# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Henderson v. Kessler

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0558%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 513 U.S. 1002

## Text

upreme ‘
2 3 2

94 602 SEP 19 1994

QEFICE OF THE CLERK

No.

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

ROGER HENDERSON,
PETITIONER
vs.
RAY KESSLER; EDWARD W. MURRAY;
DAVID A. WILLIAMS; and TIEN D. NGUYEN;

RESPONDENTS

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Richard D. Heideman

Counsel for Petitioner

The Heideman Law Group, P.C.
2023 Q Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20009-1009
Telephone: (202) 462-8990
Telefax: (202) 462-8995

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether the correct standard
for summary judgment was
applied?

Whether res judicata and/or
collateral estoppel apply to
bar Petitioners claims against
Respondents Murray, Kessler and
Williams?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
FOURTH CIRCUIT

OPINIONS BELOW......cccccccecs jeneeee 6G
JURISDICTION. .....2200% ccocccccccccece &
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS
INVOLVED... e*ee#e#ee#ee#e#s?# e*e*eeee#ee#ee#e#8#€e?€# e*eeee#ee#e#e¢ 3
STATEMENT OF THE CASE.......cee0. oe
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT........ 22
CONCLUSION... cccccces wevverrrrerrrretrer sy a4
INDEX TO APPENDICES
Appendix A Unpublished Opinion of the
Fourth Circuit Court of
APPEAlS..cccccccccccce 1
Appendix B Opinion of the District

Court for the Eastern
District of Virginia.. 19

Appendix C Amendment VIII to United
States Constitution... 32

Appendix D 42 U.S.C.§1983........ 33

Appendix E Amendment XIV to United

States Constitution... 34

Appendix F Dr. Bruce Coplin
deposition pages 43-45 35

Appendix G

Appendix H

Appendix I

Appendix J

Affidavit of Rex Smith 39

Dr. Nguyen deposition
BOGGS Lo BTFiccveccccece 43

Roger Henderson deposition
pages LepSZeccccccccece 46

Rule 56(c) of the Federal
Rules of Civil
PrOCeGurE.cccccccccscce 49

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED
CASES PAGES

Allen v. McCurry, 449 U.S. 90 (1980).. 39
42

American Medical International Inc. v.

Secretary of Health, Education and
Welfare, 677 F.2d 120 (U.S. App. D.C.
USSS) cccccvccccsccecccccesccecescceces 32

Bates v. Devers, 202 S.E.2d 917 (Va.
1974) ccccccccccccceceessesceeeeos 33,34,35

Berlitz Schools of Languages of America

v. Everest House, 619 F.2d 211 (2d Cir.
L9EG) cccceccccevcceeseeceeneeeseeoeees 40

Carr v. District of Columbia, 646 F.2d
599 (U.S. App. D.C. LSSO) a cccvcscccces 32
Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, Adm’s of the
Estate of Catrett, 477 U.S. 317 (1986)
e*eeeeee#ee#ee#ecgee#ee#ee#ee#2ee#ee#e#e$e@ee#*ee#ee#ee#ee#ee#2ee#e#ee?#e#?*# 23,24,29,30

Commissioner of Interna] Revenue v.
Seem, 359 Ues GOk TAG a cddcwecece 34

Cortes-Quinones v. Jimenex-Nettleship,
842 F.2d 556 (1st Cir.
19O7) ccc ccecs ce eee Se eesescceeeresooves 25

Dee Farmer v. Brennan, et al.,114 S.Ct.
1970 C1994) ccccccccccccsesccceceses 24,25

Fleischer v. Detroit Cadillac Motor Co.,
165 N.Y.S. 245 (list Dept. 1917)....... 40

Graves v. Oligiata, 550 F.2d 1327 (CA2
LST TP cccscceeccccscecccecseeereeocoeocce 42

Vv

, 891 F.2d 829
(11ith Cir. 1990) -ccccccccccccccccccccs 25

Griffin v. Board of Education, 296
F.Supp. 1178 (E.D. Va. 1969).......... 35

Hicks v. Frey, 992 F.2d 1450 (6th Cir.
1993) reh’g denied (6th Cir. 1993).... 25

International Harvester v. OSHA, 628 F.2d
982 CL9SG) ccccvecsdedoccoestesesectocce 37

Leakas v. Columbia Country Club, 831 F.

Supp. Sg EP os ee ree a eo ee oy ara aS
Lombard v. Board of Ed. of New York City,
SOS F.BNcGOL (GAS BBTE) xe ostecdecccss 43

, 430
F.2d 862 (CA5 197GO) ccccccccccccccccecce 42

Marsh v. Arn, 937 F.2d 1056 (6th Cir.
LOGE) cc ccocsessveoseccestiecedéedeceesess 25

Moch v. East Baton Rogue Sch. Distr., 543
F.2d 594 CIDT Fp ccccccccewrecewccoceees 37

Vv , 439 U.S.
322 CIDTS) cwcedecccccccecesscecooce 32,40

Pickera]_v. Federal Land Bank of
Baltimore, 177 Va. 743 (1941)......... 34

Reynolds v. Borough of Avalon, 799
F.Supp. 442 (D.N.J. 1992S) ccccccceveces 25

, 896 F.2d 362
(9th se fo 1990) ccccccccccccccececececes 25

Smith v. Bill, 632 F.2d 316.cccecccecs 23

Societe Anonyme des Parfums le Galion v.

Jean Patou, Inc., 495 F.2d 1265 (1974)

e*eeeeese5cesteseer+f5e*ee#eersesereteenee#e#e#neteeeneree#see#ee8se#e#eé 36,

Spilker v. Hankin, 188 F.2d 35 (1951).

Center, Inc., Ky., 807 S.W. 2d 476
C1991) eccvcccccccccccccccsecccccencee dy

United States v. Deibold, 369 U.S. 654
(1962) ,ccccccccccccccccsccesccccccecccs

Ward v. Charlton, 177 Va. 101 (1941)..

STATUTES

United State Code

TICIS 26, SBSSCAER I19SB.cccccces Bz

United States Constitution

Eighth Amendment...........see. 3

Fourteenth Amendment.......se--.

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

Rule S6(G) ccccccccccccccccccce 23

OTHER

Restatement 2nd, Judgments, §27....

vii

27

36

31

23

35

24

25

3

29

40

No.

IN THE SUPREME COURT

OF THE

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

ROGER HENDERSON,
PETITIONER
vs.

RAY KESSLER; EDWARD W. MURRAY;
DAVID A. WILLIAMS; and TIEN D. NGUYEN;

RESPONDENTS

PETITION “OR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner, Roger Henderson,
respectfully prays that a writ of
certiorari is granted to review the
judgment and opinion of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit

l

affirming the United States District
Court for the Eastern District of
Virginia, Richmond Division, in its entry
of summary judgment in favor of (a) Dr.
Tien N. Nguyen on the basis that the
petitioner failed to provide evidentiary
support for his allegations of deliberate
indifference, and (b) Ray Kessler, Edward
W. Murray and David A. Williams on the
basis of res judicata and collateral
estoppel.
OPINIONS BELOW

The unpublished opinion of the
Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals appears
in Appendix A to this Petition. The
unpublished written opinion of the
District Court for the Eastern District
of Virginia appears in Appendix B to this
Petition.

JURISDICTION
The Court of Appeals’ Opinion in

2

this matter was decided and entered on
June 20, 1994. This Court’s jurisdiction
is invoked under Title 28, U.S.C. §

1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS _
INVOLVED

Amendment VIII and Amendment XIV to
the United States Constitution are set
forth in Appendix C and E, respectively.
Title 42, U.S.C. § 1983 is set forth in
Appendix D. Rule 56(c) of the Federal
Rules of Civil Procedure set forth in

Appendix J.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
The United States District Court,

Eastern District of Virginia, Richmond
Division, had jurisdiction over this
matter pursuant to Title 42, §1983 and

the 8th and 14th Amendments to the United

—————————————————e©CV=

States Constitution.

This is not a "mere" prisoners
rights lawsuit. This is a case involving
the substantive rights of a person
injured while in the custody of the
Virginia criminal penal systen.

Petitioner Roger Henderson walked
into the Virginia Correctional System;
when discharged from Powhatan
Correctional Center, Roger Henderson
rolled out in a wheelchair, to which he
is confined for the remainder of his
natural life.

Only the Supreme Court, as the Court
of last resort, can, and Roger Henderson .-
prays, will, allow him to finally have
his day in court so that he might sit
before a jury of his peers to decide
whether or not the prison officials
and/or medical provider were deliberately

indifferent to his medical needs, and if

4

|

2 ER me

so, to award him money damages for the
injuries sustained.

Roger Henderson believes the
Respondents failed and refused to
properly respond to his numerous
grievances and requests for medical care
but for which he would be today pursuing
a fruitful life instead of being in the
pitiful condition to which he is now
bound.

On August 17, 1988, Petitioner Roger
Henderson was being transported by
officers of the Richmond City Sheriff’s
Department to Henrico County Jail in the
Commonwealth of Virginia via prison van.
While en route to Henrico County Jail,
the driver of the van slammed on the
brakes to avoid an accident. As a result
of this sudden application of the brakes,
Mr. Henderson, who was handcuffed and

shackled at the time, was violently

5

}

thrown against the steel interior
bulkhead of the van. Mr. Henderson’s
head and back struck the bulkhead with
extreme force. Another prisoner, who was
chained to Mr. Henderson, was unavoidably
thrown on top of Mr. Henderson, pinning
Mr. Henderson against the bulkhead.

While incarcerated at Henrico County
Jail for five (5) months, Mr. Henderson
was housed in isolation at Henrico County
Jail, and experienced worsening pain in
his lower extremities, followed by loss
of sensation. As a result of Mr.
Henderson’s deteriorating medical
condition, he made numerous requests for
medical care and treatment. Mr.
Henderson was denied access to medical
care and appropriate treatment for his
worsening neurological condition caused
by the accident, and while housed at

Henrico County Jail he filed numerous

6

—_— —

complaints as a result of being denied
access to appropriate medical care and
treatment. Said complaints described
symptoms indicative of increasing
neurological problems. As described in

Mr. Henderson’s Inmate Grievances filed

on September 7, 1988, January 11, 1989
and January 29, 1989, Mr. Henderson
suffered increased back pain, severe
headaches and progressively decreased
sensation in both legs. On October 17,
1988, Donald Boswell, Sheriff of Henrico

County, stated that the jail physician,

Dr. Furman, who was not a neurologist,
"examined Henderson relevant to this

complaint and does not believe a

specialist opinion is necessary."

On October 28, 1988, Mr. Henderson,
as a result of his worsening neurological
condition, collapsed and was hospitalized

at the Medical College of Virginia in

7

Richmond, Virginia for eleven (11) days.
By this time, Mr. Henderson’s mobility
was so impaired that he could no longer
ambulate without the assistance of a
walker or wheelchair. |

On November 8, 1988, Mr. Henderson
was returned to Henrico County Jail. Mr.
Henderson was assigned to Pro-Class
Isolation, ostensibly for "observation,"
where he remained for several weeks.

The Prison Health Services Staff at
Henrico County Jail were not responsive
to Mr. Henderson’s numerous requests for
appropriate medical care, treatment or
for a wheelchair.

On March 7, 1989, Mr. Henderson was
transported to Powhatan Correctional
Center. At Powhatan Correctional Center,
Mr. Henderson, was placed into isolation
and denied medical attention, shower

facilities, religious services,

8

recreation and other basic privileges.

As a result of being denied medical care,

on March 28, 1989, Mr. Henderson filed an
Inmate Grievance on an emergency basis.
Such grievance described Mr. Henderson’s
progressing neurological deterioration,
including severe pain, severe headaches
and significant decreased sensation on
the left side of his body (face, arm and
hand). Mr. Henderson requested immediate
neurological testing. On March 29, 1989,
Mr. Henderson’s grievance was denied
emergency status, allegedly because Mr.
Henderson (1) was not subject to
_ substantial risk of personal injury and
(2) was not seriously or irreparably
harmed.

On March 31, 1989, Mr. Henderson
filed an Inmate Grievance complaining of

unwarranted detention in Powhatan’s

Mental Ward in a cell unfit for

habitation because it was covered with
human feces and reeked of urine, and that
he was still denied the use of a
wheelchair.

On April 30, 1989, Mr. Henderson
appealed to the regional Ombudsman,
citing the August 17, 1988 accident, the
subsequent maltreatment by correctional
authorities and his isolation at Henrico
county Jail and Powhatan Correctional
center due to the fact that neither
facility was equipped to house a
paraplegic inmate, and that he was in
need of medical care.

On May 19, 1989, Mr. Henderson filed
an Inmate Grievance where he again
described symptoms indicative of
progressing neurological deficits,
including "severe lower back pain," cold
legs, severe headaches and insomnia. Mr.

Henderson once again requested a

10

—_

neurological examination.

On June 5, 1989, Mr. Henderson,
dissatisfied with the Institutional
response to his grievance, filed an
appeal.

On June 28, 1989, Mr. Henderson
filed a second appeal, once again
demanding to see a neurologist.

On July 7, 1989, Mr. Henderson was
finally examined by a neurologist, nine
months after the October 12, 1988 denial
for a neurological examination,
referenced above.

The neurologist who examined Mr.
Henderson on July 7, 1989 recommended
that Mr. Henderson receive further
evaluation and testing, specifically an
MRI test, which was not performed for
thirty (30) days, despite said
neurologists repeated requests for said

test.

11

On July 12, 1989, Mr. Henderson, in
yet another attempt to receive proper
medical attention, filed another Inmate
Grievance complaining of a loss of
feeling in his left arm, severe
headaches, dizziness and swollen ankles.

On August 3, 1989, Mr. Henderson
appealed the Institutional Level I
response. Mr. Henderson noted that, due
to a lack of feeling, his left arm had
collapsed causing him to fall and strike
his head while attempting to use prison
toilet facilities that were not equipped
to accommodate paraplegics.

That prison and medical staff at
Powhatan Correctional Center did not
provide adequate treatment to Mr.
Henderson for injuries sustained as a
result of the fall set forth hereinabove.

On August 17, 1989, Mr. Henderson

filed an Inmate Grievance wherein he

12

sin seeeeennnneemmnemeel

alleged that the lack of proper
facilities for the handicapped at
Powhatan Correctional Center caused the
injuries sustained in the fall discussed
herein.

On May 9, 1990, Mr. Henderson filed
an Inmate Grievance wherein he
demonstrated that, after a nine (9) day
stay at Medical College of Virginia,
physicians determined that, by that time,
it would be futile to perform an
operation to restore the use of his legs
because his condition had deteriorated to
an inoperable state. Additionally, the
attendant risk associated with the
operation had increased while the
probability of success had
correspondingly decreased.

On June 22, 1990, Bruce Coplin,
M.D., of the Medical College of Virginia,

certified that Mr. Henderson suffered a

13

permanent disability in that he is unable
to ambulate and is wheelchair bound. The
deposition of Dr. Coplin (See Coplin
depo. p.43-45 attached hereto as Appendix
F p. 35-38) was taken in the then pending
action prior to trial on December 1, 1992
at which time Dr. Coplin confirmed under
oath that when he examined Roger
Henderson on June 5, 1990 his medical
condition was that of a paraplegia, with
a paralyzed bladder; he was a patient who
was wheelchair bound, unable to ambulate
and that the paralysis appeared to be
permanent at that time, finally
indicating that Roger Henderson was going
to be in a wheelchair for the rest of his
life and would not be able to walk again.
Today, Mr. Henderson is a disabled,
wheelchair-bound paraplegic, a condition
that, but for the accident of August 17,

1988 and resultant failure of the

id

ae

defendants to render proper care and
treatment, would not have happened. Mr.
Henderson, simply put, did not receive
the immediate, proper, necessary and
continued attention that the Commonwealth
of Virginia and its officers and agents
were duty bound to provide. They were
indeed, deliberately indifferent to his
most serious medical needs, thereby
depriving him of the ability to ever walk
again.

Respondent Williams was the
Warden/Facility Director at Powhatan
Correctional Center, and in that capacity
was responsible for the operation of
Powhatan Correctional Center. During
the time of the Petitioner’s
incarceration, Respondent Williams did
not have in effect a policy, custon,
practice or regulation which provided

adequate training to all officers and

15

agents of the Powhatan Correctional
Center in the proper monitoring and
handling of the medical needs of inmates
incarcerated within the jurisdiction of
the Commonwealth of Virginia. The
failure of Respondent Williams not to
have in effect a policy, custom, practice
or regulation evidence a conscious and
deliberate indifference to the medical
needs of, and to provide adequate medical
care to and for inmates at Powhatan,
especially to the Petitioner. Respondent
Williams breached his duty of care to the
Petitioner by failing to have proper
policies and practices which would ensure
the provision of adequate medical care to
this Petitioner and inmates at Powhatan.

| At all times relevant to the within
action Respondents Kessler and Murpay
were the Deputy Director and/or Director

of the Virginia Department of

16

Corrections, and in that capacity were
responsible for the operation of the
Virginia Department of Corrections.
During the time of the Petitioner’s
incarceration, Respondents Kessler and
Murray did not have in effect a policy,
custom, practice or regulation which
provided adequate training to all
officers and agents of the Powhatan
Correctional center in the proper
monitoring and handling of the medical
needs of inmates incarcerated within the
jurisdiction of the Commonwealth of
Virginia. The failure of Respondents
Kessler and Murray not to have in effect
a policy, custom, practice or regulation
evidence a conscious and deliberate
indifference to the medical needs of, and
to provide adequate medical care to and
for inmates at Powhatan, especially to

the Petitioner. Respondents Kessler and

17

|

Murray breached their duty of care to the
Petitioner by failing to have proper
policies and practices which would ensure
the provision of adequate medical care to
this Petitioner and inmates at Powhatan.

At all times relevant to the within
action Respondent Nguyen was the
Attending Physician at Powhatan
Correctional Center, and in that capacity
was responsible for the operation of the
medical treatment facilities at Powhatan
Correctional Center. Respondent Nguyen
breached his duty of care owed to the
Petitioner, and was deliberately
indifferent to the medical needs of Roger
Henderson by failing to provide, treat
and diagnose his medical condition, and
failing and/or refusing to secure for
Roger Henderson the medical treatment so
clearly required.

Respondent Nguyen was acting

18

pursuant to the policies and practices
condoned and mandated by Appellees
Williams, Murray and Kessler.

Petitioner filed a Pro Se action in
the United States District Court for the
Eastern District of Virginia, Alexandria
Division. Subsequently, his employed
counsel, filed the instant action, also,
in the United States District Court for
the Eastern District of Virginia, but in
the Richmond Division. Petitioner’s
counsel filed a motion to consolidate
said actions below. The motion was
overruled. Roger Henderson, as a Pro Se
litigant, proceeded to hearings before
the United States Magistrate Judge in his
original action. Thereafter,
Petitioner’s counsel proceeded with
discovery and extensive trial preparation
in the instant action below. The case

was scheduled for trial by jury in

19

December 1992 on Petitioner’s Second
Amended Complaint, the court having held
a hearing on November 9, 1992 on
Respondents Motions to Dismiss, and
having overruled same as to the remaining
causes of action. Following such action
by the Court, Respondents then
immediately sought summary judgment on
the remaining causes of action, and were
granted such judgment by court order
dated 8 December 1992, days prior to the
commencement of trial in the instant
action. The Petitioner filed a Motion
for Reconsideration which was treated as
a Motion to Amend or Alter Judgment and
denied by court order dated February l,
1993. Petitioner filed a timely Notice
of Appeal in the United States Court of
Appeals for the Fourth Circuit.

On February 9, 1994 argument was

heard before the Fourth Circuit and on

20

June 20, 1994 the Fourth Circuit rendered
its opinion affirming the District
Court’s order granting the Respondents
motions for summary judgment.

The blatant facts of this case
delineate a horrible injustice done to
Roger Henderson. They speak for
themselves. It is unthinkable to the
Petitioner that the District Court, and
the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals, have
denied this Petitioner’s right to trial
and his day in court, by the granting of
summary judgment over the strong
objections and filings, Affidavits,
pleadings and depositions of record

below.

21

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Certiorari should be granted for two
(2) reasons: (1) the District Court and
the Court of Appeals applied the wrong
standard for summary judgment; and (2)
The Fourth Circuit rendered their opinion
in conflict with other circuits regarding
the concept of res judicata and
collateral estoppel.

I. THE FOURTH CIRCUIT’S OPINION
CONFLICTS WITH THE CORRECT

STANDARD FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT
This Court has clearly held that

upon a Motion for Summary Judgment
pursuant to Rule 56 of the Federal Rules
of Civil Procedure, the burden is on the
moving party to show conclusively that
there exists no genuine issue as to
material fact, considering the evidence

most favorably to the party against whom
the motion is directed. United States v.

22

; | |

Deibold, Inc., 369 U.S. 654, 655 (1962) .'
According to Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c),

summary judgment is proper only,

if the pleadings, depositions,
answers to interrogatories, and
admissions on file, together with
the affidavits, if any, show that
there is no genuine issue as to any
material fact and that the moving
party is entitled to a judgment as a
matter of law. Id.

In Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, Adm’x of the

Estate of Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 322
(1986), the Supreme Court delineated how

a party moving for summary judgment must
demonstrate to the court that no such
issue of material fact exists:

A party seeking summary judgment
always bears the initial
responsibility of informing the
district court of the basis for its
motion, and identifying those
portions of ‘the pleadings,

' The Fourth Circuit has adopted the holding
that the record and evidence should be considered in
the light most favorable to the non-movant. Smith v.

Hill, 632 F.2d 316, at 338; Leakas v. Columbia Country
Club, 831 F.Supp. 1231, at 1235.

23

depositions, answers to
interrogatories, and admissions on
file together with the affidavits,
if any,’ which it believes
demonstrate the absence of a genuine
issue of material fact.

Id. at 323.

The Opinion of the Fourth Circuit
below conflicts with this Court’s holding
in Celotex and following cases. Here the

- Fourth Circuit held that,

Doctor Nguyen’s actions simply
do not approach the level of
deliberate indifference
proscribed by the Eighth
Amendment. If mistakes were
indeed made, they were mistakes
of medical judgment impervious
to judicial review in a §1983
action.

By deciding that the Respondents did not

act with deliberate indifference’, the

? The standard of deliberate indifference applied
by the Fourth Circuit in this matter conflicts with a
previous decision of this Court. On 6 June 1994, this
Court decided the matter of v
Brennan, Warden, 114 S.Ct. 1970 (1994), setting forth a
new standard to apply to Eighth Amendment deliberate
indifference cases. The Court adopted the "subjective

24

lower courts decided a question of fact,
and accordingly, clearly invaded the

province of the jury.°

recklessness" standard to define deliberate indifference
and held that "[a]n Eighth Amendment claimant need
not show that a prison official acted or failed to act
believing that harm actually would befall an inmate; it is
enough that the official acted or failed to act despite his
knowledge of a substantial risk of serious harm. Id. at
1980. On 20 June 1994, fourteen (14) days after this
Court rendered its opinion in Dee Farmer as to the
applicable standard one should apply in deliberate
indifference cases, the Court of Appeals for the Fourth
Circuit affirmed the decision of the District Court
without any reference to Dee Farmer. Accordingly, for
failing to apply the correct standard of deliberate
indifference, a writ of certiorari should issue to review
the judgment and opinion of the Court of Appeals in
this matter.

* The question of whether or not the prison
officials and doctors who treated Petitioner Henderson
acted with deliberate indifference was a question of fact
for a jury to decide and therefore precluded a finding of
summary judgment. See Greason, et al. v. Kemp, 891
F.2d 829, 835 (11th Cir. 1990); Marsh v. Arn, 937 F. 2d
1056 (6th Cir. 1991) reh’g denied (6th Cir. 1991); Hicks
v. Frey, 992 F. 2d 1450, 1453 (6th. Cir. 1993) reh’g
denied (6th Cir. 1993); Cortes-Quinones v. Jimenez-
Nettleship, 842 F. 2d 556, 562 (1st Cir. 1987); Reynolds
v. Borough of Avalon, 799 F.Supp. 442, 446 (D. NJ.
1992); See Also Redman v. City of San Diego, 896 F.2d

25

Based upon the evidence and record
presented to the District Court and the
Fourth Circuit there was more than
sufficient evidence on both sides to
create a clear genuine issue of material
fact as to whether or not the Respondents
acted with deliberate indifference toward
Petitioner’s health and well being.

The record is replete with evidence
in support of Petitioner’s claims of
deliberate indifference. The record
consists of the following, but not
limited, evidence:

1. That Petitioner Henderson made
approximately nine (9) grievances
concerning the medical treatment which he
received and/or failed to receive, and
outlining his medical condition, need for

treatment, and his demand for treatment.

362, 370 (9th Cir. 1990)(Tang J., concurring).

26

2. Rex Smith, Petitioner’s expert,
opined that the "defendants failure was a
result of their individual and collective
deliberate indifference toward the
establishment, promulgation and
implementation of the appropriate and
necessary policies and procedures." See
Smith Affidavit attached hereto as
Appendix G p.39-42 and incorporated
herein by reference. Said Affidavit was
also of record before the Court of
Appeals for the Fourth Circuit in the
Joint Appendix.

3. In Roger R. Henderson v. D.T.
Mahon, Judge Brinkema concluded in her

Report and Recommendation that "the vDOC
may have erred in sending Plaintiff
{[petitioner]) to a facility not adapted to
his special physical needs..." (Report,
October 15, 1992, at 8).

4. During Petitioners incarceration

27

at the Powhatan Correctional Center,
Petitioner described the "physical
therapy" he received as consisting only
of a TENS Unit being placed on his body.
See Petitioner’s deposition p.62 attached
hereto as Appendix I p. 46-48 and
incorporated herein by reference.

5. That Petitioner repeatedly
complained of low back pain and
neurological deficits and yet Dr. Nguyen
finding a history of paraplegia, and
diagnosing low back strain and
paraplegia, a neurological condition,
prescribes only Motrin two times a day
and issues an order for an egg-crate
mattresses were the appropriate
treatment. See Dr. Nguyen deposition p.
27 attached hereto as Appendix H p. 43-45
and incorporated herein by reference.

6. Dr. Nguyen asserted that

additional medical diagnostic tests were

28

not necessary or required to treat
Petitioner.

There is a point, as evidenced by
this case, where the incompetence and
professional inadequacy of a doctor rises
to the level of deliberate indifference,
and it is the responsibility of the trier
of fact, after introduction of all the
evidence to make that determination. For
the court to grant summary judgment under
these factual circumstances is
unthinkable. Based upon the foregoing
and the record that was before the
District Court and the Fourth Circuit,
there is little question that if the
trier of fact was allowed to do its job
that reasonable minds could differ as to
whether the Respondents’ treatment of the
Petitioner constituted deliberate
indifference.

Accordingly, the Fourth Circuit’s

29

opinion conflicts with the clear holding
of this Court under Rule 56 and Celotex.

This Court should take this
opportunity to clarify its holding in
Celotex relied upon by the Fourth Circuit
below. Celotex in no way purports to
take genuine issues out of the province
of the jury and allow courts to decide
clear issues of fact and substance, such
as deliberate indifference.

This Court should further grant
certiorari here to amplify the standard
of summary judgment and explicitly rule
that "even though a trial court may not
believe the party opposing the motion may
not succeed at trial, it should not
render a summary judgment if there is any
issue of material fact. The trial judge
must examine the evidence, not to decide

any issue of fact, but to discover if a

30

real issue exists."

The purpose of summary judgment is
not to take genuine issues from the jury
but rather to decide that as a matter of
law there is no issue to be decided by

the jury.

* Steelvest, Inc. v. Scansteel Service Center, Inc.,
Ky., 807 S.W. 2d 476 (1991),the Kentucky Supreme

Court held that a summary judgment motion must be
‘viewed in a light most favorable to the party opposing
the motion for summary judgment and all doubts are to
be resolved in his favor.’ Id. at 480. As a result thereof,
summary judgments are to be cautiously applied and
should not be used as a substitute for trial. Id. at 483.

A trial court must not grant a summary judgment
motion even if the trial court believes the opposing
party will not succeed at trial, if there is an issue of
material fact. Id. at 480. If the opposing party prts any
material fact into issue, no matter how questionabie, thc
summary judgment motion must be denied.

Finally, the Steelvest Court held that when the
trial judge examines the evidence, he or she must not
decide any issue of fact, but discover merely if a real
issue exists. Id. at 480. As the Court held, "[i]t clearly
is not the purpose of the summary judgement rule, as
we have often declared, to cut litigants off from their
right of trial if they have issues to try." Id. at 480.

31

tii aii

II. THE FOURTH CIRCUIT COURT RENDERED
THEIR OPINION IN CONFLICT WITH OTHER
CIRCUITS REGARDING THE CONCEPT OF
RES JUDICATA AND COLLATERAL

ESTOPPEL.

The District Court applied the
doctrine of res judicata to Petitioner’s
action against Respondents Williams,
Kessler and Murray. The Circuit Court
affirmed. However, the Fourth Circuit
below neither examined the principles and
policies underlying the doctrine nor
examined the circumstances of the instant
case to determine if an exception to the
doctrine might be warranted. In so doing
the Fourth Circuit creates a conflict
among the circuits with regards to
considering important issue of public and
private interest.

The claim preclusion doctrine bars a

second suit based on the same cause of
action or claim and the issue preclusion

32

doctrine bars "relitigation of issues

actually litigated and necessary to the
outcome of the first action." Parklane
Hosiery Co. v. Shore, 439 U.S. 322, 326
n.5 (1979) (emphasis added). See also
Carr v. District of Columbia, 646 F.2d
599 (U.S. App. D.C. 1980); American
Medical Int bj LI : ,

of Health, Education and Welfare, 677
F.2d 120 (U.S. App. D.C. 1988).

The doctrine of res judicata
encompasses four preclusive effects,
namely: (1) merger, (2) direct estoppel,
(3) bar, and (4) collateral estoppel, the
latter two being commonly referred to as
claim preclusion and issue preclusion,
respectively. Bates v. Devers, 202
S.E.2d 917, 920 (Va. 1974).

Res judicata-bar precludes
relitigation of the same cause of action

that was or could have been litigated

33

ii |

between the same parties or their
privies. JId., at 920-21. Thus, the
designation "claim preclusion".

Likewise, collateral estoppel
prevents the relitigation of any issue of
fact actually litigated in the original
litigation and essential to the valid
judgment. Thus, the designation "issue
preclusion". Id., at 921. Collateral
estoppel precludes relitigation of legal
issues as well as factual ones, but this
prohibition is enforced with considerable
more leniency than that of factual issue
preclusion. Id.

The doctrine of res judicata is
judicially crafted and founded upon
important considerations of public policy
favoring certainty in legal relations, a
defined end to litigation, and the

prevention of harassment of litigants.

Id. at 920. See also Commissioner of

34

Interna] Revenue v. Sunnen, 333 U.S. 591,
597 (1948), Pickeral_v. Federal Land Bank
of Baltimore, 177 Va. 743, 750 (1941).

The doctrine of res judicata is
firmly rooted in American law and the
overwhelming propensity of state and
federal courts is to apply the doctrine
without inquiry into equity of doing so.
Ward v. Charlton, 177 Va. 101, 115 (1941)
("The doctrine is firmly established in
our jurisprudence and should be
maintained where applicable".) Indeed, a
rule is a rule and departure therefrom
should be exceptional, not customary.

However, a number of courts, both
state and federal have acknowledged that
blind compliance is not always
appropriate, especially where important
issues of public and private interests

are involved. Bates vy. Devers, 214 Va.
667, 669 (1974) (res judicata may give

35

—

way when in conflict with other, more

important public policies), Griffin v.
Board of Education, 296 F. Supp. 1178,

1182 (E.D. Va. 1969) (where private
litigation has extensive implications of
public import, the rules of res judicata
or estoppel are not allowed to stultify
reassessment of prior decisions.)

In Spilker v. Hankin, 188 F.2d 35
(1951) the U.S. Circuit Court for D.C.
held that the Court should weigh
different rules and polices against
competing necessities and that situations
may arise which could call for exceptions
to the general rule regarding res
judicata. Id. at 38. "Res judicata, as
the embodiment of public policy, must, at
all times, be weighed against competing
interests, and on occasion, yield to

other policies." Id. at 38-39.
Likewise in Societe Anonyme des
36

:

es aninieemieeeeneniaaaeiieaieaieaaellal

Parfums le Galion v. Jean Patou, Inc.,
495 F.2d 1265 (1974) the 2nd Circuit held
that "res judicata principles, if applied
inflexibly, can at times result in
unwarranted hardship.B Id. at 1276. The
Court in that case found that the
doctrine of res judicata "is intended to
serve the aims of fairness and efficient
judicial administration, it need not be
applied mechanically where those ends
would not be served." Id. at 1276.
Additionally, in Moch v. Eash Baton
Rogue Sch. Distr., 543 F.2d 594 (1977)
the Fifth Circuit found that, "Courts
have occasionally rejected strict
application of bar and estoppel
principles when their use would violate
an overriding public policy or result in
manifest injustice." Id. at 596. See

also International Harvester v. OSHA, 628
F.2d 982 (1980) (Seventh Circuit finding

37

that where the technical requirements of
res judicata have been established, a
court may nonetheless refuse to apply the
doctrine; Res judicata must yield on
occasion to competing public policies.)

In the case at bar the Fourth
Circuit failed to consider any public
policy issues which would have created an
exception to the strict application of
res judicata and collateral estoppel.
Specifically, the first case dealt with a
pro se defendant who was not provided the
assistance of counsel. Once counsel was
provided to said Petitioner it was
immediately identified that other parties
were negligent that different causes of
action applied, and that separate
litigation should ensue. The court below
denied consolidation.

Additionally, granting Defendant’s

Motion for Summary Judgment was

38

inappropriate because Petitioner did not
have a full and fair opportunity to
1itzeete his claims. In Defendants’
Supplemental Motion for Summary Judgment,
Respondents argued that the issues raised
by the Petitioner were previously
litigated in Henderson v. Williams, et
al., C.A. No. 89-1723-AM (E.D. Va. June
13, 1991). The principle of collateral
estoppel bars relitigation of a
particular issue or determinative fact.
Allen v. McCurry, 449 U.S. 90 (1980).
Collateral estoppel does not bar the
Petitioner’s cause of action, however, in
that the Petitioner has not had a full
and fair opportunity to litigate his
Claim. When Mr. Henderson proceeded in
his pro se action, there can be no
question that the issue of whether the
Respondents in this action failed through

deliberate indifference to establish

39

proper policies and procedures was not
fully and fairly litigated and was not
actually decided. See Allen v. McCurry,
449 U.S. 90, 94 (1980) ("one general
limitation the Court has repeatedly
recognized is that the concept of
collateral estoppel cannot apply when the
party against whom the earlier decision
is asserted did not have a "full and fair
opportunity" to litigate that issue in an
earlier case"); see also, Parklane
Hosiery Co. v. Shore, 439 U.S. 322
(1979).

Restatement 2nd, Judgments, §27
states that for an issue to be subject to
collateral estoppel, it must have been
fully and fairly litigated in the first
action. It must also have been actually
decided, and this decision must have been
necessary to the outcome. For

relitigation of an issue to be

40

4
'

collaterally estopped, therefore, that
issue must be both identical to an issue
litigated in the earlier suit and a
necessary precursor to that decision.
Fleischer v. Detroit Cadillac Motor Co.,
165 N.Y.S. 245 (1st Dept. 1917); Berlitz
Schools of Languages of America v.
Everest House, 619 F.2d 211 (2d Cir.
1980).

The Court in Henderson v. Williams,
et al., C.A. No. 89-1723-AM (E.D. Va.
June 13, 1991), neither decided nor |
considered the issue of whether Appellees
Murray, Kessler and Williams failed
through deliberate indifference to
establish proper policies and procedures
governing proper medical attention to Mr.
Henderson, or whether Respondent Nguyen
failed through deliberate indifference to
properly treat Mr. Henderson. These

particular issues are not identical to

a4

any other raised in the Petitioner’s
earlier suit, they were not necessary to
the outcome of the original suit and they
were not fully and fairly litigated.
Aside from the fact that it was
legally impossible for the Petitioner to
raise the issue in question against the
Respondents in the previous action, the
notion that if a party could have raised
a claim or cause of action in an earlier
action, then that party is subsequently
barred from raising the new claim ina
later action, is not a rule that is
either certain or established. The Court
in Allen v. McCurry, 449 U.S. 90 (1980),
did not establish a bright-line rule for
application of the collateral estoppel

and res judicata bars. For instance,

where a §1983 Plaintiff seeks to litigate
in federal court a federal issue which he

could have raised but did not raise in an

42

|

earlier state-court suit against the same

adverse party, collateral estoppel does
not apply. Lombard v. Board of Ed. of New
York City, 502 F.2d 631 (CA2 1974);
Graves v. Oligiata, 550 F.2d 1327 (CA2
1977); Mack v. Florida Bd. of Dentistry,
430 F.2d 862 (CA5 1970). Although this
action was not previously brought in
state court, these cases indicate that
courte are hesitant to assume that a
particular issue should have been raised
in an earlier proceeding -- the more
important and equitable question is
whether that issue was fully and fairly
litigated. Here, it is clear that it was

not.

43

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, a
writ of certiorari should issue to review
the judgment and opinion of the Court of

Appeals in this matter.

DATED: 30 September 1994

Respectfully submitted,

THE HEIDEMAN LAW GROUP, P.C.
2023 Q Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20009-1009
Telephone: 202-462-8990
Telefax: 202-462-8995

By: RICHARD D. HEIDEMAN

Attorneys for Petitioner

UNPUBLISHED

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

ROGER HENDERSON,
Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

RAY KESSLER; EDWARD W.

MURRAY; DAVID A. WILLIAMS

TIEN D. NGUYEN, M.D.,
Defendants~Appellees

and

VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF
CORRECTION; POWHATAN
CORRECTIONAL CENTER;
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA;
MEDICAL COLLEGE OF
VIRGINIA; SHERIFF’S
DEPARTMENT, COUNTY OF
HENRICO; SHERIFF’S
DEPARTMENT OF THE CITY
OF RICHMOND; DONALD L.
BOSWELL; ANDREW WINSTON;
STANLEY FURMAN, M.D.;
JOHN DOE; JANE DOE,
Defendants.

APPENDIX A

No.

93~6222

ROGER HENDERSON,
Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

RAY KESSLER; EDWARD W.
MURRAY; DAVID A. WILLIAMS
TIEN D. NGUYEN, M.D.,
Defendants~Appellees
and
VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF No. 93-6222
CORRECTION; POWHATAN
CORRECTIONAL CENTER;
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA
MEDICAL COLLEGE OF
VIRGINIA; SHERIFF’S
DEPARTMENT, COUNTY OF
HENRICO; SHERIFF’S
DEPARTMENT OF THE CITY
OF RICHMOND;DONALD L.
BOSWELL; ANDREW WINSTON;
STANLEY FURMAN, M.D.;
JOHN DOE; JANE DOE,
Defendants.

.
em ec ee ee ee ee ee ee

Appeals from the United States
District Court for the Eastern District
of Virginia, at Richmond.

Robert R. Merhige, Jr., Senior District

Judge. (CA-91-346-R)
Argued: February 9, 1994

Decided: June 20, 1994

Before HAMILTON and WILLIAMS, Circuit

Judges, and OSTEEN, United States
District Judge for the Middle District of

North Carolina, sitting by designation.

Affirmed by unpublished per curiam

opinion.

COUNSEL
ARGUED: Richard D. Heideman. THE
HEIDEMAN LAW GROUP, P.C., Chevy Chase,
Maryland, for the Appellant. Pamela Anne
Sargent, Assistant Attorney General
OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL, Richmond,
Virginia for the Appellees Kessler,
Murray, and Williams; Sandra Morris
Holleran, MCQUIRE, WOODS, BATTLE &

BOOTHE, Richmond, Virginia for Appellee

Nguyen.

Unpublished opinions are not binding
precedent in this circuit. See I.0O.P.

36.5 and 36.6

ee |

OPINION
PER CURIAM:

In August 1988, Appellant Roger
Henderson was transported in a prison van
by officers of the City of Dismnond
Sheriff’s Department to Henrico County
Jail in Virginia. While en route, the
driver of the van slammed on the brakes
to avoid an accident. Henderson, who was
handcuffed and shackled, was thrown
against the interior of the van and
another prisoner was thrown on top of
him, thereby pinning Henderson against
the inside of the vehicle.

While in the Henrico County Jail,
Henderson experienced increasing pain in
his lower extremities, followed by a loss
of sensation. On March 7, 1989, he was
transferred to Powhatan Reception and
Classification Center (PRCC) for six

weeks of evaluation and classification,

5

and then to Powhatan Correctional Center
(PCC) until his May 24, 1990, parole
release. Henderson claims his physical
and neurological conditions continued to
decline at PRCC and PCC. Henderson
attributes his deteriorating conditions
to the denial of access to medical care
and appropriate treatment for the
injuries sustained in the van incident’
and the lack of proper facilities for the |
handicapped.

The record shows, however, that
Henderson was seen repeatedly by prison
doctors and specialists a the Medical
College of Virginia (MCV) . After filing

numerous inmate grievances concerning the

' None of the medical evaluations indicated an
organic cause for his paralysis. Instead, he was
diagnosed as having hysterical conversional paraplegia
but was treated functionally as a paraplegic. (Report of
Nathan D. Zusler, M.D., Director, Brain Injury
Rehabilitation Services, Med. Col. of Va. dated
10/26/89).

Sain Aes eats te ial a

LS eat CS

RAGES

purported inadequacies of the medical
care, Henderson brought this action under
42 U.S.C. § 1983 (1988), against Director
of the Virginia Department of Corrections
Edward W. Murray, Deputy Director of the
Virginia Department of Corrections Ray
Kessler, PCC Warden David A. Williams,
and PCC physician Dr. Tien D. Nguyen.
Henderson claims that his permanent
injuries were proximately caused, in
direct violation of the Eighth Amendment,
by the deliberate indifference of Murray,
Kessler, and Williams in failing to
establish proper policies and procedures
governing appropriate medical care and of
Dr. Nguyen in failing to render proper

treatment.?*

2 Henderson’s Amended Complaint and Second
Amended Complaint included allegations of due process
violations, gross negligence, negligence, failure to
diagnose, failure to treat, medical malpractice, negligent
infliction of emotional distress, and loss of power to

7

The district court granted summary
judgment to Dr. Nguyen on the basis that
his affidavit and deposition showed
adequate efforts to meet Henderson’s
medical needs, and that Henderson failed
to provide evidentiary support for his
allegations of deliberate indifference.
The court also granted summary judgment
to the non-medical defendants, finding
that a previous case brought by Henderson
rendered his present action subject to
the bars of res judicata and collateral
estoppel. In addition, the court denied
Henderson’s Fed. R. Civ. P. 59(e) Motion

for Reconsideration.

earn money. Other Defendants originally named in this
action were eventually eliminated through a combination
of voluntary dismissals and dispositive motions. The
instant appeals focus solely on Henderson’s Eighth
Amendment claims.

I.
We turn first to a de novo review of
the district court’s order granting
Appellees’ summary judgment motions.

Miller v. Federal Deposit ins. Corp., 906
F.2d 972, 974 (4th Cir. 1990).

To establish his § 1983 claim
against Dr. Nguyen, Henderson must show
that Dr. Nguyen was deliberately
indifferent to his serious medical needs.
Wilson v. Seiter, 501 U.S. 294, _,111 S.
Ct. 2321, 2323 (1991). For deliberate
indifference to rise to the level of an
actionable violation of the Eighth
Amendment prohibition against cruel and
unusual punishment, "the treatment must
be so grossly incompetent, inadequate, or
excessive as to shock the conscience or

to be intolerable to fundamental

fairness." Miltier v. Beorn, 896 F.2d

9

am

848, 851 (4th Cir. 1990). Hence, mere
negligence or malpractice in diagnosis or
treatment is not enough. Estelle v.
Gamble, 429 U.S. 97, 106, (1976). "To be
cruel and unusual punishment at all must
involve more than ordinary lack of due
care for the prisoner’s interests or
safety." Wilson, 501 U.S. at __, 1115S.
Ct. at 2324 (quoting Whitley v. Albers,
475 U.S. 312, 319 1986).

The record in this case shows that
Dr. Nguyen, one of several attending
physicians, saw Henderson frequently and
referred him to specialists when
necessary. The record is replete with
voluminous documentation of almost
constant medical care and supervision
provided to Henderson, including frequent
referrals to MCV on both in-patient and
out-patient bases. Henderson’s failure

to provide any supported allegation of

10

deliberate indifference or other
admissible evidence showing the existence
of a genuine issue for trial cannot rebut
Dr. Nguyen’s summary judgment motion and
supporting affidavit and deposition.

Celotex Corp v. Catrett, 477 U.D. 317,
324 (1986); see also Ross v.

Communications Satellite Corp., 759 F.2d
355, 364 (4th Cir. 1985) ("([W]holly

speculative assertions will not
suffice."). Doctor Nguyen’s actions
simply do not approach the level of
deliberate indifference proscribed by the
Eighth Amendment. If mistakes were
indeed made, they were mistakes of
medical judgment impervious to judicial
review ina § 1983 action. Russell v.
Sheffer, 528 F.2d 318, 319 (4th Cir.

1975) .3

> Given our affirmance of the district court’s
conclusion that Henderson’s claims against Dr. Nguyen

11

|

It.

Henderson previously asserted his
Claims of deliberate indifference and
inadequate facilities for the handicapped
at PCC in a § 1983 action against PCC
Warden Williams and PCC medical personnel |
other than Dr. Nguyen. Henderson v. |
Williams, No. 89-1723-AM (E.D. Va. June
13, 1991) (Henderson I). The Henderson I
court granted Defendants’ motion for
summary judgment, finding that facilities
at PCC were adequate to serve the
specialized needs of the handicapped, and
that ™sfendant physicians were not
deliberately indifferent to Henderson’s

medical needs.* The issue of inadequate

did not state a genuine issue for trial, we find it
unnecessary to consider Dr. Nguyen’s cross-appeal of
the denial of his Motion to Dismiss the claims against
him as barred by the statute of limitations.

* One claim reserved for ruling in Henderson I,
concerning a loose handrail in a toilet, was dismissed

12

policies and procedures governing

appropriate medical care was neither
presented nor considered in Henderson I.
Notwithstanding the absence of a direct
adjudication of that issue, the district
court disposed of the instant claims

against the non-medical defendants by

finding the Henderson [I court

did determine that the
Defendant’s [sic] fulfilled
their duty to protect the Plaintiff;
that this implicitly includes
their duty to establish
policies may arguable be
speculative, however, it

is not necessary that the issue
in question was actually raised
in the previous action as long
as it could have been raised.

(J.A. at 526, citing Allen v. McClurry,
449 U.S. 90, 94 (1980).

Under res judicata, or claim
preclusion, a final decision on the

merits of an action precludes the parties

after a factual hearing.

or their privies from relitigating issues
that actually were raised or could have
been raised in that action. Migra v.
Warren City School Dist. Bd of Educ. ,465
U.S. 75, 77 n.1 (1984). Collateral
estoppel, or issue preclusion, bars the
relitigation, in different causes of
action, of factual or legal issues
previously determined by a court as a
necessary precursor to the entry of
judgment. Id.

Henderson argues that, although
Williams was a defendant in Henderson I,
the cause of action and relevant issues
in this case are different. However,
Henderson cannot seriously challenge the
full and fair opportunity, represented by
Henderson I, to litigate his claims
against Williams. The issues presented
in this § 1983 action could have been

raised previously, and the district court

14

properly disposed of Henderson’s claims
against Williams on the basis that those
claims were therefore precluded.°
Henderson’s verbatim claims against
Kessler and Murray are also barred by
claim preclusion because their interests
are "aligned" with Williams in both the
previous and current actions, Comite De
Ape I Trabajad agrico]
United States Dep’t of Labor, 995 F.2d
510, 514 (4th Cir. 1993), by the
statutorily-created supervisory and

managerial relationship between the

5 We note that Henderson filed another § 1983
action against other defendants during his brief
incarceration at PRCC, alleging inadequate medical care
and handicap facilities at that institution. Henderson v.
Mahon, No. 89-1724-AM (E.D. Va Mar. 4, 1991). No
allegations of inadequate policies and procedures were
asserted in that complaint. Henderson failed to object
to the magistrate judge’s recommended finding that the
PRCC Defendants had rot shown deliberate
indifference to Henderson’s medical needs. Henderson
v. Mahon, No. 89-1724-AM(E.D. Va. Oct. 15, 1992).

15

governing officials of the Virginia
Department of Corrections and the wardens
of correctional facilities within their
jurisdiction. Va. Code Ann. Section
53.1-10(1) (Michie 1991); see United
States v. Manning Coal Corp., 977 F.2d
117, 121 (4th Cir. 1992) (privity "is
merely a word used to say that the
relationship between the one who is a
party on the record and another is close
enough to include the other within the
res judicata.") (quoting Bruszewski v.
United States, 181 F.2d 419, 423 (3rd
Cir. 1950) (Goodrich, J., concurring).

We also note that Henderson’s claims
against Kessler and Murray lack
substantive merit, for there has been no
attempt to demonstrate, nor can we
discern from the record, that the need
for improved medical policies and

procedures was "so obvious" or that the

16

Ee

inadequacy of the existing policies and
procedures was "so likely to result in
the violation of constitutional rights"
as to constitute actionable deliberate

indifference. Mitchell v. Aluisi, 872
F.2d 577, 581 (4th Cir. 1989) (quoting

City of Canton v. Harris, 109 S. Ct.
1197, 1205 (1989) .Moreover, Kessler and
Murray cannot be held accountable under a
theory of supervisory liability for a
subordinate’s constitutional violation,
absent a constitutional violation by that
subordinate. Temkin v. Frederick County
Comm’rs, 945 F.2d 716, 724 (4th Cir.
1991), cert. denied, 112 S. Ct. 1172
(1992).

Finally, given the properly-entered
order of summary judgment for Defendant’s
Dr. Nguyen, Williams, Kessler and Murray,
we find the district court did not abuse

its discretion in refusing to revisit

17

that order, Poynter v. Ratcliff, 874 F.2d
219, 223 (4th Cir. 1989), and affirm the

district court’s denial of Henderson’s
Motion for Reconsideration.
Iit.

This action is an attempt by
Henderson to revive a claim that has been
already, or could have been, adjudicated.
While his accident is unfortunate,
Henderson failed to demonstrate
deliberate indifference by the parties
treating and evaluating him and by the
parties in charge of the facilities in
which he was housed. Therefore, there is
no actionable § 1983 claim and we affirm
the district court’s entry of summary
judgment in favor of Dr. Nguyen,

Williams, Kessler, and Murray.”

AFFIRMED

18

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA
RICHMOND DIVISION

ROGER HENDERSON, )
Plaintiff, )

)
Vv. ) Case No:3:92-CV-346

)
RAY KESSLER, et al.,)

Defendants)
ORDER

For the reasons stated in the
accompanying memorandum, and deeming it
just and proper so to do, it is hereby
Adjudged and Ordered that the Defendants
Murray, Williams and Kessler’s motion for
summary judgment in this matter e and the
same is hereby GRANTED. Likewise,
Defendant Dr. Nguyen’s motion for summary
judgment is also GRANTED.

Let the clerk send copies of this
Order and the accompanying Memorandum to

all counsel of record.

12-8-32
Date UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE
APPENDIX B

19

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA
RICHMOND DIVISION

ROGER HENDERSON,
Plaintiff,

Vs Case No: 3:92-CV-346

)
)
)
)
RAY KESSLER, et al.,)

Defendants)

MEMORANDUM

This matter is before the Court on
two separate defense motions for summary
judgment. The parties have briefed the
issues and waived oral arguments,
therefore, the matter is ripe for
decision.

The record reflects the following:
At all relevant times, the Plaintiff was
a prisoner of the Virginia Department of
Corrections. On August 17, 1988,

officers of the Richmond City Sheriff’s

Department were transporting Plaintiff to

the Henrico County Jail. Apparently, the
driver was forced to slam on the brakes
during the trip, and the Plaintiff hit
the inside wall of the prison van with
great force. The Plaintiff was taken to
St. Mary’s Hospital in Richmond, Virginia
where he was treated and released.

The Plaintiff was eventually taken
to the Henrico County Jail where he was
incarcerated for approximately six months
before he was transferred to the Powhatan
Correctional Center ("PCC"). The
Plaintiff alleges, as the foundation for
his complaint, that while incarcerated in
Henrico, and subsequently in Powhatan,
Virginia, he was systematically deprived
of adequate medical treatment in
violation of his Eighth Amendment rights
and deprived of the due process in
violation of his Fourteenth Amendment

rights. On the basis of the foregoing,

21

the Plaintiff brings this action under 42

U.S.C. § 1983.

By an Order dated November 10, 1992,
this Court Denied Defendants Murray,
Williams, and Kessler’s motion to dismiss
except as it related to liability through
respondeat superior. As to respondeat
superior liability, the Defendants’
motion to dismiss was Granted. This same
Order Denied Defendant Dr. Nguyen’s
motion to dismiss with respect to
potential liability under 42 U.S.C.
§1983, but Granted Defendant Dr. Nguyen’s
motion to dismiss the allegations of
malpractice. Therefore, there are only
two remaining theories of liability: 1.)
whether Defendants Kessler, Williams, and
Murray are directly responsible, under 42
U.S.C. § 1983, for the alleged violations
due to deliberate indifference on the

part of each in failing to establish

22

————————————

policies, procedures, or custom designed
to protect the Plaintiff’s rights; and
2.) whether Defendant Dr. Nguyen is
responsible, under 42 U.S.C. § 1983, for
his alleged deliberate indifference to
the inmate’s serious medical need.

Rule 56 of the Federal Rules of
Civil Procedure governs motions for
summary judgment, and pursuant thereto,
summary judgment is appropriate only
where parties do not dispute material
facts that might affect the outcome of an
action. See Anderson v. Liberty Lobby,
Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 248 (1986). To
defeat summary judgment, a nonmoving
party, who will bear the burden of proof
at trial on a dispositive issue, must go
beyond his or her pleadings with
affidavits, depositions, interrogatories
or other admissible evidence to show

specific facts that amount to a genuine

23

issue for trial. Celotex Corp. v.
Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 324 (1985). Where

the parties show no dispute of material
fact, summary judgment is appropriate.
Defendants Murray, Williams, and
Kessler’s motions for summary judgment
requests this Court to find that the
issues now before it previously have been
litigated by the Plaintiff in Henderson
v. Williams, et al., C.A. No. 89-1723-AM
(E.D. Va. June 13, 1991). In that case,
Judge Cacheris specifically examined
whether there were adequate facilities
for handicapped prisoners and whether the
Defendant’s were deliberately indifferent
to their duty to protect the Plaintiff.
The Court in that case granted the
Defendants’ motion for summary judgment,
except for one specific allegation of a
loose handrail in a toilet facility,

which the Judge determined required a

24

factual hearing. This remaining claim
was later dismissed by an Order dated
July 29, 1991.

Defendants Murray, Williams, and
Kessler contend that this Court’s
decision in the Alexandria division bars

prosecution of the instant case by reason

of res judicata and collateral estoppel.
The principles of res judicata and
collateral estoppel apply to § 1983
actions. Migra v. Warren City School
District Bd. of Educ., 465 U.S. 75
(1984); Allen v. McCurry, 449 U.S. 90
(1980). Under res judicata, a final

decision on the merits of an action
precludes the parties or their privies
from relitigating issues that were raised
or could have been raised in that action.
Allen, at 94. Under collateral
estoppel, once the court has decided an

issue in a suit on a different cause of

25

action involving a party to the first
case. ld.

The Defendants claim that the
Plaintiff had a full and fair opportunity
to litigate these claims in the prior
suit, and that even though Defendants
Murray and Kessler were not parties to
the first suit, a litigant who was not a
party in a federal case may use
collateral estoppel offensively in a new
suit against the party who did not
prevail in the first case. Parkline
Hosiery Co., Inc. v. Shore, 439 U.S. 322,
327 (1979); Blonder-Tongque Laboratories,
Inc. v. University of Illinois

Foundation, 402 U.S. 313, 328 (1971).
The Plaintiffs argue that Judge

Cacheris did not decide the issue of
whether the Defendants’ were deliberately
indifferent to their duty to establish

adequate policies, procedures, or custom

26

designed to protect the Plaintiff’s
rights. Judge Cacheris did determine
that the Defendant’s fulfilled their duty
to protect the Plaintiff; that this
implicitly includes their duty to
establish policies may arguably be
speculative, however, it is not necessary
that the issue in question was actually
raised in the previous action as long as
it could have been raised. Allen, 449
U.S. at 94.

In light of the decision in

Henderson v. Williams, C.A. No. 89-1723-

AM, the combined principles of res
judicata and collateral estoppe] bar the
Plaintiff’s present claim against
Defendants Murray, Williams, and Kessler.
Defendant Dr. Nguyen makes a
separate motion for summary judgment.
This Defendant’s motion is based on two

theories. First, the Defendant attempts

27

to avail himself of the decision in

Henderson v. Williams, C.A. No. 89-1723-

AM, through collateral estoppel. This
effort must fail since the instant

Plaintiff alleges specific acts or
omissions unique to this Defendant that
could not have been raised in the
previous action.

Simply stated, the Plaintiff alleges
that Dr. Nguyen was deliberately
indifferent to the Plaintiff’s serious
medical needs. Since the Plaintiffs will
bear the burden of proof on this issue a
trial, the Plaintiff must go beyond the
pleadings with affidavits, deposition,
interrogatories, or other admissible
evidence to show a genuine issue for
trial. Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477
U.S. 317, 324 (1985). The Defendant’s
motion, supporting affidavit, and

deposition of Dr. Nguyen supplies

28

_——————————————

abundant examples of examinations of the
Plaintiff by the Defendant doctor and his
effort to see to Plaintiff’s medical
needs including referral to a specialist
at MCV, and subsequent treatment
according to the recommendations of that
specialist. The Plaintiff has failed to
provide one supported allegation of
deliberate indifference. The Plaintiff
claims that his expert is unavailable for
deposition because he has been out of the
country since November 21, 1992. This
reason for failing to support his
allegations is not only irrelevant, but
it is unpersuasive since this action has
been pending since ! y 6, 1991, and the
Defendant’s motion for summary judgment
was filed on November 12, 1992. There is
no excuse for the Plaintiff waiting until
this late date and then complain about

the unavailability of an expert.

29

The Plaintiff also complains that
the Defendant’s action, filed on November
12, 1992, is untimely given this Court’s
pre-trial Order specifying that all
motions for summary judgment must be
filed thirty-five (35) days prior to
trial. In this case, that deadline would
be November 11, however, November 11, was
Veteran’s Day and the courthouse was
officially closed. Rule 6 of the Federal
Rules provides that when an order of a
court, a statute or rule prescribes a
date for filing a pleading which falls on
a legal holiday, the pleading may be
filed on the next day. Since the
Defendant’s motion for summary judgment
was timely, and because the Plaintiff has
failed to provide one supported
allegation of deliberate indifference,
Defendant Dr. Nguyen’s motion will be

Granted.

Date

An appropriate Order will issue.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

31

AMENDMENT VIII TO UNITED STATES
CONSTITUTION

Excessive bail shall not be
required, nor excessive fines imposed,
nor cruel and unusual punishments

inflicted.

APPENDIX C

32

42 U.8.C. §1983
Civil Action for Deprivation of Rights
Every person who, under color of any

statute, ordinance, regulation, custon,
or usage, of any State or Territory or
the District of Columbia, subjects, or
causes to be subjected, any citizen of
the United States or other person within
the jurisdiction thereof to the
deprivation of any rights, privileges, or
immunities secured by the Constitution
and laws, shall be liable to the party
injured in an action at law, suit in
equity, or other proper proceeding for
redress. For the purposes of the
section, any Act of Congress applicable
exclusively to the District of Columbia
shall be considered to be a statute of
the District of Columbia.

APPENDIX D

33

AMENDMENT XIV TO UNITED STATES
CONSTITUTION

All persons born or naturalized in the

United States, and subject to the

jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the
Untied States and of the state wherein
they reside. No state shall make or
enforce any law which shall abridge the
privileges or immunities of citizens of
the United States; nor shall any state
deprive any person of life, liberty, or
property, without due process of law;

nor deny to any person within its
jurisdiction the equal protection of the

laws.

APPENDIX E

34

Coplin - Redirect
to page 2 of exhibit one and the
handwritten notes contained thereon which
bear the signature of, you’ve advised us,
of Bruce Stelmack, your resident, and
having reviewed those notes would you
please tell the ladies and gentlemen of -
the jury the opinions you have today
about the status of Roger Henderson as of
the time that you examined him and the
conclusions, impressions and opinions you
formed to a reasonable degree of medical
certainty?

MS.SINCLAIR: Objection, asked and
answered and cumulative. You can answer
it.

Q: You may answer, Doctor.

A: I have not seen him since that
time, but I’m assuming today he’s till
paralyzed and in a wheelchair according

EXHIBIT F

35

to our physical examination.

Q: Perhaps I didn’t ask my
question clearly. In light of the
objection let me try and rephrase it.

Doctor, based upon your review
of the medical records and your
recollection of your examination of Roger
Henderson on the 5th of June 1990, would
you please state to the ladies and
gentlemen of the jury your opinions to a
reasonable degree of medical certainty as
to his medical condition?

MS. SINCLAIR: I restate the
same objection.

Q. You may answer, pesbee.

A. His medical condition was
paraplegia with a neuro --- with a
paralyzed bladder, and a patient who was
wheelchair bound, unable to ambulate and

the paralysis appeared to be permanent at

that particular time.

36

Q. Would you please explain that
in lay person’s English for the ladies
and gentlemen of the jury, please?

A. Basically this patient was
going to be in a wheelchair for the rest
of his life and not be able to walk
again.

e. And the other medical terms you
used in your last answer, would you
please explain those, Doctor?

A. And that he would have to have
some sort of tube to drain his bladder
because his bladder would be also
paralyzed for the rest of his life.

Q. Finally, Doctor, would you
please explain within a reasonable degree
of medical certainty the definitions that
you use for the terms paralyzed and
paraplegia?

A. The terms paralyzed and

paraplegia means that the patient has no

37

_—

function of the lower extremities, —
means the patient is unable to ambulate
because they cannot move their legs.

Q. By ambulate, what do you mean,
Doctor?

A. Walk, the patients cannot walk
because they cannot use their legs.

Q. Is that the condition in which
you found Roger Henderson on the 5th day
of June 1990 when you examined him?

A. That is correct.

Q. Thank you very much, Doctor.

MS. SINCLAIR: Nothing further.

(Deposition concluded at 4:30 p.m.)

* * *

38

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA

Richmond Division

ROGER HENDERSON,

Plaintiff
Vv. CASE NO:3:91CV00346
RAY KESSLER, et al.

Defendants

AFFIDAVIT
REX C. SMITH, first being duly sworn,
states as follows:

i. I am the President of the
American Justice Institute, P.O. Box 482,
Burtonsville, MD 20866. (301) 871-1781.

2. I have over thirty-two (32)
years of experience working in the
Criminal Justice System, including all
levels of state and federal correctional
institutions, particularly in the
development and management of policies

APPENDIX G

39

and procedures related to the functional
operations of such correctional
facilities.

3. At the request of the Plaintiff
—e I have reviewed those policies
and procedures in effect for the Virginia
Department of Public Safety and the
Division of Correctional Services, as
promulgated by the Commonwealth of
Virginia.

4. Based on the aforementioned
review, it is my considered
opinion, that:

a. The Defendants in this
case had the affirmative duty to develop
and promulgate appropriate policies and
procedures designed to protect inmates
and provide specialized care as
prescribed or as necessary given
their particular circumstances.

b. The Defendants failed in

40

meeting their responsibilities to
establish and promulgate appropriate
policies and procedures intended to
protect the Plaintiff and similarly
situated inmates, specifically because
those policies and procedures in effect
are generally outdated and not consistent
with current standards. In addition, in
those cases where a policy has been
promulgated there is no effective
implementation or a method of assuring
implementation and effective delivery to
the inmate.

C. That Defendants failure
was a result of their individual and
collective deliberate indifference
toward the establishment, promulgation
and implementation of the appropriate and
necessary policies and procedures, and

d. The defendants failure was

a proximate cause of the injuries and the

41

exacerbation thereof suffered by the
Plaintiff while in confinement by the

Commonwealth of Virginia.

REX C. SMITH
State of Maryland )
County of Montgomery) ss

Subscribed and sworn to before me
this 29th day of September, 1992

NOTARY PUBLIC

My commission expires:

42

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA
RICHMOND DIVISION

ROGER HENDERSON
Plaintiff

Vv. : Civil Action

> No. 3:91CV00346

RAY KESSLER, et al., :
Defendants :

Deposition of the Defendant,
TIEN DUC NGUYEN, M.D., called as an
adverse party by and on behalf of the
Defendants, pursuant to the Federal Rules
of Civil Procedure, taken before c.wW.
Girard, C.M. Registered Professional
Reporter and Notary Public within and for
the State of Virginia, at Large, at the
offices of McGuire, Woods, Battle &
Boothe, Conference Room 6A, 1 James
Plaza, Richmond, Virginia on Wednesday,
the 18th day of November 1992, commencing
at 10:35 a.m.

APPENDIX H

43

BY MS. HALLIGAN:

Q. Thanks.

A. So, on May 4, 1989, Mr.
Henderson come to see me. He’s
complaining of low back pain. Is
aggravated by a firm mattress and he’s
asking me to have an egg crate mattress.

So, saw him, and has some
tenderness in low back, some stiffness.
Have history of paraplegia. So my
impression is low back strain and
paraplegia, and he’s still on self-

medication progran.

Excuse me. I recommend self-
medication program for him and Motrin two
times a day and issue an egg crate
mattress.

MR. HERRING: Let me make sure

I understand. Maybe I missed -- is it
self-medication, S E L F?

BY MS. HALLIGAN:

So your notes don’t indicate,
then, you referred him to--
A. No. I don’t refer on chat day.
Q. Is paraplegia a neurological
condition?

A. Yes. I think so.

GIRARD REPORTING, INC.
C.W. GIRARD, C.M., RPR

45

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA
RICHMOND DIVISION

Roger Henderson
Plaintiff

Civil Action
No. 3:91CV00346

Vv.

Ray Kessler,et al.
Defendant

Deposition of the Plaintiff,

ROGER RAMONE HENDERSON, called as an
adverse party by and on behalf of the
Defendants, pursuant to the Federal Rules
of Civil Procedure, taken before C.W.
Girard, C.M., Registered Professional
Reporter and Notary Public within and for
the State of Virginia, at Large, at the
offices of McGuire, Woods, Battle &
Boothe, Conference Room 6A, 1 James
Plaza, Richmond, Virginia on Wednesday,
the 18th day of November 1992, commencing
at 2:53 p.m.

APPENDIX I

46

et

Q. Yes, sir.

A. They used to carry me down for
what they call therapy.

Q. Physical therapy they called
it?

A. Physical therapy and what it
consisted of, which I thought was ironic.
They used a TENS unit, placed one pad on
one shoulder and the back; one pad on one
shoulder on the right and one pad on the
shoulder and on the left and they placed
~~ I mean, one what they call an
electrode that goes to a TENS unit on
each side of my shoulder and on each side
at my lower back.

That was the extent of the
therapy I received the entire
time I was at Powhatan Correctional
Center.
Q. That was physical therapy that

was prescribed by MCV?

47

A. That’s what they called it. I
don’t know who it was prescribed by.
That’s why I went to get what was
supposed to get physical therapy. I know
that MCV can’t do anything more than the
Department of Correction will approve.

Q. Were you seen by an

institutional urologist

GIRARD REPORTING, INC.

C.W. Girard, C.M., R.P.R.

48

Oe

FEDERAL RULES OF CIVIL PROCEDURE
RULE 56(c)
Rule 56. Summary Judgment

(Cc) Motion and Proceedings Thereon. The
motion shall be served at least 10 days
before the time fixed for the hearing.
The adverse party prior to the day of
hearing may serve opposing affidavits.
The judgment sought shall be rendered
forthwith if the pleadings, depositions,
answers to interrogatories, and
admissions on file, together with the
affidavits, if any, show that there is no
genuine issue as to any material fact and
that the moving party is entitled to a
judgment as a matter of law. A summary
judgment, interlocutory in character, may
be rendered on the issue of liability
alone although there is a genuine issue
as to the amount of damages.

APPENDIX J

49

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0558%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
