# Reply Brief — Cornish Shipping Ltd. v. International Nederlanden Bank

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_2125%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1995
- **Citation:** 516 U.S. 867

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

No. 95-130

In The 7
Supreme Court of the United States
e
October Term, 1995

CORNISH SHIPPING LTD.,

Petitioner,
VS.

INTERNATIONAL NEDERLANDEN BANK .N.V., f/k/a NMB
POSTBANK GROEP, N.V.,

Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court
of Appeals for the Second Circuit

REPLY BRIEF FOR PETITIONER

PETER J. GUTOWSKI
Counsel of Record
MICHAEL FERNANDEZ
BARBARA G. CARNEVALE
FREEHILL, HOGAN & MAHAR
Attorneys for Petitioner
80 Pine Street
New York, New York 10005
(212) 425-1900

(800) 3 APPEAL « (600) 5 APPEAL « (800) BRIEF 21

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Cornish’s Preliminary Statement and Response to INB’s
PRT I os ooh Sei eee vec cc tsceces

Further Reasons for Granting the Writ ................

I. The lien on subfreight can hardly be described as
“secret” and the enforcement of an existing lien is
not subject to the doctrine of strictijuris. .......

II. Cornish seeks no expansion of its maritime lien on
subfreight but only enforcement ofthatlien. ....

III. Cornish’s lien on the subfreight was superior to the
bank’s interest and required segregation of the
fund upon receipt since notice was given before the
i ceed cele ed bacteeeteossacreves

CI ne i eee eee caves chedees
TABLE OF CITATIONS
Cases Cited:

Atlantic & Gulf Stevedores v. M/V Grand Loyalty, 608 F.2d
SE SEO oo no ous heb ese tees e cee sauces

Clubb Oil Tools, Inc. v. M/V George Vergottis, 460 F. Supp.
Re UPOEE e0 cas bn csWoneucenecistanecns

In Re Topgallant Lines, Inc., 125 B.R. 682 (Bankr. S.D. Ga.
SE cheek kaw bd COs A EMAES RE RASEN OD OEAS A

Page

a

aS]
3]
ees |
Beef
a
Fac
el
Reet
ae
ss
a
re
ag
4 eS
a
nee
Fs:
est
xe
We
yu >
_?
bere
2
Xe
23
Weg
oa,
3
Be
aS
ve
at
Rd
<4
ed
im

ii

Contents
Page
Payne v. S.S. Tropic Breeze, 423 F.2d 236 (1st Cir.), cert.
denied, 400 U.S. 964 (1970), modified on other

grounds, 456 F.2d 137 (1st Cir. 1972) .............. 3
Taiwan Int’! Line Ltd. v. Matthew Ship Chartering Lid.,

546 F. Supp. 826(S.D.N.Y. 1982) ...........e000. 5
The Freights of the Kate, 63 F. 707 (D.N.Y. 1894) ....... 5
The Lottawanna, 87 U.S. 201 (1874) ............0205- 5
Other Authorities Cited:

G. Gilmore & C. Black, The Law of Admiralty (2d ed. 1975)
OE Pee ye, Sap RR Ra EE wen Semen 5

G. Robinson, Robinson On Admiralty, §§ 60,61 (1939) .. 5

7A J. Moore, Moore’s Federal Practice, { C.07 (2d ed.
TSSG) vcvcdcncc cecdabawe adie eseis thes athe cas 3

ODD i vccdccccecvecccessueeeeekestesseveness 3
OES nce vcccccdstucnedapens st eb reeetewenssist 3
GS i cccccvcsccdvégusessdegebhtecseeeuenents 5

1

CORNISH’S PRELIMINARY STATEMENT AND
RESPONSE TO INB’S STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The thrust of INB’s Brief In Opposition is designed to
downplay how significant an impact the Cornish decision will
have on the shipowning community, and otherwise convince the
Court that this is just another “run of the mill” admiralty decision
which should be brushed aside. Nothing could be further from
the reality of the situation. In fact, what this Court has to decide is
whether it is prepared to permit a major erosion of the
shipowner’s lien on subfreight in favor of the banking
community.

Contrary to the position asserted by INB, Cornish does not
seek an extension of the lien on subfreight. Similarly, Cornish
does not even suggest that it should be permitted to chase the
funds into the pocket of the charterer. Instead, Cornish seeks
merely to reestablish the fundamental nature of its in rem right to
proceed against the res.

Prior to the Cornish decision, the test determination of a
shipowner’s entitlement to subfreight was evaluated under a
straightforward, almost mechanical test involving the status of
the res at the time the shipowner exercised its lien. The Cornish
decision changed both this test and the fundamental nature of the
lien in favor of lending institutions which routinely finance these
transactions. Henceforth, such land based junior lienors will be
free to actively participate with impunity in the payment
transaction, thereby destroying the shipowner’s superior lien.

The only thing Cornish seeks from this Court is an
opportunity to restore a level playing field in this aspect of
admiralty law on which there is now division among the Circuits.

2
FURTHER REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
I.

THE LIEN ON SUBFREIGHT CAN HARDLY BE
DESCRIBED AS “SECRET” AND THE ENFORCEMENT
OF AN EXISTING LIEN IS NOT SUBJECT TO THE
DOCTRINE OF STRICTI JURIS.

The shipowner’s lien on subfreight can hardly be described
as “secret”, especially in the context of financial institutions
which routinely lend on these transactions.' Indeed, it can hardly
be described as secret to anyone even remotely familiar with
ocean transportation. The lien has been recognized as far back as
the last century, and has been incorporated in the standard NYPE
form charter party for almost 100 years (Petition at 7).

In the case of INB, it certainly came as no surprise. INB
admittedly financed numerous prior charter party transactions for
Ferromet (Br. In Opp. at 2), and had specifically required that a
copy of the Cornish charter party be provided to it with the Letter
of Credit documents. More importantly, INB’s own financing
documentation with Ferromet specifically carved out an
exception for these types of carrier liens.? As such, INB’s
intimation that Cornish’s lien came as a surprise rings hollow, and
its suggestion that this so-called secret lien operated to its
prejudice flies in the face of its own financing documentation.

1. The reference to these types of liens being secret merely refers to the
fact that recording is not a prerequisite. The same holds true for INB’s
assignment from Ferromet of the rights to the proceeds.

2. The security agreement between INB and Ferromet specificaily
excluded what was described as “permitted liens”, a term defined to include
liens imposed by law for carriers, materialmen, warehousemen,. . . and other
like liens arising in the ordinary course of business.

3

Similarly, INB’s repeated references to the doctrine of stricti
juris in connection with its argument that Cornish seeks to
expand its lien is misplaced (Br. In Opp. at 7). Within an
established category of liens, the doctrine is generally not
applied. Instead, a liberal interpretation is given to ensure
effective enforcement. See Atlantic & Gulf Stevedores v. M/V
Grand Loyalty, 608 F.2d 197, 201 (Sth Cir. 1979):

It is abundantly clear that new types of
maritime liens may not be created; however,
it appears equally clear that the doctrine of
stricti juris does not affect the mechanics of
the imposition of traditionally recognized
varieties of maritime liens.’

Therefore, and in the context of Cornish’s enforcement of its
well recognized lien on subfreight, this Court should not apply a
restrictive or narrow interpretation as to how that lien can be
enforced.

3. See also2T. Russel, Benedict on Admiralty, § 39 at 3-44 (1995) citing
Payne v. S.S. Tropic Breeze, 423 F.2d 236 (1st Cir.), cert. denied, 400 U.S. 964
(1970), modified on other grounds, 456 F.2d 137 (1st Cir. 1972); 7AJ. Moore,
Moore’s Federal Practice, { C.07 at 660 (2d ed. 1995) (“Clearly, the
‘extensions’ against which the Supreme Court has long admonished were not
intended to impede normal growth.”); Clubb Oil Tools, Inc. v. M/V George
Vergottis, 460 F. Supp. 835, 840 (S.D. Tex. 1978) (citing authority calling for a
liberal interpretation of the term “necessaries” [an established category of
liens} within the scope of the Federal Maritime Lien Act).

a
J A
2
~
Bie
aD
se
‘=
3
4
Er
¥
3 3
ret
4
3
*
Bea
*
%
e!
+ At
+.
4
%
RS !
”

pean a ae RIT AY
Gas ie eee gy ae

4

Il.

CORNISH SEEKS NO EXPANSION OF ITS
MARITIME LIEN ON SUBFREIGHT BUT ONLY
ENFORCEMENT OF THAT LIEN.

INB suggests that the relief sought by Cornish would
constitute an expansion of the maritime lien on subfreight.
Cornish is not asking this Court to fashion a new lien or even
extend the scope of its clearly recognized lien on subfreight.
Cornish merely seeks enforcement of its lien against the res — the
traditional enforcement remedy.‘

INB’s motivation in this case is clear. The Cornish decision
significantly enhances the value of the bank’s land based security
interest. Further, the decision insulates the bank against criticism
for manipulation of the transfer into its hands — the very basis
upon which it now argues that the lien is lost. Cornish seeks only
to reestablish the lien to its original status.

Ill.

CORNISH’S LIEN ON THE SUBFREIGHT WAS
SUPERIOR TO THE BANK’S INTEREST AND
REQUIRED SEGREGATION OF THE FUND UPON
RECEIPT SINCE NOTICE WAS GIVEN BEFORE THE
TRANSFER.

There is no dispute that INB was a competing creditor of the
shipowner (Cornish) in this case (Br. In Opp. at 2). In addition,
there is no dispute that Cornish’s maritime lien primes the bank’s
interest and, in fact, prevails over all non-maritime security

4. In fact, it is INB that seeks an artificial restriction of the shipowner’s
lien, narrowing its focus solely to an in personam action against the payor.

5

interests.’ Finally, the shipowner’s superior lien on subfreight
mandates that a land based assignee “assumes the risk that his
rights are subordinate to the owner's.” 2 T. Russel, Benedict on
Admiralty, § 45 at 3-70 (1995).

Despite these established principles, the Court below
fashioned a new subfreight test which changed the focus of the
lien. By so doing, the Court allowed the bank to retain the
subfreight, despite prior service of Cornish’s notice of lien and
Rule C Arrest. In an effort to sustain this ruling, INB would have
this Court believe that restoring the focus of the lien to the res
itself would wreak havoc on the banks because it would
supposedly enable a shipowner to chase subfreight into a
charterer’s account. This is not Cornish’s position, Cornish does
not seek such relief, and INB grossly overstates the ramifications
of a restoration of the lien.

INB’s obligation upon receipt of the subfreight was simple:
it was obliged to segregate that fund pending further Court order
regarding priority. This obligation could hardly be described as
being even remotely disruptive of banking practice. Moreover,
such duty will not work to the prejudice of other creditors of the
charterer since the fund would be maintained in a segregated
account, thereby providing notice of the shipowner’s interest.

5. See The Lottawanna, 87 U.S. 201, 221 (1874); G. Robinson, Robinson
On Admiralty, §§ 60, 61 (1939); 2 T. Russell, Benedict on Admiralty, § 51
(1995); G. Gilmore & C. Black, The Law of Admiralty, at 734 (2d ed.
1975)(“The two simplest propositions are that maritime claims outrank non-
maritime claims. . .”); see also In Re Topgallant Lines, Inc., 125 B.R. 682, 687
(Bankr. S.D. Ga. 1991) citing The Freights of the Kate, 63 F.707 (D.N.Y. 1894);
(“It is well settled that the holder of a valid maritime lien enjoys a priority
position superior to the holder of a consensual assignment for collateral
purposes of an interest in freights.”); Taiwan Int'l Line Lid. v. Matthew Ship
Chartering Lid., 546 F. Supp. 826, 829 (S.D.N.Y. 1982) (Shipowner’s lien on
subfreight prevails over prior land based security interest in proceeds of the
charterer.)

6

In a similar vein, INB’s argument that Cornish’s position
will have a negative impact on banking commerce is groundless.
For as long as this lien has been in existence, banks have been
lending money to charterers to finance ocean transportation
notwithstanding the lien on subfreight. Accordingly, there is no
substantive justification for the erosion of the shipowner’s lien
which has occurred in this case in favor of the banks.

CONCLUSION

This is the only time a bank has been able to interject itself
into the subfreight payment transaction, and successfully retain
those subfreights despite a prior exercise by a shipowner of its
superior lien on that res. The Cornish decision’s nullification of
such a fundamentally important shipowner’s remedy stands in
stark contrast to general maritime lien law, and necessitates this
Court’s intervention so as to restore uniformity among the

Circuits. Certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

PETER J. GUTOWSKI

Counsel of Record

MICHAEL FERNANDEZ
BARBARAG. CARNEVALE
FREEHILL, HOGAN & MAHAR
Attorneys for Petitioner

80 Pine Street

New York, New York 10005

(211) 425-1900

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_2125%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
