# Opposition Brief — Hyundai Motor Co. v. Phillip

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0812%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1995
- **Citation:** 513 U.S. 1111

## Text

G

3

;

%

No. 94-867 OFFICE OF THE CLERK

In The
Supreme Court Of The United States

October Term 1994

HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY, et al.,

Petitioners,
VS.

EVELYN PHILLIP,
Respondent.
On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The District Court of Appeal of Florida,
Third District

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

MICHAEL COHEN MARC COOPER

Grand Bay Plaza, Suite 201 Counsel of Record

2665 South Bayshore Drive MAUREEN E. LEFEBVRE
Miami, Florida 33133 COOPER & WOLFE, P.A.
Telephone: (305) 859-9099 700 Courthouse Tower

44 West Flagler Street
Miami, Florida 33130
Telephone: (305) 371-1597

Counsel for Respondent

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
pe Py ee ee ee iii
Pa creda hans 6 40s eal Cee ee Oh 1
SEATGMGeres GOP TEM GAGE cc ccc eccces 5
WHY CERTIORARI SHOULD NOT BE GRANTED .... 14
eT Oe SUD oo RS 0 bee es FOS ws we 14
(FRE ra ge ae eo Care ay ee eee ee 16

A. FMVSS 208 does not authorize defective design
CE 6 Ch es Ve hee eae 18

B. FMVSS 208 does not regulate the aspect of per-
CN CED ND ow hh Rice ho res 25

C. At the least, the failure to warn claims against

Hyundai and Central Hyundai were not preempted . 27
CIS 6 Naser e CERCA Se Vee beheeew ees 30

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases Page
Banks v. California,

SP: POD 8 aap s baw eked née 1
Buzzard v. Roadrunner Trucking Co..,

Fae Fe ee Ge Gas ED once en ecedeewdeaenn 17
Chrysler Corp. v. Tofany,

ere 17,25
Cipollone v. Liggett Group, Inc.,

SES RGR SPE wh uc cacsteneaxe 5 ,24,27,28,29
Consumer Prod. Safety Comm'n v. GTE Sylvania, Inc.,

SG FPPC TIT TE rere Cee 26
Costarelli v. Massachusetts,

i Se, TEED 6 b.o. co sb'n bnce ecb ceews 1
Emerald Acres Inv., Inc. v. Bd. of County Comm'rs,

Gol So0.26 S77 Gee. WE DEA TES 6 acc vcwccuces 3
English v. Gen. Elec. Co.,

Gp ae. ED os wise d 90 4e0 0b0den knee cee 27
Fisher v. Carrico,

See es EE 4-6 ek 6 weet inten ess baneees 1

Garcia v. United States,
So Ge PE oak eh cveeess bucast eueades 26

Garrett v. Ford Motor Co..,
684 F.Supp. 407 (D.Md. 1987) ..............4.. 17

iii

Gingold v. Audi-NSU-Auto Union,

567 A.2d 312 (Pa.Super.Ct. 1989) ............. 17,27
Gotthilf v. Sills,

I Ng 7 A te ee a 3,4,5
In re The Fla. Bar Rules of App. Pro.,

ee tke bea ete e ese 3,4
Jordan v. Paccar, Inc.,

792 F.Supp. 545 (N.D.Ohio 1992) ............... 26
Lake v. Konstantinu,

189 So.2d 171 (Fla. 2d DCA 1966) .............. 6
Matthews v. Huwe,

ad Og Be Si ag Sle bie @ o.4 1
McMaster v. Gould,

ek ae aly Bale ae ed 6 e l
Motor Vehicle Mfrs. Ass’n v. State Farm Mut.

Auto. Ins. Co.,

ee ee he ok eee ee ee ds 16
Mullen v. Western Union Beef Co..,

CR eee 1
Myrick v. Fruehauf Corp.,

13 F.3d 1516 (11th Cir. 1994), cert. granted
Freightliner Corp. v. Myrick, Case No. 94-286
I 2664S 5 ce oo Oe 88 a passim

Nash v. Florida Indus. Comm’n,
ee ee eee 4,5

Parker v. Leon County,
601 So.2d 1223 (Pia. ist DCA 1992) .........605. 2

iV

Perry v. Mercedes Benz,

957 F.2d 1257 Ga Cir. 199%)... we es 20,21,22,23,24
Pokorny v. Ford Motor Co..,

SOS F.26 CESS GS Cor. TOP nw cee esas 20,23,26
Rice v. Santa Fe Elevator Co..,

Be ee 6 3b orks oo ORS ere cee eee 27
Richards v. Michelin Tire Corp.,

786 F.Supp. 959 (S.D.Als. 1992) . 0 ww ee ne 29
Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp..,

ee ee eee a ee 28
Sours v. Gen. Motors Corp.,

FER ae Bee Ss TO ¢ be oie Hb baie aa 18
Stratton v. Stratton,

ee es I bk cba oo od ee ee eee 1
Strohm v. Winn-Dixie Stores, Inc.,

174 So.2d 441 (Fla. 2d DCA 1965) .............. 6
Suazo v. Del Busto,

587 So.2d 480 (Fla. 3d DCA 1991) ...........44.. 3
Taylor v. Gen. Motors Corp.,

Bw Fe Le | er rrn rs 2 eee ee 27
Wood v. Gen. Motors Corp.,

Be ey | reer re 20,23,26

. Wright v. State,

S85 So.26 321 (Fila. Sth DCA 1991) 2... ccc cen 3

Wyche v. State,

573 So.2d 953 (Fla. 2d DCA 1991) ...........2.5.4. 3

Zeigler v. Hawkins, /
Sis BO.28 dou (me. tt DCA E975) «ww. cece 6

Statutes

PT: DN MMNEED 6 cee wn ces sc ewsbews deus 4
8 Bea eee Te ee re ory Pee eee 2
PS CUE 6 obs CU ew bee Ve eee wes 2,4
National Highway Traffic Safety Act

gS aa be ome Leer er ae 14,16,28
AD UB. GEIRe certo ssncsecees 16,20,25,26,27
Rane TEE oo 6 kaa ee baa ead 16,19,28
ee ask hee Oh AHA A Os 1,4
i aN 1,2
Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard 208........ passim
S.Rep. No. 1301, 89th Cong., 2d Sess. (1966) ........ 17
H.R. Rep. No. 1776, 89th Cong., 2d Sess. (1966) ...... 17

1
JURISDICTION

Hyundai asks this Court to review a final judgment based on
a jury verdict which was affirmed by Florida’s Third District
Court of Appeal. It claims that this Court has jurisdiction pursu-
ant to 28 U.S.C. § 1257. Hyundai is wrong.

This Court’s jurisdiction to review state court judgments is
limited. This Court may issue writs of certiorari to review
"[flinal judgments or decrees rendered by the highest court of a
State in which a decision could be had” on matters of federal
law. 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a). However, the final judgment Hyun-
dai asks this Court to review was not rendered by such a court.
Consequently, this Court does not have jurisdiction.

The decision here was rendered by Florida’s Third District
Court of Appeal, an intermediate appellate court. The Florida
Supreme Court is the state’s highest court. Fla. Const. art. V.
Obviously, if further review could have been sought in the Flor-
ida Supreme Court, then the Third District’s decision was not
rendered by the highest court in Florida in which review could be
had. Thus, this Court’s jurisdiction depends on whether the
Florida Supreme Court had jurisdiction to review this decision.
If it did, then Hyundai’s failure to seek that review precludes
jurisdiction here. A long line of precedent demonstrates this
Court’s unwavering devotion to this basic principle. E.g., Costa-
relli v. Massachusetts, 421 U.S. 193 (1975); Banks v. California,
395 U.S. 708 (1969); McMaster v. Gould, 276 U.S. 284 (1928);
Matthews v. Huwe, 269 U.S. 262 (1925); Stratton v. Stratton,
239 U.S. 55 (1915); Mullen v. Western Union Beef Co., 173
U.S. 116 (1899); Fisher v. Carrico, 122 U.S. 522 (1887). The
limitation applies even if the Florida Supreme Court’s jurisdiction
was purely discretionary; the Florida Supreme Court had to be
given the opportunity to exercise that discretion. E.g., Stratton,
239 U.S. 55 (Court did not have jurisdiction to review decision
of Ohio intermediate appellate court where Ohio Supreme Court
had discretion to review decision but petitioner did not seek review).

The Florida Supreme Court’s jurisdiction to review decisions

2

by the district courts of appeal is set out in the Florida Constitu-
tion. It may review district court decisions which conflict with
decisions of other district courts or the Florida Supreme Court.
Fla. Const. art. V, § 3(b)(3); Fla.R.App.P. 9.030(2)(iv). It may
also review district court decisions which pass upon questions
which the district court certifies to be of great public importance.
Fla. Const. art. V, § 3(b)(4); Fla.R.App.P. 9.030(2)(v).

Phillip and Hyundai agree the Florida Supreme Court did not
have conflict jurisdiction to review this decision. However, this
agreement does not confer jurisdiction on this Court since con-
flict is not the sole basis for Florida Supreme Court review.
Hyundai could have moved the Third District to certify the ques-
tion as one of great public importance. It did not do so. If the
Third District agreed to certify the question, the Florida Supreme
Court would have had discretionary jurisdiction under the state
constitution and Fla.R.App.P. 9.030(2)(v)./

A party has the right to request certification by the district
court. "A motion for . . . certification may be filed within 15
days of an order or within such other time set by the court.”
Fla.R.App.P. 9.330(a). See, e.g., Parker v. Leon County, 601

\/ Hyundai claims that Phillip acknowledged the Florida Supreme Court had
no jurisdiction to review the Third District’s decision:

Indeed, in opposing a stay of execution pending Hyundai’s
efforts to seek review in the Florida Supreme Court or in this
Court, plaintiff stated that “(t]he required basis for Florida
Supreme Court jurisdiction does not exist. See Fla.R.App.P.
9.030(a)(2)."

Hyundai's Petition at 1 n.2. This is a misleading abbreviation of Phillip’s
argument. Hyundai lifted this quotation out of context from a paragraph which
dealt with whether Hyundai could show a likelihood of success in the Florida
Supreme Court. Hyundai ignores the two sentences Phillip wrote which pre-
cede the quoted sentence: “This Court’s decision has not been certified to be
one of great public importance; Hyundai never even moved for such certifica-
tion. The required basis for Florida Supreme Court jurisdiction does not exist.”
Thus, Phillip never conceded that Hyundai had exhausted its state remedies. To
the contrary, Phillip pointed out that Hyundai abandoned those remedies. Its
abandonment of those remedies is central to this Court’s jurisdiction.

3

So.2d 1223 (Fla. Ist DCA 1992); Emerald Acres Inv., Inc. vy.
Bd. of County Comm'rs, 601 So.2d 577 (Fla. Ist DCA 1992)
(both granting motion to certify question to Florida Supreme
Court). A district court may deny rehearing but grant the motion
for certification. E.g., Suazo v. Del Busto, 587 So.2d 480 (Fla.
3d DCA 1991); Wright v. State, 585 So.2d 321 (Fla. Sth DCA
1991). Indeed, a party may move for certification without
moving for rehearing. In re The Fla. Bar Rules of App. Pro.,
529 So.2d 687 (Fla. 1988). A motion for certification may be
granted when the issue is one on which the Florida Supreme
Court should be given the opportunity to pass, but there is no
conflict which would allow the court to take jurisdiction. Wyche
v. State, 573 So.2d 953, 955 (Fla. 2d DCA 1991).

That is the situation here. The Florida Supreme Court did
not have conflict jurisdiction. However, Hyundai had the option
of asking to have the question certified. The very lack of conflict
indicated that Hyundai should have asked for a certified question
if it wanted further review of the case. Hyundai chose not to
take advantage of that option. Having failed to seek certification
to the Florida Supreme Court, Hyundai cannot claim now that the
Third District’s decision was "rendered by the highest court of a
State in which a decision could be had."

Gotthilf v. Sills, 375 U.S. 79 (1963), is on point. In that
case, New York’s Appellate Division affirmed a trial court order.
The Court of Appeals denied petitioner’s motion for leave to
appeal because the order was not a final one: it dismissed an
appeal as of right on the same ground. However, New York law
allowed the petitioner to request the Aypellate Division to certify
the question to the Court of Appeals; the petitioner failed to take
advantage of that right. As a result, this Court held that it could
not review the matter because the decision was not from the
highest state court in which review could be had.

Section 589 of the New York Civil Practice Act
provides inter alia that appeals from nonfinal orders
can only be taken to the Court of Appeals by leave
of the Appellate Division upon certified questions.

4

The petitioner at no time applied to the Appellate
Division for such permission. It therefore appears
that the Appellate Division, First Judicial Depart-
ment "was not the last state court in which decision
of that [constitutional] question could be had."
Gorman v. Washington University, 316 U.S. 98,
100, 62 S.Ct. 962, 963, 83 L.Ed. 1300 (1942).
The judgment of the Appellate Division is not that
of the "highest court of a State in which a decision
could be had" within the meaning of 28 U.S.C. §
1257.

375 U.S. at 80.

The same is true here. Fla.R.App.P. 9.330 provides that a
party may request the district court to certify a question to the
Florida Supreme Court as one of great public importance. Thus,
Hyundai had a right to ask the Third District to do so. Hyundai
at no time applied to the Third District for such certification. As
in Gotthilf, "[i]t therefore appears that the [Third District Court
of Appeal] ’was not the last state court in which decision of that
[federal preemption] question could be had.’"

In Nash v. Florida Indus. Comm’n, 389 U.S. 235 (1967), this
Court reached a different conclusion because, at that time, Flor-
ida’s appellate rules did not allow a party to request certification.
389 U.S. at 237 n.1. Because the rules made no provision for a
party to request certification, a party’s "suggestion" that certifica-
tion might be appropriate was a legal nullity. Jd.

However, Florida’s appellate rules have been changed since
Nash was decided. Those rules now specifically allow a party to
ask the district court to certify an issue to the Florida Supreme
Court. Compare former Fla.R.App.P. 3.14 (1973)(authorizing
motions for rehearing) with arrent Fla.R.App.P. 9.330 (replac-
ing rule 3.14 and authorizing motion for certification). See
generally In re The Fla. Bar Rules of App. Pro., 529 So.2d at
687 (Rule 9.330(a) and (b) “have been amended to allow a party
to move for certification of a question to the Florida Supreme
Court based on . . . question of great public importance, without

5

also having to file a separate motion for rehearing"). Because of
the rule change, Florida’s present procedure for seeking review
by certification to the Florida Supreme Court is like the New
York procedure which this Court confronted in Gotthilf, rather
than the one it confronted in Nash. The holding in Gorthilf, not
Nash, controls. This Court has no jurisdiction to review this
State court judgment.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE AND FACTS”!

Introduction. According to Hyundai, plaintiff claimed Hyun-
dai’s seat belt system "was defective because it was equipped
with that [sic] 2-point belt system, and not the 3-point belt system
plaintiff preferred." Hyundai’s Petition at 2. From this premise,
Hyundai argues that this case is worthy of review because it is
like the pre-Cipollone "air bag cases," which held that liability
based on a manufacturer’s decision to install air bags instead of
seat belts was preempted, or the decision in Myrick, which held
that, after Cipollone, liability based on a manufacturer’s decision
to install regular brakes instead of air brakes was not preempted.

The fact is that Hyundai’s characterization of this Case,
designed to make it appear worthy of review, is wrong. Hyundai
was found liable by a state court jury for defectively designing its
two-point system, not for choosing to install one federally
approved option instead of another federally approved option,
i.e., a two-point restraint system instead of a three-point system.

a Plaintiff/Respondent Evelyn Phillip, as Personal Representative of the
Estate of Ann Marie Phillip, will be referred to as she stands in this Court, as
she stood in the trial court and as Phillip. Decedent Ann Marie Phillip will be
referred to as “Ann Marie." Defendants/Petitioners Hyundai Motor Company
(Korea), Hyundai Motor America ("Hyundai") and Central Hyundai Company,
d/b/a Central Hyundai ("Central Hyundai") will be referred to as they stand in
this Court, as they stood in the trial court and by name where appropriate.

"R" refers to the state court record on appeal; "T” refers to the trial transcript;
"SR" refers to the supplemental record filed with the Third District Court of
Appeal. Emphasis is supplied by counsel unless otherwise noted.

6

The long list of cases cited by Hyundai stand for the proposi-
tion that a car manufacturer cannot be held liable merely for
choosing one of the general restraint system options allowed by
the federal government over another. They do not stand for the
proposition that Hyundai may defectively design its chosen option
and then escape common law liability. Hyundai, not the federal
government, designed Hyundai’s two-point system. Thus, Hyun-
dai’s liability for Anne Marie’s death caused by that defective
design is not within the scope of this Court’s review in Myrick or
the cases on preemption cited by Hyundai. To understand this
conclusion, a discussion of the facts and evidence is necessary.

Statement of the case. Ann Marie was involved in a routine
two-car accident while driving a 1988 Hyundai Excel. Her liver
was cut in half by Hyundai’s unusual two-point system and she
bled to death. By interrogatory verdict, the jury found both that
Hyundai's restraint system was defective and that Hyundai and
Central Hyundai negligently failed to warn Ann Marie of the
dangers of that system even though it had other Hyundai Excel’s
on its lot with safer restraint systems. Hyundai and Central
Hyundai appealed. On appeal, they ignored the jury’s tidings
of both defect and failure to warn. They only challenged the trial
court’s denial of their pretrial motion for summary judgment
based on preemption.” The Third District Court of Appeal

ad That summary judgment motion was supported by an affidavit which
stated that federal law gave a manufacturer different options for passenger
restraint systems; the Excel involved in this case used one of those options~an
automatic shoulder belt with no lap belt; and that Hyundai’s implementation of
that option met the minimum crash test criteria of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety
Standard [FMVSS] 208. (R. 247-50). Hyundai's affidavit did not say the
restraint system was reasonably safe and free of any defect—it did not address
defectiveness at all. And, it failed to mention the failure to warn theory at all.
Under Florida law, a summary judgment motion which does not address all
issues is properly denied. Zeigler v. Hawkins, 315 So.2d 200 (Fla. Ist DCA
1975); Lake v. Konstantinu, 189 So.2d 171 (Fla. 24 DCA 1966); Strohm v.
Winn-Dixie Stores, Inc., 174 So.24 441 (Fla. 24 DCA 1965).

In opposition, Phillip relied on the deposition of her expert. He said Hyundai's
(continued...)

ES eee Mee

‘i ee

7

affirmed. It held that Phillip’s products liability claims, i.e., that
the restraint system in the 1988 Excel was defectively designed
and that Central Hyundai failed to warn, were not preempted by
the National Highway Traffic Safety Act [the Act].

The accident. Ann Marie bought a 1988 Excel from Central
Hyundai in January 1989. (T. 274; 723-24). It had no lap belt,
only an automatic shoulder belt which «as very stiff or rigid.
(T. 443). Hyundai relied on the seat and padding on the lower
dashboard to provide the lower body restraint other systems and
manufacturers provided with a lap belt. (T. 419-21).

Seven months later, Ann Marie was driving her 1988 Excel.
(T. 273, 305-06). She struck an oncoming 1989 Toyota Corolla.
(T. 869, 889-90). Both cars were going about 35 m.p.h. (T.
806). There was nothing unusual about this accident, as even
Hyundai’s expert admitted. (T. 915, 916).

Ann Marie and her front seat passenger wore shoulder belts.
The Toyota’s driver and front seat passenger wore lap and shoul-
der belts. None of the rear passengers in either car wore seat
belts. Everyone walked away without life-threatening injuries--
except Ann Marie.” (T. 506, 928, 932-33, 941). She died
from injuries inflicted by her shoulder belt. (T. 1021, 1469).

Emergency surgery revealed that Ann Marie’s liver was
essentially torn in two; the left lobe was split off from the right.

3/ (...comtinued)

restraint system was defectively designed. Its overly stiff shoulder belt, com-
bined with its web clamp and lack of pelvic restraint, placed unreasonably high
loads on the body’s organs and rendered it defective. (SR. 73-78, 85-87, 94-
100). Indeed, all persons in a crash like this one should survive if the restraint

system is properly designed. (SR. 113).

The trial court denied Hyundai and Central Hyundai's motion for summary
judgment. (R. 316). The case was then tried for nine days. Hyundai and
Central Hyundai both lost. (T. 1611).

“This evidence is in clear contradistinction to Hyundai’s statement to this
Court at 5 that “Ann Marie was killed in a severe car accident.”

8

The vena cava, the principal vein in the body, was torn; the left
hepatic vein was severed. More than four quarts of blood pooled
in Ann Marie’s abdomen. The surgeons could not save her. (T.
633). She bled to death. (T. 1469).

The autopsy report noted that the liver laceration was due to
"blunt force” injury to the abdomen as a result of a car accident.
(T. 636). Phillip’s expert, an engineer and physician, explained
the “blunt force" which killed Anne Marie was the shoulder
harness she was wearing: "[T]he blunt force was caused by the
diagonal shoulder belt that loaded the left lobe of the liver.” (T.
637). The homicide report concurred: Ann Marie’s injuries
were inflicted by the shoulder belt.*/ (T. 1021, 1469).

Restraint system design. A review of the facts in this case
shows that Hyundai’s liability, as found by the jury, was based
on the defective design of its restraint system, not on its decision
to use a two-point system instead of a three-point system.

The first task in designing a restraint system is to restrain the
pelvis. (T. 630). Without adequate pelvic restraint, the body
slides up, down or sideways; this changes the shoulder belt’s
position over the torso and shoulder. (T. 424). The belt can slip
off the shoulder and chest. If it does, then the 2,000 pounds of
force generated in a 30 m.p.h. collision no longer load on the
body’s strong bones. (T. 448, 630). Rather, the shifted belt can
load on the lower ribs; these compress easily because they are
not attached to the sternum. Or, it can load on the liver, spleen
or bowel, which are unprotected by the ribs; this can rupture or
lacerate these organs. (T. 631). From the early 1980’s, General
Motors warned that using a shoulder belt without adequate pelvic
restraint was dangerous. (T. 1252, 1333-34).

The first restraint systems used a lap belt to accomplish the

5/ Hyundai informs this Court at 7 that the coroner testified that Ann
Marie’s injuries were caused by the accident forces, not the shoulder belt.
Hyundai simply ignores the contrary evidence, including that of the neutral
police officer in his homicide report. It also ignores the jury verdict which
rejected Hyundai’s evidence.

9

necessary pelvic restraint. See (T. 630). In the 1970’s, shoulder
belts were added. These direct the load through the strong shoul-
der, down the very strong spine, to the very strong pelvis. (T.
630). However, if a shoulder belt is too stiff, inertial injuries
occur.” If the belt restrains the chest too quickly, the body does
not have enough time to absorb the energy. (T. 1094). The
System must be designed to prevent the chest and abdomen from
slamming into a rigid shoulder strap. (T. 967, 1299-1300).

Another risk of a shifting shoulder belt is "roping"--the edge
of the belt curls on itself. (T. 571). As it curls, it may dig into
flesh and organs beneath. The rigid chest keeps the belt flat.
However, the edge can curl in on the soft abdomen and cut the
liver or other unprotected Organs. (T. 571, 691). Roping
increases the chance and severity of injury. (T. 571, 585).

The liver and spleen "are the most vulnerable organs in the
body for belt loading.” (T. 632). Part of the left lobe of the
liver is totally unprotected; the right lobe is only protected by the
less sturdy part of the lower ribs. (T. 631). This vulnerability is
why it is so important that the shoulder beit not shift and exert
too much pressure in the soft abdominal area. See (T. 632).
Even Hyundai’s experts agreed that a restraint system which
loaded on the abdomen during an accident was a dangerous one.
(T. 1031, 1303-04). See (T. 362).

The federal government requires restraint systems to meet
minimum performance standards. Federal Motor Vehicle Safety
Standard [FMVSS] 208 sets restraint system performance stan-
dards in three areas: the head, chest and femur. (T. 376, 114i,
1295-98). It does not establish standards for every aspect of a
restraint system’s performance. Significantly, it does not estab-

6/ Inertia is the tendency of a body to continue in motion unless disturbed
by an external force. In a 30 m.p.h. collision, the chest organs move ahead at
30 m.p.h. until halted by the chest wall and restraint system. (T. 967, 1299).

10

lish any standards for impact to the abdomen. (T. 377, 692).7/

The Excel’s restraint system. The 1988 Excel restraint
system had an automatic shoulder harness, but no lap belt.
Phillip’s engineering expert found the Excel’s system defective
and unreasonably dangerous. (T. 412). It posed an unreasonable
risk of injury or death in collisions at normal speeds. (T. 412).
Ann Marie’s injuries were caused by three aspects of the Excel’s
restraint system design: (1) the lack of adequate pelvic restraint;
(2) a too-rigid shoulder belt; and (3) a web clamp which made
the belt system too "aggressive." (T. 443-44).

Hyundai attempted to control the pelvis with a knee bolster (a
padded area on the lower dashboard) and a slightly angled seat
reinforced with steel to prevent the occupant’s buttocks from
plowing through the bottom. (T. 419-21, 533, 538). It directed
the restraint load for the lower body to the femur rather than the
pelvis. (T. 1095). The system allowed too much lower body
movement. The knee bolster let the hips slide forward until the
knee hit the bolster. (T. 423, 434, 641-42). Even then, the
pelvis continued to move forward. (T. 643).

Because the occupants of a car involved in an accident are
thrown in the direction of the impact, the knee bolster system
allows even greater lower body movement when, as here, the
accident is not a head-on collision. (T. 640). Here, Ann
Marie’s knees moved 45° to 60° right; they had farther to go
before hitting the knee bolster than if moving straight ahead. (T.
640, 642). This allowed the shoulder belt to shift from loading
safely to the shoulder and spine to loading directly on the abdo-

7/ FMVSS 208 sets minimum standards. Reasonable engineering standards
may require more. (T. 446, 560). A system with a belt that stretches from one
side of the car to the other might meet FMVSS 208’s standards; it might also
strangle the user. (T. 448, 524). Even Thomas, Hyundai’s engineering expert,
admitted that FMVSS 208 does not give the whole picture. He has seen crash
tests where all of FMVSS 208’s performance standards were met but the
dummy flew through the windshield. (T. 1302). Thus, even he acknowledged
that meeting FMVSS 208’s performance standards is the start, not the end, in
designing a reasonably safe occupant restraint system. (T. 560).

11

men and liver area. (T. 436, 635, 642-43).

Another expert explained the effect of Hyundai’s restraint
system on Ann Marie. After the collision, Ann Marie’s pelvis
began moving off the seat, forward and to the right. (T. 641).
The shoulder belt shifted; it tried to restrain her by loading over
her lower rib cage. (T. 642). This did not restrain her pelvis,
which continued to move. (T. 643). Her knees had a long way
to travel before hitting the bolster because she was moving obli-
quely right. Even when her knees hit the bolster, her pelvis kept
moving forward and right, along with her spine and right lobe of
the liver. (T. 642, 643). Simultaneously, the shoulder belt
continued to compress the liver’s left lobe. (T. 643). It was
probably roping moderately. (T. 691-92). As the torso contin-
ued to move to the right, the force applied by the belt opened up
the liver. In the process, it tore off the liver’s left hepatic vein
and ruptured the inferior vena cava. (T. 643).

In addition to inadequate pelvic restraint, Phillip’s expert
identified a second defect in the restraint system: the shoulder
harness itself. Hyundai suggested it simply "borrowed" an
already proven system designed by Volkswagen.®’ It ignored the
differences between the systems. Hyundai altered the seat and
knee bolster. More importantly, the stiffer shoulder strap and
use of a "web clamp" made Hyundai’s system dangerously differ-
ent. See (T. 1098-99).

Shoulder belts are designed to stretch when fully loaded in an
accident; the greater the stretch, the longer the body has to
absorb the energy. (T. 823-34, 1094). The 1988 Excel’s shoul-
der harness was rigid--"just in and of itself there is not enough
energy absorption in the shoulder harness, it is very stiff." (T.
443). It stretched too little-only 4.5%. (T. 444, 577). By

&/ Volkswagen originally developed this “no lap belt" system in the 1970’s
and used it in the 1975 Rabbit. (T. 364, 1074, 1153). However, the 1988
Excel system was not a faithful copy of Volkswagen's two-point system, which
it allegedly copied. See (T. 444). The knee bolster, seat and shoulder harness
were all different. (T. 1098-99).

12

contrast, Volkswagen’s two-point "shoulder belt-only" system
which Hyundai "copied" stretched 20%. (T. 444).

Hyundai also used a web clamp. The shoulder belt pulls out
of a retractor. The web clamp is a device in the retractor that
locks the belt in an accident and prevents the release of excess
webbing. (T. 444, 528-32). Volkswagen did not use one in its
"shoulder belt-only" system. (T. 1098). A web clamp may be
fine with a belt that stretches more than Hyundai’s. (T. 581).
But Hyundai’s combination of a belt with a low stretch factor and
a web clamp “makes it a very aggressive belt." (T. 579). Very
simply, the web clamp accentuated the problems caused by the
rigid shoulder belt. See (T. 581).

The expert analyzed films of Hyundai’s crash tests. (T.
432). They show Hyundai’s shoulder harness did not work well
with the knee bolster. The shoulder belt on the dummy acted as
it had on Ann Marie. The dummy’s hips moved forward and the
shoulder belt took all the load. It slipped under the rib cage and
into the abdomen. The sequence of photos shows the shoulder
strap pressing progressively further into the abdomen, with the
load primarily underneath the rib cage and around the dummy’s
side. (T. 436-37). This means the shoulder belt loaded over the
driver’s liver. (T. 437). The films show at least moderate
roping in this area. (T. 436). All this could be seen by someone
experienced in film analysis, crash tests and restraint systems, but
Hyundai’s engineers saw none of it.” (T. 432-33, 585).

Significantly, the federal regulations on which Hyundai relies
for preemption merely said that Hyundai could use a two-point

” One explanation for Hyundai’s use of such a dangerous system was lack
of experience. Crash testing and evaluating automobile restraint systems and
their effect on people is the province of biomechanical engineering. (T. 624-
25). Hyundai employed no biomechanical engineers when it designed and
tested the 1988 Excel. (T. 330, 345, 624). The engineer in charge of testing
this system had no academic or practical experience. (T. 324). He admitted he
"was just a greenhorn, just two years in the company and not in a position to
conduct research or investigation” when he was put in charge of the crash
testing. (T. 387).

:
q
;
,
i iiiiitaiceiiiidaiiiiiaia

13

system. Those regulations did not tell Hyundai how to safely
design that design. Because proper design was not mandated by
the government but left to Hyundai, the jury’s decision that
Hyundai’s design was defective is not only supported by abun-
dant evidence, but is also not preempted.

Failure to warn. Phillip alleged not only that the seatbelt
system was defectively designed, but also that Hyundai and Cen-
tral Hyundai failed to inform Ann Marie about other seatbelt
systems which were available in Hyundai’s Excels and which had
safer seatbelt systems. Significantly, this failure-to-warn claim
was grounded in unique facts. When Ann Marie went to Central
Hyundai in January 1989 to buy a car, it had various 1988 and
1989 Excels on its lot from which Ann Marie could choose. (T.
723-24, 730). The restraint systems on all the cars were not the
same. Hyundai had three different restraint systems in its
Excels: 1988 models with two-point automatic shoulder belts and
no lap belt; 1988 and 1989 models with conventional three-point
shoulder and lap belts; and 1989 models with two-point automatic
shoulder belts plus a lap belt.

In the 1989 Excels, all of which had a lap belt, the owner’s
manual and driver’s sun visor warned about dangers in not using
the manual lap belt. Hyundai’s visor clearly stated:

IMPORTANT SAFETY INFORMATION:

For full restraint protection, THE MANUAL LAP
BELT AND THE AUTOMATIC SHOULDER
BELT MUST BE SECURELY FASTENED when-
ever the car is moving.

(T. 592, 1240; Pl.Ex. 28). Hyundai’s visor also noted: "Failure
to follow these instructions could increase the chance and/or
severity of injury in an accident.” Id.

Thus, when Ann Marie bought her Excel, Central Hyundai
knew the pelvic restraint offered by its seat/knee bolster was
inadequate. It knew that restraint systems with a lap belt--avail-
able in some 1988 and 1989 Excels—were safer than the shoulder
belt-only system in the 1988 Excel Ann Marie purchased. But

14

Central Hyundai never passed this information on to Ann Marie.
Because Central Hyundai did not tell Ann Marie of the restraint
system differences between the various 1988 and 1989 Excel
models, Ann Marie had no opportunity to make an educated
decision as to which car and which restraint system she wanted.

The jury properly found liability based on this failure to
warn. Because the federal regulations do not address the issue of
warnings at all, this liability, like Hyundai’s liability for defective
design, is not preempted.

WHY CERTIORARI SHOULD NOT BE GRANTED

Summary of Argument. In its attempt to gain certiorari
review by this Court, Hyundai has mischaracterized the claims
against it. Hyundai suggests that certiorari is appropriate because
this case involves preemption under the National Traffic and
Motor Vehicle Safety Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1381 et seq. [the Act],
and the administrative regulations promulgated thereunder
[FMVSS]. Hyundai notes that this Court accepted jurisdiction in
Freightliner Corp. v. Myrick, Case No. 94-286 (Oct. 7, 1994), to
consider the preemptive scope of the Act, and suggests Myrick
will be dispositive here. Hyundai also suggests that, regardless
of Myrick, this Court should review this case because FMVSS
208 and the Act immunize it from tort liability for utilizing a
defective two-point restraint system. Neither suggestion is accu-
rate. Regardless of whether the Act expressly or impliedly pre-
empts conflicting tert claims, Hyundai’s liability here does not
conflict with FMVSS 208 and therefore is not preempted.

To create its preemption argument, Hyundai asserts at 5 that
it was found liable because its vehicle “was defective because it
was equipped with that [sic] 2-point belt system, and not the 3-
point belt system plaintiff preferred." Hyundai is wrong. Hyun-
dai was found liable for defectively designing its two-point sys-
tem, not for choosing to install one federally approved option
instead of another federally approved option, i.e., a two-point
restraint system instead of a three-point system.

While some cases hold that a car manufacturer cannot be

15

liable for choosing one type of federally approved restraint option
instead of another (i.e., airbags instead of belts; regular brakes
instead of anti-lock brakes), neither the federal regulations nor
the cases construing them allow a manufacturer to defectively
design the restraint option chosen. Hyundai, not the federal
government, designed Hyundai’s particular two-point system.
Although the federal regulations allowed Hyundai to use a two-
point system, they did not tell Hyundai how to design it. The
regulations do not specify the degree of rigidity of the shoulder
belt or its other characteristics; they do not mandate the use of
web clamps; they do not specify the existence or degree of seat
ramping; they do not specify the existence, placement, or charac-
teristics of a knee bolster.

Here, Hyundai was found liable, not for using a two-point
system, but for designing a defective one. The two-point system
Hyundai used was defective—the shoulder belt was too stiff, a
web clamp was inappropriate and the pelvic restraint was inade-
quate. As a result, the system allowed too much roping and
placed too great a load on the abdomen. Thus, there is no pre-
emption because the issue before the jury in this case—whether
Hyundai properly designed its two-point system--is outside the
scope of the federal regulations.

Moreover, Myrick does not address the defective design of a
permissible option; it involves the issue of liability based solely
on the use of one federally approved option (regular brakes)
instead of another (anti-lock brakes). Thus, this Court’s decision
in Myrick will not determine Hyundai’s liability here.

Finally, preemption must be applied on a claim by claim
basis. Here, Phillip claimed both failure to warn and design
defect. Under the unique facts of this case, a jury could easily
conclude Central Hyundai had a duty to inform Ann Marie about
the choices in restraint system options and about the availability
of Hyundai Excels on the very same lot with better restraint sys-
tems. Because the federal regulations do not address the issue of
warnings at all, there is no conflict and therefore no preemption.

In sum, even if this Court were to hold that FMVSS 208

16

allows auto manufacturers the freedom to choose a two-point
system, that holding would not address the issue here. It would
not insulate Hyundai from liability for designing the defective
restraint system involved in this case.

The Act. Hyundai bases its preemption claim on the Act.
The Act contains a limited preemption provision:

Whenever a Federal motor vehicle safety standard
established under this subchapter is in effect, no
State or political subdivision of a State shall have
any authority either to establish, or to continue in
effect, with respect to any motor vehicle or item of
motor vehicle equipment any safety standard appli-
cable to the same aspect of performance of such’
vehicle or such item of equipment which is not
identical to the Federal standard.

15 U.S.C. § 1392(d). This preemption clause does not stand
alone. It is molded both by the Act’s purpose and by a savings
clause that protects common law causes of action against the
manufacturer from preemption. Both apply here.

The clear purpose of the Act was to increase the safety of
automobile occupants in car accidents. That purpose was clearly
expressed by Congress within the confines of the Act itself. The
Act’s opening section states:

Congress hereby declares that the purpose of this
chapter is to reduce traffic accidents and deaths and
injuries to persons resulting from traffic accidents.

15 U.S.C. § 1381. This Court has acknowledged that this is the
Act’s true purpose. Motor Vehicle Mfrs. Ass’n v. State Farm
Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 463 U.S. 29, 32-33 (1983).

To achieve this goal, the Act authorized the administrative
promulgation of safety standards. These standards do not replace
common law standards of care. Section 1397(k)(formerly §
1397(c)) unequivocally provides:

17

Compliance with any Federal Motor Vehicle Safety
Standard issued under this Chapter does not exempt
any person from any liability under common law.

The legislative history makes the same point. The Senate
report addressed the Act’s effect on state law. It concluded:

Moreover, the Federal minimum safety standards
need not be interpreted as restricting State common
law standards of care. Compliance with such stan-
dards would thus not necessarily shield any person
from product liability at common law.

S. Rep. No. 1301, 89th Cong., 2d Sess. at 2710 (1966). The
House report also notes the savings clause is intended to ensure

[t}hat compliance with safety standards is not to be
a defense or otherwise to effect the rights of parties
under common law, particularly those relating to
warranty, contract and tort liability.

H.R. Rep. No. 1776, 89th Cong., 2d Sess. at 24 (1966). !°

(T]hese expressions of legislative purpose should
govern our assessment of the preemptive effect of
the Act and the standards issued under it.

Chrysler Corp. v. Tofany, 419 F.2d 499, 508 (2d Cir. 1969). In

10/ Courts consistently reject the auto industry’s assertion that the Act’s real
purpose is uniform regulation, not safety. “[Uniformity] is a goal only insofar
as it promotes safety. Uniformity is not a goal in and of itself; nor is uniformi-
ty a goal of the Safety Act so that vehicle equipment manufacturers might avoid
tort liability." Welsh v. Century Products, 745 F.Supp. 313, 319 (D.Md.
1990). See also Garrett v. Ford Motor Co., 684 F.Supp. 407, 409 (D.Md.
1987)("Congress intended the Act to save the lives of automobile passengers
through safety standards; not the dollars of automobile manufacturers through
uniformity"); Gingold v. Audi-NSU-Auto Union, 567 A.2d 312, 329-30
(Pa.Super.Ct. 1989). Uniformity cannot “take precedence over Congress’
primary goal of safety." Buzzard v. Roadrunner Trucking Co., 966 F.2d 777,
783 (3d Cir. 1992)("strict uniformity may even interfere with the safety goal,
thus frustrating the Act’s purpose").

18

other words, the federal motor vehicle safety standards are mini-
mum standards. They set a floor for automotive safety, not a
ceiling. By their very terms, compliance does not relieve the
manufacturer of common law liability. Sours v. General Motors
Corp., 717 F.2d 1511 (6th Cir. 1983).

Hyundai claims that FMVSS 208 is an exception to these
rules because it allows a manufacturer to choose among three
different types of systems. Even if FMVSS 208 allows a manu-
facturer to choose any of the general alternatives listed there
without being subjected to tort liability, that exception does not
apply here. Hyundai is not liable because it chose one alternative
over another; Hyundai is liable because it defectively designed its
two-point system. Any exception for FMVSS 208 which Hyun-
dai suggests exists simply does not encompass this action.

A. FMVSS 208 does not authorize defective design
of a restraint system.

Introduction. A jury found that Hyundai’s restraint system
was defectively designed. Hyundai did not challenge the suffi-
ciency of the evidence to support that factual finding in its
appeal. Thus, the simple legal issue which was before the Third
District and which is before this Court is whether the Act and
FMVSS 208 allow Hyundai to design and install an admittedly
defective and unreasonably dangerous two-point restraint system
and then hide behind the fact that two-point systems are generally
authorized. That issue was properly decided adversely to Hyun-
dai; it does not merit further review here.

FMVSS 208. FMVSS 208 authorizes a manufacturer to use
either an automatic two-point system, an automatic three-point
system or airbags. Congress and its reguiatory agencies did not
try to design or approve all such systems. To the contrary, the
government allowed manufacturers to choose between these
general types of systems and relied on the manufacturers to
design them safely. With respect to design, the government
merely set minimum safety standards that each option must meet.
The safety standards for restraint systems involve the head, chest
and femur. There is no safety standard for abdominal loading.

19

Importantly, Congress specifically stated that compliance with
these minimum safety standards does not insulate a manufacturer
from common law liability. Even if some actions are preempted,
claims based on an authorized option’s defective design are not.
Simply put, the federal standards do not shield a manufacturer
from liability when it uses a defective two-point system, a defec-
tive three-point system or a defective airbag system.

Hyundai installed a defectively designed restraint system in
the 1988 Excel which caused Ann Marie’s injury rather than
prevented it. Phillip’s experts identified three defects: (1) inade-
quate pelvic restraint; (2) a too-stiff shoulder harness; and (3) a
web clamp which made the system too “aggressive.” The
restraint system consisted of a single shoulder strap which,
together with the knee bolster, did not adequately confine the
pelvis. The shoulder belt was stiff; a web clamp made it more
rigid. Because the pelvis was unconfined, the shoulder belt could
load 2,000 pounds of force on the abdomen in a collision.

Hyundai cites numerous cases in support of its preemption
claim. Almost all relate to the issue of whether a manufacturer
may be held liable solely because it failed to install airbags.
They recognize that Congress allowed options in lieu of manda-
tory airbags; liability predicated only on a manufacturer’s exer-
cise of the very choice Congress granted would be improper.!!/

These “airbag” cases do not apply here. Phillip does not
claim that Hyundai should have chosen airbags, or some other
authorized system, as its safety restraint option. Instead, she
claimed that once Hyundai chose a "shoulder belt-only” system,
it had a duty to design a system that was not unreasonably dan-
gerous to the user. Under § 1397(k), that duty is enforceable in

sad In the typical airbag case, the plaintiff was not wearing his seatbelt.
Thus, he could not claim the seatbelt system was defective. He could only
claim the manufacturer should have used an automatic system like an airbag.
Courts hold such claims are preempted because federal law allows seatbelts
instead of airbags and states cannot eliminate a choice expressly allowed by
federal law.

20
a common law action.

Hyundai blurs the difference between these two liability
theories. However, the distinction is critical. In one, a plaintiff
attempts to hold a manufacturer liable for choosing one general
type of restraint system authorized by FMVSS 208 over another
authorized system. In the other, a plaintiff attempts to hold a
manufacturer liable for defectively designing the particular type
of restraint system chosen. Both Myrick and H i address the
first situation; they do not address the second.'~ Yet, the second
situation is the issue in this case.

The distinction between liability based on choosing an
approved system and liability based on improper design of that
system is not novel or particularly controversial. Wood v. Gen..
Motors Corp., 865 F.2d 395 (ist Cir. 1988), and Pokorny v.
Ford Motor Co., 902 F.2d 1116 (3d Cir. 1990), are airbag cases
which found preemption. However, both recognized that pre-
emption does not encompass defective design of an approved
option. Wood discussed § 1392(d), the “preemption” clause:

We, of course, do not imply that section 1392(d)’s
prohibition immunizes the manufacturer from liabil-
ity for defective design of an airbag.

865 F.2d at 402 n.10.

Perry v. Mercedes Benz, 957 F.2d 1257 (Sth Cir. 1992), is
on point. Perry drove her car into a ditch. Her airbag did not
inflate on impact. She claimed the airbag was defectively
designed because the force required to trigger its deployment was
too high. The restraint system Mercedes Benz used--airbags—-was
one of the general types approved by FMVSS 208. The system
also met the government’s minimum safety standards. As a

12/ Hyundai cites a few cases which consider whether the failure to install
a lap belt, in itself, is a design defect. They utilize the same reasoning as the
“no airbag” cases and hold that the mere failure to install a lap belt is not an
actionable design defect. They do not suggest that a manufacturer may defec-
tively design that “no lap belt” system.

21

result, Mercedes Benz argued, like Hyundai here, that Perry’s
claim was preempted. The Fifth Circuit disagreed.

The court analyzed the "no-airbag” cases, the same cases on
which Hyundai relies. It acknowledged that some courts have
found preemption in such cases because

the tort claims sought to impose liability on the
manufacturer for choosing an option that the federal
scheme expressly granted them the right to choose.

957 F.2d at 1264. However, Perry concluded that these were
not controlling; the issue was not the same. The issue in Perry
was the manufacturer’s defective design of the chosen system and
not the decision to install one type of system rather than another.
As Perry recognized, common law liability is, at best, preempted
only when the claim is based solely on the manufacturer’s choice
of one alternative allowed by FMVSS 208 over another: preemp-
tion is not a factor when the claim is based on the manufacturer’s
defective design of the alternative it has chosen

Specifically, Perry found no preemption of a claim that the
chosen restraint system was defectively designed because

[I]iability for the defective design of an air bag
system would not necessarily conflict with the
objectives of the Safety Act or the methods that
have been chosen to fulfill those objectives.

957 F.2d at 1265. Perry then concluded:

[E]ven if we assume that allowing liability for a
manufacturer’s failure to install an air bag would
conflict with Congress’ chosen method by removing
or requiring one of the manufacturer’s choices,
Perry’s claim presents a different scenario. Once
the manufacturer chooses an option that includes an
airbag system, Standard 208 S5-S6 merely set forth
minimum performance requirements for that system.
To allow tort liability for the design of that system
would not remove or require any particular choice,

22

or otherwise frustrate the "flexibility" that the fed-
eral scheme provides. We recognize that the manu-
facturer who chooses to meet only the bare mini-
mum performance requirements will be burdened
with the potential for tort liability, but this is the
exact burden that Congress preserved in the Savings
Clause, when it stated that "[c]ompliance with any
Federal motor vehicle safety standard . . . does not
exempt any person from any liability under common
law."

Id. (footnote omitted; emphasis by court).

The same is true here. Once Hyundai chose the option of a
shoulder belt without a lap belt, the regulations merely set forth
minimum performance requirements for that system.'*/ To allow
tort liability for the design of that system does not remove one of
the federally approved options. It merely holds Hyundai respon-
sible for its defective implementation of the option it chose.
Preemption is simply not a factor in this situation.

Hyundai nowhere suggests that Perry was wrongly
decided.'“ Indeed, Hyundai ignores the fact that the Third Dis-
trict relied on Perry, not just Myrick, to support its holding that
the Act did not preempt Phillip’s common law claims. This
selective blindness, however, does not change the fact that Perry
distinguishes between preemption for simply choosing an allowed
option and no preemption for defective design of that option.
Indeed, that was the only point for which Phillip cited Perry in

13/ The cases cited by Hyundai do not suggest that a car manufacturer is
insulated from liability simply because its system meets the minimum standards
for head, chest and femur loads; nor do they do not hold that, because the
minimum standards only address head, chest and femur loads, Hyundai had no
duty to design its system to provide for safe abdomen loads.

14/ —_ Hyundai’s sole reference to Perry is in a footnote where it makes the
cursory claim that Perry is “an off-point case.” Hyundai's Petition at 7.5. It
may be “off-point” for Hyundai’s purposes. However, it is directly “on-point"
to the facts and liability theories at issue here.

23

her Third District brief. The Third District’s citation to Perry
recognizes this distinction and implicitly holds that Phillip’s
claims fall on the "no preemption” side.

The distinction drawn by the Fifth Circuit in Perry, and
acknowledged by the First Circuit in Wood and the Third Circuit
in Pokorny, is common sense. Suppose Hyundai designed a lap
belt with knife-sharp edges which cut into the user during an
accident. Obviously, Hyundai would not be insulated from liabil-
ity simply because the manual belt was part of a restraint system
whose general type was acceptable and which met minimum
performance standards for head, chest and femur compression.
Or, suppose that Hyundai designed an airbag which clung to the
user’s face on deployment and smothered him. Hyundai would
not be insulated from liability simply because an airbag is an
acceptable type of system. Yet, that is exactly what Hyundai
argues here. It claims it may design a restraint system, which
can itself kill the user, and elude liability simply because the
system is of a type generally approved under FMVSS 208 and
meets minimum head, chest and femur force standards.

FMVSS 208 allows a manufacturer to choose a two-point
system; it does not mandate any particular two-point system. It
certainly does not set out the design details of that system.
Although FMVSS 208 may immunize a manufacturer from state
tort liability for simply choosing to use a non-defective two-point
system, it does not immunize a manufacturer from state tort
liability for designing a defective one.

The Myrick case. The Third District cited Myrick v. Frue-
hauf Corp., 13 F.3d 1516 (11th Cir. 1994), to support its
holding that Phillip’s claims against Hyundai were not pre-
empted. This Court has accepted jurisdiction to review Myrick.
From this, Hyundai concludes that this Court’s decision in
Myrick will be controlling here. Hyundai’s argument is mis-
guided. Myrick does not address defective design of an approved
system. Thus, regardless of how this Court decides Myrick, this

24
action will not be affected. !%/

Myrick is factually similar to the airbag cases. In Myrick, the
defendants are two truck manufacturers who did not install anti-
lock brakes on their trucks. The applicable federal safety stan-
dard allowed truck manufacturers to choose whether to install
anti-lock brakes or to use regular brakes instead; the defendants
chose not to install anti-lock brakes.

In other words, the issue in Myrick, like the airbag cases, is
whether the Act preempts common law actions based solely on
the manufacturers’ choice of an equipment option which is speci-
fically allowed by federal safety standards. Even if this Court
decides that the Act preempts such liability, that decision would
not address the issue here. Hyundai is not liable because it chose
a two-point system; Hyundai is liable because it designed and
installed a fatally defective two-point system. Hyundai’s reliance
on Myrick is fueled by Hyundai’s consistent disregard of the
difference between liability for choosing one of several
authorized options, which may be preempted, and liability for the
defective implementation of that choice, which is not.

In sum, Hyundai chose to install a system without a lap belt.
Although that choice was permissible under the federal standards,
Hyundai still had a common law duty to design its system so as
to safely implement that choice. It had a duty not to design a
system where, because of lack of adequate pelvic restraint, the
shoulder belt could shift and load 2,000 pounds of collision force
onto the user’s abdomen and liver. It had a duty to design a
shoulder belt which was not so extraordinarily stiff as to cause its

15/ The Third District’s citation to Myrick as well as to Perry indicates that
it had alternative independent bases for its holding that the claims against
Hyundai were not preempted. The citation to Myrick suggests that it agreed
that, under the rationale of Cipollone v. Liggett Group, Inc., 112 S.Ct. 2608
(1992), the Act did not impliedly preempt the claims. Its citation to Perry indi-
cates that it also agreed that claims based on the defective design of an autho-
rized option were not preempted. Because Hyundai does not attack the Perry
alternative, a decision in Myrick, even if contrary to the Eleventh Circuit’s
decision, will not insulate Hyundai from liability.

25

user fatal injuries in a collision. It had a duty not to use a web
clamp which accentuated the injury producing potential of the
shoulder belt. In short, it had a duty to design a shoulder belt-
only system whose parts functioned together to protect, not kill,
the user. Its failure to do so subjects it to liability. That liability
is not preempted by the Act.

B. FMVSS 208 does not regulate the aspect of
performance at issue here.

Hyundai’s preemption argument is inapplicable to this case
for another reason as well. The federal regulations do not
address abdominal loading; a defect relating to abdominal loading
is therefore not preempted.

Hyundai relies on the following language in the Act:

Whenever a Federal motor vehicle safety standard
established under this subchapter is in effect, no
State or political subdivision of a State shall have
any authority either to establish, or to continue in
effect, with respect to any motor vehicle or item of
motor vehicle equipment any safety standard appli-
cable to the same aspect of performance of such
vehicle or such item of equipment which is not
identical to the Federal standard.

15 U.S.C. § 1392(d). Thus, by its own terms, the Act only
preempts a conflicting state safety standard if two conditions are
met. First, the state standard must apply to the same "item of
motor vehicle equipment” as the federal standard. Second, the
state standard established for that item of equipment must apply
"to the same aspect of performance" as the federal standard. See
Chrysler Corp. v. Tofany, 419 F.2d 499, 506 (2d Cir. 1969).
Both requirements must be met.

The “aspect of performance" at issue in this lawsuit is
abdominal loading. Ann Marie died because Hyundai’s restraint
system allowed the force from the collision to be transmitted to
and exerted against the abdomen instead of the shoulder, spine or
pelvis. But, FMVSS 208 only sets safety standards for three

26

aspects of a restraint system’s performance: the forces which
may be placed on the head, chest and femur during a certain type
of crash test. FMVSS 208 does not regulate performance vis-a-
vis abdominal forces; it is silent on that matter. Even Hyundai
admitted there was no federal standard for this aspect of its
restraint system’s performance. (T. 349, 363, 377).

If there is no federal standard on a particular aspect of per-
formance, there is no preemption under 15 U.S.C. § 1392(d).
Hyundai cannot rely on federal standards which are silent as to
an aspect of performance to preclude liability. Any other conclu-
sion ignores the plain terms of the statute.

Interpretation of a statute must begin with its language.
"Absent a clearly expressed legislative intention to the contrary,
that language must ordinarily be regarded as conclusive." Con-
sumer Prod. Safety Comm’n v. GTE Sylvania, Inc., 447 U.S.
102, 108 (1980). Moreover, “only the most extraordinary
showing of contrary intentions" of congressional intent "would
justify a limitation on the ’plain meaning’ of the statutory lan-
guage." Garcia v. United States, 469 U.S. 70, 75 (1984)(cita-
tions omitted). When the terms of a statute are unambiguous,
"judicial inquiry is complete, except in rare and exceptional
circumstances." Jd. at 75 (citations omitted).

The language in § 1392(d) on the scope of preemption vis-a-
vis aspect of performance is unambiguous. It must be given
effect according to its plain meaning. Consequently, this action
is not preempted because it does not involve the same aspect of
performance which is addressed by the federal safety standards.

Other rules of statutory construction lead to the same result.
The lower courts have consistently held that the phrase “same
aspect of performance” should be narrowly read to promote the
purposes of the Act. Pokorny, 902 F.2d at 1126; Wood, 865
F.2d at 418; Tofany, 419 F.2d at 510; Jordan v. Paccar, Inc.,
792 F.Supp. 545, 550 (N.D.Ohio 1992). A broad reading is
inconsistent with the Act’s purpose and savings clause. See
Tofany, 419 F.2d at 509-10; Jordan, 792 F.Supp. at 550.

27

A broad reading is also inconsistent with general preemption
principles announced by this Court. The starting place for pre-
emption analysis is the precept that federal preemption is not
favored. Cipollone v. Liggett Group, Inc., 112 S.Ct. 2608,
2617-18 (1992). Courts start “with the assumption that the his-
toric police powers of the States are not to be superseded by [a]
Federal Act unless that is the clear and manifest purpose of
Congress." Id. at 2617 (citations, quotation marks and ellipses
omitted); English v. Gen. Elec. Co., 496 U.S. 72 (1990). This
is especially true when the subject is of traditional state concern,
like tort remedies for personal injuries. See Rice v. Santa Fe
Elevator Co., 331 U.S. 218, 230 (1947); Taylor v. Gen. Motors
Corp., 875 F.2d 816, 823 (11th Cir. 1989); Gingold v. Audi-
NSU-Auto Union, A.G., 567 A.2d 312, 318-19 (Pa.Super.Ct.
1989). Application of these principles mandates that preemption
provisions should be narrowly construed. See Cipollone, 112
S.Ct. at 2618.

Whether viewed as a matter of the plain terms of 15 U.S.C.
§ 1392(d), or whether viewed as a matter of statutory construc-
tion and federalism, the result is the same. Hyundai remains
tortiously liable for the defective design of its restraint system
vis-a-vis abdominal loading because that aspect of its restraint
system’s performance is not the subject of a federal standard.
Simply put, Hyundai cannot design a restraint system which
meets minimum requirements for head, chest and femur loading
but which nevertheless causes serious injuries to other parts of
the body not covered by any federal standards and then seek to
avoid liability under the guise of preemption. Thus, Hyundai’s
common law liability is not preempted by the Act.

C. At the least, the failure to warn claims against
Hyundai and Central Hyundai were not pre-
empted.

Phillip’s claims against Hyundai were not limited to design
defects. To the contrary, through interrogatory verdict the jury
specifically found a negligent failure to warn in addition to defec-
tive design. (T. 1611). Hyundai’s motion for summary judg-

28

ment, the denial of which was the only issue it raised on appeal,
never addressed this claim; it did mot argue that the failure to
warn claims were preempted. Yet, that claim makes certiorari
inappropriate here.

Federal preemption is a scalpel, not a bludgeon. It must be
used precisely and narrowly. It requires a claim by claim analy-
sis of the causes of action. The fact that one claim is preempted
does not mean that all are. Cipollone, 112 S.Ct. at 2621-25.
Here, even if the design defect claim is preempted, the failure to
warn claim is not.

There are two general ways in which state law claims are
preempted. If Congress evidences an intent to occupy the entire
field, then state laws within that field are preempted. Silkwood
v. Kerr-McGee Corp., 464 U.S. 238, 248 (1984). There is no
suggestion here that Congress intended to wholly occupy the field
of automotive safety to the exclusion of the states. Indeed, the
savings clause in 15 U.S.C. § 1397(k) evidences the opposite
intent since it saves state common law actions.

State law may also be displaced if the state law actually
conflicts with the federal law. This means that a state law may
not be enforced if it: (1) is impossible for a manufacturer to
comply with both the state and the federal law; or (2) obstructs
the achievement of the full purposes and objectives of Congress.
Silkwood, 464 U.S. at 248. Neither of these reasons for preemp-
tion exist here either.

Tnere is no actual conflict between a state tort claim
imposing a duty to warn and FMVSS 208. In fact, the Act and
FMVSS 208 are completely silent on the issue of warnings. It is
not impossible to comply with FMVSS 208 as well as with state
law requirements on warnings. As a result, there is no preemp-
tion because of actual conflict.

Moreover, imposing a duty to warn does not impede Con-
gress’ objectives under the Act. The explicit and announced
purpose of Congress in passing the Act was to improve automo-
bile occupant safety. 15 U.S.C. § 1381. Imposing a duty to

29
warn does not obstruct this goal.

In short, there is no preemption of the duty to warn.
FMVSS 208 addresses equipment performance requirements. At
best, it preempts state regulations that establish standards "appli-
cable to the same aspect of performance of such vehicle or such
items of equipment." Enforcing a duty to warn does not estab-
lish contrary standards; neither does it frustrate the Act’s pur-
pose. As a result, the state claim is not preempted. See
Richards v. Michelin Tire Corp., 786 F.Supp. 959 (S.D.Ala.
1992)(Act does not preempt claim based on duty to warn of
tire/rim mismatching).

Hyundai makes no reference in its petition to the failure to
warn claims. Hyundai simply fails to address this Court’s analy-
sis in Cipollone which distinguished between claims based on
failure to warn and other claims in the case.

Cipollone involved the Cigarette Labeling and Advertising
Act which mandated that specific warnings be put on packs of
cigarettes. The Act had a preemption clause which provided that
no other warnings shall be required on the package or in adver-
tising. This Court addressed the scope of federal preemption of
common law tort claims against the cigarette manufacturer. It
held that duty to warn claims based on allegations that the manu-
facturer should have included additional or clearer warnings were
preempted. However, failure to warn claims based on the manu-
facturer’s testing or research practices were not preempted.
Claims for breach of express warranty, fraudulent misrepresenta-
tion and conspiracy also were not preempted. Thus, Cipollone
held that warning claims were preempted only to the extent they
fell within the statute. Other claims were not preempted.

In Cipollone, the federal legislation addressed warnings and
nothing else. Thus, only warning claims were preempted.
Claims which were not addressed by the federal legislation were
not preempted. Here, the federal legislation does not say any-
thing about warnings. Those claims are not preempted.

There is no conflict between the restraint systems suggested

30

by FMVSS 208 and imposing a duty to warn a customer that the
manufacturer’s shoulder and lap belt system is safer than that
manufacturer’s shoulder belt-only system, or that the same model
is available with a lap belt. Moreover, establishing such a duty
is not detrimental to the safety goals of the Act. Hyundai and
Central Hyundai could easily have met both requirements, with
no detriment to the safety of automobile occupants. A duty to
warn simply requires Hyundai and Central Hyundai to notify the
buyer of her alternatives. Because there is no conflict between
this common law duty to warn and FMVSS 208, there is no pre-
emption of this claim.

CONCLUSION
This is not a case where Hyundai was found liable for

choosing one federally approved option instead of another. To

the contrary, the jury specifically found Hyundai liable because it
defectively designed the chosen option and because it negligently
failed to warn about the availability of its cars with different
restraint systems. Thus, although the question Hyundai presents
is interesting and perhaps important, it is not a basis for certior-
ari review in this case. Certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

MICHAEL COHEN MARC COOPER

Grand Bay Plaza, Suite 201 Counsel of Record

2665 South Bayshore Drive MAUREEN E. LEFEBVRE
Miami, Florida 33133 COOPER & WOLFE, P.A.
Telephone: (305) 859-9099 700 Courthouse Tower

44 West Flagler Street
Miami, Florida 33130
Telephone: (305) 371-1597

Counsel for Respondent

cai <

ei aii ST aos Sl a he Le Tas ne ye TOME ceca eet trent re Tt rT

Die EOF

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0812%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
