# Amicus Curiae Brief — Babbitt v. Sweet Home Chapter, Communities for Great Ore.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0804%3A24

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1995
- **Citation:** 515 U.S. 687

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

=~ 2 an xm
MAR eo iso

No. 94- |
a OFFICE Ur inc CLERK |

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1994

6

BRUCE BABBITT, SECRETARY OF
THE INTERIOR, et al.,

Petitioners,

SWEET HOME CHAPTER OF COMMUNITIES
FOR A GREAT OREGON, et al.,
Respondents.
- o
On Writ Of Certiorari To The

United States Court Of Appeals
For The District Of Columbia Circuit

—@ — ee
BRIEF OF FLORIDA LEGAL FOUNDATION

AND SOUTHEASTERN LEGAL FOUNDATION AS
AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

reds

Cs. STEPHEN PARK MicHart Le. Rosen’
SOUTHEASTERN LEGA FroripA Lraat FOUNDATION

FOUNDATION, I INC.
2900 Chamblee-lucker Rd., Post Office Box 10228

Bldg. 4 Suite 502, Barnett Bank Bldg.
Atlanta, GA 30341 fallahassee, FL 32302

$04) 458-8313 (904) 681-9346

forneys for Amici Curiae

March, 1995 *Counsel of Record

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
ee a, Pe ook csc kobe endo ea eens li
PTET eT Eee Tey Teer eee eT 1
eg gg Sk ere rer rrr rere 3
DUNT OE GE FEI ooo coc keto tetciases: 4
Pe OPT CT PEE CTT ETAL TEER ERE TLC 2

I. THE REGULATION DEFINING “HARM,” AS
USED IN THE ENDANGERED SPECIES ACT
PROHIBITION AGAINST A “TAKE” OF
WILDLIFE, TO INCLUDE HABITAT MOD-
IFICATION ON PRIVATE PROPERTY NOT
SUBJECT TO FEDERAL OVERSIGHT, IS CON-
TRARY TO THE INTENT OF CONGRESS AS
REFLECTED IN THE LANGUAGE AND
Paw ET GON COU FUG Bers isa bere ete eae 5

Il. THE REGULATION DEFINING “HARM” TO
INCLUDE HABITAT MODIFICATION
EXTENDS THE ESA BEYOND THE SCOPE
THAT CONGRESS INTENDED BY TRANS-
FORMING THE ACT INTO AN INSTRUMENT
FOR DENYING THE USE OF PRIVATE LAND,
THEREBY SUBJECTING THE FEDERAL GOV-

~*~ ERNMENT TO POTENTIAL LIABILITY FOR
FIFTH AMENDMENT TAKINGS CLAIMS.... 16

I rk ee as alas 1G Ca a ee wwe ee 24

il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases
Achilli v. United States, 353 U.S. 373 (1957) ........... 9
Agins v. Tiburon, 447 U.S. 255 (1980) ................ 21
Armstrong v. United States, 364 U.S. 40 (1960)........ 20
Chevron U.S.A., Inc. v. Natural Resources Defense
Counce, fac., 467 US. Gar Ces «aces deckeceuss 6, 13
Chicago v. Environmental Defense Fund, 511 US.
wy» 194 SCR. 8g EAD Ce Se CE oo cnceee. y
Christy v. Hodel, 857 F.2d 1324 (9th Cir. 1988), cert.
dented, G6 US. TERE Cie xa hsb Ake de taces cases 18
Estate of Cowart v. Nicklos Drilling, 505 U.S. __,
112 S.Ct. 2509, 120 LL.B 2e We CUGMED owe ccc cccce: 7
Department of Energy v. Ohio, 503 U.S. __, 112
on) 2H > 7). | rr rrr 8
Dolan v. City of Tigard, 512 U.S. __, 114 S.Ct. __,
Be BG rrr tree errr re 3

First English Evangelical Lutheran Church v. County
of Les Angeles, G52 US. FOO {IGG «oc ccc gecicses: 17

Florida Game & Fresh Water Fish Comm’‘n v. Flotilla,
Inc., 636 So.2d 761 (Fla. 2d DCA), rev. denied, 645
ew £ oe; | rer ree rer ee 15

Florida Rock Industries, Inc. v. United States, 18 F.3d
1560 (Fed. Cir. 1994), cert. denied, __ U.S. __,
_§- SA. __, FAD Ue Fe CRs on sc eccccces. 22

INS v. Cardoza-Fonseca, 480 U.S. 421 (1987) ........... 7

King v. St. Vincent’s Hospital, 502 U.S. __, 112 S.Ct.

eewee BO LD SOW CUUED 60 66 odd Cu peeesnanceses 9

A res

ne remem

iil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

ERD EE ae 18

Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council, 505 U.S.
__, 112 S.Ct. 2886, 120 L.Ed.2d 798 (1992)..2, 17, 22

Melkonyan v. Sullivan, 501 U.S. __, 111 S.Ct. __L
ee i Ds enh a 8 hae dee daw ade woe 10

Moerman v. State of California, 17 Cal.App. 4th 452,
21 Cal.Rptr.2d 329 (1st Dist. 1993), cert. denied,
BE ce ee ene ee 99

Mountain States Legal Foundation v. Hodel, 799 F.2d
1423 (10th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 480 U.S. 951

EN Ne ea as Vg aly U's ad Ge a do 8 AO 18
Northeastern Florida Contractors v. Jacksonville, 113

0 i Soy php aioe ws ae
MISCELLANEOUS
S. Rep. No. 307, 93d Cong. ist Sess. 7 (1973) ....... 13
S. 2410 and H. 9, 103d Cong. 2d Sess. (1995)........ 22
U.S. General Accounting Office, Endangered Species

Act: Information On Species Protection On Nonfederal

Lands (December 1994) (“GAO Report”). ......... 20, 23
P. Logan, et al., Florida Panther Habitat Preserva-

tion Plan (Florida Panther Interagency Commit-

ae, Serer eee (Ser eus ee awe e rear eke koe: 14

een

No. 94-859
e

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1994
a

BRUCE BABBITT, SECRETARY OF
THE INTERIOR, et al.,

Petitioners,

SWEET HOME CHAPTER OF COMMUNITIES
FOR A GREAT OREGON, et al.,

Respondents.

*

On Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court Of Appeals
For The District Of Columbia Circuit

¢
BRIEF OF FLORIDA LEGAL FOUNDATION

AND SOUTHEASTERN LEGAL FOUNDATION AS
AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

¢

INTEREST OF AMICI

The Florida Legal Foundation and Southeastern
Legal Foundation submit their brief as amici curiae in
support of Respondents. In accordance with Supreme
Court Rule 37.2, this brief is accompanied by the written
consent of the parties, evidenced by letters that have been
filed with the Clerk of the Court.

The Florida Legal Foundation is a nonprofit corpora-
tion established to promote the public interest in balanc-
ing private property rights and public needs for the
benefit of all citizens. Recognizing that the adversarial
process can function properly only when all parties are
afforded effective representation, the Foundation seeks to
assure, through advocacy within the legal system, that
the rights of Florida property owners are fairly consid-
ered and adequately defended against unreasonable
restriction or deprivation due to the exercise of govern-
mental power. A primary purpose of the Foundation is to
provide legal support for landowners who are disadvan-
taged in defending their interests, particularly in cases
where government agencies or environmental groups
possessing superior resources are promoting principles of
law that might establish a precedent adversely affecting
the property rights of others.

The Southeastern Legal Foundation is a public inter-
est law firm which provides the courts with the views of
those who support limited government, individual eco-
nomic freedom, and the free enterprise system. South-
eastern’s function is to engage in litigation in support of
these principles, and to oppose governmental abuse of
authority at all levels. In the course of carrying out this
mission, Southeastern provides direct legal representa-
tion to parties in civil litigation, and files amicus curiae
briefs in selected cases, where important public policy
issues are presented. Southeastern appeared as counsel of
record in this Court for the petitioner in Northeastern
Florida Contractors v. Jacksonville, 113 S.Ct. 2297 (1993),
and has appeared as amicus curiae in numerous cases,
including Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council, 505 U.S.

ne

__, 112 S.Ct. 2886, 120 L.Ed.2d 798 (1992), and Dolan v.
City of Tigard, 512 U.S. __, 114 S.Ct. __, 129 L.Ed.2d 304
(1994).

As advocates for private property rights, the Florida
Legal Foundation and Southeastern Legal Foundation are
interested in this case because the regulation at issue
substantially impairs the rights of landowners to use
their property for productive and otherwise lawful pur-
poses. The impact of the regulation is particularly severe
in Florida, which has more endangered and threatened
species than any state in the continental United States
except California. The Florida Legal Foundation and
Southeastern Legal Foundation believe that the court of
appeals’ decision properly invalidated the regulation as
an unauthorized extension of the limited power to control
private land use that Congress intended to confer under
the Endangered Species Act. This case provides the Court
an opportunity to reaffirm its recent pronouncements that
government regulations which encroach upon constitu-
tionally protected property rights warrant close scrutiny
_ and require clear support.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Amici Florida Legal Foundation and Southeastern
Legal Foundation adopt the statement of the case con-
tained in the brief of the Respondents.

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

To the extent that it prohibits the ordinary and lawful
use of private property as a “habitat modification” that
causes “harm,” and thus constitutes a “take” of protected
wildlife, the FWS regulation exceeds the authority dele-
gated by Congress under the ESA. The language and
structure of the Act reflect that Congress expressly pro-
vided for habitat preservation in the sections that autho-
rized acquisition of private lands and required regulation
of lands subject to federal ownership or oversight, but
made no mention of habitat protection in the section
prohibiting a “take” of listed species. Based on the tradi-
tional tools of statutory construction, which must be
applied before resorting to extrinsic aids such as legisla-
tive history or administrative interpretation, the express
reference to habitat modification in some sections but not
others signifies a purposeful intent to regulate such activ-
ities on federally controlled lands, including private
lands subject to federal permitting, but not on purely
private property.

Given the fact that the “revealed design” of Congress
is evident from the explicit terms of the statute, there is
no necessity or justification for reaching policy questions
or considering the reasonableness of the agency’s inter-
pretation. Nonetheless, the court of appeals’ construction
is supported by the distinction, presumably known to
Congress, between the common law power of govern-
ment to prohibit direct acts of force against wildlife as an
offense against public property, and the constitutional
restraint on the power of government to take private
property without compensation by regulatory depriva-
tion of use. Consistent with that distinction, Congress

————EaroOv

reasonably and responsibly exercised its regulatory
power under the ESA only to the extent that it could do
so without “going too far” and forcing private land-
owners to bear the public burden of providing habitat for
wildlife.

The FWS regulation, however, crosses that line by
mandating habitat preservation on private lands under
threat of fine or imprisonment; it thereby transforms the
ESA into a land use regulation that subjects the govern-
ment to potential liability for Fifth Amendment takings of
private property. Moreover, the regulation is especially
oppressive for small landowners, who have no practical
remedy because they lack the resources or the bargaining
power to do anything except capitulate to whatever terms
are dictated by the FWS. The manifest undesirability of
such consequences confirms that this regulation extends
the scope of the ESA far beyond the limits contemplated
by Congress.

ARGUMENT

I. THE REGULATION DEFINING “HARM,” AS USED
IN THE ENDANGERED SPECIES ACT PROHIBI-
TION AGAINST A “TAKE” OF WILDLIFE, TO
INCLUDE HABITAT MODIFICATION ON PRI-
VATE PROPERTY NOT SUBJECT TO FEDERAL
OVERSIGHT, IS CONTRARY TO THE INTENT OF
CONGRESS AS REFLECTED IN THE LANGUAGE
AND STRUCTURE OF THE ACT.

The sole question presented here is whether the
Endangered Species Act (“ESA”), 16 U.S.C. §§1531 et seq.,

ai

by describing the kinds of conduct prohibited as a “take”
of wildlife to encompass acts that “harm” listed species,
provides authority for a Fish and Wildlife Service
(“FWS”) regulation, 50 C.F.R. 17.3, further defining
“harm” to include habitat modification that may result
from otherwise lawful uses of private property. Although
Petitioners and their supporting amici attempt to cast this
controversy as one that poses a choice between compet-
ing policies, the Florida Legal Foundation and South-
eastern Legal Foundation submit that the Court is
confronted with nothing more than a straightforward
issue of statutory construction. Thus, efforts to influence
the resolution of this case based on the purported neces-
sity or desirability of the disputed regulation should not
obscure the fact that, in assessing the validity of a regula-
tion, it is not the function of this Court to search for some
rationale that would justify acquiescence in the agency’s
interpretation; rather, it is the duty of the Court to deter-
mine whether Congress intended or contemplated that
the agency be empowered to exercise the asserted author-
ity. Presley v. Etowah County Commission, 502 U.S. __, 112
S.Ct. 820, 117 L.Ed.2d 51, 67 (1992).

When an agency’s construction of a statute it admin-
isters is challenged, the Court must first endeavor to
discern the intent of Congress from the language and
structure of the Act. “If a Court, employing traditional
tools of statutory construction, ascertains that Congress
had an intention on the precise question at issue, that
intention is the law and must be given effect.” Chevron
U.S.A., Inc. v. Natural Resources Defense Council, Inc., 467
U.S. 837, 843 n.9 (1984). Where intent can be determined
from the face of the statute, there is no need to resort to

extrinsic aids, such as legislative history, Ratzlaf v. United
States,510 U.S. __, 114 S.Ct. ___, 126 L.Ed.2d 615, 626 and
n.18 (1994), or administrative construction. Estate of Cow-
art v. Nicklos Drilling, 505 U.S. __, 112 S.Ct. 2589, 120
L.Ed.2d 379, 388-89 (1992); INS v. Cardoza-Fonseca, 480
U.S. 421, 445-48 (1987). Only if Congress has not
addressed the issue and the statute discloses no intent,
thus creating an ambiguity or leaving “a gap for the
agency to fill,” will the Court reach the question of
whether the regulation constitutes a permissible and rea-
sonable construction to which deference is due. Chevron,
467 U.S. at 843-44.

Where, as here, the regulation does not involve a
technically complex matter, but inherently infringes upon
constitutionally protected property rights, the Court
should not infer an intent to delegate authority from mere
silence, nor assume an intent to confer authority from the
absence of language expressly negating its existence.
Rather, the Court should require that the statute on its
face reflect an affirmative intent to authorize the exten-
sion of federal power.

Turning first to the express language, the word
“harm” is not defined in the ESA. Although the term can
be interpreted as expansively as the imagination permits,
its meaning in this context must properly be confined to
the kind of harm that can fairly be regarded as a prohib-
ited “take” of wildlife, which Congress intended to make
punishable by fine or imprisonment. The meaning of
statutory terms “depends on their context,” Shell Oil Co.
v. lowa Dept. of Revenue, 488 U.S. 19, 25 (1988), especially
when the context “may supply a clarity that the term

lacks in isolation.” Department of Energy v. Ohio, 503 U.S.
aw 112 S.Ct. __, 118 L.Ed.2d 255, 270 (1992).

The court of appeals, applying the maxim noscitur a
sociis, adopted a definition that related “harm” to the
other specified forms of “take” based on “a direct appli-
cation of force against the animal taken.” 17 F.3d at 1465.
Petitioners contend that this definition is too narrow,
because it does not encompass actions that indirectly
injure or kill. Amici National Wildlife Federation
(“NWF”) et al. suggest that the “common denominator”
among the words in the “take” definition is that “[eJach
word pertains to acts (or omissions) that detrimentally
affect endangered or threatened species,” and thus “[t]he
“detrimental effect, rather than the nature of the act, is the
linchpin of a section 9 take.” NWF Brief at 23. This
definition, however, is manifestly overbroad, because vir-
tually all human activity entails some “detrimental
effect” on wildlife.

Any effort to formulate a definition of “harm” that
cannot be condemned as either overinclusive or under-
inclusive may be an exercise in futility; but it is an exer-
cise that the Court need not undertake for purposes of
deciding this case. The issue is not whether it is possible
to frame a definition of “harm” that will neatly fit every
hypothetical situation, but whether the definition pro-
mulgated by FWS in the regulation at issue here goes
beyond the authority that Congress intended to delegate
under the ESA. Assuming, arguendo, that the court of
appeals’ construction based on associated words within
the same section was not sufficiently conclusive on that
question, the next stage of analysis requires the Court to

examine other sections of the ESA for guidance as to the
legislative intent.

The Act reflects that Congress expressly provided
means for habitat preservation in section 5 (acquisition of
private lands) and in section 7 (supervision of federal
lands and other lands subject to federal oversight), but
made no mention of habitat protection in the section 9
“take” prohibition. Although Petitioners insist that the
Court should ascribe no significance to this selective use
of language in the various sections of the Act, application
of the “traditional tools of statutory construction” rein-
forces the conclusion that Congress did not intend to
employ the punitive “take” provision of section 9 as a
mechanism for compelling private habitat conservation.

In construing legislative enactments, the Court cus-
tomarily “follow{s] the cardinal rule that a statute is to be
read as a whole, .. . since the meaning of statutory
language, plain or not, depends on context,” King v. St.
Vincent's Hospital, 502 U.S. __, 112 S.Ct. ___, 116 L.Ed.2d
578, 586 (1991) (citations omitted), and the Court’s “duty
is to give coherence to what Congress has done within
the bounds imposed by a fair reading of legislation.”
Achilli v. United States, 353 U.S. 373, 379 (1957). Of partic-
ular relevance here are the rules, consistently reaffirmed
by this Court, that (a) where Congress ” ‘includes particu-
lar language in one section of a statute but omits it in
another,’ ” it “ ‘is generally presumed that Congress acts
intentionally and purposely,’ ” Chicago v. Environmental
Defense Fund, 511 U.S. _-, 114S.Ct. __, 128 L.Ed.2d 302,
311 (1994) (quoting Keene v. United States, 508 U.S. __,
113 S.Ct. 2035, 124 L.Ed.2d 118, 128 (1993));-and (b) the

use of different wording in other sections of the same

10

statute shows that Congress knew how to signify its
intent to draw a distinction in addressing the subject.
Melkonyan v. Sullivan, 501 U.S. __, 111 S.Ct. __, 115
L.Ed.2d 78, 89-90 (1991).

Considered in light of these principles, the fact that
Congress explicitly provided for habitat preservation on
lands that are federally owned or subject to federal over-
sight in another section of the same enactment shows that
Congress recognized habitat modification as a distinct
kind of conduct toward wildlife, and knew how to
express an intent that it be subjected to regulation;
because of the specific inclusion in section 7, the omission
from section 9 is entitled to interpretative significance.
Amici NWF et al. argue that it is a “misreading” of the
Act to “assume that section 7 reaches habitat degradation
but that section 9 does not.” NWF Brief at 25. Based on
the plain language of these provisions, however, it is
hardly possible to do otherwise, because section 7
expressly refers to “the destruction or adverse modifica-
tion of habitat,” while section 9 contains no mention of
habitat modification.

Petitioners acknowledge that to achieve the purposes
of providing for conservation of ecosystems upon which
protected species depend, “the Act contains numerous
provisions that specifically address, in varying ways, the
protection of habitat.” Petitioners’ Brief at 24. Having
conceded that fact, however, Petitioners invite the Court
to bypass the explicit provisions for habitat protection
and imply an unarticulated Congressional intent to
include habitat modification by private landowners as a
form of prohibited “take” under section 9. This approach

11

turns the traditional principles of statutory construction
on their head.

Specifically, Petitioners dispute the “suggestion that
Congress intended land acquisition pursuant to Section 5
of the ESA to be the exclusive means by which habitat
destruction on private lands can be curbed under the
ESA,” and insist that “[i]Jt would depart from the ESA’s
comprehensive design to assume that Congress .

provided only a single solution to a complex problem -

especially one as central to the Act as the habitat of
protected species.” Petitioners’ Brief at 29 n.17. Analysis
reveals, however, that it is Petitioners’ argument that
rests on assumptions which cannot be reconciled with the
“comprehensive design” of the ESA.

The first unfounded assumption is that land acquisi-
tion under section 5 is the exclusive means by which
habitat modification on private land may be regulated
pursuant to the Act. As Petitioners themselves concede,
the obligation imposed on federal agencies by section
7(a)(2) to ensure that “any action authorized, funded, or
carried out by such agency” does not “result in the
destruction or adverse modification of habitat of [pro-
tected] species” is applicable to activities on private lands
that require a federal permit or license. Petitioners’ Brief
at 7-8. This provision extends the reach of federal regula-
tory power to encompass and control habitat modifica-
tion on vast areas of private land that involve projects or
uses subject to federal permitting.

Moreover, Petitioners’ theory assumes that Congress
intended to authorize the purchase of land as an optional
method of preserving habitat on private property, even

12

though the same result could be obtained without pay-
ment. Under Petitioners’ interpretation of the ESA, sec-
tion 5 empowers the FWS to create a habitat preserve on
private land by paying the owner, while section 9
empowers the FWS to create a habitat preserve on private
land by threatening to penalize the owner. At best, such a
scheme would invite arbitrary discrimination by enabling
the FWS to treat identically situated persons differently,
without any apparent standard or basis in the statute for
determining which landowners enjoy compensation and
which ones suffer confiscation. In the case of a small
landowner who lacks the resources to resist or the bar-
gaining power to negotiate a satisfactory compromise, the
acquisition option would be rendered illusory, because
the FWS would have no incentive to acquire by compen-
sation what it can control by intimidation.

Finally, the notion that Congress would not have
provided “only a single solution to a complex problem”
ignores the fact that government frequently does not
address every aspect of an issue or adopt every solution
to a problem, and is not required to do so. As this Court
has observed, the government is “not bound .. . to strike
at all evils at the same time or in the same way,” Semler v.
Oregon State Bd. of Dental Examiners, 294 U.S. 608, 610
(1935), and “it is not within our province to say that
because Congress has prohibited some practices within
its power to prohibit, it must prohibit all within its
power.” United States v. Petrillo, 332 U.S. 1, 8 (1947). In
this case, the expressed intent of Congress to confine
federally mandated habitat preservation on private prop-
erty to those lands that the government acquires or

2 ae

13

already controls may simply reflect the fact that Con-
gress, unlike Petitioners and their supporting amici,
respect the constitutionally protected property rights of
private landowners.

Because the intent of Congress is evident from the
language and structure of the ESA, there is no need to
reach the second step of the Chevron analysis and con-
sider whether the agency’s interpretation, construing the
word “harm” to include habitat modification, “defines a
term in a way that is reasonable in light of the legisla-
ture’s revealed design.” Chevron, 467 U.S. at 844. The FWS
definition of “harm” is plainly irreconcilable with the
“revealed design” of Congress in the ESA.

Petitioners and their supporting amici nonetheless
urge the Court to look beyond the language and structure
of the ESA, and uphold the regulation on the ground that
it is a wise and desirable policy. They repeatedly emphas-
ize that a stated purpose of the ESA is “to provide a
means whereby the ecosystems upon which endangered
species and threatened species depend may be con-
served,” 16 U.S.C. §1531(b), and that Congress expressly
intended the word “take” as used in section 9 to be
defined “in the broadest possible manner to include
every conceivable way in which a person can ‘take’ any
fish or wildlife.” S. Rep. No. 307, 93d Cong. 1st Sess. 7
(1973). Those arguments, however, may be readily
refuted.

Initially, it is apparent from the face of the ESA that
Congress did in fact provide specific means by which
ecosystems could be protected and preserved — through
the acquisition of land under section 5 and the regulation

14

of land use under section 7. While Petitioners and their
supporting amici may perceive those means as inade-
quate, the more potent remedy that they implore this
Court to approve would require nothing less than a judi-
cial redrafting of the statute; thus, their pleas are mis-
directed. “It was for Congress to make the choice of the
means by which its objective . . . was to be secured, and
its judgment .. . is not open to review here.” Virginian
Railway Co. v. System Federation No. 40, 300 U.S. 515, 553
(1937).

Furthermore, no one other than Petitioners and their
supporting amici would find “conceivable” a scheme
under which a private property owner, engaged in ordi-
nary and lawful land uses that are in no way directed at
wildlife, could be regarded as guilty of “taking” pro-
tected species whose presence may not even be appar-
ent.! Amici NWF et al. recognize that “even without the

! Some listed species are so small in size, or so well con-
cealed, or so similar in appearance to related but non-listed
species, that ordinary persons cannot detect their presence. The
more oppressive impact on private landowners, however,
results from the designation of an expansive “range” within
which land use activities are forbidden or severely restricted.
For example, a study of Florida panther habitat conducted by
the FWS, the National Park Service, and the Florida Game &
Fresh Water Fish Commission concluded that the “composite
home range of 43 panthers encompasses 3.1 million acres or
4,844 square miles,” of which “53 percent is privately owned”;
that “habitat considered essential in maintaining a self-
sustaining population of panthers in south Florida is 1,253,102
acres”; and that the “preferred size” of habitat area required for
reintroduction of the animal in north Florida and south Georgia
is 500-2,500 square miles. P. Logan, et al., Florida Panther Habi-
tat Preservation Plan 12, 14, 33 (Florida Panther Interagency

ee

15

harm regulation, the words ‘harass,’ ‘kill,’ and ‘wound’
reach some acts of habitat degradation that injure or kill
protected wildlife.” NWF Brief at 25. That fact only con-
firms that the kinds of habitat modification which result
directly or by design in demonstrable injury or death are
already encompassed within the statutory prohibition,
and that the further extension of the ESA’s scope by this
broad regulation exceeds the authority contemplated by
Congress.

Conceding that habitat loss poses the greatest threat
to species, and that Congress through the ESA intended
to provide a means for conserving ecosystems, it does not
necessarily follow that Congress authorized a means
other than those expressly provided in section 5 and
section 7 for purchasing private lands and regulating
federally owned or supervised lands. The question is not
whether Congress understood that the preservation of
habitat is the most effective or expedient means of pro-
tecting listed species; the question is whether Congress
intended to authorize the federal government to enforce
compulsory preservation of habitat on purely private
property under threat of fine and imprisonment. Because

Committee, 1994). In the case of species such as the northern
spotted owl and the red cockaded woodpecker, a “buffer zone”
is established around active colonies. See Sierra Club v. Yeutter,
926 F.2d 429, 432-33 (5th Cir. 1991); see also Florida Game & Fresh
Water Fish Comm'n v. Flotilla, Inc., 636 So.2d 761, 763-65 (Fla. 2d
DCA), rev. denied, 645 So.2d 452 (Fla. 1994) (development halted
in “zone of preservation” surrounding eagles’ nests). Where
such buffer zones overlap property boundaries, neighboring
owners are subject to prosecution for land use activities even
though the listed species is not, and may never have been,
actually present on their property.

16

the Act on its face refutes any such construction, the
court of appeals’ decision should be affirmed.

Il. THE REGULATION DEFINING “HARM” TO
INCLUDE HABITAT MODIFICATION EXTENDS
THE ESA BEYOND THE SCOPE THAT CON-
GRESS INTENDED BY TRANSFORMING THE
ACT INTO AN INSTRUMENT FOR DENYING
THE USE OF PRIVATE LAND, THEREBY SUB-
JECTING THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT TO
POTENTIAL LIABILITY FOR FIFTH AMEND-
MENT TAKINGS CLAIMS.

The foregoing analysis demonstrates that the lan-
guage and structure of the ESA evince a clear Congres-
sional intent to provide for habitat preservation on lands
that the federal government owns, or has independent
authority to regulate, or is willing to purchase; but noth-
ing in the Act supports a prohibition against habitat
modification as such on private property. Petitioners
nonetheless insist that “[t]here is no reason why Congress
would have intended to allow the killing or injury of
protected wildlife where that consequence is brought

about by the destruction of habitat .. . rather than by
other means, such as the discharge of a firearm or sim-
ilarly direct application of force. ...” Petitioners’ Brief at

21. Because habitat destruction that is deliberately intended
to kill or injure wildlife can be characterized as a prohib-
ited “take” based on other terms within the statutory
definition, such as “kill” or “wound,” the critical question
posed by Petitioners must be stated more precisely as
whether there is any reason why Congress would treat
lawful land use activities by private property owners that

17

indirectly and unintentionally produce detrimental
effects on wildlife differently from direct attacks.

The Florida Legal Foundation and Southeastern
Legal Foundation submit that there is in fact a legally and
logically sound reason why Congress, while prohibiting
direct acts of force against protected species, would
refrain from imposing penalties on private landowners
for engaging in otherwise lawful land uses that may
incidentally impair the behavioral patterns of wildlife.
Analysis reveals that this limitation on the exercise of
federal regulatory authority rests upon a distinction that
is rooted in the Constitution and the common law.

At the outset, it merits emphasis that the kinds of
acts characterized as “habitat modification or degrada-
tion” amount to nothing more than ordinary land uses,
many of which are essential to the feeding and sheltering
of the human species. Such land uses, unless otherwise
prohibited by law, are within the constitutionally pro-
tected “bundle” of private property rights that the Fifth
Amendment forbids the government from taking for pub-
lic use without compensation, whether the confiscatory
effect results from physical occupation or from an equiva-
lent deprivation of use by the exercise of regulatory
authority. See Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council, 505
U.S. __, 112 S.Ct. 2886, 120 L.Ed.2d 798, 812-15, 820-22
(1992). Government regulations that deny landowners the
economically viable use of their property, even if only
temporarily and for a proper purpose, may constitute a
compensable taking. First English Evangelical Lutheran
Church v. County of Los Angeles, 482 U.S. 304, 314-19
(1987).

18

By contrast, the discharge of a firearm or other
“direct application of force” against wildlife is not a
constitutionally protected activity, because it is settled as
a matter of common law that wild animals are public
property, which government has the power to protect.

The wild animals within its borders are, so
far as capable of ownership, owned by the state
in its sovereign capacity for the common benefit
of all of its people. Because of such ownership,
and in the exercise of its police power, the state
may regulate and control the taking, subsequent
use, and property rights that may be acquired
therein.

Lacoste v. Department of Conservation, 263 U.S. 545, 549
(1924). Based on this principle, federal legislation that
prohibits landowners from killing or injuring protected
wildlife, even when necessary to prevent depredation of
livestock or other damage to private property, has been
upheld against claims that such regulation effects a com-
pensable taking under the Fifth Amendment. See Christy
v. Hodel, 857 F.2d 1324, 1334-35 (9th Cir. 1988), cert. denied,
490 U.S. 1114 (1989) (no liability under ESA for depreda-
tion of sheep by grizzly bears); Mountain States Legal
Foundation v. Hodel, 799 F.2d 1423, 1426-31 (10th Cir.
1986), cert. denied, 480 U.S. 951 (1987) (no liability under
Wild Free-Roaming Horses and Burros Act for consump-
tion of forage by wild horses).

* Not surprisingly, the states are eagerly following the fed-
eral lead on the strength of these authorities. For example, one
state has extended the principle to deny compensation where a
private landowner’s fenced pastures were invaded and perma-
nently occupied by a herd of tule elk that had been deliberately

a haar meat Od

19

Considered in light of these principles, the limita-
tions defined by the language and structure of the ESA
are not only understandable, but laudable. In drafting the
ESA, Congress presumably acted with knowledge of the
power conferred by common law to prohibit direct acts of
violence against wildlife, as well as the constitutional
restraint on its authority to regulate private land use.
Thus, Congress could reasonably and responsibly have
made a conscious decision to exercise its regulatory
power to the extent — but only to the extent — that it could
do so without “going too far,” and thereby subjecting the
federal government to potential liability for compensable
takings of private property.

Insofar as section 9 of the ESA is construed to pro-
hibit “harm” by deliberate and direct acts against pro-
tected wildlife, its application is consistent with decisions
that recognize such conduct as a punishable offense
against public property. By interpreting “harm” to
include habitat modification, however, the FWS regula-
tion effectively imposes a burden on the landowner to
provide food, shelter, and breeding grounds for “public”
wildlife. This Court certainly should not assume that
Congress intended what the Constitution does not allow
- “forcing some people alone to bear public burdens
which, in all fairness and justice, should be borne by the

transported to the area under a state relocation program, which
specifically contemplated that the animals would forage on pri-
vate farms and ranch lands. Moerman v. State of California, 17
Cal.App.4th 452, 21 Cal.Rptr.2d 329 (1st Dist. 1993), cert. denied,
went We es ee HCH. —__, 128 L.Ed.2d 191 (1996).

20

public as a whole.” Armstrong v. United States, 364 U.S. 40,
49 (1960).

That the prohibition against habitat modification by
private landowners effectively transforms the Act into a
pervasive land use regulation cannot be disputed. As
recognized by Judge Williams, speaking for the panel
majority upon the denial of rehearing en banc, the expan-
sion of the word “harm” to include habitat modification
“vests the Department with authority to supervise the
use of privately owned land in vast tracts of the United
States, even to the point of forbidding modest clearing
efforts conducted in the interest of fire protection in
populated areas.” 30 F.3d at 193.9 Even amici NWF et al.
concede that “[mJany conservation plan restrictions on
private land use operate in much the same way as zoning
laws,” while “[o]ther provisions are analogous to com-
mon land use regulations... .” NWF Brief at 28.

Petitioners and their supporting amici predictably
dismiss or downplay the idea that a prohibition against
habitat modification represents a significant impairment

> Evidence supporting Judge Williams’ observation is pro-
vided in a General Accounting Office report, which reflects that
the 31 Habitat Conservation Plans approved by the FWS
through June 1994 encompass a total area of more than 1.3
million acres. An additional 132 plans were being developed or
awaiting approval. Of the 31 approved plans, four cover the
habitat of the Stephens’ kangaroo rat in Riverside County, Cali-
fornia (including one with an area of 300,000 acres); two others
cover the habitat of the northern spotted owl (including one
with an area of 383,100 acres). U.S. General Accounting Office,
Endangered Species Act: Information On Species Protection On Non-
federal Lands 9, 18-20 (December 1994) (“GAO Report”). See also
supra note 2.

ie ot

21

of landowners’ rights. In particular, amici NWF et al.
assert that “no court has ever found that the harm regula-
tion has caused a Fifth Amendment taking of private
property,” and that no individual has ever been
imprisoned for normal land management activities under
the harm regulation. NWF Brief at 14-16 and n.13. Amici
NWF et al. further declare that “because species rarely
need totally undisturbed habitat, such modifications [of
private land use activities] are generally quite mod-
est, ... enabling private and governmental land uses to
proceed apace.” NWF Brief at 27. They conclude that
“[t]he harm regulation, therefore, does not operate to
foreclose private or public land uses.” Id.

Any suggestion that the FWS regulation prohibiting
habitat modification does not significantly inhibit the
rights of private landowners to use their property for
lawful purposes is sheer sophistry. The fact that enforce-
ment of the regulation has not yet resulted in a compen-
sation award does not mean that Congress intended to
authorize the measure; and it certainly does not mean
that there has been no serious deprivation of the land-
owners’ rights. It simply means that the FWS has thus far
managed to evade liability —- a relatively simple matter in
light of the prevailing standard for regulatory takings,
which effectively forecloses relief under the Fifth Amend-
ment if the regulation leaves a landowner with some
economically viable or beneficial use of the property.
Agins v. Tiburon, 447 U.S. 255 (1980); Penn Central Trans-
portation Co. v. New York City, 438 U.S. 104 (1978).

As acknowledged by amicus Friends of Animals, Inc.
(“FAI”), “[rJealistically . . . a ‘taking’ here would be
difficult to establish, since it appears that Respondents’

22

property has not been the subject of a total regulatory
taking, depriving Respondents of the complete economi-
cally viable use of their land.” FAI Brief at 9 (emphasis
added). This principle, which creates what the Court has
appropriately characterized as an “all-or-nothing” situa-
tion,4 enables the FWS to avoid liability for a takings
claim by carefully tailoring the application of its prohibi-
tion against habitat modification to assure that the land-
owner is never deprived of all economically beneficial
use of the entire property. There are encouraging indica-
tions, however, that the “all-or-nothing” rule may be
giving way to a more fair and reasonable approach - one
that recognizes a right to proportionate compensation for
partial takings — both in the courts, see Florida Rock Indus-
tries, Inc. v. United States, 18 F.3d 1560, 1568-71 (Fed. Cir.
1994), cert. denied, __ U.S. __, __ S.Ct. __, 130 L.Ed.2d
783 (1995), and in Congress. See S. 2410 and H. 9, 103d
Cong. 2d Sess. (1995). Thus, the likelihood that liability
may be imposed for a taking of private property due to
the operation of the “harm” regulation - a liability that
the FWS will have incurred for an exercise of authority
that Congress never conferred - is no longer a remote
prospect.

4 Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council, 505 U.S. __, 112
S.Ct. 2886, 120 L.Ed.2d 798, 815 n.8 (1992). Although the Court
noted that an owner “whose deprivation is one step short of
complete” only loses the benefit of the categorical rule, and may
still seek compensation by attempting to establish an inter-
ference with investment-backed expectations, the complexity,
expense, and extraordinary burden of proof that such a pro-
ceeding entails will typically present an insurmountable obsta-
cle for small landowners.

aa Otel A Na we

23

Finally, Petitioners argue that “the Section 10 permit
program adds flexibility to the ‘take’ prohibition by
enabling private owners’ land uses to be accommodated
in a way that protects listed species,” and that invalidat-
ing the application of section 9 to private habitat mod-
ification “would upset the careful balance intended by
Congress among the many competing interests of private
landowners, governmental entities, and the purposes of
the ESA.” Petitioners’ Brief at 49. The notion that habitat
conservation plans under section 10 afford a useful mech-
anism for balancing the regulatory objectives of the FWS
with the rights of private landowners is utterly fanciful.
Because the process required to prepare, submit, and
secure approval for a habitat conservation plan is so
costly and time consuming, the section 10 permit pro-
gram is simply not a viable option for most landowners.”

As a practical matter, small landowners have no rem-
edy for the taking of their property by application of the
habitat modification ban. When confronted with demands
by an agency of the federal government - often sup-
ported by state counterparts - that a portion of their
property must be preserved for the benefit of protected
wildlife, coupled with the threat of fine or imprisonment
for failure to comply, ordinary landowners have little or
no choice. Caught between the daunting prospect of
severe penalties for disobedience and the prohibitive

5 Experience bears out this fact. Of the 31 HCPs approved
through June 1994, only three involved parcels of less than ten
acres, while twice that many covered areas of more than 10,000
acres. See GAO Report, supra note 4, at 18-20.

24

expense of litigation, the landowner is obliged to capitu-
late. Under these circumstances, whatever terms or con-
ditions are dictated by the FWS will constitute, quite
literally, an offer that the landowner cannot refuse. That
Congress could have intended such consequences is man-
ifestly inconceivable.

CONCLUSION

The foregoing arguments -and authorities demon-
strate that the FWS regulation, by compelling habitat
preservation on private land under the guise of prevent-
ing a “take” of wildlife, not only exceeds the authority
delegated by the express terms of the ESA, but entails
practical consequences never contemplated by Congress.
Although great deference has been accorded to the FWS
in the implementation of the ESA since its enactment
more than two decades ago, neither Congress nor the
courts anticipated that the agency would effectively
transform the Act into a land use regulation. By arresting
this unauthorized expansion of power, the court of
appeals properly restored the ESA to the role that it was
intended to fulfill.

25

Accordingly, the decision of the court of appeals
should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

G. STEPHEN PARKER MIcHAEL L. RosEN*
SOUTHEASTERN LEGAL FLORIDA LEGAL FOUNDATION,
FOUNDATION, INC. INc.
2900 Chamblee-Tucker Rd., Post Office Box 10228
Bldg. 4 Suite 502, Barnett Bank Bldg.
Atlanta, GA 30341 Tallahassee, FL 32302
(404) 458-8313 (904) 681-9346

Attorneys for Amici Curiae

March, 1995 *Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0804%3A24. Public record. Not legal advice.
