# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Ray v. California

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0667%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 513 U.S. 1057

## Text

Ps 7 me
oe YS 5 . 2 ‘ety , Court, U.S.

Pb. BoD

No. 94 713 OCT 1 519%

IN THE OEEICE OF JHE CLERK

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

KENT F. RAY, Petitioner
Vv.

THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA, Respondent

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF
CALIFORNIA, THIRD APPELLATE DISTRICT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

GEORGE L. MERTENS
Attorney at Law

P.O. Box 554
Lincoln, CA 95648
Telephone: (916) 645-9759

Attorney for Petitioner
Counsel of Record

>
U\

nasi Rtaea nem i seme wate a

4

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. In a situation where an

officer is told by a third party that
petitioner consented to the search of his
home, does the officer have the minimal
burden of confirming that petitioner
actually did consent to such a search as
a predicate to a two hour exploratory
search of petitioner’s home while
petitioner remained asleep in an upstairs
bedroom?

2. Although evidence that
constitute exceptions to the hearsay rule
are not generally violative to the
Confrontation Clause, is the evidence in
this case that spanned three to five
levels of hearsay so unreliable that it
is repugnant to the Confrontation Clause
as its nature effectively makes

meaningful cross examination impossible?

Pit at oe 6 Cs Ei ee a
AUTHORITIES INVOLVED .... . 2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE. ..-+ +s ; - 3
I. Procedural Mistery ...i-«eve 8
IZ. Bwidemoe At Trial ...-.<«-e2e2e « 8
III. Petitioner’s Statement ..... 6

IV. Evidence Related To The Motion To
Suppress * 7: — 7 -_ — — — - * . a u

I
THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT THE WRIT TO
DETERMINE WHETHER PETITIONER’S "YES" IN
RESPONSE TO BEING INFORMED BY HIS SISTER
IN LAW THAT WAS BRINGING THE POLICE
TO LOOK AT THE STAIN ON THE CARPET
CONSTITUTED "UNEQUIVOCAL" AND "EXPRESS"
CONSENT AND IS A SUFFICIENT PREDICATE
UNDER THE FOURTH AMENDMENT TO SUPPORT A
TWO HOUR SEARCH OF HIS HOME ..,.. .- 15

A. Petitioner’s Right To Be Free From
Invasions Of His Home ......- 15

B. The Trial Court And The Court Of
Appeal Confused Consent With Assent 17

ii

C. The Court Of Appeal’s Analysis Is
Constitutionally Flawed ..... 21

D. This Case Also Presents Two Important
Sumer iegeues «s+ + see ew eo eo ew oe 22

II
THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT REVIEW TO
DETERMINE WHETHER THE STATEMENT ADMITTED
INTO EVIDENCE ENCOMPASSING MULTIPLE
LAYERS OF HEARSAY EFFECTIVELY DEPRIVED
PETITIONER OF HIS CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT TO
CONFRONTATION “2h a oe oe oe a 7 a ee ee

CONCLUSION . - «© «© © © © «© «© «© © «© «© 390

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases

Bumper v. North Carolina
208 Wis BES CO ks et eee

California v. Green
390°0.8. 260 2400 Co. CCS. OCU

Illinois v. Rodriguez
407 Gi8. i984 as. te OM SO,

Latex Construction Company v.
Jacksonville Shipyards
442 F.2@ 490 (9th Cir. 1971) ...-s+ 17

O’Donnell v. R.G. Smith Company 528 A.2d
576 (Pa. 1987) e * * * se ° e * i = = 17

Ohio v. Roberts
666 U.8. BR tet. 6 ke cc es Ye Se

Payton v. New York
445 U.S. 573 (1980) . .....-+-- 215

People v. Borango 232 Cal.App.3d 378
(1991) es ° J * e * e 2 e a aa a +. a = 22

People v. Brooks 425 N.W.2d 555 (Mich.
1988) ~ _ . o a. e m +. a ao a = * - Ses — 17

People v. Jones 155 Cal.App.3d 653
(1984) * oa ° * « & ° ? ~ oe i e a * - 25

People v. Perez 9 Cal.3d 651 (1973) . 17

People v. Rios 163 Cal.App.3d 852
(1985) * ° ad o * = * - e 2 o oe * a? a 28

People v. Roman 227 Cal.App.3d 674
(1991) * > e 2 * a es - -” & 2 a ” * a 19

iv

People v. Simmons 123 Cal.App.3d 677
i. << - ee 6 2b es 6 a eo «0 ae «6S

Robinson v. State 578 P.2d 141 (Alaska
1978) * — @ . a * 2 2 2 = — - ° 3 _ c 16

Schneckloth v. Bustamonte
Ole Mame wee taetee ee te et lth hl hl lt 16

Silverman v. United States
26S Wale BOS CERGRP « te et et te et le 15

Steagald v. United States
451 U.S. 204 (1981) . . «© «© «© « «© « « a3

United States v. Shaibu 895 F.2d 1291
ee ee a |

United States v. Whitfield 939 F.2d 1071
(D.C. Cir. 1991) se 6 6 2 @ + © © 4 19

statutes
26 U.8.C. mection i2S7(@) . « « «© «+s 2

California Evidence Code
section 352 ca e - 7 — + - .* = . — o — - 2

Co a a ee a eae Peer |

California Penal Code
errr. | gy ghee ee es et ee SS

—<

United States Constitution,
Sr a 5 4g ge « By 38, 29, 21, 23

United States Constitution, Amend. V2, 24

United States Constitution, Amend. XB 24

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

KENT F. RAY, Petitioner
V.

THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA, Respondent

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF
CALIFORNIA, THIRD APPELLATE DISTRICT

Petitioner, KENT F. RAY,
respectfully prays that a writ of
certiorari issue to review the judgment
and opinion of the Court of Appeal of the
State of California, Third Appellate
District, filed April 26, 1994, affirming
petitioner’s conviction for first degree

murder in this case.

OPINION BELOW

The unpublished opinion of the
Court of Appeal of the State of
California, Third Appellate District is
reproduced in the Appendix at Al through
A37.

JURISDICTION

Petitioner invokes the
jurisdiction of this Court under 28
U.S.C. § 1257(a) on the grounds that his
rights under the Fourth, Sixth and
Fourteenth Amendments to the U.S.
Constitution were violated. The Court of
Appeal issued its decision rejecting
these claims on April 26, 1994. The
California Supreme Court denied review on

July 27, 1994.

INVOLVED | |

United States Constitution, Fourth
Amendment, Sixth Amendment, Fourteenth
Amendment; California Evidence Code

sections 352 and 1235; and California

2

a

Penal Code section 187. See Appendix at
A63 for verbatim statement of these
authorities.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

I. Procedural History

On January 30, 1992, the

Sacramento County District Attorney filed
an Information in Sacramento County
Superior Court charging petitioner with
violation of California Penal Code
section 187, murder. On July 21, 1992, a
jury found petitioner guilty of first
degree murder following trial.
Petitioner appealed.

II. Evidence At Trial

Factually, this charge arose out

of the November 3, 1991 disappearance of
petitioner’s wife, Kwok Ray [hereinafter
"Mrs. Ray"]. Petitioner and Mrs. Ray
lived in Sacramento, California near Mrs.
Ray’s sister, Kwok Kin Yuen [hereinafter

"Kim"] and other family.

On the morning of November 5,
1991, police officers found Mrs. Ray’s
body in the trunk of her car. The
location was approximately ten minutes by
car from petitioner’s home. The medical
examiner determined that Mrs. Ray had
died by strangulation and she had died
55-60 hours before the officers
discovered the body.

Shortly before 1:00 a.m. in the
morning of November 3, 1991, Kim dropped
Mrs. Ray off at petitioner’s home after
work that evening. Petitioner was home
at the time. That was the last time any
witness saw Mrs. Ray alive. About 5:30
a.m., a neighbor heard a car start from
the direction of petitioner’s home. Mrs.
Ray’s friends and sisters came to the
home later that morning because they had
planned a trip for that day. While
there, they noticed a stain on the carpet
of the living room of the home. Later

that day Kim and a friend contacted the
police and asked them to come to the
house to look at the stain.

An officer came to the house later
that evening and Kim allowed him in with
her key. The officer examined the
Stained portion of the carpet and seized
fibers from it. The officer then called
for an evidence technician and they
conducted a two hour search of the house.
After the officers completed their
search, they knocked on the bedroom door
and petitioner answered. Petitioner
informed the officers that he did not
know the whereabouts of his wife.

The next day officers obtained a
search warrant based on the evidence
seized during the first search. They
seized portions of the carpet during this
search. The officers opined that the
carpet had been scrubbed in the interin.
Subsequent testing detected a minute

amount of blood of a type consistent with

Ms. Ray’s blood in the carpet and pad.

III. Petitioner’s Statement

The prosecutor introduced evidence
of a statement made by petitioner several
years before the disappearance of Mrs.
Ray. Petitioner’s girlfriend Jiang Jiang
[hereinafter "Jiang"] testified regarding
the statement. Petitioner objected to
the admission of the statement in limine
and the trial court conducted a hearing.

Jiang testified that during her
initial interview with a police
detective, the detective mentioned that ©
Jiang could be arrested if she did not
cooperate. The possibility of such an
arrest and the possible deportation to
China frightened Jiang, because of the
danger of retaliation for her prior
political activities in China.

Although she did not recall

precisely what she said to the detective

during a later interview, she remembered
that she qualified her statement telling
the detective that she was stating what
her girlfriend had told her she, Jiang,
had previously said. (RT 210, 212,222-
223, 227.) Indeed, Jiang testified that
she did not even recall or believe she
had the conversation that her girlfriend
told her she had. (RT 228-229, 246.)

The trial court found the
statement admissible applying an
California Evidence Code section 352
analysis. Additionally, the trial court
found that Jiang’s statements to the
officers were inconsistent with her
testimony at the hearing and at trial.

To reiterate for clarity, pursuant
to Jiang’s testimony on the motion and at
trial, the statement represented four

levels of hearsay: 1) Jiang said; 2) that

her friend said; 3) that Jiang said; 4)

\

that petitioner said [details of

statement]. (See A29-A30.)

IV. Evidence Related To The Motion To
Suppress

In limine, petitioner moved to
suppress the items seized during both
searches of his home. The trial court
heard testimony out of the presence of
the jury regarding this motion.

Kim testified that she could not
find Mrs. Ray on the morning of November
3. As a result, she visited Mr. Ray’s
house twice that morning trying to locate
her sister. After attempting to call the
police from Mr. Ray’s phone, she went
home and met with Elaine Rice. Elaine
Rice testified that she got a call from
Paula [Kim’s other sister] at
approximately 2:30 p.m. on November 3,
1991. Because of the call, she drove
immediately to petitioner’s house
arriving at approximately 2:40 p.m. At

the house, she spoke to petitioner for

\

about fifteen minutes, but did not go in.
Ms. Rice then went to Paula’s house,
talked to Paula briefly and both Ms. Rice
and Paula returned to Mr. Ray’s house.
They arrived at Mr. Ray’s house at
approximately 3:00 p.m. They looked
around Mr. Ray’s house and Paula pointed
out a large stain about the size of a
body just inside the entryway to the
home.

Kim and Ms. Rice called the police
several times to attempt to persuade the
police to send an officer to look at the
spot in the carpet. Later, they called
petitioner to give him the police report
number. Because of Kim’s difficulty with
English, Kim passed the phone to Ms.
Rice. Ms. Rice testified that she
"explained to [petitioner] I was trying
to get the police to come out to the

house to look at the stain." (RT 26.)

According to Ms. Rice, "He said ‘yes.‘"

(RT 26.) Petitioner said nothing more
than that. (RT 27.) This first call to
petitioner took place at approximately
6:00 p.m.

Later that evening, they called
petitioner again. Ms. Rice testified
that she told petitioner: "The police
said they would be out in an hour to look
at the carpet. I just wanted to let you
know that." (RT 27.) In response,
petitioner said only "yes." (RT 27.)
This second call took place at
approximately 6:30 p.m.

Ms. Rice later called again to
inform petitioner that the police were
going to be delayed. (RT 28.) During
that conversation, Ms. Rice either said
"Kim has a key, can we let ourselves in?’
or Ms. Rice said "Kim has a key, would:
you mind letting ourselves in?" (RT 29-
30.) Ms. Rice did not remember precisely

what she said. In response, Mr. Ray said

10

"yeah" or “yes." (RT 28, 29, 40, 59.)
Ms. Rice also told petitioner they would
try not to wake him. This third call
took place at approximately 7:50 p.m.
Later, Kim and Ms. Rice went to a
corner near petitioner’s house and met
Officer Skip Buck. At the corner, with
Ms. Rice acting as an interpreter for
Kim, they told Officer Buck about their
problems in locating Mrs. Ray and
concerns about the stain on the carpet.
Officer Buck testified that Kim and Ms.
Rice said: "[they] had apprised
[petitioner] that [they] were going to be
contacting law enforcement to come to the
residence to check on this." Officer
Buck understood Kim and Ms. Rice to say
that petitioner had told them that it
would be "okay" if the police came to
look at the carpet. (RT 113-114.)
Still, the officer testified that they

had not told the officer when and how

11

many times they had spoken to petitioner
that day. Nor did Kim and Ms. Rice say
specifically they had obtained permission
from petitioner to let the officer into
the home.

After the conversation at the
corner, Kim, Ms. Rice and Officer Buck
went to petitioner’s house where Kim
opened the door with her key. They did
not knock. They went in the house at
approximately 8:43 p.m.

At the time he entered
petitioner’s home, the officer believed
Kim had access to the residence, the
occupants were aware that he would be
arriving there and that he had authority
to enter the house. Officer Buck said
that he was never directly told of
authority, but inferred it from his
understanding that the occupants of the
house knew he was coming and that he

would be let into the house with a key.

12

SY AMIN, Mon HY SO

(RT 100-105, 126-128, 131.) He was aware
that petitioner would be asleep in the
house. (RT 132.) Although not told
directly, Officer Buck also understood
that Kim was petitioner’s sister-in-law
and the sister of Mrs. Ray. Kim did not
live at the house.

The officer looked at the stain on
the carpet. He noticed discoloration and
removed several fibers from the carpet,
because he felt they might have dried
blood on them. He also examined the
vacuum cleaner in the dining room. The
officer removed the vacuum cleaner bag
and inspected it. He found the vacuum
cleaner bag to be damp. Officer Buck
also looked through the laundry area of
the house, one of the closets and the
garage of the house. At the officer’s
request, other officers and an evidence

technician came to the house.

13

After approximately two hours,
Officer Buck knocked on petitioner’s
bedroom door. Up to this point,
petitioner remained asleep. It took
approximately thirty seconds for
petitioner to get up to answer his
bedroom door. The officer informed
petitioner of what had taken place.
According to the officer, petitioner
responded by saying "uh-huh." The
officer then asked him some general
questions about Mrs. Ray’s disappearance
and left. The officer never specifically
asked petitioner if he gave his
permission to take anything.

The affidavit for the November 4
search alleged probable cause based
almost exclusively on the items seized
and viewed during the November 3 search

of Petitioner’s home.

14

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I

THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT THE WRIT TO
DETERMINE WHETHER PETITIONER’S
"YES" IN RESPONSE TO BEING INFORMED
BY HIS SISTER IN LAW THAT SHE WAS
BRINGING THE POLICE TO LOOK AT THE
STAIN ON THE CARPET CONSTITUTED
"UNEQUIVOCAL" AND "EXPRESS" CONSENT
AND IS A SUFFICIENT PREDICATE UNDER
THE FOURTH AMENDMENT TO SUPPORT A
TWO HOUR SEARCH OF HIS HOME

A. Petitioner’s Right To Be Free From
Invasions Of His Home

This Court has explained that
"(a)t the very core [of the Fourth
Amendment] stands the right of a man to
retreat into his own home and there be
free from unreasonable governmental
intrusion." (Silverman v. United States
365 U.S. 505, 511 (1961).) "(T)he Fourth
Amendment has drawn a firm line at the
entrance of the house." (Payton v. New
York 445 U.S. 573, 590 (1980).) For
these reasons, such searches are
presumptively illegal in the absence of a

warrant, proof of consent or exigency.

15

(E.g., Steagald v. United States 451 U.S.
204, 211 (1981).)

It is basic that petitioner’s
Silence and failure to affirmatively
object cannot establish consent. "To do
SO would be to justify entry by consent
and consent by entry. ‘This will not
do.’ We must not shift the burden from
the government -- to prove ‘unequivocal
and specific’ consent -- to the defendant
. . - a Gefendant’s failure to object to
such entry is not sufficient to establish
free and voluntary consent." (United
States v. Shaibu 895 F.2d 1291, 1294 (9th
Cir. 1990) [citation omitted]; see also
Robinson v. State 578 P.2d 141, 143-144
(Alaska 1978).) This Court has held that
the burden is on the state to prove that
consent was voluntarily given by
petitioner. (E.g., Schneckloth v.
Bustamonte 412 U.S. 218, 248-249 (1973);

16

(Bumper v. North Carolina 391 U.S. 543,
548 (1968).)

B. The Trial Court And The Court Of
Appeal Confused Consent With Assent

It is basic that "’(c)onsent, in
law, means a voluntary agreement by a
person in the possession and exercise of
sufficient mentality to make an
intelligent choice, to do something
proposed by another. ‘Consent’ differs
very materially from ’assent.’ The
former implies positive action and always
involves submission. The latter means
mere passivity or submission, which does
include consent.’" (People v. Perez 9
Cal.3d 651, 658-659 (1973) [citations
omitted]; see also Latex Construction
Company v. Jacksonville Shipyards 442
F.2d 450, 453 (9th Cir. 1971); People v.
Brooks 425 N.W.2d 555, 557 (Mich. 1988);

O’Donnell v. R.G. Smith Company 528 A.2d
576, 580 (Pa. 1987) [cases finding

17

response of "okay" inherently
ambiguous ]. )

The trial court and court of
appeal found petitioner’s "yes" in
response to Ms. Rice’s announcement that
she would be bringing the police to his
house constituted "consent." The trial
court made that determination without
reference to the related, but distinct
concept of “assent." The court of appeal
mentioned it but baldly rejected the
argument. Still, the testimony on the
motion at the hearing did not establish
an agreement, but only petitioner’s
assent to Ms. Rice’s stated intent to
bring the police to his home.

Petitioner never gave Officer Buck
consent, nor was he ever asked for it.
Kim’s representations that petitioner had
agreed to the search is an inadequate
substitute. In the context of trial

rights, this Court has explained:

18

Vedannben

petitioner for some clear consent.

e.g., United States v. Whitfield 939 F.2d
1071, 1074-75 (D.C. Cir. 1991); People v.

"We would assuredly not permit,
therefore, evidence seized in
violation of - the Fourth
Amendment to be introduced on
the basis of the trial court’s
mere ‘reasonable belief ’-derived
from statements by unauthorized
persons-that defendant has
waived his objection."

(Illinois v. Rodriguez 497 U.S.
177, 183 (1990).)

This reasoning is analogous to the
instant case considering the high public
interest in protecting homes from
invasions of the state as against the
minor societal cost of Officer Buck being

required simply to wake and ask

(See

Roman 227 Cal.App.3d 674 (1991)
[discussing officer’s duty to inquire
with third party consent].) Petitioner
submits that under any reasonable
cost/benefit analysis of the application
of the exclusionary rule, the burden of

Clarifying the purported consent by

19

simply asking petitioner who was present,
but asleep, was profoundly outweighed by
the invasion by the police into
petitioner’s home.

The state could not meet its
burden on this issue on these facts. The
only time that petitioner spoke directly
to Officer Buck was when he said "uh-huh"
following the officer waking petitioner
and informing him that they just
completed a two hour search of his home
and were taking various items. As such,
the evidence did not establish a direct
waiver by petitioner of his right to be
free of the warrantless intrusion by
Officer Buck. Thus, under this Court’s
analysis in Rodriguez and considering
applicable policy considerations, the
trial court erred in finding petitioner

expressly consented to the search.

20

C. The Court Of Appeal’s Analysis Is
Constitutionally Flawed

With only a passing reference to
the authority discussed above, the Court
of Appeal finds that Kim specifically
asked petitioner "can we let ourselves
in?" According to the Court of Appeal,
petitioner’s answer "‘’yes’, could not be
more unequivocal." (See A23.) The Court
of Appeal’s bare reasoning in this
context is flawed for several reasons.
First, the Court of Appeal fails to even
mention the context of this "yes." More
importantly, the Court of Appeal does not
even address the issue of how "express"
consent can be conveyed to Officer Buck
from Kim through the interpreter and made
only vaguely clear to the officer. This
Court has repeatedly recognized that
protection of one’s home from the state’s
invasion is at the heart of the Fourth
Amendment. To avoid the circumvention of

the Fourth Amendment’s protection of

21

one’s home by vague "consent" through
third parties literally unlocking the
door for the state, this Court should
intervene by granting this writ and
establishing that more is needed than
took place here to establish consent for
an extended police invasion of one’s
home.

D. This Case Also Presents Two Important
Sub-Issues

If this Court addresses the issue
described above, this Court would then
have the opportunity to address the scope
and third party consent issues that were
also addressed in the lower courts. (See

People v. Borango 232 Cal.App.3d 378,

387-393 (1991) [survey of cases on scope

of consent] & (Illinois v. Rodriguez,
supra [case setting guidelines for

"apparent consent" cases].) Thus, this
Court could use this case as a: vehicle to

address several very important and

22

complex aspects of the application of the

Fourth Amendment.

aoe

23

It

THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT REVIEW TO

DETERMINE WHETHER THE STATEMENT

ADMITTED INTO EVIDENCE ENCOMPASSING

MULTIPLE LAYERS OF HEARSAY

EFFECTIVELY DEPRIVED PETITIONER OF

HIS CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT TO

CONFRONTATION

The admission of this evidence

denied petitioner his right to
confrontation under the Sixth and
Fourteenth Amendments to the United
States Constitution. California Evidence
Code section 1235 allows a prior
inconsistent statement to be used as
substantive evidence. Petitioner
acknowledges that section 1235 has been
upheld when generically challenged as
violative of the constitutional right to
confrontation. (See California v. Green
399 U.S. 149 (1970).) However, in the
particular circumstances of the statement
at issue in this case, admission of the
statement denied petitioner the right to

confrontation. Unlike the circumstances

of Green, in this case, Jiang did not

24

oi a a RO AR et

acknowledge the statement. (Cf., 399
U.S. at p. 164.) Because of the nature
of the evidence that presented the
statement to the jury, in these
circumstances, petitioner’s alleged
statement could not be reasonably
characterized as having sufficient
indicia of reliability to justify its
admission through Jiang’s inconsistent
testimony. (See Ohio v. Roberts 448 U.S.
56, 66 (1979).)

The policy considerations
underlying the hearsay rule and
confrontation clause frequently overlap
and are very similar. Still, "the two
are not coterminous; a statement
otherwise admissible under the hearsay
rule may be prohibited from introduction
into evidence by the confrontation
clause." (People v. Jones 155 Cal.App.3d
653, 663 (1984).) Specifically, with

regard to prior inconsistent statements,

25

this Court has found that, in the context
of inconsistent preliminary hearing
testimony, that examination at trial
provides "trier of fact a satisfactory

basis for evaluating the truth of the

prior statement." (California v. Green,
supra, 399 U.S. at p. 161.) In Green,

this court’s reasoning rested on the
assumption of "meaningful" trial
confrontation to provide ‘most of the
lost protections [of contemporaneous
cross-examination such as oath,
observance of demeanor and cross-~
exentné&iaind* (People v. Simmons 123
Cal.App.3d 677, 681 (1981) quoting 399
U.S. at p. 158 [brackets in Simmons].)
Thus, even in circumstances where a
witness testifies and others that heard
the prior statement testify, the
confrontation clause can be violated
where "meaningful" cross exanihation is

impossible.

26

For example, an amnesiac witness
who testifies that he does not remember
cannot be meaningfully cross examined.
(People v. Simmons, supra, 123 Cal.App.3d
at pp. 681-682.) Similarly, the Court of
Appeal held that a prior statement cannot
be used in the event of a witness that
simply refuses to answer questions or
"stonewalls" with no claim of privilege.
(People v. Rios 163 Cal.App.3d 852
(1985).) The Rios court reasoned that
cross examination is meaningless and
violative of the right to confrontation
despite the witness’ appearance undex
oath.

This reasoning is directly
applicable to the case at bar. Although
Jiang and the detective testified,
petitioner was deprived of any meaningful
cross-examination in this case. Jiang
never varied from her testimony that she

did not remember petitioner making the

27

purported statement and insisted that she
told the detective that she did not
remember, but was simply reminded of the
statement by her friend. Despite the
Court of Appeal’s contrary conclusion,
Jiang’s testimony was materially the
equivalent of the "stonewalling" in Rios.
Thus, petitioner could not cross-examine
Jiang on the details of what petitioner
purportedly said. Under the unusual
circumstances of this case, the only
person that could be meaningfully cross-
examined on petitioner’s purported
statement would have been Jiang’s friend
and she did not testify.

Jiang made her statements under
the stress of a police interrogation and
the benefit of cross examination or even
making the statement under oath was
absent. There was no inherent
trustworthiness in the interview

statements.

28

NL ne) A A tN it ha aE Rei

Because this form of error so
totally undermines a defendant’s right to
confrontation and there is little
guidance for the courts of this country
on the proper approach to this common
evidentiary situation, it is a very
important issue of law deserving this

Court’s attention.

29

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set out above,
petitioner respectfully requests that
this petition be granted and this Court
address those important issues of law.
DATED: October 10, 1994
Respectfully submitted,

GEORGE L. MERTENS
Attorney at Law

P.O. Box 554

Lincoln, CA 95648
Telephone: (916) 645-9759

Attorney for Appellant
Counsel of Record

30

APPENDIX

Unreported Decision Dated April 26, 1994 Of
The California Court Of Appeal, Third
Appellate District In People of The State Of
California, Plaintiff and Respondent v. Kent
F. Ray, Defendant and Appellant, 3 Crim.
C014582

A jury convicted defendant of murder in
the first degree. (Pen. Code, §§ 187, 198.)
Defendant was sentenced to prison for 25 years
to life.

On appeal, defendant contends,
principally, that there is no substantial
evidence to support his murder conviction or,
at the least, no substantial evidence to
support a finding of premeditation and
deliberation. Additionally, defendant
contends the trial court erred (a) in denying
his motion to suppress evidence (Pen. Code, §
1538.5), (b) in allowing the impeachment of
defendant’s girlfriend with prior inconsistent
statements, and (c) in refusing defendant’s
requested instructions. None of defendant’s
arguments has merit. We shall affirm.

On the morning on November 5, 1991, the

victim, Kwok Chi Ray, was found dead, lying

Al

face down in the trunk of her automobile. The

victim had a laceration on the right side of
her head. This injury was the result of a
blow from a blunt instrument. The head
laceration would have bled profusely. Such a
blow could have rendered the victim
unconscious. However, the cause of death was
ligature strangulation with an instrument such
as a rope. Marks on the victim’s neck
indicated constant pressure had been applied
and death would have occurred in 3-5 minutes.
According to medical testimony, the victim
died 55-60 hours before her body was
discovered, placing her death at sometime
between 11 p.m. on Saturday, November 2, and 4
a.m. Sunday, November 3. No murder weapon was
found.

The victim and her sisters Paula and
Kwok Kin (Kim) all resided in close proximity
to each other in the Land Park area of
Sacramento. Kim was a daily visitor to the

victim’s house ("the residence"). Every

A2

morning Kim went to the residence for

breakfast and Kim often took naps there in the
afternoon. Kim had a key to the residence
which she used on a regular basis.

At the time of her death, the victim
had been married to defendant for 12 years.
In 1986 they had a son, Nelson. The victim
and defendant were part owners of a local
restaurant. The other owners were Kim and
Kim’s husband, Michael. The victim and Kim
worked at the restaurant as waitresses.
Michael worked as a cook and defendant was
responsible for maintenance and housekeeping.

It was no secret to family members and
close friends that the victim and defendant
were having marital problems. Defendant had
begun a romantic relationship with Jiang
Jiang, a student he met at California State
University, Sacramento. The victim was aware
of the affair. Three months before the
victim’s death, defendant filed for divorce.

The victim did not want a divorce because she

A3

did not want another woman raising Nelson.

Despite their marital problems, the victim and
defendant continued to live together in the
residence.

If defendant had followed his regular
schedule he would have gone to the restaurant
on Sunday, November 3, to steam-clean the
oven. However, on the afternoon of Saturday,
November 2, the victim and defendant argued,
apparently because defendant refused any

longer to perform his responsibilities at the

restaurant.

Following the argument, the victim went
to work at the restaurant. During that
evening the victim, Kim, and another waitress,
Mei Wong, made plans to meet at the residence
at 10 o’clock the next morning to take a trip
to San Francisco.

Because of the their plans to go to San
Francisco, the victim and Kim remained after

the restaurant closed at 11 p.m. to clean up.

A4

Among the tasks they performed was steam-
cleaning the oven.

Shortly after 1 a.m. on November 3, Kim
drove the victim home and watched as she
entered the residence and closed the door.

Kim did not observe the victim’s car, but this
was not unusual as it was usually kept in the
garage.

Later that morning, at about 5:30,
Dinah Fong, a neighbor of defendant and the
victim, was awake in bed when she heard the
sound of a car motor starting. According to
Fong, the sound was not very loud and appeared
to come from the direction of the residence.
Fong was certain the sound she heard was not
that of defendant’s truck.

On the morning of November 3, sometime
between 9:15 and 9:30, Kim telephoned the
residence to inform the victim she had changed
her mind about going to San Francisco.
Defendant answered and told Kim the victim was

not at home; that she was probably at the

A5

restaurant steam-cleaning the oven. When Kim
informed the defendant they had steam-cleaned
the oven the night before defendant became
angry. Kim then asked defendant what time the
victim left the residence that morning.
Defendant answered he did not know. Kim then
called her father and Paula, but was unable to
locate the victim.

As the morning progressed, Kim and
Paula became worried because they could not
find the victim. Kim was especially worried
because she always knew where the victim was
and what she was doing. Kim went to the
victim’s house and questioned defendant as to
her sister’s whereabouts. Defendant again
replied he knew nothing. Nelson informed Kim
that he had not seen his mother at all that
day. According to Kim, defendant did not
appear concerned about his wife’s appearance.

Brenda Yuen, who earlier that morning
had left her two children at the residence wo

play with Nelson, returned to the residence

A6

eee frm

around noon. At that time, Brenda’s oldest
son told her and Kim that there was a large
wet spot on the carpet and pointed it out to
then.

Kim and Brenda observed a large stain
which was lighter in color that the rest of
the carpet. The area was wet and smelled of
chlorine and bleach. Kim showed the carpet to
defendant, who stated he did not know what had
happened. Defendant denied he had cleaned the
carpet, and also denied the carpet had been in
that condition the previous day. Nelson
informed Kim the carpet had not been in that
condition the day before. Defendant suggested
the kids might have spilled something on the
carpet, but the children denied they had
spilled anything.

At approximately 2:00 p.m. Kim decided
to phone the police. Because she was nervous
and did not speak English well, Kim asked
defendant to speak to the officer. Defendant

did so, then informed Kim the police could not

do anything until the victim had been missing

for a longer time.

Later that afternoon, Elaine Rice, an
acquaintance of defendant, the victim and Kin,
went to the residence and spoke with
defendant. Defendant told Rice that he and
Nelson awakened at 6:30 that morning and his
wife was not at home. According to Rice,
defendant did not appear distressed or:
concerned.

Rice left the residence but returned a
short time later along with Paula to look at
the carpet. Rice described the stain as a
"sizable area about the size of a body that
was lighter that the rest of the carpet... ."
Rice inquired of defendant about the condition
of the carpet. Defendant repeated what he had
said earlier to Kim: he did not know anything
about the stain except that it was not there
the night before. According to Rice,
defendant appeared emotionless and

indifferent. Rice and Paula discovered one of

A8

the victim’s purses in the pantry but noticed
the victim’s car was not in the garage.

Paula and Rice left a few minutes
later, but Kim and Rice returned after Rice
discovered she had left her sunglasses at the
residence. Upon arriving, no one was home, so
Kim used her own key to enter the residence.

Defendant drove up in his truck with
Nelson. It was approximately 4:30 p.m. Kim
told defendant that she and Rice were going to
file a report with the police.

Rice later spoke on the phone with a
police officer and reported the victim’s
disappearance and requested an officer be sent
out to examine the carpet. The officer stated

no'one could be sent out at that time. As the
afternoon turned into evening, Rice and Kim
made several additional calls to the police in
an effort to have an officer examine the
carpet.

Rice and Kim phoned defendant and

informed him of their conversations with the

A9

police. In all, they spoke with defendant by
phone three times, asking him each time if the
police could come to the residence to examine
the carpet. Defendant responded affirmatively
each time but informed them he intended to go
to be at 9 p.m. and further intended to unplug
the telephone because it had been ringing all
day. Rice informed defendant the police would
probably not arrive before he went to bed.
Rice suggested that as Kim had a key, Rice and
Kim would simply let the police inside when
they arrived. Defendant agreed.

Officer Skip Buck arrived at the
residence at approximately 8:45 p.m. Rice and
Kim informed Buck of everything they had

learned, including the unusual condition of

the carpet. As they approached the front

door, it appeared no one was awake. Kim used

her key to let the officer and Rice inside.
Once inside the women showed Buck the

carpet. Buck observed part of the carpet was

blanched a stark white in contrast to the off-

white color of the rest of the carpet. On
closer inspection, Buck observed some darkened
areas of red-brown discoloration. The area
was wet and smelled of bleach. Buck noticed a
vacuum cleaner in the adjacent dining
room/play area. The vacuum bag was damp and
also smelled of bleach. Buck called for a
crime scene investigator to come to the house.
Officer Tomita arrived and took photographs of
the stained area.

Buck remained in the house for over two
hours, at one point removing fibers from the
discolored area on the stained carpet. Buck
also seized the vacuum cleaner bag.

Before leaving the residence, Buck went
to defendant’s bedroom door and knocked.
Defendant answered. According to Buck,
defendant stated he had no clue as to his
wife’s whereabouts, as the last time he saw
her was 4:30 p.m. the preceding day. When
defendant awoke at approximately 6:30 the next

morning, his wife was not at home. Defendant

All

had no explanation for the darkened spots
within the bleached area of the carpet, but
suggested the carpet might have been bleached
by chlorine from the pool and Jacuzzi.

Defendant repeated the carpet had not been

stained when he had gone to bed the previous
evening.

Police investigators contacted
defendant at his place of work on the .
following morning, November 4, 1991.
Defendant told the officers he was unsure if
his wife had come home Sunday morning.
Defendant surmised his wife probably did come
home but awakened early and left before
defendant awoke. He also acknowledged he and
the victim had argued about his duties at the
restaurant.

During the discussion, the officers
sought to obtain from defendant a photo of his
wife so that the media could alert the public
to her disappearance. The officers indicated

their request was urgent. Defendant stated he

Al2

could not get away from work until later that
afternoon. However, when the officers offered
to speak with defendant’s supervisor,
defendant agreed to leave with the officers
and return to his house to obtain a photo.

Upon arriving at the residence,
defendant refused to allow the officers to
enter and refused to sign a consent form.
Defendant entered and obtained a ghictograph of
the victim and gave it to the officers.

On the evening of November 4, the
investigating officers obtained a search
warrant for the residence. Additional
photographs were taken by officer Tomita and a
large section of the carpet and pad underneath
were cut out by criminalists Mary Hansen and
Cheryl Reynolds. Prior to executing the
search warrant, Hansen examined the carpet
fibers seized by Buck the night before.

Hansen concluded there was blood on the
fibers. At the residence, investigators

observed corresponding stains on the carpet

pad and the underlying cement slab. Tomita

also observed that when he returned to the
residence that evening, the stain appeared
slightly different than it had the night
before.¥

At approximately 10:50 the following
morning, November 5, Officer Smith was on
patrol in Oak Park approximately three and
one-half miles from the residence. He spotted
the victim’s blue Ford Taurus parked in front
of a no parking sign near the intersection of
38th Street and 9th Avenue. The victim’s body
was discovered in the trunk. The body was
lying face down, with the hands tied behind
the back. The keys were not in the car but it

contained no currency. Residents of the area

¥ Tomita testified that when he
entered the residence on the evening of
November 4, "the stained area...
appeared to be of a lighter contrast as
if it had been worked on." When asked by
the prosecutor what he meant by "worked
on," Tomita replied, "It appeared to me
as soon as I walked in the door that the
area that had been scrubbed or rubbed on
had gotten larger."

Al4

testified they had observed the car parked in

that location as early as Sunday morning,
November 3.

Following the discovery of the victim’s
body and vehicle, defendant was arrested.
While defendant was being booked, Detective
Stanfield observed three scratches on
defendant’s right wrist. These appeared to
Stanfield to be fingernail scratches.
Defendant explained the scratches were a
nervous rash.

Criminalist Hansen testified the carpet
fibers and the stains on the carpet and carpet
pad each contained type B blood. The victim
had type B blood. Defendant’s blood is type
A. Enzyme tests of the blood on the carpet
and carpet pad were consistent with tests of
the victim’s blood.

On November 15, 1991, defendant’s
girlfriend, Jiang Jiang, was interviewed by
Detective Tom Lee in the presence of Jiang’s

attorney. Jiang related a recent conversation

A15

ooo

she had with a friend, Irene Wang. Wang had
reminded Jiang that Jiang had previously told
her that defendant had stated to Jiang that he
wanted his wife killed and had described an
occasion two to three years earlier when he
had driven to an undisclosed location to meet
someone who offered to kill defendant’s wife.
Defendant had explained that he became scared
and never actually met with the prospective
killer. Wang reminded Jiang of these
statement of defendant several times,
beginning shortly after the discovery of the
victim’s body.
I

Defendant first argues there is no
substantial evidence he committed the murder.
Additionally, defendant argues there is no
substantial evidence the murder was
deliberated and premeditated.

The test on appeal is whether
substantial evidence supports the conclusion
of the trier of fact. (People v. Wright

A16

eS a | ae

5
i
$
?
§

“TT

(1985) 39 Cal.3d 576, 592.) In making this
determination, we must review the whole record
in the light most favorable to the judgment
and presume in support thereof the existence
of every fact the trier could reasonable
deduce from the evidence. (People v. Towler
(1982) 31 Cal.3d 105, 117-118; People v.
Johnson (1980) 26 Cal.3d 557, 576-577.)

The standard of review remains the same
in cases where the People rely primarily on
circumstantial evidence. (People v. Perez
(1992) 2 Cal.4th 1117, 1124.) “Although it is
the duty of the jury to acquit a defendant if
it finds that circumstantial evidence is
susceptible of two interpretations, one of
which suggests guilt and the other innocence
[citations] , it is the jury, not the
appellate court which must be convinced of the
defendant’s guilt beyond a reasonable doubt.
‘"If the circumstances reasonably justify the
trier of fact’s findings, the opinion of the

reviewing court that the circumstances might

Al7

also be reasonably reconciled with a contrary
finding does not warrant a reversal of the
judgment."’ [Citations.]" (People v. Bean
(1988) 46 Cal.3d 919, 932-933; People v.
Perez, supra, 2 Cal.4th at p. 1124.)

There is no question the victim was
murdered by someone. The question is who. As
we view the record, a reasonable jury could
conclude the evidence establishes defendant’s
guilt beyond a reasonable doubt.

The most compelling evidence is the
carpet which was stained with blood
indistinguishable from that of the victim.
This evidence suggests the victim was murdered
at home. When Kim dropped the victim off at
the residence at 1 o’clock on the morning of
November 3, only defendant and Nelson were
there. Certainly, there is no evidence,
direct or circumstantial, that the victim
encountered an intruder inside the residence.
There was no evidence of forced entry.

Moreover there was no evidence the victim had

Ais

any enemies who might have entered and lain in
wait for her at the residence. The time of
death was between 1-4 a.m. on November 3. The
only individuals in the residence when the
victim was murdered were defendant and Nelson,
who at age 5 is not a viable candidate for
matricide. Thus the evidence strongly points
to defendant as the only person who had the
opportunity to kill the victim when she
returned home on the morning of November 3.
The carpet stain points to defendant as
the killer for a second reason. The medical
testimony established the blow to the victim’s
head would have caused profuse bleeding. It
is a reasonable inference the blow to the
victim’s head was administered in the
residence and blood therefrom spilled on the
carpet; the carpet the killer attempted to
clean up the blood by applying bleach to and
then vacuuming the carpet. It is not
reasonably plausible that an intruder who

attacked the victim in her home would have

—————oOOOOOOOOOOOeEeVOmO

made any attempt to clean the blood from the
carpet. It is even less plausible to suppose
an intruder would have vacuumed the carpet
while defendant and Nelson were asleep in the
bedroom. The evidence points to defendant as
the only possible killer with the motive to
cover up the evidence of a murder.

The cause of death also points to the
defendant as the killer. The manner of the
killing, a blow to the head to stun the victim
or to render her unconscious, followed by
ligature strangulation for 3-5 minutes,
suggests the crime was committed by one with
strong hands. He also had marks on his wrist
which appeared to an officer to be fingernail
scratches.

Defendant’s conduct following his
wife’s disappearance supports the inference he
was the killer. Various witnesses described
defendant as indifferent, almost casual, in
his reaction to his wife’s apparent

disappearance. Moreover, he was uncooperative

A20

with investigating officers, responding only
grudgingly to their request for a photograph
of his wife. On this occasion defendant
asserted he was too busy to help and only
cooperated when the officers offered to speak
with his employer.

Defendant’s statements following his
wife’s disappearance are also circumstantially
inculpatory. Defendant repeatedly stated to
friends, relatives and law enforcement
officials the carpet had not been stained when
he went to bed the evening of November 2.
Defendant was unable to offer a plausible
explanation for how the carpet might have
become stained while he was asleep in the
house. He first suggested that the children
had spilled something on the carpet, but the
children denied it and there was no evidence
they were playing with bleach on the morning
of November 3. Defendant then suggested the
carpet might have become stained with bleach

from the outside pool or Jacuzzi. Yet, there

A21

was no evidence anyone had used the pool or

Jacuzzi that morning. Finally, when asked if
he could offer any explanation for his wife’s
disappearance other than that she might have
returned to the restaurant, defendant
suggested that his wife might have driven to
Paradise to retrieve some of her personal
possessions. Yet uncontroverted evidence
indicated the victim did not like to drive,
seldom drove her own vehicle--Kim often drove
the victim’s vehicle for her--and seldom if
ever drove on the freeway.

Defendant had a motive for killing his
wife. He had been having an affair with Jiang
for some time and had talked with her about
getting married and in fact did so two months
after his wife’s murder. He had made some
statements to Jiang about a previous effort to
have his wife killed.

In his opening brief, defendant makes
numerous concessions with regard to the

evidence against him. He argues, however, the

A22

Pea NF lteen SHS hee NY PERE ERI ae aa eae

People failed to prove directly or by
reasonable inference the date of the carpet
stain or any connection between the carpet
stain and the victim’s death. We disagree.
Defendant’s assertion the People failed
to prove the date of the stain is belied by
his own repeated statements to several people,
including the police, that the carpet was not
stained when he went to bed on the evening of
November 2. Defendant later suggested the
children might have spilled something or that
the stain came from chlorine used in the
outdoor pool and/or Jacuzzi. Yet the children
denied spilling anything on the carpet, and
there is nothing in the record to suggest
anyone had brought bleach or chlorine into the
house on the morning of November 3.
Defendant’s Claim the People failed to
prove any nexus between the carpet stain and
the victim’s death is likewise bootless. The
medical testimony established the blow which

lacerated the victim’s head would have caused

A23

sustained." (People v. Werner (1952) 111
Cal.App.2d 264, 270.) "No rule can be laid
down as to the character or amount of proof
necessary to show deliberation and
premeditation, and each case must depend upon
its own facts. [Citations.] The required
deliberation and premeditation need not be
directly shown by the evidence but may be
inferred from facts and circumstances which
furnish a reasonable foundation for such a
conclusion. [Citations.]" (Id., at p. 271.)
To generalize, there are three types of
evidence from which an inference of
premeditation and deliberation may be drawn:
(1) facts showing the defendant engaged in
planning activity before the killing; (2)
proof of defendant’s prior conduct with the
victim from which the jury might infer a
motive for a planned killing; and, (3)
evidence the manner of the killing was so
particular and exacting the jury could

conclude it was carried out according to a

A26

heise hehe eb ints Siu

preconceived design and for a specific reason.
(People v. Anderson (1968) 70 Cal.2d 15, 26-
27.)

In this case there is substantial
evidence of all three of the Anderson factors.
Prior threats by the killer to do violence to
the victim tend to show premeditation and
deliberation. (See United States v. Brown
(7th Cir. 1975) 518 F.2d 821, 828.) Here
defendant discussed marital problems with
Jiang, told her he wanted to have his wife
killed, and described steps he once took in an
abortive effort to accomplish that end. This
evidence tends to show premeditation and
deliberation.

From evidence of the victim’s daily
work routine at the restaurant, her
responsibilities as a wife and a mother, and
her cultural obligation to assist and help
other family members, it may be inferred there
was seldom a time when defendant, Nelson, or

members of the victim’s extended family were

A27

not either with her or did not know where she
was and what she was doing. The fact the
murder was committed in the early morning
hours indicates defendant planned the crime
for the only time when there would be an
opportunity to kill the victim and dispose of
the body. (Cf. People v. Werner, supra, 111
Cal.App.2d at p. 271 ["The mere fact that no
eyewitnesses saw the killing or heard the
defendant say what was in his mind at the time
in question does not necessarily preclude a
finding of deliberation and premeditation."].)
Evidence of planning activity may also
be inferred from the fact defendant claimed he
had an "argument" with the victim on the day
before she was killed ostensibly over his
refusal any longer to discharge his
maintenance responsibilities at the
restaurant. His refusal would require the
victim to perform those duties in defendant’s
stead, going to the restaurant Sunday morning

to do which included steam-cleaning the oven.

A28

This allowed defendant to claim his wife must
have returned to the restaurant early Sunday
before he awoke, and thus to plant the
inference she met her demise at or enroute to
or from the restaurant.

The "argument" would have provided
defendant with a plausible explanation for his

wife’s absence from home when he awoke Sunday

morning had not his wife and Kim unexpectedly
made plans to go to San Francisco that
morning, thus causing them to remain after
Saturday night closing to clean the
restaurant. When on Sunday morning defendant
was informed by Kim that she and the victim
had done the steam-cleaning the previous
evening, he reacted angrily. The jury could
reasonably infer defendant became angry
because this unforeseen circumstance had
shifted the suspected locus of the murder from
the restaurant and environs to the residence.
There is an abundance of substantial

evidence of motive. Defendant and the victim

A29

were having marital problems. Defendant and

Jiang had discussed getting married several
months before the victim was murdered.
Although defendant filed an action to dissolve
the marriage, the victim did not want a
Gissolution, as she was concerned about
custody of their son. There was also
complicated financial arrangements relating to
the business which would have to be resolved
in the dissolution proceedings. Defendant was
the beneficiary of a $70,000 policy of life
insurance on his wife. Defendant benefitted
financially from the death of the victim and
her death also removed all immediate
impediments to his marrying Jiang, which he
did two months after his wife’s murder.
Finally, the manner of the killing was
such that the jury could infer it was carried
out according to a preconceived design and for
calculated reasons. It appears the victim was
strangled after she had been struck on the

head with force sufficient to have caused her

A30

%
8
&
3
$
bi
i
i

to lose consciousness. The manner of death--a
blow to the head to incapacitate the victim
followed by strangulation--suggests evidence
of planning activity. (People v. Werner,
supra, 111 Cal.App.2d at p. 272.) Moreover,
it appears defendant chose a method which
would not disturb the sleep of his son, yet
one which his strength enabled him easily to
accomplish.

"As we have stated, the relevant
question on appeal is not whether we are
convinced beyond a reasonable doubt, but
whether any rational trier of fact could have
been persuaded beyond a reasonable doubt that
defendant premeditated a murder." (Italics in
original; People v. Perez, supra, 2 Cal.4th at
p. 1127.) Because there is substantial
evidence of each of the Anderson factors, we
conclude the evidence is sufficient to sustain
the jury’s finding of premeditation and
deliberation.

II

A31

Defendant argues the judgment must be

reversed because the trial court erroneously
denied his motion to suppress. (Pen. Code, §
1538.5.) Defendant makes numerous claims in
this regard but, as we shall explain, the
dispositive issues are defendant’s consent to
the search of his residence on November 3, and
police adherence to the scope of that consent.

When a search is conducted without a
warrant it must be justified under a
recognized exception to the warrant
requirement. Consent constitutes such an
exception. (People v. James (1977) 10 Cal.3d
99, 106.) The People have the burden of
establishing the consent upon which the search
was predicated was voluntarily give. (Ibid.;
People v. Hernandez (1988) 199 Cal.App.3d
1182, 1187.)

The voluntariness of consent is in
every case a question for the trier of fact
and must be determined by the totality of

circumstances. (People v. James, supra, 19

A32

Cal.3d at pp. 106-107.) On appeal, a
reviewing court examines the evidence in the
light most favorable to the trial court’s
finding of voluntariness. (People v. Ratliff
(1986) 41 Cal.3d 675, 686.) The trial court’s
findings, either express or implied, will be
upheld on appeal if they are supported by
substantial evidence. (Ibid.; People v.
James, supra, 19 Cal.3d at p. 107.)

The evidence at the special hearing
shows that throughout the day of Sunday,
November 3, many of the victim’s relatives and
friends were concerned for her safety. One
friend, Elaine Rice, acted as an interpreter
and liaison for Kim, who did not speak English
well, in alerting the police to the victim’s
disappearance and getting the police to come
to the residence to examine the carpet.

Rice testified that on the afternoon of
November 3, she telephoned the police and
reported the victim missing. Rice called back
a second time to report the license plate of

A33

ee Se ae a

the victim’s vehicle. In both conversations,
Rice requested an officer be sent out to
examine the carpet.

Thereafter, Rice telephoned defendant
and related her conversation with the police
to him. In particular, Rice informed
defendant that she and Kim had asked the
police to come to the residence to look at the
stain. Defendant responded “yes." Rice later
telephoned the police again, asking
specifically when an officer might be able to
come out to look at the stain. She was
informed by the police that they were busy and
that it might be some time before an officer
could be dispatched to the residence.

However, the police did promise an officer
would come out that evening. Rice again
telephoned defendant and told him the police
would be coming out to the house sometime that
evening to look at the stain. Defendant again

answered "yes."

A34

SAN Og RS 2 RR PES

Later that evening the police contacted
Rice and informed her they would be delayed
once again. Because defendant had previously
informed Rice he intended to unplug the
telephone and go to bed at 9 p.m., Rice was
concerned about police access to the
residence. Rice phoned defendant and told him
the police would be delayed. She also asked
if she and Kim could let the police into the
residence with Kim’s house key because
defendant would-most likely be asleep by the
time the police arrived. In response to
Rice’s request "can we let ourselves in?’"

defendant answered "yes."2’/ Rice informed

2/ At one point, Rice testified
she could not remember if she asked the
Gefendant "Can we let ourselves in?" or
something to the effect of "Do you mind
if we let ourselves in?" However, on
cross-examination, defense counsel
questioned Rice specifically on this
issue, asking her whether she said to the
defendant "’Can we let ourselves in?’"
Rice answered in the affirmative. She
then testified defendant’s answer to that
question was "‘Yes.’"

A35

defendant that they would do their best not to
awaken him.

At approximately 8:45 that evening
Officer Buck contacted Rice and Kim who
informed him the victim had last been seen at
approximately 1 o’clock that morning, and the
carpet in the house had a suspicious looking
stain. The women also informed Buck that
defendant had a Chinese girlfriend "who needed
to be married soon in order to secure
residency." Finally, the woman informed Buck
that Kim had a key to the house, that Rice had
spoken with defendant who said it was alright
for them to enter, and that defendant might
already be asleep. Buck, Kim and Rice then
went to the residence where Kim let them in
with her key. Defendant was apparently in bed
asleep. Once inside the women showed Buck the
wet and stained carpet.

Defendant argues his affirmative
responses to Rice’s twice repeated question

that she had asked the police to come over to

examine the carpet are ambiguous, and that at
most it shows the defendant may have given his
assent, but did not consent, to allowing the
police to enter his house. As we have noted,
the question of consent must be decided on the
totality of the circumstances. Here, in three
separate conversations with Rice, defendant
acknowledged Rice’s desire to have the police
look at the carpet and on each occasion
defendant acquiesced in Rice’s request. There
was no evidence that defendant at any time
raised any objection to the police entering
his home and examining the carpet.

During the final conversation, aware
that the police would probably not arrive
until after defendant went to bed, Rice asked
defendant, "can we let ourselves in?"
Defendant’s answer, "yes," could not be more
unequivocal. The trial court’s finding
defendant expressly consented to police entry
to his home is clearly supported by
substantial evidence.

A37

4
i
fe
‘ et

Defendant next argues that even if he
gave consent to enter and examine the carpet,
the police exceeded the scope of that consent
by engaging in a general exploratory search of
the residence.

Buck testified that upon entering he
noticed part of the carpet was discolored.
According to Buck, the stained part of the
carpet was a blanched white in comparison with
the off-white color of the remainder. The
stained area was approximately two to three
feet in width and five feet long. The stained
area was depressed, damp and noticeably
different from the rest of the carpet. The
stained area also smelled strongly of a
cleaning solvent or bleach.

Buck took fiber samples from the rust-
colored spots because these fibers had the
appearance of having blood on them. Buck
placed the fibers in a paper bag he found
lying on a counter inside the house. Buck

also noticed a vacuum cleaner lying on its

A38

fH gD TERNS BAER rn Ra: etna ae apaanay Aap ARR A RIS EES ERR ES

pi aKa?

Ree te me rae

side in an adjacent room. From examining the
carpet, Buck believed it had been recently
vacuumed. He then examined the vacuum
cleaner, once again noticing the smell of the
cleaning solvent. Buck unzipped the vacuum
and seized the vacuum cleaner bag.

The evidence at the hearing indicates
Buck was in defendant’s house for
approximately two hours. He made and received
several phone calls, and at one point
requested additional officers be dispatched to
the residence. One of the responding officer

took photographs of the stained area.

Kim showed Buck where the garage was
located and pointed out the victim’s vehicle
was missing. The officer was also shown a
purse belonging to the victim. While in the
residence, Buck checked the laundry area where
he discovered bleach, gloves and other items

which Buck testified would be commonly found

therein.

A39

Defendant claims Buck made a general
exploratory search of the garage, laundry
area, and other places inside the house and
his search thus exceeded the scope of any
consent given by defendant. Defendant also
argues that as the search warrant issued the
following day was based in part on the items
Buck seized during his exploratory search,
those items seized pursuant to the search
warrant must also be suppressed.

The point missed by defendant is that
the only items seized by Buck during his
November 3 entry were properly seized because
they were within the scope of defendant’s
consent. Buck seized fibers from the carpet
as well as the bag from the vacuum cleaner
apparently used to vacuum the carpet all of
which were in the plain view of the officer.
(See Guidi v. Superior Court (1973) 10 Cal.3d
1, 10.) These were the only items seized
during Buck’s search. No other ‘observations

by Buck in the residence disclosed evidence

A40

4.) a Mane USS io eames eae ia a

Ce aCe

prentirin nates yi adie te 2 “43

unfavorable to defendant or formed the basis
for the search warrant which was subsequently
issued.

Because the search warrant was based
only on items properly and legally seized
during Buck’s consent search of the residence,
defendant’s claim the officer’s search exceed
the scope of his consent is unavailing.”

III

Defendant argues the trial court erred
in admitting into evidence Jiang’s testimony
of statements defendant made to her concerning
his marital problems and his desire to have
his wife killed. Although we find no merit in
defendant’s argument, a detailed explanation
is required.

Prior to trial, defendant moved in
limine to suppress statements made by Jiang to

the police with regard to an earlier

¥ In light of determination on
the issue of consent, defendant’s
remaining arguments relating to the
search need not be considered.

A4l

conversation she had with defendant wherein
defendant spoke of his marital problems and
his desire to have his wife killed.

The record reflects Jiang met with
Sacramento Police Detective Lee approximately
two days after the victim was reported
missing. During that conversation, Jiang
informed Lee that she had no information
concerning the victim’s disappearance.

Jiang later met with her friend Irene

Wang. Wang reminded Jiang of an earlier
conversation between them wherein Jiang
related statements made by the defendant
regarding his marital problems and his desire
to have his wife killed.

Following her conversation with Wang,
Jiang and her attorney arranged to speak again
with Detective Lee. The interview was
conducted on November 15, 1991 (the November
15 interview). During that interview, Jiang
informed Lee of her recent conversation with

Wang. Jiang then told Lee of statements

— ay.

A42

1
sf
ae

SSYis bids aca cub Lea etl ai oR heath

defendant had made with regard to his marital
problems and his desire to have his wife
killed. According to Jiang, defendant said
that someone had told him that he could have
his wife killed. Defendant mentioned having
driven to a location to meet this person, but
Said he became scared and decided not to leave
his vehicle.

At the in limine hearing, Jiang
testified that what she told Lee during the
November 15 interview was simply what she had
been reminded of by Wang. Jiang testified
that she had no independent recollection of
defendant having made any statements to her
regarding his marital problems or a desire to
have his wife killed, or even that she had a
conversation with Wang wherein Jiang repeated
these statements.

The trial court asked Jiang whether her
testimony was that she did not make the
statements to Wang or that she was unable to

recall making such statements to Wang. Jiang

A43

ca a

answered she did not know what she told Wang,
but that she did not think she had any such
conversation with Wang in which she repeated
statements by defendant about wanting to kill
his wife.

In ruling on the in limine motion, the
trial court found Jiang’s testimony at the
hearing inconsistent with what she had told
Lee as reflected in the transcript of the
November 15 interview. In the court’s view,
the transcript of the November 15 interview
indicated that Jiang was relaying to officer
Lee her own conversation with defendant and
not simply what she had been reminded of by
Wang.*’ The court further noted that it did
not believe Jiang’s in limine testimony that
she had no recollection of any such
conversation with defendant. (Cf. People v.

Peterson (1972) 23 Cal.3d 883, 892 [Trial

¥” Defendant’s trial counsel
concurred in the court’s assessment of
Jiang’s statements to Lee.

A44

court is entitled to doubt the genuineness of

a claim of memory lapse].)

The trial court concluded the
statements made by defendant to Jiang
constituted unambiguous statements against his
penal interest and thus were not barred by the
hearsay rule. (Evid. Code, § 1230.) The
court further concluded that if Jiang were to
testify at trial consistent with her in limine
testimony, the People would be allowed to
impeach her with the statements she made to
Lee during the November 15 interview. The
basis for this ruling was that Jiang’s
interview statements constituted prior
inconsistent statements and thus were not
barred by the hearsay rule. (Evid. Code, §
1235.) The trial court’s rulings were clearly
correct. (See People v. Earnest (1975) 53
Cal.App.3d 734, 741-743 [Multiple hearsay
consisting of a prior inconsistent statement
and an admission of the defendant properly

received into evidence]; see also People v.

A45

Zapien (1993) 4 Cal.4th 929, 952-953.) In so
ruling, the trial court evaluated the
trustworthiness of the statements in balancing
prejudice against probative value. (Evid.
Code § 352.) The court concluded the
probative value of the statements made by
defendant outweighed any prejudicial effect
because the statements demonstrated
circumstantial evidence of premeditation.
Subsequently, Jiang testified at trial
that defendant never told her he wanted to
kill his wife or that a few years earlier he
had taken steps in that direction. She
further testified that what she told Lee at
the November 15 interview was only what Wang
had told Jiang that Jiang had said on a
previous occasion. In light of the trial
court’s previous ruling, the People were

allowed to impeach Jiang with some of the

A46

statements she made to Lee during the November

15 interview.’

Defendant argues that if one considers
the entire November 15 interview, and not
various parts taken out of context, the only
conclusion that can be drawn is that Jiang is

relating to Lee what Jiang had been told by

~ Among those statements were the
following:

"[JIANG]): I remember something
[defendant] use to tell me. [Defendant]
wants, you know, he, and uh [defendant],
you know wants to kill his wife ....

"Between [defendant] and his
wife and uh his wife is a very, a person
-- a person is very strong opinion, yell
to him and whatever, and uh [defendant]
talk to a guy or whatever and the guy
said he could kill ...her....

"Yes, easy to kill her, you
know. And then -- I don’t exactly
remember between this part and the next.
I remember he told me... and uh
[defendant] went there and he was so
shaking, he was shaking and he could not
get out of the car, and then after while
he get a cool down and just drive back.
That the only thing I can remember...

"[Defendant) [g]ot nervous and
did not get out of the car, and he drive
back and then he decide to divorce."

A47

Wang. Thus defendant urges that the November
15 interview did not reflect Jiang’s
independent recollection of statements made to
her by defendant, but was simply an effort by
Jiang to inform Lee of those remarks of which
Jiang had been reminded by Wang.

The trial court carefully reviewed the
transcript of the November 15 interview. At
the in limine hearing Jiang reviewed the
transcript and conceded it was accurate.
Defense counsel likewise conceded the
transcript was accurate. The trial court
concluded the statements made by Jiang at the
November 15 interview were not simply based on
what Wang had told Jiang that Jiang had said
at some previous time, but instead constituted
Jiang’s independent recollection of her
conversation with defendant.

We have reviewed the tape and the
transcript and we believe they support the
trial court’s determination. Accordingly,
that part of the interview in which Jiang

A48

informed Lee of defendant’s statements about
his marital problems and his efforts toward
having his wife killed was properly admitted
to impeach Jiang after she testified she had
no recollection of any such statements.
(People v. Earnest, supra, 53 Cal.App.3d at
pp. 741-743.)

Defendant argues the admission of
Jiang’s prior inconsistent statements violated
his right of confrontation. Specifically,
defendant argues he was unable to cross-
examine Jiang about what she told Lee at the
November 15 interview because at trial Jiang
never acknowledged defendant had made any such
statements.

"The receipt in evidence of a prior
inconsistent. statement does not violate the
confrontation clauses of the federal and state
Constitutions where the declarant testifies at
trial and is subject to cross-examination.
[Citations.]" (People v. Zapien, supra, 4
Cal.4th at p. 955.)

A49

At trial, Jiang testified defendant
never told her he wanted to have his wife
killed or that he had taken any steps to
accomplish that goal. She further testified
that what she said to Lee during the November
15 interview was only what Wang told Jiang she
had said on a previous occasion. On both
direct and cross-examination, Jiang did not
refuse to answer any questions about her out-
of-court statements. Nor did she claim not to
have any recollection of her statements to
Lee. In fact, Jiang attempted to explain the
apparent inconsistency in what she told Lee at
the November 15 interview and her subsequent
trial testimony.

This is not a case where the witness
credibly convinced the trial court she did not
have an independent recollection of the
statements at issue. (See generally
California v. Green (1970) 399 U.S. 149, 168-
169 and fn. 18 [26 L.Ed. 489, 502-503 and fn.
18).) This likewise is not a case where the

witness refused to answer any questions, thus
stonewalling effective cross-examination.

(Cf. People v. Rios (1985) 163 Cal.App.3d 852,
860-861, 862-864.)

Here, the jury was presented with a
witness who attempted to explain the
inconsistency between her in-court testimony
and her previous out-of-court statements. The
weight to be afforded such testimony was for
the jury to determine. (People v. Zapien,
supra, 4 Cal.4th at p. 956; People v. Barnes
(1986) 42 Cal.3d 284, 303-304.) Defendant’s
trial right were fully protected. (Cf. People
v. Rios, supra, 163 Cal.App.3d at p. 865.)

IV

Defendant’s final claim is of
instructional error. Defendant argues the
trial court erred in refusing to give his
modified version of CALJIC No. 2.03. It was
given in its standard form in relevant part as
follows: “If you find that before this trial
the defendant made a willfully false or

A51

deliberately misleading statement concerning
the crime for which he is now being tried, you
may consider such statement as a circumstance
tending to prove a consciousness of guilt.
However, such conduct is not sufficient by
itself to prove guilt, and its weight and
Significance, if any, are matters for your
determination."

Defendant requested the trial court
modify CALJIC No. 2.03 by adding the following
language to the instruction: "Before
considering the defendant’s statements, you
[must] determine the existence of the
following preliminary facts.

"1. Whether the defendant made the
statement; and

"2. Whether the defendant deliberately
lied to hide his complicity in the crime.

"3. Unless you find both of these
preliminary facts to exist, you must disregard

the statement.

"The defendant’s consciousness of
guilt, if any, is relevant upon the questions
of whether the defendant was afraid of being
apprehended and whether the defendant thought
he had committed a crime. Consciousness of
guilt may not be considered in determining the
degree of guilt or in determining which of the
charged offense the defendant committed."

Defendant argues the trial court erred
in refusing his modified instruction because
Evidence Code section 403, subdivision (c)
(1), gives him the statutory right to include

the additional language he proposed.”

2/ Evidence Code section 403
provides in relevant part: "(a) The
proponent of the proffered evidence has
the burden of producing evidence as to
the existence of the preliminary fact,
and the proffered evidence is
inadmissible unless the court finds that
there is evidence sufficient to sustain a
finding of the existence of the
preliminary fact, when: [4] (1) The
relevance of the proffered evidence
depends on the existence of the
preliminary fact; [4] (2) The
preliminary fact is the personal
knowledge of a witness concerning the
subject matter of his testimony; [4]
(3) The preliminary. fact is the

A53

Defendant’s claim fails for numerous reasons.
First, and dispositively, Evidence Code
section 403 applies only when the preliminary
fact is "disputed." (Evid. Code, § 402, subd.

(a).’ Defendant’s statements were received in

authenticity of a writing; [4] (4) The
proffered evidence is of a statement or
other conduct of a particular person and
the preliminary fact is whether that
person made the statement or so conducted
himself ... [4G] (c) If the court
admits the proffered evidence under this
section, the court: [4] (1) May, and on
request shall, instruct the jury to
determine whether the preliminary fact
exists and to disregard the proffered
evidence unless the jury finds that the
preliminary fact does exist. [q] (2)
Shall instruct the jury to disregard the
proffered evidence if the court
subsequently determines that a jury could
not reasonably find that the preliminary
fact exists."

&’” Evidence Code section 402
provides: "(a) When the existence of a
preliminary fact is disputed, its
existence or nonexistence shall be
determined as provided in this article.
[@] (b) The court may hear and determine
the question of the
admissibility of evidence out of the
presence or hearing of the jury; but in a
criminal action, the court shall hear and
determine the question of the
admissibility of a confession or
admission of the defendant out of the
presence and hearing of the jury if any

A54

evidence without objection or dispute as to
the existence or not of a preliminary fact.
Thus, defendant’s statements were not admitted
by the court "under this section" 403. In
fact there was no evidence at trial disputing
the ‘preliminary fact" whether defendant made
the statements ascribed to him. Second, in
his opening brief defendant does not specify
to which of his statements the modification of
CALJIC No. 2.03 is applicable. He claims only
that his pretrial statements were innocent
whereas the People argue they showed a
consciousness of guilt.” In light of

defendant’s failure to specify those

party so requests. [4] (c) A ruling on
the admissibility of evidence implies

whatever finding of fact is prerequisite
thereto; a separate or formal finding is
unnecessary unless required by statute."

2/ In his reply brief, defendant
states only that Evidence Code section
403, subdivision (c) (1) "applies to the
multitude of statements that [defendant }
purportedly made to the prosecution
witnesses that the prosecutor argued
manifested [defendant’s] reluctance to
search for his wife and thereby
demonstrated a consciousness of guilt."

A55

statements as to which he asserts the modified
instruction would have been applicable, we are
unable to resolve this claim. Third,
defendant’s proposed modification is
argumentative and incorrectly states the law.
For example, defendant’s modification would
substitute for the phrase "deliberately
misleading," the phrase "deliberately lied."
But the rule stated in CALJIC No. 2.03 applies
both to statements that are willfully false
and deliberately misleading. (People v.
Breaux (1991) 1 Cal.4th 281, 303.)

Finally, we find ourselves in complete
agreement with the trial court that CALJIC No.
2.03 did not require any modification, let
alone the proposed modification, in order for
it to be understandable to the jury.
Accordingly, the trial court did not err in
refusing defendant’s instruction request.

Defendant also argues the trial court
erred in refusing his request the court give a
modified version of CALJIC No. 2.06. Instead,

A56

the court gave the instruction in its
unmodified form which states in relevant part:
"If you find that a defendant attempted to
suppress evidence against himself in any
manner, such as destroying evidence or by
concealing evidence, such attempt may be
considered by you as a circumstance tending to
show a consciousness of guilt. However, such
conduct is not sufficient by itself to prove
guilt, and its weight and significance, if
any, are matters for your consideration."
Defendant proposed modifying this
instruction to read as follows: "If you find
that a defendant attempted to suppress
evidence against himself in any manner, such
as by attempting to clean the stain off the
carpet, such attempt may be considered by you
as a circumstance tending to prove a
consciousness of guilt. However, such conduct
is not sufficient by itself to prove guilt,
and its weight and significance, if any, are

matters for your consideration.

A57

"The defendant’s consciousness of

guilt, if any, is relevant upon the questions
of whether the defendant was afraid of being
[apprehended] and whether the defendant
thought he had committed a crime.
Consciousness of guilt may not be considered
in determining the degree of defendant’s guilt
or when determining which of the charged
offense the defendant committed."

Defendant concedes his proposed
modification with regard to direct mention of
the carpet stain might be considered
argumentative. Defendant claims, however, the
trial court erred in not giving the second
paragraph of his proposed instruction. He
argues that even if the jury found he
suppressed evidence, thus showing a
consciousness of guilt at having committed the
crime, such consciousness of guilt would have
no legal significance with regard to his state

of mind at the time he committed the crime.

A58

The point ignored by defendant is that
CALJIC No. 2.06, in its standard form, does
not focus on defendant’s state of mind at the
time of the offense. (People v. Breaux,
supra, 1 Cal.4th at p. 304.) The same is true
for CALJIC No. 2.03. (Ibid.) "We addressed
the same two instructions and rejected the
identical due process argument in People v.
Crandell (1988) 46 Cal.3d 833 []: ‘The
instructions advise the jury to determine what
Significance, if any, should be given to
evidence of consciousness of guilt, and
caution that such evidence is not sufficient
to establish guilt, thereby clearly implying
that the evidence is not the equivalent of a
confession and is to be evaluated with reason
and common sense. The instructions do not
address the defendant’s mental state at the
time of the offense and do not direct or
compel the drawing of impermissible inferences

in regard thereto.’ (Id. at p. 871, italics

A59

added; see also People v. Nicolaus (1991) 54
Cal.3d 551, 579-580 [].)" (Ibid.)

Since CALJIC No. 2.06 does not address
a defendant’s state of mind at the time of the
charged offense, the trial court did not err
in refusing to give defendant’s modified
instruction.

V

Defendant challenges the
constitutionality of the reasonable doubt
instruction, CALJIC No. 2.90, premising his
argument on the grant of certiorari by the
United States Supreme Court in Sandoval v.
California, Dock. No. 92-9049. On March 22,
1994, the high court held that CALJIC No.
2.90, taken as a whole, correctly conveyed the
concept of reasonable doubt and consequently
there was no reasonable likelihood that the
jurors understood the instruction to allow a
conviction on proof insufficient to meet the
standards set in In re Winship (1970) 397 U.S.

358. (Victor v. Nebraska (Mar. 22, 1994) __

A60

ee eee

U.S. _.._—« [62 U.S.L.Week 4179}.) In the words
of the court, "in the context of the
instructions as a whole we cannot say that the
use of the phrase [’moral certainty’] rendered
the instructions given in Sandoval’s case
unconstitutional." (Id. at Dp. —... [62
U.S.L.Week at p. 4183.)

The judgment is affirmed.
Puglia, P.J.
We Concur:
Sparks, J.

Sims, J.

A6é1

Order Issued By the California Supreme Court
In People v. Ray, S049267 Dated July 27, 1994

Appellant’s petition for review DENIED.

Lucas, Chief Justice

A62

STATUTES AND CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORITIES |

United States Constitution
Amendment IV
The right of the people to be secure in their
persons, and effects, against unreasonable

searches and seizures, shall not be violated,

and no Warrants shall issue, but upon probable
Cause, supported by Oath or affirmation, and
particularly describing the place to be
searched, and the persons or things to be
seized.

United States Constitution

Amendment VI

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused
shall enjoy the right to a speedy and public
trial, by an impartial jury of the State and
district wherein the crime shall have been
committed, which district shall have
previously ascertained by law, and to be
informed of the nature and cause of the

accusation; to be confronted with the

A63

witnesses against him; to have compulsory
process for obtaining witnesses in his favor,
and to have the Assistance of Counsel for his
defence.
United States Constitution
Amendment XIV
Section 1. All persons born or
naturalized in the United States, and subject
to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of
the United States and of the State wherein
they reside. No State shall make or enforce
any law which shall abridge the privileges or
immunities of citizens of the United States;
nor shall any State deprive any person of
life, liberty, or property, without due
process of law; nor deny any person within its
jurisdiction the equal protection of the law.
Section 2. Representatives shall be
apportioned among the several States according
to their respective numbers, counting the
whole number of persons in each ‘State,
excluding Indians not taxed. But when the

A64

right to vote at any election for the choice
of electors for President and Vice President
of the United States, Representatives in
Congress, the Executive and Judicial officers
of a State, or members of the Legislature
thereof, is denied to any of the male
inhabitants of such State, being twenty-one
years of age, and citizens of the United
States, or in any way abridged, except for
participation in rebellion, or other crime,
the basis of representation therein shall be
reduced in the proportion which the number of
such male citizens shall bear to the whole
number of male citizens twenty-one years of
age in such state.

Section 3. No person shall be Senator
or Representative in Congress, or elector of
President and Vice President, or hold any
office, civil or military, under the United
States, or under any state, who, having
previously taken an oath, as a member of

Congress, or as an officer of the United

A65

States, or as a member of any state
legislature, or as an executive or judicial
officer of any State, to support the
Constitution of the United States, shall have
engaged in insurrection or rebellion against
the same, or given aid or comfort to the
enemies thereof. But Congress may by a vote
of two-thirds of each House, remove such
disability.

Section 4. The validity of the public
debt of the United States, authorized by law,
including debts incurred for payment of
pensions and bounties for services in
suppressing insurrection or rebellion, shall ~
not be questioned. But neither the United
States nor any State shall assume or pay any
debt or obligation incurred in aid of
insurrection or rebellion against the United
States, or any claim for the loss or
emancipation of any slave; but all such debts,
obligations and claims shall be held illegal

and void.

A66

Section 5. The Congress shall have
power to enferce, by appropriate legislation,
the provisions of this article.

California Evidence Code
Section 352
The court in its discretion may exclude
evidence if its probative value is
substantially outweighed by the probability
that its admission will (a) necessitate undue
consumption of time or (b) create substantial
danger of undue prejudice, of confusing the
issues, or of misleading the jury.
California Evidence Code
Section 1235
Evidence of a statement made by a witness is
not made inadmissible by the hearsay rule if
the statement is inconsistent with his
testimony at the hearing and is offered in
compliance with Section 770.

California Penal Code
Section 187

A67

(a) Murder is the unlawful killing of a
human being, or a fetus, with malice
aforethought.

(b) This section shall not apply to any
person who commits an act which results in the
death of a fetus if any of the following
apply:

(1) The act complied with the
Therapeutic Abortion Act, Chapter 11
(commencing with Section 25950) of Division 20
of the Health and Safety Code.

(2) The act was committed by a holder
of a physician’s and surgeon’s certificate, as
defined in the Business and Professions Code,
in a case where, to a medical certainty, the
result of childbirth would be death of the
mother of the fetus or where her death from
childbirth, although not medically certain,
would be substantially certain or more likely

than not.

A68

(3) The act was solicited, aided,
abetted, or consented to by the mother of the
fetus.

(c) Subdivision (b) shall not be
construed to prohibit the prosecution of any

person under any other provision of law.

A69

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0667%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
