# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Athmann v. North Slope Borough

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0522%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 513 U.S. 1001

## Text

Supreme

Court, U.S.
rit?

E D

94 565 SEP 26 199
No.

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

LYNN ATHMANN, JEFF DEUTSCH,
MICHAEL DONOVAN, ROBERT KROGSENG,
JAMES LOMER, MICHAEL McCARTHY,
SAMUEL DAVID REAL, TIM ROUTEN,
ANDREW TOOYAK, JR., and HANNS WEISS,

Petitioners,
VS.
NORTH SLOPE BOROUGH,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Counsel for Petitioners

Randall G. Simpson

JERMAIN, DUNNAGAN & OWENS, P.C.
3000 A Street, Suite 300

Anchorage, Alaska 99503

(907) 563-8844

Atl ll i nh wit 9 eee = ee —see

l.

i ti es

i
QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Whether when an employer’s payroll records and time
sheets are concededly false and inaccurate, the
plaintiff police officer estimates of uncompensated
overtime work were sufficient to shift the burden of
proof under Mt. Clemens.

Whether a _ flextime system which requires
nonconsecutive hours of work that are performed at
unscheduled and indeterminate time periods over 24
hours, 7 days a week to be offset by undetermined
hours of non-activity at some unscheduled and
intermittent time periods in the future is inimicable to
the broadly remedial and humanitarian purposes of the
Fair Labor Standards Act.

li

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

In addition to the parties named in the caption, the
following plaintiffs were parties below: Roy Ruffino,
Marlin "Duke" Circle, Daniel Nelson, Dan Shirey,
William Earwood, Rick Swanson, and Jerald MacFarland.

ne

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ........ i
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING ..........-.---. il
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ...........----++: iv
‘e060 3) | l
ST ee eee eee ]
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND
STATUTES INVOLVED .......- 2-2 ceesccees 2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ........-.----:: 3
ee ee ee ee 3
ee ae ee 3

C. The Benefit to NSB in Contracting for 24-Hour Police
Ee ea ee ee ee 4

D. NSB Adopted A Flextime Policy Which Applied Only

To Village Assignments .........-.-+++-+- 8
E. NSB Concededly Maintained False Time Records of
Officer’s Villiage Time .........-.--++-+-- 9
F. How the Questions for Review Were Raised ... 10

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ....... 12

iV

A. The Ninth Circuit’s Interpretation of the Officers’

Burden of Proof Is Squarely In Conflict With the U.S.
Supreme Court’s Decision In Mt. Clemens Given
NSB’s Failure to Maintain Accurate Records. .. 12

B. The Ninth Circuit’s Decision Is Also Squarely In

Conflict With Decisions of Other Circuit Courts of
RE eae UAa ean sc arcane ee 14

C. The Unique "Flextime" System Employed by NSB

Wee CS EE og oo oe oo a ORG Ree ee 19

D. Several Reasons of Importance Require the U.S.

Supreme Court’s Review of NSB’s Novel and Unique

PRE WUD och ce ae uacak aw aea 25
CE a chs a Vode ke be orcas ae ae ee 28
PE IE bia ao eo eae ee aed App. 1
og ere en ear re App. 3
EEE -< 0-5 wb wale 3 xe App. 5
PE OP so nk ake eo aoe ae App. 21

SE © os cee App. 30

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

FEDERAL CASES Page

Anderson v. Mt. Clemens Pottery Co.,
py Bie Me 8). | ere 11, 12, 14, 15, 16,
17, 18, 23, 26, 28

Brock v. Seto,

790 F.2d 1446 (Sth Cir. 1986)... 2. 2 2 eee ees 16, 26
Brooklyn Savings Bank v. O'Neal,

SE TE Be i is aa Ss eee eens a3
Castilo v. Givens,

oy 8 je. Le A, .) ere ee 15
DePasquale v. Williams-Bauer Corp.,

E51 Pe Fe Gee Gs FD ost cern ccs ces i8
Donovan v. Williams Oil Companies,

ive ® & <8). Go 3) :) Sere 15
Fegley v. Higgins et. al.,

Pee abe Fo te S| rere 15
Garcia v. San Antonio Metropolitan Transit Authority,
Peek BF). . rr ore ree ee ae es 26
Martin v. Deiriggi, 985 F.2d 129 (4th Cir. 1992) ... 15

Secretary of Labor v. DeSisto,
929 F.2d 789 (ist Cir. 1991) .. 2... cee eee ee ees 15

v1

FEDERAL RULES AND STATUTES

ae es he oe reer eee 16, 17, 22
rR ll er ere ee were re 3
ee as FOU 6 ko 66 6A eee 3, 10, 17, 18, 22
a Se OF OO Cb 6 0 ee ee eee eee 3
ST ks eee a ue BA eee 11
SEs 6 Wak oe Re 2 ee ee eee 1]
Ss ss bw eo k's oe eee eee 11, 17
MISCELLANEOUS

Franklin Roosevelt, Public Papers and Address "The
Constitution Prevails," 1937 Volume, The McMillan Co.,
New York 1949, pp. 210 - 211; quoted in Nordund, A
Brief History of the Fair Labor Standards Act, 39 Labor
Pe: Sree ee 23

OPINIONS BELOW

On June 27, 1992, the United States District Court for
the District of Alaska after jury trial, issued a Judgment
dismissing claims of plaintiff police officers for unpaid
overtime and wages brought against the North Slope
Borough of the State of Alaska. A copy is printed in
Appendix A, pp. 1 - 2. An Amended Judgment and
Order was entered November 18, 1992. A copy is
printed in Appendix B, pp. 3 - 4. The United States
Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit affirmed the lower
court’s decision on May 23, 1994. The decision was not
published and is reproduced in Appendix C, pp. 5 - 20.

JURISDICTION

The Judgment of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit was entered on May 23, 1994. A
Petition for Rehearing to the Ninth Circuit was denied on
June 29, 1994. This Petition for Writ of Certiorari is
filed within ninety days of the denial of the Petition for
Rehearing. Jurisdiction of the United States Supreme
Court is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1) and
U.S. Supreme Court Rule 10.1(a).

2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND
STATUTES INVOLVED

Since the statutory provisions involved are lengthy,
the citations alone are set forth below. The pertinent text
is set forth in Appendix D, pp. 21 - 29.

United States Code

Fair Labor Standards Act
29 U.S.C. § 207(a) and (k)
29 U.S.C. § 211(c)
29 U.S.C. § 216(b)

Code of Federal Regulations
29 C.F.R. § 516.2

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

F.R.C.P. Rule 50(a)
F.R.C.P. Rule 50(b)
F.R.C.P. Rule 59

3
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. The Claim.

Seventeen police officers brought this action against
the North Slope Borough ("NSB") asserting violations of
the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938 ("FLSA").' The
officers demanded unpaid overtime resulting from their
assignment to the seven remote villages of NSB to
provide a 24 hour police presence in those villages. See
Map, App. E. Often the officer was the sole NSB officer
for periods of 3 to 14 months.

Officers prosecuted claims for unpaid overtime under
two alternative theories. See 29 U.S.C. § 207(a), 211(c),
and 216(b). First, each officer estimated hours worked
and unpaid due to an unlawful flextime schedule
employed by NSB. Second, each officer alleged a claim
based upon uncompensated "on call" time. This petition
relates only to the first claim based upon the officer’s
estimate of uncompensated overtime hours for extra hours
of work "stretched" over 24 hour days and 7 days a week
by NSB’s novel and unprecedented "flextime" policy.

B. The Plaintiffs

The police officers came to NSB with varying degrees
of experience. Some officers had as much as 10 years of
law enforcement experience in police departments of
other states and had received commendations for heroism.
Reporter’s Transcript "RT" V 86; RT II 117. Others
were fresh recruits out of college. One officer was a

| Of the original 17 only 10 join in this Petition.

4

young female who had always wanted a career in law
enforcement. RT VII 17. She chose to work for NSB
over a job offer with the Tacoma police department. /d.
at 20. One plaintiff was an Alaska Native, born and
raised in the NSB village of Point Hope. RT II 250.
Another officer came to NSB with 22 years of experience
as an Air Force pilot, attaining the rank of major with
distinguished and decorated service in Vietnam. RT IV
217.

C. The Benefit to NSB in Contracting for 24-Hour
Police Presence.

The populations of NSB villages range from as little
as 100 to as much as 500-600 residents. As the result of
the experience of alcohol-related violence, village
residents became dependent on and demanded a constant
law enforcement presence to preserve the peace. RT V
170. The village residents wanted it and it was the desire
of NSB to provide that service. RT II 113. NSB’s mayor
emphasized provision of 24-hour police service to the
villages as part of his administration. RT VII 87.

? NSB enjoys a strong financial depth due to annual
revenue from taxation based on oil reserves of $250-300
million. Exhibit (""Ex.") 152-55. NSB is a home rule
municipality the size of the State of Montana, which is
located in the far north section of Alaska. See App. E. It
is Alaska’s wealthiest local government with a tax base
including the North Slope oil fields and northern section
of the Trans-Alaska Pipeline assessed at more than $12
billion. The mayor of NSB testified that in the years
1987 through 1990, the budget reserves of the NSB were
in excess of $100,000,000 for each of those calendar

(continued...)

5

When it is understood that these seven villages are
scattered across the entire North Slope (See Map App. E),
police protection provided only by long distance from
Barrow was unsatisfactory. According to the Director of
Public Safety, each officer was assigned to a village to
become the "chief of police" of the village. The officers
were engaged to take care of anything that arose in the
village and "keep the peace."’ RT VI 265, 269.

Even the most quiet NSB village can become
extremely violent with the introduction of alcohol. Each
of the officers testified to personal experiences with the

2(...continued)
fiscal years. RT VII 91; Ex. 220. During those same
budget years, the Department of Public Safety budget for
all operations in Barrow and the villages ranged between
$4,500,000 and $5,500,000. Jd. With such numbers, NSB
could afford the expenditures of monies needed to assign
police personnel to permanent village assignments.

> The deputy director of the NSB Department of
Public Safety also testified that it was the policy of NSB
to provide 24-hour law enforcement service to village
residents of the Borough and that village residents
deserved and expected such service from the Borough.
RT V 182 and 164-A. Despite this goal, each of the
officers often served as the sole law enforcement
representative of NSB in the villages for significant
periods of time. (Officer Krogseng spent 21 two week
payroll periods alone in village assignment) RT IV 234;
Ex. 59, (Officer Tooyak, 31 two week payroll periods
alone). RT III 151-152; Ex. 156.

6

sometimes violent and explosive situations resulting from
alcohol or drug abuse. Officer Lomer recounted the
experience of having shots fired at his house, causing him
to direct his wife, 5 months pregnant, and her cousin,
who was also pregnant, to lie on the floor to stay out of
the line of fire. RT VI 137-139. Officer Swanson
testified to having a .44 magnum pointed at his head and
being told "You’re going to die." RT IV 130-131.
Officer Athmann testified about her experiences entering
buildings where drunk and agitated residents were either
hreatening to commit a crime or had actually shot
themselves or other family members. RT VII 35-36; 50-
51. Officer Real testified to a man arriving at his door at
3:00 to 3:30 a.m., cut in several places and bleeding all
over himself. The man said his brother had hit him in
the head with an axe and had a rifle and was holding
some children hostage in the house at the other end of the
village. RT VI 238-239.

Village residents demanded, and NSB required, that
the officers be available for service of any kind at any
time, day or night, and even on ostensible "regular days
off." Even in the absence of violent crime, requests for
officer services varied widely, from a mother and
daughter fight at a village school RT V 110 to a son
disturbed that his father was going to use up all the good
water in the family water tank. RT VI 136. One officer
was ordered by NSB to take care of the village residents’
tax claim forms with the IRS even though it was his
purported scheduled "day off." RT II 137-138. As one
veteran police officer put it: "There are just an endless
number of things that I certainly was not used to as being
part of police work.". RT VI 221. Officers also had to
interdict and control the influx of alcohol into the
villages, whether the villages were "wet" (open access to
alcohol), "damp" (possession legal but importation illegal)

7

or “dry” (all possession and importation of alcohol
illegal).* RT I 150, 153.

The officers were assigned NSB housing _ that
contained two NSB telephones located in the officer’s
living area and in the bedroom. CR 316-324. Each
officer had CB radios at home, in the NSB vehicle and
carried hand-held radios with ranges of one to two miles.
Id. There was no dispatcher to screen calls or requests
for service made by telephone or radio. Jd. Officers
were approached and requested for service at any time,
day or night.

* Officers also performed the function of jail guard,
even if the only jail available in the village was the
public safety officer’s patrol vehicle. RT II 130. They
had to care for prisoner provisions, including meal
preparation and cleaning the prisoner’s cell and "honey
bucket", the bush Alaska toilet. RT I 139-141; III 227;
VI 106. Officers had to perform mechanical work on all
NSB vehicles, including snow machines and 3-wheelers.
RT VI 217. Officers needed to learn the cultural and
social life of the village. Officers were encouraged to
become part of the community. They participated in
Eskimo festivals and games. RT VI 113-114. As the
native officer put it, the Inupiat translation of public
safety officer is "someone who takes people away." He
saw his role as public safety officer to show the village
residents that "this was not always the case." RT Il 265.
Officers had to be the medical examiner to determine
cause of death, RT VI 219. Officers were required to
respond to barking dogs and control vicious dogs running
loose because of the problem of rabies. RT VI 220.

8

D. NSB Adopted A Flextime Policy Which Applied
Only To Village Assignments.

In 1986 the FLSA became applicable to public
employers. NSB officers were informed by their
supervisors that no overtime would be paid to officers
assigned to a village and they were actively discouraged
from_making such claims for overtime. RT V 93-94; VI
121-124. The assumption was that officers were paid for
40 hours a week in the village and any extra hours could
be traded out by employing "free" hours as flextime on
quiet days to come later in the week. RT V 95.

Under NSB’s flextime policy, only actual response
time of an officer to an official request for service was to
be counted toward the 40 hours per work week.’ Other
than three hours a day for office time, NSB officially set
no scheduled hours of work. Officers were expected to
be available for work any day, and any hour, whether it

was designated as a regular day off or even an official
holiday.

Long hours of work in the middle of the night were
to be offset or "flexed" against "quiet time," the next day
or later in the week. RT XI 62-63; RT V 93. Under the
flextime policy, a 3:00 a.m. call-out and response to a
gun call was traded out for allegedly equivalent "quiet
time" at some undetermined time during some day in the
future. RT II 106-107. At trial, even NSB’s own officer

> After April 1988, and the attempted adoption of 29
U.S.C. § 207(k) partial exemption, village officers were
paid on basis of 75 hours in a two-week payroll period.
Officers were then to keep their work to 37-1/2 hours a
week.

9

witness, Officer Hinken, admitted that determining when
an officer was on duty or off duty under the flextime
schedule was a "vague" and "gray area." RT XI 79.

The NSB director admitted that there was no system
for tracking the hours and minutes of this village flextime
schedule. RT XI 63.° NSB didn’t produce any records
to show when flextime began or ended on day-by-day,
week-by-week or any time period.

Since there was admittedly no mechanism to track
flextime, an officer didn’t know when flextime began or
ended or when overtime was being accrued. RT I 199.
If an officer complained to his sergeant about working
excessive hours, the sergeant could and did dismiss such
claims with the instruction to "flex" the time out later.
RT II 125; X.1 58-59. However, this excuse was
quickly followed with the admonition that the officer
could not leave the village uncovered nor refuse to
respond to a call for service while he was "flexing" his
time. RT IV 135; VI 241. As one of NSB village
supervisors reported in an official memo, the village
officer was "trapped" in the village on uncompensated
standby time. Ex. 43.

E. NSB Concededly Maintained False Time Records
of Officer’s Village Time.

NSB admitted that the daily timesheets of officers
were filled out by a supervising sergeant in Barrow. RT

6 NSB counsel again admitted to the Ninth Circuit
panel at oral argument that there was no NSB system to
track these flextime hours.

10

V 191. NSB admitted that, in virtually all cases, these
time sheets were signed by the officer in blank and later
filled out without officer input. Each timesheet with only
minimal deviation showed 8-hour days for 5 consecutive
days each week without any fluctuations. /d. 200.

NSB’s Deputy Director further conceded that such
timesheets did not accurately reflect the actual time of
officers working in the village. /d. at 206. Finally, he
admitted that the Department knew that the entire system
of recording actual work time for the officers was false
and misleading. Jd. 207.

F. How the Questions for Review Were Raised.

Prior to trial, the officers moved for partial summary
judgment on liability on the following two issues among
others:

(1) that NSB violated its record keeping obligation under
Section 11 of the FLSA, 29 U.S.C. § 211(c); and

(2) that NSB’s "flextime" scheme, which had no start and
no end, was illegal under the FLSA, particularly when
coupled with lack of accurate records of hours worked in
"flexing" time. Clerks Record (CR) 126.

This motion was denied. CR 150.

The officers also filed a motion in limine to preclude
NSB from introducing evidence concerning NSB’s illegal
"flextime" system. CR 110. This motion was also
predicated on NSB’s conceded record keeping violations.
This motion was denied. CR 150. The officers also filed
a motion in limine seeking to preclude NSB’s use of
flextime evidence because it did not constitute proper

11

rebuttal evidence of "accurate estimates" of time worked
under Mt. Clemens. This motion was also denied. CR
198. Finally, at trial, the plaintiffs made an oral objection
to evidence concerning NSB’s "flextime system" because
it was illegal per se under the Fair Labor Standards Act.
RT 1 12 - 15. This motion was denied. /d.

At the close of the trial, the officers again moved for
judgment under Rule 50(a) Federal Rule of Civil
Procedure based upon each officer’s estimate of
additional and uncompensated work time from _ their
recollection and review of police records and diaries.
NSB did not rebut this evidence with evidence of exact
hours worked. Instead, NSB offered only its flextime
system to demonstrate officers should not have had
uncompensated time. RT XIV 37 - 38. The officer's
motion was denied. Jd.

The jury returned a verdict for NSB finding inter alia
that there had been no record keeping violation and no
uncompensated work time of the officers. CR 328. The
officers then filed a motion for JNOV under Rule 50(b).
CR 331. The officers also filed a motion for new trial
under Rule 59 based on the "absolute absence of
evidence" to support the jury finding of no record
keeping violations under the FLSA. Both motions were
denied. CR 345. The Ninth Circuit, in an unpublished
MO], affirmed the jury verdict.

12
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

A. The Ninth Circuit’s Interpretation of the
Officers’ Burden of Proof Is Squarely In
Conflict With the U.S. Supreme Court’s
Decision In Mt. Clemens Given NSB’s
Failure to Maintain Accurate Records.

In Anderson v. Mt. Clemens Pottery Co., 328 US.
680 (1946) the U.S. Supreme Court set forth the burden
of proof required in FLSA cases where records are
inadequate or inaccurate. In Mt. Clemens the Court
specifically identified the problem manifested in the case
at bar. How does an employee demonstrate a violation of
the FLSA and uncompensated overtime when the duty
and ability to keep adequate records rests solely with the
employer?

The Court recognized that when an employer, who
has the statutory duty to maintain records, has not done
so, the "solution ... is not to penalize the employee by
denying him any recovery on the ground that he is unable
to prove the precise extent of uncompensated work." Jd.
at 687. In this instance, the Court imposed a significant
burden on the employer. Once the employee has
provided some evidence of performance of work for
which he was improperly compensated and the amount
and extent of that work "as a matter of just and
reasonable inference," then the employee has carried his
burden. The Court further held that:

The burden then shifts to the employer to come
forward with evidence of the precise amount of
work performed or with evidence denying the
reasonableness of the inference to be drawn from
the employee’s evidence. /d. (emphasis added).

13
Id. at 687-88.

The Ninth Circuit in its Memorandum Decision
("Decision") determined that the officers had failed to
satisfy a two step process before the burden shifted to
NSB:

In order to take advantage of this shifting burden
of proof, the employee must demonstrate the
employer kept inadequate work records and that
he has performed work for which he was not
compensated. The jury found against the officers
on both points. (emphasis in the original).

See Decision, Appendix C at 17. This was error.

First, in the case at bar the deputy director of NSB
admitted that accurate payroll records of village officers
were not kept by NSB. Marshall testified as follows:

Q: Isn’t it a fact that village public safety
officers’ payroil time sheets do not accurately
reflect the time they worked in the villages in
question?

A: That is correct.

Q: Isn’t it true that that’s one of the requirements
of the FLSA?

A: Yes sir. Yes, sir, that is correct.
Q: And isn’t it true that the Department of Public

Safety knew that the whole system was false
and misleading?

i

14
A: I think that’s probably fair.

RT V 206 - 207.

Second, since there were no accurate records of their
time, each officer was faced with proving a violation of
the FLSA and his hours of uncompensated work without
payroll records to prove it. As a result each officer
testified to his/her actual hours worked in the evening,
late night and on regularly scheduled days off above and
beyond the normal 8-hour (or 7.5 hour) five day a week
schedule the NSB had arbitrarily assigned to each officer.
The officers reconstructed and _ estimated these
uncompensated hours to the best of each officers’ ability,
assuming that a free hour or quiet half hour during the
normal work day could not be adequately "flexed" to
compensate them for work performed for an hour or half
hour after midnight or for work on an alleged day off or
alleged holiday.

Assuming that the officers were entitled to "estimate"
such hours of work beyond a normal "“unflexed" work
day, then this evidence was sufficient to establish that he
or she had performed work for which he or she was not
compensated. Nonetheless, the Ninth Circuit denied the
vificers the benefit of the Mt. Clemens lower burden of
proof, because it required the officers to prove with
precision their uncompensated hours of work, rather than
estimate them, before the burden would shift to NSB.

B. The Ninth Circuit’s Decision Is Also Squarely
In Conflict With Decisions of Other Circuit
Courts of Appeal.

In addition, several United States Circuit Court of
Appeals have ruled that under Mt Clemens the

15

employees’ initial burden is a minimal one. Secretary of
Labor v. DeSisto, 929 F.2d 789, 792 (ist Cir. 1991).
Holding that the testimony of one employee witness was
insufficient to carry the burden for 244 employees, the
court nonetheless noted that:

Where the employer has failed to keep adequate
employment records, it pays for that failure at trial
by bearing the lion’s share of the burden of proof.
(emphasis added).

Id. at 792.

Similarly the Sixth Circuit held that an employee
carried his burden of proof under Mt. Clemens by his
own testimony and his own estimate of hours of
uncompensated work he performed. In Fegley v. Higgins
et. al., 19 F.3d 1126, 1132 (6th Cir. 1994) the court held
that under Mt. Clemens an employee is entitled to a lesser
burden of proof to demonstrate that the employee has
worked uncompensated hours. Jd. The court stated:
"(wle find that the court [below] placed too heavy of a
burden on the plaintiff." Jd. In Fegley, the trial court
had denied the employee’s claims for overtime because it
could not "extrapolate" from the plaintiff's evidence
including the plaintiff's own testimony of his schedule
and hours as to "whether Fegley [plaintiff] worked more
than 40 hours in any particular week." /d. at 1132. This
"reduced" or "minimal" burden of proof for showing the
extent of uncompensated work when an employer fails.to
keep adequate and accurate records of employee wages
and hours has been generally acknowledged. See Martin
v. Deiriggi, 985 F.2d 129, 132 (4th Cir. 1992). Donovan
v. Williams Oil Companies, 717 F.2d 503, 505-06 (10th
Cir. 1983), Castilo v. Givens, 704 F.2d 181, 194 (Sth Cir.
1983). Interestingly, even other published decisions of

16

the Ninth Circuit recognized that under Mf. Clemens
employees are permitted to use "accurate estimates" to
meet their initial burden of showing a violation of the
FLSA. Brock v. Seto, 790 F.2d 1446, 1448 (9th Cir.
1986).

Significantly, despite the fact that NSB’s payroll
records were "in some cases concededly false," the
district court erroneously refused to grant the officer’s
motion for summary judgment on the record keeping
violations of NSB. CR 150. It is indisputable that NSB
did not "maintain and preserve... the starting time and
length of each employee’s work period," as required by
29 C.F.R. § 516.2(a)(5). Nor did NSB record the
officers’ "[hjours worked each workday." Jd. at (a)(7).
Instead, the court determined to allow the jury "... to
apply the federal wage and hour act to the modern day
equivalents of Wyatt Earp, Bat Masterson (or perhaps
more appropriately Sgt. Preston of the Royal Canadian
Mounties) who also provided police service in rural
areas." CR 274 at 3. As a consequence, NSB was able
to argue at trial that record keeping "really doesn’t matter
a blip." RT XIV 123.

Despite the absence of any evidence to refute the
falseness of the payroll records, the jury by Special
Verdict interrogatory determined that no record keeping
violations by NSB had occurred. By that response, the
jury was next instructed to apply a more stringent burden
of proof on the officers to show uncompensated work.
As a result, the village officers’ estimates of actual
overtime hours worked beyond the 40-hour work week
was no longer sufficient to meet the employees’ burden
of proof that they performed uncompensated work. In
this manner, the federal court has permitted a jury to
nullify the law established by this Court’s decision in Mt.

a

17

Clemens. NSB was rewarded for its record keeping
violations, and instead of NSB facing the lion’s share of
the burden, this burden was placed at the feet of the
police officers. The police officers filed a motion for
new trial under Rule 59 based in part on this "absolute
absence of evidence" to support the jury finding on
record keeping. CR 331.

The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals countenanced this
contortion of Mt. Clemens on several grounds. First, the
court opined that NSB had produced evidence that the
signing of blank timesheets and falsification of payroll
records procedure was “instituted to insure that the village
officers were paid on time." Decision at App. 17. Since
the villages were remote and there was no regular mail
service, the decision seems to ask, what else could NSB
do? Id.

There is no "good faith" excuse for an employer’s
lack of valid record-keeping practices. The requirement
of record-keeping is absolute. See, 29 U.S.C. § 211(c)
and 29 C.F.R. § 516.2. There is no exception to an
employer’s obligation to maintain accurate payroll records
under the FLSA due to remoteness of the job site or the
logistical difficulties presented by bush Alaska.

Moreover, officers could have been paid on a delayed
rolling two week or even three week basis. In fact, this
process was described at trial by a former Chief of
Montana Highway Patrol for paying rural officers. RT
III 38 - 41. He described how rural officers kept daily
notebooks for review by supervisors and mailed
timesheets to those supervisors for later review. Id.
Then, these rural officers in Montana were paid on a two
week delayed basis. /d.

18

Second, the court also excused these violations
because the officers received their pay stubs and could
have reported any discrepancies. Decision at App. 17.
There is no requirement in a law that employees have a
duty to complain or report deliberate inaccuracies in the
payroll records. DePasquale v. Williams-Bauer Corp.,
151 F.2d 578, 579-80 (2d Cir. 1945) (estoppel defense
does not arise from failure to object at the time of
acceptance of payment). Recordkeeping is_ the
employers’ duty under the FLSA. 29 U.S.C. § 211(c).

Finally, the Ninth Circuit decision implies that record-
keeping violations were rebutted by evidence that NSB
put fax machines in the villages in the Fall of 1989.
Decision at App. 17. Interestingly, this action was taken
only after the instant lawsuit was filed in June, 1989.
After the use of fax machines started, more overtime was
paid to officers - most likely because more accurate and
complete record-keeping was possible. As Officer
Donovan testified at trial: "after July 1989 (date the
lawsuit filed). . . officers in the villages were then
authorized overtime. The practice has carried through to
today." RT VII 139. Despite this ameliorative result of
the lawsuit, NSB benefitted mightily from its false
timekeeping practices.

This case is a transgression of the principles
announced in Mt. Clemens by this Court and the
decisions of the several circuit courts of appeal. This
Court’s supervision is required to uphold the uniformity
of federal law and compliance with Mt Clemens
sanctions for employers who purposefully violate the
record-keeping requirements of the FLSA. This law must
apply to the employer in bush Alaska with the same force
as it applies to police departments in Los Angeles.

19

C. The Unique "Flextime" System Employed
by NSB Violates the FLSA.

The decision of the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals
also upheld the NSB’s novel flextime procedure on the
grounds that the FLSA and its implementing regulations
do not require work of a set number of hours per day or
"require an employee to serve in consecutive hours each
day." Decision at App. 14. The officers submit that this
raises an important question of federal law which should
be decided by the U.S. Supreme Court.

NSB’s flextime system for its police officers is not
based upon traditional notions of this liberal employment
concept. Normally a flextime work schedule is any full
time schedule where employees do not work a traditional
8 to 5, Monday through Friday work week. The work
schedule is either delayed or advanced at the preference
of employee to accommodate demands such as day care
or education. These flextime systems are usually adopted
at the request of employee for the employee’s benefit.

Conversely, NSB’s flextime system differed in that it
required an officer to trade out actual work time when
things heated up in the village against some undetermined
and unknown "quiet time" of indeterminate length (10
minutes or 10 hours) to occur sometime later in the work
week or pay period. This flextime procedure was
concededly adopted by NSB to meet its goal of paying no
overtime to village officers even though they were
sometimes assigned to villages alone for extended periods
of duty.

Plaintiffs were dispatched to reside in remote villages
and told to "flex" their time in order to avoid accrual of
overtime. RT I 198; Ex. 35, 39, 51. This system

20

applied only to village officers and not to officers
Stationed in Barrow. RT I 199.

NSB formalized the flextime schedule by the "Village
Work Schedule" memorandum of the Director in January
of 1988. Ex. 39. Under this policy, the village office was
to be open for only three hours a day, five days a week.
The officer was directed to "use the remaining 22.5 hours
as flexible time [for] call out, emergencies, and meetings
and other business associated with maintaining a village
post." /d. The officer was instructed to work only the
exact number of hours necessary to respond to village
needs on a 24-hour basis 7 days a week including the
officer’s ostensible two days off.

In practice this was unworkable. For example, the
officers noted that actually putting an inebriated village
resident in detox might involve a short time period.
However extended hours were worked after that just
watching and caring for the prisoner until the effects of
the alcohol wore off. These long hours of work, usually
occurring after midnight, were to be traded off with
supposed "quiet time" in the village in the following
afternoon or perhaps spread over several alleged days of
light duty. Hours of work from 2 a.m. to 5 a.m. are not
equivalent to the same hours from 2 p.m. to 5 p.m. where
the officer was still available for village residents’
demands.

Under NSB’s flextime scheme, an officer could be off
duty intermittently until there was a specific call to duty
by a village resident. It was undisputed that even while
on "quiet time" flexing out prior work hours, each officer
was required to remain available to respond to any village
resident’s request for service on a 24-hour basis.
However, not until the officer received a call, grabbed his

21

gun, and responded to a call for service or wrote an
incident report would NSB consider the officer "on duty"
with time accruing under the flextime system. See RT
XI 58.

At trial, Officer Weiss testified why flextime didn’t
work as a means of limiting the number of hours of
work.

Q: And why didn’t you flex your time?

A: I think maybe initially I tried, but flextime is a
concept that simply didn’t work. So it was pretty
well given up by myself shortly after my
assignment to Anaktuvuk Pass.

Q: And why in your experience didn’t it work?

A: Well, again there was really no accounting for
that. The concept was you would spend a certain
number of hours in the office and then respond to
other calls as they occurred. Very frequently |
found that the number of hours that I was allowed
to stay in the office simply wasn’t enough to
service that community and do the things that |
needed to do. So on the general basis, I wound
up still putting in 6, 7 hours a day at the office
and then responding to all the cali outs as they
occurred. Beyond that, if I did use a flex
procedure for perhaps 12 hours one day and tried
to work only 4 hours the next day, at the end of
that 4 hour block inevitably something would
come up that I would have to respond to. So that
flexed off time really wasn’t free of association
with the job. I still had to respond to anything
that occurred. So there was no real divorce from

22

work during that period. In practice, I just found
it to be totally unworkable.

Q: Was there any attempt by the North Slope
Borough to track flextime?

A: No. There was no mechanism provided to me, no
effort to do that.

Q: Did you know when flextime was to begin and
when it was to end?

A: No. I didn’t know when flextime began or ended
anymore than I knew when I got into a situation
of overtime.

RT I 198 - 199.

Officers argued and made repeated applications to the
court that this flextime policy was illegal under the
FLSA. The grounds for ruling it was illegal were
several. First, it is undisputed that NSB never made any
attempt to track or record flextime hours. There was no
attempt by NSB to record the admittedly fluctuating daily
work hours of officers in a village assignment all in
violation of 29 U.S.C. § 211(c) and 29 C.F.R. § 516.2.

NSB, instead, argued that it expected officers to "use
common sense" and exercise discretion to track their "flex
hours" properly. Officers submit that under the FLSA,
this was an improper shifting of the statutory duty to
keep accurate records. Moreover, as it turned out, the
penalty for the failure to keep these required records of
work was ultimately placed on to the shoulders of
employees.

23

Second, NSB argued that officers understood that they
were supposed to "track their flextime" and any failure
that might have caused overtime was the officer’s
problem. This permitted NSB to use flextime as a sword.
Thus, flextime is illegal. It was used as a means to
obtain employee waiver of the statutory right to overtime
required by the FLSA. As this Court ruled in Brooklyn
Savings Bank v. O’Neal, 324 U.S. 697, 707 (1945), "No
one can doubt that to allow waiver of statutory wages by
agreement would nullify the purposes of the Act."
Further, NSB attacked officer estimates of uncompensated
work by accusing the officers of disobeying the direct
order to flex their work time. RT II 28. Since NSB
chose not to have time records of flextime, the flextime
procedure and its use as a defense created an
unreasonable and illegal burden of proof that was
improper under Mt. Clemens.

Third, the NSB flextime procedure permitted NSB to
"stretch" hours of one employee over 24 hours, 7 days a
week. Such "stretching" of employee’s work is
inimicable to the founding principles of the FLSA.’ The
NSB knew and the Department of Public Safety superiors
conceded that to provide 24-hour police presence in the

"In 1937, President Roosevelt argued that "[a] self-
supporting and self-respecting democracy can plead no
justification for the existence of child labor, no economic
reason for chiseling workers’ wages or stretching
workers’ hours." (emphasis added), Franklin Roosevelt,
Public Papers and Address "The Constitution Prevails,"
1937 Volume, The McMillan Co., New York 1949, pp.
210 - 211; quoted in Nordund, A Brief History of the Fair
Labor Standards Act, 39 Labor Law J. 715, 719 (1988).

24

villages with traditional 8-hour shifts as was used in
Barrow, it would require at least four or five officers.
RT VIII 9 - 10. NSB was fully aware that the 24-hour,
7 days a week readiness to respond created excessive
strain on the lives of officers assigned to the village.
Officers could not be expected to provide such services
indefinitely. RT V 183 - 185. NSB also had to know
that a single officer assignment to a remote village would
absolutely result in overtime. It was recognized and
generally acknowledged by NSB superiors that such 24-
hour engagement for an extended period of time was
responsible for "officer burnout," particularly when the
officer was assigned to the village alone. RT V 185 -
186.

The remedial purpose of the FLSA is clear. Congress
enacted the overtime provisions of the FLSA to place a
heavy financial burden on employers to _ ensure
employment of additional employees. NSB’s flextime
procedure frustrated this policy of the FLSA. Instead of
hiring additional officers to provide 24-hour coverage, the
NSB determined to "stretch" a single police officer’s time
to cover a village for 24 hours and avoid payment of
overtime.

The flextime example described in the Decision of the
Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals consisting of uneven work
days of three hours one day, ten hours the next, etc. was
not NSB’s flextime procedure for its officers. See
Decision at App. 14. A twelve, or fourteen hour day was
to be made up in increments of hours or minutes or
seconds of "quiet time” where an officer was standing
ready at any hour of the day or night for any village
resident’s request for service. Flextime occurring over 24
hours from early morning hours to late evening hours to

25

hours after midnight is not flextime -- it is working 24
hours a day.

Officers submit that such a system to frustrate the
ameliorative purpose of the FLSA is inimicable to that
federal law. NSB should have been precluded from using
flextime to stretch hours of work as a defense to the
demand of overtime hours made by each officer for work
performed beyond the normal eight hour day and on
regular days off.

D. Several Reasons of Importance Require the
U.S. Supreme Court’s Review of NSB’s Novel
and Unique Flextime Procedure

First, NSB will continue to man village assignments
with one or two village officers to cover those villages on
a 24-hour basis, seven days a week. Although fax
machines are in place in each village, by the decision of
the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals, NSB has been told
that its flextime policy is perfectly acceptable under the
FLSA. As a result, officers of NSB continue to be
required to "stretch" their time so that NSB can meet its
24-hour police presence and law enforcement needs in
remote villages with minimal staffing expense. Violation
of federal law is alive and well on the North Slope of
Alaska.

Second, the "burnout" and turnover of officers in
village assignments continues unabated. As long as
flextime continues as an acceptable means of avoiding
accrual of overtime, NSB will not commit any resources
to ensure officers are properly compensated for remote
village assignment. It is interesting to note that of the 17
officers who filed this lawsuit, filed in June, 1989, only
two remain employed with the NSB Department of Public

26

Safety. These remaining two are also employed in
Barrow, not in the villages.

Third, this Court’s supervision is required to address
the question of what is a permissible employer defense to
"estimates" of uncompensated work time under M..
Clemens. Once an employer, as NSB, has violated the
record keeping requirements of the FLSA, what evidence,
if any, other than "evidence of the precise amount of
work performed" may an Employer present to "negative
the reasonableness" of employee estimates. Anderson v.
Mt. Clemens Pottery, 328 U.S. at 687. NSB’s illegal
flextime system and any evidence which does not
"specifically and expressly" rebut the inferences from
employee evidence should not be permitted. Jd. at 693.
See_also, reference to extent of rebuttal discussed in
Brock v. Seto, 790 F.2d at 1448.

Fourth, there existed and more likely than not
continues to exist a blatant disregard for the requirements
of federal law in the North Slope Borough of Alaska.
Deputy Director Marshall was assigned by the Director of
the Department to address NSB’s compliance with the
FLSA after this Court’s decision in Garcia v. San
Antonio Metropolitan Transit Authority, 469 U.S. 528
(1985). He had studied the application and requirements
of FLSA to police departments at the Southern Police
Institute in Kentucky, a training center for law
enforcement personnel. RT V 186. In that study he
concluded as follows:

Faced with this fact, it would probably be best if
agencies affected by the Act [FLSA] adopt the
tactics of the legendary unnamed, perennially
victimized woman who said, *When_rape_is

27

inevitable, one might as well relax and enjoy it.’
While this writer, in common with most
administrators finds little to enjoy in applying the
Fair Labor Standards Act to the operation of his
[Police] agency, knowledge of the major
provisions of the Act can at least allow him a
certain measure of relaxation in dealing with it.
(emphasis added).

RT V 189 - 190.

A major, significant and wealthy public employer in
the State of Alaska found "little to enjoy" in complying
with federal law. In response, NSB superiors embarked
on a concerted and well thought out system to avoid the
financial impact of that federal law. In December of
1987, Deputy Marshall prepared a memo to the Chief
Administrative Officer of NSB. In this memo he
identified the "Statement of the Problem" as:

Fairly rigid requirements as to work weeks and
work hours within the work week that are set
forth by the North Slope Borough Personnel Rules
have created the potential for viable demands for
Overtime payment far in excess of the budgetary
allocation for such payment. . . It is the author’s
purpose in this document to present for
administrative consideration the available options
under the FLSA which would allow for increased
flexibility of scheduling and reduction of overtime
accrual and to suggest methods of implementing
those options which would be consistent with the
NSB Personnel Rules. (emphasis added)

Ex. 51. It was immediately after this memo by Deputy
Marshall and its statement of the problem, that Director

28

Martin distributed his memorandum on the village officer
work schedule of January 1988. Ex. 39. As noted, he
required three hours a day for office work in the village
five days a week, but he then instructed that the
remaining 22.5 hours for seven days was to be flexed by
the officers. Flextime was the method employed to avoid
the "problem" with the FLSA identified by Marshall.
Flextime to stretch officer hours provided the "increased
flexibility of scheduling for reduction of overtime
accrual." Ex. 51.

Finally, this Court should not permit NSB to nullify
or deaden the impact of the Act by forcing its officers to
juggle intermittent minutes of "down time" with
unrecorded work time at 6 a.m., midnight or 3 a.m. in
order to avoid its obligation to pay under the FLSA. This
Court’s supervision is required to state that the FLSA
does apply to rural police forces, the modern day
equivalent of Wyatt Earp, whether in Alaska or Montana.
This Court should review this novel procedure of the
NSB in flexing officer time over 24 hours and prevent
this abuse of the law.

CONCLUSION

Each officer estimated his or her actual hours of
uncompensated overtime assuming that flextime did not
offset those hours worked during alleged quiet times in
the normal 8 - 5 day. Petitioning officers estimated their
hours of uncompensated overtime at trial with a specific
total number of hours. Under Mt. Clemens, this proof
was sufficient to meet each officer’s minimal burden to
shift to NSB the duty to come forward with evidence of
precise hours worked. NSB did not even attempt such
proof but instead attacked the unreasonableness of the

29

officers failure to live and work by its flextime
procedures. This Court should reverse and remand for an
order entering judgment for each of these officers at the
amount of each one’s estimated overtime hours.

DATED this 26th day of September, 1994.

RANDALL G. SIMPSON
JERMAIN, DUNNAGAN & OWENS, P.C.

Attorney for Petitioners

App. |

APPENDIX "A"

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF ALASKA
AT ANCHORAGE

No. A89-319 Civil

ROY RUFFINO, ROBERT KROGSENG,
RICK SWANSON, JEFF DEUTSCH,
MARLIN "DUKE" CIRCLE, MICHAEL
DONOVAN, ANDREW TOOYAK, JR.,
DANIEL NELSON, MICHAEL
McCARTHY, HANNS WEISS, TIM
ROUTEN, LYNN ATHMANN, RONALD
W. EARWOOD, JAMES LOMER,
JERRY McFARLAND, SAMUEL DAVID
REAL and DAN SHIREY, on behalf
of themselves and all other
employees of the North Slope
Borough similarly situated,

Plaintiffs,
VS.
NORTH SLOPE BOROUGH,
Defendant.
JUDGMENT IN A CIVIL CASE
& Jury Verdict. This action came before the Court for

a trial by jury. The issues have been tried and the jury
has rendered its verdict.

App. 2

O Decision by Court. This action came to trial or
hearing before the Court. The issues have been tried or
heard and a decision has been rendered.

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED

THAT the plaintiff take nothing, that the action be
dismissed on the merits, and that the defendant NORTH
SLOPE BOROUGH recover of the plaintiffs ROY
RUFFINO, ROBERT KROSGENG, RICK SWANSON,
JEFF DEUTSCH, MARLIN' CIRCLE, MICHAEL
DONOVAN, ANDREW TOOYAK, DANIEL NELSON,
MICHAEL MCCARTHY, HANNS’ WEISS, DAN
SHIREY, JAMES LOMER, RONALD EARWOOD,
SAMUEL DAVID REAL, LYNN ATHMANN, §and
JERRY MCFARLAND the costs of action.

Total costs taxed by the clerk in the amount of
$19,809.92 in favor of defendant and against plaintiffs.

APPROVED: Costs retaxed disallowing total of
$1,900.24 by order of magistrate Judge John D. Roberts.

/s/
U.S. DISTRICT COURT JUDGE

DATE: June 27, 1993 /s/ Phyllis Rhodes
Clerk

/s/ Inez Lee
(By) Deputy Clerk

App. 3

APPENDIX "B"

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF ALASKA
AT ANCHORAGE

No. A89-319 Civil

ROY RUFFINO, ROBERT KROGSENG,
RICK SWANSON, JEFF DEUTSCH,
MARLIN "DUKE" CIRCLE, MICHAEL
DONOVAN, ANDREW TOOYAK, JR.,
DANIEL NELSON, MICHAEL
McCARTHY, HANNS WEISS, TIM
ROUTEN, LYNN ATHMANN, RONALD
W. EARWOOD, JAMES LOMER,
JERRY McFARLAND, SAMUEL DAVID
REAL and DAN SHIREY, on behalf
of themselves and all other
employees of the North Slope
Borough similarly situated,

Plaintiffs,
VS.
NORTH SLOPE BOROUGH,
Defendant.
AMENDED JUDGMENT IN A CIVIL CASE

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED:

App. 4

That the plaintiffs take nothing, that the action be
dismissed on the merits, and that the defendant North
Slope Borough recover of the plaintiffs Roy Ruffino,
Robert Krogseng, Rick Swanson, Jeff Deutsch, Marlin
"Duke" Circle, Michael Donovan, Andrew Tooyak, Jr.,
Daniel Nelson, Michael McCarthy, Hanns Weiss, Dan
Shirey, James Lomer, Ronald W. Earwood, Samuel David
Real, Lynne Athmann, Jerry McFarland and Tim Routen
the costs of action.

Total costs taxed by the clerk in the amount of
$19,809.92 in favor of defendant and against plaintiffs.

Costs retaxed disallowing total of $1,900.24 by order
of Magistrate Judge John D. Roberts.

Total costs after retaxation recoverable by defendant
North Slope Borough from plaintiffs is $17,909.68.

APPROVED this 18th day of November, 1992.

/s/
JUDGE OF THE U.S. DISTRICT COURT

App. 5

APPENDIX "C"

Not For Publication
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT
No. 92-36866
D.C. No. CV-89-00319-JKS

ROY RUFFINO; RICK SWANSON; JEFF DEUTSCH;
MARLIN "DUKE" CIRCLE; MICHAEL DONOVAN;
ANDREW JR. TOOYAK; HANNS SWISS;
LYNNE ATHMANN; RONALD W. EARWOOD;
JAMES LOMER; JERRY McFARLAND;
SAMUEL DAVID REAL; TIM ROUTEN;
ROBERT KROGSENG and DAN SHIREY, on behalf
of themselves and all other employees of
the North Slope Borough similarly situated,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,
VS.
NORTH SLOPE BOROUGH,
Defendant-Appellee.
MEMORANDUM
Appeal from the United States District Court
for the District of Alaska

James K. Singleton, District Judge, Presiding

Argued and Submitted April 7, 1994
Seattle, Washington

App. 6

Before: TANG, BOOCHEVER, and REINHARDT,
Circuit Judges

Appellants are former or current law enforcement
officers employed in remote Alaskan villages by the
North Slope Borough Department of Public Safety ("the
Borough"). The officers brought an action pursuant to
the Fair Labor Standards Act ("FLSA"), 29 U.S.C. §§
201-219 (1988), for overtime compensation. The district
court denied various motions brought by the officers, and
rendered judgment based on the jury’s verdict for the
Borough. The officers appeal.

We have jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1291 and
affirm.

DISCUSSION

I. The compensability of on-call time

The FLSA _ requires overtime compensation for
employees who work beyond 40 hours per week. See 29
U.S.C. § 207(a)(1). However, public agencies are exempt
from paying overtime to fire protection and law
enforcement personnel for a certain period beyond 40
hours per week according to the formula set forth at 29
U.S.C. § 207(k). Applying this formula, the Borough
need not pay overtime to the officers until they serve over
85 hours per two-week pay period.

We addressed the applicability of overtime provisions
to "on-call" time in Owens v. Local No. 169, 971 F.2d
347 (9th Cir. 1992). To determine whether on-call time
is spent "predominantly for the employer’s benefit" and
thus is compensable under the FLSA, Armour & Co. v.

App. 7

Wantock, 323 U.S. 126, 133 (1944), we look to "(1) the
degree to which the employee is free to engage in
personal activities; and (2) the agreements between the
parties." Owens, 971 F.2d at 350.

Courts have considered a number of factors in
determining whether an employee plaintiff had use
of on-call time for personal purposes: (1) whether
there was an on-premises living requirement; (2)
whether there were excessive geographical
restrictions on employees movements; (3) whether
the frequency of calls was unduly restrictive; (4)
whether a fixed time limit for response was
unduly restrictive; (5) whether the on-call
employee could easily trade on-call
responsibilities; (6) whether use of a pager could
ease restrictions; and (7) whether the employee
had actually engaged in personal activities during
call-in time. Such a list is illustrative, not
exhaustive. No one factor is dispositive.

Id. at 351 (footnotes and citations omitted).

Some of the factors favor the officers’ claim {or
overtime on-call compensation while alone in the village.
The Borough required 24-hour coverage of the villages.
If an officer was covering a village alone with no partner,
the officer was required to stay within the area (usually
within 1-2 miles of the village) to ensure radio contact
and quick response time. There were thus rather rigorous
geographica! restrictions on the officers’ movements.

The officers also presented evidence that they were
subject to interruptions due to the villagers’ direct access
to the officers’ homes. However, the record on appeal

App. 8

does not establish that these interruptions occurred after
the required hours per week had been served. Cf. Renfro
v. City of Emporia, Kan., 948 F.2d 1529, 1538 (10th Cir.
1991) (fire fighters required to answer an average of four
to five calls per day during off-duty time were entitled to
overtime compensation), cert. dismissed, 112 S. Ct. 1310
(1992).

Finally, officers serving alone in the village could not
trade on-call responsibilities. In Owens, the on-call
policy was held not to create compensable waiting time in
part because as part of an on-call pool, the employees
could decline to respond to after-hours calls. 971 F.2d at
357. Cf. Brock v. El Paso Natural Gas Co., 826 F.2d
. 369, 373-74 (Sth Cir. 1987) (on-call policy not unduly
restrictive in part because employees could trade on-call
responsibilities).

Other factors cut against the officers’ claim for
compensable on-call time. The officers serving with a
partner were not subject to such excessive geographical
restrictions, the frequency of after-hours calls was
reduced, and the partners could trade on-call status.

Most significantly, even the officers serving without a
partner were able to engage in a substantial number of
personal activities while on-call. The officers hunted and
fished, exercised, engaged in various hobbies, socialized,
took educational courses, and even worked second and
third jobs. The evidence indicated that there were often
long periods with little official enforcement activity in
which the officers were free to pursue their personal
interests.

App. 9

While no one factor is dispositive, Owens, 971 F.2d
at 351, the Department of Labor regulations focus on the
employee’s ability to engage in other activities while on-
call. 29 C.F.R.' § 785.15 states that on-call time is
compensable where "the employee is unable to use the
time effectively for his own purposes." This court has
found the nature of the personal activities in which an
employee participated while on-call "an essential factor in
the Supreme Court’s "primarily for the benefit of the
employer’ test." Owens, 971 F.2d at 356.

Moreover, courts have consistently held on-call time
noncompensable where employees were able to
participate in a substantial number of non-work activities
while on-call. See Gilligan v. City of Emporia, Kan., 986
F.2d 410, 413 (10th Cir. 1993) (on-call restrictions on
personal activities of water and sewer department
employees "not so prohibitive that it can be said that their
on-call time is spent predominantly for the employer’s
benefit"); Owens, 971 F.2d at 353 (plaintiffs able to
attend out-of-town sporting events, golf, bowl, attend
church, take out-of-town trips on the weekends, engage in
other employment, coach children’s teams, attend school,
participate in athletics, dine at restaurants, watch movies,
fish and hunt, etc.); Bright v. Houston Northwest Medical
Center Survivor, Inc., 934 F.2d 671, 673 (Sth Cir. 1991)
(en banc) (plaintiff engaged in other activities away from
work, such as shopping and occasionally going to
restaurants), cert. denied, 112 S. Ct. 882 (1992); Boehm
v. Kansas City Power and Light Co., 868 F.2d 1182,
1185 (10th Cir. 1989) (free to use off-duty time as
wished); Halferty v. Pulse Drug Co., 864 F.2d 1185, 1189
(Sth Cir. 1989) (on-call time not compensable where
ambulance dispatcher who worked at home could
entertain guests, sleep, watch television, do laundry, and

App. 10

babysit); Norton _v. Worthen Van Serv., Inc., 839 F.2d
653, 566 (10th Cir. 1988) (compensation denied where
on-call time spent at friends’ homes, church, laundromats,
restaurants, and _ recreational facilities, demonstrating
ability to engage in personal activities even where
required to respond within fifteen to twenty minutes).
But see Cross _v. Arkansas Forestry Comm’n, 938 F.2d
912, 916-17 (8th Cir. 1991) (on-call time compensable
where the plaintiffs’ activities were restricted by having
to monitor radio transmissions).

While the officers serving alone did not receive
respite from the 24-hour on-call status, they were
nonetheless able to engage in a substantial number of
personal activities. As in Owens, the broad scope of
activities in which the officers were involved
"demonstrates that each [officer] had the option to engage
in personal activities of his [or her] choice while on call."
Owens, 971 F.2d at 353.

Moreover, "[w]hether time is spent predominately for
the employer’s benefit [is] dependent on all the
circumstances of the case," Armour & Co., 323 U.S. at
133, and whether "such time falls within or without the
Act is a question of fact to be resolved by appropriate
findings of the trial court." Skidmore v. Swift & Co.,
323 U.S. 134, 136 (1944). The jury found that none of
the officers had compensable on-call time. This finding
is supported by substantial evidence in the record.

App. 11

The district court properly denied the motions for
directed verdict, JNOV, and new trial’ 4A fortiori, the
motion for partial summary judgment was _ properly
denied due to the existence of genuine issues of material
fact regarding the restrictiveness of the officers’ on-call
status.”

'The denial of a motion for directed verdict under Fed. R. Civ. P.
50(a) and a motion for judgment notwithstanding the verdict under
Fed. R. Civ. P. 50(b) are reviewed de novo. Erickson v. Pierce
County, 960 F.2d 801, 804 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 113 S. Ct. 815
(1992) (standard for reviewing JNOV); /n re: Hawaii Federal
Asbestos Cases, 960 F.2d 806, 816 (9th Cir. 1992) (motions
reviewed under same standard). A directed verdict is proper if the
evidence permits only one reasonable conclusion as to the verdict, /n
re: Hawaii, 960 F.2d at 816, and a jury verdict is affirmed upon
motion for JNOV if there is substantial evidence supporting the
verdict. Landes Construction Co. v. Royal Bank of Canada, 833
F.2d 1365, 1370-71 (9th Cir. 1987). "Substantial evidence is such
relevant evidence as reasonable minds might accept as adequate to
support a conclusion even if it is possible to draw two inconsistent
conclusions from the evidence." /d. at 1371.

The denial of a motion for new trial under Fed. R. Civ. P. 59 is
reviewed for an abuse of discretion. Landes, 833 F.2d at 1372. A
new trial will not be granted unless the verdict is against the clear
weight of the evidence. /d.

The denial of a motion for summary judgment is reviewed de
novo. Federal Deposit Ins. Corp. v. O'Melveny & Meyers, 969 F.2d
744, 747 (9th Cir. 1992), cert. granted, 114 S. Ct. 543 (1993). This
court must determine whether, viewing the evidence in the light most
favorable to the nonmoving party, there are any genuine issues of
material fact and whether the district court correctly applied the
relevant substantive law. /d.

App. 12

Il. The "flextime" system

Under the "flextime" system, officers were required to
set-off extra hours worked in one day against "down
time" during another day. The former Director of the
Department of Public Safety, Larry Packer, testified that
the Borough was concerned with the overall hours the
officers worked during a two-week pay period (75 hours),
although the officers’ time cards reflected 7.5 hours of
work per day.

The Borough personnel policies specify that each
officer is required to work 37.5 hours per week,’ the
scheduling of the hours is left to the discretion of the
officer, each officer shall have two days off per week at
his or her discretion (subject to prior approval), and that
the schedules "should be flexed as the particular needs of
each village dictate[].". Overtime is paid for hours
worked over 85 in any two-week pay period, and for over
12 hours worked during any 24 hour period.

The officers argue that due to the intermittent hours
worked, the flextime system allowed the Borough to
circumvent paying overtime to the officers. But, as
explained below, the flextime system, itself, did not
prevent the payment of overtime. To a considerable
extent, the officers’ real complaint is with the record-
keeping system: the officers could not claim that the
flextime system was used to circumvent paying overtime
if they agreed that an accurate record of hours worked

*Prior to July, 1987, the officers were required to work 40 hours
per week.

el

App. 13

per day had been kept. The claims relating to the
Borough’s record-keeping are addressed in the next
section.

The officers also claim that there was "no known or
consistent beginning or end [to the work period]: so that
no one "would know how many hours had been worked
in any given day, week or month or when an overtime
hour was reached." [Opening brief at 19.] However,
there was indeed a defined two-week pay period. That an
officer did not know how many hours had been worked
in a given period of time is, again, an allegation regarding
the failure of the record-keeping system.

The next complaint about the flextime system is that
it is in reality a "compensatory time-off" policy, which
the officers contend is illegal because the Borough’s
flextime system does not conform to 29 U.S.C. §
207(0).* The officers imply that extra hours worked
during a pay period were required to be "flexed"outside
of that pay period at some future time (thus avoiding the
Borough’s responsibility to pay overtime for that pay
period). However, the officers point to nothing in the
record that proves that the flextime system was

*§ 207(0) provides, in part:

Employees of a public agency . . . may receive, in
accordance with this subsection and in lieu of overtime
compensation, compensatory time off at a rate not less than
one and one-half hours for each hour of employment for
which overtime compensation is required by this section.

App. 14

implemented in this way.’ Uneven work days
throughout a pay period does not create a compensatory
payment system. Only when time off is given in lieu of
Overtime is a compensatory time system in place.

Finally, the officers briefly contend that the flextime
system "allows an employer an indirect method of
asserting impermissible waiver, estoppel, and good faith
defenses." [Opening brief at 24 (footnotes omitted).]
The officers fail to explain this argument. We "will not
ordinarily consider matters on appeal that are not
specifically and distinctly raised and argued in
appeliant’s opening brief." International Union of
Bricklayers & Allied Craftsmen Local Union No. 20 v.
Martin Jaska, Inc., 752 F.2d 1401, 1404 (9th Cir. 1985)
(emphasis added).

The officers do not point to provisions of the FLSA
or its implementing regulations which require an
employee to work a set number of hours per day, or
which require an employee to serve in consecutive hours
each day. The FLSA prevents an employer from

*The testimony cited for this assertion does not support the
claim that hours were "flexed" against a future pay period. [RT II
125 (Routen) (when he told his supervisors that he had worked more
than eight hours that day, he was told "Take the next day off."); RT
V 23 - 30 (Krogseng) (discussed situation where he had exceeded 75
hours in two-week period and had overtime approved for subsequent
time; he agreed that he was never told that he had to work more than
75 hours without overtime pay); RT VI 240 - 42 (Real) (when
worked long hours for two days, told to "flex it out" and take an
extra day off); RT X 58 - 59 (Packer) (Testified that officers would
get overtime if they had run out of their time, but that if they hadn’t
exceeded their assigned number of hours, they would take care of
calls “out of their flexible time".]

App. 15

requiring an employee to work more than a certain
number of hours per week without paying overtime.
There is nothing in the FLSA that would prevent the
Borough from requiring the officers to work uneven work
days (such as three hours one day, ten hours the next,
etc.), as long as the time worked over the two-week
period does not exceed 85 hours without payment of
overtime. Accordingly, the officers have failed to
demonstrate that they are entitled to judgment as a matter
of law that the flextime policy violates the FLSA.

Furthermore, the jury found that none of the officers
performed additional work time for which they had not
been paid, thus rejecting the officers’ claims that they
worked over the maximum number of hours per two-
week pay period due to the operation of the flextime
system. The motions for partial summary judgment,
directed verdict, JNOV, and new trial, all of which raised
these arguments, were properly denied.

III. The record-keeping system

The FLSA requires employers to keep accurate
records of employee hours worked. See 29 U.S.C. §
211(c) ("Every employer . . . shall make, keep, and
preserve such records of the persons employed by him
and of the wages, hours, and other conditions and
practices of employment maintained by him. . . ."); 29
C.F.R. § 516.2(a) ("Every employer shall maintain and
preserve payroll or other records containing the following
information: (7) Hours worked each workday and total
hours worked each workweek."); 29 C.F.R. § 516.6(a)
("Each employer required to maintain records under this
part shall preserve ... (1)... all basic time and earning
cards or sheet on which are entered the daily starting and

App. 16

stopping time of individual employees . . . or the amounts
of work accomplished by individual employees on a
daily, weekly, or pay period basis.").

The officers contend that the Borough failed to keep
accurate records and therefore should have had the
burden of proof to disprove the officers’ estimate of
overtime worked. In Anderson v. Mt. Clemens Pottery
Co., 328 U.S. 680, 686-688 (1946), the Supreme Court
held that where the employer has failed to keep accurate
and adequate records of hours worked and the employee
proves he has not been compensated for work done, the
burden of proof shifts to the employer to rebut the
estimate of hours worked by the employee.

An employee . . . has the burden of proving that he
performed work for which he was not properly
compensated. .. .

When the employer has kept proper and accurate
records, the employee may easily discharge his
burden by securing the production of those records.
But_ where the employer’s records are inaccurate or
inadequate and the employee cannot offer convincing
substitutes, a more difficult problem arises. The
solution, however, is not to penalize the employee by
denying him any recovery on the ground that he is
unable to prove and precise extent of uncompensated
work. Such a result would place a premium on an
employer's failure to keep proper records in
conformity with his statutory duty; it would allow the
employer to keep the benefits of an employee’s labors
without paying due compensation as contemplated by
the [FLSA]. In such a situation we hold that the
employee has carried out his burden if he proves that

App. 17

he has in fact performed work for which he was
improperly compensated and if he produces sufficient
evidence to show the amount and extent of that work
as_a matter of just and reasonable inference. The
burden then shifts to the employer to come forward
with evidence of the precise amount of work
performed or with evidence to negative the
reasonableness of the inference to be drawn from the
employee’s evidence. If the employer fails to
produce such evidence, the court may then award
damages to the employee, even though the result be
only approximate.

Id. at 687 (emphasis added). See also McLaughlin v. Ho
Fat Seto, 850 F.2d 586, 589 (9th Cir. 1988), cert. denied,
488 U.S. 1040 (1989).

In order to take advantage of this shifting burden of
proof, the employee must demonstrate that the employer
kept inadequate work records and that he has performed
work for which he was not compensated. The jury found
against the officers on both points: the Borough had not
failed to keep accurate and adequate payroll records and
one of the officers performed additional work for which
they had not been paid.

The officers introduced evidence that until 1989,
blank signed timesheets of the village officers were filled
out by the supervising officers in Barrow to reflect 7.5
hours of work per day. Deputy Director of Public Safety
John Marshall agreed that the Borough’s timesheets did
not accurately reflect hours worked each day by the
village officers.

App. 18

As previously noted, the officers worked in isolated
villages, often with no regular means of transportation to
the Borough headquarters at Barrow and without regular
mail service. The Borough presented evidence that this
procedure was instituted to ensure that the village officers
were paid on time. The officers received pay stubs which
reflected hours worked and could' report § any
discrepancies, and were in phone contact with their
supervisors about hours worked. The Borough also
introduced evidence that by the fall of 1989, the villages
acquired fax machines and the officers filled out and
faxed certified timesheet to Barrow. The Borough
introduced timesheets, overtime forms, records of
overtime payments and paychecks which reflected hours
reported by plaintiffs. In addition, the Borough presented
evidence that the plaintiffs failed to report any unpaid
overtime hours worked to their supervisors.

We conclude that the motion for partial summary
judgment on the accuracy of the records was properly
denied. Moreover, the verdict was not against the clear
weight of the evidence, and the motion for new trial was
properly denied as well.

IV. The § 207(k) plan

The officers argue that the Borough’s § 207(k) plan
violates the FLSA "because of [the Borough’s] illegal
*flextime’ system and because of the undisputed failure to
keep accurate records of hours worked." [Opening brief
at 34.] As previously discussed, the flextime system did
not violate FLSA, and there is evidence supporting the
jury’s verdict that the Borough kept accurate records.

App. 19

The district court’s denial of the officers’ motions for
directed verdict, JNOV, and new trial, all of which
argued that the § 207(k) was "invalid," are affirmed.

V. The jury instructions

During trial, the officers objected to jury instructions
C-47 and C-48, which provided that an employer "who
knows or should have known that an employee is or was
working overtime is obligated to pay overtime," and that
the employee is required to prove that the employer
"permitted, allowed or consented to [overtime] work
performed." [ER-CR 325a.] The officers objected to the
burden of proof requiring them to show that overtime was
"permitted, allowed, or consented" because accurate
records of hours worked were not kept.

The officers agreed to almost identical instructions
and submitted them jointly to the court. [ER-CR 294, p.
10-11.° The officers requested this instruction and may
not now object to its use. See 999 v. CIT. Corp., 776
F.2d 866, 870 (9th Cir. 1985) (district court properly
denied request to withdraw previously requested
instruction).

*The proposed instructions stated: "The words ‘suffer’ or
‘permit’ mean work performed within the knowledge of the
employer. .. . Where an employer has no knowledge that an
employee is engaging in overtime work and that employee fails to
notify the employer . . . the employer’s failure to pay for the
overtime hours is not a violation of the FLSA"; "A part of the
plaintiffs’ burden of proof is to show that the defendant ’suffered’ or
allowed the plaintiffs to work uncompensated overtime.”

App. 20

VI. The motions in limine

Finally, the officers argue that the district court
erroneously denied its various motions in limine urging
the court to preclude the Borough from introducing its
payroll records and evidence of its flextime system and
policy requiring pre-authorization of overtime. The
officers argue that Anderson v. Mt. Clemens Pottery Co.,
328 U.S. 680, limits an employer’s "rebuttal evidence" to
accurate estimates of time worked, and that the Borough’s
records were not accurate.

As previously discussed, the Anderson burden-shifting
does not come into play until the employee demonstrates
that the employer’s records are inaccurate or inadequate
and that the employee has not been properly compensated
for work done. /d. at 686 - 688. The jury found that the
Borough did not fail to keep accurate records and that the
plaintiffs did not work uncompensated hours.

There being no other argument that the motions in
limine were improperly denied, the district court did not
abuse its discretion in doing so.’

AFFIRMED.

"The denial of a motion in limine is not reversible absent clear
abuse of discretion. Jaurequi v. City of Glendale, 852 F.2d 1128,
1132 (9th Cir. 1988).

App. 21

APPENDIX "D"
Fair Labor Standards Act
29 USC § 207. Maximum hours

(a) Employees engaged in interstate commerce;
additional applicability to employees pursuant to
subsequent amendatory provisions. (1) Except as
otherwise provided in this section, no employer shall
employ any of his employees who in any workweek
is engaged in commerce or in the production of goods
for commerce, or is employed in an _ enterprise
engaged in commerce or in the production of goods
for commerce, for a workweek longer than forty
hours unless such employee receives compensation
for his employment in excess of the hours above
specified at a rate not less than one and one-half
times the regular rate at which he is employed.

(2) No employer shall employ any of his employees
who in any workweek is engaged in commerce or in
the production of goods for commerce, or is
employed in an enterprise engaged in commerce or in
the production of goods for commerce, and who in
such workweek is brought within the purview of this
subsection by the amendments made to this Act [29
USCS §§ 201 et seq., generally; for full classification,
consult USCS Tables volumes] by the Fair Labor
Standards Amendments of 1966--

(A) for a workweek longer than forty-four hours

during the first year from the effective date of the

Fair -Labor Standards Amendments of 1966

[Feb. 1, 1967],

(B) for a workweek longer than forty-two hours

during the second year from such date, or

(k)

App. 22

(C) for a workweek longer than forty hours after

the expiration of the second year from such date,
unless such employee receives compensation for his
employment in excess of the hours above specified at
a rate not less than one and one-half times the regular
rate at which he is employed.

* * *

Employment by public agency engaged in fire
protection or law enforcement activities. No
public agency shall be deemed to have violated
subsection (a) with respect to the employment of
any employee in fire protection activities or any
employee in law enforcement activities (including
security personnel in correctional institutions) if--
(1) in a work period of 28 consecutive days the
employee receives for tours of duty which in the
aggregate exceed the lesser of (A) 216 hours, or
(B) the average number of hours (as determined
by the Secretary pursuant to section 6(c)(3) of the
Fair Labor Standards Amendments of 1974) [29
USCS § 213 note] in tours of duty of employees
engaged in such activities in work periods of 28
consecutive days in calendar year 1975; or

(2) in the case of such an employee to whom a
work period of at least 7 but less than 28 days
applies, in his work period the employee receives
for tours of duty which in the aggregate exceed a
number of hours which bears the same ratio to the
number of consecutive days in his work period as
216 hours (or if lower, the number of hours
referred to in clause (B) of paragraph (1)) bears to
28 days, compensation at a rate not less than one

App. 23

and one-half times the regular rate at which he is
employed.

29 U.S.C. § 211(c)

Records. Every employer subject to any provision of
this Act [29 USCS §§ 201 et seq., generally; for full
classification, consult USCS Tables volumes] or of
any order issued under this Act [29 USCS §§ 201 et
seq., generally; for full classification, consult USCS
Tables volumes] shall make, keep, and preserve such
records of the persons employed by him and of the
wages, hours, and other conditions and practices of
employment maintained by him, and shall preserve
such records for such periods of time, and shall make
such reports therefrom to the Administrator
[Secretary] as he shall prescribe by regulation or order
as necessary or appropriate for the enforcement of the
provisions of this Act [29 USCS §§ 201 et seq.,
generally; for full classification, consult USCS Tables
volumes] or the regulations or orders thereunder. The
employer of an employee who performs substitute
work described in section 7(p)(3) [29 USCS §
207(p)(3)] may not be required under this subsection
to keep a record of the hours of the substitute work.

Code of Federal Regulations
29 CFR § 516.2.
Employees subject to minimum wage or minimum

wage and overtime provisions pursuant to section 6
or sections 6 and 7(a) of the Act.

App. 24

(a) [tems required. Every employer shall maintain and
preserve payroll or other records containing the
following information and data with respect to each
employee to whom section 6 or both sections 6 and
7(a) of the Act apply:
(1) Name in full, as used for Social Security
recordkeeping purposes, and on the same record,
the employee’s identifying symbol or number if
such is used in place of name on any time, work,
or payroll records,
(2) Home address, including zip code,
(3) Date of birth, if under 19,
(4) Sex and occupation in which employed (sex
may be indicated by use of the prefixes Mr., Mrs.,
Miss, or Ms.) (Employee’s sex identification is
related to the equal pay provisions of the Act
which are administered by the Equal Employment
Opportunity Commission. Other equal pay
recordkeeping requirements are contained in 29
CFR part 1620.)
(5) Time of day and day of week on which the
employee’s workweek begins (or for employees
employed under section 7(k) of the Act, the
starting time and length of each employee’s work
period). If the employee is part of a workforce or
employed in or by an establishment all of whose
workers have a workweek beginning at the same
time on the same day, a single notation of the
time of the day and beginning day of the
workweek for the whole workforce’ or
establishment will suffice,
(6)(i) Regular hourly rate of pay for any
workweek in which overtime compensation is due
under section 7(a) of the Act, (ii) explain basis of
pay by indicating the monetary amount paid on a

App. 25

per hour, per day, per week, per piece,
commission on sales, or other basis, and (iii) the
amount and nature of each payment which,
pursuant to section 7(e) of the Act, is excluded
from the "regular rate" (these records may be in
the form of vouchers or other payment data),

(7) Hours worked each workday and total hours
worked each workweek (for purposes of this
section, a "workday" is any fixed period of 24
consecutive hours and a "workweek" is any fixed
and regular recurring period of 7 consecutive
workdays),

(8) Total daily or weekly straight-time earnings or
wages due for hours worked during the workday
or workweek, exclusive of premium overtime
compensation,

(9) Total premium pay for overtime hours. This
amount excludes the straight-time earnings for
overtime hours recorded under paragraph (a)(8) of
this section,

(10) Total additions to or deductions from
wages paid each pay period including employee
purchase orders or wage assignments. Also, in
individual employee records, the dates, amounts,
and nature of the items which make up the total
additions and deductions,

(11) Total wages paid each pay period,

- (12) Date of payment and the pay period

covered by payment.

(b) Records of retroactive payment of wages.
Every employer who makes retroactive payment
of wages or compensation under the supervision
of the Administrator of the Wage and Hour
Division pursuant to section 16(c) and/or section
17 of the Act, shall:

App. 26

(1) Record and preserve, as an entry on the pay
records, the amount of such payment to each
employee, the period covered by such payment,
and the date of payment.

(2) Prepare a report of each such payment on a
receipt form provided by or authorized by the
Wage and Hour Division, and (i) preserve a copy
as part of the records, (ii) deliver a copy to the
employee, and (iii) file the original, as evidence of
payment by the employer and receipt by the
employee, with the Administrator or an authorized
repres-entative within 10 days after payment is
made.

(c) Employees working on fixed schedules. With
respect to employees working on fixed schedules,
an employer may maintain records showing
instead of the hours worked each day and each
workweek as required by paragraph (a)(7) of this
section, the schedule of daily and weekly hours
the employee normally works. Also,

(1) In weeks in which an employee adheres to this
schedule, indicates by check mark, statement or
other method that such hours were in fact actually
work. by him, and

(2) In weeks in which more or less than the
scheduled -hours are worked, shows that exact
number of hours worked each day and each week.

App. 27

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure
F.R.C.P. 50(a) and (b)

Judgment as a Matter of Law in Actions Tried by
Jury; Alternative Motion for New Trial;
Conditional Rulings

(1) If during a trial by jury a party has been fully
heard on an issue and there is no legally sufficient
evidentiary basis for a reasonable jury to find for that
party on that issue, the court may determine the issue
against that party and may grant a motion for
judgment as a matter of law against that party with
respect to a claim or defense that cannot under the
controlling law be maintained or defeated without a
favorable finding on that issue.

(2) Motions for judgment as a matter of law may be
made at any time before submission of the case to the
jury. Such a motion shall specify the judgment
sought and the law and the facts on which the moving
party is entitled to the judgment.

Renewal of Motion for Judgment After Trial;
Alternative Motion for New Trial. Whenever a
motion for a judgment as a matter of law made at the
close of all the evidence is denied or for any reason is
not granted, the court is deemed to have submitted the
action to the jury subject to a later determination of
the legal questions raised by the motion. Such a
motion may be renewed by service and filing not later
than 10 days after entry of judgment. A motion for a
new trial under Rule 59 may be joined with a renewal
of the motion for judgment as a matter of law, or a
new trial may be requested in the alternative. If a

App. 28

verdict was returned, the court may, in disposing of
the renewed motion, allow the judgment to stand or
may reopen the judgment and either order a new trial
or direct the entry of judgment as a matter of law. If
no verdict was returned, the court may, in disposing
of the renewed motion, direct the entry of judgment
as a matter of law or may order a new trial.

F.R.C.P. 59

New Trials; Amendment of Judgments

(a) Grounds. A new trial may be granted to all or
any of the parties and on all or part of the issues (1)
in an action in which there has been a trial by jury,
for any of the reasons for which new trials have
heretofore been granted in actions at law in the courts
of the United States; and (2) in an action tried without
a jury, for any of the reasons for which rehearings
have heretofore been granted in suits in equity in the
courts of the United States. On a motion for a new
trial in an action tried without a jury, the court may
open the judgment if one has been entered, take
additional testimony, amend findings of fact and
conclusions of law or make new findings and
conclusions, and direct the entry of a new judgment.

(b) Time for Motion. A motion for a new trial shall
be served not later than 10 days after the entry of the
judgment.

(c) Time for Serving Affidavits. When a motion
for new trial is based upon affidavits they shall be
served with the motion. The opposing party has 10
days after such service within which to serve
opposing affidavits, which period may be extended

App. 29

for an additional period not exceeding 20 days either
by the court for good cause shown or by the parties
by written stipulation. The court may permit reply
affidavits.

(d) On Initiative of Court. Not later than 10 days
after entry of judgment the court of its own initiative
may order a new trial for any reason for which it
might have granted a new trial on motion of a party.
After giving the parties notice and an opportunity to
be heard on the matter, the court may grant a motion
for a new trial, timely served, for a reason not stated
in the motion. In either case, the court shall specify
in the order the grounds therefor.

(e) Motion to Alter or Amend a Judgment. A
motion to alter or amend the judgment shall be served
not later than 10 days after entry of the judgment.

App. 30

APPENDIX "E"

Pe

Bas Oy ya eee PENS 4 <0
Se @ Kaktovik
a— | Nee

%

|
YI / IK |

KEVIN POWELL / Anchorage Daily News

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0522%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
