# Amicus Curiae Brief — Stubblefield Construction Co. v. City of San Bernardino

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_2111%3A5

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1995
- **Citation:** 516 U.S. 913

## Text

No. 95-114

In the
Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1995

— ‘
4

STUBBLEFIELD CONSTRUCTION COMPANY
and STUBBLEFIELD PROPERTIES,

Petitioners,
V.
CITY OF SAN BERNARDINO,
Respondent.

y%
vw

Petition for Writ of Certiorari
to the Court of Appeal of California
Fourth Appellate District, Division Two

+.
a

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF
PACIFIC LEGAL FOUNDATION IN SUPPORT
OF PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

La.
v-

*JAMES S. BURLING
VICTOR J. WOLSKI
*Counsel of Record
Pacific Legal Foundation
2151 River Plaza Drive,
Suite 305
Sacramento, California 95833
Telephone: (916) 641-8888
Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
Pacific Legal Foundation

id Wii

EER TEEPE IES NE cman Br

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED ............ ill
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE ............ l
siAtomen: OF THE CASE .......ccccceces 3
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ............... 6

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI ....... ee

I. THIS COURT SHOULD RESOLVE
THE MULTIPLICITY OF CONFLICTS
OVER WHETHER ARBITRARY AND
CAPRICIOUS REGULATION OF
PROPERTY SATISFIES DUE PROCESS ...... 7

A. Are Zoning and Other
Decisions Affecting
the Use and Enjoyment of
Property Immune from a
Substantive Due Process
Attack by Their Very
eee he a gy 6 a kd a ae a 10

B. May Motives and the
Background Circumstances
of Such Decisions Be Probed
by Fact Finders to Decide if
any Purpose (Particularly an
Improper Purpose) Was the
Basis of These Decisions? ........... 12

Page

C. Are Political Concerns
Such as the Demands of
Constituents a Legitimate
Purpose to Support
Restrictions on the Use
and Enjoyment of Private
PONENT osx o SB Ae Ee SE 14

Il. THIS COURT SHOULD RESOLVE
THE CONFLICTS OVER WHETHER
OWNERSHIP OF PROPERTY IS A
SUFFICIENT INTEREST TO RECEIVE
DUE PROCESS PROTECTION ........... 16

CUINCLARMRINS 6 6 Wim 0% Siete eee eee 20

lil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Page
CASES
Agins v. City of Tiburon,
ee 2 a a ar 2,9
Amsden v. Moran, 904 F.2d 748
CG 11
| Anderson v. Douglas County,
Coe Be 2 ES): ) ee 12
Bello v. Walker, 840 F.2d 1124
I a 15
Board of Regents of State
Colleges v. Roth,
a re 19
Brady v. Town of Colchester,
Be & ae ED | 13
Chesterfield Development Corp. v.
City of Chesterfield,
ee ae Bee eee er. TSE) ww ee 12
City of Cleburne v.
Cleburne Living Center,
I ki ds 5 bc es te ee ee 16

City of Eastlake v. Forest
City Enterprises, Inc..,
a a 16

Page

Coniston Corporation v. Village
of Hoffman Estates,
844 F.2d 461 (7th Cir. 1988) ........... 9,11,15

Creative Environments, Inc. v.
Estabrook, 680 F.2d 822
Cp a ERA res ee a nee 11

DeBlasio v. Zoning Board of
Adjustment for the Township
of West Amwell, 53 F.3d 592
(3rd Cir.) petition for cert.
filed, 64 U.S.L.W. 3084
(July 28, 1995) (No. 95-163) .......... 10,13,18

Dolan v. City of Tigard, 512 U.S.
ees 2 ee 2. | ee 2,8-9

Eubank v. City of Richmond,
226 U.S. 1357 (1912) 6. cece eee 16

Fuentes v. Shevin,
er ee ee ND os. on ae oa ee rea 17

Furtado v. Bishop,
Ce ae are Ge, SE POD oo ee ws Bek sc ws 12

Hartland Sportsman’s Club,
Inc. v. Town of Delafield,
poe Ee. fe. ff Ae) ee 11

Lawton v. Steele,
tae Se Be CE sb ss so ee Wi ee ee 8

Page
Lemke v. Cass County,
| 846 F.2d 469 (8th Cir. 1987) .............. 12
Lockary v. Kayfetz,
| Tae? 26 OO Cw. TD oo eee eet 2
Marine One, Inc. v. Manatee
County, 877 F.2d 892
pt gs We er ear are a ear ee ee 18
| Marks v. City of Chesapeake,
Virginia, 883 F.2d 308
Glee ee I a es ele ay Caw ee ee 15
| Moore v. City of East Cleveland,
Gal Ah WTA Ee ec eS eh eee ese 14
Nectow v. City of Cambridge,
| BEF Ca I 8 FR Fe ae 8
| Nollan v. California Coastal
Commission, 483 U.S. 825 (1987) ......... 2,9,19
Pennell v. City of San Jose,
ar ae ee oe eee eee oe Ve ee wee 2
PFZ Properties, Inc. v. Rodriguez,
928 F.2d 28 (1st Cir.), cert.
granted, 502 U.S. 956 (1991), cert.
Gomtaeed, SG3 U.S. 257 CIGFe) ww wc cc ce es 2

Polenz v. Parrott, 883 F.2d 551
Cpe I ee ee te tee 5 we sate ae oe 11

vi
Page

River Park, Inc. v. City of
Highland Park, 23 F.3d 164
PE 5 se a SPO a ok Ve ee ees 18-19

RRI Realty Corp., Inc. v.
Village of Southampton,
Bre 7 .Oe 8s CA Ge TOP es 8 LNA 18

Schaper v. City of Huntsville,
Sar Wee Fa Gee Ge POTD 6 8 vk 8s eee wee 10

Shelton v. City of College
Station, 780 F.2d 475
ee Fe es ee ee eRe 13

Smithfield Concerned Citizens for
Fair Zoning v. Town of Smithfield,
Set Fae Bae ee as SO 4 As o cw bs we 13

State of Washington ex rel.
Seattle Title Trust Co. v. Roberge,
Bee a SO Cee 64 Pk oh CRA were 15-16

Sylvia Development Corp. v.
Calvert County, Maryland,
46 £36 SIU (4) Col. 1995) own cee. 15,18

Triomphe Investors v. City of
Northwood, 49 F.3d 198
ee Sty GE Cao's hath Paes eR an 15,18

United States v. Carolene
Products Co., 304 U.S. 144
SEE a uw ie Waa ee Re ee aa 13

Vi
Page
i
Village of Arlington Heights v.
Metropolitan Housing Development
| Corporation, 429 U.S. 252 (1977) ........... 18
Village of Euclid v. Ambler
Realty Co., 272 U.S. 365 (1926) .......... 5-6,12
Walz v. Town of Smithtown,
me ge oe ae... ra ae 9
'
| Wilkinson v. Leland, 27 U.S.
. pe I alas a a o's 6 9:50 0s 0s ees 17
Williamson County Regional
Planning Commission v.
Hamilton Bank of Johnson
ee ee er telat ae
RULES AND REGULATIONS
CME tae ar rte ce cnn Dia ae eh gag 2
| Le Code ©, Seige ena aaanane 5
UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION
pt Se eae a en eee ee 9
eo tag ee a ha erg eee ee 8
SE FETE ko aoa a 8b ec eo a ee eS 5

No. 95-114

In the
| Supreme Court of the United States

| October Term, 1995
+

STUBBLEFIELD CONSTRUCTION COMPANY
and STUBBLEFIELD PROPERTIES,

Petitioners,
V.
CITY OF SAN BERNARDINO,

Respondent.

+

Petition for Writ of Certiorari
to the Court of Appeal of California
Fourth Appellate District, Division Two
+

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF
PACIFIC LEGAL FOUNDATION IN SUPPORT
OF PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

A.
vy

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

PLF is a nonprofit, tax-exempt corporation organized
under the laws of the State of California for the purpose of
litigating in the public interest. PLF has nearly 25,000
supporters nationwide. Policy for PLF is set by a Board of
Trustees composed of concerned citizens, many of whom are

2

attorneys. PLF’s Board of Trustees evaluates the merits of
any contemplated legal action and authorizes such legal
action only when the Foundation’s position has broad support
within the general community. PLF’s Board of Trustees has
authorized the filing of an amicus curiae brief in this matter.

Attorneys for PLF have participated in numerous cases
concerning constitutional protections for property rights
before this Court and other courts representing both amicus
curiae and property owners. Many of these cases involved
land use and the Due Process Clause, including Lockary v.
Kayfetz, 908 F.2d 543 (th Cir. 1990), in which PLF
attorneys were counsel of record, and Pennell v. City of
San Jose, 485 U.S. 1 (1988), in which PLF participated as
amicus curiae. PLF also participated as amicus curiae before
this Court in PFZ Properties, Inc. v. Rodriguez, 928 F.2d 28
(1st Cir.), cert. granted, 502 U.S. 956 (1991), cert.
dismissed, 503 U.S. 257 (1992).'

Amicus seeks to augment the argument in the petition
for writ of certiorari. PLF believes that its public policy
perspective and litigation experience in support of property
rights will provide an additional viewpoint with respect to the
constitutional and legal issues presented. Pursuant to
Rule 37.2, written permission from all parties to file this
brief has been lodged with the Clerk of the Court.

r

' PLF has also participated in every major case before this Court
in the last two decades involving land use and the Takings Clause.
For example, PLF attorneys represented the Nollans in Nollan v.
California Coastal Commission, 483 U.S. 825 (1987), and PLF
has participated as amicus curiae in cases from Agins v. City of
Tiburon, 447 U.S. 255 (1980), to Dolan v. City of Tigard,
512 U.S. __, 129 L. Ed. 2d 304 (1994),

3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioners Stubblefield Construction Company and
Stubblefield Properties (Stubblefield) own property located
within the limits of respondent City of San Bernardino (City).
Stubblefield’s parcel had been zoned R-3, allowing for
multifamily housing, from the time the property was annexed
by the City in 1968. Stubblefield Construction Co. v. City of
San Bernardino, 32 Cal. App. 4th 687, 696 (1995), Petition
for a Writ of Certiorari (Pet.) at A-6. In May, 1986,
Stubblefield submitted to the City a development application
for a 492 unit apartment project. The zoning at that time
allowed for as many as 638 units on the parcel and,
according to the City’s planning director, the application met
all the requirements then in place. Stubblefield, 32 Cal.
App. 4th at 697 n.4, Pet. at A-7 n.4.

Stubblefield’s application was not approved, however.
It was not approved because of a series of actions taken by
the City to delay final approval until the downzoning of the
parcel reduced the number of units that could be developed
to just four. Jd. at 698, Pet. at A-8-9. On September 10,
1986, the City Council passed an ordinance allowing third
parties to appeal planning department decisions that the lack
of significant impacts would excuse a project from the
requirement of a costly and time-consuming environmental
impact report (EIR). On October 20, 1986, the City adopted
an “urgency ordinance," effective in 30 days, that ended its
policy of processing development applications under the
zoning rules in force when the application was submitted.
Id. at 697, Pet. at A-8. Both of these ordinances were
sponsored by City Councilman Steve Marks, a vocal
opponent of Stubblefield’s project.

Two days later, the City’s R-3 zoning ordinance was
amended to impose a two-story height limit on apartments
and to require a conditional use permit to exceed this limit.
Stubblefield’s project contained three-story apartment

ee ee ee NT ee

4

buildings. /d. To insure that the new R-3 zoning ordinance
would apply to Stubblefield’s project under the urgency
ordinance, Marks delayed final approval of the project by
personally appealing the planning department’s EIR decision,
using the ordinance he had sponsored. Thus, approval was
not received within 30 days of passage of the urgency
ordinance, and the new R-3 zoning requirements controlled
the project. Jd. at 698, Pet. at A-9.

Stubblefield requested that its project be
"grandfathered" so that the project would be evaluated under
the zoning rules in place when the application was submitted.
The City delayed action on this request for over one year.
In the meantime, a moratorium on development was imple-
mented in response to a lawsuit challenging the City’s
general plan. The grandfathering request was denied on
January 19, 1988, at a hearing in which Mr. Stubblefield was
not allowed to speak for petitioners. Five months later the
moratorium was lifted and Stubblefield’s property was
downzoned to allow only four apartment units. Jd. at 699-
700, Pet. at A-10-12.

This pattern of events was more than a run of bad
luck for Stubblefield. A subsequent 10-week, 31-day jury
trial resulted in the accumulation of evidence showing that
a number of the City’s actions were taken for the purpose
of delaying and _ biocking Stubblefield’s project.
Stubblefield, 32 Cal. App. 4th at 714, Pet. at A-35. The
urgency ordinance was justified solely by "the desire to
block approval of the Stubblefield project." Jd. at 698, Pet.
at A-8. The change in the height limit of R-3 structures and
an amendment requiring that structures be compatible with
their neighborhood were also "aimed at the Stubblefield
project." Jd. at 697-98, Pet. at A-7-9.

The jury decided that the City’s actions were not
"performed for a purpose which was substantially related
to the public health, safety, morals or general welfare,” Pet.

EE oe

ee ee ee

5

at A-43, were “motivated with a purpose of intending to
discriminate against Stubblefield," Pet. at A-44, and resulted
in harm to petitioners totaling $11,537,000. Stubblefield,
32 Cal. App. 4th at 694-95, Pet. at A-44-45. On the basis
of these findings, the court entered judgment in petitioners’
favor, determining that the City’s actions violated the Equal
Protection and Due Process Clauses of the Fourteenth
Amendment under 42 U.S.C. § 1983.2 The trial court
denied the City’s motion for judgment, notwithstanding the
verdict, and granted the City’s motion for a new trial on the
damages issue. Id. at 695, Pet. at A-4.

The California Court of Appeal reversed this judgment,
holding that actions taken in response to “concerns of
constituents in the affected area and other political concerns"
are “not, as a matter of law ... arbitrary or irrational."
Stubblefield, 32 Cal. App. 4th at 710-11, Pet. at A-29. Even
the unusual efforts of Marks to defeat the project “merely
represent the democratic process at work." Jd. at 714 n.19,
Pet. at A-36 n.19. The Court of Appeal belittled the case as
"an ordinary dispute between a developer and a
municipality." Jd. at 712, Pet. at A-32. Since the R-3
amendments and the moratorium applied generally, peti-
tioners were not singled out, according to the Court below,
so the actions were at least debatable and, hence, rational.
Stubblefield, 32 Cal. App. 4th at 711-12, Pet. at A-30-32.

Thus, for actions involving property the California
Court of Appeal rejected the traditional test for a Due
Process violation, which defined "clearly arbitrary and
unreasonable” to mean “having no substantial relation to the
public health, safety, morals, or general welfare." Village of

2 A number of other causes of action were dismissed, six before
trial and four after trial. Stubblefield, 32 Cal. App. 4th at 702.
A second lawsuit brought by petitioners challenging the general
plan adopted in June, 1988, has yet to be tried. /d. at 703 n.9.

6

Euclid v. Ambler Realty Co. , 272 U.S. 365, 395 (1926). In
California, political motivations have been deemed just as
legitimate as health and safety. As long as the neighbors
want it, zoning changes restricting the use of private property
are "rational."

a.
-

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Several circuits and the Stubblefield court have adopted
an approach to judicial review of alleged property depriva-
tions that is in conflict with a number of circuits and with
the philosophy and purpose behind the United States
Constitution. Property rights, an explicit portion of the Bill
of Rights and one of the three categories of individual rights
specifically protected under the Due Process Clause, should
not be restricted by clearly arbitrary and _ irrational
government actions. When such restrictions do not relate to
a legitimate purpose of government, they violate due process.
The courts which require some additional injury to constitute
a cognizable constitutional claim, or which rubber stamp
approval for all zoning decisions based on hypothetical
purposes, are departing from the precedents of this Court and
the meaning of the constitutional guarantee of due process.

Courts should ensure that government decisions
restricting the use and enjoyment of private property relate
to a legitimate public purpose. This entails an investigation
of the factual circumstances surrounding that property and
the considerations of the government in its decision-making
process. Proof that land use restrictions were imposed for
either no reason or for an impermissible reason should be
proof that the property owner was treated in arbitrary and
capricious manner. The Stubblefield court was incorrect to
hold that any constituent opposition to a development project
affords a rational basis for land use restrictions. Unless this
opposition is based on legitimate health, safety, morals, or
general welfare concerns; it is not transformed into a rational

7

basis merely by being a part of the political process. The
court below also seriously departed from the Constitution and
from this Court’s precedents in holding that the ownership of
real property does not implicate a property right protected by
due process. Due process includes the guarantee that one’s
property rights will not be interfered with in an arbitrary
manner. The right to use and enjoy ones’ own property is
and has always been at the core of property ownership and
the requirement that one show a "vested right” or
"entitlement" to a particular use does violence to the plain
meaning and historical purpose of the Due Process Clause.

»
vw

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

I

THIS COURT SHOULD RESOLVE THE
MULTIPLICITY OF CONFLICTS OVER WHETHER
ARBITRARY AND CAPRICIOUS REGULATION OF

PROPERTY SATISFIES DUE PROCESS

The Stubblefield case places squarely before this Court
a number of key questions concerning how alleged depriva-
tions of property are to be analyzed under the United States
Constitution. A 31-day jury trial resulted in a jury deter-
mination that a number of respondent’s actions in adopting
zoning ordinances and denying petitioners’ development
applications did not relate to legitimate public health, safety,
morals, or general welfare purposes but instead were aimed
at blocking petitioners’ development. The appellate court
reversed this verdict, on the grounds that political
motivations--the placating of constituents--are rational
purposes for public officials, and that zoning ordinances that
purport to apply generally will always pass rational basis
review. Stubblefield, 32 Cal. App. 4th at 710-11.

8

This Court just last year announced the desire to
rehabilitate the status of property protection under the
Takings Clause from that of a "poor relation” compared to
the other individual rights enumerated in the Bill of Rights.
Dolan v. City of Tigard, 129 L. Ed. 2d at 321. Yet various
of the circuits, as well as the State of California in this case,
give short shrift to property rights when reviewing govern-
ment regulations under the Due Process Clause.

The Due Process Clause guarantees against deprivations
of "life, liberty, or property, without due process of law."
United States Constitution Amendments V, XIV, § 1. Due
process has long been understood to mean more than mere
procedural formalities. Due process embraces the
fundamental concept that certain government decisions must
instead relate to a legitimate end of government and may not
be made for no reason or for a bad reason. See Lawton v.
Steele, 152 U.S. 133, 136-37 (1894); Nectow v. City of
Cambridge, 277 U.S. 183, 188 (1928). This concept is the
essential difference between the rule of law and arbitrary
government, between a government of laws and one of men.
Certain public decisions by their very nature may be
arbitrarily decided--such as the color of the wallpaper in city
hall, the number of members of a board or commission,
maybe even the generally applicable tax rate. But decisions
to restrict the liberty of individuals or their enjoyment of
their property must be justifiable by one of the legitimate
ends of government, the promotion of health, safety, morals,
or general welfare. "Because we said so” might be an
acceptable if somewhat disserving rule for a paternalistic
relationship but has no place in a system of limited govern-
ment designed to protect and defend the rights of free men
and women.

Lower court decisions abound upholding restrictions on
the use of property without regard for the reasons behind
these restrictions. This shabby treatment of property rights

9

under Due Process review is ameliorated somewhat by the
heightened protection for property rights mandated by the
Takings Clause. Thus, regulation of the use and enjoyment
of property must have more than a mere hypothetical connec-
tion with a legitimate end of government--it must in actuality
"substantially advance" such an end. Dolan, 129 L. Ed. 2d
at 316; Nollan v. California Coastal Commission, 483 U.S.
at 834 n.3; Agins v. City of Tiburon, 447 U.S. at 260; .
This Court has thus recognized that the government’s
authority over private property is proper only when it will
further a legitimate goal. If no such goal is furthered, then
government cannot mandate a restriction on the use of
property--unless it decides to condemn that property right.

The Takings Clause, however, is not a substitute for
the protections of the Due Process Clause. The former
guarantees only that Just Compensation be paid for the
property taken, it does not stop government misconduct. The
latter can invalidate the government action and could provide
for the payment of actual damages to compensate for the
personal injury inflicted upon an individual who has been the
subject of unlawful treatment at the hands of the government.
Williamson County Regional Planning Commission vy.
Hamilton Bank of Johnson City, 473 U.S. 172, 197 (1985);
| see also Walz v. Town of Smithtown, 46 F.3d 162, 169-70
(2d Cir. 1995) (emotional distress and pain and suffering
damages recovered for substantive due process violation);
Coniston Corporation v. Village of Hoffman Estates,
844 F.2d 461, 464 (7th Cir. 1988) (injunctive relief and "full
| tort damages” available under Due Process Clause).

Unfortunately, as will be seen below, many courts act
as if the promise of private property protection under the
Takings Clause were grounds to erase the word "property"
from the Due Process Clause. If this situation persists, the
Takings Clause would remain the "poor relation" of the other
explicit guarantees such as those in the First Amendment.

oy on

10

Stubblefield affords this Court the opportunity to correct the
situation and provide firm guidance to the lower courts.

This area of the law has been described as one “not
known for its simplicity." Schaper v. City of Huntsville,
813 F.2d 709, 716 (Sth Cir. 1987). The wide variety of
approaches used by the various courts (and impressively
catalogued in the Petition for Writ of Certiorari) indeed pose
a daunting challenge to practitioners in the field of land use.
Yet the issues can be boiled down to a few simple but
important questions over which the courts are badly split:
Are zoning and other decisions affecting the use and
enjoyment of property immune from a substantive due
process attack by their very nature? May motives and the
background circumstances of such decisions be probed by
fact finders to decide if any purpose (particularly an
improper purpose) was the basis of these decisions? And are
political concerns such as the demands of constituents a
legitimate purpose to support restrictions on the use and
enjoyment of private property?

A. Are Zoning and Other Decisions Affecting

the Use and Enjoyment of Property Immune

from a Substantive Due Process Attack by

Their Very Nature?

The circuits are split in the seriousness with which they
consider zoning challenges under the Due Process Clause.
It appears obligatory that the standard disclaimer that federal
courts are not zoning boards of appeals be invoked’ by

> It is curious that courts do not similarly protest that employment
discrimination cases threaten to turn them into boards of employ-
ment appeals. Cf DeBlasio v. Zoning Board of Adjustment for the
Township of West Amwell, 53 F.3d 592, 601 n.11 (3d Cir.)
(federal courts have not been overrun by plaintiffs denied occupa-
tional licenses), petition for cert. filed, 64 U.S.L.W. 3084
(July 28, 1995) (No. 95-163).

1]

certain circuits, which deride zoning challenges as “run of
the mill," “typical,” “ordinary,” etc.‘

At this extreme end of the range appears to be the view
that zoning laws are the raison d’étre of local government
and are thus immune from serious facial challenge. This
approach stems from a unfortunate philosophical premise that
i government has as its mission the regulation of property
rather than the protection of property rights. The latter
premise would uphold regulations that are intended to prevent
injury to the property rights of citizens by placing reasonable
limits on what others could do. The former premise gives
carte blanche to regulators because regulation is what they
are supposed to do.

Some of the circuits which indulge the land use
regulatory process go so far as to explicitly adopt a double
standard when considering due process challenges to such
decisions. The Seventh Circuit "requires that ‘in addition to
showing that [a zoning] decision was arbitrary and irrational,
the plaintiff must show either a separate constitutional
violation or the inadequacy of state law remedies.’"
Hartland Sportsman’s Club, Inc. v. Town of Delafield,
35 F.3d 1198, 1202 (7th Cir. 1994) (quoting Polenz v.
Parrott, 883 F.2d 551, 558-59 (7th Cir. 1989). In the First
Circuit, “arbitrary and malicious" action or a decision made
in “bad-faith" are not of "constitutional dimension" when the
deprivation alleged is of property. Amsden v. Moran,
904 F.2d 748, 757 (1st Cir. 1990). That circuit requires
conduct that is “shocking or violative of universal standards
of decency" to rise (or, more accurately, sink) to the level of

Ce Ny SRE A, Mia ech tim wt ai SIN

* See, e.g., Creative Environments, Inc. v. Estabrook, 680 F.2d
822, 833 (ist Cir. 1982) ("too typical of the run of the mill
dispute"); Coniston Corp., 844 F.2d at 467 ("garden-variety
zoning dispute"); see also Stubblefield, 32 Cal. App. 4th at 712
("an ordinary dispute").

12

a constitutional claim. Jd. (quoting Furtado v. Bishop,
604 F.2d 80, 95 (Ist Cir. 1979)). The Eighth Circuit
requires that property owners "establish that the government
action complained of is ‘truly irrational,’ that is, ‘something
more than ... arbitrary, capricious, or in violation of state
law." Anderson v. Douglas County, 4 F.3d 574, 577
(8th Cir. 1993) (citing Chesterfield Development Corp. v.
City of Chesterfield, 963 F.2d 1102 (8th Cir. 1992) (quoting
Lemke v. Cass County, 846 F.2d 469, 470-72 (8th Cir. 1987)
(en banc) (Arnold, J., concurring)).

The Stubblefield court adopted the First Circuit’s
“shocks the conscience" standard for “substantive due
process in the land use context." Stubblefield, 32 Cal. App.
4th at 709-10, Pet. at A-28-29. The conflict between this
approach and the traditional “no substantial relation" Euclid
standard used by this Court and most circuits, Pet. at 14-15,
should be resolved by granting the petition for writ of
certiorari.

B. May Motives and the Background Circumstances of
Such Decisions Be Probed by Fact Finders to Decide
if any Purpose (Particularly an Improper Purpose)
Was the Basis of These Decisions?

If government is not given a free pass in zoning
decisions, then the Court should announce just how lower
courts are to determine if zoning decisions--both the passage
of legislation and the adjudication of permit applications--are
"clearly arbitrary and irrational." Must there be a stated
purpose for the decision? Is a stated purpose taken at face
value, or should the court look to see if in actuality it is a
"pig in the parlor." See Euclid, 272 U.S. at 388 (consider
restrictions "in connection with the circumstances and the
locality"). If a stated purpose is not required, and is not
present, will the court hypothesize a conceivable justification,
or will it attempt to determine the actual motivation? And if
a legitimate purpose could be fabricated by a court, but the

ee Ee ee Oe

TT.

cial oe

13

evidence shows either that the decision makers did not bother
themselves with a purpose or had a bad, impermissible
purpose in mind, is the decision arbitrary?

There is a variety of approaches to this question taken
by the circuits. Some have held that an improper motive or
the absence of a proper purpose is a question of fact for a
jury. See, e.g., DeBlasio, 53 F.3d at 601-02; Brady v. Town
of Colchester, 863 F.2d 205, 215-16 (2d Cir. 1988) (for trier
of fact to decide if rational basis exists). Others deny juries
the opportunity to determine the actual motives of the
decision makers, and will uphold zoning decisions on the
basis of any conceivable relationship between a hypothesized
legitimate purpose and the challenged zoning decision. See
Smithfield Concerned Citizens for Fair Zoning v. Town of
Smithfield, 907 F.2d 239, 244-46 (1st Cir. 1990); Shelton v.
City of College Station, 780 F.2d 475, 482-84 (Sth Cir.
1986) (en banc) (zoning decisions will be reviewed by
looking for a, rather than the, basis).

This Court’s past decisions should not require an
extremely deferential version of rational basis review of
zoning decisions. The famous Carolene Products footnote
begins, "[t]here may be narrower scope for operation of the
presumption of constitutionality when legislation appears on
its face to be within a specific prohibition of the Constitution,
such as those of the first ten amendments." United States v.
Carolene Products Co., 304 U.S. 144, 152 n.4 (1938)
(emphasis added). Unless protection of real property
ownership remains a “poor relation" of the rest of the Bill
of Rights, this “narrower scope" should be employed in
evaluating laws that regulate real property usage, as opposed
to the economic and social legislation for the workplace.

This Court has, on occasion, refused to defer to the
legislative judgment behind a zoning ordinance and found a

14

due process violation despite some’ connection between the
ordinance and legitimate purposes. Moore v. City of East
Cleveland, 431 U.S. 494, 500 (1977) (ordinance prohibited
members of extended family from living with grandmother).
In Moore, the plurality cast the issue in terms of a “liberty”
interest implicating the "institution of the family," id. at 502-
04, but Justice Stevens posed the "critical question" as
whether the ordinance “is a permissible restriction on
appellant’s right to use her own property as she sees fit."
Moore, 431 U.S. at 513 (Stevens. J., concurring in the
judgment) (emphasis added).

This Court’s reluctance to accept uncritically the
government’s explanation for a zoning ordinance, finding the
ordinance unconstitutional despite the presence of a relation-
ship to legitimate purposes, could become the model for
evaluating alleged arbitrary treatment of real property usage.
Stubblefield presents this Court with an unusual opportunity
to resolve the Circuit conflicts on this issue in a manner that
addresses both the role of the fact finder and of the court
and, if necessary, the difference between review of
legislation (the zoning amendments) and its administration
(the denials of development and grandfathering permits).

C. Are Political Concerns Such as the
Demands of Constituents a Legitimate
Purpose to Support Restrictions on the
Use and Enjoyment of Private Property?

If courts are to scrutinize the purpose behind zoning
decisions, they will need direction concerning which
purposes are legitimate. Does "public health, safety, morals,
or general welfare" encompass decisions to restrict the use of
people’s property at the request of their neighbors? See

5 Albeit this relation was deemed “marginal[!" and "tenuous."
Moore, 431 U.S. at 499-500.

eS ee

na ai WADA Mente ES Dre .

eee ee a ee eee

retin a eri 9 icnoniescaaiemiaiites Aion! 2 A AAS OKA

15

Stubblefield, 32 Cal. App. 4th at 697 (opponent was "merely
reflecting the concerns of his constituents").

In one sense, it is certainly not “irrational” for elected
officials to make decisions on the basis of the views of their
constituents--just as it similarly would be "rational" to do
special favors for big campaign contributcrs. But to burden
the liberty of individuals, or to restrict their enjoyment of the
property they own, requires a legitimate public purpose. The
fact that you are outnumbered in the community or failed to
give as much money to elected officials as other members of
the community should not have any bearing on your enjoy-
ment of your rights. Yet, some Circuits have allowed the
clamor of the crowd to dictate such decisions. See Triomphe
Investors v. City of Northwood, 49 F.3d 198, 202 (6th Cir.
1995) (neighbors concern over effect on property values
reasonable basis for denying permit); Coniston Corp.,
844 F.2d at 467 ("nothing is more common in zoning
disputes than selfish opposition to zoning changes. The
Constitution does not forbid government to yield to such
opposition"). Other circuits have considered such political
motivations to be arbitrary and improper. See Marks v. City
of Chesapeake, Virginia, 883 F.2d 308, 309 (4th Cir. 1989)
(residents objected to permit for fortune teller);° Bello v.
Walker, 840 F.2d 1124, 1129 (3d Cir. 1988) (evidence that
city councilmen opposed project for "partisan political or
personal reasons").

This Court has held that it is a due process violation for

the government to delegate to a property owner’s neighbors
the power to regulate that person’s land. State of Washington

° Cf. Sylvia Development Corp. v. Calvert County, Maryland,
48 F.3d 810, 828 (4th Cir. 1995) ("[e]ven if ... appeasing the
public was the only purpose behind the Board’s action," decision
had rational basis because the citizens expressed legitimate traffic
safety and water supply concerns”).

16

ex rel. Seattle Title Trust Co. v. Roberge, 278 U.S. 116,
121-23 (1928) (law requiring written consent of neighbors
ownirg two-thirds of nearby property was a “delegation of
power ... repugnant to the due process clause;" neighbors
would have been "free to withhold consent for selfish reasons
or arbitrarily, and may subject the [property owner] to their
will or caprice"); Eubank v. City of Richmond, 226 U.S.
137, 143-44 (1912) (power to request establishment of
building line without reviewable standards was Due Process
violation; neighbors could invoke ordinance “solely for their
own interest, or even capriciously"). These cases were not
upset by this Court’s subsequent decision in City of
Eastlake v. Forest City Enterprises, Inc. , 426 U.S. 668, 677-
78 (1976), which pointed out the difference between a
referendum of the entire voting public and "standardless
delegation of power to a limited group of property owners."

If one’s neighbors cannot be given the power to decide
one’s land use, these neighbors’ opposition to a proposed
use, without more, should not supply the grounds for a
rational basis. See City of Cleburne v. Cleburne Living
Center, 473 U.S. 432, 448 (1985) (under rational basis equal
protection review, neighbors’ “mere negative attitudes, or
fear, unsubstantiated by factors which are properly
cognizable in a zoning proceeding, are not permissible
bases") (emphasis added). This Court should grant the
petition for writ of certiorari to settle this conflict over
permissible purposes for land use regulations.

Ii

THIS COURT SHOULD RESOLVE THE
CONFLICTS OVER WHETHER OWNERSHIP
OF PROPERTY IS A SUFFICIENT INTEREST
TO RECEIVE DUE PROCESS PROTECTION

The Stubblefield court also adopted the notion that
ownership of private property does not involve a property
interest protectible by the Due Process Clause. This bizarre

etl ptlt,: stars sinantg hile

cheba dis

17

decision cannot be shrugged off as an anomaly, as several
Circuit Courts of Appeals have also rejected the basic idea
that ownership of property entails use and enjoyment of that
property. These courts look instead for a "vested right" or
“entitlement” to a particular permit in order for Due Process
protections to be triggered.

This question should have been settled long ago. In
1829, speaking through Justice Story, this Court held that the
American Revolution settled it, resulting in a government for
which it would be repugnant to its very nature that "the
rights of property are left solely dependent upon the will of
a legislative body without restraint." Wilkinson v. Leland,
27 U.S. (2 Pet.) 627, 657 (1829). The Wilkinson Court
declared, "[t]he fundamental maxims of a free government
seem to require that the rights of personal liberty and private
property should be held sacred," id., and stressed "the right
of the citizens to the free enjoyment of their property
lawfully acquired." Wilkinson, 27 U.S. (2 Pet.) at 657-58.

The passage of the years has not undermined recogni-
tion of the fundamental basis of property ownership in the
American political system. For example, in discussing the
importance of procedural due process to reduce the likelihood
of substantively unfair treatment of property owners, this
Court explained, "the prohibition against the deprivation of
property without due process of law reflects the high value,
embedded in our constitutional and political history, that we
place on a person’s right to enjoy what is his, free of
governmental interference." Fuentes v. Shevin, 407 U.S. 67,
81 (1972) (emphasis added).

One would think it obvious that fundamental to the
ownership of property is the use and enjoyment of that
property, and that restrictions on such use would definitely
implicate the Due Process Clause. But the Stubblefield court
instead adopted the view that a property owner challenging
the denial of a development permit must have a "vested

18

right" under state law--the right to receive that permit--in
order to assert a Due Process claim. Stubblefield, 32 Cal.
App. 4th at 707-08. Unless one can demonstrate an entitle-
ment under state law to erect a certain building, one cannot
complain about the government’s refusal to allow it to be
built.

A similar approach is taken by a number of federal
Courts of Appeals. The Second, Fourth, Sixth, and Eleventh
Circuits all require the showing of the right to receive
permission for a particular use of property in order to make
out a Due Process claim.’ There is a sharp conflict between
the circuits on this issue, as several Courts of Appeals have
recognized that it is basic to ownership of property that one
receive due process of law when use is restricted. See, e.g.,
DeBlasio, 53 F.3d at 601 ("one would be hard-pressed to
find a property interest more worthy of substantive due
process protection than ownership"); River Park, Inc. v. City
of Highland Park, 23 F.3d 164, 166 (7th Cir. 1994) ("An
owner may build on its land; that is an ordinary element of
a property interest."). See also Village of Arlington
Heights v. Metropolitan Housing Development Corporation,
429 U.S. 252, 263 (1977) (purchaser’s "right to be free of
arbitrary or irrational zoning actions").

The circuits that do not consider property to be
property protected by the Due Process Clause have relied on

7 RRI Realty Corp., Inc. v. Village of Southampton, 870 F.2d
911, 917-18 (2d Cir. 1989) (must show no discretion in issuance
of permit, or that issuance is "virtually assured" if under "narrowly
circumscribed" discretion); Sylvia Development, 48 F.3d at 826
(must establish “legitimate claim of entitlement"); Triomphe
Investors, 49 F.3d at 202 (need “legitimate claim of entitlement"
to permit or "justifiable expectation” it would be issued); Marine
One, Inc. v. Manatee County, 877 F.2d 892, 894-95 (11th Cir.
1989) (property owner lacked “vested right” to permit).

edt Sa te 2 oh abi —"

19

this Court’s decision in Board of Regents of State Colleges v.
Roth, 408 U.S. 564, 577 (1972). But Roth merely held that
a "legitimate claim of entitlement" to a “benefit,” in that case
a nontenured teaching position, was needed to trigger certain
procedural protections. Jd. Roth was broadening the class
of claims that come under Due Process protection, not con-
tracting them, by recognizing that "property interests pro-
tected by procedural due process extend well beyond actual
ownership of real estate, chattels, or money." Roth,
408 U.S. at 571-72. It is incredible that Roth could be read
to mean that land ownership is not protected by due process.

This approach misapprehends what is at stake in due
process land use claims. Unlike a professor seeking
continued employment, property owners are not claiming the
right to a government-established benefit when they seek to
make use of their property. Nollan, 483 U.S. at 833 n.2
("the right to build on one’s own property--even though its
exercise can be _ subjected to legitimate permitting
requirements--cannot remotely be described as a
‘governmental benefit’"). One of the defining characteristics
of property ownership is that the owners get to use their
land. The permit process does not confer any benefits or
rights upon the successful applicants. To the contrary, this
process restricts existing rights to ensure that uses of
property do not impair the rights of others. It is a process
that protects rights, rather than confers them.'

—~—

* See River Park, 23 F.3d at 166. “Zoning classifications are not
the measure of the property interest but are legal restrictions on the
use of property. ... Licenses, permits, ... and classifications are
important to owners because they reflect governmental promises
not to interfere with private uses of property, but let us not confuse
a decision not to intervene with the property itself."

20

CONCLUSION

In order to ensure that property rights are not treated as
a “poor relation" of the rest of the rights guaranteed in the
Bill of Rights, property owners’ claims based on due process
protections against arbitrary and irrational government
actions must be given meaningful review by the courts. In
Stubblefield, the California Court of Appeal refused to accept
that a violation of due process could be found based on a
jury’s finding that a number of land regulation activities--
including both zoning ordinance amendments and develop-
ment applications--did not substantially relate to any public
health, safety, morals, or general welfare purposes. The
court below accepted these actions as politics as usual and
found that a city councilman’s personal vendetta against a
landowner and its proposed development was justified by the
opposition to the development on the part of the elected
official’s constituents. The court also held that real property
ownership alone, without the right to a government-created
"entitlement" to a particular usage, does not implicate
property rights protectible under the Due Process Clause.

In order to settle a large number of conflicts between
the circuits on the important issues relating to due process
protection of property, amicus respectfully requests that this
Court grant the petition for writ of certiorari.

DATED: September, 1995.
Respectfully submitted,

*JAMES S. BURLING
VicTOR J. WOLSKI
*Counsel of Record
Pacific Legal Foundation
2151 River Plaza Drive, Suite 305
Sacramento, California 95833
Telephone: (916) 641-8888
Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
Pacific Legal Foundation

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_2111%3A5. Public record. Not legal advice.
