# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — LeRoy v. Illinois Racing Board

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_1577%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1995
- **Citation:** 515 U.S. 1131

## Text

RE Ne RENN IEE Ik i A SERRE ET IA A: RT LA BEDE E IT TTD ME tr
EPP ASI SATS LAE RALLIES T LIN OR AT REE LTTE IE OE AM

—~ Supreme Court, U.S.
tf FILED

~“941 68 7 MAR 28 1995

OFFICE OF THE CLERA
No.

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1994

Steven Lekoy,
Petitioner,

Vv.

Illinois Racing Board; Thomas J. Garvey,
Ralph M. Gonzales, Farrel J. Griffin, Ray
H. Garrison, and Irwin G. Jann,
individually and in their official capacity
as members of the Illinois Racing Board;
Richard E. Garrett, Robert G. Ward, Timothy
Schmidtz, Frank Desgiamine and Robert
Milburn, individually and in their official
capacity as Stewards,

Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the
Seventh Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

LAWRENCE JAY WEINER
Counsel of Record

SCARIANO, KULA, ELLCH
AND HIMES, CHTD.

Two Prudential Plaza

180 North Stetson Street

Suite 3100

Chicago, Illinois 60601

(312) 565-3100

March, 1995

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether the regulatory scheme of the
Illinois Racing Board that requires harness
horsemen to consent to searches of their
persons, stables, rooms, vehicles, or other
places, and which contains only. one
limitation on the discretion of Illinois
racing officials, viz., that the search be
conducted "within the track enclosure at
which a meeting is held, or other tracks o.
places where horses eligible to race at
said race meeting are kept," survives
constitutional scrutiny, and sufficiently
curtails the unbridled discretion of
racetrack officials in time, place, and
scope to constitute a constitutionally
adequate substitute for a warrant under New

York v. Burger for a search conducted

without probable cause.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED . +--+ = +
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - -+ = >
OPINIONS BELOW .+ +++ + *
SUmESpICviIgng «cee 2 8 oS

CONSTITUTIONAL, STATUTORY AND
PROVISIONS INVOLVED -. - ; -

SGTATHUMENT . «222227278 *

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

CONCLUSION «<-«2+ee8 ee

ii

Page
a terse me
i 22
nie %ieeee
iy
REGULATORY
og eg oe
Pct 7

. tg ae
vey peek

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
cases

Balelo v. Baldridge, 724 F.2d 753, 765-66

(9th Cir.), cert. denied, 467 U.S. 1252
tis. o... . en 6 5 90, 34, 38, 6

Bionic Auto Parts and Sales, Inc. vy.
Fahner, 721 F.2d 1072, 1078-79 (7th Cir.

1983) 2 s - * s * - es > e > . 29, 34, 46

California v. Acevedo, 500 U.S. 565, 111

Seu Bees BOs CAPM A) 2 2 6 6 8 ee 23
Colonnade Catering Corp. v. United States,
aef U.S. 72 (4970) . « « i e's 29

Dimeo v. riffin, 943 F.2d 679, 684 (7th
cir. 1991) (en banc), vacating and
superseding 924 F.2d 664 (7th Cir. 1991),
affirming 721 F.Supp. 958 (N.D. fll.
NEE ee | |

Donovan v. Dewey, 452 U.S. 594, 600, 603
Pn 6S « « «¢ © 6 © «© © « 29, 39, 46

Elkins v. United ~RkaEeR, 364 U.S. 206, 223

ee ew « P ASS ES ee
anse Vv. inois acin Board, 179
I1l.App.3d 353, 359-362

(Ist Dist. 1989) 2S. 26, 36, 39, 42, 43

Harlow_v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800

ie pemeeergaes ; ; : owe

Johnson v. United States, 333 U.S. 10, 13-
Se oe oe tg ltl ltl tl eC

Lesser _v. Espy, 34 F.3d 1301 (7th Cir.
1994) _ eo s ” * a . . * ° we e o eo * 29

Marshall v. Barlow's, Inc., 436 U.S. 307,
311-13, 316-24 (1978) - +++ ss 29, 46

McGann v. Northeast I inois Regional
Commuter Railroad Corporation, 8 F.3d 1174,

National Treasury Employees Union v.- Von
Raab, 489 U.S. 656 (1989) ~- - + «+ + » 24

New York v. aren 482 U.S. 691, 703, 711
(1987) .. « . ; 19, 25, 29, 39, 43

People v. Strauss, 151 I1l1.App.3d 191 (ist
Hist. 1966) . « «+ + + 2 * 40, 41, 43, 46

Schaill Vv. Tippecanoe County School
Corporation, 864 F.2d 1309, 1312-18 (7th
fe, Se 8 6K OO ee Oe ee

Serpas v. Schmidt, 621 F.Supp. 734, 744
(N.D.I11. 1985), aff'd, 808 F. 2a 601, 606
(7th Cir. 1986), superseded and amended,
$27 ¥.24 23, 29°30 (7th Cir. i987), cert.
denied, 485 U.S. 904 (1988) ..- .- passim

Shoemaker v. Handel, 795 F.2d 1136, 1143
(3rd Cir.), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 986
(7908) «© «ee en 6 4 8. Be ee

Skinner Vv. Railway Labor Executive's
Association, 489 U.S. 602 (1989) .. 25

United States Vv. Bis a ae: U.6. 3334 329
(1972) » * 29, 34, 39, 46

iv

V-1 Oi] Company v. State of Wyoming,

Department of Environmental Ouality, 902
F.2d 1482, 1485-1487 (10th Cir.), cert.
denied, 498 U.S. 920 (1990) ... 19, 30

Constitutional Provisions, Statutes and
Regulations

U.S. Constitution, Amendment IV . passim
U.S. Constitution, Amendment XI. passim
U.S. Constitution, Amendment XIV passim

Title 42, United States Code,
a a ee ee passim

Ill. Rev. Stats. 1985,
230 ILCS 59 (c) +. » « @ @e Bee Be

Illinois Racing Board Rule 25.19,
11 Illinois Administrative Code,
Beaecaee « + 6 6 oe wee eee passim

Illinois Racing Board Rule C9.10(a),
11 Illinois Administrative Code,
Section $O9.400 .. «= « « 6, 2, 32

Illinois Racing Board Rule 2c.1,
11 Illinois Administrative Code,
Section 1320.10 . S, 9, 10, 21, 22

Illinois Racing Board Rule 22.3,
11 Illinois Administrative Code,
Meee aem 2902.30 -. « 2 « « a. af

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

= $=

Steven LeRoy,
Petitioner,

Vv.

Illinois Racing Board; Thomas J. Garvey,
Ralph M. Gonzales, Farrel J. Griffin, Ray
H. Garrison, and Irwin G. Jann,
individually and in their official capacity
as members of the Illinois Racing Board;
Richard E. Garrett, Robert G. Ward, Timothy
Schmidtz, Frank Deglamine and Robert
Milburn, individually and in their official

capacity as Stewards,
Respondents.

~ = ==
ee

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the
Seventh Circuit

Petitioner, Steven LeRoy, respectfully
petitions for a writ of certiorari to
review the judgment of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit in

this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court
of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit (App. 1-
32) is reported at 39 F.3d 711 (7th Cir.
1994). The opinions of the district court
(App. 73-95, 145-184, 190-228, 277-292) are
unreported.

JURISDICTION

The United States Court of Appeals for
the Seventh Circuit issued its opinion on
October 27, 1994 (App. 1-32). The order
denying the petition for rehearing with
suggestion of rehearing en banc was entered
on December 28, 1994 (App. 33-34). The
jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under
28 U.S.C. §1254(1).
CONSTITUTIONAL, STATUTORY, AND REGULATORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Fourth Amendment to the Constitution
of the United States, provides:

2

The right of the people to be secure in
their persons, houses, papers, and effects,
against unreasonable searches and seizures,
shall not be violated, and no Warrants
shall issue, but upon probable cause,
supported by Oath or affirmation, and
particularly describing the place to be
searched, and the persons or things to be
seized.

Eleventh Amendment to the Constitution
of the United States, provides:

The Judicial power of the United States
shall not be construed to extend to any
suit in law or equity, commenced or
prosecuted against one of the United States
by Citizens of another State, or by
Citizens or Subjects of any Foreign State.

Fourteenth Amendment to the
Constitution of the United States,
provides, inter alia:

Section 1. All persons born or naturalized
in the United States, and subject to the
jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the
United States and of the State wherein they
reside. No State shall make or enforce any
law which shall abridge the privileges or
jmmunities of citizens of the United
States; nor shall any State deprive any
person of life, liberty, or property,
without due process of law; nor deny to any
person within its jurisdiction the equal
protection of the laws.

Statutes
Title 42, United States Code, Section

3

1983, provides in pertinent part:

Civil action for deprivation of rights

Every person who, under color of any
statute, ordinance, regulation, custom, or
usage, of the State or Territory or the
District of Columbia, subjects, or causes
to be subjected, any citizen of the United
States or other person within’ the
jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation of
any rights, privileges, or immunities
secured by the Constitution and laws, shall
be liable to the party injured in an action
at law, suit in -equity, or other proper
proceeding for redress.

x «xk

Ill. Rev. Stats. 1985, 230 ILCS 59(c),
provides (Emphasis supplied):

The Board, and any person or persons to
whom it delegates this power, is vested
with the power to enter the office, horse
race track, facilities and other places of
business of any organization licensee to
determine whether there has been compliance
with the provisions of this Act and its
rules and regulations.

Regulations |

Illinois Racing Board Rule 25.19, 11
Illinois Administrative Code 1325.190,
provides in pertinent part (Emphasis
supplied):

(a) The Illinois Racing Board or the state
steward investigating for violations of law

4

or the Rules and Regulations of the Board,
shall have the power to permit persons
authorized by either of them to search the
person, or enter and search the stables,
rooms, vehicles, or other places within the
track enclosure at which a meeting is held,
er other tracks or places where horses
eligible to race at said race meeting are
kept, of all persons licensed by the Board,
and of all employees and agents of any race
track operator licensed by said Board; and
of all vendors who are permitted by said
race track operator to sell and distribute
their wares and merchandise within the race
track enclosure, in order to inspect and
examine the personal effects or property on
such persons or kept in such stables,
rooms, vehicles, or other places as
aforesaid. Each of such licensees, in
accepting a license, does thereby
irrevocably consent to such search as
aforesaid and waive (sic) and release (sic)
all claims or possible actions for damages
that he may have by virtue of any action
taken under this rule. Each employee of a
licensed operator, in accepting his
employment, and each vendor who is
permitted to sell ana distribute his
merchandise within the race track
enclosure, does thereby irrevocably consent
to such search as aforesaid and waive and
release all claims or possible actions for
damages they may have by virtue of any
action taken under this rule. Any person
who refuses to be searched pursuant to this
rule may have his license suspended or
revoked.

(b) The Illinois Racing Board delegates
the authority to conduct inspections and

5

searches, under this rule, to the Chief
Investigator of the Illinois Racing Board
and to Special Agents of the Illinois
Bureau of Investigation, or other designees
of the Department of Law Enforcement
assigned, from time to time, assist the
Chief Investigator in his duties. (Source:
Amended May 9, 1975; filed May 15, 1975)

Illinois Racing Board Rule C9.10(a),
11 Illinois Administrative Code, Section
509.100, prevides:

a) . Possession of a Hypodermic Needle or
Syringe Prohibited

No person, except a veterinarian,
shall have in his possession within
‘any racetrack enclosure any hypodermic
syringe or needle or any instrument
capable of being used ffor’ the
injection into any horse of any
chemical substance.

Illinois Racing Board Rule 20.1, 11
Illinois Administrative Code, Section
1320.10, provides:

Improper conduct

No owner, trainer, driver, attendant of a
horse, or any other person shall use
improper language to an official, or be
guilty of any improper conduct toward such
officers or judges or persons serving under
their orders, such improper language or
conduct having reference to the
administration of the course, or of any
race thereon.

Illinois Racing Board Rule 22.3, 11
Illinois Administrative Code, Section
1322.30, provides:

Definition of Suspension

Whenever the penalty of suspension is
prescribed in these rules, it shall be
construed to mean an unconditional
exclusion and disqualification from the
time of receipt of written notice of
suspension from privileges and uses of the
course and grounds of a track during the
progress of a race meeting, unless
otherwise specifically limited when such
suspension is imposed, such as a suspension
from driving. A suspension or expulsion of
either a husband or wife shall apply in
each instance to both the husband and wife.
The suspension becomes effective when
notice is given unless otherwise specified.

STATEMENT
This case involves the search by
Illinois law enforcement agents of a
vehicle driven, but not owned, by
petitioner Steven LeRoy ("Petitioner" or
"LeRoy") on the grounds of Maywood Park

Racetrack, which search allegedly was

"consented" to solely because respondent

|
|
|
|
|
|

Illinois Racing Board ("IRB") Rule 25.19
(text supra at pp: 4-5) required consent as
a condition to the obtainment'= and
maintenance of his racing license (Second
Amended Complt., par. 6; App. 257). There
was no probable cause for said search (Id.;
see also Request for Admission, para. 6, at
App. 236-237, and Defendants’ Response to
Plaintiff's Request for Admission, para. 6,
at App. 250).

Notwithstanding the findings of the
IRB that the syringe and needle found as a
result of the search contained no
prohibited substances and was "clogged";
that "there was no evidence that the needle
was capable of being used for injection
into any horse of any chemical substance"
(Second Amended Complt., par. 7; App. 257-
258), and that the horses driven and to be

driven by petitioner were tested and found

——————

not to have been administered any
prohibited substances or medication (Second
Amended Complt., pars. 8 and 10; App. 258-
259), the petitioner and his horses were
excluded by the respondents Illinois Racing
Board and Stewards and then suspended for
90 days from all tracks licensed by the IRB
for violating IRB Rule C9.10(a) (text supra
at p. 6) (Second Amended Complt., pars. 9-
12; App. 258-263).

In addition, pursuant to IRB Rules
20.1 and 22.3 (text supra at pp. 6-7) and
based upon the previously alleged
unconstitutional search and sanctions,
petitioner was suspended for an additional
30 days for being observed on the premises
of Sportsman's Park during his suspension,
and was concurrently fined $500.00 and

placed on probation through December 31,

1988, for "using offensive and profane

language" towards an IRB official (Second
Amended Complt., par. 13; App. 263-264).

Lastly, on August 4, 1988, allegedly
based upon the aforesaid prior rule
violations and another alleged violation of
Rule 20.1 for the use of "threatening and
profane language," petitioner was suspended
and denied the privileges and use of the
grounds of all racetracks under the
jurisdiction of the IRB for the balance of
the year 1988 (Second Amended Complt. par.
14; App. 264-265).

Petitioner filed his complaints in the
United States District Court for the
Northern District of Illinois, Eastern
Division, invoking jurisdiction under 28
U.S.C. §§ 1331 and 1343 (Complts. par 1;
App. 37, 97, and 254), and alleged that the
aforesaid actions and conduct were in

violation and derogation of his "rights

10

under 42 U.S.C. 1983 and/or the fourth

and/or fourteenth amendments to the
Constitution of the United States" (Second
Amended Complt. par. 16; App. 266); that
the aforesaid IRB Rules, policies, and/or
customs under which LeRoy was "searched,
excluded, suspended, fined, penalized and
denied his privileges and use of the
grounds of all racetracks under the
jurisdiction of the" IRB, were "unlawful,
overbroad, arbitrary, capricious,
unreasonable, a denial of the equal
protection of the laws, and/or otherwise
unconstitutional on their face and/or as
applied to the facts and circumstances of
the case" (Second Amended Complt. par. 17;
App. 266-267); that the respondents denied
petitioner "the equal protection of the
laws by reason that defendants' conduct and

actions were effected for an invidious

11

purpose, namely to punish LeRoy for the
exercise and assertion of his
constitutional rights, and/or deliberately
based upon an unjustifiable standard, i.e.,
the ‘consent ' based upon the same
regulatory program promulgated by the same
defendants held by the District Court and
the Seventh Circuit United States Court of
Appeals to have been unauthorized and
unconstitutional prior and subsequent to

the actions contained herein," (citing

Serpas_v. Schmidt, infra), and that the

sanctions imposed by respondents "against
LeRoy were substantially disparate and
differential to those imposed against other
horsemen similarly situated, as evidenced
by the Stewards' rulings attached to the
Amended Complaint as Group Exhibit "G" and
incorporated herein by this reference, and

the failure of the defendants to impose any

i2

sanctions upon either the owner of the

vehicle involved herein or upon the
passenger of the automobile under whose .
seat the unusable needle and syringe were

located in a pile of rubbish and debris"

(Second Amended Complt. par. 18, App. 267-

269); that the respondents’ knew, or
reasonably should have known that thei:
conduct and actions were in violation of

LeRoy's rights under 42 U.S.C. Sections

1983 and/or the Fourth and/or Fourteenth
Amendments to the Constitution of the

United States and were "on notice" that

their actions violated clearly established

law (Second Amended Complt. par. 19; App.
269-270; see also Request for Admission,

par. 16, at App. 246, and Defendants’
Response to Plaintiff's Request for
Admission at App. 252); and that unless ;

restrained and enjoined, the respondents

13

would continue to violate the aforesaid
constitutional and/or statutory rights of
LeRoy and other owners, drivers and
trainers of standardbred race horses under
their jurisdiction in the State of Illinois
(Second Amended Complt. par. 20, App. 270).

In Count I of the Second Amended
Complaint, petitioner prayed that’ the
district court find, adjudge, and declare
that the conduct and actions of the
respondents were in violation of his
constitutional and/or statutory rights;
that the court order the respondents to
rescind, vacate, remove, and expunge the
exclusions, suspensions, fines and/or
penalty; that petitioner be declared to be
in good standing and reinstated to all
rights and privileges; that a preliminary
and, upon the trial of the cause, a

permanent injunction be issued against the

14

respondent IRB and the individual

defendants, individually and in their
official capacity, restraining and
enjoining them from violating the
constitutional and/or statutory rights
jnvolved herein with respect to LeRoy and
all other owners, drivers, and trainers and
standardbred race horses under their
jurisdiction in the State of Illinois; and
for reasonable attorney's fees and costs
(Second Amended Complt., Count I, Prayer,
App. 271-272).

In addition, in Count II of the Second
Amended Complaint, petitioner alleged that
the conduct and actions of the respondents
were taken under color of state law and
caused the petitioner to be deprived of his
rights, privileges, and immunities secured
by the Constitution and laws of the United

States (Second Amended Complt. par. 22,

15

App. 273); that by reason of respondents’
conduct and actions, the petitioner
suffered substantial damage, loss, and
injury, including loss of income, the
stigma of the suspensions and exclusion,
the deprivation of his career and means of
earning a living, and substantial mental
pain, distress, anguish, and suffering
(Second Amended Complt. par. 23, App. 273-
274); that the individual respondents acted
intentionally and/or "with reckless or
callous indifference to and/or disregard of
LeRoy's federally protected rights"; and
that punitive damages should be imposed
against "all such respondents who are found
upon trial to have had such intention,
indifference to, and/or disregard to the
aforesaid constitutional and/or statutory
rights" (Second Amended Complt. Count II,

par. 24; App. 274). In Count II of the

16

TT

Second Amended Complaint, petitioner sought
compensatory and punitive damages against
each of the respondents (except the
Illinois Racing Board) individually and
personally, as well as attorney's fees and
costs (Second Amended Complt. Prayer, App.
275-276) .

The district court dismissed both the
original and amended complaints (App. 73-
96; 145-184) and a Judgment in a Civil Case
was entered December 20, 1990 (App. 184-
185). Following petitioner's appeal to the
United States Court of Appeals for the
Seventh Circuit in Case No. 91-1166, the
Seventh Circuit's Order remanding the case
for clarification (App. 185-186), the entry
by the district court of its Amended
Memorandum Opinion and Order (App. 187-
229), and petitioner's filing of his Second

Amended Complaint (App. 254-276), the

17

respondents again filed another motion to
dismiss, which motion was granted "with
prejudice" in another Memorandum Opinion
and Order (App. 277-292), Minute Order
(App. 293), and Judgment in a Civil Case
(App. 294).

On October 27, 1994, the United States
Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit
issued its opinion affirming the
dismissals, Circuit Judge Wellford (sitting
by designation) concurring in part and
dissenting in part (App. 1-32). On
December 28, 1994, the Court of Appeals
entered an Order denying the petition for
rehearing with suggestion of r2hearing en
banc (App. 33-34). On January 5, 1995, the
Seventh Circuit issued its Mandate (App.
34-35). On January 9, 1995, the Motion For
Stay of Mandate pending disposition by this

Court was denied (App. 36).

18

REASONS FOR N E TION

This appeal is of exceptional
importance because the decision of the
panel completely vitiates the Fourth
Amendment under the closely regulated
industry exception, and is in apparent
conflict with this Court's decision in New

York v. Burger, the Seventh Circuit's

decisions in Serpas v. Schmidt, Schaill v.

Tippecanoe County School Corporation, and

McGann v. Northeast Illinois Regional

Commuter Railroad Corporation, the Tenth

Circuit's decision in V-1 0il Company v.

State of Wyoming Department of

Environmental Quality, and the Illinois

Appellate Court's decision in Hansen _v.

Illinois Racing Board.
ARGUMENT
The Fourth Amendment has now been

"killed" in closely regulated industries

19

and the exception is now the rule. Unless

reversed, all searches conducted under
"consents" required as a precondition for
participation in closely regulated
industries will be constitutional,
irrespective of the lack of probable cause,
and notwithstanding the absence of any
statutory or regulatory limitations on the
unbridled discretion of the law officials
in time, place, and scope.

This action involves the search by law
enforcement agents of a vehicle driven, but
not owned, by petitioner LeRoy on the
grounds of Maywood Park Racetrack, which
search allegedly was "consented" to solely
because Illinois Racing Board Rule 25.19
(text supra) required consent as a
precondition to the obtainment and
neintenance of his racing license. There

was no probable cause for said search.

SESE a a Ee

Notwithstanding the findings of the
IRB that the syringe and needle found as a
result of the search contained no
prohibited substances and was "clogged,"
that "there was no evidence that the needle
was capable of being used for injection
into any horse of any chemical substance,"
and that the horses driven and to be driven
by LeRoy were tested and found not to have
been administered any prohibited substances
or medication, LeRoy and his horses were
excluded by the defendant Stewards and then
suspended for 90 days from all tracks
licensed by the IRB for violating IRB Rule
c9.10(a) (text supra).

In addition, pursuant to IRB Rules
20.1 and 22.3 (text supra) and pyramided
upon the previously alleged
unconstitutional search and sanctions,

LeRoy was suspended for an additional 30

21

days for being observed on the premises of

Sportsman's Park during his suspension, and
was concurrently fined $500.00 and placed
on probation through December 31, 1988, for
"using offensive and profane language"
towards an IRB official; and then, for
another alleged violation of Rule 20.1 for
the use of "threatening and profane
language," was suspended and denied the
privileges and use of the grounds of all
racetracks under the jurisdiction of the
IRB for the balance of the year 1988.

In a sophistic attempt to support its
sua sponte determination that "the search

did not violate LeRoy's rights at ali"’;

. The panel majority raised and

decided this issue for the first time on
appeal stating (39 F.3d at 713; App. 7-8;
citations omitted): "Although defendants
have not sought to defend Rule 25.19, the
merits of the constitutional claim are an
antecedent issue whenever the defendants
plead immunity, one we may consider without
regard to the litigants' tactical

avoid the qualified immunity and implied

consent issues, further “bury"™ Serpas v.
Schmidt, 827 F.2d 23, 34 (7th Cir. 1987),
cert. denied, 485 U.S. 904 (1988)7, and
circumvent the fact that the search of the
truck driven by LeRoy was without probable
cause’, the panel majority relies upon its

n banc decision in Dimeo v. Griffin, 543

decisions."

*By the blind "luck" of the law, two
of petitioner's Seventh Circuit panel,
Circuit Judges Posner and Easterbrook, had
dissented from the denial of rehearing en
banc in the Serpas case.

. The district court granted
respondents' motion to dismiss the Second
Amended Complaint, which alleged that there
was no probable cause for the search; see
also Request for Admission and Defendants'
Response to Plaintiff's Request for
Admission (App. 236-237; 250).
Inexplicably, the majority opinion makes no
reference to this fact. Moreover, contrary
to the inference intended (39 F.3d at 713;

App.9), in California v. Acevedo, 500 U.S.
S65, 111 8.Ct. i982, i993 {i991) this

el

Court: iterated the need for probable cause
in vehicular searches.

23

F.2d 679 (7th Cir. 1991) (en banc) )‘.

However, although Dimeo does establish
the Seventh Circuit's most recent divided
determination that Illinois horse racing
officials can constitutionally promulgate
rules requiring random urinalysis testing
without person-specific cause or warrants
under the closely regulated industry

exception®, the case did not consider or

* The majority panel also applied

Dimeo retroactively purportedly under
Harper v. Virginia Department of Taxation,
113 S.Ct. 2510 (1993), and Lockhard v.
Fretwell, 113 S.Ct. 838, 844 (1993). The
dissent does not accept such an application
(39 F.3d at 718; App. 31), Wellford,
Circuit Judge, concurring in part and
dissenting in part. In addition,
Petitioner respectfully contends that these
cases appear to apply the doctrine only to
determinations of and by this Court.

; For this reason, the issue of

whether the Court's "judgmental, forward-
looking, balance-striking, probablistic
assessment" in Dimeo (943 F.2d at 681)
eviscerating certain constitutional
protections is in consonance with National

Treasury Employees Union v. Von Raab, 489
U.S. 656 (1989) and Skinner v. Railway

24

decide the issue involved in this case,
i.e., whether the statutory or regulatory
scheme constituted "a constitutionally
adequate substitute for a warrant" by
"carefully" limiting the discretion of the
race track officials "in time, place, and

scope." New York v. Burger, 482 U.S. 691,

703 (1987), citing United States v.

Biswell, 406 U.S. 311, 315 (1972).
Significantly and determinatively, in
Dimeo the IRB's newly promulgated drug
testing regulations more than adequately
limited the unbridled discretion of the
racing officials. The urine testing was

truly randon, and "carefully"

j 's sociation, 489 U.S. 602
(1989), wherein the regulations narrowly
and specifically defined the permitted
intrusions, will have to wait resolution by
this Court.

circumscribed.° To make the obvious

° The Illinois Racing Board's
guidelines for implementation of its
substance abuse rule were summarized by the
Court of Appeals in its initial decision in
Dimeo, 924 F.2d, 664, 668 (7th Cir. 1991),
as follows:

A. Random Testing

The Board determines the volume and
frequency of random testing at each race
meet, as well as which selected racing
programs are subject to testing.
Guidelines at 2. The names of all
licensees who appear as participants on the
official program are placed in a _ locked
container secured by the race stewards, the
stewards being the on-site state
supervisors of the racing meet. A steward
then may draw up to five names of licensees
from the container, with a representative
of the Guild, the Illinois Horseman's
Benevolent and Protective Association, or
the Illinois Harness Horseman's Association
having been invited to witness the
selection process. Rule § 508.80(c).
Following the drawing the stewards locate
and notify the licensees selected for
random testing. Each licensee drawn must
report to the designated sample collection
area and provide a urine sample to the
stewards or their designee before the last
race on that day's racing program. Rule §
508.80(da); Guidelines at 2.

No licensee is required to provide a
sample more than three times in a race

explicit, the search of the truck driven by
LeRoy was not random, and the regulations
involved in this case (IRB Rule 25.19,
supra) contain no restrictions whatsoever
except as to place, i.e., the searches must
be conducted "...within the track enclosure
at which a meeting is held, or other tracks
or places where horses eligible to race at
said race meeting are kept," which is not
a meaningful or sufficient restriction.

Moreover, despite the panel majority's sua

sponte proclamation of Illinois law that

meet. Rule § 508.80(e); Guidelines at 2.
Judge Shadur found that the Board has now
agreed, though it does not appear in the
Rule or Guidelines, that a licensee will
not be randomly tested more than five times
per year. If a licensee's name is drawn
more than three times in any meet (or
presumably more than five times in any
year), the stewards will disregard the
selection, return the name to the
container, and draw another name. Rule §
508.80(e); Guidelines at 2-3. To implement
that limitation the. stewards maintain a
confidential log of all licensees selected
for random testing. Id. at 3.

27

"230 ILCS 5/9(c) unquestionably authorizes
Rule 25.19 to the extent it applies to
vehicular searches on the grounds of race
tracks" (39 F.3d at 713; App.9), the
statute does not authorize the search of
vehicles, but only "to enter the office,
horse race track, facilities, and other
places of business of any organization
licensee...." In this respect these
regulations, like those in Serpas relating
to dormitory rooms (827 F.2d at 28), lack

statutory authority.’

7 It is noted that the Illinois

Appellate Court in Hansen v. Illinois
Racing Board, 179 I11.App.3d 353, 359-362
(lst Dist. 1989), did not make such an

interpretation of [Illinois law when it
found the regulation to be unconstitutional
on its face. Although it is acknowledged
that the Illinois Appellate Court is not
the highest State court, petitioner
respectfully submits that the decision has
(as acknowledged by respondents below) been
followed by the respondents in Illinois;
and that there is now a direct and apparent
conflict existing.

28

Incongruously, the panel majority then
cites New York v. Burger, 482 U.S. 691
(1987) (automobile junkyard); Donov v.
Dewey, 452 U.S. 594 (1981) (coal mine);

United States v. Biswell, 406 U.S. 311

(1972) (gun dealer); Colonnade Catering

Corp. v. United States, 397 U.S. 72 (1970)

(liquor dealer); and Lesser _v. Espy, 34

F.3d 1301 (7th Cir. 1994) (rabbitry), to
support its position (39 F.3d at 713; App.
9-10). Every one of these cases, as well
as Marshall v. Barlow's Inc., 436 U.S. 307,
311-13, 316-24 (1978), and the Seventh
Circuit's decisions in Serpas, 827 F.2d at
29-30, Bionic Auto Parts and Sales ne. ¥.
Fahner, 721 F.2d 1072, 1078-79 (7th Cir.
1983), and Schaill v. Tippecanoe County

School Corporation, 864 F.2d 1309, 1316-18
(7th Cir. 1988), twenty years of

established precedent inexplicably ignored

by the panel majority, require either the
statute or regulations to "carefully" limit
the discretion of the searchers "in time,

place, and scope." Accord: V-1 Oil
Company v. State of Wyoming, Department of

Environmental Quality, 902 F.2d 1482, 1485-
1487 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 428 U.S.

920 (1990), and Balelo v. Baldridge, 724

F.2d 753, 765-66 (9th Cir.), cert. denied,

467 U.S. 1252 (1984), involving searches of

fishing boats. Cf. Shoemaker v. Handel,
795 F.2d 1136, 1143 (3rd Cir.), cert.

denied, 479 U.S. 986 (1986), where the
challenge to the regulatory scheme
subjecting jockeys to breathalyzer and
urine tests was upheld against a Fourth
aueninent challenge because the discretion
of the officials conducting the searches
was appropriately | limited in and by the

regulations.

30

Ca

The panel majority then attacks the
Seventh Circuit's recent decision in McGann

v. Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter

Railroad Corporation, 8 F.3d 1174, 1178-
1186 (7th Cir. 1993), which contains an

exhaustive analysis of both the issues of
implied consent and constitutional
limitations with respect to warrantless
searches. In addition to incomprehensibly
being oblivious to the danger of METRA
train engineers on drugs (apparently
inconsequential when compared to a horse on
prohibited medication), the majority panel
diminishes and degrades the extensive
analysis and holdings of the case by the
following summary disposition (39 F. 3d at
714; ane. 11-12): ‘

Commuter R.R., 8 F.3d 1174 (7th Cir.
1993), on which LeRoy relies, deals

with an attempt to use the public
ownership of real estate as a basis to
require all entrants to consent to

31

search; it has nothing to do with
administrative searches on the
premises of tightly regulated
industries. We do not think that the
use of Rule 25.19 to authorize
searches of licensees' vehicles at
racetracks is open to _- serious
question.
Even a cursory perusal of McGann reveals
that the case is in clear conflict with the
LeRoy decision. This Court should not
countenance such chicanery.
In addition, Petitioner submits that
the search herein was conducted on April

27, 1987} the Stewards' rulings issued

April 27 to June 22, 1987, and August 4,

1988, and the IRB "Order" rendered June 6,

1987. However, almost two years earlier,

on July 11, 1985, the district court, in
the case of Serpas v. Schmidt, 621 F.Supp.

734, 744 (N.D. Ill. 1985), issued a
Memorandum Opinion and permanently enjoined
the respondent Illinois Racing Board, the

former and then present members thereof,

32

and the Director of the Illinois State

Department of Law Enforcement, stating,

inter alia:

For the foregoing reasons the Court
declares: that Thoroughbred Rule 322
and Harness Racing Rule 25.19 are
unconstitutional under the Fourth and
Fourteenth Amendments to the United
States Constitution.

The Court permanently enjoins
defendants from engaging in these acts
pursuant to the Rules:

a. conducting or
authorizing searches and seizures
of the persons and residential
quarters of plaintiffs and the
class they represent without
warrants and probable cause;

b. conducting or
authorizing investigatory stops
of plaintiffs and the class they
represent without at least a
reasonable suspicion, based on
specific articulated facts that
the person stopped is engaged in
criminal activity; and

ts Conditioning the
issuance of occupation licenses
upon applicants' forfeiture of
their constitutional right to be
free from the searches authorized
by Rules 322 and 25.19.

.

33

The district court in Serpas based its

opinion and order in part upon a
determination that under U.S. v. Biswell,

406 U.S. 311, 315 (1972), Donovan v. Dewey,
452 U.S. 594, 600, 603 (1981), and other

cases cited therein, the regulatory scheme
was inadequate, i.e., that in terms of the
"certainty and regularity" of application,
IRB Rule 25.19 did not provide a
"constitutionally adequate substitute for

a warrant," Id. at 740, citing Balelo v.

Baldridge, 724 F.2d 753, 765 (9th Cir.) ,
cert. denied, 467 U.S. 1252 (1984). The
district court also cited Bionic Auto Parts
and Sales, Inc. - Fahner, 721 F.2d 1072,
1078-79 (7th Cir. 1983), wherein the
Seventh Circuit noted that:
(T)he degree and extent of past
regulation comprise but a part,
albeit a substantial part, of a
determination of a "reasonable

expectation of privacy” under the
Fourth Amendment. Otherwise, no

34

RNR ES. a A

protections at all would be
appropriate in closely regulated
industries. The Fourth Amendment
requires that, a determination of
the "reasonableness" of the
intrusion be made. Even in
closely regulated industries, the
inspection provisions still ‘must
be tailored to the state's proper
objectives, and they must
minimize the dangers inherent in
the unbridled exercise of
administrative discretion.

Based upon the aforesaid precedent,
the district court in Serpas found the
following with respect to the regulatory
procedures and practices of searches

conducted by the respondent IRB and

a - -

Illinois State Department of Law
Enforcement (621 F.Supp. at 740-741):

In contrast to the Balelo vy.
Baldridge, 724 F.2d 753, 765-66
(9th Cir. 1984) regulations,
however, the agents who conduct
the living quarters’ searches are
not given written manuals, but
"given instructions" on "how to
carry out the searches." No
further details of the nature of
the instructions are offered.
The search procedures include:
having the agent identify

35

oo

himself; signing a written
consent form or where no consent
is given, the- individual is
reported to the steward; and
providing individuals with a
receipt if the agents take any
property. Generally, rooms are
searched only when an occupant is
present and the agent has
permission to enter.

These practices, however, do not
impose any meaningful limitations
on the agents' discretion. The
searches may be focused or random
and are not’ restricted to
particular items in those areas
which are in plain view. Unlike
the observers in Balelo, the
agents here may search
plaintiffs' living quarters and
personal effects as extensively
as they wish. Plainly, the
agents have an unrestricted scope
of search; requiring them to hand
out receipts or consent forms
does not affect or limit the
agent's discretion to undertake
an exhaustive search of every
personal effect in an
individual's room. These
practices fall short as an
adequate substitute for a
Warrant. (Id. at 740-741).

On December 19, 1986, four months

before the IRB and Illinois State

Department of Law Enforcement searched the

36

truck driven by petitioner, the Seventh

Circuit affirmed the district court in
Serpas, 808 F.2d 601 (7th Cir. 1986), which
opinion was superseded and amended by the
opinion published at 827 F.2d 23 (7th Cir.
1987), cert. denied, 485 U.S. 904 (1988),
wherein the Court of Appeals held (827 F.2d
at 29-30):

The race track employees
consented to the searches based
on a regulatory program that
required them to give their
consent as a condition of
employment. As we have already
found, however, the regulations
were not authorized by statute
and were unconstitutional because
neither the regulations nor the
governing statute confined the
discretion of the state officials
conducting the searches. Thus,
the validity of the employees’
consent was vitiated by the fact
that it was premised on the
existence of the otherwise
unauthorized and unconstitutional
regulations.

Moreover, both opinions of the Seventh

Circuit held that the regulatory scheme

37

A in St iil ho A

fell short of adequately substituting for
a warrant, stating (808 F.2d at 606; 827
F.2d at 29):

Hence, we agree with the district
court that neither the statute
nor the regulatory scheme here is
sufficient to except these
searches from the general rule
that searches conducted without
the safeguard of a warrant are
unreasonable and violate the
Fourth Amendment, see Johnson v.
United States, 333 U.S. 10, 13-
14, 68 S.Ct. 367, 368-369, 92
L.Ed. 436 (1948).

Significantly and determinatively, in
Hansen v. Illinois Racing Board, 179
I11.App.3d 353 (1st Dist. 1989), involving
strikingly similar facts, except that there
was purportedly an informant, albeit
unidentified, that was relied upon in
Hansen in an unsuccessful attempt to
establish probable cause, the Illinois
appellate court relied upon the exact same
criteria and authority upon which the

district court and Court of Appeals in

38

Serpas based their opinions, viz., that the

statute did not provide for "a sufficiently
regular and certain application, as an

adequate substitute for a warrant," citing

Serpas, supra; U.S. v. Biswell, supra;

Donovan _v. Dewey, supra; and New York v.
Burger, supra. As the appellate court in

Hansen stated (179 I11.App.3d at 359):

We find, however, that Rule 25.19
fails to meet the third
requirement, since the Rule does
not properly limit the discretion
of the inspecting officers. For
instance, the Rule fails to
provide the proper procedure for
the officer to follow when the
employee refuses to consent to or
objects to part of the search, as
occurred in the instant case when
plaintiff refused to consent to
a search of the truck. Nor does
the Rule set forth the procedure
for the employee to follow who
decides not to consent to the
requested search. In addition,
the Rule fails to set forth
appropriate times for inspections
or the frequency of inspections,
or the proper method for choosing
who is subject to a search at a
given time.

39

<< |

z**zeek

We believe that in the interest
of uniformity in application, the
Rule should set forth what is the
proper procedure in the case of
refusal to consent to such a
search, and further should
provide for the proper times and
frequency of searches. For those
reasons, we believe that the Rule
fails to meet the third
constitutional requirement, and
that the trial court was correct
in finding the Rule violative of
the Constitution.

Moreover, the respondents' reliance

upon People v. Strauss, 151 I11.App.3d 191

(lst Dist., December 31, 1986), is

misplaced. Although rejecting the district

court's conclusions, the Strauss court did
not refer to the Seventh Circuit's opinion
in Serpas (808 F.2d 601), issued 12 days
prior. In addition, the Illinois appellate
court in Strauss expressly did not find
Rule 25.19 constitutional on its face. In
fact, the Illinois appellate court stated

(151 I1l1.App.3d at 194):

40

We also note that we do not

decide whether Thoroughbred Rule

322 is constitutional on its

face. Our decision is limited to

the particular facts of this case

as they apply to the defendant.

The Illinois appellate court found, under
the specific facts and circumstances of the
Strauss case, that the search was
reasonable, noting that "this particular
search occurred within the track enclosure
and occurred only after racetrack officials
noticed irregular betting patterns on the
horse that (the criminal) defendant was
riding." (151 I1l.App.3d at 198).

In the present case, there are no
facts whatsoever asserted or in the record
establishing any reason, justification,
excuse, or cause (probable or otherwise) to
search the vehicle LeRoy was driving!
Without further fact-based probable cause,

it is clear that the search based solely on

statutory "consent" was constitutionally

41

invalid under federal law at the time it
was conducted, which federal law had been
reaffirmed by respondents themselves.
However, whether the evidence obtained
as a result of the Strauss search was or
was not admissible in that Illinois State
Court criminal proceeding is irrelevant,
because these respondents were personally
"on notice," i.e., admittedly had actual
notice that their actions constituted a
violation of a clearly established federal

law.* Serpas, 621 F.Supp. at 742-43, and

. The Second Amended Complaint
expressly alleges that the respondents
knew, or reasonably should have known, that
their conduct and actions were in violation
of the plaintiff's rights under 42 U.S.C.
Sections 1983 and/or the fourth and
fourteenth amendments to the Constitution
of the United States, and were "on notice"
that their actions violated clearly
established. law (Second Amended Complt.
par. 19, App. 269-270). More
significantly, the respondents
affirmatively admitted that they had actual
knowledge of the Serpas decisions on or
about the dates the decisions were issued

42

808 F.2d at 606-607. Finally, the Hansen
court distinguished Strauss, stating (179
I11.App.3d at 360):

[Wje decline to follow’ the
analysis in Strauss, since the
court in that case _ failed
specifically to address the
constitutional requirement set
forth in New York v. Burger
(1987), 482 U.S. 691, 96 L.Ed.2d
601, 107 S.Ct. 2636, that the
regulatory statute properly limit
the discretion-of the inspecting
officers.

= €¢ @

The Court in Strauss, however,
failed to recognize that the
court in Shoemaker, in finding
the breathalyzer and urine tests
constitutional, relied to a
significant extent on its finding
that the regulatory statute
authorizing the tests left "no
discretion" in the inspecting
officer who conducts the
searches. The court in Shoemaker
found that the jockeys were
subject to daily breathalyzer
tests, and that the urine tests

by the respective courts under paragraph 16
of the Second Amended Complaint. (See
Defendants' Response to Plaintiff's Request
for Admission, par. 16, App. 246 and 252).

43

were part of a daily program at
the track, which involved a
random method of choosing those
who were to be searched. The
choice of who would be tested was
made by a lottery, and in no way
was left to the discretion of the

searching officer. (Shoemaker,
795 F.2d at 1143.) The analysis
in Shoemaker, therefore, is not
contrary to the analysis employed
in the instant case, and we are
unpersuaded by defendant's
argument that Strauss should be
relied upon here.

The respondents asserted that
petitioner "consented" to the search, and
therefore waived his fourth amendment
rights (R. 63, p. 9), notwithstanding the
amendment to the complaint alleging that
petitioner "consented" to the search
"solely by reason that Rule 25.19 required
him to give his consent as a condition to
the obtainment and maintenance of his
racing license" (Second Amended Complaint,
par. 6, App. 257), and the express and

repeated rejection of this specious

44

argument in Serpas v. Schmidt, 621 F.Supp.
at 742-743, 808 F.2d at 606-607, and 827

F.2d at 29-30, wherein the Seventh Circuit
stated that "the validity of the consent
was vitiated by the fact that it was
premised on the existence of the otherwise
unauthorized and unconstitutional
regulations." The Court of Appeals in
Serpas carefully analyzed the case law
relating to implied consent and reaffirmed
these principles in Schaill v. Tippecanoe
County School Corporation, 864 F.2d at
1312-13, stating, inter alia: "As we have
noted, this consent in itself does not
render these procedures any the less
'searches' subject to the fourth
amendment." How many more times must the
same field be replowed; this horse is dead

and should be buried once and for all time.

45

Even after the district court's
permanent injunction, the Seventh Circuit
initial decision in Serpas, and the
Illinois appellate court's decision in
Hansen, the IRB Rule 25.19 remained and
today remains devoid of any standards,
definition, limitations, or other
safeguards bridling the exercise of
administrative discretion. And while the
respondents may have been able to prevail
against a motion to suppress evidence
obtained under Rule 25.19, as applied, in
a criminal proceeding in the [Illinois
courts (People _v. Strauss, supra), they
could have had no doubt whatsoever as to
how they should have fared before the
federal courts, since they already had that

experience--no "shadows" in that tribunal

except those of Serpas, Bionic Auto Parts,
w' c., Balelo _ v.

46

Baldridge, Donovan v. Dewey, and U.S. v.

Biswell--going all the way back to 1972!
These are the ghosts of legal precedent
past that definitively and fatefully
foretold the future.

As to the remaining issues, petitioner
relies upon and incorporates the opinion of
Judge Wellford, Circuit Judge, sitting by
designation in this case and concurring in
part and dissenting in part (39 F.3d at
716-718; App. 20-32), and stating, inter
alia (39 F.3d at 717, n. 3):

As to the issue of LeRoy's
consent to the search in this
case, this court held in McGann
Vv. Northeast oo Regional
Commuter R.R. Corp., 8 F.3d 1174,
1184 (7th Cir.1993), that “if
there was an unlawful seizure,
{the issue was whether }
plaintiff's conduct was
‘sufficiently an act of free will
to purge the primary taint' of
the unlawfulness."

In discussing the qualified immunity issue,

Judge Welford further stated (39 F.2d at

47

717-718; emphasis in original):

In testing defendants’ claim
of qualified immunity, we look to
see if "constitutional standards
{were} clearly established at the

time in question." Rakovich v.
Wade, 850 F.2d 1180, 1210 (7th

' Cir.), cert. denied, 488 U.S.
968, 109 S.Ct. 497, 102 L.Ed.2d
534 (1988). Harlow Vv.
Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800, S18,
202 &.Ct. 2727, 2738, 73 L.EBd.2d
396 (1982), discussed qualified
immunity in the context of
whether the state official
-involved "could be fairly said to
‘know’ that the law forbade

conduct not previously identified
as unlawful." (emphasis added).
In April of 1987, I believe that

adefendants reasonably might be
said to have known or deemed to
have realized that the conduct
involved in an arbitrary search
of LeRoy was unlawful or
unconstitutional. Defendants
were charged with knowledge that
a federal district court had
enjoined them from engaging in
this kind of conduct as unlawful
and that this court had affirmed
that decision, and that, again,
ratified those decisions before
the suspension of LeRoy had
expired. They knew, or should
have known, the Illinois state
trial judge had agreed with that
rationale in Strauss, but this
decision had been reversed on anda

48

limited to the particular (and
dissimilar) facts in that case.
They may have been aware that
another Illinois state judge in
Hansen had found Rule 25.19
unconstitutional on its’ face
before the suspension was lifted.

Based on these facts and the
state of the law in 1987, I would
find it error for the district
judge to have granted a Fed. R.
Civ. P. 12(b)(6) motion in favor
of defendants on the basis of
qualified immunity. It may be
that defendants will ultimately
prevail on this defense, but the
dismissal was premature, I
believe, under the circumstances.

I am mindful that much
later, in 1991, a divided en banc
court in Dimeo v. Griffin, 943
F.2d 679 (7th Cir. 1991), held
"that racing officials {in
Illinois} do not need person-
specific cause, or warrants
before they may conduct drug
tests of persons associated with
the sport." I do not agree that
Dimeo (decided in 1991) may be
retroactively applied in this
case to consideration of a claim
of qualified immunity to a 1987
episode, which claim must take
into account the state of the law
as to asserted violation of
constitutional rights’ in 1987.
While Serpas, 827 F.2d at 23, may
be deemed no longer

49

authoritative" by the majority
(as of 1991), for the reasons I
have stated, I believe it was
sufficiently authoritative (and
its injunction binding to
preclude a Rule 12(b)(6) motion
in this case.

I, therefore, dissent from

the Rule 25.19 holding only and

the grant of qualified immunity

under the circumstances.

Therefore, petitioner respectfully
submits that a survey of the legal
landscape at the time of the instant
search, the Stewards' rulings, and IRB
"Order" involved in the present case,
establishes that the actions and conduct of
the defendants violated clearly established
federal law, established against themselves
in Serpas, and set forth in other prior
precedent and decisions of the district
court for the Northern District of
Illinois, the United States Court of
Appeals for the Seventh Circuit, and this

Supreme Court of the United States.

50

Significantly, with respect to the issue of
qualified immunity in the initial Serpas
case, ‘the Illinois Racing Board argued
qualified immunity as a defense under

Harlow v. Fitzgerald, supra. How many

times will the Illinois Racing Board be
allowed to plead ignorance. In the words
of the immortal Yogi Berra, "It's déja vu
all over again."

Accordingly, the Seventh Circuit's
opinion in this case directly conflicts
with and misconstrues and incorrectly
applies this Court's applicable precedent
and decisions, its own opinions and those
of other Circuit Courts, and the opinion of
the Illinois appellate court on the exact
Same issues, is erroneous, and constitutes
a misapprehension of the controlling

principles of Fourth Amendment law.

Lastly, the importance of this case

cannot be diminished. The decision affects
not only the horse racing industry and the
Significant public interest involved
therein, including substantial revenues
generated for State and local governments
thereby, and all other closely regulated
industries, but all other federal, state
and local units of government.

If "consent" for future searches can
be obtained as a precondition for a racing
license, such forfeiture of constitutional
rights can be required for all governmental
employees and private citizens seeking
governmental rights or privileges. If
searches are not restricted as previously
required by this Court; if there are no
limits on the exercise of discretion by
governmental law enforcement officials --

we are all in jeopardy.

52

CONCLUSION

In Elkins v. United States, 364 U.S.
206, 223 (1960), this Court recalled the

following eloquent admonition:

"In a government of laws," said
Mr. Justice Brandeis, "existence
of the government will be
imperilled if it fails to observe
the law scrupulously. Our
government is the potent, the
omnipresent teacher. For good or
for ill, it teaches the whole
people by its example. Crime is
contagious. If the government
becomes a lawbreaker, it breeds
contempt for law; it invites
every man to become a law unto
himself; it invites anarchy. To
declare that in the
administration of the criminal
law the end justifies the means--
to declare that the government
may commit crimes in order to
secure the conviction of a
private criminal--would bring
terrible retribution. Against
that pernicious doctrine this
court should resolutely set its
face." 277 U.S., at page 485, 48
S.Ct. at page 575 (Dissenting
opinion.)

Petitioner respectfully submits that the

respondents' constitutional transgressions

53

should not go unrecognized or unremedied.

The petition for a writ of certiorari

should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

LAWRENCE JAY WEINER
Counsel of Record

SCARIANO, KULA, ELLCH
AND HIMES, CHTD.

Two Prudential Plaza

180 North Stetson St.

Suite 3100

Chicago, Illinois

60601-6714

(312) 565-3100

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_1577%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
