# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Zantop International Airlines, Inc. v. Michigan Department of Treasury

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_0017%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1997
- **Citation:** 519 U.S. 1118

## Text

wee
961030 DEC 2 6 19%
NO: _emae-aG WHE GLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1996
&

ZANTOP INTERNATIONAL AIRLINES, INC.,

Petitioner,

REVENUE DIVISION, DEPARTMENT
OF TREASURY, STATE OF MICHIGAN,

Respondent.
+

Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The Court Of Appeals
Of The State Of Michigan

*

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
4

Patrick R. VAN TIFLIN

Counsel of Record

MICHELE L. HALLORAN

Kim D. Crooks

Donna M. CLARKE

Howarp & Howarp Atrorneys, P.C.
The Phoenix Building, Suite 500
222 Washington Square, North
Lansing, Michigan 48933-1817
(517) 485-1483

December 26, 1996 Attorneys for Petitioner

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether, under the Equal Protection Clauses of the
United States Constitution, the Michigan Court of
Appeals erred in upholding the constitutionality of the
preferential treatment of certain instrumentalities of
interstate commerce under the Michigan Use Tax Act?

LIST OF PARTIES

The parties to the proceedings below were the same as
those mentioned in the present caption.

iii

DISCLOSURE OF CORPORATE
AFFILIATIONS OF PETITIONER

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 29.6, Petitioner makes
the following disclosure:

Petitioner is not a subsidiary or affiliate of a
publicly-owned corporation.

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
COEF EES FTIR to vs wk b is cee ie Ve bee ee eanes i
Lah SO RORROMEE WN 5 5U5 E559 v0 eke on aE ARES EEE ES ii

DISCLOSURE OF CORPORATE AFFILIATIONS OF
sy tee ty Pieri rar sa eee re ep pe rey

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI............
Fog 6 | URS. Se rr Dr arr eer ery
Pe NE ao nk FRRES AEWA SORA LSS Od oO ARES

CONSTITUTIONAL, STATUTORY AND REGULA-
pee 2 ys 8 BNR ee er Pema eer errr

DEAR EEE GR ROE SHOES £0 0045 ene hd Seas reehans

A. Petitioner and its Interstate Business
en, NRE RUN AR a By Sek Re emg SH OIE Pe aE ty

©. ‘Fee POCO TOMI ca woes ve ee pans bowers
SFO oan ko Reka eens Lees

2. Proceedings in the Michigan Court of
ig EG OPE Tey TEC ES Pee ry Oe ts

3. Proceedings in the Michigan Court of
PP eer ee eer TTT er ee Taare Tree

ah a teeta

Vv

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

ee tn ae EE eR a ee ee ee

L.

THE DECISION OF THE MICHIGAN COURT OF
APPEALS WHICH UPHELD THE CONSTITU-
TIONALITY OF CERTAIN PORTIONS OF MICH-
IGAN’S USE TAX ACT AS WELL AS
RESPONDENT’S APPLICATION AND INTER-
PRETATION OF THE USE TAX PROVISIONS IN
THE FACE OF PETITIONER’S EQUAL PROTEC-
TION CHALLENGE IS IN CONFLICT WITH
PRIOR DECISIONS OF THIS COURT WHICH
Pl OHIBIT STATES FROM DISCRIMINATING
AMONG SIMILARLY-SITUATED TAXPAYERS,
AND WHICH REFLECT THIS COURT’S CRITI-
CISM OF ECONOMIC-PROTECTIONIST LEGIS-
LARS isc RUN EEL CVAS URC Ree IO eatin

SET F640 Fb ee TIE Cha ee CER s cae es

1. The Equal Protection Clause forbids arbi-
trary distinctions in state tax laws......

2. While a state legislature may classify, its
power to classify is not unfettered......

a. The rational basis test inquires as to
whether the offending legislation is
reasonably related to a lawful gov-
erntental PULPOSE.. 2... 6666s a ses

b. The peculiar facts of this case suggest
that a heightened scrutiny must be
undertaken in evaluating Petitioner’s
equal protection claims.............

10

10

10

11

11

vi

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued
Page

c. Modern constitutional jurisprudence
disapproves of the economic protec-
tionism fostered by the legislative and
administrative scheme in issue in this
COD ise iixedat Gor Vetek he eewekes 18

B. CONSTITUTIONAL DOCTRINE APPLIED IN
THE CONTEXT OF PETITIONER’S FACTS.. 20

1. The UTA provisions, considered together
with Respondent’s administrative posi-
tion, establish illegitimate and unreason-
able classifications, and evidence a
discrimination that violates equal protec-
OM GUALAMIOES . occ ceeveccssecessusy ous 20

2. A desire to encourage industry to locate
in the state cannot justify discriminatory
taxation among members of the same
COD 5 oc ritcandcquer ives hele ven eaveenens 22

COINCLUGEIS 6 ciscventaesaxwkienadiewsssueeenaeen 30

-

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CAsEs:
Allegheny Pittsburgh Coal Co. v. County Comm. of
Webster County, 488 U.S. 336 (1989) ............ 16, 25
Allied Stores of Ohio, Inc. v. Bowers, 358 U.S. 522
CRUE 4 ON eos COUN oe PND Cie den dananene 16, 23, 28, 29
American Trucking Associations, Inc. v. Scheiner, 483
SME COUT R be Kb sckhenncduncckhaasseaaeukacacn 19
Bacchus Imports Ltd. v. Dias, 468 U.S. 263 (1984)..... 18
Douglas v. California, 372 U.S. 353 (1963) ............. f
F S Royster Guano Co. v. Virginia, 253 U.S. 412
SOME Ch esas eee GedeeNoeeeKusaeWasuxedeteeseaces 11
FCC v. Beach Communications, Inc., 508 U.S. 307
SEER GA eur hs ken entehs Rh dbase tay ve Mess bedrest ska eee 15
Fulton Corp. v. Faulkner, 116 S. Ct. 848 (1996)........ 19
Kadrmas v. Dickinson Public Schools, 487 U.S. 450
IE ATE USESS oCd ua BELEN R ASS OES Oa SEE be ba R BeOS bO 14
Leathers v. Medlock, 499 U.S. 439 (1991)........... 17, 24
Louisville Gas & Elec. Co. v. Coleman, 277 U.S. 32
EE RUST Hi ae 6a enV aad bak pence a eae kanes bones 14
Madden v. Kentucky, 209 U.S. 83 (1940) .............. 16
Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Ward, 470 U.S. 869
SUSE GES sche CAG CeCksaTEpubbaweesase bees 27, 28, 29
National Bank of Detroit v. Dep't of Revenue, 334
NA. SUN SIRES & ob 60 64 whe dunk oO Adu had ce Sieae dss 21

New Energy Co. of Indiana v. Limbach, 486 U.S. 269
| Peer rer et ee Tee Tree rere eer errs 19

Vili ~

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Nordlinger v. Hahn, 505 U.S. 1 (1992)............. 11, 22
Philadelphia v. New Jersey, 437 U.S. 617 (1978)........ 20
Raymond v. Chicago Union Traction Co., 207 U.S. 20

CAME Loc ccev cer bak cdunes because bakeeseonkes cageuetn 21
Regan v. Taxation With Representation of Washington,

SGT UWB. BOS CGR F as cin cesecvcacceuteventnks 17, 23
Romer v. Evans, 116 S. Ct. 1620 (1996)....... 11, 12, 14, 23
Shinner v. Oklahoma ex rel. Williamson, 316 U.S. 535

fos Se PD re ee Pree etree: Terie PS ere 14
Smith v. Cahoon, 283 U.S. 553 (1931)...........06: 26, 27
Speiser v. Randall, 357 U.S. 512 (1958) ...........4045. 17
Tyler Pipe Industries, Inc. v. Washington Dep't of

Roped, GES tiB.. Zee CAGE ii 4 viv cep ncddeiis seine 19
Western Electric C. v. Dep't of Revenue, 312 Mich 582

CRED hcccceserivecadieadunsdaee bo anbeereeeetewean 20

Williams v. Vermont, 472 U.S. 14 (1985)... 11, 15, 16, 24

FEDERAL STATUTES:

USE See ee 17
0 UE ni igs oe ee 1
OS 8 OS os ay eee 1

PEAT TE ey

i
i

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

STATE STATUTES:
Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. § 205.91 et seq. (West 1986

et ROE 6 i Ken ah cite Gs oe bch be nnd atin canines 0.8 2
Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. §§ 205.94(k) West 1986 &

Supp. 1995) and 205.94(x)........... ay & 6, 7; 2, 24
CONSTITUTION:
Panis Te OE, PRET Ky WE Os ono tks caked vedaws 2,4
U.o. Comat. amend XIV, § 2...........00000. a 22 ae
ee a ME te Ue ME I od no nk a bedk oo Oa tenaped ck. 4

OTHER AUTHORITY:

Michigan Department of Treasury Letter Ruling
sien COLE ROLE CORE ELE POL COTTER passim

eee ee =

+e oe.

1
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO: THE HONORABLE CHIEF JUSTICE AND THE
ASSOCIATE JUSTICES OF THE UNITED STATES
SUPREME COURT.

Petitioner, Zantop International Airlines, Inc. (“Peti-
tioner”), respectfully requests that this Court issue a writ
of certiorari to review the decision issued by the Michi-
gan Court of Appeals on May 26, 1995, which decision
the Michigan Supreme Court declined to review by order
dated September 27, 1996.

+

OPINIONS BELOW

The Michigan Court of Appeals entered its
unpublished opinion cn May 26, 1995. The Michigan
Supreme Court issued its unpublished order which did
not consider this case on the merits, and which denied
Petitioner’s application for leave to appeal, on September
27, 1996. Both the Michigan Supreme Court’s order and
Michigan Court of Appeals’ opinion are set forth in the
attached Appendix, see App. 7-16.

+

JURISDICTION

This petition is filed within 90 days of the entry date
of the Michigan Supreme Court order of September 27,
1996, which denied Petitioner’s application for leave to
appeal, 28 U.S.C. § 2101(c). This Court’s jurisdiction to
consider this petition from the decision of the Michigan
Court of Appeals after the Michigan Supreme Court
denied Petitioner’s application for leave to appeal is
invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a), see Douglas v. Califor-
nia, 372 U.S. 353 (1963).

2

CONSTITUTIONAL, STATUTORY AND
REGULATORY PROVISIONS

This case concerns the following constitutional, statu-
tory and administrative provisions: U.S. Const. amend.
XIV, § 1; Michigan Const. 1963 art. 1, § 2; Mich. Comp.
Laws Ann. §§ 205.94(k) (West 1986 & Supp. 1995) and
205.94(x); and Michigan Department of Treasury Letter
Ruling 89-48. Relevant portions of these provisions are
printed in the Appendix, see App. 17-20.

¢ :

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Michigan’s Use Tax Act, 1937 P.A. 94, as amended,
Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. § 205.91 et seq. (West 1986 &
Supp. 1995) (the “UTA”), violates the Equal Protection
Clauses of the United States and Michigan Constitutions,
in that it discriminates against similarly-situated tax-
payers, all of whom engage in interstate commerce. Sev-
eral of the exemptions from payment of use tax set forth
in the UTA relieve certain instrumentalities of interstate
commerce — vessels used in the interstate transport of
cargo and aircraft used in the regularly scheduled com-
mercial transport of passengers -— from the obligation
others have to pay the tax. See App. 18. In addition,
Respondent in this case, the Michigan Department of
Treasury, has issued Letter Ruling 89-48, which exempts
rolling stock from application of the UTA. See App. 19.
While these instrumentalities of interstate commerce have
effectively received a state subsidy in recognition of the
favored status bestowed on interstate commerce, not all
similarly-situated entities operating in interstate com-
merce have been accorded the benefit of exemption from
payment of use tax. Petitioner, an air cargo carrier operat-
ing in interstate commerce, has been unlawfully made to

3

bear the burden of use tax from which its counterparts in
interstate commerce have been relieved.

A. Petitioner and its Interstate Business Activities

Petitioner is a Michigan corporation with its princi-
pal office at Willow Run Airport in Ypsilanti, Michigan.
During the tax period in controversy (October 1, 1986
through March 31, 1990), Petitioner operated a fleet of
aircraft engaged in the interstate and foreign air freight
delivery business it conducted between 45 to 50 airports
throughout the United States, including Willow Run Air-
port in Ypsilanti, Michigan. In its interstate freight deliv-
ery business, Petitioner is similarly-situated to other
forms of interstate business operations that are conducted
between Michigan and other states, including those oper-
ations that are conducted on the Great Lakes, those that
involve rolling stock, and those that entail the transport
of passengers and cargo by air carrier.

With respect to the aircraft Petitioner uses in its
interstate air freight operations, Petitioner installs parts,
identified as “rotable parts,” inclusive of engines, com-
pressors and propellers, engine components, compressors
and propellers. The rotable parts are not replaced pur-
suant to a schedule determined by Petitioner; instead, the
parts are installed as part of a replacement, repair, rebuild
or overhaul schedule mandated by the Federal Aviation
Administration (“FAA”). Once installed, the rotable parts
become an indistinguishable part of the aircraft Petitioner
uses in its interstate air freight operations.

4
B. The Proceedings Below
1. The Audit

Respondent audited Petitioner and determined that
Petitioner was liable for payment of additional Michigan
use tax computed with respect to airplane parts installed
on aircraft dedicated to service in interstate channels. As
a consequence of its audit determination, Respondent
issued Bill for Taxes Due (Final Assessment) E763576 for
Michigan use tax, penalty and interest totaling
$757,275.72.

2. Proceedings in the Michigan Court of Claims

Following Respondent’s issuance of the deficiency
assessment against Petitioner for the period in contro-
versy, Petitioner paid the assessment under protest, and
filed suit in which it requested a refund of unlawfully
paid taxes, penalty and interest in the Michigan Court of
Claims. Among the challenges Petitioner tendered in its
Court of Claims action were those addressed to the con-
stitutionality of Respondent’s taxation of Petitioner under
the Equal Protection Clauses of the United States and
Michigan Constitutions, U.S. Const., Amend. XIV, § 1;
Mich. Const. 1963, Art. 1, § 2, and the Commerce Clause
of the United States Constitution, Art. I, § 3, cl 8.

In the equal protection segment of its Court of Claims
complaint (count III), Petitioner alleged that, in creating
selective classifications of instrumentalities of interstate
commerce which are exempt from, or are otherwise not
subject to, the Michigan UTA, both the Michigan legisla-
ture and Respondent abridged Petitioner’s right to equal
protection of the laws, as guaranteed under both the
United States and Michigan Constitutions. The following

5

statutory and administrative provisions provide the foun-
dation for Petitioner’s count III assertions:
e Section 4(k) of the UTA, see App. 18, states
that Michigan use tax shall not apply to:
A vessel designed for commercial use of
registered tonnage of 500 tons or more,
when produced upon special order of the
purchaser, and bunker and galley fuel, pro-
visions, supplies, maintenance, and repairs
for the exclusive use of the vessel of 500
tons or more engaged in interstate com-
merce.
e Section 4(x) of the UTA, see App. 18, during
the taxable period in issue, provided that Michi-
gan use tax shall not apply to:
The storage, use, or consumption of any
aircraft owned or used by a domestic pas-
senger air carrier operating under certificate
issued by the civil aeronautics board pur-
suant to section 401 of title IV of the federal
aviation act of 1958, 49 U.S.C. 1371, if the
aircraft is used primarily in the regularly-
scheduled commercial transport of pas-
sengers.
e Department of Treasury Letter Ruling 89-48,
see App. 19, reflects Respondent's position that
the UTA does not apply to rolling stock pur-
chased outside of Michigan which is placed in
the stream of interstate commerce, until such
time as the rolling stock is converted to an intra-
state application.

In the Court of Claims action, Petitioner brought a
motion for partial summary disposition of count III of its
complaint, in which it alleged that there are no genuine
issues of material fact, and that it is entitled to judgment
as a matter of law on its equal protection claims. The
Michigan Court of Claims granted summary disposition

6

of count III in favor of Petitioner, and issued an opinion
and order and partial final judgment reflecting its deter-
mination, see App. 1-6. The Court of Claims found that
the exemption for vessels set forth in UTA § 4(k) parallels
Petitioner’s circumstances in that:
Both Plaintiff and businesses which fall under
this exemption are involved in interstate com-
merce and shipping freight. The main difference
between the two, not taking into account super-
ficial differences, is that one utilizes a ship while
the other utilizes aircraft. The Court is strained
to understand the differences afforded these two
modes of interstate commerce that warrant one
form to receive use tax relief with respect to
“provisions, supplies, maintenance, and
repairs” while the other is not. App. 5.
The trial court opined that the scheme adopted by Michi-
gan bespeaks “an arbitrary approach by Defendant as it
applies to the taxation of different instrumentalities of
interstate commerce in violation of equal protection.”
App. 6.

3. Proceedings in the Michigan Court of Appeals

Respondent appealed the trial court’s decision to the
Michigan Court of Appeals; that court, in an unpublished
opinion per curiam entered on May 26, 1995 subscribed to
by only two members of the three-judge panel, reversed
the Court of Claims’ determination.

The Michigan Court of Appeals applied the rational
basis test to Petitioner’s equal protection challenge, stat-
ing that “[a] rational basis for legislation exists when any
set of facts can be reasonably conceived to justify the
discrimination,” App. 8, and found no equal protection
violation in the manner in which Michigan accorded
instrumentalities in interstate commerce — other than

7

Petitioner - exemption under the UTA. According to the
Court of Appeals:
Plaintiff has failed to negate every conceivable
basis that might support the § 4(k) exemption.
The Legislature could rationally have decided to
exempt parts for vessels exceeding five hundred
tons from the use tax because of desire to pro-
mote that industry to locate in Michigan. App. 9.
In a strong dissent, Judge Batzer acknowledged the val-
idity of the reasoning offered by the trial court, stating
that he “too [was] strained to understand the difference”
between Petitioner’s aircraft engaged in the air transport
of freight and other forms of interstate commerce which
receive the benefit of Michigan’s use tax exemptions.
App. 11. As Judge Batzer explained:
Defendant at argument offered that perhaps air-
ports put a strain on state resources in terms of
connecting highways and such. I had thought
thet there were significant federal subsidies for
such highways to alleviate the burden on state
resources, but in any event, do not dock facili-
ties for the loading and unloading of water-
borne cargo and its accompanying land
transportation to its ultimate markets also place
such burdens on highways and other infrastruc-
tures? As to which places the greater burden
would likely, in my view, be measured in cargo
tonnage loaded and unloaded - a figure of
which this Court knows little — and, with all due
deference, was, I suspect, far from the legislative
mind.

In the view of the dissenting judge, no rational basis
exists for a scheme which fails to accord Petitioner the
use tax exemption allowed for similarly-situated opera-
tors in interstate commerce:

A legislative intent to foster the shipping indus-

try is propounded. Perhaps, but why was the

8

shipping industry entitled to such state foster-
ing over the interstate air freight industry? Self-
evident reasons do not jump out... . If there
were an explicit legislative finding on these
issues, I would defer to any such remotely ratio-
nal finding. In the absence of such, I can only
conclude that when it comes to equal protection
in this taxation scheme, the rational basis test
gives way to Orwellian analysis, wherein all of
the similarly situated are equal, but some of the
similarly situated are more equal than others. In
my view there is an equal protection violation
eae

In the absence of any legislative finding, the
proffered “rational basis” for the legislative
exemption for the maintenance and repair of
ships of 500 tons or more, but not for air freight
haulers, strike me not as genuine rational rea-
sons, but as mere pillows held up by defendant
to absorb the attack of plaintiff, until plaintiff, in
frustration and exhaustion, ultimately submits.
If there is a rational basis for the unequal use tax
treatment here, it wholly escapes me. App. 12.

Petitioner unsuccessfully sought a rehearing by the
Michigan Court of Appeals’ panel, App. 14, and then
filed an application for leave to appeal in the Michigan
Supreme Court, which that court denied by order dated
September 27, 1996, App. 15.

Petitioner submits that the Michigan Court of
Appeals majority erred in its derivation of a rational basis
for the legislative design in issue here: promotion of
businesses that ply their trade in interstate commerce at
the expense of this similarly-situated Petitioner, is not a
legitimate purpose justifiably advanced in support of dis-
criminatory tax treatment.

9
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This case presents a fundamental issue, one critical to
constitutional jurisprudence: To what extent may a state,
in its taxing enactments and pronouncements, disparately
tax similarly — situated taxpayers, all of whom conduct
business in interstate commerce, so as to purportedly
encourage a particular industry (or, more appropriately, a
segment of a particular industry) to locate in-state? The
decision of the Michigan Court of Appeals’ majority
endorses Michigan’s patently discriminatory taxing
scheme, in clear violation of equal protection guarantees
found in both the United States and Michigan Constitu-
tions. The statutory and administrative program in issue
here represents nothing other than this state’s effort to
subsidize certain segments of commerce to the express
detriment of other segments of the same industry. Plainly,
air freight carriers should not be made to bear the burden
of a tax that their vessel, rolling stock and passenger
aircraft counterparts need not shoulder. This unlawful
classification unlawfully places Petitioner and those
members of its class at a distinct competitive disadvan-
tage.

The core of this case is directed to the ability of a
state to tax some taxpayers within an industry which has
favored status in our constitutional tradition, while
exempting from taxation other taxpayers within the same
industry. While Michigan undoubtedly is equipped with
wide latitude in fashioning taxing legislation, it simply
does not have the discretion to subject taxpayers — sim-
ilarly-situated in that they are within the same industry
and compete for air freight business in the marketplace -
to different tax treatment, on the flimsy premise that a
particular industry sub-group should be induced to
locate in this state.

10

Disparate tax treatment of this nature flies in the face
of cherished equal protection guarantees set forth in the
federal and state constitutions, whether the rational basis
test or some intermediate level of scrutiny is invoked
under these facts. In many respects, this case is an exten-
sion of the numerous decisions issued by this Court
which condemn, under Commerce Clause principles, stat-
utory classifications which actually or effectively discrim-
inate among participants in interstate commerce. The
Michigan courts have endorsed a discriminatory taxation
scheme which must be declared unconstitutional by this
Court.

ARGUMENT

I. THE DECISION OF THE MICHIGAN COURT
OF APPEALS WHICH UPHELD THE CONSTITU-
TIONALITY OF CERTAIN PORTIONS OF
MICHIGAN’S USE TAX ACT AS WELL AS
RESPONDENT’S APPLICATION AND INTER-
PRETATION OF THE USE TAX PROVISIONS IN
THE FACE OF PETITIONER’S EQUAL PROTEC-
TION CHALLENGE IS IN CONFLICT WITH PRIOR
DECISIONS OF THIS COURT WHICH PROHIBIT
STATES FROM DISCRIMINATING AMONG SIM-
ILARLY-SITUATED TAXPAYERS, AND WHICH
REFLECT THIS COURT’S CRITICISM OF
ECONOMIC-PROTECTIONIST LEGISLATION.

A. APPLICABLE CONSTITUTIONAL DOCTRINE

1. The Equal Protection Clause forbids arbi-
trary distinctions in state tax laws.

In exercising their powers to tax, the states are obli-
gated to adhere to a number of federal constitutional
dictates. One of these requirements is that the tax, in its

i eeaintinnenieniiemediieiiiiiaiiiiaiiiiaiital

11

imposition or administration, must not offend the Equal
Protection Clause of U.S. Const. amend. XIV, § 1. App. 17.
The Equal Protection Clause guards against “arbitrary
distinctions” in state taxation schemes, Williams v. Ver-
mont, 472 U.S. 14, 22 (1985).

2. While a state legislature may classify, its
power to classify is not unfettered.

While the Equal Protection Clause “does not forbid
classifications” but instead is designed to keep “govern-
mental decision-makers from treating differently persons
who are in all relevant respects alike,” Nordlinger v. Hahn,
595 U.S. 1 (1992), citing F S$ Royster Guano Co. v. Virginia,
253 U.S. 412, 415 (1920), the constitutional requirement is
violated when classes are created arbitrarily and are
afforded different treatment without appropriate justi-
fication.

a. The rational basis test inquires as to
whether the offending legislation is rea-
sonably related to a lawful govern-
mental purpose.

As this Court recently had occasion to acknowledge
in Romer v. Evans, 116 S. Ct. 1620 (1996), the reality of
legislative classifications blends with the ideal of the
constitutional guarantee of equal protection through
application of the rational basis test. In Romer, 116 S. Ct.
at 1627, Justice Kennedy observed that:

[t]he Fourteenth Amendment’s promise that no
person shall be denied the equal protection of
the laws must co-exist with the practical neces-
sity that most legislation classifies for one pur-
pose or another, with resulting disadvantage to
various groups or persons. Personnel Administra-
tor of Mass. v. Feeney, 442 U.S. 256 (1979); F.S.

12

Royster Guano Co. v. Virginia, 253 U.S. 412, 415

(1920). We have attempted to reconcile the prin-

ciple with the reality by stating that, if a law

neither burdens a fundamental right nor targets

a suspect class, we will uphold the legislative

classification so long as it bears a rational rela-

tion to some legitimate end.

The rational basis test examines whether a rational
relationship exists between the classification and the
object of the legislation. In general, a statute will survive
an equal protection challenge if it sets forth a classifica-
tion rationally related to a legitimate and identifiable gov-
ernmental interest. In ascertaining whether a statute
arbitrarily or legitimately falls within the legislative
power to classify, however, the Court must consider the
object of the legislation. Even under the “rational basis”
test, the Equal Protection Clause is violated if a statute,
on its face, creates a “wholly arbitrary” distinction. Wil-
liams, supra. And while, under tenets of statutory inter-
pretation, statutes are presumed constitutional, the
presumption of constitutionality is rebuttable and must
give way to the preeminent dictates of this Court that
absolutely forbid discrimination among similarly-situated
taxpayers, and that denounce inequities created by arbi-
trary and unreasonable classifications which fail to fur-
ther any legitimate governmental purpose.

In Romer, 116 S. Ct. at 1627, this Court addressed the
rational basis test at length:

[E]ven in the ordinary equal protection case call-

ing for the most deferential of standards, we

insist on knowing the relation between the clas-

sification adopted and the object to be attained.

The search for the link between classification

and objective gives substance to the Equal Pro-

tection Clause; it provides guidance and disci-
pline for the legislature, which is entitled to

13

know what sorts of laws it can pass; and it
marks the limits of our own authority. In the
ordinary case, a law will be sustained if it can be
said to advance a legitimate government inter-
est, even if the law seems unwise or works to
the disadvantage of a particular group, or if the
rationale for it seems tenuous. See New Orleans
v. Dukes, 427 U.S. 297 (1976) (tourism benefits
justified classification favoring pushcart ven-
dors of certain longevity); Williamson v. Lee Opti-
cal of Okla., Inc., 348 U.S. 483 (1955) (assumed
health concerns justified law favoring optometr-
ists over opticians); Railway Express Agency, Inc.
v. New York, 336 U.S. 106 (1949) (potential traffic
hazards justified exemption of vehicles advertis-
ing the owner’s products from general advertis-
ing ban); Kotch v. Board of River Port Pilot
Comm'rs for Port of New Orleans, 330 U.S. 552
(1947) (licensing scheme that disfavored persons
un¢elated to current river boat pilots justified by
possible efficiency and safety benefits of a
closely knit pilotage system). The laws chal-
lenged in the cases just cited were narrow
enough in scope and grounded in sufficient fac-
tual context for us to ascertain that there existed
some relation between the classification and the
purpose it served. By requiring that the classi-
fication bear a rational relationship to an inde-
pendent and legitimate legislative end, we
ensure that classifications are not drawn for the
purpose of disadvantaging the group burdened
by the law. See United States Railroad Retirement
Bd. v. Fritz, 449 U.S. 166, 181 (1980) (Stevens, J.,
concurring) (“If the adverse impact on the dis-
favored class is an apparent aim of the legisla-
ture, its impartiality would be suspect.”).

Under what circumstances has legisiation been held
to lack a rational relationship to legitimate state interests?

14

In Romer, this Court held that the “sheer breadth” of a
Colorado constitutional amendment which prohibited
statutes, regulations, ordinances, rules and policies bar-
ring discrimination based on sexual orientation “is so
discontinuous with the reasons offered for it that the
amendment seems inexplicable by anything but animus
toward the class that it affects.” Romer, 116 S. Ct. at 1627.
In some settings, it is the unusual character of a discrimi-
natory scheme that draws the attention of the Court to
ascertain whether equal protection guarantees have been
abridged. For example, in Louisville Gas & Elec. Co. v.
Coleman, 277 U.S. 32, 37-38 (1928), this Court stated that
“{djiscriminations of an unusual character especially sug-
gest careful consideration to determine whether they are
obnoxious to the constitutional provision.” Accord,
Romer. Likewise, if a statute is perceived as being outside
“our constitutional tradition,” Romer, at 1628, it may be
that equal protection guarantees have been abridged. “A
law declaring that in general it shall be more difficult for
one group of citizens than for all others to seek aid from
the government is itself a denial of equal protection of the
laws in the most literal sense. The guaranty of equal
protection of the laws is a pledge of the protection of
equal laws.” Shinner v. Oklahoma ex rel. Williamson, 316
U.S. 535, 541 (1942) (quoting Yick Wo v. Hopkins, 118 U.S.
356, 369 (1886)). Romer, 116 S. Ct. 1628. Similarly, if a
review of the conventions that a provision offends dis-
closes that the conventions are venerable, the offending
law may not bear a rational relationship to a legitimate
governmental purpose. See Romer, 116 S. Ct. 1629;
Kadrmas v. Dickinson Public Schools, 487 U.S. 450, 462
(1988).

15

b. The peculiar facts of this case suggest
that a heightened scrutiny must be
undertaken in evaluating Petitioner’s
equal protection claims.

The state’s power to create classifications for taxation
purposes has been critically reviewed by this Court on a
number of occasions. While this Court, on the one hand,
has acknowledged that the rational basis test generally
applies to challenges to economic legislation which rest
on equal protection grounds, FCC v. Beach Communica-
tions, Inc., 508 U.S. 307 (1993), other of this Court’s deci-
sions strongly suggest that a more studied inquiry is
required in the context of discriminatory state taxing
models.

In this vein, Williams, supra, exemplifies this Court’s
determination to adopt a more restrictive standard of
review under the traditional “rational basis” test for clas-
sifications engendered by state tax legislation. In Wil-
liams, the Court considered an equal protection challenge
brought by persons who, formerly residents of other
states, moved to Verment and were required to pay a
special vehicle purchase and use tax to regis.er motor
vehicles purchased outside of Vermont for which a sales
tax already had been paid at the time of acquisition. The
Court found no legitimate purpose furthered by the
facially discriminatory exemption, based as it was upon
the state of residence of the owner of the motor vehicle at
the time of purchase. The Court rejected the analysis
offered by the state that the special use tax met the
“rational basis” standard because persons using the roads
should have the responsibility of paying for the privilege;
the Court observed that wholesale adoption of a “user-
pays” principle contravenes the merit of an exemption
given to persons who, as Vermont residents, purchase

16

vehicles in other states and pay sales taxes to the state of
purchase. Importantly, the Court observed: “To free one
group and not the other from the otherwise applicable tax
burden violates the Equal Protection Clause,” Williams,
472 U.S. at 27.

Similar evidence of this Court’s concerns with the
equal protection implications of discriminatory treatment
at the hands of officials charged with tax administration
is found in Allegheny Pittsburgh Coal Co. v. County Comm.
of Webster County, 488 U.S. 336 (1989), in which the Court
held that assessment practices which created a dichotomy
between assessments for real properties which had been
the subject of recent sales, and assessments for properties
which had not changed hands, violated the equal protec-
tion mandate that a tax be borne equally by persons
positioned within the same classification. Allegheny also
assumes particular importance in the context of this case
to the extent that it patently reaffirms the requirement,
one also identified in Allied Stores of Ohio, Inc. v. Bowers,
358 U.S. 522, 528-529 (1959), that the legislative or admin-
istrative body must disclose the existence of an identifiable
state interest to be served by the complained-of legisla-
tion, rule or administrative pronouncement.

Although a statute imposing a tax (or, as here, a
provision relieving a person from the obligation to pay a
tax) frequently is accorded deference by the courts, Mad-
den v. Kentucky, 209 U.S. 83 (1940), this deference does not
mean that all constitutional inquiry is foreclosed when
the controversy implicates a tax statute. Indeed, in
instances in which a tax enactment also invokes other
important constitutional considerations, this Court has

applied a more stringent level of scrutiny in evaluating

17

whether the statute offends equal protection consider-
ations. In Regan v. Taxation With Representation of Washing-
ton, 461 U.S. 540, 548 (1983), for example, the Court, in its
analysis of an entity’s challenge to the Internal Revenue
Service’s denial of tax-exempt status under 26 U.S.C.
§ 501(c)(3) on First Amendment and equal protection
grounds, stated that an analytical standard more strin-
gent than the rational basis test would apply if “Congress
were to discriminate invidiously in its subsidies in such a
way as to ’ “ai[m] at the suppression of dangerous ideas.

wer)enw

To be sure, discriminatory application of a tax
exemption can represent an infringement upon one or
more significant constitutional rights or directives. In
Speiser v. Randall, 357 U.S. 513, 518 (1958), this Court
observed:

It cannot be gainsaid that a discriminatory
denial of a tax exemption for engaging in speech
is a limitation on free speech. . . . It is settled
that speech can be effectively limited by the
exercise of the taxing power. Grosjean v. Ameri-
can Press Co, 297 U.S. 233. To deny an exemption
to claimants who engage in certain forms of
speech is in effect to penalize them for such
speech. Its deterrent effect is the same as if the
State were to fine them for this speech. The
appellees are plainly mistaken in their argument
that, because a tax exemption is a “privilege” or
“bounty,” its denial may not infringe speech.
This contention did not prevail before the Cali-
fornia courts, which recognized that conditions
imposed upon the granting of privileges or gra-
tuities must be “reasonable.”

In recognition of the need to undertake more diligent
inquiry in instances in which significant constitutional
guarantees or protections are interwoven with the chal-
lenged tax, this Court, in Leathers v. Medlock, 499 U.S. 439,

18

453 (1991), advocated use of a heightened standard of
scrutiny in examining the interplay of a tax enactment
“directed at, or [which] presents the danger of suppress-
ing, particular ideas” protected by the First Amendment
guarantees.

c. Modern constitutional jurisprudence
disapproves of the economic protection-
ism fostered by the legislative and
administrative scheme in issue in this
case.

Although not arising in the context of the Equal
Protection Clause of U.S. Const. amend. XIV, § 1, a
number of other modern decisions of the Court unmis-
takably disapprove of discriminatory tax provisions
which either facially or operatively mirror the state’s
protective posture toward identifiable segments of com-
merce: This Court’s stance, one which requires the elim-
ination of legislation according favored status to
functionally identical business entities, is readily applied
in the context of the even-handed treatment dictated by
traditional equal protection guarantees.

In one such case, Bacchus Imports Ltd. v. Dias, 468 U.S.
263 (1984), this Court, in analyzing a Commerce Clause
attack, confirmed that states may not enact tax provisions
that have the effect of favoring local businesses over
competing interstate entities. According to this Court,
just as discriminatory state statutes enacted for protec-
tionist purposes have been struck down as constitu-
tionally abhorrent, statutes disclosing a policy of favoring
isolated segments of business at the expense of others, so
as to effectively force certain components of interstate
business to subsidize a tax-free status enjoyed by others,
must be declared invalid. This dismemberment of the

19

concept of “economic protectionism” in essence means
that the state is precluded from creating palpably arbi-
trary tax-free zones within its borders which favor one
form of business operation over another. See also, Ameri-
can Trucking Associations, Inc. v. Scheiner, 483 U.S. 266
(1987); Tyler Pipe Industries, Inc. v. Washington Dep't of
Revenue, 483 U.S. 232 (1987); New Energy Co. of Indiana v.
Limbach, 486 U.S. 269, 273-274 (1988).

Recently, in Fulton Corp. v. Faulkner, 116 S. Ct. 848
(1996), this Court, in addressing a case involving discrim-
ination, albeit in the context of Commerce Clause juris-
prudence, invalidated a North Carolina intangibles tax on
shares of corporate stock computed in inverse proportion
to the corporation’s state income tax liability. In render-
ing its determination, this Court observed that “[i]n its
negative aspect, the Commerce Clause ‘prohibits eco-
nomic protectionism — that is, “regulatory measures
designed to benefit in-state economic interests by burden-
ing out-of-state competitors.” ’” Fulton, 116 S. Ct. at 853.
Although the challenge advanced in Fulton was founded
on the Commerce C‘ause - not presently in issue — Fulton
nevertheless has a direct bearing upon the fulcrum of this
case, 1.e., whether some rational basis can be advanced for
Michigan’s discriminatory taxing scheme. The point is
this: If, as Fulton confirms, a state is precluded under the
Commerce Clause from engaging in economic protection-
ism by enacting legislation or adopting regulations or
policies that discriminate against interstate commerce,
then the state, in response to an attack on the legislation
brought on equal protection grounds, should be hard-
pressed to offer that same economic protectionism in
satisfaction of the traditional rational basis test.

Finally, this Court, in the context of Commerce
Clause jurisprudence, has adopted a “virtually per se rule

20

of invalidity” to provisions that patently discriminate
against interstate trade. Philadelphia v. New Jersey, 437 U.S.
617, 624 (1978). This same rule should be applied in
instances where, as here, exemptive provisions set forth
in a state taxing enactment patently discriminate against
one form of interstate commerce in favor of others.

The circumstances of this case disclose that Michigan
has imposed a penalty in the form of a discriminatory
denial of a tax exemption to an actor in a protected zone,
interstate commerce, such that the result of the discrimi-
nation — the placement of a tax on Petitioner in instances
in which other instrumentalities of interstate commerce
escape payment of the tax —- works an impairment or
restraint on interstate commerce.

B. CONSTITUTIONAL DOCTRINE APPLIED IN
THE CONTEXT OF PETITIONER’S FACTS

Application of these constitutional precepts to the situa-
tion at hand amply discloses the propriety of the Court of
Claims’ ruling, and the invalidity of the analysis under-
taken by the two-judge majority of the Court of Appeals.

1. The UTA provisions, considered together
with Respondent’s administrative position,
establish illegitimate and unreasonable
classifications, and evidence a discrimina-
tion that violates equal protection guaran-
tees.

The legislative enactment in issue here imposes “an
excise tax on the use, storage or consumption of tangible
personal property brought into the state in interstate
commerce, after it has come to rest in this state.” Western
Electric Co. v. Dep’t of Revenue, 312 Mich. 582, 596 (1945).
The use tax generally is recognized as an enactment that

21

complements the Michigan sales tax in that it is designed
to extend to those purchases not encompassed by the
latter enactment. National Bank of Detroit v. Dep’t of Reve-
nue, 334 Mich. 132, 141 (1952).

The UTA creates classifications of entities operating
within interstate commerce which are subject to special
statutory exemption. The following exemptions are pro-
vided under the UTA and evidence the unconstitutional
tax scheme adopted by Michigan: (1) Aircraft owned by a
domestic passenger air carrier if used primarily in the
regularly scheduled commercial transport of passengers,
M.C.L. § 205.94(x); M.S.A. § 7.555(4)(x), App. 18; see also
information relating to the legislative history of this pro-
vision at App. 21-30; and (2) vessels designed for com-
mercial use of registered tonnage of 500 tons or more,
when produced upon special order of the purchaser, and
bunker and galley fuel, provisions, supplies, maintenance
and repairs for the exclusive use of a vessel of 500 tons or
more engaged in interstate commerce, M.C.L. § 205.94(k);
M.S.A. § 7.555(4)(k), App. 18; are expressly exempt from
payment of the tax. In addition, Respondent, by adminis-
trative action, has stated its determination that rolling
stock purchased out of state and placed into interstate
commerce is not subject to use tax, Department of Treas-
ury Letter Ruling 89-48, App. 19. The Equal Protection
Clause does not solely serve as a constitutional limitation
upon actions undertaken by legislative bodies, but also
exists as a restraint upon actions taken by administrative
officials in the exercise of their duties in collecting a tax.
Raymond v. Chicago Union Traction Co, 207 U.S. 20 (1907).

In the decision it issued in this case, the two-judge
majority of the Michigan Court of Appeals opined that
the Michigan legislature could rationally have decided to
exempt parts for vessels exceeding 500 tons from the use

22

tax in recognition of its desire to prompt that industry to
locate in Michigan, App. 9. The Court apparently viewed
rolling stock in the same manner. However, a reading of
the Court of Appeals’ majority opinion reveals that the
court incorrectly presupposed that Petitioner and other
cargo carriers were not members of the “same class.”
While the daily activities carried on by these taxpayers
may differ to the extent they are conducted in, or on,
different media (air v. water v. ground), an appropriate
and serious analysis of the question presented must
result in a conclusion that boats, aircraft and rolling stock
are intrinsically identical to the extent that all are
involved in cargo transportation activities within the
channels of interstate commerce. Viewed from this van-
tage, it is readily apparent that Petitioner has been
improperly targeted for discriminatory treatment by
being subjected to taxes not imposed upon identically-
situated members of the same class — here, air, water and
ground cargo transport businesses. Given its placement
within the same class as those industries which have been
selected for favorable tax treatment, Petitioner finds itself
at a distinct competitive disadvantage, as it is made to
pay use tax when others identically situated are exempt.

2. A desire to encourage industry to locate in
the state cannot justify discriminatory taxa-
tion among members of the same class.

As this Court noted in Nordlinger, 505 U.S. at 15,
appellate review of an equal protection challenge akin to
that advanced in this case requires consideration of
whether the discriminatory classification is supported by
a reasonable and identifiable governmental objective:

23

To be sure, the Equal Protection Clause does not
demand for purposes of rational basis review
that a legislature or governing decision maker
actually articulate at any time the purpose or
rationale supporting its classification . . . Never-
theless, this Court’s review does require that a
purpose may conceivably or ‘may reasonably
have been the purpose and policy’ of the rele-
vant governmental decision maker. Allied Stores
of Ohio, Inc v. Bowers, 358 U.S. 522, 528-529
(1959). See also, Schweiker v. Wilson, 450 U.S. 221,
235 (1981) (classification scheme must ‘ratio-
nally advance a reasonable and identifiable gov-
ernmental objective’) (emphasis added).

In Romer, this Court again stated that there must be a
“link” between the classification and the object of the
statute. Romer, 116 S. Ct. 1627.

The only justification offered by the Michigan Court
of Appeals for the discriminatory classification scheme
embodied in the UTA was that the Michigan legislature
could have decided to exempt parts for certain vessels
from use tax because of its “desire to promote that indus-
try to locate in Michigan.” The Michigan legislature chose
to further this object by imposing different tax burdens
upon members of the same industry, in effect subsidizing
those businesses eligible for exemption, see Regan v. Taxa-
tion With Representation, 461 U.S. at 544, in which this
Court observed that “[b]oth tax exemptions and tax
deductibility are a form of subsidy that is administered
through the tax system. A tax exemption has much the
same effect as a cash grant to the organization of the
amount of tax it would have to pay on its income.” This
governmental interest does not justify the discrimination
among members of the same industry, and clearly does

24

not provide a “rational basis” for the disputed classifica-
tion. Indeed, dissenting Court of Appeals Judge Batzer
would have ruled —- correctly —- “that when it comes to
equal protection in this taxation scheme, the rational
basis test gives way to Orwellian analysis, wherein all of
the similarly situated are equal, but some of the similarly
situated are more equal than others.” App. 12.

The motive behind the legislative and administrative
treatment in issue here represents nothing more than an
unveiled intent to bestow the favor of tax exemption
upon those isolated interest groups which have been able
to muster lobbying efforts sufficiently intensive and per-
suasive to carry the day. This is the very form of eco-
nomic protectionism to which this Court has heralded an
end. Michigan’s blatant discriminatory intent is con-
firmed by the legislative history of the exemption
extended to domestic passenger air carriers, M.C.L.
§ 205.94(x); M.S.A. § 7.555(4)(x), which discloses that the
enactment was expressly designed to benefit a single
(former) Michigan airline company, see House Legislative
Analysis Section, First Analysis to House Bill 5801
(11/20/94), App. 25-26. In specifically removing the bur-
den of the use tax from the shoulders of precisely identi-
fied entities operating within interstate commerce by
according them the privilege of exemption or exclusion,
while continuing to require Petitioner to bear the brunt of
the taxing scheme, the Micligan legislature and Respon-
dent have engaged in actions which have violated Peti-
tioner’s right to equal protection, Williams, supra. Quite
simply, the state cannot confer favored status to certain
areas it believes warrant attention to the exclusion of
others which are deserving of the same quantum of rec-
ognition, Leathers, supra. Moreover, the administrative

25

treatment disclosed in Letter Ruling 89-48 evidences
Respondent’s discrimination against aircraft cargo car-
riers such as Petitioner.

No natural distinguishing characteristics exist
between those classifications for which exemptions have
been provided and aircraft or their constituent parts used
by Petitioner to transport freight. The Court of Claims
accurately determined that the state can advance no legit-
imate purpose served by permitting a use tax exemption
for this highly-selective triad of instrumentalities of inter-
state commerce to the complete and unwarranted exclu-
sion of Petitioner, App. 1-6. This case does not concern a
situation in which the legislature or administrative offi-
cial has promulgated different taxing enactments applica-
ble to varied business activities, but instead evinces a
heinous division which requires one entity — Petitioner -
to bear the full brunt of a taxing enactment while others
who, from a factual premise are indistinguishable, are
permitted to wholly avoid application of the same tax.
Because “[t]he Equal Protection Clause . . . protects the
individual from state action which selects him out for
discriminatory treatment by subjecting him to taxes not
imposed on others of the same class” Allegheny, 488 U.S.
at 345, it is evident that the classification scheme here
cannot withstand constitutional scrutiny.

What is the effect, then, of Michigan use tax exemp-
tions which subsidize some forms of interstate commerce
to the detriment of others? Certainly, the lack of availabil-
ity of an exemption to Petitioner has the effect of discrim-
inating against, and of curbing, the extent and
effectiveness of Petitioner’s interstate operations. If not
now, eventually, other forms of interstate commerce will
assume a primary role, with the obvious result that some

26

instrumentalities of interstate commerce, to the extent
they are subsidized through Michigan’s offering of a use
tax exemption, will flourish, while others, like Peti-
tioner’s aircraft, will languish. The dormant Commerce
Clause reflects Congress’ absolute dictate that interstate
commerce be permitted to thrive unfettered by states’
taxing mechanisms. However, Michigan's exemptive
scheme under the UTA - while partially in step with
Congressional intent — significantly departs from that
intent in failing to accord a like exemption for Peti-
tioner’s aircraft for the years in issue in this case.

While nothing in the federal or state constitutions
requires that the Michigan legislature confer subsidies on
instrumentalities of interstate commerce, a determination
on the part of state government to subsidize one actor in
interstate commerce requires that the benefits of the same
subsidy be awarded to all who similarly operate in inter-
state channels. That principle of equality long ago was
established by this Court in its decision in Smith v.
Cahoon, 283 U.S. 553 (1931), in which a private carrier for
hire mounted an equal protection challenge to a regula-
tory enactment that exempted transportation carriers
engaged in hauling certain types of products from a
bonding requirement, but imposed the requirement on
other carriers. According to the Court:

[T]he constitutional guaranty of equal protection

of the laws is interposed against discriminations

that are entirely arbitrary. In determining what is

within the range of discretion and what is arbi-
trary, regard must be had to the particular subject

of the State’s action. In the present instance, the

regulation as to the giving of a bond or insur-

ance policy to protect the public generally, in
order to be sustained, must be deemed to relate

27

to the public safety. This is a matter of grave
concern as the highways become increasingly
crowded with motor vehicles, and we entertain
no doubt of the power of the State to insist upon
suitable protection for the public against injuries
through the operations on its highways of car-
riers for hire, whether they are common carriers
or private carriers. But in establishing such a
regulation, there does not appear to be the
slightest justification for making a distinction
between those who carry for hire farm products,
or milk or butter, or fish or oysters, and those
who carry for hire bread or sugar, or tea or
coffee, or groceries in general, or other useful
commodities. So far as the statute was designed
to safeguard the public with respect to the use
of the highways, we think that the discrimina-
tion it makes between the private carriers which
are relieved of the necessity of obtaining certifi-
cates and giving security, and a carrier such as
the appeliant, was wholly arbitrary and consti-
tuted a violation of the appellant’s constitu-
tional right. ‘Such a classification is not based on
anything having relation to the purpose for
which it is made.’ Cahoon, 283 U.S. at 566-567.

Our constitutional tradition ascribes great value to unre-
strained trade among the states. This tradition is sadly

| diminished when a state accords exemption from taxation
to some forms of interstate commerce, but not to others,
effectively making some interstate trade more free than
others.

The justification for the legislation proffered by the
Michigan Court of Appeals is an illegitimate govern-
mental objective and is in conflict with this Court's prece-
dent. While “a state’s goal of bringing in new business is
legitimate and often admirable,” Metropolitan Life Ins Co.

28

v. Ward, 470 U.S. 869, 879 (1985), this purpose cannot be
impermissibly discriminatory. In a different context, the
Court in Metropolitan Life recognized that “the fact that
promotion of local industry is a legitimate state interest
in the Commerce Clause context, says nothing about its
validity under equal protection analysis.” Metropolitan
Life, 470 U.S. at 876, fn 6. In Metropolitan Life, this Court
observed that its previous decision in Allied Stores, supra,
did not hold that promoting domestic business by dis-
criminating against foreign businesses is legitimate.
Instead, since the foreign and domestic companies
involved in that case were not competing to provide
warehousing services, granting the former an exemption
did not directly affect adversely domestic companies sub-
ject to the tax. The situation presented by this case is
precisely that about which this Court in Metropolitan Life
was concerned. Here, the various instrumentalities of
interstate commerce which have been granted exempt
status directly compete with air cargo transporters such
as Petitioner; thus, a legislative enactment and an admin-
istrative interpretation which accord exemptions to some
members of the class of interstate carriers to the exclusion
of one member of that class directly disadvantage the
excluded commercial participant.

Although Metropolitan Life and Allied Stores involved
the distinction between domestic and foreign companies,
the rationale employed in those cases is equally applica-
ble here. Petitioner is in the cargo transport business and,
as such, competes directly with other cargo transport
businesses -- be they transport by land, air or sea. The
“reasonable” basis for the exemption offered by the Mich-
igan Court of Appeals in its opinion does not justify the
discrimination. In Metropolitan Life, this Court recognized

29

that “acceptance of [the state’s] contention that promo-
tion of domestic industries is always a legitimate state
purpose under equal protection analysis would eviscerate
the Equal Protection Clause in this context.” 470 U.S. at
882. The state cannot confer favored status upon certain
segments of an industry that it believes warrant attention
to the exclusion of others in the same industry who are
then placed at a distinct competitive disadvantage.

Because no “state of facts reasonably can be con-
ceived that would sustain” the discriminatory tax classi-
fication evident in this case, Allied Stores, 358 U.S. at 528,
the classification in question impermissibly offends the
equal protection guarantees provided under federal and
state constitutional provisions and cannot be sustained.
Further, to the extent that an intermediate or heightened
scrutiny is invoked when examining equal protection
challenges to legislation or administrative pronounce-
ments that implicate other constitutional considerations -
such as the Commerce Clause - the Michigan scheme
most certainly fails.

30
CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this petition for a writ of
certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted:

Howarp & Howarp Atrorneys, P.C.

Patrick R. VAN TIFLIN

MicHete L. HALLORAN

Kim D. Crooxs

Donna M. CLARKE
The Phoenix Building, Suite 500
222 Washington Square, North
Lansing, Michigan 48933-1817
Telephone: (517) 485-1483

App. i

STATE OF MICHIGAN
COURT OF CLAIMS

ZANTOP INTERNATIONAL
AIRLINES, INC.,

Plaintiff, File No. 91-13365-CM

Vv Hon. Thomas L. Brown

REVENUE DIVISION,
DEPARTMENT OF OPINION AND ORDER

TREASURY, STATE OF
MICHIGAN

Defendant.

Plaintiff in this action moves the Court for summary
disposition pursuant to MCR 2.116(C)(10) on Count III of
its complaint in that except as to the amount of damages,
there is no genuine issue as tc any material fact, and the
moving party is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.

Plaintiff, a Michigan corporation, operates a fleet of
aircraft in the conduct of an interstate and foreign air
freight delivery business. In the course of its business,
Plaintiff is required by the Federal Aviation Administra-
tion (FAA) to replace, repair or rebuild certain parts,
referred to as “rotable parts”. To comply with the FAA,
Plaintiff shipped these “rotable parts” to vendors outside
of Michigan for repair during the taxable period in ques-
tion. When these “rotable parts” were repaired the parts
were sent back to Plaintiff who reinstalled them on its
aircraft.

App. 2

In 1990, Defendant conducted a sales and use tax
audit on Plaintiff. As a result of this audit, Defendant
determined that Plaintiff owed use taxes on these “rota-
ble parts” in the amount of $757,275.72 including interest
and penalties.

In Count III of its complaint, Plaintiff alleges that the
Michigan Use Tax, 137 PA 94, as amended, MCL 205.91 et
seq; MSA 7.555(6) et seq; violates Plaintiff’s right to equal
protection of the law as guaranteed by the United States
Constitution under the Fourteenth Amendment and the
Michigan Constitution of 1963, Article 1, Section 2. Speci-
fically, Plaintiff contends that the legislature’s action of
creating classifications of modes of interstate commerce
which are exempt and Defendant's issuance of a Letter
Ruling concerning the exemption of rolling stock, are
evidence of its alleged equal protection claim.

The exemptions at issue cited by Plaintiff arise pur-
suant to MCL 205.94; (k) and (x); MSA 7.555, (4) (k) and
(x) which states in pertinent:

The tax levied shall not apply to:

(k) A vessel designed for commercial use of
registered tonnage of 500 tons or more, when
produced upon special order of the purchaser,
and bunker and galley fuel, provisions, sup-
plies, maintenance, and repairs for exclusive use
of a vessel of 500 tons or more engaged in
interstate commerce.

(x) The storage, use, or consumption of any
aircraft owned or used by a domestic passenger
air carrier operating under a certificate issued
by the civil aeronautics board pursuant to sec-
tion 401 of title IV of the federal aviation act of

a eT yen Se TST

App. 3

1958, 49 U.S.C. 1371, if the aircraft is used pri-
marily in the regularly scheduled commercial
transport of passengers.

Further, the Letter Ruling cited by Plaintiff in sup-
port of its position states in pertinent part:

89-48. Interstate versus Intrastate Rolling stock.

You inquire regarding the taxability of rolling
stock purchased out of state and placed into
interstate commerce outside of Michigan. The
vehicles subsequently are converted to use in
intrastate commerce in Michigan.

* * *

.. . [I]t is the Department's position that rolling
stock purchased and placed into interstate com-
merce in another state but subsequently con-
verted in Michigan is subject to use tax at the
time of conversion.

The Michigan Court of Appeals in American Amuse-
ment Company Inc. v Department of Treasury, 91 Mich App
573; 253 NW2d 800 (1979), addressed the issue of equal
protection violations with regards to a state’s taxation
scheme. The Michigan Court of Appeals quoting an ear-
lier case stated at 577:

[T]here is a point beyond which the State cannot
go without violating the Equal Protection
Clause. The state must proceed upon a rational
basis and may not resort to a classification that
is palpably arbitrary. The rule often has been
stated to be that the classification must rest
upon some ground of difference having a fair
and substantial relation to the object of the legis-
lation . .. That statute may discriminate in favor
of a certain class does not render it arbitrary if

App. 4

the discrimination is founded upon a reasonable
distinction, or difference in state policy.

In applying this rational basis test the Court must
determine whether there is a rational relationship
between the object of the legislation and the classifica-
tion. After review of the proofs in this case the Court is of
the opinion that there is no rational classification.

The Court agrees with the Defendant’s averment as
to the exemption applicable to aircraft owned by a
domestic airline as set forth by MCL 205.95(x); MSA
7.555(4)(x). Clearly, this exemption only pertains to the
storage, use, or consumption of aircraft owned and uti-
lized in the commercial transportation of passengers.
There is no mention, either expressly or impliedly, that
said exemption applies to parts of the aircraft. In fact,
according to the affidavit of Jesse Weaver, Defendant
does tax those parts. Moreover, Plaintiff’s own aircraft
are not subject to taxation under the Michigan Sales or
the Michigan Use Tax.

Furthermore, the Court concedes that the subject of
the Letter Ruling, that being rolling stock, is remotely
similar factually to Plaintiff’s situation. The Court takes
notice that Letter Rulings are issued by the Department in
response to specific questions and fact situations pre-
sented by a taxpayer and that they are not to be relied on
by other taxpayers. However, Letter Rulings do provide
some guidance regarding the Department's position in a
given situation. This point is important in the context of
this case.

However, the Court finds that the exemption applica-
ble to commercial vessels of 500 tons or more set forth in

App. 5

MCL 205.94(k); MSA 7.555(4)(k) more closely parallels
Plaintiff’s situation. Both Plaintiff and businesses which
fall under this exemption are involved in interstate com-
merce and shipping freight. The main difference between
the two, not taking into account superficial differences, is
that one utilizes a ship while the other utilizes aircraft.
The Court is strained to understand the differences
afforded these two modes of interstate commerce that
warrant one form to receive use tax relief with respect to
“provisions, supplies, maintenance, and repairs” while
the other is not.

The United States Supreme Court in Williams v Ver-
mont, 472 US 14; 105 S Ct 2465; 86 L Ed 2d 11 (1985),
quoting an earlier case held at page 19 that “the states
have large leeway in making classifications and drawing
lines which in their judgment produce reasonable sys-
tems of taxation”.

In determining whether a particular taxation scheme
is rationally based, the Michigan Court of Appeals in
American Amusement supra, quoting an earlier case dis-
cussed the application of the equal protection clause
within the context of a state’s taxation scheme. The Mich-
igan Court of Appeals held at 577 that the equal protec-
tion clause:

“impose no iron rule of equality, prohibiting the
flexibility and variety that are appropriate to
reasonable scheme of state taxation. The state
may impose different specific taxes upon differ-
ent trades and professions and may very [sic]
the rate of excise upon various products. It is
not required to resort to close distinctions or to
maintain a precise, scientific uniformity with

App. 6

reference to composition, use or value. [citation
omitted]

The Court finds that when read individually, Plain-
tiff’s averments as to the applicability of the exemptions
available under the Michigan Use Tax and the Letter
Ruling at issue are weakened by their differences to
Plaintiff’s situation.

However, it is the opinion of the Court that, when
read as a whole the exemptions to the Michigan Use Tax
evidence an arbitrary approach by Defendant as it applies
to the taxation of different instrumentalities of interstate
commerce in violation of equal protection.

Therefore, the Court finds that Plaintiff’s allegations
in Count III have merit. Thus, Plaintiff’s motion for sum-
mary disposition as to Count III is GRANTED.

Date: 2-26-92 /s/ Thomas L. Brown
Thomas L. Brown, Circuit Judge

App. 7

STATE OF MICHIGAN
COURT OF APPEALS

ZANTOP INTERNATIONAL a pone

AIRLINES INC., ay <0,
Plaintiff-Appellee, No. 152381

Vv L.C. No. 91-013365

DEPARTMENT OF TREASURY,
Defendant-Appellant.

Before: Fitzgerald, PJ., and Brennan, and Batzer,” JJ.
PER CURIAM.

Defendant appeals from an order of summary dispo-
sition in favor of plaintiff. We reverse and remand.

Defendant’s sole claim on appeal is that the trial
court erred in finding that the use tax exemption con-
tained in MCL 205.94(k); MSA 7.555(4)(k), was arbitrary
and violated the equal protection clauses of the United
States and Michigan Constitutions. We agree.

Equal protection of the law is guaranteed by both the
federal and the state constitutions. US Const, Am XIV;
Const 1963, art 1, § 2. Both guarantees afford similar
protection. Doe v Dep't of Social Services, 439 Mich 650,

* Circuit judge, sitting on the Court of Appeals by
assignment.

App. 8

670-671; 487 NW2d 166 (1992). The equal protection guar-
antee requires that all persons under similar circum-
stances be treated alike. El Souri v Dep’t of Social Services,
429 Mich 203, 207; 414 NW2d 679 (1987). Equal protection
does not require that persons in different circumstances
be treated the same. Thompson v Merritt (Amended Opin-
ion), 192 Mich App 412, 424; 481 NW2d 735 (1991). When
a legislative classification is challenged as violative of the
equal protection guarantee, the test to determine its val-
idity depends on the kind of classification and the nature
of the interest affected. Id. at 424-425.

Social and economic legislation is examined under
the traditional “rational basis” test. People v Perlos, 436
Mich 305, 331; 462 NW2d 310 (1990); Rouge Parkway Asso-
ciates v City of Wayne, 423 Mich 411, 421-422; 377 NW2d
748 (1985). Under the rational basis test, legislation is
presumed to be constitutional and must be sustained if
the classification is rationally related to a legitimate gov-
ernmental purpose or interest. Doe, supra at 662; Bissell v
Kommareddi, 202 Mich App 578, 580; 509 NW2d 542
(1993). The burden of proof is on the person attacking the
legislation to show that the state failure to tax similarly
situated enterprises uniformly was arbitrary, intentional,
and knowing rather than a mistake or the result of an
inadvertence. Kellogg Co v Dep't of Treasury, 204 Mich App
489, 496; 516 NW2d 108 (1994); Orion Twp v State Tax
Commission, 195 Mich App 13, 17; 489 NW2d 120 (1992). A
rational basis for legislation exists when any set of facts
can be reasonably conceived to justify the discrimination.
Kellogg, supra at 496; Wartella v East Detroit, 161 Mich App
522, 556; 411 NW2d 751 (1987).

App. 9

The Use Tax Act, MCL 205.91 et seq; MSA 7.555(1) et

seq, provides in pertinent part for the following exemp-
tions:

(k) A vessel designed for commercial use
of registered tonnage of 500 tons or more, if
produced upon special order of the purchaser,
and bunker and galley fuel, provisions, sup-
plies, maintenance, and repairs for the exclusive
use of a vessel of 500 tons or more engaged in
interstate commerce.

* * *

(x) The storage, use, or consumption of
any aircraft owned or used by a domestic pas-
senger air carrier operating under a certificate
issued by the United States department of trans-
portation pursuant to section 401 of title IV of
the federal aviation act of 1958, Public Law
85-726, 49 U.S.C. 1371, if the aircraft is used
primarily in the regularly scheduled commercial
transport of passengers. [MCL 205.94(k), (x);
MSA 7.555(4)(k), (x).]

Despite plaintiff's arguments to the contrary, we are
convinced that the legislature’s failure to exempt air
freight plane parts from the use tax, in a manner consis-
tent with commercial vessels of 500 tons or more, was not
a violation of equal protection. Plaintiff has failed to
negate every conceivable basis that might support the
§ 4(k) exemption. The Legislature could rationally have
decided to exempt parts for vessels exceeding five hun-
dred tons from the use tax because of desire to promote
that industry to locate in Michigan. We would add that
our conclusion is not affected by the exemption contained

App. 10

in § 4(x) because that exemption is limited to the storage,
use, or consumption of a domestic passenger aircraft.

Reversed and remanded.

/s/ E. Thomas Fitzgerald
/s/ Thomas J. Brennan

BATZER, J. (dissenting).

Plaintiff Michigan corporation is an interstate and
foreign carrier of air cargo. Plaintiff conducts its inter-
state and foreign air freight delivery business among and
between approximately forty-five to fifty airports includ-
ing Willow Run Airport in Ypsilanti. As an air carrier
subject to Federal Aviation Administration Rules and
Regulations, plaintiff is required to repair and replace on
a periodic basis and schedule specified by the FAA cer-
tain critical parts to its aircraft called “rotable parts.”
These “rotable parts” important to the context of this case
include engines, engine components, propellers, and
other critical operating parts.

The engines, propellers, and components are peri-
odically removed from plaintiff’s aircraft pursuant to
FAA maintenance schedules, and sent to repair facilities
outside the State of Michigan where they undergo routine
and specified repair, replacement, overhaul, and upgrad-
ing. When the repair and overhaul are completed, they
are returned to plaintiff, reinstalled on the aircraft, and
the aircraft are placed back into service hauling air
freight.

The State of Michigan imposes a use tax on plaintiff’s
costs incurred in the repair and replacement of these

—

App. 11

“rotable parts” on the theory that plaintiff is using, stor-
ing, Or consuming the parts in Michigan, separate and
apart from its operations in interstate commerce.

On the other hand, the maintenance and repair of
vessels of 500 tons or more engaged in interstate on the
Great Lakes is exempt from Michigan’s use tax to which
plaintiff is subject. Plaintiff claims that this different use
tax treatment violates its constitutional right to the equal
protection of the laws.

In 1990, defendant conducted a sales and use tax
audit on plaintiff. As a result of the audit, defendant
determined that plaintiff owed use taxes on these “rota-
ble parts” in the amount of $757,275.72, including interest
and penalties.

Both plaintiff and business with vessels of 500 tons or
more engaged in Great Lakes shipping are involved in
interstate commerce and shipping freight. As the trial
judge observed in his well-considered opinion below:

The main different between the two, not
taking into account superficial differences, is
that one utilizes a ship while the other aircraft.
The Court is strained to understand the differ-
ences afforded these two modes of interstate
commerce that warrant one form to receive use
tax relief with respect to “provisions, supplies,
maintenance and repairs” while the other is not.

I, too, am strained to understand the difference.
Defendant at argument offered that perhaps airports put
a strain on state resources in terms of connecting high-
ways and such. I had thought that there were significant

App. 12

federal subsidies for such highways to alleviate the bur-
den on state resources, but in any event, do not dock
facilities for the loading and unloading of waterborne
cargo and its accompanying land transportation to its
ultimate markets also place such burdens on highways
and other infrastructures? As to which places the greater
burden would likely, in my view, be measured in cargo
tonnage loaded and unloaded - a figure of which this
Court knows little — and, with all due deference, was, I
suspect, far from the legislative mind.

A legislative intent to foster the shipping industry is
propounded. Perhaps, but why was t ie shipping industry
entitled to such state fostering over the interstate air
freight industry? Self-evident reasons do not jump out.
And why is the interstate air freight industry now being
fostered through subsequent legislation which tempo-
rarily has abrogated the tax? If there were an explicit
legislative finding on these issues, I would defer to any
such remotely rational finding. In the absence of such, I
can only conclude that when it comes to equal protection
in this taxation scheme, the rational basis test gives way
to Orwellian analysis, wherein all of the similarly situ-
ated are equal, but some of the similarly situated are
more equal than others. In my view there is an equal
protection violation here. Williams v Vermont, 472 US 14,
22; 105 S Ct 2465; 86 L Ed 2d 11 (1865); Allegheny Pitts-
burgh Coal Co v Co Comm of Webster Co, 488 US 336; 109 S
Ct 633; 102 L Ed 2d 688 (1989); Racchus Imports Ltd v Dias,
468 US 263; 104 S Ct 3049; 82 L Ed 2d 200 (1984). See also
MCI Telecomm Corp v Dep't of Treasury, 136 Mich App 38;
355 NW2d 627 (1984).

App. 13

In the absence of any legislative finding, the prof-
fered “rational basis” for the legislative exemption for the
maintenance and repair of ships of 500 tons or more, but
not for air freight haulers, strike me not as genuine
rational reasons, but as mere pillows held up by defen-
dant to absorb the attack of plaintiff, until plaintiff, in
frustration and exhaustion, ultimately submits.

If there is a rational basis for the unequal use tax
treatment here, it wholly escapes me. I would affirm.

/s/ James M. Batzer

App. 14

Court of Appeals, State of Michigan

CRDER
ZANTOP E. Thomas Fitzgerald
INTERNATIONAL —
AIRLINES v Presiding Judge
DEPT OF TREASURY Thomas J. Brennan

Docket # 152381 James M. Batzer

L.C. # 91-13365-CM Judges

The Court orders that the motion for rehearing is
DENIED.

Judge Batzer would grant rehearing.

A true copy entered and certified by Ella Williams, Chief
Clerk, on

[SEALINOV 28 1995
Date /s/ Ella Williams
Chief Clerk

App. 15

APPENDIX

Michigan Supreme Court
Lansing, Michigan
ORDER
Entered: September 27, 1996
James H. Brickley
Chief Justice

Charles L. Levin

105137 Michael F. Cavanagh
Patricia J. Boyle

Dorothy Comstock Riley

Conrad L. Mallett, Jr.

Elizabeth A. Weaver

Justices
ZANTOP INTERNATIONAL
AIRLINES, INC.,
ae SC: 105137
Plaintiff-Appellant, COA: 152381
Vv CC: 91-013365

REVENUE DIVISION,
MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF
TREASURY,

Defendant-Appellee.

On order of the Court, the application for leave to
appeal is considered, and it is DENIED, because we are
not persuaded that the questions presented should be
reviewed by this Court.

App. 16

60924
[SEAL]

I, CORBIN R. DAVIS, Clerk of the Michigan Supreme

Court, certify that the foregoing is a true and complete

copy of the order entered at the direction of the Court.
September 27, 1996

/s/ Jacqueline B. MacKinnon
Deputy Clerk

App. 17

AMENDMENT XIV - CITIZENSHIP; PRIVILEGES
AND IMMUNITIES; DUE PROCESS; EQUAL PROTEC-
TION; APPORTIONMENT OF REPRESENTATION;
DISQUALIFICATION OF OFFICERS; PUBLIC DEBT:
ENFORCEMENT

Section 1. All persons born or naturalized in the
United States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are
citizens of the United States and of the State wherein they
reside. No State shall make or enforce any law which
shall abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of
the United States; nor shall any State deprive any person
of life, liberty, or property, without due process of law;
nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal
protection of the laws.

ne

Art. 1, § 2 CONSTITUTION OF 1963

§ 2. Equal protection; discrimination

Sec. 2. No person shall be denied the equal protec-
tion of the laws; nor shall any person be denied the
enjoyment of his civil or political rights or be discrimi-
nated against in the exercise thereof because of religion,
race, color or national origin. The legislature shall imple-
ment this section by appropriate legislation.

App. 18

205.94. Exemptions

Sec. 4. The tax levied shall not apply to:

Commercial vessels of 500 tons or
more, supplies, repairs

(k) A vessel designed for commercial use of regis-
tered tonnage of 500 tons or more, when produced upon
special order of the purchaser, and bunker and galley
fuel, provisions, supplies, maintenance, and repairs for
the exclusive use of a vessel of 500 tons or more engaged
in interstate commerce.

205.94 Exemptions
Sec. 4. The tax levied shall not apply to:

* * *

Storage, use, or consumption of aircraft

(x) The storage, use, or consumption of any aircraft
owned or used by a domestic passenger air carrier oper-
ating under a certificate issued by the civil aeronautics
board pursuant to section 401 of title IV of the federal
aviation act of 1958, 49 U.S.C. 1371, if the aircraft is used
primarily in the regularly scheduled commercial trans-
port of passengers.

App. 19

89-48. Interstate Versus Intrastate Rolling Stock

You inquire regarding the taxability of rolling stock pur-
chased out of state and placed into interstate commerce
outside of Michigan. The vehicles subsequently are con-
verted to use in intrastate commerce in Michigan.

In Complete Auto Transit, Inc. v. Charles R. Brady, Jr., 430
US 274 (1977), the United States Supreme Court rejected
the view that the states cannot tax interstate commerce
but did impose limits on state taxation of interstate com-
merce. In Complete Auto Transit, the Court determined
that a state’s tax would be constitutionally valid provided
it meets the following four-prong test:

1. It applies to an activity with a substantial
nexus within the taxing state,

2. it is fairly apportioned,

3. it does not discriminate against interstate
commerce, and

4. itis fairly related to the services provided by
the state.

Using the four prong test, the following conciusions can
be made:

1. In the instant case, the taxpayer clearly has
substantial nexus with Michigan due to its
intrastate trucking activity.

2. The Michigan use tax is fairly apportioned.
No other state will tax the vehicles as the
use is entirely within Michigan.

3. The Michigan use tax does not discriminate
against interstate commerce because the
property has become a part of the mass of
property within this state.

App. 20

4. The taxpayer receives the benefits of ser-
vices such as police and fire protection, and
particularly use of the roads in this state.

It appears that all four prongs of the Complete Auto Transit
test are satisfied under the facts you present. Therefore, it
is the Department’s position that rolling stock purchased
and placed into interstate commerce in another state but
subsequently converted to intrastate commerce in Michi-
gan is subject to use tax at the time of conversion. See
MCL 205.91 et seq.

August 15, 1989 Louis W. Duncan
LR 89-48 Acting Commissioner of
Revenue

App. 21

LEGISLATIVE HISTORY OF MICHIGAN
USE TAX ACT (“UTA”) EXEMPTIONS FOR
INSTRUMENTALITIES OF INTERSTATE COMMERCE

The §4(k) exemption for certain water vessels was
adopted by the Michigan Legislature in 1949 [1949 Public
Act 273 (effective July 1, 1949)] and has undergone no
substantive change since its original adoption. The §4(x)
exemption is of more recent vintage. It was adopted by
the Michigan Legislature in 1984 [1984 Public Act 288
(effective 12/20/84)] and has undergone significant
recent revision.

Under the 1984 version of the UTA, the aircraft
exemption was limited to aircraft owned or used by a
domestic air carrier if the aircraft was used primarily in
the regularly scheduled commercial transport of pas-
sengers. The First Analysis to House Bill 5801, which was
prepared by the Michigan House of Representatives Leg-
islative Analysis Section shortly before the adoption of
Public Act 288 of 1984, reflects that the Michigan legisla-
ture recognized, at that time, that passenger air carriers
not domiciled in the state of Michigan could exercise
dominion over their aircraft within Michigan free of use
tax as long as they remained in the stream of commerce
or were placed in the stream of commerce prior to enter-
ing the state of Michigan. (See this App. 25) The 1984
legislation was introduced to accommodate one airline -
Simmons — which was a Michigan airline that was
required to take delivery of aircraft outside the state of
Michigan and employ them in the interstate transport of
commercial passengers prior to bringing the aircraft into
the state in order to avoid paying Michigan’s 4 percent
use tax on the entire acquisition price of the aircraft. So,

App. 22

since 1984, Michigan law has clearly recognized that the
storage, use or consumption of aircraft used in the com-
mercial transport of passengers is exempt from use tax.

Public Act 214 of 1994 then altered this exemption to:
(i) include aircraft used in the transport of “air cargo”
within its scope, and (ii) expand the scope of the pas-
senger aircraft exemption. After Public Act 214 of 1994,
the exemption read:

The storage, use, or consumption of any
aircraft owned or used by a domestic air carrier
operating under a certificate issued by the
United States Department of Transportation
pursuant to §401 of Title IV of the Federal Avia-
tion Act of 1958, Public Law 85-726, 49 U.S.C.
Appx. 1371-1376 and 1377-1389, if the aircraft is
used solely in the transport of air cargo or in the
commercial transport of passengers.

Public Act 214 of 1994 was ordered to take immediate
effect and was approved and filed June 23, 1994. The
exemption for air carriers provided for in the Act was
made retroactively effective to January 1, 1993. On
August 3, 1994, a Second Analysis to Enrolled House Bill
5451 was prepared by the House Legislative Analysis
Section. The analysis makes clear that the impetus for the
adoption of Public Act 214 was to encourage Michigan
airlines companies to use Michigan as a base from which
to maintain, repair, or refurbish aircraft. The analysis
notes that “[i]f planes that fly all over the world are taxed
because they are worked on in Michigan, companies will
base their planes elsewhere.” The expansive scope
intended by the Legislature in passage of Public Act 214
is further evidenced by the only argument identified

a iaiiiaeiaiiiilalaiiiaidlaiiaiadid

App. 23

against the legislation in the House Legislative Analysis.
there, it was said:

Currently, the exemption applies to certain
aircraft used in the “regularly scheduled com-
mercial transport of passengers.” The bill
extends the exemption not only to aid cargo
transports but also eliminates the expression
“regularly scheduled,” thus extending the
exemption to other kinds of commercial pas-
senger aircraft.

Thereafter, on December 13, 1994, Public Act 424 of
1994 was approved and made effective January 6, 1995.
Basically, Public Act 424 of 1994 continued the exemption
for storage, use or consumption by a domestic air carrier
of an aircraft purchased after December 31, 1992 for use
in the transport of air cargo. The legislation modified,
however, the longstanding exemption for aircraft used by
domestic air carriers in the transport of passengers.
Essentially, the legislation divided the passenger aircraft
exemption into two parts — one for aircraft used solely in
the “regularly scheduled transport of passengers” and
the other for aircraft having a maximum certified takeoff
weight of at least 12,500 pounds that is designed to have
a inaximum passenger seating configuration of more than
30 seats and is used to transport passengers. These two
parts were not, however, made immediately effective.
Rather, these exemptions apply to aircraft purchased after
June 30, 1994 and after December 31, 1994, respectively.

In 1992 the Michigan Legislature extended the air-
craft exemptions described above to certain parts and
materials affixed in the state of Michigan to an aircraft
owned or used by a domestic air carrier. 1992 Public Act 5

App. 24

(effective February 27, 1992). M.C.L. 205.94k. This section
was amended in 1995 and now reads:

Sec. 4k (1) The tax levied under this act does
not apply to parts and materials, excluding shop
equipment or fuel, affixed to or to be affixed in
this state to an aircraft owned or used by a
domestic air carrier that is any of the following:

(a) An aircraft purchased after December
31, 1992 for use solely in the transport of air
cargo that has a maximum certificated takeoff
weight of at least 12,500 pounds.

(b) An aircraft purchased after June 30,
1994 that is used solely in the regularly sched-
uled transport of passengers.

(2) For purposes of this section, “domestic
air carrier” is limited to entities engaged in the
commercial transport for hire of cargo or entities
engaged in the commercial transport of pas-
sengers as a business activity.

(3) This section does not apply after
December 31, 1996.

App. 25

[LOGO] House Legislative Analysis Section
650 Roosevelt Building
Phone: 517/373-6466

NO USE TAX ON SIMMONS AIRCRAFT

HOUSE BILL 5801 with committee amendments First
Analysis (11-20-84)

Sponsor: Rep. Dominic Jacobetti
Committee: Taxation

THE APPARENT PROBLEM:

Due to the vagaries of federal and state laws, an airline
must pay the Michigan use tax on its aircraft only if it
introduces the planes into service here. Simmons is the
only regularly scheduled interstate airline whose head-
quarters are in Michigan, and prepares its planes for
service in Marquette. In order to avoid being the only
airline in the country liable for the Michigan use tax,
Simmons must undergo the inconvenience and expense
of flying its new planes from company headquarters to an
airport outside the state for introduction into interstate
service. The company suggests that requiring it to pay the
tax when no other airline must is unfair to a Michigan
business, and discourages the establishment of other air-
lines here.

THE CONTENT OF THE BILL:

The bill would exempt from the use tax the storage, use,
or consumption of any aircraft owned or used by a
domestic passenger carrier operating under a certificate
issued by the Civil Aeronautics Board if the aircraft is

App. 26

used primarily in the regularly scheduled commercial
transportation of passengers.

FISCAL IMPLICATIONS:

According to the Department of Treasury, the bill would
cost the state nothing, since Simmons already avoids the
tax bv introducing its planes into service outside the
state.

ARGUMENTS:

For:

The bill would, be exempting aircraft used by regularly
scheduled airlines from the use tax, remove potential
liability and present inconvenience for Simmons Airlines

and encourage the establishing of other commercial car-
riers in Michigan.

POSITIONS:
Simmons Airlines supports the bill. (11-14-84)

The Department of Treasury does not oppose the bill.
(11-14-84)

scenes

PD Bae elv's Ae. een “ho 8

ERE 8S RIO WE Frere Css

App. 27

[LOGO] House Legislative Analysis Section

Olds Plaza Building, 10th Floor
Lansing, Michigan 48909
Phone: 517/373-6466

House Bill 5451 (8-3-94)

AIRCRAFT USE TAX EXEMPTION
P.A. 214 of 1994

House Bill 5451 as enrolled
Second Analysis (8-3-94)

Sponsor: Rep. Kirk A. Profit
House Committee: Taxation
Senate Committee: Not Referred

THE APPARENT PROBLEM:

The Use Tax Act currently provides an exemption for
certain commercial aircraft purchased elsewhere and
introduced into use in the state. The exemption applies to
aircraft owned or used by a domestic passenger air car-
rier and used in the regularly scheduled commercial
transport of passengers, if certain federal certificates are
obtained. (Tax specialists say the certificates are those
acquired for larger planes, holding 60 or more passengers
or 17,000 pounds or more of cargo, that are engaged in
interstate commerce.) Otherwise, aircraft purchased out-
side the state and brought into the state are subject to the
tax. Representatives of a rapidly growing Michigan cargo
(and charter passenger) carrier based at Willow Run,
American International Airways, has asked that the
exemption be extended to their aircraft. Testimony before
the House Taxation Committee indicated that the appli-
cability of the tax to the company’s aircraft which fly all
over the world but are maintained in this state, came to

App. 28

light as a result of a state tax audit. Representatives of the
company told the committee that the company, whose
customers include the overnight package industry, the
U.S. Postal Service, and the U.S. military, is expected to
have 2,000 employees by the end of the year, up from 500
in 1990. Company spokesman say they intend to purchase
in the near future over $90 million of aircraft that will be
converted from passenger to freight uses at a mainte-
nance facility in Oscoda. This will result in a $5.4 million
state use tax liability, a tax burden that could be avoided
if the company refurbished the planes in one of 25 other
states that exempt such aircraft.

THE CONTENT OF THE BILL:

The bill would amend the Use Tax Act (MCL 205.94) to
expand the aircraft exemption so that it applies to the
storage, use, or consumption of any aircraft owned or
used by a domestic air carrier operating under a certifi-
cate issued by the U.S. Department of Transportation, if
the aircraft was used solely in the transport of air cargo
or in the commercial transport of passengers. The exemp-
tion for air carriers would be effective beginning January
1, 1993.

FISCAL IMPLICATIONS:

There is no specific information at present. The Depart-
ment of Treasury testimony before the House Taxation
Committee (5-18-94) indicated that the state would lose
revenue as a result of the bill if its provisions remained
retroactive to 1989; some carriers not previously exempt
have paid use taxes to the state that would have to be

App. 29

refunded. As enacted, however, the exemption extends

back only to 1993.
ARGUMENTS:
For:
The bill would extend a current use tax exemption for
passenger aircraft to, among others, a Michigan-based

company that flies packages (and also passengers) all
over the world in planes maintained at Willow Run and
Oscoda. This is a company that is said to have added over
1,000 jobs in the past four years and expects continued
job growth this year. Without this bill, the company will
face a significant use tax bill from the state as a result of a
recent state audit. The company’s plan to refurbish some
$90 million worth of aircraft this summer will cost them
over $5 million in taxes. These taxes could be avoided by
moving the work to a state where such aircraft are
; exempt. This is not a tax that the company has been
paying to the state, so there would be no loss of antici-
pated state revenue as a result of the bill’s passage. As
the law stands now, it discourages companies from using
Michigan as a base from which to maintain, repair, or
refurbish aircraft. If planes that fly all over the world are
taxed because they are worked on in Michigan, com-
panies will base their planes elsewhere.

Response:

PS ee ee

It should be noted that an earlier version of the bill would
have made the exemption retroactive to 1989, which
would have provided greater benefit to the air transport
industry.

—
cer aie

App. 30

Against:

Currently, the exemption applies to certain aircraft used
in the “regularly scheduled commercial transport of pas-
sengers.” The bill extends the exemption not only to air
cargo transports but also eliminates the expression “regu-
larly scheduled,” thus extending the exemption to other
kinds of commercial passenger aircraft.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_0017%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
