# Opposition Brief — Illinois State Board of Elections v. Hastert

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0419%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 513 U.S. 964

## Text

No. 94-457

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1994

+

ELECTIONS, et al.,

Petitioners,

ILLINOIS STATE BOARD OT

DENNIS J]. HASTERT, et al.,
Respondents.
+

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Seventh Circuit

= < —
BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
— - = = .

ARTURO JAUREGUI TyRONE C. FAHNER

MEXxICAN-AMERICAN
LEGAL DEFENSE AND
EDUCATION FUND

542 South Dearborn
Chicago, IL 60605
(312) 427-9363

lames D. HoLZHAUER
Counsel of Record

Georce J. TZANETOPOULOS

Lori E. LiGHTFOOT
Mayer, Brown & Piatt
190 South LaSalle
Chicago, IL 60603
(312) 782-0600

Counsel for Respondents

MBEST AVAILABLE COF

< ain ee MED Bie ? Sets
av bea Oe < we » By ae SO’ onal —- u Mesh.
cecil ik A it FAL sa eee ail

sty re

Bw eae atin

ae tet. eal
we Ss ie

.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
oe 8 ae, Serer et Pree rss erry errr eS 2
ee en ee ere eer ee 2
es ee ee ne en re er re ee re ree 2
REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION.........

I. THE COURT OF APPEALS CORRECTLY HELD
THAT ATTORNEYS’ FEES MAY BE AWARDED
AGAINST A NOMINAL STATE DEFENDANT... 8

Il. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ APPLICATION OF
THE “SPECIAL CIRCUMSTANCES” TEST DOES
NOT WARRANT SUPREME COURT REVIEW.... 13

aS re ee er ey er 6 re ree 15

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CASES:
Blanchard v. Bergeron, 489 U.S. 87 (1989)........... 6, 14
Coalition for Basic Human Needs v. King, 691 F.2d
er Caen Gib. SOE ss 52d Cetusareweereee ne ..11, 12

Crosby v. Bowling, 683 F.2d 1068 (7th Cir. 1982)....8, 11

Farrar v. Honey, 119 SAA. SOG CISPR occ cc cecsncwnesss y
Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424 (1983).............. §
prewelt v¥. Pients, 462 US. Fae Caper Bsc oc wkaceseuvewes 10

Independent Federation of Flight Attendants v. Zipes,
Pe Sa FO ERs bbe pan vcccbnerseeree eet ee g

In re Illinois Congressional Districts Reapportionment
Casts, 700 F.a0 See GR Ci. TO + ccksencedeetins 10

In re Illinois Congressional Districts Reapportionment
Cases, No. 81-C-3915 (N.D. Ill. Dec. 3, 1981),

aff’d sub nom. Ryan v. Otto, 454 U.S. 1130 (1982) .... 12
In re Kansas Congressional Districts Reapportionment

Cases, 745 F.2d 610 (10th Cir. 1984) ............... 10
International Oceanic Enterprises, Inc. v. Menton, 614

Ad SOS Bhs Cle, TODD oo oo vce coos ncvde xe cedoese 11
Kentucky v. Graham, 473 U.S. 159 (1985) .............. g
Love v. Deal, 5 F.3d 1406 (11th Cir. 1993)............ 10
New York Gaslight Club, Inc. v. Carey, 447 U.S. 54

CED cas chick acased sb bxeeds cheers 8
People ex rel. Scott v. Kerner, 32 Ill. 2d 539, 208

ek ee OB. Per rrrrr rrr rrr ori ree: 12
People ex rel. Scott v. Kerner, 33 Ill. 2d 460, 211

8 eee 8. errrrrr rr rrr rer en i ee 12

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES —- Continued

Page
Pitochelli v. Town of Johnston, 996 F.2d 1209, 1993
i ee. Laem 16024 (ist Cir. 1995)............. 10
Rhodes v. Stewart, 488 U.S. 1 (1988).................. 10
Rose v. Heintz, 806 F.2d 389 (2d Cir. 1986)........... 11
Skolnick v. State Electoral Board, 336 F. Supp. 839
IE 12
Supreme Court of Virginia v. Consumers Union, 446
es a 6a bk das 6k ws peo pee ee 8, 10
Texas State Teachers Ass'n v. Garland Independent
School District, 489 U.S. 782 (1989) ................. Y
Venegas v. Mitchell, 495 U.S. 82 (1990)............. 6, 14
Watkins v. Fordice, 7 F.3d 453 (5th Cir. 1993)......... 10

Wilson v. Stocker, 819 F.2d 943 (10th Cir. 1987)....11, 12

STATUTES:
Se er eer ee eee eee passim
ek eke bir bcc e estes sees reeds passim

EE 2

No. 94-457
¢

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1994
e

ILLINOIS STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS, et al.,

Petitioners,

DENNIS J. HASTERT, et al.,

Respondents.

+

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Seventh Circuit

+

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
+

Respondents Dennis J. Hastert, Harris Fawell, John E.
Porter, Philip M. Crane, Henry J. Hyde, Thomas W. Ewing
and Robert H. Michel (hereinafter referred to together as
“Respondents” or the “Hastert plaintiffs”), submit this
brief in opposition to the petition for a writ of certiorari
in this case.!

' The “Nieves Hispanic plaintiffs,” represented in this mat-
ter by the Mexican-American Legal Defense and Education
Fund, join in this Brief in Opposition.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 1-29) is
reported at 28 F.3d 1430. The memorandum opinion and
order of the three-judge district court denying attorneys’
fees (Pet. App. 55-66) is reported at 794 F. Supp. 254.

¢

JURISDICTION

The original judgment of the court of appeals was
entered on December 17, 1993. Pet. App. 32. The court of
appeals granted rehearing and issued an amended opin-
ion and order on June 1, 1994. Id. at 4. By order dated
August 29, 1994 Justice Stevens extended the time for
filing the petition for certiorari up to and including Sep-
tember 7, 1994. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked
under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATEMENT

The issue in this case is whether the federal courts
have the authority under two fee-shifting statutes — 42
U.S.C. § 1973l(e) and 42 U.S.C. § 1988 - to award attor-
neys’ fees against a nominal state defendant when the
state legislature fails to redraw congressional districts as
required following a decennial census. The Seventh Cir-
cuit, following the decisions of every other court of
appeals to consider the issue, held that fees could be
awarded against the state defendant. Pet. App. 23 & n.16.
The court of appeals also held that under the particular

rs ——E——_S-)h lh EEO

facts of this case, no “special circumstances” existed war-
ranting denial of fees. Id. at 22-24. No “special and impor-
tant reasons” (Sup: Ct. R. 10.1) exist that would justify
review of this routine and fact-bound attorneys’ fees deci-
sion.

1. As a result of the 1990 census, the number of
congressional seats apportioned to Illinois decreased
from 22 to 20. Under state law, the Illinois legislature was
required to develop a congressional redistricting plan by
June 30, 1991, but failed to do so. On June 27, 1991 — after
it became apparent that the legislature was not going to
adopt a redistricting plan before recessing for the sum-
mer — the Hastert plaintiffs filed an action seeking: (1) a
declaration that the congressional districting plan then in
place was unconstitutional; (2) an injunction prohibiting
the Illinois State Board of Elections (the “State Board”)
from conducting the 1992 elections using the existing
districts; and (3) a declaration that the statewide redis-
tricting plan that they had prepared be put into effect.
Pet. App. 5-6.

The Hastert piaintiffs are the Republican Party mem-
bers of the Illinois congressional delegation. Several other
parties subsequently filed similar lawsuits: a group of
Hispanic and African-American voters (the “Nieves
plaintiffs”); a group acting on behalf of the Democratic
Party members of Congress (the “Rosebrook plaintiffs”);

a group of voters represented by the Chicago Urban
League (the “Chicago Urban League plaintiffs”); U.S.
Representatives Cardiss Collins and Charles Hayes and
voters from their districts (the “Collins plaintiffs”); and a
group affiliated with local NAACP chapters (the “Scott

plaintiffs”). Pet. App. 5-7. All of the lawsuits were consoli-
dated with the Hastert action. The Hastert and Nieves
plaintiffs joined together to support a single statewide
redistricting map. The Scott and Chicago Urban League
plaintiffs were interested only in a relatively small por-
tion of the state map, but they also came to support the
Hastert plan. Id. at 15-19. The Rosebrook and Collins
plaintiffs supported a different redistricting plan. Id. at
20-22.

2. The three-judge district court issued its decision
on the merits on November 6, 1991, adopting the Hastert
plan. Pet. App. 7. At the very end of its opinion, the court
ordered that “all parties to these consolidated cases bear
their own costs.” 777 F. Supp. at 662. The Hastert, Nieves,
Chicago Urban League and Scott plaintiffs filed timely
Rule 59(e) motions to alter or amend the judgment, ask-
ing the court to award them attorneys’ fees against the
State Board. The district court denied those motions on
January 17, 1992. Pet. App. 55-66.

The court held that the Hastert and Nieves plaintiffs
were prevailing parties and thus would ordinarily be
eligible for fees:

This court ultimately adopted the congressional
district plan submitted by the Hastert plaintiffs.
The Nieves plaintiffs formally adopted the Hast-
ert plan and clearly played a critical role in its
development. * * * Thus, the adoption of the
Hastert plan rendered both the Hastert and
Nieves plaintiffs prevailing parties on the signifi-
cant issues in litigation.

Pet. App. 63. The court held that the Collins, Rosebrook,
Scott and Chicago Urban League plaintiffs were not pre-
vailing parties. Id. at 61-63.

Even though it held that the Hastert and Nieves
plaintiffs were prevailing parties, the district court
denied their applications for fees. Pet. App. 63-66. The
court found that two “special circumstances” existed that
would render a fees award unjust: (1) the Hastert and
Nieves plaintiffs, as elected officials and community
leaders, “do not appear to be drawn from the ranks of the
disempowered and financially disadvantaged citizenry
that Congress had in mind when enacting §§ 1973/(e) and
1988” (Id. at 64); and (2) the plaintiffs “shifted” the redis-
tricting dispute to the federal courts and away from the
state legislature, where they would have had to bear their
own costs. Id. at 65. In concluding that the prevailing
plaintiffs were not entitled to attorneys’ fees, the district
court did not rely upon or discuss the status of the State
Board as a nominal defendant.

3. The Seventh Circuit reversed. The court of
appeals held that the Hastert and Nieves plaintiffs, the
groups the district court held to be “prevailing parties,”
were entitled to attorneys’ fees. Pet. App. 22-24. The court
also held that the Scott and Chicago Urban League plain-
tiffs were prevailing parties and were entitled to fees. Id.
at 16-21.

The Seventh Circuit rejected the district court’s asser-
tion that fees should be denied because the plaintiffs
were not “drawn from the ranks of the disempowered

and financially disadvantaged citizenry that Congress
had in mind when enacting § 1973/(e) and 1988”:

The district court is wrong on this point for two
reasons. First, despite the fact that certain of the
plaintiffs in this matter were elected officials,
there is no evidence that they were particularly
wealthy. Second, and more importantly, the
Supreme Court has consistently held that a
plaintiff’s ability to pay for legal representation
is not a special circumstance justifying denial of
attorneys’ fees. See, e.g., Venegas v. Mitchell, 495
U.S. 82, 87-88 (1990); Blanchard v. Bergeron, 489
U.S. 87, 94 (1989).

Id. at 22-23. The court of appeals also disagreed with the
district court’s holding that fees should be denied
because the plaintiffs shifted the dispute from the state
legislature to the federal courts:

This * * * is hardly a reason to deny attorneys’
fees. It is surely regrettable that the Illinois Gen-
eral Assembly was unable to enact a new con-
gressional district scheme and that the
taxpayers of the State of Illinois must now pay
for their dereliction. But such is the case when-
ever the political branches of government fail to
vindicate important rights and the affected par-
ties must seek a judicial hearing.

Id. at 23.

In one sentence of a footnote, the Seventh Circuit
rejected the State Board’s argument that fees should not
be assessed against it because it was merely a nominal
defendant: “It is of no consequence that the State Board
of Elections played no active role in the proceedings and
agreed to enforce whatever plan the district court
adopted, since fees may be taxed even against entities

whose role is limited to enforcement of regulations they
played no role in promulgating.” Pet. App. 23 n. 16.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

In its petition, the State Board raises as its principal
argument a point that was little more than an after-
thought in the courts below: that fees cannot be awarded
against a nominal state defendant that takes no active
part in the litigation. The court of appeals dedicated only
one sentence in a footnote to that issue, and the district
court ignored it entirely. Review of the issue raised by the
petition on the scanty record of this case would hardly be
prudent.

Even if the court of appeals and the district court had
fully considered and discussed the issue raised by the
petition, it would not warrant review by this Court. The
State Board does not point to any conflict among the
circuits on the issue; indeed, it acknowledges that the
other redistricting decisions have uniformly awarded
fees. Pet. 13. The State Board ciaims that recent attorneys’
fees decisions by this Court call for a reexamination of
this previously settled issue. However, none of the deci-
sions cited by the State Board address the issue raised by
the petition or cast any doubt whatsoever on the propri-
ety of the common practice of awarding fees against
nominal state defendants charged with enforcing invalid
laws or regulations.

I. THE COURT OF APPEALS CORRECTLY HELD
THAT ATTORNEYS’ FEES MAY BE AWARDED
AGAINST A NOMINAL STATE DEFENDANT.

1. The Civil Rights Attorneys’ Fees Act of 1976, 42
U.S.C. § 1988, provides that “the court, in its discretion,
may allow the prevailing party, other than the United
States, a reasonable attorney’s fee as part of the costs.”
The Voting Rights Act includes a similar provision. 42
U.S.C. § 1973l(e). Although these statutes refer to the
district court’s discretion, this Court has repeatedly held
that “the court’s discretion to deny a fee award to a
prevailing party is narrow.” New York Gaslight Club, Inc. v.
Carey, 447 U.S. 54, 68 (1980). Indeed, “a prevailing plain-
tiff should ordinarily recover an attorney’s fee unless
special circumstances would render such an award
unjust.” Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424, 429 (1983).

The fact that the particular state entity named as the
defendant may be regarded as a “nominal and neutral
defendant” is not a special circumstance warranting
denial of fees. As this Court held in Supreme Court of
Virginia v. Consumers Union, 446 U.S. 719, 739 (1980),
“[flee awards against enforcement officials are run-of-the-
mill occurrences, even though, on occasion, had a state
legislature acted or reacted in a different or more timely
manner, there would have been no need for a lawsuit or
for an injunction.” See also Crosby v. Bowling, 683 F.2d
1068, 1073 (7th Cir. 1982) (“fees can properly be taxed
avainst those whose role is limited to enforcement of
regulations that they had no role in promulgating”). The
court of appeals’ decision is but another of these “run-of-
the-mill occurrences.”

The State Board argues (Pet. 10-12 & n. 5) that several
recent decisions of this Court should be interpreted to
preclude an award of fees against a “nominal and neutral
state defendant” that did not play an active role in the
litigation. But none of the cases cited by the State Board
address that issue and none call into question the long-
settled law allowing fee awards against nominal state
defendants. In Farrar v. Hobby, 113 S.Ct. 566, 575 (1992),
the Court held that when a plaintiff seeks substantial
compensatory damages, but “recovers only nominal dam-
ages because of his failure to prove an essential element
of his claim for monetary relief,” he is not entitled to
attorneys’ fees. That holding, of course, says nothing
about this case, in which the prevailing plaintiffs received
all of the relief they sought.

Kentucky v. Graham, 473 U.S. 159 (1985), holds that
Section 1988 does not provide for a recovery of fees
against a government entity when the plaintiff only sues
government employees in their personal capacities. The
Court emphasized that when government employees are
sued in their official capacities, an award of fees is appro-
priate. 473 U.S. at 164-166. In this case, the State Board
and its members were sued in their official capacities, so
Kentucky v. Graham has no application.

Independent Federation of Flight Attendants v. Zipes, 491
U.S. 754 (1989), held that fees could not be awarded in a
Title VII action against nongovernmental intervenors who
did not violate any federal law. Texas State Teachers Ass'n
v. Garland Independent School District, 489 U.S. 782, 791-792
(1989), held that a plaintiff was entitled to “prevailing
party” status if it “succeeded on ‘any significant issue in
litigation which achieve[d] some of the benefit the parties

10

sought in bringing suit’.” Rhodes v. Stewart, 488 U.S. 1
(1988), and Hewitt v. Helms, 482 U.S. 755 (1987), both held
that a plaintiff is not a prevailing party if he does not
obtain any relief on the merits of his claim. None of these
decisions have any application to this case; none of them
decide the attorneys’ fees liability of a nominal state
defendant; and none of them overrule sub silentio Supreme
Court of Virginia v. Consumers Union or any of the other
cases holding that fees may be awarded against nominal
state defendants.

2. In light of the settled law that fees can be
awarded against nominal state defendants, it is not sur-
prising that in other congressional and legislative redis-
tricting cases - including cases decided after the
decisions the State Board relies upon — courts of appeals
have routinely awarded attorneys’ fees to the prevailing
party (i.e., the party responsible for the districting map
that was finally adopted by the court). See, e.g., Watkins v.
Fordice, 7 F.3d 453 (5th Cir. 1993); Love v. Deal, 5 F.3d 1406
(11th Cir. 1993); Pitochelli v. Town of Jonnston, 996 F.2d
1209, 1993 U.S. App. LEXIS 16814 (1st Cir. 1993) (unre-
ported decision); In re Kansas Congressional Districts Reap-
portionment Cases, 745 F.2d 610 (10th Cir. 1984); In re
Illinois Congressional Districts Reapportionment Cases, 704
F.2d 380 (7th Cir. 1983). Indeed, we are aware of no court
of appeals decision holding that an award of fees to the
prevailing party in a redistricting case would be unjust,
even though redistricting cases are typically brought
against nominal state defendants charged with carrying

out election laws.

11

In other contexts, the courts of appeals have agreed
that fees may be awarded against nominal state defen-
dants. For example, in Crosby v. Bowling, 683 F.2d 1068,
1073 (7th Cir. 1982), the Seventh Circuit held that “fees
can properly be taxed against those whose role is limited
to enforcement of regulations that they had no role in
promulgating.” In that case, the court of appeals upheld
an award of fees against officials of the Illinois Depart-
ment of Public Aid who claimed that they were merely
enforcing federal regulations. The court held that the
state defendants’ limited authority was not a special cir-
cumstance that would make a fee award unjust. “The
state defendants appear to overlook the fact that they
were named parties to Crosby’s suit and that relief was
granted against them. * * * [T]he state defendants in the
instant case were directly responsible for enforcement of
the state regulations of which the plaintiffs complained.”
Id. at 1074. Other courts of appeals have also held that the
fact that state or local enforcement officials were “mere
functionaries” or did nothing to enforce an unconstitu-
tional statute were not special circumstances that would
make a fee award against the state unjust. See, e.g., Wilson
v. Stocker, 819 F.2d 943, 951 (10th Cir. 1987); Rose v. Heintz,
806 F.2d 389, 392 (2d Cir. 1986); Coalition for Basic Human
Needs v. King, 691 F.2d 597, 602-603 (1st Cir. 1982); Interna-
tional Oceanic Enterprises, Inc. v. Menton, 614 F.2d 502,
503-504 (5th Cir. 1980).

3. The State Board’s petition supplies no good rea-
son for disturbing this uniform line of precedent. The
facts of this dispute make it clear that there would be
nothing inequitable or unjust about having the State pay
plaintiffs’ attorneys’ fees and costs. The State is obligated

12

to enact a congressional districting plan that meets the
requirements of the Constitution and federal law. The
State did not fulfill that obligation. In fact, the Illinois
General Assembly has not carried out its congressional
redistricting obligations for 30 years. The Hastert plain-
tiffs were therefore forced to go to court, propose their
own map of congressional districts, and litigate with a
host of other plaintiffs over what map was “correct”. Fee
awards are not intended to punish the state, but to com-
pensate plaintiffs for the costs incurred in vindicating
important federal rights. Wilson v. Stocker, 819 F.2d at 951;
Coalition for Basic Human Needs v. King, 691 F.2d at 603.
Because the prevailing plaintiffs went to court to obtain a
valid district map, they are entitled to attorneys’ fees.

The State Board is being represented by the Illinois
Attorney General in this case; it does not dispute that any
fee award would ultimately be paid out of the State
Treasury and not out of the pockets of any of the individ-
ual defendants. The State cannot avoid its liability for

2 As the district court noted (777 F. Supp. at 641 & n.6), the
Illinois General Assembly last enacted a Congressional redis-
tricting plan following the 1960 census, and that plan was held
to be unconstitutional. People ex rel. Scott v. Kerner, 32 Ill. 2d 539,
208 N.E.2d 561 (1965). The legislature did not adopt a new
redistricting plan at that point, but instead left the task to the
courts. People ex rel. Scott v. Kerner, 33 Ill. 2d 460, 211 N.E.2d 736
(1965). Following the 1970 census and again following the 1980
census, the legislature failed to adopt a redistricting plan and
the courts were required to choose between competing plans.
See Skolnick v. State Electoral Board, 336 F. Supp. 839 (N.D. III.
1971); In re Illinois Congressional Districts Reapportionment Cases,
No. 81-C-3915 (N.D. Ill. Dec. 3, 1981), aff’d sub nom. Ryan v. Otto,
454 U.S. 1130 (1982).

13

attorneys’ fees by hiding behind the nominal status of the
State Board.

The standards developed by this Court, and further
developed by the courts of appeal, have withstood the
test of time and have served well the congressional intent
underlying the enactment of the attorneys’ fee statutes.
The current standards are simple and fair to all litigants -
wealthy and poor alike. Those standards properly focus
on the outcome of the litigation. The State Board would
have this Court examine instead the role defendants
played during the litigation, and the extent to which the
nominal state party named as the defendant opposed the
relief sought by the plaintiffs. In light of the nature of
reapportionment cases, and the myriad of interests
involved, that task would be all but impossible to accom-
plish.

Il. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ APPLICATION OF
THE “SPECIAL CIRCUMSTANCES” TEST DOES
NOT WARRANT SUPREME COURT REVIEW.

The State Board’s second argument (Pet. 14-15)
amounts to nothing more than a claim that under the
particular facts of this case, the court of appeals misap-
plied the “special circumstances” test. The Seventh Cir-
cuit acknowledged that fees could be denied if “special
circumstances” would make an award unjust and agreed
that district courts have the discretion to deny fees in
appropriate cases. Pet. App. 22. Even if the court of
appeals misapplied the “special circumstances” test to the
fact of this case — and it did not misapply the test — that
factual dispute would not warrant review by this Court.

14

In any event, the Seventh Circuit’s rejection of the
two “special circumstances” relied upon by the district
court is clearly correct. There was no evidence in the
record that the plaintiffs were wealthy and able to afford
paid counsel, but even if they were this Court has made it
clear that the wealth and influence of a prevailing party is
not a special circumstance warranty denial of fees. Ven-
egas v. Mitchell, 495 U.S. 82, 87-88 (1990); Blanchard v.
Bergeron, 489 U.S. 87, 94 (1989). And, as the court of
appeals pointed out (Pet. App. 23), the fact that the state
legislature could have enacted a valid redistricting plan -
something it had not done since the 1950 census - is no
more a special circumstance than the fact that legislative
bodies could repeal other invalid laws. The State Board’s
assertion that the plaintiffs “shifted” the dispute to the
courts restates the obvious: the parties were required to
go to court to vindicate their rights and to accomplish
what should have been accomplished by the General
Assembly.

The Seventh Circuit properly held that the limited
“special circumstances” exception did not apply in this
case and that the Hastert and the Nieves plaintiffs
obtained not only some, but all of the relief they sought.
In these circumstances, the award of attorneys’ fees was
entirely proper and does not warrant further review.

*

15

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

ARTURO JAUREGUI Tyrone C. FAHNER
MexICAN-AMERICAN James D. HoL_ZHAUER
LeGAL DEFENSE AND Counsel of Record
EDUCATION FUND GeorceE J. TZANETOPOULOS
542 South Dearborn Lori E. LiGHTroot
Chicago, IL 60605 Mayer, BROwN & PLAatT
(312) 427-9363 190 South LaSalle

Chicago, IL 60603
(312) 782-0600

Counsel for Respondents

October 1994

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0419%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
