# Opposition Brief — Kernan v. Weston

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_2068%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1995
- **Citation:** 516 U.S. 937

## Text

> a

r 5 Supreme Www a.
' \) : FILED
- AUG 10 1995
NO. 95-69
OFFICE OF THE CLERK
IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1995

PEG KERNAN, WARDEN,
Petitioner,
Vv.
THEODORE ANTHONY WESTON,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Respondent Theodore Anthony Weston, through counsel,
and pursuant to Rule 39, Rules of the Supreme Court of the
United States, hereby requests leave to proceed in forma
pauperis in the above-captioned matter. Contemporaneous
with the filing of this motion, Mr. Weston is seeking to
file the accompanying Brief in Opposition.

Mr. Weston proceeded in forma pauperis in both the
district court and Ninth Circuit. Undersigned counsel was
appointed pursuant to the Criminal Justice Act in both

courts. Undersigned counsel’s application for admission to

//
//

REQUEST FOR LEAVE TO PROCEED IN FORMA PAUPERIS -1- H

a,

ne
bere

the Bar of this Court was submitted several days ago.
Dated: August 8, 1995.

Respectfully submitted,

*. Gy,
eg Eran /
> {eee

Bruce Eric Cohen
Attorney for Respondent
THEODORE ANTHONY WESTON

REQUEST FOR LEAVE TO PROCEED IN FORMA PAUPERIS -2-

: ORIGINAL

NO. 95-69

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1995

PEG KERNAN, WARDEN,
Petitioner,
Vv.
THEODORE ANTHONY WESTON,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF OPPOSITIO

BRUCE ERIC COHEN
Attorney at Law
1442-A Walnut Street
Berkeley, CA 94709
Tele: (510) 273-9902

Attorney for Respondent
THEODORE ANTHONY WESTON

UESTIO

1. Was the Ninth Circuit required to address the state’s
[petitioner’s] presumption of correctness claim when the
first time the claim was made by the state in this case was
in a footnote of the reply brief it filed in the Ninth
Circuit?

2. Is whether a defendant consented to a mistrial a mixed
question of fact and law just like other questions of
waiver, since the principal consideration is not a simple
historical fact but whether the defendant was allowed to
retain primary control over the course of the proceedings?

3. Even if consent to a mistrial is potentially governed by
28 U.S.C. 2254(d), is a state appellate court’s finding of
consent entitled to a presumption of correctness when the
state court refused defendant’s invitation to apply the
special federal constitutional principles defining when
consent to a mistrial may be inferred (and cited no federal
cases in its opinion)?

4. Assuming section 2254(d) is applicable, is a finding
that the defendant consented to a mistrial fairly supported
by the record when, after the prosecution improperly
introduced prejudicial evidence in rebuttal, the defense

filed a motion that made clear that if the court was not
going to dismiss the case with prejudice the defendant
wanted limiting instructions and not a mistrial, and then,
when the court declared a mistrial without prejudice,
defense counsel objected vociferously, only to be told to
"sit down and be quiet"?

5. Did the district court and Ninth Circuit correctly find
that no manifest necessity existed for aborting the first
trial here, where the prosecution caused the problem, the
defendant wanted to proceed with the trial, curative
instructions would have mitigated the prejudice, and the
trial court did not act to protect the defendant’s
interests?

Pl IN

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED ....--ccccccccccececcescessscesssece i
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ......cccceeees eececcccocscccoese iii
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ......--. COR CE ESOC OES HEROS EO CEASED 1
A. Procedural HiStoOry ......ccccccccccccccccccccces 1
B. Facts Pertaining To The Mistrial Declaration
That Ended The First Trial .......... eeeneceses 3
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .......-22-eeee-. ecccccoccccccscccccesce 10
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT ......------ cocccccecccece 12
I. THE STATE DID NOT TIMELY ASK EITHER THE
NINTH CIRCUIT OR THE DISTRICT COURT TO
ACCORD A SECTION 2254(d) PRESUMPTION OF
CORRECTNESS TO THE STATE COURT FINDING
ON CONSENT; EVEN IF THE STATE HAD MADE
SUCH A TIMELY REQUEST, NEITHER COURT
WOULD OR SHOULD HAVE DEEMED THE
PRESUMPTION TO APPLY ...-.--ceeecececes eeeedece 12

II. THE CONCLUSION OF THE DISTRICT COURT AND
NINTH CIRCUIT THAT MANIFEST NECESSITY DID
NOT JUSTIFY THE MISTRIAL HERE WAS CONSISTENT
WITH -- INDEED WAS DICTATED BY -- THIS COURT’S
HOLDINGS .....---- eccccccccecs ecccccccccccccs 27

CONCLUSION ......- coccecce eocccces Trrrrrrrrerr eee ee 35

ii

ERs
ag Ok”
en

TABL F_ AUTH T

Page
Cases:
Arizona v. Washington,
434 U.S. 497 (1978) ccccccccccsecse oeeees 12-13, 17, 27°29
Bland v. California Department of Corrections,
20 F.3d 1469 (Sth Cir.i994) .ccessces covcesesoceessacss &F

Braxton v. U.S., 395 A.2@ 759 (D.C.App.1978) ....s2. 25, 28
Brewer v. Williams, 430 U.S. 387 (1977) wcccccccceess owe EP
Burden v. Zant, 498 U.S. 433 (1991) ccccccncscccccce a3, ae

Compton v. Superior Court, 6 Cal.3d 55 (1971) ........+. 25

Cuyler v. Sullivan, 446 U.S. 335 (1980) ........ ssenweae BF
Glover v. McMackin,

950 F.2d 1236 (6th Cir.1991) ....... ttewnanes 18, 22, 25
Greer v. Milier, 483 U.S. 756 (1907) «sanectcaseonsatdsnes 30

Hutson v. Superior Court, 203 Cal.App.2d 687 (1962) .... 24
In re Murchison, 349 U.S. 133 (1955) «e««seces Anes nes ~ a2

Int’l Union of Bricklayers v. Martin Jaska, Inc.,
732 F.2G 1461 (OCR CLE. 1008) scccns cc deckaseaekera . 14-15

Lafferty v. Cook,
949 F.2d 1546 (10th Cir.1991), cert. denied, 112 S.Ct.
1942 (i992) «ccccceus WETTTTOCCCOIULICT CT TT eccceee LY
Lee v. U.S., 432 U.S. 23 (1977) cccccscscccccccsccecees 7s om

Lovinger v. Circuit Court,
S45 F.2G 739 (7H Cir. 2988) cccaeveessndnneces « 42, 24, 28

Norris v. Risley, 878 F.2d 1178 (9th Cir.1989) ......... 19
Oregon v. Kennedy, 456 U.S. 667 (1982) ..cccceeee 7, 13, 23
Parker v. Dugger, 498 U.S. 308 (1991) ......... stecscess OO
People v. Benton, 260 N.W.2d 77 (Mich.1977) ...-cseeeeee 29

People v. Catten, 508 N.E.2d 920 (N.Y.1987) ...

.
.
.
+.
N
oO

People v. Chaney, 202 Cal.App.3d 1109 (1988) .........2.. 25

People v. Davis, 10 Cal.4th 463 (1995) ...ccceees chine oe
iii

|

Page
- Cont’d.:

People v. Frank, 51 Cal.3d 718 (1990) .......... vesesee JG
People v. Fries, 24 Cal.3d 222 (1979) ........-. errr er rs 31
People v. Harris, 22 Cal.App.4th 1575 (1994) ........... 31
People v. Keenan, 46 Cal.3d 478 (1988) ....eeeeeeeeeeees 30
People v. Squires, 300 N.W.2d 366 (Mich.App.1981) ...... 26
People v. Wash, 6 Cal.4th 215 (1993) w.cccceececcenecees 30
Richardson v. Marsh, 481 U.S. 200 (1987) ............ ese 20
Rogers v. Richmond, 365 U.S. 534 (1961) .........4.- 37, 249

Romano v. Oklahoma, __U.S. __, 114 S.Ct. 2004 (1994) ... 30

Schneckloth v. Bustamonte, 412 U.S. 218 (1972) ......... 18

Schire v. Farley, .. U.S. —., 134 S.Ct. 7863 (1994) ..... 18
State v. Flick, 495 A.28 339 (MG.1905) .cccccccccesecess 25
Townsend ¥. Sain, 372 Us«B. 293 (1963) seccsccecccvese see 26
U.S. ex rel Ross v. Franzen,

GEG F.20 933 (FER CAP. ISSR). cccccvcvevess Coecccocceces 16
U.S. vw. Bates, 917 F.24 388 (9th Cixr.1990) .ccaccee e 13, 24
U.S. vv. Barton, B25 Fasd 17 (and CiF.i97S) cccvcccescee e's 32
U.S. VW. Dimits, 424 U.S. GOO (2976) ceccccececes « B€*k94 37

U.S. v. Hoelker, 765 F.24 1422 (9th Cir.1985) w.cccccoee 30
U.S. v. Jorn, 400 U.S. 470 (1971) .ccccceeee Ad, €44¢. @7,% 32
U.S. v. Klein, 582 F.2d 186 (2nd Cir.1978) ..cccccccecee 29
U.S. v. Sanchez, 722 F.2d 1501 (1ith Cir.1984) .....«e.«.. 30
U.S. v. Sanders, 591 F.2d 1293 (9th Cir.1979) .w.cccceee- 29
Watkins v. Sowders, 449 U.S. 341 (1981) .cccccccccccceee 30
Weston v. Kernan,

50 F.3d 633 (9th Cir.1995) ... 2, 13, 15, 17, 19, 21, 27-
$3, 32

iv

ee

TABLE OF AUTHORIT = t’d.
Page

Cases - Cont’d.:

Withrow v. Williams, u.3. .... 113 3.6t. 1748 (1993) . 39

Constitutional and Statutory Authorities:
United States Constitution:

Fifth Amendment
(Double Jeopardy Clause) ........ 2, Fe 12°13, 22, 26, 34

Title 28 -— United States Code:

Section 22546) «<+ssscou6e oun eeen eee tee eae en 10, 14-20
Section 2294(G}(8) .caccnandbusbasews sdedececnes xnbdaces’s 20

Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure:

Rule 41(D) ccccccccccccsccccccccccccenesscessesesessscsese 3

NO. 95-69

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1995

PEG KERNAN, WARDEN,
Petitioner,
Vv.
THEODORE ANTHONY WESTON,

Respondent.

I IN OP TION

Respondent Theodore Anthony Weston respectfully

requests that the petition for writ of certiorari be denied.
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Procedural History

Mr. Weston was charged with kidnapping Audrey Erickson,
robbing her, and forcing her to engage in three acts of oral
copulation. (CT 1-4.) The first trial ended when the trial
judge declared a mistrial -- over Mr. Weston’s objection --
after the prosecutor elicited prejudicial testimony from two
rebuttal witnesses. (RT 416, 425-441.) The second-trial
jury convicted Mr. Weston of one act of oral copulation but
was sharply and irreconcilably divided on the kidnapping,

robbery, and other copulation charges, all of which were

dismissed. (RT 1077-79.)

Mr. Weston’s appeal to the California Court of Appeal
was unsuccessful, and the California Supreme Court denied
review (Pet., Appendices D and C), but the United States
District Court for the Northern District of California (Hon.

Marilyn Patel) granted Mr. Weston’s habeas corpus petition.

The court did so on two independent grounds, holding: 1)
forcing Mr. Weston to stand trial a second time violated the
Double Jeopardy Clause where the trial court had discharged
the first-trial jury without either Mr. Weston’s consent or
manifest necessity; and 2) Mr. Weston was deprived of a fair
trial at the second trial by extremely intemperate remarks
made by the trial court in the presence of the jury (e.g.,
twice calling defense counsel a liar {when the
misunderstanding at issue was attributable entirely to the
court}, and agreeing with the prosecutor’s totally
unwarranted insinuation in closing argument that defense
counsel was dishonest and unethical). (App. B.)

The Ninth Circuit affirmed the granting of the habeas
petition. The majority agreed that the first-trial mistrial
was declared without either Mr. Weston’s consent or manifest
necessity. The majority did not reach the alternative
ground (fair-trial violation) on which the petition had been
granted. (App. A; Weston v. Kernan, 50 F.3d 633 (9th
Cir.1995).)

Throughout the foregoing appeal and habeas process, Mr.
Weston was in prison, serving the l1l-year sentence imposed

on him in this case. He was released from custody on May 1,

2

1995, as a result of the affirmance by the Ninth Circuit.1}
Given the "good-time, work-time" credits earned by Mr.
Weston, however, the state would have released him on May

21, 1995, even if his federal claims had been rejected.

B. Facts Pertaining to the Mistrial Declaration
hat fod the Firat. Trial

In the first trial, when it came time for the
prosecution to put on rebuttal evidence, an acquittal was a
distinct possibility.

Audrey Erickson testified that Mr. Weston forced his
way into her van outside a nightclub in San Francisco
(Sergio’s), then drove to a field where he robbed and
sexually assaulted her. (RT 90-108.) The reliability of

her testimony was attacked, however , 2 and the record clearly

1. The state did not exercise its option to request that
the Ninth Circuit stay its mandate while the petiticn for
certiorari was pending. (See Rule 41(b), Fed. R. App.
Proc. )

2. There were inconsistencies, for example, in Ms.
Erickson’s statements regarding the circumstances under
which she and Mr. Weston met (compare RT 64-65 with 313),
how he allegedly got in the van (compare RT 87-90 with 315),
what he allegedly did to her (compare RT 106, 108, 177-86,
with 317-18, 388-93), and whether she called the police when
she got home (compare RT 194-96 with 325-31, 359-64).

Ms. Erickson’s corroborating witnesses, moreover, were
Robert Vieira and Sam Sylvester. Whereas Erickson and
Vieira claimed to be non-romantically involved friends who
rarely frequented Sergio’s together (RT 60, 147-49), the
bartender later testified that Erickson and Vieira would
come into the bar together four to five times a week (RT
588-589) and were physically affectionate on the night of
the alleged incident (RT 591, 610). In addition, whereas
Erickson and Sylvester indicated they were barely friends
who spoke on the phone once a month (RT 243, 253), it later
emerged they had been having an extramarital affair and were
planning to marry (RT 812-13, 820-21, 857-60).

3

indicates that at least the second-trial jury did not find
her story credible.?

Mr. Weston stunned the prosecution, moreover, by
calling to the stand an entirely neutral witness -- Donald
Montgomery. Mr. Montgomery -- an electronics technician at
Sears (RT 334, 554) who had never seen either Mr. Weston or
Ms. Erickson before (RT 335, 352) -- thoroughly impeached
Ms. Erickson. Mr. Montgomery, on leaving Sergio’s, observed
the public events that culminated in Mr. Weston and Ms.
Erickson leaving the area together. Contrary to Ms.
Erickson’s claims, Mr. Montgomery testified that Ms.
Erickson was very intoxicated, was flattered by Mr. Weston’s
attentions, allowed him to kiss her several times, and
ultimately chose to send her original date home so she could
be with Mr. Weston. Furthermore, Montgomery said, Ms.
Erickson gave Mr. Weston the keys to her van. Montgomery
stayed with them for a few minutes, he said, until he could
see "they were getting along fine" and he "felt like [he]
was somewhat in the way." (RT 338-43.)

In addition, Mr. Weston presented the testimony of two
women who were in the apartment that Mr. Weston brought Ms.

Erickson back to. They confirmed that Ms. Erickson happily

3. The verdict rendered in the second trial makes this
clear. Thus, whereas Ms. Erickson testified that Mr. Weston
kidnapped her, robbed her, and forced her to submit to three
sexual acts, the jury did not find the kidnapping charge to
be true, did not find the robbery charge to be true, and
returned a guilty verdict on only one of the three sexual
offenses charged. (CT 352, 361, 403-06; RT 1077-79.)

4

disappeared into Mr. Weston’s bedroom, where, the
indications were, the pair engaged in consensual sex. The
witnesses also testified that, after the pair emerged from
the bedroom, Ms. Erickson give Mr. Weston money (apparently
for drugs), then waited for him to return. When he did not
return she became angry and left, believing respondent and
the women had conspired to take her money. (RT 265-70,
376.)4

In light of the strong defense presented, when the
prosecutor announced his rebuttal witnesses (two police
officers and Mr. Weston’s parole officer) Mr. Weston’s trial
counsel objected, fearing that the prosecutor, ina
desperate effort to avoid an acquittal, would use the
witnesses as a pretext for eliciting inadmissible evidence.
The trial judge agreed that one of the proposed witnesses
could not be called but contemptuously rejected counsel’s
objections to the other two witnesses. (RT 401-404.) The
prosecutor then proceeded to elicit testimony from both
witnesses that the trial court itself later acknowledged was

prejudicial and plainly inadmissible. (RT 416, 421-423.)°

4. Mr. Weston’s defense was that Ms. Erickson willingly
accompanied him to the apartment where he was staying and
willingly had sex with him. Because he absconded with her
money, however, and because her late evening with him
undoubtedly created great difficulties for her with at least
one if not two of her lovers, she had great incentive to
make up the story she told the jury. (See RT 1042-47.)

5. From the first witness, the prosecutor elicited that Mr.
Weston had once been arrested for check fraud. ["The
Prosecutor: ‘Did you place Mr. Weston under arrest?’
(fn. continued on p. 6)
S

ee ee ee ee er ee re ee, ee

—-

When the first inadmissible testimony was elicited, the
trial judge’s immediate response was that the prosecutor had
deliberately "transgress[ed] this court’s order" to confine
the witness’ testimony to "one [legitimate and narrow]
purpose and one purpose alone...." Defense counsel moved
for a mistrial. This was in the presence of the jury,
however, and counsel did not elaborate on the nature of the
mistrial he was seeking. The motion was taken under
submission. (RT 416.)

Immediately after prejudicial testimony was elicited
from the second witness, however, defense counsel moved the
court -- out of the presence of the jury -- to declare a

mistrial sua sponte, i.e., with prejudice, on the ground

that the prosecutor had deliberately injected error into the
trial. (RT 425, 426.)

This angered the trial judge, who insisted
(incorrectly) that there was no legal basis for such a
motion. (RT 426.) Believing trial counsel was trying to
"trick" him into granting a mistrial that would preclude
retrial, the judge asserted (quite inaccurately and contrary
to his reaction moments before) that the testimony regarding
Mr. Weston’s arrest for check fraud had been "blurted out"
and was not elicited by the prosecutor. (RT 416, 425, 427.)

The day’s session ended with this exchange:

Witness: ‘Yes, I did.’ The Prosecutor: ‘For what?’
Witness: ‘For ... check fraud.’"] (RT 416.)

From the second witness, the prosecutor elicited that
Mr. Weston had previously been on parole. (RT 421-23.)

6 t

Court: In forty years I never heard of it [a
mistrial with prejudice] but there is a lot of stuff
I never heard of in my lifetime. All right, anyway
you made a motion for mistrial, am I correct?
Defense counsel: Yes.

(RT 426.)

The next morning, defense counsel filed a written
motion making clear that there was authority from this Court
for his position that the intentional introduction of
inadmissible prejudicial evidence by a prosecutor can
justify a dismissal with prejudice. (CT 131, citing, inter
alia, Qregon v. Kennedy, 456 U.S. 667, 679 (1982).)®

The motion also made very clear that Mr. Weston was
only interested in a mistrial that would have precluded a
second trial on double jeopardy grounds. 7 In the event a

mistrial with prejudice was denied, the motion continued,

Mr. Weston did not seek to have the jury discharged but

6. The motion was entitled "Defense Motion for Mistrial
Based on Prosecutorial Misconduct." (CT 127-136. See RT
429.) The motion requested "that the trial court declare a

mistrial in the above matter on the grounds that the
, ‘ ea _
-"\ (CT 127; emph.
added.) The argument portion of the motion\began:

Defendant contends that the prosecutorial
misconduct described above mandates a mistrial

in this case, and the double jeopardy clause
. . t
pons pang on gp oe prc ey Peal.
(CT 130; emph. added.)

7. It might have been more accurate for counsel to use the
term "dismissal," but, as this Court held in Lee v. U.S.,
432 U.S. 23, 30 (1977), the point here "does not turn on...
[which] label" -- "’dismissal’ or a ‘declaration of
mistrial’" -- could have been placed on the relief sought.

sought only to have the jury admonished to disregard the
prejudicial evidence. (CT 127-132.) Throughout the ensuing
argument, defense counsel never abandoned this position.

(RT 434-436.)

The trial court rejected the allegation that the
prosecutor had deliberately goaded defense counsel into
making the mistrial motion. The court again accused defense
counsel of trying to trick the court and slander the
prosecutor. The court even claimed that it was defense
counsel’s fault that the prejudicial evidence had come in.
(RT 437-438.)

Nonetheless, and wholly unexpectedly, the court granted
a mistrial without prejudice (taking all of the credit for
recognizing the prejudicial impact of the evidence defense
counsel had futilely attempted to persuade the court to keep
out). (RT 438-439.)

Immediately and unequivocally, defense counsel
protested the court’s ruling, stating that, in light of the
court’s denial of Mr. Weston’s motion for dismissal with
prejudice, he needed a few minutes to confer with Mr. Weston
in order to determine whether Mr. Weston wanted to continue
with the first trial or consent to a second. (RT 439.)

The jury was not present during this colloquy and had
no idea what was transpiring. The trial judge, who could

not have helped but recognize that Mr. Weston was not i

consenting to a discharge of the jury without prejudice, had :

ample opportunity to refrain from ordering that discharge
and to permit counsel and Mr. Weston to confer. (RT 439.)

Instead, the trial judge immediately had the jury
brought into the courtroom, told defense counsel to "sit
down and be quiet" when counsel again objected to the
unilateral action the court was about to take, and
discharged the jury. (RT 439-441.)

At the second trial, the prosecutor proceeded to take
full advantage of his newly-gained opportunity to obtain a

conviction in this case.®

8. Whereas in the first trial the prosecution’s case-in-
chief consisted of the testimony of 4 witnesses and spanned
211 pages (RT 43-253), in the second trial it consisted of
the testimony of 7 witnesses and spanned 368 pages (RT 478-
845).

Two of the prosecution’s second-trial witnesses,
furthermore, Lt. Tognetti and Donald Montgomery, were
witnesses the defense had called in the first trial (RT 325,
333) and one of them -- Mr. Montgomery, was by far the best
witness the defense had. In closing argument in the second
trial, moreover, the prosecutor further exploited this theft
by arguing the jury should discount Montgomery’s testimony
because he was not testifying because "he wants to see
justice done" but only "because he got a subpoena ...." (RT
1066.)

The mistrial also provided the prosecution with the
incentive to interview Glenn Arthur, who testified in the
second trial but not in the first. (See RT 612.) Arthur’s
importance to the case can be measured by the fact that it
was his testimony, along with Montgomery’s, that the jury
wanted to rehear during its deliberations. (RT 1073-1074.)
Investigation between the two trials, furthermore, yielded
additional evidence that the prosecution had not presented
at the first trial. (RT 457, 837-839.) >

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
The state? raises no issue worthy of this Court’s
concern.
The state claims that the California Court of Appeal’s
finding that Mr. Weston consented to the mistrial was

entitled to a presumption of correctness under 28 U.S.C.

|
section 2254(d). The first time the state made the latter
claim, however, was in a footnote in its reply brief in the
Ninth Circuit. That is why there is no discussion of the
issue in either the district court’s or Ninth Circuit’s
opinion.
Even if the state had presented the claim in some
cognizable manner in the courts below, moreover, it would
and should have been rejected. First, whether a defendant
consented to a mistrial is more than a question of
historical fact. It involves more subtle considerations, as
whether the trial court allowed the defendant primary
control over whether to abort or continue with the first
trial. Like all waiver questions, consent to a mistrial is
thus a mixed question of fact and law and is not governed by
section 2254(d).
Second, even if consent to a mistrial is a finding
potentially governed by section 2254(d), the particular
finding by the California Court of Appeal does not fall

within the statute because the latter court did not even

9. Petitioner will often be referred to in this brief as
"the state."

10

purport to apply the federal constitutional principles that
define such consent.

Finally, the state consent finding is not entitled to a
presumption of correctness because the record plainly shows
that Mr. Weston did not consent to the declaration of a
mistrial without prejudice. This was the unqualified
conclusion of both the district court and Ninth Circuit.

The state’s second claim is that the district court and
Ninth Circuit -- in finding that no manifest necessity
justified the mistrial order -- failed to show sufficient
deference to the trial court. The state reaches that
conclusion, however, by ignoring the considerations that go
into the manifest-necessity analysis when it is the
prosecution that has improperly introduced prejudicial
evidence: e.g., whether the defendant’s interest in
retaining "primary control over the course to be followed"
was honored, whether limiting instructions would have
mitigated the harm, and whether the decision to abort was
made for the defendant’s benefit. Applying the analysis
mandated by this Court, the conclusion reached by the

district court and Ninth Circuit is the only possible one.

11

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I.
EN
DISTRICT CO ACC
CO CTNESS TO THE STATE z
THE STATE HAD MADE SUCH A TIMELY REQUEST, NETTHER COURT
1:18) OR SHOULD DE D 9)

When, through no fault of the defendant, prejudicial
evidence is erroneously presented to the jury, the defendant
is forced to choose between two constitutional rights. On
the one hand, the Double Jeopardy Clause establishes his
right to have his guilt or innocence determined by the first
jury to hear his case. (Arizona v. Washington, 434 U.S.
497, 503 (1978).)19 at the same time, he is entitled to a
fair trial. (See generally, In re Murchison, 349 U.S. 133,
136 (1955).) The latter choice, this Court has recognized,
is a "Hobson’s choice": the defendant must choose "between
giving up his first jury and continuing with a trial tainted
by prejudicial or prosecutorial error." (U.S. v. Dini
424 U.S. 600, 609 (1976).)

Either option might appear advantageous to a defendant

in a given case.11 Except in a rare category of case,

10. The prohibition against placing a defendant "twice ...
in jeopardy" is based on the recognition that a second trial
may be “grossly unfair." It not only prolongs a defendant’s
ordeal but, by allowing "subtle changes in the State
testimony" on retrial, "may enhance the risk that an
innocent defendant may be convicted." (Arizona v.
Washington, supra, 434 U.S. at 503-504, fn. 15.)

11. Despite the admission of prejudicial evidence, a
rational defendant could choose "to conclude his
confrontation with society through the verdict of [the
first] tribunal [if] he ... believe[d it still] to be

(fn. continued on p. 13)

12

therefore, the Constitution does not dictate which of the
above choices is to be exercised.12 Rather,

Where prosecutorial error ... of a degree
sufficient to warrant a mistrial has occurred,
‘the important consideration, for purposes of the
Double Jeopardy Clause, is that the defendant

e e course t
Ww in t error.’
(Oregon v. Kennedy, supra, 456 U.S. at 676, quoting U.S. v.

Dinitz, supra 424 U.S. at 600, 609; emph. added.) The
defendant’s right of primary control is "[c]Jentral among the
protections afforded by the double jeopardy clause ...."
(U.S. v. Bates, 917 F.2d 388, 393 (9th Cir.1990).)

Despite the centrality of the defendant’s right of
primary control in the jurisprudence of this Court, the
state does not refer to it in its petition for certiorari.
Indeed, despite the fact that the "primary control"
principle occupied center stage in the district court’s
opinion (Pet., App. B, p. 62, 72), the Ninth Circuit’s

opinion (Pet., App. A., pp. 35-37; 50 F.3d at 637, 638), and

favorably disposed to his fate." (Arizona v. Washington,
supra, 434 U.S. at 514 quoting U.S. v. Jorn, 400 U.S. 470,
486 (1971).) Conversely, a defendant could "reasonably
conclude that a continuation of the tainted proceeding would
result in a conviction followed by a lengthy appeal and, if
a reversal is secured, by a second prosecution. In such
circumstances, a defendant’s mistrial request has objectives
not unlike the interests served by the Double Jeopardy
Clause - the avoidance of the anxiety, expense, and delay
occasioned by multiple prosecutions." (U.S. v. Dinitz,
supra, 424 U.S. at 608.)

12. The only exception is where an error is committed that
is certain to result in reversal. As observed by the Ninth
Circuit, the state has conceded that the evidence at issue
in this case does not fall into that category. (50 F.3d at
638.)

42

all six briefs filed by Mr. Weston in these proceedings
(state and federal), the state has never referred to it in
any of the pleadings it has filed in the case.13

The reason is self-evident: the principle was
flagrantly violated here and the state has no substantive
defense to offer.

Instead, the state attempts a procedural end run. The
state claims that what this case is really about is whether
the finding of the California Court of Appeal -- that Mr.
Weston consented to a mistrial without prejudice -- is
entitled to a presumption of correctness under 28 U.S.C.
sec. 2254(d).

The claim is not worthy of the Court’s attention.

First, the claim that the California Court of Appeal’s
holding that Mr. Weston consented to a mistrial was a
finding of fact entitled to a presumption of correctness was
not made by the state in the district court. Nor was it
made by the state in its opening brief in the Ninth Circuit.
The state did not make the claim until its reply brief in
the court below -- and even then only made it in a footnote
(Reply Br., p. 5, fn. 2) -- leaving Mr. Weston no
opportunity or incentive to brief the issue at that time.
Under these circumstances, the Ninth Circuit clearly had the

discretion to ignore the belated claim. (Int’l Union of

13. The California Court of Appeal likewise failed to refer
to the “primary control" principle in its opinion. (Pet.,
App. D, pp. 91-96.)

14

Bricklayers v. Martin Jaska, Inc., 752 F.2d 1401, 1404 (9th

Cir. 1985) ["we will not ordinarily consider matters on
appeal not specifically and distinctly raised and argued in
appellant’s opening brief"]. Cf., Bland v. California
Department of Corrections, 20 F.3d 1469, 1474 (9th Cir.i994)
{in habeas proceeding, California precluded from making an
argument in Ninth Circuit that it had not previously
made]}.14 See also, Burden v. Zant, 498 U.S. 433, 437 (1991)
{implicitly accepting premise that party’s failure to seek
benefit of sec. 2254(d) in lower court would waive right to
seek application of presumption in higher court]..)

The fact that the Ninth Circuit did not address the
presumption issue in its opinion, therefore, is attributable
to the state, not the court, and in no way presents a
question that should concern this Court.

In any event, the state’s threshold substantive claim -
- that a finding of consent to a mistrial is a factual

finding within the meaning of sec. 2254(d) -- is wrong.15

14. The fact that neither the majority nor the dissent in
this case referred to the presumption is further evidence
that the state failed to raise the claim in any cognizable
fashion. (50 F.3d at 636-42.)

15. The state’s claim that, in the Ninth Circuit, Mr.
Weston conceded that a finding of consent to a mistrial is a
factual finding within the meaning of sec. 2254(d) is not
accurate. As indicated above, the state, in its opening
brief, made no claim that consent-to-a-mistrial falls within
section 2254(d). In his appellee’s brief, therefore, there
was no argument on the subject for Mr. Weston to concede to.
In one sentence of one footnote, rather, when
discussing the district court’s finding that consent to the
mistrial was not given, Mr. Weston said he "presum[ed]" the
finding should be judged under the "clearly erroneous"
(fn. continued on p. 16)

15

Not all findings of fact fall within sec. 2254(d).
Findings are governed by the statute only if they involve
"what are termed basic, primary, or historical facts: facts
in the sense of a recital of external events and the
credibility of their narrators.... So-called mixed
questions of fact and law, which require the application of
a legal standard to the historical-fact determinations, are
not facts in this sense." (Townsend v. Sain, 372 U.S. 293,
309, fn. 6 (1963). Whether a defendant has consented to a
mistrial is a mixed question of fact and law as defined by
this Court.

United States ex rel Ross v. Franzen, 668 F.2d 933 (7th
Cir.1982), illustrates the principle. In Ross, the Court of
Appeals recognized that what counsel had done (i.e., walk
out of a deposition) was a matter of historical fact and the
state court’s finding on that score was subject to the
presumption of correctness. The state court’s conclusion
that counsel’s conduct was "in effect ... a stipulation"
that defendant was waiving his right of confrontation,

however, "represented ... the application of legal standards

standard. (Br. of Pet./Aee., p. 13, fn. 10.) He took no
definitive position, however, and went on to argue that the
finding was correct when the record was reviewed de novo.
(Id. at 13-17.) Mr. Weston further stated (in another
footnote) that, since the consent finding of the California
Court of Appeal was "utterly without support in the record,"
de novo review of that finding would quickly show it was not
entitled to a presumption of correctness. (Id. at p. 17,
fn. 16.)

Thus, while Mr. Weston may have assumed arguendo the
potential applicability of section 2254(d), he did not
purport to (and was not called on to) address that threshold
question on the merits. He does so for the first time here.

16

».-. to the historical facts" and was not governed by section
2254(da). (668 F.2d at 938. See also Brewer v. Williams,
430 U.S. 387, 395-97, 402-04 (1977) ["the question of
waiver" is "not a question of historical fact" within the
meaning of section 2254(da) but "requires application of
constitutional principles to the facts as found"]; Cuyler v.
Sullivan, 446 U.S. 335, 342 (1980) [findings regarding the
roles counsel played in the defenses of the various co-
defendants are findings of fact within the meaning of
section 2254(d); whether the conduct amounts to multiple
representation, however, is "a mixed determination of law
and fact" and is determined de novo].)

The same analysis applies here. What an attorney says
and does before and after the granting of a mistrial are
historical facts subject to the statute. Whether those
statements and conduct permit an inference of consent to a
mistrial (i.e., a waiver of the defendant’s constitutional
right to proceed to judgment -- Arizona v. Washington, 434
U.S. at 503), however, is governed by principles of federal
constitutional law that define both what consent is and when
a court may infer that it was given.

As the Ninth Circuit correctly observed below, the
issue of consent is inseverable from the overriding issue of
whether the defendant was permitted to "retain primary
control over the course to be followed." (50 F.3d at 637,
quoting United States v. Dinitz, supra, 424 U.S. at 609.

See Rogers v. Richmond, 365 U.S. 534, 547 (1961) ["{S}o-

=

17

called facts and their constitutional significance may be so
blended that they cannot be severed in consideration"]).
Because consent to a mistrial constitutes a waiver of a
federal constitutional right, moreover, federal law
precludes a court from inferring consent unless "the
circumstances positively indicate a defendant’s willingness
to acquiesce in the mistrial order." (Glover v. McMackin,
950 F.2d 1236, 1240 (6th Cir. 1991).)

A finding of consent to a mistrial, therefore, is not
merely a historical determination subject to sec. 2254(d).
It is, rather, a conclusion shaped and governed by federal
constitutional legal principles and is thus "a question of
federal law which ... must [be] review[ed] de novo."

(Schiro v. Farley, _ U.S. _, _, 114 S.Ct. 783, 790-91

(1994).16 )17

16. In Schiro, this Court indicated that the finding of
"(tjhe Indiana Supreme Court ... that the jury verdict did
not amount to an acquittal on the intentional murder count"
would ordinarily be considered a finding of fact. The Court
held that sec. 2254(d) was inapplicable, however, because
"the preclusive effect of the jury’s verdict ... is a
question of federal law which ... must [be] review[ed] de
novo." (114 S.Ct. at 790-91 (1994).)

17. The state claims that Schneckloth v. Bustamonte, 412
U.S. 218 (1972), is relevant here. (Pet., p. 19.) It is
not.

The issue in Schneckloth was whether a state can show a
defendant’s consent to search was voluntary even if it
cannot show the defendant knew he could refuse to permit a
search. In answering the question affirmatively, the Court
stated that the "voluntariness [of a consent to search] is a
question of fact to be determined from all the
circumstances...." (412 U.S. at 249.)

The latter conclusion does not shed light on the
section 2254 question posed here, however. This is made
clear by the fact that this Court has held that, while the

(fn. continued on p. 19)

18

Even if consent to a mistrial is, as a general matter,
deemed a factual question potentially subject to section
2254(d), moreover, the statute cannot be applied to the
particular finding made by the California Court of Appeal.
That is because the California Court of Appeal -- despite
being asked to do so in Mr. Weston’s opening brief, reply
brief, and petition for rehearing, and at oral argument --
did not apply any federal constitutional principles to the
question of consent, including the central requirement that
the defendant be allowed to retain "primary control over the
course to follow." (See Pet., Exh. D, pp. 91-96. )18

Thus, if the state had raised the presumption of
correctness issue in timely fashion, the Ninth Circuit
could, should, and would have responded, as it did in Norris
v. Risley, 878 F.2d 1178 (9th Cir.1989): "Because the
[California Court of Appeal] failed to apply the correct
legal standard, there is no state court judgment to which we
can give deference." (Id. at 1181. Accord, Rogers v.
Richmond, 365 U.S. 534, 547 (1961) ["Historical facts
‘found’ in the perspective framed by an erroneous legal
standard cannot plausibly be expected to furnish the basis

for correct conclusions...."]; Lafferty v. Cook, 949 F.2d

voluntariness of a confession is also judged by the totality
of circums_ances, such a finding is not subject to 2254(d).
(See, e.g., Withrow v. Williams U.S. 113 S.Ct. 1745,
1754 (1993).)

— —_/

18. Chief Judge Wallace also fails to deal with the
"primary control" requirement in his dissenting opinion.
(50 F.3d at 639-42.)

1546, 1550-1556 (10th Cir.1991), cert. denied, 112 S.Ct.
1942 (1992) ["Although competence is a factual issue ...,
the state court’s finding of competency cannot stand given
the court’s failure to proceed under a proper understanding
of the due process requirements"].) Since the state court
never made a finding of consent as defined by federal law,
there was and is no finding that falls within the domain
section 2254(d).

If the state had timely raised the presumption issue,
furthermore, and if the California Court of Appeal had
relied on federal constitutional principles in finding
consent, then the Ninth Circuit would have been obligated to
address on the merits the applicability of section 2254(d).
(Burden v. Zant, supra, 498 U.S. at 437.)

That would have changed nothing, however. It is
abundantly clear that both the district court and the Ninth
Circuit believed that the state court’s conclusion that Mr.
Weston consented either was "not fairly supported by the
evidence" or had been shown "by convincing evidence" to be
"erroneous." (Sec. 2254(d)(8). See Parker v. Dugger, 498
U.S. 308, 320 (1991) [holding a finding of the "Florida
Supreme Court ... not fairly supported by the record"].))

Thus the Ninth Circuit held: "[D]jefense counsel’s
immediate and repeated objections demonstrate that Weston
did not consent to the mistrial.... Quite the contrary,
Weston’s counsel strenuously objected to the mistrial. The

state trial court’s declaration of a mistrial over these

—— Ss

objections deprived Weston of his right to retain primary
control over the course of the proceedings." (50 F.3d at
637-38; Pet., App. A, pp. 36-37.)

Similarly, the district court held: "It is clear from
the record that Mr. Weston did not consent to the trial
judge declaring a mistrial without prejudice -- defense
counsel actively sought to persuade the judge that such a
mistrial was not what he wanted.... [H]is subsequent
written motion certainly clarified that intent, and he made
numerous attempts to persuade the judge not to declare the
mistrial without prejudice. These circumstances make clear
that Mr. Weston did not consent to the mistrial without
prejudice." (Pet., App. B, pp. 64-66; emph. in orig.)

If the district court and Ninth Circuit had been
presented with the need to explicitly address the
presumption of correctness issue, therefore, the net result
would have been the same. Each court would have concluded
that Mr. Weston did not consent toa mistrial and that the
contrary conclusion of the California Court of Appeal was
inconsistent with the plain facts.

The latter conclusion, finally, is unassailable on the
merits.

In the immediate aftermath of the prosecutor eliciting
that petitioner had been arrested for check fraud, Mr.
Adachi did not state what kind of nistrial he was seeking.
(RT 416.) As soon as counsel could argue out of the

presence of the jury, however, he nade it clear he was not

21

requesting a mistrial without prejudice.19 He stated
explicitly, in both his written motion and oral argument,
that what he was seeking was a mistrial declared by the
court sua sponte, a mistrial with prejudice, an order that,
by virtue of "the Double Jeopardy Clause," would "end all
prosecution of the defendant for the offense charged ....
(Lee v. U.S., Supra, 432 U.S. at 30. See CT 127, 130, 1323
RT 424, 426, 434-435.) Each time the court attempted to
have counsel discuss his motion as an ordinary motion for a
mistrial without prejudice, counsel stuck to his position
that prosecutorial misconduct can support a dismissal with
prejudice. (See, e.g., RT 425-426.)

All the state can do is point to a single exchange.
After the trial judge asserted that "in forty years" he had
"never heard of" a court granting a mistrial with prejudice,
he asked: "All right, anyway you made a motion for
mistrial, am I correct?" Counsel answered "yes." (RT 426.)

The "yes" spoken by trial counsel did not come anywhere
close to "positive[ly] indicat[{ing] consent" to a mistrial
without prejudice. (Glover v. McMackin, supra, 950 F.2d at
1240.) The exchange reflected a disagreement as to the law.
Whereas the trial court insisted that there was no such

thing as a mistrial with prejudice based on deliberate

19. Even if counsel’s request for a mistrial at RT 416 was
a request for a mistrial without prejudice, he was allowed
to "reassess" his position. There is "no reason to lock [a]
defendant into a motion once it is made." (

Circuit Court, 845 F.2d 739, 744 (7th Cir.1988).)

oR

prosecutorial misconduct (RT 426), defense counsel knew
there was. (See Qregon v. Kennedy, supra, 456 U.S. at 679.)
The fact that defense counsel told the court he was asking
for a mistrial, consequently, did not mean he was asking for
one on the court’s terms. Indeed, following counsel’s
"yes," the court proceeded to question the prosecutor
regarding his motivation in eliciting the inadmissible and
prejudicial rebuttal testimony. (RT 427-428.) From defense
counsel’s perspective, the latter questioning was perfectly
relevant to petitioner’s motion for mistrial with prejudice.

To the extent there was any ambiguity, furthermore, it
was removed by the written motion Mr. Weston filed the next
morning. That motion made clear that Mr. Weston’s first
choice was a mistrial with prejudice. The motion made
clear, moreover, that a mistrial without prejudice was not
petitioner’s second choice. He made very clear that his
second choice was to continue with the first trial and to
have the court admonish the jury regarding the inadmissible
evidence the prosecutor had elicited. (CT 132.) The court
had the motion in hand before ruling. (RT 429.)

Indeed, the court entertained further argument after
receiving the written motion. Everything stated by defense
counsel during the hearing was directed at showing the
prosecutor’s misconduct was designed to induce a mistrial.
(RT 434-436.) Rather than "positive[ly] indicat[ing] ...
defendant’s willingness to" consent to a mistrial without

prejudice, counsel’s argument was one hundred percent

23

consistent with his written motion and his argument the day
before.

Finally, even if, at the moment the trial court
purported to "grant" Mr. Weston’s motion, the court truly
believed Mr. Weston was consenting to a mistrial without
prejudice, such a belief would have been dispelled by
counsel’s response immediately thereafter. Counsel not only
made clear that Mr. Weston’s motion was based solely on
prosecutorial misconduct -- counsel also requested the
opportunity to talk with Mr. Weston before the court
discharged the jury. (RT 439-440.) The court cut counsel
off before he could elaborate, but counsel’s intent was
clear: he wanted to ask Mr. Weston whether he wished to
consent to a mistrial without prejudice. (CT 134-136.)2°

Numerous cases have held that consent to mistrial will
not be inferred where the defendant was not given the

opportunity to object.*! In this case, despite the court’s

20. The declarations that were later filed by Mr. Weston
and his attorney (CT 134-136) only confirmed the obvious.

21. See U.S. v. Jorn, supra, 400 U.S. at 487 ["the trial
judge acted so abruptly in discharging the jury that had the

[defendant] been disposed ... to object to the discharge of
the jury, there would have been no opportunity to do so"];

, Supra, 917 F.2d at 393 ["Because [defendants]
had no opportunity to object, we will not infer that they
consented to the mistrial"]; Lovinger v. Circuit Court, 845
F.2d 739, 744, 745 (7th Cir.1988) [no “implied consent"
where "no opportunity to object;" failure "to allow
[defendant] to express his view on the propriety of mistrial
-.- deprived [him] of the opportunity to exercise any
control over the fate of the trial"];

Court, 203 Cal.App.2d 687, 693 (1962) ["“with such an
important right involved the defendant personally should
have been given an opportunity to consent ... or
specifically to refuse"].

(fn. continued on p. 25)

24

:

effort to silence his attorney, petitioner did object and he
did so as soon as the court’s intent was declared and prior
to the jury being discharged. If lack of opportunity to
object is not consent, a fortiori, defendant’s actual
objection is irreconcilable with a finding of consent. The

objection plainly did not amount to a "positive ...

indicat[ion of] ... defendant’s willingness to acquiesce in
the mistrial order." (Glover v. McMackin, supra, 950 F.2d

at 1240. Accord, People v. Catten, 508 N.E.2d 920, 923-924,
926-927 (N.Y.1987).)?2

The California Court of Appeal, in its discussion of
the consent issue, made no effort to explain how defense
counsel’s vociferous objection when the mistrial
announcement was made was in any way consistent with a

finding of consent. (App. D, pp. 95-96.)

Also see State v. Flick, 495 A.2d 339, 344-346

(Me.1985) [court initially denied defendant’s motion for

mistrial without prejudice, then later granted it without

asking defendant if he still wished to abort the

proceedings; held: no consent, retrial barred]. Accord,
, 395 A.2d 759, 767-773 (D.C.App.1978).

In California, the law is that consent will not be
inferred from a defendant’s silence even where he was given
an opportunity to object and remain silent. (See Compton v.

i , 6 Cal.3d 55, 63 (1971); People v. Chaney,
202 Cal.App.3d 1109, 1117 (1988).)

22. In Catten, the court initially denied co-appellant
Murphy’s mistrial motion. Subsequently, without consulting
Murphy, the court granted the motion. Defense counsel
objected. Circumstances had changed and he wished to
discuss the matter with Murphy. The court rebuffed hin.
Held: no consent could be implied under these
circumstances. (Ibid.)

25

The situation here was very much like that People v.
Squires, 300 N.W.2d 366, 367 (Mich.App.1981). In Squires,
defense counsel moved midtrial for dismissal with prejudice
based on alleged prosecutorial misconduct. The trial court
rejected the motion but granted a mistrial without
prejudice. The appellate court found retrial barred by
double jeopardy:

Clearly, the defendant here did not consent to a

mistrial. Rather, he sought a permanent

termination of the criminal proceedings via his

self-styled motion for dismissal with prejudice.
(300 N.W. 2d at 367.)

That conclusion is perfectly apposite here. The
conclusion of both the district court and the Ninth Circuit
that Mr. Weston did not consent to a mistrial without
prejudice is supported by overwhelming evidence. There is
no reason whatsoever for this Court to disturb the

indisputably correct conclusions reached by the courts

below.

26

Il.

The state claims the Ninth Circuit failed to afford the
trial court’s conclusion that a mistrial was necessary the
degree of respect required by Arizona v. Washington, supra,
434 U.S. at 510. The claim has no merit.

The respect principle (which the Ninth Circuit was
cognizant of -- 50 F.3d at 638, fn. 3.) is but one part of
the analysis. This Court has also said that the power to
declare a mistrial and to force a defendant to stand trial
again is one that may be exercised "only in very
extraordinary and striking circumstances." (U.S. v. Jorn,
supra, 400 U.S. at 485.)23 The state ignores the latter
principle. It also ignores the concomitant principle that
it is the state that "bears the heavy burden of
demonstrating the ‘high degree’ of necessity required for a

declaration of mistrial without the defendant’s consent."

(50 F.3d at 639, quoting Arizona v. Washington, 434 U.S. at

23. Accord, Arizona v. Washington, 434 U.S. at 506, fn. 18:
the power may be used only " ‘with the greatest caution,
under urgent circumstances, and for very plain and obvious
causes ....’"

27

505-06.)24

In ascertaining whether the state had met its burden,
the Ninth Circuit, following this Court’s prescription,
considered whether the trial court, in opting "’to abort the
trial,’" kept in the forefront "’the importance to the
defendant of being able, once and for all, to conclude his
confrontation with society through the verdict of a tribunal
he might believe to be favorably disposed to his fate.’"
(50 F.3d at 638, fn. 3, quoting Arizona v. Washington, 434
U.S. at 511.) As discussed above, the circuit court
correctly found that the trial judge in this case, rather
than placing a high value on the defendant’s own view
whether continuing or aborting the first trial would be in
the defendant’s best interests, "acted abruptly by cutting
off Adachi’s objections and refusing to allow him to confer
with Weston before he discharged the jury." (50 F.3d at
639.)2> The state utterly ignores this aspect of the

analysis.

24. "[(Tjhe strictest scrutiny is appropriate[, moreover, ]
.-. when there is reason to believe that the prosecutor is
using the superior resources of the State ... to achieve a
tactical advantage over the accused." (Arizona v.
Washington, supra, 434 U.S. at 508.) That was precisely the
case here.

25. Cf. Braxton v. U.S., supra, 395 A.2d at 767 [retrial
barred where trial court declared mistrial "in a manner and

under circumstances" in "which ... the right of the
defendant to retain that primary control" was not "fully
recognized;" Lovinger v. Circiit Court, supra, 845 F.2d at
745 [retrial barred where court acted "precipitately" and
without "great care, if not "irrationally or irresponsibly,"
in declaring mistrial after defense counsel began to
protest]; and other cases citeji in footnote 21 above.

23

The Ninth Circuit also found that the "state trial
court did not properly consider alternatives to a mistrial"
such as "the curative value of limiting instructions," which
in this case "may well have eradicated any juror prejudice."
(50 F.3d at 639.) The latter conclusion is also correct.

When discharging the jurors, the trial judge told them
he did not think an admonition would have been effective.
(RT 441.) The court never discussed the matter with
counsel, however. The court’s failure to permit any pre-
discharge discussion regarding the adequacy of the
cautionary instructions counsel had proposed indicated that
the court was less than serious about looking for
alternatives less drastic than a mistrial. (See, e.g.,

Arizona v. Washington, supra, 434 U.S. at 515-516 and fn. 34

[parties must be given "full opportunity to explain their
positions on the propriety of the mistrial"].)2°

Equally important, while the state feels comfortable
attacking the Ninth Circuit on procedural grounds for not

deferring to the trial judge, it must be pointed out that

the state has never -- either in the certiorari petition or

26. Cf. U.S. v. Klein, 582 F.2d 186, 195 (2nd Cir.1978)
[praising trial judge for asking counsel to suggest
alternatives]; U.S. v. Sanders, 591 F.2d 1293, 1298 (9th
Cir.1979) [double jeopardy precluded retrial where trial
court declared a mistrial over the defendant’s objection
and, among other things, the record failed to show the trial
court had considered “issuing a curative instruction"];
People v. Benton, 260 N.W.2d 77, 82, 84 (Mich.1977) [retrial
barred: court declared mistrial without "any discussion with
counsel of the efficacy of alternative curative measures"
such as "a cautionary instruction"].)

29

ft

’

t
eee:

in any prior pleading -- argued that the trial court was
substantively correct in its (purported) conclusion that
cautionary instructions would not be effective. The state
cannot defend the trial court’s substantive position because
it is constantly (and rather successfully) engaged in
convincing the California Supreme Court that such cautionary
instructions are effective.*” This Court has likewise found

such instructions to be effective.28

27. See, e.g., People v. Davis, 10 Cal.4th 463, 506 (1995)
{"The admonition cured any potential harm"]; Pe Vv

6 Cal.4th 215, 263 (1993) ["we presume that the jury heeded
the admonition and any error was cured"]; People v. Frank,
51 Cal.3d 718, 727-728 (1990) [must assume jury heeded
admonition to disregard prosecutor’s assertions that capital
defendant had previously molested two other children];
People v. Keenan, 46 Cal.3d 478, 525 (1988) [admonishing
jury in robbery case to disregard evidence of prior robbery
deemed effective"].

28. See Romano v. Oklahoma, U.S. , 114 S.Ct. 2004,
2012 (1994) [Court presumes that, based on limiting

instructions given to it, jury would give "little -- if any
--" weight to information that the capital defendant had
already been sentenced to death in another case]; Greer v.
Miller, 483 U.S. 756, 766, fn. 8 (1987) [Court presumes jury
will follow instruction to disregard prosecutor’s
insinuation that testifying defendant failed to give
exculpatory version of events when arrested]; Richardson v.
Marsh, 481 U.S. 200, 206 (1987) [Court presumes jury will
heed instruction to disregard anything in co-defendant’s
confession that indirectly incriminates the defendant];
Watkins v. Sowders, 449 U.S. 341, 347 (1981) [Court presumes
jury will heed instruction to disregard evidence of
illegally obtained eyewitness identification evidence]; U.S.
v. Hoelker, 765 F.2d 1422, 1426 (9th Cir.1985) [Court of
Appeals presumes jury will follow instruction not to permit
evidence that defendant committed crime X to influence its
decision whether the defendant committed crime Y]. See also
U.S. v. Sanchez, 722 F.2d 1501, 1508-1509 (11th Cir.1984)
[court holds improperly admitted evidence of uncharged
murders in cocaine case harmless in light of admonition that
jury not to consider the evidence].

30

It is particularly possible in this case that
instructions would have been effective, moreover, because:
1) check fraud and sexual assault are highly dissimilar
crimes?9; 2) defendant’s proposed instructions called for
the jury to be told (truthfully) that the check fraud
allegation had been dismissed (CT 133; RT 428)39; 3) the
jury was not told what offense Mr. Weston had been on parole
for?1; and 4) as discussed above, the prosecution’s case
against Mr. Weston was seriously flawed.

The Ninth Circuit’s conclusion that limiting
instructions "may well have" been effective here thus was
not only uncontested by the state and consistent with the
decisions of this Court and the California Supreme Court --
it was also perfectly reasonable. It was likewise perfectly
reasonable for defense counsel to believe that, with the
cautionary instructions, Mr. Weston had a decent chance of
acquittal -- better, at least, than at a second trial in

which the prosecution would beef up its case.

29. See, e.g., People v. Fries, 24 Cal.3d 222, 230 (1979)

["risk of ... prejudice ... far greater when the prior
conviction is similar ... to the crime charged"].

30. Cf. U.S. v. Burton, 525 F.2d 17, 20 (2nd Cir.1975)
[reference in drug case to unrelated narcotics investigation
involving defendant deemed cured by admonition similar to
one proposed in this case -- investigation did not culminate
in arrest, charges or conviction].

31. See People v. Harris, 22 Cal.App.4th 1575, 1581 (1994):

evidence that defendant on parole at time of offense deemed
harmless.

31

The Ninth Circuit also found that the "state trial
judge ... did not properly consider whether the mistrial
would benefit Weston." (50 F.3d at 639.) As shown above,
"the first trial was going very well for [defendant] at the
time the" mistrial was declared." (Ibid.) The prosecution,
moreover, capitalized on the mistrial to double its witness
list, steal two defense witnesses, and conduct further
investigation. (See fn. 8 above.) The trial court showed
no recognition whatsoever -- despite the written motion by
the defense that made defendant’s position clear -- that it
might be in Mr. Weston’s best interests to continue with the
first trial despite the prosecution’s attempt to bias the
jury. The state ignores this aspect of the analysis as
well.

Finally, in considering the state’s claim that the
Ninth Circuit has failed to accord sufficient deference to
the state trial judge’s decision, it is necessary to bear in
mind the context in which the claim is made. This is the
same trial judge, after all, who, among other things,
contemptuously rejected defense counsel’s objections to the
rebuttal evidence; later blamed defense counsel for not
objecting to the latter evidence; claimed there was no such
thing as a dismissal with prejudice; claimed the rebuttal
witness had "blurted out" the reference to Mr. Weston’s
arrest for check fraud; moved instantaneously from
haranguing defense counsel to granting the mistrial; told

defense counsel to "sit down and be quiet" when he attempted

32

to delay the discharge of the jury; twice called defense
counsel a liar in front of the jury; indicated in front of

the jury that he agreed with the prosecutor that defense
counsel was dishonest; and, because of such conduct, was
held by the district court to have rendered Mr. Weston’s
second trial unconstitutionally unfair (App. B, p. 81).32
To put it bluntly, this was a trial judge whose rulings
deserved not deference but strict scrutiny. If anything,
the courts that have reviewed this case have been too
reluctant to criticize the partiality and lack of decorum
exhibited by the trial judge.

In sum, there was no manifest necessity for the
mistrial here. In a case in which the defendant. tried to
prevent the admission of the prejudicial evidence, the
evidence came in because of erroneous rulings by the trial
court and intentional misconduct by the prosecutor, the
defendant preferred to continue with the trial anyway
because it was going so well and because a second trial
could only benefit the prosecution, and limiting
instructions were likely to mitigate the harm, there were no
"extraordinary and striking circumstances" justifying the
trial court’s decision to end the trial prematurely (United
States v. Jorn, 400 U.S. at 485). Instead of ignoring

defendant’s wishes, refusing to hear him out, refusing to

32. In earlier pleadings in this case, Mr. Weston
catalogued another dozen prejudicial statements the judge
made in the jury’s presence, as well as many inappropriate
rulings and comments that the jury did not hear. (See,
e.g., Brief of Petitioner and Appellee, pp. 27-28.)

33

allow him to control his own destiny, and giving the
prosecutor precisely the second chance he hoped for, the
trial court should have allowed the first trial to play
itself out as the defendant wished. The conclusion of the
district court and Ninth Circuit that the trial judge’s
failure to do so violated the Double Jeopardy Clause is

correct. It should not be disturbed.

Men

34

CONCLUSION

For all of the foregoing reasons, the petition for

certiorari should be denied.

Dated: August 7, 1995.

Respectfully submitted,

on

Bruce Eric Cohen
Attorney for Respondent
THEODORE ANTHONY WESTON

ORIGINAL

NO. 95-69

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1995

PEG KERNAN, WARDEN,
Petitioner,
Vv.
THEODORE ANTHONY WESTON,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

DECLARATION OF SERVICE

I, Wendy E. Morrison, declare that I am over 18 years

of age, and not a party to the within cause; my business

address is 1442-A Walnut Street, Berkeley, California 94709.

Copies of the attached BRIEF IN OPPOSITION AND REQUEST FOR
LEAVE TO PROCEED IN FORMA PAUPERIS were sent on August 10,
1995, by United States first-class mail, postage fully

prepaid, to the following persons at the addresses given

below:
DANIEL E. LUNGREN CATHY CATTERSON
Attorney General of the Clerk

State of California U.S. Court of Appeals
50 Fremont Street, Suite 300 Ninth Circuit
San Francisco, CA 94105-2239 P.O. Box 193939

Two Rincon Center
San Francisco, CA 94119

Declaration of Service -1l-

TULCDORE ANTHONY WES'TON
(Respondent )
2510 Fair Oaks Blvd.
#134
Sacramento, CA 95825
I declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing
is true and correct.

Executed this 10th day of August, 1995, at Berkeley,

California.

ea ee

Wendy E. Morrison

BRUCE ERIC COHEN - mens.
ATTORNEY AT Lay RECEIVED

1442-4 WALNUT STREET

BERKELEY, CALIFORNIA 94709 y - 1995
Shine ' AUS 14

TELEPHONE: (510) 273, 2 |
na (510) ae OFritc Uc ihc CLEkK
SUPREME COURT, US

I

August 10, 1995

William K. Suter
Clerk

Supreme Court of the Uniteg States
Washington, D.c. 20543-0001

Encloseg Please find the following: 1) an Original and
ten Copies of Mr. Weston’s Brief in Opposition:

brief; 3) an Original 4nd one COpy of mr. Weston’s Request
for Leave to Proceed In Forma Pauperis; and 4) a Proof of
Service regarding both the brief ang the motion,

Please note that UNndersigneg Counsel’s @Pplication for
admission to the Bar of this Court was mailed under Separate

Very truly yours,

Bm CL

Bruce Eric Cohen

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_2068%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
