# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Barnyak v. Pennsylvania

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_1423%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1995
- **Citation:** 515 U.S. 1130

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
a FILED

No. 41 5 2 5 MAR 1 5 1995

OFFICE GE THE CLERK
In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1994

= —

RICHARD L. BARNYAK,

Petitioner,

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA,

Respondent.

Petition For A Wr:t Of Certiorari
To The Superior Court Of Pennsylvania

an ®

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

.

OF COUNSEL: ANNE M. Drxon
Mark S. GREENBERG 3100 Lewis Tower
3100 Lewis Tower Building

Building 15th and Locust Streets
15th and Locust Streets Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19102

19102 (215) 735-5900
(215) 735-5900 Attorney for Petitioner

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

m oe SRS

Rte eslini, ee eae ;

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

SHOULD THIS COURT ADDRESS THE ISSUE LEFT
OPEN IN WHITE v. ILLINOIS, 112 S.Ct. 736 (1992) OF
WHETHER A HEARSAY STATEMENT IMPROPERLY
ADMITTED UNDER THE EXCITED UTTERANCE
EXCEPTION TO THE HEARSAY RULE VIOLATES THE
CONFRONTATION CLAUSE REGARDLESS OF THE
DECLARANT’S AVAILABILITY AT TRIAL?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ............ i

Pe ee PRs: PNG 5% < Sevan a Sagenahas sane tonns ii

ee: a ee EE fan 0 bk wn bun e knbe eave etaanad ill
TEE SA GRUNER 6 605 8 6 Cd bends iba Feber iv
ey Bs | ee er re pie een Pe ree ee 1
SELIM co <4 60106 4Ga Nias bees aa Ces eC See enen 1
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED....... 2
RCO SOW SEOe CARR. oc decide wauseneecns 2
REASON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT............. 7

THE DECISION BELOW INVOLVES THE
ISSUE LEFT OPEN IN WHITE v. ILLINOIS, 112
S.Ct. 736 (1992): WHETHER A HEARSAY
STATEMENT IMPROPERLY ADMITTED
UNDER THE EXCITED UTTERANCE EXCEP-
TION TO THE HEARSAY RULE VIOLATES
THE CONFRONTATION CLAUSE REGARD-
LESS OF THE DECLARANT’S AVAILABILITY
| AT TRIAL. ACCORDINGLY, THIS COURT
| SHOULD GRANT THE PETITION TO
ADDRESS THE ISSUE.

ee eS 8 | ere eee Tee PTE rr ore wernt 12

*LIST OF ALL PARTIES

THE CAPTION OF THE CASE IN THIS COURT CONTAINS ~
THE NAMES OF ALL PARTIES (RICHARD L. BARNYAK AND
THE COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA).

|

ill

INDEX TO APPENDIX

OPINION OF PENNSYLVANIA SUPERIOR
COURT DATED JANUARY 25, 1994 AFFIRM-

ING THE JUDGMENT OF SENTENCE..........--.

ORDER OF PENNSYLVANIA SUPREME COURT

DENYING ALLOWANCE OF APPEAL.............

OPINION OF PENNSYLVANIA SUPERIOR
COURT DATED SEPTEMBER 7, 1993 REVERS-
ING THE JUDGMENT OF SENTENCE AND
REMANDING TO COURT OF COMMON

PLEAS FOR A NEW TRIAL ...........----- +0000:

ORDER OF COURT OF COMMON PLEAS
DATED MARCH 11, 1991 DENYING MOTION
IN LIMINE TO EXCLUDE STATEMENTS
MADE TO TROOPER PAUL YUHOUSE AT
HOSPITAL BY KATHY DIXON AND DOU-

eRe aT . eee nie

OPINION OF COURT OF COMMON PLEAS

DATED SEPTEMBER 14, 1992............---0e+ eee:

iv

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Page

CASES
California v. Green, 399 U.S. 149 (1970) ............. ie
Chambers v. Mississippi, 410 U.S. 284 (1973)......... 7, 8
Commonwealth v. Hess, 270 Pa. Super. Ct. 501, 411

roe RR pet Be ean ee rey ee 9
Delaney v. United States, 263 U.S. 586 (1924).......... 7
oo ae a Se Be. ae 2
Evans v. Court of Common Pleas, Delaware County,

ee A | rr ee ere 2
Idaho v. Wright, 497 U.S. 805 (1990) .................. 8
RE Oh BR, SF Bis Sek GED oc cw cee es ccctcucae 8
Maryland v. Craig, 497 U.S. 836 (1990)................ 7
Pointer v. Texas, 380 U.S. 400 (1965) ................ 7, 8
Waite v. Ulimols, 112 S.Ct. 736 (2992) ... «2. 6c nee 8, 9
Rutes
eee ee Se I $06 b's ds ns hve on Sh aed Oba can de bis 9
TREATISES
5 Wigmore, Evidence §1367 at 32 (Chadbourne rev.

SERS inc O44 Gaede Ae eats ks ke REPEAT ONDEA SESSA LEOK 7
Strong, J., McCormick on Evidence §272 at 216 (4th

i PR 0s kok Lu ee ha dnee bea eh ase cadcaae esse 9

¥
5 :
&
:
a

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
SUPERIOR COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Petitioner Richard L. Barnyak respectfully prays that
a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment and
opinion of the Superior Court of Pennsylvania entered in
the above-entitled proceeding on January 25, 1994 in
which the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania denied
Allowance of Appeal on December 19, 1994.

-

OPINIONS BELOW

The order of the Pennsylvania Supreme Court deny-
ing Petitioner’s Allowance of Appeal (Appx. B) is
reported at __ A.2d __, No. 181 M.D. 1994 (Pa. S. Ct.
Dec. 19, 1994). The opinion of the Pennsylvania Superior
Court dated January 25, 1994 (Appx. A) affirming the
judgment of sentence, which is the subject of this Petition,
is reported at 432 Pa. Super. 483, 639 A.2d 40 (1994). The
opinion of the Pennsylvania Superior Court dated Sep-
tember 7, 1993 (Appx. C) reversing the judgment of sen-
tence and remanding for a new trial is unreported. The
opinion of the Court of Common Pleas of Centre County,
Pennsylvania dated September 14, 1992 (Appx. D) is not
officially reported.

JURISDICTION

The Pennsylvania Supreme Court denied the Petition
for Allowance of Appeal in this case on December 19,
1994 (Appx. B). Petitioner’s conviction had been affirmed
by the Superior Court of Pennsylvania, an intermediate

appellate court, on January 25, 1994 (Appx. A). Petitioner
noted for the Superior Court that hearsay testimony vio-
lated the right of a defendant to confront his accusers.
The jurisdiction of this Court to review the decision of the
Pennsylvania Supreme Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
§1257(a).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED
United States Constitution, Amendment VI:

“In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall
enjoy the right to . . . be confronted with the
witnesses against him. . 24

. |

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner Richard L. Barnyak was charged in an
information filed by the District Attorney of Centre
County, Pennsylvania, with attempted murder, first and

1 Petitioner argued in the trial court that the introduction of
the out-of-court statements of Douglas Bumbarger and Kathy
Dixon violated the hearsay rule. This Court has recognized that
“hearsay rules and the Confrontation Clause are generally
designed to protect similar values,” California v. Green, 399 U.S.
149, 155 (1970), and “stem from the same roots.” Dutton v. Evans,
400 U.S. 74, 86 (1970). Cf. Evans v. Court of Common Pleas, Dela-'
ware County, 959 F.2d 1227 (3d Cir. 1992) (not necessary to
invoke “talismanic phrases” to obtain federal review).

a EL MOT MT LR a at yr URI Oe ee NY aR ee Oe

third degree,? aggravated assault,> simple assault,* reck-
lessly endangering another person, and terroristic
threats.© The District Attorney accused Petitioner of
shooting Kathy Marie Dixon in the hand at approx-
imately 2:00 a.m. on April 21, 1990 while inside a trailer
home they shared. The case was captioned as Common-
wealth of Pennsylvania v. Richard L. Barnyak, Criminal
Action No. 1990-94 (Centre County).

Trial began on March 11, 1991 before the Honorable
Charles C. Brown, Jr., President Judge of the Court of
Common Pleas of Centre County, Pennsylvania and a
jury. On March 12, 1991, the jury returned a verdict of not
guilty on the counts charging Petitioner with attempted
murder in the first and third degree and guilty on the
other counts of the information. Petitioner was sentenced
on September 28, 1992 on the aggravated assault count to
a mandatory minimum sentence of five to ten years incar-
ceration.”? Sentences on the other counts were ordered to
run concurrently with the aggravated assault count or
were found to have merged for purposes of sentencing
with the aggravated assault count.

2 18 Pa. C.S.A. §901 (Purdon 1983). The murder statute in
Pennsylvania is found at 18 Pa. C.S.A. §2502 (Purdon 1983).

3 18 Pa. C.S.A. §2702 (Purdon Supp. 1994)
4 18 Pa. C.S.A. §2701 (Purdon 1983)

5 18 Pa. C.S.A. §2705 (Purdon 1983)

6 18 Pa. C.S.A. §2706 (Purdon 1983)

7 42 Pa. C.S.A. §9712(a) (Purdon 1983)

Petitioner did not dispute that he fired the gun that
resulted in Ms. Dixon getting shot in the hand but testi-
fied that he did not intentionally shoot Ms. Dixon.® The
trial court instructed the jury that before it could find
Petitioner guilty of any of the counts charging him with
aggravated assault or one of the two counts charging him
with simple assault,? it had to find that Petitioner acted
“intentional[ly],” and “that it was his conscious object or
purpose to cause such serious bodily injury . . . [or]
bodily injury.” R. 499(a)-504(a). Thus, the issue joined at
trial was whether Petitioner intentionally shot Ms. Dixon.

The Commonwealth, in an effort to prove that Peti-
tioner intentionally shot Ms. Dixon, elicited testimony
from Pennsylvania State Trooper Paul A. Yuhouse con-
cerning hearsay statements made to him by Ms. Dixon
and her son Douglas Bumbarger at approximately 3:10
a.m. on April 21, 1990, over one hour after the shooting,
at the hospital where Ms. Dixon was treated for her hand
injury.!° Trooper Yuhouse, over objection, testified that
Ms. Dixon told him that she and Petitioner were arguing

8 Petitioner’s testimony denying he intentionally shot Ms.
Dixon was consistent with a statement he gave to Trooper
Robert Snook, a witness called by the Commonwealth, who
testified that he took a statement from Petitioner wherein Peti-
tioner stated that he believed Ms. Dixon had left the trailer prior
to shooting the gun. R. at 195(a)-196(a). References to “R.” are to
pages in the reproduced record filed in the Superior Court of
Pennsylvania.

® Count seven of the Information charged Petitioner with.

negligently causing bodily injury with a deadly weapon.
10 Both Kathy Dixon, who married Petitioner prior to trial,
and Douglas Bumbarger refused to testify at tz:al.

~ enema

ee ata

earlier in the evening and that Petitioner fired two to four
shots, one of which struck her in the hand. R. at
142(a)-143(a).

Trooper Yuhouse also testified, over objection, to the
following hearsay statements made by Ms. Dixon’s son,
Douglas Bumbarger: (1) that before the shooting, Peti-
tioner and Ms. Dixon were verbally and physically argu-
ing; (2) that Petitioner called Mr. Bumbarger a “fucking
bastard”; (3) that Petitioner said “I’m going to kill you
all”; (4) that Petitioner fired three or four shots up the
bedroom door; and (5) that after the shooting was over,
Petitioner came out of the bedroom with a gun in his
hand and a smile on his face and ordered both Ms. Dixon
and Mr. Bumbarger to leave the trailer. R. at 143(a)-145(a).
Mr. Bumbarger’s hearsay was particularly damaging
given his attribution to Petitioner the statement “I am
going to kill you all” which directly related to Petitioner's
intent when he fired the gun.

Petitioner objected to this hearsay pretrial, during
trial and on appeal. (Appx. A; C; D; E). On September 7,
1993, the Superior Court of Pennsylvania reversed the
judgment of sentence and ordered a new trial on the
ground that, contrary to the ruling of the trial court, the
hearsay statements of Ms. Dixon and Mr. Bumbarger did
not qualify under the excited utterance exception to the
hearsay rule. (Appx. C). Commonwealth of Pennsylvania v.
Richard L. Barnyak, No. 671 Harrisburg 1992.

On January 25, 1994, the superior court, in response
to the “Commonwealth’s Application for Reargument En
Banc,” withdrew its initial opinion reversing the judg-
ment of sentence and ruled that, indeed, the hearsay

statements of Ms. Dixon and Mr. Bumbarger had been
properly admitted under the excited utterance exception

to the hearsay rule. (Appx. A).

With respect to the hearsay statements Trooper
Yuhouse attributed to Ms. Dixon, the Superior Court
cited testimony of hospital personnel and Trooper
Yuhouse that Ms. Dixon was pale, frightened and upset at
the time she allegedly made the above-referenced hearsay
statements to the Trooper. (Appx. A4-7).

As for the hearsay statements Trooper Yuhouse
attributed to Mr. Bumbarger, who was interviewed after
his mother, there was no evidence presented concerning
Mr. Bumbarger’s physical condition or state of mind at
the time he uttered the hearsay statements attributed to
him by Trooper Yuhouse. The superior court ruled, none-
theless “[c]onsidering the involvement of Ms. Dixon and
her son in the shcoting incident, and considering the
mother/son relationship between the two, we have no
difficulty finding that their statements at the hospital
were declarations made while experiencing overpower-
ing emotion caused by a shocking event.” (Appx. A6).

On April 27, 1994, Petitioner filed a “Petition for
Allowance of Appeal From the Superior to the Supreme
Court” of Pennsylvania arguing, inter alia, that the Supe-
rior Court of Pennsylvania had erred in concluding that
the statements of Ms. Dixon and Mr. Bumbarger were
admissible under the excited utterance exception to the
hearsay rule. The Supreme Court of Pennsylvania denied
this Petition for Allowance of Appeal on December 19,
1994. (Appx. B).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

It has long been held that the admission of hearsay
may constitute a violation of the Confrontation Clause of
the Sixth Amendment. Delaney v. United States, 263 U.S.
586 (1924). The exclusion of hearsay is based on experi-
ence and grounded in the notion that untrustworthy evi-
dence should not be presented to the triers of fact.
Chambers v. Mississippi, 410 U.S. 284 (1973).

Out-of-court statements are traditionally
excluded because they lack the conventional
indicia of reliability: they are usually not made
under oath or other circumstances that impress
the speaker with the solemnity of his state-
ments; the declarant’s word is not subject io
cross-examination; and he is not available in
order that his demeanor and credibility may be
assessed by the jury.

Id. at 298 citing California v. Green, 399 U.S. 149 (1970).

A state criminal defendant's right to confrontation is
guaranteed under the Fourteenth Amendment of the
United States Constitution. Pointer v. Texas, 380 U.S. 400
(1965). The central concern of the Confrontation Clause is
to ensure the reliability of the evidence against a criminal
defendant by subjecting it to the rigorous testing in the
context of an adversary proceeding before the trier of
fact. Maryland v. Craig, 497 U.S. 836 (1990). The chief
mechanism of ensuring the reliability of evidence is
cross-examination which has been described “beyond any
doubt the greatest legal engine ever invented for the
discovery of truth.” 5 Wigmore, Evidence §1367 at 32
(Chadbourne rev. 1974).

The right to confrontation and cross-examination con-
tributes to a system of criminal justice in which the percep-
tion as well as the reality of fairness prevails. Lee v. Illinois,
476 U.S. 530 (1986). The right of cross-examination is
included in the right of an accused in a criminal case to
confront the witnesses against him because experience
shows that it can expose falsehoods and bring out the
truth. Pointer v. Texas, 380 U.S. 400 (1965). Indeed, because
cross-examination is an essential and fundamental require-
ment for a fair trial, its deprivation to an accused may
constitute a violation of due process within the meaning of
the Fourteenth Amendment. Chambers v. Mississippi, 410
U.S. 284 (1973); Pointer v. Texas, 380 U.S. 400 (1965).

To be sure, not all hearsay violates an accused’s right
to confrontation. Hearsay falling within a traditional or
“firmly rooted” exception is admissible under the Con-
frontation Clause regardless of the declarant’s availability
at trial. White v. Illinois, 112 S.Ct. 736 (1992). In those
situations where the hearsay sought to be admitted does
not fall within a “firmly rooted” exception, the hearsay
will be excluded unless, under the totality of the circum-
stances, there has been a finding of “particularized guar-
antees of trustworthiness.” Idaho v. Wright, 497 U.S. 805
(1990). The Court in White v. Illinois, 112 S.Ct. 736 (1992)
held, in part, that a “spontaneous declaration” is a
“firmly rooted” exception to the hearsay rule and is
admissible regardless of the declarant’s availability at

ee

trial.!! This ruling was premised explicitly upon the find-
ing that the statements in question fell within a “firmly
rooted” exception to the hearsay rule. Id. at 740 n. 4.
Petitioner submits that the question left open in White is
whether the Confrontation Clause would be violated by
the improper admission of hearsay under the sponta-
neous declaration or excited utterance exception to the
hearsay rule regardless of the declarant’s availability at
trial. This Court should address this issue and hold that
Petitioner’s right of confrontation was violated by the
admission of the hearsay statements of Douglas Bum-
barger.

To be admissible as a spor.taneous declaration or an
excited utterance, two requirements must be met: “(flirst
there must be an occurrence or event sufficiently startling
to render inoperative the normal reflective thought pro-
cesses of the observer. Second, the statement of the
declarant must have been a spontaneous reaction to the
occurrence or event and not the result of reflective
thought.” Strong, J., McCormick on Evidence §272 at 216
(4th ed. 1992).

Petitioner concedes that the fact of being shot, or

a

witnessing someone being shot, is a “startling event.”
Under the circumstances of this case, however, there is no
showing that the statements of Douglas Bumbarger were

in response to this startling event. Thus, their admission

11 A “spontaneous declaration” is the equivalent of an
“excited utterance” under Pennsylvania and federal law. Com-
monwealth v. Hess, 270 Pa. Super. Ct. 501, 411 A.2d 830 (1980);
Fed. R. Evid. §803(2).

10

violated the hearsay rule and the Petitioner’s right of
confrontation.

Instructive on the issue of whether Mr. Bumbarger’s
statements were excited utterances is to compare the
evidentiary foundation that served to establish that Ms.
Dixon was still operating under the stress of being shot
when she made her statements to Trooper Yuhouse with
the paucity of evidence showing that Mr. Bumbarger was
still so influenced.

The Superior Court of Pennsylvania pointed to evi-
dence that Ms. Dixon was pale, frightened and upset at
the time she made her statements to Trooper Yuhouse to
establish that she was still laboring under the stress of
being shot when interviewed by the Trooper. By contrast,
there is no evidence on the record that Mr. Bumbarger
was in a similar mental, emotional and physical state at
the time Trooper Yuhouse took the damning statements
from him concerning Petitioner’s intent at the time of the
shooting. Although there is a reference in the record to
the effect that when Trooper Yuhouse arrived at the hos-
pital to conduct his investigation he found both Ms.
Dixon and Mr. Bumbarger to be “excited and upset,”
there is no evidence concerning Mr. Bumbarger’s condi-
tion at the time he was interviewed, which was after the
interview of his mother. Indeed, immediately after the
shooting and while still inside the trailer, Mr. Bumbarger
threatened to make Petitioner “pay” for what he had
done which reflects an emotional state bent on vengeance
rather than one laboring under fear. R. at 161(a); 170(a).
Moreover, Mr. Bumbarger’s purported non-reflexive |
statements to Trooper Yuhouse are belied by his where-
withal at assisting his mother drive to the hospital and

:
,
EEE EE

11

the fact that they were made in response to the Trooper’s
interrogation. R. at 170(a).

The instant case presents a classic example of the
importance of cross-examination and why Petitioner’s
inability to cross-examine Mr. Bumbarger’s hearsay state-
ments constituted a denial of his right of confrontation
and due process of law. Petitioner was unable to cross-
examine Mr. Bumbarger concerning Bumbarger’s ability
to even hear Petitioner state “I’m going to kill you all.”
That such a statement was not even made was raised
through cross-examination of Raymond Smeal, the
nephew of Kathy Dixon and cousin of Mr. Bumbarger,
who testified that he never heard Petitioner make any
threatening statement even though he was in the same
closed confines of the trailer as were Petitioner, Ms.
Dixon and Mr. Bumbarger. R. at 165(a)-166(a). Cross-
examination of Mr. Bumbarger would have provided con-
text to Mr. Bumbarger’s statement to Petitioner “you'll
pay for this you son of a bitch.” R. at 161(a); 170(a). Such
a statement, plainly uttered in a spirit of vengeance,
belies the notion that subsequent statements made by Mr.
Bumbarger to Trooper Yuhouse over an hour later in
response to questioning were the product of the startling
event — the shooting.

In sum, Mr. Bumbarger’s statements to Trooper
Yuhouse were hearsay not within an exception. As such,
their admission violated the Confrontation Clause. No
evidence save for these hearsay statements, was pre-
sented concerning Petitioner’s intent at the time he fired
the gun. Cross-examination was essential to test the

accuracy and motivation of Mr. Bumbarger’s hearsay

statements. Consequently, the admission of these hearsay
statements did not constitute harmless error.

.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, Petitioner RICHARD L.
BARNYAK prays that this Court grant his petition for a
writ of certiorari to review the judgment and opinion of
the Superior Court of Pennsylvania affirming the judg-
ment of sentence imposed on Petitioner.

Respectfully submitted,

OF COUNSEL: ANNE M. Dixon
Mark S. GREENBERG 3100 Lewis Tower
3100 Lewis Tower Building

Building 15th and Locust Streets
15th and Locust Streets Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19102

19102 (215) 735-5900

(215) 735-5900 Attorney for Petitioner

A-1

COMMONWEALTH of Pennsylvania,
v.
Richard L. BARNYAK, Appellant.
Superior Court of Pennsylvania.

Argued June 23, 1993.
Filed Jan. 25, 1994.

Reargument or Reconsideration
Denied March 30, 1994.

John R. Carfley, Phillipsburg, for appellant.

J. Karen Arnold, Dist. Atty., Bellefonte, for Com.,
appellee.

Before ROWLEY, President Judge, and TAMILIA and
POPOVICH, JJ.

ROWLEY, President Judge.

Richard L. Barnyak appeals from the judgment of
sentence imposed following his conviction for aggravated
assault, simple assault, recklessly endangering another
person, and terroristic threats. Upon review of the variety
of issues raised on appeal, we affirm the judgment of
sentence.!

The charges against appellant arose from a domestic
dispute in which Kathy Dixon, now Kathy Barnyak,
appellant’s wife, was shot in the hand. The incident
occurred on April 21, 1990, at approximately 2:00 a.m.
Ms. Dixon was admitted to the hospital for treatment at

1 The memorandum decision filed on September 7, 1993,
which reversed the judgment of sentence, was withdrawn by
this panel pursuant to an order dated October 25, 1993.

5 ee ee

A-2

2:35 a.m. and was initially interviewed there by a police
officer at approximately 3:10 a.m. While present at the
hospital, Ms. Dixon’s son and nephew also made state-
ments to the officer regarding the shooting incident. The
out-of-court statements of Ms. Dixon, her son, and her
nephew were introduced at trial as substantive evidence.

Ms. Dixon and her son were subpoenaed to appear in
court at the time of trial and there reiterated, in the
presence of the jury, a prior refusal to testify against
appellant. Both were held in contempt and incarcerated
by the trial judge until the conclusion of the Common-
wealth’s case. Appellant was convicted of the offenses
named above and was acquitted on charges of attempted
first and third degree murder. The trial court denied
appellant’s motions for a new trial and in arrest of judg-
ment, his petition for reconsideration, and his motion to
modify sentence. We consider, in order, the issues he has
raised on appeal.

First, appellant argues that out-of-court statements
made at the hospital by the victim and other witnesses
were improperly admitted at trial under the excited
utterance exception to the hearsay rule. The statements
were introduced through the testimony of Trooper Paul
Yuhouse who interviewed Ms. Dixon, her son, and her
nephew at the hospital. Trooper Yuhouse did not have an
independent recollection of the interviews, but testified
with reference to field notes. Before considering the hear-
say issue raised, we address appellant’s allegation that
Trooper Yuhouse could not “accurately attribute any of,
the statements [recorded in the field notes] to any one
particular individual.” Brief of Appellant at 15. We find
this allegation without basis in the record.

SESE

A-3

Prior to relating the statements made to him at the
hospital, Trooper Yuhouse was specifically asked by the
Commonwealth's attorney i) “did Ms. Dixon make state-
ments to you... . and if so could you tell the jury what
those statements were?” N.T. 3/11/91 at 43; ii) “Do you
recall what statements Mr. Bumbarger [Ms. Dixon’s son]
made to you relative to what happened?” Id. at 44; and
iii) “With respect to Raymond Smeal [Ms. Dixon's
nephew], you indicated you had also spoken with
him?. . . . What statements did he make relative to what
had occurred that night?” Id. at 46. Our review reveals
that Trooper Yuhouse testified with specificity as to what
each individual told him. This was evident from the fact
that each individual’s rendition of the events was from
the vantage point of that individual. Because we conclude
that Trooper Yuhouse did attribute the statements
recorded in his field notes to each particular individual,
we can consider whether these statements were properly
admitted as excited utterances with respect to each
speaker.

Appellant generally cites the following factors,
among others, as persuasive that none of the statements
qualify as excited utterances: 1) the statements were not
made sufficiently close in time to the startling event; 2)
the site of the startling event was remote from the hospi-
tal where the statements were made. We also note that the
statements were made in response to police questioning.
Even so, these factors are not preclusive to a finding of an
excited utterance. See Commonwealth v. Von Smith, 303
Pa.Super. 534, 450 A.2d 55 (1982) (although victim died,
death of speaker not required for admission of excited
utterance).

A-4

The following relevant circumstances support the
conclusion that the statements made by Ms. Dixon and
her son qualified as excited utterances. See Commonwealth
v. Hess, 270 Pa.Super. 501, 411 A.2d 830 (1980) (sponta-
neous declaration made when experiencing overpower-
ing emotion in response to an unexpected or shocking
event). On April 21, 1990 at approximately 2:00 a.m.,
appellant and Ms. Dixon were drunk and arguing inside
the trailer they shared. N.T. 3/11/93 at 96 (Test. of
Trooper Robert Snook, investigating officer testifying to
statements made to him by appellant), and N.T. 3/12/93
at 14 (Test. of appellant Richard Barnyak). Ms. Dixon's
son, Douglas Bumbarger, and her nephew, Raymond
Smeal, were present in the trailer throughout the heated
and physical argument. N.T. 3/11/93 at 58-62 (Test. of
Raymond Smeal).

Appellant and Ms. Dixon continued arguing, pulling
one another’s hair, and moved toward the master bed-
room away from the area where the son and nephew
were. N.T. 3/11/93 at 96 (Test. of Trooper Snook). Appel-
lant entered the master bedroom but testified that he was
unsure whether he or Ms. Dixon, who had not entered
the room, closed the door behind him. N.T. 3/12/93 at 25 )
(Test. of Appellant). Ms. Dixon’s son went back toward
the bedroom, then ran back to the area where the nephew
was. N.T. 3/11/93 at 61 (Test. of Raymond Smeal). Appel-
lant picked up his gun from the dresser, pointed at the
closed bedroom door and fired. N.T. 3/11/93 at 97 (Test.
of Trooper Snook).

Four gunshots were fired through the door. Id. A fifth
shot was fired directly above the doorknob and struck
Ms. Dixon in the hand. Id. After appellant fired at the

A-5

doorknob, he heard Ms. Dixon scream “oh, my hand,”
N.T. 3/12/93 at 27 (Test. of Appellant), then fired one
round through the bedroom wall after he heard her
screaming. N.T. 3/11/93 at 97-98 (Test. of Trooper Snook).
Appellant did not pause at any time between the shots,
and he emptied the gun. N.T. 3/12/93 at 25 (Test. of
Appellant). Once the shots were fired and the son and
nephew heard Ms. Dixon scream, the son ran back down
the hallway. N.T. 3/11/93 at 61-62 (Test. of Raymond
Smeal). Ms. Dixon, her son and nephew then left the
trailer and went to the car which the nephew had started.
Id. at 62. Ms. Dixon was yelling “my hand,” and her son
was yelling at appellant from outside “you'll pay for this
you son of a b__.” Id., N.T. 3/12/93 at 49 (Test. of
Appellant).

Dr. Howard Bursh, the emergency room physician
who treated Ms. Dixon shortly thereafter,? testified that
she was pale and obviously frightened. N.T. 3/11/93 at
16. Her pulse was elevated; her blood pressure was mark-
edly elevated; and her pupils were dilated. Id. Dr. Bursh
adminisiered an injection of an antianxiety agent because
Ms. Dixon seemed to be “really panic stricken.” Id. at 25.
The emergency room nurse, Judy Pleskonko, further testi-
fied that Ms. Dixon was crying and saying she could not
believe this had happened to her. Id. at 27-28. When
Trooper Yuhouse arrived to interview Ms. Dixon, her son,
and her nephew, he observed that all of them were
excited and upset that Ms. Dixon had been shot. Id. at 42.

2 As stated earlier, the incident occurred at approximately
2:00 a.m. and Ms. Dixon was admitted for medical treatment at

2:35 a.m.

A-6

Nurse Pleskonko testified that Ms. Dixon was still upset
when she left treatment from the emergency room at 4:45
a.m.

Considering the involvement of Ms. Dixon and her
son in the shooting incident, and considering the mother/
son relationship between the two, we have no difficulty
finding that their statements at the hospital were declara-
tions made while experiencing overpowering emotion
caused by a shocking event. Therefore, the trial court did
not abuse its discretion by admitting them as excited
utterances. With respect to the nephew, Raymond Smeal,
who had less involvement with the incident and a more
distant relationship with Ms. Dixon, there might be some
question about whether his statements also qualified.
Even so, Raymond Smeal did testify at appellant’s trial,
and the statements he made at the hospital to Trooper
Yuhouse were covered by his own testimony. Conse-
quently, even if the admission of Smeal’s statements was
error, it was harmless error because the content of the
statements was testified to by Smeal as well as by other
trial witnesses, i.e., Trooper Snook, appellant, the emer-
gency room physician and nurse. See Commonwealth v.
Foy, 531 Pa. 322, 612 A.2d 1349 (1992) (no grounds for a
new trial when error of admission harmless).

In his second issue, appellant claims the trial court
erred in its denial of the wife/victim’s motion to quash a
subpoena and motion for a protective order. In support of
this issue, appellant argues that Commonwealth v. Hatfield,
406 Pa.Super. 139, 593 A.2d 1275 (1991), aff'd, 610 A.2d
466, 530 Pa. 590 (Pa. 1992), is “inconsistent” with the
court’s disposition of the motions in this case>

A-7

When a subpoena to testify has been challenged and
no privilege to avoid testifying exists, whether “to force
the unwilling spouse to give evidence” is a discretionary
question for the trial court. Id. 406 Pa.Super. at 142, 593
A.2d at 1276. The disposition of the discretionary ques-
tion in Hatfield is not inconsistent with the disposition of
the discretionary question in this case. As required, the
court in Hatfield based its decision to quash the wife’s
subpoena on the unique facts and circumstances of that
case. It was not an abuse of discretion for the same court
to later refuse to quash the subpoena in this case merely
because the court quashed the subpoena in Hatfield.

Appellant contends that ex parte communications
transmitted from the Commonwealth’s attorney to the
trial judge prior to trial “may have convinced the court to
decide this case contrary to the decision in Hatfield.” Brief
of Appellant at 21. We find no evidence in the record that
the trial judge was influenced. Therefore, even if the ex
parte communications were improper, in the absence of
evidence of influence, there is no basis for the grant of a

new trial.

Also, under this second issue, appellant argues that
the court prejudicially required the wife/victim “to take
the stand in open court in the presence of the jury and
state her refusal to testify.” The Commonwealth states in

3 Kathy Barnyak testified in the presence of the jury as
follows:

Q. Mrs. Barnyak, do you know an individual named

Richard Barnyak?

A-8

response to this argument that “this issue was never
raised in post verdict motions and is accordingly
waived.” Upon examination of the record, we agree with
the Commonwealth. Within appellant’s post-trial motion
for a new trial, he aileges that the trial judge “[fJailed to
permit the defendant and/or ihe alleged victim to assert
a privilege not to testify under § 5913 and § 5914 of the
Judicial Code.”* This allegation of error does not encom-
pass the issue of whether it was prejudicial to require the
victim to take the stand and state her refusal to testify
before the jury. Considering the additional fact that the
trial court did not have the opportunity to address the
issue, it is waived on appeal. See Pa.R.Crim.P. 1123(c)(3).

Appellant’s third issue argues that his conviction on
the charge of aggravated assault, 18 Pa.C.S.A.
§ 2702(a)(1), was inconsistent with his acquittal on the
charges of attempted murder of the first, 18 Pa.C.S.A.
§ 2502(a), and third, 18 Pa.C.S.A. § 2502(c), degree. He
claims these crimes have identical elements of intent, and
therefore the acquittal on the attempted murder charges

A. Ido not wish to testify against my husband.

Q. You’re stating that you know -

A. I’m stating that I’m not saying nothing against

him.
N.T. 3/11/91 at 178-79. The court then explained to Mrs. Barn-
yak that she did not have a legal privilege no: to testify. Upon
her persistent refusal, the court excused the juvy and deter-
mined to incarcerate Mrs. Barnyak for contempt of court. Id. at
180-81.

4 42 Pa.C.S.A. § 5913 (1993), Spouses as witnesses against
each other.

42 Pa.C.S.A. § 5914, Confidential communications between
spouses.

A-9

also should have resulted in an acquittal on the charge of
aggravated assault. First, attempted murder of the first
degree requires a specific intent to kill, which a convic-
tion for aggravated assault obviously does not require.

Next, it does appear that the portion of the verdict
acquitting appellant of attempted third degree murder5
and convicting him of aggravated assault might be incon-
sistent, particularly with respect to the elements of intent.
The conviction in this case for aggravated assault, section
2702(a)(1), was based on the jury’s finding that appellant
attempted to cause serious bodily injury to his wife, i.e.,
that he specifically intended to cause her serious bodily
injury. Comparatively, the court instructed the jury that
conviction for third degree murder would require a find-
ing of “malice.” The court defined malice to include “an
intent to inflict serious bodily harm.” N.T. 3/12/91, at
143. In spite of the fact that the intent elements of the two
charges overlap, we will not disturb the verdict on the
basis of tle apparent inconsistency in result where we
find the evidence sufficient to support the guilty verdict.
See Commonwealth v. Boyles, 407 Pa.Super. 343, 595 A.2d
1180 (1991), allocatur denied, 531 Pa. 651, 613 A.2d 556
(Pa.1992).

Fourth, appellant argues that certain evidence® was
obtained as a result of an illegal search and seizure and

~ Although appellant does not raise the issue, we must also
note that there is no crime of attempted third degree murder. See
Commonwealth v. Spells, 417 Pa.Super. 233, 237, 612 A.2d 458, 460
n. 5 (1992); Commonwealth v. Griffin, 310 Pa.Super. 39, 50, 456
A.2d 171, 177 (1983).

®° “The evidence complained of consists of physical evi-
dence, measurements, photographs and other evidence relating

A-10

therefore was improperly admitted at trial. The trial court
held upon its examination of the record that appellant
“did not file a Motion to Suppress or object at trial to the
admission of this evidence,” and therefore “such error, if
any, is deemed to be waived.” Opinion of Trial Court
9/14/92, at 4-5. A motion to suppress evidence must be
made pretrial, unless “the opportunity did not previously
exist, or the interests of justice otherwise require.”
Pa.R.Crim.P. 323(b); Commenwealth v. Meischke, 273
Pa.Super. 134, 416 A.2d 1126 (1979).

Appellant claims the following circumstances pre-
vented him from being apprised of facts necessary to file
a pretrial suppression motion: i) at the time the investiga-
tive team appeared at the crime scene, appellant was in
custody and had no independent knowledge of the search
and seizure event; ii) three other witnesses were likewise
unaware of the circumstances giving rise to the event; iii)
while appellant was aware that the search and seizure
had occurred, he was not apprised in the pretrial pro-
ceedings of the exact sequence of events. Upon consider-
ation of the record together with the parties’ arguments,
we find insufficient justification for the failure to file a
timely objection to the legality of the search and seizure.

The fact that appellant was not personally aware of
the facts surrounding the search and seizure does not )
mean the opportunity to file a motion to suppress did not )

to the Interior of [appellant’s and the victim’s] trailer.” Brief of
Appellant at 31. Additional evidence complained of includes
“the weapon allegedly used in this criminal incident” and
“other items of evidence eventually introduced at trial.” Id. at
32. ;

A-11

previously exist. Moreover, justice does not otherwise
require us to address the question of the legality of the
search and seizure where our review reveals that appel-
lant’s arguments” have no merit.

In his fifth issue, appellant argues that the Common-
wealth failed to provide him with reasonable notice of its
intention to seek a mandatory sentence under 42
Pa.C.S.A. § 9712(a). Appellant claims he was not pro-
vided with written notice of the Commonwealth’s intent
to proceed under section 9712(a) “until Friday, September
25, 1992, at approximately 3:30 o’clock P.M. when the
District Attorney tele-faxed a letter to the office of
defense counsel.” Appellant further asserts that the “fax
arrived after counsel had left the office for the weekend.”
Appellant was sentenced on Monday, September 28, 1992.

We cite the trial court’s correct conclusion that sen-
tencing under the statute was justified due to i) pre-trial
discussions between the Commonwealth and defense
counsel “regarding the Commonwealth’s intent to seek
the mandatory five-year sentence” and ii) the written
notice provided prior to sentencing. Also, in response to
appellant’s argument that the Commonwealth failed to

7 Appellant’s suppression arguments are as follows:
1) following a consensual entry into the trailer, an
investigating officer exited the trailer, waited several
hours for an investigative team, then reentered the
premises without additional consent or exigent cir-
cumstances;
2) with only the consent of .ppellant’s brother, a
police officer entered and searched the property of
appellant’s father.

Brief of Appellant at 31-32.

A-12

carry its burden of proof for application of the statute, we
note that the “statute specifically provides that the court
shall consider evidence from the trial, which in this
instance would be sufficient to prove the use of a
weapon.” Commonwealth v. Saksek, 361 Pa.Super. 173, 522
A.2d 70 (1987)

Judgment of sentence affirmed.

B-1

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA
MIDDLE DISTRICT

COMMONWEALTH OF : No. 181 Middle District

PENNSYLVANIA, : Allocatur Docket 1994
Respondent
V. : Petition for Allowance of
RICHARD L. BARNYAK, ‘ APpeal from Superior
: Court
Petitioner
ORDER

PER CURIAM:

AND NOW, this 19th Day of December, 1994, the
Petition for Allowance of Appeal is denied.

Mr. Justice Montemuro is sitting by designation.

mn + ate

C-1

COMMONWEALTH - IN THE SUPERIOR COURT
OF PENNSYLVANIA - OF PENNSYLVANIA
v. NO. 671
RICHARD L. BARNYAK, - HARRISBURG 1992
Appellant

Appeal from the Judgment of Sentence Entered
September 28, 1992, Docketed October 2, 1992,
in the Court of Common Pleas, Criminal
Division, of Centre County, No. 90-565.

BEFORE: ROWLEY, P.J., and TAMILIA and POPOVICH,
JJ.
MEMORANDUM: FILED SEP. 7, 1993

Richard L. Barnyak appeals from the judgment of
sentence imposed following his conviction for aggravated
assault, simple assault, recklessly endangering another
person, and terroristic threats. On appeal, he raises the
following issues: 1) whether out-of-court statements
made by the victim and other witnesses were improperly
admitted at trial as excited utterances; 2) whether the trial
court erred in its refusal of the victim’s motion to quash a
subpoena and motion for a protective order; 3) whether
appellant’s conviction on the charge of aggravated
assault is inconsistent with his acquittal on the charge of
attempted criminal homicide; 4) whether evidence was
obtained as a result of an illegal search and seizure and
therefore improperly admitted; and 5) whether the Com-
monwealth failed to provide appellant reasonable notice
of its intention to seek a mandatory sentence. Upon
review, we reverse due to the improper admission of

hearsay statements.

C-2

The charges against appellant arose from an alleged
domestic dispute in which Kathy Dixon, now Kathy Barn-
yak, appellant’s wife, was shot in the hand. The incident
occurred on April 21, 1990, at approximately 2:00 a.m.
Ms. Dixon was admitted to the hospital for treatment at
2:35 a.m. and was initially interviewed there by a police
officer at approximately 3:10 a.m. Ms. Dixon, as well as
two other witnesses who were present at the hospital,
made statements to the officer regarding the shooting
incident.

Ms. Dixon and her son, one of the individuals who
made statements at the hospital, were subpoenaed to
appear in court at the time of trial in order to reiterate, in
the presence of the jury, their prior refusal to testify
against appellant. Both were held in contempt and incar-
cerated by the trial judge until the conclusion of the
Commonwealth’s case. Their out-of-court statements
were then introduced as substantive evidence at trial
through the testimony of a police officer.

Appellant’s first complaint regarding the improper
admission of the out-of-court statements is meritorious.
Appellant argues that the statements are unsworn hear-
say statements which do not qualify for admission as
evidence under the excited utterance exception to the
hearsay rule. We agree that the requirements for the
admission of a statement as an excited utterance were not
met.

An excited utterance is a spontaneous declaration
made by a person who is experiencing overpowering
emotion in response to an unexpected or shocking occur-
rence. Commonwealth v. Hess, 270 Pa.Super. 501, 507, 411

C-3

A.2d 830, 833 (1980) (citation omitted). The declaration
must be made so near to the occurrence, both in time and
place, as to exclude the possibility that it emanated from
the speaker’s reflective faculties. Id. “an excited utterance
is the event speaking and not the speaker.” Commonwealth
v. Zukauskas, 501 Pa. 500, 503, 462 A.2d 236, 237 (1983).

Appellant is correct in his assertion that “the amount
of time which elapsed between the incident [and the
declaration,] and the remoteness of the location of the
incident from the interview site” belie the spontaneity
necessary to find an excited utterance. The record does
not support the conclusion that the “event” was “speak-
ing” approximately one hour after the shooting incident,
in response to the questions of a police officer, at a
hospital which was safe and removed from the location of
the shocking event.

Because appellant was prejudiced by the improper
admission of this hearsay evidence, he is entitled to a
new trial. As a result of our conclusion that a new trial is
necessary, we will not consider the issues which remain.

The judgment of sentence is reversed, and the case is
remanded for a new trial.

D-1

IN THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS
OF CENTRE COUNTY,
PENNSYLVANIA

CRIMINAL ACTION - LAW

COMMONWEALTH OF
PENNSYLVANIA
NO. 1990-565

VS.

RICHARD L. BARNYAK

a i

ORDER

AND NOW, March 11, 1991, upon consideration of
Defendant Richard L. Barnyak’s October 1, 1990, Motion
In Limine whereby Defendant seeks to (1) exclude the
preliminary hearing testimony of Kathy Dixon-Barnyak
and Douglas Bumbarger, and (2) exclude statements
made to Trooper Paul Uhous [sic] by Kathy Dixon-Barn-
yak and Douglas Bumbarger, said motion is DENIED.

Preliminary hearing testimony of Ms. Dixon-Barnyak
and Douglas Bumbarger shall not be excluded from the
trial in this matter based on this motion. Statements made
at the hospital to Trooper Paul Uhouse [sic] by Ms.
Dixon-Barnyak and Douglas Bumbarger may be intro-
duced at trial.

BY THE COURT:

/s/ Charles Brown
Pj.

E-1

IN THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS
OF CENTRE COUNTY,
PENNSYLVANIA

CRIMINAL ACTION -— LAW
COMMONWEALTH OF
PENNSYLVANIA

Vs.
RICHARD L. BARNYAK

NO. 1990-565

od

OPINION AND ORDER
BROWN, JR., PJ.

Presently before this Court for consideration is a
Motion for a New Trial and Arrest of Judgment and a
Supplemental Motion for New Trial and In Arrest of
Judgment filed by Defendant Richard L. Barnyak.

Defendant was tried by a jury on March 20 and 21,
1991, and found guilty on two courts of Aggravated
Assault, two counts of Simple Assault, one count of Reck-
lessly Endangering Another Person and one count of
Terroristic Threats. Defendant was acquitted on the
charges of Attempted First Degree Murder and
Attempted Third Degree Murder.

Defendant has raised three issues which he claims
were error. Defendant initially argues the trial court erred
in charging the jury on the elements of criminal attempt
and in failing to grant Defendant’s motion to dismiss
those charges. Defendant contends that this charge was a
legal impossibility pursuant to Commonwealth v. Griffith,
310 Pa.Super. 39, 456 A.2d 171 (1983). In Griffith, the
Superior Court stated:

E-2

The question squarely presented to us is
whether someone can attempt to commit mur-
der of the second or third degree. We think not.
A person commits an attempt when, with intent
to commit a specific crime, he does any act
which constitutes a substantial step toward the
commission of that crime. 18 Pa.C.S.A. Section
901. Murder of the second or third degree occurs
where the killing of the victim is the uninten-
tional result of a crim‘nal act. Thus, an attempt
to commit second or third degree murder would
seem to require proof that a defendant intended
to perpetrate an unintentional killing — which is
logically impossible. While a person who only
intends to commit a felony may be guilty of
second degree murder if a killing results, and a
person who only intends to inflict bodily harm
may be guilty of third degree murder if a killing
results; it does not follow that those persons
would be guilty of attempted murder if a killing
did not occur. They would not be guilty of
attempted murder because they did not intend
to commit murder — they only intended to com-
mit a felony or to commit bodily harm.

Griffith, 456 A.2d at 177 (1983).

The Griffith Court went on to note that:

. .. [A] Subcommittee Note to the Pennsyl-
vania Suggested Standard Criminal Jury Instruc-
tions suggests that an intent to kill is necessary
to support a charge of attempted murder. The
Subcommittee Note following the suggested
jury instruction on the crime of criminal attempt
states that in defining the crime which was
attempted, the court should limit its definition
to those aspects of the crime which are relevant
to an attempt. ‘For example, if the charge were

E-3

5 arnt: Salata pew ey

attempted murder, a definition of murder lim-
ited to murder by intentional killing should suf-
fice.’ Pennsylvania Suggested Standard Jury
Instructions (Criminal), 12.901 A —- Criminal
Attempt (1979).

Griffith, 456 A.2d at 177-78 (1983).

The Superior Court then held that in order to convict
a person of attempted murder, an intent to kill must be
shown, and that a defendant charged with attempted
murder is entitled to a jury instruction to that effect.
Griffith, 456 A.2d at 178 (1983).

In Commonwealth v. Greene, Pa.Super. Court No.
00260, Harrisburg, 1991 (July 22, 1992), the Superior
Court rejected the contention that third degree murder is
an unintentional crime. Greene held that the intent,
although not specific, is supplied by the malice. The
Greene Court noted the Subcommittee Note in the Decem-
ber, 1988, revision to the Pennsylvania Suggested Stan-
dard Criminal Jury Instructions, wherein it is stated:

Some Pennsylvania decisions appear to
equate the “intent to kill” in the definition of
malice with the “specific intent to kill” required
for first degree murder, see, e.g., Commonwealth
v. Pitts, 486 Pa. 212, 404 A.2d 1305 (1979). This is
undesirable because there are cases where a
defendant as a factual matter has an intent, i.e.,
a purpose to kill sufficient for malice that does
not amount to a specific intent to kill. Examples
where such an intent may exist to permit convic- |
tion of third degree murder included a defen- :
dant who kills in sudden passion on inadequate | |
provocation. . . . In such cases a defendant's
purposeful killing may be intentional for malice

ee TT |

E-4

purposes but his intent may not be sufficiently
formed or within his consciousness as to meet
the legal standard for specific intent. The prob-
lem about which we are talking is partly one of
semantics.

Based on the foregoing analysis of the requirements
of third-degree murder, and the evidence presented, this
Court finds that Defendant's actions, had they resulted in
the death of Kathy Barnyak, would have satisfied the
requirements necessary to sustain a finding of guilt for
third degree murder. Because this Court does not believe
that defendant’s actions were unintentional, a charge of
attempted third degree murder was neither illogical nor
illegal.

Defendant also argues that Court erred in refusing to
quash the subpoena to compel the testimony of Kathy
Barnyak, Defendant's spouse. Defendant contends that
this was inconsistent with the decision in Commonwealth
v. Hatfield, 406 Pa.Super. 139, 593 A.2d 1275 (1991). In
Hatfield, the Superior Court upheld this Court’s decision
not to compel the wife to testify against her husband. The
Court made it clear however that in domestic violence
cases the spouse may be compelled to testify. Hatfield, 593
A.2d at 1276 (1991), citing Commonwealth v. Hancharik, 388
Pa.Super. 337, 345, 565 A.2d 782, 786 (1989). (Emphasis in
original case.)

It is well settled in Pennsylvania that a spousal privi-
lege does not exist in a criminal proceeding against a
spouse for bodily injury or violence attempted, done or
threatened upon the other spouse. 42 Pa.C.S.A. Section
5913. See also, Commonwealth v. Galloway, 271 Pa.Super.
305, 413 A.2d 418 (1979). Therefore, it is the opinion of

E-5

this Court that there was no error in the refusal to quash
the subpoena for Kathy Barnyak.

Finally, Defendant argues that the evidence seized by
the investigating officers resulted from an illegal search
and seizure. An examination of the record in this case
indicates Defendant did not file a Motion to Suppress or
object at trial to the admission of this evidence. (See Trial
T. L., pp. 85 and 123-28.) Therefore, such error, if any, is
deemed to be waived by Defendant. See, Pa.R.Crim.P.
323(b); see also, Commonwealth v. Minarich, 345 Pa.Super.
269, 498 A.2d 395 (1985).

Accordingly, the Court enters the following:

ORDER

AND NOW, this 14th day of September, 1992, upon
full consideration of the record and arguments of counsel,
Defendant Richard L. Barnyak’s Motion for New Trial
and Arrest of Judgment and Supplemental Motion for
New Trial and In Arrest of Judgment are DENIED.

BY THE COURT:

/s/ Charles Brown
P.J.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_1423%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
