# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Robokoff v. Women's Choice of Bergen County

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_0002%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1997
- **Citation:** 520 U.S. 1103

## Text

ree) As.
& FILS
Lis

~ 961015 DEC 2 5 19%.

garnbe. G6 THE CLERK

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

REVEREND WALTER J. ROBOKOFF, KATHLEEN
BATES, STEVEN NATIELLO and MICHELE STERLACE-
ACCORSI

Petitioners,

V.

WOMEN’S CHOICE OF BERGEN COUNTY, P.A.

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE SUPREME COURT OF NEW JERSEY

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

RICHARD F. COLLIER, JR.(Counsel of Record)
KEITH E. PATERSON

RICHARD J. TRAYNOR

LEGAL CENTER FOR THE DEFENSE OF LIFE, INC.
65. ‘sdison Avenue

Morristown, NJ 07960

(201) 984-0725 -

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

In Madsen v. Women's Health Center, 114 S.Ct. 2516
(1994), this Court replaced the "reasonable time,
place and manner" analysis to be applied to
injunctions with the more rigorous standard of
"whether the challenged provisions of the injunction
burden no more speech than necessary to serve a
significant government interest." In NAACP v.
Claiborne Hardware Co., 458 U.S. 886 (1982) this
Court required "precision of regulation" with regard
to injunctive relief which burdens speech, protecting
and separating peaceful speech from unprotected non-
speech activities. Against this background the first
question asked is:

Whether the decision of the New Jersey
Appellate Division upholding an injunction
which prohibits speech in front of an abortion
clinic, without any showing that the defendant
has violated, or imminently will violate, some
provision of statutory or common law, iS
inconsistent with this Court’s decision in
Madsen.

The second question is:

Whether the decision of the New Jersey
Appellate Division, in upholding an injunction
which prohibits speech by defendants who did
not engage in unlawful acts or violate
preliminary restraints, burdens more speech
than necessary to serve a_ significant
government interest.

~~
PARTIES

The Petitioners are as follows: Reverend Walter J.
Robokoff, Kathleen Bates, Steven Natiello and Michele
Sterlace-Accorsi.

The Petitioners were defendants in the New Jersey
Chancery Division and Appellants in the New Jersey
Appellate Division. They were also petitioners in the New
Jersey Supreme Court.

The Respondent is as follows: Women’s Choice of
Bergen County, P.A. The Respondent was the plaintiff in the
New Jersey Chancery Division and Cross Appellant in the
New Jersey Appellate Division. It was also a cross-petitioner
in the New Jersey Supreme Court.

- iii -

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED ...............0005. I
a il
REE ee 1
EE a a a er ar 2
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
RESEND og Oh 2
SIEATEMEN!T OF THE CASE.................. 3
STAGE AT WHICH, AND MANNER IN
WHICH FEDERAL QUESTIONS WERE
RE OS re ad 4

I. The State Court has Decided Two Federal
Questions of Constitutional Importance In A Manner
Inconsistent With Applicable Decisions of This Court. . .. 5

A. THE MADSEN CASE PROHIBITS THE NEW
JERSEY COURTS FROM ENJOINING FREE SPEECH
WITHOUT SHOWING THAT THOSE ENJOINED HAVE
VIOLATED OR WILL VIOLATE APPLICABLE LAW . 7

B. THE MADSEN CASE PROHIBITS THE NEW
JERSEY COURTS FROM ENJOINING FREE SPEECH
WITHOUT SHOWING THAT THOSE ENJOINED HAVE

TY «
VIOLATED OR WILL VIOLATE APPLICABLE LAW. . 8
CAPE 6 6 nb 0'obe bo ew os 0660 wee A ee 9
APPENDIX

ORDER TO SHOW CAUSE WITH TEMPORARY
ESSA AMEU ED 5 Gasbee By CMU os 06 0 6 ER Ss ca een A-1

INTERLOCUTORY INJUNCTION,
RE GE PO ES CER CERER Gs 0 oe eae A-5

CHANCERY DIVISION OPINION,
PEE. By A en's CRE 608 tae eS OK A-10

CHANCERY DIVISION ORDER
2k ee | Pe ee ee ee ee ee. A-32

APPELLATE DIVISION OPINION
8 2 | ee ee ee ee ee eee A-36

NEW JERSEY SUPREME COURT ORDER
CHANCERY DIVISION SUPPLEMENTAL OPINION
DE Os kk ee ek Veep oes ea A-40

CHANCERY DIVISION ORDER
Pg Re eek eee eee A-49

APPELLATE DIVISION OPINION
De ee eee ee eee ee A-53

-V-

CHANCERY DIVISION ORDER
Ps RE ah he Sk oe ee ae ere aa A-64

NEW JERSEY SUPREME COURT ORDERS
Se ROD os o'og 04 ae heh ak oN A-68

- Vi -

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

City of Houston v. Hill,
482 U.S. 451, 462 n.11 (1987)

Madsen v. Women's Health Center,

U.S. __, 114 S.Ct. 2516,

129 L.Ed.2d 593(1994) ....

Railway Express Agency v. New York,

336 U.S. 106,112-113 (1949) .

United States v. Eichman,

496 U.S. 310, 317-18 (1990) . .

United States v. W. T. Grant Co.,
345 U.S. 629,632-633 (1953)

CONSTITUTION AND STATUTES
Memes Ms PU. Bw ck te

“3 PL oy oss: Sen

No. 95 -

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

REVEREND WALTER J. ROBOKOFF, KATHLEEN
BATES, STEVEN NATIELLO and MICHELE STERLACE-
ACCORSI,

Petitioners,
v.

WOMEN’S CHOICE OF BERGEN COUNTY, P.A.

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE SUPREME COURT OF NEW JERSEY

DECISIONS BELOW

By Order to Show Cause and Complaint, the
Respondents commenced an action in the Superior Court of
New Jersey, Chancery Division, Bergen County on July 13,
1989 seeking injunctive relief against all First Amendment
activity on the sidewalk in front of their place of business.
The Chancery Division issued an Order to Show Cause with
Temporary Restraints on July 13, 1989 and an Interlocutory
Injunction on August 8, 1989, all on an ex parte basis.

éS.

Petitioners intervened in the action on December 1, 1989 to
contest the validity of the injunction. After trial in December
1991, the Chancery Division issued an opinion on February
19, 1992, which was embodied in an order on March 27,
1992.

An appeal was taken by Petitioners. On July 1, 1993,
the New Jersey Appelate Division affirmed. Petitioners then
filed a Petition for Certification in the New Jersey Supreme
Court, which granted certification on April 7, 1994 and
summarily remanded the matter to the Chancery Division for
reconsideration.

On remand, the Chancery Division issued a
supplemental opinion on March 14, 1995 and issued an order
on April 7, 1995 which retained all provisions of the earlier
order. Petitioners again appealed to the New Jersey Appellate
Division. On April 25, 1996, the Appellate Division issued
an opinion which affirmed in part and reversed in part, and
remanded the matter to the Chancery Division for entry of an
order consistent therewith. The modified order was entered
on June 25, 1996.

Petitioners filed another petition for certification in the
New Jersey Supreme Court, and Respondents filed a cross-
petition. Both the petitions were denied September 25, 1996.

JURISDICTION

This Court has jurisdiction, under 28 U.S.C. Section
1257 (3) to review the final judgment of the highest court of
a State “where any title, right, privilege or immunity is
specially set up or claimed under the Constitution... .” The
jurisdiction of the New Jersey Supreme Court was properly
invoked and it declined to review the judgment of the
Appellate Division.

~ =

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

The United States Constitution Amendment I provides
in pertinent part: "Congress shall make no law .. . abridging
the freedom of speech... ".

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In this case the Supreme Court of New Jersey has
permitted an injunction which (inter alia) forbids peaceful
picketing, leafleting, and conversation by Petitioners on
public sidewalks and rights of way. There was a specific
finding by the trial court that the Petitioners have not engaged
in any behavior which is unlawful or otherwise prohibited.
Moreover, there was no finding that the Petitioners
contemplated any future behavior which is unlawful or
otherwise prohibited. The very foundation of the First
Amendment is severely damaged by this decision.

This is not a "rescue" case. There were no pro-life
sit-ins or blockades at the plaintiff abortion facilities before
the order to show cause with temporary restraints was issued.
There was no finding that the Petitioners ever engaged in any
illegal activity. On the contrary, the Chancery Division
Stated in its opinion:

The named defendants will be bound by the
injunction in the same manner as others
having notice of the restraints. They were
not shown to have engaged in the unlawful
1989 acts nor to have violated the
preliminary restraints. (Emphasis supplied)

The principal question in this case is whether the New

2 a

sis

Jersey Supreme Court erred by suspending the Petitioners'
right to engage in speech on public sidewalks and streets.

As a matter of evidence and constitutional law, the
answer is Clear. The injunction unconstitutionally restricts
and discriminates against Petitioners' free speech rights.
Furthermore, the injunction is in direct violation of the
principles set forth in this Court’s Madsen decision.

This Court should grant this petition for certiorari and
correct this manifest attack on the core of the First
Amendment: the protection of disfavored speech in the
traditional public forum of public sidewalks and streets.

Speech that is popular or pleasant has little need for
constitutional protection. City of Houston v. Hill, 482 U.S.
451, 462 n.11 (1987). The true test of the rmght to free
speech, under the First Amendment to the United States
Constitution, is the strength of the protection that right
affords to speech that is unpopular, unpleasant, disturbing, or
even despised. E.g., United States v. Eichman, 496 U.S. 310
(1990) (flag burning).

The most important reason to grant this petition is to
restrain the manifestly improper application of the Madsen
decision. Without correction by this Court, the free speech
rights of persons who “were not shown to have engaged in .
. . unlawful . . . acts nor to have violated . . . preliminary
restraints .. . .” will be severely curtailed.

STAGE AT WHICH, AND MANNER IN WHICH,
FEDERAQUESTIONS WERE RAISED BELOW

The federal questions raised here were first raised by

_

Petitioners at the time of trial. Petitioners presented six
witnesses, in addition to themselves, during the course of the
trial which took place in December 1991. All agreed that the
conduct of Petitioners has been exemplary. The Petitioners
have been so considerate and well behaved that three former
patients of respondent came forward, without compulsion, to
testify on behalf of Petitioners. Each testified that the
sidewalk counselors outside the premises were calm, quiei
and peaceful, and that they had been treated courteously by
the Petitioners.

The absence of the required showing of illegality and
the excessiveness of the injunction were raised at summation
on December 4, 1991, in the brief filed with the Appellate
Division on September 17, 1992, at oral argument before the
Appellate Division on May 25, 1993, in the petition for
certification filed with the New Jersey Supreme Court on July
28, 1993, in five supplemental briefs filed with the Chancery
Division on May 26, 1994, June 2, 1994, August 25, 1994,
December 2, 1994 and December 9, 1994. They were also
raised in the brief filed with the Appellate Division on
September 30, 1995 and the petition for certification filed
with the New Jersey Supreme Court on May 28, 1996.

ARGUMENT

I. The State Court has Decided Two Federal
Questions of Constitutional Importance In A Manner
Inconsistent With Applicable Decisions of This Court

This petition for a writ of certiorari presents
significant and compelling constitutional issues. In Madsen,
this Court required precision of regulation by courts in
issuing injunctions which burden speech. In determining the
Standard to apply to injunctions against protected First

_

Amendment conduct, the Court in Madsen examined the
differences between an injunction and a generally applicable
ordinance. Those differences were set forth as follows:

There are obvious differences, however,
between an injunction and a generally
applicable ordinance. Ordinances represent
a legislative choice regarding the promotion
of particular societal interests. Injunction,
by contrast, are remedies imposed for
violations (or threatened violations) of a
legislative or judicial decree. (See United
States v. W.T. Grant Co., 345 U.S. 629,
632-633 (1953).) Injunctions also carry
greater risks of censorship and
discriminatory application than do general
ordinances. “[T]here is no more effective
practical guarantee against arbitrary and
unreasonable government than to require that
the principles of law which officials would
impose upon a minority must be imposed
generally.” (Railway Express Agency, Inc.
V. New York, 336 U.S. 106, 112-113
(1949).)

The Court held “that these differences require a
somewhat more stringent application of general First
Amendment principles in this context.” Madsen. In other
words, injunctions are to be more closely scrutinized than
generally applicable ordinances. “Accordingly, when
evaluating a content-neutral injunction, we think that our
standard time, place and manner analysis is not sufficiently
rigorous. We must ask instead whether the challenged
provisions of the injunction burden no more speech than

a.

necessary to serve a significant government interest.” Since
this Court sets forth a stricter test than that previously applied
by the highest court of New Jersey, the injunction at issue
here must meet that standard.

A. THE MADSEN CASE PROHIBITS THE NEW
JERSEY COURTS FROM ENJOINING FREE SPEECH
WITHOUT SHOWING THAT THOSE ENJOINED
HAVE VIOLATED OR WILL VIOLATE APPLICABLE
LAW

In Madsen, this Court stated that injunctions “are
remedies imposed for violations (or threatened violations) of
a legislative or judicial decree.” This Court continued “[A]n
injunction issues only if there is a showing that the defendant
has violated, or imminently will violate, some provision of
statutory or common law, and that there is a ‘cognizable
danger of recurrent violation.’”

In Madsen, this Court explained that “[t]he state Court
imposed restrictions on petitioners incidental to their anti-
abortion message because they repeatedly violated the Court’s
original order.” This Court also noted “[t)he failure of the
first injunction to protect access,” the fact that “petitioners
themselves studiously refrained from challenging the factual
basis for the injunction,” and “for purposes of this appeal
[petitioners] are assuming arguendo that a factual basis exists
to grant injunctive relief.”

The context is far different in the within matter. The
Chancery Division specifically found, after more than two
years of discovery and three days of trial, that the Petitioners
“were not shown to have engaged in the unlawful 1989 acts
nor to have violated the preliminary restraints.” Accordingly,

* ?

Madsen prohibits any injunction against these Petitioners,
who have not “violated, or imminently will violate, some
provision of statutory or common law.”

B. THE INJUNCTION HEREIN, BY RESTRICTING
THE SPEECH OF INNOCENT PARTIES, BURDENS
MORE SPEECH THAN NECESSARY TO SERVE A
SIGNIFICANT GOVERNMENT INTEREST.

The decision in Madsen requires “the injunction
burden no more speech than necessary to serve a significant
government interest.” This Court held that a 36 foot buffer
zone was necessary because of “the failure of the first order
to accomplish its purpose,” and found that the petitioners
“repeatedly violated the Court’s original order.”

None of these circumstances are present here. The Chancery
Division found that the Petitioners engaged in no illegal
activity, and never violated any provision of the preliminary
restraints. None of the four named defendants or six
witnesses observed any such acts or violations. The
Respondent admitted that it could not identify any specific
individual who had complained about Petitioners, and that no
patients had ever expressed a desire to participate in the case
on behalf of the Respondent. On the contrary, three of
Respondent’s former patients were so impressed by the
Petitioners’ exemplary conduct that they asked to testify on
Petitioners’ behalf.

The New Jersey courts have never identified any
significant government interest which would be served by
prohibiting Rev. Robokoff, Ms. Bates, Ms. Sterlace-Accorsi
and Mr. Natiello from using a public sidewalk. On the
contrary, the trial court specifically found that the Petitioners

x»

are innocent of any wrongdoing. They are being persecuted
and deprived of their right of free speech merely because they
are pro-life. It should be obvious that the New Jersey courts
are burdening “more speech than necessary to serve a
significant government interest.”

The New Jersey Appellate Division dismissed this
argument in their opinion dated April 25, 1996, saying:

“we believe that Judge Lesemann acted
correctly and reasonably in enjoining
defendants-appellants. He concluded that it
would be unfair and unworkable for purposes
of the injunction to create two classes of
demonstrators, based upon distinguishing
those identified as having engaged in the
harassing and disruptive conduct from those
who were not known to have done so.”

This reasoning fails to measure up to the Madsen standard for
two reasons. First, the New Jersey court has decided to
ignore the Constitutional rights of the Petitioners merely
because the protection of those rights would be “unfair and
unworkable.” Second, the court ignores the fact that no
“demonstrator” was ever “identified as having engaged in the
harassing and disruptive conduct.”

CONCLUSION

The highest court of New Jersey has declined to vacate an
injunction which impairs one of the most precious rights,
privileges and immunities provided by the Constitution. Its
decision is inconsistent with applicable decisions of this
Court. The State of New Jersey has deprived the Petitioners

in

of their rights under the United States Constitution
Amendment I without the required showing that Petitioners
have violated or imminently will violate, some provision of
statutory or common law. The State has burdened more
speech than necessary to serve a significant government
interest. The Petitioners respectfully request this Court to
grant this Petition and correct the manifest injustice caused by
the State of New Jersey.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_0002%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
