# Reply Brief — Mello v. Woodhouse

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0530%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 513 U.S. 1016

## Text

Euprema Court, U.S

e~. FILED
\
3 | Nov 3 1994
No. 94-573 ze CF WE CLESK
In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1994

DONALD R. MELLO, and
BARBARA J. MELLO, Petitioners,

vs.

JOYCE L. WOODHOUSE,et al., Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

PETITIONERS’ REPLY BRIEF

DONALD R. MELLO and

BARBARA J. MELLO

Pro Se

6061 Rio Vista Lane
Carson City, NV. 89701
Telephone: (702) 885-8772

LIST OF PARTIES

The following persons and entities were
parties to the proceedings in the Supreme
Court of the State of Nevada. The
petitioners in this Court are italicized,
all others are respondents.

Plaintiffs-Appellants: DONALD R. MELLO
and BARBARA J. MELLO

Defendants-Appelees: Joyce L. Woodhouse,
Steve Cozine, John A. Caserta, Julius
Conigliaro, and 0.C. Lee as members of
the Public Employees Retirement Board of
the State of Nevada; Will Keating, as
Executive Officer of the Public Employees
Retirement System of the State of Nevada,
and the Legislators’ Retirement System.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

List of PartieS...-eeee-
Table of Contents.....--.
Table of Authorities....
Statutes and Regulations
Statement... cccccccevces
Apology to the Court....

Conc lus iOR « cae 06 006s eee

ii

18

o1l9

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Vv -Manhattan
_Inc., 451 U.S. 504, 68 L.Ed.2d
402, 101 S.Ct. 1895... cece eee sae ren evees 3

Amato v. Western Union Int'l
773 F.2d 1402, 1415

(2ndCir.1985), 474 U-S. 1113,
106 S. Ct. 1167, 89 L.Ed. 24
Eh | Pe eee te 11

Brug v. Pension Plan, 669 F.2d
570, 574-76 (9th Cir.), 459
u.8. S26, 36 6.0t. 235, 74
ee ST ) ee 10

Costantino v.TRW, Inc., 773
F.Supp. 34 (N.D. Ohio 1991),
sey GS. Par, tar, 204 S.Ct.

2709, 2717, 81 L.Ed.2d 601....... foe}
Danti v. Lewis, 312 F.2d 345,

349 (D.C. Cir 1962), 348-49.......---- 10
Denzer, 474 F.Supp. at a

Oe EE ee 10
Dower v. Richards, 151 U.S. oe 2
Egan v. Hurt, 165 U.S. 188.....+++-+---: 2

Hoefel v. Atlas Tack Corp.,.
581 F.2d 4-5 (1st Cir.1978),
Lance. Cts, 39 8.0. 1227,
59 L.Ed. 2d 462 a see eg e's « 9

Hurd v. Illinois Bell Tel .Co.,.

iii

234 F.2d.1, 942 (7th Cir.),
352 U.S. 918, 77 S.Ct. 216,
1 L.Ed.2d 124 (39S6 ) om ieanes oon ee

Nachman Corp. v. Pension Benefit
Guar. Corp... £46 U.S. 399 ..cccccaseserl

Plaxal], 541 F.Supp. at 1391........-+-10

Pratt v. Petroleum Prod. Mngmt.
Employee Sav. Plan, 920 F.2d 65

(20¢h e888 i 3 ioe seuss er, ee a Pe ae
Quimby v. Boyd, 128 U.S. 488.........-.. 2
Waters-Pierce Oil Co. v. Texas

No. 1, 212 GaGa OF RAP OOR 6 ch heh cea ees 1
Weil I, 750 Fe2d at L2.ccceccvecececees 11

Weil v. Retirement Plan Admin-
istrative Committee, 913 F.2d

1045 (2nd Cir.1990) ccc ecercccsees rey S|

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

U.S. Const. Art I Sec. 10... eeeeee tea
Nev. Const. art 4, sec. 33. eer eerseees 4
OE SR ee a rar ee eR at ae £ @./ F2
Retirement Equity Act 1984

CP .1.98-397) . ccc ccce res civeccccevers 13
SO We BOE OE BOG < cco cv cceccccecceccecsse 12
IRS, 26 USC BESTA IAG) oe cet cceces . Fae + eee &

pe ee NN ee ee eee ee ee £5. 37
96 USC 4126) C8). cccesc. eee he Pi eae 15
Sec. 709, Rev. Stat. U.S. cee eeeeeeeeces 2
IRS, 26 CFR (4-1-94 Ed.)

ROS ED Te eee ee ee 3
IRS Regulation 1.401(a)-11(b)....------ 16
IRS Regulation 1.401(a)-12.....-..+-+-- 17
IRC Regulation 1.411(a)-8T.....-+eeeees 12
IRS Regulation 1.411(d)-4

(4-1-94 Ed.) Q 2.ceeeeeeeeees oo 26 27
IRS Regulation 1.411(d)-4

(4-1-94 Ed.) Q&A“6... cere cece erevnes 14
IRS Regulation 1.4110€4)-4(2) ccc ccccces 17

In the argument section of its op-

posing brief to case no. 94-573, Petition
for Writ of Certiorari by Donald R. and
Barbara J. Mello, the state of Nevada
claims that "it is well accepted that
this court will not review a decision of
a state court resting upon independent
and adequate state grounds.”

However, in Waters-Pierce Oil Co v.
Texas No. 1, 212 U.S. 97 (1908), this
Court stated, "The jurisdiction of this
court to review the proceeding of the
state courts, as we have had frequent oc-
casion to declare, is not that of a gen-
eral reviewing court in error, but is
limited to the specific instances of de-
nials of Federal rights, whether those

pertaining to the constitutionality of
Federal or state statutes, or to certain

rights, immunities and privileges of Fed-

eral origin, specially set up in the

state court and denied by the rulings and

judgment of that court. Sec. 709, Rev.
Stat. U. S. Nor does this court sit to
review the findings of facts made in the
state court, but accepts the findings of
the court of the State upon matters of
fact as conclusive, and is -confined to a
review of questio fe) edera aw within
the jurisdiction conferred upon this
court.” (Emphasis added.) Quimby v.
Boyd, 128 U.S. 488; Egan v. Hart, 165
U.S. 188; Dower V. Richards, 151 U.S.
658. What is more an issue for this
court to decide than a pension case that
is required to abide by federal law and
regulation, yet doesn't, thereby causing
a grievous breach of contract violating
Art. I Sec. 10 of the U. S. Constitution.
The matter before this Court is
breach of a retirement contract between

Donald R. and Barbara J. Mello and the

state of Nevada which caused the forfei-

ture and reduction of retirement pension
benefits.

This has resulted in former Senator
Mello receiving a greatly reduced bene-
fit, with penalties, for which he has
neither applied or agreed.

And these are federal issues as de-
clared by this Court in Alessi v.
Raybestos-Manhattan, Inc., 451 US 504, 68
L.Ed.2d 402, 101 S.Ct.1895; "Congress
having established pension plan regula-
tion as exclusively a federal concern
and, . . . pension terms themselves be-
coming expressions of federal law requir-
i reemptio int iv =
(Emphasis added. )

Therefore Nevada law can only dic-
tate when former Senator Mello can begin

collecting the increased benefits in

which he vested upon his retirement. And

that would be January 1, 1991, the natu-

ral expiration of his term of office,
unless this Court decrees that like other
legislators, as detailed in the Petition,
Mello's term of office ended when he re-
tired and the Washoe County Commissioners
appointed Peggy O'Neil to replace him for
the November 21,1989, special session of
the Legislature. Nothing in the Nevada
Constitution says the legislature cannot
increase their benefits, only they can't
receive them during the term of office
when they were increased. Nev. Const.
art. 4, sec. 33.

The state of Nevada in its opposing
brief again makes reference to the incor-
rect portion of ERISA and the U.S. Code
that govern state and local government
pensions. Title II of ERISA and subse-

quent federal laws amending ERISA and 26

uSC are the areas of federal law and reg-

ulation that govern the Legislative Re-

tirement System (LRS) and state of Nevada
Public Employees Retirement System
(NPERS).

These are the federal laws where
Congress continues to extend the time
allowing state and local governments to
bring their pension plans into compliance
with federal law, and the reason Congress
has authorized the Internal Revenue Ser-
vice to formulate model amendments within
the Code of Federal Regulations for state
and local government pension systems to
adopt; the Model IID amendments (see 26
CFR Ch I (4-1-94 Edition) that would pre-
vent the breach of contract normally pro-
tected by 26 USC 411(d)(6) and allow ret-
roactive amendments to these plans; yet
the Legislature of the state of Nevada
never knew of these modei amendments and

therefore never passed any of the four

—_ >

when they illegally repealed the in-

creased benefits granted to legislators.
Congress also allowed state and lo-
cal governments to adopt a "grandfather”
clause to protect the benefits of those
who had retired or earned benefits in
excess of the limits set by 26 USC 415.
Nevada adopted this grandfather clause
July 5, 1991, making it retroactive to
January 1, 1991; 15 months after the
retirement of state Senator Donald Mello,
thereby protecting the excess benefits of
his pension. At no time prior to re-
questing the legislation to adopt this
"grandfather" clause did Wilbur Keating,
Executive Officer of NPERS inform the
legislature of the need to adopt a pro-
tective clause, the existence of the
limits on pension benefits, or the provi-
sions available to protect the benefits

earned by any Nevada public employee. At

5 a
oe
+ ae

no time did Keating inform the legisla-

ture of the provision allowing the estab-
lishing of an “optional form of benefit”
plan that would avoid breaching the re-
tirement contracts of vested legislators.
In Nachman Corp. v. Pension Benefit
Guar. Corp., 446 US 359, this Court up-
held the ERISA definition of a "“nonfor-
feitable benefit" as follows: "The term
‘nonforfeitable’ when used with respect
to a pension benefit or right means a
claim obtained by a participant or his
beneficiary to that part of an immediate

or deferred benefit under a pension plan

which arises from the participants ser-
vice, which is unconditional, and which
is legally enforceable against the plan.”
(Emphasis added.)

Also in Nachman, supra, this Court

"relies on the fact that the terms

"nonforfeitable’' and ‘vested’ were often

a eee

used interchangeably in the legislative
materials. This usage is said to be sig-
nificant because in the pension field a
benefit is usually said to ‘vest' when a
pension plan participant has fulfilled
all the specified conditions for eligi-
bility, such as age and length of ser-

vice.” (Emphasis added.)
Therefore, Senator Mello's benefits

had ‘vested’ upon his retirement because

he met all the specified conditions need-
ed at that time to be eligible for his
pension.

In Pratt v. Petroleum Prod. Mngmt
Employee Sav. Plan, 920 F.2d 65 (10th
Cir. 1990) the district court determined
that the plan was liable on two indepen-
dent grounds: reduction of an accrued

benefit under ERISA and breach of con-
tract. "We [U.S. Court of Appeals 10th

Circuit] agree with the district court.”

The Appeals Court goes on to say

a "pension plan is a unilateral contract
which creates a vested right in those
employees who accept the offer it con-
tains by continuing in employment for the
requisite years.” (Emphasis added.)
Hurd v. Illinois Bell Tel. Co., 234 F.2d
1, 942 (7th Cir.) cert. denied, 3352-05
918, 77: $ Ct. 216, “fT BiB 2S TSU CIE)
accord tloefel v. Atlas Tack Corp., 58l
F.2d, 4-5 (ist Cir.1978), cert denied,
440 U.S. 913, 99 S.Ct. 1227, 59 L.Ed. 2d
462 (1979).

In Pratt, supra, the Court contin-
ued, "The fiduciaries are required to
administer the plan “solely in the inter-
est of the participants and beneficia-
ries." This was clearly not done by ei-
ther Will Keating or the Members of the

NPERS Board as evidenced by their lack of

informing the legislature, all of whom

are required by law to be members of LRS,

of the need to comply with federal law.
As the Court continued with Pratt,

supra, "When plaintiff was terminated,

defendant was required to determine bene-

fits in accordance with the plan then in

effect." (Emphasis added.) See Brug v.

Pension Plan, 669 F.2d 570, 575-76 (9th
Cir.), cert denied, 459 US 861, 10 S.Ct.
1955 34 1. Bas. 24 146 (1962); Danti v.
Lewieé, 322: 8.240 345, 349 (D.C. Cir.
1962); Plaxall, 541 F.Supp. at 1391;
Denzer, 474 F.Supp. at 391; Denzer, 474
F.Supp. at 766. "Subsequent unilateral
adoption of an amendment which is then
used to defeat or diminish the plaintiffs

fully vested rights under the governing

plan document is not only ineffective but

also arbitrary and capricious. (Emphasis
added.) See Brug, 669 F.2d at 574-76;

Danti, 312 F.2d at 348-49; Denzer, 474

10

a ‘
\

F.Supp. at’ 766.

In Weil v. Retirement Plan Adminis~
trative Committee, 913 F.2d 1045 (2nd
Cir.1990) regarding who in the federal
government was responsible for overseeing
pension plans, the court stated, "We ac-
cord ‘great weight’ to these regulations
and rulings since the IRS [Internal Reve-
nue Service] is the agency responsible
for administrating the partial termina-
tion statute." Amato v. Western Union
Int'l Inc., 773 F.2d 1402, 1415 (2d
Cir.1985), Cert. dismissed, 474 US 1113,
106 S.Ct. 1167, 89 L.Ed. 2d 288 (1986);
Weil I, 750 F.2d sat 22.

Although the Nevada LRS was not par~
tially terminated, the retroactive amend-
ment of the 1989 Special Session of the

Legislature resulted in breach of Mello’'s

retirement contract, after he retired and
began receiving benefits, and forced him,

il

without choice, as allowed by IRC

1.411(a)-8T, to accept benefits under the
previous schedule, which resulted in his
receiving a 28.5 percent reduction in
those old benefits because of his age of
55 years at the time of retirement.

Since the passage of ERISA and the
amendments to 26 USC 401 et seq. the In-
ternal Revenue Service has promulgated
many regulations that apply to pension
plans. These include 1,411(d)-4,(2) Sec-
tion 411(d)(6) protected benefits that

may be eliminated or reduced. This reg-

1(4) Change in statutory re-
quirement. A plan may be amended to
eliminate or reduce a section
411(d)(6) protected benefit if the
following three requirements are met:
the amendment constitutes timely
compliance with a change in law af-
fecting plan qualifications; there is
an exercise of section 7805(b) relief
by the Commissioner; and the elimina-
tion or reduction is made only to the
extent necessary to enable the plan
to continue to satisfy the require-
ments for qualified plans. In gener-

12

Ce
RS

¢ the

—

quirement .

ulation became effective January 30,

1986, and the 1987 and 1989 sessions of
the Legislature were never informed.

The Retirement Equity Act of 1984
(P.L. 98-397) clarifies the scope of the
prohibition against decreases in the ac-~
crued benefit of a participant. The Act

prohibits the elimination or reduction of

an early retirement benefit by a plan

amendment that changes the basis for de-
termining actuarial equivalency with
respect to previously accrued benefits
except as to amendments approved by the
Secretary of the Treasury. However, the

elimination or reduction of a retirement

limination or reduction of a
11(d)(6) protected benefit
be treated as necessary if
sible through other modifi-
plan (e.g. by expand-
a3 14 ¢ tions}

nefit to additional employ-
itisfy the applicable quali-
? (Emphasis

Senator Mello satisfied all requirements

of the LRS, including the early retire-
ment benefit, with no penalties, prior to
his retirement and prior to the repeal of
the early retirement benefit. (Emphasis
added.)

According to IRS regulation
1.411(d)-4, "Q&A-6, a plan may not be
amended to eliminate or reduce a protect-
ed benefit that has already accrued, even
if the elimination or reduction is con-
tingent upon the employee's consent.
Senator Mello never consented to the
elimination or reduction in his benefits,
was never asked, and his legal represen-
tative was not allowed to address either

house of the legislature. In Costantino

14

v. TRW, Inc., 773 F.Supp. 34 (N.D. Ohio
1991), “It is now well established that
legislative Acts adjusting the burdens
and benefits of economic life come to
this Court with a presumption of consti-
tutionality, and that the burden is on
one complaining that the legislature has
acted in an arbitrary and irrational
way. 467 U.S. TI?, 7295 166° S.C ares,
2717, 81 L.Ed.2d 601.

Regulation 1.411(d)-4, (4-1-94 edi-
tion) Q-2: “To what extent may section
411(d)(6) protected benefits under a plan
be reduced or eliminated?" A-2: (a) “Re-
duction or elimination of section
411(d)(6) protected benefits--(1) In gen-
eral. A plan may not be amended to elim-
inate or reduce a section 411(d)(6) pro-
tected benefit that has already accrued,
except as provided in section 412(c)(8)

and 4281, and in paragraph (b) of this

15

Q&A-2. This is generally the case even

if such elimination or reduction is con-

. , ”
(Emphasis added.) See footnote 1 and
above.

IRS regulation 1.401(a)-11(b) Defi-
nitions.(4) “Qualified early retirement
age. The term “qualified early retire-
ment age” means the latest of -- (i) The
earliest date, under the plan, on which
the participant could elect (without re-
gard to any requirement that approval of
early retirement be obtained) to receive
retirement benefits (other than disabili-
ty benefits)." The LRS specified no age
requirement for early retirement, only
the completion of 30 years of service, of
which up to five years could purchased.
Senator Mello elected to purchase 3 years
3 months of service time which gave him

the required 30 years.

16

Ree et

oi
s
“a
e
4
:)
te
:
a
:
;

IRS regulation 1.411(d)-4 Section
411(d)(6) protected benefits. Q-1: “What
are ‘section 411(d)(6) protected
benefits'? A-1: "(a) In general. The
term ‘section 411(d)(6) protected
benefit’ includes any benefit that is
described in one or more of the following
categories--(2) Early retirement benefits
and retirement type subsidies described
in section 411(d)(6)(B)(i), including
qualified social security supplements ad
defined in sec. 1.401(a)-12."

Senator Mello met all the require-
ments in the LRS plan at the time of his
resignation and retirement midnight Sep-
tember 30, 1989. It was after that date,
November 21,1989, that the Legislature in
Special Session met to repeal the LRS
benefits it had increased by overriding

the Governor's veto June 23, 1989.

The Attorney General of Nevada

claims that the repeal was not done for

political reasons. Then why did her dep-
uty have entered into the court record
copies of stories from the Nevada Ga-

zette-Journal and Sparks Tribune which

demonstrated the highly political nature
of the LRS benefit increase? Why did
she, the Washo~ district court, and Neva-
da Supreme Court make such an issue of
the petition that Common Cause threatened
to circulate if the increases had not
been repealed, if this was not a politi-
cal issue?
APOLOGY

Our sincere apologies to this Honor-
able Court for including information in
our petition that was not part of the
record. We are aware Washoe District
Court judge granted the state's request
for a protective order to prevent the

Court Administrator from testifying as to

18

pensions for individual judges. But we
understood that the judge allowed our
attorney to enter into the record the
information about various judges that we
had gleaned from public record.

CONCLUSION

Petitioners respectfully request
that this Honorable Court approve the
Petition for a Writ of Certiorari as sub-
mitted.

Dated: November 2, 1994.

Respectfully submitted,
Donald R. Mello and
Barbara J. Mello

Pro Se

6061 Rio Vista Lane
Carson City, Nevada 89701

Telephone: 702-885-8772

19

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0530%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
