# Reply Brief — Lake County v. Myers

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0685%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 513 U.S. 1058

## Text

Hipreme Court, U.S
FILED
DEC § 1994
Chri. THE CUERK
No. 94-731 i
IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

COUNTY OF LAKE, INDIANA,

Petitioner,

STEVEN MYERS and ROBERT MYERS,

Respondents.

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari To The United
States Court Of Appeals For The Seventh Circuit

REPLY BRIEF FOR PETITIONER

ROBERT P. KENNEDY
Counsel of Record
FEISAL AMIN ISTRABADI
SPANGLER, JENNINGS

& DOUGHERTY, P.C.
8396 Mississippi Street
Merrillville, Indiana 46410
(219) 769-2323

JOHN S. DULL

DULL AND DUGGAN

8300 Mississippi Street
Suite F

Merrillville, Indiana 46410
(219) 769-2875

Midwest Law Printing Co., Chicago 60611, (312) 321-0220

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE
TABLES OF ALTTIIORII MD oc ccc cccccces i
SE er ecu hub euckuweosavens 1-6
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES: PAGE
Beckett v. Clinton Prairie School Corporation,
504 N.E.2d 662 (Ind. 1967) .............. 2
Brown v. Slentz, 237 Ind. 497, 147 N.E.2d
I PP te Nene ate ee 4
Cole v. Indiana Department of Corrections,
616 N.E.2d 44 (Ind.App. 1993) ............ 3
Erie R. Company v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64,
58 S.Ct. 817, 82 L.Ed. 1188 (1938) ......... 3
McGill v. Duckworth, 944 F.2d 344 |
co Ee ore 2
McNall v. Farmers Ins. Group, 423
PPE OP CEI PED oo ck ect ceceescces 4
STATUTES:
Ind. Code § 34-4-16.5-4 (Burns 1986) .......... 4

i

No. 94-731

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

COUNTY OF LAKE, INDIANA,
Petitioner,

STEVEN MYERS and ROBERT MYERS,
Respondents.

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari To The United
States Court Of Appeals For The Seventh Circuit

REPLY BRIEF FOR PETITIONER

I.

Unable to defend the merits of the Seventh Circuit’s
errant Opinion, Respondents argue that the applicability of
affirmative defenses to a governmental entity is a question
of first impression in Indiana. (Respondents’ Brief at 11).
This is not true. That affirmative defenses involving a
plaintiffs conduct bar liability as to governmental defen-
dants is a well-settled doctrine in Indiana. No Indiana court

a

has ever questioned this fact. The only issue raised in the
instant Petition is whether it was incumbent upon a federal
Court of Appeals to apply existing State negligence law, or
whether that court was free to conjure legal doctrines, with-
out reference to any principle of Indiana law. Respondents
fail utterly to respond to this issue.

Lake County’s argument throughout has been that it was
entitled to a directed verdict because it had established
affirmative defenses involving Steven’s conduct as a matter
of law. No question concerning the appropriateness of these
defenses was raised in the courts below. The Seventh
Circuit ignored the issues argued by the parties, instead
fashioning a hitherto unknown legal doctrine in the State
of Indiana: that a governmental entity charged with negli-
gence may not raise any affirmative defenses involving the
plaintiffs conduct. Thus, the Seventh Circuit’s Opinion, in
defiance of existing Indiana law, occurred without the bene-
fit of argument.

In Indiana, if a plaintiffs conduct contributes to his
injury, plaintiff is barred from recovering from a negligent
defendant, even though that defendant was in loco parentis.
Beckett v. Clinton Prairie School Corporation, 504 N.E.2d
552 (Ind. 1987). Three years ago, the Seventh Circuit held
that Beckett controlled in a prisoner rape case. McGill v.
Duckworth, 944 F.2d 344 (7th Cir. 1991). (See Lake Coun-
ty’s Petition at 8-9).

Neither the Seventh Circuit nor Respondents have shown
why it is that Beckett properly controlled McGill, but has no
application whatsoever in the case at bar. Indeed, Beckett
is not even cited by Respondents in their filing in this
Court. The reason for this failure is self-evident: there is no
principled argument for distinguishing McGill and Beckett
from this case. Unable to defend this egregiously aberrant
Opinion, Respondents chant the mantra of “first impres-

=

sion” in an effort to minimize the unconscionable overreach-
ing of the Seventh Circuit.

The import of the Seventh Circuit’s decision cannot be
overstated. The court held that if a defendant is charged
with a duty to exercise reasonable care to prevent a suicide,
it may not raise plaintiff's contribution to the suicide as an
affirmative defense. The same rationale could be used to
obviate these affirmative defenses in a simple slip-and-fall
case: since the defendant’s duty is to exercise reasonable
care to prevent plaintiff from falling, defendant should not
be able to raise plaintiffs contribution to the fall as a
defense. The result is a complete re-writing of Indiana
negligence law.

A dichotomy now exists thanks to the Seventh Circuit.
Whenever a plaintiff can sue an Indiana governmental unit
in federal court, Myers can be used to bar defendant from
raising affirmative defenses. By contrast, if a plaintiff sues
in State court, that court, bound by legislative enactments
and precedents of Indiana reviewing courts, would allow
governmental defendants to raise such affirmative defenses.
This situation is abhorrent to principles of federalism, and
the right of states to be the final arbiters of issues of state
law. Erie R. Company v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64, 58 S.Ct.
817, 82 L.Ed. 1188 (1938).

The effect of the Seventh Circuit’s Opinion is to make
governmental entities including schools, hospitals, jails, and
prisons, insurers of the safety of their charges. This prop-
osition is contrary to an existing State statute and unani-
mous case-law of the State of Indiana. (See Lake County’s
Petition at 6-7). Indeed, the Indiana Court of Appeals has
recently noted that it is contrary to public policy to hold
custodial institutions as insurers of their charges’ safety.
Cole v. Indiana Department of Corrections, 616 N.E.2d 44,
45 (Ind.App. 1993).

auillinin

Unable to address these arguments, Respondents spend
approximately two-thirds of their Brief to show that there
was sufficient evidence to support the jury’s conclusion that
Lake County was negligent. This argument wholly misses
the point. The issue is not whether or not Lake County was
negligent; it is whether Lake County has the right to raise
the plaintiff's conduct as an affirmative defense notwith-
standing its negligence. Lake County seeks relief in this
Court upon the failure of a federal Court of Appeals to defer
to existing State law involving traditional issues of State
negligence law. At a time when the nation is engaged in a
debate about the limits of federal power over the states, the
Seventh Circuit has issued a published opinion eliminating
affirmative defenses recognized by a State statute and
invariably allowed under State decisional law. Certiorari is
appropriate.

II.

In regards to the Seventh Circuit’s error in failing
properly to enforce limits of liability imposed by Ind. Code
§ 34-4-16.5-4 (Burns 1986), Respondents repeat the refrain
that the father’s and son’s causes of action in this case are
“separate and distinct.” (Respondents’ Brief at 15). This is
a proposition which Lake County has never disputed.
Instead, it has pointed out that, under Indiana law, a
father’s claim for loss of services ana medical expenses is
purely derivative of that of his son. McNall v. Farmers Ins.
Group, 423 N.E.2d 593 (Ind. 1981); Brown v. Slentz, 237
Ind. 497, 147 N.E.2d 239, 240 (1958). Since the father’s
claim is derivative, it is subject to the same “per-person”
limitation as the son’s claim.

Respondents again assert that this issue is one of “first
impression” as though there has been no Indiana law
informative on the question of how many limits apply in

~

this case. In all other contexts in which Indiana law has
been applied both by federal and State courts, the courts
have consistently held that a derivative claim is subject to
the same single cap as the underlying claim. (See Petition
at 10-13). There is, therefore, no basis for a federal Court
of Appeals to assert that an Indiana court would hold other-
wise.

As it did in respect to liability, the Seventh Circuit mere-
ly substituted its own judgment, unsatisfied with enact-
ments of the Indiana Legislature and decisions of Indiana
courts. Not only does the Seventh Circuit believe itself un-
bound by Indiana law when deciding issues of State law; it
also believes itself to be unbound by United States Supreme
Court precedent mandating that existing State law must be
applied. Certiorari is appropriate.

Il.

Respondents have failed utterly to address Section II of
the Petition for Certiorari. In this Section, Lake County set
forth errors of law and fact committed by the Seventh Cir-
cuit, which tortured and distorted legal principles as well
as the record on appeal. Respondents failed to controvert a
single assertion of error.

It is self-evident that Respondents failed to controvert
these errors because no defense is possible. The Seventh
Circuit rewrote Indiana statutes, misstated the facts of
cases, misinterpreted the holdings of cases, and committed
at least nine egregious errors of fact.

The Seventh Circuit’s aberrant behavior is utterly incon-
sistent with the norms and standards which litigants have
a right to expect from a United States Court of Appeals.
The Seventh Circuit may believe itself insulated from criti-
cism for the egregious errors which it committed in its
Opinion, because of the improbability of certiorari being

— a

granted in any particular case. This indefensible conduct
ought itself to be sufficient reason for this Court to exercise
its discretion and grant certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT P. KENNEDY JOHN S. DULL
Counsel of Record DULL AND DUGGAN
FEISAL AMIN ISTRABADI 8300 Mississippi Street
SPANGLER, JENNINGS Suite F

& DOUGHERTY, P.C. Merrillville, Indiana 46410
8396 Mississippi Street (219) 769-2875

Merrillville, Indiana 46410
(219) 769-2323

December 1994

ee eee

LOPE ROY LEAR TNO

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0685%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
