# Amicus Curiae Brief — Virginia Gasoline Marketers & Automotive Repair Ass'n v. Mobil Oil Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0933%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1995
- **Citation:** 513 U.S. 1148

## Text

PREG oul, 8.
EIEED

JAN 23 1995

n" “fe 4 1 ise ©. #res

?

ae

No. 94 - 1000 ‘

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF
THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1994
VIRGINIA GASOLINE MARKETERS COUNCIL,
Petitioner

Ve

MOBIL OIL CORPORATION,
Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

AMICUS CURIAE BRIEF
OF SERVICE STATION DEALERS OF AMERICA
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

Dimitri G. Daskalopoulos

The Daskal Law Group

700 13th St. N.W.

Suite 950

Washington, D.C. 20005

(202) 434-4545

(301)261-8880

Counsel of Record for Amicus Curiae

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Whether rules’. of implied
preemption, such as a holding that a
federal law “occupies the field" has
any application where the _ statute
contains an express preemption
provision ?

2. Whether the Petroleum Marketing
Practices Act, 15 USC 2801 et. seq.
gives petroleum franchisors the right
to be free of state regulation of the
substance of franchise agreements by
reason of federal preemption, or
whether the view of other Courts such
as the First Circuit and the dissent
that the statute does not give such
protection is the correct view ?

3. Whether the 4th Circuit erred in
applying preemption decisions under
the Airline Deregulation Act and the
Employment Retirement Security Act to
the Petroleum Marketing Practices Act
provisions, which expressly use a
different preemption test ?

4. Whether Virginia law governs the
relationship between Virginia based
Mobil Oil Corporation and Virginia
dealers; or whether the Petroleum
Marketing Practices Act demands the
creation of a body of federal common
law to govern motor fuel franchises ?

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Questions Presented. i
Table of Contents... ii
Table of Authorities iii

Interest of Amicus and
Summary of Argument... 1

ARGUMENT....... 21

I. Background of the PMPA
tenheeasae

II. Structure of the PMPA
ree 2 |

III. The Preemption Provision and Its
Legislative History
coun

IV. Express vs. Implied Preemption
Analysis
svedl
V. The First Circuit and other Courts
Correctly Interpret The PMPA
Preemption Provision..... 34

VI. The 4th Circuit Majority Erred in
Applying the "Related To" Test of
ERISA to the PMPA......... 38

V. The PMPA Does Not Create. Federal
en EO nce ccccees esseaee OO

CONCLUSION ........ cecccccece 40

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES

California v. ARC America,

490 U.S. 93 (1989)... 43
Campbell v. Hussey

368 U.S. 297 (1961)....9

Cippolone v. The Liggett Group,

510 U.S. » 442 &.CO. 2608. .32,33

Darling v. Mobil Oil Corp.
864 F.2d 981 (2nd Cir. 1989)...37,38

Esso Standard Oil Company v. Dept. of
Consumer Affairs,
793 F.2d 431 (lst Cir. 1985)

34,35, 36,37,38
Jiminez v. BP Oil Co.;
853 F.2d 268 (4th Cir. 1988)....3,4
Lippo v. Mobil Oil Corp.
776 F.2d 706, (7th Cir. 1985)... 14
Morales v. Trans World Airlines,
510 U.S. ,112 S.Ct. 2031 (1992)... 12
O'Melveny and Myers v. FDIC,
512 US__, 129 L.Ed 2d 67 (1994)
ere, rere ee Tee rerey? | Pe yre
Shaw v. Delta Airlines
463 U.S. GS (1985) secese 11, 12
Slatky v. Amoco Oil Co.,
830 F.2d 476(3rd Cir.in banc 1987)
were ey |
Wingard v. Exxon Co. USA,

819 F.Supp 473 (D. S.C. 1993)

STATUTES & LEGISLATIVE HISTORY
Te << So pearerper By

15 UBC 2002 (Bisesecccss 5

15 USC 2802 (b)(2)(a) .-.8

15 USC 2802 (b)(2)(C)....7

15 USC 2802(c) (11)......-7

Te 2 ag pEeeee

te. > ere =

1978 U.S.Code Cong. & Ad. News 873
cneceseetenenconces Ben gateae
Cong. Record
April 5, 1977 p. 10378,83 .....
25,26

Hearings on HR13000 before the
Subcommittee on Energy and Power of
the Committee on Interstate and
Foreign Power (94th Cong., 2d Sess.),
oeteee oes 608 00656446 6640046086688 FER
Public Law No. 103-371(1994)

ooee 13,415,200

VA. CODE ANN. 59.1-21.14..... 23

VA. CODE ANN. 59-1.21.15...... 24
MISCELLANEOUS

1994 National Petroleum News Factbook.

WrerTrTreorcre rer TT 2

"Judicial Interpretation of the

Petroleum Marketing Practices:

Conflict and Diversity." 32 Emory
L.J.273 (1983) -ccccccccccel -

L.Tribe, American Constitutional Law ,
2nd Ed 1986..cecee skeennaes or |

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS
AND _ SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

In the seventeen (17 years) since
its enactment, and through 1994
amendments, the statute which governs
franchise terminations and non-
renewals in an industry that affects
the daily life of almost’ every
American, the Petroleum Marketing
Practices Act, has gone without review
by this Court. Lower courts continue
to engage in a struggle, a struggle
that led one commentator to call her
law review article "Judicial
Interpretation of the Petroleum
Marketing Practices: Conflict and

Diversity.” 32 Emory L.J.273.

Nowhere has this conflict been

. Paes

more keenly felt that in the area of
federal preemption; where the rules
are determined by where you live and
work.

This is an industry that
registered over $ 120 billion dollars
in sales last year; with over 50% of
that total being registered through
the 50,000 plus independent service
station dealers represented by the
SSDA. See generally, 1994 National
Petroleum News Factbook. It is a
highly visible industry that dots the
major intersections throughout’ the
country. While the Court has found
time to hear cases dealing with the
minutia of other statutes; gasoline

retailers have had to continue to deal

with the conflict that only this Court

Ue noray vodaers Se 4

can resolve.

The tension is seen in the two
opinions under review, which cite the
same cases from other jurisdictions
for support of their diametrically
opposing views. Indeed, the author of
the 4th Circuit opinion expressly
relied on a previous decision he had

authored, Jiminez v. BP Oil Co.; 853

F.2d 268 (4th Cir. 1988); in which he
noted that the 4th Circuit panel took
a much more expansive view of federal
preemption than other Circuits.(" if
this Court reads the preemption
section of the PMPA as narrowly as
those Courts did (the 2nd and 6th
Circuits, Jiminez might be correct in
arguing that the goodwill provision of

the Maryland Act must be spared from

preemption...) 853 F.2d @ 273, 274
nl.

The 4th Circuit majority view of
the scope of the preemption provision
irreconcilably conflicts with
decisions not only of the 2nd and 6th
Circuits, as it candidly acknowledged
in Jiminez; it also strongly and
irreconcilably conflicts with on point
decisions of the First Circuit; and
decisions of the 7th and 9th Circuits,
which hold that state contract law,
not federal common law will apply to
motor fuel franchises.

The real world effect is that
those of us who counsel the hundreds
of thousands of men and women who work
in this industry cannot give our

clients good advice as to what the

Ss OE 40 SG toa linas Reig

governing law is.

In addition, the Courts’ use
different preemption tests; with some
applying implied preemption
principals; as the 4th Circuit did
here. These principals should have no
application in light of the limited,
express preemption provision of the
statute.

This issue has been touched upon

in Freightliner Corp. v. Myrick,

scheduled for argument this term. The
SSDA and its members have a powerful
interest in seeing consistent
preemption analysis.

The federal statute simply
prohibits all terminations and non-
renewals of motor fuel franchises as a

general rule. 15 USC 2802 (a).

It then specifies exceptions to

the general rule; 15 USC 2802(b); that
a franchisor must prove exist as an
affirmative defense; 15 USC 2805.

The Act contains an express and
carefully circumscribed preemption
provision, 15 USC 2806 which states
that

To the extent a provision of the Act

applies to a termination or non-
renewal, a state may not adopt enforce
or continue in effect any provision of
any law or regulation, with respect to
the termination or non-renewal at
issue, unless the provision is the
same _as the applicable provision of
the PMPA.

We believe the key provisions are

"To the extent"; "with respect to the

Piette. Deca sRi i iat tient si

termination or non-renewal" and "the
same as”.

PMPA preempts state law only IF
it applies, and then only
"to the extent” it applies. The
"extent" to which it applies is to set
a broad legal standard. State law-
tells us what meets the PMPA standard.

For example, 15 USC 2802(b) (2) (c)
allows termination upon the occurrence
of an event making termination
reasonable. 15 USC 2802(c) (11)
provides that one such event is a
failure by the franchisee to comply
with state and local laws.

There is a critical distinction
between substituting a state law
termination standard, such -as "good

cause" for the PMPA termination

standard, and the application of state

law to the PMPA standards.

For example, PMPA allows
termination where there is a "failure"
by the franchisee to comply with a
reasonable and material "provision of
the franchise". 15 USC 2802(a)

We agree that a franchisee could
not defeat a termination action based
upon a claim that though the PMPA
termination standard is meet, the
termination cannot go forward because
state law imposes a "good cause”
termination standard that is not meet.

On the other hand, franchise
agreements are creatures of state law.
If under the state law that governs
the underlying agreement law;

something does not qualify as a

a ES le, Rae dota EA

"provision of the franchise", in the
first place, then the PMPA standard
is not met.

This decision holds that state
law is to be totally ignored, in spite
of the express provisions in the 1978
Act and the 1994 Amendments
incorporating state law into the PMPA.

This is why the issue of the
appropriateness of application of
implied preemption where the statute
has an express preemption provision is
of such concern and interest to the
SSDA.

Under "field preemption"
principals, applied by the 4th Circuit
in this case, all state law is ousted,
whether or not it is consistent with

or identical to the federal

regulation. See, e.g. Campbell _ v.

Hussey 368 U.S. 297 (1961).

The express provisions of this
statute allow for consistent and
identical state regulation. For the
second time, a 4th Circuit panel has
applied the idea that PMPA “occupies
the field" of termination and non-
renewal; and rejected the holding of a
sister Circuit in a case on all fours.

Next, the PMPA preempts only
state laws "with respect to
termination". The term “with respect
to" connotes specificity and was used
by Congress in order to limit the
reach of the PMPA preemption
provision. The 4th Circuit read this
term broadly based upon the much more

general term "related to” found in

10

ERISA and the Airline Deregulation
Act.

Unlike ERISA, the preemptive
scope of PMPA is limited to the
specific subject matter covered by the
Act. In particular, we would direct
the Courts' attention to the analysis
in Shaw v. Delta Airlines 463 U.S. 85,
at 96, 97, and especially page 98 (103
S.Ct. 2900) where the Court rejected
the idea that ERISA preemption was
limited to the specific subject
matters covered by the statute.

In Shaw, the Court held the term
“related to" was used in ERISA in its
broad sense, and thus, the ERISA
preemption provision could not _ be
limited only to state laws

specifically designed to affect

11

employee benefit plans. Id.

Moreover, the Court further noted
that given the legislative history,
the ERISA provision could not be
limited to the subject matter relating
to the specific subject matter covered
by ERISA. The original ERISA bill
contained a preemption clause that was
limited to the specific subject
matters covered by ERISA; just as the
PMPA provision is limited. The limited
ERISA preemption provision did not
survive the conference committee. Id.
@ n.17,18,19.

That is why ERISA, and_ the
Airline Deregulation Act as
interpreted in Morales v. Trans World
Airlines, 112 S.Ct. 2031, (a decision

that relies heavily on Shaw, 112 S.Ct.

12

at 2036, 2037, and in turn was heavily

relied upon by the 4th Circuit)
preempt broadly, unlike PMPA.

This opinion rewrites the
carefully circumscribed PMPA
preemption provision to read like that
of ERISA or the ADA.

The PMPA, as repealed, and
reenacted by this opinion now reads:

"This Act shall preempt any and
all State laws insofar as they may
now, or hereinafter relate to
termination or non-renewal."

The lengthy, convoluted PMPA
language does not say that or mean
that.

Finally, SSDA vigorously contends
that state laws that regulate the

content of petroleum industry

13

franchise agreements are not only the
same as the PMPA - they are one and
the same therefore they are not
preempted.

The PMPA fails to address the
issue of the content of franchise

agreements. Last term, in O'Melveny

and Myers v. FDIC, 512 US___, 129 L.Ed
2d 67 (1994); the Court held that
matters left unaddressed in a federal
statute are presumably left subject to
state law. 129 L.Ed 2d @ 74.

The panel majority, by wiping out
the Virginia law, would force the
creation of federal common law rules,
thus conflicting with the law of other
Circuits such as the 7th, which
correctly apply state law. See, e.g.,

Lippo v. Mobil Oil Corp. 776 F.2d 706,

14

712 (7th Cir. 1985).

Franchise agreements, other
contracts and corporations are
creatures of state law, not federal
common law. Our view that the PMPA
term "provisions of the franchise"
must be viewed against the backdrop of
the state law that gave birth to the
underlying contractual agreements is
supported by the 1994 Amendments,
Public Law 103-371.

The Amendments amend the failure
definition, 15 USC 2801(13), to
prohibit franchise terminations based
upon provisions of the franchise which
are illegal or unenforceable under the
law of any State; and add an anti-
waiver provision, amending 15 ‘USC 2805

to provide that the law governing the

15

franchise agreement will be the law of
the franchisees home state.

Finally, it is important to note
that this case arises in the context
of a declaratory judgment where there
were no terminations or non-renewals.
The PMPA preempts only where it
actually "applies to a termination or
non-renewal". This opinion would
apparently find preemption in all
contexts; a holding that is clearly
wrong.

We have tried in this summary to
present a brief and straight forward
analysis based upon the plain language
of the statute.

The conflict and diversity which
this Court needs to address stem in

large part from application of implied

16

le tla ie ail

preemption tests; and from Courts
assigning different weight to
different statutory goals in applying
those tests.

PMPA simply sets forth uniform
federal termination standards which
state law cannot replace; but can be
applied to. This "uniformity" is in no
way disserved by application of state
law to the PMPA standards.

The disservice to the law, to the
industry, and to the motoring public
comes when in the name of "uniformity"
Courts misapply implied preemption and
threaten to leave us awash in federal
common law, exactly what this Court

proscribed in O'Melveny & Myers, 112

L.Ed 2d @ 76.

The SSDA was the prime mover of

17

the 1978 Act; and would have violently
opposed an ERISA type preemption that
was not limited to the specific
subject matter covered by the federal
act.

As elegantly set forth in the
dissent, and discussed in detail
supra, ANY state law that regulates
the content of a franchise agreement,
would be preempted under the expansive
reading of preemption given by the 4th
Circuit, irrespective of the context
of the case.

Mobil argued below, and may argue
here, that some laws would escape
preemption, but fails to identify
such, and more importantly, fails to
identify any principled distinction

upon which such a finding would rest.

18

The majority held that a state
law regulating the content of a
petroleum industry franchise could not
escape preemption based upon the
argument that it is "the same as" the
applicable provision of the PMPA,
because the PMPA is silent on this
issue.

Thus, under their view, any law
that says anything, such as a state
antitrust law that bars exclusive
dealing provisions could be preempted
because it is not "the same as" the
applicable PMPA provision. This is
Clearly wrong.

For if the state law is stricken
down, a vacuum occurs that can only be
filled by creation of federal common

law.

19

The problem is graphically
illustrated by the facts of this case;
where Virginia law is held to be null
and void with respect to the franchise
agreements between er Virginia
corporation and Virginia dealers.

This is not a situation this
vital industry can tolerate. We must
know what law governs.

Again, we believe that the 1994
Amendments to the Act; which were
enacted after this decision was
rendered make clear that the governing
law is not federal common law, rather
it is the law of the franchisee's home
state, and at a minimum, the case
should be remanded for reconsideration
in light of the 1994 Amendments.

Nevertheless, in the interest of

20

industry efficiency and judicial
economy; the time has come - indeed it
is long overdue for this Court to at
last consider the Petroleum Marketing
Practices Act and the scope of its
preemption provision.

This is the single most watched,
and most important case that has come
down the "PMPA Pike".

It is so important that the SSDA
was granted leave to engage and oral
argument before the 4th Circuit; and
we will respectfully request that the
same privilege be granted from this
Court.

This is truly the one PMPA case
that the Court must hear.

ARGUMENT

I. BACKGROUND OF THE PMPA

21

During the 1970's; both Congress
and state legislatures conducted
extensive hearings into reports of a
pattern oof abuse by major oil
companies of their franchise
relationships with service station
dealers.

Several states reacted to this
pattern of abuse by enacting laws
governing the entire "lifecycle" of
the petroleum product franchise
relationship from pre-sale disclosure,
to course of dealing and course of
performance, and ending with
termination and non-renewal. Other
state laws were more limited in that
they simply regulated grounds for and
notice of termination and/or

nonrenewal. These laws used a variety

22

[indies with ehanan:

of termination standards, such as good
cause, objective reasonableness, and
subjective good faith. Several
contained “laundry lists" of what
constituted "good cause", and the
notice provisions varied from state to
state.

In enacting the PMPA in 1978,

Congress took this limited approach to

regulating the franchise relationship.

Other states went further by
specifying what substantive provisions
could be included in the franchise
agreements.

In 1975 Virginia enacted
legislation that not only specified
grounds for and notice of termination
(See VA. CODE ANN. 59.1-21:14) and

substantive franchise terms (See VA.

23

CODE ' ANN. 59-1.21.15), but also
mandated disclosure of certain items
to prospective franchisees (See VA.
CODE ANN. 59.1-21.15). However, many
other states had not acted, prompting
a call for federal legislation.

Oil companies such as _ Mobil
argued that legislation regulating
petroleum industry franchises was not
necessary:

"Title I is allegedly designed to
protect franchised dealers from bad
marketing practices. The language of
the bill, however, can only protect
the small percentage of dealers that
are failures as businessmen or unable
or unwilling to provide their
customers with value for services
rendered. This provision would
provide this type of retailer with a
degree of security unknown to all
other retailers and would be an
invitation to abuse the franchise. As
such, this bill is anti-consumer and
no benefit to the 98% or so of service
station dealers who ar successful and
satisfied with their contractual
rights. There must be literally

24

thousands of dealers across’ the
country who would support that view
and be willing to testify." {Hearings
on HR13000 before the Subcommittee on
Energy and Power of the Committee on
Interstate and Foreign Power (94th
Cong., 2d Sess.), Statement of Mobil
Oil Corp. at p. 396] (hereinafter
"House Hearings on HR 13000, su ra.").

These arguments proved unavailing:

"(Tjhe very act of passing the PMPA
indicated Congress’ rejection of the
view advanced by the major gasoline
retailers that remedial legislation
was unnecessary because the interests
of distributors and franchisees were
in harmony."

Slatky v. Amoco Oil Corp., 830 F.2d

476 at 483 (3rd Cir. en banc, 1987).
The explicitly stated purpose of
the Act was to "provide for the
protection of franchised distributors
and retailers of motor fuel .. . and
to prevent deterioration of
competition in gasoline marketing."

(123 Cong.Rec. 4/5/77, p. H10378,

ao

pes
5

Statement of Rep. John Dingell (the
primary author of PMPA)).

As a result, the Circuits have
uniformly held that the PMPA's primary
purpose is protection of franchisees.
This in turn requires a narrow
construction of the expressly limited
preemption provision.

Those courts which have broadly
construed the preemption provision
have usually relied on the idea that
the state law is preempted because it
restricted "franchisor flexibility",
and thus conflicts with a goal or
objective of the federal law.

This flexibility was largely
unchecked prior to the passage of
PMPA. The passage of the PMPA limited

the flexibility of franchisors such as

26

Mobil. It was not the intent of
Congress to allow the remaining
flexibility to subvert the primary
purpose of the Act, franchise
protection. Id.

II. The Structure of the PMPA

The principal substantive
requirement of the Act is set forth in
Section 102(a): a general prohibition
on termination of any franchise or
nonrenewal of the franchise
relationship (the ongoing business
relationship, past, present and
future, between the dealer and the oil
company. 15 U.S.C. 2802(a)

As stated in the Senate Report:
"([Tjermination is an extreme remedy.
It is fundamentally punitive-and not

compensatory in nature." S. Rep. 95-

27

732, p- 18 (95th Cong., 2d Sess.),
repr., U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 873,
876 (1978).

Section 102(b) sets out’ the

exceptions to the general rule. 15
U.S.C. 2802(b), 2803. The Senate
Report’ states: "EXCEPTIONS are

provided in subsection (b) of 102 and
in section 103." S.Rep. supra at 33,
U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News at 891
(1978).

All the PMPA does is set forth a
general prohibition on all
terminations or non-renewals; and then

set forth affirmative defenses. The

construction of the PMPA urged by
Mobil would have the exceptions
swallow the rule, and thus, violate

the rules of statutory construction.

28

i easeaeeeeerereeeiinieaiaaitaiimmeeael

III. The Language and Legislative
History
15 U.S.C. 2806(a) states:

"To the extent that any provision of
this subchapter applies to the
termination (oc the furnishing of
notification with respect thereto) of
any franchise, or to the nonrenewal
(or the furnishing of notification
with respect thereto) of any franchise
relationship, no State or any
political subdivision thereof may
adopt, enforce or continue in effect
any provision of any law or regulation
(including any remedy or penalty
applicable to any violation thereof )

with respect to termination (or the

furnishing of notification with
respect thereto) of any such franchise
or to the nonrenewal (or the
furnishing of notification with
respect thereto) of any such franchise
relationship unless such provision of
such law or regulation is the same as
the applicable provision of this
subchapter." (emphasis added).

This preemption is limited in
scope because the PMPA is limited in
scope.

That Congress intended a limited

29

preemption is beyond dispute.

The Committee Reports explain: "
Needed is a single, uniform set of
rules governing the grounds’ for
termination and non-renewal of motor
fuel franchises, and the notice which
franchisors must provide franchisees

prior to the termination of a

franchise or non-renewal of a
franchise relationship...the
preemption provisions of the

legislation ARE LIMITED TO state

provisions of state law dealing with
termination or _non-renewal of
franchise relationships. " Sen. Report
# 95-731, reprinted in 1978 U.S. Code,
Cong. & Ad. News 873.

The writ should be_- granted

because the majority, unlike other

30

Courts, fails to heed these limits.
IV. EXPRESS v. IMPLIED PREEMPTION
Rules of implied preemption, such
as a holding that state law may
present an obstacle to Congressional
goals, or that Congress has occupied a
field so as to leave no room for state
regulation have no place in preemption
analysis under the PMPA.
"The governing federal statute may,
however, restrict its own preemptive
scope...When this is the case it seems
quite improper for a court even to ask
whether a challenged state law which
clearly purports to require no such
thing nonetheless "conflicts" in some
more nebulous sense with the federal
statute or its objectives. To engage

in such a broader inquiry is to forget

31

that preemption is ultimately a matter
of construing a federal statute, when
that statute contains its own
preemption or anti-preemption
provision, a court that fails to give
that provision dispositive effect and
instead applies its own preemption
criteria is illegitimately
disregarding the source of its own
authority, and regardless of where its
preemption inquiry leads _ it, is
pursuing a fundamentally lawless

path." L.Tribe, American

Constitutional Law , 2nd Ed 1988 @ 482

n.B.
In Cippolone _v. The Liggett
Group, 510 U.S. , 112 S.Ct. 2666,

the Court held that the preemptive

scope of the Federal Cigarette

32

Labeling and Advertising Act was

"governed entirely by the express
language of each Act. When Congress
has considered the issue of
preemption, and has included in the
enacting legislation a _ provision
explicitly addressing that issue, and
when that provision provided a
reliable indicium of Congressional
intent with respect to state
authority, there is no need to infer
congressional intent to preempt state
laws from the substantive provisions
of the legislation. Such reasoning is
a variant of the familiar principal of
expressio unius est exclusio alterius
: Congress' enactment of a provision
defining the pre-emptive reach of the
statute implies that matters beyond
that reach are not preempted." 112
S.Ct. @ 2618.

We believe that the petition
should be granted in order to clarify
when, if ever, implied preemption
should apply.

All statutes have competing goals, and
application of "conflict preemption"
instead of straight forward statutory

construction leads to irreconcilable

33

results.

The place for statutory goals is
to aid in the construction of language
that is not clear, not to be an ends
in themselves.

With respect to the PMPA, the
analysis of the First Circuit in Esso

Standard Oil Company v. Dept. of

Consumer Affairs, 793 F.2d 431 (lst
Cir. 1985) supports the _ limited
express preemption view.

"Indeed, the discussion in the House
of Representatives prior to passage of
the PMPA reflects an emphasis on
protecting the rights of powerless
franchisees, and it would have been
contrary to that primary objective of
PMPA for Congress to have desired that
the bill actually reduce protection
for franchisees by preempting all
substantive state regulation... .
One member of Congress made a point
that the preemption of PMPA would be
minimal and would “not preempt the
heart’ of the state statute currently
in effect in his home state of
Minnesota.” 793 F.2d at 435.

34

sistema

IV. THE SCOPE OF PREEMPTION IS SET OUT
CORRECTLY BY THE FIRST CIRCUIT AND
OTHER COURTS

In Esso Standard, the provision

at issue was a regulation of the
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico which
allowed a franchisee and franchisor,
if unable to agree on a rent, to
petition the State Department of
Consumer Affairs to set a rent, which
in no case could exceed ten percent
(10%) of the market value of the
property. 793 F.2d at 433.
Franchisors claimed the regulation was
preempted because PMPA allowed them to
charge any rent they wanted, subject
only to the good faith, normal course
of business constraint, where as the
regulation capped rents. 793 F.2d at
433, 434.

35

The question presented by the
case was whether the balance struck by
PMPA in the areas of termination and
nonrenewal gave the franchisors a
substantive right to be free of state
regulation of the elements of the
franchise agreement. 793 F.2d at 434.
"We do not believe it gives such
protection." Id.

The list Circuit, unlike the
4th, found no authority to support the
proposition that the PMPA granted a
franchisor a right to determine
franchise provisions free of all state
regulation. 793 F.2d at 435.

Respondent claimed below that the
lst and 4th Circuit rulings do not
conflict relying on out of context

reading of this statement:

36

"That is any law that would give a
franchisee a cause of action to
contest a termination when _ that
termination would otherwise be valid
under the PMPA, would be preempted by
the PMPA." 793 F.2d @ 434.

The faulty assumption they make
is that these terminations, based on
contract provisions that are illegal
or unenforceable would "otherwise be
valid" under the PMPA.

If the contract of the franchise upon
which termination is purportedly based
is illegal or unenforceable under
state law; then it does not qualify as
a “provision of the franchise" under
the PMPA, and the termination is not
valid under PMPA. The First Circuit
went on:

"In this case before us, however, a
franchisor remains free to terminate

or non-renew a franchise if it does
not wish to accept the rent

37

established by DOCA.” 793 F.2d @ 434 .
( THIS IS PRECISELY OUR POINT -
TERMINATIONS MAY GO FORWARD IF BASED
UPON CONTRACT PROVISIONS THAT ARE
LEGAL AND ENFORCEABLE UNDER STATE
LAW). Compare, Darling v. Mobil Oil
Corp. 864 F.2d 981 (2nd Cir. 1989);
(state law regulating grounds for
termination preempted where it
prohibited termination based upon
VALID franchise provision).

: The Commonwealth's rent control
regulation gives neither franchisees
or franchisors rights or

responsibilities in the specific area
of termination or non-renewal greater
than those granted by the PMPA.

Rather than governing termination
or nonrenewals, Regulation 2758
controls a substantive element of the
franchise agreement. There is NO
indication from either the language or
legislative history that Congress
intended to preempt all state
regulation of specific components of
the franchise agreement.” 793 F.2d @
435.

Mobil's argument, raised

extensively in their opposition to the
petition for rehearing below, that
there is no conflict in the cases, is

plainly wrong. The petition must be

38

granted to resolve this conflict.

V. The 4th Circuit Erred in Relying On

the "Related To" Preemption Cases

We extensively addressed the
error of applying the ERISA and ADA
preemption cases in our summary; and
believe that this error by the 4th
Circuit is sufficient in and of itself
to justify granting the writ.

VI. PMPA DOES NOT CREATE FEDERAL

COMMON LAW

If Virginia law does not govern
the substance of these franchise
agreements; then federal common law is
all that is left, because of the
PMPA's silence.

As most recently held in

O'Melveny and Myers v. FDIC; 512

U.S. ; 129 L.Ed.2d 67, 73, there

39

is no such thing as federal common
law; and a concern for uniformity of
law is not sufficient to create such
federal common law. Id.@ 76.

The effect of the 4th Circuit
ruling would be to force the creation
of such. a body of law, in
contravention of this Courts’ most
recent rulings.

This issue also is sufficient to
justify granting the writ.

CONCLUSION

The majority opinion finds the
state law preempted due to a
hypothetical conflict exists between
the PMPA provisions that allow for
franchise termination or non-renewal
under based upon “provisions of the

franchise ".

40

The 4th Circuit majority erred
in failing to recognize that the term
"provisions of the franchise" must be
defined by reference to the state law
governing the underlying agreement.
The applicable provisions of the PMPA
and the state law challenged here are
not only the "same as" they are one
and the same, as reinforced by the
1994 Amendments.

The silence of the PMPA
evidences Congressional intent to
leave the matter to state law.

For if Virginia law does not
govern the underlying relationship,
between Fairfax, Virginia based Mobil,
and Virginia dealers, what does ?

If allowed to stand, the majority

opinion would require the creation of

41

a body of federal common law to
regulate petroleum franchises.
Overburdened judges and law clerks
would be required to take on gasoline
dealers as wards of the courts and
engage in active supervision of the
petroleum marketing industry pursuant
to this federal common law, because as
Chief Judge Ervin correctly notes any

state law that affects the substance

of the franchise agreements must be
struck down under the 4th Circuit
approach, in any context.

The panel majority would find
preemption in this action for a
declaratory judgment, and sweeps the

Virginia laws away in all

circumstances based on a hypothetical

effect on possible future termination

42

actions. This rationale would apply to
statutes such as antitrust and trade
regulation laws, that are not
preempted by their federal

counterparts. California Vv. ARC

America, 490 U.S. 93 (1989). Compare,

Wingard v. Exxon Co. USA, 819 F.Supp

473 (D. S.C. 1993) (state law not
preempted as franchisees were in full
compliance and could not be subjected
to termination, PMPA preempts only “to
the extent” it actually applies to a
termination or non-renewal).

The key question is what is the
applicable law that governs’ the

content of petroleum industry

franchise agreements.

We contend it is state law. This
is an issue that can only be resolved
by this Court, by granting the writ.

Respectfully submitted,

Dita bag yes a ee

Dimitri G. Daskalopoulos

DATED: Jan. 23rd , 1995

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that on this 23rd
day of January, 1995, I served a copy
of the attached Amicus Brief and Brief
by mailing copies thereof, U.S. Mail,
lst Class postage prepaid to:

Thomas G. Slater

Hunton & Williams

951 E. Byrd St.

Richmond, Va. 23219

Counsel for Respondent Mobil Oil
Corp.

AND to

Richard M. Bing, & Gerald M. Bowen,
Esq.

8260 Greensboro Dr.- Suite 125

Mc Lean, Va. 22101

Counsel for Petitioner Virginia
Gasoline Marketers Council

And to
Peter Messitt and Eric Fiske
Attorney General's Office
101 N. 8th St.
Richmond, Va. 22219

a |
La w ark brooid >

Dimitri G. Daskalopoulos

45

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0933%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
