In 1990, census figures indicated that congressional
districts and state legislative districts were apportioned
unconstitutionally. After the release of these figures, the
South Carolina General Assembly established committees
to craft new redistricting plans. Deliberations continued
with no success prior to the adjournment of the legisla-
tive session in June, 1991.

On October 4, 1991, the South Carolina Republican
Party instituted an action in federal court alleging that
the existing plans were malapportioned and unconstitu-
tional. The party sought a declaration that the legislative
process was at an impasse, thereby allowing for judicial
intervention. A few weeks later, the Statewide Reappor-
tionment Advisory Committee (“SRAC”), an unincorpo-
rated association of private individuals and
organizations, filed a similar suit. A three-judge court
was constituted to hear the complaints pursuant to 28
U.S.C. § 2284, and the two cases were consolidated in
November, 1991. See Burton v. Sheheen, 793 F. Supp. 1329
(D.S.C. 1992), vacated, Statewide Reapportionment Comm. v.
Theodore, 508 U.S. 968 (1993), and Campbell v. Theodore, 508
U.S. 968 (1993).

In January 1992, the South Carolina Governor, Carroll
A. Campbell, Jr., vetoed the plans passed by the General
Assembly, requesting a plan with more majority black
districts. When no further action was taken by February
1992, the three-judge court declared a legislative impasse,

iene taieemiiasicnicieeainaiiaiiiiel

abet nteee 5

App. 5

and allowed proceedings to go forward. After a three
week trial, the court rejected redistricting plans submit-
ted by all parties, and adopted its own plan. The State
followed this plan during 1992 state elections.

SRAC, on one hand, and the Governor, on the other,
appealed the court’s decision. SRAC asserted, inter alia,
that the court had not properly applied the analysis
required by § 2 of the Voting Rights Act, 42 U.S.C. §§ 1973
et seq., in implementing the plans. (A § 2 review calls on a
court to “assess the impact of the contested [plan] on
minority electoral opportunities.” Burton, 793 F. Supp. at
1349, citing Thornburg v. Gingles, 478 U.S. 30, 44 (1986)). In
response to the SRAC appeal, the Supreme Court vacated
the lower court’s judgment and remanded the case for
“further consideration in light of the position presented
by the Solicitor General in his brief for the United States
filed May 7, 1993.” SRAC v. Theodore, 508 U.S. 968 (1993).
The Governor’s appeal received an identical response.
Campbell v. Theodore, 508 U.S. 968 (1993). Like SRAC, the
Solicitor General had maintained that the three-judge
court had failed to apply a proper § 2 analysis to the
plans.

On remand, the three-judge court allowed the South
Carolina General Assembly until August 1, 1995, to adopt
state redistricting plans and preclear them with the Jus-
tice Department in accordance with the Voting Rights
Act. Meanwhile, the Senate requested court approval to
utilize the court-developed 1992 plans in a special Octo-
ber 1994 election for an open senatorial seat. SRAC and
the Republican Party objected, arguing that these plans as
well must be pre-cleared prior to their use in this election.

App. 6

The court agreed with appellants and denied the Senate’s
motion.

By June 1995, the General Assembly had approved
and pre-cleared plans for the reapportionment of both
legislative houses as well as for congressional districts in
the state. The court case was dismissed two months later.
SRAC and the Republican Party subsequently moved for
attorney’s fees pursuant to 42 U.S.C. §§ 1973l(e) and 1988.
The three-judge court denied that motion, and this appeal
followed.

Il.

The question for our review is whether SRAC and the
Republican Party prevailed, as only prevailing parties are
eligible for attorneys fees. In Farrar v. Hobby, 506 U.S. 103
(1992), the Supreme Court clarified the applicable stan-
dard:

[T]o qualify as a prevailing party, a civil rights
plaintiff must obtain at least some relief on the
merits of his claim. The plaintiff must obtain an
enforceable judgment against the defendant
from whom fees are sought, or comparable relief
through a consent decree or settlement. What-
ever relief the plaintiff secures must directly
benefit him at the time of the judgment or settle-
ment. Otherwise the judgment or settlement
cannot be said to “affec[t] the behavior of the
defendant toward the plaintiff.”

Id. at 111 (internal citations omitted).

This Court interpreted Farrar’s requirements in S-1
and S-2 By and Through P-1 and P-2 v. State Bd. of Educ. of

App. 7

North Carolina, 6 F.3d 160 (4th Cir. 1993) (Wilkinson, J.,
dissenting), vacated, 21 F.3d 49, 51 (4th Cir.) (en banc)
(adopting Judge Wilkinson's dissent as the majority opin-
ion), cert. denied, 115 S.Ct. 205 (1994). There, parents of
handicapped students brought an action, pursuant to 42
U.S.C. § 1983, against city and state officials for tuition
reimbursement. The district court granted the plaintiffs
summary judgment and the defendants appealed. S-1 and
S-2 v. Spangler, 650 F. Supp. 1427 (M.D.N.C. 1986). After
city officials agreed to reimburse tuition expenses, the
parents continued to maintain their action against state
officials. We held that the settlement with city officials
mooted any action against state officials, and vacated the
district court’s grant of summary judgment to the plain-
tiffs against state officials. S-1 and S-2, 832 F.2d 294, 298
(4th Cir. 1987). On remand, the district court, recognizing
the case’s impact on state legislation, ordered that the
State pay attorney’s fees to the plaintiffs; a panel of this
court affirmed. 6 F.3d 160.

Sitting en banc, a majority of this court reversed that
decision. 21 F.3d 49. In doing so, the court rejected “cata-
lyst” analysis of causation in determining prevailing
party status. The court held that “[t]here is no way
... that Farrar and a broad ‘catalyst theory’ of attorneys’
fees recovery can be reconciled.” 6 F.3d at 168-69 (Wilkin-
son, J., dissent) (adopted by majority opinion in S-1 and
S-2, 21 F.3d at 51). Rather, the court concluded that the
determinative factor would be a “material alteration of
the legal relationship between the parties” as manifested
by whether the plaintiff was entitled to enforce “a judg-
ment, consent degree, or settlement against the defen-
dant.” Id. at 168-69 (quoting Farrar, 113 S.Ct. at 574).

App. 8

Applying our holding in S-1 and S-2 to the instant
case, the court below determined that SRAC and the
Republican Party did not meet the definition of “prevail-
ing parties.” Because the court’s original decision was
vacated by the Supreme Court, they were not entitled to
enforce any judgment against the defendants. Id. at 169
(“[T]he judgment’s vacatur on appeal renders it a legal
nullity.”).

We agree with the three-judge court’s ruling. SRAC
and the Republican Party fail to meet the standard set
forth in S-1 and S-2: neither the district court’s vacated
judgement, nor the Supreme Court’s decision to remand
to the district court for further consideration in light of
the Solicitor General’s brief constitutes an enforceable
judgment against the defendants. Similarly, the lower
court’s holding regarding preclearance of special election
plans by the Justice Department does not represent a
“material alteration in the relationship between the par-
ties” such as to merit treatment as a “prevailing party.”
Id. at 168-69.*

Because SRAC and the Republican Party cannot
establish that they meet the requirements set forth in S-1
and S-2, they are not entitled to attorney’s fees.

AFFIRMED.

* In passing, SRAC and the Republican Party suggest that
an exception to S-1 and S-2 be made for redistricting cases. But
S-1 and S-2 itself contains language rejecting such a carve-out. 6
F.3d at 169 n.2 (stating that a redistricting case, Craig v. Gregg
County, 988 F.2d 18, 21 (5th Cir. 1993), “skirted the issue” as to
the conflict between catalyst theory and Farrar and therefore
was unpersuasive).

EE

App. 9

NIEMEYER, Circuit Judge, concurring:

To be a prevailing party in a legal action, a party
must obtain relief in the action on the merits of his claim,
see Farrar v. Hobby, 506 U.S. 103, 111 (1992), and not from
some other process. The fee shifting statutes, such as 42
U.S.C. §§ 1973l(e) and 1988, reward successful litigants,
not success in the political process even if the political
success was a response to the litigation. Accordingly, in
S-1 and S-2 v. State Bd. of Educ., 21 F.3d 49, 51 (4th Cir.) (en
banc) (adopting Judge Wilkinson’s dissent at 6 F.3d 160
(4th Cir. 1993)), cert. denied, 115 S.Ct. 205 (1994), we
rejected a broad catalyst theory for awarding attorneys
fees to litigants simply because their position in litigation
was vindicated by an external process or sequence of
events outside of the litigation.

While I agree that S-1 and S-2 requires us to affirm in
this case, I believe the question of who prevailed, even
when measuring the results obtained through the politi-
cal process, is so unclear that whether we apply S-1 and
S-2 or evaluate who won in the political arena, I could not
conclude that the district court abused its discretion in
denying the appellants’ attorneys fees.

DIANA GRIBBON MOTZ, Circuit Judge, concurring:

The parties have not established that they meet the
“prevailing party” requirements of S-1 and S-2. No panel
can refuse to follow a circuit precedent established by
another panel, let alone one established by the entire
court sitting en banc. Accordingly, I concur in the court's
opinion and judgment.

App. 10

I write separately only to indicate that I believe that
the Supreme Court’s holding in Farrar would not neces-
sarily require the same outcome. I note that, when we
issued S-1 and S-2, our conclusion that Farrar dicta evisce-
rated the catalyst analysis was contrary to the view of
every other circuit to address the question. In the three
years since the issuance of S-1 and S-2 no circuit has
followed our holding. Several have specifically disagreed
with it. See, e.g., Brown v. Local 58, IBEW, 76 F.3d 762, 772
(6th Cir. 1996); Beard v. Teska, 31 F.3d 942, 951 (10th Cir.
1994); Kilgour v. City of Pasadena, 53 F.3d 1007 (9th Cir.
1995); Zinn By Blankenship v. Shaw'la, 35 F.3d 273, 275 (7th
Cir. 1994). See also Southeastern Fisheries Ass‘n v. Chiles, 876
F. Supp. 270, 271 (S.D. Fla. 1995).

Ironically, the “catalyst” analysis was devised to
address cases like the one at hand. SRAC and the Repub-
lican Party advance the classic “but for” scenario: had it
not been for the filing of their complaints in the district
court, the court would not have intervened in the reap-
portionment process. Without such intervention, the
South Carolina General Assembly would not have
adopted a scheme that drew heavily from that judicially-
crafted plan. Yet even if SRAC and the Republican Party
did cause those results, S-1 and S-2 forecloses this argu-
ment and requires that, without further ado, we conclude
that they were not prevailing parties because they did not
win an enforceable judgment against the defendants.

saciid

App. 11

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF SOUTH CAROLINA
COLUMBIA DIVISION

MICHAEL G. BURTON, as
Executive Director and on behalf
of the Republican Party, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

C/A
No. 3:91-2983-1

Vs.

ROBERT J. SHEHEEN, in his
representative capacity as Speaker
of the South Carolina House of
Representatives, et al.,

ROBIN TALLON, NEIL A.
VANDER LINDEN, FORREST E.
OTT, PHILIP T. JONES, ANN Y.
HART, PEGGY A. DUFEK,
GWENDOLYN L. GROOMS, THE
SOUTH CAROLINA SENATE,
THE DEMOCRATIC PARTY OF
SOUTH CAROLINA,

Defendant-Intervenors.

)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
Defendants,
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)

App. 12

STATEWIDE ) C/A
REAPPORTIONMENT ADVISORY )
COMMITTEE, et al., , =o
— ) (Filed
Plaintiffs, Dec. 15, 1995)
VS. )
CARROLL A. CAMPBELL, JR., et )
al., .
Defendants. )
)

These matters are before the court on petitions of
plaintiffs, the South Carolina Republican Party and the
Statewide Reapportionment Advisory Committee
(SRAC), for attorneys’ fees pursuant to 42 U.S.C.
§§ 1973l(e) and 1988. For the reasons set forth below, the
petitions are denied.

I

The facts of the underlying dispute are fully set forth
in the court’s order dated May 1, 1992. See Burton v.
Sheheen, 793 F.Supp. 1329 (D.S.C. 1992), vacated, 113 S. Ct.
2954 (1993). To recapitulate briefly, the 1990 census fig-
ures, which were released in March of 1991, showed
South Carolina’s Senate, House, and congressional dis-
tricts were unconstitutionally apportioned. From the
point the census figures were released until the General
Assembly adjourned sine die on June 6, 1991, both the
Senate and the House wrestled, without success, to pass
new redistricting plans. A concurrent resolution was
introduced to extend the legislative session, but this reso-
lution lacked the two-thirds majority needed for passage.

App. 13

On October 4, 1991, the Republican Party instituted
the underlying action claiming the existing Senate,
House, and congressional plans were unconstitutionally
apportioned. The Republican Party requested an injunc-
tion to prevent future use of those plans, a judicial deter-
mination that the redistricting process was at an impasse,
and the adoption of the plans that it proposed.

On October 31, 1991, the SRAC filed a complaint
substantially similar to the one filed by the Republican
Party. The SRAC sought a judicial determination that the
existing plans were unconstitutionally apportioned, that
the existing plans could not be continued, and that the
legislative process was at an impasse. In addition, the
SRAC asked that its case be consolidated with the Repub-
lican Party’s case. Consolidation was ordered November
13, 1991.

Shortly after reconvening on January 14, 1992, the
General Assembly passed new Senate (S. 1003) and
House (H. 3435) redistricting plans. These plans were
vetoed by Governor Carroll A. Campbell, and the vetoes
were upheld. The Governor’s veto messages encouraged
the General Assembly to draw more majority black dis-
tricts in both S. 1003 and H. 3435 and to enhance the
majority black districts which had been drawn in S. 1003.
The General Assembly never passed a congressional plan.

No further plans were passed by the General Assem-
bly. On February 10, 1992, the court convened a status
conference at which all parties agreed that the legislative
process was at an impasse with respect to redistricting.
Pending motions were resolved and trial procedures were
set. Trial ensued and the court ultimately fashioned its

App. 14

own plans after concluding that “none of the plans pro-

posed .. . fully comports with the objectives and criteria
which should be incorporated in a judicially approved
plan.”

The SRAC appealed the court’s order to the Supreme
Court. The Court vacated the judgment of this court and
remanded the case to this court for “further consideration
in light of the position presented by the Solicitor General
in his brief for the United States filed May 7, 1993.” SRAC
v. Theodore, 113 S. Ct. 2954 (1993). Essentially, the
Supreme Court wanted a § 2 analysis to be performed.
However, the Supreme Court did not vacate the elections
based on the court’s plans. This court then afforded the
“legislative process” of the State of South Carolina until
August 1, 1995 to adopt and preclear a districting plan for
the Senate.

Shortly thereafter, on February 2, 1994, the General
Assembly passed H. 4333 Act #284 of 1994, which legis-
latively reapportioned the S.C. House of Representatives.
That Act was not signed by the Governor but became law
on February 15, 1994. On May 31, 1994, the plan received
preclearance by the Department of Justice (DOJ).

On March 28, 1994, the General Assembly ratified H.
4332, which legislatively reapportioned the congressional
districts in a slightly different manner than the court-
drawn plan. H. 4332 became law on March 29, 1994
without the Governor’s signature. On April 28, 1994, the
congressional plan was precleared by the DOJ.

Also in 1994, the Lieutenant Governor ordered a
special election to replace Senator Alexander S. Macaulay
in Senate District One. Senator Macaulay’s position

App. 15

opened when he was elected to the South Carolina judici-
ary as a Circuit Judge by the General Assembly. On July
20, 1994, the Senate requested an order from this court
directing the use of this court’s 1992 district lines for use
in the special election. The Republican Party and the
SRAC, among others, asked this court to require the state
to preclear the use of the 1992 plan with the DOJ. This
court agreed and on August 22, 1994, ordered the plan to
be submitted for preclearance under § 5 of the Voting
Rights Act. The plan was submitted to the DOJ and was
eventually precleared on December 12, 1994.

Subsequently, S. 9 Act #49 of 1995, which reappor-
tioned the South Carolina Senate, passed both Houses on
May 11, 1995. This Act became law on May 18, 1995
without the Governor’s signature. The underlying plan
was precleared by the DOJ on May 30, 1995.

Against this backdrop we are asked to award attor-
neys’ fees to the Republican Party and the SRAC under 42
U.S.C. §§ 1973l(e) and 1988.

II

We first turn to the standards for determining when a
plaintiff can be awarded attorneys’ fees. Here, the plain-
tiffs have moved for attorneys’ fees under 42 U.S.C.
§§ 1973l(e) and 1988.1 Because the statutes contain nearly

* 42 U.S.C. § 1973I(e) states the following:

In any action or proceeding to enforce the voting
guarantees of the fourteenth or fifteenth amendment,
the court, in its discretion, may allow the prevailing

App. 16

identical language and because the legislative intent was
to have the same standards apply to both fee awards, this
court shall construe the statutes similarly and shall apply
the case law interpreting one statute to the other statute.
See Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424, 433 n.7 (1983);
Hastert v. Illinois State Bd. of Election Comm'rs, 28 F.3d
1430, 1439 n.10 (7th Cir. 1993), cert. denied, 115 S. Ct. 429
(1994); Bly v. McLeod, 605 F.2d 134, 138 (4th Cir. 1979)
(“§§ 1973l(e) and 1988 are phrased in identical terms, and
we apply the same rule of decision under both of them.”)
cert. denied, 445 U.S. 928 (1980).

“Congress intended to permit the . . . award of coun-
sel fees only when a party has prevailed on the merits.”
Farrar v. Hobby, 506 U.S. 103, 113 S. Ct. 566, 572 (1992)
(quoting Hanrahan v. Hampton, 446 U.S. 754, 758 (1980)
“ [T]he fee applicant bears the burden of
establishing entitlement to an award|[,]’” and the district
court has discretion in determining the amount of the fee
award. Alexander v. Mayor & Council, 953 F.2d 160, 161
(4th Cir.1992) (quoting Hensley, 461 U.S. at 437). “ ‘This is
appropriate in view of the district court’s superior under-
standing of the litigation and the desirability of avoiding

(per curiam).

party .. . a reasonable attorney’s fee as part of the
costs.

42 U.S.C. § 1988, which was patterned in part upon
§ 1973l(e), similarly states the following:

“In any action or proceeding to enforce a provision of
sections 1981, 1981a, 1982, 1983, 1985, and 1986 of this

title . . . the court, in its discretion, may allow the
prevailing party . .. a reasonable attorney’s fee as part
the costs.”

App. 17

frequent appellate review of what are essentially factual
matters.’ ” Id. (quoting Hensley, 461 U.S. at 437).

“{I]n order to qualify for attorney’s fees under § 1988
for § 1973l(e)], a plaintiff must be a ‘prevailing party.’ ”
Farrar, 113 S. Ct. at 572. “The touchstone of the prevailing
party inquiry must be the material alteration of the legal
relationship of the parties.” Texas State Teachers Ass‘n v.
Garland Indep. Sch. Dist., 489 U.S. 782, 792-793 (1989).
“[T]o qualify as a prevailing party, a civil rights plaintiff
must obtain at least some relief on the merits of his claim.
The plaintiff must obtain an enforceable judgment against
the defendant from whom fees are sought, or comparable
relief through a consent decree or settlement.” Farrar, 113
S. Ct. at 573 (citations omitted). It is “[oJnly under these
circumstances [that] civil rights litigation effect[s] the
material alteration of the legal relationship of the parties’
and thereby transform[s] the plaintiff into a prevailing
party.” Id. at 573 (quoting Garland, 489 U.S. at 792-793).

If the plaintiffs are found to be prevailing parties, the
issue of attorneys’ fees must be considered. As a proviso,
the court cautions that “a determination that a party has
‘prevailed’ . . . means only that fee claimants are eligible
for attorneys’ fees. The court must then consider whether
a fee award would be ‘unjust’ under the particular cir-
cumstances.” Commissioners Court v. United States, 683

F.2d 435, 442 (D.C. Cir. 1982). See also Farrar, 113 S. Ct. at
577 (O’Connor, J., concurring) (finding the fee award
statutes “expressly grant[] district court’s discretion to
withhold attorney’s fees from prevailing parties in appro-
priate circumstances”). Therefore, we will address the
question of attorneys’ fees only if the plaintiffs are found
to be prevailing parties.

As an initial matter, we must determine the effect of
S-1 and S-2 v. State Bd. of Educ., 21 F.3d 49 (4th Cir.) (en
banc), cert. denied, 115 S. Ct. 205 (1994), on this case. We
find that as a matter of law the plaintiffs cannot be
considered prevailing parties because an enforceable
judgment against the defendants no longer exists.

The plaintiffs initially obtained a judgment on the
merits of their claims, see Burton v. Sheheen, 793 F.Supp.
1329 (D.S.C. 1992), but that judgment is no longer
enforceable because the Supreme Court vacated it. SRAC
v. Theodore, 113 S. Ct. 2954 (1993). “The judgment’s
vacatur on appeal renders it a legal nullity.” S-1 and S-2 v.
State Bd. of Educ., 6 F.3d 160, 169 (4th Cir. 1993) (Wilkin-
son, J., dissenting), vacated, 21 F.3d 49, 51 (4th Cir.) (en
banc) (adopting Judge Wilkinson’s dissent as the majority
opinion), cert. denied, 115 S.Ct. 205 (1994). But the result of
the vacatur was somewhat less than clear. Although the
Supreme Court vacated and remanded the judgment of
this court, the Court neither vacated the lines drawn by
this court nor the elections held pursuant to the 1992
plans. Nonetheless, after the Court's action, the plaintiffs
could no longer enforce this court’s initial order.

The Republican Party specifically claims that its law-
suit acted as a catalyst in bringing about redistricting. But
in S-1 the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals rejected the
catalyst theory as a means of determining who is a pre-
vailing party. Significantly, the court found that “ ‘[n]o

material alteration of the legal relationship between the
parties occurs until the plaintiff becomes entitled to

neni

App. 19

enforce a judgment, consent decree, or settlement against
the defendant.’ ” S-1, 6 F.3d at 168 (Wilkinson, J., dissent-
ing) (quoting Farrar, 113 S. Ct. at 574). Since no enforce-
able judgment, consent decree, or settlement exists
against these defendants, we are precluded from finding
that the plaintiffs are prevailing parties.

B

We, however, are aware that the Fourth Circuit’s
reasoning has not been shared by the other Circuit Courts
of Appeals.? In light of this split of authority, we addi-
tionally find that the plaintiffs would not be entitled to
attorneys’ fees under any theory because their successes
were only technical or de minimis.

As noted above, the Republican Party and the SRAC
essentially sought four objectives: (1) a determination
that the existing Senate, House, and congressional plans
were unconstitutionally apportioned, (2) an injunction to
prevent future employment of those plans, (3) a deter-
mination that the legislative process was at an impasse,
and (4) adoption of the plans proposed by them for the
three legislative bodies.

2 See, e.g., Marbley v. Bane, 57 F.3d 224, 233-35 (2nd Cir.
1995); Kilgour v. City of Pasadena, 53 F.3d 1007, 1010 (9th Cir.
1995); Zinn by Blakenship v. Shalala, 35 F.3d 273, 274-76 (7th Cir.
1994); Baumgartner v. Harrisburg Housing Auth., 21 F.3d 541,
544-50 (3rd Cir. 1994).

App. 20

1

Issues (1) and (2) were conceded by the defendants
through their answers to the complaint and, before that,
through the establishment of both Senate and House sub-
committees to draw new plans even before the 1990
census figures were released. Thus, the issue of whether
the existing plans were constitutional was the issue never
in dispute before this court. Further, this issue consumed
virtually none of the court’s time, in either the pre-trial or
trial stages, and was effectively dealt with in the court’s
order by a footnote. See Burton, 793 F.Supp. at 1336 n.2. It
cannot be credibly asserted that the underlying litigation
resulted from a dispute over the viability of the existing
plans. Similarly, since all parties agreed the existing plans
were unconstitutionally apportioned, it strains reason to
suggest the issue of whether these plans could continue
to be employed was a significant one. If the only issues in
this litigation had been the condition of the existing plans
and their fitness for continued use, the nearly three week
trial which this court presided over could have been
effectively reduced 'to a one hour hearing, if that. Since
the issues of the viability of the existing plans and their
appropriateness for continued use were not significant
issues, the plaintiffs cannot be considered prevailing par-
ties under the standards set forth in Farrar requiring a
party to succeed on a significant issue.

2

Next, the plaintiffs claim prevailing party status on
the issue of impasse. On this issue we conclude that the
plaintiffs did not prevail. As mentioned above, the

App. 21

Republican Party’s complaint, filed October 4, 1991,
sought an immediate judicial determination that the leg-
islative process was irretrievably deadlocked. The SRAC
requested an identical finding in its complaint filed Octo-
ber 31, 1991. The defendants denied the legislative proc-
ess was deadlocked and moved to have the complaint
dismissed on the ground of ripeness. On February 10,
1992, the impasse issue was resolved by a court order
declaring an impasse, to which both parties consented.

At the time of the Republican Party’s request, there
still existed some possibility of a legislative resolution of
the redistricting process when the General Assembly
reconvened in January. As the Supreme Court stated in
Wise v. Lipscoinb:

[Redistricting and reapportioning legislative

bodies is a legislative task which the federal

courts should make every effort not to pre-empt.

Legislative bodies should not leave their
reapportionment tasks to the federal courts; but
when those with legislative responcibilities do
not respond, or the imminence of a state election
makes it impractical for them to do so, it
becomes the “unwelcome obligation” of the fed-
eral court to devise and impose a reapportion-
ment plan....

437 U.S. 535, 539-540 (1978) (citations omitted).

Thus, “judicial relief becomes appropriate only when
a legislature fails to reapportion according to federal
constitutional requisites in a timely fashion after having
had an opportunity to do so.” White v. Weiser, 412 USS.
783, 794-795 (1973) (quoting Reynolds v. Sims, 377 US. 533,

App. 22

586. (1964)). Therefore, in October of 1991, South Caro-
lina’s redistricting process was not technically at an
impasse because the process still held some hope of a
legislative solution.

With an eye toward affording the legislature every
opportunity to perform its redistricting responsibilities,
this court postponed a decision on the request for a
finding of impasse until January of 1992 and later to
February of that same year. In the interim, plans for the
Senate and House were passed, but vetoed by the Gover-
nor and those vetoes were sustained. No congressional
plan was passed. Thus, it is imminently reasonable to
conclude South Carolina’s attempt at redistricting itself
was not at an impasse in October of 1991 since a legisla-
tive resolution could be achieved as evidenced by the
discernable, although not dispositive, process made by
the General Assembly after their return in January of
1992.

We are therefore confronted with the question of
whether the parties’ agreement and subsequent court
finding of impasse on February 10, 1992, qualifies the
plaintiffs as prevailing parties. We find that the resolution
of the impasse issue was a procedural finding amounting
to little more than a determination of ripeness by the
court. At most, our finding that an impasse existed was
an interlocutory ruling that allowed the case to proceed
to trial at the time it did. See Hewitt v. Helms, 482 U.S. 755,
760 (1987) (denying attorney’s fees when “[t]he most that
[the plaintiff] obtained was an interlocutory ruling that
his complaint should not have been dismissed for failure
to state a constitutional claim”). Our finding that an
impasse existed in no way affected the merits. In fact, the

a oe ea? fee ee Drs

Dea ea Sete Sr ORR me ene ED aver a te

App. 23

finding of impasse was purely a procedural victory open-
ing the door that eventually led to a rejection of the plans
proposed by the plaintiffs. Therefore, because the
impasse issue was not significant and the agreement
failed to change the legal relationship between the plain-
tiffs and the defendants, we find that the plaintiffs are not
prevailing parties on the impasse issue.

Furthermore, although a meaningful participant in
other areas of this litigation, the SRAC was not the
motivating force behind the court’s finding of impasse.
The eventual resolution of the impasse issue was dictated
and determined by the court and the calendar more so
than by the efforts of one of the parties. The SRAC was
not the first party to raise the impasse issue or seek relief.
Instead, the SRAC merely joined in the Republican
Party’s argument. In this court’s considered opinion, the
fee statutes were not passed to compensate parties who
perfunctorily join in motions, particularly when the
motions in question are of procedural import in the first
instance. In addition, since the Republican Party is not a
prevailing party on the issue of impasse, it would defy
logic to find that the SRAC was a prevailing party.

3

Finally, the plaintiffs claim prevailing party status on
the basis of the plans which eventually emerged from this
process. In particular, the Republican Party claims to
have been a catalyst in the court’s decision to draw a
minority opportunity district in South Carolina’s Sixth
Congressional District. None of the parties, however,

App. 24

opposed the creation of some form of minority oppor-
tunity district in South Carolina. In fact, every plan
offered at trial, including defendants’, contained such a
district.

Similarly, the SRAC claims it is entitled to fees as a
prevailing party for the adoption of new plans for the
Senate, House, and Congress irrespective of authorship.
Specifically, counsel for the SRAC states the court “has
granted Plaintiff[ ] SRAC relief on a significant issue pre-
sented in this litigation by adopting and creating plans
for the redistricting of South Carolina’s Senate, House of
Representatives, and congressional districts. It is clear,
therefore, that Plaintiff[] SRAC has prevailed in this
action and achieved significant relief.” SRAC’s Petition
for Attorneys’ Fees at 3. This is certainly a curious expla-
nation of the process in light of the fact that the SRAC
appealed the very order which redistricted the state’s
legislative bodies. Either the SRAC was dissatisfied with
the court’s plans, which would raise doubts about its
alleged “prevailing party” status, or its initial objective
was merely for new plans to be drawn irrespective of
authorship, which makes the SRAC’s complaint super-
fluous since the Republican Party had already filed suit
requesting new plans.

The obvious motive and goal of the plaintiffs was to
get their plan adopted by the court. As this court made
abundantly clear in the underlying order, the plans pre-
sented by the parties suffered a myriad of infirmities. In
addition, we emphasized **- plans we fashioned were

App. 25

our own and did not remotely resemble the plans pro-
posed by either plaintiff.* The only factors the court
considered in fashioning its plan for South Carolina’s
Congressional districts were the federal and statutory
requirements for congressional plans and South Caro-
lina’s state policies, provided those policies were consis-
tent with the federal requisites. In truth, the testimony
heard by the court was of little help in creating its plan. It
should be noted the Republican Party proposed no Con-
gressional plan and instead supported the plan offered by
Governor Campbell. Thus, it cannot be credibly asserted
that the plaintiffs “prevailed” in the creation of the
interim plans this court ordered or more specifically, that
the Republican Party prevailed in this court’s creation of
a minority opportunity district.

IV

The plaintiffs next contend that they have prevailed
in litigation concerning the special election to replace
Senator Macaulay in Senate District One. We agree.

As mentioned above, in 1994 a special election was
ordered to replace Senator Macaulay in Senate District
One. On July 20, 1994, the Senate requested a court order
that the court-drawn lines used in 1992 also be used in
the special election. The plaintiffs asked the court to

3 While this court does not find the plaintiffs to be
prevailing parties on this issue, the court does not adopt the
reasoning in Hastert v. Illinois State Bd. of Election Com’rs, 28 F.3d
1430 (7th Cir. 1993). In Hastert, the Seventh Circuit held that the
touchstone for whether a party prevails is whether their map is
ultimately adopted. Id. at 1443.

App. 26

require the state to obtain preclearance of the 1992 lines
from the DOJ. The Senate argued that court-drawn plans
did not require preclearance under § 5 of the Voting
Rights Act. The plaintiffs took the position that the adop-
tion of the court’s plan by the Senate was an act of
legislative judgment, and therefore, the party-sponsored
plan had to be submitted to the DOJ for preclearance,
even if that plan adopted a prior court-ordered plan. The
plan was submitted and received preclearance from the
DOJ on December 12, 1994.

We are now faced with the question of whether the
plaintiffs’ success in obtaining a court order requiring
preclearance of the 1992 district lines qualifies the Repub-
lican Party and the SRAC as prevailing parties. We find
that the plaintiffs’ success on this issue does qualify them
as prevailing parties. Pursuant to Farrar, a prevailing
party “must obtain an enforceable judgment against the
defendant from whom fees are sought...” Farrar, 113 S.
Ct. at 573 (citing Hewitt, 482 U.S. at 760). Here, the court
order requiring the Senate to obtain preclearance was
enforceable by the Republican Party and the SRAC.

In light of the DOJ’s subsequent preclearance of the
plan, the plaintiffs’ victory was pyrrhic at best. While the
plaintiffs were successful in having the plan submitted
for preclearance, the election ultimately was conducted
pursuant to the 1992 plan. The court recognizes that the
plaintiffs still qualify as prevailing parties, but cautions
that “although the ‘technical’ nature of a nominal dam-
ages award or any other judgment does not affect the
prevailing party inquiry, it does bear on the propriety of
fees awarded.” Farrar, 113 S. Ct. at 574.

App. 27

V

The SRAC also has prevailed on another aspect of
this litigation. On May 22, 1992, the SRAC filed a notice
of appeal to the Supreme Court seeking review of the
districting plan ordered by this court. On June 14, 1993,
the Supreme Court vacated this court’s judgment and
remanded the case to this court for “further consideration
in light of the position presented by the Solicitor General
in his brief for the United States filed May 7, 1993.” SRAC
v. Theodore, 113 S.Ct. 2954 (1993). But the result of the
vacatur was somewhat less than clear.

While the Supreme Court vacated and remanded the
judgment of this court, the Court did not expressly vacate
the lines drawn by this court. In addition, the elections
held pursuant to the 1992 plans were not vacated. Thus,
the net result of the SRAC’s appeal was that the judgment
was vacated, but all actions conducted pursuant to the
judgment were untouched.

Nevertheless, the SRAC did prevail in having the
judgment vacated. Even though the effect that vacating
the judgment would have on the parties was unknown at
the time, the SRAC had obtained an enforceable judg-
ment. As such, remanding the case for further consider-
ation in light of the Solicitor General’s position was a
direct benefit for the SRAC. Indeed, according to Farrar,
this success qualifies the SRAC as a prevailing party as
“[w]hatever relief the plaintiff secures must directly bene-
fit him at the time of the judgment.” 113 S. Ct. at 573.
Therefore, while the benefit was minor, it was sufficient
to qualify the SRAC as a prevailing party on this issue.

App. 28

VI

In summary, this court finds that: (1) both the Repub-
lican Party and the SRAC are prevailing parties on the
litigation surrounding Senate District One, and (2) the
SRAC is a prevailing party for obtaining the Supreme
Court order vacating our judgment in Burton v. Sheheen.
Having found the plaintiffs to be prevailing parties, the
issue of attorneys’ fees must be considered. The court
cautions that “a determination that a party has ‘pre-
vailed’ . . . means only that fee claimants are eligible for
attorneys’ fees. The court must then consider whether a
fee award would be ‘unjust’ under the particular circum-
stances.” Medina, 683 F.2d at 442. The fee award statutes
“expressly grant[ ] district courts’ discretion to withhold
attorney’s fees from prevailing parties in appropriate cir-
cumstances.” Farrar, 113 S. Ct. at 577 (O’Connor, J., con-
curring). Indeed, 42 U.S.C. § 1973l(e) provides that “the
court, in its discretion, may allow the prevailing par-
ty . . . a reasonable attorney’s fee.”

The “ ‘most critical factor’ in determining the rea-
sonableness of a fee award ‘is the success obtained’ ” by
the prevailing party. Farrar, 113 S. Ct. at 574 (quoting
Hensley, 461 U.S. at 436). As stated above, while “the
‘technical’ nature of a nominal damages award, or any
other judgment does not affect the prevailing party
inquiry, it does bear on the propriety of fees awarded.”
Id. As such, “in some circumstances, even a plaintiff who
formally ‘prevails’ . . . should receive no attorney’s fees at
all.” Id. at 575. Therefore, the court must examine the
overall success of the Republican Party and the SRAC as
“the degree of the plaintiff’s overall success goes to the
reasonableness” of a fee award. Id. at 574.

App. 29

A

Both the Republican Party and the SRAC prevailed in
the litigation surrounding Senate District One. Upon
review, this victory is de minimis or pyrrhic at best. The
outcome of that dispute was that the court required the
Senate to submit the 1992 districting plans to the DOJ for
preclearance. While the plaintiffs were successful in
obtaining the submittal, the fact that the DOJ precleared
those very same 1992 lines for use in the special election
makes the plaintiffs’ success facial and de minimis.

B

In addition, the SRAC’s success in obtaining a
Supreme Court order vacating our order and remanding
the case to this court for further consideration is also
merely technical and de minimis. In essence, what the
SRAC achieved was a situation where the Supreme
Court’s order vacated the judgment, but left undisturbed
the actions performed under the judgment. Indeed, the
Supreme Court did not invalidate the 1992 Senate elec-
tions held pursuant to the vacated court order. And, in
addition, the period whereby the court-drawn plan
ceased to exist was short-lived. In 1994, the General
Assembly passed a House of Representatives’ act which
became law and later was precleared for use by the DOJ.
Also in 1994, a plan for the congressional districts was
passed and precleared. Then, in 1995, a Senate Act

became law and was also precleared. In the meantime, as
evidenced in the Senate District One litigation, the DOJ
precleared the 1992 plans for use in various elections.

App. 30

Therefore, the SRAC’s success as a prevailing party was
purely technical in nature and de minimis.

The court admits that “prevailing plaintiffs ‘should
ordinarily recover an attorney’s fee unless special circum-
stances would render such an award unjust.’ ” Hastert, 28
F.3d at 1439. (quoting S. Rep. 925, 94th Cong., 1st Sess. 40
(1975), reprinted in 1975 U.S.C.C.A.N. 774, 807 (addressing
§ 1973l(e)); S. Rep. 1011, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. 4 (1976),
reprinted in 1976 U.S.C.C.A.N. 5908, 5912 (addressing
§ 1988)). However, in this case the de minimis nature of
the plaintiffs’ success is undeniably a special circum-
stance. As Justice O’Connor stated in her concurring
opinion in Farrar, “When the plaintiff’s success is purely
technical or de minimis, no fees can be awarded.” 113 S.
Ct. at 576. Indeed, “ ‘a technical victory may be so insig-
nificant’ .. . as to be insufficient to support an award of
attorney’s fees.” Id. (quoting Garland, 489 U.S. at 792).
Therefore, upon consideration of the technical and unre-
markable success of the prevailing plaintiffs the court is
compelled to award no attorneys’ fees to either the
Republican Party or the SRAC.,

After evaluating the magnitude, or lack thereof, of
the prevailing parties’ success, “the court may lawfully
award low fee or no fees without reciting the 12 factors
bearing on reasonableness or multiplying ‘the number of
hours reasonably expended . . . by a reasonable hourly
rate.’ ” Id. at 575 (quoting Hensley, 461 U.S. at 433, 103
S.Ct. at 1939). In addition, Justice O’Connor has stated:

As a matter of common sense and sound judicial
administration, it would be wasteful indeed to
require that courts laboriously and mechanically
go througl those steps when the de minimis

App. 31

nature of the victory makes the proper fee
immediately obvious. Instead, it is enough for a
court to explain why the victory is de minimis
and announce a sensible decision to ‘award low
fees or no fees’ at all.

Id. at 576 (quoting Id. at 575).

In this case, the above discussion explains why we
find the success of the plaintiffs to be de minimis. For
those reasons stated, we find that the reasonable fee is no
fee at all.

VII.

To conclude, we find that neither the Republican
Party nor the SRAC are entitled to attorneys’ fees pur-
suant to 42 U.S.C. §§ 1973l(e) and 1988. While each plain-
tiff was a prevailing party on minor issues, their success
was too technical or de minimis to justify an award of
attorneys’ fees. Therefore, the petitions of the Republican
Party and the SRAC for attorneys’ fees must be denied.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 15th day of December, 1995
at Columbia, South Carolina.

ENTERED for the court, with the concurrence of
Judge Anderson and Judge Hawkins.

/s/ Clyde H. Hamilton
CLYDE H. HAMILTON
UNITED STATES
CIRCUIT JUDGE
FOURTH CIRCUIT COURT
OF APPEALS

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_0179%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
