# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Delaye v. Agripac, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_1250%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1995
- **Citation:** 514 U.S. 1037

## Text

Supreme Caurt, U.S

Ci) riLeeD
941336 FEB 6 1995
No.
“OFROE OF THe CLRR

In The Supreme Court Of The United States

October Term, 1994

DENNIS DELAYE,
Petitioner,
V «

AGRIPAC, INC., an
Oregon corporation,

Respondent.

Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of
Appeals For The Ninth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Richard C. Busse
(Counsel of Record)
Scott N. Hunt
LAW OFFICES OF

RICHARD C. BUSSE
521 American Bank Building
621 SW Morrison Street
Portland, Oregon 97205
(503) 248-0504

Counsel for Petitioner

—_—

i
QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

| If an issue is not raised suf-
ficiently for a trial court to rule on it,
can a party raise that issue for the first
time on appeal? If that is the rule in a
circuit can an appellate Court ignore its
own rule?

: Where Congress intended that
severance benefit plans be regulated under
the Employee Retirement Income Security Act
(ERISA), if an agreement provides’ for
severance benefits in the event of termina-
tion, and those benefits are intended to be
part of the inducement to become and remain

employed, should Fort Halifax Packing Co.

v. Coyne, 482 U.S. 1 (1987), be construed

to require an ongoing administrative scheme

beyond that presented in this case?

aaa

eS eee—eeeE——E——O—E———————————E——— —E* Le

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

OPINIONS BELOW

JURISDICTION

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED .

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

2

y

This Case Presents An
Exceptionally Important Question
That Concerns The Essence Of
Appellate Procedure.

a.

The Dispositive Issue In The
Ninth Circuit Was Raised For
The First Time On Appeal

The Issue Argued In The
Appellate Court By
Respondent That The Contract
Did Not Involve An "Ongoing
Administrative Scheme" Was
Not Raised Sufficiently For
The Trial Court To Rule On
It. ee

A Litigant Is Deprived Justice If
The Appellate Court Allows An
Issue To Be Raised For The First
Time On Appeal. .. .

Page

10

10

10

11

33

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page
3. The Contract Provisions In
Question Were Part Of The
Inducement To Petitioner To
Become And Remain President, And
They Contained Sufficient
Administration To Constitute An
ee ee 17
a. Fort Halifax Is Not
Controlling For This Did
Not Involve The Mere
Creation Of A Benefit. ... 17
b. Cases Stemming From Fort
Halifax Are Distinguishable
For This Plan Was Not A
TPC MEM—s” « 5 & 6 © «6 e 19
C. To The Extent An "Ongoing
Administrative Scheme" Is
Required To Constitute An
ERISA Plan, The Required
Showing Should Be Minimal. . 20

ee 22

lv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases

Angst v. Mack Trucks, Inc.,
969 F.2d 1530 (3rd Cir. 1992)

Delaye v. Agripac, Inc.,
39 F.3d 235 (9th Cir. 1994)

Fontenot v. NL Industries, Inc.,
953 F.2d 960 (5th Cir. 1992)

Fort Halifax Packing Co. v. Coyne,
482 U.S. 1 (1987) 9

In Re E.R. Fegert, Inc.,
887 F.2d 955 (9th Cir. 1989)

Moeller v. Bertrang,
801 F.Supp. 291 (D.S.D. 1992)

Morrow v. Greyhound Lines, Inc.,
541 F.2d 713 (8th Cir. 1976)

Singleton v. Wulff,
26 U.S. i226, 396 81Ct. 2666,
49 L.Ed.2d 826 (1976)

State of Cal., Dept. of Health
Services v. U.S. DHHS.
853 F.2d 634 (9th Cir. 1988)

Wells v. General Motors Corp.,
881 F.2d 166 (5th Cir. 1989),
cert. denied, 495 U.S. 923
(1990) :* te SO oe

Whittaker Corp. v. Execvair Corp.,

953 F.2d 510 (9th Cir. 1992)

Page

20

12

20

14

6, i7

16

20

12

V

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Whittemore v. Schlumberger Technology

Corp., 9/6 F.2d 922 (5th Cir.

eens 6.4 ee ee we eee we 19
Williams v. Wright,

94/ F.24G 1540 (lith Cir. 1991) . 20
Statutes Page
we eeaee OB Seeetk) «6 «3 ee ewe 3
re ee ae ee ee 9
ae Uebst, © £OG(GH(G) « «2 se ss os « 3,
oo Pore ee eh ee ee

we Wests -O BREE 4 es boots ack «6B HR, SD

EES

a a

_—_

No.

In The Supreme Court Of The United States

October Term, 1994

DENNIS DELAYE,
Petitioner,
VW «

AGRIPAC, INC., an
Oregon corporation,

Respondent.

Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of
Appeals For The Ninth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

2
Petitioner Dennis Delaye ("Petition-
er") respectfully prays that a Writ of
Certiorari issue to review the Judgment and
Opinion of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Ninth Circuit filed on

November 3, 1994.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Opinion of the Ninth Circuit Court
of Appeals was filed on November 3, 1994,
and its denial of a Petition for Rehearing
and Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc was
denied on December 28, 1994. The opinion
and order denying the petition appear in
the appendix. The Opinion is cited at 39
F.3d 235 (9th Cir. 1994). The Opinion of
the Ninth Circuit reversed the April 1,
1993 Judgment of the District Court for the
District of Oregon in Petitioner’s favor,
and the Judgment and Findings of Fact and
Conclusions of Law dated February 8, 1993

appear in the Appendix.

JURISDICTION

The appellate judgment of the Ninth
Circuit Court of Appeals was filed on
November 3, 1994, following its denial of
Petitioner’s Petition for Rehearing and
Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc_ on
December 28, 1994,

This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Petitioner proceeded under 29 U.S.C.
§ 1002(1)(B), 29 U.S.C. § 186(c)(6), and 29
U.S.C. § 1132(a)(1)(B).

29 U.S.C. § 1002(1)(B) provides, in
part:

(1) The terms "employee

welfare benefit plan" and "wel-

fare plan" mean any plan, fund,

Or program which was heretofore

Or is hereafter established or

maintained by an employer or by

an employee organization, or by
both, to the extent that such

part:

part:

plan, fund, Or program was
established or is maintained for
the purpose of providing for its
participants or their benefi-
ciaries, through the purchase of
insurance or otherwise, *** (B)
any benefit described in section
186(c) of this title (other than
pensions on retirement or death,
and insurance to provide such
pensions).

29 U.S.C. § 186(c)(6) provides,

The provisions of this section
shall not be applicable ... (6)
with respect to money or other
thing of value paid for. the
purpose of pooled vacation,
holiday, severance or similar
benefits, or defraying costs of
apprenticeship or other training
programs

29 U.S.C. § 1132(a)(1)(B) provides,

A civil action may be brought --

(1) by a participant or
beneficiary --

(A) for the relief
provided for in subsection (c) of
this section, or

in

in

5

(B) to recover bene-
fits due to him under the terms
of his plan, to enforce his

rights under the terms of the
plan, or to clarify his rights to
future benefits under the terms
of the plan;

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner was first employed . by
Respondent, an agricultural cooperative, as
its Vice-President of Marketing and Sales
in September 1983. In 1988 he was made its
Chief Operating Officer. Petitioner became
its President in 1989.

In 1990 Petitioner signed an Employ-
ment Contract which provided if he were
terminated without cause he would receive
severance benefits, to include amounts
payable over a period based upon his last
two years’ salary and bonus payments, plus

continuing insurance coverage so long as he

6

. s 1
remained uncovered by other insurance. The

employer, who was also the obligor, was to

a_i et Employee’s employment is ter-
minated pursuant to the terms of paragraphs
6.1.1, 6.1.2, or 6.1.3, or if Employer ter-
mMinates Employee’s employment pursuant to
paragraph 6.1.7, Employee shall receive the
following:

(a) Employer shall pay Employee payments
as provided herein. The annual average of
the base compensation and bonus paid by
Employer to Employee pursuant to paragraphs
3.1 and 3.2 herein for the last two (2)
full contract years prior to Employee’s
termination with Employer shall be divided
by twelve (12). The resulting amount shall
be paid to Employee by Employer on a month-
ly basis for a period of twelve (12) months
plus one (1) month for each month of Em-
ployee’s employment with Employer pursuant
to this Employment Contract up to a maximum
of twenty-four (24) months.

(b) Within thirty (30) days of the date of
Employee’s termination, Employer shall pay
Employee all of Employee’s accrued vaca-
tion.

(c) Employer shall continue to. provide
Employee with the same accident and health
insurance, basic life insurance, additional
life insurance, basic disability insurance,
and additional disability insurance which
was provided to Employee during the term of
Employee’s employment. Employer shall con-
tinue to provide these benefits until Em-
ployee finds other employment, or until the
payments provided in subparagraph 6.2.2(a)
terminate, whichever date first occurs.

;
make the determination whether he was ter-

minated for cause.’ If he were terminated

6.1 Reasons for Termination. Employee’s
employment with Employer shall terminate
upon occurrence of any of the following
events:

6.1.1 Mutual written agreement between Em-
ployer and Employee;

6.1.2 Employee’s death;

6.1.3 Employee shall suffer a permanent
disability. For purposes of this agree-
ment, "permanent disability" shall be
defined as Employee’s inability due to
physical or mental illness, or other cause,
to perform the majority of Employee’s usual
duties for a period of six (6) months or
more;

6.1.4 Employee’s willful and continual
failure and refusal to comply with the
policies, standards, and regulations of
Employer from time to time established or
the terms of this agreement.

6.1.5 Fraud, dishonesty or any other act
of misconduct in the performance of Em-
ployee’s duties on behalf of Employer;

6.1.6 Sale, transfer or other disposition
of all or substantially all the assets of
Employer or the merger of Employer with
another company;

6.1.7 Upon sixty (60) days prior written
notice by either Employee or Employer to
the other.

8

without cause he would receive according to
the schedule over $350,000.00. If he were
terminated for "willful and continual
failure and refusal to comply with the
policies, standards, and regulations of
Employer form time to time established by
the terms of the agreement" he would re-
ceive nothing.

Petitioner was given performance
appraisals by the Board of Directors of
Respondent in 1990 and again on August 6,
1991 in which he was rated as "generally
competent." However, on November 6, 1991
he was terminated for willful misconduct.
At no time prior to his discharge was he
charged with wilful misconduct. Respondent
refused payment of the contractual sever-
ance amount.

Petitioner brought suit in federal
district court, and joined several federal

and state claims in his complaint. At

trial he dismissed all federal and state

9
claims except his collection of benefits
Claim under § 502 of ERISA, 29 U.S.C §
1132(a)(1)(B). The District Court had
jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1331.

At trial Respondent argued that the
Employment Contract was not an ERISA plan
because a single employee cannot constitute
a class under ERISA. It made no other ar-
gument that the provisions of the contract
did not constitute a severance benefit plan
for ERISA purposes. It did not argue that
the contract did not constitute an ERISA
severance benefit plan because it lacked an
Ongoing administrative program or scheme.

The District Court ruled in Petition-—
er’s favor on the only issue raised by
Respondent, and held that a Single persor.
can constitute an ERISA class of benefi-
Ciaries.

Respondent appealed and raised for the
first time on appeal the issue whether the

Provisions of the contract had an ongoing

10
administrative scheme. The Ninth Circuit
Court of Appeals reversed the District
Court’s opinion and ruled in favor of

Respondent.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
Petitioner contends that if the Ninth
Circuit is allowed to ignore its own prece-
dent and allow Respondent to raise an issue
for the first time on appeal an injustice
will be imposed upon Petitioner and er-
roneous precedent will be established in
the law of the scope of ERISA coverage.
he This Case Presents An Exceptionally
Important Question That Concerns The
Essence Of Appellate Procedure.
a. The Dispositive Issue .In The
Ninth Circuit Was Raised For The
First Time On Appeal.
Never at trial did Respondent ever
suggest to the trial court that it believed

that the Employment Contract did not con-

stitute an ERISA severance plan because it

lacked an ongoing administrative scheme.

11
The only issue raised by Respondent at
trial as to whether the Employment Contract
was an ERISA severance plan was whether a
Single employee could constitute a class of
beneficiaries under ERISA. That was the
only issue it briefed to the trial court.
That was the only issue it argued to the
trial court. That was the only issue
Petitioner addressed in response. That was
the only issue the Court was called upon to
rule on by Respondent. That is the only
issue that was ruled upon by the trial
court. That issue was decided in Peti-
tioner’s favor. It was only during its
appeal that Respondent raised the "ongoing
administrative scheme" issue.
b. The Issue Argued In The Appellate
Court By Respondent That The
Contract Did Not Involve’. An
"Ongoing Administrative Scheme"
Was Not Raised Sufficiently For
The Trial Court To Rule On It.

The Rule in the Ninth Circuit is that

the appellate court will hear an argument

12
raised for the first time on appeal only if
the argument was raised sufficiently for

the trial court to rule on it. Whittaker

Corp. v. Execvair Corp., 953 F.2d 510 (9th

Cir. 1992); In Re E.R. Fegert, Inc., 88/7

y.24 955, 957 (Sth Cir. 1989). If this
rule were applied here the Ninth Circuit
never would have reached the dispositive
issue because it is without question that
it was not raised in the trial court.

The Ninth Circuit either ignored its
Own standard of appellate procedure or
believed that when Respondent raised the
generic issue that the contract did not
constitute an ERISA plan for one specific
reason the trial court was put on notice
that it had to rule whether the contract
was such a plan in the face of any objec-
tion Respondent could have but did not
raise. This interpretation of its standard

does violence to the standard itself,

establishes unworkable precedent and has

a3
deprived Petitioner of fundamental fairness
in these proceedings.

In its Opinion the Ninth Circuit over-
stated Respondent’s argument at trial. It
Stated that at trial Respondent "focused"
on whether a one-person contract could be
an ERISA plan. In fact, that was its only
argument at trial. CR 29, CR 23. That is
why that was the only issue addressed by
the District Court in its Findings Of Fact
And Conclusions Of Law. The District Court
held that Petitioner’s claim for severance
pay under the Employment Contract was
Subject to ERISA, because a Single employee
could constitute a beneficiary class. See
30a to 33a.

The rule that an issue will not be
heard for the first time on appeal unless
it was raised Sufficiently for the trial
court to rule on it is a sound rule. Its
purpose is to allow the trial court to

consider and reconsider its rulings and

14

correct its errors. Morrow v. Greyhound

Lines, Inc., 541 F.2d 713 (8th Cir. 1976).

Trial courts are deprived of that oppor-
tunity if a party fails to raise an issue
Or call upon the court to rule on it.

A generic statement that, for example,
a contract does not constitute an ERISA
plan for one reason does not put before the
court any unstated reasons that would be
so. Therefore, it should be be expected
that a court would only rule on reasons
articulated to support a general proposi-
tion. Indeed, courts cannot be made to
assume the burden of researching and ruling
upon legal points not raised or briefed by
the parties. The particular point raised
by a party, and its submissions to the

court on that issue, should circumscribe

the trial court’s obligation.

23
Be A Litigant Is Deprived Justice If The
Appellate Court Allows An Issue To Be
Raised For The First Time On Appeal.
In this case Petitioner briefed and
responded to every argument’ raised by
Respondent at trial, only to find that an

issue not raised a trial and a case not

cited by Respondent at trial, Fort Halifax

Packing Co. v. Coyne, is the cause for

reversal on appeal.

A party should at trial be called upon
to meet only those objections that are
raised by its opponent. That is the recog-
nized standard. Yet the decision of the
Ninth Circuit destabilizes the order that
Standard creates. It creates uncertainty
in the course of trial practice. It sug-
gests that a party must anticipate and try
issues not raised. This works against the
Principle of economy in litigation. It
encourages litigation of collateral and
unnecessary issues. It works to prolifer-

ate the issues to be tried in a particular

16
case. It encourages appellate litigation
because a party would not feel constrained
by the trial record as being a complete
account of the issues in controversy.

In this case Petitioner was denied
justice because the Ninth Circuit failed to
abide by its own precedent that it will not
hear an issue for the first time on appeal
unless the argument was raised sufficiently
for the trial court to rule upon it. See

State of Cal., Dept. of Health Services v.

U.S. DHHS, 853 F.2d 634, 638 (9th Cir.

1988) (a Court of Appeals must ordinarily
follow previous decisions of the court,
absent subsequent change in_ substantive

law); see also Singleton v. Wulff, 428 U.S.

121, 96 S.Ct. 2868, 2877, 49 L.Ed.2d 826
(1976) (explaining the purpose of _ the
general rule against considering an issue
not passed on below is the essential need

to ensure the opportunity to offer evidence

relevant to the issues and in order that

17
litigants not be surprised on appeal by
decision of issues upon which there had
been no opportunity to introduce evidence
below). Instead, the trial court’s deci-
Sion was reversed for reasons it was never
called upon to address. In the absence of
plain misjustice it was error to consider
the issue of sufficient administrative
scheme for the proper resolution of the

issue is not beyond doubt. Singleton,

Supra, 96 S.Ct. at 2877.

t Fe The Contract Provisions In Question
Were Part Of The Inducement To Peti-
tioner To Become And Remain President,
And They Contained Sufficient Adminis-
tration To Constitute An ERISA Plan.

a. Fort Halifax Is Not Controlling
For This Did Not Involve The
Mere Creation Of A Benefit.

In Fort Halifax Packing Co. v. Coyne,

482 U.S. 1 (1987), this Court held that
plant closure legislation which merely

required that severance benefits be ex-

tended and_ thereby merely created an

18

obligation to make a one-time payment of
benefits was not an ERISA severance plan.

This case did not involve the legis-
lative enactment of provisions which merely
created a benefit. In this case Respondent
was to:

(1) interpret facts and determine
whether Petitioner was entitled to a bene-
fit;

(2) interpret the language of the
contract and determine what salary and
bonus figures to apply (for bonus calcula-
tion purposes did "last two full contract
years" mean the years the bonuses were
paid, or the years for which the bonuses
were earned?) ;

(3) disburse funds to Petitioner and,
with respect ‘to insurance carriers, to
those providers; and

(4) administer the provisions calling
for a termination of certain benefits upon

reemployment.

a

19

Thus, in addition to the creation of
the possibility of a severance benefit,
here the employer was required to make an
initial eligibility decision, interpret the
benefit plan’s provisions, distribute funds
according to a formula and further adminis-—
ter the plan by monitoring the employee’s
work status.

»D. Cases Stemming From Fort Halifax

Are Distinguishable For This Plan
Was Not A "Buyout Plan."

The benefit Petitioner bargained for
was intended to be part of his overall
economic security. It was a plan which,
when it was established, was in contempla-

tion of his continued employment. See e.g.

Whittemore Vv. Schlumberger Technology
Corp., 976 F.2d 922 (Sth Cir. 1992). zt

was not a "buy-out" plan, or one which was
offered to facilitate his removal or ter-
mination of employment. This distinguishes

authority stemming from Fort Halifax,

20

Supra, on this issue. E.g. Angst v. Mack

Trucks, Ene.» 969 F.2d 1530 (3rd Cir.

1992); Fontenot v. NL Industries, Inc., 953

F.2d 960 (5th Cir. 1992); and Wells v.

General Motors Corp., 881 F.2d 166 (5th

Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 495 U.S. 923
(1990). Therefore, the Ninth Circuit erred

by relying on Fort Halifax, supra, and its

progeny.
cS. To The Extent An "Ongoing Admin-
istrative Scheme" Is Required To
Constitute An ERISA Plan, The
Required Showing Should Be Min-

imal.
To the extent an "ongoing adminis-

trative scheme" is required, that scheme

should be minimal. See Moeller Vv.

Bertrang, 801 F.Supp. 291, 294 (D.S.D.

(1992) (the simplicity of the scheme does
not defeat the existence of a plan); see

also Williams v. Wright, 927 F.2d 1540,

1544-45 (llth Cir. 1991) (letter to one

employee created plan subject to ERISA

protection). After all, the subject is

21

severance benefits. When Congress stated
it wanted to regulate severance benefits it
did not distinguish between complex benefit
plans and simple benefit plans, it Simply
included all plans included as part of an
employment agreement. Plans offering
severance benefits are typically formula
driven yet simple to compute. Indeed, the
provisions here are more complex than what
one ordinarily would expect to encounter.

If the Ninth Circuit’s Opinion is al-
lowed to stand entire classes of employees
who negotiate individual severance plans
will be excluded from ERISA protection
merely because their individual plan was
not complex enough to require more than the
following aspects of ongoing administration
which are present as part of the severance
package in question: an initial deter-
mination of eligibility; followed by an
initial interpretation of the provision’s

language; followed by a formula driven set

22
of monthly payments, which continue for a
period of time determined by a different
formula; and which requires ongoing
monitoring of the employee’s work status
because the benefits cease if the employee
is reemployed during the benefit period.
If such a severance plan does not require
sufficient ongoing administration an entire
class of plans has been wrongfully excluded
from ERISA coverage.
CONCLUSION

Respondent should not be allowed to
raise a different theory of a defense for
the first time on appeal where it was not
raised sufficiently for the trial court to
rule on it.

Alternatively, if the issue of ongoing

administration was properly addressec the

23
Ninth Circuit erred in ruling that this
severance plan for an individual was not
Subject to ERISA protection.
Respectfully submitted,

Richard C. Busse
Scott N. Hunt
LAW OFFICES OF

RICHARD C. BUSSE
921 American Bank Building
621 SW Morrison Street
Portland, Oregon 97205
(503) 248-0504

"BEST AVAILABLE COPY ©

ia

TABLE OF CONTENTS - APPENDIX

Opinion of the United States Court
of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit
filed November 3, 1994

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of
Law in the United States District
Court for the District of Oregon
dated February 8, 1993

Order of the United States Court
of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit
filed December 28, 1994

Page

la

19a

54a

la

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Dennis Delaye, Individually
& on behalf of the Agripac,
Inc./Dennis Delaye
"Employment Contract",
Plaintiff-Appellee,

V.

Agripac, Inc., an Oregon
corporation,

Defendant-Appellant.

Dennis Delaye, Individually
& on behalf of the Agripac,
Inc./Dennis Delaye
"Employment Contract",
Plaintiff-Appellee,

Ve.

Agripac, Inc., an Oregon
corporation,

Defendant-Appellant.

Dennis Delaye, Individually
& on behalf of the Agripac,
Inc./Dennis Delaye
"Employment Contract",
Plaintiff-Appellee,

Ve

Agripac, Inc., an Oregon
corporation,

Defendant-Appellant.

ee eee ee ee See eee eee eee ee ee ee

— ee eee ee eee ee ee ee ee eee ee

No. 93-35257

D.C. No. CV-
92-00141-OMP

No. 93-35398

D.C. No. CV-
92-00141-OMP

No. 93-35578

D.C. No. CV-
92-00141-OMP

OPINION

2a
Appeals from the United States District
Court for the District Of Oregon
Owen M. Panner, District Judge, Presiding

Argued and Submitted
September 13, 1994--Portland, Oregon

Filed November 3, 1994
Before: Ruggero J. Aldisert,*
William A. Norris and David R. Thompson,

Circuit Judges.

Opinion by Judge Thompson

SUMMARY

Labor and Employment/ERISA/
Termination and Suspension

The court of appeals dismissed an
appeal and remanded a case. The court held
than an employment contract providing that
an employee would receive payments’ upon
termination did not constitute a "plan"

within the meaning of the Employment Re-

tirement and Income Security Act (ERISA).

*Hon. Ruggero J. Aldisert, Senior United
States Circuit Judge for the Third Circuit,
Sitting by designation.

3a

Appellee Dennis Delaye was appellant

Agripac, Inc.’s president and chief ex-
ecutive officer. He and Agripac entered
into a written "Employment Contract," which

provided that if Agripac terminated Delaye
for cause, he would receive only his base
yearly compensation, prorated to the date
of termination. The contract further pro-
vided that if Agripac terminated Delaye
without cause, Agripac would pay him a
fixed amount for 12 to 24 months according
to a set formula. Additionally, if ter-
mination was without cause, Agripac would
pay Delay accrued vacation benefits and
provide him with certain insurance until he
found other employment or Agripac ceased
monthly payments to him according to the
terms of the contract.

Agripac fired Delaye and treated his
termination as a termination for cause.

Agripac tendered Delaye nothing more than

his yearly compensation prorated to the

4a
date of termination. Delaye contended his
termination was without cause, and sued
Agripac in the district court, alleging a
violation of the ERISA.

The district court found Delaye’s
termination was without cause. The court
also found his employment contract was an
ERISA plan, even though the contract ap-
plied only to Delaye and did not cover any
other Agripac employee or class of em-
ployees. The court awarded Delaye sever-
ance benefits, but denied his request for
attorney’s fees. Agripac appealed, con-
tending that Delaye’s contract did not
involve an ongoing administrative scheme,
and therefore was not a "plan" under ERISA.
Delaye cross-appealed from the denial of
his request for attorney’s fees.

[1] Agripac raised the issue whether
Delaye’s employment contract was an ERISA
plan. Although the argument in the dis-

trict court focused on whether a one-person

5a

contract could be a "plan" under ERISA,
this focus did not waive the issue Agripac
raised.

[2] Provisions for severance pay may
constitute an employee welfare benefit plan
within the meaning of the ERISA. {3] How-
ever, Delaye’s contract did not implicate
an ongoing administrative scheme. While
payment could continue for as along as two
years under the contract, there was nothing
discretionary about the timing, amount or
form of the payment. Sending Delaye a
check every month plus continuing to pay
his insurance premiums for the time speci-
fied in the employment contract did not
rise to the level of an ongoing adminis-

trative scheme.

[4] Because Delaye’s employment con-
tract was not a "plan" governed by the

ERISA, his claim that his contract was

6a
breached did not present a federal ques-
tion. The district court lacked jurisdic-
tion to resolve this dispute. Accordingly,
the appeal and cross-appeal were dismissed,
and the case was remanded to the district
court with instructions to vacate the
judgment and dismiss the action, without
prejudice to Delaye bringing suit in state

COuUrtE.

COUNSEL

Charles F. Adams and Jill D. Bowman, Stoel
Rives, Boley, Jones & Grey, Portland,
Oregon, for the defendant-appellant-cross-

appellee.

Richard C. Busse and Scott N. Hunt, Law
Offices of Richard C. Busse, Portland,
Oregon, for the plaintiff-appellee-cross-

appellant.

7a

OPINION
THOMPSON, Circuit Judge:

Agripac, Inc. appeals the district
court’s judgment in favor of Dennis Delaye
in his action brought under the Employee
Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA), 29
U.S.C. §§ 1001-1461 (1985 & Supp. 1993).
Delaye alleges Agripac violated ERISA by
denying him severance benefits when he was
fired. Delaye cross-appeals from the
district court’s denial of his request for
attorney fees.

Delaye predicates federal court juris-
diction on his contention that the ERISA
claim presents a federal question. 28
U.S.C § 1331; 29 U.S.C § 1332(e)(1).
Because we conclude no ERISA plan existed,
the district court lacked subject matter
jurisdiction. Accordingly, we dismiss the
appeal and cross-appeal, and remand to the

district with instructions to vacate its

judgment and dismiss the action.

8a
FACTS

Delaye was Agripac’s president’ and
chief executive officer. In 1990, he and
Agripac entered into a written "Employment
Contract." Section 6 of the contract gov-
erns termination of employment. Paragraph
6.2.1 provides that if Agripac terminates
Delaye for cause, he will receive only his
base yearly compensation ($160,000), pro-
rated to the date of termination. Para-
an 6.2.2 provides that if Agripac
terminates Delaye without cause, Agripac
will pay him a fixed monthly amount for
twelve to twenty-four months according to a
set formula. Additionally, if termination
is without cause, Agripac will pay Delaye
accrued vacation benefits and provide him
with the same accident, health, life and
disability insurance he had during the term
of employment, until he finds other employ-

ment or Agripac ceased monthly payments to

him according to the terms of the contract.

9a

About a year after the contract was
Signed, Agripac fired Delaye. It treated
his termination as a termination for cause
and tendered him nothing more than his
yearly compensation prorated to the date of
termination. Delaye contended his termi-
nation was without cause, and sued Agripac
in the district court, alleging a violation
of ERISA and various pendent state law
Claims.

At trial, Delaye dismissed all of his
claims except his claim under ERISA. The
district court found Delaye’s termination
was without cause. It also found his
employment contract was an ERISA plan, even
though the contract applied only to Delaye
and did not cover any other Agripac em-
ployee or class of employees. The court
awarded Delaye severance benefits, but

denied his request for attorney fees. This

10a
appeal, and Delaye’s cross-appeal, fol-
lowed.’

Although Agripac contended in the
district court that the employment contract
was not an ERISA plan, its argument focused
on whether an employment contract could be
an ERISA plan when it covered only one
person. The district court concluded that
a one-person employment contract could
constitute an ERISA plan. On that basis,
it found the contract was an ERISA plan,
without making findings, as to whether the
contract otherwise qualified as an ERISA
plan--that is, whether it involved an
Ongoing administrative scheme.

{1} In this appeal, Agripac argues

Delaye’s contract does not involve an

1 ‘
Because we conclude Delaye’s claim

is not governed by ERISA, we do not reach
his contention that the district court,
having granted him judgment under ERISA,
erred in denying his request for attorney
fees.

lla
ongoing administrative scheme, and there-
fore is not a "plan" under ERISA.’ Delaye
contends Agripac waived this argument be-
cause it did not present it to the district
court. We disagree. Agripac raised the
issue whether Delaye’s employment contract
was an ERISA plan. The argument in the
district court focused on whether a one-
person contract could be a "plan" under
ERISA, but this focus did not waive the
issue Agripac raised. Moreover, the facts
necessary to resolve the issue are not in
dispute. The record is sufficiently de-
veloped and the question may be decided as
a matter of law. Therefore, we consider

the issue. See Lawyers Title Ins. v.

Honolulu Federal S&L, 900 F.2d 159, 164

(9th Cir. 1990).

Agripac also contends that a one-
person employment contract cannot be an
ERISA plan. We do not decide this ques-
tion.

l2a
{2] ERISA, enacted by Congress in
1974, is designed to protect employees from
losing their pensions and benefits due to

employer mismanagement. Massachusetts v.

Morash, 490 U.S. 107, 112 (1989). Provi- |
sions for severance pay may constitute an

employee welfare benefit plan within the

meaning of ERISA. See Scott v. Gulf Oil
Corp., 754 F.2d 1499, 1503 (9th Cir. 1985).

The question before us is whether the
severance provisions that were part of
Delaye’s employment contract are an employ-
ment benefit plan under ERISA.

We are guided by the Supreme Court in

Fort Halifax Packing Co. V. Coyne, 482 U.S.

1 (1987), which held that the severance
package in that case was not an employee
benefit plan within the meaning of ERISA
and thus state law was not preempted. In
stressing the difference between employee
benefits and employee benefit plans, the

Court recognized that the purpose of ERISA

| -—_ : 4

13a
preemption of state law is to create a
Single set of regulations to govern benefit
plans’ complex and ongoing administrative
activities. Id. at 8-15.

From the fountain of Fort Halifax, and

the stream of circuit court cases that have
flowed from it, a relatively simple test
has emerged to determine whether a plan is
covered by ERISA: does the benefit package
implicate an ongoing administrative scheme?

See Fort Halifax, 482 U.S. at 12 ("The

theoretical possibility of a one-time obli-
gation in the future simply creates no need
for an ongoing administrative program for
processing claims and paying benefits.");

Kulinski v. Medtronic Bio-Medicus, Inc., 21

F.3d 254, 257 (8th Cir. 1994) (holding the
touchstone of determining existence of
ERISA plan is "whether an administrative

scheme is required"); James v. Fleet/

Norstar Fin. Group, Inc., 992 F.2d 463, 466

(2G. ic. 1993) (same); Fontenot v. NL

14a

Industries, Inc., 953 F.2d 960, 962 (5th

Cir. 1992) (same); Angst v. Mack Trucks,

Inc., 969 F.2@ i323@, i382 (34 Cat. 2992)

(same). Our own circuit has employed this

test. Bogue v. Ampex Corp., 976 F.2d 1319,

1323 (9th Cir. 1992) cert. denied, 113

$.Ct. 1847 (i993);

[3] Delaye’s contract does not im-
plicate an ongoing administrative scheme.
Once Agripac decided to terminate Delaye,
the severance calculation became one akin

to that in Fort Halifax--a straightforward

computation of a one-time obligation. The
obligation was either to pay Delaye his
regular salary prorated to the date of his
termination, if he was terminated for

Cause; or pay him a fixed monthly amount

for twelve to twenty-four months according
to a set formula, plus accrued vacation pay
and insurance benefits, if he was termi-
nated without cause. While payment could

continue for as long as two years, there is

15a

nothing discretionary about the timing,
amount or form of the payment. Sending
Delaye, a single employee, a check every
month plus continuing to pay his insurance
premiums for the time specified in the
employment contract does not rise to the
level of an ongoing administrative scheme.

Relying on Bogue, Delaye argues the
severance benefits provided in his contract
meet the ongoing administrative scheme
test. It is true that the severance pack-
age in Bogue is somewhat similar to the

package in this case. See Bogue, 976 F.2d

at i323. Bogue is distinguishable, how-
ever, in two ways. First, the Bogue

severance plan was triggered if the covered
employee was not offered "substantially
Similar" employment. The Bogue court de-
Scribed this condition as requiring de-
cision-making obligating the administrator

to engage in "ongoing, particularized,

administrative, discretionary analysis."

l6a
Id. Here, Delaye’s rights to severance

benefits are set by criteria in his con-

tract. See James, 992 F.2d at 468 (simple

arithmetical calculations and clerical
determination do not require Ongoing,
particularized, administrative, discre-

tionary analysis).

Second, Bogue’s severance package
covered ten top executives. Bogue, 976

P.46 at 1321. Crucial to the analysis in
Bogue was the fact that the employer would
need to make its discretionary determina-
tions ten times, as it considered the
severance benefits in each of the ten top
executives’ contracts. No such ongoing
discretionary analysis is required in the
present case.

Delaye urges us to view Bogue in light

of the holding in Williams v. Wright, 927

F.2d 1540 (9th Cir. 1991). In Williams,

the Eleventh Circuit held "that a plan

covering a single employee, where all other

17a
requirements are met, is covered by ERISA."
Id. at 1545.

Williams is unhelpful to Delaye.

Under Williams, a plan covering a single

employee may be an ERISA plan "where all
other requirements are met." Id. Here,
even if an employment contract covering a
Single employee can be an ERISA plan, a
question we do not decide, all other re-
quirements are not met; the alleged "plan"
does not implicate an ongoing administra-
tive scheme.

[4] Because Delaye’s employment
contract is not a "plan" governed by ERISA,
his claim that his contract was breached
does not present a federal question. The
district court lacked jurisdiction to
resolve this dispute. Accordingly, we
dismiss the appeal and cross-appeal, and

remand to the district court with instruc-

tions to vacate the judgment and dismiss

the action, without prejudice to Delaye

18a
bringing suit in Oregon state court where a
well-developed body of contract law, al-
though perhaps not the ability to recover

attorney fees, awaits him.

Appeal DISMISSED; cause REMANDED.

19a
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF OREGON
DENNIS DELAYE,
Plaintiff, CV No. 92-141-PA

FINDINGS OF FACT

)
)
)
)
vs )
) AND CONCLUSIONS
)
)
)
)

AGRIPAC, INC., an OF LAW

Oregon corporation,
Defendant.
RICHARD C. BUSSE
521 American Bank Building
621 SW Morrison Street
Portland, OR 97205
Attorney for Plaintiff
MARK H. WAGNER
Hoffman, Hart & Wagner
KOIN Center, Suite 1200
222 SW Columbia
Portland, OR 97201
Attorneys for Defendant
PANNER, J.
Plaintiff Dennis Delaye brings
this action against Agripac, Inc., his
former employer, alleging that defendant

violated the Employee Retirement Income

Security Act (ERISA), 29 U.S.C. § 1132, SY

failing to pay him $358,488.00 in severance

20a
in accordance with a written employment
contract.

These are my Findings of Fact and
Conclusions of Law following the court
trial. Peg. BR. Civs BP. Bete). I conclude
that defendant has violated the provisions
of ERISA by failing to pay plaintiff
severance as required by the contract.

FINDINGS OF FACT

Defendant iS a grower-owned agricul-
tural cooperative with headquarters in
Salem, Oregon. Plaintiff began working for
defendant in 1983 as a vice president in
the area of marketing and sales. He was
promoted to senior vice president in 1987
and was further promoted to the position of
chief operating officer in 1988. On July
1, 1989, defendant’s Board of Directors

(the Board) appointed plaintiff to replace

Paul Solari as defendant’s president and

_ ee ee

2la
chief executive officer. Plaintiff re-
mained in that position until his discharge
on November 6, 1991.

Plaintiff and defendant were parties
to a written employment contract. Para-
graph 6.1.7 of the contract gave defendant
authority to terminate plaintiff’s employ-
ment upon 60 days’ written notice, so long
as it granted plaintiff severance in ac-
cordance with a formula set forth at para-
graph 6.2.2(a). Under paragraph 6.1.4,
however, defendant had authority to dis-
charge plaintiff without severance in the
event of plaintiff’s “willful and continual
failure and refusal to comply with the
policies, standards, and regulations of
Employer from time to time established by
the terms of this Agreement."

Plaintiff received satisfactory per-
formance reviews from the Board during his
first two years as defendant’s president.

He received a "generally competent" rating

22a
on his August 29, 1990, performance eval-
uation, along with favorable recognition of
his management skills and business’ judg-
ment. Plaintiff fared even better on his
August 23, 1991, performance evaluation.
Although his overall rating remained "gen-
erally competent," the evaluation stated
that "Dennis’ overall performance has im-
proved over the past year." Plaintiff also
earned praise for his industry knowledge
and business acumen. The evaluation noted
areas of weakness, such as Board relations,
grower communications, cost reductions, and

Operations, but nevertheless concluded:

. "Generally competent" is defined as

follows: "Employee performs most of the
position objectives and requirements, but
requires more than normal amount of direc-
tion and review of results. Employee may
be new to a position, in a training assign-
ment, or fall short of meeting some key
objectives. Employee usually completes
work within projected time or with reason-
able efficiency, but use of time, methods,
resources and/or level of proficiency
require improvement."

23a
"Dennis is a conscientious and dedicated
employee striving to do his’ best for
Agripac.”

Notwithstanding the generally positive
tone of plaintiff’s August 1991 evaluation,
the relationship between plaintiff and the
board began to sour sometime before the
summer of 1991. Most of the Board’s criti-
cism concerned plaintiff’s performance in
the following key areas: (1) plaintiff’s
alleged failure to prepare for important
contract negotiations with the Birds Eye
Company; (2) plaintiff's alleged failure to
prepare a contingency plan, strategic plan
and plant optimization study; (3) plain-
tiff’s alleged failure to implement cost
reduction measures; and (4) plaintiff’s

alleged failure to communicate effectively

with the Board.

24a
On August 6, 1991, Board Chairman Mike
Calef sent a letter to plaintiff criti-
cizing his relations with the Board and his
management style. The letter stated:

Everyone agrees that you are
doing an excellent job in the
marketing/sales and business
portions of your responsibil-
ities, but there is a_ serious
concern in other areas, such as:
board relations, communications
and certain aspects of your
management methods and “styles.
These issues have been building
for some time and have caused a
deterioration in the Boards’
[sic] confidence .... The Board
expects improvement, will work
with you to achieve it, and will
review progress with you after
three months.

The letter also noted: "A serious concern
was expressed regarding delays in carrying
out Board objectives which you may not have
agreed with “

On August 9, 1991, in response to the
Board’s Criticisms, plaintiff sent the

Board a "“weekly update" of his business

activities. The update focused on opera-

tions, sales/marketing, and other aspects

25a

of defendant’s business. Plaintiff pre-
pared additional updates on August 16,
August 23, September 4, and September 13.
Plaintiff also met or held telephone con-
ferences with tthe Board on August 30,
September 6, and September 20 to discuss
his strategies for the upcoming contract
negotiations with Birds Eye.

Plaintiff’s efforts to communicate
with the Board and prepare for the Birds
Eye talks were not sufficient to restore
confidence in his leadership. At a closed
meeting of the Board held on September 11,
1991, Board member Roger Hildebrandt urged
that Paul Solari, plaintiff’s predecessor,
be appointed a co-leader in the Birds Eye
negotiations. Hildebrandt also proposed
that plaintiff be given until December l,
1991, to improve his performance or face
termination. Both motions were passed

unanimously. The Board minutes state:

Dennis’ handling of the B.E.
negotiations was unsatisfactory,

26a

and was a continuance of a pat-
tern of not following Board
requests in a timely fashion or
delaying action until the last
minute. The importance of the
B.E. negotiations underscored the
unacceptability of Dennis’ method
of operation and constituted, in

the Board’s' view, neglect to
follow the Board’s directives and
requests.

k*k*

The unanimous view of the Board
was that Dennis should be ter-
minated with a majority feeling
that a termination date should be
set by the Board. Only if a
major improvement occurred in the
performance of his duties would a
continuance of employment be
considered.
Chairman Calef advised plaintiff of the
Board’s decisions in letters dated
September 16, 1991, and September 23, 1991.
Following the September 11, 1991,
meeting, the Board took additional steps in
preparation for plaintiff’s termination.

Paul Solari asked defendant’s legal counsel

to draft a proposed motion for the Board

discharging plaintiff based on his "willful

Reaches

27a

and continual failure and refusal to com-
ply" with defendant’s policies. At a
closed meeting on October 16, 1991, the
Board discussed plaintiff's performance
following Chairman Calef’s letter of
September 23. Calef stated that plaintiff
had not responded to the Board’s concerns
and cited, as a primary example, plain-
tiff’s failure to prepare a strategic plan
for presentation at defendant’s November
1991 planning conference. The Board voted
unanimously to terminate plaintiff, but
chose to delay the effective date until the
end of October 1991.

On October 31, 1991, the Board held a
closed meeting and agreed to give plaintiff
the opportunity to resign with a severance
package rather than face termination. The
following day, Chairman Calef and Board

members Solari and Hildebrandt met with

plaintiff and advised him of the Board’s

28a
decision. The notes of that meeting con-
tain a succinct explanation of the Board’s
action:
lack of detailed preparation

on the Birds Eye negotiations,

delay on planning and imple-

menting a cost reduction program,

delay in submitting a contingency

plan and plant consolidation

plan, failure to prepare the new

Strategic plan, no agenda yet

prepared for the November

Planning Conference were all a

part of a continuing and unac-

ceptable pattern.
The Board members informed plaintiff that
they would need a decision on his resig-
nation no later than November 3, 1991.
Plaintiff refused to resign and was ter-
minated from his position effective
November 6, 1991.

LEGAL ISSUES

Plaintiff brings this action under §

502(a)(1)(B) of ERISA, 29 U.S.C. § 1132(a)

(1)(B), to recover severance pay under the

employment contract. Plaintiff also seeks

an award of attorney fees under § 502(g)(1)

29a

of ERISA, 29 U.S.C. § 1132(g)(1). Defen-
dant contends that the employment contract
is not subject to ERISA. In the alter-
native, it maintains that plaintiff was
discharged for his willful and continual
refusal to comply with its directives and,
therefore, no severance is owing.

This action presents four main issues:

(1) Does the severance provision
of the written employment con-
tract between the parties consti-
tute an employee benefit "plan,
fund Or program" under the
coverage provisions of ERISA?

© 9 Mee ¢ ERISA applies, which
party bears the burden of proof
concerning plaintiff’s entitle-
ment to severance benefits?

(3) Did defendant breach’ the
employment contract when it
discharged plaintiff without
paying severance?

(4) If defendant breached the
employment contract, thereby
violating ERISA, is plaintiff
entitled to an award of attorney
fees under ERISA?

My conclusions are set forth below.

30a

I. ERISA coverage.

The ERISA statute contains detailed
provisions regulating "employee welfare
benefit plans” and "employee pension bene-
fit plans." 29 U.S.C. § 1002(3). Employee
welfare benefit plans under ERISA include

plans established for the purpose of pro-

viding participants with "severance or
Similar benefits." 29 U.S.C. § 1002(1)(B);
29 U.S.C. § 186(c)(6). The coverage pro-

visions of ERISA are set forth at 29 U.S.C.
§ 1003.

Defendant, although conceding that an
employer’s promise to pay severance is
subject to ERISA, argues that a severance
provision in an employment contract between
an employer and a single employee is not
covered by ERISA. In defendant’s view, the
provisions of ERISA extend only to benefit
plans that cover a "class" of employees.

Defendant relies on O’Hollaren v. Marine

Cooks and Stewards Union, 83 Or. App. 133,

ies

Sete 2

31a

136-37 (1986), in which the Oregon Court of
Appeals held that "[{i]ndividual employment
contracts are not ‘plans’ within’ the
meaning or purpose of ERISA ...." Defen-
dant also relies on U.S. Department of
Labor opinion letters issued in 1976, a
1982 decision of the Eleventh Circuit, and
federal cases from other jurisdictions.

Plaintiff maintains that a "class" for
purposes of ERISA may be comprised of a
single employee and, therefore, the employ-
ment contract in this case falls under

ERISA. Plaintiff relies on Williams v.

Wright, 927 F.2d 1540, 1545 (11th Cir.

1991), in which the Eleventh Circuit ob-
served that "nothing in the ERISA legisla-
tion point[s] to the exclusion of plans
covering only a_ single employee." The

Williams court was also favorably impressed

by a Department of Labor opinion letter
dated October 22, 1989, which states that

ERISA coverage is "not affected by the fact

32a
that the arrangement is limited to covering
a Single employee, [or] is negotiated

between the employer and the employee

Id. Notably, the Williams court expressly

disagreed with the Oregon Court of Ap-

peals’s holding in O’Hollaren. Id. at

1546.

The parties have not cited, nor have I
found, a Ninth Circuit case which defines
the number of persons necessary to comprise
a class under -ERISA. Nevertheless, I am
persuaded by plaintiff’s interpretation of
the statute. Plaintiff’s position that a
"Class of one" is cognizable under ERISA is
entirely consistent with the text of the
applicable ERISA provisions and, in addi-
tion, appears to accord with the most
recent opinion issued by the Department of
Labor. Under the circumstances, I agree
with the Eleventh Circuit’s well-reasoned

holding in Williams that, for purposes of

ERISA, an employee benefit plan can _ be

33a
negotiated between an employer and a lone
employee. Plaintiff’s claim for severance
pay is therefore subject to ERISA.

II. Burden of proof.

Defendant maintains that this is a
Simple benefits case under 29 U.S.C. § 1132
(a)(1)(B) and, therefore, in accordance
with the accepted practice in such cases,
the burden of proof must remain with plain-

tiff at all times. See, e.g., Bueneman v.

Central States, 432 F.Supp. 697 (E.D. Mo.

i977), ae€f'd, S72 F.28 1208 (8th cir.
1978). Plaintiff contends that this is not
a usual case because defendant acted in the
double capacity of employer and plan admin-
istrator. He argues that defendant should
bear the burden of proving that the ter-
mination properly falls under Paragraph
6.1.4 of the employment contract.

In support of the proposed burden-

shifting approach, plaintiff contends that

paragraph 6.1.4 constitutes a forfeiture

34a
clause which should be liberally construed

in his favor and against defendant. See,

e.g., Roth Development, Inc. v. A.R. John

General Contractors, Inc., 263 Or. 561, 568

(1972). In the alternative, plaintiff con-
tends that defendant is required to dispel
an inference of inequitable decision-making
arising from its dual role as employer and
administrator of plaintiff’s severance
plan. I accept the second of plaintiff’s
arguments.

Plaintiff’s conclusory assertion that
Paragraph 6.1.4 constitutes a forfeiture
clause rests on the untenable assumption
that he has an absolute right to severance
pay under the employment contract, and that
a termination under paragraph 6.1.4 would
Operate to deprive him of his entitlement.
Plaintiff’s right to severance under the
contract is neither absolute nor inviolate,
but is entirely dependent on the circum-

stances surrounding the termination of his

35a

employment. A discharge under Paragraph
6.1.4 of the contract carries with it no
right to severance benefits. Paragraph
6.1.4 cannot be transformed into a for-
feiture clause merely because termination
under a different contract provision might
have created an obligation to pay sever-
ance.

Plaintiff’s alternative argument is
more compelling. Plaintiff points out that
this case is similar to ERISA cases that
involve a conflict of interest or breach of
fiduciary duty on the part of plan adminis-
trators. He observes that defendant made
both the decision to discharge him and the
decision to deny him severance benefits.
He also notes that, because any severance
owing to him would be paid out of defen-
dant’s coffers, defendant stands to a :eap
of considerable financial benefit from its

decision to withhold severance pay. In

light of defendant’s dual role, plaintiff

eS

36a
concludes, defendant must prove that its
interpretation of the employment contract
was not tainted by self-interest.
Plaintiff’s argument finds some sup-

port in Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v.

Bruch, 489 U.S. 101 (1989), in which the
Supreme Court held that an ERISA claimant’s
challenge to a denial of benefits under 29
U.S.C. § 1132(a)(1)(B) must be reviewed
under a de novo standard, rather than an
abuse of discretion standard, unless the
plan administrator is vested with discre-
tionary authority to interpret the plan.
In its discussion of the appropriate
standard of review, the Court cautioned:
if a benefit plan_ gives
discretion to an administrator or
fiduciary who is operating under
a conflict of interest, that
conflict must be weighed as a
"facto[r] in determining whether
there is an abuse of discretion."
Id. at 115 (quoting Restatement (Second) of
Trusts § 187, Comment d (1959)). Plaintiff

also relies on Brown v. Blue Cross & Blue

37a

Shield of Alabama, 898 F.2d 1556 (11th Cir.

1990), cert. denied, 111 S.ct. 712 (1991),

and other Eleventh Circuit cases which
apply a burden-shifting analysis. In
Brown, the court held that the deferential
standard of review ordinarily applied to
the decisions of plan administrators re-
quires modification where "an insurance
company ... as ERISA fiduciary ... ex-
ercis[es] discretion over a situation for
which it incurs ‘direct, immediate expense
as a result of benefit determinations
favorable to [p]Jlan participants." Id. at

1561 (quoting De Nobel v. Vitro Corp., 885

F.2d 1180, 1191 (4th Cir. 1989)). The
burden of proof in such a case must shift
to the ERISA fiduciary, who must then
demonstrate that the decision denying

benefits was not influenced by impermis-

sible motives. Id. at 1566.

38a

I agree that defendant in this case
filled a double role, acting both as plain-
tiff’s employer and as the administrator of
plaintiff’s ERISA plan. Accordingly, I
decline to accept defendant’s contention
that this case involves a run of the mill
challenge to a denial of benefits. The
Ninth Circuit has recognized "that if the
employer is the [plan] administrator, a

conflict ordinarily exists." Eley v.

Boeing Co., 945 F.2d 2/6, 279 (9th Cit.

1991) (citations omitted). In light of
Eley and the Supreme Court’s dicta in

Firestone, I cannot ignore the potential

risks created when plan fiduciaries have a
financial interest in the benefits deci-
Sions entrusted to them.

In addition, the Ninth Circuit has
applied a burden-shifting approach in cases
involving claims for breach of fiduciary

duty. Tafoya v. Western Conference of

Teamsters, 909 F.2d 344, 348 (9th Cir.

tei ene hi a i

39a
1990) (ERISA claimant bears initial burden
to show that plan eligibility rules are

unreasonable); Music v. Western Con. of

Team. Pen. Trust Fund, 712 F.2d 413, 419

(9th Cir. 1983) (where plaintiff shows that
plan eligibility requirements are unreason-—
able, “burden shifts to the trustees ... to
come forward with evidence establishing

reasonableness ...."). Although allega-
tions of breach of fiduciary duty are not
at issue in this action, it would be unwise
to overlook the possibility that a conflict
of interest impaired defendant’s ability to
administer the severance plan fairly.
Under the circumstances, I conclude that
the burden-shifting analysis proposed by
plaintiff is the better approach. Accor-
dingly, defendant must carry the burden of
proof on the conflict of interest issue.
It must be emphasized, however, that the
ultimate burden of establishing an ERISA

violation remains with the plaintiff.

40a

Having determined the appropriate
allocation of the burden of proof, I find
that defendant has met its burden to show
that its decision to withhold plaintiff’s
severance pay was not motivated by economic
self-interest. I note that plaintiff does
not assert a claim for breach of fiduciary
duty, nor has he presented evidence that
defendant’s potential conflict of interest
tainted its decision-making. Therefore, I
am satisfied that defendant’s decision to
terminate plaintiff under Paragraph 6.1.4
was based on its assessment of plaintiff’s
job performance, rather than a desire for
financial gain.

III. Plaintiff’s termination does not fall

under Paragraph 1.6.4.

Defendant has attempted to character-
ize plaintiff as a maverick executive, bent
on pursuing his own private agenda while

intentionally disregarding the Board’s

wishes. This portrayal of plaintiff cannot

ee ea ee ee ee

4la

be reconciled with the evidence. Although
it is apparent that the Board had ample
cause for dissatisfaction with plaintiff's
performance in certain key areas, there is
no convincing evidence that plaintiff
intentionally disregarded the Board’s
directives or disobeyed its orders. There-
fore, I cannot conclude that plaintiff
demonstrated a "willful and = continual
failure and refusal to comply with the
policies, standards, and regulations"
established by defendant.

To begin with, I cannot credit defen-
dant’s assertion that "virtually from the
beginning of his tenure, plaintiff embarked
on a course of his own ... in frank, direct
deviance from the policies ... of the Board

er (Defendant’s Supplemental Trial
Memorandum, p. 6). Although defendant re-
peatedly makes the general allegation that

plaintiff engaged in a "pattern" of in-

subordinate conduct, there is no specific

42a

evidence that plaintiff willfully disre-
garded the Board’s directives at any time
during his first two years as defendant’s
president. To the contrary, plaintiff
earned a "generally competent” rating in
his annual performance evaluations for both
1990 and 1991. Neither evaluation contains
any mention of insubordinate conduct and,
in the August 23, 1991, appraisal, plain-
tiff was praised as "a conscientious and
dedicated employee striving to do his best
for Agripec seek” Both evaluations were
formulated with the input and approval of
the Board and there is no evidence that
either one omits significant information
nor that defendant handles its annual
review process in a casual manner. Under
the circumstances, it is fair to accept the
evaluations at face value and to. hold
defendant to them.

Accordinaly, in evaluating whether

plaintiff’s discharge falls under paragraph

ee eee ee ee ee ee ee ee ae eee

— sa Se ee,

43a
6.1.4 of the employment contract, I am
chiefly concerned with plaintiff’s perfor-
mance and conduct during the two-month
period between the August 1991 performance
evaluation and October 16, 1991, when the
Board arrived at the termination decision.
I conclude that, while plaintiff did not
perform effectively during that period,
defendant has’ failed to identify any
specific orders or directives that he
intentionally disobeyed.

A. The Birds Eye negotiations.

With respect to the Bird Eye contract,
Board members were justifiably concerned
that plaintiff had not taken the time to
prepare adequate proposals and contingency
plans. The criticism that plaintiff failed
to share with the Board important infor-

mation concerning the negotiations was also

legitimate. Nevertheless, the evidence

44a

does not establish that plaintiff "will-
fully and continually" disregarded Board
directives pertaining to the talks.

According to the case summary prepared
by Paul Solari, regarded by defendant as
the definitive statement of its position in
the case, plaintiff was making progress in
his preparations for the Birds Eye talks,
but lacked a cohesive plan. To remedy this
problem, the Board brought in Solari as
co-leader of the negotiating team. Solari
testified that he and plaintiff made every
effort to get along with each other during
negotiations. The evidence therefore
indicates that, at least to the Birds Eye
contract, plaintiff attempted to cooperate
with the Board and Solari. That conclusion
is further supported by the fact that
plaintiff met with the Board several times
in August and September 1991 to discuss the

Birds Eye contract, yet defendant has

produced no minutes or meeting notes which

45a
mention any failure by plaintiff to comply
with the specific Board directives.

B. The contingency plan, strategic

plan, and plant optimization study.

As part of his responsibilities for
the 1991-1992 fiscal year, plaintiff was
expected to prepare (1) a contingency plan
in the event the Birds Eye contract was not
renewed, (2) a strategic plan to ensure
continued profitability for the company,
and (3) a plant consolidation plan ex-
ploring the possible closure of defendant’s
Plant #2. The plans were scheduled to be
presented to the Board at the planning
conference in late November 1991.

Both parties have presented documents
and testimony in an attempt to establish
the amount of work plaintiff had completed
on the plans at the time of his discharge.
Defendant maintains that plaintiff had not

made any meaningful progress and would not

have been prepared for his presentation at

46a
the planning conference. Plaintiff asserts
that the work was progressing well. Based
on the evidence, it is probable that plain-
tiff could have made a presentation at the
planning conference, but that his~ work
would not have met the Board’s expecta-
tions. Nevertheless, I cannot conclude
that plaintiff willfully disregarded the
Board’s wishes merely because his work was
unsatisfactory or was progressing too slow-
ly. Furthermore, given that the termi-
nation decision was made more than one
month before the plans were scheduled for
presentation, it wale be unfair to regard
plaintiff’s failure to complete the assign-
ment as an act of defiance against the
Board. Plaintiff’s delay in preparing for
the November planning conference arguably
reflects on his level of competency, ex-
perience, and motivation, but it does not
establish a basis for termination under

paragraph 6.1.4 of the employment contract.

47a

Cc. Cost reduction.

Plaintiff was also criticized for his
failure to develop a satisfactory cost
reduction program. Board members testified
that plaintiff repeatedly proposed measures
Gesigned to contain costs, but made no
attempt at cost reduction.

Based on the evidence, it appears that
plaintiff and the Board approached the
matter of cutting costs from different
perspectives. As stated in the Solari case
summary, "(i]t was apparent that [plain-
tiff’s] ‘vision’ was to grow the company
and therefore cost reductions were not
necessary." Notwithstanding this dif-
ference in philosophy, however, Solari
acknowledged that plaintiff had discussed
cost reduction with him after receiving
Mike Calef’s August 6, 1991, warning
letter. Solari also testified that he was

pleased to see that plaintiff was taking

48a

action. In addition, Bob Isaacs, defen-
dant’s vice president in charge of opera-
tions, and George Crispin, vice president
of business development, testified that
they were involved in various cost saving
measures during the time plaintiff was
president.

Under the circumstances, I find that
plaintiff made an effort to achieve cost
reductions, but that he failed to produce
the positive results sought by the Board.
As with the other criticisms directed at
plaintiff, the Board’s concerns about cost
reduction relate to the issue of plain-
tiff’s job performance. There is no evi-
dence that plaintiff was insubordinate.

D. Communications with the Board.

Plaintiff also received considerable
Criticism for his failure to communicate
effectively with the Board. However, as
with the Board’s other concerns, the matter

of "Board relations" relates to plaintiff's

£4 Ll oe

49a

job performance. After Plaintiff received
the August 6, 1991, warning letter, he
provided the Board with several written
updates and participated in meetings and
telephone conferences where the Birds Eye
contract was discussed. I must therefore
concluded that, although plaintiff’s ef-
forts to improve his communication skills
did not receive the Board’s approval, there
is no evidence that he wilfully ignored the
Board’s wishes on the subject.

E. Interpretation of the employment

contract.

In analyzing the evidence, I have
borne in mind defendant’s argument that the
language of paragraph 6.1.4 should be
construed in light of the business rela-
tionship between the parties. The argument
is well taken. The success of the rela-
tionship between a company’s president and
its directors may often depend on compli-

mentary management styles and a common

50a

sense of purpose. Nevertheless, I remind
defendant that, under the employment agree-
ment, plaintiff has a right to severance
pay in the event of a termination not
occasioned by his intentional, persistent
refusal to comply with Board directives.
When defendant contracted with plaintiff,
it knowingly assumed the risk that poor
performance, personality conflicts Or
clashing management styles might require
plaintiff’s termination along with payment
of a severance package. Defendant must
abide by the contract as it stands.

Defendant has not established grounds
for termination under paragraph 6.1.4 of
the employment contract. Plaintiff there-
fore has a right to recover severance
benefits under § 502 of ERISA, 29 U.S.C. §

1132(a)(1)(B).

5la

IV. Plaintiff is not entitled to an award

of attorney fees.

Under 28 U.S.C. § 1132(g9)(1), the
court has discretion to award reasonable
attorney fees to the prevailing party. The
propriety of such an award depends on the
following factors:

(1) The culpability or good faith of

the opposing party;

(2) the ability of the opposing party

to pay the fee award;

(3) the degree of deterrence which
would result from an award of fees;

(4) whether the parties requesting
fees sought to benefit all partici-
pants and beneficiaries of an ERISA
plan or resolve a significant ERISA
legal question;

(5) the relative merits of the par-
ties’ positions.

Dytrt v. Mountain State Tel. and Tel. Co.,

921 F.2d 889 (9th Cir. 1990) (citing

Hummell v. S.E. Rykoff & Co., 634 F.2d 446,

453 (9th Cir. 1980)).

52a

Based on the factors enumerate above,
I find that this is not an appropriate case
for an award of prevailing party attorney
fees. Although factor two arguably cuts in
favor of an award, the remaining factors
cut against it. Defendant’s position in
this case was apparently adopted in good
faith, and its legal arguments were not
without merit. In addition, given the
unique circumstances surrounding plain-
tiff’s discharge, an award of fees would
have no deterrence value. Finally, plain-
tiff’s claim was not intended to benefit a
class of beneficiaries, nor has it ad-
dressed a significant legal question under
ERISA. Accordingly, plaintiff’s fee re-
quest is denied.

CONCLUSION

Defendant has violated the provisions
of ERISA by failing to pay plaintiff
severance as required by the employment

contract. Plaintiff is entitled to an

53a
award of severance. Plaintiff’s request
for attorney fees is denied.

DATED this 8 day of Feb » 2993.

/S/ Owen M. Panner
Owen M. Panner
United States District Judge

54a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Dennis Delaye, Individually
& on behalf of the Agripac,
Inc./Dennis Delaye

"Employment Contract", No. 93-35257
D.C. No. CV-
92-00141-OMP

Plaintiff-Appellee,

Vv.
Agripac, Inc., an Oregon
corporation,

Defendant-—Appellant.

Dennis Delaye, Individually
& on behalf of the Agripac,
Inc./Dennis Delaye

"Employment Contract", No. 93-35398
D.C. No. CV-
92-00141-OMP

Plaintiff-Appellee,

Agripac, Inc., an Oregon
corporation,

Defendant-—Appellant.

Dennis Delaye, Individually
& on behalf of the Agripac,
Inc./Dennis Delaye

"Employment Contract", No. 93-35578
D.C. No. CV-
92-00141-OMP

Plaintiff-Appellee,
v.

Agripac, Inc., an Oregon ORDER

)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
}
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
Vv. )
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
corporation, )
)

)

Defendant-—Appellant.

————————— SS rrrrt—“—C;C~C~CSZ

55a
Before: ALDISERT,* NORRIS and THOMPSON,
Circuit Judges

The panel has voted unanimously to
deny the petition for rehearing. Judge
Thompson has voted to reject the suggestion
for rehearing en banc, and Judges Aldisert
and Norris so recommend.

The full court has been advised of the
suggestion for rehearing en banc and no
judge of the court has requested a vote on
it. Fed. B. Ape. BP. 2319).

The petition for rehearing is denied
and the suggestion for rehearing en banc is

rejected.

* “~ Hon. Ruggero J. Aldisert, Senior
United States Circuit Judge for the Third
Circuit, sitting by designation.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_1250%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
