# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Mathis v. Velsicol Chemical Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_1302%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1995
- **Citation:** 514 U.S. 1051

## Text

So? Sele 2 ws tae ee a eS ee SE
Gupreme Court, v.8.
0) FILED
941406 FEB 6 19%
~ NO.

THE SUPREME COURT OF THE

UNITED STATES

OCTOBER 1994 TERM

MOSE MATHIS AND
SIDNEY MATHIS,
PETITIONERS

PETITION FOR WRIT OF
CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT
OF APPEALS FOR THE
ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

VELSICOL CHEMICAL
CORPORATION,
RESPONDENT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

MOSE MATHIS, PRO SE
792 SOUTHERN ROAD
CHISKAMAUGA, GA 30707
(706 )539-2406

SIDNEY MATHIS, PRO SE
3782 KENSINGTON ROAD
CHICKAMAUGA, GA 30707
(706 )539-2253

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

I.

WHETHER OR NOT THE GEORGIA SUPREME
COURT RULING, THAT THE DISCOVERY RULE IS
INAPPLICABLE TO PROPERTY DAMAGE CASES,
VIOLATES THE DUE PROCESS CLAUSE OF THE
FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT OF THE UNITED STATES

CONSTITUTION.

Il.

WHETHER OR NOT THE GEORGIA SUPREME
COURT RULING, THAT THE DISCOVERY RULE IS
INAPPLICABLE TO PROPERTY DAMAGE CASES,
VIOLATES THE EQUAL PROTECTION CLAUSE OF THE
FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT OF THE UNITED STATES

CONSTITUTION.

en

eal ee. SY elie — en

Bitoshdr & en

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW
TABLE OF CONTENTS
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
STATEMENT OF NO REPORTS
GROUNDS OF JURISDICTION
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
BASIS OF JURISDICTION IN TRIAL COURT
ARGUMENT

Issue No. I

Issue No. II
APPENDIX

Order being reviewed

Trial Court Order

n ww Ww Pw

o mn

10
BB |
11
16
22
22

23

: Oe ha eS Le. eee ee ee a ee

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

Fifth Amendment to U.S. Constitution

Fourteenth Amendment to U.S.
Constitution

STATUTES

U.S.

42 U.S.C. §9658
0.C.G.A. 9-3-30
SUPREME COURT CASES

Charles Wolff Packing Co. v. Court

of Industrial Relations of
Kansas, 45 S. Ct. 441, 267
U.S. 552, 69 L. Fd. 785

Duke Power Co. v. Caroline Environ-

mental Study Group, Inc., 438
U.S. 59 (1978)

Lindsley v. National Carbonic Gas

Co., 220 U.S. 61 (191)

Logan V. Zimmerman Brush Co., Ill.

102 S. Ct. 1148, 455 U.S. 422,
71 L. Ed. 265
McGowan V. Maryland, 366 U.S. 420

U.S. Railroad Retirement Board v.

Fritz, 449 U.S. 166 (1980)

Page

12

pm |

Ta ae a ES ES Rs AS ST aa RE ee

OTHER FEDERAL CASES

Corp. of Mercer Univ. v. National
Gypsum Co., 877 F2d 35, llth
Circuit (1989)

Dreher v. Sielaff, C.A. Ill. 636
F2d 1141 °

Gillespie v. Civiletti, C.A. Wash.
629 F2d 637

Mitchum v. Purvis,C.A. Ala. 650
F2d 647

Silver v. Cormier, C.A. Colo., 529
F2d 161

Boling v. National Zinc Co., D.C.
Ok1l. 435 F. Supp. 18

Page

a2

13

Doe v. Schneider, D.C. Kan., 443 F. 15

Supp. 780
STATE CASE

Mercer Univ. v. National Gypsum Co

ee aes

258 Ga. 365 (366), 368 S. E.
24 732 (733)

14

STATEMENT OF NO REPORTS

There have been no reports of any opinion

delivered in this case by any Court or Admin-

istrative agency.

GROUNDS OF JURISDICTION

1. The date of the entry of the judgment
sought to be reviewed is November 9, 1994.

2. There have been no rehearings or ex-
tensions of time in this case.

3. The statutory provision believed to
confer jurisdiction on this Court is 28 U.S.C.
§1254(1), which reads as follows:

"Cases in the Courts of Appeals may
reviewed by the Supreme Court by

the following methods: (1) By Writ

of Certiorari granted upon the petition
of any party to any civil or criminal

case, before or after rendition if

judgment or decree."

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

The Fifth Amendment to the United States
Constitution reads as follows in pertinent
part:

"No person Shall ..-eeeeeeeeeeeeeeces

nor be deprived of life, liberty,

or property, without due process of

The Fourteenth Amendment to the United
States Constitution reads as follows in perti-
nent part:

Soesdeeeeaverevs nor shall any State

deprive any person of life, liberty,

or property, without due process of

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On the eighth day of February, 1991,
plaintiffs, Mose Mathis and Sidney Mathis,
brought a diversity suit against defendant,
Velsicol Chemical Corporation. The Mathises
alleged that Velsicol, pursuant to a
contractual agreement, delivered many drums
to plaintiffs for disposal on the
plaintiffs' land in Walker County, Georgia.
Unknown to plaintiffs, many of the drums
contained toxic substances, according to the
complaint. Plaintiffs alleged they had
discovered the existence of the toxic
material within four years of bringing their
suit. Velsicol denied any wrongdoing, and
defended on the ground of the statute of
limitations, among other defenses. Velsicol
also counterclaimed for CERCLA contribution,

based upon response costs they had incurred.

After discovery was completed, Velsicol
moved for Summary Judgment based upon the
defense of the four-year statute of
limitations under Georgia law for damage to
property. (0.C.G.A. 9-3-30). Mose and
Sidney Mathis defended on the ground that
the Georgia case law disallowing the
"discovery rule" was unconstitutional under
the Fourteenth Amendment of the United
States Constitution. The District Court of
the Northern District of Georgia, Rome
Division, held for Velsicol and dismissed
the plaintiffs' complaint. After Velsicol
voluntarily dismissed its counterclaim, this
appeal was taken to the United States Court
of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit.

The United States Court of Appeals for
the Eleventh Circuit, after argument,
dismissed the appeal of the Mathises without

opinion.

rT

BASIS OF JURISDICTION IN TRIAL COURT

The basis for jurisdiction in the District

Court for the Northern District of Georgia,

cere me
? %

Rome Division, was diversity of citizenship

under 28 U.S.C. §1332 (a)(1).

ee eo

ARGUMENT

ISSUE NO. I
DID THE GEORGIA SUPREME COURT
RULING, THAT THE DISCOVERY RULE
IS INAPPLICABLE TO PROPERTY
DAMAGE CASES, VIOLATE THE DUE
PROCESS CLAUSE OF THE FOURTEENTH
AMENDMENT OF THE UNITED STATES

CONSTITUTION?

Corp. of Mercer University v. National

Gypsum Co., 877 F.2 35, (11th Circuit 1989)

involved a case in which Mercer University
was suing for damages to its buildings
brought long after the four-year statute of
limitations of 0.C.G.A. 9-3-30 had run.
Mercer reasoned that since the damage was
discovered within four years of suit, they
were protected from the running of the

statute of limitations by the "discovery

11

teins

rule." The United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit certified the
matter to the Georgia Supreme Court. In

Corporation of Mercer University v. National

Gypsum Co., 258 Ga. 366, 368 S.E. 2d 733,

the Georgia Supreme Court held that the.
discovery rule only applies in cases of
personal injury. The United States Court of
Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit accepted
the Georgia Supreme Court ruling as binding.
Constitutional issues were not raised in
either of the cited cases.

The 14th Amendment to the United States

Constitution provides in pertinent part that

without the due process of law." Duke Power

Co. v. Caroline Environmental Study Group,

Inc., 438 U.S. 59 (1978) held a law is in

violation of the due process clause if it is

"demonstrably arbitrary or irrational." The
12

Mercer cases in effect hold that if a
tortfeasor is successfully surreptitious
about his wrongdoing, he can hide bundne the
statute of limitations, despite the fact
that the injured party knows of no wrong
having been committed. The law, as an
institution, is respected because it
punishes the guilty and protects the
innocent. The Mercer decision does exactly
the opposite and violates due process of
law.

The due process clause of the Fifth and
Fourteenth Amendments to the United States
Constitution assure that no person will be

denied the right to present to the courts

allegations concerning fundamental

constitutional rights. Mitchum v. Purvis,

C.A. Ala., 650 F2d 647;Dreher v. Sielaff,

C.A. Ill. 636 f2d 1141; Gillespie v.

Civiletti, C.A. Wash., 629 F2d 637; and

72

Silver v. Cormier, C.A. Colo., 529 F2d 161.

This applies to state courts as well as

Federal Courts. Boling v. National Zinc

Co., D.C. Okl. 435 F. Supp. 18.

A person cannot be deprived of the
right to access to the courts unless the
balance of the state and private interests

favors the government. Logan v. Zimmerman

Brush Co., Ill. 102 S. Ct. 1148; 455 U.S.
422, 71 L. BA. 265. .

There has been no governmental goal or
interest of the State of Georgia articulated
by the Georgia Supreme Court in its decision
which abolished any discovery rule for all
plaintiffs other than personal injury
plaintiffs who have injuries which developed

over a period of time. Mercer Univ. v.

National Gypsum Co., 258 Ga. 365, S.E. 24

732.

As it is customary to articulate

14

. sere armen ne

reasons for legal rules promulgated by court
decision, this omission alone would lead one
to suspect that there is none.

Rights of property protected by the due
process clause cannot be interfered with by
state action which is arbitrary or without
reasonable relationship to some purpose
within the competency of the state to

effect. Charles Wolff Packing Co. v. Court

of Industrial Relations of Kansas, 45 S. Ct.

441, 267 U.S. 552, 69 L. Ed. 785.
The burdens placed upon one group of

litigants should be no greater nor less than

those placed upon others. Doe v. Schneider,

D.C. Kan., 443 F. Supp. 780.

15

ries b

ISSUE NO. II
DID THE GEORGIA SUPREME COURT
RULING, THAT THE DISCOVERY RULE
IS INAPPLICABLE TO PROPERTY
DAMAGE CASES, VIOLATE THE EQUAL
PROTECTION CLAUSE OF THE
FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT OF THE
UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION?

The Fourteenth Amendment to the United
States Constitution provides that "no state
a oe deny to any person within its |
jurisdiction the equal protection of the
laws." It is wrong to reward a knowing
concealer of a cause of action as against
the victim of the wrong who has no knowledge

of the wrong. But in addition these code

sections, as construed by the Mercer cases,

prefer one type of plaintiff over others,

16

for no articulable reason. The Georgia
Supreme Court has stated that the discovery
rule applies only to personal injuries which
develop over a period of time. To apply
such an egregious rule as that espoused in
-the Mercer case to selected plaintiffs is a
violation of equal protection. No
reasonable state of facts can be conceived
to justify such a classification, which is
"Snsidious", "wholly arbitrary", and

"capricious." See Lindsley v. National

Carbonic Gas Co., 220 U.S. 61 (1911);

McGowan v. Maryland, 366 U.S. 420 (1961);

and U.S. Railroad Retirement Board v. Fritz,

449 U.S. 166 (1980).

The Mercer rule arbitrarily disting-
uishes between personal injury cases and
property damage cases. Are not property

rights fundamental rights specifically

17

mentioned by the Fifth and Fourteenth

Amendments to the United States
Constitution? What rational reason can be
given for such a distinction? Also, the
Mercer decision draws a distinction between
those who know of their damage and those who
do not know of their damage, through no
fault of their own. What is the rational
justification for that?

The obliteration of the discovery rule
impacts upon plaintiffs who are wronged by
all types of defendants; i.e. - willful,
negligent, grossly negligent and defendants
subject to strict liability. The
culpability of the defendant is not the
issue. The only criteria for a defendant
receiving the windfall of no discovery rule
is that the plaintiff is not personally

injured over a period of time. The

18

important point is that the plaintiff

effectively has no ability to seek redress
sn Court because of ignorance, whether
caused by defendant or not.

The instant case is conceptually
indistinguishable from a personal injury
victim which has damages which develop over
a period of time. For example, a person
exposed to asbestos would have microscopic
injuries to his lungs upon exposure but
would probably not develop clinical symptoms
until years later. The minute Mose Mathis
and Sidney Mathis buried containers of waste
(unknown to them to be hazardous) on their
land, a nominal amount of injury to the land
would take place. With the progression of
time, more and more seepage into the ground
water would take place with resulting injury

to the land. Eventually the contamination

19

would become apparent. Unfortunately for

the Mathis brothers, their ignorance does
not toll the statute of limitations.
Fortunately for the asbestos victim, his
ignorance does toll the statute of
limitations. There is no rational basis for
distinguishing betwen these cases, but
Georgia does. In the process, the Equal
Protection Clause of the 14th Amendment is
violated.

Georgia is out of step with the rest of
the Country in obliterating the discovery
rule. It is even out of step with 42 U.S.C.
§ 9658 which creates a discovery rule in the
CERCLA context. Georgia has excepted a
certain class of personal injury plaintifs,
for no articulable reason. Georgia has

wronged almost everyone in the state.

20

CONCLUSION

The Summary Judgment dismissal of
plaintiff's Complaint should be reversed and

a trial granted.

Respectfully submitted,

on

fu bash
idney Mathis

3782 Kensington Road

Chickamauga, GA 30707

Ano fy gta

Mose Mathis
792 Southern Road
Chickamauga, GA 30707

21

DO NOT PUBLISH
IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 93-9513

D.C. DOCKET NO. 4:91-00024-CV-HLM

MOSE MATHIS; SIDNEY MATHIS
Plaintiffs, Counter-
Defendants-Appellants,
versus

VELSICOL CHEMICAL CORPORATION
Defendant, Counter-
Claimant-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Northern District of Georgia
November 9, 1994

Before BIRCH and DUBINA, Circuit Judges, and
Johnson, Senior Circuit Judge.

PER CURIAM: AFFIRMED. See llth Cir. R. 36-1.

Costs taxed against plaintiffs, counter-def-
endants-appellants.

Judgement Entered: November 9, 1994.
For the Court: Miguel J. Cortez
Clerk
By: Karleen McNabb, Deputy
Clerk

22

See °° °°» © —S--

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
NORTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA
ROME DIVISION

MOSE MATHIS AND
SIDNEY MATHIS,
Plaintiffs

CIVIL ACTION
4:91-cv-24-HLM

Ve.

VELSICOL CHEMICAL
CORPORATION,
Defendant,

VELSICOL CHEMICAL
CORPORATION,
Counter-claimant

Vv.

MOSE MATHIS AND
SYDNEY MATHIS,
Counter-defendant

eee es es (ee ee eee ee ee i a 0 i ONE I OO OS OS

ORDER
This case is before the Court on
Defendant Velsicol's Motion for Summary
Judgment. Defendant claims that ail three

claims discernable from Plaintiffs'

complaint are barred by the applicable
23

statute of limitation. Plaintiffs argue

that abolition of the "discovery rule" in
injury to property cases is unconstitutional
and unfair. For the reasons stated below,
the court concludes that all of Plaintiffs'
claims are barred by the applicable statute
of limitations and that the only claims
which remain in this case are Defendant's
counterclaims for indemnification and
contribution.

PROCEDURAL HISTORY

The Court has issued several
substantive orders prior to the filing of
the instant motion for summary judgment
which simplified this case immensely.
First, the Court denied Defendant's motion
to dismiss stating that sufficient facts
were pled to allow a jury to conclude that
Defendant harmed Plaintiffs' land. Next,
Defendant filed a motion for judgment on the

24

i;

pleadings and a motion to strike which the
Court partially granted. This second order
paired away the irrelevant defenses to
Defendant's counterclaim and conclusively
determined that Plaintiff was a "liable
party" under CERCLA for any clean-up costs
Defendant may incur in the future for
cleaning up the Marble Top landfill. See

Mathis v. Velsicol, 786 F. Supp. 971 (N.D.

Ga. 1991). This order also allowed
Plaintiffs to amend their complaint to more
particularly plead their allegations of
fraud.

Plaintiffs amended their complaint and
attempted to define more specifically their
allegations of fraud; however, the amended
complaint did not meet the requirements of
Fed. R. Civ. P. 9(b) and the Court
ultimately granted Defendant's motion to

strike the fraud allegations. The Court

25

also considered and ruled on several
discovery motions which helped the parties
organize this case. With all the pre-trial
motions decided, the court notes that the
issues oe to the ruling on the

motion sub judice, are Plaintiffs' claims

for breach of contract, nuisance and
interference with enjoyment of property.

As noted above, Defendant still has two
claims remaining one for indemnification and
one for contribution. Both of these claims
relate to any costs Defendant may incur in
the possible future clean-up of the Marble

Top landfill.

\the Court notes that Plaintiffs do not

dispute, in their response brief, that these
are the only three theories under which they

seek relief.

26

SUMMARY JUDGMENT

Rule 56(c) of the Federal Rules of
Civil Procedure authorizes summary judgment

when "there is no genuine issue as to any

material fact and... . the moving party is
entitled to a judgment as a matter of law."
The moving party bears the heavy burden of
demonstrating that no dispute as to any

material fact exists. See Adickes v. S. H.

Kress & Co., 398 U.S. 144 (1970); Clark v.

Coats & Clark, Inc., 929 F.2d 604 (11th Cir.

1991). The District Court's duty is to view
the evidence and all factual inferences in

the light most favorable to the party

opposing the motion. See Bradbury v.

Wainwright, 718 F.2d 1538, 1543 (11th Cir.

1983). In deciding a motion for summary

judgment, it is not the Court's function to

decide issues of genuine material fact.

27

Rather, the Court's function is to determine
whether such an issue exists to be tried.

See Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477

U.S. 242 (1986); Warrior Tombigbee

Transportation Co. v. M/V Nan Fung, 695-F.2d

1294, 1296 (11th Cir. 1983). Facts which in
good faith are disputed, but which do not
resolve or affect the outcome of the suit
will not properly preclude the entry of

summary judgment. Anderson, 477 U.S. at

248.

Genuine disputes regarding facts are
those where the evidence is such that a
reasonable jury could return a verdict for

the nonmovant. Anderson, 477 U.S. at 248.

Moreover, for factual issues to be
"senuine", they must have a real basis in

the record. Matsushita, 475 U.S. at 587.

The nonmovant "must do more than simply show

that there is some metaphysical doubt as to

28

lien sane neesseertmininea

i tO)

the material facts. . . . Where the record
as a whole could not lead a rational trier
of fact to find for the nonmoving party,
there is no 'genuine issue for trial.'" Id.
at 586 (citations omitted. )

FACTS

The facts delineated below are not
disputed. Plaintiffs are joint owners of
land in Walker County, Georgia, known as the
Marble Top Landfill and Velsicol is a
chemical manufacturer with a plant located
in Chattanooga, Tennessee. Between 1973 and
1980 Plaintiffs contracted with Velsicol to
dispose of thousands of drums of industrial
waste. The last transportation of chemical
waste by Plaintiffs from Defendants' plant
to the Marble Top landfill occurred prior to
February 1980. Plaintiffs claim that the

contract between the parties stated that the

29

waste disposed of was to be non-hazardous
waste only, while Velsicol claims that
Plaintiffs knew that some of the waste
contained hazardous materials. Regardless
of the parties’ initial understanding, ~
Plaintiffs have subsequently learned that
the drums which are buried on Marble Top
Landfill actually contain hazardous
material, not non-hazardous material.
Consequently, after Plaintiffs discovered
the contents of the drums, they filed this
lawsuit in February 1991 against Velsicol.
The lawsuit commenced more than eleven years
after the last delivery of waste to Marble
Top, but only a few years after Plaintiffs
claim they discovered some of the waste
buried was actually hazardous waste.

STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS

Defendant moves for summary judgment on

all three of Plaintiffs' remaining claims
30

OS SR te ee ate

contending that all three claims are barred
by the applicable statute of limitations.
First, Defendant states that the statute of
limitation for breach of contract is six
years and that Plaintiffs’ contract claim is
barred because the last possible delivery of
hazardous waste in violation of the contract
occurred no later than January 1980 which is
longer than six years ago. Second,
Defendant asserts that both the nuisance and
interference with property claims are
governed by a four year statute of
limitations which bars both of these claims
because the last disposal of waste on the
land occurred more than four years ago.
Defendant finally states that the so-called
"discovery rvle" which tolls a statute of
limitations until the discovery of the
injury does not apply to claims involving

injuries to property; it only applies to

31

injuries to the body. Consequently, as
Plaintiffs have conceded that they Jo not
seek any damages for bodily injuries to
either Plaintiff, Plaintiffs cannot find
comfort in this outs for tolling the statute
of limitations. |

. Plaintiffs' response to Defendant's
motion is somewhat confusing. Plaintiffs
are apparently arguing that the "discovery
rule" should still be the law of the Land in
this case because the Georgia Supreme
Court's abrogation of the rule in injury to
property cases was "arbitrary" and
capricious and, therefore, the Supreme
Court's decision violated the Fourteenth
Amendment. With this argument, Plaintiffs
are basically asking that this Court to
either overrule or ignore binding precedent
rendered by a higher court because

Plaintiffs do not agree with the decision

32

rendered by the higher court. Although the
Court may sympathize with the harsh result
inflicted on Plaintiffs in this case, this
Court has neither the authority nor
inclination to accept Plaintiffs' invitation
to question the legitimacy of the higher
court's ruling.

In Corporation of Mercer Univ. v.

National Gypsum Co., 877 F.2d 35 (11th Cir.

1989), the Eleventh Circuit adopted the
Georgia Supreme Court's answer to a
certified question and held that "the
discovery rule applies to only cases
involving bodily injury", and does not apply
to cases involving injury to property. Id.

(citing Mercer Univ. v. National Gypsum Co.,

258 Ga. 365 (1988). Consequently, despite
Plaintiffs' protestations to the contrary

the discovery rule does not apply in this

bb

case. Therefore, as nuisance and
interference with land claims are governed
by a four year statute of limitations, see
0.C.G.A. § 9-3-30, and all breach of
contract claims aviekae from a written :.
contract are governed by a six year statute
of limitations, see 0.C.G.A. §9-3-24,
Plaintiffs' claims are barred because the
last possible act giving rise to any of
these claims must have occurred by February
1980 which is eleven years ago and clearly
outside the applicable statute of

limitations. See Rowe v. Steve Allen &

Assoe., Inc., 197 Ga. App. 452, 453 (1990);
Gamble v. Lovett School, 180 Ga. App. 708

(1986); McDonald v. Patton, 172 Ga. App. 491
(1984).
Accordingly, this Court GRANTS

Defendant's Motion for Summary Judgment.

34

IT IS SO ORDERED, this the (22nd) day

of June, 1993.

(HAROLD MURPHY)

UNITED STATES
DISTRICT JUDGE

35

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_1302%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
