# Opposition Brief — Salem Blue Collar Workers Ass'n v. City of Salem

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_1032%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1995
- **Citation:** 513 U.S. 1152

## Text

| Can se, Ye
a KILLED

|
a) | gAN 20 1995 {
Damas Of THE MLE |

No. 94-1107

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1994

¢

SALEM BLUE COLLAR WORKERS ASSOCIATION
AND STEPHEN SCULL,

Petitioners,

THE CITY OF SALEM AND MAYOR AND
COMMON COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SALEM, et al.,

Respondents.

+

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court Of Appeals
For The Third Circuit

4

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

+

Davip J. Puma, ESQ.

Counsel of Record

Waters, SHERMAN & Puma, P.A.
107 West Broadway

Salem, New Jersey 08079
(609) 935-2244

Attorneys for Respondents

Me BESTAVAILABLE COPY | Mmeeaae

COUNTER-STATEMENT OF QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the decision of both the District Court and
the Court of Appeals that a municipality enacted, fairly
applied, continuous post-employment municipal resi-
dency requirement, applicable only to direct employees
of the municipality, engaged in providing traditionally
re: ognized local governmental services, does not burden
a i.ght so fundamental to the national union as to involve

a “privilege” or “immunity” protected by Article IV, Sec-
tion II of the United States Constitution, presents an issue
on which this Court should grant a writ of certiorari.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

COUNTER-STATEMENT OF QUESTION PRESEN-
WEE bc00thhisonesevasabecke ketene ete tiowees

pee Be yt ts | PEPE rer ore TT eer err erry
COUNTER-STATEMENT OF THE CASE............

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT - SUMMARY
CF ARORPNUS 43 00-40 cd dngienwedvanssecdserests

I SALEM’S MUNICIPAL RESIDENCY ORDI-
NANCE DOES NOT VIOLATE THE PRIVILEGES
AND IMMUNITIES CLAUSE OF THE UNITED
SEALE CAAUSIEEW EIS ce ccacccnecseeezasnsess

CAPO RRERIES 042s 2c 00 su bcdadusuerreeesiareeeeee

iil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CASES
Abrahams v. Civ. Serv. Comm., 65 N.J. 61, 319 A.
4 ee herr er reer ee 23
Andre v. Village of Maywood, 561 F. 2d 48 (7th
Rea a ies ares Seige Pea ey renee 23
Baldwin v. Montana Fish & Game Comm., 436
U.S. 371, 56 L. Ed. 2d 354, 98 S. Ct. 1852 (1978)
SR OLE OPE ee eee eee eee ee 15, 16, 17
Blake v. McClung, 172 U.S. 239, 43 L. Ed. 432, 19 S.
ee er Tee Teer ree er Teer oe 16
Canadian Northern R. Co. v. Eggen, 252 U. S. 553,
GAL. Ge. 715, 4 S. Ct. 402 (1920)... . 0. eee eee 16
Hicklin v. Orbeck, 437 U. S. 518, 57 L. Ed. 2d 397,
2 ee ee eh, See 16, 23, 2
Kansas City FOP v. Kansas City, 620 F. Supp. 752
I I ao ines desk ew Few SUN Os eee cenes 24
Kennedy v. Newark, 2 N.J. 178, 148 A.2d 473
ES Ee rer ee ee ee eee ee 2
Lines v. City of Topeka, 223 Kan. 772, 577 P. 2d 42
OOP er ee eer ee eee eee eee 23
Lorenz v. Logue, 611 F.2d 421 (2d Cir. 1979) ........ 26

Massachusetts Bd. of Retirement v. Murgia, 427
U.S. 307, 49 L. Ed. 2d 520, 96 S. Ct. 2562 (1976) .... 22

McCarthy v. Philadelphia Civil Service Comm'n,
424 U.S. 645, 47 L. Ed. 2d 366, 96 S. Ct. 1154
eg iiy ch sa ansa bein os 23, 29

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued
Page

Neshaminy Constructors, Inc. v. Krause, 181 N.]J.
Super. 376, 437 A.2d 733 (Ch. Div. 1981), mod-
ified 187 N.J. Super. 174, 453 A.2d 1359 (App.
a rte rere ee eee ae Poe ee ee 23

Paul v. Virginia, 8 Wall. 168, 19 L. Ed. 357 (1869).... 24

Supreme Court of New Hampshire v. Piper, 470
U.S. 274, 84 L. Ed. 2d 205, 105 S. Ct. 1272 (1985) .... 18

Toomer v. Witsell, 334 U. S. 385, 92 L. Ed. 1460, 68
hs as ee RG a bs sins ow wha eae e wou 18, 25

United Building & Construction Trades Council of
Camden and Vicinity v. Mayor and Council of
City of Camden, 465 U.S. 208 (1984).......... passim

White v. Massachusetts Council of Construction
Employers, Inc., 460 U. S. 204, 75 L. Ed. 2d 1,
ee es ee CE hia oka ois ee ees 20, 21

CONSTITUTION

Article IV, Section II, United States Constitution

Tee Peer eT TT TTT eT ee ee eee eee passim
STATUTES AND RULES
EE I oo gk ae Save EAE 9
Pe Se Oe OR icc cneeas Sonceetsiaraeeiaans 5,9
etc) INS 06 5:06 ake kb-06 Ko cuba ve eee eke 10
kk ee Le 2 Serer Srey rr TS Pree ere er ce re 8
RR ME ni dl unease 5
ee re ee ee eer me arth rn 8
kk PPC eee ee ery iy eee a; & ae

:

N.J.S.A.
N.J.S.A.
N.J.S.A.
N.J.S.A.
N.J.S.A.
N.J.S.A.
N.J.S.A.
N.J.S.A.
N.J.S.A.
N.J.S.A.
N.J.S.A.
N.J.A.C.
N.J.A.C.

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES —- Continued

Page
RE i nc vans cneveuenboveenseei akira 3
oy) ae rrr rr rey sere ere 3, 8
ee ree on war ave. 6, 11
Ce: rr ere ante err er. 10
0 reir rewire > 9
MSE 50s 60 N coe de ened eecaneebecnaw eee 8
yo ty) = > at na enna ran p wr nkeremer rrr ye | 8
Pot SS Se 2 nara ar anne Pen as a Sree ge 8
PGT : er er ere errr rs oe 8
SRI nk ose eee 14
eae ee eS Ka cae ph weenecaageee ened tae 9
I I on vies hone ce ceanesvenserosaeeee 3
a Pr ee ree Per ere re rr rr oS 8

No. 94-1107
¢

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1994

e

SALEM BLUE COLLAR WORKERS ASSOCIATION
AND STEPHEN SCULL,

Petitioners,
Vv.

THE CITY OF SALEM AND MAYOR AND
COMMON COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SALEM, et al.,

Respondents.

+

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court Of Appeals
For The Third Circuit

+

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

+

COUNTER-STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Petitioners in this matter are the Salem Blue

Collar Workers Association (the “Union”) which is a
labor organization representing clerical and blue collar
workers employed by the City of Salem, and Stephen
Scull (“Scull”) a member of the Union.

The Respondents are the City of Salem! and the
Mayor and Council Members of its governing body in
their personal capacities.

In 1978 the City of Salem adopted Ordinance 78-3
which requires that all employees “hereinafter to be
employed” are required to be residents of the City (54a -
reference is to Petitioners’ Appendix, page 54). There is
no allegation by Petitioners of any technical impropriety
with respect to the passage of the Ordinance. Further-
more, it is clear that by 1978 it was well settled in New
Jersey that municipalities could adopt residency ordi-
nances pursuant to the police power and that state stat-
utes on the subject and the civil service laws did not
operate to pre-empt the adoption of such ordinances.
Kennedy v. Newark, 2 N.J. 178, 184-189, 148 A.2d 473
(1959).

At the time of the adoption of the Saiem Residency
Ordinance in 1978, most elected and appointed officers of
municipalities in New Jersey were required to be resi-
dents by virtue of N.J.S.A. 40A:9-1, which was enacted by
the New Jersey Legislature in 19712. After the adoption of

1 The City of Salem is a small town located in Salem County
New Jersey which has a population of approximately 6,883. See
1992 Official Directory of Salem County citing the 1990 U. S.
Census.

2 The 1971 statute did not apply to employees, only
“elected and appointed officers”. The statute also contained
exceptions. It read as follows: “Except in the case of county
administrator, counsel, attorney, engineer, health officer, audi-
tor, comptroller, appointed tax collector, elected assessors who
have received tenure under P.L. 1967, c. 44. s. 7 (C. 54:1-35.31),
appointed tax assessor, or members of boards of assessors or as

the Salem Ordinance, N.J.S.A. 40A:9-1 was repealed by
the New Jersey Legislature and replaced with N.J.S.A.
40A:9-1.3 through N.J.S.A. 40A:9-1.10. The new statutory
scheme made residency of officers and employees discre-
tionary with the municipality and established certain
mandatory provisions to be inserted into municipal resi-
dency ordinances adopted after the effective date of the
statutes. The new statutory scheme perpetuated all of the
Original exceptions to the 1971 statute (see N.J.S.A.
40A:9-11) and other exceptions were added by later stat-
utes.

Petitioner Scull was hired as a laborer by the City on
November 20, 1989 (29a). The position of “laborer” does
not require passage of any civil service merit examination
and thus Petitioner Scull did not have to apply for
employment through the New Jersey Department of Per-
sonnel. Petitioner Scull did however fill out a standard
form employment application used by the City in which
he stated that he resided in the City of Salem at the time
and basically had been a resident all his life, even attend-
ing Salem High School.

On January 31, 1992, a letter was written by Kenneth
L. Homan, Scull’s immediate supervisor, indicating that a

otherwise provided by law, every person holding an office, the
authority and duties of which relate to a county only, or to a
municipality only, shall reside within said county or munici-
pality, as the case may be.”

3 This is significant because applicants for employment
positions with the City receive notice of its residency require-
ments from the New Jersey Department of Personnel pursuant
to N.J.A.C. 4A:4-2.11(c).

residency ordinance violation was alleged and that Scull
should respond within thirty days or termination pro-
cedures would begin (29a). Scull immediately filed a
grievance with respect to the violation. When the griev-
ance was denied, but before civil service termination
procedures were instituted, the Petitioners filed this suit
and also filed an unfair practice charge with the New
Jersey Public Employment Relations Commission. The
City voluntarily joined in a consent order pursuant to
which it was temporarily restrained from disciplining
Scull for violating the Residency Ordinance until the
challenges were resolved (29a).

Although both parties moved before the District
Court to dispose of all issues presented in the case by
summary judgment, it was acknowledged by both parties
that there were some facts in dispute, but that the facts
upon which the parties differed were not material, the
District Court agreed (30a). The first area of dispute is
whether Mr. Scull had actual knowledge of the residency
requirement before he moved out of Salem. In his Affi-
davit filed with the summary judgment motion, Scull
implies that he never knew of Salem’s residency require-
ment (JA 173). Mr. Smith, the former City Administrator
says in his Affidavit that the Union President revealed
during the proceedings on the grievance filed by Scull,
that he was approached by Scull who inquired as to the
City’s residency requirement before he moved out of
Salem (JA 183-14).

The City contends that if not actual knowledge, Scull
at least had constructive knowledge of the continuing
residency requirement. The various Affidavits submitted
before the District Court clearly show that the Residency

Ordinance was “common knowledge” amongst the Union
members and other employees. A copy of the Ordinance
has been posted on the bulletin board in the Salem
Municipal Building for years (JA 186-24). Moreover, Mr.
Homan, the Supervisor who hired Scull, says that it is his
practice to notify all employees at the time of hire of the
Residency Ordinance and that he would not have hired
Scull if he had not been a Salem resident and did not
understand that he must stay a Salem resident (JA 178-2).

The second area of dispute is Petitioners’ allegation
that the City has taken no steps to enforce its Ordinance
since its adoption in 1978, has allowed numerous
e.nployees to violate the Ordinance with impunity, and
now seeks to enforce its Ordinance only to punish Scull. I
believe that this area of contention between the parties is
more of a difference on how one chooses to characterize
the facts, versus an actual factual dispute.

Consider these facts. The City registered its Ordi-
nance with the New Jersey Department of Personnel as
required by N.J.S.A. 40A:9-1.3. Since Salem has adopted
the provisions of the New Jersey “Civil Service” code (i.e.
N.J.S.A. 11A:1-1 et seq.) the Department of Personnel
administers merit examinations and compiles the lists of
eligible candidates from which the City hires employees.
In 1984 the City fired a secretary on the basis of its
Residency Ordinance. When the secretary challenged the
Ordinance, the City defended and was successful (See
Supplemental Certification and Newspaper Article from
1984 attached thereto, JA 188). The City was obviously
conscious of its residency requirement in the appoint-
ment of its first ever municipal or City Administrator in
1988. Although it could have exempted the Administrator

pursuant to N.J.S.A. 40A:9-136 it chose not to and made
that clear to the appointee (JA 182 J 9 & 10). Prior to the
violation by Mr. Scull there is clear evidence that the City
had confronted an employee with her alleged violation of
the Ordinance. That employee chose to resign, however,
if she had not the City would have taken the appropriate
steps to terminate her due to the Ordinance violation (JA
182 ¥ 11). When Scull’s supervisor brought the violation
of the Residency Ordinance to the attention of City Coun-
cil, the City instructed him to notify Mr. Scull in writing
to comply or face termination proceedings (JA 179 { 3).°

4 Petitioners allege that “the City Administrator overseeing
the ordinance” being enforced against Mr. Scull is a Salem Resi-
dent (Pb 5, footnote 4). This allegation surfaced for the first time
in an Affidavit by the President of Petitioner Union made on
January 7, 1993, and filed with the summary judgment motion
before the District Court (JA 165 J 15) in order to bolster the
Union’s claim that the City selectively enforced the Ordinance.
Prior to that time neither the Union nor any other person had
ever raised this allegation or complained in any way to the
Mayor and Council. Upon receiving the January 7, 1993 Affi-
davit the City Attorney immediately advised both the Mayor
and Council, and the City Administrator of the charges in writ-
ing. The City Administrator adamantly denied the allegations
and made an Affidavit on February 5, 1993 to the contrary (JA
180). Shortly thereafter the City decided to eliminate the posi-
tion of City Administrator for budgetary reasons, which action
effectively terminated the individual holding that position.

5 The District Court chose to completely ignore all of these
facts, stating simply: “Since the ordinance’s enactment in 1978,
no one has been fired for failure to comply with it” (28a). This
was due no doubt to the District Court’s intention to accept all
Petitioners’ allegations as true in granting the City’s cross
motion for summary judgment.

The City sought no special retribution against Mr.
Scull, indeed it offered to allow him six (6) months to
comply with the Ordinance. If he had done so the inci-
dent would have been forgotten (JA 183 J 14). When Scull
refused, and in connection with the Union instituted suit
to invalidate the Ordinance, the City resolved to defend
its Residency Ordinance against the attack at great
expense. Yet it still held open its offer to Mr. Scull if the
suit was dismissed by an acceptable voluntary settlement.
Moreover the City voluntarily agreed not to fire or other-
wise discipline Scull until the challenges to the validity of
the Ordinance were resolved (JA 44).

Petitioners’ allegation that the City has allowed
numerous employees to violate the Ordinance is also a
mis-characterization. All officers or employees of the City
of Salem who are not residents are within one of the
following three classifications: (1) those who were non-
resident employees prior to adoption of the Ordinance
and thus are “grandfathered”; (2) those who are exempt
from the Ordinance by the application of pre-emptive
state statutes; or (3) those who, notwithstanding Peti-
tioners’ assertions, are not City employees but are
employees of autonomous agencies.

The first class is clear enough. It includes those who
were employed and were not residents at the time of the
adoption of the Ordinance in 1978. This includes for
example, Mr. Homan, Petitioner Scull’s supervisor.®

6 Mr. Homan is certainly “grandfathered” because the date
of his appointment (1957) precedes the Ordinance and he was a
non-resident at the time of adoption and he has continued to be
a non-resident (Homan Aff. 42). However, it is noted that Mr.

The second class is divided into two subcategories.
The first is specific positions exempt by pre-emptive state
statutes. These include counsel, attorney, engineer’,
health officer, auditor and comptroller (N.J.S.A.
40A:9-11); police® (N.J.S.A. 40A:14-122.1); treasurer
(N.J.S.A. 40A:9-1.2); and municipal court judge (N.J.S.A.

Homan would be exempted from the Ordinance as a “health
officer” by virtue of N.J.S.A. 40A:9-11. As the Superintendent of
a municipal water supply and waste water treatment facility,
Mr. Homan must maintain a license issued to him by the New
Jersey Department of Health. See N.J.S.A. 26:1A-1 et seq. and
specifically N.J.A.C. 8:6-1.1.

7 It is arguable that Salem need not avail itself of the statute
in relation to its municipal attorney and engineer. In both
instances the City’s contract is with a professional service cor-
poration the office of which is located in Salem. It is however
admitted that the members of these firms who primarily pro-
vide legal and engineering services to the City are not Salem
residents.

8 Although Salem Police Officers, like all other municipal
police in New Jersey are exempt from municipal residency
requirements pursuant to N.J.S.A. 40A:14-122.1 they are subject
to a mandatory continuing requirement of residency within the
State of New Jersey by N.J.S.A. 40A:14-122.8; certain age mini-
mums and maximums by N.J.S.A. 40A:14-127; as well as a
plethora of other statutory requirements. See generally N.J.S.A.
40A:14-122. It should also be noted that the state statute exempt-
ing police officers from municipal residency does not extend to
“special police officers” or the “chief of police”. Salem has
applied its residency requirement to the so called special police
officers and to its Chief of Police. It should also be noted that
recently Bill A-2053 entitled “ Authorizing municipal ordinances
requiring residency for new police and firefighters” was spon-
sored in the New Jersey Assembly. The New Jersey League of
Municipalities has issued a statement officially endorsing the
Bill. See NJLM Legislative Bulletin, September, 1993.

2A:8-7).2 The second subcategory involves situations
where although the position is not specifically exempt,
the interaction between two separate pre-emptive state
statutes produces the same result. For example, the City
recently appointed a non-resident Construction Code
Official. Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 52:27D-126(a) Salem must
employ a Construction Code Official. Since Salem is a
“civil service” jurisdiction and the position of Construc-
tion Code Official is a “classified” position, Salem must
select a candidate from a list of persons eligible for that
position as promulgated by the New Jersey Department
of Personnel in accordance with N.J.S.A. 11A:1-1 et seq.
The Department of Personnel will allow Salem to fill the
position with a non-resident only if no other residents
qualify. In the case of the Construction Code Official that
is what occurred. The position became open. The Depart-
ment of Personnel advertised the positions availability
and educational pre-requisites, administered an examina-
tion and promulgated a list of eligible candidates from
which Salem could fill the position. No Salem residents
qualified. The City then appointed the number one candi-
date on the list. A similar situation arose with respect to

9 There are other statutory exemptions such as N.J.S.A.
40A:14-9.1 which prohibits municipal residency requirements
for paid firefighters. This statute is cited by Petitioners (Pb 4,
footnote 3) however Salem has no paid firefighters. All Salem
firefighters are volunteers who are all residents of the town.

10

the City’s Chief Financial Officer!® (see N.J.S.A.
40A:9-140.10).

The third and final class involves employees whom
the Petitioners seek to attribute to the City of Salem but
actually are employees of autonomous agencies. These
include the teachers and superintendent of schools
employed by the Salem Board of Education (a regional
institution) and the librarians of the Salem Free Public
Library System. Petitioners correctly indicate that
N.J.S.A. 18A:26-1.1 prohibits requiring teachers to be resi-
dents (Pb 4, footnotes 3 and 4), however that proscription
applies to boards of education, not municipalities. The
City of Salem employs no teachers, school superinten-
dents or librarians.

Thus although Salem’s Ordinance appears to allow
the Mayor and Council “to permit any officer or
employee of the City of Salem to remain in the employ of
the City without complying” with the Ordinance for cer-
tain specified reasons, it is submitted that the City has
never exercised this reserved power. The few non-resi-
dent employees it has are exempt because they fit into
one of the three classifications set forth above. No
employee has been “informally exempted from the ordi-
nance” as suggested by Petitioners (Pb 4).

Finally, Petitioners’ allegation that “most .. . [of
Salem’s] municipal supervisory personnel” (Pb 4) and

10 Petitioners refer to “Salem’s Financial Officer” (Pb 4,
footnote 3). However, the actual position is “Chief Financial
Officer”. It is a part time position pursuant to a professional
service contract.

11

policy-makers are exempt from the Residency Ordinance
is incorrect. Realistically in a small town such as Salem
the positions which one would consider to be “super-
visory” or “policymaking” are limited. They would
include of course the Mayor and members of the Com-
mon Council. In Salem these positions are in fact held by
City residents. The City Administrator is a “policymak-
ing” position. Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 40A:9-136, the City
could have exempted its Administrator from the resi-
dency requirement. Salem decided to apply its residency
requirement to its Administrator before it eliminated that
position. One might classify the positions of City Clerk,
Police Chief, Street Department Superintendent, Tax
Assessor, Housing Officer, and Zoning Officer as “super-
visory” or “policymaking” positions. These positions
carry with them various discretions, responsibilities and
independence pursuant to law. In the case of Salem all are
residents subject to the City’s continuing residency
requirement.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT -
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

This case concerns the applicability of the Privileges
and Immunities Clause of Article IV, Section II of the
United States Constitution to a municipal ordinance,
applicable only to direct employees of the. municipality,
engaged in providing traditional local governmental ser-
vices, which require such employees to maintain resi-
dency in the municipality during their employment.
Petitioners assert that this Court’s decision in United
Building & Construction Trades Council of Camden and

12

Vicinity v. Mayor and Council of City of Camden, 465 U.S.
208 (1984) mandates application of the Privileges and
Immunities Clause to such local residency requirements.
It is however clear that the decision does not support
Petitioners’ assertion, but in fact supports the opposite
conclusion as reached by Chief Judge Gerry of the United
States District Court for the District of New Jersey and
the Third Circuit Court of Appeals. The distinction is
clearly evident in the fact that the enactment in question
in the Camden case burdened private employment while
the enactment in this case relates only to direct public
employees of the municipality.

The conclusion of both lower courts is consistent
with the Clause’s purposes of preventing barriers to free
trade and commerce between the states and creating a
single economic union. As noted by the District Court:

There are significant differences between a
state imposing restrictions on its own workers —
as any employer has certain latitude to do - and
a state forcing private employers to impose
restrictions on their employees. The latter
involves governmental restraint on the liberty of
the private employers affected, and additionally
has a much broader and more comprehensive
impact on free trade and commerce between the
states. Thus, the type of state regulation of pri-
vate employment that is typically struck down
under the Clause imposes a blanket burden on
all persons attempting to pursue a certain liveli-
hood. The Salem ordinance, in contrast, only
affects those people seeking employment with
one small employer in the state: the City of
Salem. When Maryland charges more for a com-
mercial fishing license to out-of-state residents

13

than to state residents, anyone from out-of-state
wishing to pursue fishing as a livelihood in
Maryland is burdened. When, on the other
hand, the City of Salem chooses to impose a
residency requirement on clerical employees, all
out-of-state residents wishing to pursue a liveli-
hood as a secretary in New Jersey are not bur-
dened. Indeed, the vast majority of secretarial
jobs in the state remain open to out-of-state
residents. Thus, commerce as a whole is not
significantly affected . . . we find that applica-
tion of the Clause in a situation such as this -
where the jobs affected represent a negligible
percentage of the state’s total job market -
would be antithetical to the purposes and poli-
cies that animate it... (41a).

Petitioners have failed to demonstrate that the writ of
certiorari should be granted, given the standards set forth
in this Court’s rule 10.1. The decision of the Court of
Appeals in this matter is not in conflict with the decision
of another court of appeals of the United States, or any
other court, on the same matter. Moreover, contrary to
Petitioners’ assertions, the decision of the Court of
Appeals in this case is not in conflict with this Court’s
decision in the Camden case; it is supported by it.

I SALEM’S MUNICIPAL RESIDENCY ORDINANCE
DOES NOT VIOLATE THE PRIVILEGES AND
IMMUNITIES CLAUSE OF THE UNITED STATES
CONSTITUTION

Petitioners’ argue that Salem’s Residency Ordinance
violates the Privileges and Immunities Clause of Article
IV, Section II of the United States Constitution (Pb 8).

14

That Clause provides that “The citizens of each State shall
be entitled to all Privileges and Immunities in the several
States”.

Although municipal residency ordinances have con-
sistently been upheld as against a seemingly endless
number of alleged constitutional infirmities there appears
to be no specific reference in any of the cases that such
ordinances do not offend the Privileges and Immunities
Clause. Thus Petitioners endeavor to create a novel argu-
ment, without any specific precedent and without any
regard to the numerous precedents upholding the consti-
tutionality of such ordinances, that would if accepted
invalidate not only Salem’s residency ordinance, but all
such municipal residency requirements nationwide.!!

Application of the Privileges and Immunities Clause
to a governmental distinction based on residency entails
a two-step inquiry. “As an initial matter the Court must
decide whether the ordinance burdens one of those privi-
leges and immunities protected by the Clause.” United
Building & Construction Trades v. Camden, 465 U.S. 208,
218, 79 L. Ed. 2d 249, 104 S. Ct. 1020 (1984). Not all forms
of discrimination against citizens of other States are con-
stitutionally suspect. Id. at 218. Thus this Court has
stated:

It has not been suggested, however, that state
citizenship or residency may never be used by a

11 The form of government under which Salem is organized
leaves the issue of municipal residency to the discretion of the
governing body. In some New Jersey municipalities, state stat-
utes now require municipal residency. For example see N.J.S.A.
40A:60-6(b) relating to “boroughs”; and there are others.

15

State to distinguish among persons. Some dis-
tinctions between residents and non-residents
merely reflect the fact that this is a Nation com-
posed of individual States, and are permitted;
other distinctions are prohibited because they
hinder the formation, the purpose, or the devel-
opment of a single Union of those States. Only
with respect to those “privileges” and “immu-
nities” bearing upon the vitality of the Nation as
a single entity must the State treat all citizens,
resident and non-resident, equally. Baldwin v.
Montana Fish & Game Comm., 436 U.S. 371, 383,
56 L. Ed. 2d 354, 98 S. Ct. 1852 (1978).

Thus as a threshold matter, this Court must deter-
mine whether an out-of-state resident’s!? interest in

12 Only non-New Jersey residents would have standing to
challenge Salem’s ordinance under the Privileges and Immu-
nities Clause. New Jersey residents residing outside of Salem
have no standing under the Clause; the theory being that they
have a chance to remedy the intrastate distinction through the
political process while out-of-state residents have no similar
opportunity. See United Building & Constr. Trades v. Camden, 465
U.S. 208, at 217 citing Slaughter-House Cases, 16 Wall 36, 77, 21 L.
Ed. 394 (1873). Petitioners allege that the Union has members
who “reside outside the State of New Jersey” (See paragraph 3
of Plaintiffs’ Complaint JA 9). However, no evidence of this was
put before the District Court, other than Petitioners’ allegation.
The District Court mistakenly resolved the issue of standing in
favor of Petitioners, believing that the allegation of out-of-state
members contained in the Complaint “remains unchallenged by
defendants” (32a). The said allegation in the Complaint was not
the subject of an admission in the Answer thereto. See para-
graph 3 of the Answer (JA 30). The Third Circuit upheld the
District Court’s decision in this regard citing to an affidavit of
the Union President filed with their summary judgment motion
(5a, footnote 1).

16

employment opportunities with local governments in the
process of providing traditional local governmental ser-
vices “is sufficiently fundamental to the promotion of
interstate harmony so as to fall within the purview of the
Privileges and Immunities Clause.” United Building &
Constr. Trades v. Camden, 465 U.S. 208, 218, 79 L. Ed. 2d
249, 104 S. Ct. 1020 (1984) citing Baldwin at 436 U.S. 388
and Canadian Northern R. Co. v. Eggen, 252 U.S. 553, 560,
64 L. Ed. 713, 40 S. Ct. 402 (1920); and Blake v. McClung,
172 U.S. 239, 248, 43 L. Ed. 432, 19 S. Ct. 165 (1898).

This is where Petitioners’ novel theory fails. There is
no fundamental right to be a municipal government
employee which is protected by the Privileges and Immu-
nities Clause.!* That such a right is not fundamental to

13 In Section I of the argument in their Brief, Petitioners
spend considerable effort to establish that the Privileges and
Immunities Clause of the Constitution is entirely based on the
Fourth article of the Articles of Confederation (Pb 10). The
District Court and Court of Appeals agreed with this proposi-
tion but correctly noted that the said provision in the Articles of
Confederation referred to “the privileges of trade and com-
merce” (34a and 9a). This observation by both lower courts is
important, in terms of consistency, with the observation by both
courts that the cases that have found employment to be pro-
tected by the Clause have generally involved government regu-
lation of private employment. Petitioners simply ignore the
clear import of these correct observations and, without any
support, state: “The fact that eighteenth century America was
characterized by concerns over trade and commerce and public
employment was virtually non-existent, by no means evidences
that the Privileges and Immunities Clause was intended to pro-
tect only certain occupations and not others” (Pb 12). Petitioners
further attempt to respond to the observations of the lower
courts in this regard by stating that the Articles of Confedera-
tion did not “refer to the practice of law, medicine, driving a taxi

17

interstate harmony is clearly evidenced by the long exis-
tence and judicial tolerance of municipal government
residency requirements. The rights protected by the
Clause are “confined” to those most basic and have been
described as follows:

The inquiry is, what are the privileges and
immunities of the citizens in the several states?
We feel no hesitation in confining these expres-
sions to those privileges and immunities which
are, in their nature, fundamental; which belong
to the citizens of all free governments; and
which have at all times, been enjoyed by the
citizens of the several states which compose this
Union, from the time of their becoming free,
independent, and sovereign.

What these fundamental principals are, it would
perhaps be more tedious than difficult to enu-
merate. They may, however, be all compre-
hended under the following general heads:
Protection by the government; the enjoyment of
life and liberty, with the right to acquire and
possess property of every kind, and to pursue
and obtain happiness and safety; subject nev-
ertheless to such restraints as the government
may justly prescribe for the general good of the
whole. Baldwin v. Montana Fish & Game Comm.,
436 U.S. 371, 385, 56 L. Ed. 2d 354, 98 S. Ct. 1852
(1978).

cab, or operating as an insurance consultant but the exclusion of
nonresidents from these positions or services is equally viola-
tive of the Clause” (Pb 12, footnote 3). The obvious infirmity
with Petitioners retort is that all of the cited advocations repre-
sent endeavors of private trade or commerce and not traditional
public employment roles.

18

In light of the foregoing, one can clearly distinguish a
municipal residency preference in filling positions neces-
sary to provide traditional local governmental services
from the 1948 South Carolina statute that required non-
residents to pay a fee of $2500.00 to shrimp commercially
while residents of that state only had to pay $25.00 in
Toomer v. Witsell, 334 U.S. 385, 92 L. Ed. 1460, 68 S. Ct.
1156 (1948); or the Alaska statute which required that all
contracts in connection with the construction of the Alas-
kan oil and gas pipelines contain a provision requiring
the employment of qualified Alaskan residents in prefer-
ence to non-residents in Hicklin v. Orbeck, 437 U.S. 518, 57
L. Ed. 2d 397, 98 S. Ct. 2482 (1978); or the proscriptions
against allowing lawvers, insurance agents and other pro-
fessionals to practice in a state unless such professional
was a bona fide resident of the state; see Supreme Court of
New Hampshire v. Piper, 470 U.S. 274, 84 L. Ed. 2d 205, 105
S. Ct. 1272 (1985).

These decisions and the many others cited by Peti-
tioners center around the creation and protection of “a
national economic union” (Piper at 470 U.S. 280) based
upon a fundamental “privilege” of citizens of one State to
do business in another State on terms substantially equal
with that State’s citizens. There is nothing in Toomer,
Hicklin, or Piper which suggests that employment by
municipalities engaged in providing traditionally recog-
nized local government services is a protected privilege
which is fundamental to interstate harmony, economic or
otherwise.

Moreover, the decision in United Building & Constr.
Trades v. Camden, 465 U.S. 208, 79 L. Ed. 249, 104 S. Ct.
1020 (1984) upon which Petitioners principally rely to

19

support their novel theory is clearly distinguishable. That
case involved a City of Camden Ordinance which
required that at least 40% of the employees of private
contractors and subcontractors working on City construc-
tion projects be Camden residents. The Supreme Court of
New Jersey held that the Privileges and Immunities
Clause could not be applied to a municipal ordinance as
opposed to an enactment of the state, and that the Clause
would not apply to a distinction based solely on munici-
pal residency because it was not aimed primarily at out-
of-state residents. 88 N.J. 317, 443 A.2d 148 (1982). This
Court reviewed and reversed that decision, holding that
the Clause does apply to municipal as well as state enact-
ments and that enactments which draw distinctions
solely on municipal residency are not immune from the
Clause.

Thus the Court went on to analyze whether the Cam-
den ordinance burdened one of those privileges and
immunities protected by the Clause. It phrased the issue
as follows:

As a threshold matter, then, we must determine
whether an out-of-state resident’s interest in
employment on public works contracts in
another State is sufficiently “fundamental” to
the promotion of interstate harmony so as to
“fall within the purview of the Privileges and
Immunities Clause.” Id. at 218-219.

In deciding that a fundamental right critical to inter-
state harmony was involved the Court stated:

The opportunity to seek employment with such
private employees is sufficiently basic to the

20

livelihood of the Nation. Jd. at 221. (Emphasis
added).

Certainly the pursuit of a common calling is one
of the most fundamental of those privileges pro-
tected by the Clause. Id. at 219.

Thus it is clear that the Court in United Building &
Constr. Trades v. Camden, was focussing on what it
referred to as Camden's “efforts to bias private employ-
ment decisions in favor of its residents on construction
projects funded with public moneys.” Id. at 221.
(Emphasis added.) The Camden ordinance dealt with pri-
vate employers and employees providing services which
are not thought of as traditional governmentally pro-
vided services (i.e. construction). This is clearly distin-
guishable from Salem’s Ordinance which deals with
direct employees of a public employer seeking to provide
services traditionally provided by local governments.

Indeed, this Court in United Building & Constr. Trades
v. Camden, specifically declined to consider the Camden
ordinance as involving public employees in its Privileges
and Immunities analysis. This Court had done so in White
v. Massachusetts Council of Construction Employers, Inc., 460
U.S. 204, 75 L. Ed. 2d 1, 103 S. Ct. 1042 (1983) which
involved a virtually identical enactment as that in the
Camden case, however the analysis in White was solely
under the Commerce Clause and did not involve the
Privileges and Immunities Clause.'4 Under the “market
participant vs. market regulator” analysis called for by

14 Note that this Court in White ultimately upheld the pub-
lic construction residency requirement as against the Commerce
Clause challenge.

———— ou» ee |

21

the Commerce Clause in White this Court held that every-
one employed on a city public works project is, “in a
substantial if informal sense, working for the city”. Id. at
460 U.S. 211, 75 L. Ed. 2d 1, 103 S. Ct. at 1042. In United
Building & Constr. Trades v. Camden, the Court specifically
declined to treat the employees affected by Camden’s
ordinance as public employees stating:

It can certainly be argued that for purposes of the
Privileges and Immunities Clause everyone affected
by the Camden ordinance is also “working for the
city” and, therefore, has no grounds for complaint
when the city favors its own residents. But we
decline to transfer mechanically into this context an
analysis fashioned to fit the Commerce Clause. Our
decision in White turned on a distinction
between the city acting as a market participant
and the city acting as a market regulator. The
question whether employees of contractors and
subcontractors on public works projects were or .
were not, in some sense, working for the city
was crucial to that analysis. The question had to
be answered in order to chart the boundaries of
the distinction. But the distinction between mar-
ket participant and market regulator relied upon
in White to dispose of the Commerce Clause
challenge is not dispositive in this context. Id. at
219-220. (Emphasis added.)

Unlike the facts in United Building & Constr. Trades v.
Camden, in the case at bar there is no question that all
employees affected by the Salem Ordinance are working
for the City as public employees. Thus as stated by this
Court in the above excerpt the Petitioners have “no
grounds for complaint when the City favors its own

22

residents”. The rational was alluded to by this Court in
the following passage:

Certainly, the pursuit of a common calling is one
of the most fundamental of those privileges pro-
tected by the Clause . . . Many, if not most, of
our cases expounding the Privileges and Immu-
nities Clause have dealt with the basic and
essential activity . . . Public employment, however,
is qualitatively different from employment in the
private sector; it is a subspecies of the broader
opportunity to pursue a common calling. We
have held that there is no fundamental right to
government employment for purposes of the Equal
Protection Clause. Massachusetts Bd. of Retire-
ment v. Murgia, 427 U.S. 307, 313, 49 L. Ed. 2d
520, 96 S. Ct. 2562 (1976) (per curiam). Cf.
McCarthy v. Philadelphia Civil Service Comm’‘n,
424 U.S. 645, 47 L. Ed. 2d 366, 96 S. Ct. 1154
(1976) (per curiam) (rejecting equal protection
challenge to municipal residency requirement
for municipal workers.) Id. at 219. (Emphasis
added.)

Although the decision in United Building & Constr.
Trades v. Camden is clearly distinguishable from the case
at bar since it involved private employees, it should
nevertheless be noted that this Court did not strike down
Camden’s ordinance under the Privileges and Immunities
Clause. It simply held that the Clause applied to the
ordinance. The decision as to whether the ordinance vio-
lated the Clause was remanded to the New Jersey
Supreme Court, but a decision was never rendered
because the case settled.!5 Id. at 223. Thus Petitioners

15 Indeed this Court seemed to indicate that Camden’s
ordinance might survive the scrutiny of the Privileges and

———— ee

23

have no precedent to support the proposition that even a
municipal residency requirement in connection with pub-
lic construction contracts violates the Privileges and
Immunities Clause, much less precedent to support their
position that a municipal residency requirement imposed
on actual municipal employees providing traditional
local government services violates the Clause.'®

Also relevant to this inquiry are the many cases
which have upheld municipal residency ordinances
against challenges based upon the “right of interstate
travel”. McCarthy v. Philadelphia Civ. Serv. Comm., 424 U.S.
645, 647, 96 S. Ct. 1154, 1155, 47 L. Ed. 2d 366 (1976);
Abrahams v. Civ. Serv. Comm., 65 N.J. 61, 319 A.2d 483
(1974); Lines v. City of Topeka, 223 Kan. 772, 779, 577 P. 2d
42 (1978); Andre v. Village of Maywood, 561 F.2d 48, 52-53

Immunities Clause. It distinguished Camden’s ordinance from
the “Alaska Hire” statute invalidated in Hicklin, supra, stating:
“we invalidated the [Alaska Hire] Act as an attempt to force
virtually all businesses that benefit in some way from the eco-
nomic ripple effect of Alaska’s decision to develop its oil and
gas resources to bias their employment practices in favor of the
State’s residents. No similar “ripple effect” appears to infect the
Camden ordinance. It is limited in scope to employees working
directly on city public works projects.” Id. at 223.

16 Petitioners may attempt to rely on the unpublished opin-
ion in 1st Westco Corp. v. School District of Philadelphia, under
docket no. 91-2727 in the United States District Court for the
Eastern District of Pennsylvania (JA 145) and the case of
Neshaminy Constructors, Inc. v. Krause, 181 N.J. Super. 376, 437
A.2d 733 (Ch. Div. 1981), modified 187 N.J. Super. 174, 453 A.2d
1359 (App. Div. 1982) cited therein; but both of those cases dealt
with a law requiring state, not municipal residency and, as such,
were not “limited in scope”. See preceding footnote.

24

(7th Cir. 1977); and Kansas City FOP v. Kansas City, 620 F.
Supp. 752, 755 (D. C. Kan. 1984). For certainly if munici-
pal residency requirements do not interfere with the right
of “interstate travel” they do not interfere with “inter-
state harmony”. The two concepts seem related as even
the earliest cases interpreting the purpose of the Privi-
leges and Immunities Clause focus on “free ingress into
other States, and egress from them...” Paul v. Virginia, 8
Wall. 168, 19 L. Ed. 357 (1869).

Finally, even if this Court were to reverse the deci-
sion of the lower Court and make new law by finding
that an out-of-state resident’s interest in employment
opportunities with local governments in the process of
providing traditional local governmental services “is suf-
ficiently fundamental to the promotion of interstate har-
mony so as to fall within the purview of the Privileges
and Immunities Clause”,!” Petitioners’ cause must still
fail. The second inquiry used by the Courts recognizes

17 This is exactly what Petitioners advocate in their Brief.
Under Petitioners’ theory all municipal residency ordinances
would be subject to the Clause and each municipality through-
out the country would have to defend its ordinance in a separate
fact sensitive court proceeding. Petitioners characterize this
result as rational compared to the “artificiai distinction” result-
ing from the decision by both lower Courts that the Clause is
inapplicable to traditional municipal residency requirements
(Pb 13). Obviously the reverse is true, since the individual resi-
dency ordinances of various municipalities throughout the
nation share common rationals and methods of implementation.
This is particularly true in states like New Jersey where munici-
pal residency ordinances are now facilitated by state enabling
statutes which authorize such ordinances and require the ordi-
nance to contain certain mandatory provisions (see N.J.S.A.
40A:9-1.3 to 40A:9-1.10).

25

that the Clause does not preclude distinctions based on
residency where the governing body can demonstrate
that “(i), there is a substantial reason for the difference in
treatment; (ii) the discrimination practiced against non-
residents bears a substantial relationship to the State’s
objective.” Piper, 470 U.S. at 284; United Building & Constr.
Trades Council, 465 U.S. at 222; Hicklin, 437 U.S. at 525-526.

This Court has stated that governmental units
“should have considerable leeway in analyzing local evils
and in prescribing appropriate cures.” Toomer v. Witsell,
supra, at 396, 92 L. Ed. 1460, 68 S. Ct. 1156. This caution is
particularly appropriate when a governing body is
merely setting conditions on the expenditure of funds it
controls. See United Building, supra, at 221, 79 L. Ed. 2d, at
260.

In United Building & Constr. Trades v. Camden, supra,
the Court summarized the test as follows:

The inquiry in each case must be concerned with
whether such reasons do exist and whether the
degree of discrimination bears a close relation to
them. Id. at 222.

In the case of Salem’s Ordinance, the reasons therefor
are stated in its preamble (54a).!§ These reasons have

18 Contrary to Petitioners’ assertions to the Third Circuit,
the City did not fail to “demonstrate a substantial reason” for its
Ordinance, nor did it fail to show that the Ordinance “furthers
the achievement of [its] objectives”. Petitioners assertion that
“the City offered no support that its residency ordinance has
resulted in actual benefits” is also unwarranted. These are
merely Petitioners’ characterizations. The District Court made
no such findings. The fact is the City came forward with prima

26

sufficed to uphold municipal residency requirement ordi-
nances against constitutional challenges based upon the
Fourteenth Amendment which contains the same “privi-
leges and immunities” reference as Article IV, Section II.
See Lorenz v. Logue, 611 F.2d 421 at 423 (2d Cir. 1979).

Moreover, Petitioners’ assertion that Salem’s Ordi-
nance is not “closely tailored” to the legitimate ends
sought to be achieved is erroneous. The Ordinance
requires all officers and employees to be residents and
allows for exceptions only when specialized talent; the
nature of the employment; or an employee’s health is
involved. It contained a “grandfather” clause to soften its
immediate impact and yet achieve its goals through natu-
ral attrition. The fact that unemployed and unskilled
residents receive no Official preferences in the City’s hir-
ing practices is mainly a function of the New Jersey Civil
Service merit examination system which governs the
City’s employment process.

+

facia evidence on all these issues in support of the Ordinance,
thereby shifting the burden to Petitioners. If the District Court
had denied the City summary judgment tho City most certainly
would have been permitted to retain expert witnesses to con-
duct studies and analysis to support its arguments at trial.

a a a

27

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, Respondents contend that
the petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

Davip J. Puma, Esa.

Council of Record

Waters, SHERMAN & Puma, P.A.
107 West Broadway

Salem, New Jersey 08079
(609) 935-2244

Attorneys for Respondents

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_1032%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
