# Appendix A — Montoya v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_1844%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Appendix A
- **Published:** January 1, 1995
- **Citation:** 516 U.S. 814

## Text

Ee ee

FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

‘

UNrTED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff-Appellee, No. 93-5041 1

V.

D.C. No.
CR-92-0572-GT
Rosario Montoya,

Defendant-Appellant.

y

~

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff-Appellee, No. 93-50440
Vv D.C. No.
| CR-92-0572-GT
FILIBERTO E. Montoya, pret

Defendant-Appellant.

a

Appeals from the United States District Court
for the Souther District of California
Gordon Thompson, Ji., District Judge, Presiding

Argued and Submitted
March 9, 1994—Pasadena, California

Filed January 12, 1995

Before: Myron H. Bright,* Charles Wiggins,
and Thomas G. Nelson, Circuit Judges.

Opinion by Judge T.G. Nelson;
Dissent by Senior Circuit Judge Bright

*Honorable Myron H. Bright, Senior United States Circuit Judge for the
Eighth Circuit, sitting by designation.

429

430 UnitTeD STATES V. MONTOYA

SUMMARY

Criminal Law and Procedure/immunity/
Defendants and Accused, Rights of

The court of appeals affirmed a district court judgment of
conviction. The court held that a claimed relationship between
a defendant’s immunized testimony and the decision to prose-
cute him was too tenuous and remote from the criminal pro-
ceeding against the defendant to constitute a non-evidentiary
use of immunized testimony against him.

After the government became aware that certain San Diego
County real properties were connected with the Contreras-
Subias drug trafficking organization, Assistant United States
Attorney (AUSA) Warren Reese was assigned to investigate
the trafficking activities of the organization (the Reese inves-
tigation). Documents obtained as a result of the arrests of
members of the organization and from searches of the proper-
ties led to materials indicating that appellant Filiberto Mon-
toya (Montoya) was involved. Montoya had acted as a real
estate salesperson in transactions whereby members of the
organization, or its nominees, acquired re:! property.

A separate investigation revealed that Montoya was
involved, on behalf of the Contreras family, in a real estate
transaction in Oklahoma. This led to indictments of members
of the drug organization for money laundering in Oklahoma,
and Reese was assigned to assist in the prosecution.

Reese wrote a letter granting Montoya informal immunity,
and Montoya was interviewed. Montoya was formally granted
immunity and ordered to testify before the grand jury in San
Diego and at the Oklahoma tral.

Reese prepared a memorandum to the United States Attor-
ney requesting that authority be sought from the Department
of Justice to prosecute Montoya for conspiracy to commit

Unrrep States v. MONTOYA 431

bank and mail fraud and money laundering, as well as the
substantive offenses. Reese’s request explained that Montoya
appeared to testify falsely before the grand jury and during a
trial, and did not give complete testimony. Permission was
granted by the Attomey General (AG), and AUSA Ed Weiner
was assigned to prosecute Montoya (the Weiner investiga-
tion). Montoya and his wife, appellant Rosario Montoya, were
indicted for conspiracy to engage in money laundering and
bank fraud, and for the underlying substantive offenses.

The Montoyas filed a motion to dismiss the indictment on
the ground it was tainted by immunized testimony. The gov-
emment filed a response, including nine declarations of the
various prosecutors and agents involved in the Reese and
Weiner investigations. The declaration of Agent Chavez, who
was involved in the Reese investigation, described the execu-
tion of search warrants of Montoya’s properties before Mon-
toya was first interviewed. Chavez’s declaration also provided
a detailed time-line for each step he took in the investigation.
The declaration of Agent Gauthier, who was involved in the
Reese investigation and who later accompanied an agent of
the Weiner investigation team on interviews, stated that he
never reviewed reports of Montoya’s interview or transcripts
of his testimony.

The Montoyas filed a motion to cross-examine the nine
declarants after the court indicated that it might not hold a
hearing on the motion (a Kastigar evidentiary hearing). The
district court denied the motion to dismiss the indictment and
the motion to cross-examine, finding that the government
“met its heavy burden of proof that it obtained the evidence
used to indict Montoya from independent sources.”

The district court granted a motion for reconsideration and
again denied the motion to dismiss. The court also denied a
separate motion filed by the Montoyas, requesting that the
court dismiss the indictment based on outrageous government

432 UnrTeD StaTes v. MONTOYA

conduct and vindictive prosecution, and requesting that an
evidentiary hearing be held.

The Montoyas entered conditional guilty pleas, preserving
their right to appeal the district court’s denial of the motion
to dismiss the indictment. The Montoyas appealed their con-
victions, contending that the prosecution was tainted because
of improper use of Montoya’s immunized statements and tes-
timony in violation of his Fifth Amendment right against
self-incrimination.

[1] Chavez’s declaration contained a detailed time-line and
tracing of the investigation, based on information and leads
obtained in the search warrants executed before Montoya
received informal immunity. Montoya’s attack on his declara-
tion did not address the detailed independent sources of infor-
mation obtained in Chavez’s investigation. [2] Gauthier was
never exposed to Montoya’s immunized testimony. The fact
that he attended a number of witness interviews with a mem-
ber of the Weiner investigation team did not demonstrate that
the immunized testimony was in any way used to build a case
against Montoya. [3] In regard to Reese, Montoya advanced
nothing but the most tangential link between the questioning
of a witness before the grand jury in the Contreras-Subias
investigation and the thought processes of Reese during the
questioning. The facts did not give rise to taint or reveal a
lack of an independent source for all of the government’s evi-
dence against the Montoyas. [4] Thus, there was no clear error
in the district court’s findings that the government proved
independent sources for all of its evidence against Montoya.
Despite the Montoyas’ focus on “overlap” and alleged expo-
sure tO immunized testimony, the nine detailed declarations
filed by the government established that the indictment rested
entirely on sources independent of Montoya’s immunized tes-
timony. The district court’s finding that there was no evidenti-
ary use of Montoya’s immunized statements and testimony
was not clearly erroneous.

Unrtep States v. MONTOYA 433

[S}] Montoya argued that the most glaring use of his immu-
nized testimony was the non-evidentiary use of it in deciding
to prosecute him and his wife. He argued that Reese used his
immunized testimony in the application for permission to
prosecute him. [6] However, Montoya’s claimed relationship
between his immunized testimony and the decision to prose-
cute was too tenuous and remote. Reese was not preparing the
indictment, he was seeking the approval of the AG to prose-
cute Montoya. Reese was following internal procedures which
required him to submit a request for authorization to prose-
cute and to obtain the AG’s express written authorization
before prosecution could be initiated. [7] Reese’s application
for permission to prosecute Montoya did not contain a sum-
mary or complete overview of Montoya’s grand jury or trial
testimony. Rather, the application described two incidents
involving Montoya’s testimony which led the government to
believe Montoya was not being completely cooperative or
candid. [8] This information was clearly included to demon-
Strate why prosecution of Montoya was justified. [9] Reese
needed to communicate to his superiors the unusual circum-
stances justifying prosecution. This could not be done by sim-
ply reciting the nontestimonial evidence against Montoya.
Thus, Reese’s involvement in requesting permission to prose-
cute was too remote from the criminal proceeding against
Montoya to constitute non-evidentiary use of the immunized
testimony against him. [10] The report prepared or relied
upon by Weiner, describing how Reese was convinced Mon-
toya was not being truthful, did not involve improper use of
immunized testimony.

[11] The Montoyas also contended that the district court’s
refusal to grant a Kastigar hearing involving
cross-examination of the government’s declarants deprived
them of their right to procedural due process and their right
to confront the witnesses against them. [12] However, a hear-
ing was unnecessary because no issues were left to resolve.
The declarations filed by the government were exhaustive,
detailed, nonconclusory in form, and uncontradicted. [13] To

434 Unrtep STaTes v. MONTOYA

the extent that the Montoyas suggested that the government’s
declarations were contrived, false, or even tainted, the Mon-
toyas’ argument was rejected. [14] Alleged intemal inconsis-
tencies in the declarations did not call into question the
govemmment’s proof by a preponderance of the evidence that
all evidence utilized in the indictment of the Montoyas was
obtained from independent sources and that the Weiner prose-
cution team had no access to the immunized testimony.

[15] The Montoyas were incorrect in contending that the
district court should have dismissed the indictment because it
was based on outrageous government conduct and vindictive
prosecution due to the government’s dissatisfaction with
Montoya’s immunized testimony. [16] A presumption of vin-
dictiveness did not arise in this case. [17] There was no evi-
dence in this case that would satisfy the “extremely high”
burden to establish a claim of outrageous government con-
duct.

Senior Circuit Judge Bright dissented, stating that the pros-
ecutors improperly used Montoya’s immunized testimony to
initiate a Case against the Montoyas. In addition, the evidence
indicated a realistic likelihood of personal pique and personal
frustration which gives rise to a presumption of prosecutorial
vindictiveness.

COUNSEL

Juanita R. Brooks, McKenna & Cuneo, San Diego, California;
Paul E. Potter, Potter, Cohen & Samulon, Pasadena, Califor-
nia, for the defendants-appellants.

Edward J. Weiner, Assistant United States Attomey, San
Diego, Califomia, for the plaintiff-appellee.

Unrtep States v. MonToYA 435

OPINION

T.G. NELSON, Circuit Judge:
I.
OVERVIEW

This case involves the prosecution of a formerly immu-
nized witness and his wife. Filiberto Montoya is a real estate
salesperson who was accused of laundering money for alien
drug lords by making investments in local real estate. Mon-
toya appeals his conviction following his conditional guilty
plea to conspiracy to engage in monetary transactions in prop-
erty derived from specified unlawful activity and to commit
bank fraud, in violation of 18 U.S.C. §§ 371, 1957(a), and
1344. Rosario Montoya appeals her conviction following her
conditional guilty plea tu making a false statement on a loan
application and aiding and abetting, in violation of 18 U.S.C.
§ 1014, 18 U.S.C. § 2. The Montoyas’ conditional guilty pleas
preserved the right to appeal the district court’s denial of the
motion to dismiss the indictment on the ground that this pros-
ecution is allegedly tainted by Filiberto’s status as an immu-
nized witness in a drug investigation focusing on the
Contreras-Subias drug organization. We conclude that the dis-
trict court properly denied the motion to dismiss the indict-
ment on the ground that it was not tainted by the earlier grant
of immunity to Montoya; that a Kastigar evidentiary hearing
was not compelled under the circumstances of this case; and
that the district court did not err in refusing to dismiss the
indictment on grounds that it was not the result of outrageous
goverment conduct or prosecutorial vindictiveness.

I.
FACTS AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY

In May 1988, the Government became aware that a number
of real properties in San Diego County were connected with

436 Unrtep States Vv. MONTOYA

the Contreras-Subias drug trafficking organization. Assistant
United States Attomey (AUSA) Warren Reese was assigned
to investigate the trafficking activities of this organization (the
“Reese investigation”). Early in the investigation, documents
obtained as the result of the arrests of members of the
Contreras-Subias organization and from searches of the San
Diego properties, led to materials indicating that Filiberto
Montoya was involved. Montoya had acted as a real estate
salesperson in transactions whereby members of the organiza-
tion, or its nominees, acquired real property. From May
through August 1988, documents were collected as a result of
the issuance of grand jury and administrative subpoenas.

A separate investigation revealed that Montoya was
involved, on behalf of the Contreras family, in a real estate
transaction in Oklahoma. This led to indictments of members
of the drug organization for money laundering in Oklahoma,
and AUSA Reese was assigned to assist in this prosecution.

In the Fall of 1988, Reese was contacted by an attomey on
behalf of Montoya, and they discussed the possibility of Mon-
toya cooperating in the investigation. Reese wrote a letter
dated November 17, 1988, granting Montoya informal immu-
nity. The first interview with Montoya took place on Novem-
ber 18, 1988. He was also interviewed in January, February,
and May of 1989. Discussions with Montoya led Reese to
conclude that Montoya would be called as a witness. Montoya
was formally granted immunity and ordered to testify before
the grand jury in San Diego in January 1989, and at the Okla-
homa trial in May 1989.

In February 1990, Reese prepared a memorandum to the
United States Attorney requesting that authority be sought
from the Department of Justice to prosecute Montoya for con-
spiracy to commit bank and mail fraud and money laundering,
as well as the substantive offenses. Reese’s request explained:

In weighing the public interest in prosecution, it
should be noted that the witness appeared to testify

Unrtep States v. MonToYA 437

falsely before the grand jury, then recanted when
confronted with contradictory evidence. He is also
believed to have testified falsely during a trial
{although a perjury prosecution could not be sus-
tained), and he did not give complete testimony, as
explained below.

Permission was ultimately granted by the Attorney General,
and AUSA Amalia Meza, then AUSA Ed Weiner, were
assigned to prosecute Montoya (the “Weiner investigation’)."
The Montoyas were indicted on May 7, 1992, for conspiracy
to engage in money laundering and bank fraud, and for the
underlying substantive offenses.

The Montoyas filed a motion to dismiss the indictment on
the ground it was tainted by immunized testimony. The Gov-
ernment filed a response, including nine declarations of the
various prosecutors and agents involved in the Reese and
Weiner investigations. The Montoyas subsequently filed a
motion to cross-examine the nine declarants after the court
indicated that it might not hold a hearing on the motion (a
Kastigar evidentiary hearing).

The district court denied the motion to dismiss the indict-
ment and the motion to cross-examine on November 30,
1992. The court found that “[t]he government, in its response
and opposition, met its heavy burden of proof that it obtained
the evidence used to indict Montoya from independent
sources.” The court concluded:

‘Meza took over for Reese after Reese had requested permission to
prosecute Montoya, because of Reese’s exposure to Montoya’s immu-
nized statements and testimony. Meza participated in the Montoya investi-
gation from approximately May 1990 to July 1991. In July 1991, Meza
was assigned to another project, and turned the investigation over to
Weiner.

438 Unitep STATES v. MoN7OYA

There was some overlap between the Reese investi-
gation and the Weiner investigation, as the defense
contends. However, the Government must prove that
it had prior independent sources for the information
that lead to Montoya’s indictment, not that there was
no overlap. The searches of Montoya’s property in
August of 1988, the subpoenas for records from
escrow companies and financial institutions as a
result of these searches, and the separate investiga-
tions of Agents Morris, Young and Grover all indi-
cate that the Government had more than enough
independent evidence to indict Montoya.

Instead of filing a motion for reconsideration, the Montoyas
petitioned the Ninth Circuit for a writ of mandamus to compel
the district court to vacate its order, conduct a hearing on the
motion, including cross-examination of the nine declarants,
and file discovery documents.* The Government filed a
motion for reconsideration with the district court, requesting
that it permit filing of the discovery material, review the
material, and reconsider the motion to dismiss. The court
granted the motion and reconsidered the motion to dismiss in
light of the new material.

On February 2, 1993, the court again denied the motion to
dismiss. The court noted that the discovery documents
“actually support the Government’s assertion that the evi-
dence used to indict Montoya was derived from independent
sources,” and then described the documents. The court
rejected the Montoyas’ argument that the discovery docu-
ments were inconsistent with the declarations filed by the
Government and that therefore an evidentiary hearing was
required. The court explained:

On the day of the hearing on the motion to dismiss, the Montoyas
altempted to file voluminous discovery documents ai the judge’s cham-
bers. The court refused to allow the documents w be filed because they
were late.

Unrtep States v. Montoya 439

The defendants point out that certain declarations
State that the declarants did not have information
about Montoya’s immunized statements or testi-
mony. But reports, by the declarants, make reference
to the fact that the Government believed Montoya’s
testimony before the grand jury and in Oklahoma to
be untruthful. The defense seems to argue that this
means the declarant had knowledge of the contents
of Montoya’s statements and testimony. A closer
reading of the reports, however, reveals that the
declarants are just reiterating a generalized opinion
that the Government believed Montoya lied to the
grand jury. Nowhere in the voluminous documents
submitted to the court are there implications that the
declarants, which swore they had no knowledge of
Montoya’s statement or testimony, knew the content
of Montoya’s statements or testimony. Importantly,
absent such a contradiction, there is no need for an
evidentiary hearing.

The district court also denied a separate motion filed by the
defendants, requesting that the court dismiss the indictment
based on outrageous government conduct and vindictive pros-
ecution, and requesting that an evidentiary hearing be held.

Subsequently, the Montoyas entered conditional guilty
pleas,” preserving their right to appeal the court’s denial of the
motion to dismiss the indictment, “based on the contention
that information obtained from Filiberto E. Montoya while he
was an immunized witness in an earlier investigation so
tainted the instant case as to require a dismissal.” Filiberto
Montoya was sentenced to forty-one months of incarceration
and three years of supervised release. The court suspended
Rosario Montoya’s two-year sentence and placed her on three

°On February 8, 1993, the Government filed a superseding information
against Rosario Montoya, to which she entered a conditional plea of

guilty.

440 Unrtep States v. MonTOoYA

years of supervised probation. The Montoyas timely appeal.
We have jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1291.

Ill.
STANDARD OF REVIEW

“We review under the clearly erroneous standard the dis-
trict court’s finding that the govemment’s evidence was
untainted by a grant of immunity.” United States v. Lipkis,
770 F.2d 1447, 1450 (9th Cir. 1985). The district court’s
denial of a motion for an evidentiary hearing is reviewed for
an abuse of discretion. See United States v. Navarro-Garcia,
926 F.2d 818, 822 (9th Cir. 1991). The standard of review for
vindictive prosecution is unsettled in the Ninth Circuit. The
court has variously applied abuse of discretion, clearly errone-
ous, and de novo standards. See United States v. Garza-
Juarez, 992 F.2d 896, 903 (9th Cir. 1993), cert. denied, 114
S. Ct. 724 (1994). The district court’s refusal to dismiss the
indictments on the basis that the government’s conduct was
not outrageous is reviewed de novo. United States v. Solorio,
37 F.3d 454, 457 (9th Cir. 1994).

IV.
DISCUSSION
A. Immunized Testimony
The Montoyas argue that this prosecution is tainted because
of improper use of Filiberto Montoya’s immunized statements

and testimony in violation of his Fifth Amendment right
against self-incrimination.* See Kastigar v. United States, 406

“The Government argues that Rosario Montoya lacks standing to appeal
on the basis of her husband’s assertion of constitutional rights. However,
the Government has specifically agreed that should Filiberto Montoya pre-
vail in his arguments that his immunity was breached, that Rosario will
also receive a dismissal. Therefore, we need not address the standing argu-
ment.

eee

Unrtep States v. Montoya 44]

U.S. 441 (1972). In Kastigar, the Supreme Court upheld the
constitutionality of the federal witness use immunity statute,
18 U.S.C. § 6002, and held that a prosecution of a previously
immunized witness is allowable, but emphasized that “[t]he
Statute provides a sweeping proscription of any use, direct or
indirect, of the compelled testimony and any information
derived therefrom.” /d. at 460; see also id. at 453.

The use immunity statute provides in relevant part that:

[NJo testimony or other information compelled
under the order (or any information directly or indi-
rectly derived from such testimony or other informa-
tion) may be used against the witness in any criminal
case, except a prosecution for perjury, giving a false
Statement, or otherwise failing to comply with the
order.

18 U.S.C. § 6002. The statute thus provides use and derivative
use immunity, which “grants immunity from the use of the
compelled testimony and evidence derived therefrom.”* Block
v. Consino, 535 F.2d 1165, 1167 n.3 (9th Cir.), cert. denied,
429 U.S. 861 (1976). “[SJuch immunity from use and deriva-
tive use is coextensive with the scope of the privilege against
self-incrimination.” Kastigar, 406 U.S. at 453. “The privilege
has never been construed to mean that one who invokes it
cannot subsequently be prosecuted.” /d. “Use immunity does
not protect the substance of compelled testimony, it only pro-
tects against the use of compulsory testimony as a source of
evidence.” United States v. Crowson, 828 F.2d 1427, 1428-29
(9th Cir. 1987) (internal quotation omitted), cert. denied, 488
U.S. 831 (1988).

‘Transactional immunity, on the other hand, “is full immunity from
prosecution for any offense to which the testimony relates.” United States
v. Plummer, 941 F.2d 799, 803 (9th Cir. 1991).

442 UNiteD STATES V. MONTOYA

A person compelled to testify against himself under a grant
of immunity need only show that he testified in order “to shift
to the government ‘the heavy burden’ of proving an indepen-
dent source for all its evidence.” United States v. Mapelli, 971
F.2d 284, 288 (9th Cir. 1992) (citing Kastigar, 406 U.S. at
461). “This burden of proof . . . is not limited to a negation
of taint; rather, it imposes on the prosecution the affirmative
duty to prove that the evidence it proposes to use is derived
from a legitimate source wholly independent of the compelled
testimony.” Kastigar, 406 U.S. at 461; see also United States
v. Koon, 34 F.3d 1416, 1432 (9th Cir. 1994); Crowson, 828
F.2d at 1429. “[A] good faith allegation that the evidence is
not the fruit of the immunized testimony is not sufficient; the
Goverment must show how it acquired all of the evidence.”
Block, 535 F.2d at 1169. “The government must prove the
independent source by a preponderance of the evidence, and
we will uphold a district court’s findings unless clearly erro-
neous. This court has permitted the government to meet its
burden of proof as to the existence of independent, prior
sources through affidavits.” Crowson, 828 F.2d at 1429 (cita-
tion omitted).®

“[T]}here is no per se rule requiring the withdrawal of a
prosecutor or other government official who may have been
exposed to immunized testimony.” /d. at 1430; see also
Mapelli, 971 F.2d at 287. If the prosecution team has been
exposed to the immunized testimony, the Government may
still use the evidence if it meets its burden of proof that the
evidence is derived from independent sources. Crowson, 828
F.2d at 1430; Mapelli, 971 F.2d at 287-88. The question “is
not whether the prosecutor was aware of the contents of the

*As the Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia has observed,
“the Kastigar burden is ‘heavy’ not because of the evidentiary standard,
but because of the constitutional standard: the government has to meet its
proof only by a preponderance of the evidence, but any failure to meet that
standard must result in exclusion of the testimony.” United States v. North,
910 F.2d 843, 873, modified, 920 F.2d 940 (D.C. Cir. 1990) (en banc),
cert. denied, 500 U.S. 941 (1991).

a

Unrtep States v. MonTOYA 443

immunized testimony, but -vhether he used the testimony in
any way to build a case against the defendant.” Crowson, 828
F.2d at 1430 (internal quotation omitted). The Government
may protect “against a claim of indirect use by assigning the
case to others not exposed and barring communication
between them and the prosecutors who obtained the com-
pelled testimony.” Mapelli, 971 F.2d at 288: see also Crow-
son, 828 F.2d at 1429-30.

1. Alleged evidentiary use of the immunized statements
and testimony.

wit Ana Dola ORE t h SP a SO at ARMY a il Rei Be OMT

i The district court found that the Government obtained the
| evidence used to indict Montoya from independent sources.
Contrary to the Montoyas’ portrayal of the district court’s
order, the district court did find there was some overlap
between the Reese and the Weiner investigations. As the dis-
trict court correctly observed, however, the Government is not
required to show that there was no overlap, but that “all of the
evidence it proposes to use was derived from legitimate inde-
pendent sources.” Kastigar, 406 U.S. at 461-62; see also
Koon, 34 F.3d at 1432. Simply arguing that the investigations
overlapped does not answer the question of the existence of
legitimate independent sources for all of the evidence. Mon-
toya’s attack on the declarations of Agent Roman Chavez,
Agent David Gauthier, and AUSA Reese therefore misses the
mark. Even if agents and prosecutors actually participated in
H both investigations, and/or were exposed to immunized testi-
mony, there is no per se rule requiring their withdrawal from
the case. Crowson, 828 F.2d at 1430. The focus of the inquiry
under Kastigar is whether the immunized testimony was in
any way used to build a case against Montoya. /d. With this
focus in mind, we address the Montoyas’ specific complaints
concerning the Government’s attempt to meet its burden of
proof in this case.

PARR ea Bea wh bwemer or ai hietear

Ble DY RY pte Pans Tea hin SSP

444 Unitep STATES Vv. MonTOYA

a. Agent Chavez’s declaration.

Agent Chavez was involved in the Reese investigation, and
his declaration describes the execution of the search warrants
of Montoya’s properties in May and August 1988 (before
Montoya was first interviewed in November 1988). As the
district court observed, Chavez recited in great detail the doc-
uments and leads found as a result of these searches, as well
as the resulting subpoenas issued to financial institutions.
Contrary to Montoya’s characterization, nowhere does Cha-
vez state in his declaration that he was involved in both the
Reese and Weiner investigations.’ While Chavez investigated
the purchase and acquisition of the properties with which the
Montoya prosecution was concerned, it was done as part of
the Contreras prosecution, and the evidence and resulting
leads were obtained before Montoya was first interviewed.

Chavez states in his declaration that “the majority of finan-
cial leads that I pursued had already been obtained prior to
any contact with Filiberto Montoya.” Chavez provides a
detailed time-line for each step he took in the investigation.
He lists seven investigatory actions (interviews, Conversations
and issuance of a subpoena) taken after the November 18,
1988, interview of Montoya, but ties each one to a lead
obtained well before that date.

7Counsel for Rosario Montoya stated at oral argument that Agent Cha-
vez parucipated in both investigations. In their motion to dismiss the
indicument, the Montoyas noted that Agent Chavez is listed on the “case
initiation” as an agent involved in the Weiner investigation. Even if we
assume that Agent Chavez was involved in both investigations, his decla-
ration ties all of his investigative leads back to a time prior to the first
interview of Montoya. Furthermore, it also details how Chavez segregated
and sealed all documents “having anything to do with interviews with Fili-
berto Montoya conducted by the case agent” prior to his turning the case
file over to Agent Young of the Weiner investigation team in October
1990.

Unrrep States v. Montoya 445

[1] While Chavez’s declaration does contain the conclusory
Statement that “[ajt no time did I ever use any information
provided by Filiberto Montoya in pursuing leads associated
with the Contreras-Subias investigation,” it also contains
much more than this: a detailed time-line and tracing of the
investigation, based on information and leads obtained in the
search warrants executed before Montoya received informal
immunity. Montoya’s attack on this declaration does not
address the detailed independent sources of information
obtained in Chavez’s investigation. Chavez’s declaration was
not “limited to a negation of taint.” See Kastigar, 406 U.S. at
460.

b. Agent Gauthier’s declaration.

As the district court specifically noted in its synopsis of the
declarations, Agent Gauthier was involved in the Reese inves-
tigation, but also later accompanied Agent Morris of the
Weiner investigation team when she interviewed witnesses
involved in the real property transactions. The Montoyas con-
tend that this demonstrates “overlap” and therefore establishes
taint. However, Gauthier’s declaration states that he “never
interviewed Montoya or his wife,” “never reviewed or dis-
cussed any reports of [the] interview of Montoya or tran-
scripts of his testimony,” and had not had anyone “impart[ ]
to [him] any information purportedly derived from Montoya’s
Statements.” Furthermore, Gauthier explained his motivation
to accompany Agent Morris as follows:

In July and November 1989 I accompanied Agent
Linda Morris in a number of interviews of witnesses
involved in certain real estate transactions she was
investigating. Agent Morris did most of the question-
ing. I was motivated to accompany her by the hope
that I could obtain information concerning drug traf-
ficking suspects whose whereabouts remained
unknown to us at the time.

446 Unrtep States v. MONTOYA

Agent Morris explained in her declaration that sometime
after May 19, 1989, she told Agent Gauthier of her findings
involving the Montoyas and two businesses, and Gauthier
informed her that in August 1988, search warrants had been
served on the businesses and two properties belonging to
Montoya. Gauthier did not mention that Montoya had been
interviewed. Morris confirmed that she and Gauthier inter-
viewed a number of people identified with the property trans-
actions in question, but also stated that she had “never been
given any information by anyone conceming Montoya’s inter-
views and testimony.”

[2] Agent Gauthier was never exposed to Montoya’s immu-
nized testimony. The fact that this Reese investigation team
member attended a number of witness interviews with a mem-
ber of the Weiner investigation team does not demonstrate
that the immunized testimony was in any way used to build
a case against Montoya. See Crowson, 828 F.2d at 1430.

c. The Reese declaration.

The Montoyas argue that AUSA Reese’s declaration
reveals that even after Montoya’s testimony at the Oklahoma
trial, Reese continued his investigation of Montoya by calling
Roberto Guerra before the grand jury and questioning him
regarding a Tuscon real estate deal involving Montoya. They
then take issue with Reese’s declaration statements that he
“did not rely on any information [he] obtained from Montoya
to compose questions to Guerra,” but instead used an investi-
gative report reflecting interviews conducted by Agents
Gauthier and Morris.

*According to the declaration of AUSA Reese, at some point near the
end of 1989, Reese informed Morris that “it was essential that the case
{against Montoya] be based on evidence obtained totally independently of
any information obtained from Montoya himself,” in light of his immu-
nized status.

Unrrep States v. Montoya 447

[3] Guerra was called before the grand jury not as part of
an investigation of Montoya, but during the course of an addi-
tional investigation of the Contreras drug organization. A
Superseding indictment in the Contreras case was returned
thereafter in September 1989. Independent investigation had
disclosed that Guerra, who was an acquaintance of Montoya,
was the nominal purchaser of the Arizona property, but that
the beneficial owner was a Contreras. Montoya advances
nothing but the most tangential link between the questioning
of Guerra in the Contreras-Subias investigation and the
thought processes of Reese during the questioning. More
importantly, these facts do not give rise to taint or reveal a
lack of an independent source for all of the Government’s evi-
dence against the Montoyas.

Montoya next attacks Reese’s failure to follow Department
of Justice guidelines concerning the preservation of the ability
to indict an immunized witness. He cites the failure to prepare
a signed and dated memo summarizing the evidence concerm-
ing Montoya prior to his interview and testimony; the failure
to ensure all of his testimony was recorded verbatim and
maintained in a secure, restricted access location: and failure
to maintain a record of subsequently received evidence
against him.

However, failure to strictly comply with the United States
Attomeys’ Manual creates no enforceable rights. United
States v. Lorenzo, 995 F.2d 1448, 1453 (9th Cir.), cert.
denied, 114 S. Ct. 225 (1993). The lack of a memorandum of
evidence available to charge Montoya as of November 17,
1988, made more work for the Government in this case; how-
ever, it was still able to create an adequate history of what
information was obtained through which of the various
sources and at what time. The Government showed the
Weiner prosecution team was aware of the immunity problem

44% Unrtep States v. MonTOYA

and followed reliable procedures for segregating the immu-
nized testimony.’

d. Conclusion.

[4] The district court made the proper inquiry in this case,
and we find no clear error in its findings that the government
proved independent sources for all of its evidence against
Montoya. The Montoyas’ focus on “overlap” and alleged
exposure to immunized testimony does not answer the ques-
tion that we must ask in deciding this appeal. The nine
detailed declarations filed by the Government establish that
the indictment rested entirely on sources independent of Mon-
toya’s immunized testimony. We are satisfied that the district
court’s finding that there was no evidentiary use of Montoya’s
immunized statements and testimony was not clearly errone-
ous.

2. Alleged non-evidentiary use of the immunized state-
ments and testimony.

[5] Montoya argues that the most glaring use of his immu-
nized testimony was the non-evidentiary use of it in deciding
to prosecute him and his wife. First, he argues that Reese used
Montoya’s immunized testimony in his application for per-
mission to prosecute Montoya. Next, he argues this taint was
compounded when AUSA Meza saw this application. Finally,
Montoya points to a report/document “either prepared by or
definitely used by” AUSA Weiner in the prosecution of the
Montoyas, which states that Reese had been “convinced that
Montoya was not being truthful and Mr. Reese submitted his

*The transcripts of Montoya’s grand jury and trial testimony were not
made available to the Weiner team investigators. The transcripts and
reports of interviews with Montoya after immunity was conferred were
collected and sealed. A different Assistant United States Attorney was
assigned to prosecute the case so that he would be isolated from the immu-
nized tesumony and the interviews with Montoya.

Unitep States v. MonTOYA 449

request to prosecute Montoya to the Attorney General . . .
[who later] approved the prosecution.”

Non-evidentiary use of immunized testimony could include
the decision to prosecute an immunized witness. Crowson,
828 F.2d at 1430. Kastigar did not expressly discuss the pro-
priety of non-evidentiary use. See Kastigar, 406 U.S. at 453,
460. In Crowson, we assumed that non-evidentiary use was
prohibited. Crowson, 828 F.2d at 1430 (“A more difficult
question is what proof or procedures the govemment must
employ to carry its burden of showing that it made no non-
evidentiary use of the immunized testimony.”). Compare
United States v. North, 910 F.2d 843, 856 (assuming without
deciding that a prosecutor cannot make non-evidentiary use of
immunized testimony), modified, 920 F.2d 940 @.C.. Cir.
1990) (en banc), cert. denied, 500 U.S. 941 (1991); and
United States v. Byrd, 765 F.2d 1524, 1531 (11th Cir. 1985)
(“It is our view that the privilege against self-incrimination is
concerned with direct and indirect evidentiary uses of com-
pelled testimony and not with the exercise of prosecutorial
discretion.”). Crowson did not answer the question of whether
or not the Government meets its burden of showing no non-
evidentiary use by establishing prior, independent sources for
all of the evidence because there were “other indications that
the government did not indirectly use [the immunized] testi-
mony for non-evidentiary purposes despite its admitted access
to that testimony.” Crowson, 828 F.2d at 1431.

As pointed out above, this circuit has not specifically
decided whether non-evidentiary use comes within the prohi-
bition of the statute. We need not decide that general issue in
this case, either, but will assume that some non-evidentiary
uses could come within the ban of the statute.

Section 6002 does not prohibit all use of immunized testi-
mony. It proscribes its direct or indirect use against the wit-
ness. 18 U.S.C. § 6002.

450 Unrtep States v. MONTOYA

[6] Montoya’s claimed relationship between his immunized
testimony and the decision to prosecute is too tenuous and
remote. AUSA Reese was not preparing the indictment, he
was seeking the approval of the Attorney General to prosecute
Montoya. Reese was following internal procedures which
required him to submit a request for authorization to prose-
cute and to obtain the express written authorization of the
Attorney General before prosecution could be initiated. See
United States Attorneys’ Manual, Title 9, Section 23.400
(1990). As part of the departmental policy, Reese was to sub-
mit a memorandum indicating:

(a) the unusual circumstances which justify prosecu-
tion, (b) the method by which he/she will affirma-
tively establish either that all evidence necessary for
a conviction was in the hands of the government
prior to the date of the defendant’s compelled testi-
mony or that it came from sources independent of
the witness’s testimony and was not the result of
focusing an investigation on the witness because of
compelled disclosures, and (c) how he/she will show
affirmatively that no other “non-evidentiary” use has
been or will be made of the compelled testimony in
connection with the proposed prosecution (for ex-
ample, by having the prosecution handled by an
attorney unfamiliar with the substance of the com-
pelled testimony).

Id. Assistant United States Attorneys are instructed that,

[i]n weighing the public interest in prosecuting a per-
son for an offense first disclosed in, or closely
related to, his/her compelled testimony, the attorney
for the government should take into account, inter
alia, the importance of encouraging free and full dis-
closure by witnesses whose testimony is compelled.
He/she should also take into account the extent to
which the potential defendant had testified freely and

eel

atte Oy cad nbd <p el a al

ee arian AS ate RR UB ee ia EN ye gl ea
LS Se Oe ek, ETN IS, Mee we A aE ent eo, oe

Unitep StaTEs v. MonTOYA 451

fully in compliance with the order. . . . [Less than
Complete testimony should not appear to be
rewarded by a declination of prosection in a case
where independent evidence clearly exists and the
Situation otherwise warrants prosecution.

Id.

[7] Reese’s application for permission to prosecute Mon-
toya does not contain a summary or complete overview of
Montoya’s grand jury or trial testimony. It does not detail the
real estate transactions that were later used in the instant
indictment. Rather, the application describes two incidents
involving Montoya’s testimony which led the Goverment to
believe Montoya was not being completely cooperative or
candid. First, before the grand jury Montoya initially denied
knowledge conceming the leader of the drug organization.
The memorandum then details why it was believed that Mon-
toya deliberately withheld information about his acquaintance
with the drug ring leader, thus prompting the suspicion that
Montoya would tell the Government only what he believed
was already known. Second, while testifying at the Oklahoma
trial, Montoya effectively denied knowledge of certain sum-
maries of expenses of the properties which had been found
during the course of the investigation. Apparently, Montoya
had previously given the Government more information about
the realities underlying preparation of the summaries, which
tended to demonstrate management and control of the proper-
ties by the Contreras family, rather than the nominal owners.
Reese characterized Montoya’s trial testimony as thus becom-
ing “essentially neutral.”

[8] This information was Clearly included to demonstrate
why prosecution of Montoya was justified. Reese explained
that “[iJn sum, it appears that immunity has not encouraged
complete testimony from Montoya and he should not be
rewarded by declining prosecution where independent evi-
dence exists, and the situation otherwise warrants

452 Unrtep STATEs v. MonTOYA

prosecution.” While this memorandum does contain a one
paragraph, basic overview of the Montoyas’ scheme, the
memo then goes on to detail the independent sources of evi-
dence necessary to prosecute Montoya.

As the DOJ instructions point out, there is a public interest
component to the decision to prosecute an immunized wit-
ness. The Government is interested in “encouraging free and
full disclosure.” Thus, the AUSA is exhorted to consider “the
extent to which the potential defendant had testified freely
and fully in compliance with the order.” But after considering
these factors, “less than complete testimony should not appear
to be rewarded... .”

The requirement of a showing to the Attorney General that
sufficient independent evidence exists to support a prosecu-
tion addresses the question of whether a witness could be suc-
cessfully prosecuted. Absent some analysis of the witness’s
actual testimony and how it squares with what the Govern-
ment knew of the ability of the witness to say more, there
would be no analysis of whether there should be a prosecu-
tion. In addition to constraining the Attorney General’s exer-
cise of her discretion, a rule that foreclosed her consideration
of whether a prosecution should take place would not be in
the best interest of immunized witnesses in general, and con-
trary to the public interest identified in the DOJ manual.

[9] Reese needed to communicate to his superiors the
unusual circumstances justifying prosecution. Cf. Byrd, 765
F.2d at 1530 (“Kastigar made no mention of any burden on
the government to erect an impenetrable barrier between the
prosecutors who hear or read the immunized testimony and
those who decide to indict, even though the potential problem
was an obvious one.”). This could not be done by simply
reciting the nontestimonial evidence against Montoya. We
conclude that Reese’s involvement in requesting permission
to prosecute was too remote from the criminal proceeding

UniteD STATES v. MONTOYA 453

against Montoya to constitute non-evidentiary use of the
immunized testimony against him.

The fact that AUSA Meza read the application for permis-
sion to prosecute, even if it had contained an actual summary
of Montoya’s testimony, would not mean she would have had
to withdraw from participation in the case. See Crowson, 828
F.2d at 1430. Nor does it demonstrate anything other than a
remote and tenuous connection to the decision to initiate a
prosecution against Montoya. That Meza read the application
does not demonstrate that the Goverment made non-
evidentiary use of Montoya’s immunized testimony.

[10] The report prepared or relied upon by AUSA Weiner,
describing how Reese was convinced Montoya was not being
truthful, did not involve improper use of immunized testi-
mony. As the district court pointed out, the various reports in
the Montoya case “are just reiterating a generalized opinion
that the Government believed Montoya lied to the grand
jury.” This does not in any way indicate that Weiner had
access to the contents of Montoya’s statements and testimony.
Without significant exposure, Meza and Weiner “could not
have made significant nonevidentiary use, permissible or
impermissible.” See North, 910 F.2d at 860.

B. The Denial of a Kastigar Hearing

[11] The Montoyas argue alternatively that if their indict-
ments are not dismissed on the basis of improper use of
immunized testimony, or because of vindictive prosecution or
Outrageous government conduct (discussed below), their case
Should be remanded for a full Kastigar hearing. They contend
that the district court’s refusal to grant a Kastigar hearing
involving cross-examination of the Government’s declarants
deprived them of their right to procedural due process and
their right to confront the witnesses against them. After con-
Sidering the additional discovery material provided by the
Montoyas, the district court stated:

454 Unrtep States v. MONTOYA

Nowhere in the voluminous documents submitted to
the court are there implications that the declarants,
which swore they had no knowledge of Montoya’s
Statement or testimony, knew the content of Mon-
toya’s statements or testimony. /mportantly, absent
such a contradiction, there is no need for an eviden-
tiary hearing.

While ordinarily the district court should hold a Kastigar
evidentiary hearing, see Trimiew v. United States, 9 F.3d
1388, 1390 (9th Cir. 1993), the Government may meet its
Kastigar burden of proof as to the existence of independent,
prior sources through affidavits. Crowson, 828 F.2d at 1429
(citing United States v. Rogers, 722 F.2d 557, 560 (9th Cir.
1983) (“exhaustive” sworn declarations), cert. denied, 469
U.S. 835 (1984)).

In United States v. Zielezinski, 740 F.2d 727, 734 (9th Cir.
1984), we held that when the same grand jury that hears a per-
son’s immunized testimony then indicts the person, a
Kastigar-style hearing is necessary to determine the indepen-
dent grounds for the indictment. “Even if proper, such an
indictment appears tainted.” Lipkis, 770 F.2d at 1451 (citing
Zielezinski, 740 F.2d at 733). On the other hand, in Lipkis, we
held that a Kastigar hearing was not compelled once the
defendant stipulated that there were only minimal differences
between his nonimmunized and immunized statements. We
held that “a subsequent hearing would have served no
purpose” and “‘was unnecessary because no issues were left to
resolve.” Id.

[12] Although the Montoyas cite Zielezinski for the propo-
sition that a Kastigar hearing is mandated, their case differs
factually because Filiberto Montoya was not indicted by the
same grand jury that heard his immunized testimony.” Fur-

The Montoyas also cite United States v. North, 920 F.2d 940, 943
(D.C. Cir. 1990) (en banc) (“North II”), cert. denied, 500 U.S. 941 (1991),

UNiTeD States v. MONTOYA 455

thermore, while Montoya did not make the kind of stipulation
the defendant did in Lipkis, in this case we agree with the dis-
trict court that a hearing was unnecessary because no issues
were left to resolve. The declarations filed by the Govemment
were exhaustive, detailed, nonconclusory in form, and uncon-
tradicted. They did not simply ask the court to rely on the
Govemment’s good faith. See Block, 535 F.2d at 1169.

The Montoyas argue that the declarations served only to
put issues in dispute and did not avoid, but rather required, an
evidentiary hearing. The Montoyas contend that a hearing is
necessary to resolve various alleged inconsistencies and mis-
leading and inaccurate statements in the declarations. How-
ever, their attempt to create inconsistencies misses the mark.

First, they contend AUSA Meza states in her declaration
that she had not been exposed to any of Montoya’s statements
or immunized testimony, while also admitting that she saw a
copy of the request for authority to prosecute Montoya. Meza
in fact stated in her declaration that “[{a}lthough I saw a copy
of the U.S. Attorney’s request for authority to prosecute Mon-
toya, I have never seen transcripts of Montoya’s testimony or
reports of his interviews.” As we have described, Meza’s
exposure to the request for authority to prosecute would not
require her to withdraw from the case, did not constitute non-
evidentiary use, and likewise does not necessitate a Kastigar
hearing. The Montoyas’ contentions with regard to the Meza
declaration do not raise an issue of fact warranting a Kastigar
hearing.

Second, the Montoyas contend that AUSA Weiner was in
possession of at least one report which referenced and dis-

in support of their argument that they were entitled to a hearing. In North
Il, the court stated that “[mJost important, the defendant is entitled to a
hearing at which he would be able to challenge the prosecution’s case for
non-use.” Jd. at 943. The situation in North was unique in that the defen-
dant’s immunized testimony before Congress was televised and therefore
potentially exposed to all of the witnesses for North’s subsequent criminal
trial.

ca ii

456 Unrtep STATES v. MONTOYA

cussed Montoya’s testimony, in conflict with Weiner’s state-
ment in his declaration that he had “carefully reviewed the
materials that Ms. Meza had assembled in connection with the
investigation and determined that none of these materials
included any reference to prior testimony or prior interviews
with Filiberto E. Montoya.” However, the one example of
such a report that the Montoyas point to on appeal, entitled
“Filiberto Montoya-Esparaza Real Estate Investigation,” does
not discuss Montoya’s immunized testimony. The closest it
comes to the immunized testimony is the reference to the fact
that in the Contreras-Subias investigation, Reese “was con-
vinced that Montoya was not being truthful.”

The Government conceded in its brief that the Reese report
(the application for permission to prosecute) was in the
Weiner team materials. While Meza’s declaration states that
she read the application, Weiner’s declaration does not specif-
ically address whether or not he read the application." Even
if Weiner, or members of his investigation team, were
exposed to the application, as we have explained, given the
content of the application, it would not constitute significant
exposure such that it constituted non-evidentiary use.

[13] Finally, the Montoyas contend that had the district
court granted an evidentiary hearing and cross-examination, it
would have learned that Reese assisted the other eight declar-
ants in preparing their declarations. Reese explained at an ear-
lier hearing before a magistrate judge that he managed the
collection of the declarations and did make some suggestions
as to form and content. To the extent that the Montoyas sug-
gest that the Government’s declarations were therefore con-
trived, false, or even tainted, we reject the argument. Reese’s
involvement in the preparation and collection of the declara-

"Weiner’s declaration states that he “carefully reviewed the materials
that Ms. Meza had assembled in connection with the investigation and
determined that none of these materials included any reference to prior
testimony or prior interviews with Filiberto E. Montoya.”

j
i
3
‘
4
A

(al ea ink ascii am reece

ee ee

UNITED STATES v. MONTOYA 457

tions did not necessitate the Cross-examination of the other
eight declarants.

[14] In this case, the district court’s careful review of all of
the declarations and discovery documents complied with due
process, and the refusal to allow cross-examination was an
appropriate exercise of judicial discretion. The alleged inter-
nal inconsistencies in the declarations do not call into ques-
tion the Government’s proof by a preponderance of the
evidence that all evidence utilized in the indictment of the
Montoyas was obtained from independent sources and that the
Weiner prosecution team had no access to the immunized tes-
timony.

C. Vindictive Prosecution and Outrageous Govemment
Conduct

[15] The Montoyas also contend that the district court
should have dismissed the indictment because it was based on
Outrageous government conduct and vindictive prosecution
due to the Government’s dissatisfaction with Filiberto Mon-
toya’s immunized testimony. We disagree.

“To establish a prima facie case of prosecutorial vindictive-
ness, a defendant must show either direct evidence of actual
vindictiveness or facts that warrant an appearance of such.”
United States v. Sinigaglio, 942 F.2d 581, 584 (9th Cir. 1991).
“Evidence indicating a realistic or reasonable likelihood of
vindictiveness may give rise to a presumption of vindictive-
ness on the government’s part.” Garza-Juarez, 992 F.2d at
906. However, the Supreme Court has emphasized that this
presumption must be supported, because at the pretrial stage,
“ “the prosecutor’s assessment of the proper extent of prose-
Cution may not have crystallized.’ ” Jd. (quoting United States
v. Goodwin, 457 U.S. 368, 381 (1982)). Once a presumption
of vindictiveness has arisen, the burden shifts to the prosecu-
tion to show that “independent reasons or intervening circum-
stances dispel the appearance of vindictiveness and justify its

458 UnrtepD STATES v. MONTOYA

decisions.” United States v. Hooton, 662 F.2d 628, 634 (9th
Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 455 U.S. 1004 (1982); see also
Garza-Juarez, 992 F.2d at 906.

While most vindictive prosecution cases involve re-
indictment of a defendant, the mere filing of an indictment
can support a charge of vindictive prosecution. Hooton, 662
F.2d at 634. However, the Montoyas must still prove an
improper prosecutorial motive through objective evidence
before any presumption of vindictiveness attaches. See
Goodwin, 457 U.S. at 380 n.12. Despite the fact that they
were provided with numerous internal government docu-
ments, they were unable to prove improper motive.

[16] As previously mentioned, the standard of review for
claims of vindictive prosecution is unsettled in this circuit.
See Garza-Juarez, 992 F.2d at 903. Even under the de novo
standard of review, however, we conclude that the presump-
tion of vindictiveness did not arise in this case. See Goodwin,
457 U.S. at 380 n.12; Jeffers v. Lewis, 38 F.3d 411, 418 (9th
Cir. 1994) (en banc) (“Nor does the prosecutorial practice of
threatening a defendant with increased charges if he does not
plead guilty, and following through on that threat if the defen-
dant insists on his right to stand trial, create a presumption of
vindictive prosecution.” (internal quotation and citation omit-
ted)); cf. Garza-Juarez, 992 F.2d at 907 (presumption arose,
but was rebutted).

Outrageous government conduct is not a defense, but rather
a claim that government conduct in securing an indictment
was so shocking to due process values that the indictment
must be dismissed. See Hampton v. United States, 425 U.S.
484 (1976); United States v. Russell, 411 U.S. 423, 431-32
(1973). Under the “extremely high standard” of this doctrine,
an indictment should be dismissed “only when the govern-
ment’s conduct is so grossly shocking and so outrageous as to
violate the universal sense of justice.” Garza-Juarez, 992 F.2d

eT ee

UnitTep States v. Montoya 459

at 904 (internal quotation omitted): see also Solorio, 37 F.3d
at 458.

Other than a reference to “outrageous govemmental
conduct” in a heading in their opening brief, the Montoyas do
not develop this argument until their reply brief. In their reply
brief, the Montoyas argue that the indictment of Rosario Mon-
toya is a “vindictive outrage,” based on a letter to Filiberto
Montoya from AUSA Weiner. The letter Stated that “[t}he
government would be willing to accept a plea of guilty to one
Or more specific charges by Filiberto Montoya in return for a
conclusion to the government’s investigation and no charges
being brought” against his wife.

{17} Issues not “specifically and distinctly raised and
argued” in the opening brief need not be considered by the
court. Officers for Justice v. Civil Sery. Comm'n, 979 F.2d
721, 726 (9th Cir. 1992), cert. denied, 113 S. Ct. 1645 (1993).
While we decline to consider the argument in any detail, there
is no evidence in this case that would Satisfy the “extremely
high” burden to establish a claim of Outrageous goverment
conduct.

V.
CONCLUSION

There was no error in the district court’s refusal to dismiss
the indictments. The Govemment met its burden of proof
under Kastigar and this court’s precedent. There was no evi-
dentiary or non-evidentiary use, direct or indirect, of Filiberto
Montoya’s immunized testimony. The claim of prosecutorial
vindictiveness as a basis for dismissing the indictments fails.
We decline to remand the case for a full evidentiary hearing
and cross-examination of the nine declarants because under
the circumstances of this case, the Government met its
Kastigar burden of proof without the necessity of a full hear-
ing. We have considered all of the contentions advanced by

460 UNriteED States Vv. MONTOYA

the parties and conclude that no further discussion is neces-
sary. The convictions of Filiberto E. Montoya and Rosario
Montoya are affirmed.

AFFIRMED.

BRIGHT, Senior Circuit Judge, dissenting.

I respectfully dissent from the majority’s opinion which
affirms the convictions of Filiberto E. and Rosario Montoya.
The majority mistakenly rejects the Montoyas’ arguments that
this prosecution is tainted because of improper use of Fili-
berto Montoya’s immunized testimony and that the indict-
ment was based on vindictive prosecution."

Non-evidentiary Use of Immunized Testimony

In this case, the crucial issue is whether the Government
has demonstrated that it did not use the immunized testimony,
directly or indirectly, in prosecution of the Montoyas, as
required by Kastigar v. United States, 406 U.S. 441 (1972),
and the precise wording of the applicable statute.” Here, the

‘Technically, Rosario Montoya does not qualify for fifth amendment
relief, as she gave no immunized testimony. The government, however,
agrees that her appeal shall be governed by the resolution on her hus-
band’s fifth amendment claims. Thus, we refer to both Montoyas as mak-
ing the same claims.

218 U.S.C. § 6002 reads, in part:

Whenever a witness refuses, on the basis of his privilege
against self-incrimination, to testify or provide other information
in a proceeding before or ancillary to—

(1) acourt or grand jury of the United States,

and the person presiding over the proceeding communicates to
the witness an order issued under this part, the witness may not

ne ee oe ES AES Oey eS ae”

Unrtep States v. MONTOYA 461

Goverment has failed to meet its burden of proof under
Kastigar and this court’s precedent. To the contrary, the evi-
dence indicates that AUSA Reese, the original prosecutor,
used Filiberto Montoya’s immunized testimony before the
grand jury in January 1989 to compare it to prior information
contained in the investigation report and also to Montoya’s
testimony at the Oklahoma trial in May 1989.

As a result of the comparison, AUSA Reese concluded that
Montoya had testified untruthfully before the grand jury and
in Oklahoma. Rather than prosecuting Montoya for perjury,
AUSA Reese initiated the steps leading to the prosecution of
the Montoyas for the crimes of which they were ultimately
convicted. AUSA Reese’s recommendations were set forth in
the memorandum to the United States Attomey requesting
permission from the Department of Justice to prosecute Mon-
toya for conspiracy to commit bank and mail fraud and money
laundering, in addition to the substantive offenses. AUSA
Meza and AUSA Weiner, the subsequent prosecutor, were
exposed to this recommendation. The prosecutors improperly
used Filiberto Montoya’s immunized testimony to initiate a
case against the Montoyas.

Therefore, the Government could not affirmatively answer
the following question: did the Govemment indirectly use
Filiberto Montoya’s immunized testimony to indict the Mon-
toyas? The decision to initiate prosecution of an immunized
witness may be considered non-evidentiary use of immunized
testimony. United States v. Crowson, 828 F.2d 1427, 1430

refuse to comply with the order on the basis of his privilege
against self-incrimination; but no testimony or other information
compelled under the order (or any information directly or indi-
rectly derived from such testimony or other information) may be
used against the witness in any criminal case, except a prosecu-
tion for perjury, giving a false statement, or otherwise failing to
comply with the order.

18 U.S.C. § 6002 (emphasis added).

462 Unrtep States v. MONTOYA

(9th Cir. 1987) (citing United States v. McDaniel, 482 F.2d
305, 311 (8th Cir. 1973)).°

As construed by the Supreme Court, 18 U.S.C. § 6002
“provides a sweeping proscription of any use, direct or indi-
rect, of the compelled testimony and any information derived
therefrom...” Kastigar, 406 U.S. at 460. “This total prohibi-
tion on use provides a comprehensive safeguard, barring the
use of compelled testimony as an ‘investigatory lead,’ and
also barring the use of any evidence obtained by focusing
investigation on a witness as a result of his compelled
disclosures.” Id.

The record indicates that Reese used Montoya’s immunized
testimony as an investigatory lead in deciding to initiate pros-
ecution of the Montoyas which is explicitly prohibited by
Kastigar. The investigatory lead is a significant use of the
immunized testimony. Even if the Government had evidence
derived from legitimate independent source, the Government
significantly used Montoya’s immunized testimony in decid-
ing to initiate prosecution.

The Government, however, failed to show that its decision
to initiate prosecution did not rely on Reese’s conclusion that
Montoya should be prosecuted because of his failure to fully
cooperate during the grand jury investigation and at the Okla-
homa trial. The record indicates that Reese resorted to using
Montoya’s immunized grand jury and trial testimony to
decide that the prosecution ought to go forward, rather than
initiating a prosecution of Mr. Montoya for perjury which is
permissible under the statute.

The Government initially possessed information regarding
Montoya’s connection to the Contreras family. Therefore, the

*The Crowson court recognized that United States v. Byrd, 765 F.2d
1524 (11th Cir. 1985), suggests the contrary where the immunized testi-
mony does not enter into the subsequent tnal.

Li aaeaceeecensiiaminiiiiiaicidainaniiiiaaiiaiiil

UNiteD STaTEs v. MONTOYA 463

Government did not need to grant Montoya use immunity to
obtain evidence of his participation in alleged criminal activ-
ity. The AUSA sought Montoya’s assistance in arresting and
convicting the alleged drug smuggler, Jose Leonardo
Contreras-Subias. The Government then granted Montoya use
immunity in order to proceed with its case against the
Contreras-Subias organization. As the record shows, AUSA
Reese became dissatisfied with Montoya’s immunized testi-
mony before the grand jury and at trial. Of course, Reese
became dissatisfied with Montoya’s testimony only by an
examination of and comparison to the immunized testimony
with other evidence. Reese’s comparisons and recommenda-
tion to prosecute the Montoyas based on the immunized testi-
mony tainted the entire prosecution of the Montoyas in
violation of their fifth amendment right against self-
incrimination.

The district court and the majority opinion fail to recognize
this important use of the immunized testimony and mistakenly
conclude that Reese’s involvement was too remote from the
criminal proceeding against Montoya to constitute non-
evidentiary use of the immunized testimony. The majority
opinion seems to adopt the rule that as long as the new prose-
cution relies on independent evidence that the Government
previously possessed, the Govemment may use immunized
testimony against an immunized defendant.

Neither Crowson nor United States v. Byrd, 765 F.2d 1524
(11th Cir. 1985), answer the precise question before us. This
court, in Crowson, stated:

We believe the government’s burden of showing
that its evidentiary use of the immunized testimony
was proper should not change merely because mem-
bers of the prosecution team had access to the testi-
mony. “The focus of the inquiry under Kastigar. . .
is not whether the prosecutor was aware of the con-
tents of the immunized testimony, but whether he

464 Unrtep States v. MONTOYA

used the testimony in any way to build a case against
the defendant.’ Caporale, 806 F.2d at 1518.

A more difficult question is what proof or proce-
dures the government must employ to carry its bur-
den of showing that it made no non-evidentiary use
of the immunized testimony. ‘Such [non-evidentiary |
use could conceivably include assistance in focusing
the investigation, deciding to initiate prosecution,
refusing to plea bargain, interpreting evidence, plan-
ning cross-examination, and otherwise generally
planning trial strategy.” McDaniel 482 F.2d at 311.

Crowson, 828 F.2d at 1430 (emphasis added). The Crowson
court concluded:

The goverment has established a prior, indepen-
dent source for all of the evidence introduced before
‘the second’ grand jury and at trial. Even assuming
that this is insufficient to meet the government's bur-
den of showing that there was no non-evidentiary
use of Crowson’s immunized testimony, we feel that
there are other indications that the government did
not indirectly use his testimony for non-evidentiary
purposes despite its admitted access to that testi-
mony.

Id. at 1431 (emphasis added). The emphasized statements
above cannot be made here where Reese used and relied on
the immunized testimony for bringing on the case.

In Byrd, the court recognized the “difficult question”
whether Kastigar “prohibits any use of immunized testimony
for [a] non-evidentiary purpose[.]” Byrd, 765 F.2d at 1528-29.
The court answered that question in the negative as a case of
first impression in that circuit. I reject Byrd as inconsistent

Unitep States v. MONTOYA 465

with the language of Kastigar and the unambiguous wording
of the statute.‘

Vindictive Prosecution

A prima facie case of prosecutorial vindictiveness is estab-
lished if a defendant shows either direct evidence of actual
vindictiveness or facts that warrant an appearance of prosecu-
torial vindictiveness. United States v. Sinigaglio, 942 F.2d
581, 584 (9th Cir. 1991). Evidence indicating a realistic or
reasonable likelihood of vindictiveness may give rise to a pre-
sumption of prosecutorial vindictiveness. United States v.
Garza-Juarez, 992 F.2d 896, 906 (9th Cir. 1993). The major-
ity concludes that the Montoyas were unable to prove
improper prosecutorial motive which would give rise to a pre-
sumption of vindictiveness. I, however, disagree.

In order to decide to initiate prosecution of the Montoyas,
AUSA Reese compared the investigatory records, including
Montoya’s immunized testimony, to determine whether Mon-
toya testified falsely. After Reese determined, in his mind.
that Montoya testified falsely, Reese could either prosecute
Montoya for perjury, which he was apparently unwiiling to
do, or proceed against Montoya in another manner.

Reese decided to use all of the information which was ini-
tially gathered to prosecute Montoya, without giving Montoya
a chance to defend his immunized testimony. Reese was not
willing to prosecute Montoya initially because he wanted
Montoya to testify against targeted defendants. When Reese
became dissatisfied with Montoya’s testimony, Reese decided
to initiate prosecution.

“United States v. Byrd, 765 F.2d 1524, 1531-32 (11th Cir. 1985) (inter-
preting Kastigar as not requiring a court to inquire into a prosecutor’s
mouves in seeking indicument and limiung the privilege against seif-
incnimination to protect only direct and indirect evidenuary uses of com-
pelled tesumony). This writer believes the language in Byrd is directly
contrary to Kastigar.

466 Unrtep STATES Vv. MONTOYA

Reese, in sum, became judge and jury of Filiberto Mon-
toya’s conduct. Reese did not have enough proof to proceed
with perjury charges so he obviously decided to punish
Mr. Montoya with using the information the Government
always had to prosecute him, and then, for extra measure, pro-
ceeding to recommend prosecution of Mrs. Montoya.

The flaw in this scheme is that the Government should have
prosecuted Montoya initially, rather than granting him immu-
nity. Reese, however, resorted to subterfuge. If Montoya lied,
Reese, under the statute, could have initiated a prosecution for
perjury. Instead, he turned Montoya’s fifth amendment privi-
lege against self-incrimination on its head, concluding that
Montoya lied and Reese proceeded on a course to “fix” him.

I would not countenance that prosecutorial excessive zeal.
To me, the evidence in the record indicates a realistic likeli-
hood of personal pique and personal frustration which gives
rise to a presumption of prosecutorial vindictiveness.

Accordingly, I would reverse the Montoyas’ convictions.

APPENDIX B

NOT FOR PUBLICATION

MAY -3 1995

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

N, CLERK
A CATTERSON os

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUTTOATHY Eater oF.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

ROSARIO MONTOYA,

Defendant-Appellant.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

FILIBERTO E. MONTOYA,

Defendant-Appellant.

No. 93-50411

D.C. No.
CR-92-0572-GT

D.C. No.

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

) No. 93-50440
)

)

) CR-92-0572-GT
)

)

)

)

)

)

Before: BRIGHT,- WIGGINS, and T.G.

NELSON, Circuit Judges.

Judges Wiggins and T.G. Nelson vote

to deny the petition for rehearing and to

* Honorable Myron H. Bright, Senior
United States Circuit Judge for the
Eighth Circuit, sitting by designation

reject the suggestion for rehearing en
banc. Judge Bright votes to grant the
petition for rehearing and recommends
acceptance of the suggestion for
rehearing en banc.

The full court was advised of the
suggestion for rehearing en banc and no
active judge requested a vote on whether
to rehear the matter en banc. Fed. R.
App. P. 35.

The petition for rehearing is denied
and the suggestion for rehearing en banc

is rejected.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_1844%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
