# Opposition Brief — Blake v. Planned Parenthood League of Massachusetts, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0013%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 513 U.S. 868

## Text

Supreme Gas
( ; urt, U.S,

© 94-52 su -7 j994

No.

In the . OFFICE OF THE CLERK

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

KEVIN BLAKE, SEAN BROGAN, MARY KELLIHER,
JOHN D. McCARTHY AND MORTIMER O’SHEA,
Petitioners,

Vv.

PLANNED PARENTHOOD LEAGUE OF
MASSACHUSETTS, INC., COMMONWEALTH
OF MASSACHUSETTS, éT av.,
Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THF
SUPREME JUDICIAL COURT OF MASSACHUSETTS

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

FRANCIS H. Fox

Counsel ef Record
ROBERT A. MILEY
WENDY ADAMS MIKLUS
BINGHAM, DANA & GOULD
150 Federal Street
Boston, Massachusetts 02110
(617) 951-8000
Counsel for the Petitioners

BATEMAN & SLADE, INC : BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS

ot

i
QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. In this action brought under the Massachusetts Civil
Rights Act, in which the Respondents had to prove that the
Petitioners, nonviolent demonstrators, threatened, intimidated
or coerced women seeking abortions, did the Court violate
Petitioners’ due process rights by elevating clinic patients’
rights to privacy above Petitioners’ rights to a fair trial and
ruling that Petitioners could not learn the identity, or ask ques-
tions in discovery or at trial, of the women whom they allegedly
threatened, intimidated or coerced?

2. Does an injunction barring the Petitioners from “trespas-
sing on, blocking or in any way obstructing access” to abortion
facilities impinge on protected First Amendment activity be-
cause it is overbroad and vague and will chill expression of
opposition to abortion at abortion clinics?

il
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

In addition to the Petitioners listed in the caption, Operation
Rescue: Boston, Pro-Life Action Network of Arlington, Bar-
bara Bell, Timothy Biggins, Timothy Brigham, Rachel Cann,
Shirley Clifton, Sean Corrigan, William Cotter, Claire
Croghan, Robert Delery, Denise Duda, James Dudley, Robert
Filos, Darroline Firlit, Francis Haggerty, Bruce Hendon, Law-
rence Howe, Michelle LaPlume, Joseph Manning, Peter Mar-
leau, Jean Marshall, Richard McCarthy, Anne McNamara,
Bruce Murch, Adeline Murray, James Myette, Andrew Olsson,
Brian Phaneau, Fred Pulsifer, Philip St. Jean, Russell Sauinier,
Andrew Singer, Jr., Robert Souza and Catherine Wommack
were defendants in the Superior Court of Massachusetts,
Middlesex County and had judgment entered against them,
but did not appeal. None of the Petitioners are active corpora-
tions.

In addition to the Respondents listed in the caption, Preterm,
Inc., Repro Associates, Inc., Crittenton Hastings House, Stan-
ton P. Goldstein, M.D., and Rebecca Roe were plaintiffs in
the Superior Court of Massachusetts and had judgment entered
in their favor. The Supreme Judicial Court reversed and vacated
the trial court’s decision in favor of Rebecca Roe and dismissed
the action as to her. Barry Adler, d/b/a Gynecare, was a plaintiff
in the Superior Court and had judgment entered in his favor,
but did not appear or argue in the Supreme Judicial Court.
League of Women Voters of Massachusetts, Massachusetts
National Organization for Women, Mass. Choice, and Reli-
gious Coalition for Abortion Rights were plaintiffs in the
Superior Court and had judgment entered against them, but
did not appeal.

ill
TABLE OF CONTENTS
QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
OPINIONS BELOW
STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS AT ISSUE

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THis CASE PRESENTS AN IMPORTANT, UNSET-
TLED QUESTION OF FEDERAL Law.

A. The Question Presented Is Unsettled.
B. The Question Presented Is Important.

Il. THE SJC’s DECISION VIOLATES THE DUE Proc-
ESS CLAUSE By DEPRIVING THE DEFENDANTS OF
A FAIR TRIAL AND PREVENTING THEM FROM
CONFRONTING THE TRUE PLAINTIFFS.

Ill. THe SJC’s Decision UPHOLDS A CONSTITU-
TIONALLY IMPERMISSIBLE INJUNCTION.

CONCLUSION

ce

iV

20

21

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

I. CASES

Aetna Life Insurance Co. v. Lavoie, 475 U.S. 813
(1986)

Bellotti v. Baird, 443 U.S. 622 (1979), reh’g denied,
444 U.S. 887 (1979)

Brouillette v. Board of Directors of Merged Area IX,
519 F.2d 126 (8th Cir. 1975)

Casada v. Booneville School Dist. No. 65,686 F. Supp.

730 (W.D. Ark. 1988)

Chicago Ridge Theatre Ltd. Partnership v. M & R
Amusement Corp., 855 F.2d 465 (7th Cir. 1988)

Complaint of Bankers Trust Co. , 752 F.2d 874 (3rd Cir.
1984)

Doe v. Rostker, 89 F.R.D. 158 (N.D. Cal. 1981)

Doe v. United Services Life Ins. Co., 123 F.R.D. 437
(S.D.N.Y. 1988)

EEOC v. St. Francis Community Hosp., 70 F.R.D.
592 (D.S.C. 1976)

Free Market Compensation v. Commodity Exchange,
Inc., 98 F.R.D. 311 (S.D.N.Y. 1983)

Greene v. McElroy, 360 U.S. 474 (1959)
Hickman v. Taylor, 329 U.S. 495 (1947)
In re Murchison, 349 U.S. 133 (1955)

Lindsey v. Dayton-Hudson Corp. , 592 F.2d 1118 (10th
Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 444 U.S. 856 (1979)

Matter of Extradition of Singh, 123 F.R.D. 108 (D.N.J.
1987)

11

11

14, 15

15
i4

14
18n

i8n
19n
18n
12n
19n

11

18n

16

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (cont'd)

NAACP v. Claiborne Hardware Co., 458 U.S. 886

(1982) 16
National Commodity and Barter Ass'n v. Gibbs, 886

F.2d 1240 (10th Cir. 1989) 18n
National Org. for Women v. Sperry Rand Corp., 88

F.R.D. 272 (D. Conn. 1980) 19n
Nevels v. Hanlon, 656 F.2d 372 (8th Cir. 1981) 14
Planned Parenthood League of Massachusetts, Inc. v.

Blake, 417 Mass. 467 (1994) 8, 20
Planned Parenthood League of Massachusetts, Inc. v.

Operation Rescue, 406 Mass. 701 (1990) 8, 9, 20
Planned Parenthood of Central Missouri v. Danforth,

428 U.S. 52 (1976) 11
Planned Parenthood of Southeastern Pennsylvania v.

Casey, 112 S.Ct. 2791 (1992) 1]
Redgrave v. Boston Symphony Orchestra, Inc., 399

Mass. 93 (1987) 16
Roviaro v. United States, 353 U.S. 53 (1957) 17, 18n
S. Buschbaum & Co. v. Federal Trade Comm'n, 153

F.2d 85 (7th Cir. 1946) 12
Slama v. Attorney General, 384 Mass. 620 (1981) 14n

Southern Methodist Univ. Ass’n of Women Law Stu-
dents v. Wynne & Jaffe, 599 F.2d 707 (Sth Cir. 1979) 19n

Thornburgh v. American College of Obstetricians and
Gynecologists, 476 U.S. 747 (1986) 10, il

United States v. Agurs, 427 U.S. 97 (1976) 14n

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (cont'd)

United States v. School Dist. No. 1, Lexington County,

South Carolina, 40 F.R.D. 391 (D.S.C. 1966) 19n
Western Electric Co., Inc. v. Stern, 544 F.2d 1196 (3rd

Cir. 1976), reh’g denied, 551 F.2d 1 (1976) 15, 16
Westinghouse Electric Corp. v. Republic of the Philip-

pines, 951 F.2d 1414 (3rd Cir. 1991) 19n
Whalen v. Roe, 429 U.S. 589 (1977) 11
Withrow v. Larkin, 421 U.S. 35 (1975) 11

II. CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

United States Constitution

First Amendment 3, 16
Fifth Amendment 14
Fourteenth Amendment 2, 14, 15
28 U.S.C. § 1257(a) 2

Massachusetts Rules of Civil Procedure
Rule 26(b) 19n

Massachusetts Civil Rights Act
G.L. c. 12, §§ 11H-111 passim

In the
Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1994

KEVIN BLAKE, SEAN BROGAN, MARY KELLIHER,
JOHN D. McCARTHY anp MORTIMER O’SHEA,
Petitioners,

Vv.

PLANNED PARENTHOOD LEAGUE OF
MASSACHUSETTS, INC., COMMONWEALTH
OF MASSACHUSETTS, &T At.,
Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
SUPREME JUDICIAL COURT OF MASSACHUSETTS

Kevin Blake, Sean Brogan, Mary Kelliher, John D. McCar-
thy and Mortimer O’Shea respectfully petition for a writ of
certiorari to review the judgment of the Supreme Judicial Court
of Massachusetts, entered in that court on May 13, 1994.

2
OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Supreme Judicial Court of Massachusetts
is reported at 417 Mass. 467 (1994) and is reproduced herein
as Appendix A.

The Amended Judgment of the trial judge of the Superior
Court of Massachusetts, Middlesex County, was not reported,
but is reproduced herein as Appendix B. The resulting
Amended Permanent Injunction was not reported, but is repro-
duced herein as Appendix C.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

Trial judge Peter Lauriat of Middlesex Superior Court en-
tered an Amended Judgment on October 28, 1991, holding
that certain defendants, including Petitioners, had violated
MCRA. The trial judge then entered ari Amended Permanent
Injunction on October 28, 1991, barring those defendants from,
inter alia, obstructing access to any abortion facility in Mas-
sachusetts. Thereafter, on May 13, 1994, the opinion of the
Supreme Judicial Court of Massachusetts was entered uphold-
ing the injunction. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked
under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS AT ISSUE

This case involves the Fourteenth Amendment to the United
States Constitution, which provides, in pertinent part: “No

3

State shall . . . deprive any person of life, liberty, or property,
without due process of law... .”

This case also involves the First Amendment to the United
States Constitution (incorporated by the Fourteenth Amend-
ment to apply to states as well), which provides, in pertinent
part: “Congress shall make ro law . . . abridging the freedom
of speech... ..”

In addition, this case involves the Massachusetts Civil Rights
Act (“MCRA”), G.L. c. 12, §§ 11H-111, which, in pertinent
part, prohibits:

any person or persons . . . [from] interfer[ing] by
threats, intimidation or coercion, or attempt[ing] to
interfere by threats, intimidation or coercion, with
the exercise or enjoyment by any other person or
persons of rights secured by the constitution or laws
of the United States... .

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case chailenges the constitutionality of the denial of
the Petitioners’ efforts to learn the identities of and to question
during discovery and at trial those women whose civil rights
they allegedly violated.

This case was commenced on April 10, 1989, by ten plain-
tiffs, including Massachusetts clinics which provide abortion
services; membership organizations; a doctor who claims to
provide abortion services; and a Rebecca Roe, identified as a
fictitious person representative of all women seeking abortions
at plaintiff clinics. Their Complaint named 79 defendants,
including individuals and organizations. Approximately one
year later, the Commonwealth of Massachusetts intervened as
a plaintiff as well. The plaintiffs and plaintiff-intervenor filed a

4

Joint Amended Complaint on October 15, 1990, alleging a
single count against 87 defendants, including the Petitioners:
that they had violated MCRA by sitting in front of or inside
certain abortion clinics on certain dates, thereby delaying or
preventing abortion services for women seeking abortions on
such dates at those clinics. The Joint Amended Complaint
alleged that the defendants’ actions interfered with women’s
constitutional right to abortion services by means of threats,
intimidation or cvercion.

During discovery, the defendants, in order to learn relevant
facts to defend against plaintiffs’ claim, sought the identities
of those individuals whom the defendants had allegedly
threatened, intimidated or coerced. The defendants propounded
interrogatories to all plaintiffs which specifically asked plain-
tiffs to identify the women who were threatened, intimidated
or coerced by the defendants, i.e., those who were prevented
from receiving abortion services. Document requests were also
served on the clinics asking for documents which identified
the women scheduled for appointments on days of rescues.

Plaintiffs refused to provide this information, arguing, inter
alia, that the information sought was confidential. On August
17, 1990, the defendants filed a motion to compel responses
to these requests. Rather than compelling plaintiffs to provide
the information under a protective order keeping the women’s
identities confidential, the Middlesex Superior Court judge
denied defendants’ motion to compel. Defendants appealed to
the Single Justice of the Appeals Court, who denied relief and
refused to report her decision to the Full Bench. A further
petition to the Single Justice of the Supreme Judicial Court of
Massachusetts was also denied.

As trial approached, defendants made further attempts tc
find out whose civil rights they had violated. The defendants
issued subpoenae to clinics asking that the clinics produce
records identifying the individuals who were prevented by the

5

defendants from receiving abortion services. Plaintiffs moved
to quash the subpoenae. The trial judge granted this motion.

Despite their inability to find out the identities of women
who allegedly had their civil rights violated, defendants sought
means to depose these women even without their names. The
trial court entered a protective order which would have allowed
defendants to depose only those women, hand-picked by plain-
tiffs, who would testify at trial, but preventing the defendants
from learning any identifying information such as name, ad-
dress, and the like. The only woman who was going to testify
refused to appear at her deposition and did not testify at trial.
Defendants thus were unable to depose any women with whose
rights they allegedly interfered.

In short, the defendants made every effort to seek discovery
prior to trial of and from key witnesses in this action — women
who allegedly were threatened, intimidated or coerced by the
defendants’ actions. As the parties stipulated in their Joint
Pe-Trial Memorandum:

g. Defendants in discovery have sought the identi-
ties of women who were scheduled to receive serv-
ices at the clinics on the days in question and plain-
tiffs have declined to produce them.

h. One Jane Doe, who was identified by plaintiffs
as a woman who was allegedly seeking abortion
services at incident (1), and who had earlier agreed
to testify pursuant to protective order, declined to
appear at deposition and will not testify at trial. De-
fendants had no opportunity to take discovery against
Jane Doe.

At trial, defendants continued to seek identities of people
whose civil rights were allegedly violated. For each incident

6

about which testimony was offered, defendants asked that rec-
ords be produced that provided this information, but the trial
judge upheld the plaintiffs’ refusal to provide the records.
Again, the trial judge refused to allow defendants to call the
women as witnesses while keeping their identities confidential.

The evidence at trial was undisputed as to the basic facts
of the case: that on ten dates in 1989, 1990 and 1991, certain
of the defendants sat down, with linked arms or joined together
by Kryptonite bicycle locks, in front of doors to various abor-
tion clinics or inside abortion clinics, and remained there until
removed by police officers, causing abortion services to be
prevented or delayed. The trial court made no findings that
violence was involved in any of the protests. See Appendix
to Appellan: Brief in the Supreme Judicial Court, Volume II,
p. 525 (hereinafter, A., Vol., p. _). The police officers and
clinic staff, called as witnesses by plaintiffs, admitted that the
protesters were nonviolent, and among the most nonviolent
protesters they had seen. A., IX, 1595-1596, 1685-1687, 1724-
1727; VII, 1867, 1871; 1X, 2354, 2398, 2430. The photographs
and videotapes taken by police and plaintiffs of many of the
protests at issue show unequivocally that the protesters were
not violent, indeed were passive, and merely sat in place pray-
ing until removed by police. (A., III, 575-578, 581-587, 591,
616, 620, 634, 638-639.

In order to support a finding that defendants’ actions
“threatened, intimidated or coerced,” as required by MCRA,
the trial court relied on evidence presented by plaintiffs con-
cerning the “reaction” of women to defendants’ protests. The
court found that patients at each of the protests in issue experi-
enced “emotional reactions” to the protests which included
crying, shaking, and appearing “frightened” and “upset.” As
previously set forth, the defendants objected to this evidence
because of their inability to obtain discovery from any of the
alleged patients who experienced such reactions. Yet the court

7

cited no evidence of any physical or verbal! threats at any time,
by any defendant, to any alleged patient. '

The trial judge entered judgment against forty defendants
(including the Petitioners) and in favor of all plaintiffs except
the four membership organizations. Judgment entered under
MCRA on October 17, 1991, and was amended on October
28, 1991, which enjoined defendants and those in active concert
or participation with them from:

a. trespassing on, blocking or in any way obstruct-
ing access (either ingress or egress) to any facility
in the Commonwealth which provides abortion
counselling or services; or

b. physically restraining or obstructing or commit-
ting any acts of force or violence against persons
entering, leaving, working at or seeking to obtain
services from any facility in the Commonwealth
which provides abortion counselling or services;
or

c. directing, instructing, conspiring with and/or
aiding or abetting directly or indirectly any per-
son, persons, groups or organizations who en-
gage in any of the acts described in paragraphs (a)
and (b) above.

‘For example, there was no evidence that any alleged patient was ever struck
by any defendant; no evidence that any patient was ever physically harmed by any
of the defendants; no evidence that any alleged patient was ever threatened by a
defendant; no evidence that any defendant ever made a threatening gesture or
movement toward any patient. Indeed, there was no evidence that-any defendant
ever even said anything to any alleged patient while “blockading” a clinic. In fact,
evidence was affirmatively presented, by plaintiffs’ witnesses, that the defendants
did not do any of the above, but rather sat until removed by police. A., IV,
1069-1070, 1085-1086, 1095-1096, 1103; VI, 1584, 1591-1592, 1594, 1686, 1689,
1728, 1790-1791; VII, 1930; VIII, 2047; IX, 2353-2354, 2427-2428; X, 2612-2613,
2682, 2742-2744, 2748; XIl, 2993-2994.

8

Further amendment to the judgment was denied on November
13, 1991. The defendants herein (Kevin Blake, Sean Brogan,
Mary Kelliher, John D. McCarthy and Mortimer O’Shea) ap-
pealed the judgment on January 13, 1992.

The Supreme Judicial Court of Massachusetts (“SJC’)
granted a request for direct appellate review and affirmed the
trial court’s judgment.” Planned Parenthood League of Massa-
chusetts, Inc. v. Blake, 417 Mass. 467 (1994). The SJC rejected
the defendants’ claim that they were deprived of due process
or a fair trial by the trial judge’s denial of their efforts to
identify the patients with whose rights they allegedly interfered.
The court reasoned that, “[a]lthough the defendants’ relevancy
contention is theoretically sound, in the circumstances of this
case it lacks practical plausibility.” Jd. at 477..The SJC thought
it was implausible because of its perception that it was “un-
likely” that any women would have provided the defendants
with favorable testimony. /d. Furthermore, the SJC em-
phasized, the “intrusion into the privacy rights of these women
would have been substantial.” /d. at 478. Thus, the SJC ruled
that the defendants were not entitled to learn the identities of
these women, but, instead, could be found liable for threaten-
ing, intim:dating or coercing women without ever having the
opportunity to question them or even know who they were.

The SJC also rejected the defendants’ claim that the Amended
Permanent Injunction was constitutionally impermissible. /d.
at 481. Judges O’Connor, Nolan and Lynch dissented, reason-
ing that clauses (a) and (c) of the injunction were overbroad.
The dissent noted that these clauses impermissibly chilled con-
duct protected by the First Amendment, as they could be con-
strued to prohibit the hindrance of access to clinics by nonphys-
ical confrontation on public ways. /d. at 482-83, citing Planned

>There was one exception to the SJC’s affirmation of the trial court: the SJC
reversed and vacated the trial court’s decision in favor of plaintiff Rebecca Roe
and dismissed the action as to her.

9

Parenthood League of Massachusetts, Inc. v. Operation Res-
cue, 406 Mass. 701, 721-722 (1990) (O’Connor, J., dissent-
ing).

The federal questions at issue in this petition were raised
before both the trial judge and the SJC. The defendants briefed
and argued extensively before the SJC that their inability to
call women seeking abortions as witnesses had deprived them
of due process. They had argued this same point on numerous
grounds before the trial court. The SJC’s opinion rejected the
due process argument.

Similarly, the issues of unconstitutional overbreadth and
vagueness were raised both at the trial court level and before
the SJC. On May 21, 1990, the trial court entered a preliminary
injunction similar to the permanent injunction now in place.’
The defendants argued that the preliminary injunction was
vague and overbroad in Defendants’ Memorandum of Law in
Support of Petition that Preliminary Injunction Be Vacated,
Annulled or Suspended, July 31, 1989. On appeal to the SJC,
the appellants again briefed and argued the issues of vagueness
and overbreadth, this time with regard to the Amended Perma-
nent Injunction. The SJC’s opinion rejected this argument.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
The SJC decided an important question of federal law which

has not been, but should be, settled by the Supreme Court:
whether and to what extent the right to privacy outweighs a de-

*The preliminary injunction enjoined the defendants, and those in active concert
or participation with them, from:

a. trespassing on, blocking or in any way obstructing access (either ingress or
egress) to any facility in the Commonwealth which provides abortion counselling
or services; and

b. physically restraining or obstructing or committing any acts of violence against
persons entering, leaving, working at or seeking to obtain services from any facility
in the Commonwealth which provides abortion counselling or services, until further
order of this Court.

10

fendant’s due process right to cross-examine witnesses with
key information. The scope and importance of the ruling in
this case reaches far beyond the state of Massachusetts and
the present context of protests at abortion clinics. The SJC’s
ruling creates a precedent which allows Massachusetts and
other states to uphold discovery and trial procedures which
deprive a defendant of due process and a fair trial, in the name
of protecting a plaintiff's right to privacy. A writ of certiorari
should issue to resolve this question, both to remedy the SJC’s
denial of due process and a fair trial to the defendants by
holding them liable under MCRA for peaceful protests when
they were not permitted to face and question their accusers,
and to provide direction for the people and courts of our nation.
Moreover, the proceedings below, sanctioned by the SJC,
have so far strayed from the course of judicial proceedings
that this Court must act to correct this abuse. Heretofore, as
evidenced in numerous decisions by this Court, a litigant’s
right to a fair trial has been the cornerstone of the judicial
process. If there is a bedrock element to a fair trial, it must
be that a defendant is entitled to know the name of and seek
discovery from the plaintiff, the person who has made accusa-
tions against him. It is unheard of to deny a defendant access
to the plaintiff’s identity and to rule that a right to privacy is
more important than a right to a fair trial. This startling depar-
ture from accepted judicial procedure must be remedied.

I. THIS CASE PRESENTS AN IMPORTANT, UNSETTLED QUES-
TION OF FEDERAL Law.

A. The Question Presented Is Unsettled.

This Court has often addressed the issue of a privacy right
to avoid disclosure of personal matters, including in the abor-
tion context. See, e.g., Thornburgh v. American College of

ll

Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 476 U.S. 747, 766 (1986),
overruled on other grounds by Planned Parenthood of South-
eastern Pennsylvania v. Casey, 112 S.Ct. 2791 (1992); Bellotti
v. Baird, 443 U.S. 622, 644 (1979), reh’g denied, 444 U.S.
887 (1979); Whalen v. Roe, 429 U.S. 589, 598-600 (1977);
Planned Parenthood of Central Missouri v. Danforth, 428
U.S. 52, 80 (1976). This Court has also addressed the funda-
mental rights of due process and a fair trial. See, e.g., Aetna
Life Insurance Co. v. Lavoie, 475 U.S. 813, 829 (1986) (Bren-
nan, J., concurring), quoting /n re Murchison, 349 U.S. 133,
136 (1955); Withrow v. Larkin, 421 U.S. 35, 46-47 (1975).
However, the present case raises an important federal question
which does not appear to have been addressed: what happens
when these two rights conflict? Do the defendants, in preparing
a defense to allegations that they threatened, intimidated or
coerced women, have a right to confront the alleged victims
and seek relevant information from them? Or, in the name of
privacy, can the defendants be found liable under MCRA and
be subjected to fines and prison sentences, without even learn-
ing whom they allegedly threatened, intimidated or coerced?

The SJC, when faced with the conflict between these rights,
reasoned that the right to privacy superseded a defendant’s
right to question or even to know against whom he or she had
committed a tortious act. Even while admitting that the defend-
ants’ argument that the women seeking abortions who were
allegedly threatened, intimidated or coerced possessed critical
information was “theoretically sound,” the SJC denied the
defendants’ right to discover this information, so as not to
infringe on the right to privacy. The SJC’s approach threatens
to allow the right of privacy to swallow up a defendant’s due
process rights. The only basis for the decision was the SJC’s
perception, without even knowing what the women were going
to say, that the women would “obviously” not provide any testi-
mony favorable to the defendants. This is a dangerous prece-

12

dent. Our system of jurisprudence operates on the assumption
that our pre-existing prejudices and beliefs are not evidence;
that only what the witnesses say is evidence. If the right to
privacy allows a judge to prohibit evidence because his preju-
dices make him believe the evidence will not be useful, the
judicial role has been dramatically altered.

This Court has not faced such a set of competing circum-
stances. There is no guidance for litigants confronted with
such a conflict other than the SJC’s opinion, which goes too
far in protecting privacy rights to the sacrifice of due process.

B. The Question Presented Is Important.

A writ of certiorari should be granted because of the impor-
tance of this federal question, both for the defendants and for
future litigants whose due process rights may also be decimated
on the basis of the SJC’s opinion.

If the judicial process, criminal or civil, harbors a more
hallowed right than the right of an accused to know, confront
and question his or her accuser, such right does not immediately
come to mind. “The elementary principle underlying all trials
of whatever nature seems to be that the rule of confrontation
shall be applied where the witnesses are available. .. .” S.
Buschbaum & Co. v. Federal Trade Comm'n, 153 F.2d 85,
87 (7th Cir. 1946).* That right was denied here because of a per-

* See also Greene v. McElroy, 360 U.S. 474, 496-497 (1959) (“Certain principles
have remained relatively immutable in our jurisprudence. One of these is that where
governmental action seriously injures an individual, and the reasonableness of the
action depends on fact findings, the evidence used to prove the Government's case
must be disclosed to the individual so that he has an opportunity to show that it
is untrue. . . . We have formalized these protections in the requirements of confron-
tation and cross-examination. They have ancient roots. . . . This Court has been
zealous to protect these rights from erosion. It has spoken out not only in criminal
cases . . . but also in all types of cases. . . . Professor Wigmore, commenting on
the importance of cross-examination, states . . . ‘For two centuries past, the policy
of the Anglo-American system of Evidence has been to regard the necessity of
testing by cross-examination as a vital feature of the law. . . .”).

13

ceived supervening right to privacy on behalf of clinic patients.
This cannot be. The right to privacy is important and can be
preserved by protective orders, the use of pseudonyms in plead-
ings and the like (all of which the trial court refused to use,
instead flatly denying the defendants’ right to depose or exam-
ine the true plaintiffs). It cannot be used to deprive the defend-
ant of his due process right in order to shield the real plaintiff
from being asked highly probative questions by the defendant
(i.e., “were you threatened, intimidated or coerced by the
defendants?”), as happened here.

The SJC’s decision also abandons the principle of discovery
of all relevant information. Indeed, the decision does not
merely allow the privacy right to impose on the discovery of
some relevant information. The privacy right serves as an
excuse for the SJC to exclude an entire category of witnesses
who possess the most relevant information: whether the women
were threatened, intimidated or coerced by the defendants.
Such an unprecedented sacrifice of a defendant’s due process
rights can now be justified based on the SJC’s decision. There is
nothing in the SJC’s decision to prevent future courts from
refusing to allow an accused defendant to inquire into the truth
of the accuser’s allegations, the accuser’s credibility, or indeed
even the accuser’s very existence. Once a court finds that the
accuser’s allegations concern a sufficiently delicate topic, the
right to privacy can be invoked to obliterate any further explora-
tion regarding the accuser. Such a result would be at the expense
of the long-established due process rights of the defendant.

Il. THE SJC’s DECISION VIOLATES THE DUE PROCESS
CLAUSE By DEPRIVING THE DEFENDANTS OF A FAIR
TRIAL AND PREVENTING THEM FROM CONFRONTING THE
TRUE PLAINTIFFS.

Throughout discovery and at trial, defendants sought the
identities of the most important witnesses in the case, individu-
als who are in a sense the real plaintiffs: women who sought

14

abortion services and were allegedly prevented or delayed from
getting those services because of defendants’ activities.° The
identities of such women and information they could have
provided were critical to defendants’ ability to defend against
the claims. Defendants were deprived of due process by their
inability to discover this information.

The due process clause of the United States Constitution
provides that no state “shall . . . deprive any person of life,
liberty, or property, without due process of law. . . .” United
States Constitution, Amendment XIV, § 1. Courts have held
that “ijt is fundamental to a full and fair review required by
the due process clause that a litigant have an opportunity to
be confronted with all adverse evidence and to have the right
to cross-examine available witnesses.” Nevels v. Hanlon, 656
F.2d 372, 376 (8th Cir. 1981). Accord Complaint of Bankers
Trust Co., 752 F.2d 874, 890 (3rd Cir. 1984) (under Fifth
Amendment, “{d]Jue process mandates that a judicial proceed-
ing give all parties an opportunity to be heard on the critical
and decisive allegations which go to the core of the parties’
claim or defense and to present evidence on the contested
facts.”) (emphasis in original).° See also Chicago Ridge \
Theatre Lid. Partnership v. M & R Amusement Corp., 855
F.2d 465, 468 (7th Cir. 1988) (due process pronibits court
from relying on information where party has no opportunity
to cross-examine source of information); Brouillette v. Board
of Directors of Merged Area IX, 519 F.2d 126, 128 (8th Cir.

* Indeed, the plaintiffs to this action are not the real plaintiffs and lacked standing
to maintain the action. To have standing under Massachusetts law, “a litigant must
show that the challenged action has caused the litigant injury.” Slama v. Attorney
General, 384 Mass. 620, 624 (1981). The abortion clinics and Dr. Goldstein did
not even allege, let alone prove, any injury to themselves and had no standing.
(The claims of the remaining plaintiffs were dismissed on this ground.) The SJC
should have reversed the judgment against the defendants based on this lack of
standing alone.

* The requirements of the due process clause of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amend-
ments are identical. United States v. Agurs, 427 U.S. 97, 107 (1976).

15

1975) (iowa statute granting teachers a right to a hearing before
termination based on aliegations against teachers was “intended
to provide non-tenured teachers with procedural due process”
which requires, at a minimum, “notice of both the names of
those who have made allegations against the teacher and the
specific nature and factual basis for the charges”) (emphasis
added); Casada v. Booneville School Dist. No. 65, 686 F.
Supp. 730, 731-732 (W.D. Ark. 1988) (same but decision
based directly on Fourteenth Amendment). By refusing to let
the defendants know the identities of those making allegations
against them, or at least to question them under a protective
order or pseudonym, the SJC deprived the defendants of this
right.

In Western Electric Co., Inc. v. Stern, 544 F.2d 1196 (3rd
Cir. 1976), reh’g denied, 551 F.2d 1 (1976), plaintiff alleged
that Western Electric violated Title VII by discriminating
against her on the basis of sex. /d. at 1197. Plaintiff further
alleged that Western Electric had discriminated on a class-wide
basis against women and sought certification of a class of
women employed at or seeking employment at Western Elec-
tric. Jd. at 1197-1198. Based on these allegations, Western
Electric sought discovery from plaintiff of how each member
of the plaintiff class was discriminated against by the company.
Id. at 1198. The court granted Western Electric some discovery
on the issue but limited the discovery to evidence “on which
[plaintiff] intends to rely during the class stage. . . .” Jd. The
court ruled that, in providing discovery, plaintiff “need not
include any information on which she does not intend to rely,
even though it might be relevant to Western’s defense.” /d.
The Appeals Court reversed and ordered discovery, holding:

to deny Western the right to present a full defense
on the issues would violate due process. Thus, while
plaintiffs may make out a prima facie case under Title

16

VII without introducing evidence on individual
cases, at least under some circumstances, defendants
must be allowed to present any relevant rebuttal evi-
dence they choose, including evidence that there was
no discrimination against one or more members of
the class.

Id. at 1199. In our case, plaintiffs similarly alleged they would
not rely (although they did) on evidence concerning patients.
As in Western Electric, that is not enough to prevent defendants
from taking discovery. Defendants here should have been al-
lowed to seek discovery from patients and show that these
women may not have been “threatened, intimidated or
coerced.” See Matter of Extradition of Singh, 123 F.R.D. 108,
123-126 (D.N.J. 1987) (denial of discovery on crucial issue
violated due process).

Defendants were charged under MCRA, which requires the
plaintiffs to demonstate that: (1) a person; (2) in the exercise
of rights secured by law; (3) was interfered with; (4) by threats,
intimidation or coercion. Moreover, in the context of the con-
duct which occurred here, which included activity protected
by the First Amendment, plaintiffs had to prove that any inter-
ference with a woman’s right occurred through activity which
is not protected by the First Amendment. NAACP v. Claiborne
Hardware Co., 458 U.S. 886, 918 (1982); Redgrave v. Boston
Symphony Orchestra, Inc. , 399 Mass. 93, 97 (1987) (“a person
exercising constitutional rights who interferes with another’s
constitutional rights is not . . . ‘interfering with the rights of
another person by “threats, intimidation or coercion,’” within

the meaning of G.L. c. 12, §§ 11H and 11I.”). Yet the defend-
ants were not allowed to confront the women who were al-
legedly seeking abortion services to inquire, among other
things, whether a scheduled abortion was delayed because of
the woman’s reluctance to encounter marching protesters, re-

17

luctance to be recognized, reluctance to have people show
them pictures or literature, reluctance to go near a place where
a crowd had gathered, a change of mind about the morality
of abortion, information from clinic personnel or police that
abortions were impossible that day or would be delayed due
to the protesters, or (the only pertinent reason) because she
was “threatened,” “intimidated” or “coerced” by the defend-
ants’ actions. If due process requires anything, it requires that
a defendant be allowed to learn the identity of the plaintiff so
that these questions could be asked.

A close analogy concerns the rule that where an informant
has information relevant to the defense of a criminal case, the
informant’s identity must be disclosed to the defendant or the
case dismissed. For example, in Roviaro v. United States, 353
U.S. 53 (1957), the Supreme Court reversed a conviction
because the trial court had failed to require the government to
disclose the identity of an informant to the defendant. This
Court noted that although the government had a qualified
piivilege not to disclose informants’ identities, this privilege
was limited by:

the fundamental requirements of fairness. Where the
disclosure of an informec’s identity . . . is relevant
and helpful to the defense of an accused, or is essen-
tial to a fair determination of a cause, the privilege
must give way. In these situations the trial court may
require disclosure and, if the Government withholds
the information, dismiss the action.

Id. at 60-61 (emphasis added).

The case for disclosure here is much stronger than in the
cases cited. The alleged patients had the most crucial evidence
in the case. They, and they alone, could testify whether they
actually felt “threatened,” “intimidated” or “coerced,” informa-

18

tion which ultimately decides whether the defendants are liable
under MCRA.’ Moreover, the reason for the privilege allowing
the withholding of an informant’s identity is the fear that the
informant may not last long on this earth if disclosure is re-
quired. If even this fear must give way to the defendant’s right
to defend himself (and it is not based on the Sixth Amendment
but rather on the concept of fairness at trial), the women’s
alleged or even a legitimate fear of harassment must give way."
The defendants herein have been deprived of their due process

’ Interestingly, plaintiffs argued and the SJC agreed that the patients’ identities
were irrelevant because the police officers and clinic personnel who testified about
the patients’ reactions were subject to cross-examination. In Roviaro, the Court
specifically held that the ability of the defendant to cross-examine police officers
about informer John Doe's activities “was hardly a substitute for an opportunity
to examine the man who had been nearest to him and took part in the transaction.”
Rovario, 353 U.S. at 64.

* Any fear of harassment could be addressed by protective orders or the use of
pseudonyms. Indeed, the principle that a defendant, in order to defend herself, is
entitled to learn who is making allegations against her is further supported by cases
in which the plaintiffs have sought to proceed under a pseudonym. In such cases,
even where courts have granted the request, they have noted that the defendant
maintains a strong interest in knowing who has sued him and is, in fact, allowed
to know plaintiff's identity even if the public at large is not. National Commodity
and Barter Ass'n v. Gibbs, 886 F.2d 1240, 1245 and n.2 (10th Cir. 1989) (denying
motion to sue under pseudonym and to remain anonymous even to defendant
because “[t]o permit this case to progress in this manner would deny the defendants
any ability to defend against the claims against them. . . .”); Lindsey v. Dayton-Hud-
son Corp., 592 F.2d 1118, 1125 (10th Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 444 U.S. 856
(1979) (denying plaintiff's motion to sue under a pseudonym, because, in part,
use of pseudonym “may cause problems to defendants engaging in discovery and
establishing their defenses. . . .”); Doe v. United Services Life Ins. Co., 123
F.R.D. 437, 439 (S.D.N.Y. 1988) (granting motion to sue under pseudonym
because, in part, “[defendant] already knows Doe’s true identity, [so] it will have
full discovery rights as the case progresses, and it will only be barred from using
or disclosing the fruits of its discovery for purposes other than the defense of this
action.”); Free Market Compensation v. Commodity Exchange, Inc., 98 F.R.D.
311, 312-313 (S.D.N.Y. 1983) (denying motion despite the fact that plaintiff agreed
to provide true identity to defendant’s counsel pursuant to protective order prevent-
ing defendant from disclosing identity to others); Doe v. Rostker, 89 F.R.D. 158,
162 (N.D. Cal. 1981) (denying plaintiff's motion to sue under pseudonym noting
that “[t]he defendant . . . has a strong interest in knowing who is suing him”).

19

right to a fair trial by the denial of the discovery of the women’s
identities.’

Indeed, the gross unfairness in this case goes beyond any-
thing to be found in the case books. Here the identities of the
real plaintiffs were denied defendants in discovery, so no depo-

*Indeed, even the simple but gross disregard of discovery rules and principles
by the court in this case is grounds for finding a due process violation. Discovery
of all relevant information is the cornerstone of our judicial system in both the
federal and state courts. Rule 26(b), Mass. R. Civ. P., like its identical federal
counterpart, provides for inquiry into “any matter, not privileged, which is relevant
to the subject matter involved in the pending action. . . .” Courts have consistently
noted that the right to broad and open discovery is a highly valued component of
litigation. As the Supreme Court has stated:

We agree, of course, that the deposition-discovery rules are to be
accorded a broad and liberal treatment. . . . Mutual knowledge of all
the relevant facts gathered by both parties is essential to proper litiga-
tion. To that end, either party may compel the other to disgorge
whatever facts he has in his possession.

Hickman v. Taylor, 329 U.S. 495, 507 (1947).

In civil rights cases, courts have consistently held that a defendant is entitled
during discovery to the names of those individuals whose rights were allegedly
violated by the defendant’s actions. For example, in National Org. for Women v.
Sperry Rand Corp., 88 F.R.D. 272 (D. Conn. 1980), NOW brought an action on
behalf of its members alleging that the defendant had engaged in discriminatory
practices against its women employees and applicants. The defendant sought,
through discovery, a list of al! members of NOW. /d. at 273. NOW objected,
claiming that their “privacy rights” would be infringed with harmful employment
consequences if disclosure were required. Despite NOW’s objection, identical to
the one made by these plaintiffs, the court held that NOW was required to divulge
the names of those members against whom the defendant had allegedly discrimi-
nated. /d. at 275. The court noted that the defendant was entitled to this information
“in order to prepare an adequate defense” and that, by bringing the suit, plaintiffs
had at least partially waived any right to privacy they may otherwise have had.
Id. See also Southern Methodist Univ. Ass'n of Women Law Students v. Wynne &
Jaffe, 599 F.2d 707, 713 (Sth Cir. 1979); United States v. School Dist. No. 1,
Lexington County, South Carolina, 40 F.R.D. 391, 393-395 (D.S.C. 1966); EEOC
v. St. Francis Community Hosp., 70 F.R.D. 592, 595 (D.S.C. 1976).

So clearly was the information sought by defendants relevant, indeed crucial,
to their ability to deferd that the trial court, in denying the requested discovery,
denied the defendants their due process right to a fair trial. The SJC’s decision
upholding thee denial must be reversed. See, e.g., Westinghouse Electric Corp. v.
Republic of te Philippines, 951 F.2d 1414, 1422 (3rd Cir. 1991) (order denying
discovery of relevant information requires new trial).

20

sitions were possible. The denial continued through trial, so
defendants could not summon any of these women to testify
at trial, deposition or no deposition. Plaintiffs put no clinic
patients on the stand at trial, so there was no opportunity even
to cross-examine, without preparation, a hand-picked represen-
tative. Adding insult to injury, plaintiffs put other witnesses
on the stand who testified that they observed patients who
were emotionally upset, but: “no, I won’t tell you who they
were.” The SJC’s decision offends the Constitution. A writ of
certiorari should be granted to remedy this deprivation of due
process.

Ill. THE SJC’s DECISION UPHOLDS A CONSTITUTIONALLY
IMPERMISSIBLE INJUNCTION.

The SJC’s decision further offends the Constitution in light
of the particular wording of the Amended Permanent Injunc-
tion. Clause (a) and clause (c), which incorporates clause (a),
forbid the defendants and others “in active concert or partici-
pation with them” from “trespassing on, blocking or in any
way obstructing access” to abortion facilities (emphasis added).
Yet such broad language goes too far, creating an impermissi-
ble chilling effect on the defendants and others acting with
them.

A reasonable person wishing to express his views about the
morality of abortion and whether abortion should be legal will
be chilled from doing so by the language of this injunction.
Such an individual cannot be confident that he will not violate
the injunction if he merely joins others on a public way near
a clinic in order to picket, pray, chant, and exhort others to
accept his viewpoint. Planned Parenthood League of Massa-
chusetts, Inc. v. Blake, 417 Mass. 467, 483 (1994) (O’Connor,
J., dissenting), citing Planned Parenthood League of Massa-
chusetts, Inc. v. Operation Rescue, 406 Mass. 701, 721 (1990)

21

(O’Connor, J., dissenting). The prohibition against obstructing
in any way must be construed to include the hindrance of
access to clinics by nonphysical confrontation. /d.

Such a prohibition encompasses conduct clearly protected
by the First Amendment to the United States Constitution. The
Amended Permanent Injunction will chill abortion opponents
from engaging in protected speech. It will also serve as prece-
dent for future individuals to be subject to similar, impermis-
sible chilling injunctions. A writ of certiorari should issue to
correct this unconstitutional injunction.

CONCLUSION

In light of all the reasons stated above, the Petitioners re-
spectfully request this Court to issue a writ of certiorari to
review the judgment and opinion of the Supreme Judicial Court
of Massachusetts.

Respectfully submitted,

FRANCIS H. Fox

Counsel of Record
ROBERT A. MILEY
WENDY ADAMS MIKLuS
BINGHAM, DANA & GOULD
150 Federal Street
Boston, Massachusetts 02110
(617) 951-8000
Counsel for the Petitioners

APPENDIX

TABLE OF CONTENTS

APPENDIX A
The opinion of the Supreme Judicial Court of
Massachusetts, Planned Parenthood League of
Massachusetts, Inc. v. Blake, 417 Mass.
467 (1994) Al

APPENDIX B
Amended Judgment of the trial judge of the
Superior Court of Massachusetts,
Middlesex County, October 28, 1991 Al9

APPENDIX C
Amended Permanent Injunction of the trial
judge of the Superior Court of Massachusetts,
Middlesex County, October 28, 1991 A23

Al
APPENDIX A

PLANNED PARENTHOOD LEAGUE OF MASSACHUSETTS, INC.,
& others' vs. KEVIN BLAKE & others.’

Middlesex. December, 7 1993. - April 11, 1994.

Present: Liacos, C.J., WILKINS, ABRAMS, NOLAN, LYNCH, O"CONNOoR, & GREANEY,
iJ.

Practice, Civil, Standing. Abortion. Injunction. Civil Rights,
Availability of remedy, Coercion. /dentification. Words,
“Threats,” “Intimidation,” “Coercion.”

In an action in which the Attorney General had standing to
seek injunctive relief under the provisions of the Massachusetts
Civil Rights Act, G.L. c. 12, $8 11H and 11I, it was not
necessary for this court to decide whether certain other plain-
tiffs also had standing. [472]

In an action seeking injunctive relief under the Massachusetts
Civil Rights Act, G.L. c. 12, §§ 11H and 111, the judge, in
granting the relief sought, concluded that the defendants’ con-
duct in knowingly trespassing on the property of clinics that
provided abortion counseling and services, and in intentionally
using their bodies or Kryptonite bicycle locks, or both, to
prevent others physically from entering, leaving or using med-
ical facilities to obtain abortions to which they were constitu-
tionally and lawfully entitled, constituted threats, intimidation,
and coercion within the meaning of the act and was an actual
or potential physical confrontation accompanied by the threat

'Pretermn, Inc., Repro Associates, Inc., Crittenton Hastings House, Stanton P.
Goldstein, Rebecca Roe, Barry Adler doing business as Gynecare, and the Com-
monwealth through the Attorney General and as an intervener. The remaining
original plaintiffs, except for Rebecca Roe, are providers of abortion services.

*Sean Brogan, Mary Kelliher, John D. McCarthy, Jr., and Mortimer O'Shea.
None of the other defendants, including Operation Rescue: Boston, Pro-Life Action
Network of Arlington, and numerous individuals, has appealed.

A2

of harm; further, the judge was warranted in finding, and
correct in ruling, that a reasonable woman seeking abortion
services would be made fearful and apprehensive and would
feel pressured by the defendants’ conduct so that she would
desist from seeking those services while that conduct con-
tinued. [473-476]

In an action brought under G.L. c. 12, §§ 11H and 111, the
judge properly rejected the defendants’ attempts to identify
the women affected by the defendants’ conduct in “blockading”
facilities providing abortion counseling and services, none of
whom were called as witnesses by the plaintiffs, where there
was no reasonable risk in the circumstances that nondisclosure
had prejudiced the defendants’ case and where the intrusion
on the privacy rights of those women would have been substan-
tial. [476-479]

An injunctive order requiring certain defendants to refrain from
“aiding or abetting directly or indirectly” persons who engage
in specific prohibited acts was not unconstitutionally vague.
[480-48 1 ]

O’CoNNOR, J., with whom NOLAN and LyNcH, JJ., joined,
dissenting, expressed the view, previously expressed in Plan-
ned Parenthood League of Massachusetts, Inc. v. Operation
Rescue, 406 Mass. 701 (1990) (Planned Parenthood I), that
the injunctive relief granted was constitutionally overbroad
and should be vacated. [482-483]

CiviL ACTION commenced in the Superior Court Department
on April 19, 1989.

The case was heard by Peter M. Lauriat, J.

The Supreme Judicial Court granted a request for direct
appellate review. a

A3

Francis H. Fox (Robert A. Miley & Wendy A. Miklus with
him) for Kevin Blake & others.

Judith E. Beals, Assistant Attorney General (Donna L.
Palermino, Assistant Attorney General, with her) for the At-
torney General.

John H. Henn (Teresa A. Martland with him) for Planned

Parenthood League of Massachusetts, Inc., & others.

Cornelius J.P. Sullivan, for William Cotter & another, was
present but did not argue.

Janet Benshoof, Catherine Albisa & Priscilla J. Smith, of
New York, for Center for Reproductive Law & Policy, amicus
curiae, submitted a brief.

Nonnie S. Burnes & Sarah R. Wunsch, for Civil Liberties
Union of Massachusetts, amicus curiae, submitted a brief.

WILKINS, J. The five defendants appeal from an amended
judgment that permanently enjoined them, among other things,
from obstructing access to any facility in the Commonwealth
that provides abortion counseling or services and from using
force against persons entering or leaving or working at any
such facility.

In April, 1989, the plaintiffs commenced this action pursuant
to the Massachusetts Civil Rights Act (MCRA) (G.L. c. 12,
§§ 11H & 111 [1992 ed.]).’ In April, 1990, the Attorney Gen-

‘These sections read as follows:

“Section 11H. Whenever any person or persons, whether or not acting under
color of law, interfere by threats, intimidation or coercion, or attempt to interfere
by threats, intimidation or coercion, with the exercise or enjoyment by any other
person or persons of rights secured by the constitution or laws of the United States,
or of rights secured by the constitution or laws of the commonwealth, the attorney
general may bring a civil action for injunctive or other appropriate equitable relief
in order to protect the peaceable exercise or enjoyment of the right or rights secured.
Said civil action shall be brought in the name of the commonwealth and shall be
instituted either in the superior court for the county in which the conduct complained
of occurred or in the superior court for the county in which the person whose
conduct complained of resides or has his principal place of business.”

“Section 111. Any person whose exercise or enjoyment of rights secured by the
constitution or laws of the United States, or of rights secured by the constitution or

A4

eral was allowed to intervene in the name of the Common-
wealth. The case was tried on a joint amended complaint
stating a single claim under the MCRA and seeking a permanent
injunction in accordance with G.L. c. 12, $3 11H, 111, & 11J
(1992 ed.).* In the final judgment the judge dismissed the
claims of certain plaintiffs and dismissed claims against many
individual defendants. The injunction whose entry is chal-
lenged in this appeal was entered against Operation Rescue:
Boston, Pro-Life Action Network of Arlington, and numerous
individuals, including the five appellants. We allowed the de-
fendants’ application for direct appellate review.

The defendants make three substantive challenges to the
permanent injunction, which we shall consider in turn after
commenting briefly on the standing of the Attorney General
and the other plaintiffs to maintain this action. First, however,
we set forth certain findings of fact that are typical of the
circumstances that led the trial judge to rule that the defendants
had violated the MCRA and should be permanently enjoined.

Operation Rescue: Boston and Pro-Life Action Network
organized and encouraged participation in what they call “res-
cues,” blockades or invasions of abortion clinics. They offered
advice, training, and seminars to prepare participants in “res-
cues” for arrest, jail, and money judgments. The purpose of a

laws of the commonwealth, has been interfered with, or attempted to be interfered
with, as described in section 11H, may institute and prosecute in his own name
and on his own behalf a civil action for injunctive and other appropriate equitable
relief as provided for in said section, including the award of compensatory money
damages. Any aggrieved person or persons who prevail in an action authorized by
this section shall be entitled to an award of the costs of the litigation and reasonable
attorneys’ fees in an amount to be fixed by the court.”

“In Planned Parenthood League of Mass., Inc. v. Operation Rescue, 406 Mass.
701 (1990), this court considered certain questions concerning a preliminary injunc-
tion entered in this case and upheld various challenges to that preliminary injunction.
In Commonwealth v. Cotter, 415 Mass. 183 (1993), and Commonwealth v. Brogan,
415 Mass. 169 (1993), this court af‘irmed convictions for the violation of that
preliminary injunction, the operative terms of which appear in the Brogan opinion.
See id. at 170 n.1.

AS

“rescue” is to keep women out of an abortion clinic and to
prevent abortions from taking place at that clinic. The judge
found that on nine dates between August 30, 1989, and January
17, 1991, anti-abortion demonstrators blocked entrances or
physically invaded abortion clinics or buildings housing abor-
tion clinics in the Commonwealth. These “rescues” occurred
in Hyannis, Boston, Brookline, New Bedford, Worcester, and
Springfield, and involved six abortion clinics. In each of these
instances, the blocking or invading demonstrators remained
on private property after they had been notified that they were
trespassing.

It would prolong this opinion unnecessarily to recite all the
facts of each incident. As an example, we describe the August
10, 1990, blockade of Preterm Health Services, Inc. (Preterm),
a clinic located on Beacon Street in Brookline, in which each
of the defendants participated. From 6:40 a.m. until 8:30 A.M.
on that day, a group of about twenty people sat with their
backs up against the front door of the building that housed the
clinic. It was not possible to open that door. Another group
sat with their backs against the rear public entrance to the
building, preventing the door from being opened. The defend-
ants were advised that they were trespassing. Brookline police
officers read the preliminary injunction to the groups at the
two doors and demanded that they leave. Shortly after 8:20
A.M., Brookline police began removing the persons blocking
access to the building. During the period of the blockade most
patients and staff could not enter the building. A few patients
entered the building through the garage or the back door during
a brief period when that door was not blocked. Those patients
who entered after 8:50 a.M. “appeared to be very upset —
they were crying and shaking and holding on tightly to others
as they walked into the clinic. Their demeanor differed mar-
kedly from the usually calm demeanor of patients entering
Preterm on days when many picketers but no blockaders were

A6é

present outside Preterm.” When the police finally cleared the
front door of protesters, a crowd of patients entered the build-
ing. They appeared upset; they were crying, breathing heavily,
and shaking.°

Each of the defendants before us participated in the occupa-
tion of a portion of the medical area of a clinic. We recite one
typical example, in which the defendants Brogan and O’Shea
participated on January 17, 1991, at Womancare of New Bed-
ford. The doors to the medical area of the clinic were kept
locked. A woman who pretended to be a patient was able by
a ruse to have the doors unlocked, and fifteen to twenty people
rushed into the medical area of the clinic, dragging a protesting
clinic employee along with them where she was pushed up
against a wall. One group of invaders sat with their backs to
each other in one examining room, locked together with Kryp-
tonite bicycle locks around their necks. Another group of six
lay on the floor extending into the entrances of two other
examining rooms, locked together by a series of Kryptonite
bicycle locks around their necks. Three of these people also
wore at their ankles a modified Kryptonite bicycle lock encased
in a welded steel pipe in such a way that a locksmith found
it impossible to reach the lock until the fire department cut
the casing. No scheduled abortions were performed that day.
A patient who was in the clinic when the incident started was
extremely upset. The police ultimately removed the intruders.

1. The defendants correctly grant the Attorney General has
standing to maintain this action (see G.L. c. 12, § 11H [1992

*On August 23, another blockade occurred at Preterm in which all the appellants
except Blake participated. On this occasion, two Kryptonite locks were placed on
the outside of the rear doors of the building and four such locks were placed on
the gates to the private garage in the building. Patients whose procedures were
delayed were crying and tense when they reached the clinic. “They were concerned
for their privacy and confidentiality.”

A7

ed.]), but argue that no other plaintiff has. We need not decide
the standing of the other plaintiffs, a question which involves
in part the right of a doctor or an abortion clinic to argue the
constitutional rights of patients.’ The trial judge made limited
findings on the question whether the clinics sustained harm in
their own right from the defendants’ conduct. If they did, they
could have standing to maintain this action on their own be-
halves. As we have said, however, the standing of the Attorney
General supports ihe maintenance of this action. We, therefore,
turn to the defendants’ substantive challenges to the judgment
entered against them.

2. The defendants’ conduct amounted to threats, intimida-
tion, and coercion within the meaning of those words in G.L.
c. 12, § 11H. The defendants grant that they sat in clinics and
in clinic doorways and thereby delayed or prevented abortions.
This, they argue, cannot establish liability under the MCRA,
because their conduct did not interfere with, or attempt to
interfere with, anyone’s rights “by threats, intimidation or
coercion.” G.L. c. 12, § 11H.

The defendants first say that their conduct was a direct
frustration of the rights of others, and that a “direct violation
of a person’s rights does not by itself involve threats, intimi-
dation, or coercion.” Longval v. Commissioner of Correction,

*The action should have been dismissed as to Rebecca Roe, a fictitious person.
See Doe v. Governor, 381 Mass. 702, 705 (1980). The plaintiffs conceded the
point at trial.

’? The Supreme Court of the United States divided evenly on this point in Singleton
v. Wulff, 428 U.S. 106, 113-118 (1976). See id. at 131 (Powell, J., dissenting).
Lower Federal courts have generally held that abortion providers have standing to
assert the rights of their patients who are not parties to the action. See, e.g., New
York State Nat'l Org. for Women v. Terry, 886 F.2d 1339, 1347-1348 (2d Cir.
1989), cert. denied, 495 U.S. 947 (1990); Planned Parenthood Ass'n of Cincinnati
v. Cincinnati, 822 F.2d 1390, 1394-1396 (6th Cir. 1987).

We need not decide whether the doctor or the clinics have standing under the
law of the Commonwealth (see Slama v. Attorney Gen., 384 Mass. 620, 624-625
[1981]), or whether this question is irrelevant if they have standing under Federal
law.

A8

404 Mass. 325, 333 (1989). See Nicholas B. v. School Comm.
of Worcester, 412 Mass. 20, 24 (1992); Layne v. Superinten-
dent, Mass. Correctional Inst., Cedar Junction, 406 Mass.
156, 158 (1989); Pheasant Ridge Assoc. Ltd. Partnership v.
Burlington, 399 Mass. 771, 781 (1987). Each of these cases
involved direct action against the plaintiff which “by itself”
(Longval, supra) did not amount to a violation of the MCRA.
If, however, direct action also includes threats against, or
intimidation or coercion of, a particular individual or individu-
als, liability under the MCRA can be established, and will be
established if such threats, intimidation, or coercion interfered
with that individual’s exercise or enjoyment of rights secured
by law. The judge correctly concluded that this case involved
more than simple direct action in denial of the rights of women
seeking abortion services.

The defendants next claim that the facts do not show an
actual or potential physical confrontation accompanied by a
threat of harm, proof of which has been an element of MCRA
claims. See Willitts v. Roman Catholic Archbishop of Boston,
411 Mass. 202, 210 (1991); Layne v. Superintendent, Mass.
Correctional Inst., Cedar Junction, supra at 158; Bally v.
Northeastern Univ., 403 Mass. 713, 719-720 (1989).* In such
circumstances a threat, intimidation, or coercion, interfering
with secured rights gives rise to a MCRA violation. There is
no doubt that the defendants’ conduct involved physical con-
frontations accompanied by threats of harm.

"The Massachusetts Civil Rights Act was enacted in response to deprivations of
secured rights by private individuals using violence or threats of violence amounting
to racial harassment. Our cases holding that the Massachusetts Civil Rights Act
was violated have involved actual or potential physical confrontations involving a
threat of harm. Redgrave v. Boston Symphony Orchestra, Inc., 399 Mass. 93, 95
(1987), for example, involved potential threats to the physical safety of the audience
and symphony players. Evidence of an actual or potential physical confrontation
between two peole (i.c., clinic staff and the defendants) that has the effect of
depriving a third person (i.e., patients) of protected rights can sufficiently prove
a violation of the MCRA. See id. at 100.

‘ i i i a it il hi

A9

This court has not adopted a comprehensive definition of
the words “threats, intimidation or coercion.” The trial judge
defined the words in terms that we accept. “Threat” in this
context involves the intentional exertics of pressure to make
another fearful or apprehensive of injury or harm. See Redgrave
v. Boston Symphony Orchestra, Inc., 399 Mass. 93, 104 (1987)
(O’Connor, J., dissenting); Delaney v. Chief of Police of
Wareham, 27 Mass. App. Ct. 398, 409 (1989) (“acts or lan-
guage by which another is placed in fear of injury or damage”).
Cf. Commonwealth v. Ditsch, 19 Mass. App. Ct. 1005 (1985)
(reasonable apprehension on the part of the recipient of a
criminal threat). “Intimidation” involves putting in fear for the
purpose of compelling or deterring conduct. See Redgrave v.
Boston Symphony Orchestra, Inc., supra; Delaney v. Chief of
Police of Wareham, supra (“creation of fear to compel con-
duct”). In Deas v. Dempsey, 403 Mass. 468, 471 (1988), we
quoted a definition of coercion from Webster's New Interna-
tional Dictionary at 519 (2d ed. 1959): “the application to
another of such force, either physical or moral, as to constrain
him to do against his will something he would not otherwise
have done.” See Delaney v. Chief of Police of Wareham, supra
(“the active domination of another’s will’).

In the context of this case, the judge correctly applied the
objective standard of whether a reasonable woman seeking
abortion services would be threatened, intimidated, or coerced
by the defendants’ conduct. Cf. Commonwealth v. DeVincent,
358 Mass. 592, 593 (1971) (“the threat is to be tested objec-
tively; the state of mind of the person threatened is not control-
ling”); Commonwealth v. Ditsch, supra (reasonable apprehen-
sion of criminal threats). The defendants do not challenge the
use of this standard.

Based on these principles, the judge properly concluded that
the defendants’ conduct constituted threats, intimidation, and
coercion. He made ultimate findings and drew reasonable infer-

Al0

ences that the defendants knowingly trespassed on clinic prop-
erty and intentionally used their bodies or Kryptonite bicycle
locks, or both, to prevent others physically from entering,
leaving, or using medical facilities to obtain abortions to which
they were constitutionally and lawfully entitled. Their conduct
“presented frightening, threatening and impermeable physical
obstacles to patients attempting to enter the clinics, and forced
those patients to forego their right to enter the clinics and
obtain abortion services.” “The patients reasonably perceived
the crowding of a large number of bodies in a confined area
of a medical facility as posing a risk of personal physical
harm.” “[T]he acts of trespassing and crowding into clinic
waiting rooms, conference rooms, operating rooms and med-
ical areas reasonably threatened and intimidated patients who
were there awaiting services.” “The defendants’ actions were
specifically designed to dissuade the patients from seeking the
immediate care and treatment to which they were constitution-
ally entitled.” The judge ruled properly that the defendants’
conduct “constitutes the application of physical force to const-
rain the patients and staff of the plaintiff clinics from receiving
and providing abortion services. Such conduct is coercive
within the meaning of MCRA. The Court further finds that
such conduct constitutes ‘an actual or potential physical con-
frontation accompanied by the threat of harm.’”

“These actions were threatening, intimidating and coercive
to patients who sought to enter and use the clinics’ facilities.
The defendants’ physical confrontation of clinic patients and
staff on numerous occasions in cities and towns across the
Commonwealth, even where no violence was involved, was
designed, intended and highly likely to instill fear and concern
for personal safety in a reasonable person seeking abortion ser-
vices.” ° In these circumstances, the judge was warranted in

* By contrast, the Court finds and concludes that lecturing, counselling, picketing,
signing and praying at or near the clinics by certain defendants and their supporters,

All

finding, and was correct in ruling, that a reasonable woman
seeking abortion services would be made fearful and apprehen-
sive, and would feel pressured, by the defendants’ conduct so
that she would desist from seeking those services while that
conduct continued.

3. The defendants claim error in the rejection of their various
attempts to identify and then depose the patients with whose
rights they had admittedly interfered. The defendants assert
that they were entitled to have a chance to rebut the plaintiffs’
case by offering testimony from patients whose scheduled pro-
cedures at blockaded clinics were delayed or postponed. The
defendants’ purpose was to show that the delays were not the
result of threats, intimidation, or coercion perceived by the
patients, but rather were the result of the reality that the clinics
were effectively closed by the blockades.

As we have already noted, the standard is whether a reason-
able woman would have felt threatened, intimidated, or coerced
by the defendants’ conduct. Therefore, unlike a criminal case
in which proof of a victim’s state of mind may be indispensable
in making the prosecution’s case (see, e.g., Commonwealth
v. Chalifoux, 362 Mass. 811, 816 [1973]), testimony concern-
ing the states of mind of specific women who were unable to
obtain abortions as planned was not essential to the plaintiffs’
proof. We are not concerned here with the rights of a criminal
defendant, but only with a civil action for an injunction with
no claim by specific women for the award of damages. Because
the Commonwealth undertook to prove its case through nonpa-
tient witnesses who were present at the protests, no patient

where the patients’ access to the clinics was not obstructed or precluded, did not
constitute threats, intimidation or coercion of the clinics’ patients. So long as the
defendants remain on public property and do not create physical barriers or promote
physical confrontation or physical contact, then their activities cannot reasonably
be perceived as threatening. intimidating or coercive in violation of MCRA.”

lage a ee en ial

.
|
.

Al2

whose rights were allegedly interfered with testified. The denial
before and during trial of attempts to identify such persons,
therefore, did not impede the defendants’ cross-examination
of the plaintiffs’ witnesses. On the other hand, any evidence
that women who were unable to obtain abortions as scheduled
did not feel threatened, intimidated, or coerced by the defend-
ants’ conduct would be relevant to the issue of the reaction of
a reasonable woman in the circumstances. How actual partici-
pants responded to events could be a guide to how a reasonable
person would react in the same circumstances.'° Cf. Common-
wealth v. Matchett, 386 Mass. 492, 500-501 (1982).
Although the defendants’ relevancy contention is theoreti-
cally sound, in the circumstances of this case it lacks practical
plausibility. The number of trespasses, the scores of scheduled
abortions that were impeded, the physical intrusiveness of the
blockaders, and the evidence of the reactions of patients and
clinic personnel make it unlikely that the defendants would
have discovered evidence from these women, whose lives they
disrupted, that would have led the trial judge to factual conclu-
sions other than those he reached. In other words, if there had
been error on this issue, it would have created no reasonable
risk that nondisclosure prejudiced the defendants. Cf. Com-

Moreover, as a matter of discovery, the range of permissible inquiry is broad.
See Mass. R. Civ. P. 26(b), 365 Mass. 772 (1974); Hickman v. Taylor, 329 U.S.
495, 507 (1947), construing a cognate rule of Federal procedure.

None of the appellants, however, sought by pretrial discovery to learn the iden-
tities of the women who were affected by their conduct. They rely on a discovery
request and an attempt to obtain a court order enforcing discovery from certain
clinics filed by another defendant. No enforcement order was sought against the
Attorney General who probably did not have any knowledge of which patients
were affected by the defendants’ conduct.

The defendants were thwarted in obtaining the same information by subpoena
at trial. Among the facts agreed to by the Attorney General, the other plaintiffs,
and the defendants in a joint pretrial memorandum was that: “Defendants in discov-
ery have sought the identities of women who were scheduled to receive services
at the clinics on the days in question and plaintiffs have declined to produce them.”
We shall assume in the defendants’ favor that all aspects of their argument concern-
ing the denial of information sought is before us.

Al3

monwealth v. Bishop, 416 Mass. 169, 181 (1993), citing Penn-
sylvania v. Ritchie, 480 U.S. 39, 57 (1987) (“[E]vidence is
material only if there is a reasonable probability that, had the
evidence been disclosed to the defense, the result of the pro-
ceeding would have been different. A ‘reasonable probability’
is a probability sufficient to undermine confidence in the out-
come’’).

It was, in any event, within the judge’s discretion whether
to grant or deny the defendants’ attempts to learn, by pretrial
order and subpoena, the identities of the numerous women
with whose rights they had interfered. Because no such woman
testified at trial, the plaintiffs assumed the task of proving
threats, intimidation, and coercion without testimony from the
women concerning their states of mind.

The intrusion into the privacy rights of these women would
have been substantial. The allowance of disclosure in cases
such as this could have a discouraging impact on the bringing
of actions to enforce rights under the MCRA and on a woman’s
exercise of her constitutional right to an abortion. See Planned
Parenthood of Southeastern Pa. v. Casey, 112 S.Ct. 2791,
2829-2830 (1992) (disclosure through spousal notification in-
valid as an undue burden that “will operate as a substantial
obstacle to a woman’s choice to undergo an abortion”);
Thornburgh v. American College of Obstetricians &
Gynecologists, 476 U.S. 747, 766 (1986) (“A woman and her
physician will necessarily be more reluctant to choose an abor-
tion if there exists a possibility that her decision and her identity
will become known publicly”), overruled on other grounds by
Planned Parenthood v. Casey, supra at 2823; Commonwealth
v. Collett, 387 Mass. 424, 428 (1982) (“If it becomes known
that confidences are violated, other people may be reluctant’).
Considering the likelihood that the defendants would obtain
no evidence materially beneficial to them from women whose
lives they intentionally and admittedly disrupted and further

Al4

considering that disclosure of the identity of these women
would intrude into their privacy on a matter of constitutional
right,'' we conclude that the trial court did not abuse its discre-
tion in denying disclosure of the identities of the women af-
fected by the defendants’ conduct.'”

We add an observation, not essential to our conclusion on
this issue, but supportive of it. The Attorney General, as a
plaintiff in this action, represents the public interest in guarding
against future violations of the MCRA. The Legislature has
given him special standing to pursue injunctive relief in cases
such as this. G.L. c. 12, § 11H. This action is brought solely
to protect against future unlawful conduct that would be harm-
ful to persons not currently identifiable. In such a case, the
fact that the defendants’ unlawful conduct if repeated would
cause a reasonable woman in the circumstances to feel
threatened, intimidated, or coerced requires prospective relief
in the public interest."

'' The constitutional right of privacy concerns a person’s interest both in avoiding
disclosure of personal matters and in independence in making certain kinds of
important decisions. See Whalen v. Roe, 429 U.S. 589, 599-600 (1977). Rejecting
a claim that a New York law threatened these interests because it required the
confidential filing and computer storage of information concerning the use of certain
prescription drugs, the Court labeled as remote the possibility that judges would
fail to protect attempts at unwarranted disclosures for evidentiary purposes. /d. at
601-602. The trial judge fulfilled the Supreme Court's expectations.

'? For the same reasons, rejection of defendants’ discovery attempts did not deny
them due process of law.

We need not reach the question whether affected women who bring an action
have a constitutional right to have their identities (and the fact that they had been
pregnant and decided to obtain an abortion) kept in confidence in an injunction
case like this. If this were an action seeking relief for harm done to an individual
plaintiff or to a class of plaintiffs, the defendants’ entitlement to information about
those individuals would be quite different from their entitlement here. See Western
Elec. Co. v. Stern, 544 F.2d 1196, 1199 (3d Cir. 1976); National Org. for Women
v. Sperry Rand Corp., 88 F.R.D. 272, 274-275 (D. Conn. 1980).

The fact that the Attorney General was given standing to represent the public
interest in bringing a suit shows a desire to encourage compliance with the law in
situations where individual plaintiffs are unlikely to come forward because of a
perceived stigma associated with the activity of seeking abortion services, because
the duration of their involvement with the issue is transient, or because they cannot

Pe eT

se

Al5

4. The defendants claim that a portion of the amended per-
manent injunction is constitutionally impermissible.'* Their
argument is directed to clause (c) of the injunction which was
not included in the preliminary injunction that this court con-
sidered in Planned Parenthood League of Mass., Inc. v. Op-
eration Rescue, 406 Mass. 701 (1990).'* Clause (c) enjoins
the defendants, individually and collectively, from “directing,
instructing, conspiring with and/or [sic] aiding or abetting di-
rectly or indirectly any person, persons, groups Or organiza-
tions who engage in any of the acts described in paragraphs
(a) and (b) above.” '°

The defendants focus their argument on the words “aiding
or abetting directly or indirectly any person . . . [or] groups

_ who engage in any of the acts described.” They claim
that the injunction improperly refers to “aiding or abetting”
(emphasis added) rather than conjunctively to both; that the
prohibition of “indirect” aiding or abetting is a “very vague
notion”; that the reference to aiding or abetting “groups” invites
guilt by association; and that the prohibition against aiding or

anticipate that this is an issue that will affect them in the future. Respecting the
judge’s decision to proceed without attempting to compel an appearance by patients
as witnesses and allowing the injunction to stand is consistent with the outline of
the MCRA and the Attorney General's role under it.

‘4 We consider this point even though the defendants did not raise it in the triai
court. The defendants do not dispute the plaintiffs’ assertion that the defendants
had opportunities to raise this challenge and did not do so.

'SIn the earlier case, the defendants argued unsuccessfully that the preliminary
injunction violated their First Amendment rights because it (a) was impermissibly
vague, (b) was overbroad because it prohibits constitutionally protected conduct,
and (c) imposed an improper prior restraint on the defendants’ right of free expres-
sion. Planned Parenthood League of Mass., Inc. v. Operation Rescue, supra at
714-717.

‘*Clause (a) permanently enjoined trespassing, blocking, or obstructing access
to or from any facility in the Commonwealth which provides abortion counseling
or services. Clause (b) permanently enjoined physical restraining or obstructing or
committing acts of force or violence against persons entering, leaving, or working
at or seeking services from any such facility.

Al6

abetting blockading,'’ rather than against criminal activity it-
self, is vague.'*

The complete answer to the defendants’ claims is that clause
(c), using the words “aiding or abetting,” is modeled on tradi-
tional concepts of accessory liability which limit the scope of
the injunction and identify those acts that are prohibited. See
Kyte v. Philip Morris Inc., 408 Mass. 162, 168-169 (1990)
(aiding and abetting require proof that the defendant knew of
its substantial, supporting role in an unlawful enterprise). Com-
monwealth v. Sylvester, 400 Mass. 334, 339 & n.6 (1987)
(acquiescence and presence alone not enough). Any violator
of the prohibition against aiding or abetting in clause (c) must
share the mental state of the principal violator. See Common-
wealth v. Richards, 363 Mass. 299, 307-308 (1973). Cf. Com-
monwealth v. Adams, 416 Mass. 558, 565 (1993). Because
intentional conduct is the measure of a violation of the MCRA
(see Deas v. Dempsey, 403 Mass. 468, 471 [1988]; Redgrave
v. Boston Symphony Orchestra, Inc. , 399 Mass. 93, 99 [1987])
and of clauses (a) and (b) of the injunction, proof of a violation
of the “aiding or abetting” prohibition of clause (c) will require
a showing of a defendant’s intention to assist intentional con-
duct violative of clause (a) or clause (b), or both.

5. With the exception that the judgment should be vacated
as to Rebecca Roe and the action dismissed as to her (see note
6 above), the amended permanent injunction, entered on Oc-
tober 28, 1991, is affirmed as applied to the defendants.

So ordered.

"The injunction does not use the word “blockading.”

The defendants cite for support two loyalty oath cases, in which the phrase
“aid or abet” does not appear. See Baggett v. Bullitt, 377 U.S. 360 (1964); Cramp
v. Board of Pub. Instruction of Orange County, 368 U.S. 278 (1961). They also
rely on NAACP v. Claiborne Hardware Co., 458 U.S. 886 (1982), briefly suggest-
ing that clause (c) presents a First Amendment overbreadth problem. It is in this
latter respect alone that the defendants may assert the rights of others who might
be affected by the injunction. See Commonwealth v. Bohmer, 374 Mass. 368, 371
n.6 (1978).

Al7

O’Connor, J. (dissenting, with whom NOLAN and LyNCcH,
JJ., join). The defendant organizations and individuals and
“their officers, agents, servants, employees and those persons
in active concert or participation with them who receive actual
notice of this Order, either orally or by receipt of a copy
thereof, are permanently enjoined, individually and collec-
tively, from:

“a. trespassing on, blocking or in any way obstructing ac-
cess (either ingress or egress) to any facility in the
Commonwealth which provides abortion counselling
or services; or

“b. physically restraining or obstructing or committing
any acts of force or violence against persons entering,
leaving, working at or seeking to obtain services from
any facility in the Commonwealth which provides
abortion counselling or services; or

“c. directing, instructing, conspiring with and/or aiding
or abetting directly or indirectly any person, persons,
groups or organizations who engage in any of the acts
described in paragraphs (a) and (b) above.”

In my view, clauses (a) and (c) are constitutionally overbroad
and should be vacated. In my dissent in Planned Parenthood
League of Massachusetts, Inc. v. Operation Rescue, 406 Mass.
701 (1990) (Planned Parenthood I), | presented my argument
that clause (a) of the preliminary injunction at issue in that
case was overbroad. My view has not changed. Therefore,
because clause (a) of the permanent injunction at issue in this
case is substantially the same as clause (a) of the preliminary
injunction at issue in Planned Parenthood I, | dissent in the
present case.

Als

No worthwhile purpose would be served by a full repetition
here of the views expressed in the earlier dissent. Essentially,
my position was and is that an injunction against the defendants
and others “in active concert or participation with them” from
“trespassing on, blocking, or in any way obstructing access”
(emphasis added) to abortion facilities, is overbroad because
“reasonable persons, wishing to express their views about the
morality of abortion and whether abortion should be legal,
[cannot] be confident that they would not violate that injunction
by joining others on public ways adjacent to a clinic to picket,
pray, chant, and exhort others to accept their viewpoint. The
injunction expressly t. “bids not only trespassing and blocking,
but also ‘obstructing’ ingress or egress in any way. It cannot
reasonably be said that the prohibition against obstruction [in
any way] adds nothing to the prohibition against trespassing
and blocking[, both of which terms connote physical interfer-
ence]. Such a result can be reached only by reading words out
of the injunction. The injunction must fairly be construed as
prohibiting the hindrance of access to clinics by nonphysical
confrontation on public ways as well as the physical block[ing]
of entranceways.” Planned Parenthood I, supra at 721-722
(O’Connor, J., dissenting). Therefore, clause (a) and clause
(c), which incorporates clause (a), impermissibly chill, even
if they are not intended to prohibit, conduct protected by the
First Amendment to the United States Constitution.

Al9
APPENDIX B

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS

MIDDLESEX, ss. SUPERIOR COURT
CIVIL ACTION
NO. 89-2487-F

PLANNED PARENTHOOD LEAGUE
OF MASSACHUSETTS, INC., ET AL.,
Plaintiffs,

BARRY ADLER, p/B/aA GYNECARE,
Plaintiff-Intervenor,
and
COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS
By Its ATTORNEY GENERAL,
Plaintiff-Intervenor,

Vv.

OPERATION RESCUE, ET AL.,
Defendants.

AMENDED JUDGMENT

This action came on before the Court, Peter M. Lauriat, J.,
presiding, and the issues having been duly heard, and findings
of fact and rulings of law having been duly rendered, it is
hereby ORDERED, ADJUDGED and DECREED that:

1. The defendants’ motions for a directed finding in their
favor, filed at the conclusion of the plaintiffs’ case-in-chief
and renewed at the conclusion of the defendants’ case, are each
DENIED;

A20

2. Judgment shall enter in favor of plaintiffs Planned Parent-
hood of Massachusetts, Inc., Preterm, Inc., Repro Associates,
Inc., Crittenton Hastings House, Stanton P. Goldstein, M.D.,
Rebecca Roe, plaintiff-intervenor Barry Adler, d/b/a Gyne-
care, and plaintiff-intervenor Commonwealth of Massachusetts
against the defendants Operation Rescue: Boston, Pro Life
Action Network of Arlington, Barbara Bell, Timothy Biggins,
Kevin Blake, Timothy Brigham, Sean Brogan, Rachel Cann,
Shirley Clifton, Sean Corrigan, William Cotter, Claire
Croghan, Robert Delery, Denise Duda, James Dudley, Robert
Filos, Darroline Firlit, Francis Haggerty, Bruce Hendon, Law-
rence Howe, Mary Kelliher, Michelle LaPlume, Joseph Man-
ning, Peter Marleau, Jean Marshall, John D. McCarthy, Jr.,
Richard McCarthy, Anne McNamara, Bruce Murch, Adeline
Murray, James Myette, Mortimer O’Shea, Andrew Olsson,
Brian Phaneuf, Fred Pulsifer, Philip St. Jean, Russell Saulnier,
Andrew Singer, Jr., Robert Souza and Catherine Wommack
on the plaintiffs’ Joint Amended Complaint for violations of
the Massachusetts Civil Rights Act, General Laws c. 12,
$§ 11H-J;

3. The defendants Operation Rescue: Boston, Pro Life Ac-
tion Network of Arlington, Barbara Bell, Timothy Biggins,
Kevin Blake, Timothy Brigham, Sean Brogan, Rachel Cann,
Shirley Clifton, Sean Corrigan, William Cotter, Claire
Croghan, Robert Delery, Denise Duda, James Dudley, Robert
Filos, Darroline Firlit, Francis Haggerty, Bruce Hendon, Law-
rence Howe, Mary Kelliher, Michelle LaPlume, Joseph Man-
ning, Peter Marleau, Jean Marshall, John D. McCarthy, Jr.,
Richard McCarthy, Anne McNamara, Bruce Murch, Adeline
Murray, James Myette, Mortimer O’Shea, Andrew Olsson,
Brian Phaneuf, Fred Pulsifer, Philip St. Jean, Russell Saulnier,
Andrew Singer, Jr., Robert Souza and Catherine Wommack,
their officers, agents, servants, employees and those persons in

A21

active concert or participation with them who receive actual
notice of this paragraph of this Order, either orally or by receipt
of a copy thereof, are permanently enjoined, individually and
collectively, from:

a. trespassing on, blocking or in any way obstructing ac-
cess (either ingress or egress) to any facility in the
Commonwealth which provides abortion counselling
or services; or

b. physically restraining or obstructing or committing any
acts of force or violence against persons entering, leav-
ing, working at or seeking to obtain services from any
facility in the Commonwealth which provides abortion
counselling or services; or

c. directing, instructing, conspiring with and/or aiding or
abetting directly or indirectly any person, persons,
groups or organizations who engage in any of the acts
described in paragraphs (a) and (b) above.

Pursuant to General Laws, c. 12, §§ 11H and 11J, VIOLA-
TION OF THIS ORDER IS A CRIMINAL OFFENSE;

4. The defendants Robert Delery and Barbara Bell, their
agents, servants, employees and those persons in active concert
or participation with them who receive actual notice of this
Order, are permanently enjoined from:

a. representing to anyone, orally or in writing, that he or
she is acting as an escort for, or is in any way affiliated
with the Planned Parenthood Clinic of Greater Boston,
located at 1031 Beacon Street, Brookline, Massachu-
setts; and

A22

b. wearing an apron, pinney or other identification signi-
fying that he or she is an escort for, or is in any way af-
filiated with the Planned Parenthood Clinic of Greater
Boston, located at 1031 Beacon Street, Brookline,
Massachusetts.

5. The plaintiffs’ Joint Amended Complaint against defend-
ant George Duda is DISMISSED.

6. The claims of the plaintiffs League of Women Voters of
Massachusetts, Inc., Massachusetts National Organization for
Women, Mass. Choice and Religious Coalition for Abortion
Rights are DISMISSED; and

7. The plaintiffs’ claims against the defendants Constance
Smith, Patricia Anthony, Paul Baldassari, Joseph Beard, Gre-
gory Benoit, Kenneth Berthiaume, Peter F. Biggins, Fran Carl,
William Clark, Paul Colbath, Anthony Doherty, Leslie Ducott,
Timothy Enos, Kenneth Evans, Harriet Fremont-Smith, War-
ren Goddard, Timothy Hicks, William Kenney, Eric Knowles,
Sharon Lach, Albert Lanzo, Patricia Leonard, Edward Long,
Sandra Logue, Frank Macey, Russell Marinich, Mario Martin,
James McClymonds, Judith Morse, Philip O’Connell, Adeline
Parisi, Frances Pizzelli, Jean Proia, Donald Putnam, Richard
Regan, Scott Richardson, John Riordan, Mark Smith, Irma
Sparling, Michael Trainor, and Kevin Turenne are DISMIS-
SED WITHOUT PREJUDICE.

/s/

Peter M. Lauriat
Justice of the Superior Court

‘DATED: October 28, 1991.

A23
APPENDIX C

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS

MIDDLESEX, ss. SUPERIOR COURT
CIVIL ACTION
NO. 89-2487-F

PLANNED PARENTHOOD LEAGUE
OF MASSACHUSETTS, INC., ET AL.,
Plaintiffs,

BARRY ADLER, p/B/A GYNECARE,
Plaintiff-Intervenor,
and
COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS
By Its ATTORNEY GENERAL,
Plaintiff-Intervenor,

Vv.

OPERATION RESCUE, ET AL.,
Defendants.

AMENDED PERMANENT JUDGMENT

The defendants Operation Rescue: Boston, Pro Life Action
Network of Arlington, Barbara Bell, Timothy Biggins, Kevin
Blake, Timothy Brigham, Sean Brogan, Rachel Cann, Shirley
Clifton, Sean Corrigan, William Cotter, Claire Croghan,
Robert Delery, Denise Duda, James Dudley, Robert Filos,
Darroline Firlit, Francis Haggerty, Bruce Hendon, Lawrence
Howe, Mary Kelliher, Michelle LaPlume, Joseph Manning,
Peter Marleau, Jean Marshall, John D. McCarthy, Jr., Richard
McCarthy, Anne McNamara, Bruce Murch, Adeline Murray,
James Myette, Mortimer O’Shea, Andrew Olsson, Brian

Te Oe ee Mee Ra MERE TS Oe ey ee a ili

ROME TORT

ak i lat ati

ke.

A24

Phaneuf, Fred Pulsifer, Philip St. Jean, Russell Saulnier, An-
drew Singer, Jr., Robert Souza and Catherine Wommack, their
officers, agents, servants, employees and those persons in
active concert or participation with them who receive actual
notice of this Order, either orally or by receipt of a copy
thereof, are permanently enjoined, individually and collec-
tively, from:

a. trespassing on, blocking or in any way obstructing
access (either ingress or egress) to any facility in the
Commonwealth which provides abortion counselling
or services; or

b. physically restraining or obstructing or committing any
acts of force or violence against persons entering, leav-
ing, working at or seeking to obtain services from any
facility in the Commonwealth which provides abortion
counselling or services; or

c. directing, instructing, conspiring with and/or aiding or
abetting directly or indirectly any person, persons,
groups or organizations who engage in any of the acts
described in paragraphs (a) and (b) above.

Pursuant to General Laws c. 12, §§ 11H and 11J, VIOLA-
TION OF THIS ORDER IS A CRIMINAL OFFENSE.

/s/

Peter M. Lauriat
Justice of the Superior Court

Dated: October 28, 1991.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386012_0013%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
