# Reply Brief — Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation v. Yakima Indian Nation

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_1463%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1995
- **Citation:** 515 U.S. 1102

## Text

Suprome Cort, WB
a FIRpBD
4 MAY 24 1999
No. 94-1567
In THE as

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

CONFEDERATED TRIBES OF THE COLVILLE RESERVATION,
Petitioner,
v.

THE YAKIMA INDIAN NATION, THE CONFEDERATED
TRIBES AND BANDS OF THE WARM SPRINGS RESERVA-
TION OF OREGON, THE CONFEDERATED TRIBES OF THE
UMATILLA RESERVATION, THE NEZ PERCE TRIBE OF
IDAHO,

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit

REPLY BRIEF OF PETITIONER

ALAN C. STAY
Reservation Attorney
CONFEDERATED TRIBES OF THE
COLVILLE RESERVATION
Box 150
Nespelem, Washington 99155
(509) 634-8834

Counsel for Petitioner

WILSON - Eres PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.@. 20001

—es

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

TABLE OF CONTENTS

EAU A APEPO FR MOITN | -csdtcsccecsnansemuscene Saseviibessbblistsaignipnasioiseninse

ARGUMENT

CONCLUSION

Page

il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page
Menominee Tribe v. United States, 391 U.S. 404
(1968) _ ........ EN ELSON RIE EIN Toe Tt CSTE 5
Messinger v. Anderson, 225 U.S. 436 (1912) -...... 4
Morton v. Ruiz, 415 U.S. 199 (1974) . ee 3
The Confederated Tribes of the Colv ille Reserva a-
tion v. The Yakima Tribes of Indians of the
Yakima Reservation, 204 Ct. Cl. 868, cert. denied,
a Fi ee EE hetinnicadieetccicieaenaial 6
United States v. Creek Nation, 295 ‘US. 103
EOIN; acnschishtjaceteichetbeicheniecpiamriinnighiceecsihaailisedlnd Leathe eae dais 3
United States v. Mitchell, 463 U.S. 206 (1983) _.... 5
United States v. Oregon, 302 F. Supp. 899 (D. Or.
TT: sisnaiceridiciskeneslassiaeiscthalaiccinantidia tmene | oc sciceualacaaaaaal ania 5
United States v. Washington, 641 F.2d 1368 (9th
Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1153 (1982) .... 3-4
United States v. Washington, 384 F. Supp. 312
(W.D. Wash. 1974), aff'd, 520 F.2d 676 (9th
Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1086 (1976)... 4
Williams v. Lee, 358 U.S. 217 (1959) ........200000.... 4

TREATISES
1B Moore’s Federal Practice (2d ed. 1995) -.......... 4-5

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

No. 94-1567

CONFEDERATED TRIBES OF THE COLVILLE RESERVATION,
Petitioner,
Vv.

THE YAKIMA INDIAN NATION, THE CONFEDERATED
TRIBES AND BANDS OF THE WARM SPRINGS RESERVA-
TION OF OREGON, THE CONFEDERATED TRIBES OF THE
UMATILLA RESERVATION, THE NEZ PERCE TRIBE OF
IDAHO,

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari ts the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit

REPLY BRIEF OF PETITIONER

INTRODUCTION

This is a dispute between the major Indian tribes of
the Northwest over the thing most important to them,
fishing rights. The United States has taken no position
in the case. We respectfully suggest that the Court ask
the United States to express its views before deciding
whether to take this case.

2

Regardless of those views, however, this is a case that
the Court should take. The case is important. The issue
is whether a tribe—having by treaty relinquished its own-
ership of its aboriginal land in return for certain benefits
—sub silentio loses those benefits by settling on a reserva-
tion different from that contemplated in the treaty. There
are many such tribes. No case before this has held,
or implied, that such action destroyed rights guaranteed
by treaty, thus destroying the consideration for the tribe’s
relinquishment of its land. The ruling of the Court of
Appeals is thus both unprecedented, and destructive of
promises made by the United States.

The respondents argue that the case turns on comple”
factual issues. That is not so. The factual issues have
been resolved. A legal issue remains. The Court of Ap-
peals held that each of petitioner’s constituent treaty
tribes had maintained its “identifiable cultural and polit-
ical characteristics”, which allowed “their recognition as
constituent tribes of the Colville Confederacy”. Pet.
at 8a. Moreover, there was no dispute that each tribe
was party to a treaty that reserved its fishing rights.
Pet. at 60a. Thus the only issue left was the legal issue
of whether by not settling on the reservations established
in their treaties (and moving closer to their reserved
fishing areas), the treaty tribes lost part of the quid pro
quo under the treaties, the right to fish at their usual and
accustomed places. It is clear from the Court of Appeals
decision that only that issue guided its decision. Pet.
at 10a.

The Court of Appeals has established a rule of law
that has never before been applied, that abrogates decades
of federal practice, that is contrary to the recognition of
the fishing rights of similarly situated tribes (see Pet. at
pp. 5-7), that takes away the quid pro quo for relinguish-
ment of lands by the tribes (and thus exposes the United
States to substantial liability), that is inconsistent with
the holding of the Court of Claims in a suit between the
same tribes, and is plainly wrong.

|
|
|
|

3
ARGUMENT

The opposing tribes * wish the Court to ignore that no
court has ever embraced the rule of law that the failure
by a tribe to move to a particular reservation can pro-
vide a basis for the loss of treaty rights.? Where a deci-
sion of a lower court is inconsistent with long established
federal policy dealing with Indian affairs it is appropriate
for this Court to grant review. Morton vy. Ruiz, 415 U.S.
199, 201-02, 212-30 (1974) (decision below “incon-
sistent with long-established policy of the Secretary [of
Interior] and of the Bureau [of Indian Affairs]”).

In gauging the importance of the question presented,
this Court should consider the power exercised by the
United States over the treaty tribes during their move-
ment to the Colville Reservation and the trust responsi-
bility of the United States. See United States v. Creek
Nation, 295 U.S. 103, 109-10 (1935). It was the United
States that allowed or forced the treaty tribes to go
to the Colville Reservation. It was the United States that
assured the treaty tribes that moving to the Colville Res-
ervation and confederation into the Colville Tribes
would not affect their treaty rights. It was the United
States that urged the confederation and later recognized
each of the treaty tribes as a constituent member of the
Colville Tribes. Now, the United States’ courts hold that
the tribes in listening to the United States lost their treaty
rights.* This decision could not be more wrong.

' Only the Warm Springs, Nez Perce and Yakima tribes ( “oppos-
ing tribes”) opposed the Colville Tribes. The states of Oregon,
Washington and Idaho and the Umatilla and Shoshone Bannock
tribes did not.

* The Court of Appeals’ attempt to moderate the impact of its
decision through its amended order (Pet. at 13a) cannot detract
from the fact that no other basis for affirming the District
Court is put forward by the Court of Appeals except for the failure
of the treaty tribes to move to and confederate on those reserva-
tions identified in their treaties. See Pet. at 10a.

% Contrary to the assertion of the Nez Perce tribe (brief at 9),
United States v. Washington, 641 F.2d 1368 (9th Cir. 1981), cert.

4

The rule developed by the Court of Appeals abrogates
the promises made by the United States and diminishes
the tribes’ status in the federal system. Where, as here,
a “doubtful determination” of an important question of In-
dian law is presented, review by this Court is appropriate.
Williams v. Lee, 358 U.S. 217, 218 (1959).

The Court should also examine the shifting rationale
used by the lower courts to deprive the treaty tribes of
their treaty fishing rights. The District Court concluded
that by merging into the Colville Tribes the treaty rights
were lost. This rationale was rejected by the Court of
Appeals. Pet. at 10a. Rather, the Court of Appeals,
in an initial and then a revised opinion, created a new
rationale: the failure to confederate on the reservation
originally established for the tribes in their treaties abro-
gates their treaty rights. Jd. These shifts do not reflect
a thoughtful deliberation of the important issue of how
treaty status is established and preserved over time. In
a case of such importance regarding the status of Indian
tribes, review is appropriate.

The opposing tribes deny the wide impact of the Court
of Appeals decision. But it will likely impact all fishing
rights cases. For instance, it will impact the law in United
States v. Washington, 384 F. Supp. 312 (W.D. Wash.
1974), affd 520 F.2d 676 (9th Cir. 1975), cert. denied,
423 U.S. 1086 (1976) because that case is one of con-
tinuing jurisdiction. A court with continuing jurisdiction
has the power to reconsider its prior decision at any time.
Messinger v. Anderson, 225 U.S. 436, 443-45 (1912).
A clear change in the law may well compel a lower court
with continuing jurisdiction to reconsider its previous and
now inconsistent rulings. 1B Moore’s Federal Practice,

denied, 454 U.S. 1132 (1982), the unrecognized tribe case, does not
address the issue before the Court. That case concerned five tribes
never recognized by the United States in any treaty or other
action.

5

{ 0.404[1] (2d ed. 1995). In addition, numerous other
modern federally recognized Indian tribes are configured
like the Colville Tribes; confederations of several tribes
brought together by historical necessity or the United
States. These tribes will be impacted by the Court of
Appeals decision.

Finally, the Court should consider the potential of
United States liability should the decision of the Court
of Appeals be allowed to stand. See, e.g., United States
v. Mitchell, 463 U.S. 206, 211 n.7 (1983) (the potential
of substantial United States liability is a basis for grant-
ing review by the Supreme Court). The Court of Ap-
peals’ decision abrogates rights which vested in 1855
when the tribes gave up their land in return for other
rights including fishing rights. The uncompensated taking
of those fishing rights opens the United States to a Fifth
Amendment claim. See Menominee Tribe vy. United
States, 391 U.S. 404, 407, 413 (1968).

The Yakima Tribe * reminds the Court of the unusual
role of the United States in this proceeding. Yakima
Brief at 13. The Colville Tribes suggest that this Court
pay particular attention to how the United States has ap-
proached this case. In 1968, the United States incorrectly
advised the District Court that no additional tribes had
treaty rights in the case area. United States v. Oregon,
302 F. Supp. 899, 904 (D.Or. 1969). The Shoshone
Bannock Tribe was later granted the right to intervene
in United States v. Oregon because it had treaty fishing
rights.

The United States’ failure in 1968 to name the Col-
ville Tribes is explained because at that time the United

*It bears repeating that the holding of the Court of Appeals
finds the fishing rights in question residing in a tribe (Yakima
Nation) that never came into existence, Pet. at 21. The Yakima
Tribe opposing the Colville Tribes here is, like the Colville Tribes,
a modern federally recognized tribe composed of the tribes that
moved to its reservation.

6

States was in the process of trying to terminate the Col-
ville Tribes. The Colville Tribes did not fully overcome
the effort to terminate until after the 1969 ruling. In
1968, the United States would have had no interest in
asserting rights on behalf of a tribe that was about to be
terminated.

The United States took the unusual step in this pro-
ceeding of allowing the tribes to wage the battle of treaty
Status as between themselves. The United States took no
position against the Colville Tribes assuming, one would
suppose, the fight would be fought within the confines of
existing law. Of course, no one anticipated that the Court
of Appeals would create a new and substantially different
standard upon which to base a determination of treaty
status in a proceeding where the United States was silent.

Finally, the Yakima Tribe seeks to diminish both the
relevance and the importance of the Court of Claims deci-
sion in The Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reserva-
tion v. The Yakima Tribes of Indians of the Yakima
Reservation, 204 Ct. Cl. 868, cert. denied, 419 US.
967 (1974) (“Claims Case”). But, it is clear that the
Claims Case held the Colville Tribes are the modern
Indian political entity that represents the aboriginal
Chelan, Columbia, Wenatchi, Entiat and Palus tribes. /d.
at 870. All the opposing tribes accept the fact that the
only issue before the courts below was the treaty status
of the Colville Tribes. See Nez Perce Brief at 5-6 (joined
in by the Yakima. See Yakima Brief at 4-6). That is
the exact issue resolved by the Court of Claims in 1974
and is binding in this case. There is no basis to require
the Colville Tribes to litigate their treaty status again in
this proceeding.

7

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.
Respectfully submitted,

ALAN C. STAY
Reservation Attorney
CONFEDERATED TRIBES OF THE
COLVILLE RESERVATION
Box 150
Nespelem, Washington 99155
(509) 634-8834

May 24, 1995 Counsel for Petitioner

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_1463%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
