# Opposition Brief — Moore v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0597%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1995
- **Citation:** 514 U.S. 1102

## Text

sw =

we

.

No. 94-642”

|

\ gppas @F USE GLERK |

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

LARRY EUGENE MOORE, ET AL., PETITIONERS
e.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

DREW S. Days, III
Solicitor General
JOANN HARRIS
Assistant Attorney General
DAVID S. KRIS
Attorney
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 514-2217

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the private residence involved in this case
was used in an activity affecting interstate commerce
within the meaning of the federal arson statute,
18 U.S.C. 844(i).

2. Whether the district court erred in admitting
evidence of a witness’s prior consistent statement for
the limited purpose of rehabilitating that witness’s
credibility after it had been impeached on cross-
examination.

(1)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
I ica 1
SARS ERIS colt fs 2 a ea 1
EINSTEIN REDRESS sev ER SCHED? SORE Ee 2
RRS iS SS ai OR A ay Re 4
ME ESRI GX Ae ie en ae ny Se ae 10
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Russell v. United States, 471 U.S. 858 (1985) ......cccccccces 5, 6
United States v. Brennan, 798 F.2d 581 (2d Cir. 1986) .... 8, 9
United States v. Casoni, 950 F.2d 893 (3d Cir. 1991) ....... 8
United States v. DeMarrias, 876 F 2d 674 (8th Cir.

RR SESS REY SARE SPER STSCI SA Raa Reon ae ~
United States v. Harris, 761 F.2d 394 (7th Cir. 1985) ..... 8
United States v. Mennuti, 639 F.2d 107 (2d Cir. 1981) .... 6
United States v. Miller, 874 F.2d 1255 (9th Cir. 1989) ..... 9
United States v. Parodi, 703 F.2d 768 (4th Cir. 1983) ..... 8
United States v. Ramey, 24 F.3d 602 (4th Cir. 1994),

petition for cert. pending, No. 94-5755 .........ccccccceeeeeees 4,5, 7
United States v. Ryan:

9 F.3d 660 (1993), aff’d in part, reinstated in part,

No. 92-1357 (8th Cir. Oct. 31, 1994) (en bance) ........... 7

No. 92-1357 (8th Cir. Oct. 31, 1994) (en bane) .....0........ 7
United States v. Stillwell, 900 F.2d 1104 (7th Cir.), cert.

I, Ge TFT, Ge CRI vecscccncececcvcassccneceseecacesnsceneeccs 5, 6, 7
Youakim v. Miller, 425 U.S. 231 (1976) ....cccccccccccccccscccsoces 9

Constitution, statutes and rules:
U.S. Const. Art. I, § 8, Cl. 3 (Commerce Clause) ............. 5, 7
4 SE Ce AEA ae 2
ESERIES RLSM E ON Ree aa Ca a ee 2
ESSE SES SS a eI Re ee eam 2
I 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7

IV

Statutes and rules—Continued:

Be Rl i cibintindiitbineiieeeiips seats becmie ee eee
Fed. R. Evid.:
SEER ARIPER TY Me ne ev er rea RNS Np Ate Uy Bea

In the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

No. 94-642
LARRY EUGENE MOORE, ET AL., PETITIONERS
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 1-11) is
unpublished, but the judgment is noted at 25 F.3d 1042
(Table).

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
June 10, 1994. A petition for rehearing was denied on
July 8, 1994. Pet. App. 12-13. The petition for a writ of
certiorari was filed on October 6, 1994. The jurisdiction
of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

(1)

2

STATEMENT

After a jury trial in the United States District Court
for the District of South Carolina, petitioners were
convicted on one count of conspiring to violate the
federal arson statute, to commit mail fraud, and to use
fire to commit a felony, in violation of 18 U.S.C. 371; five
counts of mail fraud and of aiding and abetting that
crime, in violation of 18 U.S.C. 1341 and 2; two counts of
violating the federal arson statute and of aiding and
abetting that crime, in violation of 18 U.S.C. 844(i) and 2;
and two counts of using fire to commit a felony and of
aiding and abetting that crime, in violation of 18 U.S.C.
844(h)(1) and 2. Petitioners Moore and McLamb were
each convicted on one additional count of violating the
federal arson statute and of aiding and abetting that
crime, in violation of 18 U.S.C. 844(i) and 2, and one
additional count of using fire to commit a felony and of
aiding and abetting that crime, in violation of 18 U.S.C.
844(h)(1) and 2. Petitioner Moore was sentenced to 48
months’ imprisonment, to be followed by three years of
supervised release, and ordered to pay $1,675,420.71 in
restitution. Petitioner McLamb was sentenced to 30
months’ imprisonment, to be followed by three years of
supervised release, and ordered to pay $1,675,420.71 in
restitution. Petitioner Gregory was sentenced to 84
months’ imprisonment, to be followed by three years of
supervised release. Pet. App. 14-37. The court of appeals
affirmed. Jd. at 1-11.

1. Daniel A. Vogel wanted to burn down his house in
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, so that he could collect
the proceeds of his fire insurance. Vogel contacted
petitioner Moore and asked him to find someone to burn
down the house. Moore was in business with petitioner
McLamb and Charles Terry Norman, and the three of

3

them agreed to burn down the house for $100 “00. Gov’t
C.A. Br. 4.

Moore, McLamb, and Norman attempted to burn down
the house, but they were unsuccessful. Norman then
spoke to petitioner Gregory, and Gregory agreed to help
burn down Vogel’s house. Norman and Gregory then
attempted to burn down the house, but they too were
unsuccessful. Finally, Gregory succeeded in burning
Vogel’s house to the ground. Gov’t C.A. Br. 5-6.

2. At trial, petitioners stipulated that at the time of
the arson, Vogel’s house was connected to interstate gas
and telephone lines, the house had been renovated with
materials obtained through interstate commerce, the
house was subject to a mortgage held by a bank outside
South Carolina, the house was being marketed for sale
outside South Carolina, the house was under the control
of a Bankruptcy Court outside the State, and the house
was insured by an out-of-state insurance company. Pet.
App. 9. The district court determined that those facts
established that Vogel’s residence was used in an ac-
tivity affecting interstate commerce within the meaning
of the federal arson statute, 18 U.S.C. 844(i).

Norman testified for the government pursuant to a
plea agreement. He recounted the terms of the
conspiracy and the attempts to burn down Vogel’s house.
On cross-examination, petitioners triéd to suggest that
Norman was lying about the arson in return for having
received a lenient sentence under his plea agreement. In
response, the government called two agents of the
Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms (ATF) who
testified that Norman had previously told them that
petitioners had been involved in the arson. When
petitioners objected to the testimony, the government
explained that the evidence was being offered to

4

rehabilitate Norman’s credibility. The district court
admitted the evidence. Gov’t C.A. Br. 16-17.

3. The court of appeals affirmed. Pet. App. 1-11. After
reciting the stipulated facts bearing on the connection of
the Vogel residence to interstate commerce, the court
noted that it had held in United States v. Ramey, 24 F.3d
602 (4th Cir. 1994), petition for cert. pending, No. 94-5755,
that the “connection of a house to an interstate power
grid constitutes a sufficient use in an activity that
affects commerce to satisfy the arson statute.” Pet. App.
A9. “The government has therefore shown,” the court
concluded, “that the Vogel residence was used in an
activity that affects interstate commerce.” Ibid.

The court also rejected Gregory’s argument that
Norman’s prior consistent statement to the ATF agents
was not admissible because it was made after Norman’s
alleged motive to fabricate evidence against petitioners
arose. Pet. App. A4. The court noted that the prior
statement “was made to law enforcement officers after
Norman had concluded an arrangement with the govern-
ment.” Jbid. It found, however, that “the statement was
not offered for the truth of the matter asserted, but to
rehabilitate Norman’s credibility after it had been
impeached.” Jd. at A4-A5. Accordingly, the court con-
cluded that there was “no abuse of the district judge’s
discretion in admitting Norman’s prior consistent
statement.” Jd. at A5.

ARGUMENT

1. Petitioners contend (Pet. 7-17) that Vogel’s
residence was not used in an activity affecting interstate
commerce within the meaning of the federal arson
statute, 18 U.S.C. 844(i). That contention is without
merit.

5

In Russell v. United States, 471 U.S. 858 (1985), this
Court held that the reference in Section 844(i) to “‘any
building * * * used * * * in any activity affecting
interstate or foreign commerce’ expresses an intent by
Congress to exercise its full power under the Commerce
Clause.” Jd. at 859. Under that standard, the Court
concluded that Section 844(i) reaches all business
property. Jd. at 862. The Court did not suggest,
however, that Section 844(i) is limited to business
property. To the contrary, the Court indicated that
Section 844(i) applies to private residences as well, so
long as those residences are within the reach of
Congress’s power to regulate interstate commerce.
Ibid.

Applying that analysis, the Fourth Circuit held in
United States v. Ramey, supra, that a residence that
receives electricity from an interstate power grid falls
within the scope of Section 844(i). 24 F.3d at 607. The
court explained that even though an individual residence
may consume only a small amount of energy, “its
consumption, combined with that of all similarly situated
buildings, has a most definite effect on interstate
commerce.” Ibid. That aggregate effect, the court held,
is sufficient to bring the entire class of residences
within the reach of Congress’s commerce power. Ibid.

In United States v. Stillwell, 900 F.2d 1104, cert.
denied, 498 U.S. 838 (1990), the Seventh Circuit reached
the same conclusion. Relying on Russell, the court held
that “Congress intended [Section 844(i)] to cover all
properties it has the power to reach under the commerce
clause.” Jd. at 1110. The court then held that Congress
has power under the Commerce Clause to reach private
residences that receive interstate natural gas. Jd. at
1111. The court explained that “Congress could ration-
ally believe that, in the aggregate, arson of private

REE SRE ren: Same O ee

6

residences supplied with interstate natural gas has more
than a de minimis effect on interstate commerce.” [bid.

Since Vogel’s residence was connected to interstate
gas and telephone lines, this case fits squarely within
the rationale of Ramey and Stillwell. Unlike those
cases, however, application of Section 844(i) does not
depend on that connection to interstate commerce alone.
As the court of appeals in this case noted, there were
several additional factors showing that Vogel’s resi-
dence was used in an activity affecting interstate
commerce: the house had been renovated with materials
that had moved in interstate commerce, an out-of-state
bank held a mortgage on the house, the house was being
marketed for sale in several States, the house was being
held under the authority of an out-of-state Bankruptcy
Court, and the house was insured by an out-of-state
insurance company. Pet. App. A9.

The fact that the house was being marketed for sale in
several States is particularly significant. In Russell,
this Court held that “[t]he rental of real estate is
unquestionably * * * an activity” that affects
interstate commerce within the meaning of Section
844(i). 471 U.S. at 862. The sale of real estate is simi-
larly an activity that unquestionably affects interstate
commerce. Indeed, in one respect, this case presents a
stronger nexus with interstate commerce than the
building in Russell because the Vogel house was being
marketed on the interstate rea! estate market, while the
apartment building in Russell was being rented in a locai
market. /bid.

Petitioners assert (Pet. 13) that the court’s decision in
this ease conflicts with United States v. Mennuti, 639
F.2d 107 (2d Cir. 1981). That asserted conflict does not
warrant this Court’s review. In Mennuti, the Second
Circuit held that Section 844(i) applies only to

7

residences used for commercial purposes. Mennuti,
however, was decided before this Court's decision in
Russell made clear that Section 844(i) also applies to
private residences, so long as Congress has the power to
reach them under the Commerce Clause. As the court of
appeals in Ramey explained, “Russell’s holding that the
full commerce power is exercised in § 844(i) saps
Mennuti of any vigor.” 24 F.3d at 607. See also
Stillwell, 900 F.2d at 1109 (“We believe the Supreme
Court squarely rejected the rationale of Mennuti in
Russell.”). The Second Circuit has not revisited the
scope of Section 844(i) since Russell, and there is no
reason to believe that it would adhere to Mennuti today.

Petitioners also seek to rely on the Eighth Circuit’s
decision in United States v. Ryan, 9 F.3d 660 (1993), but
as petitioners note (Pet. 11-12), that decision has been
vacated. The Eighth Circuit has now issued its en bane
decision in that case. United States v. Ryan, No. 92-1357
(Oct. 31, 1994). In that decision, the Eighth Circuit held
that a district court did not commit plain error in in-
structing the jury that a temporarily closed commercial
rental property that receives natural gas from outside
the State falls within the scope of Section 844(i). Slip op.
11-12. Because the court reviewed the district court’s
instruction under the plain error standard, the court had
no occasion to decide the precise scope of Section 844(i),
even in the context of commercial property. Jd. at 12.
And because Ryan involved commercial property, it did
not address the circumstances in which a private resi-
dence would be covered by Section 844(i). Id. at 8, 12.
Ryan is therefore not instructive here.

2. Petitioners contend (Pet. 17-18) that the district
court erred in admitting Norman’s prior consistent
statement implicating them in the arson because the
statement was made after Norman’s alleged motive to lie

8

arose. The question whether prior consistent state-
ments offered as substantive evidence to rebut a charge
of improper motive may be admitted pursuant to Fed. R.
Evid. 801(d)(1)(B) without a showing that the statements
were made before the motive to fabricate arose is
currently before the Court in Tome v. United States,
No. 93-6892 (argued Oct. 5, 1994).

That question is not presented here, however, because
Norman’s prior consistent statement was offered to
rehabilitate his credibility, not as substantive evidence.
See Pet. App. 4-5. As petitioners concede (Pet. 18), every
circuit that has adopted the pre-motive rule has also held
that it does not apply where (as here) the prior con-
sistent statement is admitted to rehabilitate a witness’s
credibility, rather than as substantive evidence. See -
United States v. Casoni, 950 F.2d 893, 905-906 (3d Cir.
1991); United States v. DeMarrias, 876 F.2d 674, 678 (8th
Cir. 1989); United States v. Brennan, 798 F.2d 581, 587-
588 (2d Cir. 1986); United States v. Harris, 761 F.2d 394,
399-400 (7th Cir. 1985); United States v. Parodi, 703 F.2d
768, 784-785 (4th Cir. 1983). Those decisions reason that
a prior consistent statement offered for rehabilitation
does not implicate the hearsay rule because it is not
being offered for the truth of the matter asserted in the
statement. See Fed. R. Evid. 801(c). Thus, the
statement need not be admitted under Rule 801(d)(1)(B).
Instead, such a statement is admissible if it is relevant to

* As we argued in our brief in Tome, Rule 801(d)(1)(B) does not
contain a “pre-motive” requirement. The language of the Rule
says nothing about the timing of the statement as a prerequisite to
its admissibility, and a pre-motive rule would be inconsistent with
the basic philosophy underlying the Federal Rules of Evidence,
which is to permit the trier of fact to consider all relevant
evidence. We are providing petitioners with a copy of our brief in
Tome.

9

rehabilitate the witness’s credibility. Fed. R. Evid. 402.
See, ¢.g., Brennan, 798 F.2d at 588 (“[A] prior consistent
statement may be used for rehabilitation when the
statement has a probative force bearing on credibility
beyond merely showing repetition.”).

Petitioners argue (Pet. 18-21) that those decisions
conflict with United States v. Miller, 874 F.2d 1255, 1272-
1273 (9th Cir. 1989), which rejected a distinction between
statements offered as substantive evidence and state-
ments offered for purposes of rehabilitation. But Miller
also rejected a pre-motive rule. Jd. at 1273-1274. Under
Miller, the timing of the statement is “simply one of
several factors to be considered in determining rele-
vancy.” Id. at 1274. Miller therefore provides no support
for petitioners’ claim that Norman’s prior statement
should have been excluded because it was made after
Norman’s motive to lie arose.

Petitioners argue (Pet. 21-23) that they should prevail
even under the more flexible relevancy standard adopted
in Miller. Petitioners, however, did not make that
argument in the court of appeals. Petitioners’ sole
contention was that Norman’s prior statement was
inadmissible because it was made after the motive to
fabricate arose. Appellants’ C.A. Br. 14-16. The question
whether the statement is admissible under the more
flexible Miller standard is therefore not properly before
this Court. Youakim v. Miller, 425 U.S. 231, 234 (1976)
(per curiam). Moreover, since the resolution of that
question is fact-bound and would affect only the parties
to this case, it does not warrant this Court’s review in
any event.

Nor is there any need to hold this petition pending
resolution of the issue presented in Tome. Even if this
Court were to decide in Tome that Rule 801(d)(1)(B)
contains a pre-motive requirement, it would not affect

10

the outcome in this case. Consistent with the courts of
appeals that have found a pre-motive requirement in the
Rule, the court below held that a prior consistent
statement, if relevant, is admissible apart from the Rule
to rehabilitate a witness whose credibility has been
impeached. As we noted in our brief in Tome (Br. 45
n.24), the Court’s resolution of the pre-motive issue
should not affect that principle.

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

DREW S. DAYS, III
Solicitor General

JOANN HARRIS
Assistant Attorney General

DAVID S. KRIS
Attorney

JANUARY 1995

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0597%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
