# Opposition Brief — Vornado Air Circulation Systems, Inc. v. Duracraft Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_2304%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1996
- **Citation:** 516 U.S. 1067

## Text

No. 95-524

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1995

VORNADO AIR CIRCULATION SYSTEMS, INC.,
Petitioner,

DURACRAFT CORPORATION,
Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

JAMES W. DABNEY

Counsel for Respondent
KELLY D. TALCOTT
CAROL M. WILHELM
CAROLINE R. CLARK
Pennie & Edmonds

GERALD SAWATZKY 1155 Avenue of the Americas
Jim H. GOERING New York, New York 10036
Foulston & Siefkin (2!2) 790-9090
Wichita, Kansas
Of Counsel

QUESTION PRESENTED

Petitioner was issued a U.S. utility patent on "a new and
improved front grill and duct structure which increases the fan’s
capacity and efficiency while decreasing its sound over the prior
art grills or no grills at all." The Petitioner’s patent expressly
claimed “a circular grill having . . . a series of arcuate shaped
ribs” whose design, Petitioner represented, "provides an optimum
flow of air at a standard power usage.”

In the litigation below, the Petitioner attempted to
characterize the “arcuate shaped ribs" disclosed and claimed in
Petitioner’s patent as “trade dress” whose use assertedly could be
controlled and enjoined under 15 U.S.C. § 1125(a), regardless of
the scope or duration of the claims in the Petitioner’s patent. The
Court of Appeals entered judgment dismissing Petitioner’s “trade
dress" claim, holding that the vane structure disclosed and claimed
in Petitioner’s utility patent was not a type of “nonfunctional
configuration of goods" that could properly receive “trade dress"
protection under applicable decisions of this Court.

The question presented is whether the Court of Appeals
was correct in its holding that: “where a disputed product
configuration is part of a claim in a utility patent, and the
configuration is a described, significant inventive aspect of the
invention, see 35 U.S.C. § 112, so that without it the invention
could not fairly be said to be the same invention, patent law
prevents its protection as trade dress, even if the configuration is
nonfunctional” (58 F.3d at 1510).

STATEMENT PURSUANT TO RULE 29,6

Duracraft Corporation ("Duracraft") has no parent
companies or nonwholly owned subsidiaries.

Page
ce tcc cece ce i
STATEMENT PURSUANT TO RULE 29.6........... ii
Use pb ccc cccseeicecee 2
STATEMENT OF THECASE ................... 2

The Vornado Improvement Patents ............ 5
The Patented AirTensity™ Grill............... 7
Vornado’s Shift of Positions ................ 9
Vornado’s Inexcusable and
EE I 10
The District Court’s Decision................ 12
pO re 13
The Decision of the
ES 14
REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION .......... 19

I. . THE DECISION BELOW FOLLOWS

I. THE DECISION BELOW DOES NOT
cea eb es ose 5 ee 24

Page(s)

CASES

MUS. HOD... yes 14, 15, 16,
PPE SD eS get Is Ge ROA Bd SLATS 17, 19, 21,
os RES ES ROUSE ORES he een 22, 23, 25, 26
B ick C Spinit Reel C

See re ee Ge Se er 26
870 F.2d 512 (9th Cir.),

cert. denied, 493 U.S. 872 (1989) .............. 25, 26
C C Dav-Brite Lishtins Joc.

SAG UE, Pee. sis ico nba oboe; ty 14, 17, 20, 22
Duraco Products, Inc, v. Joy Plastic

Enterprises, Lid., 40 F.3d
oR 18, 19
G7 P26 ri Oe Gee OO) ok is HOS SS Se 24
Fabrica Inc, v, El] Dorado Corp.,

Gi Psa eat Hee ss ee 23
944 F.2d 1235 (th Cir. 1991),

cert. denied, 112 S. Ct. 3028 (1992) ............... 25
Interpart Corp, v. Italia,

771 Ble Ge Oak: Ce OD) foie. od ke. e 16
Jeffrey Milstein. | G

Lawlor, Roth, Inc., 58 F.3d 27 (2d Cir. 1995) ........ 24

Kellogg Co. v, National Biscuit Co.,

SS SS ee reer re 14, 21

1995 U.S. App. LEXIS 31942
cise cawdcccear 18
Kohler Co, v, Moen Inc.,

ere Oe Oe cee ewes 24, 25

115 S. Ct. 1300 (1995) ......... Mamie a esas 18, 25

CO Paner 0 VMiarcCailus anufacturine C: .

i ck ee ee ee 8% 21
Sears, Roebuck & Co. v. Stiffel Co.,

A 8. | AREER 14, 16, 17, 20
Singer Manufacturing C june Mfg. Co..

5 EE A ae 14, 22
Thomas & Betts Corp. v. Panduit Corp.,

65 F.3d 654 (7th Cir. 1995) .............. 18, 24, 25, 27
Versa Products Co. v. Bifold Co,, 50 F.3d 189

(3d Cir.), cert, denied, US.__,

Sie ee Gs ck ee eI a Se te 24
STATUTES
ee 25
Se ee ee ee 23

15 U.S.C. § 1094 ...... 0 2 ikea delle & wee: eae 23
IS USC. E Te oo. ccs 10, 12, 13, 14, 17, 21, 24, 25
USL. $109 41 0c cds cvdPeu ee 5
MISCELLANEOUS

Dabney, State Law Protection of

Intellectual Creations: Priv:

and Preemption, 38 S

L. SOO, GE, Oe es hvac ove eee 20

No. 95-524

VORNADO AIR CIRCULATION SYSTEMS, INC.,
Petitioner,

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

LA TL LE Ra LT TE ACT LS I TERE AAT SN) se

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
LA LT TL TT aN TTR: S CN SNE TIER ei

The Respondent, Duracraft Corporation (“Duracraft"),
respectfully requests that this Court deny the petition for writ of
certiorari seeking review of the Tenth Circuit’s decision in this case.
Duracraft has already been put to unconscionable burden and expense
defending this meritless lawsuit in which the Petitioner seeks to
overturn a century’s worth of this Court's decisions.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Tenth Circuit's opinion is reported at 58 F.3d 1498
(1995). The District Court’s unreported opinions were issued June
20, 1994 (R.1600)' and March 4, 1994 (R.1221). The petition for
certiorari fails to mention or include the District Court’s June 20,
1994 opinion which found that Petitioner had “made inconsistent
representations concerning the spiral grill" (R.1605).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Duracraft manufactures and sells electric fans and other
DURACRAFT® brand household products (R. 1616). Duracraft is the
owner of U.S. Reg. No. 1,619,729 for the trademark
DURACRAFT®, U.S. Reg. No. 1,648,066 for the trademark IDEAS
BUILT TO LAST®, U.S. Reg. No. 1,755,135 for the trademark AIR
DURACRAFT®, and numerous other trademark registrations and
applications covering consumer household products (R.2111-25).

Since August 1990 (R.241-42), Duracraft has sold a
household fan known as the DURACRAFT® Model DT-7 "Turbo
Fan" (R.2395-2406). The DT-7 “Turbo Fan" incorporates an original
and innovative design on which Duracraft was awarded U.S. Design
Patent No. 323,708 (the "708 Patent"), Figure 1 of which is
reprinted below (R. 1675-8): |

US. Patent Fen 4 0m Seer tot) Des. 323,708

: As used in this Brief, references in the form "R.----" are to
the record filed with the Court of Appeals.

In the four-year period ending June 15, 1994, Duracraft sold
more than 2.2 million DURACRAFT® “Turbo Fan" units yielding net
sales revenues of some $14.55 million (R.1610), not one dollar of
which was proved at trial to have resulted from any supposed
“confusion” of purchasers.? The fans were sold under Duracraft
registered trademarks (R.2111-13, R.2395) and in packaging which
the District Court found “bears little or no similarity to" that used by
the Petitioner (R.1190; compare R.2391-94 with R.2395-99).

The complaint in this case concerns Duracraft’s use of an 80-
year-old technology (see 58 F.3d at 1500), exemplified by expired
U.S. Patent No. 1,062,258 issued May 20, 1913, to G.A. Schlotter
(R.1358), depicted below:

. Petitioner's repeated suggestions that the DURACRAFT® Model DT-
7 “Turbo Fan" was proved to have “confused” purchasers (e.g., Pet.
at i) are unsupported and untrue.

Axial flow fans’ have a well-known tendency to waste energy
by causing air to move, not just axially in the desired direction, but
also tangentially or perpendicular to the axis of rotation (R.2199-2004,
R.991-94, R.1002-03). Designers of axial flow fans have thus long
used ducts and fixed vane structures to capture energy in air moving
away from an axial flow fan's axis and to convert that energy into
useful axial air flow (R.2199-2204, R.2133-43, R.1003-05).

It has long been known that curved or “arcuate” vanes add
energy to the low velocity core of a jet produced by an axial flow
propeller, and thereby provide a more compact jet with higher axial
velocity and lower rotation than conventional straight vanes (R.1358,
R.2004). This technology was applied to a household fan guard by
not later than 1936 (see 58 F.3d at 1500), as shown in expired U.S.
Patent No. 2,110,994 to J.H. Cohen, depicted below (R.2137):

Nov. 30, 1937. 3. COMEN 2,100,994
Fam Guaae
Filed fee. 6. iSh.

. An “axial flow” fan is one that propels air in the direction of the axis
around which the propeller is rotating. See R. Wallis, Axial Flow
Fans and Ducts (1993). Axial flow fans may be contrasted with
“centrifugal” or “cross flow” fans in which air is propelled in a
direction perpendicular to the fan's axis.

The Vornado Improvement Patents

In or about 1987, assignors of the Petitioner ("Vornado"y
developed “a new and improved front grill and duct structure which
increases the fan’s capacity and efficiency while decreasing its sound
over the prior art grills or no grills at all” (R.1241). Petitioner’s
assignors applied for and received two U.S. utility patents on
this invention, U.S. Pat. No. 4,927,324 issued May 22, 1990 (the
""324 Patent"; R.1714-22), and U.S. Patent No. Re. 34,551 issued
February 22, 1994 (the "’551 Patent"; R.1231-43). The latter patent
contains “additional and broader claims concerning the grill than were
Stated in the "324 Patent" (R.1605; see 58 F.3d at 1510).

Figure 3 of the °324 Patent (R.1716) sets forth “the best

mode contemplated by the inventor of carrying out his invention,”
35 U.S.C. § 112 4 1, as follows:

US. Patent May 22, 1990 Sheet 2 of 5 4,927,324

’ The Petitioner is unrelated to the original user of the VORNADO
name, O.A. Sutton Corp. ("O.A. Sutton”), which made and sold
VORNADO fans between 1945 and 1959 (R.1882).

With reference specifically to the “curved ribs 84," depicted
above, the °324 Patent recites:

The longer length curved ribs 84, as compared with
a conventional straight rib, provides a less rigid grill
structure which can be desirable under certain
circumstances such as impact shocks. In viewing
Fig. 5, the fan blades not shown move in a
clockwise direction from left to right, while the grill
ribs 84 curve to the left from the center in the
Opposite direction which provides an optimum flow
of air at a standard power usage (R.1721 col. 3, Il.
21-30).

Petitioner’s contribution to the stator vane art lies not in the
use of curved vanes per se, but in moving the point of maximum
lateral spacing between curved vanes inboard from the outer radius of
a grill structure, so that the point of maximum spacing between vanes
was located at the impeller blade’s point of maximum power (see 58
F.3d at 1500). The °324 Patent explains (R.1721, col. 3, ll. 15-21):

The maximum lateral spacing between any pair of
ribs 84 is inwardly from the outer radius 86 of the
grill at a point approximate dimension X, as shown
in FIG. 5. The impeller blade’s point of maximum
power is located at approximately 0.6 times its
radius. This places the maximum power in a region
of the grill wherein the rib spacing is at its
maximum.

Because prior art vane structures, such as those disclosed in
the Cohen and Schlotter patents depicted above, taught that use of
arcuate vanes improved the efficiency of axial flow fans, Petitioner
was required to “limit” its patent claims so as to leave the public —
including Duracraft — free to practice the technology taught in the
prior art. Each of the claims in Vornado’s "324 and '551 Patents
drawn to “arcuate shaped ribs" was accordingly “limited” to vane
structures whose “maximum lateral spacing is inboard from said outer
radius” (R.1721, col. 4, ll. 3-4; R.1722, col. 5 ll. 26-28).

Claim 11 of Petitioner’s "551 Patent is representative and
recites, in very precise language, the extent of Vornado’s rights in the
vane structure disclosed in that patent:

a circular grill having an outer radius attached to the
discharge end of the inner cowling, the grill
including a center hub and a series of arcuate shaped
ribs extending outwardly from the hub and curving
in the opposite direction of rotation from said blades
to said outer radius, and each rib being equally
spaced from each other around the hub, the
maximuan lateral spacing between the ribs is inboard
from said outer radius (R.1243 col. 5, ll. 27-36)

(emphasis added).

The Patented AirTensity™ Grill

Since late 1988, Petitioner has manufactured and sold
VORNADO® brand fans which precisely embody the invention of
Petitioner’s "324 and '551 Patents (compare R.1234 with R.2844).
The front grill structure of VORNADO® fans has been heavily
advertised as being the "Patented AirTensity™ Grill" (e.g., R.2390),
as being “[a] true achievement in aerodynamic efficiency" (R.1977),
as being “the result of determinant ergonomic design” (R.1831), and
as being “[u)niquely functional" (R. 1838).

Following are typical advertising statements which Petitioner
made prior to this litigation concerning the “Patented AirTensity™
Grill":

impede the flow of air. Vornado’s engineers took
the time and effort to solve that design problem.

Their patent-pending AirTensity grill doesn’t just

meet safety standards, it actually amplifies the vortex
for better, more efficient operation (R. 1936).

While the deep pitch propeller forces large volumes
of air, the patented AirTensity grill precisely focuses
the air stream. A true achievement in aerodynamic
efficiency, the AirTensity grill is specifically designed
to amplify and enhance the naturally occurring
vortex created by the propeller (R. 1977).

* a *

This unique design is intended to meet all applicable
Safety requirements while minimizing the negative
effect of placing a restriction over the air outlet.
The grill is designed to amplify and reinforce the
naturally occurring vortex created by the propeller,
sO no energy is lost in “redirecting air." Again, the
purpose is to circulate air, so Vornado engineered a
way to enhance what in other designs is a built-in
performance flaw. The result is a powerful, smooth,
quiet vortex (R. 1967).

* * +

Perhaps one of the most unique elements of the
Vornado is the patented Air Tensity™ grill. This
Jeature is not “window dressing". NVornado’s anti-
clockwise grill design, (relative to propeller spin),
slows the rotation of the vortex created by the
propeller. This allows for deeper penetration of the
air stream into the room and, ultimately, thorough
circulation of room air (R.1804, 796-98).

The AirTensity Grill accomplishes a high degree of
vortex action of the Vornado by slowing rotation of
the vortex. The result is a deep penetrating ‘beam’
of air which excites all the room air into motion and
creates complete air circulation" (R.1825).

An integral part of the total air circulation system
and the result of determinate ergonomic design, the
AirTensity Grill accomplishes a high degree of safety
and functionality without introducing aerodynamic
drag (R.2003).

Vornado’s Shift of Positions

Petitioner commenced this action on November 6, 1992,
complaining that Duracraft had “intentionally copied plaintiff's grill
design” (R.6), and that the arcuate vanes used in the DURACRAFT®
Model DT-7 “Turbo Fan” assertedly constituted “plaintiffs grill
design" (R.4). Petitioner knew, however, that the accused vane
structure did not infringe any patents held by Vornado on the
"Patented AirTensity™ Grill." The DURACRAFT® Model DT-7
“Turbo Fan" does not incorporate Vornado’s inboard lateral spacing
idea, and in fact, had been specifically designed around that limitation
(R.223, R.227-28) — conduct which the District Court found was both
“reasonable” (R.1188) and “good faith” (R.1155).°

To overcome the limitations in its utility patents on the
“Patented AirTensity™ Grill,” the Petitioner simply, in the District

. In addition to its utility patents on the functional features of
VORNADO® fans, Vornado also hoids a design patent on the overall
configuration of VORNADO® fans (R.1723). Vornado made no
claim of design patent infringement in the District Court — which is
not surprising, since “[t}he overall configuration of the DT-7 differs
from any Vornado fan" (R.1190).

9

Court’s words, “changed its position" for purposes of this litigation
(R.1184). Petitioner’s complaint asserted that the curved vanes used
in the "Patented AirTensity Grill" were “nonfunctional” “trade dress"
(R.5) whose use assertedly could be enjoined under 15 U.S.C.
§ 1125(a), regardless of the scope or duration of the claims in
Vornado’s utility patents directed to the exact same subject matter.

The District Court frankly acknowledged that Petitioner’s
“trade dress” claim was questionable and unusual:

Clearly, Vornado formerly claimed that the spiral
grill was functional but has now changed its position
and is claiming that the grill is non-functional
(R.1184).

The °551 patent reinforces the cour’s finding that
Vornado has made inconsistent representations
concerning the spiral grill... . It is enough to say
that in the court’s view Vornado has represented -
and continues to represent - in connection with its
characteristics that are superior to prior art grills.
Such representations are inconsistent with Vornado’s
position in this case; indeed, they are inimical to the
assertion that the spiral grill is nonfunctional for
purposes of trade dress protection (R.1605)
(emphasis in original).

The unusual character of Petitioner’s “trade dress” claim was
underscored by its conduct prior to and during this litigation.

Vornado’s Inexcusable
and Inequitable Conduct

The District Court found that: “Vornado learned of the
existence of the DT-7 in January of 1991" (R.1200). “Despite this
knowledge, Vornado took no steps to notify Duracraft that the DT-7
infringed on Vornado’s alleged trade dress until this suit was filed on

10

November 6, 1992” (R.1200). "This delay was inexcusable"
(R. 1200).

Between January 1991 and November 1992, Duracraft
successfully marketed” the “Turbo Fan" to major U.S. retailers
including K-Mart, Sears, Target, Payless, Walgreen’s, Menard’s,
Lowe’s, Builder’s Square, Service Merchandise, and numerous others
(R.1707-13). During this period Duracraft had "no notice whatsoever
of Vornado’s contention that the spiral grill could not be freely
copied" (R.1202).*

The District Court continued: “By the time Vornado got
around to notifying Duracraft that it was claiming the spiral grill as
a protected trade dress, Duracraft had sold nearly one million DT-7
model fans in the United States" (R.1200). Vornado then let another
full selling season go by, 1992-93, without seeking any interlocutory
relief. By August 31, 1993, Duracraft had sold more than 1.7 million
“Turbo Fan" units producing net sales revenues of more than $11.53
million (R.2132).

On September 8, 1993, the day before a scheduled settlement
conference, Vornado moved for a preliminary injunction against any
further sales of the “Turbo Fan" during the 1993-94 season. That
motion was not granted; instead, the District Court advanced and held
a plenary bench trial between October 18 and 22, 1993. The parties
submitted proposed findings of fact and conclusions of law in
November and December 1993, and made closing arguments to the
District Court on January 24, 1994.

. During the period of its delay in instituting this suit, Vornado quietly
applied for (R.1843) and obtained U.S. trademark registration of a
two-dimensional symbol (R.1840) that Vornado had started printing
on shipping cartons in 1991 (¢.g., R.1845, R.2362). Vornado's
principal claim in the District Court was that the accused vane
structure infringed this registered trademark (R.2-4). The District
Court not only rejected this claim on the merits (R.1165-68), but
found that Vornado’s trademark application “suffered from a lack of
candor” (R.1168). Vornado did not appeal from the dismissal of its
registered trademark claim.

11

The District Court’s Decision

On March 4, 1994, the District Court rendered a 71-page
Memorandum and Order which concluded, after extended analysis,
that Vornado was entitled to certain prospective injunctive relief under
15 U.S.C. § 1125(@). The District Court repeatedly acknowledged,
however, that the plaintiff's right to relief was not clear, and that
“even after the institution of suit, . . . because of Vornado’s claims .
in the "324 Patent it was reasonable for Duracraft to continue using
the spiral grill until such time as this court could make a
determination as to whether or not the grill was a protected trade
dress" (R. 1202).

The District Court found that Duracraft had at all times acted
in “good faith” (R.1203). "It is clear," the District Court found, “that
in the "324 Patent Vornado claimed that the spiral configuration of the
grill was functional" (R.1212). The District Court found that
Duracraft designed the DT-7 “based on a good faith belief that the
grill design was, as a matter of law, part of the public domain"
(R.1155). The District Court found that Duracraft "did indeed rely
on the "324 Patent and . . . that it was reasonable to do so” (R.1188).
“Duracraft,” the District Court found, “cannot be said to have acted

with a bad or wrongful motive when it adopted the spiral grill"
(R.1192).

The District Court further found that Vornado was "guilty of
laches" (R.1200) and had otherwise acted inequitably (R.1168). The
District Court rejected all of Vornado’s prayers for monetary relief or
costs. The District Court further ordered that all 1.7 million "Turbo
Fans" sold through the time of trial could remain in the field and that
Duracraft was entitled to continue selling the “Turbo Fan" in its
current form through at least June 15, 1994. The District Court, in
short, let stand an environment in which, over a period of four years,
some 2.2 million "Turbo Fan" units had been sold and delivered —
many times the mimber of VORNADO® “Air Circulator" products

12

so-called “trade dress” in suit (R.1714-22, R.1231-43).

The District Court appeared to assume that 15 U.S.C.

(R.1596, R.1598). On July 5, 1994, Duracraft moved for a stay

pending appeal, which motion the Court of Appeals granted by Order
entered July 12, 1994. The stay remained in effect throughout the

pendency of Duracraft’s appeal.

bed

The Tenth Circuit considers “functionality” to be in the nature of an
affirmative defense to infringement (58 F.3d at 1503 & n.10).

The DURACRAFT® Model DT-7 “Turbo Fan" is not competitive
with any VORNADO® “Air Circulator” product sold by Petitioner.
The District Court found that the products are "sold predominantly in
different outlets" and “there is a large price disparity between the
DT-7 and even the least expensive Vornado fan” (R.1193, 1190).

13

The Decision of the Court of Appeals

On July 5, 1995, the Tenth Circuit reversed the District
Court’s judgment and entered judgment for Duracraft, with costs.
The Tenth Circuit held that, while “certain nonfunctional
configurations of goods" could receive “trade dress" protection under
15 U.S.C. § 1125(a), the particular configuration claimed by this
Petitioner was ineligible for such protection.

The Tenth Circuit began by observing that the so-called
“trade dress" claimed by Petitioner was a “significant inventive
component of an invention covered by a utility patent" (58 F.3d at
1500), and moreover, "was not patentable by itself because a spiral
grill per se was already in the public domain" under long-expired
patents (id.). Duracraft had designed around the Petitioner's patents
and was using the accused vane structure for one of its designed
purposes: a fan grill.

The Petitioner’s “trade dress" claim thus collided head-on
with a century's worth of this Court’s decisions holding that:

It is self evident that on the expiration of a patent
the monopoly created by it ceases to exist, and the
right to make the thing formerly covered by the
patent becomes public property. \t is upon this
condition that the patent is granted. It follows, as
a matter of course, that on the termination of the
patent there passes to the public the right to make
the machine in the form in which it was constructed

during the patent.

Singer Mfg. Co. v. June Mfg. Co., 163 U.S. 169, 185 (1896)
emphasis added); accord Bonito Boats, Inc. v. Thunder Craft Boats,
, 489 U.S. 141, 152 (1989); Sears, Roebuck & Co. v. Stiffel Co.

Inc.
376 U.S. 225, 231 (1964); Compco Corp. v. Day-Brite Lighting,
Inc.
305

-_-_~

, 376 U.S. 234, 237 (1964); Kellogg Co. v. National Biscuit Co.,
U.S. 111, 119-20 (1938).

14

The Tenth Circuit cited “expired U.S. Patent No. 1,062,258,
a utility patent issued May 20, 1913, to G.A. Schlotter” (58 F.3d at
1500), Figure 1 of which is depicted below:

Under federal patent iaw, the right to make and sell vane
structures having the design depicted above, and obvious variations
thereof, “passe{d] to the free use of the public” more than 60 years
ago. Bonito Boats, 489 U.S. at 152. It did so, not because some
litigant proved that the design was “functional,” but automatically by
operation of federal patent law, the “ultimate goal" of which is "to
bring new designs and technologies into the public domain through
disclosure." Jd. at 151. Knowledge taught in an expired patent
“‘enures to the people, who are thus enabled without restriction to
practice it and profit by its use." Jd. (quoting United States v.
Dubilier Condenser Corp., 289 U.S. 178, 187 (1933) (emphasis
added)).

: The Tenth Circuit aptly observed, “[T}he inventor's supply of ideas
itself and freedom to experiment with them might diminish if the
inventor had to do a competitive market analysis before adopting
useful features from others’ inventions once their patents expired”
(58 F.3d at 1508).

15

This Court in Bonito Boats specifically rejected the view of
federal patent law put forward by Petitioner here, and held, with
emphasis, that:

[flor almost 100 years it has been well established
that in the case of an expired patent, the federal
patent laws do create a federal right to “copy and to
use.” Sears and Compco extended that rule to

potentially patentable ideas which are fully exposed
to the public.

489 U.S. at 165 (emphasis in original).

Petitioner's assertion that “‘the public policy involved in this
area of the law [is], not the right to slavishly copy articles which are
not protected by patent or copyright, but the need to copy those
articles,’" (Pet. at 23-24 (quoting Jn re Morton-Norwich Prods., Inc..,
671 F.2d 1332, 1339 (C.C.P.A. 1982) (emphasis in original), is
directly contrary to this Court’s holding in Bonito Boats quoted
above, and is based in case law which Bonito Boats expressly
discredited.”

Bonito Boats was merely the latest in a series of this Court’s
decisions rejecting claims very similar to Vornado’s. In Sears, the
plaintiff had “secured design and mechanical patents on a ‘pole lamp’"
and had then sought “trade dress” protection for the exact same
mechanical configuration after the patents were held invalid. 376
U.S. at 225-26. The Court in Sears rejected this claim, holding:
“An unpatentable article, like an article on which the patent has

" Prior to Bonito Boats, the C.C.P.A.’s successor court had held that
“the patent laws ‘say nothing about the right to copy or the right to
use, they speak only in terms of the right to exclude."" Interpart
Corp. v. ltalia, TT7 F.2d 678, 685 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citation
omitted), overruled by Bonito Boats, 489 U.S. at 163-65. This
Court characterized the Federal Circuit's view as “puzzling” and
expressly rejected it. 489 U.S. at 165. Vornado’s petition rests on
the same erroncous interpretation of federal patent law which this
Court rejected in Bonito Boats.

16

flow fans had “passe{d] to the public,” Sears, 376 U.S. at 230, under
long-expired patents. All that Vornado could claim was the use of
arcuate vanes whose “maximum lateral spacing between the ribs is
inboard from said outer radius” (R.1243, col. 5, ll. 33-35).

“The federal patent scheme provides a basis for the public to
ascertain the status of the intellectual property embodied in any article
in general circulation." Bonito Boats, 489 U.S. at 161. The system
here worked precisely as intended: Duracraft ascertained the status
of the intellectual property embodied in the “Patented AirTensity™
Grill" as set forth in Vornado’s °324 Patent, and designed the accused
vane structure in “reasonable” and “good faith" patience on the claims

in that patent (R.1188, R.1155).

By its “trade dress" complaint in this case, Vornado

to repudiate the terms of its own patents (R.1192-94, R.1212,
R.1605) and establish that the “status” of the intellectual property
embodied in the “Patented AirTensity™ Grill” was the opposite of
what Vornado’s utility patents stated. Vornado sought, not just a
“significant restraint,” Bonito Boats, 489 U.S. at 156, but a total and
permanent prohibition on use of a mechanical structure which federal
patent law says “may be made and sold by whoever chooses to do
so,” Sears, 376 U.S. at 231.

The Tenth Circuit carefully considered Petitioner’s
that Section 43(a) of the Lanham Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1125(a),

17

authorizes issuance of injunction against making and using structures
disclosed in expired patents, so long as the label “trade dress” is used
to describe the subject matter of the injunction. The Court of Appeals
acknowledged that some ‘nonfunctional configurations of goods’" (58
F.3d 1506) might “act as a symbol that distinguishes a firm’s goods
and identifies their source, without serving any other significant
function,” Qualitex Co. v. Jacobson Products Co., 115 §. Ct. 1300,
1304 (1995) (see 58 F.3d. at 1506-07). However, the court
concluded that whatever value the “Patented AirTensity™ Grill” might
have as a “brand identifier" was outweighed by its value as a product
feature:

(I}f one of the ways to configure the product itself
has been deemed important enough to the advance of
technology for the government to grant a utility
patent, we must find its value as a product feature to
exceed its value as a brand identifier in all but the
most unusual cases (58 F.3d at 1510).

Here the Petitioner presented no evidence, and the District
Court made no finding, that “the primary significance of the design
in the consumer’s mind was as a brand identifier, rather than as a
grill type” (S8 F.3d at 1502 n.7 (emphasis added)). This failure of
proof would have been fatal to the Petitioner’s "trade dress” claim,
even if bona fide trademark subject matter had been involved. See
Knitwaves Inc. v. Lollytogs Lid., 1995 U.S. App. LEXIS 31942, at
*36 (2d Cir. Nov. 13, 1995) (finding that to be eligible for protection
under Section 43(a), product configuration must “‘serve primarily as
a designator of origin’" (citation omitted)); Thomas & Betts Corp. v.
Panduit Corp., 65 F.3d 654, 658 (7th Cir. 1995) (stating that to be
eligible for protection under Section 43(a), a “product feature’s
primary significance to consumers” must be “as an identifier of source
or [] an element which contributes to the inherent appeal of the
product"); Duraco Prods., Inc. v. Joy Plastic Enters., Lid., 40 F.3d
1431, 1451 Gd Cir. 1994) (holding that to be eligible for protection
under Section 43(a), a configuration must be “primarily source-
designating").

18

There was, however, an even more fundamental defect in
Petitioner’s claim: the “Patented AirTensity™ Grill” failed to meet the
basic definition of a “trademark.” The grill structure was not a mere
"symbol" used “on" or “in connection with" goods sold by Petitioner,
see 15 U.S.C. §§ 1125(a), 1127, but was an integral and inseparable
part of the goods, without which "the Vornado fan would not be the
same fan that it is” (58 F.3d at 1503). By definition, a trademark or
"trade dress" used “on” or "in connection with” goods must be
capable of being taken “off” while leaving the goods intact.

“It is for Congress to determine if the present system of
design and utility patents is ineffectual in promoting the useful arts in
the context of industrial design.” Bonito Boats, 489 U.S. at 168.
The Tenth Circuit in this case correctly and properly declined “to
undermine Congress’ repeated determinations not to afford virtually
perpetual protection to product configurations with an expansive
construction of section 43(a)." Duraco, 40 F.3d at 1447.

Duracraft in this case was accused of doing nothing more
than that which this Court, in an unbroken line of decisions dating to
1896, has held is both expressly permitted and indeed is the "ultimate
goal" of federal patent law: making and selling goods which
incorporate a "design" for whose free use, today, the public long ago
paid the price of a patent.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

This case involves highly unusual facts which are unlikely
ever to occur again. Duracraft is aware of no prior case, and
Petitioner cites none, in which a patentee attempted to claim "trade
dress" protection for a mechanical structure whose exact shape had
been represented to be “optimum” (R.1721), disclosed (R.1716,
1718), and claimed (e.g., R.1722) in a U.S. utility patent, with the
purported result that the patentee claimed a right to block off use of
the patented structure beyond the scope of its patent, and forever.

The holding of the Tenth Circuit was a narrow one. The
Tenth Circuit expressly declined to rule broadly on whether “every
useful or potentially patentable product configuration is excluded from

19

trade dress protection” (58 F.3d at 1503 (footnote omitted)), or
whether “utility patents should be viewed differently than design
patents” (id. at 1503 n.11).

The decision below deals solely with a patentee’s bad faith
attempt to avoid claim limitations through misuse of federal trademark
law. The Petitioner attempted to enjoin Duracraft’s use of the
accused vane structure on the basis of a federal trademark registration
which Petitioner procured by means which the District Court found
“suffered from a lack of candor” (R. 1168). The Petitioner’s "trade
dress" claim was a back-up to a state law “unfair competition” claim
which even Petitioner concedes was barred by federal patent law.

The decision of the Tenth Circuit does not conflict with that
of any other Court of Appeals and merely applies the decisions of this
Court to the unique facts of the present case.

I. THE DECISION BELOW FOLLOWS AND
CORRECTLY APPLIES THIS COURT’S DECISIONS.

In Sears, Roebuck & Co. v. Stiffel Co., 376 U.S. 225 (1964),
and Compco Corp. v. Day-Brite Lighting, Inc., 376 U.S. 234 (1964),
this Court announced a “federal policy, found in Art. I, § 8, cl. 8, of
the Constitution and in the implementing federal statutes, of allowing
free access to copy whatever the federal patent and copyright laws
leave in the public domain." Compco, 376 U.S. at 237, quoted in
Bonito Boats, 489 U.S. at 153.

"[T}he operative principle of Sears and Compco is a federal
law concept of ‘public domain.’" Dabney, State Law Protection of
Intellectual Creations: Privacy and Preemption, 38 Syracuse L. Rev.
653, 663 (1987). Product designs in the public domain can be
“copied in every detail by whoever pleases,” Compco, 376 U.S. at
238, and “made and sold by whoever chooses to do so," Sears, 376
U.S. at 231, quoted in Bonito Boats, 489 U.S. at 153.

Prior to Sears and Compco, it had long been the law that a
patentee could not extend its monopoly “by resorting to the trademark

20

law and registering as a trademark any particular descriptive matter
appearing in the specifications, drawings or claims of [an] expired
patent, whether or not such matter describes essential elements of the
invention or claims." Scott Paper Co. v. Marcalus Mfg. Co., 326
U.S. 249, 256 (1945); see Kellogg Co. v. National Biscuit Co., 305
U.S. 111, 117-20 (1938). “Sears and Compco extended that rule to
potentially patentable ideas which are fully exposed to the public."
Bonito Boats, 489 U.S. at 165.

Bonito Boats reaffirmed the "‘strong federal policy favoring
free competition in ideas which do not merit patent protection,’”
489 U.S. at 168 (quoting Lear, Inc. v. Adkins, 395 U.S. 653, 656
(1969)), and restated the Sears-Compco doctrine as follows:

[Fjdeas once placed before the public without the
protection of a valid patent are subject to
appropriation without significant restraint.

At the heart of Sears and Compco is the
conclusion that the efficient operation of the federal
patent system depends upon substantially free trade
in publicly known, unpatented design and utilitarian
conceptions.

489 U.S. at 156 (emphasis added).

Vornado asserted two "unfair competition” claims in the
District Court: one arising under “common law" (R.6) and one
arising under 15 U.S.C. § 1125(a) (R.4). The District Court
concluded that the substance of these two claims was "identical"
(R.1214).

Vornado effectively concedes thai its state law "unfair
competition” claim was and is barred under federal patent law, as
most recently expounded in Bonito Boats. Yet Vornado argues that
the reasoning of Bonito Boats does “not limit" (Pet. at 17) Vornado’s
identical claim, seeking identical relief, arising under Section 43(a),
based on the following passage from Bonito Boats:

21

Congress has thus [in Section 43(a)] given federal
recognition to many of the concerns that underlie the
state tort of unfair competition, and the application of
Sears and Compco to nonfunctional aspects of a
product which have been shown to identify source
must take account of competing federal policies in
this regard.

489 U.S. at 166.

Far from supporting Vornado’s position, the language quoted
above actually confirms the correctness of the decision of the Court
of Appeals in this case. The “federal right to ‘copy and to use,’"
restated in Bonito Boats, 489 U.S. at 165, has always been
accompanied by a duty to refrain from misrepresenting the source of
the “copies.” In Singer Mfg. Co. v. June Mfg. Co., 163 U.S. 169
(1896), for example, the Court held:

But it does not follow, as a consequence of a
dedication, that the general power, vested in the
public, to make the machine and use the name
imports that there is no duty imposed, on the one
using it, to adopt such precautions as will protect the
property of others and prevent injury to the public
interest, if by doing do so no substantial restriction
is imposed on the right of freedom of use.

163 U.S. at 186.
The same point was made in Compco, 376 U.S. at 238:

A State of course has power to impose liability upon
those who, knowing that the public is relying upon
an original manufacturer’s reputation for quality and
integrity, deceive the public by palming off their
copies as the original.

The reference to Section 43(a) in Bonito Boats merely
reiterated what this Court has consistently held: “‘{T]he law which

22

FING EPCS AE eR SE Dn, i CR MRM meee “

Ptr tae!

LOE OR tit

permits one to market an identical copy of his competitor’s product
does not give him freedom to imitate the appearance of the package
in which the article is sold." Fabrica Inc. v. El Dorado Corp.,
697 F.2d 890, 895 (9th Cir. 1983) (citation omitted) (emphasis
added); see Bonito Boats, 489 U.S. at 154 (noting that states may
protect “‘distinctive dress in the packaging of goods’") (quoting Sears,
376 U.S. at 232).

No claim is made, or could be made, that the "Patented
AirTensity™ Grill” constitutes “packaging” used “on” or "in
connection with" goods sold by Petitioner, and which could be
removed while leaving the goods intact. It is, rather, a "significant
inventive element of Vornado’s patented fans" (58 F.3d at 1510),
without which “the Vornado fan would not be the same invention that
it is" (id. at 1503). Nothing in the text of Section 43(a) encompasses
such a structure," and the plain meaning of the words “trade dress”
excludes it as well.

n The Congress knows how to enact trademark protection for product
configurations when that is intended. Section 23(c) of the Lanham
Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1091(c), provides that for purpose of registration
on the supplemental register, “a mark may consist of any trade-mark,
symbol, label, package, configuration of goods, . . . or device”
(emphasis added). The supplemental register was established to
facilitate the registration in foreign countries of subject matter, such
as “configuration of goods,” which the United States did not regard
as trademark (as distinct from patent) subject matter. See Hearings
on H.R. 9041 Before the House Comm. on Patents, 75th Cong., 3d
Sess. 180 (1938) ("The primary purpose of this supplemental register
is to get registration abroad."). Registration on the supplemental!
register expressly does not imply any exclusive trademark rights in
the United States. 15 U.S.C. § 1094.

23

ii. THE DECISION BELOW DOES NOT CONFLICT
WITH THAT OF ANY OTHER CIRCUIT.

Contrary to Vornado’s assertion, the Tenth Circuit's decision
is fully in accordance with the reasoning and holdings of the latest
decisions of the Courts of Appeals dealing with product
configurations. It is widely recognized that:

[t]he penumbra of the federal patent laws restricts the
degree to which courts may grant legal recognition
of consumer reliance on product configurations as
source indicators, for their limited scope of
protection impliedly imposes restraint on the
workings of Section 43(a).

Versa Products Co. v. Bifold Co., 50 F.3d 189, 204 (3d Cir.), cert.
denied, _ U.S. __, 116 S. Ct. 54 (1995); accord Elmer v. ICC
Fabricating, Inc., 67 F.3d 1571, 1580 (Fed. Cir. 1995) (holding that
a patentee cannot "bypass the statutory requirements of the patent laws
and obtain broadened patent protection under the guise of trade dress
law"); Thomas & Betts Corp. v. Panduit Corp., 65 F.3d 654, 658
(7th Cir. 1995) ("[T]he penumbra of the patent laws require{s] that
competitors be able to slavishly copy the design of a successful
product."); Jeffrey Milstein, Inc. v. Greger, Lawlor, Roth, Inc.,
58 F.3d 27, 32 (2d Cir. 1995) ("[O]verextension of trade dress
protection can undermine restrictions in copyright and patent law.").

The Tenth Circuit’s decision in this case is merely a
particularized application of the principle cited above, and was
occasioned by an egregious attempt by this Petitioner to broaden a
patent monopoly through misuse of federal trademark law. There is
nothing in the assertedly “conflicting” decisions cited by Vornado
which indicates that those other courts would reach a different result
on the facts of this case than the Tenth Circuit reached here.

Kohler Co. v. Moen Inc., 12 F.3d 632 (7th Cir. 1993), did
not arise under 15 U.S.C. § 1125(a), involved no prayer for
injunctive relief, and involved no issued or expired patents. The issue
in Kohler was whether the ornamental shape of a bathroom faucet

24

fixture which allegedly had acquired “secondary meaning” could be
registered as a “trademark” under 15 U.S.C. § 1052. The Kohler
court stated that "a product’s shape is never inherently distinctive,” 12
F.3d at 641 n.11, and the Seventh Circuit has since clarified that
under Section 43(a), courts may not enjoin use of a product
configuration “whose value to consumers is intrinsic and not
exclusively as a signifier of source," Thomas & Betts, 65 F.3d at 657
(emphasis added). The Petitioner’s “trade dress" claim clearly would
have failed under the law of the Seventh Circuit.

Ferrari S.P.A. Esercizio v. Roberts, 944 F.2d 1235 (6th Cir.
1991), cert. denied, 112 S.Ct. 3028 (1992), was a suit to enjoin sales
of exact replicas of Ferrari automobiles whose exterior shape was
found to have “secondary meaning." The Ferrari case involved no
issued or expired patents, but merely an argument by the defendant
that “automobile designs are to be protected from copying pursuant
to the design patent statute." 944 F.2d at 1240 (emphasis added).
The Tenth Circuit in the present case expressly declined “to take a
position on whether utility patents should be viewed differently than
design patents" (58 F.3d at 1503 n.11). This Court in Bonito Boats
observed, "Trade dress is, of course, potentially the subject matter of
design patents." 489 U.S. at 154 (emphasis added).

Nothing in the Ferrari case holds that use of structures
disclosed in an expired utility patent can be enjoined under 15 U.S.C.
§ 1125(a), or that the holder of a u#ility patent can avoid claim
limitations by characterizing claimed structures as “trade dress.”
Further, the conclusion of “secondary meaning” in Ferrari was not
based on the “primary significance” standard which this Court
subsequently endorsed in Qualitex, 115 S. Ct. at 1303.

Clamp Mfg. Co. v. Enco Mfg. Co., 870 F.2d 512 (9th Cir.),
cert. denied, 493 U.S. 872 (1989), was a suit to enjoin use of a "C"
clamp. The Ninth Circuit affirmed, as not clearly erroneous, factual
determinations that the design of the “C" clamp in question was
“nonfunctional” and had acquired “secondary meaning.” 870 F.2d at
516-17. The Clamp decision did not cite to Bonito Boats or any of
its predecessors, and “appears to have assumed without discussion that

all nonfunctional product configurations can be used as trademarks or
trade dress" (S58 F.3d at 1509).

The Clamp decision was issued just a few days after this
Court’s Bonito Boats decision and relied on C.C.P.A. authority which
this Court clearly discredited in Bonito Boats. 870 F.2d at 516 (citing
Morton-Norwich). Yet even the Clamp decision required proof of
“secondary meaning" as a condition to “trade dress" protection of a
product configuration. As noted above, the Petitioner here failed to
establish “secondary meaning," i.e., that the “primary significance of
the design in the consumer’s mind was as a brand identifier, rather
than as a grill type” (58 F.3d at 1502 n.7). The Petitioner’s claim
would thus have failed in the Ninth Circuit too.

The Tenth Circuit’s conclusion that “the functionality doctrine
does not eliminate overlap between the Patent Act and the Lanham
Act" (8 F.3d at 1507) in no way conflicts with that of any other
Circuit. The Tenth Circuit has its own judge-made definition of
“functionality” which considers “whether ‘the protection of the
configuration would “hinder competition or impinge upon the rights
of others to compete effectively in the sale of goods.""" Brunswick
Corp. v. Spinit Reel Co., 832 F.2d 513, 519 (10th Cir. 1987)
(quoting dictum from Sno-Wizard Mfg., Inc. v. Eisemann Prods. Co. ,
791 F.2d 423, 426 n. 3 (Sth Cir. 1986) (citation omitted)).

The Tenth Circuit’s definition of “functionality” is largely if
not wholly extraneous to the legal standards governing the grant or
denial of patents (58 F.3d at 1506). Like much of the law cited in
Vornado’s petition, the Brunswick “test” of “functionality” was
announced prior to Bonito Boats and does not even purport to
accommodate the “federal right to ‘copy and to use’ which that
decision reaffirmed, 489 U.S. at 165, and which all of the Courts of
43(a) jurisprudence.

The Seventh Circuit, for example, one of those circuits which
Petitioner claims is in “conflict” with the Tenth Circuit, recently
cited the Tenth Circuit’s decision and held:

Copying is not only good, it is a federal right — a
necessary complement to the patent system’s grant of
limited monopolies.

Thomas & Betts, 65 F.3d at 657.

In short, Petitioner’s claim of “conflict” with other Circuits
is based on the same superficial and erroneous interpretation of
precedents which gave rise to this frivolous lawsuit in the first place.
Duracraft has been put to unconscionable burden and expense in
defending this three-year-old case which should now, finally, come to
an end.

The decision below follows faithfully the decisions of this
Court and is in the mainstream of the latest decisions of the Courts of

Appeals dealing with product configurations.
CONCLUSION
The petition should be denied.
Dated: December 1, 1995

James W. Dabney
Counsel for Respondent
1155 Avenue of the Americas
Kelly D. Talcott New York, New York 10036
Carol M. Wilhelm (212) 790-9090
Caroline R. Clark
Pennie & Edmonds
New York, New York
Gerald Sawatzky
Jim H. Goering
Foulston & Siefkin
Wichita, Kansas

Of Counsel

27

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_2304%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
