# Amicus Curiae Brief — Rahn v. Drake Center, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_1558%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1995
- **Citation:** 515 U.S. 1142

## Text

f j ™ . : (O 26g

wT ;
No. 94-1668 | OFFICE OF 1HE CLERIG
—— a

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

ROSEMARY RAHN,
Petitioner,
Vv.

DRAKE CENTER,
Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United
States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE A BRIEF
AMICUS CURIAE AND BRIEF OF THE
NATIONAL EMPLOYMENT LAWYERS ASSOCIATION
AS AMICUS CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER ROSEMARY RAHN

Of Counsel: MARY LEE LEAHY
JOSEPH A. GOLDEN Counsel of Record
President LEAHY LAW OFFICES

NATIONAL EMPLOYMENT 308 East Canedy
LAWYERS ASSOCIATION Springfield, IL 62703-2202
2000 Town Center, Ste. 900 (217) 522-4411

Southfield, MI 48075

JANETTE JOHNSON
Amicus Chairperson
3614 Fairmount Street
Suite 100

Dallas, TX 75219

Midwest Law Printing Co., Chicago 60611, (312) 321-0220

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

ROSEMARY RAHN,

Petitioner,
Vv.

DRAKE CENTER,
Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United
States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

MOTION OF THE NATIONAL EMPLOYMENT
LAWYERS ASSOCIATION FOR LEAVE TO FILE
A BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER ROSEMARY RAHN

The National Employment Lawyers Association moves
for leave to file the attached Brief Amicus Curiae in sup-
port of the Petitioner, Rosemary Rahn. Consent to the
filing of said brief has been obtained from all parties.

The National Employment Lawyers Association, (herein-
after referred to as “NELA”), is an organization of Plain-
tiffs Employment Lawyers which consists of approximately
1800 members nationwide. One of the purposes of NELA
is to protect and defend the interests of plaintiffs involved
in employment disputes including employment discrimina-
tion suits under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964,
42 U.S.C. Section 2000e, 42 U.S.C. Section 1981 and 42
U.S.C. Section 1983.

NELA is not a party to this suit. However, this case
raises issues regarding the type of speech that is pro-

~

tected by the First Amendment to the United States Con-
stitution under 42 U.S.C. Section 1983. NELA member
attorneys represent dozens of plaintiffs similarly situated
to Petitioner Rahn herein. As Amicus Curiae, NELA
respectfully seeks to assist this Court in its understand-
ing of the importance of the issues raised in this case,
the consequences of the decision in this case on current-
ly pending employment discrimination cases and the need
for hearing by this Court.

In the attached Brief Amicus Curiae NELA seeks to
demonstrate why this case should be heard by this Court
on the following grounds: 1) the importance of the issues
raised; 2) the importance of those issues to all public em-
ployees in this nation; 3) the inconsistent rulings among
the Courts of Appeal.

For the foregoing reasons, this motion for leave to file
the attached Brief Amicus Curiae should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Of Counsel: MARY LEE LEAHY
JOSEPH A. GOLDEN Counsel of Record
President LEAHY LAW OFFICES

NATIONAL EMPLOYMENT 308 East Canedy
LAWYERS ASSOCIATION Springfield, IL 62703-2202
2000 Town Center, Ste. 900 (217) 522-4411

Southfield, MI 48075

JANETTE JOHNSON
Amicus Chairperson
3614 Fairmount Street
Suite 100

Dallas, TX 75219

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLES OF AUTHORITICS .........00000008
EE Ws er abeenee wkd eee dT Geers s 6s

I. This Case Merits Review By This Court
Due To The Importance Of The Issues
Raised And The Effect Upon Public Em-
i eUh ne teWd wae h ses kode bee ows

Il. This Case Merits Review By This Court
To Resolve Differences In Holdings In
Different Courts Of Appeals ..........

IR CRRA een ape

il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PAGE
Connick v. Myers, 461 U.S. 188 (1988)........ 5
Givhan v. Western Lines Consolidated School Dis-

trict, 400 U.S. 410 CBA) 20. ccc scccccccsess 9
Greenberg v. Kometko, 811 F.2d 1057 (7th Cir.

FEO iy Bip Chime yr pe uaa pS 9, 10
Knapp v. Whitaker, 759 F.2d 827 (7th Cir. 1985) . 9
McGill v. Board of Ed. of Pekin Elementary Sch.,

GR FAG Teh (Ti Cir. FTE) cc ccccennvees 8
McLaughlin v. Tilendis, 398 F.2d 287 (7th Cir.

EE A ados Suse bd cree aan elauaaes 8
Muller v. Conlisk, 429 F.2d 901 (7th Cir. 1970) .. 8
Pickering v. Board of Ed. of Tp. H.S. Dist. 205,

HU., SO U.S. GES (29GB)... cccecess 1, 2, 3, 4,5
Rookard v. Health and Hospitals Corp., 710 F.2d

2 ke yr ere rr err rrr ar 10

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

ROSEMARY RAHN,
Petitioner,
V.

DRAKE CENTER,
Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United
States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

BRIEF OF THE NATIONAL EMPLOYMENT
LAWYERS ASSOCIATION AS AMICUS CURIAE IN
SUPPORT OF PETITIONER ROSEMARY RAHN

The National Employment Lawyers Association (NELA)
submits this Brief as Amicus Curiae contingent upon the
granting of the foregoing motion for leave to file said
Brief. The interest of the Amicus Curiae is stated in that
motion.

ARGUMENT
Introduction

NELA adopts the facts as set forth in the Petition for
Writ of Certiorari.

In Pickering v. Board of Ed. of Tr. H.S. Dist. 205, Ill.,
391 U.S. 563 (1968), this Court followed the usual approach
in First Amendment cases: 1) ail persons have the right
to freedom of speech; 2) the State can limit that right

sali

for a compelling state reason, 3) any limitations on free-
dom of speech must be drawn as narrowly as possi-
ble. This has become known as the Pickering balancing
test.

It must be emphasized that this balancing test issue
would not be before this Court if this Court grants the
Petition because the Respondent did not argue at the Dis-
trict Court level that the Respondent had a compelling
reason that justified limiting Plaintiff's speech. (Fn.7,
Panel Opinion).

Thus, the issue in this case is whether Plaintiff's speech
was protected by the First Amendment to the United
States Constitution. In a two to one decision the Court
of Appeals determined that the speech was not so pro-
tected.

It should also be noted there is little or no dispute as
to the actual content of the speech for most of it was con-
tained in a written press release.

I. This Case Merits Review By This Court Due To The Im-
portance Of The Issues Raised And The Effect Upon
Public Employees.

In June, 1968, public employees throughout this nation
rejoiced, for this Court held the First Amendment pro-
tected a public employee’s speech on matters of public
concern. Pickering v. Board of Ed. of Tp. H.S. Dist. 205,
Ill., 391 U.S. 563 (1968).

On August 8, 1994, the Court of Appeals for the Sixth
Circuit, in the two-to-one decision in this case, severely
restricted public employees’ rights to freedom of speech
and, as importantly to Amicus, restricted the right of the
public to know. The Court of Appeals believed “public
concern” is the equivalent to whistle blowing, albeit a

==

narrow interpretation of whistle blowing, that only those
public employees who speak out as whistle blowers ex-
posing criminal behavior are entitled to First Amendment
protection.

In 1989 Petitioner had worked at the polls supporting
a tax levy that provided monies to the Daniel Drake Me-
morial Hospital (DDMH), a public health care facility
caring for the indigent. After the passage of that levy
the new administrator at DDMH made certain changes,
all of which involved the use of taxpayer monies.

Petitioner then joined the Committee to Maintain and
Improve Drake Hospital, became the Chair of the Com-
mittee, drafted a press release and held a press conference
on behalf of the Committee. The press release was critical
of certain acts of the new administration of the hospital—
all acts of which implicated taxpayer dollars.

The Court of Appeals held the press release and Plain-
tiffs public comments were not protected by the First
Amendment and, therefore, if Plaintiff were fired for her
speech, that was not actionable under 42 U.S.C. Section
1983.

Amicus submits this decision flies directly against the
holding in Pickering v. Board of Ed. of Tp. H.S. Dist.
205, Ill., 391 U.S. 563 (1968).

In 1964 Marvin Pickering, a teacher at the Lockport,
Illinois, high school, had written a letter to the local news-
paper. That letter was highly critical of the school board’s
use of bond money in the building of a new high school.
That letter was published by the newspaper.

Pickering wrote that the new track was not regulation
distance despite the fact thousands of dollars had been
spent on it. He criticized free lunches for high school

stil

athletes, no doors on several classrooms, no sunlight in
the plant room and no water in the first aid treatment
room. The Supreme Court concluded:
The letter constituted, basically, an attack on the
School Board’s handling of the 1961 bond issue
proposal and its subsequent allocation of finan-
cial resources between the schools educational
and athletic programs. It also charged the super-
intendent with attempting to prevent teachers
in the district from opposing or criticizing the
— bond issue. 391 U.S. at 566. (emphasis
added).

This Court reversed the Board’s dismissal of Marvin Pick-
ering.

The Pickering case is directly on point with the facts
in this case. Petitioner used a press release and a news
conference to communicate with the public. Pickering
wrote a letter to the newspaper and it was published.
Bond levies had passed in both cases. The subject mat-
ter of the communications in both cases was the manner
in which the public bond monies were being spent or
going to be spent. This Court held Marvin Pickering’s
speech was of public concern and that he was entitled to
First Amendment protection. Marvin Pickering did not
raise criminal wrongdoing.

This Court’s opinion in Pickering did not just deal with
the rights of Marvin Pickering. It dealt with the public’s
interest in

“having free and unhindered debate on matters

of public importance—the core value of the First
Amendment—” 391 U.S. at 573.

Teachers are, as a class, the members of a com-
munity most likely to have informed and defi-
nite opinion as to how funds allotted to the

a me

operation of the schools should be spent. Accord-
ingly, it is essential that they be able to speak
out freely on such questions without fear of re-
ae of dismissal. 391 U.S. at 572. (emphasis
added).

The Supreme Court concluded free and open debate is
vital to informed decision making by the electorate. 391
U.S. at 571-572.

Amicus respectfully submits that if the holding of the
Court of Appeals in this case were applied to Pickering’s
letter he would have lost for he did not expose criminal
activity. But this Court had no problem holding the con-
tent of Pickering’s letter was of public concern.

Public employees constitute a sizable portion of the work
force in this nation. (1995 Information Please Almanac)
Public employees are the very persons who know what
is going on within government and how tax dollars are
being spent. If those employees’ First Amendment pro-
tection is limited to criminal whistle blowing communica-
tions, informed decision making by the electorate will be
severely limited. The persons “most likely to have in-
formed and definite opinion’’, 391 U.S. at 572, as to how
public funds are allocated and spent will be silenced. The
core value of the First Amendment, free and unhindered
debate, will have been dealt a severe blow.

In Connick v. Myers, 461 U.S. 138, (1983), this Court
exempted from the Pickering holding employee state-
ments of a purely personal nature. This Court went on
to hold:

Whether an employee’s speech addresses a mat-
ter of public concern must be determined by the
content, form and context of a given statement,
as revealed by the whole record. 461 U.S. at
147-148.

en

Myers’ actions concerning office policy dealt directly with
the application of that policy to herself. This Court refused
to constitutionalize an employee’s personal grievance. That
very limited holding should not now be used to turn every
public comment by a public employee into a private griev-
ance—unless it relates to criminal whistle blowing.

This Court in Connick was very careful to point out

We do not suggest, however, that Myers’ speech,
even uf not touching upon a matter of public
concern, is totally beyond the protection of the
First Amendment. “The First Amendment does
not protect speech and assembly only to the ex-
tent that it can be characterized as political.
‘Great secular causes, with smaller ones, are
guarded.’’”’ United Mine Workers v. Illinois
State Bar Association, 389 U.S. 217, 223, 88
S.Ct. 358, 356, 19 L.Ed.2d 426 (1967), quoting
Thomas v. Collins, 323 U.S. 516, 531, 65 S.Ct.
315, 323, 89 L.Ed. 480 (1945). We in no sense
suggest that speech on private matters falls in-
to one of the narrow and well-defined classes of
expression which carries so little social value,
such as obscenity, that the state can prohibit and
punish such expression by all persons in its ju-
risdiction. See Chaplinsky v. New Hampshire,
315 U.S. 568, 62 S.Ct. 766, 86 L.Ed. 1031 (1942);
Roth v. United States, 354 U.S. 476, 77 S.Ct.
1304, 1 L.Ed.2d 1498 (1957); New York v. Fer-
ber, ____ U.S. ___., 102 S.Ct. 3348, 73 L.Ed.2d
1113 (1982). 461 U.S. at 147. (emphasis added).

In this case Petitioner joined with others to form the
Committee to Maintain and Improve Drake Hospital. That
Committee’s cause, whether viewed as a “great’’ cause
or a “‘smaller’” cause, had the purpose of trying to main-
tain the hospital and improve care at the hospital. This

was a cause worthy of First Amendment protection.

a

In Connick this Court held that content, form and con-
text of the statement must be considered. Therefore, ex-
amination of the issues in this case cannot avoid the fact
that Plaintiff chaired the Committee and that the Com-
mittee was composed not only of employees but also of
patients, patients’ family members and local citizens. The
Committee prepared and issued the press release. This
can hardly be characterized as a personal grievance as
described in Connick. Whether it is viewed as a greater
or smaller cause it falls directly under the criteria for pro-
tection set forth in Connick. This case is also certainly
distinguishable from the holding in Connick in terms of
form and context.

The content of the Petitioner’s speech itself is of public
concern. While media coverage may not, in and of itself,
demonstrate public concern, Amicus submits it is highly
unlikely there would be media coverage if the subject mat-
ter were not of public concern. How who calls the press
conference or delivers the press releases can affect the
Connick test is beyond Amicus’ understanding.

As the dissent in the Circuit Court noted the subject
of health care and how it is delivered may very well be
the public issue of the ’90’s. What could be of more public
concern than whether tax dollars are to be used to care
for patients directly at a public hospital or indirectly at
private facilities? This relates directly to the current hot
topic of privatization of government operation.

If Petitioner is silenced on these issues, so will be the
thousands of other public employees involved in health
care, education, welfare and social service. Those areas
are of public concern today. And all of us, the American
public, will be the losers if the Court of Appeals’ deci-
sion in this case is allowed to stand, for free and open

a

debate on health care and other publicly funded programs
will be seriously impaired.

The effect of the decision in this case is to effectively
silence public employees living in the Sixth Circuit. The
public is the big loser for the public will be cut off from
full and open debate on public issues based upon factual
information given by those with first hand knowledge.
This Court should not permit that to happen.

II. This Case Merits Review By This Court To Resolve The
Difference In Holdings By Different Courts Of Appeals.

The Circuit Court’s decision in this case differs with the
law in other Circuits. The Court of Appeals for the Seventh
Circuit has had occasion to apply the Pickering principles
of law not only in McLaughlin v. Tilendis, 398 F.2d 287
(7th Cir. 1968), in which the right of public employees to
associate with others for a cause was recognized, but also
in numerous other cases.

In Muller v. Conlisk, 429 F.2d 901 (7th Cir. 1970), the
Plaintiff, a policeman, criticized the police department’s
Internal Inspection Division (IID) on television saying:

The IID is like a great big washing machine.
Everything they put into it comes out clean. 429
F.2d at 902.

The Court of Appeals found those comments protected
by the First Amendment to the United States Constitu-
tion.

And the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals has continued
to honor that precedent.

In McGill v. Board of Ed. of Pekin Elementary Sch.,
602 F.2d 774 (7th Cir. 1979), the Plaintiff, a teacher, had
complained about school procedures and had discussed a

-™

master collective bargaining agreement at school board
meetings and with the faculty. The Court of Appeals
found the Plaintiff's comments were of public concern.

In Knapp v. Whitaker, 759 F.2d 827 (7th Cir. 1985), the
Plaintiff, a teacher, criticized the grievance procedures in
the school district. Subsequently he lost a coaching assign-
ment and was geographically transferred. The Court of
Appeals held his speech was protected by the First Amend-
ment.

In Greenberg v. Kometko, 811 F.2d 1057 (7th Cir. 1987),
the plaintiff resigned from state employment at the IIli-
nois Department of Children and Family Services after
being transferred in retaliation for certain statements he
had made in-house and to certain members of the public.
Greenberg had attempted to inform his supervisors and
certain members of the public that children’s mental
health, physical health and their very lives were being
threatened. Greenberg said that in order to save money
the Department was returning children to unfit families.
The Court of Appeals characterized Greenberg’s com-
ments as “designed to right injustices Greenberg saw in
the handling of the office’s primary responsibilities.” 811
F.2d at 1062. (emphasis added). The Court of Appeals for
the Seventh Circuit held Greenberg’s comments were en-
titled to First Amendment protection.

Recognizing that First Amendment protection covered
not only comments made to the public but also comments
made internally on matters of public concern, Givhan v.
Western Lines Consolidated School District, 439 U.S. 410
(1979), the Court of Appeals in Greenberg said:

Those comments described in the record attempted
to show, for example, that court orders were be-

ing ignored, that children were being denied es-
sential health care, and that, in order to save

=— =

expenses, children were being returned to unfit
families. 811 F.2d at 1062.

The Court of Appeals held Greenberg was attempting to
improve the care of children in Illinois’ child care system.
His comments were protected by the First Amendment.

The Circuit Court’s holding in this case also directly con-
flicts with the decision of the Court of Appeals for the
Second Circuit in Rookard v. Health and Hospitals Corp.,
710 F.2d 41 (2nd Cir. 1983). The Court of Appeals in
Rookard held speech that dealt with waste of public
monies was protected by the First Amendment.

Clearly neither the Court of Appeals for the Seventh
Circuit nor the Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit
has limited the First Amendment protection of public em-
ployees to criminal whistle blowing. But that is precisely
what the Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit has done
in this case. The chilling effect of the Court’s ruling can-
not be underestimated. Public employees in the Sixth Cir-
cuit will live in fear of discharge if they express any opin-
ion on any controversial subject except criminal conduct.
And Amicus Curiae submits that chilling effect will spill
over into whistle blowing on criminal conduct. When in
doubt as to whether the comments relate to criminal con-
duct, public employees in the Sixth Circuit will simply
keep their mouths shut.

Amicus submits that public employees in Cincinnati,
Detroit and Louisville must not have less rights under
the First Amendment than public employees living in Chi-
cago, Indianapolis, Hartford and New York City.

It is the particular province of this Court to insure that
the rights guaranteed by the United States Constitution
are uniform throughout the nation. This Court cannot
allow this disparate treatment in the area of First Amend-
ment rights to continue. First Amendment rights must be

onlen

accorded uniform protection. Therefore, this Court should
grant the Petition to insure public employees have uni-
form First Amendment protection throughout the nation.

CONCLUSION

Amicus urges this Court to grant the Petition for Writ
of Certiorari. The issue presented is not only of impor-
tance to public employees it is also of extreme importance
to the nation’s interest in full and open debate on public
issues. Amicus further urges this Court to grant the Peti-
tion so as to end disparate treatment of public employees
who live in different parts of the nation.

Respectfully submitted,

Of Counsel: MARY LEE LEAHY
JOSEPH A. GOLDEN Counsel of Record
President LEAHY LAW OFFICES

NATIONAL EMPLOYMENT 308 East Canedy
LAWYERS ASSOCIATION Springfield, IL 62703-2202
2000 Town Center, Ste. 900 (217) 522-4411

Southfield, MI 48075

JANETTE JOHNSON
Amicus Chairperson
3614 Fairmount Street
Suite 100

Dallas, TX 75219

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_1558%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
