# Opposition Brief — American Disposal Co. v. Hume

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0893%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1995
- **Citation:** 513 U.S. 1112

## Text

No. 94-957

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Unite
October Term, 1994

AMERICAN DISPOSAL, CO., D.M. DISPOSAL
cx. »
and MURREY’ S DISPOSAL CO.,
Petitioners,

Vv.

RANDY HUME, CHRIS DAVIES, MICHAEL ROGGE
and ROBERT TAYLOR

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF
WASHINGTON

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Lawrence Schwerin

(Counsel of Record)

Kathleen Phair Barnard

SCHWERIN, BURNS, CAMPBELL
& FRENCH

2505 Third Avenue

Suite 309

Seattle, Washington 98121

Attorneys for Respondents
aBCD Legal Printers. Seattle. Washington

QUESTION PRESENTED
Is a state court action
for retaliation in
violation of state public
policy protecting
employees from discharge
or harassment for claiming
overtime or participating
in a state investigation
of overtime claims
preempted by the Garmon
doctrine under the
National Labor Relations

Act?

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED. .....eeeeeeeeees i
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES. .....-.2eee00. iii
OPINIONS BELOW... .. cece ceeeccccees 1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE......... eoserd
REASONS WHY THE PETITION SHOULD

BE DENIED. ....cccccccccscccces Tere 7.
I. THIS Is NOT, AS THE

PETITION SUGGESTS, A CASE

IN WHICH EMPLOYEES SEEK
STATE PROTECTION FOR UNION
ACTIVITIES; RATHER, HERE

THE EMPLOYEES SOUGHT TO
VINDICATE THEIR RIGHTS TO
MAKE CLAIMS UNDER A STATE
STATUTE OF GENERAL

APPLICATION. .....-ee00.% cocvee dl

II. THE DECISION OF THE
WASHINGTON SUPREME COURT
IS COMPLETELY CONSISTENT
WITH PRECEDENT ESTABLISHED
BY THIS COURT. .... cece. coed”

III. THERE Is NO CONFLICT
BETWEEN THE DECISION BELOW
AND DECISIONS OF THE
CIRCUIT COURTS. .....cceeeeeee 22

CONCLUSION. ....ccccccccccccccccces 29

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:

Bassette v. Stone Container Corp.,
25 P. 34 757 (9th Cir. 1994)...22, 23
le ae a Cae Ue a Re ea ew 24, 25

Farmer v. Carpenters,
Ue TE ARE Tin nn > 0 een wee eae 18

Haynes _v. Zoological Soc.

of Cincinnati, 9 IER 124,

128-129 (Ohio Ct. of Appeals,

tet App. Diet. 1993). ..ccccceesecs 29

Local 100, United Associations of
STS Se Res 66 ce cee woe a er 20

Local 1054 v. W.C.

In ial lati As Lation,
775 F.2d 1042

9 gt Se ee ae ee 25

1 Vv. in —
35 F.3d S66
Pee CO, BOWE se ect ee rd siteeetnenaon 12

Motor Coach Employee v. Lockridge,
SS Ee a? el ts eee ee ee 20

Paige v. Henry J. Kaiser Co.,
826 F.2d 857 (9th Cir. )

cert. denied,
gS aa Ee ek: beer 26

Parker v. Connors Steel Co.,
885 F.2d 1510 (1ith Cir. 1988)
cert. denied, 490 U.S. 1066 (1989)

iv

Platt v. Jack Cooper Transport Co.,
959 F.2d 91 (8th Cir. 1992)

pethen deb aw dees bens 0eehe eee 22, 26
ces 6 6A ae PARES EE 6 be eee hee a7y: =e
Price v. PSA Air, Inc., 829 F.2d 871
(9th Cir.) cert. denied,
S66 G &. . SOR CECT be soc 0ees ae eens 26
S30 G.@. 200 (ESP G ee 4 xtedenaws 18, 19
eee er en See i ee eee Te eee Te ee 20
Vv

Ca,., 790 ¥.28 i279
(6th Cir. 1986), cert. denied,
S60 @G.8. FOG (ROOM hes ke ded beceeess ao
Washington Service Contractors

aliti Vv i f mbia,
858 F. Supp. 1219
(e. Gk BBR bs ck ciles nas Reece hoes 13
Windfield v. Groen Division, Dover
Core, 890 F. 2G FES CESSS).. es cess 28
Statutes:
Be GG. Oo 2B ks ba 0s 6654 600 benee 04 21
Regulations:
Sue. GCE. B. BLO AS. Zines svactsnervews 2
Miscellaneous:

Mont. Code Ann. 39-2-904(2)
EA of Bare eerae ie pep errs fea meee 23

The Respondents, Randy Hume, Chris
Davies, Michael Rogge and Robert Taylor,
respectfully request that this Court deny
the petition for writ of certiorari,
seeking review of the Washington Supreme
Court’s decision in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The trial court’s denial of summary
judgment on preemption grounds, and the
trial court’s denial of a motion to
Gismiss on preemption grounds, are not
published and are reprinted in

Respondents’ ! Appendix A and B,

1. References to the Petition are designated "Pet." with
the appropriate page indicated. Petitioner’s Appendix is
referenced as "Pet. App."; Respondents’ Appendix is
referenced as "Resp. App." References to the trial court
and Washington Supreme Court’s rulings are made by
reference to the Appendix where those decisions can be
found. References to the trial exhibits are designated
"Ex." and to the trial transcript are designated by "Tr."
with the eo . number or page citation,
respectively. e only portion of the trial transcript

appended herein is that portion transcribing the trial
court’s denial of Petitioners’ request for summary
judgment on a Garmon preemption theory. See Resp.
App. B.

respectively. The excerpt of the jury’s
verdict pertaining to the public policy
tort is reprinted in Respondents’
Appendix C.

The opinion of the Washington

Supreme Court is reported at 124 Wn. 2d

656 (1994) and is reprinted in
Petitioners’ Appendix A. The Washington
Supreme Court’s order on reconsideration
on the issue of attorney’s fees has not
yet been published and is reprinted in
Respondents’ Appendix D.
STATEMENT OF THE CASE?

Respondent employees did not

contend, as Petitioners suggest, that

they suffered retaliation because they

2 The Petitioners’ Statement Of The Case contains
several misstatements of fact which have a bearing on the
question of what issue would be before the Court if
certiorari were granted. Therefore, Respondents present
this restatement of the facts. See Sup. Ct. R. Rule 15.1.
In the following discussion of why the petition should be
denied, the Respondents also call the Court's attention to
other misstatements of fact.

"filfed] grievances with their union
regarding overtime." (Pet. at 4). They
based their state claims of retaliatory
harassment and discharge in violation of
Washington State public policy on
allegations that they suffered
retaliation because of direct overtime
complaints and request to their
employers, made in the context of a State
investigation of overtime violations by
their employers.

The Jury found that three of the
four "Plaintiffs were constructively
discharged in retaliation for requests
for overtime wages, complaints about the
employers’ failure to pay overtime wages
or participation in the Department of
Labor and Industries investigation of
overtime claims." (Resp. App. C). The

Jury similarly found the "Defendants

wrongfully harassed [the four] Plaintiffs

in retaliation for requests for overtime
wages, complaints about the employers’
failure to pay overtime wages or
participation in the Department of Labor
and Industries investigation of overtime
claims." (Resp. App. C).

Moreover, Petitioner’ s statement
that "none of the Plaintiffs
participat[ed] in any {Department ]
investigations" (Pet. at 6) is a
misstatement of fact and law contrary to
the jury’s verdict and to the conclusion
of the Washington Supreme Court in its
decision on appeal.

The Washington Supreme Court recited
both the nature of the Respondents’
claims and the context in which those
claims arose in its opinion on appeal:

The crux of the employees’

claims is that the defendants

retaliated against them for

demanding overtime pay. .. .

In August, 1988, after learning
that they were entitled under

state law to be compensated,
each of the plaintiffs began to
record and turn in overtime.
Meanwhile, in July the State
Department of Labor and
Industries had begun
investigating complaints of
unpaid overtime claimed by
route drivers not plaintiffs in
this case. The investigation
was concluded in September when
it was discovered that several
of the defendants’ employees
were owed overtime
compensation. The defendants
settled these claims, changed
their overtime policy, and
installed a time clock for the
drivers. At the same time,
however, they instituted a
stricter morning schedule and a
rule forbidding the drivers to
talk to each other on company
property.

Although the overtime
claims by the drivers in this
case were not the direct focus
of the state investigation, the
result of the investigation had
an impact on them, as_ the

relationship between the
defendants and their employees
continued to deteriorate. At

trial, the plaintiffs presented
evidence that when they
submitted overtime requests,
they along with other drivers,
began to suffer verbal abuse
and threats. ‘ ‘ , The
harassment continued until the
plaintiffs eventually left

their employment in 1989.
(Pet. App. at A-16 - A-18).

As can be seen from the foregoing,
the Petitioners’ suggestion that the
settlement that occurred in September,
1988, was of outstanding union
grievances, is similarly a distortion of
the facts. (Pet. at 5). The settlement
addressed the Respondents’ direct
requests to their employers for overtime
compensation. Those requests occurred in
the context of a Department of Labor and
Industries investigation and settlement
of a claim filed with the State by a
former employee of Petitioners, Lawrence
Schwerzler, for overtime.

The investigation began in May,
1988. In June, Ms. Roberta Soran, the
Department’s representative, informed the
employers that their failure to maintain
records of actual time worked violated

state law and that "[i]nformation [the

Department] received indicates that the

alleged deficiency of inappropriate
payment of overtime hours is more
broadcast than this individual claim
would indicate" and that "it was a
situation that involved more than one
worker." (Tr. 479-481, Ex. 83).%

Ms. Soran attempted to obtain the
names of the employees from all three
respondent employers, "because ... it
was [her] intent to interview those other
workmen. ..." (Tr. 479). She intended
that "[a]s data are gathered from other
workmen, we [would] make a determination
about our continuing involvement in their

behalf . . . to take whatever action

3. Ms. Soran “as a matter of courtesy" let Teamsters Local
313, the collective bargaining representative of the
employees, know that she was investigating potential
violations of state overtime law. a 474-475). The
Washington Supreme Court’s factual recitation reflected
this testimony by stating that "after learning that they were
entitled under state law to be compensated, each of the
plaintiffs began to record and turn in overtime." (Pet.
App. A-16).

[was] necessary to get them those wages."
(Tr. 498). However, the employers gave
her the names of only four employees of
one of the companies, despite her desire
to obtain the names of employees from all
three companies. (Tr. 497; Tr. 499).
She sent each of the named employees a
Survey concerning the employers’ overtime
practices, but was unable to send surveys
to other employees because the employers
had not identified them. (Tr. 484-485).
In order to—bring about an end to
the widening investigation, the employers
agreed to pay the overtime owing to
Schwerzler, instituted a time-clock on
September 4, 1988, and assured the State
that all outstanding claims for overtime
would be paid. (Fe. i093; Ge. 4273 -Fe.
482:19-21; Tr. 501:10-13; Ex. 64; Mr.

521-522).

Schwerzler had also filed a
grievance concerning his overtime, which
he settled simultaneously with the State
complaint. (Ex. 95; Ex. 96; Ex. 185).
During the Schwerzler settlement
discussions, the employers reported to
the Department that they were "working
with" the Union regarding payment of the
other employees’ overtime requests. (Ex.
96). The Department confirmed that
payment occurred before closing its
investigation. (Fe. 325).

Petitioners’ statement of the issue
emphasizes grievance filing by the
Respondents and the Petition
characterizes the September settlement as
resolution of Union grievances. (Pet. at
6). However, only two of the Respondents
filed overtime grievances and they did so

literally on the eve of the settlement

with the State. Davies and Hume, who

10

previously had been turning in direct
requests for overtime, each filed one
overtime grievance on September 14, 1988,
- one day before the settlement was
reached. (Tr. 1163:5-12; Tr. 98-99).4
Irrespective of these two grievances, the
compensation paid was for overtime
recorded by each employee and turned in
directly to the employer by Randy Hume,
Chris Davies, Michael Rogge> and several
other drivers and came as a direct result

of the Department’s investigation.

4. The Petition’s characterization of the overtime requests
made in August as b gg ager A is not supported by the
testimony ge , in which Don Hawkins, the
companies’ Vice-President states that he received several
"overtime requests" towards the end of August. (Pet. at 6;

Pet. App. B-19).

5. (Pet. App. B-3, B-4, B-19, B-20; Tr. 1151; 1152:3-11;
1154:11-1155:9; 1162:22-24; Tr. 588; Tr. 479; Tr. 498).
Although the record is unclear as to whether Respondent
Taylor received overtime compensation as part of this
settlement, the parties stipulated at trial that Taylor made
overtime requests in July and August of 1988 and that he
received on for overtime in September and
October, 1988. (Tr. 1397).

11

Finally, Petitioners’ contention
that continued "verbal abuse, threats,
unwarranted warning letters, and
[retaliatory] route enlarge[ments]" were
due to a "grievance" settlement is yet
another mischaracterization of the facts.
(Pet. at 6). In this regard, the
Petition’s factual contention is directly
contrary to the opinion of the Washington
Supreme Court, which specifically noted
that it was the Department’ s
investigation which caused the following
“impact: " "“(W)hen [the Respondents }
submitted overtime requests, they, along
with other drivers, began to suffer
verbal abuse and threats. They also
began to receive unwarranted warning
letters, some threatening termination if
they did not complete their routes within

the scheduled 40 hours. . . . ([T)heir

12

routes were actually enlarged after they
complained." (Pet. App. A-17 - A-18).

REASONS WHY THE PETITION SHOULD BE DENIED
I. THIS IS NOT, AS THE PETITION

SUGGESTS, A CASE IN WHICH EMPLOYEES

SEEK STATE PROTECTION FOR UNION

ACTIVITIES; RATHER, HERE THE

EMPLOYEES SOUGHT TO VINDICATE THEIR

RIGHTS TO MAKE CLAIMS UNDER A STATE

STATUTE OF GENERAL APPLICATION.

The claim for relief as described in
the complaint, in the jury instructions
and in the jury verdict form was for a
remedy for violation of RCW 49. 46. 100(2)
which protects employees from retaliation
when they act to enforce the State public
policy that requires overtime
compensation for hours worked in excess
of 40 per week. Thus, this case does not
present, as the Petition suggests, an

issue of State jurisdiction to enforce a

State statute designed to protect Union
activity. Compare e.g., McGlone v.
Cintas Corp., 22 F.a8 368 ttn Caz.

13

1994), Washington Service Contractors
Coalition v. District of Columbia, 858 F.
Supp. 1219 (D. D.C. 1994).

Moreover, the evidence presented in
support of the claim, and on which the
jury found liability, was that described
above, 1.¢@., individual claims for
overtime compensation in the context of a
Department investigation. Thus,
Respondent’s did not "“claim[{] in their
lawsuit that they were retaliated against
because they complained .. . to their
Union about overtime pay [including]
filing grievances . . ., discuss[ed]
overtime with fellow employees, and

attend([ed] union meetings .. .." (Pet.

14

at 6).°

Petitioners attempt to characterize
the Respondents’ individual overtime
claims as Union instigated activity
orchestrated at Union meetings in August,
1988, must also fail because it asks this
Court to find facts not found by the
jury, and in a manner inconsistent with
the record.

The evidence clearly established

that Respondents’ complaints about

6. Similarly, the Petitioners misstated the nature of
Hume’s and Rogge’s allegations: "Two of the Plaintiffs
also contended at the trial that their union positions
contributed to the Defendants’ retaliation against them.”
(Pet. at 6-7). The testimony cited by Petitioners is each
employee’s response to leading cross-examination
questions suggesting that the retaliation they suffered was
at least partly because of their roles in the Union. Both
men simply testified that they could not exclude that
possibility. However, Hume noted that the retaliation
against him began as soon as he turned in overtime and
before he assumed his role as a shop steward. (Pet. App.
B at B-1 and B-2; B-13 -- B-16; Tr. 1270). Again, there is
no such allegation in the pleadings, no jury instruction
allowing the jury to consider retaliation against roles
assumed in the Union, and no uy finding that Hume or
Rogge, or any other Respondent for that matter, suffered
retaliation because of their Union roles.

15

overtime and the resulting retaliation
began well before the Union meetings.
Davies first complained about overtime in
August of 1987 and received his first
retaliatory warning letter in December of
1987. (Tr. 67-70). Taylor began making
overtime requests in July, 1988. (PE.
1397). At the end of July, 1988, Hume
informed his employer that he would be

henceforth turning in his overtime and

expecting payment for it. (Tr. 1255-
1256). He continued to claim overtime
into August. In August, 1988, Rogge

turned in overtime on a piece of paper he
left on the desk of the companies’ Vice-
President. (Tr. 557-558). The employers
instituted the retaliatory change in
starting times on August 16, 1988, after
the individual requests for overtime had

been made, but before the second Union

meeting occurred. (te. 43573. Davies

16

again turned in overtime requests in
August, 1988, and was verbally attacked
by the owner of the company on August 22,
1988. (Tr. 79-81).

The Union meetings occurred in mid-
August and on August 31, five months
after the Department had notified the
Union that it was investigating overtime
violations by the employers. (Tr. 473-
475). The subjects of the meetings were
the length of the-routes, the work pace,
the institution of the time-clock as a
result of the State’s investigation and
the new work rules, including the
retaliatory change in start times and no-
talking rule mentioned in the Washington
Court’s opinion. (Tr. 90; Tr. 1165).

At most, the Union was on a parallel
track with the Department. The Union had
been informed :™ the Department of

potential overtime violations. (Tr. 474-

PT ee ee eee

17

475) It encouraged the drivers to work
at a brisk, but reasonable pace. It
advised them that they had state law
rights to be paid their overtime and
informed the workers that the Department
was investigating the employers’ failure
to pay overtime. Thus, Petitioners’
statement that the overtime requests made
in August were orchestrated by the Union
is a distortion of the facts. (Pet. at

5-6). The Union simply advised the

employees how to document the statutory

overtime requests they were already
making to their employers.

II. THE DECISION OF THE WASHINGTON
SUPREME COURT Is COMPLETELY
CONSISTENT WITH PRECEDENT
ESTABLISHED BY THIS COURT.

The Washington Supreme Court
carefully followed this Court’s precedent

in holding that "the employer retaliation

regulated by the statute in this case

touches a deeply rooted local concern,

18

and, therefore falls under an exception
to the Garmon doctrine." (Pet. App. i1-
24). This holding is completely

consistent with this Court’s reasoning in

Sears, Roebuck & Co. v. Carpenters, 4136

U.S. 180, 194-195 (1978), and in Farmer

vy. Carpenters, 430 U.S. 290 (1977). In
Sears, 436 U.S. at 196-197, this Court

explained the analysis developed in
Farmer:

The Court identified those
factors which warranted a
departure from the general pre-
emption guidelines in the
“local interest" cases. Two
are relevant to the arguably
prohibited branch of the Garmon
Gocotsine. .. . First, there
existed a significant state
interest in protecting the
citizen from the challenged
conduct. Second, although the
challenged conduct occurred in
the course of a labor dispute
and an unfair practice charge
could have been filed, the
exercise of state jurisdiction
over the tort claim entailed
little risk of interference
with the regulatory
jurisdiction of the Labor
Board. Although the arguable

19

federal violation and the state

tort arose in the same factual

setting, the respective

controversies presented to the

state and federal forums would

not have been the same.
(Footnotes omitted, emphasis added. )

Following this analysis, the
Washington Court first held that the
state statute did not regulate activity
protected under the NLRA. Next, it
reasoned that "[{if] anything, the statute
regulates employer activity prohibited by
the NLRA, and thus is less likely to
interfere with the federal scheme and
require preemption. . ..” (Pet. App.
25-26). Continuing to apply this Court’s
reasoning in Sears, the Washington Court
held that the Respondents’ “claims are
based upon a statute which reflects a
legitimate local concern rooted in a
strong and clearly articulated public

policy." (Pet. App. A-26). Finally, the

Court carefully examined the nature of

20

both the federal and state claims and
determined that the “controversy
presented to the state court is different
from that which could have been, but was
not, presented to the Labor’ Board"
because the Board’s inquiry would focus
on whether the Respondent’s activities
were “protected ‘concerted activity’,"
while state inquiry would concern whether
the employers retaliated because the
subject of each employee’s complaint was
overtime. (Pet. App. A-25).

Thus, Petitioners’ contention that
the Washington Supreme Court’s decision

ignored the Sears analysis and is
inconsistent with Local 100, United

Associati Jour go 398
U.S. 690 (1963) and Motor Coach Employee
v. Lockridge, 403 U.S. 274 (1971) because

the Court “only looked to labels or legal

standards," is plainly inaccurate.

21

Moreover, Petitioners’ assertion
that, under the NLRA, the inquiry of
whether charging parties have engaged in
protected concerted activity is merely a
"Jurisdictional" label is astounding and
without citation. (Pet. at 15). Section
7 of the NLRA provides substantive
protection for employees engaged in
concerted activity and Section 8 of the
Act provides substantive protection
against interference with Section 7

rights. See 29 U.S.C. § 151. However,

the substantive protection is for
"concerted" activity, not for any
particular working condition.

Conversely, the state jury’s inquiry here
did not concern itself with whether
activity was "concerted," but only with
whether the acts in question were

assertions of rights to a particular

22

working condition, x overtime

compensation.

III. THERE IS NO CONFLICT BETWEEN THE
DECISION BELOW AND DECISIONS OF THE
CIRCUIT COURTS.

Petitioners’ contention that’ the
decision below presents a conflict with
holdings of several U.S. Circuit Courts
is premised primarily on two decisions,
Platt v. Jack Cooper Transport Co., 959
F.2d 91 (8th Cir. 1992) and Bassette v.

Stone Container Corp., 25 F.3d 757 (9th
Cir. 1994). The Ninth Circuit’s ruling

in Bassette pertains to a completely
different situation than that presented
in this case. Moreover, in more
analogous cases, the Ninth Circuit has
ruled in a manner consistent with the
Washington Supreme Court’s decision here.
Nor does the holding in Platt, which the
Eighth Circuit limited to the facts of

that particular case, constitute a true

23

split sufficient to cause this Court to
exercise its supervision.

In Bassette, the plaintiff was
terminated during a collective bargaining
contract hiatus period for alleged
falsification of test results. She filed
an action in a Montana State court
alleging a breach of the Montana’s
statute requiring employers to show just
cause to terminate an employee’ s
employment. Mont. Code Ann. § 39-2-
904(2) (1987).

Prior to the termination, the
employer had unilaterally implemented
terms and conditions of employment
following a declared impasse in contract
negotiations. Thus, there was no
collective bargaining agreement in effect
between the parties.

The Ninth Circuit noted that during

hiatus periods, employers’ obligations

24

vis a vis established working conditions
arise strictly from operation of the Act,
not from the defunct collective
bargaining agreement: "besides limiting
employers in which terms they may
implement after impasse, section 8
requires that employers honor those terms

once they are implemented . ‘ fue

Bassette, 25 F.3d at 761.

Thus, the Ninth Circuit concluded
that:

Bassette’s claim alleges
conduct on the part of Stone -
discharge without good cause -
that would constitute a failure
to honor a term of employment
implemented by Stone after
negotiations with the Union
reached impasse. amaca
Meats establishes that such
conduct would violate an
employer’s duties under section
8 of the NLRA. Because
Bassette has alleged conduct
that constitutes a violation of
section 8, her claim is at
least arguably subject to the
jurisdiction of the NLRB. AS
such, her claim is preempted by
the NLRA under the Garmon
doctrine.

25

Bassette, 25 F.3d at 761.
Unlike the instant case, Bassette

essentially concerned an allegation that
the employer had violated Section 8(a)(5)
of the NLRA which requires employers to
bargain in good faith. Hence, the
Court's decision in Bassette conforms to
the many decisions, not applicable here,
holding that state claims which amount tc
bad faith bargaining charges are
preempted because they have a high
potential to interfere with the federal
scheme. See e.g., Local 1054 v. WC.
Industrial Relations Association, 775
y.2@ 1042 (Sth Ciz. 1985) ($8(a)(5)
interference with contract claim) (cited
in Pet. at 20); Parker v. Connors Steel
Co., 885 F.2d 1510 (11th Cir. 1988) cert.
denied, 490 U.S. 1066 (1989) and Serrano
v. Jones & Laughlin Steel Co., 790 F.2d
1279 (6th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 488

26

U.S. 1000 (1989) (both $8(a)(5) - fraud
Claims cases) (cited in Pet. at 20 and
21, respectively. )

In cases where the Ninth Circuit has
considered issues analogous to that here,
it has found no preemption of the state’s
jurisdiction. For example, in Paige vv.
Henry J. Kaiser Co., 826 F.2d 857, 862,

(9th Cir. ), cert. denied 486 U.S. 1054
(1988), the Court refused to hold that a

claim for wrongful termination in
violation of California’s public policy
preempted under Garmon or under Section
301 of the LMRA. Cf. Price v. PSA Air,
Inc., 829 F.2d 871, 876 (9th Cir.) cert.
denied, 486 U.S. 1006 (1987) (RLA does
not preempt state wrongful discharge
claim even though premised on employees’
activities in a union context).

Petitioner’s reliance on the Eighth

Circuit’s holding in Platt, is likewise

misplaced. Although the ruling in Platt

appears to be in conflict with the

decision here, careful reading of the

Platt decision reveals that the Court
clearly restricted its holding to the
peculiar facts of that case. Moreover,
the Court announced explicitly that it
did not intend that its holding
necessarily should be followed in other
cases.

In that unusual case, the court held
that “on the facts of this case,
Platt’s state law claims are preempted by
the NLRA as construed Garmon, "
emphasizing that:

it is highly relevant that

Platt unsuccessfully sought

relief through the grievance

process and directly from the

NLRB before commencing this

lawsuit. The risk of

interference with the Board's
jurisdiction is ... obvious and
substantial when an

unsuccessful charge to the
Board is recast as a state law

28

claim. Piatt, 959 F.2d at 95

(footnote omitted).

Even more significantly, the Eighth
Circuit expressly limited the vitality of
its Platt decision as precedent in other
cases, by stating that, "We do not reach
the question whether employee suits
seeking redress for violation of state
whistle-blowing statutes are generally
preempted under Garmon because we believe
the "local interest" exception to Garmon
preemption requires a more fact-sensitive
approach. " Platt, 939 7.26. at. 35
(emphasis added).

Thus, the Platt decision does not
create a true conflict requiring this
Court’ s resolution. Moreover, the
decision below is consistent with the
Ninth Circuit precedent cited above.
Finally, it is also consistent with the

Fifth Circuit’s decision in Windfield v.
Groen Div.. Dover Corp., 890 F.2d 765,

29

770 (1989) (state claims of union
activist fired during an organization
campaign not Garmon preempted); Haynes
yv._ Zoological Soc. of Cincinnati, 9 IER
124, 128-129 (Ohio Ct. of Appeals, ist
App. Dist. 1993).
CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons,
Respondents respectfully request that
this Court deny the petition for
certiorari.

DATED this at? tn of December

1994.

eat

So
Pa Chew te y = ita
Lawrence Schwerin

WSBA #4360

SCHWERIN, BURNS, CAMPBELL &
FRENCH

2505 Third Avenue, Suite 309

Seattle, Washington 98121

(206) 728-7280

Attorneys for Respondents

APPENDIX "A"

a

A--1

HONORABLE BRIAN TOLLEFSON

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF WASHINGTON
IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF PIERCE

RANDY HUME, CHRIS DAVIES,
MICHAEL ROGGE, and ROBERT
TAYLOR,

Plaintiffs,

Vv.
AMERICAN DISPOSAL CO., a
corporation; D.M. DISPOSAL
CO., a corporation; and
MURREY’ S DISPOSAL CO., a
corporation,

Defendants.

Nee Nee Ne Sue Se See Se Se Se Se See Set See et See ee

NO. 90-2-00344-8
ORDER DENYING DEFENDANTS’ MOTION FOR
PARTIAL SUMMARY JUDGMENT

THIS MATTER having come on regularly

for hearing before this Court on the

motion of Defendants for an order

A--2
granting their Motion for Partial Summary
Judgment dismissing Plaintiffs’ Second,
Third and Fourth Causes of Action; the
Plaintiffs having appeared by and through
their counsel of record, Lawrence
Schwerin and Kathleen Phair Barnard of
Hafer, Price, Rinehart & Schwerin, and
the Defendants having appeared by and
through their counsel of record, Lewis L.
Ellsworth of Davis, Grimm & Payne; the
Court having reviewed the written and
oral arguments of counsel, the following
affidavits and declarations: Declaration
of Lewis L. Ellsworth, Declaration of Don
Hawkins, Affidavit of Roberta Soran,
Affidavit of Michael Brandow, Affidavit
of Inez Levin, Declaration of Harold Dean
Stroud, Declaration of Larry Schwerzler,
Declaration of Cary Bertram, and

Affidavit of Kathleen Phair Barnard and

A--3

having reviewed the records and files
herein; it is hereby

ORDERED that Defendants’ Motion for
Partial Summary Judgment on Plaintiffs
Second, Third and Fourth Causes of Action
is DENIED.

DONE IN OPEN COURT this 22nd day of

November, 1991.

/s/

HONORABLE BRIAN TOLLEFSON
JUDGE

Presented By:

/s/

Lawrence Schwerin, WSBA #4360
Kathleen Phair Barnard, WSBA #17896
HAFER, PRICE, RINEHART & SCHWERIN
2505 Third Avenue, Suite 309
Seattle, Washington 98121

Attorneys for Plaintiffs

A--4
COPY RECEIVED, NOTICE OF PRESENTATION
WAI VED:

/s/

John M. Payne, WSBA #11707
Lewis L. Ellsworth, WSBA #11360
DAVIS, GRIMM & PAYNE

1111 Third Avenue

Suite 1865

Seattle, Washington 98101

Attorneys for Defendants

APPENDIX "B"

B--1
[Excerpt of Transcript Page 1499]

The area of protection is not in the
state through Department of Labor &
Industries, it’s through the National
Labor Relations Board. Those causes of
action are preempted. ~

Thank you.

THE COURT: I’m concerned about the

form of the motion. I prefer to treat
Mr. Grimm’ s motions as motions to
dismiss.

With respect to the handicap clain,
motion to dismiss is granted based on
lack of expert medical testimony and lack

of notice to employer.

All the other motions are denied.

APPENDIX "C"

yas pee ae

C--1

HONORABLE BRIAN TOLLEFSON

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF WASHINGTON
IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF PIERCE

RANDY HUME, CHRIS DAVIES,
MICHAEL ROGGE and ROBERT )
TAYLOR,

—

Plaintiffs,
v.

AMERICAN DISPOSAL CO., a
corporation; D.M. DISPOSAL
CO., a corporation; and
MURREY’ S DISPOSAL CO., a
corporation,

Defendants.

Se et ee eet ee ee Se ee ee ee ee ee ee

NO. 90-2-00344-8
JURY VERDICT FORM
We, the jury, make the following

answers to the questions submitted by the

Court:

C--2
QUESTION NO. 13: Do you find
that any of the Plaintiffs were
constructively discharged in
retaliation for requests for
overtime wages, complaints
about the employers’ failure to
pay overtime wages or

participation in the Department

of Labor and Industries
investigation of overtime
claims?

Answer "yes" or "no" after the name of

each Plaintiff.

Answer: Yes No

Randy Hume ~~ Ree

Chris Davies pe pce” :
Michael Rogge ___ —~x

Robert Taylor _X_

Regardless of your answer, proceed to the

next question.

C--3
QUESTION NO. 2: Do you find
that Defendants wrongfully
harassed any of the Plaintiffs
in retaliation for requests for
overtime wages, complaints
about the employers’ failure to
pay overtime wages or

participation in the Department

of Labor and Industries
investigation of overtime
claims?

Answer "“yes" or "no" after the name of

each Plaintiff.
Answer:
Randy Hume
Chris Davies

Michael Rogge

PRP EE

Robert Taylor

C--4
DATED this 25th Day

1992.

/s/

Presiding Juror

of February,

APPENDIX "D"

D~--1

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF WASHINGTON
RANDY HUME, ET AL,
Respondents,
v.

AMERICAN DISPOSAL COMPANY,
ET AL,

Appellants.

me ee ee ee ee Se See See See See

NO. 60808-3
ORDER GRANTING RESPONDENTS’ MOTION
FOR RECONSIDERATION WITHOUT NEW ARGUMENT
AND ORDER CHANGING OPINION

It is hereby ordered that the
opinion in the above cause, as the same
appears at 124 Wn.2d 656, be changed as
follows:

On the i5th line from the bottom of

page 673, following the word

D--2
"recalculation", insert "of trial and
appellate attorney fees".
It is ordered that further
reconsideration is denied.
Dated this 27th day of October,

1994.
/s/

Chief Justice

APPROVED:

/s/

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0893%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
