# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Warshay v. Commissioner

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_1724%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1995
- **Citation:** 515 U.S. 1122

## Text

Supreme Court. U.S.
PiLED

No 941839 may _5 1995

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

HAROLD WARSHAY and DORIS WARSHAY.
Petitioners,

VS.
COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL REVENUE,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

STUART A. JACKSON
Counsel of Record

THOMAS RE & PARTNERS
Attorneys for Petitioners

445 Park Avenue

New York, New York 10022
(212) 752-7555

a en “~

i
QUESTIONS PRESENTED
I. Did petitioners meet their burden
of proof on the issue of whether high
ranking officials of the Internal Revenue
Service orally promised them immunity
from civil prosecution for certain tax
liabilities, thereby precluding entry of

judgment against petitioners?

II. Does an oral promise by high rank-
ing officials of the Internal Revenue
Service not to prosecute petitioners for
certain tax liabilities equitably estop
the Internal Revenue Service from so

prosecuting?

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Questions Presented ..... . i
Tempte@ G2 COmCONnSTB <«. s+ +s « * il
Table of Authorities ...... iil
Gpanmiome Below « . « © «= = © «= s 2
Jurisdictional Statement... . 2
Statutes Involved 3
Statement of the Case .... . 3
AQGUMONT . «. «© 2 © © © © we wt 16
) THE TAX COURT WRONGLY
CONCLUDED THAT HAROLD WARSHAY
FAILED TO MEET THE BURDEN OF
PROOF THAT HE WAS PROMISED
IMMUNITY FROM CIVIL TAX LIA-
Ee a ee 18
II. THE COMMISSIONER IS EQ-
UITABLY ESTOPPED FROM PROSE-
CUTING THE WARSHAYS FOR THE
TAX LIABILITIES HERE AT
ISSUE ee ae ae wk ek se Ue 27
RE ee a 34
i (i « « « «¢ + « ¢ © & @ 2 Al
no «¢ © « *# «© «+ # «© © @ « A4

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases

Botany Worsted Mills v. United
States, 278 U.S. 282 (1929)

Brandt v. Hickel, 427 F.2d 53
(9th Cir. 1970)

Galucci v. Commissioner,
T.C. Memo. 1992-435

Lignos v. United States,
439 F.2d 1369 (2d Cir. 1970)

Office of Personnel
Management v. Richmond,
496 U.S. 414 (1990)

Rudisill v. Commissioner,
T.C. Memo. 1992-388

Schuster v. Commissioner,
312 F.2d 311 (9th Cir. 1962)

Schweiker v. Hansen,
450 U.S. 785 (1981)

Simmons v. United States,
308 F.2d 938 (5th Cir. 1962)

Tonkonogy v. United States,
417 F. Supp. 78 (S.D.N.Y. 1976)

Waqner v. Commissioner,
T.C. Memo. 1990-443

Statutes

26 U.8.C. § 712i

Page

28

32

33

29

4G, a7

28

16, 28

28

ai,

29,3

32

26 U.S.C. § 7459(b)
Oe Oe, 6 £56613 «st we ew 2

Other Authorities

Lynn & Gerson, Quasi-Estoppel
and Abuse of Discretion as Ap-
plied Against the United States
in Federal Tax Controversies,

19 Tax L. Rev. 487 (1964) ... . 29

No.

In the
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1994

HAROLD WARSHAY and DORIS WARSHAY,
Petitioners,
- against -
COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL REVENUE,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioners Harold and Doris Warshay
respectfully pray that a writ of certio-
rari issue to review the judgment of the
United States Court of Appeals for the
Second Circuit entered in this action on

February 7, 1995.

2

Opinions Below

The oral findings of fact and opinion
and the subsequent Orders and Decision of
the United States Tax Court finding that
petitioners are liable to respondent for
$116,094 in tax deficiencies are unre-
ported and is set forth in Appendix B
hereto. The Order of the Court of Ap-
peals affirming the Tax Court's Decision

is set forth in Appendix A hereto.

Jurisdictional Statement
The Order of the Court of Appeals was
entered on February 7, 1995. This Peti-
tion for Writ of Certiorari was filed
within ninety days of that date. This
Court has jurisdiction pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 1254(1).

3

Statutes Involved
This Petition does not directly involve
any constitutional provisions, treaties,

statutes, ordinances or regulations.

Statement of the Case

On or about September 30, 1991, the
Commissioner of Internal Revenue sent
petitioners Harold and Doris Warshay a
notice of deficiency stating that they
owed a total of $116,094.00 in deficien-
cies plus additions to tax for the years
1979 through 1982. The Warshays disa-
greed with this determination, and so on
December 26, 1991 they filed with the
United States Tax Court their petition
for a redetermination of the deficiencies

1

set forth in the notice. The petition

7

' The basis for jurisdiction in the
Tax Court was 26 U.S.C. § 7442 and Rule
13 of the Tax Court Rules of Practice and
Procedure.

4
Gid not contest the technical merits of
the Commissioner's adjustments. It did,
however, assert as a complete defense to
those adjustments that, in exchange for
Harold Warshay's cooperation with an
ongoing criminal investigation of John
Muir & Co., high ranking officials of the
Internal Revenue Service ("IRS") had
Orally promised him that he and his wife
would not be prosecuted for the deficien-
cies set forth in the notice. The Com-
missioner's answer denied that any such
promise was ever made to Mr. Warshay, but
admitted that he had rendered his assis-
tance in connection with the investiga-
tion of John Muir & Co, where Mr. Warshay
was then employed. On September 28,
1993, the parties filed a joint stipula-

tion of facts which provided, inter alia,

that:

12. The only issues in dispute are:

5

a. Whether oral promises were
made by or on behalf of respondent to
the effect that petitioners would be
entitled to retain the tax benefits
of their investment in AIP,®* and;

b. If such promises were made,
whether respondent should be preclud-
ed from disallowing said tax benefits
in a statutory notice of deficiency.

The Tax Court, the Honorable David Laro
presiding, then conducted a bench trial
of these two issues on that same day.
Mr. Warshay and his witness testified
that high ranking officials of the IRS
had promised him immunity from civil
prosecution, while the Commissioner's
witnesses testified that no such promise

was ever made, or that they could not

remember whether it had been made or not.

* Harold Warshay had claimed deduc-
tions on the basis of his investment in
the AIP (Arbitrage Investment Partner-
ship), a tax shelter sponsored by John
Muir & Co. The Commissioner disallowed
these deductions in his notice of defi-
ciency.

0 eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeOOeeeEOEEEEEOEOEeEeEeEeEeEeEee
LE Le eee ee a ee ee
6

On October 6, 1993, Judge Laro rendered
his oral findings of fact and opinion
pursuant to Section 7459(b) of the Inter-
nal Revenue Code and Rule 152 of the Tax
Ccurt Rules of Practice and Procedure.
In his findings of fact, Judge Laro found
that Mr. Warshay assisted the IRS for
approximately four years in its investi-
gation of John Muir & Co. In his opin-
ion, however, Judge Laro stated that Mr.
Warshay had failed to establish the exis-
tence of an oral agreement between him-
self and high officials of the IRS that
would protect the Warshays from civil tax
liability. Judge Laro accordingly sus-
tained the Commissioner's determination
in full.

Because he found that Mr. Warshay had
not proven the existence of an agreement,
Judge Laro did not determine whether such
a promise, if it had been made, would be

binding upon the Commissioner. It is

7

Significant, however, that Judge Laro
found that Mr. Warshay had established
that he cooperated with the IRS's inves-
tigation and that he suffered detriment,
one of the elements of the equitable
estoppel defense petitioners raised. In
light of this finding of detriment, it is
inexplicable that Judge Laro did not also
find that Mr. Warshay had relied upon the
IRS's promise. No other reason could be
inferred for Mr. Warshay's cooperation --
to the detriment of both his person and
his career -- with the Government's in-
vestigation.

Pursuant to his opinion of October 6,
1993, Judge Laro ordered that the War-
shays were liable for the deficiencies
set forth in the Commissioner's notice of
deficiency. This last order was entered
on December 8, 1993. The Warshays ap-
pealed this order to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit.

On February 7, 1995, the Court of Appeals
entered its Order affirming Judge Laro's
decision.

The gravamen of the Warshays' petition
for a writ of certiorari is that Judge
Laro was clearly wrong to credit the
testimony of the Commissioners' witness-
es, who were unable to remember virtually
anything about Mr. Warshay's extensive
cooperation with the IRS investigation of
John Muir & Co., that there was no prom-
ise to immunize the Warshays from civil
tax liability. These witnesses' inexpli-
cable failure to recall the material
facts relating to a major investigation
by the IRS, the Securities and Exchange
Commission ("SEC") and the United States
Attorney for the Southern District of New
York should have led Judge Laro to dis-
count their testimony. Mr. Warshay and
his witness, in contrast, clearly re-

called their participation in the John

9

Muir & Co. investigation, and should have
been believed when they testified that
the Warshays were promised civil tax
immunity. In affirming the Tax Court's
erroneous decision, the Court of Appeals
also committed reversible error.

That there was an investigation of John
Muir & Co., despite the Commissioner's
witnesses' inability to recall it, is not
subject to doubt. Peter Quigley, then an
investigator for the SEC on special as-
Signment to the United States Attorney's
office, testified that he was assigned to
the investigation in 1981, and that Mr.
Warshay, together with Hans Reinisch,
also an employee of John Muir & Co., had
instigated the investigation. Mr. Quig-
ley met with Messrs. Warshay and Reinisch
on at least ten different occasions.
Linda Cassano, then special counsel to
the SEC, confirmed that Messrs. Warshay

and Reinisch provided the government with

10
information relevant to its investigation
of John Muir & Co. Mark Sirkin, a spe-
Cial agent with the IRS Criminal Investi-
gation Division, testified that the IRS
was involved in the investigation.
On the basis of this and other testi-
mony, Judge Laro expressly stated in his
findings of fact that:

Reinisch contacted the Internal Reve-
nue Service (IRS). Reinisch and War-
shay assisted the SEC and IRS for
approximately four years during which
time the Office of the United States
Attorney also participated in the
investigation.

and that:

At various times [{Warshay]} and Rei-
nisch met with Linda Cassano, Special
Counsel to the SEC; Donald Malawsky,
Deputy Regional Administrator of the
SEC; Peter Quigley, an SEC investiga-
tor; Pamela Chepiga of the United
States Attorney's Office; Mark Sir-
kin, a special agent with the IRS

Criminal Investigation Division;
Daniel Kornblatt, an IRS agent, and
others.

Mr. Warshay stated under oath that, in

addition to the persons cited by Judge

Laro, he also met with Charles H. Bren-

11

nan, then the IRS District Director of
the Manhattan District, and Raymond Turn-
er, Assistant Regional Commissioner of
Criminal Investigation of the IRS for the
North Atlantic Region. It was at their
first meeting, which Mr. Reinisch also
attended, that Messrs Brennan and Turner
promised Mr. Warshay that no harm whatso-
ever would come to Mr. Warshay if he
assisted them in their investigation of
John Muir & Co., and that he would not be
exposed or lose any of the tax benefits
of his investment in the AIP. Mr. Rein-
isch confirmed that the meeting took
place, and that Mr. Warshay received from
Messrs. Brennan and Turner the assurances
he requested.

There waS a second meeting between
Messrs. Warshay, Reinisch, Brennan and
Turner, and again Messrs. Brennan and

Turner assured Mr. Warshay that "a deal

is a deal" and no harm would come to him

epee

12

as a result of his cooperation with the
IRS's investigation of John Muir & Co.
They gave him no reason to believe that
they were unauthorized to make the prom-
ises they had made. Mr. Warshay would
not have cooperated with the investiga-
tion if he had thought they were unautho-
rized to offer him immunity from civil
tax liability. Mr. Reinisch also con-
firms that this meeting took place and
that Messrs. Brennan and Turner were
present.

In view of the magnitude of the John
Muir & Co. investigation, and the fact
that Messrs. Reinisch and Warshay insti-
gated and assisted it for four years, it
would be incredible for anyone involved
in that investigation to claim that he
could not recall the crucial role they
played, even ten years after the fact.
Nevertheless, Mr. Brennan testified that

he had never even met Messrs. Reinisch or

13

Warshay until the day of the hearing on
September 28, 1993. Mr. Turner testified
to the same effect.

Even more incredible, however, is the
fact that none of the Commissioner's wit-
nesses could locate any mention of
Messrs. Warshay's or Reinisch's names in
the IRS files relating to the John Muir &
Co. investigation. Mr. Sirkin, for exam-
ple, testified that he reviewed all of
the IRS files relating to the investiga-
tion, but could find no reference to
Harold Warshay. In fact, his search of
the IRS's computerized files revealed
that there was no record of any documents
whatsoever relating to the John Muir &
Co. investigation. This revelation
proved so embarrassing to the Commission-
er that it stipulated in open court that
"[Tajn examination of the IRS files will
reveal documents relating to the investi-

gation of John Muir & Company." Mr.

14

Brennan testified that he did not even
bother to inquire whether or not there
was an IRS file relating to the John Muir
& Co. investigation. Mr. Turner conduct-
ed only a perfunctory check by telephone,
and was told that "nobody knew anything
about that case." It boggles the mind
that the IRS, an organization that rou-
tinely tracks every investigation by
computer,* could have permitted all trac-
es of the John Muir & Co. case to vanish
into a black hole.

Yet that case was prosecuted by the
IRS, and it ultimately resulted in the
criminal indictment of Daniel Lanahan, a
principal of John Muir & Co. Mr. War-
shay, however, reaped no reward for his
role in the IRS's success. On the con-

trary, he was subjected to physical dan-

3° mr. Sirkin, for example, testi-
fied that "[a]ny time a particular divi-
sion of the IRS is working on any partic-
ular entity, the computer keeps track of
it and a code is put on there."

15

ger for which Linda Cassano offered body-
guard protection. After his cooperation
with the investigation became generally
known in the securities industry, he
faced extreme difficulty in finding en-
ployment, and in fact did not find a
Salaried position until 1992. Judge Laro
expressly noted Mr. Warshay's travails
when he noted in his October 6, 1992
opinion that Mr. Warshay had established
detriment.

Under these circumstances, it would be
unconscionable for the IRS now to repudi-
ate the promise its high ranking offi-
Cials made to Mr. Warshay when they need-
ed his assistance. Allowing the IRS to
evade its obligations would have a chill-
ing effect on the willingness of confi-
dential informants to come forward in
connection with any future investigation
by the federal government. It would also

be egregiously unfair to Mr. Warshay.

16
Argument

This Petition should be granted because
it affords the Court an opportunity to
Clarify previous decisions that have
resulted in conflicting decisions in the
United States Courts of Appeals.

The questions presented for review
herein boil down to the issue of when the
United States government should be equi-
tably estopped from enforcing otherwise
valic statutes or regulations. This
Court has previously recognized that

[t]he language in our decisions has

spawned numerous claims for equitable

estoppel in the lower courts. As

Justice Marshall stated in dissent in

[Schweiker v. Hansen, 450 U.S. 785,

792 (1981)], "{t]he question of when

the Government may be equitably es-

topped has divided the distinguished
panel of the Court of Appeals in this
case, has received inconsistent
treatment from other Courts of Ap-

peals, and has been the subject of
considerable ferment."

Office of Personnel Management v. Rich-

mond, 496 U.S. 414, 422 (1990). The

Richmond Court further noted that "feder-

17
al courts have continued to accept estop-
pel claims under a variety of rationales
and analyses," and that there is "a good
indication that our approach to these
cases has provided inadequate guidance or
the federal courts and served only to
invite and prolong needless litigation."

Id. at 422-423. The Richmond Court nev-

ertheless decided to "leave for another
day whether an estoppel claim could ever
succeed against the Government." Id. at
423.

In this case, petitioner Harold Warshay
gave valuable assistance to the IRS in
connection with a major criminal investi-
gation. He did so at considerable risk
to his livelihood and indeed his person,
for high-ranking officers of the IRS had
assured him that, in view of his coopera-
tion, he would not suffer any adverse tax

consequences. Now, however, the IRS has

reneged on its representatives' promises

18
and threatens to hold petitioners liable
for taxes they were assured they would
not owe. Petitioners respectfully submit
that today is the day for this Court to
assert that, under the circumstances of
this case, the Government can be equita-

bly estopped.

I. THE TAX COURT WRONGLY CONCLUDED
THAT HAROLD WARSHAY FAILED TO MEET THE
BURDEN OF PROOF THAT HE WAS PROMISED
IMMUNITY FROM CIVIL TAX LIABILITY.

In his testimony before the Tax Court,
Harold Warshay stated under oath that in
1980 Charles H. Brennan, then District
Director of the Manhattan District, and
Raymond Turner, Assistant Regional Com-
missioner of Criminal Investigation of
the Internal Revenue Service for the
North Atlantic Region, promised him that
he would suffer no adverse civil tax

consequences if he would assist the IRS

in its investigation of John Muir & Co.

19

Mr. Reinisch confirms that the meeting
took place, and that Mr. Warshay received
from Messrs. Brennan and Turner the as-
Surances he requested.

There was a second meeting between
Messrs. Warshay, Reinisch, Brennan and
Turner, and again Messrs. Brennan and
Turner assured Mr. Warshay that "a deal
is a deal" and no harm would come to him
as a result of his cooperation with the
IRS's investigation of John Muir & Co.
They gave him no reason to believe that
they were unauthorized to make the prom-
ises they had made. Mr Reinisch also
confirms that this meeting took place and
that Messrs. Brennan and Turner were
present.

Notwithstanding this unambiguous and
corroborated testimony, Judge Laro found
in his October 6, 1993 bench opinion that
Mr. Warshay had "failed to establish the

existence of an oral agreement between

20
(Mr. Warshay] and either, Brennan, {sic}
Turner or both, that would protect [the
Warshays] from civil tax liability."
Judge Laro also found, however, that Mr.
Warshay had established that he cooperat-
ed with the IRS's investigation and that
he suffered detriment, one of the ele-
ments of the equitable estoppel defense
petitioners raised. In light of this
finding, it is inexplicable that Judge
Laro did not also find that Mr. Warshay's
cooperation with the IRS's investigation
and the resulting detriment suffered by
Mr. Warshay necessarily followed from Mr.
Warshay's reliance upon the IRS's pro-
mise. No other reason could be inferred
for Mr. Warshay's cooperation -- to the
detriment of both his person and his
career -- with the Government's investi-
gation. Furthermore, the testimony of

the Commissioner's witnesses that Mr.

Warshay had not been involved in the

21
IRS's investigation, especially in light
of Judge Laro's findings to the contrary,
was so incredible as to boggle the mind.
Judge Laro was therefore clearly in er-
ror, and under the applicable standard of
review should have been reversed.

The John Muir & Co. investigation was a
major one, involving the IRS, the SEC and
the United States Attorney's office. As
Judge Laro found, Messrs. Reinisch and
Warshay assisted that investigation for a
period of four years. It would therefore
be incredible if anyone involved in that
investigation claimed that he could not
recall the crucial role they played, even
ten years after the fact. Nevertheless,
Mr. Brennan testified that he had never
even met Messrs. Reinisch or Warshay
until the day of the hearing on September

28, 1993. Mr. Turner testified to the

same effect.

22

Even more incredible, however, is the
fact that none of the Commissioner's wit-
nesses could locate any mention of
Messrs. Warshay's or Reinisch's names in
the IRS files relating to the John Muir &
Co. investigation. Mr. Sirkin, for exam-
ple, testified that he reviewed all of
the IRS files relating to the investiga-
tion, but could find no reference to
Harold Warshay. In fact, his search of
the IRS's computerized files revealed
that there was no record of any documents
whatsoever relating to the John Muir &
Co. investigation. This revelation
proved so embarrassing to the Commission-
er that it stipulated in open court that
"CajJn examination of the IRS files will
reveal documents relating to the investi-
gation of John Muir & Company." Mr.
Brennan testified that he did not even

bother to inquire whether or not there

was an IRS file relating to the John Muir

aa

& Co. investigation. Mr. Turner conduct-
ed only a perfunctory check by telephone,
and was told that "nobody knew anything
about that case." It stretches credulity
to the breaking point that the IRS, an
organization that routinely tracks every
investigation by computer,” could have
permitted all traces of the John Muir &
Co. case to vanish into a black hole.

Yet there was an investigation of John
Muir & Co., despite the Commissioner's
witnesses' inability to recall it. Peter
Quigley, then an investigator for the SEC
on special assignment to the United
States Attorney's office, testified that
he was assigned to the investigation in
1981, and that Mr. Warshay, together with

Hans Reinisch, also an employee of John

4 Mr. Sirkin, e.g., testified that
"C[ajny time a particular division of the
IRS is working on any particular entity,
the computer keeps track of it and a code
is put on there."

en

24
Muir & Co., had instigated the investiga-
tion. Mr. Quigley met with Messrs. War-
shay and Reinisch on at least ten differ-
ent occasions. Linda Cassano, then spe-
cial counsel to the SEC, confirmed that
Messrs. Warshay and Reinisch provided the
government with information relevant to
its investigation of John Muir & Co.
Mark Sirkin, a special agent with the IRS
Criminal Investigation Division, testi-
fied that the IRS was involved in the
investigation. On the basis of this and
other testimony, Judge Laro found that:
At various times [Warshay] and Rei-
nisch met with Linda Cassano, Special
Counsel to the SEC; Donald Malawsky,
Deputy Regional Administrator of the
SEC; Peter Quigley, an SEC investiga-
tor; Pamela Chepiga of the United

States Attorney's Office; Mark Sir-
kin, a special agent with the IRS

Criminal Investigation Division;
Daniel Kornblatt, an IRS agent, and
others.

There can be no even remotely plausible

explanation for the discrepancy between

the testimony of employees of the IRS,

a2
who to a man could not remember anything
about the John Muir & Co. investigation,
ana the testimony of representatives from
the SEC and the United States Attorney's
office, who did recall the investigation.
The testimony of Harold Warshay and Hans
Reinisch, a disinterested third party, 1s
clear and unambiguous. In 1980 they met
with Messrs. Brennan and Turner.?
Messrs. Brennan and Turner promised Mr.
Warshay he would not be held liable for
any tax liabilities stemming from his
investment in the AIP. This is the tes-
timony Judge Laro should have credited,
and not the wholly incredible testimony
of witnesses who could not recall whether
the IRS investigation of John Muir & Co.

was even conducted.

3

How either Mr. Warshay or Mr.
Reinisch could have known of Messrs.
Brennan and Turner's names, let alone
their positions in the IRS hierarchy, is
inexplicable unless they did meet at some
time.

26

Judge Laro apparently did credit Mr.
Warshay's and other witnesses' testimony
that Mr. Warshay cooperated with the
IRS's investigation, for he expressly
found this to be the case. He also found
that Mr. Warshay had suffered detriment.
It necessarily follows that Mr. Warshay's
testimony as to the existence of his
agreement with the IRS was more probably
true than not, for nothing but such an
agreement would explain why Mr. Warshay
undertook to assist the IRS despite the
detriment Judge Laro found he suffered.
Judge Laro thus ignored the logical im-
plications of his own findings of fact
and committed reversible error when he
decided that Mr. Warshay had not met his

burden of proof as to the agreement's

existence.

27

rs THE COMMISSIONER IS EQUITABLY
ESTOPPED FROM PROSECUTING THE WARSHAYS
FOR THE TAX LIABILITIES HERE AT ISSUE.

Charles H. Brennan and Raymond Turner
were officials in the IRS's highest eche-
lons. Their promise to Harold Warshay
not to prosecute him for tax liabilities
stemming from his investment in the AIP,
coupled with Harold Warshay's. actual
cooperation with the IRS's investigation
of John Muir & Co., precludes the Commis-
sioner from collecting those liabilities.
The Tax Court made no binding determina-
tion of this issue.

The doctrine of equitable estoppel
precludes the Commissioner from repudi-
ating a promise such as the one Messrs.
Brennan and Turner made. Indeed, courts
have specifically held that "{w]ith re-
spect to the IRS, equitable estoppel is
appropriate under certain limited circunm-

stances." Tonkonogy v. United States,

417 F. Supp. 78, 79 (S.D.N.Y. 1976); see

28

also, Schuster v. Commissioner, 312 F.2d

311, 317 (9th Cir. 1962); Simmons Vv.

United States, 308 F.2d 938, 945 (5th

Cir. 1962) ("It is well settled that the
doctrine of equitable estoppel ... may be
invoked against the United States in
cases involving internal revenue taxa-
tion"). This Court has never held other-

wise; thus, in Botany Worsted Mills v.

United States, 278 U.S. 282, 289 (1929),

the Court held an informal agreement by
the Bureau of Internal Revenue to be non-
binding "without determining whether such
an agreement, though not binding in it-
self, may when executed become, under

some circumstances, binding on the par-

ties by estoppel." See also Hansen, 450
U.S. at 789 (with reference to welfare
benefits, "{t]his Court has never decided
what type of conduct by a Government
employee will estop the Government from

insisting upon compliance with valid

29
regulations governing the distribution
of" such benefits).
The "limited circumstances" under which
equitable estoppel applies to the IRS are

set forth in Tonkonogy, 417 F. Supp. at

79:

(1) a misrepresentation by an agent
of the United States acting within
the apparent scope of his duties; (2)
the absence of contrary knowledge by
the taxpayer in circumstances where
he may reasonably act in reliance;
(3) actual reliance; (4) detriment;
and (5) a factual context in which
the absence of equitable relief would
be unconscionable.

Citing Lynn & Gerson, Quasi-Estoppel and

Abuse of Discretion as Applied Against

the United States in Federal Tax Contro-

versies, 19 Tax L. Rev. 487, 488-489

(1964); Lignos v. United States, 439 F.2d

1369 (2d Cir. 1970) (unresolved issue of
whether there was false representation or
wrongful misleading silence by taxpayer

precluded summary judgment in his favor).

30

These circumstances are clearly present
in the case at bar. First, District
Director (now Regional Commissioner)
Brennan and Assistant Regional Commis-
sioner Turner misrepresented to Harold
Warshay that he would not be liable for
certain adverse tax consequences if he
assisted them in their investigations,
even though they provided him with no
written statement to that effect. Sec-
ond, Mr. Warshay (who was not represented
by counsel in his dealings with the IRS)
had no knowledge that said officers could
not compromise his civil tax liability
orally, nor did Messrs. Brennan and Turn-
er ever indicate that they lacked such
authority. Third, Mr. Warshay relied
upon said officers' misrepresentations
when he agreed to assist them in the
IRS's investigation of John Muir & Co.

He would not have cooperated with the

investigation if he had not thought they

31

were affording him immunity from civil
tax liability. Fourth, as Judge Laro
found, this reliance was detrimental, for
in cooperating with the IRS's investiga-
tion, Harold Warshay exposed himself to
personai physical harm and damage to his
business reputation.

Fifth, and most important, the factual
context of this case is such that it
would be unconscionable to deny petition-
ers equitable relief. In view of the
personal risk that Harold Warshay under-
took when he assisted the Internal Reve-
nue Service in a major criminal investi-
gation, and the loss of business reputa-
tion suffered by him, it would be pro-
foundly unfair to permit respcndent to
repudiate its senior officers' promises.

As the Tonkonogy court observed,

as to a taxpayer who relies upon [an
IRS agent's] statements to his detri-
ment at a time of great personal
trauma and concern, that agent will
be found to be acting within the

apparent scope of his authority.
Anything to the contrary would, in my
opinion, be '... hardly worthy of our
great government. '

Citing Brandt _v. Hickel, 427 F.2d 53, 97

(9th Cir. 1970).

Finally, public policy considerations
also support granting the Warshays the
relief of equitable estoppel. The factu-
al circumstances of this case are excep~
tional, and will not often apply to de-
prive the United States of tax revenue to
which it otherwise would be entitled.
The IRS and other federal agencies, how-
ever, would be hard pressed to find any-
one willing to cooperate with their in-
vestigations if they could repudiate
their senior officers' promises as sum-
marily as the IRS seeks to repudiate them
here.

Cases where the courts declined to
apply principles of equitable estoppel

are inapposite to the case under review.

33

They can be easily distinguished on their

facts. In Rudisill v. Commissioner, T.C.

Memo. 1992-388, for example, it was mere-
ly a desk clerk who allegedly advised the
petitioner to "go home and forget about"
refiling his taxes. Similarly, in Ga-

lucci_v. Commissioner, T.C. Memo. 1992-

435, and Wagner _v. Commissioner, T.C.

Memo. 1990-443, it was agents of the
United States Attorney's office who,
notwithstanding their alleged oral agree-
ments with the respective petitioners,
had specifically advised the petitioners'
attorneys that they had no authority to
compromise civil tax liabilities. In the
case at bar, however, it was the District
Director, not a low-ranking subordinate
or representative of another agency, who
promised petitioner the IRS would not
Gisallow certain benefits. It is undis-
puted that Mr. Brennan had sufficient

authority to enter into closing and com-

34

promise agreements under Sections 7121
and 7122, respectively, of the Internal

Revenue Code.

Conclusion
For all of the reasons set forth above,

the writ of certiorari should be granted.

Dated: New York, New York
May 1, 1995

Respectfully submitted,

CEE

Stuart A. Jackson,
Attorney of Record
THOMAS RE & PARTNERS
Attorneys for Petitioners
445 Park Avenue

New York, New York 10022
(212) 752-7555

4
i
3
4

at

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_1724%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
