# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Wright v. AMF Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0267%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 513 U.S. 930

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
ot ks es

94 289 AUG - 9 1994

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, i993

DONALD W. WRIGHT, JACK W. BELL, KENNETH A.
BRAUN, HILDEGARDE E. CUTTS, J. E. DUNN,
and RALPH STROHMAIER, Petitioners,

Vv.

‘AMF CORPORATION and AMF VOIT, INC.,
Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT

OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

FRED J. KNEZ

Counsel of Record
8308 Magnolia Avenue
Riverside, CA 92804
909/343-1787

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. In distinguishing severance pay
from vacation pay in Massachusetts v.

Morash, 490 U.S. 107 (1989), did this
Honorable Court determine that every
promise by every employer to pay severance
benefits upon termination of employment
constituted a welfare benefit plan under
the Employee Retirement Income Security
Act of 1974 (29 U.S.C. Section 1 Sec.)
("ERISA"}?

2. Is a severance pay policy of a
California employer a welfare benefit plan
under ERISA if it provides for a one-time
lump sum payment triggered by a single
event which requires no administrative
scheme, is payable on a regular basis from
the general assets of the employer and is
calculated on the basis of longevity of

employment?

3. If an employer maintains a

written severance policy in which the
employer promises to pay 4 termination
allowance based on longevity of employment
upon separation at company convenience and
that policy is later determined to be a
welfare benefit plan under ERISA, can the
employer defeat performance of its
severance pay promise by claiming a right
under ERISA to modify the “plan” at any

time, even at the time performance is due?

4. If an employer maintains a
severance pay policy providing severance
pay upon separation at company convenience
and the policy constitutes a welfare
benefit plan under ERISA, is the employer
obligated to pay severance pay to
employees who are offered employment by
the company purchasing the assets of the

employer if the purchaser has no severance

ii

pay policy, has not assumed the obligation
to pay under the policy upon subsequent
termination and, after the acquisition,
relocates its facilities out of California

and terminates the employees?

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ....i-iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS ....-+---eee- ceocccece iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ....ceeeeeeesccess Vv
GROUNDS FOR REVIEW BY THIS

HONORABLE COURT....--eeeececccceces 1
SUMMARY OF THE CASE ....-cceececcceees 4
ARGUMENT ...cccccccccccccvescsccesecece 9

GRANTED ..cccccccccereceveseccce 9

B. COURT'S DECISION IN MORASH DID
NOT EXTEND ERISA TO EVERY
SEVERANCE PAY PROMISE BY EVERY
EMPLOYER IN AMERICA ......+.2--- 13

C. AMF SEVERANCE POLICY WAS NOT A
PLAN UNDER ERISA AND PETITIONERS
WERE ENTITLED TO THE SAME BENEFITS
OTHER EMPLOYEES RECEIVED FROM AMF

ON AUGUST 1, 1984 .cccccccccces 20

CPC RREEEE Ss ee tke we 66s *6 OS 404 OHO 48 42
APPENDIX

A. Wright, et al. v. AMF Corporation,

OF DD «geo 6.0.0:4 % 6 6a dee Oh lee 0 «46'S © 43

B. 29. U.8.C.., Section. 1002(1)..2s- 62

29 UsB.C., Gestion 1002(3)..... 63

29 U.S.C., Section 1144(a).. 63-64

C. Labor Code Section 201 ..... 64-65

Chanin wv. Paireniid. ef ai...c. 65

iv

B AUTHOR
C S:

Adams v. Jersey Central Power

36 New Jersey, 53, 71,
114 Atlantic 2d 776 ...--+eeee:

Allen v. Adage, Inc. (1st Cir.1992)
967 F.2d 695, 702 «eee. eecese °

Bowers v. Bernards
(1984) 150 Cal. App. 3d 870,
OBT9ZCRTE cocesetcesceseoses Sdeewete

Chapin v. Fairchild Camera and
Instrument Corp. (1933)
31 Cal. App. 3d 192,
107 Cal. Rptr. 111 .-ccc- Fe. Eee

Firestone Tire and Rubber Company _
v. Bruch (1989)
EGS Use BGR, SEO Cee ececceesece

Fort Halifax Packing Company,
Inc. v. Coyne
482 0.8. 3. 429087) cecccsos Da Be

Massachusetts v. Morash

490 U.S. 107 (1989) ... a ae F
id, 24>
46; 3f:

STATUTES:
28 U.S.C., Section 1254(1) ...--+-+-++--
29 U.S.C., Section 1 ..---eseeeeeeees

36

29
41

23

29 U.S.C., Section 1002 (1)
29 U.S.C., Section 1002(3)

29 U.S.C., Section 1144(a)

vi

coccccccd,

(ERISA)...

14

5

S

IN THE
SUPREME CO . OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1993

DONALD W. WRIGHT, JACK W. BELL, KENNETH A.
BRAUN, HILDEGARDE E. CUTTS, J. E. DUNN,
and MARILYN STROHMAIER, Petitioners,

Vv.
AMF CORPORATION and AMF VOIT, INC.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF

THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

GROUNDS FOR REVIEW BY THIS HONORABLE COURT
Petitioners are former employees of
Respondent AMF Voit, Inc., who were denied

Severance pay benefits when they were

separated from their employment upon the

t nila |

sale of the company by the parent
corporation, Respondent AMF Voit
Corporation, to Reltron Corporation, a New
York corporation. Petitioners were

members of a group who were selected by

Reltron for continued employment but were
then subsequently terminated once Reltron
relocated the business out of California
following the purchase.

Petitioners seek review of the

decision of the Court of Appeal of the

Ee

State of California, Fourth Appellate
District, Division III filed in this
action on February 23, 1994, affirming the
Judgment of the trial court in favor of
Respondents. The Decision of the Court of
Appeal is set forth hereinbelow as

Appendix A, pages 43-60. The California

I EF SERD rR — Smee ee ee ee om

Supreme Court denied review on May 12,

1994.

Review by this Honorable Court is

necessary and proper under Rule 10(c) of
the Rules of the Supreme Court of the
United States in that the decision of the
Court of Appeal is not consistent with
this Court's decisions in Massachusetts v.
Morash, 190 U.S. 107 (1989) and Fort

Halifax Packing Company, Inc. v. Coyne,

482 U.S. 1 (1987). Review is necessary
and proper as this Petition presents

important Federal questions affecting

rights and interests of employees

throughout the United States who have been
promised severance pay upon their
termination of employment based upon
length of service and are unaware that
this Court's decision in Morash, Supra,
will be construed arbitrarily to defeat
their claim for severance pay benefits
under ERISA.

This Court has jurisdiction to review

the aforesaid judgment under 28 U.S.C.,

Section 1254(1), and in particular,

jurisdiction over Federal questions
concerning the following provisions of
ERISA: 29 U.S.C., Section 1002(1); 29
U.S.C., Section 1002(3) and 29 U.S.C.,
Section 1144(a) of ERISA. [See Appendix

B)

SUMMARY OF CASE

Since at least 1971, Respondent AMF
Corporation maintained Corporate Policy 3-
17 entitled "Termination Allowance" which
provided for the payment of severance pay
to salaried employees separated at company
convenience through reduction of work
load, reorganization, or relocation of
facilities. The amount of the severance
pay benefits paid under the Policy was
based upon longevity of service (one and

one-half weeks' wages for each year of

service with the company).

On July 6, 1984 AMF Corporation
entered into an agreement for the sale of
the assets of its subsidiary AMF Voit,
Inc., to Reltron Corporation, a New York
corporation, effective August l, 1984.
Thereafter, and prior to August 1, 1984,
Reltron selected some of the employees of
AMF Voit for employment upon acquisition.
However, Reltron did not assume the
obligation to pay severance pay to those
employees of AMF Voit who were offered
employment with Reltron. Reltron had no
severance pay policy of its own. On
August 1, 1984 officers of AMF Corporation
appeared at the AMF Voit facility in Buena
Park, California, and divided the
employees of AMF Voit into two groups.
Group 1 consisted of employees of AMF voit
who had not been selected by Reltron for
employment after the acquisition. Group

2 consisted of the petitioners and

plaintiffs below. Separate meetings were
held with each group. Group 1 employees
were presented with a "AMF Voit, Inc.
General Statement" which informed that
they were not being offered employment
with Reltron and would be provided one and
one-half wee .s' severance pay for each
year of service as well as employee
benefit continuation for a period of three
months. The Group 2 employees
(petitioners) were told that they were
going to work for Reltron; that they had
no choice in the matter; that they would
not receive severance pay and if they did
not go to work for _ Reltron, their
termination would be treated as a
voluntary termination and they would not
receive severance pay or unemployment
benefits.

After the acquisition, and over a

period of several months, Reltron then

transferred the warehousing operation of
AMF Voit to Nevada and the administration
function of the business to New York. As
this transition and transfer process
occurred, petitioners were terminated.’
Meanwhile, petitioners brought suit in
State Court in California for violation of
California Labor Code §201. Based on the

case of Chapin v. Fairchild Camera and

ns m orp. (1993) 31 Cal. App. 3d
192, 107 Cal. Rptr. 111, petitioners
alleged that the sale of AMF Voit to
Reltron constituted a termination of their
employment and entitled them to severance

pay under AMF Corporate Policy 3-17. [See

lReltron paid some severance pay benefit to
some of the petitioners at the time of
their termination from Reltron but the
amount paid by Reltron was substantially
less than what petitioners would have
received if they had not been forced to
work for Reltron during the aforesaid
transition.

Appendix C}

After petitioners commenced suit,
respondents demurred to the State action
on the grounds that petitioners' claim for
severance benefits was preempted under
ERISA. It is undisputed in the case that
neither petitioners or respondents
considered AMF Corporate Policy 3-17 to be
a plan under ERISA during petitioners’
employment for AMF Voit, Inc.
Nevertheless, the Court of Appeal of the
State of California determined that AMF
Corporate Policy 3-17 constituted a "plan"
under ERISA and subsequently affirmed the
judgment of the trial court that under
ERISA AMF could modify its plan at any
time and that the "AMF Voit, Inc., General
Statement" of August 1, 1984 (date of
termination) constituted an enforceable

modification of the plan, denying

severance pay benefits to petitioners.

memppmecr n——™

ARGUMENT
A. REASONS WHY WRIT SHOULD BE GRANTED
The circumstances giving rise to the
denial of severance pay benefits to
petitioners is simply not consistent with
the intent and purpose of ERISA or the

Court's decisions in Morash or Fort

Halifax, supra. When a severance pay
benefit is not part of a defined plan
under ERISA, employees (like petitioners
herein) and employers (like respondents
herein) are not aware that the employers'
promise to pay severance pay benefits may
be governed by ERISA. The primary purpose
of Congress in enacting ERISA was to
protect employees from mismanagement of
funds accumulated to finance employee
benefits and the failure of employers to
pay employee benefits from accumulated
funds. The arbitrary application of ERISA

to all promises to pay severance pay by

all employers goes beyond the scope and
purpose of ERISA and unreasonably intrudes
into the State's power to regulate the
employment relationship. Where the
severance pay benefit is clearly defined
as a part of an established plan under
ERISA, the recipients are afforded
important protection under the disclosure
requirements of ERISA to insure that the
recipients know exactly where they stand
with respect to eligibility for benefits
under the plan. Where the severance pay
benefit is first defined as a plan under
ERISA after termination has occurred (or
after suit has commenced as in the instant
case), the "plan" participants have been
denied the benefits of the disclosure
requirements under ERISA and yet, the
employer is able to assert ERISA as a
sword to defeat the application of State

law and the reasonable expectations of

10

ee ee ne oe
A NN

employees. ERISA does not specify when a
promise by an employer to pay severance
pay constitutes a plan under ERISA. It
does not define what constitutes a
"severance" or "termination" for purposes
of eligibility for severance pay benefits.
Under California law, if the assets of the
employer are acquired by a company which
does not provide the same severance pay
benefit and does not undertake to
discharge the seller's obligation of
Severance pay under the terms of the
acquisition agreement, the employer is
obligated to pay severance pay benefits
under its policy even to those employees
who are offered employment by the

purchaser. See Chapin v. Fairchild Camera

Instrument Corp. (1973) 31 Cal. App. 3d

192, 107 Cal. Rptr. 111. The decision in
Chapin, supra, is a well reasoned

decision. It protects the reasonable

11

SS

| expectations of the employee and
recognizes the reality that the sale of
the assets of an employer terminates the
employment relationship such that when the
subsequent termination of employment with
the purchaser occurs, the employee will be
denied the very benefit which the employee
would have received but for the
acquisition. The foregoing concerns,
affect every employee in the United States
who has been promised severance pay
benefits by his or her employer to entice
them to come to work for the employer, or
to continue in their employment or to
forego other employment opportunities.
Therefore, this court needs to clarify the
scope of ERISA's application to promises
by employers to pay severance pay upon
termination of employment.
//
//

12

eee Ce ae

B. COURT'S DECISION IN MORASH DID NOT
EXTEND ERISA TO EVERY SEVERANCE PAY
PROMISE BY EVERY EMPLOYER IN AMERICA.

Petitioners asked the Court of

Appeal to first determine whether every

promise to pay severance benefits by every

employer constituted a "plan" under ERISA
in light of this Court's decisions in

Massachusetts v. Morash (1989) 490 U.S.

170, 109 S.Ct. 1668 and Fort Halifax

Packing Company, Inc. v. P. Coyne (1987)

4823 U.8. 12, i107: Ses. dae In its
opinion, the Court of Appeal omits

discussion of Fort Halifax Packing

Company, supra, but cites dictum from this
Court's decision in Morash, supra, as
support for its prior decision that
Petitioners' claim is preempted by ERISA.
The Court of Appeal relies upon language
from this Court's decision in Morash

"distinguishing" vacation benefits from

13

the benefits enumerated in Section 3(1) of

ERISA [29 USC §1002(1)]}. Specifically,
the lower court relied upon the following
language from this Court's decision in
Morash:
"unlike normal severance pay, the
employee's right to compensation for
accrued vacation time is not
contingent upon the termination of
their employment." 490 U.S. at pp.
118-119.
The ratio decidendi of the decision in
Morash turned on whether or not the
benefit was paid from the general assets
of the employer and accumulated over time
only at the election of the employee. 490
Uihen “SR TA8s In fact, this Court
expressly observed that if an employer
created a separate fund to pay employees
vacation benefits, then the benefit would

be subject to ERISA. 490 U.S. 114.

14

Nowhere in Morash is there any language
indicating that every promise to pay
severance pay by every employer
constitutes a plan under ERISA simply
because promises to pay employees
severance benefits are payable only upon
termination of employment or because
severance pay does not accumulate over a
period of time or because the severance
pay is not payable only upon “the
occurrence of a contingency outside the
control of the employee. Nor is there any
language contained anywhere in Morash to
indicate that all severance pay policies
of all employers lack the characteristics
of vacation pay. Indeed, the
uncontroverted evidence in the instant
case is that the severance pay benefit of
AMF Voit did accumulate over time and was
payable only upon the occurrence of a

contingency outside of the employee's

15

CO

control. The severance pay benefit under
AMF Corporate Policy 3-17 was expressly
tied to years of service and payment was
triggered upon the occurrence of
contingencies outside the control of
Petitioners, to wit: separation from the
Company (AMF Voit, Inc.) ". .« - at Company
convenience through reduction of work
load, reorganization or relocation of
facilities." Further, the fact that
severance pay is payable only upon
termination of employment whereas vacation
pay is payable prior to termination or at
time of termination, does not mean that
Congress intended that all promises by all
employers to pay severance pay, constitute
plans under ERISA. There is absolutely no
language contained anywhere in the Morash
decision to indicate that the court has
interpreted ERISA as reflecting an intent

by Congress to regulate the entire subject

16

of severance pay. Nor is there any
language anywhere in ERISA to indicate
that Congress intended to regulate all
severance pay promises by all employers in
America.

The suggestion by the Court of Appeal
herein that this court in Morash, supra,
intended by the above-quoted statement to
say that all severance pay benefits are
governed by ERISA is expressly
contradicted by this Court's decision in

Fort Halifax Packing Co. v. Coyne (1987)

482 U.S. 1, 107 S.Ct. 2211. In that case,
an action was brought to enforce rights
under a Maine statute requiring employers
to make a one-time severance payment to
employees in the event of a plant closing.
The employer sought a defense of
preemption claiming that severance was a
benefit under ERISA and therefore ERISA

preempted state law on severance pay

17

benefits. This Court held that the Maine
statute was not preempted by ERISA
"because the statute neither establishes,
nor requires an employer to maintain, an
employee welfare benefit plan under the
Federal statute." 42: GB, eat Ge The

Supreme Court's reasoning in Fort Halifax

was:

" | , The requirement of a
one-time, lump sum payment
triggered by a single event
requires no administrative
scheme whatsoever to meet the
employer's obligation .

The theoretical possibility of
a one-time obligation in the
future simply creates no need
for an ongoing administrative
program for processing claims
and paying benefits." 482 US,

at ids

18

This Court's reasoning in Fort
Halifax is consistent with the £ tio

decidenti of its decision in Morash:

nm) . . It is unlikely that
Congress intended to subject to
ERISA's reporting and disclosure
requirements those vacation
benefits which by their nature
are payable on a regular basis
from the general assets of the
employer and are accumulated
overtime only at the election of
the employee." 490 US, at 116

x zk &®

"In reaching this conclusion,
we emphasize that the case
before us/and the Secretary's
regulations on which we
rely/concern payments by a
single employer out of the

general assets. An entirely

19

different situation would be

presented if a separate fund had

been created by a group of

employers to guarantee the

payment of vacation benefits to
laborers who regularly shift
their jobs from one employer to

another... .-" 490 US at 120.

Cc. AMF SEVERANCE POLICY WAS NOT A PLAN
UNDER ERISA AND PETITIONERS WERE
ENTITLED TO THE SAME BENEFITS OTHER
EMPLOYEES RECEIVED FROM AMF ON AUGUST
1, 1984.

The uncontroverted evidence in this
case and which the Court of Appeal
acknowledged, is that the severance pay
benefits paid to employees of AMF Voit
were paid from the general assets of the
corporation and the amount of the
severance pay benefits accumulated over

time. The longer an employee of AMF Voit

20

was employed for the company, the large
his severance pay benefits under Policy 3-
17. Thus, the severance pay benefit in
the instant case was a form of incentive
or bonus program, accumulated over time
and payable from the general assets of the
employer. Therefore, it was not a plan
under ERISA.

AMF Corporate Policy 3-17 was
not part of any defined plan under ERISA
and neither Petitioners or Respondents
were even aware of the possible
application of ERISA until after suit
commenced in this case. Since at least
1971, AMF Corporate Policy 3-17 provided:

Any salaried employee is
eligible for -a termination
allowance if he is separated at
company convenience through
reduction of work load,

reorganization or relocation of

21

facilities, unless he (1) is a
member of a bargaining unit; (2)
has an employment contract
specifying otherwise; (3) was
hired with a written
understanding that the job was
for a temporary period; (4) has
reached the normal age of
retirement.

There was no exception stated
anywhere in Policy Memorandum 3-17 other
than the exceptions enumerated above and
in particular, no exception for employees
who were separated at company convenience
but offered employment by the purchaser of
the assets of the company. Since
Corporate Policy 3-17 was not part of a
plan under ERISA, Petitioners were not
afforded the protection of ERISA'S
disclosure requirements which were

intended to insure that the individual

22

participant of a plan "knows exactly where
he stands with respect to the plan."

Firestone Tire and Rubber Company v. Bruch

(1989) 489 US 101, 118, citing H.R. Rep.
No. 93-553, page 11 (1973), US Code
Congressional Administrative News 1978,
page 4649. Thus, up until the time of
Petitioners' termination on August 1,
1984, the only writing generated by
Respondents concerning the terms and
conditions for eligibility of severance
pay benefits under Policy 3-17 was the
Corporate Policy Memorandum 3-17. On
August 1, 1984, officers of Respondent AMF
Voit Corporation (the parent corporation)
appeared at the facility of the
employer/subsidiary AMF Yoit, .Ine«;,
Buena Park, California, and divided the
employees of the company into two groups.
Group 1 consisted of employees of AMF Voit

who had not been’ selected by the

23

purchaser, Reltron, for employment after

the acquisition. Group 2 consisted of the
Plaintiffs in the instant case. Separate
meetings were held with each group. Group
1 employees were presented with a "AMF
Voit, Inc., General Statement" which
informed that these employees were not
being offered employment with Reltron and
that AMF would provide one and one-half
weeks' severance pay for each year of
service, as well as employee benefit
continuation for a period of three months,
or for the period of severance, whichever
was longer. Petitioner Donald W. Wright
testified at trial that in the meeting
with the Group 2 employees
(Plaintiffs/Petitioners), these employees
were told:

"Those of you in this room are

going to work for Reltron. You

do not have a choice. Reltron

24

OO

is going to be your employer.

There will be additional work

ioawe€, e424 4473 On 8.2

responsibilities there (will) be

fewer of you going to work for

Reltron than there was working

at AMF Voit, Inc." [R.T. p 52,

lns 4-10]

Petitioners were told that if they
did not go to work for Reltron, the
separation would be considered a voluntary
termination and they would not receive
severance pay or unemployment
compensation. They were not offered
alternative employment positions with AMF
or any of its other subsidiary
corporations. The AMF Voit, Inc., General
Statement published at the time of the
termination on August 1, 1984 also stated:

"AMF will provide severance and

benefit continuance for all

25

those employees being terminated

who do not have a job with
Reltron. Some employees will be

requested to stay on to conclude

the activities of AMF Voit and

others will be severed now."

(Emphasis added)

Some employees in Group 1 received
severance pay benefits under Policy 3-17
and then subsequently were hired by
Reltron. At trial, Petitioners produced
evidence to show that Plaintiffs' role was
simply to facilitate the transition of AMF
Voit business into Reltron. Reltron was
not a manufacturing concern like AMF:
"They purchased everthing that they did
and imported it and sold it on a retail
level." (SR... pte «ee lIns 17-18)
Following the acquisition by Reltron, the
employments of the Group 2 employees

(Plaintiffs) terminated as Reltron merged

26

———————————

the administration aspect of the AMF Voit
business into its administrative operation
in New York and transferred the
warehousing operation to Nevada. At
trial, Petitioner Kenneth A. Braun
testified regarding his employment
experience at Reltron. At the time of the
sale in August 1984, Mr. Braun was in
charge of the machine shop operation at
the Buena Park facility of AMF Voit. His
job then involved supervision of all the
tooling that was required to manufacture
sporting goods equipment at AMF voit and
supervise both salaried and union
employees. [R.T. p 164, l1ns 24-26 & p
165, lns 1-10] Petitioner Braun testified
that his job at Reltron was "not even
close" to the job he had at AMF Voit.
After the acquisition, Reltron put
Petitioner Braun in charge of disposition

of tooling and racking and inventory and

27

office supplies and desks and chairs and

then eventually sweeping the floor and
locking the door as the facility was
closed.

At the time of the acquisition,
Reltron did not have a 4 severance pay
policy much less a policy comparable to
AMF Voit, Inc. Moreover, Reltron did not
assume the obligation to pay severance pay
benefits to Group 2 employees when their
employment with Reltron did terminate
following the merger of the business and
transfer of the operations to New York and
Nevada. Some of the Plaintiffs did
receive a partial severance payment from
Reltron when they were subsequently
terminated by Reltron. However, others
aid not receive any severance benefit when
they terminated their employment in
anticipation of termination by Reltron

with the understanding that there was no

28

va
~
‘

—_—_—_——————— rr

severance pay policy offered by Reltron.

In Chapin v. Fairchild Camera and

Instrument Corporation (1973) 31 Cal. App.
3a 192, 107 Cal. Rptr. 111, the court held

that severance pay is a form of
accumulated compensation for past services
and a material recognition of their past
value. In Chapin, Fairchild Corporation
sold substantially all of its assets of
one of its subsidiaries, Memory Products,
to Core Memories, Inc. (Core). In the
negotiations, Core expressed the desire to
retain all of the employees of Memory
Products and employ them in identical jobs
with continuing seniority rights and
similar but not identical fringe benefits.
However, there was no provision for
severance pay in the asset purchase
agreement. All but one of the employees
of Fairchild-Memory Products transferred

to Core. Subsequently, Core terminated

29

approximately half of the former Fairchild

employees and paid severance benefits to
them. However, these severance pay
benefits were not equal to the amounts
that would have been payable to them
pursuant to the Fairchild severance pay
policy. These employees then brought suit
against Fairchild claiming that they were
entitled to receive the severance pay due
and owing to them by Fairchild at the time
of the sale of Memory Products to Core.
The trial court found that the plaintiffs
had been given the option by Fairchild at
the time of the sale of obtaining
severance pay from Fairchild if they did
not wish to become employed by Core or
going to work for Core. The trial court
found that the acceptance of employment
with Core by the plaintiffs was done with
full knowledge, freely and willingly. The

trial court therefore concluded that the

30

plaintiffs had waived any rights pursuant
to the agreement with Fairchild and that
acceptance of employment with Core
constituted a novation and substitution of
Core's terms of employment for those at
Fairchild. The Court of Appeal reversed.
The court held that severance pay benefits
are wages due and payable at the time of
termination. Fairchild argued, however,
that the plaintiffs suffered little, if
any, immediate economic loss as they
remained in continuous employment with
their seniority rights and at the same
rate of pay. The court in Chapin rejected
the arguments saying:

"This argument involves’ the

proposition that events

occurring subsequent to the

layoff are the important factors

in the determination of whether

the plaintiffs are entitled to

31

—
pe a a

separation pay- This is not

true. As pointed out in Adams

v. Jersey Central Power and

Light Co., 36 New Jersey, supra,

$3, 71, 434 Atlantic 2d 776,
affirmed, 21 New Jersey 8, 120
Atlantic 2d 737, unemployment is
not a prerequisite to the right
to severance pay which may, and
frequently does, exist where
there is no interruption
whatever in the continuity of
employment. Separation pay is
not analogous to nor is it a
form of unemployment
compensation. Rather, it is a
kind of accumulated compensation
for past services and a material
recognition of their past value.
It concerns the past, not the

future. And once it is earned,

32

it becomes payable no matter

what may thereafter happen."

(31 Cal. App. 3d, at 198-199]

The court in Chapin made clear that
the sale of Memory Products by Fairchild
to core constituted a permanent release of
the employees, thereby giving rise to the
obligation to pay the severance pay. In
Chapin, the court attached particular
importance to the fact that the employees
were hired by the purchaser (Core) under
substantially different terms that did not
include a severance pay policy of the same
duration and did not include an
undertaking by Core to discharge
Fairchild's severance pay obligation.

In the instant case, Petitioners were
not given a choice as to whether to go to
work for Reltron or receive severance pay.
Petitioners were told they had to go to

work for Reltron and that if they did not,

ad

their termination from AMF Voit would be

deemed a voluntary termination and they
would not receive severance pay oF
unemployment compensation. Like Chapin,
there was a substantial difference in
employment benefits in that Reltron did
not offer a severance pay policy. Like
Chapin, there was no assumption of the
severance pay obligation by Reltron.
Unlike Chapin, there was substantial
aifferences in the employment. While it
is true that Plaintiffs continued at their
same salary rate and same job titles, the
nature and conditions of their employment
changed dramatically as evidenced by the
change in the employment of Petitioner
Braun. Finally, unlike Chapin, in the
instant case Petitioners' employment was
short-lived. Petitioners ' employment

‘Terminated as the process of concluding

the activities of AMF Voit in California

34

progressed to the complete transfer of
both the administrative and warehousing
operations out of State.

The Court of Appeal affirmed the
trial court's determination that
Petitioners were not "separated" by the
sale of AMF Voit to Reltron and that the
intended purpose of Policy 3-17 was to
provide ". . . a buffer against the
privations which so often attend

unforeseen layoff," citing Allen v. Adage,

Inc. (lst Cir. 1992) 967 F.2d 695, 702.
The Court of Appeal, however, omits any
discussion of the California rule under
Chapin, supra, or Petitioners' evidence
regarding the differences between the
employment at AMF Voit and the employment
at Reltron. Moreover, the Court of Appeal
does not address the fact that
Petitioners’ employment was short-lived

and lasted only as long as it took for

—— ———

Reltron to transfer its warehousing to
Nevada and its administrative operation to
New York. Instead, the Court of Appeal
simply says that its task was to uphold
the judgment of the trial court if
supported by "any credible evidence,
notwithstanding the existence of evidence
to the contrary." The Court of Appeal
cited as authority for this proposition,

Bowers v. Bernards (1984) 150 Cal. App. 3d

870, 873-874. However, the court in
Bowers, Clearly states that there must be
"substantial evidence" which is not simply
defined as “any credible evidence" but
rather evidence "of propounderable legal
significance, reasonable in nature,
credible, and of solid value." [Ibid] In
the instance case, the judgment was not
supported by substantial evidence. Policy
3-17 contained no language which would

deny Petitioners severance pay upon the

36

termination of their employment from AMF
Voit. Respondents' argument that the "AMF
Voit, Inc., General Statement" constituted
a modification of Policy 3-17 was not
credible and indeed, was inconsistent with
Respondents' contention that Policy 3-17
was unambiguous and did not afford
severance pay benefits to Plaintiffs.
Policy Memorandum 3-17 sets forth the
corporate policy on termination allowance
on a preprinted corporate policy form.
The "General Statement" was not set forth
on AMF Corporate Policy Form and could
only be fairly construed as a last minute

"bulletin" of what AMF Corporate intended

to do. Finally, the judgment was not
supported by substantial evidence
consistent with the reasonable

expectations of Plaintiffs/Petitioners.
In fact, the Court of Appeal decision did

not even attempt to ascertain whether the

37

judgment was supported by substantial

evidence consistent with the Plaintiffs'
reasonable expections even though the
Court of Appeal acknowledged that a de
novo review was appropriate. Clearly,
there was a lack of substantial evidence
to support the trial court's judgment
regarding the reasonable expections of
Plaintiffs given that the uncontraverted
evidence at trial was that none of the
Plaintiffs were ever told that they would
not receive severance pay if the assets of
the company were sold and they were
offered employment by the purchaser. In
fact, the evidence received by the trial
court on this issue and as outlined in the
Opening Brief of Petitioners to the Court
of Appeal, was the testimony of
Petitioners and in particular, Plaintiff
Jane Heintz who was the Human Resources

Adnministrator for AMF Voit. Mrs. Heintz

38

testified at trial that she was required
to explain the severance policy to
employees of the company and relied upon
Corporate Policy 3-17 to do so. She also
testified that she paid severance pay
benefits and/or processed the paperwork to
effectuate a payment of severance pay
benefits to employees while employed for
the company. [R.T. pp 56-57] Mrs. Heintz
testified categorically that the General
“Statement of August 1, 1984 was not the
severance pay policy of AMF Voit. (R.T.
pp 62-63] She further testified that
while employed as the Human Resources
Administrator for AMF Voit, she received
no prior communications or consultation at
all regarding what would happen to
employees of AMF Voit upon the sale of the
company to Reltron. Further, Petitioner
Donald Wright was Distribution Manage for

AMF Voit and employed for the company for

a little over nine years. [R-.T P 36) Mr.

Wright testified that at the meeting of
August 1, 1984, AMF Corporate Officers did
not tell Plaintiffs that there was no
severance Policy 3-17 and did not state
that Policy 3-17 had been superceded.
[R.T. p 127, Ins 8-16] Moreover, Mr.
Wright testified that Plaintiffs were not
told at the meeting that the General
Statement was the new Policy on severance
pay. [R.T. p 127 lns 19-23] Further, Mr.
Wright testified that during the entire
time he was employed for Reltron after
August 1, 1984, he never received anything
in writing from AMF informing him that the
General Statement was the new severance
pay Policy and that this was why he did
not receive severance pay on August 1,
1984. [R.T. p 128 lns 2-9] Clearly, the
trial court and the Court of Appeal should

have concluded that there was a lack of

40

credible evidence to support the
proposition of Respondents that Policy 3-
17 was modified by the "General
Statement." Further, the Court of Appeal
should have taken into consideration the
reasoning in Chapin, supra, particularly
given the circumstances of Petitioners’
employment post termination from AMF Voit.
Petitioners were "severed" from AMF. Voit
and at the time of Petitioners'
“termination of employment on August 1,
1984, Respondents clearly knew that for
Plaintiffs "the privations which so often
attend unforeseen layoffs" was merely
being delayed until Plaintiffs assisted
Reltron in the transfer of the AMF Voit
operation out of the State of California.
//

//

//

//

41

CONCLUSION
WHEREFORE, Petitioners respectfully
request that this court grant certiorari.
DATED: August 5, 1994

Respectfully submitted,

+

4, pf
tT Si,
By £11k Rigo

Counsel of Record

42

APPENDIX A: WRIGHT V. AMF CORP.

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE
STATE OF CALIFORNIA
FOURTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION THREE

DONALD W. WRIGHT et al.,
Plaintiffs and Appellants,
Vv.
AMF CORPORATION, ET AL.
Defendants and Respondents.
No. G011488
OPINION
Appeal from a judgment of the
Superior Court of Orange County, David H.
Brickner, Judge. Affirmed.
Knez & Jolley and Fred J. Knez for
Plaintiffs and Appellants.
Latham & Watkins, Kenneth W. Oder,

Joseph B. Farrell and Andrew M. Paley for

43

Defendants and Respondents.

Filed February 23, 1994

AMF Voit, Inc., 4 subsidiary of AMF
Corporation, was acquired by Reltron
Corporation through an asset purchase.
Appellants, a group of Voit employees,
were offered employment with Reltron with
the proviso that if they refused, their
termination from Voit would be considered
voluntary and they would be denied
severance benefits. Appellants, most of
whom accepted Reltron's offer, filed a
complaint for damages based on state law,
and Voit successfully demurred on the
grounds the action was preempted by ERISA.
That determination was affirmed on appeal
by this court in September 1988. The one
surviving cause of action was tried under
ERISA, and the trial court found there was
no right to severance benefits.

Appellants claim = an intervening

a4

change in the law requires us to re-
examine our decision that the state law
claims are preempted by ERISA.
Alternatively, they claim the judgment
denying them severance benefits under
ERISA must be reversed because the trial
court failed to use a de novo standard of
review of Voit's corporate policy and
under that standard there is insufficient
evidence to support the judgment; they
also claim the trial court failed to
follow principles of equity in making its
decision. Voit requests sanctions against
appellants for filing a frivolous appeal
and for repeated violations of the court
rules. We deny the request for sanctions
and affirm the judgment.
* * * * *

In July 1984 AMF Corporation entered

into ” asset purchase agreement with

Reltron Corporation for the sale of the

45

assets of Voit to Reltron. The sale

closed on August 2, 1984. On August l,
AMF officers came to the voit facility and
divided the Voit employees into two
groups: Group one were employees not
offered jobs by Reltron; and group two
were employees whom Reltron wished to
retain. Group one employees were
presented with an “AMF Voit, Inc. General
Statement," which explained that their
jobs were being eliminated by Reltron's
acquisition of voit and there were no
alternative positions with AMF. They
would receive one and one-half weeks
severance pay for every year of service.

Group two employees’ were told they would

‘The original plaintiffs in this
action consisted of all the group two

employees. Many of the original
plaintiffs have chosen not to pursue this
appeal. The appellants use the term

"plaintiffs" to refer to the 19 original
employees.

46

be employed by Reltron at their previous
salaries and would not receive severance
pay. They were told that if they did not
go to work for Relton, their separation
would be considered a voluntary
termination and they would not receive
severance pay or unemployment
compensation. They were not offered
alternative positions with AMF.

After the meeting with AMF officers,
all but three of the plaintiffs
collectively decided to accept Reltron's
employment offer but to pursue legal
remedies against AMF and Voit. Reltron
guaranteed at least five months '
employment and similar benefits, with the
notable exception, however, that Reltron
did not provide a severance pay benefit.
Most of the plaintiffs' job duties
remained the same after the acquisition

and most received significant raises

47

during their employment with Reltron.

Eventually, Reltron ceased operations in
California and paid all involuntarily
terminated employees severance benefits
equal to one week's wages for every year
of service with both Voit and Reltron.
Some of the plaintiffs voluntarily
resigned from Reltron before its closure
and received no severance benefits.

AMF's corporate policy regarding
severance benefits, which the trial court
found applicable to Voit, was embodied in
Corporate Policy 3-17 issued in 1975.
That policy states, "Any salaried employee
is eligible for a termination allowance if
he is separated at company convenience
through reduction of work load,
reorganization or relocation of facilities
. . « « The termination allowance .
shall provide one-half month's pay for

each two and one-half years of completed

48

a
$$ $_$____._ —

SS SS fe SS

service, with a minimum of one-half month
and a maximum of six months' pay (30 years
of service)." The trial court found that
although the acquisition of Voit by
Reltron constituted a "reorganization"
under 3-17, there was no "separation"
because the employees still hac
substantially similar jobs. The trial
court also found that the General
Statement delivered to the Voit employees
the day before the sale closed "clarifies
and restates" the "probable meaning of 3-
17," which was that an employee out of a
job would receive severance pay and one
not out of a job would not.
I

Appellants first ask us to reexamine
our previous decision that ERISA preempts
their state law claims, contending the
subsequent decision by the United States

Supreme Court in Massachusetts v. Morash

49

(1989) 490 U.S. 107 has limited the scope

of ERISA's preemption.

Under the doctrine of "law of the
case," a rule of law or principle stated
in an appellate court decision is binding
throughout all further proceedings in that
case, both in the lower court and on a

subsequent appeal. (Clemente v. State of

California (1985) 40 Cal.3d 202, Bi.)
The doctrine is not jurisdictional,
however, in that it does not affect a
court's power to proceed; rather, it is a
rule of procedure that exists for reasons
of policy and convenience. “It will not
be adhered to where its application will
result in an unjust decision." (id. at p.
212.) The primary reason for departing
from the doctrine is an intervening change
in the law (ibid.), which exception
appellants claim here.

In our previous unpublished opinion

50

(Wright v. AMF Corporation (Sept. 8,

1988)G004589), we relied on the United
States Supreme Court's broad language in

Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux (1987) 481

U.S. 41 to hold "{ajll state laws
pertaining to employee benefit plans,
except those regulating insurance, are

preempted by ERISA." (Wright v. AMF

Corporation, supra, (typed opn. at p.3).)
Plaintiffs' complaint alleged AMF 's
failure to pay them severance benefits
when the company was sold was a violation
of its pension benefits plans.
"Plaintiffs' civil remedy, if any exists,
must be obtained through the exclusive
ERISA scheme. Damages under state law are
simply not available." (Id. at p. 5.)
Appellants now argue that AMF's
Corporate Policy 3-17 was not an employee
benefit plan under ERISA, citing

deposition testimony to that effect from

51

AMF's Director of Human Resources at the

time Voit was sold* and the United State

Supreme Court case of Massachusetts v.
Morash, supra, 490 U.S. 107. In Morash,

an employer failed to compensate two
discharged vice presidents for vacation
time they accrued but did not use, in
violation of a state statute. The
Supreme Court held that although ERISA
included vacation benefits in its
Gefinition of an employee welfare benefit
plan, it did not intend to regulate
"ordinary" vacation benefits, which are
"typically fixed, due at known times, and
do not depend on contingencies outside the
employee's control ...." (Id. at p.

115.) The court referred to Department of

2The deponent, Joe van Dorn, testified he

never thought the severance pay policy was
an ERISA plan and he assumed severance pay
and wages were paid from the same bank
account.

52

Labor regulations, which characterized the
payment of vacation benefits out of an
employer's general assets rather than a
trust fund as "payroll practices" and not
employee welfare benefit plans within the
meaning of ERISA. (Id. at pp. 117-118.)
Appellants seize upon this language
and argue that severance benefits paid
from an employer's general assets, rather
than a trust fund, are not regulated by
_ ERISA. But the Morash opinion
specifically distinguished the types of
benefits covered by ERISA, including
severance benefits, from the type of
vacation benefit under review. "The
distinguishing feature of most of these
benefits is that they sacomnl ate over a
period of time and are payable only upon
the occurrence of a contingency outside of
the control of the employee .... Thus,

for example, plans to pay employees

-

severance benefits, which are payable only
upon termination of employment, are
employee welfare benefit plans within the
meaning of the Act." (Id. at pp. 115-
116.) In the face of this clear language,
it seems that Morash does not represent a
change in the law so as to allow us to
disregard the doctrine of law of the case
and reexamine our previous decision on
preemption.
II

Appellants next contend that even if
their claim for severance benefits is
governed by ERISA, they are entitled to
recover. A participant or beneficiary of
a welfare benefit plan is entitled to
bring a civil action in state or federal
court to recover benefits due him under
the terms of his plan. (29 U.S.C. §1132,
Ssubd.(a)(1)(B) & (e).) A claim for

benefits wrongfully denied is determined

54

by the trial court's de novo review of the
plan provisions, "unless the benefit plan
gives the administrator or fiduciary
discretionary authority to determine
eligibility for benefits or to construe

the terms of the plan." (Firestone Tire &

Rubber Company v. Bruch (1989) 789 U.S.

101, 114.)
Appellants claim the trial court

failed to use the de novo standard of

review when interpreting Policy Memorandum
3-17 or the General Statement. But the
record indicates otherwise. Although the
trial court received evidence of AMF's
interpretation of its policy, permissible
to clarify ambiguous terms of a plan

(Awbrey _v. Pennzoil Co. (10th Cir. 1992)

961 F.2d 928, 930-31), it gave no

deference to AMF's interpretation when

55

making its findings.°

Appellants challenge the sufficiency
of the evidence to support the trial
court's findings even if made under a de
novo standard. Of course, our task is to
uphold the judgment below if supported by
any credible evidence, notwithstanding the
existence of evidence to the contrary.

(Bowers v. Bernards (1984) 150 Cal. App.

3d 870, 873-874.)

The trial court found Policy 3-17 did
not provide for severance benefits to
appellants because they were not separated
from their e »loyment. Van Dorn testified
appellants did not miss one day of work

following the asset sale to Reltron. They

3Pre-Firestone, many trial courts upheld
the administrator's or fiduciary's
decision unless it was clearly
unreasonable. (Firestone Tire and Rubber
Corp. v. Bruch, supra, 489 U.S. at p.
114.)

56

retained their same jobs at the same
location with the same initial salary and
with similar benefits.‘

The trial court also found the
purpose of Policy 3-17 was to provide
assistance to employees out of a job. In
support of that finding, Van Dorn stated
the purpose of the policy was to provide
"an amount of income or cushion for the

employee once they leave the company and

set out to find their next opportunity."

The trial court's conclusion comports with
the weight of authority. The usual
purpose of a severance benefits plan "is,
first and foremost, to provide employees

with a buffer against the privations which

4minor differences in employee benefits are

irrelevant to a determination of
entitlement to severance pay when an
employee is retained by a purchasing
company. (Sejman v. Warner-Lambert Co.,
Inc. (4th Cir. 1989) 889 F.2d 1436.)

57

so often attend unforseen layoffs."

(Allen v. Adage, Inc. (1st Cir. 1992) 967

F.2d 695, 702. See also Awbrey v.

Pennzoil Co., supra, 961 F.2d at pop. 931-

932.)

Van Dorn also testified that when AMF
sold the assets of other subsidiaries in
the past, which it had done a number of
times, none of the retained employees
received severance benefits. "Although
past practice may not have as much

probative value after Bruch as theretofore

- « « »-, it is still frequently used by
courts as a device for deciphering the
meaning of ambiguous plan provisions."

(Allen v. Adage, Inc., supra, 967 F.2d at

p. 702.) This evidence also supports the
trial court's conclusion regarding the
meaning of the word "separated."

IIt

AMF requests sanctions in the form of

58

EE EEE!EE

oe =
ee

its attorney's fees for this appeal of
$31,939.53. It complains that the appeal
on the preemption issue is “totally and
completely without merit." (Marriage of
Flaherty (1982) 31 Cal. 3d 637, 650.) But
we do not agree. Although we have
concluded the judgment must be affirmed,
the appellants' contentions are not
frivolous.

AMF also asserts appellants should be
sanctioned because they have violated
court rules by quoting from exhibits not
introduced at trial and by citing facts
never admitted into evidence. California
Rules of Court, rule 13 requires the
statement of facts in the opening brief to
be "accurate and confined to matters in
the record on appeal." And appellants
have taken liberties with the record, as
AMF claims. But the facts outside the

record included in the brief are not

59

particularly significant to the issues

raised, and their inclusion could not have
been the cause of any substantial portion
of AMF's attorney's fees on appeal.
Likewise, they did not mislead or
delay this court in the preparation of

this opinion. In Alicia T. v. County of

Los Angeles (1990) 222 Cal. App. 3d 869,

the opening brief contained no references
to the record, “confused and obfuscated
the factual and legal bases" of the case,
and required the reviewing court to expend
substantial additional time to prepare an
opinion. Furthermore, counsel refused to
desist in citing an unpublished opinion,
even after being warned. In light of
these transgressions, the court assessed
sanctions payable to the clerk of the
court. (Id. at pp. 875, fn. 1, 886.)
Short of such egregious violations of the

court rules, it is appropriate simply to

60

disregard the extraneous facts when
reviewing the case. (Kendal v. Allied
Investigations, Inc. (1988) 197 Cal. App.
3d 619, 625.)

The judgment is affirmed. The
request for sanctions is denied, but AMF

is entitled to its costs on appeal.

WALLIN, J.

We concur:

Moore, Acting P.J.

Crosby, J.

APPENDIX B:

29 U.8.C., Bection 1002(1);
29 U.S.C., Section 1002(3);
29 U.8.C., Section 1144 (a)

29 U.S.C., Section 1002(1)

(1) The terms “employee welfare
benefit plan" and “welfare plan" mean any
plan, fund, or program which was
heretofore or is hereafter established or
maintained by an employer or by an
employee organization, or by both, to the
extent that such plan, fund, or program
was established or is maintained for the
purpose of providing for its participants
or their beneficiaries, through the
purchase of insurance or otherwise, (A)
medical, surgical or hospital care or
benefits, or beneifts in the event of
Sickness, accident, disability, death or
unemployment, or vacation benefits,
apprenticeship or other training programs,

or day care centers, scholarship funds, or

62

prepaid legal services, or (B) any benefit
described in section 186(c) of this title
(other than pensions on retirement or
death, and isurance to provide’ such
pensions).

29 U.S.C. 1002(3)

(3) The term “employee benefit plan"
or "plan" means an employee welfare
benefit plan or an employee pension
benefit plan or a plan which is both an
employee welfare benefit plan and an
employee pension benefit plan.

29 U.S.C. 1144(€a)

(a) Supersedure; effective date

Except as provided in subsection (b)
of this section, the provisions of this
subchapter and subchapter III of this
chapter shall supersede any and all state
laws insofar as they may now or hereafter
relate to any employee benefit plan

described in section 1003(a) of this title

63

and not exempt under section 1003(b) of
this title. This section shall take

effect on January 1, 1975.

64

APPENDIX C:

LABOR CODE SECTION 201

Time for payment on discharge or
layoff; seasonal employment; mail

If an employer discharges an
employee, the wages earned and unpaid at
the time of discharge are due and payable
immediately. An employer who lays off a
group of employees by reason of the
termination of seasonal employment in the
curing, canning or drying of any variety
of perishable fruit, fish or vegetables,
shall be deemed to have made immediate
payment whtn the wages of said employees
are paid within such reasonable time as
may be necessary for computation and
payment thereof; provided, however, that
such reasonable time shall not exceed 72
hours, and further provided that payment
shall be made by mail to any such employee

who so requests and designates a mailing

65

address therefor.

Chapin v. Fairchild Camera and Instrument
Corp.

Chapin v. Fairchild Camera etc. Corp.

(31 Cal. App. 3d 192]

[Civ. No. 29866.

Court of Appeals of California, First
Appellate District, Division Two.

March 20, 1973.]

MARY ANN CHAPIN et al., Plaintiffs
and Appellants, v. FAIRCHILD CAMERA AND
INSTRUMENT CORPORATION, Defendant and
Respondent

SUMMARY

The trial court determined that
employees of a department of a corporation
sold to another corporation were not
entitled to termination pay from the
seller. Standard practice instructions of
the seller provided for "in lieu of notice

pay" for hourly employees and severance

66

pay for salaried employees in the event of
a layoff. The employees had been given
the option of continuing their employment
with the buyer in identical jobs with
similar but not identical fringe benefits.
All employees but one accepted, but within
three months after the sale date about
half of them were terminated by the buyer.
The termination benefits provided by the
buyer were not equal to those previously
available from the seller and the sale
contract did not provide for the buyer's
assumption of the termination pay
obligation of the seller. (Superior Court
of Santa Clara County, No. 215017,

Marshall S. Hall, Judge.)

The Court of Appeal reversed, holding
that the sale amounted to a layoff within
the meaning of the seller's’ standard

practice instructions which were a part of

67

the understanding of employment. The
court noted that the sale made it wholly
impossible for the employees to continue
their employment with the seller, and it
pointed out that separation pay is not a
form of unemployment compensation so as to
make unemployment a prerequisite to the

right thereto.

(Opinion by Taylor, P. J., with Kane
and Rouse, JJ., concurring.)
HEADNOTES

Master and Servant § 26.5—Contract
of Employment—Severance Pay and Similar
Benefits.

1. Termination pay provisions are
identically construed whether
they are contained in formal written
agreements, such as collective bargaining
agreements, or in a corporate personnel

policy that becomes a part of the

68

understood employment agreement, or are

provided by statute.

Master and Servant § 26.5-—Contracts
of Employment-—Severance Pay and Similar
Benefits.

2a, 2b. A corporation's sale of an
entire department to another corporation
constituted a "layoff" of the employees in

that department so as to entitle hourly

employees to "in lieu of notice pay" and

Salaried employees to severance pay as
provided in the seller's standard practice
instructions, even though the employees
were given the option of continuing with
the buyer in identical jobs with similar
but not identical fringe benefits, and all
but one accepted, where the sale made it
wholly impossible for the employees to
continue their employment with the seller,

and where termination benefits provided by

69

the buyer were not equal to those
previously available from the seller, and
the sale agreement did not provide for
assumption by the buyer of the seller's
obligation of termination pay to the
employees.

[Construction and effect of severance
or dismissal pay provisions of employment
contract or collective bargaining
agreement, note, 40 A.L.R.2d 1044. See
also Cal.Jur.2d, Master and Servant, § 42;
Am.Jur.2d, Master and Servant, § 81.]

Master and Servant § 26.5—Contracts
of Employment—Severance Pay and Similar
Benefits.

3. Separation pay is not analogous
to, nor is it a form of, unemployment
compensation, and unemployment is not a
prerequisite to the right to separation
pay, which is a kind of accumulated

compensation for past services and a

70

material recognition of their past value.

It concerns the past, not the future, and

once it is earned, it becomes payable no

matter what may thereafter happen.
COUNSEL

Schiller & Rose, Philip L. Grauman
and M. Fred Rose for Plaintiffs and
Appellants.

Danaher, Gunn & Klynn and Michael
Klynn for Defendant and Respondent.

OPINION

TAYLOR, P. J.

This appeal by certain former
salaried and hourly employees (Employees)
of the Memory Products Department (Memory
Products) of respondent, Fairchild Camera
and Instrument Corporation (Fairchild),
from an adverse judgment after a court
trial, presents a question of first

impression in this state as to the nature

of severance and in lieu of notice
benefits in a contract of
employment. For the reasons set forth
below, we have concluded that the trial
court erred in concluding that Fairchild's
sale of Memory Products was not a
termination of employment that would
entitle the Employees to the benefits in
issue.

. The record reveals the following
pertinent facts: Fairchild, the parent
foreign corporation with several
subsidiaries and 13 different divisions in
50 states, created Memory Products in
November 1965, as a separate department to
produce memory cores for small computers.
Fairchild's Semiconductor Division
(Semiconductor), under contract, performed
personnel and payroll functions, as
Semiconductor did for all Fairchild west

coast personnel. The Employees were thus

72

subject to the corporate standard practice
instructions (SPIs) issued by Fairchild's
home office and the divisional
instructions locally issued by
Semiconductor. The SPIs and divisional
instructions were kept in loose leaf
binders and available to all personnel who
wanted to look at them; these binders were
about two inches thick and contained
several hundred pages.

Prior to May 1965, a time when about
six of the employees were employed by
Semiconductor, Fairchild's SPI 706 (which
applied only to salaried Employees),
provided, so far as pertinent, that
Salaried personnel were entitled to
"separation allowances" of one week's pay
for up to one year's service, and two
weeks' pay for over one year to 10 years
of service. 706 also provided that

severance pay was “intended to cover the

ta

readjustment period required by the

employee to obtain another position."

Semiconductor's divisional
instructions 710 and 713, respectively, so
far as pertinent, defined "layoffs" as the
involuntary termination of employment
due to lack of work, and
provided that on layoff: 1) hourly
Employees were entitled to one week's
notice or one week's pay in lieu thereof
("in lieu of notice pay"); and 2) salaried
Employees were entitled to one week's
severance pay, for service up to one year,
and two weeks' severance pay for service
of more than one year. While neither 706
nor 710 and 713 were -concealed from the
Employees, those who testified had no
knowledge of 706, but had knowledge of 710
and 713.

In January 1968, Fairchild began

negotiations with Core Memories, Inc.

74

(Core) for the sale of Memory Products.
At meetings held during the second week of
February, the Employees were informed by
a Fairchild executive, Dr. Noyce, that a
sale was pending but were not told of the
exact date. The Employees were also
informed that Core wanted to purchase
Memory Products as a continuing business
and wanted to retain all personnel, in
identical jobs with continuing seniority
rights and similar but not identical
fringe benefits. The contract of
sale was signed on Friday, March 1, 1968,
at which time Core agreed toc continue the
same rate of pay and seniority rights of
Memory Products' Employees and similar
fringe benefits; the agreement did not
contain any sum for severance pay. The
contract was executed on Saturday, March
2, 1968, and on Monday, March 4, 1968,

Core took over the operation of Memory

75

Products. All but one of the employees

transferred to Core; in April of 1968,
Core terminated 40 of the 187-191
Employees; within three months of the sale
date, Core terminated another 50-55. Core
paid severance or in lieu of notice pay to
some of the discharged Employees. These
payments, however, were not equal to the
amounts that would have been pawable to
them pursuant to divisional instruction
713, and, in some instances, were made
purely at the discretion of Core's
management.

Employee, Mary Ann Chapin, filed a
complaint with the labor commissioner and
subsequently in the small claims court for
severance benefits under her contract of
employment with Fairchild. By
stipulation, Fairchild's appeal from the
municipal court action was dropped on

filing of the instant class action in the

76

superior court.

The trial court found that this was
a valid class action pursuant to Code of
Civil Procedure section 382, but that the
Employees were not entitled to damages or
benefits. The trial court based its

conclusion on the following premises:

Employees had the option at the time of

sale of obtaining severance pay
from Fairchild if they did not wish to
become employed by Core. When the sale
was consummated, Employees were in fact
offered jobs by Core that resulted in
their receiving full seniority rights and
substantially equal fringe benefits from
Core. The acceptance of emplcoynent with
Core by Employees was done with full
knowledge and intention, freely and
Willingly, and constituted an acceptance
of Core's employment terms, a waiver of

any rights pursuant to their employment

agreement with Fairchild and further
constituted a novation and substitution of
Core's terms of employment for Fairchild.
The transfer of employment from Fairchild
to Core did not constitute a layoff within
divisional instruction 713. At least two
weeks prior to the sale of Memory
Products, the Employees were told at a
meeting by a vice president of Fairchild
and a representative of Core about the
intended sale and the opportunity to
become employed by Core. This meeting
constituted notice within divisional
instruction 713 and gave the Employees a
reasonable choice concerning their future
employment.

At the outset, we note that the trial
court's conclusion was based on a legal
theory of novation that was. neither
pleaded, proved nor urged by either

party, and reversal would be

78

required on this ground alone. Novation

must be specifically pleaded (Alexander v.

Angel, 37 Cal.2d 856 [236 P.2d 561]). In
addition, the findings that the February
meetings constituted proper notice to the
hourly Employees and that SPI 706
became a part of the Empioyees'’ contract
of employment are not supported by
the record.

While the interpretation of severance
and in lieu of notice benefits in a
contract of employment has not previously
been presented to an appellate tribunal of
this state, there are numerous decisions
in other jurisdictions (see 147 A.L.R.
151; 40 A.L.R.2d 1044). {1} As
Fairchild relies on the absence of a
statutory requirement and/or a collective
bargaining agreement, we are constrained’
to point out, preliminarily, that

termination pay provisions are identically

79

construed whether contained in formal
written agreements, such as collective
bargaining agreements (Adams v. Jersey
Central Power & Light Company (1956) 21
N.J. 8 [120 A.2d 737]), or -a corporate
personnel policy that becomes a part of
the understood employment agreement /(
Willets v. Emhart Manufacturing Company,
supra; Mace v. Conde Nast Publications,-
Inc. (1967) 155 Conn. 680 [237 A.2d 360]}),
or pursuant to a statute (Bolta Products
Div. v. Director of Div. of Emp. Sec.
(1970) 356 Mass. 684 [255 N.E.2d 357}).
[2a] The record here establishes:
1) the existence of an understanding of
employment between the Employees and
Fairchild prior to the sale of Memory
Products; 2) pursuant to Fairchild's
employment policies, salaried personnel
were entitled to one or two weeks of

severance pay, depending on length of

80

service, and hourly personnel to one
week's notice, or one week's pay in lieu
thereof, as set forth in Semiconductor's
divisional instruction 713; 3) the
interpretation of separation allowances as
unemployment compensation in original SPI
706 and the subsequent exclusion of
separation allowances on the sale of a
facility in revised SPI 706 were never

communicated to any of the Employees; 4)

the termination benefits provided by Core

to the Employees were not equal to those
previously available from Fairchild; and
5) Fairchild's agreement with Core for the
sale of Memory Products as a going
concern, including all personnel, did not
contain a sum for the separation benefits
here in issue.

Here, as in Willets v. Emhart
Manufacturing Company, supra, the

underlying question is whether the sale of

81

| Memory Products was a layoff for lack of
work within the language of 713. There
can be no question that here, as in
Willets, the sale involved a permanent
release of the Employees by
Fairchild. By that sale, Fairchild made
certain that it could no longer fulfill
its part of the employment relationship
(Matthews v. Minnesota Tribune Co. (1943)
215 Minn. 369 [10 N.W.2d 230, 147 A.L.R.
147]}). Nor can it be argued that this
release is not a layoff because it is
permanent and not temporary in duration.
Divisional instruction 713 defines a
layoff as involuntary termination due to
lack of work, consistent with the
dictionary and accepted definition of a
layoff as a cessation of employment
because of a slack in production and
without prejudice. The fact that a

layoff is often temporary does not require

82

that it must be (see International Ass'n
of Machinists v. State (1943) 153 Fla. 672
[15 So.2d 485}).

Certainly, Fairchild's sale of Memory
Products was a permanent layoff of the
Employees. Fairchild's admitted
modification of 706 after the 1965
decision in Willets v. Emhart, supra,
(discussed in fn. 2 above), indicates that
its own interpretation of its own
personnel policies prior to the 1965
amendment and those of its Semiconductor
division, as set forth in 710 and 713, was
that separation benefits would be payable
on the sale of a facility or division.

The trial court and Fairchild make
much of the fact that the Employees
suffered little, if any, immediate
economic loss, as they remained in
continuous employment with their seniority

rights and at the same rate of pay with

83

Memory Products. An identical argument
was rejected in Willets, supra, at page
548: "The defendant makes much of the
fact that the plaintiffs have suffered
little, if any, immediate economic loss.
It argues that the principal difference is
not in the work or pay of the plaintiffs
but in the ownership of the employer's
business. This argument involves the
proposition that events occurring
subsequent to the layoff are the important
factors in the determination whether the
plaintiffs are entitled to separation pay.
This is not true. [3] As was pointed
out in Adams v. Jersey Central Power &
Light Company, 36 N.J.Super. 53, 71, 114
A.2d 776, aff'd, 21 N.J. 8, 120 A.2da 737,
unemplcyment is not a prerequisite to the
right =o separation pay which may, and
frequertly does, exist where there is no

interruption whatever in the continuity of

84

employment. Separation pay is not
analogous to, nor is it a form of,
unemployment compensation. Rather, it is
a kind of accumulated compensation for
past services and a material recognition
of their past value. (Citation. ] ze
concerns the past, not the future, and
once it is earned, it becomes payable no

matter what may thereafter

happen. For various applications of this

rule, see the cases set forth in the
annotations in 147 A.L.R. 151 and 40
A.L.R.2d 1044."

Fairchild attempts to distinguish
Willets on the ground that in that case
the court was concerned with equitably
compensating personnel who had to move
from Connecticut to Louisiana, to continue
their employment with the purchaser. The
theory of Willets, quoted above, indicates

that this is not a proper basis of

85

distinction. Willets was followed in
Mace v. Conde Nast Publications, Inc.,
supra, and Straus-Duparquet, Inc., supra.
[2b] Here, as in Adams v. Jersey
Central Power & Light Company, supra, 120
A.2d 737, 741, the fact remains that the
employment with the seller was terminated;
the Employees were hired by Core under
substantially different terms that
not only did not provide severance pay of
the same duration as Fairchild, but also
did not undertake to discharge Fairchild's
obligation of severance pay to the
Employees. Thus, it cannot be said that
the termination of their employment by
Fairchild was voluntary on the part of the
Employees. We are not concerned with the
new jobs but the old ones. The
termination was entirely involuntary on
the part of the Employees. Fairchild sold

Memory Products, that part of its business

86

in which the Employees were engaged, and
by its voluntary act made it wholly
impossible for the Employees to continue
their employment with Fairchild.

As indicated above, the trial court
determined the issues on the basis of
novation. Even assuming the issue had
been properly pleaded, it would not be
possible here as there was no
consideration (Ybarra v. Solarz, 56
Cal.App.2d 342, 346 [132 P.2d 880]). Nor could there be a novation without
the consent of the Employees. Thus,
Fairchild's reliance on Armstrong v.
Cherry, 89 Cal.App. 442 [264 P. 798]. is
inapposite. We note that an
employer's identical contention
based on novation was carefully analyzed
and rejected by the court in Mace v. Conde
Nast Publications, Inc., supra, at page

363, as follows: "The plaintiffs knew

87

nothing of the agreement between the

defendant and Butterick until after it was
signed. The plaintiffs went to work for
Butterick because they were automatically
transferred there by the defendant without
being requested to transfer there and
without either an oral or ae written
agreement by them to such a transfer.
"There can be no question that, as a
result of the licensing agreement with
Butterick, the defendant permanently
terminated its employer-employee
relationship with the plaintiffs and, at
the same time, effected a reduction in its
staff. That termination, without more,
served to entitle the plaintiffs to
severance pay under the terms of their
employment contract. ([Citation.] The
defendant sought to escape this result by
providing that the circumstances

established a novation by indicating that

88

the plaintiffs had, by their actions,

expressed acceptance of Butterick in lieu
of the defendant as the company to which
they would look for severance payments.
'Novation' is a term usually used to refer
to instances in which a new party is
introduced into a new contract.
(Citation. ] It requires proof that the
one in the position of creditor, in this
case the plaintiffs, had accepted a new
debtor, in this case Butterick, in the
place of the defendant to which they would
look for fulfilment of the severance pay
obligation owing to them. [Citation.] In
addition, it requires proof that the
plaintiffs had agreed to a discharge of
the defendant's obligation to then.
(Citation. ]"

Fairchild's public policy argument
concerning the initiation of business

sales and mergers is likewise without

89

merit. The many cases in other

jurisdictions, discussed above, do not
suggest that the sale of businesses has
been inhibited by the holdings of the
cases cited. We may take judicial notice
of the many corporate sales, mergers and
reorganizations that have taken place in
recent years and venture to suggest that
these are not related to severance pay
provisions. Fairchild is not prohibited
from further sales, only from sales that
do not take into account its pre-existing
contract obligations to Employees that are
sold as part of the on-going business.
Fairchild can easily protect
itself by informing its personnel that
certain benefits do not accrue or are not
payable in cases of sale or merger.

The judgment is reversed and the case
remanded to the trial court for an

assessment of the precise damages

90

sustained by each of the Employees.

Kane, J., and Rouse, J., concurred.
HISTORY

A petition for a rehearing was denied
April 19, 1973, and respondent's petition
for a hearing by the Supreme Court was
denied May 16, 1973.

FOOTNOTE 1 Under the terms of the
employment here in issue, the salaried
Employees were entitled to "severance pay"
benefits, and the hourly Emplyees to "in
lieu of notice pay" benefits. Thus, the
terms are interchangeable (cf.
Straus-Dupargquet, Inc. v. Local U. No. 3
Int. Bro. of Elec. Wkrs. (2d Cir. 1967)
386 F.2d 649).

FOOTNOTE 2 On May 19, 1965, after
Willets v. Emhart Manufacturing Company
(1965) 152 Conn. 487 [208 A.2d 546], 706
was amended to provide that employees

terminated by the sale of a Fairchild

91

facility would not be eligible for a
separation allowance. However, the court
below found that the employees who so
testified did not have notice of this
amendment and could make no findings as to
the others; and did not base its decision
on the provisions of 706.

FOOTNOTE 3 For example, for salaried
Employees with service of more than one
year, Core provided one week of severance
pay, in contrast to Fairchild's two weeks
of severance pay. The vacation and
insurance benefits also differed.

FOOTNOTE 4 The record indicates that
novation was first mentioned negatively by
the Employees' counsel in his closing
argument to the trial court. Fairchild's
counsel stated that the "suggestion that
this is a situation of novation is absurd.
It is not a novation situation." Although

the trial court indicated that it would

92

permit an amendment of the pleadings, no
motion to amend was ever made.

FOOTNOTE 5 The uncontroverted
evidence indicates that the Employees were
told that the sale was imminent, but were
not given a specific date. On the
afternoon of Friday, March 1, the badges
of the Employees were first collected and
then returned as the sale was in doubt.
None of the Employees received written
notice of the termination of their
employment with Fairchild, and apparently
were not aware that Core had, in fact,
taken over, until Monday, March 4.

FOOTNOTE 6 The Employees were
informed of the substance of 710 and 713;
there was conflicting evidence as to
whether 713 had been posted. The
uncontroverted evidence indicates that
neither 706 (either in its revised or

original form), nor its content, was ever

93

communicated to the Employees. Fairchild's
policy was that SPIs were distributed in
binders to executives and available for
inspection by other personnel. Ms.
Chapin, as executive secretary to the
general manager of Memory Products, was in
charge of keeping the binders up to date
and answering questions of Memory Products
personnel about their contents but had
never seen or heard of 706. At the
hearing before the labor commissioner and
in the small claims court, Fairchild's
witnesses indicated that 706 had never
been circulated as it was only an
interoffice memo.

FOOTNOTE 7 Fairchild argues that
public policy supports its position and
cites the following from Commerce Clearing
House Wage and Hour Reporter, PL
25.580.55: “severance pay is not pay for

time worked; just the reverse is true — it

94

depends upon the employee not working at
the time he receives it." The language is
quoted out of context from an illustration
indicating that under the Fair Labor
Standards Act, an employer is not allowed
to credit severance pay against regular or
overtime wages due to an employee, so that
on termination, an employee is entitled to
both. This is also the law in this state
(Powell v. California Dept. of Employment,
63 Cal.2d 103 [45 Cal.Rptr. 136, 403 P.2d
392]), but does not support Fairchild's
argument or resolve the issues. here
presented.

FOOTNOTE 8 Webster's New Collegiate
Dictionary (2d ed.) page 477, states:
"Layoff. The act of laying off, esp. work
or workmen; a period of being laid off
work; a shutdown."

FOOTNOTE 9 Apart from the differences

in fringe benefits previously mentioned,

95

ee ee ee re ee ee 2 a RT OS Se Ee ee

Fairchild had a reputation in the industry
| that included the fact that there had
| never been a layoff.

FOOTNOTE 10 Chinn v. China Nat.

Aviation Corp., 138 Cal.App.2d 98 [291

P.2ad 91], is also pertinent as there the

employee (who had previously announced his

intention to resign), remained on the job
after the employer enacted regulations
providing for severance pay. In holding
that the employee had stated a cause of
action for severance benefits, this court

(division one), quoting from Vogel v.

Bankers Bldg. Corp., 112 Cal.App.2d 160,

169 [245 P.2d 1069], said at page 103: "'A

single consideration may support the

several counterpromises made by the other
party to the transaction.' Thirdly, it

should be remembered that plaintiff did

not terminate the employment. It was

terminated by the employer, so that the

96

—— ae A ae Te —
—=— mht 2 ae ee Se ee ee ee

question of what the employee's rights
might have been had he left the employment
a moment after the regulations were
announced is academic. While, of course,
there was nothing in the regulations that
guaranteed the employee continued
employment, and therefore the employer
could terminate the employment at any
time, the regulations stated the
obligation of the employer upon. such
termination."

FOOTNOTE 11 In fact, in Armstrong v.
Cherry, supra, although the employee was
denied damages because he knew of and
acquiesced in the new conditions of
employment, this court (division one) said
at page 444: "It is a rule universally
recognized, that while a master may not
close out his business without becoming
liable in damages to an employee under a

contract of employment for a _ specific

97

meer ee ee ee ee

term, still an immaterial change gives no
cause of action for damages where there is
otherwise no change in the manner of
conducting the business and the employer
continues in a way to be the real owner.
(39 Cor.Jur. 76.) See, also, Levy v.

Friedlander, 24 La.Ann. 439."

98

&

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0267%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
