# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Feltner v. MCA Television, Ltd.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_0054%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1997
- **Citation:** 520 U.S. 1117

## Text

SUpremé Court, U.S.
FILED

' 961070 JAN 21997

OFFICE OF THE CLERK
0.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

October Term, 1996

C. ELVIN FELTNER, JR.,
Petitioner,

MCA TELEVISION, LTD.,
Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

H. Scott Hecker, Esq. Richard I. Chaifetz,* Esq.
Philip L. Schwartz, Esq. 9194-B Red Branch Rd
517 Southwest First Ave. Columbia, MD 21045
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301 (301) 596-5409
(954) 523-3811

*Counsel of Record

_— =

i
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I. Whether the decision of the Court of Appeals for the
Eleventh Circuit that a district court has federal copyright
jurisdiction when a party who has contracted to license a
copyrighted work and has a contract dispute with the
copyright owner continues to display the work, conflicts with
decisions of other U.S. Courts of Appeals?

Il. Whether it is possible for a party who has licensed a
copyrighted work, breached the contract, and continued to
display the work to willfully infringe the copyright for
purposes of an award of statutory copyright damages, 17
U.S.C. §504(c)(2), when another U.S. Court of Appeals has
described the issue of whether such conduct even constitutes
infringement as “a complex issue in a ‘murky’ area?”’

III. Whether the decision of the Court of Appeals for the
Eleventh Circuit that for purposes of statutory damages under
the Copyright Act, 17 U.S.C. §504(c)(1), the episodes of a
television series constitute separate works conflicts with
decisions of other U.S. Courts of Appeals?

IV. Whether the decision of the Court of Appeals for the
Eleventh Circuit which affirmed an award of multiple awards
of statutory damages per work infringed conflicts with a
decision of another U.S. Court of Appeals?

V. Whether the Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit
acted contiary to F.R.C.P. Rule 52(a) and decisions of other
Courts of Appeals by not remanding to the District Court to
explain the basis of its award of $10,000 Per Intringement?

‘Schoenberg v. Shapolsky Publishing Co.,971 F.2d 926, 931 (2d Cir. 1992)

1]
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

C. E. Feltner, Jr. - Defendant/Petitioner
MCA Television, Ltd. - Plaintiff/Respondent
Krypton International Corporation

Krypton Broadcasting Corporation

Krypton Broadcasting of Jacksonville, Inc.
Krypton Broadcasting of Fort Pierce, Inc.
Krypton Broadcasting of Birmingham, Inc.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ce NF NG sims i
Parties to the Proceeding..................... li
ES ce a ili
SE ae Vv
Petition for a Writ of Certiorari ................ l
eS 1
Statement of Jurisdiction ................ 2
co _ 2
I ce 4
Reasons for Granting the Writ ............ 8

I. The decision of the Court of Appeals for the
Eleventh Circuit that a district court has federal
subject matter copyright jurisdiction when a party
who has contracted to license a copyrighted work
and has a contract dispute with the copyright owner
continues to display the work conflicts with
decisions of other U.S. Courts of Appeais....... 8

Ii. A party which has contracted to license a
copyl.ghted work, breached the contract, and
continued to display the work may not be found to
have willfully infringed the copyright for purposes of
an award of statutory copyright damages, 17 U.S.C.
§504(c)(2), because another U.S. Court of Appeals
has described the issue of whether such conduct even
constitutes infringement as “a complex issue in a
EEE SE tant. he i ee TR ct 12

iV

Ill. The decision of the Court of Appeals for the
Eleventh Circuit that for purposes of statutory
damages under the Copyright Act, 17 U.S.C.
§504(c)(1), the episodes of a television series
constitute separate works conflicts with a decision of
another U.S. Court of Appeals .............. 14

IV. The decision of the Court of Appeals for the
Eleventh Circuit that petitioner waived the statutory
limit of one award of statutory damages per work
infringed conflicts with a decision of another U.S.
COMit GF ROGER «5 < 0kGS an Sy SOS ss 17

V. The Court of Appeals fcr the Eleventh Circuit acted
contrary to F.R.C.P. 52(a) and decisions by other
courts of appeals by not remanding to the district
court to explain the basis of its award of $10,000 per

RS re ripe Lara be eae yey 20
CAE Ce ee EE EE ees 23
Appendix:

July 26, 1996 Decision of Court of Appeals ........ la

October 7, 1996 Order Denying Petition for Rehearing . 15a
October 18, 1994 Transcript of Oral Decision of District

Pe ery rr er ore oe 17a
March 2, 1995 Findings of Facts and Conclusions of law
a a ee oe eae 32a

March 6, 1995 Order Correcting Findings of Fact and
a | a ae ere nee 40a

CASES PAGES

Baptiste v. Khoury, 910 F.Supp. 277 (W.D.La. 1996) .

Columbia Pictures Television, Inc. v. Krypton
International Corp., (U.S. Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit, Case No. 94-55816) ........ 12,

Fantastic Fakes, Inc. v. Pickwick International, Inc..,
661 F.2d 479 (5th Cir. RRA peeps. pace

Featherstone v. Brash, 345 F.2d 246 (10th Cir. 1965)
Gamma Audio & Video, Inc. v. Ean-Chea, 11 F.3d 1106

Gere OO pcos sc ec ue 14, 15, 16,

Hanna-Barbera Productions v. Screen Gems-EMI Music,
829 F.Supp. 67 (S.D.N.Y. Ee oo ta

Jobete Music v. Media Broadcasting Corp., 713 F. Supp.
EPO G eee PPD occ chic ee oe

Living Music Records v. Moss Music Group, 827 F.Supp.
PPT aE MO cae ee

Louis Vuitton, S.A. v. Lee, 875 F.2d 584 (7th Cir. 1989)

Louisiana Power & Light Co. v. United Gas Pipeline
Co., 456 F.2d 326 (5th Cir. 1971) rev'sd on other
grounds sub nom., FPC v. Louisiana Power & Light
., ToC. 2G...

tcc ENE EE EN ERMC NM Gh, oh ae

Mason v. Montgomery Data, Inc., 967 F.2d 135 (5th
ie SID os Dn evesocte eee

.10

23

vi

Morley Music Co. v. Cafe Continental, Inc., 777 F.

mee. 57s GP SOOO) 9 hc eke neseeee 22
Mother Waddles Perpetual Mission, Inc. v. Frazier, 904
F.Supp. 603 (E.D.Mich. 1995)........... 10, 12

National Comics Publications, Inc. v. Fawcett
Publications, Inc., 191 F.2d 594 (2d Cir. 1951)... 9

Nik-O-Val Music Co. v. P.O.S. Radio, Inc., 665 F.

SUG. GEO (ND) Ped > bine cenne sree 21
Paramount Pictures v. Metro Program Network, 962

2 The Ge es SOUS 0. 60. 50 oe aes os eae 12
H. Prang Trucking Co. v. Local Union No. 469, 613

F.26 1235 GE Ga. eee. 6 USS A ee eee 22
Schoenberg v. Shapolsky Publishers, Inc., 971 F.2d

926 GG Ce. BS ev ek ence hb Me Bay Oe
Topolos v. Caldewey, 698 F.2d 991 (9th Cir.) cert den.

Sal U.S. GES (lee oa eke ee eee 12
Twin Peaks Productions, Inc. v. Publications International,

Lid., 996 F.2d 1366 (2d Cir. 1993) ...... 14, 15, 17
USAR Systems, Inc. v. Brain Works, Inc., 897 F.Supp.

163 €.D.N.Y. SRG) se sk OR ee, 10
Warner Bros., Inc. v. Dae Rim Trading,Inc., 877 F.2d

L520 Coe Car. TSG ss vce eee eee 22
Walt Disney Co. v. Powell, 897 F.2d 565 (D.C.Cir.

EGP 6 vce ee hs ee 14, 15, 16, 17

F.W. Woolworth Co. v. Contemporary Artists, Inc., 344
U.S. 228, 73 S.Ct. 222, 97 L.Ed. 276 (1952) ....22

Vil

Statutes:
Section 101 of the Copyright Act, 17 U.S.C. §101. 2, 16, 17
Section 504(c)(1) of the Copyright Act, 17 U.S.C.

§504(c)(1) .... 2, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 20, 21
Section 504(c)(2) of the Copyright Act, 17 U.S.C.§
EE ieee ere ire ve 3, 12, 13, 14

Rule 52(a) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure 3, 20, 22

OTHER MATERIALS

3 Nimmer on Copyright §10.15 .............. 9,10

ere a cle oe Na oi

io GA

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1996

C. ELVIN FELTNER, JR.,

Petitioner,

MCA TELEVISION, LTD.

Respondent.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

OPINIONS BELOW

This petition seeks review of the opinion issued by the
United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit on
July 26, 1996 (App. 1a ) which appears at 89 F.3d 766, which
affirmed the October 18, 1994 oral opinion of the District
Court, (App. 17a) the March 2, 1995 Findings of Facts and
Conclusions of Law and Omnibus Order (App.32a), and the

2

March 6, 1995 Order Correcting Findings of Fact and
Conclusions of Law. (App. 40a). A timely petition for
rehearing with a suggestion of rehearing en banc was filed.
It was denied on October 7, 1996. (App. 15a).

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

In seeking review of the above-referenced decision of the
United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit and
its denial of his Petition for Rehearing with a Suggestion of
Rehearing en banc, petitioner invokes certiorari jurisdiction
conferred on this Court by 28 U.S.C. §1254 (1).

STATUTES INVOLVED

Section 101 of the Copyright Act, 17 U.S.C. §101, provides
in relevant part:

* * * * *

A “collective work” is a work, such as a periodical issue,
anthology, or encyclopedia, in which a number of
contributions, constituting separate and independent
works in themselves, are assembled into a collective
whole.

A “compilation” is a work formed by the collection and
assembling of preexisting materials or of data that are
selected, coordinated, or arranged in such a way that the
resulting work as a whole constitutes an original work of
authorship. The term “compilation” inciudes collective
works.

Section 504(c) of the Copyright Act, 17 U.S.C. §504(c),
provides in relevant part :

Prabha 65 cise seit

3

( c ) Statutory damages. (1) Except as provided by
clause (2) of this subsection, the copyright owner may
elect, at any time before final judgment is rendered, to
recover, instead of actual damages and profits, an award
of statutory damages for all infringements involved in the
action, with respect to any one work, for which any one
infringer is liable individually, or for which any two or
more infringers are liable jointly and severally, in a sum
of not less than $500 or more than $20,000 as the court
considers just. For the purposes of this subsection, all
the parts of a compilation or derivative work constitute
one work.

(2) In a case where the copyright owner sustains the
burden of proving and the court finds, that infringement
was committed willfully, the court in its discretion may
increase the award of statutory damages to a sum of not
more than $100,000. In a case where the infringer
sustains the burden of proving, and the court finds, that
such infringer was not aware and had no reason to
believe that his or her acts constituted an infringement of
copyright, the court it (sic) its discretion may reduce the
award of statutory damages to a sum of not less than
$200.

Rule 52(a) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure,
provides in relevant part :

In all actions tried upon the facts without a jury or with
an advisory jury, the court shall find the facts specifically
and state separately its conclusions of law thereon....

4

STATEMENT OF CASE

Respondent, MCA Television, Ltd. (MCA), licenses
television programs and motion pictures to television stations.
Through his wholly owned corporation, Krypton
International, petitioner, C. Elvin Feltner, Jr. (Feltner), has
for many years operated a large film library and been in the
business of licensing the films in that library to television
stations. In the early 1990's, Krypton International’s
subsidiary, Krypton Broadcasting, acquired three television
stations - two in Florida and one in Alabama. The two in
Florida were burdened by substantial programming debt
before Krypton Broadcasting acquired them. As a result,
before he caused Krypton Broadcasting to acquire those
stations, Feltner and his subordinates contacted MCA and
other syndicators to determine whether the licenses then in
force at those stations could be restructured. The syndicators,
including MCA, orally agreed to restructure but not until
after the stations had been purchased. After the stations were
purchased, many syndicators, including MCA, refused to
restructure on terms which would permit the stations to
survive financially.

Feltner tried to operate the stations, but they could not
generate sufficient revenues to pay all of the syndicators’
license fees - including those of MCA - and eventually the
syndicators - including MCA - sent letters to the stations
purporting to terminate the licenses. The total amount of
program debt to MCA for both shown and unshown material
was approximately $500,000.* In its termination notices

The total amount of contract debt then outstanding for the MCA programs
that had been used was only a small fraction of this amount.

5

MCA demanded that the Krypton stations immediately both
stop broadcasting the materials and pay the total amount due
on the contracts. But, it also told Krypton that if payments
were brought up-to-date the licenses would be reinstated.
Acting pursuant to Feltner’s belief based on 30 years in the
licensing business that these letters were only a collection
tactic, the Krypton stations continued to broadcast the MCA
programs. MCA then sued the Krypton stations. When
injunctions were issued, the Krypton stations immediately
ceased broadcasting MCA materials.

In May 1993, MCA and other syndicators filed an
involuntary bankruptcy petition against the Florida stations.
This was later converted to a Chapter XI proceeding involving
all three stations. The stations were then sold at auction, and
MCA was fully compensated for the outstanding program debt
from the proceeds of the bankruptcy sale. MCA has also been
awarded copyright statutory damages against the station
corporations by the bankruptcy court.

MCA filed this suit against Feltner for vicarious and
contributory copyright infringement on November 3, 1993.
On September 26, 1994, the parties entered into a joint
pretrial stipulation. In the stipulation the parties agreed that
there had been 900 showings of copyrighted works. No
specific number of copyrighted works infringed was
mentioned. Among the issues identified as remaining for trial
was the amount of damages. (App. 12a)

On August 22, 1994, MCA moved for summary
judgment on liability. This motion was denied the Friday
before the trial by Judge Davis on the ground that if Feltner
could prove the existence of an oral agreement to modify the

6

preexisting licenses then there would be no infringement. At
the beginning of proceedings on the morning of trial and
without prior notice, Judge Ryskamp instructed Feltner’s
counsel that since Judge Davis appeared to have found all of
the elements necessary for a finding of infringement and the
only element remaining regarding liability was Feltner’s oral
agreement defense, he would require Feltner to proceed first
with that defense. Judge Ryskamp then stated that if he found
that infringement had occurred he would then hold a hearing
on damages. Feltner’s counsel had no notice that such a
procedure was going to be imposed.

Felmer and MCA then presented evidence regarding the oral
agreement issue. Feltmer moved for judgment at the close of
evidence on liability in the belief that further evidence would be
taken on damages if liability was found by the court. At that point
the court informed Feltner's counsel that no further evidence
would be taken and that he would issue a decision the next
morning. The next morning Judge Ryskamp issued his findings.
(App. 17a) He held for MCA on liability; and after expressing his
dissatisfaction with the lack of evidence on damages, he found that
Feltner had willfully infringed MCA’s copyrights. He then
awarded statutory damages of $10,000 for each of 900 works
($9,000,000) without any explanation of the basis for the per work
amount of the award.’ When it was pointed out that in fact there
were substantially fewer than 900 works involved in the case and
that MCA had introduced no evidence of the number of works
infringed, Judge Ryskamp remarked that the court of appeals
would have to sort this out. Timely motions for a new trial and to
alter judgment were filed; both were denied.

>This is the largest reported award of statutory damages under the Copyright
Act.

7

Feltner then appealed to the United States Court of
Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit. On appeal Feltner argued
that the complaint failed to state a federal cause of action
because a person with a contract to exhibit a copyrighted work
who notwithstanding a contract dispute with the licensor
displays the work in accordance with the terms of the contract
cannot be held to have infringed. He also argued that the
evidence could not support a finding of willful infringement,
that the episodes of the various television series involved did
not constitute separate works for purposes of an award of
statutory damages under section 504(c)(1) of the Copyright
Act, that the district court had failed to make sufficient
findings supporting the per work award of Statutory damages,
and that the district court erred in making more than one
award of statutory damages per work infringed.

On July 26, 1996, the Eleventh Circuit affirmed with one
judge dissenting in part. (App. 1a) The Court of Appeals held
that the complaint stated a federal claim under the Copyright
Act. The Eleventh Circuit also upheld the finding of
willfulness and held that the episodes of the television series
constituted separate works for purposes of statutory damages.‘
Also, by a two-to-one vote, it held that more than one award
of statutory damages could be awarded per work infringed in
view of the terms of the pretrial stipulation, notwithstanding
the statutory bar against such double awards. A timely
petition for rehearing with a suggestion of rehearing en banc
followed. That petition was denied on October 7, 1996.
(App. 15a).

“It did not address the issue of the adequacy of the findings in its opinion.

8

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. The decision of the Court of Appeals for the Eleventh
Circuit that a district court has federal subject matter
copyright jurisdiction when a party who has contracted to
license a copyrighted work and has a contract dispute with
the copyright owner continues to display the work conflicts
with decisions of other U.S. Courts of Appeals.

In the Court of Appeals, Feltner contended that the
district court did not have federal subject matter copyright
jurisdiction in a case in which a party who has contracted to
license a copyrighted work and has a contract dispute with
the licensor under the license agreement continues to display
the work during the course of the dispute. The Court of
Appeals disposed of this issue in three short sentences. It
stated:

Feltner initially asserts that the district court lacked
subject matter jurisdiction because this cause did not
‘arise under’ the Copyright Act. 17 U.S.C. §501 ef seq.
Feltner argues that this case involves a breach of contract
claim and that the federal district court therefore did not
have jurisdiction. We disagree and find that the court
had subject matter jurisdiction over MCA’s claim under
the Copyright Act.

(App 3a) The Court of Appeals’ decision directly conflicts
with prior decisions of the Fifth and Second Circuits. In
Fantastic Fakes, Inc. v. Pickwick International, Inc., 661
F.2d 479 (5th Cir. 1981), the former Fifth Circuit held that a
party with a license to use a copyright who has breached a
covenant of the license agreement may not be sued for
copyright infringement if he continues to display the work
after he has been declared to be in default by the licensor.
The Fifth Circuit stated, at 483-484:

9

The question emphasized by Pickwick and focused on by
the trial court was whether conformance with section 2(b)
(of the contract) was a condition of Fantastic’s obligations
under the licensing agreement or merely a covenant.
Both parties agree that if a breach of a condition
precedent is found then the authority to manufacture and
distribute copyrighted material granted in the licensing
agreement did not vest. In that case, Pickwick’s actions
in manufacturing records and tapes would be without the
authority of the copyright owner and would render
Pickwick liable for copyright infringement. See National
Comics Publications, Inc. v. Fawcett Publications, Inc.,
191 F.2d 594 (2d Cir. 1951); 3 Nimmer on Copyright §
10.15. A mere breach of covenant may support a claim
of damages for breach of contract but will not disturb the
remaining rights and obligations under the license
including the authority to use the copyrighted material.

Similarly, in Schoenberg v. Shapolsky Publishers, Inc.,
971 F.2d 926 (2d Cir. 1992), the issue presented was
whether district courts have subject matter jurisdiction in
cases in which a party who breached a license agreement
continued to display the work. The Second Circuit set forth
the following standard to be applied by the district courts in
that Circuit. The Second Circuit stated, at 932-933:

...we instruct courts in this Circuit to undertake a three-
part test...to determine whether a complaint states a cause
of action arising under the Copyright Act. A district
court must first ascertain whether the plaintiff's
infringement claim is only ‘incidental’ to the plaintiff's
claim seeking a determination of ownership or contractual
rights under the copyright...If it is determined that the
claim is not merely incidental, then a district court must
next determine whether the complaint alleges a breach of

10

a condition to, or a covenant of, the contract licensing or
assigning the copyright.... As we noted above, if a
breach of a condition is alleged, then the district court
has subject matter jurisdiction...But if the complaint
merely alleges a breach of a contractual covenant in the
agreement that licenses or assigns the copyright, then the
court must undertake a third step and analyze whether the
breach is so material as to create a right of recission in
the grantor. If the breach would create a right of
recission, then the asserted claim arises under the
Copyright Act. (Citations omitted)

This ruling regarding the standards for determining federal
subject matter copyright jurisdiction has been followed by
district courts in the Second Circuit and other circuits in many
cases: see e.g.,Baptiste v. Khoury, 910 F.Supp. 277
(W.D.La. 1996); USAR Systems, Inc. v. Brain Works, Inc.,
897 F.Supp. 163, 165-66 (S.D.N.Y. 1995); Mother Waddles
Perpetual Mission, Inc. v. Frazier, 904 F.Supp. 603, 607-09
(E.D.Mich.1995) (Lanham Act); Hanna-Barbera Productions
v. Screen Gems-EMI Music, 829 F.Supp. 67, 70-73
(S.D.N.Y. 1993); Living Music Records v. Moss Music
Group, 827 F.Supp. 974, 979-81 (S.D.N.Y. 1993).°

‘The leading text in the copyright area, Nimmer on Copyright, agrees with the
holdings of the Second and Fifth Circuits. Nimmer states, at Vol.3, §10.15:
If a grantee under an assignment or license uses the work in
violation of the provisions of the authorizing instrument, depending
upon the nature of such violation the grantor may have an action for
breach of contract, or he may have a right to reclaim the rights granted
and/or to sue for copyright infringement or he may be able to choose
among such alternatives.

If the grantee’s improper conduct constitutes a breach of a
covenant undertaken by the grantee (as distinguished from his failure to
satisfy a condition to his authorization) and if such covenant constitutes
an enforceable contractual obligation, then the grantor will have a cause
of action for breach of contract.

11

In this case, MCA claimed that Feltner’s stations had
breached the contracts. It asserted that the continued broadcast
of the programs after MCA sent its unilateral notice of
termination but before any judicial finding of breach
constituted infringement and the federal court had copyright
jurisdiction. The Court of Appeals found that federal
jurisdiction existed even though a contract existed and even
though MCA successfully pursued its contract remedies in the
bankruptcy court.

In reaching this result, there is no question that the court
below applied a different standard than that applied by the
Second and Fifth Circuits in similar cases. In particular the
court below did not determine whether the alleged
infringement was incidental to the contract claim, whether
there was a breach of a condition rather than a breach of a
covenant, and if there was a breach of a covenant whether it
was material. Schoenberg, supra.

The decision of the Court of Appeals shifts the relative
bargaining positions of the parties when there is a contract
dispute involving a copyrighted work greatly in favor of the
licensor. It permits licensors to both have their copyright cake
and eat their contract remedy cake too. There is nothing in
the Copyright Act which authorizes such dual relief, and it is
unjust for a party, as here, to be able to stand on its contract
rights and at the same time double recover for copyright
infringement. A licensor’s insistence on being paid the

* * * *

If the nature of a licensee’s violation consists of a failure to
satisfy a condition of the license (as distinguished from a breach of a
covenant), it follows that the rights dependant upon satisfaction of such
condition have not been effectively licensed and therefore any use by
the licensee is without authority from the licensor and may therefore
constitute an infringement of copyright. (Footmotes omitted).

12

contract price should constitute a waiver of any copyright
claims. This is an issue of great importance in the
broadcasting and publishing industries which the court below
has decided in a cursory manner and contrary to the great
weight of authority including decisions of two other Courts
of Appeals. This question has been present in many cases
involving copyrighted works, e.g., Paramount Pictures v.
Metro Program Network, 962 F.2d 775 (8th Cir. 1992);
Topolos v. Caldewey, 698 F.2d 991 (9th Cir.) cert den. 381
U.S. 915 (1983), and other intellectual property interests,
Mother Waddles Perpetual Mission, Inc. v. Frazier, 904
F.Supp. 603, 607-09 (E.D.Mich. 1995)(trademarks), and
there has been much confusion about the resolution of this
question. Therefore, a grant of certiorari review is warranted
to establish clear standards for federal jurisdiction in this area
of the law.°

II. A party which has contracted to license a copyrighted
work, breached the contract, and continued to display the
work may not be found to have willfully infringed the
copyright for purposes of an award of statutory copyright
damages, 17 U.S.C. §504(c)(2), because another U.S.
Court of Appeals has described the issue of whether such
conduct even constitutes infringement as “a complex issue
in a ‘murky’ area.”

Section 504 (c)(1) of the Copyright Act, 17
U.S.C.§504(c)(1), provides that an award of statutory
copyright damages may be no less than $500 and no more
than $20,000 per work infringed in the discretion of the court.
Section 504(c)(2) of the Copyright Act, 17 U.S.C. §504(c)(2),

°This question is also pending in the Ninth Circuit in a case involving
petitioner. Columbia Pictures Television, Inc. v. Krypton International
Corp., et al., Case No. 94-55816. That appeal was argued on November 15,
1995 and is still pending.

13

provides that upon a finding of willful infringement the court
may award statutory damages of up to $100,000 per work
infringed. Here, MCA sought Statutory damages and alleged
that Feltner’s infringement was willful. The district court
agreed and found that his conduct was willful.

The district court held that Feltner knew that MCA’s
revocation of the licenses prevented him from lawfully
broadcasting the programs and therefore he knew his conduct
constituted infringement. However, the evidence was that
Feltner had been in the business of licensing motion pictures
as a licensor for thirty years, that he understood based on his
experience that the mere breach of the agreement doves not
constitute infringement, and that he based his conduct on this
belief He further testified that he conducted his own licensing
business in this fashion.

The court below stated that the proper standard to be
applied in determining whether an infringer has acted willfully
is whether the infringer acted “...with knowledge that (his)
conduct constitutes copyright infringement.” (App. 4a) When
this standard is considered in the light of the Second Circuit’s
statement in Schoenberg, supra, at 931, that:

The question of whether the breach of a contract licensing
Or assigning a copyright gives rise to a federal cause of
action under the Copyright Act is a complex issue in a
‘murky’ area. (Emphasis added),

it is clear that the Eleventh Circuit viewed this determination
in light of its view of the jurisdictional issue. It is also clear
that the Second Circuit would have reached a contrary result.

While this Court might ultimately hold that Feltner’s
conduct constitutes infringement, it is difficult to see how
such conduct could lead to a finding of willfulness when the
Second and Fifth Circuits have held that the conduct here does

id

not even constitute copyright infringement.’ Certiorari is
appropriate here to determine what the appropriate standard
is to support a finding of willfulness.

III. The decision of the Court of Appeals for the Eleventh
Circuit that for purposes of statutory damages under the
Copyright Act, 17 U.S.C. §504(c)(1), the episodes of a
television series constitute separate works conflicts with
decisions of other Courts of Appeals.

A. MCA sought separate awards of statutory damages for
each episode of each television series alleged to have been
infringed. Feltner argued that the episodes were not separate
works but were parts of larger works - the series. Both the
district court and the Court of Appeals found that each
episode was a separate work. Se

It is undisputed and the Court of Appeals correctly noted
that the term “work” is undefined in the Copyright Act. The
Court of Appeals also noted that the circuits which have
considered the issue have generally held that separate
copyrights are not distinct works “unless they can live their
own copyright life.” (App.4a) Gamma Audio & Video v. Ean-
Chea, 11 F.3d 1106 (ist Cir. 1993); Walt Disney Co. v.
Powell, 897 F.2d 565 (D.C.Cir. 1990).°

Thus, in Walt Disney, the court stated, at 569:

The Act does not define ‘work’ but explains that “all parts
of a compilation or derivative work constitute one work.’
...Courts and scholars have gone further, however, in

’The Panel appears to have given this issue short shrift because the district
court did not assess the enhanced damage award permitted under 17 U.S.C.§
504(c)(2) for willful infringement. However, the determination of
willfulness has other adverse consequences for Feltner.

‘The Second Circuit in Twin Peaks Productions, Inc. v. Publications
International, Ltd. , 996 F.2d 1366 (2d Cir. 1993), seemed to apply a literary
analysis standard to this question.

15

defining ‘work’ for the purpose of determining damages.
The Second Circuit has explained that separate copyrights
are not distinct works unless they can ‘live their own
copyright life.’ In the same vein, one of its district
courts has aetermined that where separate copyrights
‘have no separate economic value, whatever their artistic
value, they must be considered part of [a]...work for
purposes of the copyright statute.’ Nimmer has similarly
Stated that ‘in order to qualify for a separate minimum
award, the work which is the subject of a separate
copyright would have to be itself...viable.’ (Footnotes
and citations omitted)

Similarly, in Gamma Audio, the First Circuit Stated, at

1116-17:

The term ‘work’, is undefined under the Copyright
Act. Although the 7win Peaks court did not undertake
the task of supplying a definition, one court of appeals
has posited that “separate copyrights are not distinct
works unless they can ‘live their own copyright life.’”....
The test set forth in Walt Disney is a functional one, with
the focus on whether each expression (or in our case,
television episode) has an independent economic value
and is, in itself, viable.

Although the Eleventh Circuit purported to adopt the
independent copyright life approach of Walt Disney and
Gamma Audio, it in fact strayed far from the principles of
those cases in finding that the individual episodes were
separate works.

First, it pointed to the fact that the episodes were
separately copyrighted. Aside from the fact that there was no
proof of this in the trial record, it is legally irrelevant. For
example, section 504(c)(1) of the Copyright Act, 17 U.S.C.
§504(c)(1), provides that all parts of a compilation are treated

16

as one work for purposes of statutory damages. (The
definition of “compilation” in 17 U.S.C. §101 provides that
a “collective work” is also a compilation.) This is true, of
course, even if separate portions of the compilation or
collective work are separate works or are separately
copyrighted.

Second, the Court of Appeals completely misconstrued
the First Circuit’s decision in Gamma Audio. In Gamma
Audio, the First Circuit adopted the independent copyright life
approach of the District of Columbia Circuit but held that
since the television series episodes in question were rented
separately by video stores they stood alone from an economic
perspective and therefore lived their own copyright life. By
contrast, the uncontradicted evidence in this case is that
individual episodes of the series in question are never sold or
licensed separately. Thus, the Eleventh Circuit's decision,
while paying lip service to the independent life standard,
adopts the position that, notwithstanding the separate
copyright life standard for determining what is a work, an
episode of a series is automatically a separate work for
purposes of statutory damages; in essence the decision of the
court below is contrary to the holdings in Walt Disney and
Gamma Audio. This is an issue of great importance to both
broadcasters and syndicators which has arisen in many
statutory damage cases, and this Court should grant certiorari
to resolve this conflict.

B. In response to MCA's request for an award of statutory
damages for each episode, Feltner alternatively contended that
the series in question were “collective works.” Under section
504 (c)(1) of the Copyright Act all parts of a compilation are
one work for purposes of statutory damages. Section 101 of
the Copyright Act defines the term “compilation” to
include a “collective work”. A “collective work” is then

17

defined as “a work, such as a periodical issue, anthology, or
encyclopedia, in which a number of contributions,
constituting separate and independent works in themselves,
are assembled into a collective whole.” The question is
whether the series in question are collective works subject to
only one award of statutory damages.

An anthology, which is one type of collective work, can
be either a collection of works on the same subject by
different authors or a collection of works on different subjects
by one author. Feltner contends that the series here are
anthologies because they are a group of related works by one
author. In rejecting this claim, the Court of Appeals relied
on the Second Circuit’s decision in Twin Peaks Productions,
Inc. v. Publications International, Ltd., 996 F.2d 1366 (2d
Cir. 1993). However, the Twin Peaks court did not consider
the issue of whether the Twin Peaks series was a collective
work. Rather, it considered the issue of whether the episodes
were separate works and rejected the independent copyright
life test of the First and District of Columbia Circuits. This is
an important issue in this industry, and its resolution will
affect every copyright statutory damage case involving the
television industry. As a result a grant of certiorari is
warranted with respect to it.

IV. The decision of the Court of Appeals for the Eleventh
Circuit that awarded respondent more than one award of
statutory damages per work infringed conflicts with a
decision of another U.S. Court of Appeals.
Section 504 (c)(1) of the Copyright Act provides, in
pertinent part:
...the copyright owner may elect...an award of statutory
damages for all infringements involved in the action, with
respect to any one work...in a sum of not less than $500

18

‘or more than $20,000 as the court considers just.
(Emphasis addec)

It is clear that a court may not make more than one award of
statutory damages per work infringed no matter how many
times it has been infringed. Mason v. Montgomery Data,
Inc., 967 F.2d 135, 143-144 (Sth Cir. 1992). However, in
this case, the district court did just that, and the majority of
the Court of Appeals affirmed over Judge Bright's
strenuous dissent. The majority justified its departure from
settled precedent and express statutory language by its
interpretation of the joint pretrial stipulation. In that
stipulation, the parties agreed that there had been 900
broadcasts of copyrighted materials, but they did not stipulate
to the number of works which had been infringed. At trial,
no evidence was submitted which showed which motion
pictures or series episodes had actually been broadcast, and
none could be presented because the district court improperly
truncated the trial and relieved MCA of its burden of showing
how many works were actually infringed.”

In its findings, the district court stated that it could not

_..discern from the Joint Pretrial Stipulation whether each
of the 900 acts of infringement involved a separate work.

(App. 37a) Then after stating that Feltner had not specifically
raised this issue in the stipulation or before trial, the district
court stated that:

°The district court’s failure to give to Feltner notice of the procedure it
intended to follow and its subsequent failure to adhere to that procedure by
themselves warrant reversal. Louisiana Power & Light Co. v. United Gas
Pipeline Co., 456 F.2d 326, 332 (Sth Cir. 1971) reversed on other grounds
sub nom., FPC v. Louisiana Power & Light Co., 406 U.S. 621 (1972);
Lucas v. Dep’t of Corrections, 66 F.3d 245 (9th Cir. 1995). The dissent
criticized the majority for failing to address this flaw in the proceedings.
(App. 12a, fn.2)

19

“[it] must accept for the basis of its award of Statutory
damages the parties’ stipulation that Feltner was
responsible for the unauthorized telecasts of MCA’s
programs on 900 separate occasions.”

(App. 37a). On appeal, the majority also focused on the fact
that the parties stipulated that the Krypton stations had
broadcast the works in question at least 900 times after the
notice of termination was sent and that each act “constitutes
a separate act of infringement.” (App. 9a) The majority held
that by agreeing to this formulation Feltner had failed to
preserve for trial the issue of whether there could be more
than one award per work. It also held that Feltner presented
no evidence at trial that the 900 infringing acts in question
involved multiple infringements of the same works.The
majority decision is inconsistent with the facts, distorts the
meaning of the stipulation, and unjustly finds a waiver of the
Copyright Act’s protections where none was intended.

In his dissent, Judge Bright addressed each of these
issues. First, he noted that the stipulation expressly reserved
the issue of “what statutory damages shall be awarded in
favor of MCA under §504(c) of the Copyright Act.”
(App.12a) He also stated that the issue of one award per
work was necessarily subsumed in this issue because the
amount of the award could not be determined until the number
of works infringed was determined.

Second, Judge Bright pointed out that the burden of proof
on this issue was on MCA. Feltner had no burden, and if
MCA produced no evidence on this issue, it could be awarded
only one award of statutory damages since there would be,
and in fact was, no proof that more than one work had been
infringed. Judge Bright’s parting words on this subject also
bear repeating:

20

In my view, a court should hold a party to the language
of the stipulation and nothing more. Feltner stipulated
only to 900 telecasts of copyrighted material without
MCA’s authority, not to 900 works. Furthermore, the
issues of law raised in the pretrial stipulation concerned
the amount of statutory damages to be awarded. The
$9,000,000 award is grossly unfair under these
circumstances. I dissent and would remand for a proper
assessment of statutory damages based on each work
shown to be infringed. (Emphasis in original)

Id. In sum this issue warrants certiorari review because the
majority affirmed a judgment which is contrary to fact, an
express provision of the Copyright Act and a decision of the
Fifth Circuit. In addition, the majority’s holding is
detrimental to the efficient administration of justice because
when attorneys realize that, as in this case, a misconstruction
of a joint pretrial stipulation can result in the loss of legal
rights and millions of dollars (more than $3 million here) they
will be reluctant to stipulate to anything.

V. The Court of Appeals acted contrary to the
requirements of Rule 52 (a) of the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure and decisions of other courts of appeals by not
remanding to the district court to explain the basis of its
award of $10,000 per infringement.

Section 504(c)(1) limits the amount of the award per work
infringed to “a sum of not less than $500 or more than
$20,000 as the court considers just.” In this case, the District
Court made an award of $10,000 per work which is within the
range permitted by statute. But, since there were 900 such
awards, the total award was $9 million. This is the largest
such award ever made. However, while Judge Ryskamp stated
that in making a statutory damage award the court must
consider the consequences of the infringement and he did find

21

that MCA did not suffer any loss from the infringement and
that Krypton did get some indeterminate amount of revenue,
he did not explain the basis of the amount of his award. In
particular, he did not explain why in a case where the
plaintiff would receive the full measure of contract damages
(plus retain the value of the unbroadcast programs) and no
distinct harm to the copyright was proved or claimed, it was
proper to an award an amount equal to 1800 percent of the
amount of the contract claim. Thus, the award was totally
random and devoid of any evidentiary basis because, as Judge
Ryskamp himself noted, no evidence was presented on the
issue of the amount of MCA’s loss, if any, or any other
relevant factor. This, of course, was the result of Judge
Ryskamp’s decision to first bifurcate the trial into liability and
damage phases and his later refusal to permit the damage
phase to go forward.

The important point though is that while his finding can

be reviewed only for abuse of discretion, it is impossible to
perform any review when there is no evidence on the issue
and no explanation to support it. This was an issue which
Feltner raised in his briefs before the Court of Appeals, and
it is an issue which the Court of Appeals assiduously ignored.

While the issue of the need for findings to support a
Statutory damages award has not been addressed by any of the
other courts of appeals, the standards to be applied in making
such an award have been addressed by various district courts
and the Second Circuit. These district courts have generally
held that in making a statutory damage determination the court
should consider the following factors: (1) the amount the
copyright owner lost; (2) the amount the infringer saved by
infringing; (3) the amount of the infringer’s gain from
infringing; and (4) whether the infringer acted willfully. Nik-
O-Val Music Co. v. P.O.S. Radio, Inc., 665 F. Supp. 826

22

(N.D.Fla.1987); Morley Music Co. v. Cafe Continental, Inc.,
777 F. Supp. 1579 (S.D.Fla. 1991); Jobete Music v. Media
Broadcasting Corp., 713 F. Supp. 174 (MDNC 1988). And,
in Warner Bros., Inc. v. Dae Rim Trading,Inc., 877 F.2d
1120 (2d Cir. 1989), the court remarked, at 1126:

Statutory damages are awarded when no actual damages
are proven or they are difficult to calculate. F.W.
Woolworth Co. v. Contemporary Artists, Inc., 344 U.S.
228, 231, 73 S.Ct. 222, 224, 97 L.Ed. 276 (1952). In
making a statutory award, the court may consider the
likelihood of profits and losses and may take into account
the attitude and conduct of the parties.

Thus, in reaching its result, the court below has issued a
decision which sub silentio is inconsistent with one by the
Second Circuit. If evidence had been taken on these issues, it
would have been shown that MCA lost about $500,000 but
that it was going to receive approximately this amount from
the bankruptcy proceeding, that the stations gained nothing by
the infringements, and that the stations lost money whenever
they showed the MCA programming.

Further, although the issue of the need for findings in a
bench trial has not been addressed in the specific context of
copyright statutory damages, Rule 52 (a) of the Federal Rules
of Civil Procedure provides in pertinent part that:

In all actions tried upon the facts without a jury or with
an advisory jury, the court shall find the facts specifically
and state separately its conclusions of law thereon....

The requirement of Rule 52(a) that trial courts must make
findings of fact and conclusions of law in bench trials is
mandatory. See, e.g. H. Prang Trucking Co. v. Local Union
No. 469, 613 F.2d 1235, 1238 (3d Cir. 1980); Featherstone
v. Brash, 345 F.2d 246, 249-50(10th Cir. 1965); Louis
Vuitton, S.A. v. Lee, 875 F.2d 584, 587 (7th Cir. 1989). The

23

failure to make findings and explain the basis for the result is
contrary to law and frustrates the ability of an appellate court
to perform its functions. This failure of the court below to
remand on this issue conflicts with decisions of other circuits,
and in view of the increasing number of copyright statutory
damage cases being filed, this Court should establish the
factors which district courts should consider in making
statutory damage awards and remand to the district court to
make such findings.

CONCLUSION

This case involves numerous substantive questions which
will arise in almost every copyright statutory damage case.
The law is unsettled on all of these questions and the circuits
have resolved them in differing fashions. This Court should
grant the petition for certiorari in order to resolve these
questions. Further, since all of the issues raised in this
Petition are also pending in another case involving petitioner
in the Ninth Circuit,’° petitioner requests that consideration of
this Petition be held in abeyance pending decision by the
Ninth Circuit. This would avoid the possibility of different
results on the same issues for one party.

Respectfully Submitted,

Richard I. Chaifetz
9194-B Red Branch Road
Columbia, MD 21045
410-964-5573

Counsel of Record

'° Colum ia Pictures Television, Inc., supra.

24

H. Scott Hecker

Philip L. Schwartz

517 Southwest First Ave.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
954-523-3811

APPENDIX

la

United States Court of Appeals,
Eleventh Circuit.

No. 95-4424.

MCA TELEVISION LTD.,
a Delaware Corporation, Plaintiff-Appellee,

v.
C. Elvin FELTNER, Jr.
Defendant-Appellant,

J. Clifford Curley, et al., Defendants.

July 26, 1996.

Licensor of syndicated television programs brought
copyright infringement action against licensee, alleging
licensee continued to broadcast the programs after licensing
agreements were terminated. The United States District Court
for the Southern District of Florida, No. 93-14213-CIV-EBD.,
Edward B. Davis, J., entered $9 million judgment in favor of
licensor, and licensee appealed. The Court of Appeals, Barkett,
Circuit Judge, held that: (1) evidence was sufficient to establish
that licensee willfully infringed licensor’s copyrights, as
required to support award of enhanced statutory damages; (2)
each episode of syndicated television series broadcast by
licensee after licensing agreement expired, rather than series
itself, was a separate “work” for purposes of awarding statutory
damages; and (3) whether district court erred in calculating
statutory damages by awarding damages for multiple airings of
same episode was not properly placed before district court.

Affirmed.

..
aa

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Southern District of Florida.

Bright, Senior Circuit Judge, sittng by designation, filed
dissenting opinion.

Before COX and BARKETT, Circuit Judges and
BRIGHT , Senior Circuit Judge.

BARKETT, Circuit Judge:

C. Elvin Feltner, Jr., appeals from a $9 million judgment
against him in favor of MCA Television following a non-jury
copyright infringement trial. Feltner contends that the
judgment must be reversed because the district court (1) lacked
subject matter jurisdiction, (2) erred in finding that he breached
licensing agreements when he failed to pay licensing fees that
had become due under those agreements, and, finally (3) erred
in calculating damages. We affirm.

Factual Background

MCA owns syndicated television programs and Feltner
owns television stations. MCA and Feltner entered into an
agreement in which MCA licensed Feltner to show certain
programs, such as “Kojak” and “The A-Team.” When Feltner
failed to pay fees that had become due, MCA suspended his
right to televise its programs. Notwithstanding the suspension,
Feltner continued to televise the MCA programs. MCA sued
Feltner claiming 900 separate acts of copyright infringement;
one for each unauthorized program that Feltner aired. The
district court found for MCA, awarded $10,000 pursuant to
statute for each of the 900 unauthorized programs aired, and
entered a $9 million judgment against Feltner.

*Honorable Myron H. Bright, Senior U.S. Circuit Judge for the
Eighth Circuit, sitting by designation.

4

Ja

Discussion

[1] Feltner initially asserts that the district court lacked
subject matter jurisdiction because this cause did not “arise
under” the Copyright Act. 17 U.S.C. § 501 ef seg. Feltner
argues that this case involves a breach of contract claim and
that the federal district court therefore did not have jurisdiction.
We disagree and find that the court had subject matter
jurisdiction over MCA’s claim under the Copyright Act. See
Sullivan v. Naturalis, 5 F.3d 1410, 1413 (11th Cir. 1993).

[2] Feltner next asserts that the district court erred in
finding that he breached the licensing agreements when he
failed to pay the licensing fees. The licensing agreements
provided that, if Feltner failed to pay the licensing fees, MCA
could terminate Feltner’s right to broadcast MCA programs.
Feltner does not dispute that he failed to pay the fees. He
argues, rather, that MCA waived its right to terminate the
licensing agreements because MCA treated prior termination
letters merely as collection letters to induce payment. We
conclude that the district court’s factual finding that MCA did
not waive its right to terminate the licensing agreements was
not clearly erroneous.

Finally, Feltner argues that the district court erred in its
calculation of damages in various ways, only some of which we
find necessary to discuss here. Initially, we reject Feltner’s
assertion that the district court erred in finding that Feltner
acted “willfully” in infringing MCA’s copyright, which resulted
in a higher statutory damages determination. Section 504(c)(1)
of the Copyright Act, 17 U.S.C. § 504(c), provides that the
copyright owner may elect to recover, instead of actual
damages and profits, an award of statutory damages “in a sum
of not less than $500 or more than $20,000" for each
infringement. See 17 U.S.C. § 504(c)(1) (1996). Section
504(c)(2) provides for an enhanced damages award if the

_ 4a
infringement was willful and for a reduced award if the
infringement was innocent. One commentator has stated that
“fiji seems clear that as here used ‘willfully’ means with
knowledge that the defendant’s conduct constitutes copynght
infringement.” 3 Nimmer on Copyright (1990), § 14.04[B], 14-
58-60 (emphasis added).

(3] We note that, although the district court found that
Feltner’s infringements of MCA’s copyrights were “willful, not
‘nnocent. in nature,” the district court awarded damages of
$10,000 per airing, an amount which did not require a finding
of willfulness. In any event, the district court’s finding that
Feltner acted willfully was not clearly erroneous. As the court
pointed out, Feltner knew that MCA’s revocation of his
stations’ license to air MCA programs prevented him from
lawfully broadcasting them. As such, Feltner knew his conduct
constituted copyright infringement.

[4] Feltner also argues that the district court erred in
calculating damages because it awarded damages for each
episode broadcast, as opposed to each series, as a separate
“work.” Although the federal Copyright Act allows for
damages based on each “work,” see 17 U.S.C. § 504(c)(1)
(providing that “the copyright owner may elect, at any time
before final judgment is rendered, to recover, instead of actual
damages and profits, an award of statutory damages for all
infringements involved in the action, with respect to any one
work’) (emphasis added), it does not define the term “work.”

The circuits that have defined “work” have held that
“separate copyrights are not distinct ‘works’ unless they can
‘live their own copyright life.” ” Gamma Audio & Video, Inc.,
v. Ean-Chea, 11 F.3d 1106 (1st Cir. 1993); Robert Stigwood
Group, Ltd. v. O'Reilly, 530 F.2d 1096, 1105 (2nd Cir. 1976);
Walt Disney Co. v. Powell, 897 F.2d 565, 569 (D.C. Cir. 1990).
This test focuses on whether each expression has an

Sa

independent economic value and is, in itself, viable. 11 F.3d at
1116, 530 F.2d at 1105, 897 F.2d at 568.

Feltner asserts that the industry practice is to enter
contracts for television series, not individual episodes of series,
and that no one would purchase and air just one episode of a
series. He argues that, for these reasons, an individual episode
of a series does not have independent value, is not
“commercially viable,” and therefore is not a “work” under the
test adopted by the First, Second, and D.C. Circuits.

Although we agree with the test adopted by other circuits
in defining a “work,” we find that Feltner has failed to meet it
here. Indeed, in Gamma, the First Circuit rejected the same
argument Feltner now makes. Gamma involved a video rental
store, Ean-Chea, that reproduced and rented unauthorized
videotape copies. 11 F.3d at 1108. The district court found
that Ean-Chea infringed the copyrights of four episodes of a
Chinese language television series owned by Gamma. In
calculating statutory damages, the district court gave Gamma
a single award, concluding that although Ean-Chea had
infringed upon the copyrights in four separate episodes of the
series, these episodes constituted only one work based in part
on the fact that Gamma sells or rents only complete sets of the
series to video stores. /d. at 1115. The First Circuit reversed,
reasoning that

[a] distributor’s decision to sell or rent complete sets
of a series to video stores in no way indicates that
each episode in the series is unable to stand alone.
More significant for present purposes is the fact that
(1) viewers who rent the tapes from their local video
stores may rent as few or as many tapes as they want,
may view one, two, or twenty episodes in a single
sitting, and may never watch or rent all of the

6a

episodes; and (2) each episode in the [ ] series was
separately produced.

Id. At 1117.

Similarly, the decision of a distributor of television
programs to sell television series as a block, rather than as
individual shows, in no way indicates that each episode in a
series is unable to stand alone. Each episode was produced
independently from the other episodes and each was aired
independently from preceding and subsequent episodes.
Moreover, each episode, and not ea sh series, was individually
copyrighted by MCA.

[5] Along the same lines, we reject Feltner’s argument
that each episode was part of a “collective work.” Section
504(c)(1) provides that “all parts of a compilation ... constitute
one work.” The Copyright Act defines “compilation” as

a work formed by the collection and assembling of
preexisting materials or of data that are selected,
coordinated, or arranged in such a way that the
resulting work as a whole constitute an original work
of authorship. The term “compilation” includes
collective works.

17 U.S.C. § 101 (emphasis added). A “collective work” is “a
work, such as a periodical issue, anthology, or encyclopedia, in
which a number of contributions, constituting separate and
independent works in themselves, are assembled into a
collective whole.” Jd.

Feltner points to a clause in the licensing agreements
referring to anthologies and argues that each series at issue here
in an anthology. We are not persuaded. In Twin Peaks
Productions, Inc., v. Publications International, Ltd., 996 F.2d
1366 (2nd Cir. 1993), the Second Circuit addressed the issue of
the appropriate unit for determining statutory copyright

7a

damages. There, Publications International had published a
book containing a detailed discussion of the plots of eight
episodes of the television show “Twin Peaks.” Publications
International argued, as Feltner does here, that, although each
episode of “Twin Peaks” was individually copyrighted, it
constituted a single work under section 504 of the Copyright
Act. The Second Circuit rejected this argument, stating that
“[t]he author of eight scripts for eight television episodes is not
limited to one award of statutory damages just because he or
she can continue the plot line from one episode to the next and
hold the viewers’ interest without furnishing a resolution.” Jd.
At 1381

Feltner’s argument is not as strong as that rejected by the
Second Circuit in Twin Peaks. Whereas “Twin Peaks”
involved a series of eight shows with a plot that linked the
shows together into one cohesive story, the programs at issue
here — “The A Team” and “Kojak” — are series with individual
plots in each episode. Thus, the district court properly awarded
damages for each television episode, rather than for each series,
broadcast as a separate “work.”

[6] Finally, Feltner asserts that the district court erred in
calculating damages because it awarded damages for multiple
airings of the same episode. He argues that, under the
Copyr'ght Act, statutory damages are based on each “work”
infringed, rather than each infringement, see 17 U.S.C. §
504(c), and that if the same episode is aired three times, only
one work has been infringed, not three. MCA responds that
Feltner did not properly place this issue before the district court
for determination and that, as a result, we cannot reach the
merits of the issue. We agree with MCA.

Section 504(c)(1) provides that “the copyright owner may
elect ... an award of statutory damages for all infringements
involved in the action, with respect to any one work....”

8a

(emphasis added). The Fifth Circuit summarized the effect of
section 504(c)(1): -

Under this section, the total number of “awards” of
statutory damages (each ranging from $500 to
$20,000) that a plaintiff may recover in any given
action depends on the number of works that are
infringed and number individually liable infringers,
regardless of the number of infringements of those
works. So if a plaintiff proves that one defendant
committed five separate infringements of one
copyrighted work, that plaintiff is entitled to only one
award of statutory damages ranging from $500 to
$20,000. And if a plaintiff proves that two different
defendants each committed five separate
infringements of five different works , the plaintiff is
entitled to ten awards, not fifty.

Mason v. Montgomery Data Inc., 967 F.2d 135, 143-44 (Sth
Cir. 1992); see also Walt Disney Company v. Powell, 897 F.2d
565, 569 (D.C. Cir. 1990).

In this case, however, the district court determined that the
parties had failed to raise the issue of whether multiple airings
of the same episode were included within the 900 broadcasts of
MCA programs that Feltner agreed he aired after MCA had
withdrawn Feltner’s license. The district court concluded that
the parties had agreed in the pretrial stipulation that, if Feltner
were found liable for copyright infringement, the number of
works infringed was 900, one for each of the programs Feltner
aired after MCA withdrew Feltner’s license.

Rule 16.1E of the Local Rule of the Southern District of
Florida instructs parties to file a Joint Pretrial Stipulation no
later than five days prior to the pretrial conferences. Rule
16.1E provides that “[t]he pretrial stipulation shall contain ...
[a] concise statement of issues of law which remain for

9a

determination by the court.” Rule 16.1G further provides that
“the pretrial stipulation ... will control the course of the trial.”
We previously have stated that we owe great deference to the
trial judge’s interpretation and enforcement of pretrial
stipulations. See West Peninsular Title Co. v. Palm Beach
County, 41 F.3d 1490, 1493 (11th Cir. 1995).

In this case, Feltner and MCA agreed in their joint pretrial
stipulation that “[eJach [of Feltner’s] telecasts without MCA’s
authority — totalling at least 900 in number — constitutes a
separate act of copyright infringement.” In the statement of
uncontested facts, the parties agreed that Feltner’s stations
“continued to telecast MCA’s programs after April 13, 1992
[the date MCA withdrew Feltner’s license to telecast the
programs], on a total of at least 900 separate occasions.” In the
“statement of issues of law which remain for determination,”
the parties did not list as a remaining issue whether multiple
airings of a single episode of a program infringed one work or
multiple works. The parties merely stated generally that “what
Statutory damages shall be awarded in favor of MCA under §
504(c) of the Copyright Act” remained to be determined. Thus,
despite agreeing to the fact that 900 acts of copyright
infringement had occurred, nowhere in the pretrial stipulation
did Feltner alert the district court to the specific legal issue of
whether the 900 infringements might include multiple
broadcasts of the same program that did not constitute separate
“works” under Section 504(c).

Moreover, Feltner presented no evidence at trial that the
900 “separate act[s] of copyright infringement” he stipulated to
in the pretrial stipulation involved less than 900 infringements
under Section 504(c) due to multiple airings of the same
program. Feltner failed even to raise this issue until his closing
argument. As the district judge properly pointed out after
announcing his findings, closing argument simply was too late
to raise a new legal issue for the first time. See Fehlhaber v.

10a

Fehlhaber, 681 F.2d 1015, 1030 (Sth Cir. Unit B 1982) (“[A]n
argument first raised in a post judgment motion is simply too
late.”’).

In light of the pretrial stipulation in this case, the deference
we give a district court in interpreting a pretrial stipulation, and
Feltner’s failure to offer evidence at trial on the issue, we find
that the district court did not err in interpreting the pretrial
stipulation as not placing in issue the number of works
infringed. Although Feltner now argues on appeal that 900 acts
of copyright infringement is not the same as 900 works under
section 504(c), the time to raise this issue was in the issues of
law section of the pretrial stipulation, or, at the very latest,
during his case at trial. Because Feltner failed to raise the issue
there, he cannot now raise it here.

Trial courts cannot be expected to try an issue that the
parties have not placed before it. Accordingly, the district court
did not err in refusing to reopen the case after it had announced
its findings to hear evidence on an issue not identified in the
pretrial stipulation. Accordingly, the district court’s judgment
is AFFIRMED.

lla

BRIGHT, Senior Circuit Judge, dissenting:

The district court assessed Feltner $9,000,000 in statutory
damages — $10,00 for each of the 900 occasions on which
MCA’s programming was improperly aired. Because |
believed that the district court incorrectly assessed statutory
damages for each infringement (including repeat showings)
rather than for each work (i.e., individual episode) infringed, I
would remand the case to the district court for a correct
determination of damages.

The court’s opinion correctly observes that the text of
section 504(c)(1) of the Copyright Act and the case law
interpreting the Act make clear that the statute allows only one
award of statutory damages for each work infringed. Section
504(c)(1) provides:

the copyright owner may elect, at any time before
final judgement is rendered, to recover, instead of
actual damages and profits, an award of statutory
damages for a// infringements involved in the action,
with respect to any one work, ....

17 U.S.C. § 504(c)(1) (emphasis added)! See Mason v.
Montgomery Data, Inc., 967 F.2d 135, 143-44 (Sth Cir. 1992)
(“So if a plaintiff proves that one defendant committed five
separate infringements of one copyrighted work, that plaintiff
is entitled to only one award of statutory damages....”); Walt
Disney Co. v. Powell, 897 F.2d 565, 569 (D.C. Cir. 1990)

The legislative history of section 504 provides:

A single infringer of a single work is liable for a single amount
.... MO matter how many acts of infringement are involved in the
action and regardless of whether the acts were separate, isolated,
or occurred in a related series.

H.R. Rep. No. 1476, 94th Cong., 2d Sess., at 162 (1976), reprinted in 1976
U.S.C.C.A.N. 5659, 5778.

12a

(“Both the text of the Copyright Act and its legislative history
make clear that statutory damages are to be calculated
according to the number of works infringed, not the number of
infringements.”’)

This court, however, finds this established legal standard
inapposite because of statements included in the pretrial
stipulation. The majority observes that Feltner presented no
evidence at trial that the 900 “showings” he stipulated to in the
pretrial stipulation amounied to less than 900 “works” due to
multiple telecasts of the same program. The majority contends
that because Feltner failed to raise this issue until after the close
of the evidence, he became estopped from raising the issue in
the district court and from asserting error in that regard on
appeal.” The majority decision represents an erroneous
interpretation of the pretrial stipulation, unjustly shifts the
burden of establishing damages from the plaintiff to the
defendant, and awards the plaintiff damages to which it is not
entitled under the law.

First the issue of damages was properly before the district
court. One of the remaining issues of law specified by the
pretrial stipulation was “what statutory damages shall be
awarded in favor of MCA under § 504(c) of the Copyright
Act.” As developed above, section 504(c) provides for one
award of statutory damages per work infringed. The first
question subsumed in this issue is thus what constitutes a
“work” under the Copyright Act. Although this sub-issue was
not specifically raised in the pretrial stipulation, the district

Feltner argues on appeal that he was surprised by the sudden
close of the trial and that the district court erred by denying him the
opportunity to present evidence on the issue of damages. Although this
claim is not the basis of my dissent, I believe the majority should have
addressed this alleged irregularity in the proceedings before summarily
stating that Feltner “failed to offer evidence” on the damages issue

l3a

court, and indeed this court on appeal, properly addressed ifas
a necessary aspect of the statutory damages claim. Having
resolved this initial question by determining that each episode
constituted a work, the inquiry shifted to how many works had
been infringed. The district court, however, held that this
second sub-issue had not been properly raised. To my mind,
there exists no basis for determining that the pretrial stipulation
raised the first sub-issue but not the second. Both are
subsumed by the issue “what Statutory damages shall be
awarded in favor of MCA under § 504(c) of the Copyright
Act.”

Second, the plaintiff, MCA, bears the burden of
establishing its right to damages. Once the district court
determined that each episode constituted a “work,” it was
MCA’s obligation to establish the number of different episodes
improperly aired. MCA did not carry this burden by the pretrial
stipulation, and the district court plainly erred in finding
otherwise. The pretrial stipulation stated only that there had
been 900 unauthorized telecasts. Contrary to the opinion of the
court, at no point did the pretrial stipulation state the number of
“works” infringed, nor did it provide the number of different
episodes involved.’ Although 900 may have been a convenient

: In fact, what constituted a work was an issue before the district
court and indeed before this court on appeal. MCA contended that each
episode constituted a work, while Feltner maintained that each television
Series was a single work. Since the number of different episodes was
irrelevant under Feltner’s version of the case, he had no reason to develop
those facts at trial. Once the district court determined that each episode
constituted a work and announced that it would use the 900 infringements
established by the pretrial stipulation as the basis of its award, Feltner
argued that several of the showings were of the same episodes and thus
constituted multiple infringements of a single work. See Tr. of Decision at
13-18. The district court held that the argument came too late and refused
to accept evidence on the point.

14a

number, it was not the correct number of “works.” It was

MCA’’s obligation to establish the number of works infringed.
The district court should not have determined MCA’s failure to
fully develop its damages claim in a manner favorable toMCA
and detrimental to the defendant.

In my view, a court should hold a party to the language of
the stipulation and nothing more. Feltner stipulated only to 900
telecasts of copyrighted material without MCA’s authority, not
to 900 works. Furthermore, the issues of law raised in the
pretrial stipulation concerned the amount of statutory damages
to be awarded. The $9,000,000 award is grossly unfair under
these circumstances. I dissent and would remand for a proper
assessment of statutory damages based on each work shown to
be infringed.

. During the hearing at which the district court orally made its
judgment, the district court allowed Feltner to put evidence into the record
concerning the number of the 900 showings which were repeat broadcasts
of the same episodes. Feltner’s statements indicated that at least 300
showings were repeats. See Tr. of Decision at 15-17. At $10,000 per
infringement this amounts to over $3,000,000 in excess damages.

15a

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 95-4424

MCA TELEVISION LIMITED, a
Delaware Corporation,
Plaintiff-Appellee,

versus

C. ELVIN FELTNER, Jr..
Defendant-Appellant,

J. CLIFFORD CURLEY, ETAL
Defendants.

On Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Florida

ON PETITIONS) FOR REHEARING AND
SUGGESTION(S) OF REHEARING EN BANC (Opinion

,11thCir.,19__, F.2d )

Before: COX and BARKETT, Circuit Judges and “BRIGHT,
Senior Circuit Judge.

PER CURIAM:

The Petition(s) for Rehearing are DENIED and no member of
this panel nor other Judge in regular active service on the Court
having requested that the Court be polled on rehearing en banc

Honorable Myron H. Bright, Senior U.S. Circuit Judge for the
Eight Circuit, sitting by designation.

l6a

(Rule 35, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure; Eleventh
Circuit Rule 35-5), the Suggestion(s) of Rehearing En Banc are
DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

UNITED STATES CIRCUIT JUDGE

ee kd hee ener et he Peet Metso Neate! ~ a>

17a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA
NORTHERN DIVISION

MCA TELEVISION, LTD.,
Plaintiff

Docket No.
3-14213-CIV-RYSKAMP

)

)

)

) Ft. Pierce, Fl
v. ) October 18, 1994

) 10:30 a.m.
C. ELVIN FELTNER, )

Defendant. )

)

xX

VOLUME 2
[RANSCRIPT OF TRIAL
BEFORE THE HONORABLE KENNETH L. RYSKAMP

APPEARANCES:

For the Government: CHRISTOPHER K. KAY, ESQ.
MICHAEL BODINE, ESQ.

For the Defendant: H. SCOTT HECKER, ESQ.
PHILIP SCHWARTZ, ESQ.
RICHARD CHAIFETZ, ESQ.

Court Reporter: Richard Greenspan, CSR, RPR, CM, CRR
United States Courthouse
West Palm Beach, FL 33401

18a

THE COURT: Good morning.

At the conclusion of all the evidence and the arguments
that have been submitted by counsel, the court has reviewed all
of the cases that have been submitted, and I appreciate your
help and the good presentation both sides made in focusing on
the issues.

Of course, the issues have been somewhat narrowed by
Judge Davis’ order of last Friday, and out (sic) tthe outset, for
the record, I would adopt all of those findings and conclusions.
I will not restate any of those. He made certain findings as to
undisputed facts for summary judgment. He made some
conclusions of law with regard to the necessary showing for
copyright infringement. So all of those findings and
conclusions are incorporated here.

I have tried to narrow down the issues that remain for the
court to determine and I have identified about six issues here
and I will deal with them in order.

The first one deals with subject matter jurisdiction of this
court. This was raised yesterday by the defendant. It would
seem as though in the prior cases it was raised also and ruled

upon.

I find that I do not have to spend much time at this point.
This is an action for copyright infringement. It’s not an action
for breach of contract. The plaintiff has clearly elected
statutory damages under Section 504 and the court concludes
that it does have subject matter jurisdiction.

The second issue is whether the defendant has established
his affirmative defense of an oral contract to restructure the
debt.

Now, I think it is significant that there are really no
exhibits that have established this particular defense. There are

YL BR SAS eh NR EAN MENT TPO OREN EB

6K erst s des

19a

a number of letters going back and forth, and the most that you
can glean from these letters is that the plaintiff wanted to be
paid and that the defendant wanted more time to pay. There
seems to be no effort at a concerted restructuring, a formalized
restructuring of the debt. The April 13 letter even left open,
and this is the letter that says you have got to stop showing the
particular programming, left open a “payment arrangement.”

So I find that the plaintiff was probably always willing to
work out some reasonable financial arrangement. The
defendant never offered a reasonable financial arrangement.
The letters from Krypton merely refer to a hope that they might
become current in the future. There was no testimony that a
deal was agreed to. There was some testimony that the plaintiff
would consider such a deal.

Mr. Feltner testified he would not have purchased these
stations if there was not an extension agreement. However, he

did purchase the stations and there was no extension agreement.

Mr. Dayton did all of the negotiating with the syndicators.
The most that Mr. Dayton could say was that the plaintiff “gave
him a comfortable feeling” that the debt might be restructured.
He also said that he “was led to believe that the debt would be
restructured.” Dayton denied that Feltner ever stated that he
would not purchase the stations without a restructuring of the
debt, at least he denied that he said it to Mr. Dayton.

I find it rather incredible that somebody could invesi so
many millions of dollars in buying stations if the debt were that
critical and not have a formalized plan, something that the
parties could put their names on and restructure the debt.

It seems to me it’s in the best interests of the plaintiff to
keep licensing agreements going. That is their bread and
butter. That is the way they make their money, and I think they
would have been open to doing it, but it was never done.

20a

Mr. Feltner said that prior to the acquisition of the stations,
that he talked to everyone about restructuring the debt and that
the news was good. That’s still a far cry from saying you have
got an agreement or a new arrangement.

The contention that these letters were mere collection
efforts is really not a defense to this action. Of course these
letters were collection efforts. But when the collection efforts
failed, the plaintiffs used whatever recourse they had available
to them, and that recourse was to terminate the licensing
agreement. It’s no different from a mortgage holder who
continually says your mortgage is in default, please pay, and he
may pay and he doesn’t foreclose, but finally you get to the end
of the line and you say no more extensions, no more demands
for payment, I am foreclosing the mortgage. And the letters
were pretty clear that is what the plaintiff had in mind and a
reasonable person could not construe those letters any
differently.

The defendant’s sole idea of restructuring the debt was
either to pay when he felt like it and not pay and promise
payment in the future. When I say he, there was a corporation.
He was working through other people, but everybody agreed
through Judge Davis’ order that he made all the decisions in
this regard.

He did testify that he left all of the negotiating to Mr.
Dayton, but that he tried to keep himself informed and he
would be bound by the decisions that were made as the 100
percent stockholder of the Krypton Corporation.

So the court finds that the defendant has failed in his
burden of proving a new oral agreement, and that’s even
assuming that this oral agreement could supersede the written
agreement. The written agreement clearly states that all
negotiations have been incorporated in the agreement; that the

2la

written agreement cannot be amended without having it in
writing signed by the parties.

The third issue for the court is was the infringement by the
defendant wilful. In evaluating the conduct of the parties in
this case, the court bears in mind that the defendant was also in
the business of licensing artistic works. He was not unfamiliar
with the business. He knew exactly how it worked. He knew
the value of any of these properties is in the licensing
agreements, and he knew that these syndicated programs were
essential to his business.

He further knew that he had not paid for this programming.
He further knew by the letter, which any reasonable person
could construe, that his license had been revoked and that he
could not continue to use this material in his broadcasting.

He took a calculated risk in running these programs with
the hopes that he would eventually get the money from the
advertising revenue and be able to pay off, assuming the
plaintiff would accept a later payment.

His statement that he would not stop programming until a
court enjoined him to me is a clear indication of a defiant
attitude. I can’t imagine somebody saying that, looking at the
situation and saying well, to get me to stop programming you
are going to have to get an injunction.

The issues did not take a rocket scientist to figure out
where they were, and the defendant gets a little comfort from
the fact that he did not run the program after being enjoined.
The question is why did it take an injunction to stop him from
running the programs after the letters were received. The court
finds that the defendant wilfully infringed on the plaintiff's

copyright.

The fourth question that I see presented for the court is
what is a work for the purpose of the copyright law. The court

22a

is frank to admit that it has not explored that area before, and
the counsel provided some cases that are helpful in resolving
this issue.

Of course, the defendant contends that each series such as
Rockford Files or Kate and Allie, each series is a work as
opposed to each segment in the series. Now, the evidence
before the court that’s been agreed to is that each segment is

copyrighted.

Now, the court has reviewed the cases cited by counsel and
it seems to me that the case of Twin Peaks Productions v.
Publications International is probably the most instructive. As
you all know, this involved the television series Twin Peaks
and a book that was written by the defendant Publications
International dealing with the plot of that Twin Peaks series.

The court notes, and I quote, “The eight teleplays for Twin
Peaks represents a current television genre in which one or
more plots continue from one episode to another. The style
was popularized by the police series Hill Street Blues and is
still in vogue in the lawyer series LA Law. Twin Peaks carried
the style to its limit by keeping the point of the basic plot, that
is who killed Laura, continuing throughout the first season of
the series beyond the eight episodes at issue in this litigation.”

Then they say, “Whatever the scope of the Stigwood ruling
concerning overlapping copyrights and related components of
single musical production might be under the 1976 Act, we
think it has no application to separately written teleplays
prepared to become episodes of a weekly television series. The
author of eight scripts for eight television episodes is not
limited to one award of statutory damages just because he or
she can continue the plot line from one episode to the next and
hold the viewer’s interests without furnishing a resolution.”

ay ase fn dueilted Piss t tual beeen omer ocodisstamahs desl canecea doit ee a eek Se

os scacianhiihin nahn dih dice Ledeen sea

23a

I think that the series that we have talked about here,
although they may have a common theme and common
character development, come nowhere close to the Twin Peaks
or the-LA law or the Hill Street Blues type of series where you
have that continual carryover of a plot. The character
development certainly are repeated, but I think that the Twin
Peaks decision clearly resolves the issue for the court.

The court in Twin Peaks then went to talk about it might
be a different situation if they had one of John LeClair’s Tinker
Tailor Soldier Spy or Smiley’s People, where you took one
work and had six part to it, maybe a production like Roots,
which has one theme but several segments, that might be a
different situation, but the court went on to say, “In any event,
ours is the easy case of infringement of eight separate works
that warrants eight statutory awards whether the registrations
apply to the teleplays or to the televised episodes.” So the court
finds that each segment of the series is a work as defined by the

copyright law.

The fifth issue is how many infringements have been
established. The parties have stipulated that the defendant
authorized the use of plaintiffs material on 900 separate
occasions. This does not to totally resolve the issue because in
the case of Walt Disney v. Powell, which is 897 F.2d 565 at
569 the court said this. “The district court erred in assessing
damages based upon six violations mistakenly focusing on the
number of infringements rather than the number of works
infringed. Both the text of the copyright act and its legislative
history make clear that statutory damages are to be calculated
according to the number or works infringed and not the number
of infringements. 17 U.S.C. Section 504(c)(1) authorizes a
judge to award damages ‘for all infringements with respect to
any one work.’ As the House Report on the bill explains,
however, only one penalty lies for multiple infringements of
one work.”

24a

Then referring tothe United States Code, the court says a
single infringer of a single work is liable for a single amount,
no matter how many acts of infringement are involved in the
action and regardless of whether the acts were separate, isolated
or occurred in a related series. Moreover, the minimum and
maximum amounts are to be multiplied where multiple works
are involved in the suit. The same is not true with respect to
multiple copyrights or multiple registrations. Then they go on
to say the act does not define a work, but explains that all parts
of the compilation or derivative work constitute one work.

Now, the court cannot tell from the stipulation whether
each infringement, the 900 referred to, involved a separate
work. This issue is further complicated by the fact that there
are three television stations involved. For example, if each
station was running the Rockford Files, and let’s say each one
ran segment 20 of the Rockford Files, is this one infringement
or is it three?

Well, you have got separate corporations that were
infringing, but they were under the direction of one person
becasue we have one defendant here, so if these stations were
parties, the answer might be different from the situation we
have here where we have one party. Can he be guilty of three
infringements on the same particular segment?

Furthermore, does the defendant (sic) have the burden of
proving the separate works infringed or in light of the
stipulation does the defendant have carry that (sic) burden?

Columbia Pictures v. Krypton offers no guidance.
Apparently in that case this issue was never raised. It seems to
me it should have been raised and it seems to me it should have
been raised in this particular case also, but it has not been
raised and so I go back to the pretrial stipulation where no one
says that this is an issue for the court to determine. This is an
issue that came up yesterday in argument, but it is certainly not

25a

an issue that I can find framed by the pretrial stipulation. So
since the parties did not list this as an issue for the court, the
court will accept the stipulation of the parties that there have
been 900 infringements and proceed with that as established.

Issue number 6, what is the proper amount of damages to
be awarded in this case? Now, the plaintiff has elected
Statutory damages. He has the right to do so. The statuture
gives him the right to do so and so the court is not really
concemed about contract damages.

The court has found that there was no innocent
infringements. In fact, to the contrary, the court has found that
the infringement was a wilful violation. Thus, the range for
violation is from $500 to $100,000, obviously quite a
considerable range. Apparently Congress wanted to give the
courts a broad range to deal with any particular unique
situation.

Now, the court has been given very little guidance from the
parties as to what would be the proper amount of damages to
award in a case like this. Such guidance might be evidence
regarding the consequences of this infringement.

It’s clear that the infringement has not destroyed the
plaintiff's right to future licensing. In other words, it hasn’t
diminished the right to use these series or films in the future.
It certainly has diminished to some extent his right to use it in
this market at a given time, but the court is fully aware that
many of these movies and many of these series run over and
over and over again, so the court has to make some
determination of how much diminution of the value of that
right has occurred by running it in violation of the copyright.

It’s also clear that this violation has not limited the
plaintiff's claim to contract damages. The courts seem to be
clear, though, that copyright damages are quite unique and

26a

separate from contract damages and that the proper amount of
contract damages may not govern the proper amount of
copyright damages.

Now, from the defendant’s standpoint the defendant was
able to sell advertising time for the programming that it
illegally aired. The court has had no testimony or any evidence
as to the value, average value of advertising received for any
particular segment, so there is not much to instruct the court’s
enlightened conscience in this particular regard. Again, the
Congress has left too (sic) the amount of statutory damages to
the discretion of the court.

After weighing all of the facts and circumstances in this
case, the court has determined that an award of $10,000 per
violation would be a proper amount of damage for each
infringement. This would result in a judgment in the amount
of $9 million.

Now, I’m fully aware of the award made in the Columbia
case of some $20,000 per infringement. I guess I can only
conclude that Judge Rafeedie’s enlightened conscience differes
from mine and that’s what I think would be a proper award in
this case.

I think that attorney’s fees should be awarded and costs.
The cases that deal with attorney’s fees don’t make it
automatic, but when the plantiff’s position is justified, as it has
been in this case, really hardly without dispute, and the court
has found a wilful violation, I believe attorneys’ fees should be
awarded, and plaintiff will make application for those fees by
affidavits and the defense can respond with their affidavits. I
will wait to hear from the parties whether you want to do it by
affidavit or you want an evidentiary hearing or what you feel is
a proper way to dispose of those issues, both costs and
attorney’s fees.

27a

I believe that I have dealt with all issues before the court.
When I make an oral ruling like this I usually ask the parties are
there any other issues you want me to rule upon that I have not
ruled upon that you feel a ruling would be necessary?

First the plaintiff. Do you feel there is anything?
MR. KAY: No, your Honor.
THE COURT: Does the defendant feel there is anything?

MR. CHAIEFTZ: Yes, your Honor, I have one issue that
your Honor addressed, I am not quite sure that you want me to
talk about this, and that was the number of works.

Last night what I did was I sat down with the affidavits that
were submitted in the summary judgment motion and went
through them to see how many of the 900 were repeats.

THE COURT: That must have been an exciting evening
for you.

MR. CHAIFETZ: Your Honor, it was incredible. Some
of them were really difficult to do, particularly those involving
WNFT -

MR. KAY: Your Honor, if I may just interrupt, if I could.
Are we going to now get into an issue that pertains to the
number of issues which were the subject of the stipulation that
was filed by the parties and which serves as the basis for the
court’s decision today? I think what I heard today was that the
court, based upon the pretail stip filed by the parties
acknowledged there were 900 instances of copyright
infringement.

MR. CHAIFETZ: I haven’t read the stipulation. I have
never seen it, your Honor.

THE COURT: Counsel is correct. I am going to allow
you to put this on the record because this is — well, you raised

28a

it yesterday. It hadn’t been raised before. Frankly, I was at a
loss for a while how to deal with it, but in this district we have
a local rule that requires pretrial stipulations as to which issues
are to be tried.

I noticed that in California that issue wasn’t tried either, so
I came to the conclusion that the parties had stipulated to 900
infringements.

MR. CHAIFETZ: Actually —
MR. HECKER: I believe we stipulated to 900 showings.

THE COURT: But nobody had made the issue at that
point that a multiple showing of one segment, that a
copyrighted work constituted only one violation. Nobody had
said that. It didn’t come out until all the evidence was over and
you made your argument, and very effectively, I think, from the
case that I read, but I am going to let you put something on the
record here, but I do feel that at this point we can’t reframe and
reshape the pleadings and the issues really after all the evidence
is in, but I will let you proffer what you found.

MR. CHAIFETZ: Thank you very much.

The affidavits that were submitted with the summary
judgment motion, which is what I was dealing with last night,
show that for Amen at WNFT in Jacksonville, there were 262
separate showings. My review of that filing which lists the
program numbers, each episode has a separate number, so I just
want through comparing it, show that there were 108 episodes
that were actually aired, some of them two or three or even four
times.

Similarly, Airwolf was shown 223 times. There were 85
episodes shown.

Buck Rogers, 20 episodes were shown and there were 20
different episodes.

29a

THE COURT: You are saying at each station?
MR. CHAIFETZ: No, going station by station right now.

Then there are three movie packages. There is the
Universal Miscellaneous, which has 22 showings, but only 14
works; Universal Pictures Debut Network III, which is 11
showings, 8 separate works, and List Of A Lifetime, which had
10 showings and six separate works.

So the affidavit sumbitted by Mr. Kraus showed 548
showings, if you will, and 241 separate works.

At Fort Pierce, it showed for Kojak 90 showings and 83
separate works.

A-Team, 26 showings and 26 works.
I can’t even read my writing on these now.
Give Me A Break was six showings and six works.

The Universal Pictures Debut Network III was 16
showings and 11 works.

One think I didn’t do was to compare this program with
what happened at WNFT. List Of A Lifetime was 10 showings
and nine works.

Then in terms of WABM, we have the affidavit of Mr.
Weisberger, and I just couldn’t make any sense of it
whatsoever. I just couldn’t come to any conclusions from it.

THE COURT: All right, thank you.

As you indicated, you compiled this after the evidence had
closed and after the closing arguments and the case was over
pending the court’s decision. It seemed to interject a new issue
into the case and this gave me some concern, but I felt that
since this issue had never been identified by the parties, I would
try only the issues that were submitted. In fact, the issue of

30a

what is a work was really not defined as an issue, and I dealt
with that, and I think I could properly deal with that even under
the stipulation and the facts, but your statment is made for the
record and I will stand by my ruling.

I am sure that will give you some fertile territory on appeal
to deal with, whether or not the court should be compelled to
reopen the case after all of the evidence is in based upon a
principle of law not on the pretrial stipulation and only raised
in closing argument, but I will stand by my ruling in that
regard.

MR CHAIFETZ: Thank you, your Honor.

MR. HECKER: Judge, Mr. Chaifetz in his closing
argument did say to the court that under the act, one work, one
infringement, no matter how many times —

THE COURT: Where it came up and he cited me the case,
I went to look at the case, and he has a valid point there, but it
wasn’t a part of the pretrial stip, it wasn’t part of the evidence,
it wasn’t part of the evidence.

MR. HECKER: I don’t have the stipulate in front of me.
I don’t know whether I said we stipulated to 900 showings or
900 infringements.

THE COURT: Of course you didn’t say infringement, but
that’s what the court has to determine, how many
infringements, and there is no contrary figure. It seems to me
that if this were an issue at any time with the parties, that you
would have been not working on it the night before the court’s
ruling, but would have come here armed with detail as to those
things.

MR. HECKER: The statute itself, Judge, states that
damages shall be awarded per work, not per showing.

~

3la

THE COURT: I understand your point and | have dealt
with it and that will be my ruling.

Is there anything else that we need?
MR. KAY: No, your Honor.
THE COURT: All right, court will be in recess.

32a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

Case No. 93-14213-CIV-DAVIS-[RYSKAMP]

MCA TELEVISION LIMITED,
a Delaware Corporation
Plaintiff FINDINGS OF FACTS
AND CONCLUSIONS
vs. OF LAW AND
OMNIBUS ORDER

C. ELVIN FELTNER, JR..,
J. CLIFFORD CURLEY,
DANIEL S. DAYTON, and
DOES | through 5.

Defendants.

THIS case was tried before the Court on October 17, 1994.
After considering all of the evidence, the pleadings filed by the
parties, the arguments made by counsel and the legal authorities
submitted to the Court, the Court makes the following Findings
of Fact and Conclusions of Law.

1. The Court adopts the incorporates herein by reference
the findings and conclusions contained in the Order on Motions
for Summary Judgment entered by Judge Davis on October 14,
1994.

2. There are six issues that remain for the Court’s
determination in this case. The court will address each of them
in turn below.

I. SUBJECT MATTER JURISDICTION

3. At the close of the evidence, the defendant, C. Elvin
Feltner, Jr. (“Feltner”), moved to dismiss this case for lack of
subject matter jurisdiction. Feltner argued that the claim
brought by the plaintiff, MCA TELEVISION LIMITED
(“MCA”), was nothing more than a breach of contract action,
such that the Court lacked federal question jurisdiction.

4. The Court finds that this is an action for copyright
infringement, not for breach of contract. MCA has clearly
elected statutory damages under Section 504 of the Copyright
Act, and the Court concludes that it does have subject matter
jurisdiction over this matter. See T B Harms Co. v. Eliscu,
339 F.2d 967 (4th (sic) Cir. 1990); Arthur Young & Co. v. City
of Richmond, 895 F.2d 967 (4th Cir. 1990). Feltner’s Motion
to dismiss is therefore denied.

Il. ORAL AGREEMENT DEFENSE

5. Feltner defends this action on the basis of his claim
that MCA orally agreed to restructure of debt owed by the
Krypton television station to MCA. F eltner, however, has
failed to carry his burden of proof in establishing this defense.

6. First, no exhibits support this defense. None of the
exhibits introduced reflect a concerted effort to formally
restructure the debt owed under the License Agreements.
While MCA was always willing to work out some reasonable
financial arrangement, Feltmer never offered a reasonable
financial arrangement.

7. Further, there was no testimony that a 4eal to
restructure was ever agreed upon by the parties. There certainly
was not any deal in place at the time of Feltner’s purchase of
the stations. The Court finds it rather incredible that someone
like Feltner would invest millions of dollars in buying the

34a

stations and not have a formalized plan to restructure the debt
in place if the debt were as critical as Feltner testified.

8. The most that Feltner has proved is that prior to the
acquisition of the stations, the syndicators, including MCA,
indicated a willingness to discuss a possible restructure of the
license debt owed by the stations. However, Feltner failed to
prove that he and the syndicators reached an agreement or a
new arrangement for the restructuring of the debt.

9. Therefore, the Court finds that Feltner has not fulfilled
his burden of proving a new oral agreement to restructure the
debt. In any event, it is questionable whether any such oral
agreement could supersede the written License Agreements.
Those License Agreements clearly provide that all negotiations
were incorporated in the agreements, and that any amendments
to the agreements must be in writing, signed by both parties.

Ill. WILLFUL COPYRIGHT INFRINGEMENTS

10 The Court next considers whether Feltner’s
infringements of MCA’s copyrights were willful in nature. In
evaluating Feltner’s conduct, the Court bears in mind that he
was also in the business of licensing artistic works;through
Krypton International Corporation. Feltner was familiar with
the business. Feltner knew that the License Agreements gave
tremendous value to these syndicated programs.

11. Feltner knew that the stations had not paid for the
MCA programming. Feltner know (sic) or should have known,
moreover, that upon receipt of the MCA cease and desist letters
dated April 13, 1992 — which any reasonable person could
construe — the stations’ licenses had been revoked and that he
could not continue to broadcast the MCA programs lawfully.
Thus, Feltner took a calculated risk in continuing to telecast the

MCA programs.

35a

12. Feltner’s testimony that he would not stop telecasting
the programs until enjoined by a Court is a clear indication of
a defiant attitude. His position in this regard is unreasonable
and unacceptable. The fact that he did not run the programs
after the injunctions were entered does not eliminate F eltner’s
responsibility for the earlier unauthorized telecasts.

14. The Court finds that Feltner willfully infringed on
MCA’s copyrights.

IV. INFRINGEMENT OF EACH “WORK”

15. The Court must define what a “work” is for purposes
of calculating the statutory copyright damages to be awarded
MCA under 17 U.S.C. § 504(c)(1). Feltner contends that each
television series constitutes one work, as opposed to each
segment in the series. The Court notes, however, that each
such segment is separately copyrighted.

16. The most instructive case in this area is Twin peaks
Productions, Inc. v. Publications Int'l Ltd., 996 F.2d 1366 (2d
Cir. 1993). In Twin Peaks, the Second Circuit reviewed a
ruling by the District Court that the defendant had violated
eight separate copyrights — one for each teleplay (or segment)
of “Twin Peaks” — and that the plaintiff was entitled to an
award of statutory damages in the amount of $15,000 per
teleplay for a total of $120,000. The Second Circuit’s decision
in Twin Peaks contained the following analysis.

The eight teleplays for “Twin Peaks” represent a
current television genre in which one or more plots
continue from one episode to another. The style was
popularized by the police series “Hill Street Blues”
and is still in vogue in the lawyers series “L.A. Law.”
“Twin Peaks” carried the style to its limit by keeping
the point of the basic plot (who killed Laura?)
continuing throughout the first season of the series,

36a

beyond the eight episodes at issue in this litigation.
Whatever the scope of the Stigwood ruling concerning
“overlapping” copyrights in related components of a
single musical production might be under the 1976
Act, we think it has no application to separately
written teleplays prepared to become episodes of a
weekly television series. The author of eight scripts
for eight television episodes is not limited to one
award of statutory damages just because he or she can
continue the plot line from one episode to the next and.
hold the viewer’s interest without furnishing a
resolution . . . [OJurs is the easy case of infringement
of eight separate works that warrants eight statutory
awards...

Id. at 1381.

17. The decision in Twin Peaks clearly resolves this issue
for the Court. The Court finds that each segment of each
television series licensed by MCA is a “work” as defined by the

Copyright Act.
V. NUMBER OF INFRINGEMENTS

18. In the parties’ Joint Pretrial Stipulation dated
September 26, 1994, the parties stipulated that Feltner directed
the stations to telecast MCA’s program without MCA’s
authority after April 13, 1992, on 900 separate occasions. In
assessing the amount of statutory damages to be awarded
MCA, the Court is also mindful of the decision in Walt Disney
Co. v. Powell, 897 F.2d 565 (D.C. Cir. 1990):

The district court erred in assessing damages based
upon six “violations,” mistakenly focusing on the
number of infringements rather than on the number of
works infringed. Both thetext of the Copyright Act
and its legislative history made clear that statutory

37a

damages are to be calculated according to the number
of works infringed, not the number of infringements.

17 U.S.C. § 504(c)(1) authorizes a judge to award
damages “for all infringements . . . with respect to any
one work.” As the House Report on the bill explains,
however, only one penalty lies for multiple
infringements of one work. .. (Citation and quotation
omitted).

Id. At 569.

19. The Court cannot discern from the Joint Pretrial
Stipulation whether each of the 900 acts of infringement
involved a separate work. This issue is further complicated by
the fact that there are three television stations involved, with
certain overlapping programs that had been licensed to one or
more of them.

20. The number of separate works infringed upon was not
raised by Feltner in the Joint Pretrial Stipulation as an issue for
the Court to determine. Feltner did not raise this issue at any
time before the trial. Additionally, Feltner did not introduce
evidence until the day after the close of evidence and just
before this Court’s ruling herein.

21. The Court must accept as the basis for its award of
statutory damages the parties’ stipulation that Feltner was
responsible for the unauthorized telecasts of MCA’s programs
on 900 separate occasions.

VI. AMOUNT OF STATUTORY DAMAGES

22. MCA has elected to receive statutory damages
pursuant to 17 U.S.C. § 504(c)(1), which it has the right to do.
Cable/Home Communication Corp. v. Network Productions,
Inc., 902 F.2d 829, 850 (11th Cir. 1990).

38a

23. The Court finds that Feltner’s infringements of
MCA’s copyrights were willful, not innocent, in nature.
Therefore, the statutory range for each such willful violation is
from $500 to $100,000. 17 U.S.C. § 504(c). The award of
damages within this considerable range is left to the discretion
of the Court.

24. In assessing the proper amount of damages to award
in a case like this, the Court considers the consequences of
these infringements by Feltner. First, it is clear that the
infringements have not destroyed MCA’s ability to license the
subject programs in the future. These violations, moreover,
have not limited MCA’s claims to recover contract damages.
However, copyright damages are quite unique and separate
from contract damages, and the proper amount of contract
damages may not govern or influence the proper amount of
copyright damages. See e.g., Paramount Pictures Corp. v.
Metro Program Network, Inc., 962 F.2d 775 (8th Cir. 1992).

25. At the same time, the Court recognizes that the
stations were able to sell advertising time for the programming
that they illegally aired. However, there was no testimony or
other evidence introduced as to the value of the advertising
received for any particular segment of the programming, so
there is not much to instruct the Court in this regard.

26. After weighing all of the facts and circumstances in
this case, the Court has determined that an award of $10,000
per violation is the proper amount of damage for each
infringement by Feltner. Therefore, MCA is entitled to a
judgment in the total amount of $900,000.

27. Due to the willfulness of Feltner’s infringements,
MCA is also entitled to recover its reasonable attorney’s fees
and costs pursuant to 17 U.S.C. § 505.

39a

In conclusion, the Court hereby makes the following
rulings: i

(1) Feltner’s Motion for Amendment of the Judgment
Order filed on October 28, 1994 is DENIED.

(2) Feltner’s Motion for New Trial filed on October 28,
1994 is DENIED.

DONE AND ORDERED in Chambers at West Palm
Beach Florida, this _2_ day of _March , 1995.

KENNETH L. RYSKAMP
UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

Copies provided:

Nathan Nason
Michael Beaudine
Philip Schwartz

40a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOL'TTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

Case No. 93-14213-CIV-DAVIS-[RYSKAMP]
MCA TELEVISION LIMITED, a Delaware Corporation
Plaintiff,
VS.

C. ELVIN FELTNER, JR., J. CLIFFORD CURLEY,
DANIEL S. DAYTON, and DOES 1 through 5.

Defendants.

ORDER CORRECTING FINDINGS OF FACT AND
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

THIS CAUSE came before the Court upon discovery of
a Clerical error on page eight of the court’s Findings of Fact
and Conclusions of Law and Omnibus Order executed on
March 2, 1995. Please note that paragraph 26 which lists the
amount of judgment as $900,000, should read:

Therefore, MCA is entitled to a judgment in the
total amount of $9,000,000.

DONE AND ORDERED in Chambers at West Palm Beach,
Florida, this_6 day of _March , 1995.

KENNETH L. RYSKAMP
UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE
copies provided:
Michael Beaudine
Philip Barry Schwartz
Nathan Nason

Tr

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_0054%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
