# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — NLFC, Inc. v. Devcom Mid-America, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_1598%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1995
- **Citation:** 515 U.S. 1104

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

FiL BD
a
\\) 94170 SapR 181995
No. OFRAICE OF THE CLERK.
In the

Supreme Court of the United Staies
October Term, 1994

NLFC, Inc.,
Petitioner,
vs.
Devcom Mid-America, Inc.,

Respondent.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Seventh Circuit

Petition for Writ of Certiorari

Peter S. Vogel*

Stacy R. Obenhaus

John E. Castafieda
GARDERE & WYNNE, L.L.P.
3000 Thanksgiving Tower
Dallas, Texas 75201

(214) 999-3000

Attorneys for Petitioner
*Counsel of Record

4

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

This case arises from NLFC’s claim against Devcom
for copyright infringement. NLFC contends that Devcom
infringed the copyright in a computer software program
NLFC owned. Devcom printed on its own computers the
source code of that NLFC software. The district court
granted a summary judgment in favor of Devcom, and the
court of appeals affirmed, holding that Devcom’s action
did not constitute "copying" under the Copyright Act.

‘ Did the court of appeals err in affirming the district
court’s summary judgment ruling that a party’s printing of
a physical copy of the source code of a computer software
program does not constitute "copying" that would support
a claim of copyright infringement?

2. Did the court of appeals err in construing a local
rule of the Northern District of Illinois in such a way as to
obviate the standards of rule 56 of the Federal Rules of
Civil Procedure, thereby improperly allowing a party to
obtain a summary judgment essentially by default?

LIST OF PARTIES

The following is a list of all parties to the
proceeding in the United States Court of Appeals for the
Seventh Circuit, whose judgment is sought to be reviewed:

| Petitioner: |. NLFC, Inc.

Respondent: Devcom Mid-America, Inc.

Neither party has parent companies or subsidiaries within
the meaning of Supreme Court Rule 29.1.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

CPLIESO EMA PIRESOENI ED occ cece eee cenes il
ae ili
EE SE FEEREED ot coco ccc cnsecesenes iv
py Bas PS tee 6 4s 5c. Se v
OPINIONS AND JUDGMENTS BELOW ....... 2
EE Oe ee 2
ee p ips 9 8 S|: » Ea 3
SIATEMENT OF THE CASE ......ccscceces 7
uaa ad se AN Gs 444 0 0 e606 s 008s 9
RE ee 17

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc.,
477 UB. 202 CIS) oc ccc sscesces

Celotex Corp. v. Catrett,
MTT Sd BAT COED 6 haces auadces

Frazier v. Heebe, 482 U.S. 641 (1987)

Henry v. Gill Indus., Inc.,
983 F.2d 943, 949 (9th Cir. 1993) ...

Hibernia Nat'l Bank v. Administracion
Central Sociedad Anonima, 776 F.2d,
vag Mrs, Fi oe AR. .) re

ISC-Bunker Ramo Corp. v. Altech, Inc.,
765 F. Supp. 1310, 1332
Ce eo Seer rer reer ee

MAI Systems Corp. v. Peak Computer, Inc.,

991 F.2d 511, 518 (9th Cir. 1993),
cert. dismissed, 114 S. Ct. 671 (1994) .

Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith
Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574,
re fi Peeererer Ter Tiree

Midway Mfg. Co. v. Strohon,
564 F. Supp. 741 (N.D. Ill. 1983) ...

NLFC, Inc. v. Devcom Mid-America, Inc.,
By Pam Bee CF CH. BIS) ove cic cncevcs 2, 11,13

Rules and Statutes
17 U.S.C.A. § 101 (West 1977 & Supp. 1995) .... 3, 12

17 U.S.C.A. § 106(1) (West 1977 & Supp. 1995) . . 3, 1(

17 U.S.C.A. § 501(a) (West Supp. 1995) .......... :
23 USCA. § 1254 (West 1993) 2.2.0... 02. ce aes Z
28 U.S.C. § 1331, 1338(a) (West 1995) ........... 7
ae UAL. § 2071 (West 1995) 2... ccc cc eseacs 1€
oe ee FS errr rr rere rrr 4, 9, 1€
FO eG SE 5 5 60s x0 00055 dk eee eee 5
eS rere Tree rP re eee error 4, 16
oe ee ere re eee 14

No.

In the
Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1994

NLFC, Inc.,
Petitioner,
VS.
Devcom Mid-America, Inc.,

Respondent.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Seventh Circuit

TO THE UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT:

Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254, NLFC, Inc., asks this
Court to issue a writ of certiorari to review the dpinion
issued on January 19, 1995 by the United States Court of
Appeals for the Seventh Circuit.

OPINIONS AND JUDGMENTS BELOW

Petitioner has reproduced in a separate appendix
the opinions issued by the courts below, as follows:

NLFC, Inc. v. Devcom Mid-America, Inc., 45 F.3d 231 (7th
Cir. 1995) (court of appeals’ decision)

NLFC, Inc. v. Devcom Mid-America, Inc., No. 93 C 0609
(N.D. Ill. Feb. 3, 1994) (district court’s judgment)

NLFC, Inc. v. Devcom Mid-America, Inc., No. 93 C 0609
(N.D. Ill. Jan. 4, 1994) (district court’s order)

NLFC, Inc. v. Devcom Mid-America, Inc., No. 93 C 0609
(N.D. Ill. Nov. 16, 1993) (magistrate’s recommendation)

JURISDICTION

The court of appeals issued its opinion January 19,
1995. Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1) (West 1993), this
Court has jurisdiction to review the decision of the court
of appeals.

STATUTES INVOLVED

17 U.S.C.A. § 101 (West Supp. 1995):

"Copies" are material objects, other than phono-
records, in which a work is fixed by any method now know
or later developed, and from which the work can be per-
ceived, re-produced, or otherwise communicated, either
directly or with the aid of a machine or device. The term
“copies” includes the material object, other than a phono-
record, in which the work is first fixed.

17 U.S.C.A. § 106(1) (West 1977 & Supp. 1995):

Subject to sections 107 through 120, the owner of
copyright under this title has the exclusive rights to do and
to authorize any of the following:

(1) to reproduce the copyrighted work in copies or
phonorecords; .. .

17 U.S.C.A. § 501(a) (West Supp. 1995):

Anyone who violates any of the exclusive rights of
the copyright owner as provided by sections 106 through
118 or of the author as provided in section 106A(a), or
who imports copies or phonorecords into the United
States in violation of section 602, is an infringer of the
copyright or right of the author, as the case may be... .

Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c):

(c) Motion and Proceedings Thereon. The motion shall
be served at least 10 days before the time fixed for the
hearing. The adverse party prior to the day of hearing
may serve opposing affidavits. The judgment sought shall
be rendered forthwith if the pleadings, depositions,
answers to interrogatories, and admissions on file, together
with the affidavits, if any, show that there is no genuine
issue as to any material fact and that the moving party is
entitled to a judgment as a matter of law. A summary
judgment, interlocutory in character, may be rendered on
the issue of liability alone although there is a genuine issue
as to the amount of damages.

Fed. R. Civ. P. 83:

Each district court by action of a majority of the judges
thereof may from time to time, after giving appropriate
public notice and an opportunity to comment, make and
amend rules governing its practice not inconsistent with
these rules. A local rule so adopted shall take effect upon
the date specified by the district court and shall remain in
effect unless amended by the district court or abrogated by
the judicial council of the circuit in which the district is
located. Copies of rules and amendments so made by any
district court shall upon their promulgation be furnished to
the judicial council and the Administrative Office of the
United States Courts and be made available to the public.
In all cases not provided for by rule, the district judges and
magistrates may regulate their practice in any manner not
inconsistent with these rules or those of the district in
which they act.

Northern District of [linois Local Rule 12(M), (N):

M. Motions for summary judgment; moving party. With
each motion for summary judgment filed pursuant to
F.R.Civ.P. 56 the moving party shall serve and file —

(1) any affidavits and other materials referred to in
F.R.Civ.P. 56(e);

(2) a supporting memorandum of law;

(3) a statement of material facts as to which the
moving party contends there is no genuine issue
and that entitle the moving party to a judgment as
a matter of law, and that also includes:

(a) a description of the parties, and

(b) all facts supporting venue and jurisdiction in
this court.

The statement referred to in (3) shall consist of short
numbered paragraphs, including within each paragraph
specific references to the affidavits, parts of the record,
and other supporting materials relied upon to support the
facts set forth in that paragraph. Failure to submit such a
statement constitutes grounds for denial of the motion.

If additional material facts are submitted by the opposing
party pursuant to section N of this rule, the moving party
may submit a concise reply in the form prescribed in
section N for a response. All material facts set forth in
the statement filed pursuant to section N(3)(b) will be
deemed admitted unless controverted by the statement of
the moving party.

N. Motions for summary judgment; opposing party. Each
party opposing a motion filed pursuant to F.R.Civ.P. 56
shall serve and file—

(1) any opposing affidavits and other materials
referred to in F.R.Civ.P.56(e);

(2) a supporting memorandum of law; and

(3) a concise response to the movant’s statement
that shall contain:

(a) a response to each numbered paragraph
in the moving party’s statement, including, in
the case of any disagreement, specific
references to the affidavits, parts of the
record, and other supporting materials relied
upon, and

(b) a statement consisting of short num-
bered paragraphs, of any additional facts
that require the denial of summary judg-
ment, including references to the affidavits,
parts of the record, and other supporting
materials relied upon. All material facts
set forth in the statement required of the
moving party will be deemed to be admitted
unless controverted by the statement of the

opposing party.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

NLFC designs, develops, and maintains computer
software for use in medical pathology laboratories. NLFC
owns a valid copyright in the software at issue, having
obtained the copyright in that software from its original
designer, Lab Force.

Cabrini Medical Center ("Cabrini") in New York
and Franciscan Shared Laboratory ("FSL") in Wisconsin
were both licensed users of NLFC’s copyrighted software.
Cabrini’s license agreement strictly prohibited Cabrini from
copying the software and from providing copies to third
parties such as Devcom. In 1989, FSL entered into a
similar license agreement which also prohibited unauthor-

ized copying.

Cabrini and FSL had separately hired Devcom as
a computer consulting company. They asked Devcom to
modify the NLFC software. Devcom thereby obtained
access to the NLFC software licensed to Cabrini and FSL.
Devcom then exploited its access to NLFC software by
printing at its Chicago offices a physical print-out
containing a "viewable print-out" of the NLFC software
source code.

NLFC filed suit against Devcom alleging copyright
infringement and related state law claims. The district
court thus had jurisdiction of NLFC’s claim of copyright
infringement pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331, 1338(a) (West
1995). The court could exercise supplemental jurisdiction
over the state law claims. 28 U.S.C. § 1367 (West 1995).

Devcom filed a summary judgment motion as to all the
claims. In response, NLFC filed deposition excerpts and

7

other evidence, as well as its brief opposing Devcom’s
motion. Devcom’s motion contained a list of the facts it
claimed were not in dispute, pursuant to Rule 12(M) of
the court’s local rules. NLFC’s response similarly
contained a list of the facts it claimed were in dispute,
pursuant to rule 12(N) of the court’s local rules.

The court referred the matter to a magistrate, who
eventually filed a memorandum which recommended that
the district court should grant summary judgment because
(1) Devcom’s creation of a "viewable print-out" allegedly
for modification purposes did not constitute infringement
of copyright, and (2) NLFC’s licensing agreements with
Cabrini and FSL permitted third parties such as Devcom
to make copies of the NLFC software.

The district court, over NLFC’s objection, entered
an order accepting the recommendations and adopting the
magistrate’s reasoning. The court entered final judgment,
and NLFC filed its notice of appeal to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit.’ The court of
appeals affirmed the district court’s decision, concluding
that Devcom’s actions did not constitute "copying" under
the Copyright Act. The court also affirmed the district
court’s ruling on NLFC’s claim that Devcom improperly
tried to market NLFC’s software without permission.

1

Upon granting summary judgment against NLFC on
its copyright claim, the court dismissed NLFC’s state law
claims, exercising its discretion to dismiss these claims on
the grounds that the amount in controversy was insufficient
to vest the court with diversity jurisdiction and the court
no longer had supplemental jurisdiction over those claims.

8

ARGUMENT

In its published opinion, the court of appeals has
affirmed a district court’s decision that the unauthorized
printing of a hard copy print-out of the source code of a
computer software program does not constitute copyright
infringement if the printing is done by telephone. This is
a novel interpretation of the law of copyright infringement
in the context of computer software. Because of the broad
implications of the court’s decision in the realm of soft-
ware copyright protection, this Court should act to correct
the court of appeals’ misapplication of the Copyright Act.

A. The standard for summary judgment.

This Court reviews de novo an order that grants a
summary judgment. See, e.g., Eastman Kodak Co. v. Image
Technical Servs., Inc., 504 U.S. 451 (1992); Anderson v.
Liberty Lobby, inc., 477 U.S. 242, 249-52 (1986). Summary
judgment is proper only if the moving party demonstrates
that there exists no genuine issue of any material fact and
that the moving party is entitled to judgment as a matter
of law. Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c); Anderson, 477 U.S. at 247.
The moving party bears the initial burden to demonstrate
that no genuine issue of material fact exists. Celotex Corp.
v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 324 (1986). Alli facts must be
construed in the light most favorable to the party opposing
the motion, and the court must draw inferences in favor of
that party. Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio
Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 587-88 (1956). Any doubt as to the
existence of a genuine issue for trial must be resolved
against the party requesting summary judgment. Anderson,
477 USS. at 255.

B. The court of appeals improperly concluded that
Devcom’s actions were not "copying."

Computer programs take two forms: both human-
readable "source code," and machine-readable "object
code." Midway Mfg. Co. v. Strohon, 564 F. Supp. 741, 750
(N.D. Ill. 1983). The mere copying of computer software
from disk into memory has been held as an infringement,
let alone making a printed copy. MAI Systems Corp. v.
Peak Computer, Inc., 991 F.2d 511, 518 (9th Cir. 1993),
cert. dismissed, 114 S. Ct. 671 (1994); ISC-Bunker Ramo
Corp. v. Altech, Inc., 765 F. Supp. 1310, 1332 (N.D. II.
1990).

In the district court, Devcom did not dispute that
a company called Lab Force had developed the software
at issue and that NLFC had obtained from Lab Force the
copyright ir that software. NLFC, as the owner of the
copyright, thus had the exclusive right to make copies of
the software. See 17 U.S.C.A. § 106 (West 1977 & Supp.
1995). Thus, Devcom could prevail on summary judgment
either by proving that it had not copied NLFC’s software
or by showing that NLFC would not be able to prove that
Devcom had copied the software.

NLFC’s summary judgment proof created an issue
of fact regarding whether Devcom had copied the NLFC
software by printing the source code at Devcom’s Chicago
office. Devcom submitted affidavits of Devcom personnel
suggesting that it had not copied NLFC software, "except
to create a viewable print-out necessarily required for
modification purposes." In reply, NLFC offered deposition
testimony of Jon Kristofferson, the director of Devcom’s
software development, which stated as follows:

10

_ ee

Q: _[Y]ou still have Exhibit No. 1 there
in front of you, and am I wrong, isn’t
that a Lab Force program?

A: It says Lab Force.

Q: It also says Devcom. Does that

mean it was printed out at Devcom’s

offices?

Yeah, I would say it was.

Do you know where that particular

program ... came from?

No.

Was it printed at Devcom’s office?

Yes.

POP OF

The district court had concluded that Devcom’s evidence
established that Devcom had not infringed a copyright in
the NLFC software, and that the above evidence did not
create an issue of fact regarding this "copying" issue.

The court of appeals agreed. The court reasoned
that when Devcom printed the source code at its Chicago
offices, it had not done so by downloading the NLFC
software program into Devcom’s own computer located in
its Chicago offices. NLFC, 45 F.3d at 235. The court
inferred that instead Devcom had used telephone lines
between its Chicago office computer and Cabrini’s New
York computer, making a copy directly from Cabrini’s own
computer. The court concluded that "the only plausible
inference favoring NLFC that can be drawn from the
evidence produced by NLFC is that Devcom accessed the
memory or hard drive of one of the laboratory computers
directly through a dedicated phone line, and that the
source codes were printed directly from that source.
There is no support here for the inference that this
information originated from one of Devcom’s computers."

i]

Based on the inference it drew from the evidence,
the court of appeals should have concluded that Devcom
"copied" the computer program within the meaning of the
Copyright Act. In other words, Devcom’s printing of the
source code, without permission from NLFC, constituted
infringement of copyright regardless of the exact means by
which Devcom made the copy. In defining what actions
constitute infringement, the Copyright Act does not make
a distinction between unauthorized copying off one’s own
computer and unauthorized copying off of someone else’s
computer by means of telephone or some other electronic
access. NLFC’s summary judgment proof thus created an
issue of fact as to whether Devcom had infringed NLFC’s

copyright.

The court of appeals endorsed the district court’s
conclusion that the Kristofferson testimony did not create
an issue of fact because it failed to contradict Devcom’s
assertion that the only "copy" Devcom had made was the
"print-out" for purposes of modifying the NLFC software.
NLFC, 45 F.3d at 235 n.5. The court’s reasoning misses
the point. Whether or not the print-out was made for the
purpose of modification, it was still unauthorized copying
of NLFC’s software, which was an infringement of NLFC’s
copyright. Thus, the court of appeals’ decision was simply
wrong under the Copyright Act.

‘. NLFC’s license agreements with Cabrini and FSL
did not allow Devcom to copy the NLFC software.

The court of appeals also concluded that NLFC
had failed to show that Devcom’s actions were inconsistent
with the terms of the Cabrini and FSL license agreements.
The question was whether Devcom could claim that those
licenses authorized Devcom’s copying. Devcom admits it

12 )

ieeeeeeaeineimeitiaiiiiiiiliiiiiaiaiaiia

modified and enhanced the NLFC software in Cabrini’s
and FSL’s possession. This conduct is expressly included
in the definition of preparation of a derivative work, and,
therefore, constitutes a violation of the Copyright Act
unless NLFC authorized it. See 17 U.S.C.A. $§ 101, 106
(West 1977 & Supp. 1994).

Both Cabrini’s license and FSL’s license prohibited
Cabrini and FSL from using the NLFC software other than
internally for the licensee’s own business operations. The
licenszs also prohibited Cabrini and FSL from distributing
copies of the NLFC software or allowing third parties to
make copies.’ Cabrini and FSL thus both agreed to keep

2 Relevant terms of the Cabrini license include the

following:

6.2.2. PURCHASER agrees not to copy the
COMPUTER SOFTWARE covered by _ this
Agreement in any manner except as reasonably
necessary for license to use and in the normal

backup procedures, without the express written
consent of [NLFC].

6.2.7. [NLFC] shall give the PURCHASER copies
of the source code corresponding to all LICENSED
SOFTWARE including, but not limited to, each
application, compiler, file structure, data base
handler and file layout corresponding thereto.
PURCHASER may use the foregoing for purposes
of modification, maintenance, enhancement and
integration by PURCHASER. . . . PURCHASER
shall not disclose or transfer any COMPUTER
SOFTWARE source code to third parties.

13

the NLFC software confidential and not disclose it to third
parties. Cabrini agreed not to copy the software except as
specified in its license, and FSL’s contractual right to
secure maintenance from a third party did not grant it or
anyone else legal authority to make copies of the NLFC
software or to maintain a copy on that third party’s com-
puter. Thus, neither Cabrini nor FSL had authority to give
Devcom permission to do what it did.

D. The court of appeals improperly refused to
consider NLFC’s rule 12(n) statement.

The court of appeals erred in affirming the district
court’s ruling that NLFC had not filed a proper statement
of contested facts in compliance with Local Rule 12(n) of
the Northern District of Illinois Local Rules. That rule
requires that any party that opposes a motion for summary
judgment must file a statement listing those material facts
which are in dispute. N.D. Ill. Local R. 12(n). The district
court concluded that NLFC’s rule 12(n) statement failed
to controvert Devcom’s rule 12(m) statement listing of un-
disputed facts. The court asserted that NLFC’s rule 12
statement offered conclusory allegations and misleading
characterizations of the record.

Relevant terms of the FSL license include the following:

7. FSL agrees that [the Software] provided consists
of valuable trade secrets of [NLFC], and FSL
agrees to keep all [NLFC] Software and
documentation confidential and not make any
disclosures to third parties, with the exception of
disclosures made pursuant to FSL’s rights under
this letter agreement.

14

——

NLFC’s rule 12(n) statement did not contain mere
conclusory allegations, and it made clear reference to
deposition testimony which created an issue of fact for
trial. NLFC’s rule 12(n) statement said:

Devcom copied and/or reproduced NLFC’s
software, in violation of NLFC’s rights under
Title 17 of the United States Code.
Devcom’s employee, Jon Kristofferson,
Devcom’s Director of Software Develop-
ment, during his deposition of April 22, 1993
admitted that Devcom copied NLFC’s soft-
ware: see Exhibit A, Kristofferson Deposi-
tion, p. 121, lines 2-13, and Deposition
Exhibit 1. Also, see Exhibit B hereto.

Incredibly, the district court and court of appeals held
NLFC’s response insufficient, and they deemed Devcom’s
statement of material facts as being admitted. The court
of appeals’ decision to uphold the district court’s ruling
disregarding NLFC’s rule 12(n) statement was erroneous,
because NLFC’s statement complied with rule 12(n).

E. The district court erred in deeming as admitted
statements in Devcom’s rule 12(m) statement.

If NLFC’s rule 12(n) statement could be said not to
be in technical compliance with the local rule requirement,
the court of appeals erred in affirming the district court’s
decision to deem admitted the facts set forth in Devcom’s
rule 12(m) statement. Deeming admitted the allegations
in a rule 12(m) statement conflicts with the requirements
of rule 56 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. Thus,
to the extent that Local Rule 12 allows such a practice, the
district court has gone beyond its rule-making authority.

15

The district courts have authority to promulgate
local rules governing practice in their courts. See 28
U.S.C. § 2071 (West 1995); Fed. R. Civ. P. 83. However,
that rule-making authority is limited. The courts’ local
rules must be consistent with the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure and with all Acts of Congress. Jd. If a local
rule is inconsistent with the rules of practice which this
Court has prescribed, this Court has inherent supervisory
power to invalidate those rules. Frazier v. Heebe, 482 US.
641, 645 (1987).

Rule 56 says that summary judgment is proper "if
the pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories, and
admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if any" show
that there is no genuine issue of material fact and that the
moving party is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.
Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c). The "admissions" to which rule 56
refers are admissions made in response to rule 36 of the
Federal Rules. Local rule 12(m) provides for admissions
other than those made in accordance with the procedures
in rule 36 for requesting admissions of fact and responding
to such requests.

The district court’s application of its local rule
12(m) allows the district courts to grant summary judgment
by default. It allows the district court to grant summary
judgment based on the bare allegations contained in a rule
12(m) statement, regardless of whether the record contains
pleadings, depositions, interrogatory answers, admissions,
or affidavits which show that no genuine issue of material
fact exists. Thus, the rule is inconsistent with rule 56.

A local rule that allows a court to grant summary
judgment as a result of the opposing party’s failure to
respond to a motion for summary judgment is inconsistent

16

with rule 56 and therefore improper. See, e.g., Henry v.
Gill Indus., Inc., 983 F.2d 943, 949 (9th Cir. 1993) (local
rule allowing summary judgment when no opposition filed
is inconsistent with rule 56 and violates rule 83); Hibernia
Nat’l Bank v. Administracion Central Sociedad Anonima,
776 F.2d 1277, 1279 (Sth Cir. 1985) (a local rule cannot
permit court to grant a summary judgment merely because
there is no opposition). The court of appeals’ action in
allowing the district court to deem a fact admitted because
it is listed in a rule 12(m) statement is inconsistent with
rule 56 and thus inconsistent with rule 83 and section 2071
of the Code of Judicial Procedure. The court of appeals,
therefore, erred to the extent it affirmed the district court’s
ruling based on the allegations contained in Devcom’s rule
12(m) statement.

CONCLUSION

Because of the broad implications that the court of
appeals’ reported decision has for the software industry,
this Court should grant this petition and correct the court
of appeals’ decision.

Respectfully submitted,

Peter S. Vogel*

Stacy R. Obenhaus

John E. Castafieda
GARDERE & WYNNE, L.L.P.
3000 Thanksgiving Tower
Dallas, Texas 75201

(214) 999-3000

Attorneys for Petitioner
*Counsel of Record

17

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_1598%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
