# Opposition Brief — Alcan Aluminum Corp. v. Franchise Tax Board

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_2433%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 512 U.S. 1234

## Text

oo og em

SOT EE, RMS Fs

* 4 wa 2 14 oe ae pon righ Py ‘4 i fy seaciee
yi TROT Bt ee a ree Re ent Le es Ly
wee f ae PAL oe OP ae BG ‘
: af ia ib Pe Ie Oe Non eR ee
: + ; Re Fy
0 Oy
a %

No. 92-1751 JUN 0 2 1995 :

Se ee eae

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1992

*
ALCAN ALUMINUM CORPORATION,
Petitioner,
v.

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

Respondent.

*

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The Court Of Appeal Of The State Of California
In And For The Second Appellate District
.

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
IN OPPOSITION TO.
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
4

Danie. E. LUNGREN
Attorney General of
the State of California

Tmotrny G. LappisH

Assistant Attorney General
(Counsel Of Record)

2101 Webster Street, 12th Floor
Oakland, CA 94612-3049

(510) 286-0364

Pour C. Grirrin
Deputy Attorney General

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the California Courts properly declined
to apply a dormant Commerce Clause analysis and prop-
erly held that, due to congressional acquiescence, Califor-
nia did not violate the Foreign Commerce Clause by
application of worldwide combined reporting to deter-
mine the taxable California income of petitioner.

2. Whether the petitioner’s trial stipulation, limiting
the issues in this case to those involving “one voice” and
“multiple taxation” contentions, has limited this Court’s
jurisdiction, with the result that petitioner is barred from
raising questions concerning the four elements of the
dormant Commerce Clause analysis set forth in Complete
Auto Transit, Inc. v. Brady, 430 U.S. 274 (1974), including
whether the tax assessed against petitioner was out of all
proportion to its business in California.

3. If a dormant Commerce Clause analysis were
appropriate, would California’s use of worldwide com-
bined reporting violate the “multiple taxation” test or the
dormant portion of the “one voice” test?

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED 0ucccccccbaseseccasecuses i

tes eee err Pere epee pian a eye 1
STATUTORY AND CONSTITUTIONAL PROVI-

PORTE x ko. has 0.5.05 05an a Sheks ce kave be ekaae 2

SUPPLEMENTAL STATEMENT OF THE CASE..... 2

PU SIREIGE 6s 5 iis vin 6G EGS A ya ees 6

I THE CALIFORNIA COURTS HAVE PROPERLY

II

Ill

APPLIED THIS COURT’S WARDAIR DECISION
IN HOLDING THAT CONGRESSIONAL
ACQUIESCENCE IN CALIFORNIA’S USE OF
WORLDWIDE COMBINED REPORTING IS
DETERMINATIVE OF THE COMMERCE
CLAUSE ISSUE, WITH NO NEED FOR ANY
DORMANT COMMERCE CLAUSE ANALYSIS .

PETITIONER’S STIPULATION LIMITING THE
ISSUES TO BE LITIGATED IN THIS CASE BARS
PETITIONER FROM PRESENTING FOR THIS
COURT’S CONSIDERATION THE FOUR ELE-
MENTS OF DORMANT COMMERCE CLAUSE
ANALYSIS SET FORTH IN COMPLETE AUTO
TRAICOEE OT, DOMEE bx i wes SE Cae ahah haere Kae

EVEN IF A DORMANT COMMERCE CLAUSE
ANALYSIS WERE TO BE APPLIED, THERE
WOULD BE NO VIOLATION OF THE MULTI-
PLE TAXATION OR “ONE VOICE” ELEMENTS
OF FRG Me Oee BATU SUES chose kei daese diese

Fis SE GN oie ak bc cesvnecccepeatacms
x ME NS Cn 0g seb oho Nb cicadas beesexeves s

CONS cs: «3s ccajins hae

12

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases
Allied-Signal, Inc. v. Director, Div. of Taxation, __
di SORE, EOE AROEDD ci vnnsncicdaennces 13
Barclay's Bank Internat., Ltd. v. Franchise Tax Bd., 2
MED 25 SUV 6 dives eccss veces’ » 7, @ 11
Barclays Bank PLC v. Franchise Tax Board, No.
MMR CUM AA OMKGND Le CU e wi peG NK dawn coh'e0 oes’ 2
Bd. of Dirs. of Rotary Int'l v. Rotary Club, 481 U.S.
Ra aha ck be dik aku is'n oA V0.8 2 va Veh 12
Cardinale v. Louisiana, 394 U.S. 437 (1969) ........... 16
Carmichael v. Reitz, 17 Cal.App.3d 958 (1971)........ 14
Complete Auto Transit, Inc. v. Brady, 430 U.S. 274
TM UR, Vale Whe sh vba csc s¥soccncss passim
Container Corp. of America v. Franchise Tax Bd., 463
i aes hues CE TUTES (5a. c4 052 as passim
Ernst v. Searle, 218 Cal. 233 (1933) ...............0.. 14
Franchise Tax Bd. of Cal. v. Alcan Aluminium, 493
GSE aes et rr 15
In re Lamkin, 355 U.S. 59 (1957)...............00000. 12
Itel Containers International Corp. v. Huddleston, __
ESS SE ee 7
Japan Line, Ltd. v. County of Los Angeles, 441 U.S.
EG oN C ato Li canes daccenas Sosa ce 12, 16, 18

Kraft General Foods v. Iowa Dept. of Revenue, __
ON cel BUM Ms OOO COUR). esc cc ecccevescss 14

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
McKesson Corp. v. Florida Alcohol & Tobacco Div.,

AD Tk Pe Aa 6 AROS Salk 4 eee hn ke cache denackeks 15
Street v. New York, 394 U.S. 576 (1969) ........... 12, 16
Title Ins. Co. v. State Bd. of Equalization, 4 Cal.4th

S$. | AR Ae err eee ere ere 14
Trinova Corp. v. Michigan Dept. of Treasury, ___ U.S.

ch ER ee TE IER 068 bu ws hen gtsesswayace 13
Wardair Canada, Inc. v. Florida Dept. of Revenue, 477

APS eu cd § C4) tae hntnndhssseeiasames ss passim
Western & Southern L.I. Co. v. Bd. of Equalization,

ee Bay MEERA cos 0 0A 2 oS bbR dew Cd eeiice bain ga oe 8
Williams v. Georgia, 349 U.S. 375 (1955).............. 15

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

U.S. Const. art. I, § 8(3) (Commerce Clause) .... passim

SE I I iis cay 50ck PAR ea eee Ra 3, 4, 15
STATUTES
I oo an ll ee ae a i 22

California Revenue and Taxation Code

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued
Page

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Convention Between the Govenment of the United
States of America and the Government of Can-
ada with Respect to Taxes on Income and on
Capital (U.S./Canada Treaty), September 26,
SEEPS LT Ny Si al gee RNR 5, 10, 20, 21

Convention fur the Avoidance of Double Taxation
and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasions with
Respect to Taxes on Income and Capital Gains
(US/UK Treaty), Dec. 31, 1975, 31 U.S.T. 5668... .8, 9

O.E.C.D. Model Tax Convention................... 5, 21
124 Cong. Rec. 18416 (June 22, 1978)................. 9
124 Cong. Rec. 19076 (June 27, 1978)................. 9

Unrtep States Supreme Court RuLes
SEIS ted y bP Gk S's does bbcode we acuwiak cular 3

WE MR a ee te ee ee oe ee ae oi 2

i wae

No. 92-1751
¢

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1992
~

ALCAN ALUMINUM CORPORATION,
Petitioner,

V.

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

Respondent.

a

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The Court Of Appeal Of The State Of California
In And For The Second Appellate District

¢
BRIEF OF RESPONDENT FRANCHISE TAX BOARD

IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

¢

JURISDICTION

Petitioner Alcan Aluminum Corporation (“Alcan-
corp”) invokes jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a). As
argued below at pages 12-16, no such jurisdiction exists
as to issues beyond the limited issues designated in the
portion of the trial stipulation which is reproduced herein
in Appendix A at App. 1.

STATUTORY AND CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

Appendix B hereto is California Revenue and Taxa-
tion Code section 25110, regarding California’s “water’s
edge” election. |

SUPPLEMENTAL STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case involves precisely the same primary issue
as was presented to this Court in the petition in Barclays
Bank PLC v. Franchise Tax Board, No. 92-1384. Both Barclays
and Alcan involve California’s application of worldwide
combined reporting (“WWCR”) to determine the Califor-
nia taxable income of corporations which are parts of
multinational, multicorporate unitary businesses headed
by foreign corporations. As long as the California
Supreme Court has properly held (in Barclay’s Bank Inter-
nat., Ltd. v. Franchise Tax Bd., 2 Cal.4th 708, 829 P.2d 279
(1992)) that the United States Congress has acquiesced in
such use of WWCR by the states, there is no need to grant
the petition for certiorari in either Barclays or Alcan. On
May 17, 1993, this Court requested the views of the
Executive Branch as to the Barclays petition.

Respondent Board believes that Alcancorp’s state-
ment of the case contains significant omissions which,
among other things, go to the issue of whether this Court
has jurisdiction over issues which petitioner seeks to
have reviewed. Therefore, pursuant to rule 15.1, the Fran-
chise Tax Board provides this Court with this supplemen-
tal statement.

Petitioner Alcancorp does not comply with this
Court’s rule 14(h), which requires a showing in the state-
ment of the case “that the federal question was timely
and properly raised so as to give this Court jurisdiction to
review the judgment on a writ of certiorari.” The reason
for this noncompliance is simple: Alcancorp did not prop-
erly raise the federal questions involving the dormant
Commerce Clause requirements set forth in Complete Auto
Transit, Inc. v. Brady, 430 U.S. 274 (1977).

Prior to the commencement of trial in this matter the
parties entered into the following stipulation with respect
to the issues in this case:

“ISSUES

“For the purposes of this litigation, these
parties hereby stipulate that the only legal issues
before this Court are whether the Board’s appli-
cation of the unitary method of accounting
under Section 25101 et. seg. of the California
Revenue and Taxation Code, and implementing
regulations, as applied to the facts in this case
violated the Foreign Commerce Clause of the
United States Constitution in that such applica-
tion impermissibly prevents the federal govern-
ment from speaking with one voice or
impermissibly gives rise to either the risk of or
actual multiple taxation. For purposes of this liti-
gation, Alcan is not contesting the Board’s
determination that the Alcan Group Companies
constitute a single unitary business under the
tests formulated by the California Courts and
the United States Supreme Court, or contending
that the tax assessed violated the Due Process
Clauses of the United States Constitution or the

California Constitution.” Appendix A hereto at
App. 1 (CT 0062) (emphasis added).

The appellate court decision below found that Alcan-
corp had waived by stipulation the consideration of any
Due Process Clause grounds and specifically the claim
that “compliance would impose an undue administrative
burden on [Alcan] Aluminum.” Pet. App. A-3, n. 2. Nei-
ther the trial court, the appellate court nor the California
Supreme Court found it necessary to rule upon the effect
of the stipulation as to any dormant Commerce Clause
issues in this case, because the California courts’ applica-
tion of this Court’s decision in Wardair Canada, Inc. v.
Florida Dept. of Kevenue, 477 U.S. 1 (1986), precluded the
need for any dormant Commerce Clause analysis.

This Court need not accept Alcancorp’s invitation
(Pet. 19-21, 23-24) to delve into the complex facts concern-
ing Alcancorp’s Riverside facility, for (1) Alcancorp first
says it does not need to rely upon separate accounting to
establish alleged distortion under worldwide combined
reporting, then proceeds to do so; (2) Alcancorp (at Pet.
17-18, 22-23) is asking this Court to discard “present
doctrine,” that is, to overrule more than 70 years of
precedents, including Container Corp. of America v. Fran-
chise Tax Bd., 463 U.S. 159 (1983); (3) Alcancorp’s stipula-
tion in the trial court limited the legal issues so as to
exclude the distortion issue, thus relieving respondent
Board from any burden of presenting any evidence con-
cerning the Riverside facility in order to establish the lack
of distortion; and (4) as established below at pages 6-11,
Congress’ exercise of its Commerce Clause powers in
acquiescing in the states’ use of worldwide combined
reporting has rendered unnecessary any consideration (as

part of a dormant Commerce Clause analysis) of the facts
concerning the Riverside facility.

Beyond the stipulated limitation of issues, Alcancorp
also has stipulated (App. A hereto at App. 1-2, 23) that
petitioner Alcancorp did not elect to petition the Board
for relief under the authority of California Revenue and
Taxation Code section 25137, cited by petitioner (Pet. 3-4)
as a statutory provision involved in this case.

This Court should also be aware of the actions of
Canada in this area. Canada and the United States con-
cluded renegotiations of their bilateral income tax treaty
in 1980. Although a letter indicated the Canadians’ dis-
pleasure with the states’ use of worldwide combined
reporting (“WWCR”), the renegotiated treaty had no pro-
vision restricting such use, because (as recognized by the
Canadians) the United States Senate had recently rejected
such a proposed limitation. This situation was acknowl-
edged in a note from G. William Miller, Secretary of the
Treasury of the United States, to Allan I. MacEachen,
Minister of Finance of Canada, and it was agreed that
discussions would be reopened on this issue if an accept-
able solution were found. Exhibit XXVI-1, attached hereto
as Appendix C.

Canada and the United States are members of the
Organization for Economic Cooperation and Develop-
ment (OECD). This organization has drafted a Model Tax
Convention for use by its members, wherein arm’s
length/separate accounting requirements would be
applied to both national and subnational taxes. Exhibit
XXIII, pp. 24, 28-29. Both Canada and the United States
noted exceptions to the Model Treaty clause which would

make the treaty applicable to subnational taxes. Exhibit
XXIII, p. 50.

€

ARGUMENT
I

THE CALIFORNIA COURTS HAVE PROPERLY
APPLIED THIS COURT’S WARDAIR DECISION IN
HOLDING THAT CONGRESSIONAL ACQUIES-
CENCE IN CALIFORNIA’S USE OF WORLDWIDE
COMBINED REPORTING IS DETERMINATIVE OF
THE COMMERCE CLAUSE ISSUE, WITH NO NEED
FOR ANY DORMANT COMMERCE CLAUSE ANAL-
YSIS.

Alcan’s contentions regarding Wardair Canada, Inc. v.
Florida Dept. of Revenue, 477 U.S. 1 (1986), are based upon
a direct misrepresentation of this Court’s Wardair hold-
ing. Alcan’s petition contains the following remarkable
contention: “In Wardair, this Court did not conclude that
a dormant Commerce Clause analysis was not appropri-
ate because Congress had acted to permit the tax. Rather,
this Court concluded that the case was not appropriate
for a dormant Commerce Clause analysis because both of
the parties agreed that none of the elements for such an
analysis existed... .” Pet. 25. This contention finds no
basis in the Wardair record or opinion.

Directly contrary to petitioner’s contention, in War-
dair this Court rejected dormant Commerce Clause “one
voice” arguments on the basis that “in the context of this
case we do not confront federal governmental silence of
the sort that triggers dormant Commerce Clause analysis.

On the contrary, . . . the Federal Government has affirma-
tively acted, rather than remained silent, with respect to
the power of the States to tax [in the challenged manner],
and thus . . . the case does not call for dormant Commerce
Clause analysis at all.” 477 U.S. at 9. “[T]he law as it
presently stands acquiesces in taxation . . . by political
subdivisions of countries.” Id. at 10 (emphasis in origi-
nal). “By negative implication . . . the United States has at
least acquiesced in state taxation. ...” Id. at 12. “In our
view, the facts presented by this case show that the Federal
Government has affirmatively decided to permit the States to
impose these . . . taxes... .” Id. at 12 (emphasis added).

In Barclay’s Bank Internat., Ltd. v. Franchise Tax Bd., 2
Cal.4th 708, 829 P.2d 279 (1992), the California Supreme
Court correctly applied Wardair in a manner fully consis-
tent with this Court’s February 1993 holding in Itel Con-
tainers International Corp. v. Huddleston, __ U.S. __, 113
S.Ct. 1095, 1105 (1993), the most recent Foreign Com-
merce Clause tax case. In Alcan the California Court of
Appeal has followed the California Supreme Court's
application of Wardair in holding that no dormant Com-
merce Clause analysis is applicable in this case. Pet. App.
AS-A7. The California Supreme Court has denied review.
Pet. App. A9. As the Board has argued in opposition to
the Barclays petition, there is no need for this Court to
exercise its jurisdiction to revisit this constitutional area
at this time. The California courts have properly applied
Wardair; both the Barclays and the Alcan petitions should
be denied.

The California Supreme Court’s Commerce Clause
holding in Barclay’s applies Wardair to conclude that Con-
gress has acted to acquiesce in the state tax practice

which both Barclays and Alcan are challenging. That
being so, the California Supreme Court pointedly did not
engage in any dormant Commerce Clause analysis. 2
Cal.4th at 742; 829 P.2d at 300. This approach is consistent
with this Court’s\ warning in Wardair: “It would turn
dormani Commerce Clause analysis entirely upside down
to apply it when the Federal Government has acted, and
to apply it in such a way as to reverse the policy that the
Federal Government has elected to follow.” 477 U.S. at 12
(emphasis by this Court).1

In holding that the Wardair rule was applicable to
permit California’s use of worldwide combined reporting
(“WWCR”) in the present case, the California Supreme
Court placed its primary reliance on the United States/
United Kingdom (“US/UK”) Treaty which was negoti-
ated and ratified in the 1970’s. Convention for the Avoid-
ance of Double Taxation and the Prevention of Fiscal
Evasions with Respect to Taxes on Income and Capital
Gains, Dec. 31, 1975, U.S.-U.K., 31 U.S.T. 5668 (Exh.
XX\V-33). For the first and only time, the federal Executive
Branch negotiated a provision for that treaty, article 9(4),
which would have explicitly prohibited any state’s use of
worldwide combined reporting (“WWCR’”).

1 Since the Commerce Clause (U.S. Const. art. I, § 8(3))
gives the power to regulate foreign and interstate commerce to
Congress, “any action taken by a State within the scope of the
congressional authorization is rendered invulnerable to Com-
merce Clause challenge.” Western & Southern L.I. Co. v. Bd. of
Equalization, 451 U.S. 648, 653 (1981); see also Wardair, 477 U.S.
at 12-13. -

After much debate, and several votes in the Senate,
the treaty was ratified only after that provision was ren-
dered totally inapplicable to the states. 124 Cong. Rec.
18416 June 22, 1978; Exh. XXIX-3), 19076 (June 27, 1978;
Exh. XXIX-6). After more bargaining with the United
Kingdom, wherein the United Kingdom exacted other
federal tax concessions from the United States, the United
Kingdom accepted the treaty with the prohibition of
WWCR applicable only to the national governments, not
to the states. 31 U.S.T. 5709, 5713. Thus the states’ use of
WWCR was directly considered as a tax issue during the
formulation of the treaty, but the states’ use of WWCR
ultimately was not restricted in the final adoption of the
treaty as a part of United States law.

The US/UK Treaty provides a perfect context for the
application of the Wardair rule: a clear congressional con-
sideration of whether a state tax practice (WWCR) should
be permitted, and a final ratification of a treaty which by
clear implication permitted the states’ application of that
tax practice (WWCR). At the time of the final Senate vote,
the clear and acknowledged choice before the Senate was
' either to ratify the US/UK treaty while permitting the
states to use WWCR or (since ratification with original
article 9(4) had proved impossible) not to ratify the treaty.
See 124 Cong. Rec. 18709-12 (June 23, 1978) (statements of
Senators Byrd, Church, Javits, Stevens, Sparkman,
Cranston and Packwood; Exh. XXIX-4). By more than the
required two-thirds vote (82 yeas, 5 nays), the Senate
chose to ratify the treaty while permitting (by implica-
tion) state use of WWCR. 124 Cong. Rec. 19076 (June 27,
1978; Exh. XXIX-6). In the words of the Wardair decision,
the Senate has “at least acquiesced” in the use of WWCR

10

by the states, and under the Wardair holding such acqui-
escence is fully sufficient to establish that the federal
government has “affirmatively decided to permit” state
use of WWCR. 477 US. at 12-13.? i

The California Supreme Court correctly analogized
its holding on the present issue to Wardair:

“The parallels between this evidence of
‘governmental silence’ or refusal to act and that
regarded as decisive in Wardair, supra, 477 U.S.
1, seems to us both evident and compelling. As
in Wardair, an international agreement (here the
bilateral income tax treaty between the United
States and the United Kingdom) demonstrates
that while federal executive branch officials
aspired to eliminate a state tax practice (here the
use of formula apportionment to calculate the
tax liability of foreign-based multinationals),
‘the law as it presently stands acquiesces’ in the
states’ continued use of that practice. As in War-
dair, the ‘negative implications’ of international
agreements (here the tax treaty as ratified by the
Senate) support recognition of a federal policy
that acquiesces in the states’ tax practice. And

2 It is significant in the present case that, in negotiating the
current U.S./Canada Income Tax Treaty (which also has no
restriction upon the states’ use of WWCR), the government of
Canada recognized that the Senate had rejected proposed treaty
limitations of the states’ use of WWCR. Exh. XXVI-1, attached
hereto as Appendix C. As this Court stated in Wardair, referring
to another U.S.-Canadian agreement, “in the U.S.-Canadian
Agreement only ‘national’ charges are barred, and we presume
that drafters from two federalist nations understood this as
representing a choice not to preclude local taxation.” 477 U.S. at
12. ;

Si raat wi te 4
Bice hes rE EBs, ya,

ye ae PT, OF

11

certainly, in the circumstances of Senate consid-
eration detailed above, the explicit removal of
‘political subdivisions’ from the scope of article
9(4) effected by the Church reservation, like the
omission of restrictions on taxation by political
subdivisions in the international agreements
considered in Wardair, ‘must be understood as
representing a policy choice by the contracting
parties.’ (Wardair, supra, 477 U.S. at p. 11.” Bar-
clay’s Bank, 2 Cal.4th at 735, 829 P.2d at 295-96
(emphasis in original; footnote omitted).

Recognizing that formula apportionment such as
WWCR has been a matter of international interest from at
least the mid-1950’s (2 Cal.4th at 737-38, 829 P.2d at
297-98), and noting that indications of such federal acqui-
escence also were to be found in the history of other
bilateral income tax treaties (id. at 736-39, 829 P.2d at
296-98) and in legislative histories of congressional bills
(id. at 736, 829 P.2d at 296), the California Supreme Court
applied Wardair to hold that (1) California’s application of
WWCR in this case has been permitted by Congress
under its Commerce Clause powers, and (2) since Con-
gress has acted to permit such application, no dormant
Commerce Clause analysis was necessary. As the Califor-
nia Supreme Court properly applied Wardair in its Bar-
clay’s decision, once it is determined that Congress has
acquiesced in the type of state taxation which is being
challenged, there is absolutely no need for the courts to
engage in any dormant Commerce Clause analysis. There-
fore, in this case there is no necessity for this Court to
review petitioner’s claim that California’s application of
WWCR resulted in a violation of any of the elements of
dormant Commerce Clauss analysis.

Se OE Be ey Te ee PE OO Le SER CUE Wie as eR, OS SRE es SEW eae eee

12

II

PETITIONER’S STIPULATION LIMITING THE
ISSUES TO BE LITIGATED IN THIS CASE BARS PETI-
TIONER FROM PRESENTING FOR THIS COURT’S
CONSIDERATION THE FOUR ELEMENTS OF DOR-
MANT COMMERCE CLAUSE ANALYSIS SET FORTH
IN COMPLETE AUTO TRANSIT v. BRADY.

Jurisdiction of this Court to review state court deci-
sions is conferred by 28 U.S.C. § 1257. “It is well settled
that this Court will not review a final judgment of a state
court unless ‘the record as a whole shows either expressly
or by clear implication that the federal claim was ade-
quately presented in the state system.’” Bd. of Dirs. of
Rotary Int'l v. Rotary Club, 481 U.S. 537, 550 (1987). The
issue of whether a federal question was sufficiently
raised is itself ultimately a question to be decided by this
Court. Street v. New York, 394 U.S. 576, 583 (1969). A
litigant, however, must follow state procedures in raising
the federal question. In re Lamkin, 355 U.S. 59 (1957).

The trial stipulation in this case (quoted above at
pages 3-4) provides that the constitutional issues raised
involve only the “one voice” and “multiple tax” elements
of Foreign Commerce Clause analysis. Dormant Interstate
Commerce Clause analysis as described in Complete Auto
Transit, Inc. v. Brady, 430 U.S. 274 (1977), has four ele-
ments. These elements are the question of nexus, the
question of fair apportionment, the question of discrimi-
nation, and the question of relationship between the ser-
vices provided and the benefits received. With respect to
dormant Foreign Commerce Clause analysis, this Court in
Japan Line, Ltd. v. County of Los Angeles, 441 U.S. 434
(1979), indicated that in addition to those four elements,

13

two additional elements are also involved: enhanced risk
of multiple taxation and impairment of the ability of the
federal government to speak with one voice.? In the pres-
ent case, the stipulation specifically limits the issues
involved to the questions of “one voice” and “multiple
taxation.” This stipulation does not mention any of the
four Complete Auto elements.‘

3 The “one voice” issue has both nondormant and dormant
Commerce Clause components: if Congress has acted so as to
either permit or prohibit the type of state tax at issue, the one
voice has spoken and all necessary Commerce Clause analysis is
concluded; if the one voice has not spoken, then there is a
dormant Commerce Clause context in which the courts must
determine whether the challenged state tax implicates foreign
policy issues which must be left to the Federal Government. See
Wardair, 477 U.S. at 12-13, 7-9; Container, 463 U.S. at 194.

4 Alcancorp’s stipulation as to the issucs also provides that
“Alcan is not contesting the Board’s determination that the Alcan
Group Companies constitute a single unitary business. .. . ”
Appendix A hereto. Under Container, 463 U.S. at 169-71, 180-85,
and as further clarified as to the discrimination element in
Trinova Corp. v. Michigan Dept. of Treasury, ___ U.S. __, 111 S.Ct.
818, 835 (1991), it is clear that Alcan’s acceptance of the Board’s
determination that a unitary business exists necessarily leads to
a conclusion in favor of California’s use of worldwide combined
reporting with respect to all four of the elements involved in a
Complete Auto examination of the tax. It is no wonder that Alcan-
corp would like this Court to find that the reasoning in Container
is “flawed” (Pet. 22) and would like to see a change in this
Court’s “present doctrine” (Pet. 18), even though such a sugges-
tion is directly contrary to this Court’s very recent confirmation
that “the unitary business principle of taxation . . . does a better
job of accounting for ‘the many subtle and largely unquantifia-
ble transfers of value that take place among the components of a
single enterprise’ than, for example, geographical or transac-
tional accounting.” Allied-Signal, Inc. v. Director, Div. of Taxation,
__: US. __, 112 S.Ct. 2251, 2261 (1992).

ld

California follows the “theory of trial” doctrine with
respect to its appellate practice. The “theory of trial”
doctrine is based upon the rationale that a party should
“...not [be] permitted to change his position and adopt
a new and different theory on appeal. To permit him to
do so would not only be unfair to the trial court, but
manifestly unjust to the opposing litigant.” Ernst v. Searle,
218 Cal. 233, 240-41, 22 P.2d 715, 718 (1933). A corollary to
this rule is that “. . . stipulations as to legal issues .. .
entered into in the trial court must be adhered to upon
appeal.” Carmichael v. Reitz, 17 Cal.App.3d 958, 969, 95
Cal.Rptr. 381, 386 (1971). The California Supreme Court
has recently confirmed the California procedural rule that
the California courts “will respect a stipulation limiting
the issues in a case.” Title Ins. Co. v. State Bd. of Equaliza-
tion, 4 Cal.4th 715, 733, 842 P.2d 121, 132 (1992). Under the
general “theory of trial” doctrine, and under the more
specific procedural rule respecting stipulations which
limit issues, in this case the California courts properly
would not consider petitioner’s assertion of dormant
Commerce Clause grounds other than “one voice” and
“multiple taxation.”

Petitioner in its filings with the California courts did
not cite to or discuss Complete Auto except belatedly in its
filing of a supplemental brief with the Court of Appeal
after this Court’s decision in Kraft General Foods, Inc. v.
Iowa Dept. of Revenue, U.S. __, 112 S.Ct. 2365 (1992),

and in its petition and reply in the California Supreme
Court. The Board recognizes that petitioner has through-
out the proceeding peppered its arguments with allusions
to nexus; fair apportionment and discrimination concerns

15

despite its stipulation as to the issues. The Board, how-
ever, has objected throughout the proceedings to peti-
tioner’s efforts to inject these dormant Commerce Clause
considerations and Due Process Clause considerations
into this case. Because the California Courts have found
that all dormant Commerce Clause analysis is inappropri-
ate under this Court’s ruling in Wardair Canada, Inc. v.
Florida, 477 U.S. 1 (1986), they have not found it necessary
to address petitioner’s efforts to broaden this case beyond
the issues stated in the stipulation.5

State procedural rules which restrict the raising of
federal questions to the early stages in a case have been
recognized as valid exercises of state power. See
McKesson Corp. v. Florida Alcohol & Tobacco Div., 496 U.S.
18, 44-45 (1990); Williams v. Georgia, 349 U.S. 375, 382-383
(1955). In this case, the California courts have not
needed to give a direct ruling that Alcancorp’s stipulation
barred it from arguing the Complete Auto Transit dormant
Commerce Clause elements. However, this Court has
held with respect to silence on a federal question that “it

5 An exception should be noted in that the California appel-
late court specifically noted that Due Process Clause issues were
not present in the case as a result of the stipulation. Pet. App.
A-3, n. 2.

6 In this Court’s 1990 opinion in Franchise Tax Bd. of Cal. v.
Alcan Aluminium, 493 U.S. 331, 340-41 (1990), this Court’s denial
of Tax Injunction Act relief to Alcancorp’s parent corporation
was based in part on an assurance that the subsidiaries had the
capability of raising all potential Commerce Clause arguments
in the California Courts. In making that assurance in oral argu-
ment, counsel for the Board was careful to point out that such
capability would be subject to procedural defenses regularly
provided by California law. Tr. of 11/1/89 Oral Arg. 6.

16

will be assumed that the omission was due to want of
proper presentation in the state courts, unless the
aggrieved party in this Court can affirmatively show the
contrary.” Street v. New York, 394 U.S. 576, 582 (1969). The
same rationale is applicable in the instant : ae

In discussing a supporting rationale for the jurisdic-
tional bar when the federal issue was not ruled upon or
considered by the state courts, this Court has recognized,
“Questions not raised below are those on which the
record is very likely to be inadequate, since it certainly
was not compiled with those questions in mind.” Cardi-
nale v. Louisiana, 394 U.S. 437, 439 (1969). If ever there
were a situation in which such a rationale had applica-
tion, it must be in the circumstances of a case tried solely
on stipulated facts with a limiting stipulation as to the
issues involved. Respondent Board tried and defended
this case under petitioner Alcancorp’s stipulation as to
the issues presented. To allow consideration of issues
upon which respondent offered no evidence because the
opposing litigant had stipulated them out of the case
would be a grave injustice.

Ill

EVEN IF A DORMANT COMMERCE CLAUSE ANAL-
YSIS WERE TO BE APPLIED, THERE WOULD BE NO
VIOLATION OF THE MULTIPLE TAXATION OR “ONE
VOICE” ELEMENTS OF THE JAPAN LINE TEST.

Alcan Aluminum Corporation seeks to raise a
number of dormant Commerce Clause concerns in its
petition. As set forth in argument I above, respondent

17

Board believes that the California courts correctly con-
cluded that this Court’s decision in Wardair, supra, ren-
ders unnecessary any consideration of any dormant
Commerce Clause arguments. In addition, as argued in
argument II above, petitioner’s stipulation bars it from
raising any dormant Commerce Clause issues beyond
“one voice” and “multiple taxation” in this lawsuit.
Therefore, respondent Board will address only the “one
voice” and “multiple tax” elements of dormant Com-
merce Clause analysis in this portion of the argument. (By
doing so, the Board does not intend to waive any right to
argue that the other elements of a dormant Commerce
Clause analysis would preclude Alcancorp’s challenge to
California’s use of worldwide combined report account-
ing.)

As noted above at page 13 n. 4, Alcancorp’s stipula-
tion removing any issue that it was not engaged in a
unitary business as determined by the Board (and any
issue that Alcancorp was denied due process) necessarily
leads under Container to a conclusion that California’s use
of WWCR was nondistortive. Under these circumstances,
and if Wardair were somehow inapplicable, the only dor-
mant Commerce Clause issues in this case would be
whether this “proper and fair method of taxation,” because
of its differences from other tax accounting methods,
either (1) violates the “enhanced risk of multiple taxa-
tion” standard, or (2) “ ‘impair[s] federal uniformity in an
area where federal uniformity is essential.’ ” Container,
463 U.S. at 185-86 (emphasis added).

18

A. Multiple Taxation

This Court in Container analyzed the multiple taxa-
tion element of Japan Line’s dormant Commerce Clause
analysis in the context of the California tax here at issue.
The Court stated:

“In Japan Line, we said that ‘[e]ven a slight
overlapping of tax - a problem that might be
deemed de minimis in a domestic context -
assumes importance when sensitive matters of
foreign relations and national sovereignty are
concerned.’ [Citations omitted.] If we were to
take that statement as an absolute prohibition
on state-induced double taxation in the interna-
tional context, then our analysis here would be
at an end. But, in fact, such an absolute rule is
no more appropriate here than it was in Japan
Line itself. . . . Although double taxation in the
foreign commerce context deserves to receive
close scrutiny, that scrutiny must take into
account the context in which the double taxation
takes place and the alternatives reasonably
available to the taxing State.” 463 U.S. at 189.

This Court’s conclusion that, “ . . . it would be perverse,
simply for the sake of avoiding double taxation, to
require California to give up one allocation method that
sometimes results in double taxation in favor of another
allocation method that also sometimes results in double
taxation” (id. at 193), is just as applicable in the present
context. There is nothing in this Court's Container reason-
ing with respect to double taxation that is dependent on
the domicile of the parent company. The law with respect
to this issue is settled and is dispositive of the multiple
tax issue in this case.

eee eR ee ee ee ee See ee ene *
t -

19

B. One Voice

In Container this Court set forth the standard to be
applied in a dormant Foreign Commerce Clause “one
voice” analysis. The Court stated:

“In conducting this inquiry, however, we must
keep in mind that if a state tax merely has
foreign resonances, but does not implicate for-
eign affairs, we cannot infer, ‘[aJbsent some
explicit directive from Congress, . . . that treat-
ment of foreign income at the federal level man-
dates identical treatment by the States.’” 463
U.S. at 194.

In the truly dormant Commerce Clause portion of the
“one voice” analysis (a pre-emption analysis falls outside
of a dormant Commerce Clause analysis, see above at
note 3) in Container, this Court determined that Califor-
nia’s use of worldwide combined reporting with respect
to a unitary business headed by a domestic corporation
did not “impair federal uniformity in an area where
federal uniformity is essential” by “implicat[ing] foreign
policy issues which must be left to the Federal Govern-
ment....” Id. at 193, 194 (emphasis added). In making
that determination, this Court applied the test of whether
California’s application of worldwide combined report-
ing in the Container context might “justifiably lead to
significant foreign retaliation.” Id. at 194. Under the Con-
tainer facts, the Court found that three factors (lack of
automatic asymmetry, entity upon whom the tax is
imposed, and the amount of the tax burden) weighed
strongly against there being any such justifiable retalia-
tion. Except for the fact that the taxpayer corporation in
the present case has a foreign parent corporation, those

20

same distinctions apply with equal force in this case. In
addition, other factors establish that no retaliation could
be justified.

A disagreement between a foreign country and this
Court as to the fairness and propriety of worldwide com-
bined reporting cannot form the basis for a “justifiable”
retaliation, no matter how predictable retaliation might
be given the foreign country’s historical opposition to
WWCR. This Court has held that the California tax at
issue is a “proper and fair method of taxation” (463 U.S.
at 184) which “reflect[s] a reasonable sense of how
income is generated” (id. at 169-170) and which avoids
the “basic theoretical weaknesses” of arm’s length/sepa-
rate accounting methods (id. at 181). In light of these
conclusions of this Court, retaliation based on contrary
views cannot be “justifiable.”

An independent reason why retaliation is not justi-
fied in this case is the formulation of the U.S./Canada tax
treaty now in force. Canada tried, and failed, to outlaw
the states’ use of worldwide combined reporting with
respect to Canadian companies. Canada’s acceptance of
this fact is reflected in diplomatic notes exchanged
between Canada and the United States. Exhibit XXVI-1
(App. C). Just as retaliation by the United Kingdom
would be a direct violation of the US/UK treaty,’

7 The Executive Branch has explicitly recognized that the
United Kingdom’s threatened implementation of a retaliatory
measure would clearly violate the US/UK treaty; Executive
Branch testimony to Congress includes the following statement
regarding the United Kingdom’s retaliatory measure:

21

retaliation now by Canada would be inconsistent with the
bargained-for U.S./Canada Treaty and thus clearly not
justifiable.

Also, Canada has a federal system of government
which is similar to that of the United States. This sim-
ilarity, and Canada’s concern for the sovereign rights of
its provinces, led it to express a reservation (just as the
United States did) to the OECD Model Treaty provisions
which include subnational taxes within its reach. Exhibit
XXIII, p. 50. Such separation and protection of the sover-
eign powers of its own subnational units of government
would be inconsistent with a generalized retaliation by
Canada against United States-related corporations
because of California’s method of tax accounting.

Finally, in 1986 California enacted legislation, opera-
tive in 1988, which allows both foreign and domestic
based businesses, upon payment of a fee, to elect out of
the use of WWCR and use a “water’s-edge” method. In
general, the “water’s edge” method determines Califor-
nia taxable income of corporations which are part of
multinational enterprises by applying formulary appor-
tionment only to unitary activities within the “water’s
edge.” Arm’s length/separate accounting is used in
analyzing transactions between corporations within the
“water’s edge” group and their foreign affiliates. Stip.

“We believe that its existence is inconsistent with the
U.S.-U.K. bilateral income tax treaty to the extent its
threatened use causes U.S. taxpayers to refrain from
claiming benefits under the treaty. [ts actual implemen-
tation would be a clear violation of the treaty.” Exh.
XXX-9, p. 12 (emphasis added).

22

q 169, App. A hereto at App. 2, J 169; Cal. Revenue and
Taxation Code § 25110 (see Appendix B hereto). Since
California has changed its law to provide an option to
avoid WWCR, no foreign retaliation now for pre-1988 use
of WWCR could be justifiable.

¢

CONCLUSION

For the reasons given above, it is respectfully submit-
ted that the petition for writ of certiorari should be
denied. If this Court should decide to grant the petition,
it is respectfully submitted that the issues to be argued
should be limited solely to whether a dormant Commerce
Clause analysis has been rendered unnecessary by con-
gressional acquiescence in the states’ use of WWCR, and,
if any dormant Commerce Clause analysis is necessary,
whether the “one voice” and “multiple taxation” ele-
ments of dormant Commerce Clause analysis would ren-
der California’s actions impermissible.

Dated: June 2, 1993.

Respectfully submitted,

Daniet E. LUNGREN
Attorney General of the
State of California

Timotnuy G. LappisH
Assistant Attorney General
(Counsel of Record)

Puiuir C. GriFFin
Deputy Attorney General

Attorneys for Respondent

App. 1

APPENDIX A
EXCERPTS FROM STIPULATION OF FACTS

(Filed in the Superior Court of the State of California,
County of Los Angeles, No. C-196604)

p. 2 (CT 0062):

ISSUES

For the purposes of this litigation, these parties
hereby stipulate that the only legal issues before this
Court are whether the Board’s application of the unitary
method of accounting under Section 25101 et seq. of the
California Revenue and Taxation Code, and implement-
ing regulations, as applied to the facts in this case vio-
lated the Foreign Commerce Clause of the United States
Constitution in that such application impermissibly pre-
vents the federal government from speaking with one
voice or impermissibly gives rise to either the risk of or
actual multiple taxation. For purposes of this litigation,
Alcan is not contesting the Board’s determination that the
Alcan Group Companies constitute a single unitary busi-
ness under the tests formulated by the California Courts
and the United States Supreme Court, or contending that
the tax assessed violated the Due Process Clauses of the
United States Constitution or the California Constitution.

pp. 9-10 (CT 0069-0070):

23. Alcancorp has paid the additional assessments
and has pursued administrative remedies with the Board
regarding the Board assessments for the years 1965
through 1974, and has instituted suits for refund as
authorized by California law. Alcancorp did not elect to

App. 2

petition the Board for relief under the provisions of Cali-
fornia Revenue and Taxation Code Section 25137. (See
Exhibit XIX-1 for a copy of the original Los Angeles
complaint and Exhibit XIX-2 for a copy of the original
Sacramento complaint.)

p. 66 (CT 0126):

169. The California Legislature has passed and the
Governor has signed various bills allowing taxpayers to
elect to not use the worldwide combined report method.
California Senate Bill 85 (Alquist) signed by Governor
Deukmejian September 5, 1986, an act to add Chapter 1.9
(commencing with Section 15365), Chapter 6 (commenc-
ing with Section 15397), and Chapter 7 (commencing with
Section 15398) to Part 6.7 of Division 3 of, and to add
Article 12 (commencing with Section 16429.30) to Chapter
2 of Part 2 of Division 4 of, Title 2 of, the Government
Code, to amend Sections 24274, 24344, 24348, 24667, and
24668 of, to amend and renumber Section 25110 of, to add
Sections 24411 and 24670 to, and to add and repeal Arti-
cle 1.5 (commencing with Section 25110) of Chapter 17 of
Part II of Division 2 of, the Revenue and Taxation Code,
relating to taxation is attached hereto as Exhibit XXXVII.

App. 3

APPENDIX B
STATUTORY PROVISIONS
CALIFORNIA REVENUE AND TAXATION CODE
Section 25110 (water’s edge election):

(a) Notwithstanding Section 25101, a qualified taxpayer,
as defined in paragraph (2) of subdivision (b) which is
subject to the tax imposed under this part, may elect to
determine its income derived from or attributable to
sources within this state pursuant to a water’s-edge elec-
tion in accordance with the provisions of this part, as
modified by this article. A taxpayer which makes a
water’s-edge election shall take into account the income
and apportionment factors of the following affiliated enti-
ties only:

(1) Affiliated banks or corporations which are eligible to
be included in a federal consolidated return as described
in Sections 1501 to 1505, inclusive, of the Internal Reve-
nue Code, other than corporations making an election
under Section 936 of the Internal Revenue Code.

(2) Domestic international sales corporations, as
described in Sections 991 to 994, inclusive, of the Internal
Revenue Code and foreign sales corporations as
described in Sections 921 to 927, inclusive, of the Infernal
Revenue Code.

(3) Any corporation, regardless of the place where it is
incorporated if the average of its property, payroll, and
sales factors within the United States is 20 percent or
more.

App. 4

(4) Banks and corporations which are incorporated in
the United States, excluding corporations making an elec-
tion pursuant to Sections 931 to 936, inclusive, of the
Internal Revenue Code, of which more than 50 percent of
their stock is controlled directly or indirectly by the same
interests, which are not included in paragraph (1).

(5) A bank or corporation which is not described in
paragraphs (1) to (4), inclusive, or paragraph (6), but only
to the extent of its income derived from or attributable to
sources within the United States and its factors assignable
to a location within the United States in accordance with
paragraph (3) of subdivision (b). Income of such a bank
or corporation derived from or attributable to sources
within the United States as determined by federal income
tax laws shall be limited to and determined from the
books of account maintained by the bank or corporation
with respect to its activities conducted within the United
States.

(6) Export trade corporations, as described in Sections
970 to 972, inclusive, of the Internal Revenue Code.

(7) Any affiliated bank or corporation which is a “con-
trolled foreign corporation”, as defined in Section 957 of
the Internal Revenue Code, if all or part of the income of
that affiliate is defined in Section 952 of Subpart F of the
Internal Revenue Code (“Subpart F income”). The income
and apportionment factors of any affiliate to be included
under this paragraph shall be determined by multiplying
the income of and apportionment factors of that affiliate
without application of this paragraph by a fraction (not to
exceed one), the numerator of which is the “Subpart F
income”, of that bank or corporation for that income year

App. 5

and the denominator of which is the “earnings and
profits” of that bank or corporation for that income year,
as defined in Section 964 of the Internal Revenue Code.

(8) (A) The income and factors of the above-enumerated
banks and corporations shall be taken into account only if
the income and factors would have been taken into
account under Section 25101 if this section had not been
enacted. (B) The income and factors of a bank or corpora-
tion which is not described in paragraphs (1) to (4) inclu-
sive, and (6) and which is an electing taxpayer under this
subdivision shall be taken into account in determining its
income only to the extent set forth in paragraph (5).

(b) For purpose of this article and Section 24411:

(1) An “Affiliated bank or corporation” means a bank or
corporation which is related to a bank or corporation,
required to file under this part, because of any of the
following:

(A) It owns directly or indirectly more than 50 percent
of the voting stock of the bank or a corporation required
to file under this part.

(b) More than 50 percent of its voting stock is owned
directly or indirectly by a bank or corporation required to
file under this part.

(c) More than 50 percent of voting stock of both it and
the bank or corporation required to file under this part is
owned or controlled directly or indirectly by any bank or
person (as defined in Section 7701(a)(1) of the Internal
Revenue Code).

(2) A “qualified taxpayer” means a bank or corporation
which does both of the following:

App. 6

(A) Files with the state tax return on which the water’s-
edge election is made a consent to the taking of deposi-
tions at the time and place most reasonably convenient to
all parties from key domestic corporation individuals and
to the acceptance of subpoenas duces tecum requiring
reasonable production of documents to the Franchise Tax
Board as provided in Section 26423 or by the State Board
of Equalization as provided in Title 18, California Code of
Regulations, Section 5005, or by the courts of this state as
provided in Chapter 2 (commencing with Section 1985) of
Title 3 of Part 4 of, and Section 2025 of, the Code of Civil
Procedure. The consent relates to issues of jurisdiction
and service and does not waive any defenses a taxpayer
may otherwise have. The consent shall remain in effect so
long as the water’s-edge election is in effect and shall be
limited to providing that information necessary to review
or to adjust income or deductions in a manner authorized
under Sections 482, 861, Subpart F of Part III of Subchap-
ter N, or similar provisions of the Internal Revenue Code,
together with the regulations adopted pursuant to those
provisions, and for the conduct of an investigation with
respect to any unitary business in which the taxpayer
may be involved.

(B) Agrees that for purposes of this article, dividends,
received by any bank or corporation whose income and
apportionment factors are taken into account pursuant to
subdivision (a) from either of the following are func-
tionally related dividends and shall be presumed to be
business income:

(i) A bank or corporation of which more than 50 percent
of the voting stock is owned, directly or indirectly, by

App. 7

members of the unitary group and which is engaged in
the same general line of business.

(ii) Any bank or corporation which is either a significant
source of supply for the unitary business or a significant
purchaser of the output of the unitary business, or which
sells a significant part of its output or obtains a signifi-
cant part of its raw materials or input from the unitary
business. “Significant,” as used in this subparagraph,
means an amount of 15 percent or more of either input or
output.

All other dividends shall be classified as business or
nonbusiness income without regard to this subparagraph.

(3) The definitions and locations of property, payroll,
and sales shall be determined under the laws and regula-
tions which set forth the apportionment formulas used by
the individual states to assign net income subject to taxes
on or measured by net income in that state. If a state does
not impose a tax on or measured by net income or does
not have laws or regulations with respect to the assign-
ment of property, payroll, and sales, the laws and regula-
tions provided in Article 2 (commencing with Section
25120) shall apply.

Sales shall be considered to be made to a state only if the
bank or corporation making the sale may otherwise be
subject to a tax on or measured by net income under the
Constitution or laws of the United States, and shall not
include sales made to a bank or corporation whose
income and apportionment factors are taken into account
pursuant to subdivision (a) in determining the amount of
income of the taxpayer derived from or attributable to
sources within this state.

App. 8

(4) “The United States” means the 50 states of the
United States and the District of Columbia.

(c) All references in this part to income determined
pursuant to Section 25101 shall also mean income deter-
mined pursuant to this section.

App. 9

APPENDIX C
STIPULATION EXHIBIT XXVI-1
September 26, 1980

The Honorable

Alan J. MacEachen

Deputy Prime Minister and
Minister of Finance of Canada

Sir:

I have the honor to acknowledge receipt of your note
of September 26, 1980, which reads as follows:

“I have the honour to refer to the Convention
between Canada and the United States of America with
Respect to Taxes on Income and on Capital, signed today,
and to confirm certain understandings reached between
the two Governments with respect to the Convention.

1. In French, the term “societe” also means “corpo-
ration” within the meaning of Canadian law.

2. The competent authorities of each of the Con-
tracting States shall review the procedures and require-
ments for an organization of the other Contracting State
to establish its status as a religious, scientific, literary,
educational or charitable organization entitled to exemp-
tion under paragraph 1 of Article XXI (Exempt Organiza-
tions), or as an eligible recipient of the charitable
contributions or gifts referred to in paragraphs 5 and 6 of
Article XXI, with a view to avoiding duplicate application
by such organizations to the administering agencies of
both Contracting States.

If a Contacting State determines that the other Con-
tracting State maintains procedures to determine such

App. 10

status and rules for qualification that are compatible with
such procedures and rules of the first-mentioned Con-
tracting State, it is contemplated that such first-men-
tioned Contracting State shall accept the certification of
the administering agency of the other Contracting State
as to such status for the purpose of making the necessary
determinations under paragraphs 1, 5 and 6 of Article
XXI.

It is further agreed that the term “family,” as used in
paragraphs 5 and 6 of Article XXI, means an individual’s
brothers and sisters (whether by whole or half-blood, or
by adoption), spouse, ancestors, lineal descendants and
adopted descendants.

3. It is the position of Canada that the so-called
“unitary apportionment” method used by certain states
of the United States to allocate income to United States
offices or subsidiaries of Canadian companies results in
inequitable taxation and imposes excessive administra-
tive burdens on Canadian companies doing business in
those states. Under that method the profit of a Canadian
company on its United States business is not determined
on the basis of arm’s-length relations but is derived from
a formula taking account of the income of the Canadian
company and its world-wide subsidiaries as well as the
assets, payroll and sales of all such companies. For a
Canadian multinational company with many subsidiaries
in different countries to have to submit its books and
records for all of these companies to a state of the United
States imposes a costly burden. It is understood that the
Senate of the United States has not consented to any
limitation on the taxing jurisdiction of the states by a
treaty and that a provision which would have restricted

App. 11

the use of unitary apportionment in the case of United
Kingdom corporations was recently rejected by the Sen-
ate. Canada continues to be concerned about this issue as
it affects Canadian multinationals. If an acceptable posi-
tion on this subject can be devised, the United States
agrees to reopen discussions with Canada on this subject.

4. I have the honour to propose to you that the
present Note and your reply thereto shall constitute an
agreement between our two Governments on these mat-
ters.”

I confirm these understandings on behalf of the Gov-
ernment of the United States of America. These under-
standings constitute an agreement between our two
Governments on this matter, which will enter into force
on the date of entry into force of the Convention between
the Government of the United States of America and the
Government of Canada with Respect to Taxes on Income
and on Capital which was signed today.

Accept, Sir, the renewed assurances of my highest
consideration.

(Signed by: G. William Miller
Secretary of the Treasury)

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_2433%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
