# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Jones v. Secretary of Health & Human Services

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0166%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 513 U.S. 874

## Text

Supreme Court, u.
FILED -

’) B4 180 APR 28 19%

@RCE OF THE CLERK

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER 1994 TERM

WILKEN JONES, JR. Petitioner,
Vs.
SECRETARY OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES, et al.,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
FROM THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Wilken Jones, Jr.

Route 4 Box 367

Opelousas, Louisiana 70570
(318) 826-7415

Speen LAS DANS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

WHETHER THE U.S. DISTRICT COURT DID ERR WHEN IT
GRANTED THE RESPONDENT’S MOTION TO DISMISS,
FOR LACK OF SUBJECT MATTER JURISDICTION, AND
DENIED PETITIONER’S MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDGE-

MENT

TABLE OF CONTENTS AND AUTHORITIES

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PETITION

OPINIONS BELOW

JURISDICTION

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

TABLE OF CASES AND AUTHORITIES
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED
STATEMENT OF CASE

REASONS FOR GRANTING THIS WRIT
CONCLUSION

APPENDIX A

COMPLAINT

Order dated July 1, 1993 of the United States District
Court for the Western District of Louisiana

Opinion of the United State Court of Appeals for the
Fifth Circuit dated March 22, 1994

STATUTE: 42 U.S.C.A. 406 (a)

Al-Al4

A-2

A-5

A-6

A-9

TABLE OF CASES AND AUTHORITIES

UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT:

Page
Northeastern Florida Contractors v. Jacksonville 21
113 S.Ct. 2297 (1993)
Powers v. Ohio, 111 S.Ct. 1364 (1991) 18
Roberts v. United States Jaycees, 104 S.Ct. 3244 (1984) 15
Singleton v. Wulff, 96S. Cr. 2868 (1976) 19
13
88 S.Ct. 353 (1967)
United Ti rtation Union v. State of Michigan, 20
91S.Cr. 1076 (1971)
Weinberger v. Weisenfeld, 420 U.S. 636 (1975) 16
Federal Cases Other:
Allen _v. Heckler, 780 F 2d 64 (D.C. Cir. 1985) 16
Elias_v. U.S. Department of State, 721 F Supp. 243 18

(N.D. Ca. 1989)
Fowler v. United States, 633 FE2d 1258 (8th Cir. 1980) 16

Linquist _v. Bowen, 633 F Supp. 846 (W.D. Mo. 1986) 22

Wauchope v. U.S. Department of State, 756 E Supp. 1277 23
(N.D. Ca. 1991)

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS:
U.S. Const. amend |

U.S. Const. amend V

STATUTES:

42 U.S.C.A. 406 (a) 10

CO \O

No.

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER 1994 TERM

WILKEN JONES, JR., ET AL Petitioner,
Vs.

SECRETARY OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES, et al.,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
From the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

To the Honorable, the Chief Justice and Associate Justices of the
Supreme Court of the United States.

Wilken Jones, Jr., the Petitioner herein, pro se, prays that a writ
of certiorari issue to review the judgment of the United States
Circuit Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit entered in the
above entitled case on March 22, 1994.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion and order of the United States District Court
for the
Western District of Louisiana are unreported, and are printed in
Appendix A. The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit is unreported, and is printed in Appendix A.

JURISDICTION

The district court’s jurisdiction was based on 28 U.S.C.A.
1361 and 28 U.S.C.A. 1331, and involved the constitutionality of
the Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C.A. 406 (a). The United States
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit had jurisdiction over the
appeal under 28 U.S.C.A. section 1291. The United States
Supreme Court has jurisdiction over the appeal under 28
U.S.C.A. 1254.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

The following constitutional provision relevant to the
instant case is:

U.S. Const. Amend. V:

No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or
otherwise infamous crime, unless on a present
ment or indictment of a Grand Jury, Except in
cases arising in the land or naval forces, or in the
Militia, when in actual service in time of war or
public danger, nor shall any person be subject for
the same offense to be twice put in jeopardy of
life or limb; nor shall be compelled in any criminal
case to be a witness against himself, nor be de
prived of life, liberty, or property, without due
process of law; now shall private property be
taken for public use, without just compensation.

U.S. Const. Amendment I:

Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of
religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the
freedom of speech, or of the ~~>°s; or the right of the people
peaceable to assemble, and \_ petition the Government for redress
of grievances.

Statement of the Case

Petitioner filed suit, pro se, challenging the constitutional-
ity of 42 U.S.C.A. 406 (a) in district court, CA No. 92-1365,
because it violated the equal protection provision of the U.S.
Constitution. 42 U.S.C.A. 406 (a) violates the equal protection
provision of the fifth amendment by permitting representatives
who are attorneys that are successful in representing claimants
before the Secretary to have their fees withheld by the Secretary
from claimants’ past-due benefits. No similar provision is made for
other successful representatives of claimants who are not attor-
neys.

Petitioner, Wilken Jones, Jr., is a citizen of Louisiana.
®ecitioner is a para-legal engaged in providing services to many
claimants before the Secretary over the years. Petitioner has been
recognized by the Secretary, im accordance with 42 U.S.C.A.
section 406 (a), that he is of good character and in good repute,
possessed of the necessa.v qualifications to enable him to render
such claimants valuable service, and otherwise competent to
advise and assist such claimants in the presentation of their cases.

Petitioner has a fundamental interest in this action under
the equal protection provision of the fifth amendment which
provides a right of each person to a constitutional guarantee of
equal protection under the law. Petitioner is directly and adversely
affected by the statute.

The district court, without giving reasons, granted

10

Respondent’s Motion to Dismiss, for lack of subject matter juris-
diction, and denied Petitioner’s Motion for Summary Judgement.

The U.S. Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals affirmed the

district court’s decision in an unreported opinion.

The Petitioner hereby appeals that decision.

Petitioner filed suit, pro se, in district court challenging
the constitutionality of the provision of the aforementioned
statute contending that the challenged statute violated the equal
protection provision of the Due Process Clause of the Fifth
Amendment of the U.S. Constitution.

The district court ruled that it lacked subject matter
jurisdiction to consider a constitutional challenge of the statute in
question and dismissed the suit.

The district court does have subject matter jurisdiction
over a suit challenging the constitutionality of an Act of Congress
establishing the statute in question. It has long been established
that it is for the court to determine what is the law.

The district court erred when it denied our motion for
summary judgment. The equal protection provision of the Due
Process Clause of the Fifth Amendment stands to protect us from
deprivation of life, liberty, or property without due process of law.
This provision serves to guarantee that individuals who are

11

similarly situated are treated similarly unless there is some compel-
ling state interest.

Legal representatives that are not attorneys who practice
before the Secretary are not allowed to have their fees withheld by
the Secretary out of benefits awarded to claimants. Legal repre-
sentatives who are attorneys who practice before the Secretary are
allowed to have their fees withheld by the Secretary. This practice
violates the equal protection provision of the due process clause of

the fifth amendment.

The correct standard of review is strict scrutiny because
the challenged statute affect some fundamental rights. The
fundamental rights affected are those protected by the first amend-
ment, including the right to assemble and petition the government
for redress.

The district court and the Court of Appeals’ decisions are
plainly erroneous as a matter of law because these courts applied
the incorrect standard of review, rationally related, when they
considered whether the challenged statute, 42 U.S.C.A. 406 (a),
violated the equal protection component of the Due Process
Clause of the Fifth Amendment of the U.S. Constitution and
found that no fundamental rights were affected by the challenged
statute.

“We start with the premise that the rights to
assemble peaceably (freedom to associate) and to petition

12

for a redress of grievances (access to court) are among the
most precious of the liberties safeguarded by the Bill of
Rights. These rights moreover, are intimately connected
both in origin and in purpose, with the other First
Amendment rights of free speech and free press. All
these, though not identical, are inseparable. The First
Amendment would, however, be a hollow promise if it left
government free to destroy or erode its guarantees by
indirect restraints so long as no law is passed that prohibits
free speech, press, petition, or assembly as such. We have
therefore repeatedly held that laws which actually affect
the exercise of these vital rights cannot be sustained:
merely because they were enacted for the purpose of
dealing with some evil within the State’s legislative
competence, or even because the laws do in fact provide a
helpful means of dealing with such an evil.” United Mine
W. of A., Dist. 12 v. Illinois ST. Bar Ass'n, 389 U.S. 217,
88 S. Cer. 353,356 (1967), (internal citations omitted),

(parenthesis and information within _—_ added).

The Court of Appeals which affirmed the district court’s decision

is plainly erroneous because the Appeals Court stated: “Moreover,

it is not clear that the statutory classification, which neither

proceeds along suspect lines nor infringes fundamental constitu-

tional rights, can not be supported by any reasonable conceivable

state of facts that could provide a rational basis for the classifica-

tion.” (Per unreported opinion, See opinion, Appendix A). This

legal conclusion, that this case neither proceeds along suspect lines

nor infringes fundamental constitutional rights, is not correct and

is not supported by law. The district court’s decision is

13

plainly erroneous because the district court failed to apply

the correct standard of review. The correct standard of

review in this case is strict scrutiny because the challenged

statute affects fundamental rights. The challenged statute

violates the equal protection provision of the Due Process
Clause of the Fifth Amendment of the U.S. Constitution.
The fundamental rights affected by the challenged statute

include:

(1)

(2)

(3)

The right of legal representatives to associate with
persons before the Secretary free of any govern-
mental restraint or interference and the reciprocal
right of persons to associate with Petitioner.

The right of persons that Petitioner represents
before the Secretary to have effective legal repre-
sentation of their choice free of any government
restraint or interference and the reciprocal rights
of the Petitioner to provide effective legal repre-
sentation for those persons Petitioner represents
before the Secretary free of any government
restraint or interference.

The right of the persons that Petitioner represents
before the Secretary to have access to the courts
free of any government restraint or interference.

The freedom to associate is restrained and infringed upon
by the challenged statute because the challenged statute has a
chilling effect on persons seeking representation before the

14

Secretary and upon legal representatives seeking to provide this
legal service. The challenged statute works in practice to force
legal representatives to look more at the ability of persons to pay
for the legal service instead of focusing in on the strengths and
weaknesses of the disability claim. “Determining the limits of state
authority over an individual’s freedom to enter into a particular
association therefore unavoidably entails a careful assessment of
where that relationship’s objective characteristics locate it on a
spectrum from the intimate to the most attenuated of personal
attachments. ...(F)actors that may be relevant include size,
purpose, policies, selectivity, congeniality, and other characteristics
that in a particular case may be pertinent.” Roberts v. United
States Jaycees, 468 U.S. 622, 104 S. Cr. 3244, 3251 (1984).

In the instant case, Petitioner is within that ambit of
protection the court has recognized. Petitioner has a confidential
relationship with the person he represents. The purpose of the
association is to obtain the constitutionally protected rights of due
process and the right to effective legal representation.

It should be noted that the statute in controversy does not
provide payment of the attorney fees by the government. It only
provides that the government withhold attorney fees out of the
past-due benefits of a claimant who has been successful in obtain-
ing benefits under the Act. Thus the government is not allocating
limited public funds, it is a question of securing adequate represen-

tation for the claimants.
15

We acknowledge that Congress may set the minimum
requirements necessary, allow any qualification of certification
substitutions, and waive any other admission requirement it sees
fit. Congress has the power to permit only attorneys or only non-
attorneys to represent claimants before the Secretary if it so
desires. If Congress feels that the requirements are to low it may
raise them. Conversely if Congress feels that the requirements are
too high it may lower them. “But... it is not the entrance require-
ments that are in dispute. Instead, the issue here is whether the
government may withhold from... (one group of representatives) a
range of benefits it has chosen to extend to similarly situated...
(representatives).” Fowler V. United States, 633 F.2d 1258, 1263
(8th Cir. 1980), (parenthesis and information within added).
The Fowler case involved unequal treatment between mentally
retarded and non-retarded employees. In the instant case, allow-
ing non-attorneys to be representatives “does not justify giving
them Second-class status once they are on the job. See Fowler _v.
United States, 633 F2d 1258, 1263 (8th Cir. 1989) (distin-
guishing disparate hiring criteria from disparate terms of employ-
ment once hired).” Allen v. Heckler, 780 F2d 64, 67 (D.C. Cir.
1985). Thus “by providing dissimilar treatment for (those) who
are similarly situated, the challenged section violates the Due
Process Clause.” Weinberger v. Weisenfeld, 420 U.S. 636, 652
(1975). |

The right of persons that Petitioner represents before the
16

Secretary to have effective legal representation of their choice free
of any government restraint or interference has been restrained
and infringed upon by the challenged statute because the govern-
ment is in effect promoting some legal representatives and effec-
tively restraining other legal representatives. Legal representatives
who are not attorneys and who otherwise, except for this chal-
lenged statute, would have the opportunity and ability to be
retained by persons who otherwise could not afford to pay for such |

services prior to a hearing before the Secretary. The government '

- by extending benefits to one group or class of legal representatives

is effectively promoting that group or class of legal representatives.
Also, the government by withholding or denying benefits to one
group or class of legal representatives is effectively prohibiting or
infringing upon the persons right to have effective legal represen-
tation of their choice free of any government restraint or interfer-
ence.

Petitioner's assertion of third party rights is proper in this
instance. The court has noted: “In appropriate circumstances, the
federal courts have upheld a plaintiff’s assertion of third party
rights. Singleton, 428 U.S. at 112-18 (doctors who perform non-
medically indicated abortions may assert patients’ constitutional
rights); 429 U.S. at 194-97 (female beer vendor allowed to asset
equal protection challenge of male beer drinkers); Irving v.
Clard, 758 E2d 1260, 1267 (8th Cir. 1985) (child of deceased

landowner permitted to assert parent’s fifth amendment just
17

compensation claim). To determine whether such an assertion
should be allowed, the court should consider two factors: (1) the
relationship of the litigant to the person whose right he or she
seeks to assert, and (2) the ability of the third person to assert his
or her own right. Singleton, 428 U.S. at 114-16.” Elias v.
Department of State, 721 F Supp. 243, 246 (N.D. Ca. 1989).
Also this court has noted: “in certain circumstances “ the rela-
tionship between the litigant and the third party may be such that
the former is fully, or very nearly, as effective a proponent of the
right as the latter. ...che relation between petitioner and the
excluded jurors is as close as, if not closer than, those we have
recognized to convey third-party standing in our prior cases. See,
e.g., Griswold _v. Connecticut, (Planned Parenthood official and
a licensed physician can raise the constitutional rights of contra-
ceptive users with whom they had professional relationships);
Craig, (licensed beer vendor has standing to raise the equal
protection claim of a male customer challenging a statutory
scheme prohibiting the sale of beer to males under the age of 21
and to females under the age of 18); Triplett, (attorney may
challenge an attorney’s fees restriction by asserting the due process
rights of the Client).” Powers v. Ohio, 111 S.Ct. 1364, 1372
(1991), (citations omitted).

First we look at the relationship of the litigant to the
person whose right the Petitioner seeks to assert. In this instant

the Petitioner is the legal representative of the third party whose
18

right the Petitioner seeks to assert. The legal representative not
only has a right to assert this third party right but more likely a
legal duty to assert all the rights of the person he represents. The
effective legal representation is inextricable bound up with the
activity the Petitioner wishes to pursue. The relationship be-
tween the Petitioner and the third party is such that the Peti-
tioner is fully, or very nearly, as effective a proponent of the right
as the third party. The confidential nature of the relationship
between the Petitioner and the third party were such that the
rights of the third person were likely to be diluted or adversely
affected if they could not be asserted is such a case. Singleton _v.
Wulff, 96 S. Ct. 2868, 2874 (1976). See also Eisenstadt_v.
Baird, 405 U.S. 438, 445-446, 92 S.Ct. 1029, 1034, 31 L.Ed.

349 (1972) (stressing advocate relationship and impact of the
litigation on the third-party interests).

The other factual element to which the Court has looked
is the ability of the third party to assert his own right. In this
instant, the third party engages the Petitioners to assert its right
before the Secretary. Generally, the third party is a person that
comes before the Secretary claiming to be disabled. Often the
third party has limited education to allow him to assert his own
rights and no funds to pay for adequate legal representation. The

closeness of the relationship and nature of relationship, legal

representative and client, makes it proper for Petitioner to assert

the legal rights of the third party.
19

Therefore, for reasons stated above, representatives may
assert the right of the claimants they represent.

The right of the persons that Petitioner represents before
the Secretary to have access to the courts free of any government
restraint or interference has been restrained and infringed upon by
the challenged statute because it works to limit meaningful access
to the courts. “At issue here is the basic right to...legal action.
...(T)hat collective activity undertaken to obtain meaningful
access to the courts is a fundamental right with the protection of
the First Amendment. However, that right would be a hollow
promise if courts could deny associations of workers or others the
means of enabling their members to meet the costs of legal
representation.” United Transportation Union v. State Bar of
Michigan, 410 U.S. 576, 91 S.Ct. 1076, 1082 (1971).
Petitioner is the first option many persons have in gaining mean-
ingful access to the courts. If a person received ineffective legal
representation or was unable to retain any legal representation at
the hearing before the Secretary, then his access to the courts has
already been restrained because the decision of the Secretary is
only reviewable by the courts to determine if the Secretary’s
decision is supported by substantial evidence.

The Court of Appeals below noted: “Jones has not
established that he has a clear right to relief. Jones fails to allege
that the Secretary ever denied him payment for his representation

of a social security claimant, that he ever requested such payment,
20

or that he has in fact represented a claimant who was determined
to be entitled to past-due benefits under the Act. Thus, there is
an insufficiently real and concrete dispute with respect to applica-
tion of the challenged provision.” First, it is well established that
pro se complaints are to be construed liberally by the courts.
Secondly, this court has noted: “When the government erects a
barrier that makes it more difficult for members of one group to
obtain a benefit than it is for members of another group, a member
of the former group seeking to challenge the barrier need not
allege that he would have obtained the benefit but for the barrier
in order to establish standing. The “injury in fact” in an equal
protection case of this variety is the denial of equal treatment
resulting from the imposition of the barrier, not the uitimate
inability to obtain the benefit.” Northeastern Florida Contractors
v. Jacksonville, 113 S.Ct. 2297, 2303 (1993), (underlining
added).

B. Whether jurisdiction is proper in district court
pursuant to mandamus statute, 28 U.S.C.A.

section 1361.

The mandamus statute, 28 U.S.C.A. section 1361, states:
“The district courts shall have original jurisdiction of any action in

the nature of mandamus to compel an officer or employee of the

21

United States or any agency thereof to perform a duty owed to the
plaintiff.”

The Secretary has a duty under the equal protection
provision of the fifth amendment to treat the Petitioner equally in
providing and withholding benefits to representatives of claimants
who are attorneys as well as to those who are not attorneys. Equal
justice for all is Petitioner’s constitutional right. “Once the nature
of defendants’ duty is determined, the performance of that duty by
defendants’ is absolute; they have no discretion to do other than
the Constitution...require.“ Linquist v. Bowen, 633 ESupp. 846,
854 (W.D. Mo. 1986). The Linquist court further noted that
“mandamus is available even if there is a dispute about the nature
of the legal duty. The essential element of mandamus jurisdiction
is that once the duty is defined by the Court, the Agency has no
discretion discharging that duty.... (T)he Court observed that
whether the Secretary had a clear duty to act would entail an
analysis of the merits of appellant’s whole case. Therefore, in
order to determine whether mandamus jurisdiction is available,
the allegations of the complaint are taken as true unless they are
patently frivolous. ...(Q)uestions of Congressional intent and
constitutional requirements are the essence of this dispute.”

Id.

The judiciary has the power to order the Secretary to

withhold the fees of representatives of claimants who are non-

attorneys from past-due claimants’ benefits because of Petitioner's
22

constitutional claim. “The distinction between constitutional and
other challenges to...statutes is well-grounded in the case law.
...Courts are able to grant relief to (Petitioner), even if such relief
would contravene congressional enactments, if the (Petitioner)
demonstrates a constitutional violation.” Wauchope v. U.S.
Department of State, 756 FSupp. 1277 1286 (N.D. Ca. 1991).

23

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons this petition for a writ of certio-
rari should be granted.

Respectfully Submitted:

Wilken

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
I HEREBY CERTIFY that a copy of the foregoing Petition for

Writ of Certiorari was mailed postage prepaid, on the

day
of June, 1994, to:

(1) Mr. Broadwell, Assistant United States Attorney.
Cheif Division
300 Fannion Street, Suite 3201
Shreveport, LA 71101-3068

(2) Donna E. Shalala, Secretary of Health and Human
Services
200 Independence Avenue, S.W.
Washington, D.C. 20201

Wikken Jones “fr

APPENDIX A

United States District Cort
Western District of Louisiana

LAFAYETTE-OPELOUSAS DIVISION

Wilken Jones, Jr., and other similarly situated representatives of
claimants,
Plaintiff
Versus Civil Action No. 92-1365
Date Filed : July 16, 1992

United States Department of Health and Human Service, and the

United States of America.
Defendants.

PETITION FOR JUDICIAL REVIEW

The Petition of the Plaintiff, Wilken Jones, Jr., through
himself, respectfully represents as follows:

1. Plaintiff files this civil action seeking judicial review
of a statute, 42 U.S.C.A. section 406 (a) : “Representation of
claimants before the Secretary”, as it relates to the unequal protec-
tion of persons representing claimants before the Secretary.

2. Plaintiff challenges the constitutionality of the
statute, 42 U.S.C.A. 406 (a), which states in pertinent part: “.
the Secretary . . . shall, if the claimant was represented by an
attorney, in connection with such claim. If as a result of such
determination, such claimant is entitled to past-due benefits under
this subchapter, the Secretary shall, for payment (out of such past-
due benefits) to such attorney... .” (Underlining added).' No
similar provision is made for other representatives of claimants.

A-2

This unequal treatment of representatives entitled to represent
claimants before the Secretary violates the equal protection clause
of the Fifth and Fourteen Amendments.

3. Plaintiff seeks a judgment from this court declaring

that the statute is unconstitutional and a decree enjoining the

Secretary from prohibiting non-attorneys representing claimants

from having their fees withheld out of claimants past-due benefits
as is the case with attorneys representing claimants.

4. Jurisdiction in this court is proper pursuant to:
mandamus statute, 28 U.S.C.A. section 1361; federal question
under 28 U.S.C.A. section 405 (g).

Plaintiff

5. Plaintiff, Wilken Jones, Jr., is a citizen of Louisiana.
Plaintiff is para-legal engaged in providing services to claimants
before the Secretary. Plaintiff has been recognized by the Secre-
tary, in accordance with 42 U.S.C.A. 406 (a), that he is of good
character and in good repute, possessed of the necessary qualifica-
tions to enable him to render such claimants valuabe service, and
otherwise competent to advise and assist suck claimants in the
presentation of their cases.

6. Plaintiff has a fundamental interest in this action
under the equal protection clause of the fourteenth and fifth
amendment which provides a right of each person to constitu-
tional guarantee of equal protection under the law.

7. Plaintiff is directly and adversely affected by the

statute.

A-3

Wherefore, Plaintiff —

A. Declare the statute, 42 U.S.C.A. 406 (a), invalid
because it violates the equal protection clause of the Fourteenth
and Fifth Amendments.

B. Order and direct the Secretary to treat all representa-
tives of claimants equally as it relates to the withholding of fees
from claimants’ past-due benefits for services provided.

C. Award the Plaintiff all costs of this action.

D. Grant such other relief as the court may deem

appropriate.

Respectfully submitted,

Wilken Jones, Jr.

A-4

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA
LAFAYETTE-OPELOUSAS DIVISION

WILKEN JONES, JR., et al, * CIVIL ACTION NO.
92-1365
Plaintiffs, * CV 92-1365
vs. * JUDGE HAIK
DONNA E. SHALALA, * MAGISTRATE JUDGE
TYNES
SECRETARY OF HEALTH AND *
HUMAN SERVICES * DATE OF JUDGEMENT
Defendant. * JULY 1, 1993
JUDGEMENT

The Court having considered the memoranda and argu-
ment of counsel,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, ADJUDGED - DECREED
_ that the United States Department of Health and Human
Service’s Motion to Dismiss is GRANTED; that plaintiff’s Motion
for Summary Judgement is DENIED; and that plaintiff’s com-
plaint is DISMISSED WITH PREJUDICE.

Thus Done and Signed in Lafayette, Louisiana this
_Ist__ day of July, 1993.

RICHARD T. HAIK
UNITED STATES DISTRICT
JUDGE

A-5

Pee ee ee a ee eS ee eS ee ee

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 93-5129

(Summary Calendar)

Date 3-22-94
WILKEN JONES, JR., and other

similarly situation representatives
of claimants,
Plaintiff-Appellant,

versus

U.S. SECRETARY OF HEALTH AND HUMAN
SERVICES, ET AL.,

Defendants-Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Western District of Louisiana

(6: 92-CV-1365)

Before JOLLY, WIENER, and EMILIO M. GARZA, Circuit
Judges.

PER CURIAM:

Plaintiff Wilken Jones, Jr., brought suit against the Secretary of
Health and Human Services ("the Secretary“), alleging that the
Social Security Act deprives non-attorneys who represent Social

Security Claimants of equal protection.' The Secretary moved to

Local Rule 47.5.1 provides: "The publication of opinions that have no
precedential value and merely decide particular cases on the basis of well-settled
principles of law imposes needless expense on the public and burdens on the legal
profession.“ Pursuant to that Rule, the Court has detrermined that this

A-6

dismiss for lack of subject matter jurisdiction, and Jones moved for
summary judgement. The district court summarily granted the
Secretary's motion. Jones contends on appeal that mandamus
jurisdiction is proer under 28 U.S.C. S 1361.

Section 1361 vests district courts with original jurisdiction
over "any action in the nature of mandamus to compel an officer
or employee of the United States or any agency thereof to perform
a duty owed to the plaintiff.“ "Before mandamus is proper, three
elements must generally co-exist. A plaintiff must show a clear
right to the relief sought, a clear duty by the defendant to do the
particular act, and that no other adequate remedy is available.“
Green v. Heckler, 742 F.2d 237, 241 (5th Cir. 1984).

Jones has not established that he has a clear right to relief.
Jones fails to allege that the Secretary ever denied him payment
for his representation of a social security claimant, that he ever
requested such payment, or that he has in fact represented a
claimant who was determined to be entitled to past-due benefits
under the Act. Thus, there is an insufficiently real and concrete

dispute with respect to application of the challenged provision.

See Babbitt v. United Farm Workers Nat’l Union, 442 U.S. 289,

opinion should not be published.

The Act provides that
if the claimant is determined to be entitled to past-due benefits under this
subchapter and the person representing the claimant is an attorney, the Secretary
shall . . . certify for payment out of such past-due benefits . . . to such attorney
and amount equal to so much of the maximum fee as does not exceed 25 percent
of such past due benefits. . . .
42 U.S.C. S 406 (a) (4) (A) (1988).

A-7

305, 99 S. Cr. 2301, 2312, 60 L. Ed. 2d 895 (1979). Moreover, it
is not clear that the statutory classification, "which neither |
proceeds along suspect lines nor infringes fundamental constitu-
tional rights,“ can not be supported by "any reasonably conceiv-
able state of facts that could provide a rational basis for the
classification.“ EC.C. v. Beach Communications, Inc.,
U.S. 113 S. Cr. 2096, 2101, 124 L. Ed. 2d 211 (1993). Conse-
quently, Jones has failed to establish that the Secretary has a clear
duty to compensate him out of an award of past-due benefits.
For the foregoing reasons, we AFFIRM the judgement of
the district court. 3-22-94 Date of Judgement

A-8

The Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C., provides in pertinent

part:

406. Representation of claimants before Secretary

(a) Recognition of representatives; fees for representation before
Secretary

(a)(1) The Secretary may prescribe rules and regulations
governing the recognition of agents or other persons, other than
attorneys as hereinafter provided, representing claimants before
the Secretary, and may require of such agents or other persons,
before being recognized as representatives of claimants that they
shall show that they are good character and in good repute,
possessed of the necessary qualifications to enable them to render
such claimants valuable service, and otherwise competent to
advise and assist such claimants in the presentation of their cases.
An attorney in good standing who is admitted to practice before
the highest court of the State, Territory, District, or insular posses-
sion of his residence or before the Supreme Court of the United
States or the inferior Federal courts, shall be entitled to represent
claimants before the Secretary. The Secretary may, after due
notice and opportunity for hearing, suspend or prohibit from
further practice before him any such person, agent, or attorney
who refuses to comply with the Secretary’s rules and regulations or
who violates any provision of this section for which a penalty is
prescribed. The Secretary may, by rule and regulation, prescribe
the maximum fees which may be charged for services performed in
connection with any claim before the Secretary under this
subchapter, and any agreement in violation of such rules and
regulations shall be void. Except as provided in paragraph (2)(A),
whenever the Secretary, in any claim before him for benefits under
this subchapter, makes a determination favorable to the claimant,
he shall, if the claimant was represented by an attorney in connec-

ES eS Ee ee Me Ne ae TS GE, PS REE Me Se ieee Wad SLO ET ee Be a ee CE ne ee ae OL ae OR AE ee ee oe Eee rae

tion with such claim, fix (in accordance with the regulations
prescribed pursuant to the preceding sentence) a reasonable fee to
compensate such attorney for the services performed by him
connection with such claim.

(2)(A) In the case of a claim of entitlement to 25 past-due
benefits under this subchapter, if-

(i) an agreement between the claimant and another
person regarding any fee to be recovered by such person to com-
pensate such person for services with respect to the claim is
presented in writing to the Secretary prior to the time of the
Secretary's determination regarding the claim,

(ii) the fee specified in the agreement does not exceed
the lesser- of-

(1) 25 percent of the total amount of such past-due
benefits (as determined before any applicable reduction under
section 1320a-6(a) of this title), or

(Il) $4,000, and

(iii) the determination is favorable to the claimant,
then the Secretary shall approve that agreement at the time of the
favorable determination, and (subject to paragraph (3)) the fee
specified in the agreement shall be the maximum fee. The Secre-
tary may from time to time increase the dollar amount under
clause (ii)(II) to the extent that the rate of increase in such
amount, as determined over the period since January 1, 1991, does
not at any time exceed the rate of increase in primary insurance
amounts under section 415(i) of this title since such date, The
Secretary shall publish any such increased amount in the Federal
Register.

(B) For purposed of this subsection, the term “past due

benefits” excludes any benefits with respect to which payment has
A-10

oe ce Pe an ee See CW Ng el ae SN oe eee

been continued pursuant to subsection (g) or (h) of section 423 of
this title.

(C) In the case of a claim with respect to which the
Secretary has approved an agreement pursuant to subparagraph
(A), the Secretary shall provide the claimant and the person
representing the claimant a written notice of-
(i) the dollar amount of the past-due benefits (as
determined before any applicable reduction under section 1320a-
6(a) of this title) and the dollar amounts of the past-due benefits
payable to the claimant, :
(ii) the dollar amount of the maximum fee which may :
be charged or recovered as determined under this paragraph, and
(iii) a description of the procedures for review under
paragraph (3).

(3)(A) The Secretary shall provide by regulation for
review of the amount which would otherwise be the maximum fee
as determined under paragraph (@) if, within 15 days after receipt
of the notice provided pursuant to paragraph (2)(C)-

(i) the claimant, or the administrative law judge or
other adjudicator who made the favorable determination, submits
a written request to the Secretary to reduce the maximum fee, or

(ii) the person representing the claimant submits a
written request to the Secretary to increase the maximum fee.

Any such review shall be conducted after providing the
claimant, the person representing the claimant, and the adjudica-
tor with reasonable notice of such request and an opportunity to
submit written information in favor of or in opposition to such
request. The adjudicator may request the Secretary to reduce the
maximum fee only on the basis of evidence of the failure of the

person representing the claimant to represent adequately the
A-11

claimant’s interest or on the basis of evidence that the fee is clearly
excessive for services rendered.

(iii) the determination is favorable to the claimant,
then the Secretary shall approve that agreement at the time of the
favorable determination, and (subject to paragraph (3)) the fee
specified in the agreement shall be the maximum fee. The Secre-
tary may from time to time increase the dollar amount under
clause (ii)(II) to the extent that the rate or increase in such
amount, as determined over the period since January 1, 1991, does
not at any time exceed the rate of increase in primary insurance
amounts under section 415(i) of this title since such date. The
Secretary shall publish any such increased amount in the Federal
Register.

(B) For purposes of this subsection, the term “past due
benefits” excludes any benefits with respect to which payment has
been continued pursuant to subsection (g) or (h) of section 423 of
this title.

(C) In the case of a claim with respect to which the
Secretary has approved an agreement pursuant to subparagraph
(A), the Secretary shall provide the claimant and the person
representing the claimant and the person representing the claim-
ant a written notice of-

(i) the dollar amount of the past-due benefits (as
determined before any applicable reduction under section 1320a-
6(a) of this title) and the dollar amount of the past-due benefits
payable to the claimant,

(ii) the dollar amount of the maximum fee which may
be charged or recovered as determined under this paragraph, and

(iii) a description of the procedures for review under

this paragraph (3).

(3)(A) The Secretary shall provide by regulation for

review of the amount which —— _— be the maximum fee

as determined under paragraph (2) if, within 15 days after receipt
of the notice provided pursuant to paragraph (2)(C)-

(i) the claimant, or the administrative law judge or
other adjudicator who make the favorable determination, submits
a written request to the Secretary to reduce the maximum fee, or

(ii) the person representing the claimant submits a
written request to the Secretary to increase the maximum fee.

Any such review shall be conducted after providing the claimant,
the person representing the claimant, and the adjudicator with
reasonable notice of such request and an opportunity to submit
written information in favor of or in opposition to such request.
The adjudicator may request the Secretary to reduce the maxi-
mum fee only on the basis of evidence of the failure of the person
representing the claimant to represent adequately the claimant's
interest or on the basis of evidence that the fee is clearly excessive
for services rendered.

(B)(i) In the case of a request for review under subpara-
graph (A) by the claimant or by the person representing the
claimant, such review shall be conducted by the administrative
law judge who made the favorable determination or, if the Secre-
tary determines that such administrative law judge is unavailable
or if the determination was not made by an administrative law
judge, such review shall be conducted by another person desig-
nated by the Secretary for such purpose.

(ii) In the case of a request by the adjudicator for review
under subparagraph (A), the review shall be conducted by the
Secretary or by an administrative law judge or other person (other
than such adjudicator) who is designated by the Secretary.

(C) Upon completion of the review, the administrative
law judge or other person conducting the review shall affirm or

modify the amount which would otherwise be the maximum fee.
A-13

"
=
a
es:
a
ot

Any such amount so affirmed or tnodified shall be considered the
amount of the maximum fee which may be recovered under
paragraph (2). The decision of the administrative law judge or
other person conducting the review shall not be subject to further
review.

(4)(A) Subject to subparagraph (B), if the claimant is
determined to be entitled to past-due benefits under this
subchapter and the person representing the claimant is an attor-
ney, the Secretary shall, notwithstanding section 405(i) of this
title, certify for payment out so such past-due benefits (as deter-
mined before any applicable reduction under section 1320a-6(a) of
this title) to such attorney an amount equal to so much of the
maximum fee as does not exceed 25 percent of such past-due
benefits (as determined before any applicable reduction under
section 1320a-6(a) of this title).

(B) The Secretary shall not in any case certify any
amount for payment to the attorney pursuant to this paragraph
before the expiration of the 15-day period referred to in paragraph
(3)(A) or, in the case of any review conducted under paragraph
(3), before the completion of such review.

(5) Any person who shall, with intent to defraud, in any
manner willfully and knowingly deceive, mislead, or threaten any
claimant or prospective claimant or beneficiary under this
subchapter by word, circular, letter or advertisement, or who shall
knowingly charge or collect directly or indirectly any fee in excess
of the maximum fee, or make any agreement directly or indirectly
to charge or collect any fee in excess of the maximum fee, pre-
scribed by the Secretary shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor
and, upon conviction thereof, shall for each offense be punished
by a fine not exceeding $500 or by imprisonment not exceeding
one year, or both.

A-14

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0166%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
