# Amicus Curiae Brief — USX Corp. v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0775%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1995
- **Citation:** 514 U.S. 1003

## Text

Roprmes Com, CAL

EILED
(3) FEB 8 1995
No. 94-830 Fon ac Ba ener

tn The - . one om <-: a)

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1994

¢

USX CORPORATION,

Petitioner,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

*

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court Of Appeals
For The Eleventh Circuit

+

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE
CHAMBER OF COMMERCE OF THE
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
IN SUPPORT OF THE PETITIONER

«

Of Counsel:

STEPHEN A. BOKAT

Rosin S. CONRAD

Mona C. ZEIBERG

NATIONAL CHAMBER
LITIGATION CENTER

1615 H Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20062

(202) 463-5337

STANLEY R. Strauss*

ELIZABETH TORPHY-DONZELLA

OGLETREE, DEAKINS, NASH,
SMOAK & STEWART

2400 N Street, .N.W.

Fifth Floor

Washington, D.C. 20037

(202) 887-0855

Counsel for the Chamber of
Commerce of. the
United States of America

*Counsel of Record

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE............. 1
PRELIMINARY STATEMENT....................... 3
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ........... ~

I. THE ERRONEOUS DECISION BY THE COURT
OF APPEALS WILL DESTABILIZE UNION-
MANAGEMENT RELATIONS.................. 6

Il. THE COURT OF APPEALS MISCONSTRUED
SECTION 302 OF THE LABOR-MANAGEMENT
WT NE kh Coney tiedice whew ances, 10

A. The Animating Purpose of Section 302..... 10

B. The Circuit Court’s Construction of Section
302 Does Not Comport With the Underlying
Purpose of the Statute..................... 12

eT ag a ee a 19

il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CASES
ABF Freight Syst., Inc. v. NLRB, __ U.S. __, 114
S.A. GSS (ISPO). . oo acnncecneeunageeeeereaeces 2
Allis-Chalmers Corp. v. Lueck, 471 U.S. 202 (1985)...... 2 |
Arroyo v. United States, 359 U.S. 419 (1959).......... 11
BASF Wyandotte Corp. v. Local 227, Int'l Chem. :
Workers Union, 791 F.2d 1046 (2d Cir. 1986) ....10, 11 |
Cheek v. United States, 498 U.S. 192 (1991)........... 16
Communication Workers of America, AFL-CIO v. Bell |
Atlantic Network Serv., Inc., 670 F. Supp. 416
(D.DiC. IGT). so. 0 cvnanesu ce teansee ees 8, 14
Fall River Dyeing & Finishing Corp. v. NLRB, 482
US. 27 (RR) .+200scnnses wag een kas? 2 |
Golden State Transit Corp. v. Los Angeles, 475 U.S. |
GOB (29G6) «on on vcavdcsinnsasses eee, 2
Hazen Paper Co. v. Biggens, __ U.S. __, 113 S.Ct. |
W7O1 (3903)... . 60 0ccisanckesaabe se aeeeeeeaes 17
Lingle v. Norge Div. of Magic Chef, Inc., 486 U.S. 399
(TDG)... « 0.0 0.0044's'e 8:0 8h ed oer eel eae a 2
Liparota v. United States, 471 U.S. 419 (1985)......... 16
Livadas v. Bradshaw, __ U.S. __, 114 S.Ct. 2068
(RODE)... 2... nvdcncweadeesiown auye eee 2
McLaughlin v. Richland Shoe Co., 486 U.S. 128
| Per rer Be 17
Monsanto Co., 68 Lab. Arb. (BNA) 101 (1977)........ 14
Morissette v. United States, 342 U.S. 246 (1952)....... 17

Oe

iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Ratzlaf v. United States, __ US. __, 114 S.Ct. 655
A ir eivn eGo ecko chiedicéclian al.

Trailways Lines, Inc. v. Trailways, Inc. Joint Council
of the Amalgamated Transit Union, 785 F.2d 101
(3d Cir.), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 932 (1986). .....

Trans World Airlines v. Thurston, 469 U.S. 111
I GRAS CeNe bes Foie ves oUiG och ce.

United States v. Murdock, 290 U.S. 389 bo

United States v. Papia, 910 F.2d 1357 (7th Cir. 1990) ....

United States v. X-Citement Video, ee |
1994 WL 662620 (Nov. 29, EE a se ack,

STATUTES
National Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. = 351...

Labor-Management Relations Act, Section 302, 29
6's 65s iesitdb oad cod i coeceecce.

MISCELLANEOUS

Major Collective Bargaining Agreements:
Employer Pay and Leave for Union Business,
Bulletin, U.S. Department of Labor (Oct. 1980)

Policies on Leave from Work, Personnel Policies
Forum Survey No. 136, Bureau of National
et ky bok kasi evns x. cs.

2 Legislative History of the Labor-Management
Relations Act of 1947 (1948)..................

Opinion Letter dated July 12, 1977, from the
Department of Labor’s Office of the Solicitor to
William N. Wheat and Associates.............

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1994
5
No. 94-830
———@
USX CORPORATION,

Petitioner,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

+

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court Of Appeals
For The Eleventh Circuit

¢
BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE
CHAMBER OF COMMERCE OF THE

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
IN SUPPORT OF THE PETITIONER

e
INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE!

The Chamber of Commerce of the United States of
America (“the Chamber”) is a federation consisting of
approximately 220,000 companies and several thousand
other organizations such as state and local chambers of

' This brief is filed with the written consent of the parties
pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37.2. Letters of consent are
being filed simultaneously with the Clerk of Court.

commerce and trade and professional associations. It is
the largest association of business and professional
organizations in the United States.

A significant aspect of the Chamber’s activities
involves regular representation of the interests of its
member-employers before the courts, the United States
Congress, the Executive Branch and independent regula-
tory agencies of the federal government. Accordingly, the
Chamber has sought to advance those interests by filing
briefs amicus curiae in a wide spectrum of labor relations
litigation.?

This case presents two important and interrelated
questions: (1) whether an employer who grants pension
credits and payments to former employees on leave to
work for a labor organization representing its employees
violates Section 302 of the Labor-Management Relations
Act (“LMRA”), as amended, 29 U.S.C. § 186; and (2)
whether the mere fact of such grants entails criminal
liability.>

The Court’s resolution of these issues is of vital con-
cern to the Chamber and its members, many of whom

2 See, e.g., Livadas v. Bradshaw, ___ U.S. ___, 114 S.Ct. 2068
(1994); ABF Freight Syst., Inc. v. NLRB, U.S. __, 114 S.Ct. 835
(1994); Lingle v. Norge Div. of Magic Chef, Inc., 486 U.S. 399 (1988);
Fall River Dyeing & Finishing Corp. v. NLRB, 482 U.S. 27 (1987);
Golden State Transit Corp. v. Los Angeles, 475 U.S. 608 (1986);
Allis-Chalmers Corp. v. Lueck, 471 U.S. 202 (1985); Trans World
Airlines v. Thurston, 469 U.S. 111 (1985).

3 This case also raises the question of whether such former
employees who receive pension credits and payments from their
former employers also engage in criminal conduct under Sec-
tion 302.

have a long-standing practice of granting pension bene-
fits to former employees who have taken leave to work
for labor organizations that represent their employees in
collective bargaining. The Circuit Court’s incorrect appli-
cation of Section 302 of the LMRA is likely to chill the
coitinuation of this widespread, and salutary, employer
practice. Accordingly, the Chamber submits this brief
amicus curiae in support of the Petitioner.

PRELIMINARY STATEMENT

In October 1984 —- some 10 months after USX and the
United Steelworkers of America (“Steelworkers” or “the
Union”) successfully concluded an agreement that
reopened the Company’s idled Fairfield Works, located
outside of Birmingham, Alabama‘ — USX adopted a reso-
lution changing its leave of absence policy for employees
of all its current steel producing: operations. The revised
policy provided that under certain conditions former USX
employees who left the Company’s employ to serve as
full-time Union officials would be eligible for retroactive
leaves of absence of indefinite duration which would
render them eligible for accrued pension service credits.
The stated reason for the changed policy was that USX
believed that it was in its interest that potential plant

4 In June of 1982, USX had indefinitely idled the Fairfield
plant because of substantial operating losses. After 19 negotiat-
ing sessions between USX and the Union, an agreement was
reached in late 1983 for the plant’s reopening at an ultimate cost
to USX of some $200 million.

problems, grievances, and the implementation of collec-
tive bargaining agreements be handled by former
employees familiar with USX’s policies and operations.

In late November 1984, pensions were granted and
paid under the changed policy to six Steelworkers Inter-
national representatives. Included in the grant were two
Union officials who had negotiated the Fairfield Works
reopening, E.B. Rich and Thermon Phillips, and who had
previously been employed at the Fairfield Works. Some
five years later, on November 15, 1989, the United States
Government brought a 16-count indictment against USX,
Rich and Phillips, charging, inter alia, that they had crimi-
nally violated Section 302.°

The indictment originally alleged that USX and nego-
tiators Phillips and Rich engaged in a subterfuge in which
USX granted the latter pension credits entitling them to
pensions they otherwise would not have received as a
“reward” — i.e., a quid pro quo — for Phillips and Rich
approving and administering the new collective bargain-
ing agreement at USX’s Fairfield Work’s operation in a
manner favorable to USX. Had the case been tried and

> Among other things, Section 302 of the LMRA prohibits
an employer from paying any money or other thing of value to
officers or employees of a labor organization that represents the
employer’s employees; it also prohibits such union officers or
employees from requesting or receiving any money or other
thing of value from any such employer. Section 302(c)(1), how-
ever, exempts from the 302 prohibitions payments made to a
union officer or employee “who is also an employee or former
employee of such employer, as compensation for, or by reason of,
his service as an employee of such employer” (emphasis
added).

Se |

decided on this basis, it would have created relatively
little consternation in the labor-management community.
Instead, during the course of the trial, the district court
granted the Government’s request to delete the “reward”
language from the indictment. As thus changed, the
indictment charged only that the pension payments to
Phillips and Rich were unlawful because they were paid
“not as compensation for or by reason of [either Phillips’
or Rich’s] service . . . as an employee” of USX Corpora-
tion. Moreover, the district court’s subsequent jury
instructions effectively eliminated the “by reason of” lan-
guage from the Section 302(c)(1) exemption. Finally, by
instructing the jury that the Government was not
required to prove that the payments were made or
received with “an evil or bad purpose” or even with any
“intent to violate the law,” the district court, as affirmed
by the Eleventh Circuit, essentially ruled that all trans-
gressions of Section 302, no matter how unwitting, were
criminal.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

As aptly demonstrated by the Petition for Writ of
Certiorari, intolerable uncertainty for employers and
union members alike is created by the “patchwork of
rights and risks” (Pet. p. 10) that attends the conflict in
the holdings among the circuits concerning issues of
whether an employer may, without incurring felony lia-
bility, grant former employees continuing credit toward
company sponsored pensions after they go to work full

time for their unions.

I. THE ERRONEOUS DECISION BY THE COURT OF
APPEALS WILL DESTABILIZE UNION-MANAGE-
MENT RELATIONS.

The manner in which this case was prosecuted and
the endorsement of that prosecution by both courts below
seriously impacts an important aspect of traditional
union-management labor relations — the practice of grant-
ing pension benefits to employees on union leave. But the
matter extends beyond the parameters of the practice
involved in this case, for the court of appeals’ rulings also
cast a cloud over other important and related facets of
traditional union-management practices, the so-called
“no-docking” practices. Thus, it is a widespread
employer-union practice — a practice memorialized in
hundreds of collective bargaining agreements - for
employees to be granted time off, with pay and without
the loss of seniority or benefits, to engage in activities on
behalf of their union and their fellow employees. Such
leave is frequently granted to union officers or other
union officials to enable them to engage in such activities
as labor contract negotiations and contract administra-
tion, grievarite handling, health and safety committee
work, administration of welfare and other benefit plans,
substance abuse prevention, apprentice training, the
administration of job security programs and time studies.
These activities may be performed both in-plant and at
other locations.

Similarly, collective bargaining agreements fre-
quently provide for the establishment of so-called joint
committees, comprised of both management representa-
tives and employee union representatives who are
granted time off with pay, benefit and seniority retention.

Functioning on both multi-plant (national) and local plant
levels, these committees are assigned objectives such as
the improvement of the efficiency of plant operations; the
increase of job opportunities; the improvement of product
quality; the identification of cost savings; the reduction of
employee absenteeism; the improvement of job training
programs; the maintenance and improvement of safe and
healthful working environments; the assistance of
employees in avoiding and recovering from alcoholism
and drug dependency; and the furtherance of equal
employment opportunity programs.®

The Chamber submits that these “no-docking” prac-
tices differ from full-time union leave only in degree and
not in kind. Indeed, in very large bargaining units gov-
erned by mature union contracts, even that difference in
degree is sometimes eliminated by the fact that some
employees may be “released” for up to 40 hours of union
work per week. In essence, then, employees sometimes
work full-time on union business while being paid wages
and benefits by the employer — a situation that cannot be
viewed as any less “pernicious” than the practice of
granting pension credit accrual while on extended leaves
of absence for full-time union work.

As for the specific practice at issue here, the 1980
Department of Labor Report confirms that numerous

6 A 1980 United States Department of Labor Report con-
firms that numerous employers in the United States allow paid
time off for union-related activities. See Major Collective Bargain-
ing Agreements: Employer Pay and Leave for Union Business, Bulle-
tin 1425-19, U.S. Department of Labor (Oct. 1980) (hereafter
“DOL Report”), pp. 16-17.

employers in the private sector allow employees to take
leaves of absence to serve as full-time union officers or
staff. See DOL Report, pp. 27-29.” The large percentage of
employers maintaining the practice is also noted in a
Bureau of National Affairs study, Policies on Leave From
Work, Personnel Policies Forum Survey No. 136, Bureau
of National Affairs (1983), p. 34. Often the leave that is
allowed for full-time service as a union officer is “open-
ended” as to duration or for relatively long periods; and
when shorter leave periods are granted initially, exten-
sions for additional periods, some quite lengthy, are fre-
quently granted by management. DOL Report, pp. 21-23,
28.

The Department of Labor Report also shows that
many employers allow employees on union leave to con-
tinue to accrue benefits, including pension benefits. DOL
Report, pp. 25-26. See also Communication Workers of Amer-
ica, AFL-CIO v. Bell Atlantic Network Serv., Inc., 670 F.

7 The DOL Report states (p. 27):

Leave of absence clauses pertaining to union
employment appeared in 761 of the 1,765 agree-
ments, covering 3.8 million of the nearly 8 million
workers. .. . Clauses were found in 62 percent of the
manufacturing agreements, and 25 percent of those
in nonmanufacturing. Clauses were found in more
than 75 percent of the contracts for transportation
equipment, non-electrical machinery, utilities, fabri-
cated metal products, ordnance, tobacco, and min-
ing. ... Provisions were found in 75 percent or more
of the agreements held by the Auto Workers, Rubber
Workers, Steel Workers, and Machinists agreements,
as well as a number of smaller unions such as the
Tobacco Workers, Chemical Workers, and Utility
Workers.

Supp. 416, 421 (D.D.C. 1987) (observing that full-time
union leave benefits had “been included in collective
bargaining agreements between the parties for many
years, in some instances for three to four decades.”). The
latter benefits include pension benefits, reduced-
premium medical insurance, no-charge life insurance,
and discounted telephone services.

The rewards derived from all of these practices are
obvious. They further collaborative efforts between
employers, unions and employees, and they thereby help
to improve productivity, increase efficiency, and reduce
labor costs. When former employees represent a union in
contract negotiations, they bring to the bargaining table
their familiarity with a company’s production methods
and plant practices, with needed employee skills, and
with employee gripes and satisfactions. Such knowledge
on the union side helps to minimize irrelevant discus-
sions and unnecessary frictions between the bargainers; it
also facilitates the achievement of speedy compromises
and realistic solutions to problems. Similarly, when
incumbent employees are charged with grievance han-
dling, the processing of meritless complaints can be
reduced, employee claims can be pressed forcefully and
skillfully, and management can be expected to respond
objectively.

Not surprisingly, many of the Chamber’s member
employers have a long-standing practice of-granting pen-
sion benefits to former employees who have taken leave
to work for labor organizations that represent their
employees in collective bargaining. The Chamber
endorses the practice and believes that it: (1) advances
the interests of employees to engage in self-organization

10

and to bargain collectively; (2) enhances the efficacy of
the collective bargaining process; and (3) promotes the
friendly adjustment of industrial disputes concerning
employees’ wages, hours, and other working conditions.
The practice therefore furthers a number of the declared
policies underlying the National Labor Relations Act. See
29 U.S.C. § 151. The erroneous “criminalization” decision
of the Circuit Court inhibits not only the continuation of
the practice herein at issue, but also the other traditional,
and salutary, union-management practices enumerated
above.

Il. THE COURT OF APPEALS MISCONSTRUED SEC-
TION 302 OF THE LABOR-MANAGEMENT RELA-
TIONS ACT.

Petitioner, the Chamber believes, was tried and con-
victed under an erroneous construction and application
of Section 302 of the LMRA.

A. The Animating Purpose Of Section 302

Section 302 of the LMRA was enacted into law in
1947. The original Section 302 was introduced on the floor
of the Senate as a proposed amendment to a bill under
consideration.® Senator Ball, who introduced the pro-
posed amendment, described its purpose as follows:

[T]he pending amendment deals with so called
welfare funds, which are becoming increasingly

8 The legislative history of Section 302 is described fully in
BASF Wyandotte Corp. v. Local 227, Int'l Chem. Workers Union, 791
F.2d 1046, 1050-51, 1053 (2d Cir. 1986).

11

prominent in negotiations between unions and
employers. .. . The sole purpose of the amend-
ment is not to prohibit welfare funds, but to
make sure that they are legitimate trust funds,
used actually for the specified benefits to the
employees of the employers who contribute to
them, and that they shall not degenerate into
bribes... .

2 Legislative History of the Labor-Management Relations Act
of 1947 (1948), pp. 1304-05. See also Arroyo v. United States,
359 U.S. 419, 425-26 (1959) (observing that Section 302
was enacted because of Congress’ concern “with corrup-
tion of collective bargaining through bribery of employee
representatives by employers, with extortion by
employee representatives, and with the possible abuse by
union officers of the power which they might achieve if
welfare funds were left to their sole control.”). Moreover,
as the Second Circuit has noted, although Section 302 has
been amended several times since 1947, in enacting the
amendments Congress reaffirmed Section 302’s purpose
“as the limited one of ‘prevent[ing] bribery, extortion,
shakedowns, and other corrupt practices. . . . ’ [and
prohibiting] ‘all forms of extortion and bribery in labor-
management relations.” BASF Wyandotte Corp. v. Local
227, supra, 791 F.2d at 1053, quoting H.R. Rep. No. 286,
91st Cong., Ist Sess. 1-2, and S. Rep. No. 187, 86th Cong.,
Ist Sess. 13.

In sum, as the principal legislative purpose underly-
ing Section 302 was to ensure the legitimacy of union
welfare funds and to prevent their use as bribes to union
officials, it follows that the per se construction of Section
302 adopted by the court of appeals — i.e., that a Section
302 violation may be present even in the absence of an

12

evil intent and even with the elimination of the “reward,”
or bribe, allegations from the indictment — is inconsistent
with that purpose.

B. The Circuit Court’s Construction Of Section |
302 Does Not Comport With the Underlying
Purpose cf the Statute.

As we show below, the Circuit Court’s restrictive
reading of Section 302 is not only erroneous but effec-
tively criminalized a wide range of conduct long consid-
ered to be lawful.

1. Although the court below did not refer to the
case, its construction of the Section 302(c)(1) exemption is
essentially consistent (cf. Pet. pp. 18-19) with the decision
of the panel majority in Trailways Lines, Inc. v. Trailways,
Inc. Joint Council of the Amalgamated Transit Union, 785
F.2d 101 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 932 (1986). That
majority held, in a case involving pension credits to
employees on union-related leaves of absence, that the
Section 302(c)(1) exemption was applicable “solely to
payments made as ‘compensation for or by reason of’ |
the . . . past services actually rendered by . . . former |
employees while they were employees of the company.” Id. at
106, 108 (emphasis in original).

Judge Becker’s dissent in Trailways presents a cogent
response to the equally specious construction of Section
302(c)(1) by the court below.’ Relying on the “by reason
of” language in Section 302(c)(1), Judge Becker stated that

9 Judge Becker was joined by two other circuit Judges in
voting to rehear the Trailways case en banc. 785 F.2d at 101.

|
|
en

13

“[cJontributions made as compensation for services ren-
dered to Trailways simply do not constitute bribery of the
Union or any other kind of support of the Union by
Trailways,” and that “upholding the contributions in this
case neither offends the policy of the act nor entails a
waiver of strict compliance with the language of § 302.”
Id. at 110.

Judge Becker also found that the cases validating the
“no-docking” principle (Section I above) provided
“strong support” for the legality of the pension pay-
ments. Id. He rejected the majority’s efforts to distinguish
those cases, saying:

The distinction does not work. . . . During the .
hours that these persons spent on union activ-
ities, they were not rendering services to their
employer, and they were not under their
employer’s control. The distinction between
using part of the day for union business and
taking leaves of absence to become full-time
union officials is only one of degree: the nature
of the absences and the payments by the
employer during them (or measured by them) is
the same.

Id. at 111.

Finally, Judge Becker faulted the majority for not
according weight to the widespread nature of the practice
involved, finding that the pervasiveness of such practices
“provides further reason to believe that the pension con-
tributions at issue here are not illegal and that the dan-
gers the majority alleges are ‘more fictitious than real,”
and cautioning that the “Court should be reluctant to
overturn so widespread a practice, which represents a

14

practical accommodation agreed upon by both businesses
and unions.” Id.

Prior to 1986, when Trailways was decided, the legal
authority on the subject had uniformly treated this prac-
tice as lawful under Section 302. As early as 1977, the
United States Department of Labor had rendered the
opinion that Section 302 does not prevent “an employee,
who is on leave of absence without pay from a company
in order to serve as a union officer, from receiving retire-
ment credit for the period during which he serves as a
union official.” Opinion Letter dated July 12, 1977, from
the DOL’s Office of the Solicitor to William N. Wheat and
Associates.

Also in 1977, an arbitrator considering the issue held
that it was not a violation of Section 302 for an employer
to grant “credited service” for pension benefit purposes

to an employee who had been on annual leaves of
absence for more than 30 years in order to serve as an
International Union Representative on a full-time basis.
Monsanto Co., 68 Lab. Arb. (BNA) 101, 110, 112-13
(1977).1° In Communication Workers of America, AFL-CIO v.

10 In response to the parties’ request that he render an
opinion on the legality of the practice in question, the arbitrator
in Monsanto stated:

In the judgment of the arbitrator, there is no intent
manifested in the language of Section 302, to restrict
and abolish the almost universal practice of granting
leaves of absence to union employees for union busi-
ness. To so interpret and construe the statute, would
be straining the language of Section 302 to an unrea-
sonable, and unwarranted extent... .

15

Bell Atlantic Network Serv., Inc., 670 F. Supp. 416 (D.D.C.),
a case decided in 1987, the Court explicitly rejected the
reasoning of the Trailways majority and its view that
Section 302(c)(1)’s “by reason of” language was no
broader than the more specific “compensation” language
of that provision:

It is unlikely that Congress intended to be
redundant. The fact that the phrase “as compen-
sation for” and “by reason of” are cojoined by
the disjunctive “or” usually indicates that the
two phrases have different meanings. See Garcia
v. United States, 469 U.S. 70, 73, 105 S. Ct. 479,
481, 83 L. Ed. 2d 472 (1984) (“canons of con-
struction indicate that terms connection [sic] in
the disjunctive . . . be given separate mean-
ings.”). Thus, contrary to defendants’ urgings,
the Court accords independent significance to
the meaning of the phrase “or by reason of... . ”

Id. at 419-20. Accordingly, the court concluded that the
union leave benefits at issue did not contravene Section
302’s purpose of “prevent[ing] bribery, extortion, shake-
down and other corrupt practices.” Id. at 422-24.

In sum, as the foregoing shows, the restrictive con-
struction of Section 301(c)(1) by the court below is
flawed.

... Section 302 of the Taft-Hartley Act, in no manner
prohibits, nor was it intended to prohibit the granting
of a pension to an employee on approved leave of
absence for purpose of serving as a Union Interna-
tional Representative.

68 Lab. Arb. (BNA) at 110, 112.

16

2. In contrast to Section 302’s civil provisions, one
of its criminal provisions, Section 302(d)(2), states that
“any person who willfully violates this Section . . . shall be
guilty of a felony.” This language, the Chamber submits,
refers not to the willful commission of acts — here the
intentional payment and receipt of pension benefits — but
to the willful violation of the statutory prohibition, i.e.,
acting with bad purpose to disobey or disregard the law.

The court of appeals, acting in conflict with the Sev-
enth Circuit’s decision in United States v. Papia, 910 F.2d
1357 (7th Cir. 1990), determined that the defendants’ mere
awareness of their actions, as opposed to any evil intent |
or knowledge of illegality, supplied the requisite mens rea
under 302(d)(2). The foregoing construction is fallacious
for at least three reasons. First, as set forth in Section I,
above, the breadth of the Circuit Court’s holding reaches
a wide range of conduct long considered to be lawful.
Accordingly, to permit such conduct to be penalized by
felony sanctions absent a showing of an intent to violate
the law, or at least a reckless disregard of its duties, runs
afoul of this Court’s precedent. See Liparota v. United
States, 471 U.S. 419, 426 (1985). See also United States v.
X-Citement Video, Inc., __. U.S. __, 1994 WL 662620 (Nov.
29, 1994).

Second, the difficulty that would be encountered in
ascertaining whether a benefit »ayment made by an
employer during leave for union service would violate
Section 302 mandates against the per se criminalization of
all such conduct. See Cheek v. United States, 498 U.S. 192,
199-200 (1991) (showing of specific intent required where
regulatory or statutory context makes “it difficult for the
average citizen to know and comprehend the extent of

17

the duties imposed by the . . . law” ); United States v.
Murdock, 290 U.S. 389 (1933) (same).?!

Third, it does not necessarily follow from the fact
that Congress arguably intended that Section 302 be con-
strued to constitute a malum prohibitum offense — as the
court of appeals implicitly determined in this case — that
the “willfully” provision of § 302(d)(2) should be con-
strued to require only general, rather than specific, intent.
Cf. Morissette v. United States, 342 U.S. 246, 259-60 (1952).
Indeed, it is because many common and innocent prac-
tices could run afoul of the statute under a general intent
construction that we submit Congress must have
intended the willfulness term to require proof of intent to
violate, or recklessly disregard, the law.

This Court’s reasoning in Ratzlaf v. United States, __
U.S. __, 114 S.Ct. 655 (1994) - a case involving the
statutory prohibition on structuring cash-transactions to
avoid federal currency reporting requirements - is

11 We note that a criminal violation of Section 302 only
arises for a “willful” violation of the Act, whereas no intent
requirement is indicated for a civil violation. Such a “two-
tiered” liability scheme — with “willful” violations carrying a
penalty greater than mere violations — has been interpreted even
in the civil context as requiring proof “that the employer either
knew or showed reckless disregard for the matter of whether its
conduct was prohibited by the statute[.]” Hazen Paper Co. v.
Biggens, ___ U.S. __, 113 S.Ct. 1701, 1708 (1993) (Age Discrimi-
nation in Employment Act), quoting McLaughlin v. Richland Shoe
Co., 486 U.S. 128, 133 (1988) (Fair Labor Standards Act), and
Trans World Airlines, Inc. v. Thurston, 469 U.S. 111, 133 (1985)
(Title VII of the Civil Rights Act). We submit that the sanctions
attending a criminal violation of the law present an even greater
reason for requiring proof of actual intent.

18

instructive in this regard. In Ratzlaf as here, the Act
imposed criminal penalties upon those who willfully vio-
lated the Act. Nonetheless, the Government argued, as
the court of appeals reasoned in this case, that no proof of
intent to violate the law was required for conviction
because the conduct at issue was ” ‘not the kind of
activity that an ordinary person would engage in inno-
cently.’ ” 114 S.Ct. at 660. After referring to instances in
which structuring might occur without unlawful intent,
the Court concluded “we are unpersuaded with the argu-
ment that structuring is so obviously ‘evil’ or inherently
‘bad’ that the ‘willfulness’ requirement is satisfied irre-
spective of the defendant’s knowledge of the illegality of
structuring.” Id. The Chamber submits that the reasoning
of Ratzlaf applies equally to the employer practices
reached by the holding of the court of appeals in this
case.

In sum, the Eleventh Circuit’s treatment of the “will-
ful” requirement of Section 302(d)(2) is not only erro-
neous on a practical level, but also runs afoul of Ratzlaf’s
teaching, and, as Petitioner has shown, it is in conflict
with rulings of other circuits.

19

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Chamber urges that
the petition for a writ of certiorari be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Of Counsel:
STEPHEN A. BOKAT
Rosin S. CONRAD
Mona C. ZEIBERG
NATIONAL CHAMBER

LITIGATION CENTER, INC.

1615 H Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20062
(202) 463-5337

Dated: January 10, 1995

STANLEY R. StRAUusS*

ELIZABETH TORPHY-DONZELLA

OcLETREE, DeaAkINs, NASH,
SMOAK & STEWART

2400 N Street, N.W.

Fifth Floor

Washington, D.C. 20037

(202) 887-0855

Counsel for the Chamber of
Commerce of the
United States of America,
Amicus Curiae

*Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0775%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
