# Reply Brief — Nakamura v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_1297%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1995
- **Citation:** 514 U.S. 1107

## Text

Vd

~ Suprema Court, U.S. |

QO 1995
No. 94-1401 HAY 1
, CLERK
In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1994

+

STEVE NAKAMURA, et al.,

Petitioners,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The Tenth Circuit Court Of Appeals

¢

PETITIONERS’ REPLY TO WRIT OF CERTIORARI

S

Peter SCHOENBURG

Counsel of Record

RutH PREGENZER

ROTHSTEIN, DONATELLI,
HucuHes, DAHLSTROM, CRON
& SCHOENBURG

320 Central, S.W., #30

Albuquerque, N.M. 87102

(505) 243-1443

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

TABLE OF CONTENTS

py Bt we ty) 8) Ree ee

[.

II.

A RECENTLY DEVELOPED SPLIT IN THE CIR-
CUITS OVER WHETHER THE USE OF A
POLICE OFFICER’S COMPELLED INTERNAL
AFFAIRS STATEMENTS IN A GRAND JURY
PROCEEDING VIOLATES HIS FIFTH AMEND-
MENT RIGHTS REQUIRES DEFINITIVE RESO-
hl ARMOR. REDWE GPEPINR «odes vecees eeeueewses

THE CONCLUSION OF THE GRAND JURY
INVESTIGATING KLUNCK’S SHOOTING HAS
NOT RENDERED THIS CASE MOOT BECAUSE
THIS COURT CAN GRANT EFFECTUAL RELIEF
NAMELY THE RETURN OR DESTRUCTION OF
THE INTERNAL AFFAIRS STATEMENTS IN POS-
SEEN OFT THE GRAND FURY ........00.605.

A. Under this Court’s recently established test in
Church of Scientology of California v. United
States, 113 S. Ct. 447 (1992), this case is not
moot because this Court can order that the
grand jury’s copies of the Internal Affairs state-
ments be either returned or destroyed.......

B. The issues raised here are capable of repeti-
tion, yet evading review and should be con-
ER an

RE so hes CA CE CRE) cakes cestode

ws

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
FepeRAL Cases
Church of Scientology of California v. United States,

BaP GR. GOP SHG sbeccentivispecuse 4,5, 6, 7, 8
Garrity v. New Jersey, 385 U.S. 493 (1967)........ passim
In re Grand Jury Proceedings: Doe, 863 F.2d 667 (9th

BOD 6060 5+ Kb dee sdbiestecnecsiuaseeenee 8, 9
In re Grand Jury Proceedings: Kinamon, 45 F.3d 343

Fe RAK PP sb icv vi bwenavodesnenannes ip ae Oe ee
In re Grand Jury Proceedings: Larson, 785 F.2d 629

ee as Ns 0 6 vxod K0518 hd oe eee cee 8, 9
In re Grand Jury Proceedings: Vargas, 723 F.2d 1461

i | SP or er re 7
In re Grand Jury Subpoenas: Stover, 40 F.3d 1096

CRUE Gi SOP sn din eke s +P cRR ee eeebaehetadans arses 3
Nebraska Press Ass'n v. Stuart, 427 U.S. 539 (1976)..... 5
Perlman v. United States, 247 U.S. 7 (1918).......... 6, 7
ple ©. Wide, S10 UR. T00 GUer ae 6 rans ch endo ce ecnes: 9
United States v. Beery, 678 F.2d 856 (10th Cir. 1982)..... 7
United States v. North, 920 F.2d 940 (D.C. Cir. 1990),

covet. Glee, FES Va PER AAPOR 6b ks cad wacceensads i
Weaver v. Brenner, 40 F.3d 527 (2nd Cir. 1994)........ 7
Weinstein v. Bradford, 423 U.S. 147 (1975)............. 8

MISCELLANEOUS

15B C. Wright, A. Miller, and E. Cooper, Federal
Practice and Procedure § 3914.23, pp. 156-167
Ge Gl. EE ¢ da wicnsedevncsssedsaeeumneeieen 6

I. A RECENTLY DEVELOPED SPLIT IN THE CIR-
CUITS OVER WHETHER THE USE OF A POLICE
OFFICER’S COMPELLED INTERNAL AFFAIRS
STATEMENTS IN A GRAND JURY PROCEEDING
VIOLATES HIS FIFTH AMENDMENT RIGHTS
REQUIRES DEFINITIVE RESOLUTION BY THIS
COURT.

Garrity and its progeny mandate that before a police
officer’s Internal Affairs statements can be subpoenaed
for use by a grand jury, the district court must make a
threshold finding that the officer is not a target of the
grand jury investigation and that the grand jury has a
clear need for any Internal Affairs statements of a non-
target witness. Only by implementing such safeguards
can this Court assure that the Fifth Amendment rights of
police officers are protected. Garrity v. New Jersey, 385
U.S. 493 (1967); see In re Grand Jury Proceedings: Kinamon,
45 F.3d 343 (9th Cir. 1995).

Contrary to the position taken by the government in
its Brief for the United States in Opposition (Response),
the Officers’ adamantly challenge the decision below that
disclosure of their Internal Affairs statements to the
grand jury did not violate their Fifth Amendment rights.
(Response at 8; Petition at 19-26). Petitioners argued
below and assert here that the disclosure of their Internal
Affairs statements to the grand jury caused an impermis-
sible violation of the Fifth Amendment to transpire in the
grand jury’s presence. (Petition at 19).

The court below rejected the Officers’ claim that the
production of their Internal Affairs statements for use by
the grand jury violated their Fifth Amendment privileges.
(App. at 14-15). In so doing, the court erroneously con-
cluded that a grand jury investigation is not the type of
criminal proceeding that implicates the Fifth Amendment
or triggers the protections afforded by Garrity. Id. at
16-17. “[W]e simply have no way of knowing whether the

1

2

statements have been, or will be, used in a constitu-
tionally proscribed manner.” Id. at 17. In reaching this
decision the court narrowly interpreted the Fifth Amend-
ment rights of police officers and concluded that the only
types of criminal proceedings protected by Garrity are
those which follow a police officer’s indictment on crimi-
nal charges. Id.

In direct conflict with the position taken by the Tenth
Circuit in this case, the Ninth Circuit recently reversed a
district court’s order refusing to quash a subpoena issued
to a police officer's supervisor requiring him to produce
the officer’s Internal Affairs statements for use in a grand
jury investigation. Kinamon, 45 F.3d at 348.' Noting that
pursuant to Garrity the Fifth Amendment shields a police
officer from the use of compelled statements obtained
under threat of removal from office in any criminal pro-
ceeding, the Ninth Circuit held:

A grand jury is no more entitled to use a wit-

ness’ immunized testimony against him to reach

an indictment than is a trial jury permitted to

use such testimony to reach its verdict.

Id. at 348. The court determined that a Kastigar-like evi-
dentiary hearing should have been employed at some
point to insure that the officer’s Garrity rights had not
been violated but left the details of conducting that hear-
ing to the discretion of the district court. Jd. at 348. It then

1 In Kinamon, the district court denied the police officer's
motion to quash the subpoena on the grounds that the police
department had no authority to grant a police officer use immu-
nity and that a grand jury investigation was not the type of
criminal proceeding that implicated a police officer’s Fifth
Amendment rights. Id. at 345-46. The district court then permit-
ted an interlocutory appeal of its ruling prior to requiring the
release of any of the police officer’s compelled Internal Affairs
statements. Id.

3

remanded the case to the district court with instructions
to reevaluate its conclusions in light of the “correct legal
position[]” that a grand jury investigation is a criminal
proceeding implicating the Fifth Amendment protections
provided by Garrity. Id. In light of these instructions, it is
most reasonable to assume that the district court would
hold the required hearing prior to the release of such
statements in order to guarantee that the police officer’s
Fifth Amendment rights were fully protected.

The Ninth Circuit’s decision in Kinamon is on all
fours with the position asserted by the Officers here, and
the relief authorized by Kinamon is similar if not identical
to the relief sought by the Officers in this case. Plainly,
the Officers’ Fifth Amendment rights can be fully pro-
tected only where the district court conducts an evidenti-
ary hearing prior to the unsupervised and blanket release
of their compelled Internal Affairs statements to the gov-
ernment. To rely for protection on the government in an
adversarial proceeding where the government is the
enemy, as the Tenth Circuit clearly if mistakenly does,
makes a mockery of the Officers’ Garrity protections.
(App. at 17-18).

The contradictory decisions by the Tenth Circuit in
the present case and the Ninth Circuit in Kinamon dra-
matically illustrate the gulf that separates the circuits on
the issue of whether a grand jury investigation is the kind
of criminal proceeding which implicates a police officer’s
Fifth Amendment rights and for which Garrity and its
progeny afford protection. Kinamon, 45 F.3d at 348; com-
pare United States v. North, 920 F.2d 940, 947 (D.C. Cir.
1990), cert. denied, 500 U.S. 941 (1991); contra In re Grand
Jury Subpoenas: Stover, 40 F.3d 1096 (10th Cir. 1994). To
protect against continuous and recurring violations of the
Officers’ Fifth Amendment rights, the Officers have
requested this Court to adopt the simple and reasonable

4

expedient of requiring the grand jury prosecutor to cer-
tify that any police officer whose Internal Affairs state-
ments have been subpoenaed for grand jury use is not a
target of that grand jury investigation. (Petition at 24). In
addition, because prosecutors cannot always know for
certain whether a non-target officer will later become a
target based on information discovered in his Internal
Affairs statements, the Officers have also requested this
Court to require an evidentiary hearing to determine the
grand jury’s actual need for the subpoenaed information.
The Officers have requested these reasonable and com-
mon sense procedures to preserve the “rational accom-
modation” of policy interests and constitutional rights
recognized by Garrity. (Petition at 27-28).

Because “a grand jury is no more entitled to use a
witness’ immunized testimony against him to reach an
indictment than is a trial jury permitted to use such
testimony to reach its verdict” the procedural protections
requested by the Officers are to the grand jury investiga-
tion what the Kastigar protections are to a trial. Kinamon,
45 F.3d at 348 (Petition at 26). Both proceedings are crimi-
nal in nature. Id. Thus, the Fifth Amendment jurispru-
dence developed by this Court in Garrity and its progeny
demands that an indictment, like a verdict, be arrived at
free from the use of police officers’ compelled Internal
Affairs statements. Id.

5

Il. THE CONCLUSION OF THE GRAND JURY
INVESTIGATING KLUNCK’S SHOOTING HAS
NOT RENDERED THIS CASE MOOT BECAUSE
THIS COURT CAN GRANT EFFECTUAL RELIEF
NAMELY THE RETURN OR DESTRUCTION OF
THE INTERNAL AFFAIRS STATEMENTS IN POS-
SESSION OF THE GRAND JURY.

A. Under this Court’s recently established test in
Church of Scientology of California v. United
States, 113 S. Ct. 447 (1992), this case is not
moot because this Court can order that the
grand jury’s copies of the Internal Affairs state-
ments be either returned or destroyed.

In its Response, the government argues that this case
is moot because the grand jury investigation of the Peter
Klunck shooting has concluded rendering it impossible
for this Court to grant the Officers effectual relief.
(Response at 7). In addition, the government argues that
this case does not fall within the “capable of repetition,
yet evading review” exception to the mootness doctrine.
(Response at 7, citing Nebraska Press Ass'n v. Stuart, 427
U.S. 539, 546 (1976)). The government is mistaken on both
points.

To begin with, the case is not moot because this Court
can still grant real relief to the Officers. In Church of
Scientology of California v. United States, 113 S. Ct. 447
(1992) this Court established an explicit test for mootness
in the context of subpoenas or summons and has over-
ruled the cases cited by the government. Specifically, the
Court held that a case is rendered moot only when an
event occurs that “makes it impossible for the Court to
grant ‘any effectual relief whatsoever’ to a prevailing
party.” Church of Scientology, 113 S. Ct. at 449 quoting Mills
v. Green, 159 U.S. 651 (1895). Church of Scientology
involved an IRS summons to a state court clerk for two

6

tape recordings. The clerk had complied with the sum-
mons by the time the appeal was considered by the Ninth
Circuit. The Ninth Circuit dismissed on mootness
grounds and this Court reversed. In a unanimous deci-
sion authored by Justice Stevens the Court wrote, “[t]his
case is not moot because if the summons were improperly
issued or enforced a court could order that the IRS’
copies of the tapes be either returned or destroyed.” 113
> Ct. at 451.

Relying upon this Court’s decision in Church of Scien-
tology, the court below applied the correct standard and
concluded that it could still afford the Officers “some
modicum” of the relief they sought by ordering the return
or destruction of the Internal Affairs files. (App. at 8-9).
The fact that the grand jury has since concluded its
investigation into the Peter Klunck shooting does not
change the correctness of the Tenth Circuit’s decision.
Applying the Church of Scientology test, there is no ques-
tion that this Court can fashion effective relief for the
Officers by ordering the return of all Internal Affairs
statements to the Albuquerque Police Department Inter-
nal Affairs office, or to the Officers themselves, or by
ordering that all such disclosed documents be destroyed.?

2 It would be particularly unfair to apply the mootness
doctrine in a situation where, as here, a third-party record cus-
todian had been compelled to disclose the material. The doc-
trine developed by this Court in Perlman v. United States, 247
U.S. 7 (1918) provides that a discovery order directed to a disin-
terested third-party is treated as an immediately appealable
final order because the third-party lacks a sufficient stake in the
proceeding to risk contempt by refusing compliance. See gener-
ally, 15B C. Wright, A. Miller, and E. Cooper, Federal Practice
and Procedure § 3914.23, pp. 156-167 (2d ed. 1992). It would be
absurd to hold, as the government urges here, that each time a
third-party produces the subpoenaed material and the grand
jury uses the material and concludes its investigation prior to

7

Here the Officers urge the Court to protect their
Interna! Affairs statements, given under the Fifth Amend-
ment privilege extended them by Garrity and its progeny.
There is no logical, legal or policy distinction that can be
made in failing to afford the mootness analysis estab-
lished in Church of Scientology to this case. The placement
of the Officers’ Internal Affairs statements in the hands of
federal prosecutors and successive grand juries, is a con-
tinuing Fifth Amendment violation. These actions have
disturbed the rational accommodation of policy interests
and constitutional rights protected by Garrity and its
progeny. Increasingly, appellate courts have begun to rec-
ognize that the very use by the grand jury of such state-
ments causes a Fifth Amendment violation to transpire
before the grand jury. Kinamon, 45 F.3d at 348; Weaver v.
Brenner, 40 F.3d 527, 535 (2nd Cir. 1994); United States v.
North, 920 F.2d at 947; United States v. Beery, 678 F.2d 856,
860 (10th Cir. 1982). That Fifth Amendment violation is
no less profound than the Fourth Amendment violation
(right to privacy) recognized in Church of Scientology, 113
S. Ct. at 450.

Nor is it significant that the Officers never speci-
fically requested the District Court to order the return or
destruction of the records. Such a technical prerequisite
to fashioning appropriate relief is not endorsed in Church
of Scientology nor in cases extending relief to individuals
whose rights have been implicated by grand jury sub-
poenas. See, e.g., In re Grand Jury Proceedings: Vargas, 723
F.2d 1461 (10th Cir. 1983). In fact, these cases typically
develop where the interested person has no control over
the materials themselves, and the materials are disclosed

the conclusion of the appeal, the parties whose rights are at
stake must accept dismissal of their appeal as moot, although
entitled to intervene and appeal under the Perlman doctrine.

8

after the District Court proceedings have ceased and an
appeal is already under way. That was the very factual
setting in Church of Scientology. 113 S. Ct. at 449 (“while
the appeal was pending, copies of the tapes were deliv-
ered to the IRS.”). It is unfair to require the Officers to
have been clairvoyant and anticipate all possible eventu-
alities regarding the disclosure of the materials. They
moved that the subpoena be quashed and raised the legal
argument that their Garrity rights were being violated. To
ask for more would exalt form over substance. Here, the
Officers asked that the subpoenas be quashed. That
request, as this Court implicitly recognized in Church of
Scientology, was enough to preserve their right to later
request that the records be returned once disclosure was
made.

B. The issues raised here are capable of repetition,
yet evading review and should be considered
by this Court.

Contrary to the government’s claims, this case fits
squarely into the mootness exception known as “capable
of repetition yet evading review.” Weinstein v. Bradford,
423 U.S. 147, 148-149 (1975); see also Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S.
113, 125 (1973); In re Grand Jury Proceedings: Doe, 863 F.2d
667 (9th Cir. 1988); In re Grand Jury Proceedings: Larson,
785 F.2d 629 (8th Cir. 1986). This Court requires that two
elements be satisfied to bring a case within this excep-
tion: (1) whether the challenged action was too short to
be fully litigated prior to being rendered moot, and (2)
whether there is a reasonable expectation that the same
complaining party could be subjected to the same type of
action again. 423 U.S. at 148.

Here, the Officers faced a rapidly moving grand jury
subpoena disclosure attempt, a circumstance that did not
afford an opportunity to fully litigate their interests prior

9

to compliance by the records custodian. As the court
noted in Larson, “a grand jury’s term and its investiga-
tions are by their very nature of limited and relatively
short duration” so that issues “ ‘could not, or probably
would not, be able to be adjudicated while fully “live.” ’ ”
785 F.2d at 631, citing Dow Chemical Co. v. EPA, 605 F.2d
673, 678 n.12 (3rd Cir. 1979). The Larson court found that
the first prong of the mootness exception had been met
but concluded that the second prong remained unsat-
isfied because the appellants did not have a reasonable
expectation of again being subpoenaed to testify before a
grand jury in the same type of action. Id.

Unlike the appellants in Larson, this case satisfies
both prongs of the mootness exception. These Officers are
frequently interviewed by IAU investigators in connec-
tion with incidents where police officers discharge their
weapons. Commonly, these incidents result in criminal
investigations. Therefore, unlike the appellants in Larson,
the Officers have a real and very reasonable expectation
that they will again by subpoenaed to testify in the same
type of action. See In re Grand Jury Proceedings: Doe, 863
F.2d at 669.

This case presents a situation similar to the one pre-
sented to the Court in Roe v. Wade. There, the Court found
that the normal 266-day gestation for pregnancy created a
situation where the pregnancy would come to term, ren-
dering the petitioner’s assertion of her constitutional
rights moot before the usual appellate process was com-
plete. Roe, 410 U.S. at 124. The Court explained that
because pregnancy “often comes more than once to the
same woman” it “provides a classic justification for a
conclusion of nonmootness. It truly could be ‘capable of
repetition yet evading review.’” Id. (citation omitted,
emphasis added). Like the situation at issue in Roe, this
case provides a similar “classic justification for conclusion of

10

nonmootness.” It is probable, even inevitable, that the Offi-
cers’ Internal Affairs statements will again be the subject of
subpoenas by a federal or state grand jury. Those subpoenas
are directed to the custodians of Internal Affairs records and
not to the Officers themselves. Without a resolution of the
substantive issues presented by their claims, the Officers will
be caught on a legal merry-go-round of subpoenas issued to
custodians who are not willing to resist compliance, but
whose actions render the Officers’ efforts to vindicate their
Garrity rights moot by turning over the records to the
requesting authority.

CONCLUSION

For these reasons and each of those set forth in the
Petition, the Officers request this Court grant their Peti-
tion for Writ of Certiorari and address the merits of the
Officers’ claims to clarify the scope of the protections
afforded by Garrity and its progeny and to resolve the
split in the circuits regarding at what stage of the criminal
process those protections are called into play. The Offi-
cers further request that the Court implement the simple
procedural safeguards they request in order to preserve
their Fifth Amendment rights and to protect the integrity
of the grand jury process.

Respectfully submitted,

PETER SCHOENBURG
Counsel of Record
ROTHSTEIN, DONATELLI, HUGHES,
DAHLSTROM, CRON
& SCHOENBURG
320 Central Ave., S.W., #30
Albuquerque, N.M. 87102
(505) 243-1443

Attorneys for Petitioners

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_1297%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
