# Opposition Brief — Funderburg v. United States Railroad Retirement Board

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0340%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 513 U.S. 1015

## Text

Be

No. 94-370 - 4

—

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

WILLIAM S. FUNDERBURG,. PETITIONER
.

UNITED STATES RAILROAD RETIREMENT B

HOARD

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

DREWS. Days, III
Solicitor General

Dye partine vt of Ju: hice
Washington, PC. 20530

CATHERINE C. COOK 202) 514-2217

General Counsel
Railroad Retirement Board
Chicago, Ill. 60611-2092

AVAILABLE COPY

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the United States Railroad Retirement
Board’s decision not to reopen petitioner’s 1978 appli-
cation for disability benefits was judicially reviewable.

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Opinions DWOlOW «.............c.cccccccsccsccrocecercsnessereserncsessssvecsesecsess 1
eT a i ctenadatepndbesecssoniacenecstenss 3
a es onsnhadened ovennsedeusthaebadeeseinens 2
TEI vcirivaessnsnesssscoscsseqnasccosccscoscsesoeessssesesscssecssosesseosescee 6
is chu csclitwesteneadaetevsccessorsuce 10
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Aspros v. Railroad Retirement Bd., 904 F.2d 384
; isl ilbeisnedanensusvsanenseaseeee. 2
Bennett v. Tucker, 827 F.2d 63 (7th Cir. 1987) ............. 9, 10
Burleson v. Railroad Retirement Bd., 711 F.2d 861
i a oc cacltenebubseoesnctsenecsssecses 2
Califano v. Sanders, 430 U.S. 99 (1977) ............... 5, 6, 7, 8, 10
Interstate Commerce Commission v. Brotherhood of
Locomotive Engineers, 482 U.S. 270 (1987) ............. ~
Sones v. United States Railroad Retirement Bd., 933
I i ensanvnpnnonsaaceneensecconceces 4, 8-9, 10
Steebe v. United States Railroad Retirement Bd.,
708 F.2d 250 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 464 USS.
a a cndaeancesaneventancersene 5, 7, 8, 9
Szostak v. Railroad Retirement Bd., 370 F.2d 253
i ini iareainsiinnsrbneeneabincnenstoces sicenscees 9
Statutes and regulations:
Railroad Retirement Act of 1974, 45 U.S.C. 231 et seq.:
Se I ED i ciccncsovescccsoesssccccsccccocccssaccos sees 5
I ns enncsosncsestesoecobereesteccaccesaceseses 5
GB UBC. BOIS GD ...0.222000.cccccscrcrcccccccccecreressrsscecesers 2-3, 10
Railroad Unemployment Insurance Act, 45 U.S.C. 351
Cb BEG. ...rsccccccscsceccsscecccccscccceessccccesessccscssssecsecececesesenseecees 3
45 U.S.C. 355(c) (1988 & Supp. IV 1992)..............0. 3, 7, 8
45 U.S.C. 355(f) (1988 & Supp. IV 1992).................. 3, 7, 8
BB UBC. BEGG) cccvcccesseccccsssccccsscrcccssesccvcccscescesscsccees 3

IV

Statutes and regulations—Continued: Page
RD REA EEE Cisdicsdissidigtiavicsapha cieenedasiasteehnasela: 6
20 C.F.R.:

SN TINAE iavtecteaticnndieniebadninnekcahivinns aeetunnectaianiiaelian 2
I SII - cnesckeiatinncnciinsceisiichasnuianedniiiniandaabeneas 2

In the Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

No. 94-370
WILLIAM S. FUNDERBURG, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES RAILROAD RETIREMENT BOARD

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 20-23) is
unpublished, but the decision is noted at 23 F.3d 400
(Table). The decisions of the Railroad Retirement Board
(Pet. App. 40-43) and the Hearings Officer (Pet. App. 24-
39) are unreported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
May 4, 1994. A petition for rehearing was denied on May
31, 1994. Pet. App. 44-45. The petition for a writ of
certiorari was filed on August 29, 1994. The jurisdiction
of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

(1)

STATEMENT

1. Under the Railroad Retirement Act of 1974 (RRA),
45 U.S.C. 231 et seq., former railroad employees “whose
permanent physical or mental condition is such that they
are unable to engage in any regular employment” are
entitled to disability annuities. 45 U.S.C. 231la(a)(1)(v).
The Railroad Retirement Board (Board), which
administers the disability annuity program, has
promulgated regulations governing disability determin-
ations. The Board’s regulations are substantially
similar to those used by the Social Security Admini-
stration (SSA) to determine disability under the Social
Security Act.' The Board’s regulations provide, how-
ever, that “[djeterminations of the Social Security

- Administration or any other governmental or non-
governmental agency about whether or not a claimant is
disabled under the laws, regulations or standards
administered by that agency shall be considered by the
Board but are not binding on the Board.” 20 C.F.R. 220.3.
The SSA’s regulations similarly provide that “a deter-
mination made by another agency that you are- disabled
* * * is not binding on us.” 20 C.F.R. 404.1504.

Section 8 of the RRA, which governs judicial review of
Board decisions under the Act, provides as follows:

Decisions of the Board determining the rights or
liabilities of any person under this subchapter shall
be subject to judicial review in the same manner,

1 Prior to the codification of the Board’s current regulations,
the Board applied Social Security regulations in determining
disability under the Railroad Retirement Act. See, e.g., Aspros v.
United States Railroad Retirement Bd., 904 F.2d 384, 386 (7th Cir.
1990); Burleson v. Railroad Retirement Bd., 711 F.2d 861, 862-863
(8th Cir. 1983).

> ry a Ne 4 ees re
, EE eee ee i ee ee ee oe ee ee ee ae

Re es tet. ys Peace, ee eee, eee eee eee ee ee Oe eee _ = aS a

subject to the same limitations, and all provisions of
law shall apply in the same manner as though the
decision were a determination of corresponding
rights or liabilities under the Railroad Unemploy-
ment Insurance Act [45 U.S.C. 351 et seq.] except
that the time within which proceedings for the
review of a decision with respect to an annuity,
supplemental annuity, or lump-sum benefit may be
commenced shall be one year after the decision will
have been entered upon the records of the Board and
communicated to the claimant.

45 U.S.C. 231g. The Board’s review of claims for benefits
under the Railroad Unemployment Insurance Act
(RUIA) is governed by 45 U.S.C. 355(c) (1988 & Supp. IV
1992). Judicial review is governed by 45 U.S.C. 355(f),
which permits a petition for review in the courts of
appeals to be brought by “{aJny claimant, or any railway
labor organization * * * of which claimant is a member,
or any other party aggrieved by a final decision under
subsection (c) of this section.” The exclusivity of this
provision is established by 45 U.S.C. 355(g), which states
that “[flindings of fact and conclusions of law of the
Board in the determination of any claim for benefits or
refund [and] the determination of any other matter
pursuant to subsection (c) of this section * * * shall not
be subject to review in any manner other than that set
forth in subsection (f) of this section.”

Neither the RRA nor the RUIA alludes to the
reopening of final decisions by the Board. However,

2 Similarly, 45 U.S.C. 355(c) (1988 & Supp. IV 1992) provides
that “[a]Jny issue determinable pursuant to this subsection and
subsection (f) of this section shall not be determined in any manner
other than pursuant to this subsection and subsection (f) of this
section.”

ies Bn En Og I N ry ea eee

4

Consolidated Board Order 75-5 provides that the Board
may reopen final decisions on claims for RRA benefits.
That Order states that the

[fjactors to be taken into consideration in
determining whether such a decision or certification
is to be reopened include, but are not limited to, the
following:

(1) The responsibility of the applicant in not
providing the new evidence, if any, upon which the
request for reopening is based, at the time the
original claim was made or at some other time prior
to the date of the request for reopening;

(2) The weight or probative value of any new
evidence; |

(3) The responsibility of the Railroad Retirement
Board in previously applying law or evaluating
evidence incorrectly.

Consolidated Board Order 75-5, { 17B (quoted in Sones v.
United States Railroad Retirement Bd., 933 F.2d 636,
637-638 (8th Cir. 1991)); see Pet. App. 63-64.

2. On May 22, 1978, petitioner William S. Funderburg
filed an application for a disability annuity under the
RRA. After receiving an initial decision denying his
claim, petitioner appealed the decision to an appeals
referee and then to the Board. On December 10, 1981, the
Board issued a final decision denying petitioner’s appeal.
Petitioner did not seek judicial review of that decision.
Petitioner’s application for Social Security disability
benefits was also denied. Petitioner did, however, seek
judicial review of the denial of his application for Social
Security disability benefits. Pet. App. 24; Pet. 4-5.

On April 24, 1985, petitioner applied for a reduced-age
retirement annuity under the RRA. He was awarded an
annuity beginning May 1, 1985, and he continued to

———

5

receive benefits for the next four years. In 1989 peti-
tioner’s RRA annuity was reduced after the Board was
informed that the Social Security Appeals Council, on
remand from the United States District Court, had
awarded petitioner Social Security disability benefits
retroactive to April 1, 1977. Pet. App. 24-25.’

Petitioner pursued administrative appeals of the
Board’s action reducing his RRA annuity, arguing, inter
alia, that his 1978 application for an RRA disability
annuity should be reopened. On May 14, 1992, the Board
“affirm[ed] the decision of the hearings officer not to
reopen the final decision with respect to the application
filed May 22, 1978.” Pet. App. 41. The Board did, how-
ever, reexamine petitioner’s 1985 application for a
reduced-age RRA annuity. “Based on its consideration
of the record in this case,” the Board determined that
petitioner was “entitled to a disability annuity under [45
U.S.C. 231a(a)(1)(v)] based on the application he filed on
April 24, 1985.” Pet. App. 41.

3. Petitioner then filed a petition for review in the
United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit,
challenging the Board’s refusal to reopen its denial of his
1978 application for a disability annuity. The court
dismissed the petition for review for lack of subject
matter jurisdiction. Pet. App. 20-23. Relying on Cali-
fano v. Sanders, 430 U.S. 99, 107-108 (1977), and Steebe v.
United States Railroad Retirement Bd., 708 F.2d 250,
254-255 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 997 (1983), the
court held that “[a]bsent extraordinary circumstances, a
decision of the Railroad Retirement Board not to reopen
an earlier denial of a claim is not subject to judicial

8 When an employee qualifies for benefits under both the RRA
and the Social Security Act, the RRA benefits must be reduced by
the amount of the Social Security benefits. 45 U.S.C. 231b(m).

6

review. * * * Therefore, since [petitioner] does not
challenge the constitutionality of the Board’s decision,
this Court lacks jurisdiction to review the Board’s
decision not to reopen the case.” Pet. App. 22-23.

ARGUMENT

The decision of the court of appeals is compelled by the
statutory provisions governing judicial review of Board
decisions, and by this Court’s ruling in Califano v.
Sanders, 430 U.S. 99 (1977). Although one court of
appeals has permitted judicial review of the Board’s
refusal to reopen its denial of RRA disability benefits,
we do not believe that the circuit conflict requires
resolution by this Court at the present time.

1. In Califano v. Sanders, this Court held that the
Social Security Act did not authorize judicial review of
the decision by the Secretary of Health, Education, and
Welfare not to reopen the denial of a claim for benefits
under the Act. The Court held that 42 U.S.C. 405(g),
which permitted judicial review of “any final decision of
the Secretary made after a hearing,” did not apply to the
Secretary’s refusal to reopen a prior decision. 430 U.S.
at 108. The Court rested its decision in part on the facts
that “a petition to reopen a prior final decision may be
denied without a hearing” and that “the opportunity to
reopen final decisions and any hearing convened to
determine the propriety of such action are afforded by
the Secretary’s regulations and not by the Social
Security Act.” Jbid. The Court noted as well that to
permit judicial review of refusals to reopen would
subvert the statutory time limit for challenging the
Secretary’s final decision on the initial claim for
benefits. Ibid. It stated: “Congress’ determination so to
limit judicial review to the original decision denying
benefits is a policy choice obviously designed to forestall

7

repetitive or belated litigation of stale eligibility claims.
Our duty, of course, is to respect that choice.” Ibid.‘

The statutory scheme governing judicial review of the
Board’s determinations is closely analogous to that
which was at issue in Sanders. See Steebe v. United
States Railroad Retirement Bd., 708 F.2d 250, 255 (7th
Cir.) (“Although Sanders addressed reopening under the
Social Security Act, the reasoning in Sanders is equally
applicable to the RRA.”), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 997
(1983). Like the Social Security provisions at issue in
Sanders (which authorized judicial review of “any final
decision of the Secretary made after a hearing,” 430 U.S.
at 108), the RRA and RUIA restrict judicial review to a
carefully defined category of Board decisions. A petition
for review may be filed by any person “aggrieved by a
final decision under subsection (c) of this section [45
U.S.C. 355(c)].”_ 45 U.S.C. 355(f) (1988 & Supp. IV 1992).
Like the Secretary’s refusal to reopen Social Security
claims, the Board decision that petitioner seeks to
challenge does not fall within the category of Board
decisions subject to judicial review. “A decision by the
Board not to reopen an application would not come within
the terms of subsection (c) of section 355 of the RUIA:
only an appeal from the original denial of the application
for benefits would fit within subsection (c).” Steebe, 708
F.2d at 254.°

4 The Court suggested, however, that judicial review might be
available in “those rare instances where the Secretary’s denial of a
petition to reopen is challenged on constitutional grounds.” 430
USS. at 109.

® The statute makes clear that no alternative avenue for judicial
review is available. See 45 U.S.C. 355(g) (“Findings of fact and
conclusions of law of the Board in the determination of any claim
for benefits or refund * * * shall not be subject to review in any

8

As with the Social Security scheme at issue in
Sanders, moreover, the Board’s authority to reopen the
prior denial of a claim rests on a Board regulation and
not on the governing statute. And as with the Social
Security Act, to permit judicial review of refusals to
reopen would subvert Congress’s effort “to forestall
repetitive or belated litigation of stale eligibility
claims.” Sanders, 430 U.S. at 108; see Steebe, 708 F.2d at
255. This Court’s decision in Sanders therefore compels
the conclusion that the Board’s refusal to reopen its
denial of petitioner’s 1978 application is not subject to
judicial review.°

2. Petitioner principally relies (Pet. 13-18) upon
Sones v. United States Railroad Retirement Bd., 933
F.2d 636 (8th Cir. 1991), in which the court of appeals
entertained a petition for review of the Board’s refusal to
reopen a prior denial of disability benefits under the

manner other than that set forth in subsection (f) of this
section.”).

6 Interstate Commerce Comm’n v. Brotherhood of Locomotive
Engineers, 482 U.S. 270 (1987), is not to the contrary. The Court
in Locomotive Engineers held that the ICC’s refusal to reopen a
prior decision was judicially reviewable (under an abuse of
discretion standard) “li]f the petition that was denied sought
reopening on the basis of new evidence or changed circumstances.”
482 U.S. at 284. In that case, however, the pertinent statute
authorized judicial review of any “final order” of the Commission,
see id. at 277; the Court noted as well that “[t]he Commission’s
authority to reopen and reconsider its prior actions stems from 49
U.S.C. § 10327(g).” 482 U.S. at 277. Here, by contrast, judicial
review is available only for “final decision[s] under subsection (c) of
this section [i.e., 45 U.S.C. 355(c)],” 45 U.S.C. 355(f) (1988 & Supp.
IV 1992); and the Board’s authority to reconsider its earlier rulings
is grounded in its own regulations rather than in the statute itself.
The present case is therefore controlled by Sanders rather than by
Locomotive Engineers.

9

RRA. The court held that the Board had abused its
discretion in declining to reopen the earlier decision in
light of the ruling of a Social Security ALJ that the
claimant was entitled to disability benefits under the
Social Security Act. Id. at 637-638. We acknowledge
that the Eighth Circuit’s reasoning in Sones cannot be
squared with that of the Fourth Circuit in the instant
case. For two reasons, however, we do not believe that
the conflict requires resolution by this Court at the
present time.

a. The Eighth Circuit in Sones did not discuss, or
even cite, the statutory provisions governing judicial
review of the Board’s decisions. It also did not cite
Sanders v. Califano, but relied exclusively on Szostak v.
Railroad Retirement Bd., 370 F.2d 253, 254-255 (2d Cir.
1966), a case that well predated Sanders. See 933 F.2d at
638. Given the Eighth Circuit’s failure to discuss the
most relevant authorities, we believe that other courts of
appeals are unlikely to find its analysis persuasive.’

’ The Eighth Circuit minimized the significance of Steebe,
asserting that “the Seventh Circuit has limited its own holding in
Steebe * * * to the specific facts of that case.” Sones, 933 F.2d at
638 n.2 (citing Bennett v. Tucker, 827 F.2d 63, 73 n.7 (7th Cir.
1987)). That statement is literally true but seriously misleading.
The defendant in Bennett relied upon Steebe for the broad
proposition that the State’s decision to “close” an individual’s
claims precluded a subsequent constitutional challenge to the
State’s action. 827 F.2d at 72-73. The court rejected that
contention, noting that Steebe “turned on [its] specific facts, and
thus ha[s] no relevance in this action. In Steebe, we held that
Congress had divested the federal courts of jurisdiction to review
the Railroad Retirement Board’s decision not to reopen a claim.”
827 F.2d at 73 n.7. Although the Bennett court thus “limited”
Steebe to the context of Board refusals to reopen, it did not suggest
that the unavailability of judicial review otherwise turned on the
peculiar facts at issue in Steebe.

10

b. The claimant in Sones received the final decision of
the Board, denying his claim for RRA disability benefits,
on May 30, 1989. 933 F.2d at 687. Less than five months
thereafter (on October 6, 1989), Sones requested that the
Board reopen its decision in light of the favorable Social
Security ruling. bid. Thus, at the time he requested
reopening, Sones had a live, appealable claim. See 45
U.S.C. 231g (establishing a one-year period for seeking
judicial review of Board decision with respect to an
annuity under the RRA). Although the Eighth Circuit
did not rely on that fact in explaining its decision to
exercise jurisdiction, it is clear that Sones’s petition for
review did not raise the same danger of “repetitive or
belated litigation of stale eligibility claims,” Sanders,
430 U.S. at 108, as did the petition for review in the
instant case.

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

DREW S. DAYs, III
Solicitor General

CATHERINE C. COOK

General Counsel
Railroad Retirement Board

NOVEMBER 1994

TE, FAP EE BOR Pee TIS a IPERS Bay ee

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0340%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
