# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Vennes v. An Unknown Number of Unidentified Agents

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0423%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1995
- **Citation:** 513 U.S. 1076

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

94 461 SEP 1 3 1994

No. OFFICE OF THE CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1994

+

FRANK E. VENNES, JR.,

Petitioner,

AN UNKNOWN NUMBER OF
UNIDENTIFIED AGENTS OF THE
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court of Appeals
For The Eighth Circuit

*

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

*

IrvIN B. NopLAND

IrvIN B. Nop.anop, P.C.
Attorney for Petitioner
P.O. Box 640

Bismarck, ND 58502-0640
701-222-3030

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTION ?RKESENTED FOR REVIEW

If Agents of the Federal Government commit torts of
assault, extortion and intentional infliction of emotional
harm upon a citizen in order to get him to commit a
crime, is the citizen/victim estopped from bringing a civil
tort action for damages because he pled guilty to the
crimes the agents caused him to commit?

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING.

The parties to these proceedings include an unknown
number of unidentified agents of the United States of
America.

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Question Presented For Review.................... i
Es ii
ere Ons Vicsescccesccsccceccess iii
ET re a eee iv
Official Reports of Opinions Relevant to This
ERR ois Vin cece eis ebb iccccescecces 1
EE eer er eee 1
The Constitutional Provisions Involved in This Case
REG CUS showed ns boccs-becssebseccses 1
Sec ec en ec cee ncceiceccess 3
Argument in Support of Petition................... 8

ES ESE BP ole ae 11

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CAsEs:
Allen v. McCurry, 499 U.S. 89 (1980)................. 10
Bivens v. Six Unknown Named Agents of Fed. Bureau

of Narcotics, 403 U.S. 388, 91 S.Ct. 1999 (1971)...... 8
Gunderson v. Schlueter, 904 F.2d 407 (8th Cir 1990) ...8, 9
Hampton v. United States, 425 U.S. 484 (1976)......... 8
Rochin v. California, 342 U.S. 165 (1952)............... 8
LS. « Reseell, 443 US. Gas CGF oe a sce ence scdwsxeies 8
UnitepD States Cope:
OE I Be ou oe cn kv annnces sees Aaa 8
Tie Te. Re eink ohne 5 ccc 89 <9 ance eek ba 8
yo Fe. ome Bel 0 | ee rerepe en 8

os ONC SARE GN a 8

gutta atime a ee ES ee Be Se OF ER EF ey SO aI OE PR Ce ee ae L [J SS ae ee
po on . 2 -

OFFICIAL REPORTS OF OPINIONS
RELEVANT TO THIS PETITION

a. Original decision of Honorable United States Federal
District Judge Patrick A. Conmy, District of North
Dakota, dated January 13, 1993 (Unreported).

b. Original decision of the United States Court of
Appeals for the 8th Circuit, dated December 17, 1993.
Reported at 26 F.3d 1448.

c. Order in response to Petition for Rehearing en banc of
the United States Court of Appeals for the 8th Circuit,
dated August 10, 1994.

JURISDICTIONAL GROUNDS

The Jurisdiction of the United States Supreme Court
is provided by 28 USC 1254 and Rule 12 of US. S.Ct.

a. The Judgment of the 8th Circuit Court of Appeals for
which this review is requested is dated June 16, 1994.

b. The Order of the 8th Circuit Court of Appeals deny-
ing rehearing en banc is dated August 10, 1994.

c. The statute conferring jurisdiction upon the United
States Supreme Court to review the decision of the
8th Circuit Court of Appeals in this case is 28 USC
1254.

¢

THE CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED
IN THIS CASE INCLUDE

a. Fourth Amendment:

The right of the people to be secure in their persons,
houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable

searches and seizures, shall not be violated, and no
Warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause, sup-
ported by Oath or affirmation, and particularly
describing the place to be searched, and the persons
or things to be seized.

Fifth Amendment:

No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or
otherwise infamous crime, unless on a presentment or
indictment of a Grand Jury, except in cases arising in
the land or naval forces, or in the Militia, when in
actual service in time of War or public danger; nor
shall any person be subject for the same offense to be
twice put in jeopardy of life or limb; nor shall be
compelled in any criminal case to be a witness against
himself, nor be deprived of life, liberty, or property,
withow! “ue process of law; nor shall private property
be taken for public use, without just compensation.

Sixth Amendment:

in all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy
the right to a speedy and public trial, by an impartial
jury of the State and district wherein the crime shall
have been committed, which district shall have been
previously ascertained by law, and to be informed of
the nature and cause of the accusation; to be con-
fronted with the witnesses against him; to have com-
pulsory process for obtaining witnesses in his favor,
and to have the Assistance of Counsel for his defense.

Eighth Amendment:

Excessive bail shall not be required, nor excessive
fines imposed, nor cruel and unusual punishments
inflicted.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In mid-year of 1985 Agents of the Federal Govern-
ment suspected that a number of Western North Dakota
automobile dealers were engaging in illegal drug traffick-
ing. The Agents devised a plan toenlis —_¢ assistance of
an unsuspecting private citizen to infiltrate the suspected
drug rings in order to obtain information on money laun-
dering that might lead to indictments.

The Agents settled on one Frank Vennes as their man.
Vennes had never committed a crime and was a law-
abiding family man. He recently had been the victim of a
crime himself in which $95,000 he had obtained from the
sale of a business was embezzled from him. When the
Federal Agents first approached Vennes, they held them-
selves out to be businessmen, from out of state, who were
looking for a young, ambitious businessman located in
Western North Dakota. Given the loss he had just suf-
fered personally, he was vulnerable.

The Federal Agents pursued Vennes over a number
of months with many entreaties and solicitations that he
become involved with them. Of the 111 taped telephone
conversations later disclosed by the Government pur-
suant to Freedom of Information demands, more than 100
were initiated by the Federal Agents. Eventually Vennes
agreed to travel to Switzerland with $100,000 cash pro-
vided to him by the Federal Agents. He was to be paid
for doing this. At their direction he did so without com-
plying with United States Custom reporting laws. There
exists no evidence Mr. Vennes had any predisposition to
commit this crime.

This first consignment of money was shortly recalled
by the Agents. Vennes was able to have it returned to
them immediately. Again there was no compliance with
United States Custom reporting laws. The Agents then
again provided $100,000 cash to Vennes with a request he
deposit it into a Swiss bank account. Vennes again trav-
eled to Switzerland and made arrangements for the
deposit. Again there was no compliance with reporting
laws. This time, however, the persons with whom the
money was entrusted in Switzerland “borrowed” it for a
few days and were subsequently unable to repay it. When
Vennes returned to advise the Agents the $100,000 had
been misappropriated, the Agents were in deep profes-
sional trouble themselves. They told Vennes that indeed
they were not the out-of-state businessmen they had held
themselves out to be, but instead were aligned with the
Chicago mafia. Vennes was advised that unless he some-
how came up with the money, he and his wife and
children would be dismembered and killed.

Vennes had no means for recouping this large
amount of money in the time allotted to him. The Agents
suggested and assisted in planning the commission of a
series of crimes that hopefully would yield the funds
necessary to recoup the $100,000. The crimes suggested
by the Agents included drug activity and illegal gun
sales. The crimes proved to be unsuccessful as a fund-
raising program. Threats of death and dismemberment
continued over the course of the following two years, and
Vennes continued to work with his mafia tormentors in
attempting to recoup the $100,000 through additional
criminal activity. The Agents suggested © « es of crimes to
him and assisted in the arrangement.of times, places and

people, where successful criminal activity might generate
the money needed to replace the Agent-lost funds.

Eventually the consequence to the Agents of having
lost $100,000 of government funds in a butched sting
could not be avoided. Someone in the government deter-
mined a necessary response to this loss included the need
to indict and destroy Frank Vennes. He was indicted and
arrested for money laundering, drug activity, illegal gun
sales and conspiracy. In addition, he was served with an
I.R.S. tax levy alleging he owed $250,000 in back taxes
related to all of this criminal activity he had been
engaged in.

Vennes and his court-appointed lawyer were
unaware he was a victim of an elaborate government
plot. Vennes thought he had been engaging in criminal
activity with members of the mafia. His lawyer did no
discovery and under a situation that looked hopeless to
defend, worked out a plea bargain for Vennes. It was not
until he stood before the United States Federal Judge to
enter a plea of guilty that Vennes might have realized his
victim status. In all likelihood he never would have
learned the truth had the presiding Judge not asked the
United States Attorney why that office was being so
lenient in its plea agreement given the seriousness of the
charges. The U.S. Attorney responded:

During this period of time as I alluded to before,
the defendant had lost control of the money
over in Europe, the last $100,000. About this
time he thought he was dealing with people
from the underworld or organized crime out of
Chicago.

And he, what we think could make a fair case,
was trying to recoup his losses and as a result he
had an offer again through the undercover agent
of the sale of firearms because the defendant did
have a firearms license. He did sell an automatic
weapon. He also sold a pistol that the serial
number had been obliterated on, as was charged
in the indictment.

Along with that, about the same period of time,
in was — there was discussion about the sale of
drugs in which Mr. Hanson’s case we stated
briefly the other day as to what transpired there
and there was a lot of conversations between the
defendant and Mr. Jovonovich (a government
agent) who was posing as a drug dealer and
who had control of a large quantity of drugs.

And the defendant through this period of time
was attempting to set up a purchase that, but he
was never able to raise the money and we also
believe contrary to what he said in the conversa-
tion he was not able to — did not have a distribu-
tion for the drugs.

So as a result of that we felt that they were all
interrelated and it’s a question whether or not the
defendant on his own would have entered into these
if not for the shortage of the $100,000 and that’s why
we thought this would be a just decision or just
result of these as far as acceptance of the plea.
(Emphasis added.)

Transcript of Hearing on Change of Plea,
August 10, 1987, Page 10, Line 23 through Page
11, Line 21.

As these words were being spoken, Vennes did not appre-
ciate the significance of what was being said. He was the
victim of an incompetent defense and of an emotional

state created by two years of mafia-type terrorism to him
and his family. His property and resources with which he
might have defended himself had all been confiscated.
His wife had left with his children and had divorced him.
He was humiliated and frightened.

Upon advice of his lawyer he pled guilty to conspir-
acy to launder money (that provided to him by the
Agents). He also pled nolo contendre to illegal firearms
transactions (suggested and arranged by the Federal
Agents). Finally he pled no contendre to use of a telephone
for a drug transaction (calls made to persons whose
names were provided by the Federal Agents).

He received a five-year sentence to prison which he
served. While in prison, Vennes brought a series of Free-
dom of Information Act lawsuits which were aggressively
resisted by the Government. In the materials that were
ordered by the Courts to be delivered to him, he first
learned and understood the information recited herein
and the truth of what had happened to him. He also
engaged the services of a CPA and challenged the
$250,000 tax levy. The end result of that effort was that it
was determined he owed no tax, and indeed the Federal
Government may very well owe him a few thousand
dollars to this day.

Upon his release from prison he engaged the services
of a lawyer to commence this civil action against the
agents for their tortious conduct of assault, extortion and
intentional infliction of emotional harm.

Jurisdiction in U. S. District Court was invoked pur-
suant to the 4th, 5th, 6th, and 8th Amendments to the
Constitution of the United States of America, as well as

28 USC 1331; 28 USC 1332 (a)(1); 28 USC 1343(1)(2) and
(4); 28 USC 1391 (e)(1) and (2); and Bivens v. Six Unknown
Named Agents of Fed. Bureau of Narcotics, 403 U.S. 388, 404,
91 S.Ct. 1999 (1971).

The Trial Court granted a government motion for
summary judgment holding that (1) Vennes was estopped
from making these claims because he had pled guilty to
criminal charges involving the facts of this case, and (2)
his exclusive remedy as against any I.R.S. agents who
may have wronged him was to be found in the Internal
Revenue Code.

On appeal the 8th Circuit affirmed the District Court
with Judge Heaney in dissent. Upon suggestion for
rehearing en banc the petition was denied with four
judges indicating they would have granted same.

+

ARGUMENT IN SUPPORT OF PETITION

The complaint in this action clearly stated a cause of
action under the law and in accord with Bevins, supra. The
action was commenced in reliance of the 8th Circuit
Court of Appeals’ decision in Gunderson v. Schlueter, 904
F.2d 407 (8th Cir. 1990). In Schlueter, the 8th Circuit said
injury to reputation alone without proof of loss of busi-
ness or employment would not give rise to a constitu-
tional tort. However, the Court said a series of cases
including Rochin v. California, 342 U.S. 165; U.S. v. Russell,
411 U.S. 423; and Hampton v. United States, 425 U.S. 484;
establish the due process clause of the U.S. Constitution
can be violated even in the absence of a procedural
violation by law enforcement authorities who go to far in

manufacturing a crime and in inducing an otherwise law-
abiding citizen into committing that crime. The 8th Cir-
cuit then warned:

The level of “outrageousness” needed to prove
such a due process violation, however, is quite
high. Gunderson, supra.

The Court further advised, “The police conduct becomes
the proper point of inquiry only in the rare situation
where it is too outrageous to be overlooked.” Gunderson,
supra. The Court noted there had never been a case
brought before them where a plaintiff had successfully
established a sufficient level of outrageousness, but that -
the case when such proof would be successful would be
one where the government agents themselves actually
conceived and initiated the crime and the defendant
merely fell into place with carrying out the government's
scheme. The plaintiff in Gunderson was said to have fallen
short of this proof requirement because, “THE OFFICERS
DID NOT APPLY ANY EXTRA-ORDINARY PRESSURE
ON GUNDERSON TO CONVINCE HIM TO JOIN THEIR
SCHEME.” (Emphasis added.)

The proof in Frank Vennes’ case exactly meets the
requirements of proof outlined by the 8th Circuit in Gun-
derson. Threat of death and dismemberment of an entire

family has to meet this burden. The case was summarily
dismissed by the District Court, however, and affirmed
by the Appellate Court upon a claim that Vennes’ plea of
guilty to the crimes he committed under duress somehow
deny him access to the Civil Courtroom for a redress of
his grievances.

10

The point has been missed, or overlooked, or ignored
that this is a civil action founded in tort against individ-
ual agents of the Federal Government for their outra-
geous assault, extortions and intentional inflictions of
emotional harm. It is not a belated challenge to the crimi-
nal charges. There should be no connection between the
two. The criminal aspects of this case are long over and
irreversibly concluded.

But Vennes’ right to use the Civil Courtroom for a
redress of the tortious conduct committed against him
should not be estopped because of the unfortunate failure
to properly defend against the criminal charges that were
brought against him. If a police officer cuts off the leg of
the bank robber he has nabbed, red handed, the robber’s
subsequent plea of guilty should not vitiate the tort or the
right to damages against the officer for the tort commit-
ted.

In Allen v. McCurry, 449 U.S. 89 (1980), the U.S.
Supreme Court said, “Collateral estoppel does not apply
where the party against whom an earlier court decision is
asserted did not have a full and fair opportunity to liti-
gate the claim or issue decided by the first court”. Cer-
tainly as Vennes stood before the Federal Judge to be
sentenced and when he might have understood for the
first time that he was the victim of entrapment and
duress, the issue was not before the Court of how much
money a number of Federal Agents owed him for ter-
rorizing him and his family for two years with threats of
dismemberment and death. In fact, those agents were not
ever before the Court.

11

Estoppel requires mutuality of parties. The United
States of America is not a party to this action. It can
hardly be said Vennes was given a full and fair oppor-
tunity-at his sentencing to waive his right to bring a civil
lawsuit against Federal Agents for terrorizing him and
his family for the previous two years.

The Trial Court in this case found that any remedy
Vennes might have had against the LR.S. agents who
assisted in these tortious actions would have to be found
in the pages of the Internal Revenue Code. As we told the
Trial Court and 8th Circuit, we have searched that Code
in vain for some statutory, administrative or case law
process whereby one may collect money damages against
an I.R.S. agent for threatening a citizen and his family
with dismemberment and death. We can find nothing.

+

CONCLUSION

Ali Frank Vennes has asked for is a jury trial in civil
court to request money damages from a number of agents
of the Federal Government who held him and his family
in a state of terror over an extended two-year period. The
8th Circuit has set down requirements for bringing suit
against federal agents for outrageous conduct but has
denied to this citizen access to the Court and to a jury to
establish his entitlement under those announced require-
ments.

It is too late to do anything about the great injustice
that was inflicted upon Vennes by an entrapment that
was not defended, investigated, discovered or utilized to
defeat the criminal charges that were brought against

12

him. But it is not too late to give him his day in court for
having been tortiously assaulted, extorted and inten-
tionally inflicted with emotional harm.

Respectfully submitted this 12th day of September,
1994.

IrvIN B. NopLAND

Irvin B. NopLanp, P.C.
Attorney for Petitioner
P.O. Box 640

Bismarck, ND 58502-0640
701-222-3030

App. 1

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 93-1737
Frank E. Vennes, Jr., * Appeal from the
ay : United States
Plaintiff - appellant, y District Court
v. * for the District
An Unknown Number of ‘ of North Dakota
Unidentified Agents of the 5
United States of America, :
Defendants - Appellees. *

Submitted: December 17, 1993
Filed: June 16, 1994

Before LOKEN, Circuit Judge, HEANEY, Senior Circuit
Judge, and HANSEN, Circuit Judge.

LOKEN, Circuit Judge.

After pleading guilty and nolo contendere to money
laundering, firearm, and drug offenses and serving a
lengthy prison sentence, Frank E. Vennes, Jr., commenced
this action against unnamed federal agents seeking dam-
ages in excess of $10,000,000 under Bivens v. Six Unknown
Named Agents of Fed. Bureau of Narcotics, 403 U.S. 388
(1971). Vennes alleged that the agents had conspired to
violate his rights under the Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, and

App. 2

Eighth Amendments by coercing and entrapping him into
committing the charged crimes, thereby causing “an ille-
gal indictment” to issue, and by seizing his business
through an unlawful Internal Revenue Service (“IRS”)
jeopardy assessment. The district court! dismissed
Vennes’s claims against the IRS agents, concluding that
his remedies under the Internal Revenue Code preclude
this type of Bivens action. The court granted summary
judgment in favor of the remaining defendants on the
ground that Vennes “has had his day in court, and on that
day entered pleas of guilty or nolo contendere to the
charges arising in part from the allegedly coerced activ-
ity.” Vennes appeals. We affirm.

I.

In August 1986, IRS agents investigating suspected
money laundering by certain North Dakota car dealers
were told that Vennes, a Bismarck pawnshop owner, had
made numerous trips to Switzerland and might have
experience in transferring funds to a foreign country. An
undercover agent, posing as a Chicago investor, con-
tacted Vennes and asked for help in transferring cash
abroad. Vennes later admitted that in the next three
months he and his codefendants received $370,000 from
the-undercover agent and transferred it, minus their sub-
stantial commissions, to the Bahamas, the Isle of Man,
and Switzerland without complying with federal cur-
rency transaction reporting laws. In the last transaction,

1 The HONORABLE PATRICK A. CONMY, United States
District Judge for the District of North Dakota.

App. 3

Vennes personally delivered $100,000 to Switzerland,
where his associates lost or stole it.

In May 1987, Vennes was charged in three indict-
ments with numerous money laundering, firearm, and
drug offenses. Acting on the advice of his attorney, whom
he now accuses of ineffective assistance, Vennes entered
into a plea agreement under which he pleaded guilty to
one count of the money laundering indictment, and also
pleaded nolo contendere to one count of illegally selling a
firearm in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 922(b)(3) and to an
information charging that he used a telephone to facili-
tate distribution of cocaine in violation of 21 U.S.C.
§ 843(b).

At the change-of-plea hearing, the district court spec-
ifically questioned Vennes and counsel about the unusual
nolo contendere pleas. Defense counsel explained that
Vennes was “prepared to defend himself on the basis of
entrapment [and] outrageous government conduct” but
wished to plead no contest because those defenses are
“extremely difficult” to prove. The Assistant United
States Attorney responded that the government had not
insisted on a plea of guilty because Vennes “could make a
fair case” that he entered into the illegal firearm and drug
transactions in an attempt to recoup $100,000 for the
undercover agent, whom Vennes feared was an organized
crime figure. The district court accepted these pleas after
confirming that they were knowing and voluntary, that
Vennes was in fact guilty of the money laundering
charge, and that he understood that his nolo pleas would
be treated at sentencing as pleas of guilty.

oan

App. 4

At sentencing, Vennes’s attorney stated that the pre-
sentence report was complete, fair, and “thoroughly pro-
fessional.” He further stated that he was not “in any way
indicating that these government agents acted in an
improper fashion,” but urged that Vennes be sentenced to
only two years in prison because he became “involved in
the drugs and the guns” out of fear that he and his family
would suffer if he did not recoup the $100,000. After a
lengthy hearing, the district court sentenced Vennes to
five years in prison, three years for the money laundering
offense and one consecutive year for each of the other
two offenses.

Vennes did not appeal, but he later sought post-
conviction relief under 28 U.S.C. § 2255. His first petition
alleged ineffective assistance of counsel because his trial
attorney did not seek dismissal of the indictments on the
grounds of entrapment and outrageous government con-
duct. We denied relief, concluding:

Although Vennes now alleges that counsel was
ineffective, he has failed to show any prejudice
resulting from counsel's alleged deficiencies. In
particular, Vennes does not make any showing
that he would have been willing to stand trial
on any of the multitudinous charges on which
he was indicted. We observe that his plea bar-
gain resulted in the dismissal of many of those
charges and in a sentence that is far lighter than
the maximum sentence for the crimes to which
he pled either guilty or no contest.

Vennes v. United States, No. 88-5057 (8th Cir. Oct. 27,
1988). In a second § 2255 petition, Vennes claimed that the

App. 5

government breached his plea agreement because infor-
mation he provided while cooperating with federal inves-
tigators found its way into his presentence report, which
ultimately affected his eligibility for parole. The district
court denied this § 2255 petition after an evidentiary
hearing, and we affirmed. Vennes v. United States, No.
89-5459 (8th Cir. Aug. 10, 1990).

Following his release from prison, Vennes com-
menced this Bivens action, seeking damages from
unnamed? agents for entrapment, outrageous conduct,
and willful violation of the tax laws. The government
appeared and moved to stay discovery — a motion Vennes
did not contest - and to dismiss the complaint on
grounds of failure to state a claim and qualified immu-
nity. In response, Vennes alleged that he had personally
delivered $100,000 to Switzerland for the undercover
agent, where this money was lost or stolen. According to
Vennes, the undercover agent then advised that he was
not a Chicago investor, but a member of the Chicago
underworld, and Vennes must recoup this loss or the
Mafia would kill him and his family. Prompted by these

2 Vennes failed to name or serve any agent, even though
many of the undercover investigators were named in his indict-
ments or identified elsewhere in the record of his criminal case.
On appeal, the government argues that this is a sham Bivens
action, a disguised claim against the United States that should
be barred by sovereign immunity. Vennes’s conclusory, over-
broad complaint lends considerable credence to this contention.
However, it was not raised in the district court, so we do not
consider it on appeal.

App. 6

threats, Vennes agreed to sell firearms illegally to under-
cover agents of the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Fire-
arms, and to sell cocaine to undercover agents of the
Drug Enforcement Administration. He claims that, as a
result of this outrageous government conduct, he was
prosecuted and imprisoned and lost his business, his
reputation, and, due to a divorce, his family.

The district court granted summary judgment dis-
missing the claims against the criminal investigators on
the ground that those claims were barred by Vennes’s
pleas of guilty and nolo contendere in his criminal case.
The court dismissed the claims against the IRS agents
involved in the tax levy on the ground that such Bivens
claims are precluded by the remedies provided in the
Internal Revenue Code. We review both aspects of the
district court’s decision de novo. See Concerned Citizens of
Neb. v. United States Nuclear Regulatory Comm’n, 970 F.2d
421, 425 (8th Cir. 1992). The government also argued to
the district court, and asserts on appeal, that all defen-
dants are entitled to qualified immunity because they did
not violate “clearly established statutory or constitutional
rights of which a reasonable person would have known.”
Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800, 818 (1982). The district
court did not reach this issue, and neither do we.

II.

The unique issue raised by this appeal is whether the
district court erred in granting summary judgment dis-
missing Vennes’s claim that the undercover agent’s
alleged death threats were outrageous government con-
duct that violated his due process rights. Vennes clearly

App. 7

has no procedural due process claim. In response to the
three 1987 indictments, he raised the defenses of entrap-
ment and outrageous conduct and then bargained away
those defenses, exchanging guilty and nolo contendere
pleas for a relatively light sentence. He never moved to
withdraw those pleas and did not appeal his conviction
or sentence. His § 2255 petition alleged ineffective assis-
tance of counsel and outrageous government conduct; the
district court denied that petition on the merits, and we
affirmed.

Vennes instead argues that the agent’s outrageous
conduct violated his right to substantive due process, and
that this claim survived his guilty plea and unsuccessful
§ 2255 petition. Vennes relies primarily on our decision in
Gunderson v. Schlueter, 904 F.2d 407 (8th Cir. 1990). In
Gunderson, a resort owner acquitted of criminal charges
filed a 42 U.S.C. § 1983 due process claim against a state
conservation officer who allegedly contrived the criminal
case. We affirmed the grant of summary judgment dis-
missing this claim but observed that, “we may some day
be presented with a situation in which the conduct of law
enforcement agents is so outrageous that due process
principles [are violated].” 904 F.2d at 410, quoting United
States v. Russell, 411 U.S. 423, 431-32 (1973).3 Vennes
argues that this is the “some day” foreshadowed in Gun-
derson — if he can prove that “[a]gents of the federal
government threatened to kill Frank Vennes and his fam-
ily if he refused to engage in criminal conduct, so he

3 In Hampton v. United States, 425 U.S. 484 (1976), a majority
of the Supreme Court adhered to the outrageous-conduct due
process principle articulated in Russell.

App. 8

did,” he will be entitled to damages under Bivens and
Gunderson. Like the district court, we disagree. There are
a number of factors that persuade us that Vennes cannot
establish a right to relief under Bivens.

First, it is significant that Vennes is asserting this due
process claim, not in defending the criminal charges that
grew out of his dealings with the undercover agents, but
in a civil damage action commenced after he pleaded
guilty and served a prison sentence for those crimes. A
Bivens action may be brought on due process grounds. See
Davis v. Passman, 442 U.S. 228, 245-48 (1979). But courts
must always determine that a new type of Bivens claim
“involves no special factors counselling hesitation in the
absence of affirmative action by Congress.” Bivens, 403
U.S. at 396. We conclude there are such special factors
here. In Gunderson, we rejected the substantive due pro-
cess claim in part because, “[f]linding a due process viola-
tion here would bring us too close to converting every
successful entrapment defense into a section 1983 action
for damages.” 904 F.2d at 411. Vennes of course proposes
and even greater conversion, for he did not prove his
entrapment and outrageous conduct defenses, he pleaded
guilty or no contest to some of the allegedly coerced
criminal offenses. Expanding Bivens in this fashion would
have a chilling effect on law enforcement officers and
would flood the federal courts with constitutional dam-
age claims by the many criminal defendants who leave
the criminal process convinced that they have been pros-
ecuted and convicted unfairly.

Second, the government argues that this claim should
be collaterally estopped by Vennes’s pleas of guilty and
nolo contendere. We doubt that these pleas may be given

App. 9

such sweeping collateral estoppel effect. See Haring v.
Prosise, 462 U.S. 306, 322 n.11 (1983). However, they are
highly relevant to the merits of this due process claim.
The alleged deprivation of Vennes’s rights occurred dur-
ing the criminal investigation and resulted in his being
charged with multiple crimes. By pleading guilty, Vennes
elected to forego the post-deprivation process best suited
to determining whether the agents in fact violated his
due process rights — the criminal trial. Any procedural
due process claims are therefore barred. See Parratt v.
Taylor, 451 U.S. 527 (1981). Although Vennes claims a
substantive due process violation, we have held that,
when procedural due process claims under § 1983 are
barred by Parratt, “claims based on the same actions but
alleging denial of substantive due process should be
barred as well.” Weimer v. Amen, 870 F.2d 1400, 1406 (8th
Cir. 1989). The same principle should apply in a Bivens
action, the federal law analog to § 1983.

Third, although we have often noted that “outra-
geous police conduct” may give rise to a substantive due
process defense to a criminal prosecution, in no case have
we found government conduct sufficiently outrageous to
establish this defense.4 We have recognized that law

4 See United States v. Kummer, 15 F.3d 1455, 1459-60 (8th Cir.
1994); United States v. Gleason, 980 F.2d 1183, 1187 (8th Cir. 1992);
United States v. Huff, 959 F.2d 731, 734-35 (8th Cir.), cert. denied,
113 S. Ct. 162 (1992); Gunderson, 904 F.2d at 410 & n.8 (collecting
cases); United States v. Johnson. 767 F.2d 1259, 1275 (8th Cir.
1985); United States v. Reifsteck, 535 F.2d 1030, 1034-35 (8th Cir.
1976). Compare United States v. Lard, 734 F.2d 1290, 1296-97 (8th
Cir. 1984) (agent’s conduct “in conceiving and contriving the
crimes” “approached” the boundaries of substantive due pro-
cess in a criminal prosecution).

App. 10

enforcement officers “are required to resort to tactics
which might be highly offensive in other contexts . . . and
agents may go a long way in concert with the individual
in question without being deemed to have acted so outra-
geously as to violate due process.” United States v. Quinn,
543 F.2d 640, 648 (8th Cir. 1976). Granted, we would not
endorse the use of death threats to coerce a defendant to
commit charged offenses, but we are properly skeptical of
such claims and may reasonably require that the defen-
dant prove allegations of outrageous coercive conduct in
the most timely and relevant proceeding, his criminal
trial.

Fourth, we find fundamental, insurmountable flaws
in Vennes’s damage claims. Vennes seeks damages for the
time he spent in prison and the indirect consequences of
that imprisonment, his divorce and the failure of his
business. Yet Vennes was imprisoned because he pleaded
guilty or no contest to serious crimes. And three of his
five years in prison were attributable to the money laun-
dering offense that was committed before the alleged
threats that form the core of his outrageous conduct
claims. To the extent that the alleged outrageous govern-
ment conduct was not the proximate cause of Vennes’s
injuries, his damage claims must fail as a matter of law.

In these circumstances, we conclude that the district
court properly granted summary judgment dismissing
Vennes’s substantive due process claims. We do not con-
done undercover agents who pose as dangerous criminals
and coerce others to commit crimes. But if Vennes was in
fact the victim of such threats, he had many opportunities
to seek redress before serving five years in prison for the

“resulting crimes. He could have complained to state or

App. 11

federal authorities about the threats; instead, he commit- —

ted multiple firearm and drug offenses.> He could have
raised entrapment, coercion, and outrageous conduct
defenses at his criminal trial; instead, he pleaded guilty
or no contest to three different crimes. He raised the
outrageous conduct issue in his first § 2255 petition; that
petition was dismissed on the merits. Under our deci-
sions in Gunderson and Weimer, a post-conviction Bivens
damage action will not lie.

III.

There remains to be considered the district court’s
dismissal of Vennes’s vague and conclusory tax claims,
summarized in his brief on appeal as follows:

The agents alleged [that Vennes owed] $250,000
in tax liability, instituted a jeopardy assessment,
confiscated his business, forced a total asset sale
and put him out of business when in fact he
owed not a dime.

The district court dismissed these claims on the ground
that a taxpayer’s remedies under the Internal Revenue
Code preclude such a Bivens action. Vennes cites us to no
contrary authority, and we have found none. Though the
Supreme Court has not addressed this precise question, it
has strongly suggested that the district court correctly
applied Bivens:

5 The record reveals that at one point, Vennes purchased
cocaine from his own source in Florida after haggling with an
undercover agent supplier about price and speed of delivery.
This is not the conduct of one coerced or entrapped into crime.

ees
2a

' App. 12

When the design of a Government program sug-
gests that Congress has provided what it con-
siders adequate remedial mechanisms for
constitutional violations that may occur in the
course of its administration, we have not created
additional Bivens remedies.

Schweiker v. Chilicky, 487 U.S. 412, 423 (1988). See McIntosh
v. Turner, 861 F.2d 524, 526 (8th Cir. 1988) (“The result [of
Chilicky] is a sort of presumption against judicial recogni-
tion of direct actions for violations of the Constitution by
federal officials or employees.”). Since Chilicky, at least
three circuits have upheld the dismissal of Bivens actions
against IRS agents for tax assessment and collection activ-
ities. See McMillen v. United States Dep’t of Treasury, 960
F.2d 187, 190-91 (1st Cir. 1991); Wages v. Internal Revenue
Service, 915 F.2d 1230, 1235 (9th Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 498
U.S. 1096 (1991); National Commodity & Barter Ass’n v.
Gibbs, 886 F.2d 1240, 1248 (10th Cir. 1989). See also Bad-
dour, Inc. v. United States, 802 F.2d 801, 808 (5th Cir. 1986);
Cameron v. Internal Revenue Service, 773 F.2d 126, 129 (7th
Cir. 1985). We agree with those decisions.

Congress has provided specific and meaningful
remedies for taxpayers who challenge overzealous tax
assessment and collection activities. A taxpayer may chal-
lenge a jeopardy assessment both administratively and
judicially, see 26 U.S.C. § 7429, and may sue the govern-
ment for a tax refund, see 26 U.S.C. § 7422. Since Novem-
ber 10, 1988, 26 U.S.C. §§ 7432 and 7433 have authorized
taxpayer actions against the United States to recover lim-
ited damages resulting from specific types of misconduct
by IRS employees. These carefully crafted legislative

App. 13

remedies confirm that, in the politically sensitive realm of
taxation, Congress’s refusal to permit unrestricted dam-
age actions by taxpayers has not been inadvertent. See
Cameron. 773 F.2d at 129 (“it would make the collection
of taxes chaotic if a taxpayer could bypass the remedies
provided by Congress simply by bringing a damage
action against [IRS] employees”). Thus; the district court
correctly dismissed Vennes’s Bivens claims against IRS
agents for their tax assessment and collection activities.

The judgment of the district court is affirmed.

HEANEY, Senior Circuit Judge, concurring and dissent-
ing.

Unable to affirm the district court on the only two
issues presented —- collateral estoppel and qualified
immunity — the court today pieces together a series of
rationales why Vennes should not be allowed to continue,
labels them “special factors” under Bivens, and believes
that by so doing the whole will somehow exceed the sum
of its parts. There are no “special factors counselling
hesitation in the absence of affirmative action by Con-
gress” present in this case that were not present in Bivens;
_ the only difference is that Bivens stated a Fourth Amend-
ment claim and Vennes seeks to recover under substan-
tive due process. Rather than reverse the district court
and allow Vennes to proceed, as existing law compels, the
majority shapes a basis for affirmance out of rationales
that are already accounted for under the existing doc-
trines of qualified immunity and collateral estoppel or
that are simply inapplicable and irrelevant. Consequently,
I dissent.

App. 14

If we are to believe the facts alleged and testified to
by Vennes - and for purposes of this appeal we must -
the defendants engaged in absolutely outrageous behav-
ior. Vennes tells us that IRS agents posing as Chicago
businessmen approached Vennes through a business
acquaintance and solicited his participation in a scheme
to launder money. These businessmen offered Vennes a
share of the proceeds if he would launder the “dirty”
money through his European connections. At the prompt-
ing of these “businessmen,” Vennes made two trips to
Switzerland to launder money provided to him by the
agents. Vennes successfully laundered $100,000 on the
first trip, but on the second trip, associates of Vennes
made off with the other $100,000. (These “associates”
have apparently since been prosecuted for theft.)

When Vennes returned without the money, the Chi-
cago businessmen revealed themselves to be members of
the mafia and threatened, inter alia, to dismember his
children if he failed to recoup this money (perhaps sus-
pecting that their superiors would be none too pleased at
the loss of $100,000 of government money). These newly-
revealed mobsters then suggested that Vennes engage in
illegal drug and firearms transactions in an effort to
recoup this money and thereby avoid serious bodily harm
to him and his family. Vennes did so, the efforts to recoup
the money were unsuccessful, and Vennes was eventually
charged with a panoply of crimes. He was given an offer
he could not refuse, which caused the district judge who
accepted Vennes’ guilty plea to question the govern-
ment’s reason for offering such a generous bargain. The
government told the court that Vennes “could make a fair
case” that he “was trying to recoup” the lost $100,000,

App. 15

that he believed he was “dealing with people from the
underworld or organized crime out of Chicago,” and that
as a result he engaged in the drug and firearms transac-
tions. App. at 67. “So as a result of that,” the assistant
U.S. attorney continued, “we felt that they were all inter-
related and it’s a question whether or not the defendant
on his own would have entered into these [crimes] if not
for the shortage of the $100,000 and that’s why we
thought that this would be a just decision or just result of
these as far as the acceptance of the plea.” Id. at 6768.

What the government did not mention at the hearing
on the acceptance of the plea, but which was alluded to
by the district court in this case, is the embarrassing
spectacle that would be created if this case went to trial.
See Vennes v. Unknown Number of Unidentified Agents of the
United States of America, No. A1-9284, slip op. at 1 (D.N.D.
Jan. 13, 1993) (nereinafter Vennes) (“The court acknowl-
edges that the underlying factual situation . . . is
wondrously bizarre. Especially fascinating is speculating
about the scene which occurred when the undercover
agents tried to explain the loss of the $100,000.00... . ”).
Were Vennes, Bivens action to go to trial, or even were
discovery to proceed and any of Vennes’ claims to be
borne out, it is likely that the government would face
significant embarrassment. The district court avoided
such a possibility when it declared that Vennes is collat-
erally estopped by his guilty plea from pursuing this
claim against the agents. Vennes, supra, slip op. at 2.
Although this might well be a convenient way to dispose
of this case, it is, as the majority notes, foreclosed by the
Supreme Court’s decision in Haring v. Prosise, 462 U.S.
306 (1983). See supra slip op. at 7. In that case the Court

App. 16

specifically noted that both the “prospect of a favorable
plea agreement” and “the expectation or hope of a lesser
sentence” are valid reasons why a defendant might
choose not to pursue possible defenses at trial, see Haring,
462 U.S. at 319 (internal quotation marks and citation
omitted), but that because an acceptance of a guilty plea
involves “no adjudication whatsoever of any issues that
may subsequently be the basis of a § 1983 claim,” collat-
eral estoppel is “simply inapplicable.” Id. at 322 n.11. This
holding is equally applicable to what the court correctly
labels the “analog” to § 1983, the Bivens action.

The only other basis for affirmance offered by the
defendants is qualified immunity, but it fails as certainly
as does the collateral estoppel argument. Although the
court chooses not to address this issue, because, it says,
the district court did not address it, see supra slip op. at 5,
the failure of this argument to carry the day can come as
no surprise to the defendants. The district court, although
not expressly ruling on qualified immunity, stated that
even the most zealous law enforcement agent would
understand that coercion applied through threats of dis-
memberment of children is prohibited conduct.” Vennes,
supra, slip op. at 2. Likewise, when defendants, counsel
lingered on this issue during oral argument, another
member of the panel informed him in no uncertain terms
that this court would “not. . . affirm on qualified immu-

nity.”

The unavailability of the two argued bases for affir-
mance leads the court into uncharted territory. Rather
than reverse the district court and remand this case for
further proceedings, the court gathers together several
_ reasons why, it believes, Vennes’ case should not be

App. 17

allowed to proceed and then labels these reasons (none of
which standing alone would suffice as a basis for affir-
mance) “special factors counselling hesitation” under
Bivens. That none of these factors has ever before been
considered a Bivens “special factor” is apparently of no
consequence.

The Supreme Court has defined two situations in
which a possible Bivens action may be defeated:

The first is when defendants demonstrate spe-
cial factors counselling hesitation in the absence
of affirmative action by Congress. The second is
when defendants show that Congress has pro-
vided an alternative remedy which it explicitly
declared to be a substitute for recovery directly
under the Constitution and viewed as equally
effective.

Carlson v. Green, 446 U.S. 14, 18-19 (1980) (internal quota-
tion marks and citations omitted). The second exception
is what prevents Vennes from proceeding with a Bivens
action regarding the tax levy — as discussed in part III of
the court’s opinion, which I join — but it is the first
exception that the majority purports to find applicable to
Vennes’ claim involving outrageous conduct.

There are few cases delineating the “special factors-
“mentioned in Bivens, and those cases that do address the
issue fall neatly into two categories. The first category
includes the military cases, United States v. Stanley, 483
U.S. 669 (1987), and Chappell v. Wallace, 462 US. 296
(1983), which hold that Bivens actions are not available to
those who suffer injury incident to military service, and
those cases in which defendants “enjoy such independent
Status in our constitutional scheme as to suggest that

A ed eS, ee ae PO Ee ORES a ee RENE

App. 18

judicially created remedies against them might be inap-
propriate.” Carlson, 446 U.S. at 19; see Davis v. Passman,
442 U.S. 228, 246 (1979) (finding that such special factors
counsel no greater protection for Congressmen than that
provided by the Speech and Debate Clause). The second
category involves concerns about “federal fiscal policy.”
See Bivens, 403 U.S. at 396; see also FDIC v. Meyer, 127
L.Ed.2d 308, 323 (1994) (refusing to allow Bivens action
against federal agency, in addition to federal agents, in
part because of the “potentially enormous financial bur-
den” such claims would impose on the federal govern-
ment); Bush v. Lucas, 462 U.S. 367, 380 (1983) (finding that,
similarly, questions of “federal personnel policy” are best
left for Congressional action).

The “factors” put forward by the court in the instant
case follow neither of these tracks. Neither of the existing
lines of cases supports the court’s holding - the defen-
dants are federal law enforcement agents, not military
men or Congressmen or anything else; and any financial
burden imposed would fall on the agents themselves -
leaving the court to invent “special factors” of its own. In
all relevant respects, this cause of action against federal
agents for violating Vennes’ substantive due process
rights is identical to Bivens’ action for violation of his
Fourth Amendment rights.

Furthermore, the “special factors” suggested by the
court cannot begin to bear the weight of the court’s
holding. The first and third factors — essentially that we
have never found conduct in this context sufficiently
outrageous to state a substantive due process claim and
that, were we to do so, it would have a chilling effect on
law enforcement officers and flood the courts - are

App. 19

already provided for by the doctrine of qualified immu-
nity. Taken together, they support allowing Vennes to go
forward precisely because the conduct he alleges is so
outrageous that it will rarely be duplicated, and, given
the existing precedents on substantive due process, vir-
tually every potential defendant will be immune from
suit.

The key to this case is that the conduct alleged does
go further than any of the previous cases this court has
addressed. Unlike the facts in Gunderson v. Schlueter, 904
F.2d 407, 411 (8th Cir. 1990), the defendants in this case
did apply “extraordinary pressure on [Vennes] to con-
vince him to join their scheme.” They did not “simply
ask[] him to commit the violations”; they threatened that
if he did not they would dismember his children. The
conduct alleged does “shock the conscience” and it cer-
tainly offends my “judicial notions of fairness.” Hall v.
Lombardi, 996 F.2d 954, 958 n.4 (8th Cir. 1993), cert. denied,
114 S. Ct. 698 (1994). Such facts are not likely to be
repeated with any frequency, but to the extent that they
are, plaintiffs are entitled to recover damages.

The fourth factor relied on by the court is the spec-
ulative nature of Vennes’ claim for damages. The problem
with the court’s analysis — beyond its utter irrelevance to
the question at hand - is that it assume Vennes is only
claiming damages for harm that resulted from his incar-
ceration. See supra slip op. at 8. As I read Vennes’ com-
plaint and briefs, however, he asserts damages that run
independently from the two-year period prior to his
guilty plea during which he was under constant threat
from the defendants to continue committing crimes in an
attempt to recoup the lost $100,000. Any reasonable jury

App. 20

could find harm to Vennes from this conduct independent
of Vennes’ incarceration, and any argument about the
degree of the stated harms caused by his incarceration is
best left for trial.

That leaves the court’s second argument, suggesting
that Parratt v. Taylor, 451 U.S. 527 (1981), has some bear-
ing on the validity of Vennes’ cause of action. The most
that can be said about this argument is that it misunder-
stands certain dicta from this court’s decision.in Weimer v.
Amen, 870 F.2d 1400, 1406 (8th Cir. 1989). In that case, the
court first dismissed Weimer’s substantive due process
claim on the ground that “none of our previous recogni-
tions of substantive due process come close to the right
asserted by Weimer.” Id. at 1406. The court thought “it
evident that Weimer [sought] to have Amen’s conduct
declared a violation of due process simply because it
violated state law,” which the court refused to do. Id. The
court then went on to state, as an alternative holding, that
“[i]n situations where procedural due process claims
alleging property deprivation are prohibited by Parratt,
claims based on the same actions but alleging denial of
substantive due process should be barred as well.”
Weimer, 870 F.2d at 1406.

Regardless of the validity of that statement (I have
found no subsequent decisions that rely on this rationale
in a manner essential to judgment), it has absolutely no
applicability to the facts of this case. It might be relevant
to Vennes’ claim involving the tax levy, but it has no
relevance to his claim that he was denied substantive due
process by the agents’ outrageous conduct. Parratt could
not bar a procedural due process claim in the latter case
because there is no procedural due process claim to be

App. 21

made, and this court has previously held (prior to
Weimer) that “Parratt does not bar claims based on sub-
stantive due process from being brought in federal court”
because the “violation of a substantive constitutional
right, including substantive due process, is complete irre-
spective of subsequent procedures accorded to the person
whose rights have been violated.” Williams v. City of St.
Louis, 783 F.2d 114, 118 (8th Cir. 1986). Furthermore, any
argument that Vennes passed up what process was his
due — the opportunity to present an entrapment or outra-
geous conduct defense at trial - is simply a rehashing of
the collateral estoppel argument rejected by Haring.

To the extent that any “special factors” are present in
this case, they counsel allowing Vennes to go forward. In
Carlson, the court noted that one reason for allowing
plaintiffs a Bivens action in addition to an action under
the Federal Tort Claims Act (FTCA) is the deterrent effect
of such an action for damages: “Because the Bivens rem-
edy is recoverable against individuals, it is a more effec-
tive deterrent than the FTCA remedy against the United
States. It is almost axiomatic that the threat of damages
has a deterrent effect, surely particularly so when the
individual official faces personal financial liability.” 446
U.S. at 21 (footnote and citation omitted). Were Vennes
simply to have pursued his entrapment or outrageous
conduct defenses, he might well have escaped conviction
(at least on the drug and firearms charges), but a success-
ful defense in a criminal trial will have far less deterrent
effect on this type of outrageous behavior than will a
damages action. Any fear about inhibiting vigorous law
enforcement is, as mentioned earlier, rectified by the
broad availability of qualified immunity.

App. 22

To sum up, the court rejects Vennes, substantive due
process claim under Bivens because of so-called “special
factors” — none of which have previously been relied on
as “special factors counselling hesitation in the absence of
affirmative action by Congress” to defeat a Bivens action,
and all of which, to the extent they have any merit
whatsoever, are already accounted for under the doc-
trines of qualified immunity and collateral estoppel. The
“special factors” analysis is not intended to “concern the
merits of the particular remedy that was sought. Rather,
[it] relate[s] to the question of who should decide
whether such a remedy should be provided.” Bush, 462
U.S. at 380. On that question, Vennes’ claim is indis-
tinguishable from Bivens’, and although some may dis-
agree with the judiciary inferring causes of action directly
from the Constitution, see Bivens, 403 U.S. at 311 (Burger,
CJ., dissenting), that battle has long since been fought,
and any concern about flooding the courts with frivolous
cases, see id. at 430 (Blackmun, J., dissenting), has been
similarly dealt with. See id. at 391 n.4.

In closing, I note one final matter about the court’s
decision that troubles me greatly. Only two bases appear
in the record before us for affirming the summary judg-
ment grant below and thereby thwarting Vennes’ efforts
to have his day in court. Neither of those two grounds for
affirmance, collateral estoppel or qualified immunity,
supports the district court’s decision. Nonetheless, the
court reaches ovt into the ether to shape a basis for
affirmance that neither side has had an opportunity. to
address. Rejection of Vennes’ claim that the defendants
violated his substantive due process rights by posing as
mobsters and threatening to dismember his children does

App. 23

him an injustice, but to do so on a novel legal basis, of
which Vennes has had no notice, only compounds the
error, and from this procedure I dissent as well.

A true copy.
Attest: /s/ Michael E. Gans
CLERK, U. S. COURT OF APPEALS, EIGHTH CIRCUIT.

App. 24

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF NORTH DAKOTA
SOUTHWESTERN DIVISION

Frank E. Vennes, Jr.
Plaintiff,
-v- A1-92-84

An unknown number of
unidentified agents of
the United States of America,

Defendants.

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER
(Filed Jan. 13, 1993)

The United States of America, apparently acting on behalf
of the anonymous and unknown defendants, has moved
for dismissal or in the alternative for summary judgment.

The plaintiff entered a plea of guilty to a conspiracy to
launder money charge and nolo contendere pleas to a
weapons violation and use of a telephone in an attempt to
distribute cocaine.

During roughly the same time period, the IRS, claiming a
substantial tax liability, filed levies and participated in an
auction of defendant's assets. Plaintiff’s brief indicates
that no liability for taxes did in fact exist after completion
of “a competent audit”.

The Plaintiff served the prison term to which he was
sentenced. During the period of incarceration he chal-
lenged the validity of the guilty plea and nolo contendere
proceeding, alleging that the conduct of the investigating
officers was outrageous and that he was not afforded

App. 25

effective assistance of counsel. This challenge was not
successful.

The court acknowledges that the underlying factual situa-
tion as set out in the brief in opposition to the motion is
wondrously bizarre. Especially fascinating is speculating
about the scene which occurred when the undercover
agents tried to explain the loss of the $100,000.00 in
currency which they had delivered to the defendant for
alleged money laundering services.

The court approaches the problem in two phases. The
motion to dismiss is appropriate when applied to the
alleged misconduct or negligence of the IRS personnel.
The cases are clear that a “Bivens” type claim will not lie
against the personnel of the IRS as the tax code provides
remedies for relief from such conduct. There is no point
in rehashing the case and statutory law on the subject.

The file contains a substantial stack of documents with-
out identification or information regarding filing date.
Included therein are the transcripts of the original plea
hearing in the criminal case before Judge Benson and the
8th Circuit opinion and mandate affirming the District
Court's rejection of the challenge to the pleas entered. It
appears that no dispute exists regarding the fact that Mr.
Vennes, for whatever reason, did enter pleas of guilty or
nolo contendere to criminal charges resulting from the
activities of the “unidentified number of unknown agents
of the United States of America.” Also included in the
filed material is a copy of a “debriefing report” which
purports to describe the statements of Mr. Vennes confes-
sing to cocaine distribution activities, which, when

App. 26

included in the presentence report resulted in unfavor-
able action by the parole commission. The Court would
be offended by the inclusion of this report if the informa-
tion did not also appear in the published 8th Circuit
opinion. |

Again without replowing the case the statutory law anal-
ysis, it appears that the claims against the non-IRS agents
must also be dismissed, although as a granting of sum-
mary judgment to the government rather than a dismissal
for failure to state a claim.

There is no question that the agents were acting in their
official capacity as law enforcement officials, and are
cloaked with immunity for actions taken in connection
therewith, except as might be presented as a “Bivens”
action.

The alleged claim that the agents, after the loss of the
$100,00.00 in currency by the plaintiff, claimed to be
mafia representatives and that the plaintiff and his family
members were subject to torture or death unless he coop-
erated, forcing the plaintiff into other acts of crime
involving drugs and weapons may rise to the level of a
constitutional tort. One assumes that even the most
zealous law enforcement agent would understand that
coercion applied through threats of dismemberment of
children is prohibited conduct.

Counsel for plaintiff urges that plaintiff be given his “day
in court”. Plaintiff has had his day in court, and on that
day entered: pleas of guilty or nolo contendere to the
charges arising in part from the allegedly coerced activity.

App. 27

The court holds that as a matter of law, from the undis-
puted facts, the plaintiff is not estopped from raising the
claims presented in this action.

The motion to dismiss is granted as to the tax levy and
activities of the IRS agents. (doc. 9)

The motion for summary judgment is granted as to the
balance of the plaintiff’s claims. (doc. 9)

Dated this 13th day of January, 1993.

/s/ Pat A. Conmy
Patrick A. Conmy, District Judge

App. 28

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF NORTH DAKOTA
—- SOUTHWESTERN DIVISION

Frank E. Vennes, Jr. JUDGMENT IN
Vv A CIVIL CASE

An unknown number of (Filed

unidentified agents of Jan. 15, 1993)

the United States of

the United States of America, CASE NUMBER:

A1-92-84

[ ] Jury Verdict. This action came before the Court for a
trial by jury. The issues have been tried and the jury
has rendered its verdict.

[X] Decision by Court. This action came to trial or hear-
ing before the Court. The issues have been tried or
heard and a decision has been rendered.

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that pursuant to
Memorandum and Order filed on January 13, 1992; the
motion to dismiss is granted as to the tax levy and
activities of the IRS agents. The motion for summary
judgment is granted as to the balance of the plaintiff’s
claims.

January 15, 1993 EDWARD J. KLECKER
Date Clerk

/s/ Donald E. Emineth
(By) Deputy Clerk

App. 29

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 93-1737NDBI

Frank E. Vennes, Jr.
Appellant, Order Denying Petition
for Rehearing and
Suggestion for
Rehearing En Banc

we

United States of America,
An Unknown Number of
Unidentified Agents,

Appellees.

So @ & & @ 2 @ Se &

The suggestion for rehearing en banc is denied.
Judge McMillian, Judge Wollman, Judge Beam, and Judge
Morris Sheppard Arnold would grant the suggestion for
rehearing en banc.

The petition for rehearing by the panel is also denied.

August 10, 1994
Ordered Entered at the Direction of the Court:

/s/ Michael E. Gans
Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0423%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
