# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Gellert v. United States District Court

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0948%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1995
- **Citation:** 513 U.S. 1149

## Text

EDITOR'S NOTE

THE FOLLOWING PAGES WERE POOR HARD COPY
AT THE TIME OF FILMING. —IF AND WHENA
BETTER COPY CAN BE OBTAINED, A NEW FICHE

WILL BE ISSUED.

Supreme Court, U.8.
ri LE BP

941015 DEC 519%
CASE NO. ____ os fice OF THE CLERK

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

DANIEL G. GELLERT,

Petitioner,

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT for the
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

PETITION FOR CERTIORARI

In pro se, by:

Daniel G. Gellert
P. O. Box 320370
Cocoa Beach,
Florida 32932
(407) 783-9412

CASE NO.

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

DANIEL G. GELLERT,

Petitioner,

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT for the
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

PETITION FOR CERTIORARI

In pro se, by:

Daniel G. Gellert
P. O. Box 320370
Cocoa Beach,
Florida 32932
(407) 783-9412

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW
Must a trial judge, while under criminal investigation by

a Federal Grand Jury, disclose this fact to a plaintiff? Allow
the plaintiff to file for recusal, and having failed to do so, is
this a violation of plaintiffs due process rights under the
Fifth Amendment?

Does a plaintiff have the same rights under Rule 56, to the
entry of summary judgement motions as defendants have?
To secure the just, speedy and inexpensive determination of
his cause as a moving party, terminating the action in his

favor? Is this guaranteed by the Seventh Amendment?

Cana union force the discharge of a minority employee
under the forced collection of union dues, when membership
was not available on the same terms as were applicable to
others? When this non-member objected to his dues being
used for political purposes, had an authorization for the
voluntary deduction of his dues, paid the dues, and still he
was discharged, is this a violation of his rights under the

First, Fifth and Fourteenth Ar. 1dments?

Can "arbital immunity" be granted to union and em-

ployer officials under Lie Railway Labor Aci and ERISA?

Is the forced collection of union dues a "minor dispute"
under the Railway Labor Act, (2) 11, and therefore subject
only to the exclusive remedy of arbitration, or are there
Constitutional rights under the First, Fifth and Four-
teenth Amendments, which are not "second bites at the
apple", but provide federal court review and jurisdiction?
Can arbitration resolve Petitioner’s Constitutional rights in
this cause, as courts below have ruled, or is this subject to
review, and does a citizen have the right to petition the

Supreme Court to hear his Constitutional grievance?

Just how far can the forced collection of union dues move
against an employee? Does the First, Fifth and Four-
teenth Amendments provide protection as to ERISA and
Workers’ Compensation Law benefits, or are these laws also
part of the RLA (2)11 scheme to harm and punish an

employee for the alleged failure to pay union dues?

ii

LIST OF PARTIES

RESPONDENTS/DEFENDANTS
in Court Case 90-1113-CIV-MOORE:

EASTERN AIRLINES FIXED BENEFIT RETIREMENT IN-
COME PLAN FOR PILOTS and employee benefit pension
plan

EASTERN AIRLINES, INC., solely as Administrator of such
defendant plan

PENSION BENEFIT GUARANTY CORPORATION

EASTERN AIRLINES RETIREMENT BOARD a/k/a PEN-
SION DISPUTE BOARD

AIR LINE PILOTS ASSOCIATION
ALAN C. GIBSON

WILLIAM R. TEGTMAN

JACK N. MOGUS

CHARLES COPELAND

TRAVELERS INSURANCE CORPORATION

HONORABLE K. MICHAEL MOORE

ZT E OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW i
LIST OF PARTIES iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES liiii
GROUNDS ON WHICH JURISDICTION OF 1
THIS COURT IS INVOKED

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY 5
PROVISIONS FOR JURISDICTION

DEFENDANTS DEFAULTED UNDER RULE 56 11
STATEMENT OF THE CASE 14
ARGUMENT 18
APPENDIX: 25

U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit

Denial of Writ of Mandamus.

EXHIBIT A 26,27
U.S. District Court, Southern District of Florida

Excerpt from: Omnibus Order on Pending

Motions

EXHIBIT B 28,29
U.S. District Court, Southern District of Florida

Excerpt from: Omnibus order on Pending

Motions

EXHIBIT C 30,31
U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit

Denial of Writ of Mandamus

EXHIBIT D 32
U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit

Denial of Reconsideration of Writ of

Mandamus.

EXHIBIT E 33
Railway Labor Act, ("RLA") 45 U.S.C. #152 Eleventh

EXHIBIT F 34

Supreme Court Order
EXHIBIT G 36

iiii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

1. CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENTS:
FIRST,

FIFTH,

SEVENTH,
FOURTEENTH,

2. RAILWAY LABOR ACT, {"rla‘), EXHIBIT F
(45 U.S.C. #152 Eleventh)

3. Air Line Pilots Association v. O'Neill
113 L. Ed 2d 51

4. Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc.
477 U.S. 242

5. Celotex Corporation v. Catrett
477 U.S. 317

6. Communications Workers of America v Beck
367 U.S. 735

7. Eastern Airlines, Inc. v. Gellert
431 So.2d 329

8. Eastern Airlines, Inc. v. Gellert
438 So.2d 923

9. Gellert v. Eastern Airlines, Inc.
370 Sw.2d 802

iiiii

PAGES

i,ii,4,7
i,ii,4,7,18
i,ii,7
i,ii,4,7

ii,8,9,14,21

1,6,19

4,8

10

10

10

10. Hrubec v. National Railroad Passenger Corp. 13
829 F.Supp. 1502

11.International ation of Machinist v. Street 4,8,9,19
367 U.S. 740

12.International Union, United Auto. Wkrs. v. 16

Greyhound Lines
701 F2d. 1181 (1983)

13.Matsushita Electric v. Zenith Radio Corp. 2.19
475 U.S. 574

14.0’Connor v. State of Nevada, 13
507 F.Supp. 546 (D. Nev. 1981)

15.Sidney-Vinstein v. A.H. Robins Co.. 13
697 F2d. 880 (9th Cir. 1983)

16.Superior Beverage Co. v. State of Ohio, 12
324 F.Supp. 564 (N.D. Ohio 1971)

17.Rule 56, Federal Rules of Civil i,5,.6,11,12,13,19
Procedure

18.Local Rules 7.1 and 7.5, District Court 5.6.11,12
for the Southern District of Florida

iiiiii

R N WHICH N OF THIS
COURT IS INVOKED

Plaintiffs due process rights have been violated by the
courts below. Plaintiffhas Constitutional protection under
the Fifth Amendment to an unbiased court, ajudiciary free
from a taint of corruption, a District Court Judge whois free
from the dark cloud of a criminal investigation.

Judge K. Michael Moore failed to inform plaintiff that he
was under investigation for violations of felony criminal
laws of the United States, accepting gratuities from indi-
viduals doing business with the U.S. Marshal Service under
his direction, individuals who have been found guilty of
bribery.

Judge Moore denied plaintiffs proper motions for sum-
mary judgements, which in this circumstance is a denial of
due process, and violates plaintiffs Fifth and Seventh
Amendment's Constitutional protection. This raises issues
as to due process, plaintiffs rights to his summary
_ judgements under the Seventh Amendment, in the orders

of Judge Moore, who has accepted gratuities in violation of

1

federal ethical rules. See: Celotex Corporation v. Catrett,
477 U.S. 317; Matsushita Electrical Industrial Co. Ltd. v.
Zenith Radio Corporation, 475 U.S. 574; Jack Anderson v.

Liberty Lobby, Inc. 477 U.S. 242.
The Appeals Court has denied plaintiff a review of these

Constitutional issues, which provides forjurisdiction herein.

The appeals court has found on November 20, 1992 that
previous orders of the court below were not final, and these
issues are properly before the district court for reconsidera-
tion and reversal. EXHIBIT A.

The district court in its Sept.13, 1993 OMNIBUS OR-
DER ON PENDING MOTIONS, upheld the arbital immu-
nity for the two Air Line Pilots officials, and further granted
this immunity to the two employer officials. EXHIBIT B.

The court denied Petitioner’s motions for summary
judgement by stating: "Plaintiffs Motions for Summary
Judgement based upon failure to respond to discovery or
the Amended Complaints are Denied." Petitioner did not
file a motion for summary judgement which was based
upon defendant’s failure to respond, and the Federal Rule

of Civil Procedure 56, has no basis to consider defendants’

2

failure to respond to discovery or the complaint.

The court also filed an OMNIBUS ORDER on April 14,
1994, in this order the court has lumped Petitioner’s other
supporting motions in seeking his just due, the entry of his
motion for summary judgement, and has made Petitioner's
cause subject to dismissal as to any additional motions to
support his proper motions for summary judgements.
EXHIBIT C.

In Case No. 89 B 10448, U.S. Bankruptcy Court South-
ern District of New York, defendants successfully opposed
Petitioner's recovery from the Eastern Airlines, Inc. estate,
based upon unresolved summary issues, a magistrate’s
report, and a motion to strike.

The bankruptcy court hearing was on November 15,
1994, which has effectively denied Petitioner recovery,
since the Petitioner’s motions for summary judgements are
continued to be denied by the district court.

Defendants argued to the bankruptcy court, which the
court accepted, that petitioner’s rights as to the forced
collection of union dues was a "minor dispute" under the
Railway Labor Act, and arbitration was Petitioner’s exclu-

3

sive remedy, and a suit ina federal court was a "second bite
at the apple", and the federal courts lacked jurisdiction.
This is in direct conflict with this court’s previous

opinions in AM v Street, Communication Workers v. Beck, |

in which this Court established First, Fifth and Fourteenth
Amendment rights, and in this case there is a Constitu-
tional crisis, which is presented for certiorari and review.

This petition seeks to review the denial of a writ of
mandamus by the United States Court of Appeals for the
Eleventh Circuit, dated February 23, 1994. EXHIBIT D and
denial of rehearsing dated, July 8, 1994. EXHIBIT E.

Petitioner was granted an extension of time to file the
instant petition for certiorari, the October 5, 1994 order is
attached as EXHIBIT G.

There are no issues as to statute of limitations, since the
final administrative remedies were concluded during 1992

and 1994.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS
FOR JURISDICTION
Petitioner’s due process rights have unquestionably
been denied by Judge K. Michael Moore’s prior conduct at
the U.S. Marshal Service, these actions which were based
upon the acceptance of illegal gratuities, in violation of
Federal Ethical Standards, raises serious and fatal con-
cerns as to his denial of Petitioner’s Constitutional rights
to Summary Judgements under Rule 56, Federal Rules of

Civil Procedures, and Local Rules 7.1 and 7.5, which state
in part:

Rule 56. Summary Judgement (a) for Claimant. A
part seeking to recover upon aclaim, ...at any time after
the expiration of 20 days from commencement of the
action . . . (c) Motions and Proceedings Thereon. ...
The judgement sought shall be rendered forthwith ifthe
pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories and
admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if any,
show there is no genuine issue as to any material fact
and that the moving party is entitled to a judgement as
a matter of law. (f) When Affidavits are Unavailable.
Should it appear from affidavits of a party opposing the
motion that the party cannot for reasons stated present
by affidavit facts essential to justify the party’s opposi
tion, the court may refuse the application for judgement
or may order a continuance to permit affidavits to be
obtained or depositions to be taken or discovery to be
had or may make such other order as is just.

5

Local RULE 7.1.C. Memorandum of Law. Each party
opposing a motion shall serve and file an opposing
memorandum of law. . . Failure to do so may be deemed
sufficient cause for granting the motion by default.

Local RULE 7.5 MOTIONS FOR SUMMARY JUDGE
MENT. Motions for summary judgement shall be
accompanied by a memorandum of law, necessary
affidavits, and a concise statement of the material facts
as to which the moving party contends there is no
genuine issue to be tried . . . All material facts set forth
in the statement required to be served by the moving
party will be deemed admitted unless controverted by
the opposing party’s statement.

"The plaintiff in an action in Federal District Court
cannot claim to have been 'railroaded’ by a premature
motion for summary judgement, where the motion is filed
12 months after the commencement of the action; any
potential problem with a premature motion can be ad-
equately dealt with under the Rule 56(f) of the Federal Rules
of Civil Procedure, which allows a summary judgement
motion to be denied, or the hearing on the motion to be
continued, if the nonmoving party has not had an oppor-
tunity to make full discovery" Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477
U.S. 317, at 321, and at 320 this Court further stated

“Federal Rules of Civil Procedure mandates the entry of

summary judgement, after adequate time for discovery and
upon motion, against a party who fails to make a showing
sullicient to establish the existence ol an element essential
to that party’s case, and on which that party will bear the
burden of proof at trial, in such situation, there can be no
genuine issue as to any material fact . . . the moving party
is entitled to judgement as a matter of law".

While Celotex Supra, and other cases decided by this
Court, were cases in which the moving parties were Defen-
dants, Petitioner invokes the Seventh Amendment herein,
and the same and exact standard should also apply to
nonmoving defendants, and Petitioner’s summary judge-
ment should be granted.

Defendants needed sufficient showing of an essential
element in their case, with respect to their burden of proof,
to demonstrate the District Court, that their action in the
discharge of the Petitioner did not violate the First, Fifth and
Fourteenth Amendments of the Constitution .

Defendant Air Line Pilots Association, ("ALPA") had a
duty to grant plaintiff's application for union membership,

prior to a demand for the forced collection of union dues,
7

|
|
|

under the Railway Labor Act, ("RLA") 2(11), Union Security
clause.

Delcudails ALPA, as plaitiff's union, and sole bargain-
ing representative, and Eastern Airlines, Inc., plaintiff's
employer had a duty to honor plaintiff's voluntary autho-
rization under the RLA’s 2(11) (b), and deduct his union
security obligation, since plaintiff had this authorization
continuously on file from December 1971, to at least
January, 1993.

Plaintiff did pay the union security payment requested,
none-the-less defendants terminated his employment on
June 17m 1986 for "failure to pay union dues".

Plaintiff is a minority under the law, and seeks the
protection of the Constitutions First, Fifth and Fourteenth
Amendments, see: International Association of Machinists

v. S.B. Street, 367 U.S. 740; Communications Workers of
America v. Harry E. Beck, 487 U.S. 735, since the termina-

tion of his employment was in clear and documented
violation of these Constitutional provisions and safeguards.
Defendants’ actions in further taking plaintiff's benefits

under the independent statutes of ERISA and Workers’
8

Compensation Laws, solely in moving the harsh and
punitive provisions of the RLA union Security, 45 U.S.C.
152 Eleventh, raises constitutional questions, if the First,
Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments allow these new puni-
tive provision to be so implemented.

Petitioner requested from the union, the cost of negotiating
and administering the agreement, to protect his rights in
free speech, and demanded union membership. These
rights have been recognized by this Court: "Congress
incorporated safeguards in the statute to protect dissenters’
interest . . . to prevent discharge of employees for
nonmembership where the union did not admit the em-
ployee to membership on racial grounds. International

Machinist v. Street, 367 U.S. 740, at 758.

While this Court has recognized the Constitutional
issues involving the forced collection of union dues, and has
also provided for the judicially created duty of fair represen-
tation, ("DFR"), "A union’s duty of fair representation is

akin to the duty owed by other fiduciaries to their benefi-
ciaries; see: Air Line Pilots Association v. O’Neill, 113 L.Ed

tits reer Tene a a

2d 51, at 54, which provides fertile judicial grounds for
certiorari and a decision which resolves the Constitutional
crisis herein.

Petitioner was discharged for the alleged failure to "pay
union dues", when the applicable law and agreement
required Petitioner to become a union member, which
Petitioner did attempt to do, or if Petitioner did not attempt
to become a union member to pay for the cost of negotiating
and administering the agreement. In this case, defendants

unlawfully used the narrow and constitutionally limited

union dues issue to punish an employee, see: Gellert v.

Eastern Air Lines, 370 So.2d 802, Eastern v. Gellert, 431

So.2d 329, and Eastern v. Gellert, 438 So.2d 923, and to

unlawfully use the RLA union security for their purpose.

10

Defendants Defaulted Under Rule 56

The instant petition is based upon exceptional circum-
stances, in which Petitioner’s summary judgements were
denied by a judge under criminal investigation, and ad-
equate relief cannot be obtained in any other form or from
any other court, and the granting of certiorari, will be in aid
of the Court's appellate jurisdiction.

Petitioner filed a motion for summary judgement against
defendant Travelers Insurance Corporation, ("Travelers"),
and the Pension Dispute Board, ("PDB"), on April 7, 1993.

Defendants Travelers and the PDB filed a "motion to
strike" with out one scintilla of evidence under Rule 56 and
completely disregarded the requirements of Rule 56 and
Local Rules 7.1 and 7.5. Motions are not a proper and
accepted method to respond to motions in general, but they
are considered fatal to nonmoving parties in opposition to
Rule 56 summary judgement motions.

In specific, motions "to strike" are proper only when used
against pleadings, and are inappropriate and cannot be

considered in a Rule 56 motion for summary judgement.

Superior Beverage Co. v. State of Ohio, 324 F.Supp. 564
11

ho iaeeeaeeeaeemamaiaiamiieemaaiiiaiel

(N.D. Ohio 1971), Sidney-Vinstein v. A.H. Robins Co., 697
F.2d 880 (9th Cir. 1983), Hrubec v. National Railroad

Passenger Corp., 829 F.Supp. 1502 (N.D. Ill. 1993), O'Connor

v. State of Nevada, 507 F.Supp. 546 (D. Nev. 1981).
All other defendants also defaulted in meeting their

specific burden under Rule 56 and Local Rules 7.1 and 7.5.
Defendant Eastern Airlines, Inc., ("Eastern"), also filed a
motion to strike, and defendants Air Line Pilots Associa-
tion, ("ALPA"), and the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corpora-
tion, ("PBGC") filed unresponsive motions to stay and
oppose. Defendants failed to file required and responsive
memorandums of law, and all defendants therefore are in
default, and Petitioner’s proper motions for summary

judgements should have been granted.

“Summary judgement procedure is properly regarded
not as disfavored procedural shortcut, but rather as an
integral part of the Federal Rules as a whole, which are
designed ’to secure the just, speedy and inexpensive
determination of every action’. . . there can be no
genuine issue as to any material fact’, since a complete
failure of proof concerning an essential element of the
nonmoving party’s case necessarily renders all other

facts immaterial." Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317
at 328 and 323.

12

Petitioner provided his voluntary authorization for the
deduction of his union security obligations, as received
from the files of defendant ALPA, and attached this with an
affidavit to his motions for summary judgement.

Defendant’s defense to this suit has been based solely
upon Petitioner's discharge of his employment, and this
discharge was for the alleged "failure to pay" his union
security obligations, which triggers Petitioner's First, Fifth
and Fourteenth Amendments rights, a burden which
defendants had to overcome in their response to a Rule 56
summary judgement motion, to which all defendants

defaulted.

13

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner was a long term pilot employee of defendant
Eastern Airlines, Inc., with an employment date of February
11, 1963, with the rank of Captain, and vested under the
Employee retirement Income Security Act, ("ERISA"), and
eligible for voluntary retirement on October 2, 1982.

Petitioner joined defendant Air Line Pilots Association,
("ALPA"), the exclusive bargaining representative of East-
ern pilots, and assigned a voluntary deduction for his union
security obligations under the Railway Labor Act, ("RLA"),
45 U.S.C. 152, Eleventh (b). during December 1971, and
has not executed a revocation, and this authorization was
continuously in effect at least until January 13, 1993, when
a copy of this was furnished to Petitioner from defendant's
ALPA/Herndon office by telephonic facsimile.

Petitioner was a plaintiff in a number of court cases
against Eastern, as to Eastern’s retaliation against Peti-
tioner, as to his testimony involving an L-1011 airline crash
in the Everglades near Miami in 1972, while Petitioner was
not on board, his testimony resulted in a modification of the

autopilot system.

14

Petitioner has been an outstanding Eastern pilot em-
ployee, and the controversy was not based on Petitioner's
rights under the agreement. but were based on laws,
regulation of the United States, as they applied to the safe
operation of aircraft in air commerce, and coming under the
Transportation Act.

Petitioner’s First, Second and Third Amendment Com-
plaints were dismissed sua sponte, and on motion, since
these complaints named two high ranking officials of the
union, and two high ranking officials of the employer as
defendants.

These four defendants also represented the union and
employer on the Pension Dispute Board, ("PDB") , this
board is authorized to hear pension disputes, created under
the provisions of ERISA, these members were fiduciary to
Petitioner’s pension claims.

The court granted these motion to dismiss with preju-
dice, based upon their position on this board, and assigned
them "arbital immunity". Petitioner’s suit documents that
these defendants had an interest in the outcome of

Petitioner’s pension claim, two of the defendants were also

15

beneficiary of the same and exact defendant plan, and as
union members used Petitioner’s discharge for the alleged
failure to pay union dues, to also deny his ERISA pension.

The other two defendants were high ranking officials of
defendant Eastern, and defendant Al Gibson, first covertly
approved Petitioner’s discharge, then as a fiduciary, also
denied Petitioner's vested ERISA pension benefit.

These defendants failed to call in a neutral, but ruled
against Petitioner in a four-man board, and therefore there

is no privilege, no arbital immunity. Intern. Union, United

Auto. WKRS. v. Greyhound Lines, 701 F2d. 1181 (1983)

The appeals court ruled that the district court’s order
was nota final order, EXHIBIT A., but the district court has
now granted arbital immunity to the other two defendants,
and failed to grant reconsideration, and with out the
intervention of this Court, Petitioner would be required to

proceed in a new suit against these defendants. Omnibus

Order On Pending Motions, dated September 13, 1993,

-EXHIBIT B., and Omnibus Order, dated April 14, 1994.
EXHIBIT C.

16

Petitioner has been provided prima facie evidence, which all
came from defendants, Treasurer Report of defendant
ALPA, which records over 34 million dollars spent for
political, organization expenses to which Petitioner ob-
jected. ALPA informed Petitioner: "Under Document 102
the costs of the arbitration are your responsibility since you
filed an appeal in this matter.", while the defendants and the
so called neutral arranged otherwise, which documents
fraud, and raises issues as to bribery ofa public official, and
raises issues if petitioner had a fair and impartial hearing
in this particular arbitration.

Petitioner has provided sufficient prima facie evidence to
invoke the jurisdiction of this Court on certiorari, as to
denial of due process, both in arbitration and the district
court below, defendants’ clandestine payment of money to
an arbitrator, discharge of employment and denial of ERISA
benefits by a fiduciary, and criminal investigation of the
trial judge.

17

ee

——— eT a ai aaa

a ee

ARGUMENT

The granting of this petition for certiorari will greatly aid
the Court’s appellate jurisdiction, as the exceptional cir-
cumstances in this cause bring considerations of Constitu-
tional questions under the First, Fifth, Seventh and Four-
teenth Amendments, and adequate relief cannot be ob-
tained in any other form and from any other court.

The United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit,
has sanctioned and departed from accepted and usual
course of judicial proceedings, in denying a writ of manda-
mus to examine Petitioner’s due process rights under the
Fifth Amendment.

The Constitution guarantees judicial integrity, free from
a taint of criminal wrong doing, and protects citizens in
their pursuit of justice. Petitioner could not receive a fair
and impartial hearing in the district court while the judge
was under criminal investigation. The allegations of crimi-
nal wrong doing was based upon bribery, and violations of
federal ethical standards in the acceptance of gratuities.

Petitioner has protection under the Fifth Amendment’s
18

due process clause, since the judge below has used the
awesome power of the district court to deny Petitioner's
rights to summary judgements under Rule 56 Fed.R.Civ.P.,
raising a clear violation of Petitioner's Seventh Amendment
rights to a speedy, and inexpensive resolution of the instant
action, a right which has been recognized by this Court in
many prior cases.

Petitioner has met all procedural requirements for the
entry of his motions for summary judgements, nor have
defendants raised, or the court below found any procedural
defects, and this Court has found that a period of one year,
prevents the nonmoving party from claims of being rail-
roaded, and Rule 56(f), also provides reliefif further discov-
ery should be required, and therefore petitioner's motions
should have been granted under Celotex Supra, Anderson
Supra, and Matsushita Supra._

Petitioner has also met the governing substantive law
requirements, as this Court has established Constitutional
rights under the First, Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments
under the forced collection of union dues, IAM v. Street

Supra.
19

Petitioner's material facts have established that there
are no genuine issues between the parties, defendants have
no admissible evidence upon which a jury could rule in
their behalf, and Petitioner’s summary judgement should
have been granted as a matter of law.

Petitioner provided evidence from defendants’ own files,
ONE, that Petitioner applied for union membership, and
while this application was pending, defendant ALPA re-
quested his discharge for the non-payment of union dues.
TWO, defendants had in their files, voluntary union dues
deduction authorizations, current and in effect from De-
cember, 1971 at least until January 13, 1993.

THREE, Petitioner objected under the Constitution to the
use of his money for political purposes, and as a non-
member objected to the payment of money beyond the cost
of negotiating and administering the contract.

FOUR, Petitioner did pay the money demanded by defen-
dant ALPA, including those earmarked for that union’s
political purposes.

FIVE, Defendants also included Petitioner's independent

rights under the Employee Retirement Income Security
20

Act, and Worker Compensation Laws in the harsh and
punitive provisions of the forced collection of union dues,
and have used an unlawful discharge under the torced
collection of union dues, to also include the loss of benefits
under these statutes.

SIX, Defendant ALPA, as the sole bargaining agent repre-
senting Petitioner, has denied its duty of fair representa-
tion, and has joined the other defendants to unlawfully
discharge Petitioner’s employment, for reasons other than
those recognized under the provisions of the RLA’s (2)1 1th,
Union Security.

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court has recognized

Petitioner's Constitutional rights under the First, Fifth and
Fourteenth Amendments of the Constitution, under the
provisions of the Railway Labor Act’s (2)11th, forced collec-
tion of union dues. This Court has not ruled on an actual
discharge of a minority employee, who was denied union
membership, and as a non-member objected to the use of
his dues for political purposes, and had voluntary autho-

rization for the deduction of his dues, and finally paid the

money demanded, including those for political purposes, in
21

clear violation of the Constitution.

Based upon the foregoing facts, this Petition for Writ of
Certiorari should be granted. ‘ihe Supreme Court should
resolve these Constitutional questions, and grant the relive
requested, since adequate relief cannot be obtained in any
other form or from any other court.

These extraordinary circumstances provide for granting
certiorari, and the resolution of Petitioner’s rights under

the Constitution.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/
Daniel Gonzales Geller, in pro se
P. O. Box 320370

Cocoa Beach,

Florida 32932

(407) 783-9412

22

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I HEREBY CERTIFY, that a true and correct copy of the

foregoing has been served this day of

199 __, by U.S. Mail to:

Mr. Drew S. Days Ill
Solicitor General

U.S. Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530

Mr. Miguel J. Cortez, J
U.S. Court of Appeals for
the Eleventh Circuit

56 Forsyth Street, N.W.
Atlanta, GA 30303

Office of the Clerk, for

Hon. K. Michael Moore

U.S. District Court for the
Southern District of Florida
301 North Miami Avenue
Miami, FL 33128

Mr. Robert R. Kofman, Esq.
Attorney for Defendant ALPA
150 West Flagler Street
Suite 2000 Museum Tower
Miami, FL 33130

23

Mark Hicks, Esq.

New World Tower, Ste 2403
100 North Biscayne Blvd.
Miami, FL 33132

Attorney for Defendant
Travelers Insurance Co.

Maurice Baumgarten, Esq.
Ste 3300 Int'l Place

100 S.E. Second Street
Miami, FL 33131

Attorney for Defendant
Eastern Airlines, Inc.

General Counsel
PBGC

(next page)

General Counsel

Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation
1200 K. Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20005

/s/

DANIEL GONZALES GELLERT
in pro se

P. O. Box 320270

Cocoa Beach, FL 32932

(407) 783-9412

24

LL pitta, | « = —————eoiOr Eee

Appendix

25

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

NO. 92-4091

DANIEL G. GELLERT,
Plaintiff-Appellant,

versus

EASTERN AIR LINES FLXED BENEFIT
RETIREMENT INCOME PLAN FOR PILOTS,
an employee benefit pension plan,
EASTERN AIRLINES, INC., solely as
Administrator of such defendant,
WILLIAM R. TEGTMAN, NOEL HONOHAN,
CHARLES COPELAND, JACK N. MOGUS,
ALAN G. GIBSON and PENSION BENEFIT
GUARANTY CORPORATION,
Defendants-Alleppees,
EASTERN AIRLINES PILOTS RETIREMENT BOARD,
ETC.,
Defendants.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Florida

Filed November 20, 1992

Before FAY, DUBINA, and BLACK, Circuit Judges.
BY THE COURT:

26

The appellees’ motions to dismiss the appeal are
GRANTED. The district court's orders granting the
motion to dismiss of appellees Mogus and Copeland and
directing the entry of a final judgement in their favor are
not final and appealable because the district court did
not make the express determination that there was no
just reason for delay in the entry of judgement as re-
quired by Fed.R.Civ.P. 54(b). 28 U.S.C. Par. 1291; see
Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Mestre, 701 F.2d 1365, 1368-69
(11th Cir.) cert. denied, 464 U.S. 893 (1983). That is

especially true in this case since appellant has filed
amended complaints, which are presently pending in
the district court, attempting to reassert claims against
Mogus and Copeland. Accordingly, this appeal is DIS-
MISSED for lack of jurisdiction

EXHIBIT A

27

Excerpts from: © UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

CASE NO. 90-1113-CIV-MOORE

DANIEL G. GELLERT,
Plaintiff,

VS.

EASTERN AIRLINES FLXED BENEFIT
RETIREMENT INCOME PLAN FOR PILOTS
et. al.,

Defendant

Filed Sept. 13, 1993

OMNIBUS ORDER ON PENDING MOTIONS
L MOTION TO DISMISS

Defendants William Tegtman and Alan Gibson
sought dismissal of Plaintiff's action against them be-
cause of their status as members of the Railway Labor
Act ("RLA") dispute board. Judge Federico A. Moreno
previously dismissed Plaintiff's action, with prejudice,
against several members of the RLA dispute board, i.e.
Jack Mogus and Charles Copeland because of that same
status. See Order of Judge Moreno, entered September
4, 1991 (citations omitted). Plaintiff alleges that Gibson
and Tegtman were members of the RLA dispute board. |

28

See Fourth Amended Complaint at Par. 15 and 16,
respectively. Accordingly, Defendants Tegtman and
Gibson are dismissed from this action with prejudice
consistent with the law of this case. Defendant's Motion
to Dismiss (DE #123) is GRANTED.
V. MOTIONS FOR SUMMARY JUDGEMENT
Plaintiff filed numerous motions for summary
judgement during the pendence of the motions to strike
the Third and Fourth Amended Complaints. Accord-
ingly, Plaintiff's Motions for Summary Judgement based
upon failure to respond to discovery or the Amended

Complaints are DENIED.

DONE AND ORDERED in chambers at the United
States Courthouse, Federal Courthouse Square, Miami,
Florida this 10th day of September, 1993.

/s/

K. MICHAEL MOORE
UNITED STATES DISTRICT

COURT JUDGE

cc:
Daniel Gellert, pro se
Counsel of Record

EXHIBIT B

29

Excerpt from:

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA
MIAMI DIVISION

Case No. 90-1113-CIV-MOORE

DANIEL G. GELLERT,
Plaintiff,

VS.

EASTERN AIRLINES FIXED BENEFIT
RETIREMENT INCOME PLAN FOR PILOTS et.
= Defendants

Filed on April 14, 1994

OMNIBUS ORDER

The Court places the Plaintiff on notice that if he
files additional summary judgement motions without
leave he will be subject to sanctions, including the dis-

missal of his complaint.

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED as follows:

a Plaintiffs Motions for Summary Judgement
(DE #230); (DE #240); (DE#244); and (DE#252) is
hereby DENIED.

30

DONE AND ORDERED in Chambers at Miami,
Florida, this 15th day of April, 1994.
/s/

K. MICHAEL MOORE
UNITED STATES DISTRICT

JUDGE

copies provided:
Counsel of Record

EXHIBIT C
31

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

NO. 93-4928

IN RE:
DANIEL G. GELLERT,

Petitioner.

Filed Feb. 23, 1994

On Petition for Writ of Mandamus to the
United States District Court for the
Southern District of Florida

Before: ANDERSON, COX and BLACK, Circuit Judges.
BY THE COURT:

Petitioner's application for a writ of mandamus is
DENIED because petitioner has an adequate remedy by

appeal.

32 EXHIBIT D

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 93-4928

Filed July 8, 1994

IN RE:
DANIEL G. GELLERT,
Petitioner

On Petition for Writ of Mandamus to the
United States District Court for the
Southern District of Florida

BEFORE: ANDERSON, COX and BLACK, Circuit
Judges.

BY THE COURT:

Petitioner's "Suggestion of Rehearing In BANC,"
treated as a motion for reconsideration of this Court's
order dated February 23, 1994, denying his petition for
writ of mandamus, is DENIED.

EXHIBIT E.

33

USC
RAILWAY LABOR ACT

45 Par. 152

Eleventh Union security agreement; check-off

Notwithstanding any other provision of this chap-
ter, or of any other statute or law of the United States, or
Territory thereof, or of any State, any carrier or carriers
as defined in this chapter and a labor organization or
labor organizations duly designated and authorized to
represent employees in accordance with the require-
ments of this chapter shall be permitted --

(a) to make agreements, requiring, as a condition
of continued employment, that within sixty days follow-
ing the beginning of such employment, or the effective
date of such agreements, whichever is the later, all em-
ployees shall become members of the labor organization
representing their craft or class; Provided, That no such
agreement shall require such condition of employment
with respect to employees to whom membership is not
available upon the same terms and conditions as are
generally applicable to any other member or with respect
to employees to whom membership was denied or termi-

34

ployee to tender the periodic dues, initiation fees, and
assessments (not including fines and penalties) uni-
formly required as a condition of acquiring or retaining
membership

(b) to make agreements providing for the deduc-
tions by such carrier or carriers from the wages of its or
their employees in a craft or class and payment to the
labor organization representing the craft or class of
such employees, of any periodic dues, initiation fees,
and assessments (not including fines and penalties)
uniformly required as a condition of acquiring or re-
taining membership: Provided, That no such agree-
ment shall be effective with respect to any individual
employee until he shall have furnished the employer
with a written assignment to the labor organization of
such membership dues, initiation fees, and assess-
ments, which shall be revocable in writing after the
expiration of one year or upon the termination date of
the applicable collective agreement, whichever occurs

sooner.

EXHIBIT F.

Supreme Court of the United States
No. A-264

Daniel G. Gellert
Petitioner

Vv

United States District Court for the
Southern District of Florida

ORDER

UPON CONSIDERATION of the application of
petitioner,

IT IS ORDERED that the time for filing a petition
for a writ of certiorari in the above-entitled case, be and

the same is hereby, extended to and including December
5, 1994.

/s/
Anthony M. Kennedy

Associate Justice of the Supreme
Court of the United States

Dated this 17th
day of October, 1994.
EXHIBIT G

36

lieeeeeeesemeeteenteemertetaassciasataciicaasiiaiiiaiiaiamiaaiaiaaeaiial

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0948%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
