# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Lewis v. Webb

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_1527%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1995
- **Citation:** 514 U.S. 1128

## Text

94163 4 MAR 20 1995)

NO. ___aeeies OF THE CLERK

7 e

\

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1994

— me

SAMUEL LEWIS, Director of Department of Corrections,
Arizone State Prison,

PETITIONER,
-VS-
TERRY L. WEBB,

RESPONDENT.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

GRANT WOODS
Attorney General

PAUL J. MCMURDIE
Chief Counsel

Criminal Appeals Section
(Counsel of Record)

DIANE M. RAMSEY
Assistant Attorney Gener#!
1275 West Washington
Phoenix, Arizona 85007-2997
Telephone: (602) 542-4686

eet we eee

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Was the holding of Idaho v. Wright a “new rule” for the
purposes of federal habeas review or was that holding dictated by
precedent and thus applicable to a state case tried in 1987?

2. Although corroborating evidence cannot support hearsay
reliability under Idaho v. Wright, can noncorroborating evidence

support unreliability?

taaduasiahendihds ee

~ on na

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
eo i
prt Be sys yy ||: iii
ee a ss ks ig 4 4 Ae 8b vw eee oe 1
SIATEMENL OF JURISDICTION .........0c cc eeee 1
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED ......... 2
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED ............. 2
mEPusteeeees GFE Bete GAGE www ce ee 4

ARGUMENTS

I

THIS COURT’S HOLDING IN JDAHO V. WRIGHT
WAS A NEW RULE THAT SHOULD NOT BE
APPLIED ON COLLATERAL REVIEW. ......... 8

II
IDAHO V. WRIGHT FORBIDS USE _ OF
CORROBORATING EVIDENCE TO DETERMINE

Soe fog os 46: re 11
ean a a a 17
ee ee Ge Gas ae a A ew el Al

re ea ga 6 ag ao 4 ee a8 wk ww Bl

Pea O PANE TN IRL Ot Bor et ’ , ~

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASE PAGE

Brecht v. Abrahamson,
> Die 5 She oe Mae 8F8U,
ae ti ee: a ee Ey 6 io be ee ee eke 15, 16

Butler v. McKellar,
494 U.S. 407, 110 S. Ct. 1212,

fe OS ee ee eae 9
Dana v. Department of Corrections,

Se oe ae Ge. ED 6 ee ee ee eee 15
Dolney v. Erickson, 32 F.3d 381 (8th Cir. 1994) ........ 16

Estelle v. McGuire,
502 U.S. 62, 112 S. Ct. 475,
Se aay ee ee bo & & 6 60d 0d a Oe ea 12

Gilmore v. Taylor,
LB. gs BAD GS. GA. S28,

Rae a ee ED gp 8 4 os hea oe Ae keels eee Ot 8
Idaho v. Wright, 497 U.S. 805,

110 S. Ct. 3139, 111 L. Ed. 2d 638 (1990) ...... i, 14
Larson v. Nutt, 34 F.3d 647 (8th Cir. 1994) ........... 15

Penry v. Lynaugh,
492 U.S. 302, 109 S. Ct. 2934,
ee ® & Fs. ere eee ee ee ee 9

Saffle v. Parks,
494 U.S. 484, 110 S. Ct. 1257,
ee i ee ee ee es vw a aoe we Oe ek 7)

Swan v. Peterson, 6 F.3d 1373 (9th Cir. 1993) ......... 12

Teague v. Lane,
489 U.S. 288, 109 S. Ct. 1060,
Sa me Fg: errr eee 9, 10

ill

Sane Ares aap

United States v. Bailey, 581 F.2d 341 (3d Cir. 1978) ..... i0
United States v. Nick, 604 F.2d 1199 (9th Cir. 1979) ..... 13
Webb v. Lewis, 33 F.3d 1079 (9th Cir. 1994) ........... 1
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS PAGE
ee a ob ks cee eRe OREO Oe Ewe ee ee l
United States Constitution,

Cs a aa ewe & eee ee Ae Ge l

SS iwc ce ven eee aset ede ee en 2

ee ee a 2
RULES

United States Supreme Court

rs os 5 ee ek. 4 & STOR SS ee 1
Arizona Rules of Evidence
ee ee eee eee 2,4
ES Ge ate op a 6 ae Kee ee eae A aed 4
i eee se eee ee ere 4
EE ba so 6:4 ae nes oe eee ON ee eS 2

iV

OPINION BELOW

On August 24, 1994,” the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals, in
a divided opinion, overturned the district court and granted a writ of
habeas corpus to a state prisoner convicted of molestation of a child
and sexual conduct with a minor. Webb v. Lewis, 33 F.3d 1079 (9th
Cir. 1994). The court denied the petition for rehearing with
suggestion for rehearing en banc on January 20, 1995.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

Respondent’s petition was mailed on ~ 1955. Thus it
was filed within the 90-day time limit of Rule 13, Rules of the
United States Supreme Court, which calculates the time for the filing
of the petition from the denial of a motion for rehearing in the lower
court. Rule 13.4, U.S. Sup.Ct. Therefore this Court’s jurisdiction
vests pursuant to the United States Constitution, article III, § 2 and

28 U.S.C. § 1257(a).

? Opinion amended October 13, 1994 and December 8, 1994.

|

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED
Sixth Amendment to the United States Constitution:

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy the
right to a speedy and public trial, by an impartial jury of
the State and district wherein the crime shall have been
committed, which district shall have been previously
ascertained by law, and to be informed of the nature
and cause of the accusation; to be confronted with the
witnesses against him; to have compulsory process for
obtaining witnesses in his favor, and to have the
Assistance of Counsel for his defense.

Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution:

Section 1. All persons born or naturalized in the United
States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens
of the United States and the State wherein they reside.
No Siate shall make or enforce any law_ which shall
abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of the
United States; nor shall any State deprive any person of
life, liberty, or property, without due process of law;
nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal
protection of the laws.

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED
Rule 804(b)(5) of the Arizona Rules of Evidence states:

Other exceptions. A statement not specifically covered
by any of the foregoing exceptions but having equivalent
circumstantial guarantees of trustworthiness, if the court
determines that (A) the statement is offered as evidence
of a material fact; (B) the statement is more probative on
the point for which it is offered than any other evidence
which the proponent can procure through reasonable
efforts, and (C) the general purposes of these rules and

2

the interests of justice will best be served by admission
of the statement into evidence. However, a statement
may not be admitted under this exception unless the
proponent of it makes known to the adverse party
sufficiently in advance of the trial or hearing to provide
the adverse party with a fair opportunity to prepare to
meet it, the proponent’s intention to offer the statement
and the part.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Procedural History of the Case.

Respondent was charged with one count of molestation of a
child and one count of sexual conduct with a minor, both class 2
dangerous crimes against children. A jury convicted him as
charged. The trial court sentenced him to presumptive, consecutive
prison terms of I7 years and 20 years. Respondent appealed his
convictions and sentences. He challenged the admissibility of the
victim’s out-of-court statements to her mother, her babysitter, and
her psychotherapists. -The Arizona Court of Appeals affirmed both
convictions and sentences on July 25, 1989 by Memorandum
Decision. The Arizona appellate court upheld the trial court’s
finding that the girl’s statements to her mother and her babysitter
had sufficient guarantees of trustworthiness to be admissible under
the residual hearsay exception found in Rules 803(24) and 803(b)(5),
Arizona Rules of Evidence. The Arizona court found that the
statements to the psychotherapists were admissible under the medical
diagnosis exception to the hearsay rule, Rule 803(4), Arizona Rules

of Evidence. Alternatively, the court of appeals found that these

same statements were also admissible under the residual hearsay
exception to the hearsay rule. The court further found that
admission of the videotaped interview if error, was harmless error
because the videotape was cumulative to other evidence properly
admitted. Thus the Arizona court rejected Respondent’s claims
based upon the confrontation clause. On December 12, 1989, the
Arizona Supreme Court denied Respondent’s petition for review.
Respondent filed a petition in the federal district court alleging
that the admission of the victim’s out-of-court statements to the four
witnesses violated his rights under the Confrontation Clause of the
Sixth and Fourteenth Amendments. The district court held that the
Confrontation Clause was not violated because the statements to the
mother and babysitter admitted under a residual hearsay exception
contained particularized guarantees of trustworthiness. The district
court also found that the statements to the psychotherapists were
properly admitted under the firmly rooted hearsay exception of
Statements made for the purpose of diagnosis and treatment.

Therefore, those statements presumptively had sufficient

trustworthiness to avoid a Confrontation Clause violation. And

alternatively, those statements too had particularized guarantees of
trustworthiness.

The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals reversed the district court
and held that the videotaped interview with the victim, conducted by
a social worker, was not admissible under the hearsay exception for
medical diagnosis or treatment, and it did not have sufficient
guarantees of trustworthiness to be admissible under the residual
exception to the hearsay rule and therefore violated the Defendant’s
right of confrontation.

Facts of the Case.

Connie Martin babysat the 2-year-old victim, Heather, from
December 1984, to June 1986. The victim’s mother, Leslie, then
started often leaving the girl overnight with her neighbors,
Respondent and his friend, Cindy. Leslie noted that Heather was
reluctant to stay at Respondent’s residence. On one occasion at
home, the 2-year-old entered the bathroom and saw her mother
applying prescription cream to her vaginal area. She told her

mother, “Terry put medicine on me.” Leslie confronted Respondent

(Terry) and Cindy with this comment, but they denied it. The two

i eet Sear as Uw

of them moved away and Leslie started leaving Heather with Connie
Martin, her former babysitter.

The mother eventually asked the babysitter about the “Terry
put medicine on me” statement. The babysitter related that Heather
had told her, “Terry put medicine in me” like a “bolt out of the
blue.” In addition, Heather said such things as “Terry was a bad
bad boy. He pulled down his panties. And he put his finger up in
my little thingy and it hurt my tummy real bad.” She also
demonstrated to Connie how Terry put a fist in her face and said,
“don’t you tell, Heather.”

While riding with the babysitter in the car in the Parker,
Arizona area, Heather spontaneously pointed out the Kahok Motel
and said, “Terry is there and he’s going to hurt me.” At one point,
Respondent lived at the Kahok Motel while he was babysitting the
girl. Heather made other statements to the babysitter, such as
“Terry put his pee pee in her mouth and it dripped in her mouth” as
she showed Connie Martin how it made her gag. Heather also sat

spread-eagle on a chair and pointed to her vagina to demonstrate

where “Terry put his pee pee in my side.” Heather later repeated

these statements to two child abuse experts. She asked to have the
doctor take the “medicine” out of her. The state also presented
photographic medical evidence and expert testimony that the girl’s
abnormal genital area was consistent with repeated episodes of
sexual abuse.

By the time of trial, Heather was 3 years old. She refused to
communicate about the incidents when both parties attempted to
videotape her testimony. The trial court found her to be unavailable.
Respondent made ro attempt to call her during trial.

ARGUMENTS
I

THIS COURT’S HOLDING IN IDAHO V. WRIGHT

WAS A NEW RULE THAT SHOULD NOT BE

APPLIED ON COLLATERAL REVIEW.

The federal appellate court has reversed Respondent’s
convictions based upon a holding by this Court that did not exist
when this case was tried in 1987. To impose the requirements of the

1990 decision in Jdaho v. Wright on the state courts, as the Ninth

Circuit did in this case tried in 1987, is an improper application of

a new rule to a case on collateral review. Gilmore v. Taylor,

BN i nn wise ha sisi

U.S. __, 113 S. Ct. 2112, 124 L. Ed. 2d 306 (1993); Saffle v.
Parks, 494 U.S. 484, 110 S. Ct. 1257, 108 L. Ed. 2d 415 (1990);
Teague v. Lane, 489 U.S. 288, 109 S. Ct. 1060, 103 L Ed. 2d 334
(1989). See also Butler v. McKellar, 494 U.S. 407, 110 S. Ct.
1212, 108 L. Ed. 2d 347 (1990); Penry v. Lynaugh, 492 U.S. 302,
109 S. Ct. 2934, 106 L. Ed. 2d 256 (1989). As a threshold matter,
a court must determine first if the relief the petitioner seeks would
create a “new rule.” Penry v. Lynaugh, 492 U.S. 302, 109 S. Ct.
2934, 2944, 106 L. Ed. 2d 256 (1989) (citing Teague v. Lane, 489
U.S. 288, 109 S. Ct. 1060, 1069, 103 L. Ed. 2d 334 (1989)
(plurality opinion)). A “new rule” is when the relief sought “breaks
new ground or imposes a new obligation on the states or the Federal
Government.” Penry, 492 U.S. at 312; Teague, 489 U.S. at 298.
A case announces a new ruie if “the result was not dictated by
precedent” existing at the time the defendant’s conviction became
final. Penry, 492 U.S. at 312 (emphasis in original), Teague,
489 U.S. at 298.

Prior to Wright, many jurisdictions admitted out-of-court

statements of child victims under the residual exception by referring

Keeani lesen ee ee ee

to extrinsic corroborating evidence just as the trial court did in this
case. See, e.g, United States v. Bailey, 581 F.2d 341, 349 (3d Cir.
1978) (“(T)he trustworthiness of a statement should be analyzed by
evaluating not only the facts corroborating the veracity of the
Statement, but also the circumstances in which the declarant made
the statement and the incentive he had to speak truthfully or
falsely.”). The dissent in Wright gave other examples of state and
federal courts that looked to corroborating evidence to determine
trustworthiness prior to Wright. 497 U.S. at 829n.2. This shows
that Wright set forth a new rule.

Under Penry and Teague, new rules will not be applied in
federal habeas corpus unless they fall into one of two exceptions.
The first exception is if the rule places “certain kinds of primary,
private individual conduct beyond the power of the criminal
law-making authority to proscribe.” Teague, 489 U.S. at 303. The
second exception is the “procedure at issue must implicate the
fundamental fairness of the trial.” Teague, 489 U.S. at 304

(emphasis added). Neither exception applies to the evidentiary issue

in this case. It is wholly improper under Teague to reverse a state

OER ee ee TT ee

court evidentiary ruling based upon law that was not in existence
when the case was tried and became final.
I]

IDAHO V. WRIGHT FORBIDS USE OF

CORROBORATING EVIDENCE TO DETERMINE

UNTRUSTWORTHINESS.

In Idaho v. Wright, this Court said corroborating evidence may
not be considered because it “would permit . . . bootstrapping on the
trustworthiness of other evidence at trial.” Jd. 497 U.S. at 823.
The Court held that a finding of trustworthiness must be based on a
consideration of the totality of the circumstances, but that “the
relevant circumstances include only those that surround the making
of the statement and that render the declarant particularly worthy of
belief.” Jd., 497 U.S. at 814. The standard is whether “the
declarant’s truthfulness is so clear from the surrounding
circumstances that the test of cross-examination would be of
marginal utility.” Jd. at 815. Thus, the Court held that a trial court
may not consider independent corroborating evidence in judging the

admissibility of a hearsay statement sought to be admitted pursuant

to a residual hearsay exception. /d. at 816-17.

11

It is a perversion of this Court’s holding in Wright to say that
while corroborating evidence is irrelevant to a determination of
trustworthiness, it can be used to show untrustworthiness. Yet the
Ninth Circuit’s opinion extends Wright beyond its holding by
claiming that although corroborating evidence cannot support

reliability, noncorroborating evidence can support unreliability. If

this evidence is irrelevant on the issue of reliability, it should also
be irrelevant on the question of unreliability. As the dissent in Webb

points out, this reasoning is inconsistent with the Ninth Circuit's

: holding in Swan v. Peterson, 6 F.3d 1373, 1381 (9th Cir. 1993),
cert. denied, 115 S. Ct. 479 (1994) (Wright’s caution against
reference to other evidence at trial suggests noncorroborating
evidence cannot be used to demonstrate unreliability). By its
December 8, 1994, amendment to the opinion, the Webb majority
merely refers to Swan as dicta on this point.

Furthermore, this extension of Wright actually put the majority
in the business of determining the admissibility of evidence contrary
to Estelle v. McGuire, 502 U.S. 62, 69, 112 S. Ct. 475, 116 L. Ed.

2d 385 (1991) (evidentiary rulings do not raise federal constitutional

12

*
4
:

ah VE se Bae ites

eet, et we Me ee

questions reviewable in habeas corpus proceedings). A large part of
the Webb opinion discusses extrinsic evidence at trial and the
inferences to be drawn from it. 33 F.3d at 1084-85. That is not the
role of a federal appellate court on collateral review. The majority’s
look at the circumstances surrounding the statement also strays from
the role of the federal court on collateral review. The majority holds
that age-appropriate language about sex and body parts indicates
unreliability. 33 F.3d at 1085. In other words, this 3-year-old’s
failure to use sophisticated sexual terminology makes her statement
unreliable. That is contrary to the same court’s holding in United
States v. Nick, 604 F.2d 1199, 1204 (9th Cir. 1979), that age-
appropriate testimony signifies reliability. 604 F.2d at 1204
(“childish terminology has the ring of verity”). If childish
terminology can signify both reliability and unreliability, then the
inferences to be drawn from the facts obviously belongs to the trial
court, not a federal appellate court reviewing a record 7 years later.
The fact that the Ninth Circuit had a videotape to view over and
over in this matter does not change the law with regard to that

court’s role in reviewing state evidentiary rulings. Mere

13

end Sah SAVE Wolly Rb A Ba I a 0k RO ha ina il te dil li a ani

Gia ar dee Th

disagreement with the trial court’s inferences drawn from the same
facts does not make out a constitutional violation.

As noted by the dissent, the law sanctions a trial court
considering the sexual terminology of a child molestation victim in
determining reliability, but it does not dictate that age-appropriate
terminology equals unreliability. 33 F.3d at 1086. This Court’s
previous case law supports the dissent. There is no mechanical test
for determining particularized guarantees of trustworthiness. Courts
have considerable leeway in their consideration of appropriate
factors. Wright, 497 U.S. at 816. Because there is no mechanical
test, it is also not correct for the Webb majority to hold that
subsequent consistent statements by a victim cannot be spontaneous
once the victim has been previously questioned about the case. The
opinion states that if the victim has talked about the case before,
spontaneity means unreliability. 33 F.3d at 1084. Petitioner submits
that Jdaho v. Wright never meant to put state trial courts into such
a Straight jacket. The dissent’s observed conundrum is correct. The
opinion tells the police that they should not investigate because only

the first statement counts. Like childish terminology, spontaneity

bo

PS ich at PO AR RN Ln te i lid

may or may not indicate reliability. It is not the federal court’s role
to say whether it does or does not in a particular case. It is the role
of the federal habeas court to see that the state trial court considered
appropriate factors that are supported by the record thus assuring the
defendant a fair trial.

Lastly, Petitioner would ask the Court to consider Brecht v.
Abrahamson, __ U.S. __, 113 S. Ct. 1710, 123 L. Ed. 2d 353
(1993). On collateral habeas corpus review, the harmless error
standard is that the prisoner must establish that the constitutional
violation “had a substantial and injurious effect or influence in
determining the jury’s verdict.” 113 S. Ct. at 1722. That standard
is not met unless the state prisoner establishes that the constitutional
violation resulted in “actual prejudice.” Jd.

When the victim’s out-of-court statements in a child sex case
have been properly admitted by witness testimony, error in admitting
an additional videotape of the child’s statements may be harmless.
Larson v. Nutt, 34 F.3d 647, 648 (8th Cir. 1994), cert. pet. filed,
Nov. 14, 1994; Dana v. Department of Corrections, 958 F.2d 237,

240 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, _U.S.__, 112 S. Ct. 3043 (1992):

15

see Dolney v. Erickson, 32 F.3d 381, 382 (8th Cir. 1994), cert. pet.
filed, Nov. 18, 1994. The Webb opinion gives only a one-sentence
nod to the Brecht harmless error standard. Petitioner submits that
the state is entitled under Brecht to as much discussion of the other
evidence in the case as the Webb majority gave to the discussion of
extrinsic evidence of unreliability of the tape. In Brecht, 113 S. Ct.
at 1722, this Court discussed al] of the evidence in the record as a
whole before making its harmless error determination. That was not

: done in this case.

Ce EN ee ek eee Fr

a

|

CONCLUSION

The 1990 decision in Idaho v. Wright should never have been

applied to this 1987 state trial. The Ninth Circuit also misread

Wright when it decided that noncorroborating evidence was relevant
to determine untrustworthiness under the residual hearsay exception.
Lastly, the appellate court gave short shrift to the review for
harmless error under the Brecht standard. The Webb opinion should
be vacated and district court order denying the federal habeas writ
should be reinstated.

Respectfully submitted,

GRANT WOODS
Attorney General

PAUL J. McMURDIE
Chief Counsel
(Counsel of Record)

DIANE M. RAMSEY

Assistant Attorney Geners]
Attorneys for PETITIONER

5638

APPENDIX A

ee Sat jai rd

FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Respondent-Appellee.

TERRY L. WEBB, ) No. 93-16167

)
Petition-Appellant, ) D.C. No.

) CV-90-01608-SMM
)

v. ) ORDER AND
) AMENDED

SAMUEL A. LEWIS, ) OPINION
)
)
)

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the District of Arizona
Stephen M. McNamee, District Judge, Presiding

Submitted May 12, 1994*
San Francisco, California

Filed August 24, 1994
Amended October 13, 1994

Before: Warren J. Ferguson, John T. Noonan, Jr., and
Thomas G. Nelson, Circuit Judge

Opinion by Judge Noonan; Dissent by Judge T.G. Nelson

6 Bie i: ae am pan

*The panel unanimously finds this case suitable for submission
without oral arguemnt. Fed.R.App.P. 34(a); 9th Cir.R.34-4.

A-1

COUNSEL

Stafford W. Prante, El Cajon, California, for the petitioner-
appellant.

Diane M. Ramsey, Assistant Attorney General, Phoenix,
Arizona, for the respondent-appellee

OPINION

NOONAN, Circuit Judge

Terry L. Webb appeals the denial by the district court of a writ of
habeas corpus freeing him from imprisonment by the state of
Arizona. Holding that there has been a gross denial by Arizona of
a right secured to Webb under the Confrontation Clause of the
United States Constitution, we reverse the judgment of the district
court and direct the issuance of the writ.

FACTS AND PROCEEDINGS

In the summer of 1986 Leslie Morton was separated from her
husband and living in a trailer park with her two children, David,
age 10, and Heather, age 2 1/2. She worked the night shift at the
Little Brown Jug, finishing around midnight or in the small hours of

the morning.

A-2

Because of her work, Leslie Morton had to find babysitters for her
children. She usually left David with her own parents but because of
Heather’s difficult behavior she thought her parents would not be
able to cope with her. She found other babysitters in her next-door
neighbors in the trailer park, Terry Webb and his companion Cindy
Hammontree, who had a child of their own, Cody. Leslie Morton
thought of Terry and Cindy as her best friends.

During the summer months Heather Morton stayed on occasion
with Terry and Cindy and wrestled with Cody. When Heather
stayed overnight with Terry and Cindy, her mother would bathe her
in the morning. Her mother never noticed any signs suggesting
abuse by Terry or by Cindy. Heather never spoke to her mother of
any abuse. In late August 1986, when her mother was putting on
cream for a bladder infection and referred to it as "medicine,"
Heather said to her, "Terry put medicine on me." Her mother had
"no idea" of what Heather meant.

In September 1986 Leslie Morton began to use a new babysitter
during the day, Connie Martin. Connie used her home to babysit a

number of children, supplementing her income as a church

A-3

custodian. On four other occasions Connie Martin had reported to
the authorities that a child in her care had suffered sexual abuse.

On September 23, 1986, when Connie was "hustling about trying
to find her checkbook" and paying little attention to the children as
"there was kind of a lot of chitter-chat," Heather said that Terry had
put medicine in her. She then said, "Terry is a bad man, he hurt
me." Connie Martin’s husband then asked Heather to tell his wife
why Terry was a bad man. Heather went on, according to Connie
Martin, to accuse Terry Webb in childish language of digitally
assaulting her genitals and of instructing her not to tell. Connie
Martin’s response was "to mask the horror of it the best that I
could," to put her arms around her, and to ask her questions "in the
most non-threatening way" in order "to derive some basic
information. " Connie was immediately convinced of Terry’s
criminal guilt: "I emotionally didn’t feel like I could stand the
horrendousness of this heinous crime that was committed against this
child."

On September 30, 1986, Connie Martin told Heather. "Heather,

you know what Terry did to you was very very bad, and that

A-4

Heavenly Father and Jesus does not like bad things to happen to his
little children, and He has given us special friends to help us."
According to Martin, this statement was made as a way of preparing
Heather for "special friends" from the Children Protective Service
of the Division of Economic Security of the State of Arizona.

Also on September 30 Connie Martin for the first time informed
Leslie Morton of what Heather had said to her about Terry. This
conversation was overheard by Heather, who ran over and said,
"Terry no do those things to me, Connie."

Connie Martin then informed the district attorney’s office of LaPaz
County, Arizona about what she said Heather had first said to her by
way of accusations against Terry Webb. Allan Duprey from the
Victim Witness Office in LaPaz County arranged to have Heather
interviewed in San Diego, California at the Center for Child
Protection at Children’s Hospital and Health Center. Duprey
accompanied Heather and her mother to the Center on October 16,
1986. At the Center for Child Protection Heather was interviewed
by Linda Proctor, a social worker holding a B.A. and M.A. in

Social Work from San Diego State University. This interview was

A-5

videotaped and constituted part of the state’s case against Terry
Webb. It is discussed at greater length below.

After the interview with Proctor, Heather was medically examined
at the Center for Child Protection by Sylvia Strickland, a physician
specializing in child abuse cases and often consulted by law
enforcement and child protection services. Strickland found
fibroblasts in Heather’s hymen that she interpreted to be scar tissue
from the use of force on the hymen; she also formed the opinion
that the opening of the hymen had been enlarged beyond its normal
size. She believed that the abrasions would have been caused by
several episodes over a period of no less than two months. She had
no means of knowing when the episodes would have occurred,
except that it would have been more than two weeks before the
examination and not over a year from October 1986.

Webb was indicted. A pretrial hearing was conducted on February
18, 1987 as to the admissability of certain statements against him.
The hearing was convened pursuant to Arizona Criminal Code Sec.
13-1416, which made admissible a statement by a minor under the

age of 10 describing any sexual offense witnessed by the minor

A-6

provided that, in a hearing before the judge, it was established "that
the time, content and circumstances of the statement provide
sufficient indicia of reliability" and that the minor testified or, if
unavailable, there was corroborative evidence of the statement. In
1987 the Arizona Supreme Court found this statute to be
unconstitutional. State v. Robinson, 153 Ariz. 191, 198, 735 P.2d
801, 808 (1987). At the hearing in 1987 held prior to this decision,
the trial court found the videotape and other hearsay reports of
Heather’s statements to be admissible.

Webb’s trial followed. No person who had seen the alleged
criminal acts of Webb testified. Heather Martin herself refused to
answer questions put to her by the judge outside the courtroom. The
State did not present her as a witness. Neither did the state present
as a witness Terry Webb’s companion Cindy, who, if some of the
hearsay was correct, had actually witnessed the abuse. The state’s
entire case connecting Webb to the injuries found by Dr. Strickland
was made up of hearsay reported by Connie Martin, Leslie Morton

and Linda Proctor and of the videotaped interview with Heather.

A-7

The videotape was taken by the jury into the jury room during its
deliberations.

Webb was convicted of both counts and sentenced to consecutive
prison terms of 17 years and 20 years for a total of 37 years
imprisonment. He appealed, contending that his Confrontation
Clause rights had been violated. The Arizona Court of Appeals
affirmed his conviction. The Arizona Supreme Court denied his
petition for review.

On October 17, 1990 Webb filed pro se his petition for habeas
corpus in the federal district court for the District of Arizona, again
alleging the deprivation of his Confrontation Clause rights. On
February 27, 1991 the case was referred to a magistrate. On July
15, 1993, one year and four months later, the magistrate made a
report and recommendation to deny the petition. Nine months after
this report and over two and a half years after the filing of the
petition, on April 30, 1993, the district court denied Webb’s
petition. The district court also declined to provide counsel for

Webb.

A-8

Webb appealed. A motions panel of this court ordered that he be

provided with counsel.
ANALYSIS

The videotape of Linda Proctor interviewing Heather Morton is a
film of thirty minutes duration, in which Proctor interviews Heather
about the alleged sexual acts performed on her by Webb. The
purpose of this interview, according to Proctor’s own testimony, was
to obtain a statement from her. The interview is conducted with the
care and skill of a person who for six years has interviewed alleged
victims of child abuse. The social worker first interests Heather in
playing with dolls and engages tier in questions about her home and
family and babysitter. The interviewer then focuses on the sexual
characteristics of the dolls and induces Heather to comment on them.
In the course of the half-hour, Proctor repeatedly turns the
conversation into questions about the conduct of Terry to Heather,
salting the conversation three times with the comment that Terry is
a bad man or did a bad thing. The social worker asks Heather
directly whether she suffered any injury from Terry and whether she

now has any injury; that is the extent of her questions that could be

A-9

considered medical. Her focus is on discovering sexual abuse. She
persistently returns to this theme as Heather’s attention wanders to
the dolls. In a way that would never be permitted in a judicial
setting, Proctor repeats questions that Heather declines to answer.
The problem of obtaining evidence of sexual abuse of a small child
while observing the requirements of due process of law has led to
the admission of evidence under firmly rooted exceptions to the

"

hearsay rule. Otherwise the statements are "presumptively
unreliable and inadmissible for confrontation clause purposes’ ".
Idaho v. Wright, 497 U.S. 805, 818, 110 S.Ct. 3139, 3148, 111
L.Ed.2d 638 (1990), quoting Lee v. Illinois, 476 U.S. 530, 543, 106
S.Ct. 2056, 2063, 90 L.Ed.2d 514 (1986).

[1] The state of Arizona contends that the videotape is admissible
“under the firmly rooted hearsay exception of medical diagnosis or
treatment and thus no further guarantees of trustworthiness are
required." The exception to the hearsay rule invoked by the state
is, of course, firmly rooted. It is astonishing, however, to have the

State contend that Proctor, a social worker, was engaged in medical

diagnosis or treatment. Nothing in the videotape supports this

A-10

statement. At the trial the prosecutor offered an argument not
repeated on appeal: that the interview by Proctor was preparatory
to the medical examination by Strickland, and the latter could be
considered therapeutic. This argument, while showing that
Strickland was prepared by Proctor to find that Heather had been
abused, does not convert the social worker’s interview into a medical
procedure. Moreover, Strickland was being consulted by Allan
Duprey of the Victim Witness Office for law enforcement purposes;
she was not prescribing for Heather as her patient.

[2] The state now argues: "Heather had no motive in traveling to
a San Diego hospital and making the statements other than a patient
seeking or needing treatment." There is not the slightest indication
in Heather’s conduct that she is a patient seeking or needing
treatment. She was brought from Arizona to California at the
request of the prosecuting authorities and in the company of a state
official charged with protecting witnesses in criminal trials. Her
only reported comment as the adults took her to California was
concern that she would be made to pull down her panties. To

suppose that Heather had the capacity to seek medicz] help on her

A-11

Own or to suppose that the purpose of the victim witness protection
program was seeking therapy is to engage in fantasy. It is on the
basis of such fantasy that the state has defended its use of the
videotape in Webb’s trial.

[3]{4][5] Even if the hearsay does not fit within an established
exception, however, its admissibility is not barred by the
Confrontation Clause if, considered apart from any corroborating

evidence, there was ‘a showing of particular guarantees of
trustworthiness’ ". Idaho v. Wright, 497 U.S. at 818, 110 S.Ct. at
3148, quoting Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56, 66, 110 S.Ct. 2531,
2539, 65 L.Ed.2d 597 (1980). The circumstances to be considered
are the totality of circumstances "that surround the making of the
statement and that render the declarant particularly worthy of
belief"--so worthy of belief " ’that the test of cross-examination
would be a work of supererogation.” " /daho v. Wright, 497 U.S.
at 819, 110 S.Ct. at 3149, quoting Wigmore on Evidence Sec. 1420
(1974 ed.). The guarantees of trustworthiness "must be at least as

reliable as evidence admitted under a firmly rooted hearsay

exception." Idaho v. Wright at 821, 110 S.Ct. at 3149, citing Ohio

A-12

a

v. Roberts, 448 U.S. at 66, 110 S.Ct. at 2539. An "affirmative
reason, arising from the circumstances in which the statement was
made," is necessary to rebut the presumption of unreliability and
exclusion under the Confrontation Clause. The state contends that
the court is imposing a new rule. To the contrary, Idaho v. Wright,
497 U.S. 805, 110 S.Ct. 3139, 111 L.Ed.2d 638 (1990) applied
established precedents in measuring the admissibility of hearing from
a child. /d.

The Supreme Court declined to list what would constitute the
necessary guarantees, but, without approving the results reached in
the cases it cited, it gave a list of factors that could appropriately be
considered by a trial court: “use of terminology unexpected of a
child of similar age"; "spontaneity and consistent repetition";
"mental state of the declarant"; “lack of motive to fabricate." Id.
497 U.S. at 821-822, 110 S.Ct. at 3150. In Idaho v. Wright itself
the trial court had admitted the hearsay of a child 2 1/2 years old,
finding (1) that she had no motive ‘o lie and (2) that the statements
made to her doctor about Daddy touching her pee-pee were not "of

the type ‘that one would expect a child to fabricate.’ " Jd. at 826,

A-13

110 S.Ct. at 3152, citing trial judge. The Supreme Court of Idaho
found the presumptive unreliability of these statements to be
unaffected by these findings and reversed the defendant’s conviction.
The Supreme Court of the United States agreed, holding that the
circumstances found by the trial court offered "no special reason for
supposing that the incriminating statements were particularly
trustworthy." Jd.

The Supreme Court of Idaho also found that the trial court had
erred in admitting the two-year-old’s statement to her doctor, "he
does it a lot more with my sister." The Supreme Court of the
United States agreed, although "the spontaneity of the statement and
the change in demeanor" suggested that she was telling the truth.
The Supreme Court emphasized that "it is possible" that where there
was prior interrogation or prompting or manipulation by adults,
spontaneity was an inaccurate indicator of trustworthiness. Jd. at
826-27, 110 S.Ct. at 3152-53.

[6] In the light of Idaho v. Wright and its specific examples of
testimony that failed to rebut the presumption of unreliability, we

examine whether circumstances surrounding the making of Heather’s

A-14

TAR RE SOMBER nh 2 LEME

statements on the videotape made her particularly worthy of belief
so that the test of cross-examination would have been a work of
supererogation. As "no mechanical test prevails," Swan v. Peterson,
6 F.3d 1373, 1379 (9th Cir. 1993), the character of the guarantees of
trustworthiness in this case must be weighed. We are not to
second-guess the state courts. Id. at 1378. It is not our task to
retry the case, or to determine Webb’s guilt or innocence, or even
to decide if Heather’s statements were true. But on the ultimate
determination of trustworthiness we act de novo. Id. at 1379. Our
task under the Constitution is to determine if these presumptively
unreliable statement were made under circumstances affirmatively
establishing that they were so reliable that cross-examination of
Heather was "of marginal utility." Idaho v. Wright, at 820, 110
S.Ct. at 3149.

[7] Taken by itself, the videotape does not carry guarantees of
trustworthiness. Heather’s language is not "unexpected of a child of
similar age." The video does not contain a declaration of Heather
made soon after the alleged assaults; her "state of mind," as used

in the case cited by Wright, was not the state of mind of one

A-15

excitedly reporting a recent assault. In the interview, within two
minutes of the start of filming, Heather told Proctor that Terry
pulled down his pants and put medicine in her. Captured by the
camera, her statement comes through with a force and vividness and
apparent spontaneity that are striking. Such a precise statement to
a stranger, a person Heather had never seen before, invites reflection
on what had prepared Heather to be so candid. The inescapable
facts are that, for almost a month preceding the interview, she had
been asked about Terry’s conduct by Connie Martin, Mr. Martin,
her mother, Allan Duprey and other state authorities. If the
Supreme Court of the United States in Idaho v. Wright found the
mere possibility of prior interrogation to destroy spontaneity as a
valid indicator, a fortiori Heather’s initial accusation on the tape
must be stamped as insufficiently reliable and as the product of
previous questioning.

Thereafter on the tape, Heather gave a variety of answers about
Terry after Proctor had deliberately probed with questions about
Terry’s conduct and after Proctor had described Terry or his actions

as bad. In addition, Heather’s accusations are marked with grave

A-16

i det

Pra)

inconsistency on the principal sexual allegations--according to
Heather, Terry did and did not engage in oral sex with her;
according to Heather, his vaginal assault on her was by medicine
obtained from a bottle.

The videotape fails to pass the criteria set by Wright. There are
additional reasons for holding it unreliable. Wright forbids recourse
to other evidence to corroborate the trustworthiness of the hearsay
offered; Wright does not forbid recourse to other evidence that
confirms the presumptive unreliability of the hearsay. We are not
bound by the dictum in Swan, supra at 1391 interpreting Wright as
suggestingthecontrary. While the evidence here is not essential to
our holding, there is a good deal of such evidence.

As to consistency, Heather on September 30, 1986 had denied that
Terry had done "those things to me." In the videotape interview
she used the term "medicine" in a way that could have been
understood to mean male semen, but her usage of this term varied.
For example, on December 10, 1986, in an interview with
Jacqueline Scheider, a psychotherapist, Heather told her: "They

spilled the medicine all over Mommy’s car and Mommy had to clean

A-17

ick as Nid ad

it up." Asked about this incident, her mother said that she, the
mother, had spilled some hair gel in the car and had had to clean it
up. The mother later said that Terry and Cindy had spilled the gel.
Here "medicine" as used by Heather almost certainly referred to a
commercial product.

As to Heather’s reputation for truthfulness and as to whether she
had any tendency to fantasize, her mother was asked at trial whether
Heather ever lied to her and replied, "Not a lie. She’s only three
years old." Asked if Heather knew the difference between a lie and
a truth, her mother said, "As well as any three-year-old does."
Pressed on cross-examination, her mother admitted that when
Heather was "fighting" with her ten-year-old brother David, she
would blame David, not necessarily truthfully, "things like that"--for
example, Heather had blamed David for breaking the back of the
toilet seat.

On September 23, 1986, on the same occasion on which she first
accused Terry to Connie Martin and her husband, Heather also
declared to Connie, "Terry had made her mother Leslie pull down

her pants and he pulled down his pants, and ’he put his pee pee in

A-18

where she pee pees.’ " Heather’s mother testified that she had
never had a sexual relationship with Webb. On this point either her
mother lied or Heather lied or fantasized. There is no way of telling
which alternative is true. It is clear that her mother did not believe
Heather spoke truthfully about this significant sexual action Heather
said that Terry had performed.

On September 30, 1986, Heather told Connie: "I can’t talk any
more about my mother being a bad girl and pulling her panties down
because she’s going to get really sick and she’s going to cry and the
cops is going to get really mad at me." Her mother testified that
she never told Heather not to talk about Terry. Again it is evident
that her mother believed that Heather had not told the truth to
Connie. Did her mother instruct Heather not to repeat the charge
about her and Terry having sex? According to her mother’s
testimony, Heather lied about her mother’s instructions.

If Heather had in fact observed sex between a man and her mother,
it seems possible, if not actually probable, that she could fantasize
that Terry had done something similar with her. Her motive would

have been to absorb or cushion the trauma of seeing her mother

A-19

engaged in intercourse. Leslie Morton, in fact, admitted that she
had had intercourse with Terry’s brother Irwin, although she denied
that Heather could have seen it. Irwin refined Leslie Morton’s
admission by saying Leslie had given him oral sex; like Leslie he
denied that Heather had seen them.

In summary, Heather was inconsistent in her accusations and in her
use of the key accusatory term. She did not use unusually
sophisticated language in setting out the accusations. She had a
possible motive to fabricate them. According to Irwin Webb and her
own mother she did fabricate another sexual accusation. Her
videotape statements carry far fewer guarantees of trustworthiness
than those rejected by the Supreme Court of Idaho and by the United
States Supreme Court in /daho v. Wright.

[8] The videotape was inadmissible evidence seen by the jury and
brought into the jury room during the jury’s deliberations.
Admission of this evidence violated in a gross fashion Webb’s right
to confront the evidence against him. After a careful review of the
entire transcript of the trial, we conclude that this inadmissible

evidence had an actual and prejudicial effect upon the jury. Brecht

A-20

tt

We ica re eR A eR NAT BB, eon NS

te VON Fy a ORY pe aaa ta Se Ot te et es 9 - breliuoncech:

v. Abrahamson, --- U.S. ----, ----, 113 S.Ct. 1710, 1722, 123
L.Ed.2d 353 (1993). Consequently Webb’s conviction must be set
aside.

As the use of the videotape alone was such a substantial violation
of Webb’s Confrontation Clause rights, we need not on this appeal
evaluate the further violations alleged by the admission of hearsay
reported by Connie Martin and by Leslie Morton. If, however,
these statements are to be used again they must be reevaluated in the
light of this opinion and of Idaho v. Wright. Their earlier
admission under a statute now found by Arizona to be
unconstitutional is now irrelevant.

Accordingly, the judgment of the district court is reversed. The
district court is ordered to issue the writ sixty days from the issuance
of the mandate, unless within that time the state of Arizona indicates
to the district court its intention to retry Webb. In that event, the
district court shall order Webb released to the proper authorities for
the purposes of retrial.

T.G. NELSON, Circuit Judge, dissenting:

A-21

SpE PION AAA LEER PN CRETE LAN 5 TIE EE Toi alin My Wiss Nba Rpt AScoed is lr

eet aiden a alse onae ee,

Sri laalh MnSida Atkin ‘sich. acbbinaceds a Cau ta ache nce Se dae aa
Si a :

Although I agree with the majority that the videotaped interview
between Proctor and Heather was not admissible pursuant to the
medical diagnosis exception, I dissent from the majority’s conclusion
that Heather’s videotaped statements were not admissible pursuant
to the residual exception because they lacked particularized
guarantees of trustworthiness.

The Supreme Court has held that particularized guarantees of
trustworthiness are to be determined from "the totality of
circumstances that surround the making of the statement and that
render the declarant particularly worthy of belief." Idaho v. Wright,
497 U.S. 805, 820, 110 S.Ct. 3139, 3149, 111 L.Ed.2d 638 (1990).
The Court concluded there is no exclusive set of factors to be
evaluated to determine the trustworthiness of a statement.
Consequently, it advised that courts are to be given "considerable
leeway in their consideration of appropriate factors." Jd. at 822,
110 S.Ct. at 3150.

In this case, the majority reviews the facts surrounding Heather’s
Statements and holds that the only possible conclusion to be drawn

from Heather’s use of age-appropriate language and the spontaneity

A-22

of her statements is that Heather’s statements were unreliable. |
disagree and believe that the majority’s method of adopting a
singular inference from factors which support multiple inferences is
contrary to Wright and deprives courts of their broad discretion to
consider the relevant factors in each particular case.

I disagree that Heather’s failure to use language "unexpected of a
child of similar age" supports the conclusion that her statements
were unreliable. The Court in Wright did note that the declarant’s
use of terminology unexpected of a child of similar age is a factor
indicating reliability. Jd. at 821, 110 S.Ct. at 3149. However,
relying on the converse, the majority states the fact that Heather’s
language was not unexpected of a child of similar age as a basis for
its conclusion that Heather’s statements lacked guarantees of
trustworthiness.

It is true the anatomical terms used by Heather were entirely
consistent with a child of similar age of two and one-half years. She
referred to both male and female genitals as "things," to the
posterior area as "butt," to female breasts as "boo-boos," and

specifically to Webb’s penis as "pee-pee." In Swan v. Peterson, 6

A-23

F.3d 1373 (9th Cir.1993), petition for cert. filed (April 18, 1994),
we approved of the trial court’s reliance on the child declarant’s
description of "sexual acts in specific terms, using age-appropriate
language" as a factor supporting reliability. Id. at 1380 (emphasis
added). We noted consideration of this factor was consistent with
the Supreme Court’s statement in Wright that courts have
considerable leeway in their consideration of appropriate factors. Id.
However, contrary to Swan, the majority establishes a bright-line
rule that only language inappropriate for a child of similar age
indicates reliability.

I do not agree that Heather’s use of age-appropriate terminology
supports the conclusion that her statements were unreliable. A child
molester cannot be expected to offer a course in correct anatomical
terminology while molesting a child, nor could a child as young as
Heather be expected to remember such terminology even if it were
used. The crucial inquiry should not be whether the language is
appropriate or inappropriate for a child of similar age, but whether
the language employed by the child adequately describes a sexual

encounter. Heather did describe explicit sexual encounters with

A-24

specificity in age-appropriate language. An example of one such
Statement is Heather’s claim that Webb pee-peed in her mouth.
Surely, this language is explicit enough to ensure the truthfulness of
Heather’s claim that Webb had sexually abused her, regardless of the
fact that Heather did not use sophisticated language.

I also disagree with the majority’s conclusion that no incriminating
Statement can be considered spontaneous if the child has been
previously questioned about the abuse. The Supreme Court in
Wright cites with approval a case relying on spontaneity and
consistent repetition as factors indicating reliability. See Wright, 497
U.S. at 821, 110 S.Ct. at 3149. | However, according to the
majority, the spontaneity of Heather’s statements to Proctor is a
factor indicating unreliability. The majority reasons that because
Heather had been questioned by her care-givers and investigators
regarding her accusations prior to the videotaped interview with
Proctor, Heather’s spontaneous accusation during the interview
"must be stamped as insufficiently reliable and as the product of

previous questioning." Maj. op. 1084. The majority’s reasoning

A-25

stands for the proposition that if there has been any prior
investigation, spontaneity can never be a factor supporting reliability.

Adherence to such a proposition would immunize sexual abusers
from all but one accusatory statement of those children they abuse,
i.e., the first spontaneous statement of the abused child. After a
child’s first spontaneous statement alleging abuse, an investigation
of the child’s claim will necessarily ensue, and the focus of the
investigation will be on the child. Pursuant to the majority’s
reasoning, however, investigators may not question the child,
otherwise, any future statements by the child are unreliable.
Conversely, if the investigators do not question the child, they
cannot determine if there is any substance to the child’s complaint.
Thus, prosecution of a sexual abuser of a very young child such as
Heather can never occur, either because the child cannot be
questioned, or because the child has been questioned. The fact that
the child is willing to talk without prompting at subsequent
discussions regarding the abuse, as Heather did during her interview

with Proctor, cannot be a factor indicating unreliability. If it were,

A-26

every investigation would inevitably lead to the conclusion that the
case cannot be successfully prosecuted.

Finally, the majority is critical of Proctor’s description of Webb as
bad. However, the majority fails to place Proctor’s comments in
context. Proctor’s first comment about Webb, i.e., that Webb
should be told not to pee pee in Heather’s mouth, occurred twenty
minutes into the interview after Heather had already said that 1)
Webb pulled down his pants; 2) he put medicine’ in "there"
(pointing to her vaginal area); 3) his penis "got little" afterwards;
and 4) he pee-peed in her mouth. While Proctor’s comment was
inappropriate, it should not distract us from the proper inquiry:
Were Heather’s statements prior to Proctor’s first negative comment
sufficiently shown to be reliable? I conclude that they were.
Heather's statements were in age-appropriate language; they were

internally consistent; and they were spontaneous or in response to

‘The majority contends Heather’s statements were inconsistent
because she used the term “medicine” when referring to hair gel and also
when referring to what “could have been understood to mean ... semen."
Maj. op. 1084. The majority, without basis, presumes Heather was
referring to semen when she indicated Webb put medicine in her vaginal
atca. However, what it fails to recognize is that perhaps what Heather
meant by medicine was a clear liquid gel--such as a lubricant

A-27

appropriate, non-leading questions. The majority’s statement that the
Proctor’s repetitious questions would not have been permitted by a
court is incorrect. Trial courts have great latitude in handling young
or vulnerable witnesses. See United States v. Castro-Romero, 964
F.2d 942, 944 (9th Cir. 1992) (holding district court did not abuse its
discretion by allowing Government to ask leading questions of
eight-year-old witness reluctant to testify regarding sexual abuse).
Under the totality of the circumstances surrounding the interview,
up until Proctor began to denigrate Webb, I believe Heaither’s
videotaped statements met the test of Wright. Thus, the only
remaining inquiry is whether Proctor’s comments rendered the
admission of the tape an error of constitutional dimension. Proctor
made three negative comments about Webb. Ajter the first negative
comment, Heather said that Webb did it more than one time; Cindy
watched but did not say anything; Webb’s "thing" touched her
vaginal area; and Webb took pictures while he was doing a bad
thing. Heather later retracted the statement about the pictures.
Proctor’s gratuitous negative comments about Webb were clearly

improper. They had the capacity to color Heather’s following

A-28

statements. However, I do not believe the admission of this later
portion of the videotape rose to the level of a constitutional error.
The majority of Heather’s incriminating statements were elicited
before Proctor began to counsel her. At most, admission of the last
minutes of the videotaped interview was harmless error. As the
Supreme Court in Wright noted, "the presence of corroborating
evidence ... indicates that any error in admitting [a] statement might
be harmless." 497 U.S. at 823, 110 S.Ct. at 3150 (footnote omitted).
In this case, corroborating physical evidence existed to support
Heather’s claim that she had been sexually abused: Heather’s
examining physician testified that Heather’s physical condition was
consistent with sexual abuse.

After killing the tape and burying it, the majority digs it up and
buries it again by discussing all the extrinsic evidence demonstrating
its unreliability. I dissent from the several pages of dicta offered by
the majority during this second burial. In this dicta, the majority
concludes that extrinsic evidence bolsters its conclusion that
Heather’s statements are unreliable reasoning that "Wright does not

forbid recourse to other evidence that confirms the presumptive

A-29

unreliability of the hearsay." Maj. op. 1084. In Wright, the
Supreme Court held that extrinsic evidence could not be used to
bolster the reliability determination. See 497 U.S. at 823, 110 S.Ct.
at 3150. It did not hold, however, that extrinsic evidence could be
used to bolster the presumptive unreliability of the hearsay. Having
already held that the presumption of unreliability of Heather’s
statements had not been overcome, there is simply no reason for the
majority to decide the flip side of Wright in this case. Further, in
doing so, the majority ignores our previous statement in Swan
regarding the use of extrinsic evidence to establish unreliability:

Wright forbids using other corroborating evidence at trial to show
that an initial hearsay statement is reliable. The issue here is subtly
different: can arguable noncorroborating evidence be used to
demonstrate the unreliability of a hearsay statement? Wright’s
caution against reference to other evidence at trial suggests not.
Swan, 6 F.3d at 1381 (footnote omitted),

In sum, I cannot agree with the majority’s method of adopting
singular inferences from factors to support its conclusion, thereby

ignoring many other reasonable inferences to be drawn from those

A-30

ie a ee et ee

factors. Furthermore, I dissent from the extensive dicta offered by
the majority. In the future, the question of whether
noncorroborating evidence may be used to demonstrate unreliability
Should be addressed in a case where the answer is needed,

unhampered by the decision in this case.

A-31

APPENDIX B

[filed Jan. 20, 1995]

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

TERRY L. WEBB, ) No. 93-16167
Petition-Appellant, ‘ D.C. No.
) | CV-90-01608-SMM
V. ORDER
SAMUEL A. LEWIS, ;
Respondent-Appellee.
)

Before: FERGUSON, NOONAN and T.G. NELSON, Circuit Judges

The majority of the panel as constituted in the above case has
voted to deny the petition for rehearing. Judge Noonan voted to
reject the suggestion for rehearing en banc and Judge Ferguson so
recommended. Judge Nelson voted to grant the petiton for rehearing
and to accept the suggestion for rehearing en banc.

The full court has been advised of the suggestion for en banc
rehearing, and no judge of the court has requested a vote on the

Suggestion for rehearing en banc. Fed. R. App. P. 35(b).

B-1

The petiton for rehearing is denied, and the suggestion for a

rehearing en banc is rejected.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_1527%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
