# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Simmons v. Hinson

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_1544%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1995
- **Citation:** 515 U.S. 1121

## Text

Supreme Court, us ‘
FILED

. 941651 APR 7 - 1995
GEE -H-SteRE $$

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1994

AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS,

Petitioner,

DAVID R. HINSON, et al.,

Respondents.

Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Second Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Aucustus J. SIMMONS,

Petitioner pro se
P. O. Box #1
Windsor, CT 06095
(203) 569-6714

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO.., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the arbitrary, fraudulent, and unconstitu-
tional seizure of airport federal project real property,
without any court proceedings, without necessary par-
ties, without payment of compensation, without compli-
ance with mandatory federal regulations 42 U.S.C.
§§ 4628, 4655, is in violation of the Fifth and Fourteenth
Amendments of the United States Constitution, and, inas-
much as no action has been commenced or is pending in
any state or federal court in respect of this matter, it
follows that the jurisdiction of the court has never been
invoked and that the extrajudicial seizure entered on the
public Land Records of the Town of East Granby, Con-
necticut on June 2, and June 5, 1978, ic and always was,

wholly void.

il

LISTING OF PARTIES

Petitioner:
Augustus J. Simmons, Landowner

Respondents:
David R. Hinson, Administrator Federal Avia-
tion Administration

Lt. Gen. Henry J. Hatch, Chief Engineer United
States Army Corps of Engineers

J. William Burns, Commissioner (replacing Emil
H. Frankel) Connecticut Department of Trans-
portation

Janet P. Reno, Attorney General United States
Department of Justice

Col. John J. Collins, Administrator Connecticut
Air National Guard

Drew S. Days, Solicitor General United States
Department of Justice

Richard Blumenthal, Attorney General State of
Connecticut

John J. Bartizek, District Clerk Metropolitan Dis-
trict Commission

Edward J. Rogin, Sr., Esq. CityPlace, Hartford,
CT

Robert Hirtle, Jr. Esq. CityPlace, Hartford, CT

William A. Collier, Esq. United States Attorney’s
Office (Hartford, CT)

Bourke G. Spellacy, Esq. (Metropolitan District
Commission) Hartford, CT

There is no parent or subsidiary company to be listed.

Se a ne

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
OF sg ee |). > re i
LISTING OF PARTIES AND STATEMENT UNDER
PEPE ES GAPEIE POWERS BFE noc ccs sce ccs cscees ii
pp 8 Ee Beas: os > iii
SU PERSO ois onc oeccccsvankenscusens Vv
ee cack bods eect seve ces beeecunds 1
STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION.......... Hokage, 2
STATUTE AND CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
is Cnikwk aks wae k ed bx eas ado s0 44s 2
ey Re Be eat Se 5
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ........... 15

1. The opinion below reflects a widespread conflict
with other jurisdictions, the United States Consti-
tution, and this Court in the arbitrary and fraud-
ulent confiscation of federal project airport
property without notice, without jurisdiction,
and without statutory authority................ 15

2. The opinion below reflects a significant and con-
tinuing problem with the unconstitutional back-
dating the confiscation to November 12, 1964 to
avoid compliance with congressionally mandated
federal regulations and procedures and conceal-
ment of fraudulent leases entered into between
the federal agency, F.A.A., and the Connecticut
Department of Transportation .................. 17

iV

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued
Page

3. The petition for the annulment of the extrajudi-
cial judgments was filed upon the ground that
the plaintiff (owner) was never served with pro-
cess or made a party to any action before a court
of competent jurisdiction, prior to, during, or
SEE Te IS hn cae hens a wehiena: 20

4. The petition for the annulment of the extrajudi-
cial judgments was filed upon the ground that -
the action of the government (Federal Aviation
Administration, United States Army Corps of
Engineers) has been such as to impose a servi-
tude upon the property which interferes with the
use, management, or enjoyment of the same -
WOSTREEE UPINTIOI nooo 55 oo eh dei de eesnss 21

5. The petition for the annulment of the extrajudicial
judgments was filed upon the ground that the
action, or INACTION of the Connecticut Depart-
ment of Transportation has been a medley of con-
tinuing official acts constituting interference with the
owner’s use and enjoyment of his property dating
back to November 12, 1964 — without just compensa-

tion, without due process ............cceecsseees 23
THE DECISION BELOW IS INCORRECT........... 24
AIOE 85555545 60 ne ne saanes couse Ubaveeeb es 26

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases CITED:
Abdo Ahmed Nagi v United States, 751 F.2d 826...... Ps
Armstrong v BMamte, SOO UD. SOD ovo 5 cu ccccewesecenes 15
ee: Bee, F WERe Wee Wi kee ai eae wkd wes Mleeeess 15
Beaird-Poulan, Inc. v Louisiana Dept. of Highway’s,

OF Wile Oe 6 a5 64555 ced 5h 578ssde das eee 18
ae @ TU, T7o Bie. C0 Baie vn ni sk drat epasssncsses 21
Brandiff v Sellas, 40 C. Sup. 243, 488 A 853.......... 20
Brill v Uirey, 159 Conn. 371, 269 A 262 ............. 23
Calvert Cliffs Coord. Comm. v U.S. A.E. Comm., 449

Fae BO A xk 8A OK Enea ak Eee 18
Case v Bush, 93 Conn. 550, 106 A B22... 6.26.2 2ceee: 24
City of Atlanta v United States, 531 F. Supp. 506...... 8

City of Columbia, S.C. v Costle, 710 F.2d 1009 (1983) ... 18
Colorado River Water Cons. Dist. v United States, 424

ih | SPeererrr er ery yee rrr ee kre Pere. 21
Comprehensive Merchandising Catalogs Inc. v Mad-

SOM SMIGS COPM., TER Fake BSD os cnc cc ctseteseuscs 20
Crees 0 CIPEGIN, ZIG WT Tien cic cease vesne rt eus 15
Griggs v Allegheny County, 369 U.S. 84 .............. 22
Faeroe @ EME, SEF ULB. BOP oie sv ccc ese cancwededs 15
Hughes o Washington, 389 U.S. 290 . 2.2.2.2 ccc eeees 19
Jepsen v Toni Co., 20 Conn. Supp. 294............... 20

Kawasaki, Kissen, Kaisha, Ltd. v Indomar, Ltd., 173
Cee, ee ee en ewan brekes tekken 23

v1

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Lake Carriers Assn. v MacMullen, 406 U.S. 498 ....... 25
Lilly v Claypool, 53 S.E. 22, 59 W.Va. 1350. ........2.: 24
Lynch v Household Fin. Co., 405 U.S. 538............. 25
Morici v Jarvie, 137 Conn. 97, 75 A 47............... 23
New Haven Sandblast Co. v Dreisbach, 104 Conn.
ee Ge Oe OE sn 06d eed as ee Cen iesaaes 23, 24
Noble v Union River Logging R.R., 147 U.S. 165...... 24
Pennsylvania Coal Co. v Mahon, 260 U.S. 393......... 22
Samson v Bergin, 138 Conn. 306... 2.2... esc cceeeees 20
Shaw v Spelke, 110 Conn. 208, 147 A2d 675.......... 23
Shelton v Wolthauser, 80 Conn. 599 .................. 12
Simmons v State of Conn., 160 Conn. 492............. 13
Simmons v Wetherell, #163875........... 7, 12, 13, 24, 2
Standard Oil Co. v Missouri, 32 S.Ct. 409............. 16
Steinmeiz v Steinmetz, 125 Conn. 663 ................ 23
United States v Causby, 328 U.S. 256................. 22
United States v New Haven, 447 F.2d 972.............. 6
evunmeer & McVelak, FS US. 2746 oc ousciccscsccass 15, 16
Witman v Missouri St. Hwy. Comm., 460 F. Supp.
DUE ehoeyschunck neues ncons seseueeee dete r 18
STATUTES:
es Ee Es Wibod 595d o a eA aA ea 8
ge Re Rk ere re ere oes Pee 18

A asin wo aid ati | Mea aie a id SC BS ATRL NK ina cas St —

Vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
ee ed Se NG Sc dh dn ea SOA A hae eee cane es 4, 8, 19
See Re EN ho 5 heen cea dencadewdeeans 7, 18, 25
ee as Se IS 5 645 40 0S Sak deb eos esuae ks ri >
et Gk er ere reer errr eT tere errs 16
og A Brrr er res CP eee errr er Crees 6
OP cs We RS I oi on hd canines davies seen 6
Oe Sig te IS klk ob £5 ands a 0ee DaWow ena uneeaes a 6
ee ee ee 7
ee es Oe errr eerr Tr reer Tere 7
Se es EY NE dG civ ataceevececnsaeen A 16
Administrative Proc. Act. § 5 U.S.C. 701 et seq..... 4, 8
LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS:
H.R. Rep. No. 91-646, 91st Cong. 2d Sess. (1970),
reprinted at 1970 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News
RS TS EE eR ee te oe en eee mee 17
eo ae a cic we awaken b ae yo ¥ 4
RE”. RIES Fehr ae arate enrmerm eer: hi
fiat 2 Pee errr re errr rs rr rrr rey ere oe 20
Black on Judgments (2d Ed.) Vol. 1 § 215........... 23

ce ip eet

bak Ae
vas
en

i bene i eal Acai ail SS

SO ee Cee ee

No.

+
In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1994
*

AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS,

Petitioner,

DAVID R. HINSON, et al.,

Respondents.
+
Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Second Circuit
*

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
o

The petitioner, Augustus J. Simmons, respectfully
prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review the denial of
rehearing of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Second Circuit entered in this proceeding on February 7,
1995.

OPINION BELOW

The District Court judgment dismissing the com-
plaint dated May 27, 1994 is printed at Appendix C, infra,
and the order of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Second Circuit, dated December 21, 1994, is pririted at

Appendix B, infra, and the petition for rehearing is
printed at Appendix A, infra, and is not officially
reported.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The order of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Second Circuit was entered on February 7, 1995. This
Court’s jurisdiction is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 1254
and under Rule 17.1 of the United States Supreme Court
Rules.

STATUTE AND CONSTITUTIONAL
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

42 U.S.C. § 4655 (Public Law 91-646 - January 2, 1971)

Requirements for uniform land acquisition policies; pay-
ments of expenses incidental to transfer of real property to
State; payment of litigation expenses in certain cases.

Notwithstanding any other law, the head of a federal
agency shall not approve any program or project which
will result in the acquisition of real property on and after
the effective date of this title, unless he receives satisfac-
tory assurances from such state agency that -

(1) In acquiring real property it will be guided, to
the greatest extent practicable under state law, by the
land acquisition policies in Section 301 and the provisions
of Section 302, and

es ee ee See ee

Baie lbs bance t nce Links ieee dels

rater De ogi

(2) Property owners will be paid or reimbursed for
necessary expenses as specified in Sections 303 and 304.

AMENDMENT OF SECTION § 4655

Pub. L. 100-17, Title IV §§ 417, 418, Apr. 2, 1987, 101
Stat. 256, provided that, to take effect on the effective
date provided in regulations promulgated under Section
4633 of this title (as amended by Section 412 of Pub. L.
100-17, but not later than two years after Apr. 2, 1987, this
section is amended by designating existing provisions as
Subsec. (a), in Subsec. (a) as so designated striking out “a
state agency” the first place it appears and inserting in
lieu thereof “an acquiring agency” and striking out “state
agency” the second place it appears and inserting in lieu
thereof “acquiring agency,” and by adding at the end
thereof the following new subsec. (b):

“(b) for purposes of this section, the ‘acquiring
agency’ means -—

“(1) a state agency (as defined in Section 4601(3) of
this title, which has the authority to acquire property by
eminent domiain uader state law, and

“(2) a state agency or person which does not have
such authority, to the extent provided by the head of the
lead agency by regulation.”

AMENDMENT V, CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED
STATES

af

. nor shall private property be taken for public
use, without just compensation.”

AMENDMENT XIV, CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED
STATES

us

. nor shall any state deprive any person of life,
liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor deny
to any person within its jurisdiction the equal protection
of the laws.”

THE ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES ACT 5 U.S.C.
§ 701 et seq.

A person suffering legal wrong because of agency
action, or adversely affected or aggrieved by agency
action within the meaning of a relevant statute, is entitled
to judicial review thereof. An action in a court of the
United States seeking relief other than money damages
and stating a claim that an agency or an officer or
employee thereof acted or failed to act in an official
capacity or under color of legal authority shall not be
dismissed nor relief therein be denied on the ground that
it is against the United States may be named as a defen-
dant in any such action, and a judgment or decree may be
entered against the United States; provided, that any
mandatory or injunctive decree shall specify the federal
officer or officers (by name or by title), and their suc-
cessors in office, personally responsible for compliance.
Nothing herein (1) affects other limitations on judicial
review or the power or duty of the court to dismiss any
action or deny relief on any other appropriate legal or
equitable ground; or (2) confers authority to grant relief
in any other statute that grants consent to suit expressly
or impliedly forbids the relief which is sought.

42 U.S.C. § 4628 (Public Law 91-646 — January 2, 1971)

a ~ nde ema Ne. Wet uted: ahd tions.

Be NG me Woe

onten,

© ea nite

ae tod

Hed Aiea te nn

STATE ACTING AS AGENT FOR FEDERAL PROGRAM

Whenever real property is acquired by a state agency
at the request of a federal agency for a federal program or
project, such acquisition shall, for the purposes of this
act, be deemed an acquisition by this federal agency
having authority over such program or project.

.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On December 15, 1960, petitioner Augustus J. Sim-
mons was in receipt of a letter from the Department of
Aeronautics of the State of Connecticut wherein the State,
in conjunction with the federal government, entered into
an agreement in 1955 for the acquisition of land for
“doolittle clear zones” of both ends of Runway 6-24 at
Bradley International Airport located in northern Con-
necticut. A portion of petitioner’s land is located in the
doolittle clear zone and was, starting in 1962, invaded
and appropriated by the federal agency, Federal Aviation
Administration (F.A.A.), with the erection of permanent
navigational instrumentation on the surface of the prop-
erty to control air traffic in and around the navigable
airspace of the airport.

Starting with February 28, 1962, service was made
upon Anastasia Simmons, mother and predecessor in
title, of a condemnation of certain real property to be
used for federal instrumentation, without compensation
or deposit with the court. In retrospect, even though the
procedures used by the state agency were, in due course,
ruled illegal, null and void, it served the purpose and the
means by which the federal agency (F.A.A.) was able to

engage in “major federal action” with the installation of
permanent instrument landing system lights and thus
begin the servitude imposed upon the landowner, with-
out compensation - up to the present date.

The exclusive responsibility for air-navigation facili-
ties and the surface upon which they were mounted is
that of the federal agency (F.A.A.) under the authority
granted under 49 U.S.C. § 1348 (b) and (d).

It has been the position of the United States that the
clear zones, referenced in first paragraph as “doolittle
clear zones,” embrace navigable airspace which are
within the sole jurisdiction of the federal government.
Under the Federal Aviation Act of 1958 (49 U.S.C. § 1301
et seq. as amended) the United States has asserted that it
possesses and exercises “complete and exclusive national
sovereignty in the airspace of the United States.” 49
U.S.C. § 1508a. See United States v New Haven, 447 F.2d
972.

A second attempt at condemnation by the state
agency in 1968 under statutes that were totally irrelevant
to taking of property for airport purposes was also
declared null and void in March, 1971. (160 Conn. 492).
By judgment dated April 16, 1971 and recorded on the
Land Records March 24, 1972 at Vol. 52, p. 242-243 of East
Granby, Connecticut Land Records, all previously con-
demned properties of petitioner reverted, passed to and
vested back to the owner - and again the owner was
required to pay property taxes while the uninterrupted
servitude by the F.A.A. continued unabated.

Almost simultaneously with the March, 1971 decision
of the State Supreme Court referenced above was the

Baten ae

Po at

lee hei GRR Te tigi. Bi ee tie

RN MRS

SS ae eae ee

Ct ABE DO A AN aa, Rahat RAE hen!

be S ta ids th cot Speirs atm

I A ha tee RE le ak Ah RS BY

enactment by the United States Congress in January, 1971
of the Uniform Real Property Acquisition Act, Title III (42
U.S.C. §§ 4651-4655). The effective date of this Congres-
sionally mandated legislation was to be no later than July
1, 1972 after which section 305 (42 U.S.C. § 4655) shall be
completely applicable to all states with the land acquisi-
tion procedures specified in § 4651 establishing uniform
and equitable land acquisition policies for federal and
federally assisted programs. Also, Connecticut Generai
Statute 13b-50(d) clearly states all acquisitions financed
wholly or partly with federal monies are to be done in the
manner prescribed by the federal authorities, acting
under the laws of the United States, and any rules or
regulations made thereunder, notwithstanding any other
state law to the contrary. Thus, after July 1, 1972, it was
implicit and mandatory that all acquisitions for airport
purposes were to proceed under federal regulations and
federal — not state — law.

Prior to the enactment of the Uniform Acquisition
Act petitioner was instrumental in getting a special act
passed by the Connecticut General Assembly to sue the
state for damages over “loss of use of land” arising out of
the bumbling condemnation proceedings. On January 5,
1970, petitioner Simmons brought such a suit, docket no.
163875 (Simmons v Wetherell). The Connecticut Depart-
ment of Transportation, in order to be in compliance with
the mandates of the Uniform Real Property Acquisition
Act were instrumental in having the Connecticut General
Assembly enact legislation (C.G.S. 48-17a, b, c) that corre-
sponds to the special act of the petitioner. Since neither

the state nor the federal agency have acquired a “satisfac-
tory property interest” as defined in (14 C.F.R. 152.1), no
damages have been resolved.

The servitude by the federal agency, F.A.A., against
the landowner after the aborted second condemnation of
1971 resulted in the federal agency entering into private
leasehold interests with the Connecticut Department of
Transportation without payment of compensation to the
state agency or the owner, without any recording on the
Land Records, notwithstanding that 42 U.S.C. § 4628 of
the Uniform Acquisition Act controls: “whenever real
property is acquired by a state agency at the request of a
federal agency for a federal program or project, such
acquisition shall, for the purposes of this act, be deemed
an acquisition by the federal agency having authority
over such program or project.”

The fact that the federal government possesses exclu-
sive jurisdiction over the airspace and possesses illegal!
and fraudulent leasehold interests to the real property
upon which its navigational instrumentation is located
makes the United States an indispensable party to the
litigation and subject to review action as permitted by 5
U.S.C. 701 et seq. and the upholding of the dismissal by
the Second Circuit Court of Appeals is in direct conflict
with City of Atlanta v United States, 531 F. Supp 506.

The public policy of the Connecticut Department of
Transportation for real property acquisition process for
transportation projects was submitted to petitioner by
James Lewis, Director, Office of Rights of Way, and reads:
“Title search activities are normally completed during the
preliminary engineering phase of a project to ascertain

ish aaah | nid ra ee hai aes hs Sie eras

HR LTS RS a PSG fd Ca

PEN. taki MS «hab

Anca ANTES Ab SD Yao

2 rhe CER OM Ente es

ownership of the land to be acquired. The rights of way
phase of the project normally begins with the preparation
of appraisals on all property to be acquired. This is fol-
lowed by negotiations with affected owners, acquisition
of title via a deed or condemnation, and relocation of
displaced individuals prior to construction of the pro-
ject.”

Two executory contract meetings were held for the
sale of land, the first on December 13, 1977 and the
second on January 4, 1978 without any appraisals being
submitted or any reference to damages and each was
repudiated, disaffirmed within twenty-four hours for rea-
sons of fraud, duress, lack of appraisals, concealment of
leasehold interests granted by the sponsor to the federal
agency of the subject property, failure to make the federal
agency a party to the action, and, failure after two
botched condemnations to make an assessment of dam-
ages — prior to the acquisition of title. The INTENT was
obvious to circumvent the public policy of regulations
and guidelines mandated by the Uniform Act and the
policy and guideline of the Connecticut Department of
Transportation — as submitted to petitioner. After the first
executory meeting of December 13, 1977, petitioner
requested withdrawal of counsel on December 22 and 23,
both verbally and by memorandum and appeared on
January 4, 1978 with new counsel, but, new counsel was
not permitted to represent petitioner.

Notwithstanding the repudiation and disaffirmance
the second time via a certified letter and in person, a
“closing” was still scheduled for April 19, 1978 with a
court reporter present and a witness for petitioner, not

10

realizing a reporter would be present. A portion of pro-
ceedings held on April 19, 1978 at offices of Rogin,
Nassau, Caplan, Lassman and Hirtle with court reporter
William G. Crampton reads:

Mr. Hirtle: Mr. Simmons, as I understand it, you
don’t want to proceed further with the closing, is that
correct?

Mr. Simmons: Bob Hirtle, I have the highest respect
for you. Just like I sent you the letter, I have the highest
and utmost respect for Referee Shapiro and I further
qualified it by saying that I am not going to be a party to
any deal which is going to be coming out and being made
public whereby the Rogin firm and my good friends here,
David Salzman and Steve, who I have been very prone to
pick on. It is just not fair to everybody to have this kind
of an arrangement and I am not going to be a party to it.
What the State is attempting to do here is to say okay,
let’s date this thing back so their skirts are clean. They
want me to go back and do battle with the Town over
taxes and I say bullshit to that. We are going to clear that
matter up before there will be any goddamned closing.
We are going to get that cleared up and they are going to
be open and above board. Hell, it is everybody and I’m
telling you, everyone at the table, everything is going to
be above board and no dealing is going back to Novem-
ber of '64.

Mr. Hirtle: You will not sign a deed today to con-
summate the closing, is that what I understand?

Mr. Simmons: Because the agreement states and I
have to say if any portion of it is a nullity then it is all a

11

nullity and I am not going to be a party to anything that
is a nullity.

Mr. Neusner: Is that a definite negative answer?

Mr. Hirtle: You are instructing counsel not to pro-
ceed with the closing because you consider it to be a
nullity?

Mr. Simmons: I am going to answer you, Bob, by
saying that I sent you a certified letter expressing my
position and when I talked to you on the phone, I said to
myself, at least I am going to give them the courtesy of
putting in an appearance today. I think that is a sufficient
answer.

Mr. Hirtle: So I am not to proceed to closing and
you will not sign the deeds today?

Mr. Simmons: That is correct.
Mr. Hirtle: And the meeting is adjourned.
(Whereupon at 11:44 a.m. the closing was adjourned.)

Appearances: Augustus (Ozzie) Simmons, John Kataja,
witness; David Salzman, Esq.; Stephen Silverman, Esq.;
Dennis Ceneviva, Esq.; Robert L. Hirtle, Esq.; present also
was Edward Rogin, Sr., Esq. but not listed.

On April 20, 1978, twenty-four (24) hours after plain-
tiff’s refusal to tender any deeds, plaintiff was served
with a NOTICE OF WITHDRAWAL by all counsel and the
local sheriff served plaintiff with a P.J.R. (pre-judgment
remedy ~— without hearing) attaching plaintiff’s airport
property to the sum of $105,000.00 for counsel fees — in
lieu of a service of process for real property acquisition,

12

notwithstanding the written representation was on a con-
tingency basis, and, the same day the P.J.R. was filed on
the Land Records of the Town of East Granby, Connecti-
cut, at Vol. 59, p. 419.

Without initiating any eminent domain proceedings,
having submitted a withdrawal, transcending power
from plaintiff’s tort action (Simmons v Wetherell, #163875),
an unconstitutional seizure is filed upon the Land
Records by Attorneys Rogin-Hirtle on June 2, 1978 at Vol.
59, p. 623, 626 (Ex. #1) — without a court stamp.

Another unconstitutional seizure is filed upon the
Land Records on June 5, 1978 at Vol. 59, p. 657 (Ex. #1) -
this time with a FABRICATED court stamp that contains a
citation at Vol. 59, p. 661 (Ex. #1) returnable the first
Tuesday of July, 1978 — that is NOT going to permit the
owner, Augustus J. Simmons to be heard by any court of
competent jurisdiction by NOT making him a party to the
transposed tort action.

Superior Court records show a memorandum dated
August 30, 1979 from Jason Pearl, Esq., representing
Rogin-Hirtle questioning why after initially granting a
motion for payment from the “slush fund,” Superior
Court Judge John Daly changed course due to a submis-
sion to the Judge by Chief Clerk Lucian Jachomovitz that,
in spite of submitting some cash to the clerk, a fund that
had no relationship whatsoever to the market value or

damages, the clerk could not make any disbursements -
“WITHOUT ANY PROCEEDINGS HAD IN OR RELATING
TO THAT CASE OR CAUSE” submitting Shelton v
Wolthauser, 80 Conn. 599 in support. PAYMENT DENIED.

Ba ath Nn a

ae ee ee ae ees

13

On May 13, 1980, the Connecticut Supreme Court
with “NU-TIEL RECORD” before the court, no return of
service ever made to the court, without notice to neces-
sary parties, renders a decision under/over plaintiff's
tort action (Simmons v Wetherell, #163875) 180 Conn. 587,
in direct conflict with a previous decision Simmons v State
of Conn., 160 Conn. 492, wherein the Connecticut
Supreme Court made very clear at page 500 — “The author-
ity to condemn its to be strictly construed in favor of the owner
and against the condemnor, and the prescribed method of
taking must be strictly pursued.” (Citations omitted.)

On September 22, 1980, by judge shopping, Judge
Sabino Tamburro granted counsel fees to Attorneys
Rogin-Hirtle of $95,600.00 plus interest of $18,014.49 for a
total of $113,614.49. Other court disbursements in sub-
stantial amounts were also made to Jerome Diamond, a
lienholder, and the Town of East Granby for taxes, in
spite of fraudulent backdating. Taxes are not paid on
state-owned property.

On July 7, 1982 lienholders Valente and Allaire with
exclusive liens on Parcel “C” upon which federal instru-
mentation is located, had applied to the court for satisfac-
tion of the liens from what funds remained and are
DENIED, by Superior Court Judge Dupont, A., notwith-
standing Simmons v Wetherell, supra, May 13, 1980.

The Superior Court was specifically challenged on
June 7, 1982 by Victor Feingold, Esq., Assistant Attorney
General for State of Connecticut with the lack of author-
ity to make any further payments with the following
excerpt from transcript of June 7, 1982 at page 17:

14

“I now direct Your Honor and invite Your
Honor’s attention to another element of jurisdic-
tion in the entire matter of Simmons against
Wetherell. I might say that whenever I call Your
Honor’s attention to the question of jurisdiction,
in accordance with the law of the state, if lack of
jurisdiction is brought to Your Honor’s atten-
tion, I mean subject matter jurisdiction, no mat-
ter in what form or in what way, Your Honor
cannot proceed on any of the proceedings until
you resolve the issue of subject matter jurisdic-
tion.”

It follows that if the Superior Court was without
jurisdiction of the subject matter in 1982 or of the parties
in 1982, certainly the Supreme Court of Connecticut was
in gross error in 1980 with no pleadings, docket number,
return of service to the court upon a matter that the
courts have previously determined, must be pursued
under federal laws and regulations.

Now, February 1, 1991 approaches and, with no com-
pensation paid the owner or necessary parties and the
court without jurisdiction to resolve compensation, and a
record fourteen (14) encumbrances against the owner
(liens, judgments, mortgages), the Army Corps of Engi-
neers, in concert with the Air National Guard and the
Connecticut Department of Transportation, INVADE AND
APPROPRIATE Parcel “A” and fence off approximately
two (2) acres without notice or compensation. WHY
NOT!! The F.A.A. did thirty (30) years ago, never paid a
nickel and Judge Cabranes in Federal Court not only
dismisses several court challenges by the owner on a
theory of “res judicata” and fines the owner for vexatious
lawsuits while the owner is paying high interest rates on

15

borrowed money - to subsidize the F.A.A. to fly the
planes in and out of Bradley International Airport.

The posture and circumstances of this thirty (30) year
extravaganza mandates the impeachment of the extra-
judicial judgment seizure.

+

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. The opinion below reflects a widespread conflict
with other jurisdictions, the United States Constitu-
tion, and this Court in the arbitrary and fraudulent
confiscation of federal project airport property with-
out notice, without jurisdiction, and without statu-
tory authority.

For more than a century the central meaning of pro-
cedural due process had been clear: “Parties whose rights
are to be affected are entitled to be heard; and in order
that they may enjoy that right they must first be noti-
fied.” Baldwin v Hale, 1 Wall 223, 233; Windsor v McVeigh,
93 U.S. 274; Harvey v Elliot, 167 U.S. 409; Grannis v Ordean,
234 U.S. 385. It is equally fundamental that the right to
notice and an opportunity to be heard “must be granted
at a meaningful time and in a meaningful manner.” Arm-
strong v Manzo, 380 U.S. 545, 552.

Where there is no legal or valid record before the
Superior Courts of Connecticut upon which a recovery
can be had, BUT, the private law firm of Rogin-Hirtle, in
concert with state and federal officials, having filed an
appearance in plaintiff’s tort action (Simmons v Wetherell,
#163875), transcend the limits of its authority by anoint-
ing themselves with “SUPER POWER” to set judgments

16

aside (#162923, 1/11/77), withdraw active federal court
actions (2) without plaintiff’s permission (H-74-148, 472
F.2d 509 remand), backdate a taking to November 12,
1964 to avoid mandatory federal legislation, order the
Connecticut Department of Transportation Rights of Way
Division to file highway taking maps on the public Land
Records without notice or compensation, disregard the
securing of appraisals (49 C.F.R. § 24.102) to establish fair
market value, attach plaintiff’s property for legal fees of
$105,000.00 on April 20, 1978 for failure to give a deed,
then, on June 2 and June 5, 1978 put a confiscation on the
Land Records without initiating or commencing any pro-
ceedings before the court, and, couldn’t or wouldn’t be
bothered to have the sheriff serve necessary parties in a
citation and never serve them with process or make a
return of service to the court.

Next, a bag of cash is submitted to the Clerk of the
Superior Court, no written statements, as required by 49
C.F.R. § 24.102, no eminent domain proceedings were
commenced accompanying the cash which gets com-
pletely depleted over the years through judge-shopping,
gimmickry, and the owner has not, cannot be paid
because of C.G.S. 48-21 (lienholders) who have never
been notified or served with process, which liens must be
satisfied first. The cash bag was estimated at approx-
imately ten (10) percent of fair market value and dam-
ages.

From Windsor v McVeigh, 93 U.S. 274, 282 and Stan-
dard Oil Co. v Missouri, 32 Supreme Court at page 409, the
court (and that includes superpower bandits Rogin-Hir-
tle) “must act judicially in all things, and cannot then
transcend the power conferred by law.” “If the action be

17

for libel or personal tort, the court cannot order in the
case a specific performance of a contract.”

Under neither the original 42 U.S.C. § 4655 nor the
amendment of the Section, Pub. L. 100-17, Title IV §§ 417,
418, Apr. 2, 1987, 101 Stat. 256 would private counsel
Rogin-Hirtle possess statutory authority to act in such
confiscatory manner. The unsavory act preceded the
amendment and the original Section was controlling in
1978.

The Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments are very clear,
unambiguous —- too plain for argument ~ that, to take
private property for public use —- by force: SERVICE
MUST BE MADE UPON THE OWNER, NECESSARY
PARTIES, AND COMPENSATION PAID.

2. The opinion below reflects a significant and con-
tinuing problem with the unconstitutional backdat-
ing the confiscation to November 12, 1964 to avoid
compliance with congressionally mandated federal
regulations and procedures and concealment of
fraudulent leases entered into between the federal
agency, F.A.A., and the Connecticut Department of

Transportation.
The legislative history of the Act (P.L. 91-646) Titles II
and III states that “[i]t is immaterial whether . . . federal

funds contribute to the cost of the real property. The
controlling point is that the real property must be
acquired for a federal or federal financially assisted pro-
gram or project.” H.R. Rep. No. 91-646, 91st Cong. 2d
Sess. (1970), reprinted at 1970 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad.
News 5853 (giving as an example a state’s acquisition of

18

rights-of-way, for a federal-aid highway, with nonfederal
funds).

It is undisputed in the present case that the unlawful
and fraudulent confiscation is a necessary incident to
acquire a “satisfactory property interest” as defined in
federal regulations 14 C.F.R. § 152.3 (definitions) for air-
port navigational instrumentation installed, maintained,
and utilized exclusively by F.A.A. on the subject property
to control air traffic in, on, and around Connecticut's
premier airport, Bradley International Airport, — no later
than November 12, 1964.

The precise language of 42 U.S.C. § 4655, of the Act,
indicates that a state must be guided, “to the greatest
extent practicable under state law,” by the § 4651 pro-
cedures. Other jurisdictions have ruled that “greatest
extent practicable” meant that Congress intended to have
the grant recipient comply with the § 4651 procedures to
the fullest extent to which it is legally capable of comply-
ing under state law. Beaird-Poulan Inc. v Louisiana Dept. of
Highways, 497 F.2d 54, 58 (5 Cir), cert. denied, 420 U.S.
990, 95 S. Ct. 1424, 43 L.Ed 2d 670 (1974); Witman v
Missouri State Hwy. Comm., 400 F. Supp. 1050, 1066-68
(W.D. Mo. 1975); City of Columbia, S.C. v Costle, 710 F.2d
1009 (1983).

In Calvert Cliff's Coord. Com. v United States A. E.
Com., 449 F.2d 1109 (1971) the court at page 1114 ruled that
the phrase “to the fullest extent possible” does not pro-
vide an escape hatch for footdragging agencies, it does
not make procedural requirements somehow “discretion-
ary.” Indeed, the requirement sets a high standard for the

19

agencies, a standard which must be rigorously enforced
by the reviewing courts.

Where there were three (3) Supreme Court decisions
on the subject property: 153 Conn. 351; 155 Conn. 502; 160
Conn. 492 (1971), a remand by the Second Circuit (472
F.2d 509 (1973)), a statement by the owner on April 19,
1978 that there will be no goddamned closing with a
dating back to November 12, 1964, nevertheless, the
unconstitutional confiscation, OVERRIDES the Connecti-
cut Supreme Court, the Second Circuit Court of Appeals
with a dating back to November 12, 1964. The Fourteenth
Amendment forbids such confiscation by a state, no less
through its courts, than through its legislature, and no
less when a taking is unintended than when it is deliber-
ate. Hughes v Washington, 389 U.S. 290, p. 298.

The executing of LEASES by the Federal Aviation
Administration with the Connecticut Department of
Transportation of the subject property, without notice or
compensation to the owner is a CONTINUING VIOLA-
TION of the Fifth Amendment and a deliberate, devious,
unconstitutional procedure to avoid the primary respon-
sibility for acquisition under 42 U.S.C. § 4628 of the
Uniform Act which reads: “Whenever real property is
acquired by a state agency at the request of a federal
agency for a federal program or project, such acquisition
shall, for the purposes of the Act be deemed an acquisi-
tion by the federal agency having authority over such
program or project.”

20

3. The petition for the annulment of the extrajudicial
judgments was filed upon the ground that the plain-
tiff (owner) was never served with process or made
a party to any action before a court of competent
jurisdiction, prior to, during, or after the confisca-
tion.

The judgment of a court without jurisdiction is a
nullity. Such a judgment, whenever and wherever
declared upon as a source of a right, may always be
challenged. This does not offend the full faith and credit
clause of the Federal Constitution, nor does it violate the
principles of comity. Samson v Bergin, 138 Conn. 306.

Contention that a State Court Judgment is void may
be asserted in any proceeding where the validity of the
judgment is put in issue. Fed. Rules Civ. Proc. Rule 60(b)
28 USCA, Comprehensive Merchandising Catalogs, Inc. v
Madison Sales Corp., 521 F.2d 1210 (1975).

Under Connecticut law, judgment entered before
return day is void. Jepsen v Toni Co., 20 Conn. Supp. at p.
294.

Improper return day affects court's jurisdiction. Bran-
diff v Sellas, (1985) 40 Conn. Supp. 243, 488 A 853.

Notwithstanding the citation shown in Ex. #1 of the
Public Land Records of the Town of East Granby, Con-
necticut at Vol. 59, p. 661 in the present action before the
court, there was: NO NOTICE, NO SERVICE, NO
RETURN OF PROCESS TO THE COURT - and NO JURIS-
DICTION FOR THE CONNECTICUT COURTS UPON
WHICH TO PASS JUDGMENT, OR PAY COMPENSA-
TION.

21

4. The petition for the annulment of the extrajudicial
judgments was filed upon the ground that —- the
action of the government (Federal Aviation Admin-
istration, United States Army Corps of Engineers)
has been such as to impose a servitude upon the
property which interferes with the use, manage-
ment, or enjoyment of the same - without compen-
sation.

Where it is apparent that the United States is the
owner, and has exclusive jurisdiction, of certain naviga-
tional instrumentation on the surface of private property
of plaintiff, and “agents” under grant-agreements have
been in the process of attempting to acquire, by various
means, an adequate property interest for the past three
(3) decades, the UNITED STATES must be a necessary
party to any such suit, judgment, or other procedure.

The National government is guardian of a public
right of access to navigable airspace of the United States.

The navigational servitude is the legal formula by
which we recognize the paramount nature of this govern-
mental responsibility.

It is a well established rule that in any kind of action
or suit, in order that a valid judgment may be rendered,
all necessary and essential parties must be before the
court, and that those who are necessary parties are such
persons, or entities, as have or claim a direct interest in
the object and subject matter of the suit and whose inter-
ests will necessarily be affected. Belt v Texas Co., 175 S.W.
2d 622; Colorado River Water Cons. Dist. v United States,
424 U.S. 800.

22

Under the logic of Pennsylvania Coal Co. v Mahon, 260
U.S. 393 (1922), the invasion, appropriation, erection of
navigational instrumentation on surface of private prop-
erty by the F.A.A. was a “taking” — requiring payment of
fair market value compensation.

If the government physically invades only an ease-
ment in property, it must nonetheless pay compensation.
United States v Causby, 328 U.S. 256, 265 (1946).

Quoting from Griggs v Allegheny County, 369 U.S. 84
at p. 93, Supreme Court Justice Black with Justice Frank-
furter concurring said: “Merely because local commu-
nities might eventually be reimbursed for the acquisition
of necessary easements does not mean that local commu-
nities must acquire easements that the United States has
already acquired.” And, at p. 94, “Having taken the air-
space over Griggs private property for a public use, it is
the United States which owes just compensation.”

The Army Corps of Engineers, in concert with the Air
National Guard and Connecticut Department of Trans-
portation, having invaded Parcel “A”, a separate and
distinct parcel from the F.A.A. invasion, on February 1,
1991, without a search of the land records, without notice,
without compensation, is a TRESPASSER.

23

5. The pet tion for the annulment of the extrajudicial
judgments was filed upon the ground that the
action, or INACTION of the Connecticut Depart-
ment of Transportation has been a medley of con-
tinuing official acts constituting interference with
the owner’s use and enjoyment of his property dat-
ing back to November 12, 1964 —- Without just com-
pensation, without due process.

It is Hornbook law that “any judgment should con-
form to pleadings, issues and prayers for relief.”
Kawasaki, Kissen, Kaisha, Ltd. v Indomar, Ltd., 173 Conn.
269, 377 A2d 316; Brill v Ulrey, 159 Conn. 371, 269 A.2d
262; Morici v Jarvie, 137 Conn. 97, 75 A.2d 47; Shaw v
Spelke, 110 Conn. 208, 147 A 675; Steinmetz v Steinmetz,
125 Conn. 663, 7 A.2d. The Connecticut Supreme Court
had occasion to discuss this principle in New Haven Sand-
blast Co. v Dreisbach, 104 Conn. 322, 330, 133 A 99. In that
case, the court stated:

A defect in a judgment arising from the fact
that the matter decided was not embraced
within the issue has not, it would seem, received
much judicial consideration. And yet I cannot
doubt that, upon general principles, such a
defect must avoid judgment.

133 A at 102 (citation omitted). The Court also stated,
quoting Black on Judgments (2d Ed.) Vol. IL, § 215:

Besides jurisdiction of the person of the
defendant and of the general subject-matter of
the action, it is necessary to the validity of the
judgment that the court should have had juris-
diction over the precise question which its judg-
ment assumes to decide, or of the particular
remedy or relief which it assumes to grant

24

* * * and third, the point decided must be in
substance and effect, within the issue.

133 A at 102 (citations omitted)

Finally, the court cited with approval the case of Lilly
v Claypool, 53 S.E. 22, 24, 59 W. Va. 130, 133: “There is no
principle better settled than that a judgment or decree
cannot be entered in the absence of pleadings upon which
to found the same.” 133 A at 102 (citations). (See also Case
v Bush, 93 Conn. 550, 552, 106 A 822 — indicating that the
variance between the judgment and the issues raised is
jurisdictional.)

It is significant that in New Haven Sandblast Co.,
supra, the court was asked to issue a ruling based upon
stipulated, rather than actual facts. The court expressly
found that the agreement of the parties was not sufficient
to constitute a waiver and could not “confer jurisdiction
upon the Trial Court.”

THE DECISION BELOW IS INCORRECT

Clearly, the opinion of the Second Circuit, as
expressed, is to circumvent the public policy promul-
gated, which is error, and the reliance on Simmons v
Wetherell, #163875, a private damage action of petitioner,
in lieu of proceedings being instituted by defending fed-
eral and state agencies — is in complete derogation of the
due process clause of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amend-
ments and represents conflicts with every other circuit.
See Noble v Union River Logging R.R., 147 U.S. 165.

EOE OE ew

F

The relevant principles of equity, comity, and federal-
ism “have little force in the absence of a pending state
proceeding.” Lake Carriers Assn. v MacMullan, 406 U.S.
498, 509 (1972).

The critical point of departure by the Second Circuit
from the Supreme Court’s decision in Lynch v Household
Finance Co., 405 U.S. 538, is a seizure judgment entered
without the parties, without proceeding under a court
order, without the service of summons or any return to
the court, notwithstanding that federal law and regula-
tions were applicable, controlling, completely ignored,
with the transcending of power from plaintiff’s tort
action, Simmons v Wetherell, supra.

The Second Circuit’s unreported opinion is contrary
to the reported decision of this same court in 1973, 472
F.2d 509, wherein the facts remain the same, no proceed-
ings instituted nor any compensation paid and is contrary
to the Supreme Court ruling in Abdo Ahmed Nagi v United
States, 751 F.2d 826 (1985) wherein the court ruled that the
mechanical interpretation and application of the regula-
tions runs counter to the congressional objectives of the
statutes, thus violating the spirit and intent of that por-
tion of the Uniform Act (42 U.S.C. §§ 4651-4655).

¢

26

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, a writ of certiorari should issue to
review the opinion of the Second Circuit Court of
Appeals on this unconstitutional seizure.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ Augustus J. Simmons
Aucustus J. Simmons, Petitioner
P. O. Box #1
Windsor, CT 06095
(203) 569-6714

aN. si alate) ieee ate eda el

OMENS ed UE UA erat leer coe. telat an A

. PPENDIX

INDEX TO APPENDIX
Page
APPENDIX - A

PETITION FOR REHEARING IN BANC
BEFORE THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT (FEB-
| PTET PON Cr ere ree Ore ET Te reer er la

APPENDIX - B

UNREPORTED OPINION OF THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SEC-
: OND CIRCUIT (DECEMBER 21, 1994) ............ 2a

APPENDIX - C

JUDGMENT OF THE UNITED STATES DIS-
TRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF CON-
PUR RMNetee COMPRE 27, BPPOR + cc rccccncanccevacsxsas 5a

APPENDIX - D

UNREPORTED OPINION OF THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SEC-
OND CIRCUIT (FEBRUARY 23, 1993)............ 7a

APPENDIX - E

JUDGMENT AND ORDER OF THE UNITED
STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT
OF CONNECTI.U? GULLY 15, 1992) .........<.. l4a

APPENDIX - F

JUDGMENT OF THE UNITED STATES DIS-
3 TRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF CON-
PRR e tele MOPED BOlp GOONS Asc set eensccenscces« 17a

APPENDIX - G

UNREPORTED OPINION OF THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SEC-
OND CIRCUIT (SEPTEMBER 14, 1988)........... 19a

il

INDEX TO APPENDIX - Continued

APPENDIX - H

JUDGMENT OF THE UNITED STATES DIS-
TRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF CON-

POM One e GAP eet BU, BOOS vec cecccscccecuses

APPENDIX - I

UNREPORTED OPINION OF THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SEC-

OND CIRCUIT (NOVEMBER 22, 1985).........

APPENDIX - J

PETITION FOR REHEARING BEFORE THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE SECOND CIRCUIT (FEBRUARY i0, 1984)...

APPENDIX - K

JUDGMENT OF THE UNITED STATES DIS-
TRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF CON-

NECTICUT (AUGUST 24, 1983)................

APPENDIX - L

UNREPORTED OPINION OF THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SEC-

OND CIRCUIT (DECEMBER 20, 1983) .........

APPENDIX - M

DECISION OF THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT
COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF CONNECTI-
CUT FOR PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION

Pics: we, earner rrr rT rr err ry

Page

25a

ee ee ee Pre)

INDEX TO APPENDIX - Continued

APPENDIX - N

RULING OF THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT
COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF CONNECTI-

COPE SP PRIAUINE Fp DUO 0 a5 66 ce cctvedsenesess

APPENDIX - O

UNREPORTED OPINION OF THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SEC-

OND CIRCUIT (JUNE 9, 1983)...........c0000-

APPENDIX - P

RULING OF THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT
COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF CONNECTI-

el ge a” ae pene

APPENDIX - Q

REPORTED DECISION IN PART AND
REMAND IN PART BY THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIR-

CUIT — (472F2d509) (JANUARY 19, 1973)......

APPENDIX - R

PRESIDENTIAL MEMORANDUM TO
IMPROVE ADMINISTRATION AND IMPLE-
MENTATION OF THE UNIFORM RELOCA-
TION ASSISTANCE AND REAL PROPERTY
ACQUISITION POLICIES ACT OF 1970 (FEB-

EE, a. SE i iene Sp Saks sia aek deewhiee een’

APPENDIX - S

EXECUTED LEASE BETWEEN STATE OF CON-
NECTICUT, DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTA-
TION, AND UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
BY FEDERAL AVIATION ADMINISTRATION

CS Peer ey eee ere rs eee rere

Page

Se te a NI "la a

la

APPENDIX A
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COUPT
DISTRICT OF CONNECTICUT
AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS
v. CIVIL NO. 3:94cv778 (AHN)

DAVID R. HINSON, et al

JUDGMENT

(Filed May 27, 1994)

This cause came on for consideration on plaintiff's
complaint before the Honorable Alan H. Nevas, United
States District Judge, and

The Court having considered the complaint and all
the papers submitted in connection therewith filed its
order finding that in light of Judge Cabranes’ mandate,
the underlying complaint should never have been dock-
eted and further ordered the case dismissed with preju-
dice,

It is therefore ORDERED and ADJUDGED that the
complaint be and hereby is dismissed with prejudice, in
accordance with the court's order.

Dated at Bridgeport, Connecticut this 27th day of
May, 1994.

KEVIN F. ROWE, Clerk

By /s/ Carol E. Cannady
Carol E. Cannady
Deputy in Charge

2a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

At a stated term of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Second Circuit, held at the United States
Courthouse in the City of New York, on the 21st day of
December, one thousand nine hundred and ninety-four.

PRESENT: HONORABLE JON O. NEWMAN,
Chief Judge.
HONORABLE J. EDWARD LUMBARD,
Circuit Judge.*

AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS,
Plaintiff-Appellant,

v. 94-6156

DAVID R. HINSON, Administrator, Federal

Aviation Administration; HENRY J. HATCH,

Lt. Gen., Chief Engineer, United States

Army Corps of Engineers; EMIL H. FRANKEL,

Commissioner of Transportation; JOHN J.

COLLINS, Col.; STATE OF CONNECTICUT,

Richard Blumenthal, Attorney General;

JOHN J. BARTIZEK, District Clerk; EDWARD

ROGIN, SR., and ROBERT HIRTLE, JR.,
Defendants-Appellees.

* Honorable Thomas J. Meskill, Circuit Judge, originally a
member of the panel, recused himself after oral argument, and
the appeal is being disposed of by the remaining members of the
panel, who are in agreement. See Second Circuit Local Rule
§ 0.14(b).

a Sa ee ee ee ee Oe,

3a

ORDER
(Filed Dec. 21, 1994)

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
District of Connecticut (Alan H. Nevas, Judge).

This cause came on to be heard on the transcript of
record from the United States District Court for the Dis-
trict of Connecticut, and was argued by appellant pro se,
and submitted by appellee.

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, IT IS HEREBY
ORDERED, ADJUDGED, AND DECREED that the judgment
of the District Court be and it hereby is AFFIRMED.

Augustus J. Simmons appeals pro se from the May 27,
1994, judgment dismissing sua sponte his suit, purpor-
tedly filed under Fed. R. Civ. P. 60(b), to set aside rulings
of the Connecticut Superior Court. This filing is the latest
in a series of actions filed in state and federal courts, in
which Simmons is endeavoring to relitigate a dispute that
arose in 1971 concerning real property. We previously
affirmed the District Court’s dismissal of a prior suit by
Simmons, a ruling that included an injunction prohibiting
Simmons from further attempts to relitigate his claim.
Simmons v. Burns, No. 88-6093 (2d Cir. Sept. 14, 1988).
Despite that injunction, Simmons has filed the current
suit. Judge Nevas properly dismissed the suit as filed in
violation of the injunction.

On the prior appeal, Simmons was warned that viola-
tion of the injunction may be punished, a warning he has
ignored. He still remains subject to contempt penalties for
the current filing and for any future effort to relitigate his

da

claim. On the pending appeal, we affirm the judgment of
the District Court, and, pursuant to Fed. R. App. P. 38,
order Simmons to show cause within ten days why he
should not be assessed damages for a frivolous appeal in
the amount of $5,000, in addition to normal taxable costs.

/s/ John O. Newman
Chief Judge.

/s/ J. Edward Lumbard
Circuit Judge.

N.B. THIS SUMMARY ORDER WILL NOT BE PUB-
LISHED IN THE FEDERAL REPORTER AND SHOULD
NOT BE CITED OR OTHERWISE RELIED UPON IN THE
UNRELATED CASES BEFORE THIS OR ANY OTHER
COURT

5a

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT
UNITED STATES COURT HOUSE
40 FOLEY SQUARE
NEW YORK 10007

NHCT
94-cv-778
Nevas, J.

GEORGE LANGE III
CLERK

At a stated term of the United States Court of appeals
for the Second Circuit, held at the United States Court-
house in the City of New York, on the seventh day of
February one thousand nine hundred and ninety-five.

Augustus J. Simmons,
Plaintiff-Appellant, Docket No. 94-6156
v. (Filed Feb. 7, 1995)

David Hinson, Administrator, Federal Aviation
Administration, Henry J. Hatch, Lt. Gen., Chief
Engineer United States Army Corps of Engineers,
Emil H. Frankel, Commissioner of Transportation,
Attorney General; John J. Bartizek, District Clerk,
Edward Rogin, Sr. and Robert Hirtle, Jr.,

Defendants-Appellees.

A petition for rehearing containing a suggestion that the
action be reheard in banc having been filed herein by the
appellant Augustus J. Simmons.

6a

Upon consideration by the panel that decided
the appeal, it is Ordered that said petition for
rehearing is DENIED.

It is further noted that the suggestion for rehearing in
banc has been transmitted to the judges for the court in
regular active service and to any other judge that heard
the appeal and that no such judge has requested that a
vote be taken thereon.

FOR THE COURT
GEORGE LANGE III, Clerk

By: /s/ Carolyn Clark Campbell,
Carolyn Clark Campbell,
Chief Deputy Clerk

7a

APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

At a stated term of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Second Circuit, held that the United
States Courthouse in the City of New York, on the 23rd
day of February, one thousand nine hundred and ninety
three.

Present:
Honorable John M. Walker, Jr.,
Honorable Joseph M. McLaughlin,
Circuit Judges

Honorable Charles L. Brieant,
Chief District Judge*

AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS,
Plaintiff-Appellant

ORDER
No. 92-6208
(Filed Febr.
23, 1993)
EMIL H. FRANKEL., Commissioner of
Transportation, BARRY L. HARRIS,
Administrator, Federal Aviation
Administrator, HENRY J. HATCH,
General Chief Engineer U.S. Army Corps.
of Engineers, JOHN J. BARTIZEK, District

* Chief Judge Charles L. Brieant, United States District
Court for the Southern District of New York, sitting by designa-
tion.

8a

Clerk, Metropolitan District Commission.,
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, STATE
OF CONNECTICUT, JOHN J. COLLINS,
Lt. Col., Administrator, FAA,

Defendant-Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
District of Connecticut.

This cause came to heard [sic] on the transcript of
record from the United States District Court for the Dis-
trict of Connecticut (Dorsey, J.) and was argued by appel-
lant, while counsel for appellees relied on their
submissions.

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, it is now hereby
ordered, adjudged and decreed that the order of said
district court be and it hereby is AFFIRMED, and appel-
lant is assessed double court costs.

Augustus J. Simmons, pro se, appeals from an order
of the United States district Court for the District of
Connecticut (Dorsey, /].), dismissing his complaint sua
sponte and ordering Simmons to pay $2000 in fines.

On June 5, 1992, Simmons brought an action, pur-
suant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983, alleging various constitutional
violations arising from Connecticut’s acquisition of land
owned by Simmons. the district court concluded that
Simmons was attempting to reassert federal constitu-
tional and statutory claims that were fully adjudicated in
prior proceedings in violation of an injunction issued
against him, and dismissed his complaint sua sponte on
July 14, 1992. The court also ordered Simmons to pay

Ee

9a

fines in the amount of $1000 to the State of Connecticut
and $1000 to the United States.

The long history of this litigation began in 1964,
when the State of Connecticut attempted to condemn
property in East Granby, Connecticut, then owned by the
Simmons’s family, to expand what is now the Bradley
International airport. Simmons filed various state and
federal actions, later consolidated in Connecticut Supe-
rior Court, alleging that the State illegally occupied por-
tions of his land and challenging the State’s attempt to
gain title to the property. On January 4, 1978, a judgment
was entered, pursuant to a stipulation between the par-
ties, providing that the State would take title to certain
parcels of Simmons’ land, in return for which the State
would pay Simmons $385,000. The stipulation further
provided that the “judgmenet entered in this matter
[shall] be a full and final settlement between the parties
of any and all claims contained in the above consolidated
cases.” However, six months later Simmons moved to
open the judgment claiming ineffective assistance of
counsel. This request was denied and the denial was
affirmed on appeal. Simmons v. Wetherall, 180 Conn. 587
(1980) (per curiam).

Not dissuaded by the final judgment granting title of
the disputed real property to the State of Connecticut,
Simmons continued to pursue the issue. Simmons filed
seven state and five federal proceedings after the 1978
stipulation was certified. Then in a 1988 order, Judge
Cabranes enjoined Simmons from filing “any state or
federal claims in any federal court against any of the
defendants named in the complaint in this lawsuit if such
lawsuit related to his alleged ownership” of the disputed

10a

real property. Affirming judge Cabranes’s order in all
respects, this Court warned that any violation of that
injunction could be punished as contempt of court and
imposed double court costs against Simmons. Simmons v.
Burns, No. 88-6093 (2d Cir. Oct. 5, 1988) (unpublished
summary order).

Despite this Court’s attempt to stem the flow of
vexatious litigation by Simmons, we are confronted once
again with an attempt by him to litigate a matter barred
by res judicata. Notwithstanding Simmons’s attempt to
circumvent the injunction by changing the named defen-
dants, the instant complaint clearly relates to Simmons’s
ownership of the East Granby land. Thus, Simmons has
violated Judge Cabranes’s injunction. Furthermore, even
without the injunction, Judge Dorsey’s dismissal of the
complaint sua sponte would be affirmed based on res
judicata grounds.

Both the state and federal defendants have asked the
district court to impose sanctions on Simmons in order to
deter him from continuing his attempts to reopen this
litigation. Pro se litigants are subject to sanctions under
Fed. R. Civ. P. 11. See Maduakolam v. Columbia Univ, 866
F.2d 53, 56 (2d Cir. 1989). Furthermore, this Court has not
hesitated to impose sanctions on pro se litigants when
they become particularly vexatious. See Sassower v. Field,
973 F.2d 75 (2d Cir. 1992) (upholding sanction of $93,350
against vexatious plaintiff).

The district court’s order dismissing sua sponte Sim-

mons’s complaint and imposing $2,000 in fines is hereby

eh a tae Ws farts anand is Rn aii a

PELL ATO at NOG Wl Nh IS -

hh ss = |

— fs

lla

AFFIRMED. Furthermore, we hereby assess double court
costs against Simmons pursuant to Fed. R. App. P. 38.

/s/ John Walker
Hon. John M. Walker, Jr.,
U.S.C].

/s/ Joseph M. McLaughlin
Hon. Joseph M. McLaughlin,
USA...

/s/ Charles Brieant
Hon. Charles L. Brieant,
U.S.D.J.

N.B. THIS SUMMARY ORDER
WILL NOT BE PUBLISHED IN THE
FEDERAL REPORTER AND
SHOULD NOT BE CITED OR OTH-
ERWISE RELIED UPON IN UNRE-
LATED CASES BEFORE THIS OR
ANY OTHER COURT.

12a

MANDATE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

At a stated term of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Second Circuit, held at the United States
Courthouse in the City of New York, on the 23rd day of
February, one thousand, nine hundred and ninety three.

Present:
Honorable John M. Walker, Jr.,
Honorable Joseph M. McLaughlin,
Circuit Judges,

Honorable Charles L. Brieant,
Chief District Judge.*

AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS,
Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.
ORDER
No. 92-6208
(Filed Febr.
23, 1993)
EMIL H. FRANKEL, Commissioner of
Transportation, BARRY L. HARRIS,
Administrator, Federal Aviation
Administrator, HENRY J. HATCH,
General, Chief Engineer U.S. Army
Corps. of Engineers, JOHN J. BARTIZEK,
District Clerk, Metropolitan District
Commission., UNITED STATES OF

*Chief Judge Charles L. Brieant, United States District Court for
the Southern District of New York, sitting by designation.

SP ee Cee eS ae ee Te er

13a

AMERICA, STATE OF CONNECTICUT,
JOHN J. COLLINS, Lt. Col.,
Administrator, FAA,

Defendant-Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
District of Connecticut.

This cause came to heard on the transcript of record
from

Dismissed sua sponte.

l4a

APPENDIX E
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF CONNECTICUT
AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS
VS.
EMIL H. FRANEL, et al.

2:92 CV 00395 PCD

——

JUDGMENT
(Filed July 13, 1992)

The action having come on for consideration of the
plaintiff’s complaint before the Honorable Peter C. Dor-
sey, United States District Judge, and

The Court having considered the full record of the
case including applicable principles of law, and the Court
having filed its Order, dismissing the complaint as viola-
tive of the 1988 injunction,

It is accordingly ORDERED, ADJUDGED and
DECREED that judgment be and is hereby entered dis-
missing the complaint.

BYES DUE Ta arg BIR ING eae Fe RN PASM OT ERS CE Re CRE RS

Dated at Hartford, Connecticut this 13th day of July
1992.

KEVIN F. ROWE, Clerk

By /s/ Dennis P. lavarone

Dennis P. lavarone
Deputy in Charge

15a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF CONNECTICUT

AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS Docket No.
2:92cv00395 (PCD)

(Filed July 8, 1992)

-VSs-

EMIL H. FRANEL, et al.

ORDER

The claims asserted in Mr. Simmons’ most recent
complaint pertain to his claim of title and interest to or in
three parcels of land n [sic] East Grandby, Connecticut,
adjacent to Bradley International Airport. Although the
defendants are changed — for example, Emil Frankel only
recently became Connecticut’s Transportation Commis-
sioner — the heart of the controversy remains the same.
This case thus asserts the same rights Mr. Simmons has
repeatedly asserted in various lawsuits filed during the
past decade, despite the Connecticut Supreme Court’s
final determination that he no longer retained any rights
to the land in question, Simmons v. Wetherall, 180 Conn.
587 (1980), and despite an injunction issued in 1988 pro-
hibiting him from filing such actions without first obtain-
ing permission from this court. Simmons v. Burns, Civil
No. H-87-732 (JAC) (D. Conn. Mar. 15, 1988), Ruling on
Pending Motions and Order. Mr. Simmons fails to accept
the fact that he may not attempt, over and over again, to
retry his claims to the land, even in the face of the Court
of Appeals’ warning that such repeated attempts would

result in sanctions. Simmons v. United States, Docket No.
85-6087 (2d Cir. Nov. 22, 1985).

l6a

The time has come to put an end to Mr. Simmons’
vexatious, annoying and unjustified attempts to re-liti-
gate claims which have been finally decided for over a
decade. Thus, it is hereby

ORDERED that the complaint be dismissed as viola-
tive of the 1988 injunction; and it is further

ORDERED that Mr. Simmons may file, on or before
July 24, 1992, any pleading showing why he should not
be ordered to pay the sum of $1000 to the State of Con-
necticut, and an additional $1000 to the United States, as
sanctions for the filing of this frivolous lawsuit.

Dated at Hartford, Connecticut, this 8th day of July,
1992

/s/ Peter C. Dorsey
Peter C. Dorsey
United States District Judge

sania
ee a
Ra ala, jes een

17a

APPENDIX F

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF CONNECTICUT

AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS
V.

WILLIAM BURNS, Commissioner, ALLAN McARTOR,
Adm., FAA, ATTY, EDWARD ROGIN, JULIA Z.
TASHJIAN, THOMAS P. BYRNE, CONNECTICUT
NATIONAL BANK AND TRUST, JEROME DIAMOND,
LEONIDAS D. SIMMONS, LEONARD ALLAIRE,
MARIE ALLAIRE, PATSY VALENTE, ERNESTINE
VALENTE, ANGELO RONCARI, ATTY. GERALD A.
ROISMAN, JOHN J. ROWLSON, JOHN MASSOW,
FLORENCE MASSOW, ALBERT ENDEE, JOHN
KATAJA, ATTY. MARGARET DEAN, GERALD F.
MIKULSKE, RONALD MUSKATALLO, ATTY.
RONALD CASSIDENTO, STEPHEN SILVERMAN,
ATTY. ROBERT HIRTLE, DAVID SALZMAN, FRANK
ROTHAMMER, JOHN J. BARTIZEK and ROCCO
D’ESTITO

CIVIL NO. H-87-732 (JAC)

FINAL JUDGMENT

This cause came on for consideration on plaintiff’s
motion for reconsideration of the Court’s Ruling on Pend-
ing Motions and Order, filed March 15, 1988, before the
Honorable Jose A. Cabranes, United States District Judge,
and the issues having been duly reconsidered and a Rul-
ing on Plaintiff's Objection to Court’s Ruling of March 15,
1988, having been filed on May 16, 1988, denying motion
to reconsider and dismissing all remaining claims against
all remaining defendants, pursuant to Rule 11,
Fed.R.Civ.P.,

18a

It is ORDERED, ADJUDGED and DECREED that
judgment be and is hereby entered in favor of all remain-
ing defendants (summary judgment having been entered
in favor of defendants Burns, Comm., McArtor, Adm. of
FAA, Rogin, Tashjian and Hirtle on March 16, 1988) dis-
missing the complaint.

Dated at New Haven, Connecticut, this 18th day of
May, 1988.

KevIN F. Rowe
Clerk, United States District Court

Deputy in Charge

19a

APPENDIX G

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

At a stated Term of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Second Circuit, held at the United States
Courthouse in the City of New York, on the 14th day of
September, one thousand nine hundred and eighty-eight.

Present:
HONORABLE J. EDWARD LUMBARD,
HONORABLE J. DANIEL MAHONEY,

Circuit Judges,
HONORABLE CON. G. CHOLAKIS,
District Judge.*

AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS,
Plaintiff-Appellant,

V.

J. WILLIAM BURNS, Et At.,
Defendants-Appellees.

ORDER 88-6093

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
District of Connecticut.

This cause came to be heard on the transcript of
record from the United States District Court for the Dis-
trict of Connecticut, and was argued by appellant pro se
and by counsel for appellees.

* Hon Con. G. Cholakis, District Judge, United States Dis-
trict Court for the Northern District of New York, sitting by
designation.

20a

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, it is now hereby
ordered, adjudged and decreed that the order of said
district court be and it hereby is AFFIRMED, and appel-
lant is assessed double court costs.

1. We affirm for the reasons stated in the ruling of
the district court. We also consider this a frivolous
appeal. This is appellant’s third appearance before this
court in the past five years, and on each occasion res
judicata barred or bars his reassertion of the same claims
which were either fully litigated or should have been
litigated in prior state and federal proceedings. In his last
appearance before this court, Simmons v. United States of
America, et al., Docket No. 85-6087 (2d Cir. Nov. 22, 1985)
(unpublished order), appellant Simmons was placed on
notice that he risked imposition of sanctions should he
seek to appeal the same matters again.

2. It is accordingly appropriate to assess double
court costs against appellant pursuant to Fed. R. App. P.
38.

3. We specifically call to appellant’s attention that
we affirm the order of the district court in all respects,
including its injunction against further federal litigation
concerning these claims, and that any violation of that
injunction may be punished as a contempt of court.

J. Epwarp LuMBARD,
J. DANntEL MAHONEY,

Circuit Judges

Con. G. CHOLAKIS,
District Judge

2la

N.B. This summary order will not be published in the
Federal Reporter and should not be cited or otherwise
relied upon in unrelated cases before this or any other

court.

22a

APPENDIX H

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF CONNECTICUT

AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS
v.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, ET AL
CIVIL H-85-45 MJB

JUDGMENT

This action having come on for consideration of the
defendants’ motions to dismiss before the Honorable M.
Joseph Blumenfeld, United States District Judge, and

The Court having considered the full record of the
case including applicable principles of law, and the Court
having granted the motions

It is accordingly ORDERED, ADJUDGED and
DECREED that judgment be and is hereby entered dis-
missing the plaintiff's complaint.

Dated at Hartford, Connecticut, this 10th day of April
1985.

Kevin F. Rowe, Clerk

By: Dennis P. [AVARONE

Deputy-in-Charge

23a

APPENDIX I

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

At a stated Term of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Second Circuit, held at the United States
Courthouse in the City of New York, on the 22nd day of
November, one thousand nine hundred and eighty-five.

Present:
HONORABLE WILFRED FEINBERG
Chief Judge

HONORABLE WALTER R. MANSFIELD,
HONORABLE JAMES L. OAKES,
Circuit Judges.

AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS,
Plaintiff-Appellant,

- against -
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, ET AL.,
Defendants-Appellees.
85-6087

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
District of Connecticut.

This cause came on to be heard on the transcript of
record from the United States District Court for the Dis-
trict of Connecticut, and was argued by appellant pro se
and by counsel for appellees.

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOPF, it is now hereby
ordered, adjudged and decreed that the judgment of said
District Court be and it hereby is AFFIRMED.

24a

We agree with the April 8, 1985, order of the district
court dismissing appellant’s claims on the ground of res
judicata. We also consider this a frivolous appeal. Appel-
lant has litigated the same matters numerous times before
in both state and federal courts over a period of many
years. Because appellant is a pro se litigant, we are not
imposing sanctions at this time. However, appellant is
hereby placed on notice that he risks imposition of sanc-
tions in the future should he seek once again to relitigate
these same matters.

WILFRED FEINBERG,
Chief Judge
WALTER R. MANSFIELD,

JaMes L. Oakes,

Circuit Judges

N.B. Since this statement does not constitute a formal
opinion of this court and is not uniformly available to all
parties, it shall not be reported, cited or otherwise used in
related cases before this or any other court.

25a

APPENDIX J

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

At a stated term of the United States Court of
Appeals, in and for the Second Circuit, held at the United
States Courthouse, in the City of New York, on the 10th
day of February, one thousand nine hundred and eight-

four.

AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS,
Plaintiff-Appellant,
v.

ARTHUR B. POWERS,
Commissioner of Department of Transportation,
Defendant-Appellee.

AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS,
Plaintiff-Appellant,

V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, ELIZABETH DOLE,
Secretary of United States Department of
Transportation, FEDERAL AVIATION
ADMINISTRATION, J. LYNN HELMS, Administrator,
STATE OF CONNECTICUT, J. WILLIAM BURNS,
Commissioner of Connecticut Department of
Transportation and CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF
TRANSPORTATION,

Defendants-Appellees.

No. 83-6257
A petition for a rehearing having been filed herein by
plaintiff-appellant, Augustus J. Simmons, pro-se,

26a

Upon consideration thereof, it is

Ordered that said petition be and it hereby is
DENIED.

A. Danie. Fusaro, Clerk

by Francis X. GINDHART,

Chief Deputy Clerk

27a

APPENDIX K

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF CONNECTICUT

AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS,
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, ELIZABETH DOLE,
Secretary of United States Department of
Transportation; FEDERAL AVIATION
ADMINISTRATION; J. LYNN HELMS, Administrator;
STATE OF CONNECTICUT; J. WILLIAM BURNS,
Commissioner of Connecticut Department of
Transportation

AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS
V.

ARTHUR B. POWERS, COMMISSIONER,
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

No. H81-778
and No. 83-225

JUDGMENT

These consolidated actions having come on for con-
sideration of the Defendants’ Motions to Dismiss before
the Honorable Jose A. Cabranes, United States District
Judge; and,

The Court having considered the full record of the
case including the applicable principles of law, and the
Court having filed its endorsements on August 16, 1983,
granting Defendants’ motions,

It is accordingly ORDERED, ADJUDGED and
DECREED that judgment be and is hereby entered in

28a

favor of the Defendant dismissing the Plaintiff's com-
plaints.

Dated at Hartford, Connecticut, this 24th day of
August, 1983.

Sy_vesTeR A. MARKOWSKI,
Clerk, United States District Court

TP ccnsesrenvecevsnsnstaiictoemnenitinninestecsdenmmtoorsee
JOHN K. HENDERSON, Jr.
Deputy in Charge

29a

APPENDIX L

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

At a stated Term of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Second Circuit, held at the United States
Courthouse in the City of New York, on the 20th day of
December, one thousand nine hundred and eighty-three.

Present:
HONORABLE WILFRED FEINBERG
Chief Judge

HONORABLE HENRY J. FRIENDLY
HONORABLE JAMES L. OAKES
Circuit Judges.

AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS,
Plaintiff-Appellant,

V.

ARTHUR B. POWERS, etc.,
Defendant-Appellee.

AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS,
Plaintiff-Appellant

V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, et At.,
Defendant-Appellee

No. 83-6257

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
District of Connecticut.

30a

Thi: cause came on to be heard on the transcript of
record from the United States District Court for the Dis-
trict of Connecticut, and was argued by appellant pro se
and by counsel for appellees.

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, it is now hereby
ordered, adjudged and decreed as follows:

1. This appeal arises out of a dispute over title to
and use of land adjacent to Bradley International Airport.
It concerns two actions, filed by appellant in the United
States District Court for the District of Connecticut, and
directed against various state and federal defendants. The
complaint in the first case, Civ. No. H-81-778, was filed in
October 1981, and subsequently amended. On February 7,
1983, judge Cabranes granted the federal defendants’
motion to dismiss. Simmons appealed, and this court, by
order dated June 9, 1983, dismissed the appeal for lack of
jurisdiction because the dismissal of the claim against the
federal defendants did not constitute a final judgment of
the district court. We stated that, to pursue the appeal,
Simmons would have to seek the entry of a final judg-
ment as to the federal defendants, or await the deter-
mination of the claims against the state defendants.

2. On March 22, 1983, appellant filed the complaint
in the second case, Civ. No. H-83-225. On May 23, 1983,
Judge Cabranes granted a motion by the State of Con-
necticut to consolidate both cases. On August 16, 1983,
Judge Cabranes dismissed the complaints in the consoli-

dated actions. Simmons now appeals from that dismissal.
We agree with Judge Cabranes that the doctrine of res

3la

judicata bars the reassertion of these claims, already liti-
gated in state courts. Simmons v. Wetherall, 430 A.2d
1296 (Conn. 1980).

3. The judgment of the district court is affirmed.

WILFRED FEINBERG,

Chief Judge

Henry J. FRIENDLY,
James L. Oakes,
Circuit Judges.

N.B. Since this statement does not constitute a formal
opinion of this court and is not uniformly available to all
parties, it shall not be reported, cited or otherwise used in
unrelated cases before this or any other court.

32a

APPENDIX M

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF CONNECTICUT

AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS,
Plaintiff

V.

J. WILLIAMS BURNS, AS HE IS THE COMMISSIONER
OF THE CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT
OF TRANSPORTATION, AND J. LYNN HELMS,
AS HE IS THE ADMINISTRATOR
OF THE FEDERAL AVIATION ADMINISTRATION
Defendants.

No. 81-778
Appeal No. 83-5141

PLAINTIFF’S MOTION FOR “FINAL DECISION”
ON WITHHOLDING OF FEDERAL FUNDS FOR ALL
AIRPORT DEVELOPMENT AT
BRADLEY INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT
(Preliminary Injunction)

DENIED as moot, in view of the court’s disposition
of the case. See the court’s endorsement order (filed Aug.
16, 1983) of the federal defendants’ motion to dismiss and
the court’s endorsement order (filed Aug. 17, 1983) of the
state defendants’ motion to dismiss. It is so ordered.

Jose A. Casranes, U.S.D.J.
August 17, 1983, Hartford, CT

33a

APPENDIX N

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF CONNECTICUT

AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, FEDERAL AVIATION
ADMINISTRATION, J. LYNN HELMS, Administrator,
Federal Aviation Administration,

STATE OF CONNECTICUT,
CONNECTICUT STATE DEPARTMENT
OF TRANSPORTATION, and J. WILLIAM BURNS,
Commissioner, Connecticut State Department
of Transportation

No. H 81-778

RULING ON THE FEDERAL DEFENDANTS’
MOTION TO DISMISS

JOSE A. CABRANES, District Judge:

This procedurally convoluted action arises out of a
dispute between plaintiff and various defendants con-
cerning the use of several parcels of land in the town of
East Granby, Connecticut. On November 8, 1982, plaintiff
filed his third Amended Complaint, and on December 21,
1982 the federal defendants (the United States of Amer-
ica, the Federal Aviation Administration, and J. Lynn
Helms as Administrator of the Federal Aviation Adminis-
tration) filed a motion to dismiss the claims asserted
against them, pursuant to Rule 12(b)(1) and (6), Fed. R.
Civ. P. Because this court concludes that “it appears
beyond doubt that the plaintiff can prove no set of facts

in support of his claim [against these defen-2dants] which

34a

would entitle him to relief,” Conley v. Gibson, 355 U.S. 41,
45-46 (1957), the motion to dismiss must be granted.

I.

The first count of the Third Amended Complaint
alleges a claim under the Federal Tort Claims Act, 28
U.S.C. §§ 2671 et seq. The pertinent allegations of count
one are that the “FAA has placed a middle marker on
Parcel C [of which plaintiff alleges he is the owner] and
an Instrument Landing System,” Third Amended Com-
plaint, { 30; that “the United States government and the
FAA have ousted the Plaintiff from possession of this
land since 1964,” ¥ 33; and that ‘the United States and
the FAA have never compensated the Plaintiff for their
use of Parcels A and C,” ¥ 34. According to plaintiff, the
instrument landing system was emplaced in 1960, ¥ 6, the
middle marker in 1974, ¥ 7.

The statute of limitations for the Federal Tort Claims
Act is 28 U.S.C. §2401(b), which provides in pertinent
part that a tort claim against the United States will be
barred unless “presented in writing to the appropriate
Federal Agency within two years after such claim
accrues. ... ” It is undisputed that plaintiff did not
commence this action until 1981. Plaintiff does not allege
that he filed any federal court action or agency claim

before that time.

Plaintiff contends, however, that his claim is not

time-barred. That contention derives from plaintiff's
reading of two cases, United States v. Dickinson, 331 US.
745 (1947), and United States v. One 1961 Red Chevrolet

Sasi rihe HRSE RAT

ip

NP uk oe Ph

35a

Impala Sedan, 457 F.2d 1353 (5th Cir. 1972). This Court is
not persuaded that either case cited is on point.

In Dickinson, the United States had constructed a
dam, and as a result the plaintiff’s land was periodically
flooded. The dam was completed in 1936, the first flood
occurred in 1937, more extensive flooding took place in
1938, and the plaintiff brought suit in 1943; a six-year
statute of limitations was applicable. The Supreme Court
held that the action was not time-barred. In Dickinson, the
plaintiff argued that the Government’s action was, before
1938, ambiguous: before the first flood occurred, there
was no indication that a taking had occurred or would
occur; and before the extensive flood of 1938, it was still
uncertain that the Government’s intrusion upon the
plaintiff’s land was sufficient to constitute a taking, or,
assuming that there was a taking, it was too soon to
determine the extent thereof. The Dickinson plaintiff
argued, and the Supreme Court agreed, that it was not
until 1938 that the fact and the extent of the taking were
clear. As Justice Frankfurter, writing for the court, put it:
“An owner of land flooded by the Government would not
unnaturally postpone bringing a suit against the Govern-
ment for the flooding until the consequences of inunda-
tion have so manifested themselves that a final account
may be‘ struck,” United States v. Dickinson, supra, 331 U.S.
at 749. In the case at bar, however, the Third amended
Complaint can only be read as stating that the Govern-
ment’s alleged tort was complete in 1974. According to
the complaint, the alleged tort was neither uncertain nor
ambiguous at that time; its extent was apparent; and
nothing is alleged to have happened between 1974 and
1981 that changed the nature or extent of the alleged tort.

36a

In One 1961 Red Chevrolet, the Fifth Circuit held that,
where a change of law creates a new right, a cause of
action may, for limitation purposes, accrue at the time of
that change of law rather than when the alleged wrong
occurred. In the case at bar, however, plaintiff has not
alleged any change in the general law. Rather, he has
simply alleged that a prior adjudication of his rights with
respect to the parcels in question occurred in 1980.
Clearly, an application of law, albeit one that changes the
legal relations between two parties, is not the same thing
as a change in the law. Thus, One 1961 Red Chevrolet -
which, at any rate, represents the law of a circuit other
than our own - has no bearing on the case before this
court today.

In short, count one of the Third Amended Complaint
is barred by 28 U.S.C. § 2401(b) and is accordingly dis-
missed.

II.

In count three of the Third Amended Complaint,
plaintiff alleges numerous violations of unspecified “Fed-
eral law,” {J °40-46, 49-51, and some specific violations
of the Uniform Relocation Assistance and Real Property
Acquisition Policies Act, 42 U.S.C. §§ 4601 et seq. Where
violations of that Act are alleged, plaintiff claims the FAA
was derelict in fulfilling its statutory obligations in deal-
ing with the State of Connecticut, {J 47-48, 52-54.

The Government contends that a private right of
action will not lie against it to compel fulfillment of such
obligations. While this question has not yet been pre-
sented to the Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit,

37a

those courts of appeals that have considered this issue
have unanimously concluded that the “plain language,”
Fountain v. Metropolitan Atlanta Rapid Transit Authority,
678 F.2d 1038, 1045 n. 13 (11th Cir. 1982), of 42 U.S.C.
§ 4602(a) precludes such a right. See Fountain v. Metro-
politan Atlanta Rapid Transit Authority, supra; Roth v.
United States Department of Transportation, 572 F.2d 183,
184 (9th Cir. 1978); Rhodes v. City of Chicago, 516 F.2d 1373,
1377-1378 (7th Cir. 1975); Will-Tex Plastics Manufacturing,
Inc. v. Department of Housing and Urban Development, 345 F.
Supp. 654 (E.D. Pa. 1972), aff'd 478 F.2d 1399 (3rd Cir.
1973). The exception cited by plaintiff as applicable where
a plaintiff is a third-party beneficiary to a contract
between federal and state governments is clearly without
relevance here, where plaintiff has not claimed to be a
third-party beneficiary — indeed, where such a claim
would be contrary to the entire thrust of the complaint.®

Thus, count three of the Third Amended Complaint
fails to state a claim for relief cognizable under 42 U.S.C.
§§ 4601 et seq. and is accordingly dismissed.

II.

The federal defendants have also moved to dismiss
count five of the third Amended Complaint. Count five
concerns enforceability of a stipulation entered into by
plaintiff and the State of Connecticut. It does not appear
to this court that count five runs against the federal
defendants, and therefore that portion of the federal
defendants’ motion to dismiss that attacks count five is
denied as moot, without prejudice to renewal if it should

38a

appear hereafter that plaintiff means count five to run
against the federal defendants.

IV.

In summary, the federal defendants’ motion to dis-
miss the Third Amended Complaint insofar as it states
claims against them is granted with respect to count one,
granted with respect to count three, and denied as moot
with respect to count five, without prejudice to renewal.
Counts two and four of the Third Amended Complaint
do not state claims against any of the federal defendants.

It is so ordered.

Dated at Hartford, Connecticut, this 7th day of Feb-
ruary,’” 1983.

Jose A. CABRANES
United States District Judge

39a

APPENDIX O

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

At a stated Term of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Second Circuit, held at the United States
Courthouse in the City of New York, on the 9th day of
June, one thousand nine hundred and eighty-three.

Present:
HONORABLE WILFRED FEINBERG,
Chief Judge

HONORABLE HENRY J. FRIENDLY

HONORABLE RALPH K. WINTER
Circuit Judges.

AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS,
Plaintiff-Appellant,

— against -—

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, FEDERAL AVIATION
ADMINISTRATION, et At.
Defendants-Appellees.

No. 83-6043

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
District of Connecticut.

This cause came on to be heard on the transcript of
record from the United States District Court for the Dis-
trict of Connecticut, and was argued by appellant pro se
and by counsel for appellees.

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, it is now hereby
ordered, adjudged and decreed that the appeal from the

af

40a

judgment of said District Court be and it hereby is dis-
missed for lack of jurisdiction.

1. This appeal arises out of a dispute over title to
and use of land adjacent to Bradley International Airport
in Connecticut that has been going on between appellant
and the governments of the United States and Connecti-
cut for many years. The third amended complaint in the
instant case against various federal and state defendants
was filed in November 1982. In an opinion dated Febru-
ary 7, 1983, Judge Jose A. Cabranes dismissed all the
counts that he found to be directed against the federal
defendants, finding that count one was barred by the
applicable statute of limitations and that count three
failed to state a claim for relief.

2. Because the claims against the state defendants
are still pending before the district court, the dismissal of
the claims against the federal defendants is not a final
judgment, and cannot be appealed, unless the district
court determines that “there is no just reason for delay”
and expressly directs the entry of a final judgment. Fed.
R. Civ. P. 54(b). Judge Cabranes did not to do so in his
opinion of February 7. This court is therefore without
jurisdiction to hear this appeal, which is dismissed with-
out prejudice. Appellant may seek the entry of final judg-
ment as to the federal defendants in the district court, or
he may await the final determination of his remaining
claims before appealing all claims to this court.

3. Shortly before oral argument, appellant also
moved in this court for a preliminary injunction “against
project applications for airport development.” The relief
sought is the “withholding of federal funds for all airport

4la

development at Bradley International Airport per 49 USC
1716(c) until such time as clear title to ‘clear zone’ is fully
and adequately required.” Judge Cabranes denied a
request for similar relief in the district court on May 16,
1983, on the ground that relief was sought against the
federal defendants only, as to whom the complaint had
already been dismissed. In view of our disposition of the
main appeal, this motion is also remanded without preju-
dice to the district court so that when a final judgment is
entered, the entire matter may be addressed by this court
at the same time.

WILFRED FEINBERG, Chief Judge

Henry J. FRIENDLY
RacpH K. Winter, Circuit Judges.

N.B. Since this statement does not constitute a formal opin-
ion of this court and is not uniformly available to all parties, it
shall not be reported, cited or otherwise used in unrelated cases
before this or any other court.

42a

APPENDIX P

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF CONNECTICUT

AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS
v.

HORACE B. WETHERELL, Director of Aeronautics;
DONALD J. LYNCH, Deputy Director of Aeronautics;
FRANK C. PARIZEK, EDWARD J. COADY, KINGSLEY
GILLESPIE, HUGH C. CURRAN, ARTHUR SACHS and
E. DONALD WALSH, The Aeronautics Commission of
Connecticut; and HERBERT A. PREISSNER, Manager

of Bradley International Airport

Civil No. 14,806

RULING ON DEFENDANTS’ MOTIONS TO
DISMISS AND TO DISCHARGE ATTACHMENTS

The plaintiff, Augustus J. Simmons, has brought suit
under the Civil Rights Act, 42 U.S.C. § 1983, to seek
redress against several public officials for two alleged
wrongs done to him under color of state law. Jurisdiction
is sought under 28 U.S.C. § 1343(3). He complains that
certain of his property, principally land abutting a state
airport, was taken by the defendants in violation of state
law and in violation of the fifth amendment to the United
States Constitution;! and he complains that the defen-
dants caused him to be illegally arrested, prosecuted and
convicted in the state court in violation of his federal civil
rights, for cutting through a fence which the defendants

1 The fifth amendment to the United States Constitution
provides in pertinent part:
. nor shall private property be taken for public
use, without just compensation.”

43a

had erected surrounding his property. The defendants
have moved to dismiss the complaint on the grounds of
sovereign immunity, lack of federal jurisdiction over the
subject matter of the complaint, and the tolling of the
statute of limitations.

This case has a long and acrimonious history. Taking
the facts as stated in the complaint, for purposes of the
motion to dismiss, the plaintiff owns about twelve acres
of land abutting Bradley International Airport in East
Granby, Connecticut. His predecessor in title was his
mother, who owned the land when the controversy at the
root of this lawsuit began in 1961. At that time, the state
Aeronautics Commission began condemnation proceed-
ings against the land under Conn. Gen. Stats. § 15-79
(repealed by 1969 Public Act 768, § 263), which provided
in pertinent part:

“The state or any municipality, or any two or
more municipalities jointly, . . . may take any
such land or interest therein for such establish-
ment (of an airport) or for the expansion or
improvement of an airport when, in the opinion
of the (state aeronautics) commission, public
convenience or safety requires, and when the
approval of the municipality or municipalities in
which such land is located has been legally
obtained, upon paying just compensation to the
owner of such land or interest therein... . ”

In December 1964 the plaintiff began construction of
a restaurant on his land; construction was halted after the
foundation had been completed, when the defendants

44a

obtained an injunction against further construction on
March 3, 1965, on the ground of the pendency of condem-
nation proceedings.

Although the defendants, acting for the Department
of Aeronautics, were successful at trial on the issue of
whether the Aeronautics Commission’s decision to take
the property was unreasonable or in bad faith, the Con-
necticut Supreme Court, without considering any other
assignments or error, ordered a new trial solely on the
ground that error was committed in an evidentiary rul-
ing. State v. Simmons, 153 Conn. 351 (1966). At the new
trial, the judge ruled that the taking was invalid since the
defendants had failed to obtain the approval of the Town
of East Granby, as required by Conn. Gen. Stats. § 15-79,
supra. This decision was affirmed by the Connecticut
Supreme Court. State v. Simmons, 155 Conn. 502 (1967).

Persisting after these two aborted attempts, on Janu-
ary 9, 1968, the defendants again began condemnation
proceedings, this time under Conn. Gen. Stats. § 48-12,
the state’s general condemnation statute. The plaintiff
acknowledges in his complaint that “(t)he effect of this
statute was to vest title to the land in the State imme-
diately upon the filing of the statement of condemnation
in the Superior Court... . ” In March 1971 the Connecti-
cut Supreme Court again held the taking illegal, on the
ground that takings by the Aeronautics Commission were
authorized only by Conn. Gen. Stats. § 15-79, and that the
commission could not employ § 48-12. Simmons v. State,
160 Conn. 492 (1971).

In August 1968 after the defendants had begun the
action under § 48-12 but before the Connecticut Supreme

45a

Court had declared this proceeding invalid, “the defen-
dants caused the plaintiff to be arrested and charged with
a criminal offense for cutting a wire fence erected by the
defendants around the plaintiff's property. The plaintiff
was convicted and sentenced to six months, execution
suspended after three months, plus a fine of $250.00.”

The plaintiff also alleges that in April 1968 the defen-
dants caused agents or employees of the Department of
Aeronautics to remove certain cinder blocks from his
property, which they have refused to return to the plain-
tiff and for which they have paid him no compensation.

The plaintiff also alleges that the defendants caused
certain runway lights to be constructed on his property,
which are in use at present and for which he has received
no compensation.

In the 1969 session of the state General Assembly, the
plaintiff was the beneficiary of the following special act:

“AN ACT AUTHORIZING AUGUSTUS
J. SIMMONS
TO SUE THE STATE

Augustus J. Simmons of Windsor is authorized
to bring an action at law against the state not
later than the first Tuesday of January, 1970, and
to recover such damages as may be awarded to
him by said court for loss of use of land owned
by him in the town of East Granby. Any action
brought in accordance with this act shall be
brought to the superior court for Hartford
county and no costs or interests shall be
included in any judgment against the state.
Approved May 28, 1969.” Special Act No. 170.

46a

Under this waiver of sovereign immunity, the plaintiff
brought suit on January 5, 1970, against the defendants
Lynch and Wetherell, and against the state of Connecti-
cut, in the Superior Court for Hartford County, Docket
No. 163, 875, seeking damages for the losses he allegedly
sustained because of the deprivation of the use of his
land for several years. The allegations of that complaint
are quite similar to those here, except that the plaintiff
does not seek redress for his allegedly iHegal arrest and
imprisonment.

Il.
THE CRIMINAL PROSECUTION

The plaintiff seeks damages for his allegedly illegal
arrest and conviction, which he claims were “caused” by
the defendants. The court is of the opinion that he has
failed to state a federal claim upon which relief may be
granted.

The plaintiff acknowledges that he was convicted in a
state court for cutting a fence erected by the defendants.
He may not collaterally attack that conviction here, in the
guise of a civil rights complaint. Goss v. Illinois, 312 F.2d
257 (7th Cir. 1963). See also, Taylor v. New York City Transit
Authority, 433 F.2d 665 (2d Cir. 1970).

Further, his complaint fails to allege that the defen-
dants acted in bad faith; he acknowledges that at the time
of the arrest, title to the property had vested, albeit
temporarily, in the state, under Conn. Gen. Stats. § 48-12.
Public officials are not liable to actions for damages
under § 1983 for actions taken in good faith. See Pierson v.

47a

Ray, 386 U.S. 547 (1967); Bivens v. Six Unknown Named
Agents of the Federal Bureau of Narcotics, __ F.2d __ (2d
Cir. Mar. 8, 1972), slip op. at 2024. The failure to allege
lack of good faith provides an additional ground for
dismissal, for failure to state a claim upon which relief
may be granted. Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b)(6).

IT.
WRONGFUL TAKING

The plaintiff’s contention that his property was taken
without just compensation alleges the deprivation of a
constitutional right, and thus is a basis for federal juris-
diction under 28 U.S.C. § 1343(3). Lynch v. Household Fin.
Corp., 40 U.S.L.W. 4335 (U.S. Mar. 23, 1972).

The court is of the opinion, however, that since the
plaintiff merely seeks damages for interference with the
use of his property, he does not contend that a taking has
occurred within the meaning of the fifth and fourteenth
amendments to the United States Constitution.? Hence,
the complaint must be dismissed for failure to state a
claim upon which relief may be granted. Fed. R. Civ. P.
12(b)(6).

2 The court assumes that the protection provided by the
fifth amendment against the taking of property without just
compensation applies to actions by state officials, through the
due process clause of the fourteenth amendment, which pro-
vides:

“nor shall any State deprive any person of life, liberty,

or property, without due process of law... .”

See Haczela v. City of Bridgeport, 299 F. Supp. 712 (D. Conn. 1969);
cf. Foster v. Herley, 330 F.2d 87 (6th Cir. 1964).

48a

Not every interference with the use of property con-
stitutes a taking within the meaning of the fifth amend-
ment:

“Where the line of demarcation between acts
which amount to the taking of an interest in
property short of a transfer of title, as distin-
guished from acts resulting only in tortious
interference with a plaintiff’s rights in his prop-
erty, is drawn in a case such as is presented
here, requires a determination of whether

‘the action of the Government has been such
as to impose a servitude upon the property
which interferes with the use, management,
or enjoyment of the same. United States v.
Lynah, 188 U.S. 445, 23 S. Ct. 349, 47 L.Ed.
539; Portsmouth Harbor Land & Hotel Co.
v. United States, 260 U.S. 327, 329, 43 S. Ct.
135, 67 L.Ed. 287; United States v. ausby,
328 U.S. 256, 66 S. Ct. 896, 90 L.Ed. 1004;
United States v. Virginia Electric & Power
Co., 365 U.S. 624, 81 S. Ct. 784, 5 L.Ed.2d
838.’ Foster v. Herley, 330 F.2d 87, 90 (6th
Cir. 1964).

“The conceptual difference between acts of
interference with the use and enjoyment of a
person’s property by public officials which
results only in a claim for damages, and those
continuing acts which under all the circum-
stances ripen into a taking by the government of
an interest in the property was discussed in
Foster v. Herley, supra. A medley of continuing
official acts may develop into so much interfer-
ence with the owner’s use and enjoyment of his
property as to justify a finding that it was taken
in advance of the formal transfer of title.” Jim-
mie’s, Inc. v. West Haven, Civ. No. 13,503 (D.

49a

Conn. Mar. 16, 1970), aff'd. 436 F.2d 1339 (2d Cir.
1971).

The plaintiff in his prayer for relief seeks an injunc-
tion against further attempts by the defendants to take
his property “until such time as appropriate constitu-
tional standards are established governing the taking of
land for airport purposes,” damages for the deprivation
of use of his land, and an injunction against the use of the
runway lights which allegedly have been erected on his
land “unless adequate compensation is paid to the plain-
tiff for the right to maintain said lights... . ”

The plaintiff's prayer for relief is inconsistent with
the theory that there has been a constructive taking by
the state; indeed, he fervently resists the implication that
he recognizes any “servitude” imposed on his property
by the defendants. He does not want any interest in his
property to be taken.

Although the plaintiff conceivably could have argued
that the erection of runway lights on his property
resulted in a taking of that portion of his property on
which the lights are situated, so that upon payment of
compensation, title to that portion of his land would vest
in the state, he has not chosen to do so. Rather, he seeks
to have the use of the lights enjoined “unless adequate
compensation is paid to the plaintiff for the right to main-
tain said lights... .” (Emphasis added). This theory of the
case does not comport with a federal claim, since no
taking in the constitutional sense is alleged. Jimmie’s, Inc.
v. West Haven, supra. Contra, Inmobiliaria Borinquen, Inc. v.
Garcia Santiago, 295 F. Supp. 203 (D. P.R. 1969). It is quite

50a

obvious that throughout this vigorously contested litiga-
tion in the state courts the defendants have continuously,
although seemingly ineptly, made repeated attempts to
pay the plaintiff “adequate compensation.” It is equally
clear that the plaintiff has continuously resisted those
attempts and refused to accept “adequate compensation.”
What has resulted from the failure of the defnedants [sic]
to employ the correct procedures to effect a taking of the
plaintiff’s property is a trespass on his land. It would be
paradoxical to now treat the case in this court as a con-
demnation case. The plaintiff’s claim gives rise to an
ordinary action in tort for the recovery of damages, not a
constitutional claim for “adequate compensation” for a
taking under the power of eminent domain.

Nor is federal jurisdiction provided by the plaintiff’s
claim that he was deprived of his property without due
process of law, in violation of the fourteenth amendment
to the United States Constitution. The record of success
which the plaintiff has achieved in the state courts, by his
vigorous efforts to resist the taking of his land by the
state officials, shows clearly that he has been afforded
adequate due process of law.

In the context of this case, it is also clear that the
dispute concerning the concrete blocks, which the plain-
tiff alleges were removed from his land by agents of the
defendants and taken to airport property, is more prop-
erly viewed as a question of who holds title to this
property, rather than a question of whether property has
been taken without just compensation. In this posture,
there is no federal claim with respect to the concrete
blocks.

5la

The plaintiff’s one remaining claim is that:

“The alleged standards and criteria applied to
justify condemnation of the plaintiff’s land were
not uniformly applied to other abuttors, includ-
ing the abutting land owned by the State of
Connecticut, and thus the plaintiff was denied
the equal protection of the laws in violation of
the FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT to the United
States Constitution.”

«Plaintiff here attacks the “sound exercise of discretionary
authority,” Barr v. Mateo, 360 U.S. 564, 575 (1959), of the
state officials, in their decision to attempt to take his land
rather than another’s. Sovereign immunity bars such an
attack. Bivens v. Six Unknown Named Agents of the Federal
Bureau of Narcotics, supra.

The defendants’ motion to dismiss is granted, on the
ground that the plaintiff has failed to state a claim upon
which relief may be granted.

SO ORDERED.

Dated at Hartford, Connecticut, this 3rd day of April,
1972.

M. JosePH BLUMENFELD

Chief Judge

52a

APPENDIX Q

SIMMONS v. WETHERELL
Cite as 472 F.2d 509 (1973)

AUGUSTUS J. SIMMONS,
Plaintiff-Appellant,
V.

HORACE B. WETHERELL, as the Director of Aeronau-
tics, et al.,

Defendants-Appellees.
No. 130, Docket 72-1541.

United States Court of Appeals,
Second Circuit.

Argued Dec. 7, 1972.
Decided Jan. 19, 1973.

Landowner brought civil rights action against state
authorities alleging that his property had been taken
without due compensation. The United States District
Court for the District of Connecticut, M. Joseph Blumen-
feld, Chief Judge, dismissed, and the landowner
appealed. The Court of Appeals, Smith, Circuit Judge,
held that where state authorities had proceeded with
reasonable speed in their attempts to condemn land-
owner’s efforts at defeating condemnation in state courts,
the attempts at condemnation constituted, at most, tor-
tious interference with landowner’s property rights and
landowner could not maintain a civil rights action arising
from the condemnation proceedings, but that land-
owner’s allegations that state had fenced off and put

53a

airport runway lights on portion of property owned by
landowner without paying him due compensation or
instituting court proceedings stated cause of action for
deprivation of landowner’s right to enjoy the use of his
land; however, resolution of that portion of his complaint
would be stayed pending action in state court involving
the matter.

Affirmed in part and remanded in part.

1. CIVIL RIGHTS at 13.4(1)

Attempts by state authorities to condemn land-
owner’s property constituted, at most, tortious interfer-
ence with landowner’s property rights and, therefore,
landowner could not maintain action against state
authorities under statute pertaining to the deprivation of
rights secured by the Constitution, where state officials
had proceeded with reasonable speed in their attempts to
condemn land and any delay arose largely from land-
owner’s efforts at defeating the condemnation in the
courts. C.G.S.A. §§ 15-79, 48-12; 28 U.S.C.A. § 1343(3); 42
U.S.C.A. § 1983.

2. COURTS at 303(2)

Appropriate forum for assertion of landowner’s tort
claim against state authorities based upon effects of
apparent ineptitude in condemning landowner’s prop-
erty was in state court. C.G.S.A. §§ 15-79, 48-12; 28
U.S.C.A. § 1343(3); 42 U.S.C.A. § 1983.

54a

3. CIVIL RIGHTS at 13.4(1)

Actions of state authorities in attempting to condemn
landowner’s property did not constitute a “taking”
within ambit of statute pertaining to the deprivation of
rights secured by the Constitution. 42 U.S.C.A. § 1983.

See publication Words and Phrases for other
judicial constructions and definitions.

4. ACTION at 69(5)
CIVIL RIGHTS at 13.12(3)

Landowner’s allegations that state had fenced off
land owned by him and had put airport runway lights on
it without paying him due compensation or instituting
court proceedings were sufficient to state civil rights
claim for deprivation of landowner’s right to enjoy the
use of his land; however, where landowner’s claim
against state authorities revolved around boundary dis-
pute forming basis of landowner’s pending suit in state
court, landowner’s civil rights action would be stayed
pending resolution of the state court action in interest of
comity and efficient judicial administration. 42 U.S.C.A.
§ 1983.

Stephen W. Silverman, Springfield, Mass., for appel-
lant.

S. Victor Feingold, Asst. Atty. Gen. (Robert K. Killian,
Atty. Gen. of the State of Connecticut, Clement J. Kichuk,
Asst. Atty. Gen., of counsel), for appellees.

55a

Before LUMBARD, SMITH and MANSFIELD, Circuit
Judges.

SMITH, C rcuit Judge:

This case represents the federal stage of a long-stand-
ing and acrimonious court battle between the Simmons
family of East Granby, Connectcut [sic] and state officials
over the latters’ attempts to condemn some land adjoin-
ing Bradley International Airport. Augustus J. Simmons
now appeals from a judgment of the United States Dis-
trict Court for the District of Connecticut, M. Joseph
Blumenfeld, Chief Judge, dismissing his § 1983 action
against the named state officials for failure to state a
claim upon which relief can be granted. We affirm the
bulk of Judge Blumenfeld’s decision; however, as to one
aspect of this suit, we remand, for the reasons outlined
below.

The battle here began when the state aeronautics
commission moved under Conn. Gen. Stat. § 15-79, which
then governed taking of land for airports,! to condemn
the Simmons property. Pursuant to the statute, a petition
for the determination of compensation was brought by
the state in Hartford Superior Court; a judgment was
rendered finding the taking reasonable and appointing a
referee to assess damages. Anastasia Simmons (appel-
lant’s mother), appealed to the Connecticut Supreme
Court, which reversed, finding error in the trial court’s
exclusion of evidence offered to show that property sim-
ilarly situated had not been taken. State v. Simmons, 153
Conn. 351, 216 A.2d 632 (1966). Since this evidence was

1 § 15-79 was repealed by Public Act 768, § 263 (1969).

56a

held to be relevant on the issue of whether the state had
acted arbitrarily in singling out the Simmons land, the
case was remanded for a new trial.

While the first suit was pending, Mrs. Simmons died,
and Augustus entered the fray.? Before the second trial
began, he raised as an affirmative defense to the taking
the fact that the state authorities had not received the
requisite statutory approval from the Town of East
Granby before proceeding with the condemnation. The
trial court agreed; the Supreme Court affirmed. State v.
Simmons, 155 Conn. 502, 234 A.2d 835 (1967). Round two
for the Simmons family.

Undaunted, the state tried again, this time attempt-
ing to use Conn. Gen. Stat. § 48-12, the general condem-
nation statute, which provided for procedures different
from § 15-79 in cases where compensation could not be
agreed upon by the parties. The Simmons family pre-
vailed again, in Simmons v. State, 160 Conn. 492, 280 A.2d
351 (1971), when the Supreme Court held that the state
was required to use the § 15-79 procedure.

At about the same time the abortive condemnation
attempts were taking place, a related dispute arose
between the state and Simmons over some land upon
which runway lights had been placed. Simmons claimed
that the land was his; the state said that it was the state’s.
An ejectment action followed. In Simmons v. Parizek, 158
Conn. 304, 259 A.2d 642 (1969), the Supreme Court held

2 Even Augustus’ succession to the land did not escape the
scrutiny of the Connecticut courts. See Simmons v. McKone, 158
Conn. 71, 255 a.2d 822 (1969).

57a

that since the complaint did not allege that the state
officials had acted unconstitutionally or in a manner
unauthorized by statute, the suit was barred by the doc-
trine of sovereign immunity. Appellant took the hint, and
on October 14, 1969 resurrected che ejectment action, this
time alleging that the taking of the land and the erection
of runway lights was done both unconstitutionally and
without statutory authorization. That suit, Docket No.
162923, Hartford Superior Court, is still pending.

Shortly before the Connecticut Supreme Court deci-
sion in Simmons v. Parizek, supra, a Special Act was
passed by the Connecticut General Assembly, allowing
Augustus Simmons to sue the state for damages over
“loss of use of land,” arising out of the bumbling con-
demnation proceedings. On January 5, 1970, Simmons
brought such a suit, Docket No. 163875, Hartford Supe-
rior Court; the action is still pending.

Thus, if there ever was a litigant who knew that his
claims would be fairly heard in the state courts, Augustus
Simmons was he. Nevertheless, perhaps for a change of
setting, he instituted this § 1983 action on December 22,
1971, alleging that his property was taken without due
compensation, and seeking damages. Since the complaint
alleged deprivation of property rights through the state
action, jurisdiction was correctly predicated upon 28
U.S.C. § 1343(3). Lynch v. Household Finance Corp., 405
U.S. 538, 92 S.Ct. 1113, 31 L.Ed.2d 424 (1972).

[1] As Judge Blumenfeld recognized, the basic ques-
tion presented by this suit is whether the attempts at
condemnation amount to an unconstitutional taking, or

58a

whether they simply constitute at most tortious interfer-
ence by the state officials with Simmons’ property rights.
Judge Blumenfeld found that the latter situation was
presented by the attempts at condemnation here; we
agree.

Simmons relies heavily upon such cases as Foster v.
Detroit, 405 F.2d 138 (6th Cir. 1968); Foster v. Herley, 330
F.2d 87 (6th Cir. 1964); and Inmobiliaria Borinquen, Inc. v.
Santiago, 295 F. Supp. 203 (D. P.R. 1969), for the proposi-
tion that government misuse of the condemnation power
can support a § 1983 action. While we have no quarrel
with the general proposition, this case is readily distin-
guishable from the ones cited. In each of those instances,
the state officials had begun condemnation proceedings
and then let them pend, or had announced redevelop-
ment plans and never brought them to fruition. The result
was the “freezing” of the plaintiff’s use of his property,
and the courts found enough of a taking to state a cause
of action under § 1983.

Here, however, the state officials proceeded with rea-
sonable speed, if not efficiency, every time they sought to
condemn the land. Each effort at condemnation was
accompanied by a prompt resort to the judicial process to
perfect the taking; each time, Simmons fought the action,
and eventually prevailed. In the cited cases, the damage
arose from the state’s inexcusable delay in finalizing its
eminent domain planning; here any delay arises largely
from Simmons’ efforts at defeating the condemnation in
the courts. In the cited cases, the crux of the problem was
official inaction; here, the state has repeatedly tried to
condemn the land and pay Simmons just compensation.
While Simmons certainly should not be censured for

59a

asserting his rights, neither should state officials be
force. to await the natural delays of litigation at their
peril, particularly when the issues involved are narrow
ones of statutory construction.

[2,3] This is not to say that Simmons may not have
a valid tort claim based upon the effects of the state’s
apparent ineptitude here. But the appropriate forum for
the assertion of such a claim is the state court, where
Simmons now has an action, brought pursuant to the
waiver of immunity in the 1969 Special Act, pending.
Whatever else the state’s actions here amounted to, they
did not constitute a taking within the ambit of § 1983. See
Jimmie’s, Inc. v. City of West Haven, 436 F.2d 1339 (°d
Cir.), cert. denied, 403 U.S. 931, 91 S. Ct. 2254, 29 1.Ed.2d
710 (1971).

[4] Thus, as to the condemnation attempts, we
affirm the judgment below. The allegations about the land
upon which the runway lights are placed, however, stand
on a somewhat different footing. At least at this stage of
the proceedings, we must accept Simmons’ claim that he
owns the land, and that the state had fenced it off and put
runway lights on it. Assuming all that to be true, we are
unable to conclude that “it appears beyond doubt that the
plaintiff can prove no set of facts in support of his claim
which would entitle him to relief.” Conley v. Gibson, 355
U.S. 41, 45-46, 78 S. Ct. 99, 102, 2 L.Ed.2d 80 (1957). If the
land is in fact Simmons’, and the state indeed has fenced
it off without paying him due compensation or instituting
court proceedings, it would seem that a deprivation of
appellant’s right to “enjoy” the use of his land is stated.
See Lynch, supra, 405 U.S. at 544, S. Ct. 1113.

60a

However, as Judge Blumenfeld properly recognized,
the taking claim here really revolves around a boundary
dispute. It is that same dispute that forms the basis of
Simmons’ pending suit, Docket No. 162923, in Hartford
Superior Court. The resolution of boundary disputes is a
matter traditionally within the purview of the state
courts; the final decision there will undoubtedly control
Simmons’ claims here. Thus, while we find a cause of
action stated with respect to the land upon which runway
lights are placed, and remand, the district court should
stay its hand here pending the resolution of the state
court action, both in the interests of comity and efficient
judicial administration. See Klein v. Walston & Co., 432
F.2d 936 (2d Cir. 1970); Mottolese v. Kaufman, 176 F.2d
301 (2d Cir. 1949) (L. Jan, J.)

We have considered appellant’s other claims includ-
ing those based upon an alleged false arrest and
imprisonment, and find them without merit. We affirm
the judgment below in part and remand in part for dispo-
sition not inconsistent with this opinion.

Federal Register
Vol. 50. No. 43

Tuesday,
March 5, 1985

6la

APPENDIX R

Presidential Documents

Title 3 -
The President

Memorandum of February 27, 1985

Memorandum for the Heads of
Executive Departments and Agen-
cies.

The purpose of this Memorandum is
to improve administration and
implementation of the Uniform
Relocation Assistance and Real
Property Acquisition Policies Act of
1970.

Specifically, I hereby direct the fol-
lowing actions:

1. The President Memoran-
dum of September 6, 1973 on this
subject is superseded.

2. As with other Administra-
tion management improvement ini-
tiatives, a lead agency, the
Department of Transportation
(DOT), is designated to coordinate
and monitor implementation of the
Act, and consult periodically with
State and local governments and
other organizations and interest
groups affected by administration of
the Act.

[FR Doc. 85-5298
Filed 2-28-85; 4:14 pm]
Billing code 3195-01-M

62a

3. DOT, jointly with the
Department of Housing and Urban
Development, shall interact with the
principal executive departments
and agencies affected by the Act in
developing Administration policy.

4. Within 90 days of the date
of this Memorandum, all affected
executive departments and agencies
shall propose common regulations
under the Act. Within one year of
the date of this Memorandum, such
departments and agencies shal!
issue common regulations under the
Act. Such regulations shall be con-
sistent with the model policy pro-
mulgated by DOT, in consultation
and coordination with other
affected agencies, and published in
final form in the Federal Register
simultaneously with this Memoran-
dum.

5. DOT shall report annually
to the President’s Council on Man-
agement Improvement, through the
Office of Management and Budget,
on implementation of the Act.

/s/ Ronald Reagan

THE WHITE HOUSE,
Washington, February 27, 1985

63a

APPENDIX S

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
FEDERAL AVIATION ADMINISTRATION

NEW ENGLAND REGION
12 NEW ENGLAND EXECUTIVE PARK
BURLINGTON, MA 01803

Lease No.: DOT-FA74NE-0369
BRADLEY INTERNATIONAL
ILS-ALS R/W6

LEASE

between
STATE OF CONNECTICUT
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

and

THe UNitED STATES OF AMERICA

This Lease, made and entered into this first day of
June in the year one thousand nine hundred and seventy
four by and between the State of Connecticut, Depart-
ment of Transportation whose address is 24 Wolcott Hill,
Wethersfield, Connecticut, 06109 for itself and its heirs,
executors, administrators, successors, and assigns, here-
inafter called the lessor, and the UNitED STATES OF AMERICA,
hereinafter called the Government:

WitNEssETH: The parties hereto for the consideration
hereinafter mentioned covenant and agree as follows:

1. For the term beginning June 1, 1974 and ending
June 30, 1974, the lessor hereby leases to the Government
the following described property, hereinafter called the
premises, viz:

64a

As contained in Exhibit I attached hereto and made a
part hereof.

* * +

9. The Lessor grants to the Government the right to
utilize any existing power lines, control lines, conduits, or
other facilities of the Lessor which are adaptable to use in
connection with the purpose of this covenant.

10. The Lessor hereby warrants that it has acquired and
possesses an adequate real estate right in the property
described herein, and that it is authorized to grant to the
Government the rights and interests set forth herein.

11. The right of ingress and egress and the right of way
here:), granted shall insure to the benefits of the Govern-
ment and its duly authorized agents, representative, con-
tractors and employees.

12. The Lessor agrees not to erect or to allow to be
erected on the property leased hereby or on adjacent
property of the Lessor, any structure or obstruction of
whatsoever

[Text truncated at 120,000 characters. The full text is on the page linked above.]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_1544%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
