# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Central States, Southeast & Southwest Areas Pension Fund v. Crown Cork & Seal Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_2354%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1993
- **Citation:** 508 U.S. 972

## Text

92-1671

No, -———

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1992

CENTRAL STATES, SOUTHEAST AND SOUTHWEST AREAS
PENSION FUND, et ai.,
Petitioners,

CROWN CorRK & SEAL COMPANY, INC.,
Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

THOMAS C. NYHAN *
General Counsel

TERENCE G. CRAIG

NEAL 8S. DEODHAR

CENTRAL STATES, SOUTHEAST
AND SOUTHWEST AREAS
PENSION FUND

9377 West Higgins Road

Rosemont, Illinois 60018-4938

(708) 518-9800

Attorneys for Petitioners

* Counsel of Record

WILSON - EPES PRINTING CO INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The court below found it necessary to interpret provi
sions of two statutes in reaching its decision. If the literal

ruage of either statute were followed, respondent would

liable to petitioner. Rejecting statutory literalism, the
ourt looked in one case to “legislative history” to find
ternative mesning to the words of the statute and looked
in the other case to “statutory purpose,” holding that Con

ress had not intended to impose liability on respondent

>

hea . \t nNrece “xd tar > > .
The guestions presented for review are

her a court may disregard the words of a statute

when the court believes those words do not best represent

Congress’ intent in enacting the statute? Specifically
|. Do the statutory words “permanently ceases all
overed operations’ mean the same as a “substantial

cessation of normal! business operations” where the sole

basis for the interpretation is snippets of legislative
history
2. Are the statutory words “binding agreement to with
draw’ so devoid of meaning that transactions that~ are
er binding nor agreements to withdraw may none-
theless satisfy the statute under a_ statutory purpose
alysis’?

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUES’‘IONS PRESENTED

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

OPINIONS BELOW ]

JURISDICTION -

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE 2
1. The Parties 2

2. The Statute 3

3. Facts and Proceedings Below 4

SUMMARY OF REASONS FOR GRANTING THE
WRIT 7

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT 9

I. THE DECISION OF THE COURT BELOW
CONFLICTS WITH A SEVENTH CIRCUIT
DECISION INTERPRETING THE SAME
LEGISLATIVE TEXT 9

Il. BY ALLOWING LEGISLATIVE HISTORY
EXCLUSIVELY TO DEFINE CONGRES-
SIONAL INTENT AND OVERRIDE THE
EXPRESS TERMS OF A STATUTE, THE
DECISION OF THE COURT BELOW CON
FLICTS WITH THIS COURT’S DECISIONS
REGARDING THE SCOPE OF JUDICIAL
[INTERPRETATION OF A STATUTE 15

A. The Plain Meaning Rule: Caminett
‘nited States 16
[7 Ss ] f l

B. Agency Interpretation: Chevror NRDC 20

iv
TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

C. This Case Is A Paradigm For The Unrelia-
bility of Legislative History; The Legislative
History Relied Upon By The Court Below
Advanced An Agenda Apart From The
Statute It Purported To Explain

Il. THE COURT BELOW EXPANDED THE
STATUTE TO IMPLEMENT “CONGRES-
SIONAL INTENT” CONTRARY TO THIS
COURT’S RULING IN WEST VIRGINIA UNI-
VERSITY HOSPITAL v. CASEY

IV. THE THIRD CIRCUIT’S DECISION CRE-
ATES A PROBLEM OF NATIONAL IMPOR-
TANCE BECAUSE MULTIEMPLOYER PEN-
SION PLANS ARE LEFT TO GUESS WHAT
LAW APPLIES; THE THIRD CIRCUIT’S
RULING LACKS ANY MEANINGFUL
STANDARD FOR DETERMINING WHEN A
WITHDRAWAL OCCURS

CONCLUSION

Page

25

30

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

SES Page

(‘an in tt; 1. T7nited States, 242 TJ 4 470, 37 S Ct.

192, 61 L.Ed. 442 (1917) 8, 15, 16, 25
Carpenters Local Union 953 v. Mar-Len of Lou-
y isiana, Inc., 906 F.2d 200 (5th Cir. 1990) 19
Central States Pension Fund v. Lady Baltimore

Foods, 960 F.2d 1339 (7th Cir.), cert. denied,
- U.S. ——, 118 S.Ct. 1791, 21 L.Ed.2d 125
(1992) 27
Central States Pe ns on Fund v. PTL T rminal
Services, Inc., 92 C 4392 (N.D. Ill.) 12
Central States, Southeast and Southwest Areas
Pension Fund v. Slotky, 956 F.2d 1369 (7th Cir.
1992) 12
Chevron, U.S.A. v. NRDC, 467 U.S. 837, 104 S.Ct.
2778, 81 L.Ed.2d 694 (1984) passim
Concrete Pipe and Products v. Construction La-
borers Pension Trust, No. 91-904 (U.S.) 20
Conroy v. Aniskoff, —— U:S. ; S.Ct.
— , 61 U.S.L.W. 4301 (1993) 22
Continental Can Co. v. Chicago Truck Drivers
Union Pension Fund, 916 F.2d 1154 (7th Cir.
1990) 13, 22, 29
Crown Cork & Seal Co. v. Central States, South-
east and Southwest Areas Pension Fund, 881
F.2d 11 (3d Cir. 1989) 4
Flanigan v. Truck Drivers Local 671, 942 F.2d 824
(2d Cir. 1991) 19
Flying Tiger Line v. Teamsters Pension Trust

Fund, 830 F.2d 1241 (3d Cir. 1987) 10
General Truck Drivers Local 957 v. N.L.R.B., 934

F.2d 732 (6th Cir. 1991) 19
Griffin v. Oceanic Contractors, Inc., 458 U.S. 564,

102 S.Ct. 3245, 73 L.Ed.2d 973 (1982) 15
In Re - Pe nnsylvania Truck Lines, Ine.., 150 B.R.

595 (E.D. Pa. 1992) 12
Iselin v. United States, 270 U.S. 245, 46 S.Ct. 248,

70 L.Ed. 566 (1926) 28

vl

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Laborer’s Health and Welfare Trust Fund v.
Kaufman & Broad of Northern California, Inc.,
707 F.2d 412 (9th Cir. 1983) 19
Mead v. Tilley, 490 U.S. 714, 109 S.Ct. 2156, 104
L.Ed.2d 796 (1989) 21
NLRB v. Allis-Chalmers, 388 U.S. 218, 87 S.Ct.
2001 (1967) 22
NLRB v. Amax Coal Co., 453 U.S. 322, 101 S.Ct.
672, 69 L.Ed.2d 672 (1981) ... bisa 28
Patterson v. Shumate, —— U.S. ——, 112 S.Ct.
2242, 119 L.Ed.2d 519 (1992) 15, 17
PBGC v. LTV Corp., 496 U.S. 633, 110 S.Ct. 2668,
110 L.Ed.2d 579 (1990) 21
PBGC v. Ouimet Corp., 6380 F.2d 4 (1st Cir.
1980) 12
PBGC v. R.A. Gray, 467 U.S. 717, 104 S.Ct. 2709,
81 L.Ed.2d 601 (1984) 3, 5, 26
Sheet Metal Workers v. 2300 Group, Inc., 949 F.2d
1274 (3d Cir. 1991) 19
Solar v. Pension Benefit Guaranty Corp., 504 F.
Supp. 1116 (S.D.N.Y. 1981) Aff’d 666 F.2d 28
(2d Cir. 1981) 23, 24, 25
Toibb v. Radloff, ——- U.S. - 111 S.Ct. 2197,
115 L.Ed.2d 145 (1991) 18
Trustees of Iron Workers Local 473 Pension Trust
v. Allied Products Corp., 872 F.2d 208 (7th
Cir.) cert. denied, 493 U.S. 847, 110 S.Ct. 143,
107 L.Ed.2d 102 (1989) 7,9
Trustees of Iron Workers Fund v. A & P Stee!
Inc., 812 F.2d 1518 (10th Cir. 1987) 19
U.S. v. Ron Pair Enterprises, 489 U.S. 235, 109
S.Ct. 1026, 103 L.Ed.2d 290 (1989) 15
Waggoner v. C & D Pipeline Co., 601 F.2d 456 (9th
Cir. 1979) 20
West Virginia University Hospitals, Inc. v. Casey,
U.S. ——, 111 S.Ct. 1188, 113 L.Ed.2d 68
(1991) 15, 27

vii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
STATUTES Page

29 U.S.C.
29 U.S.C.
29 U.S.C.

1002 (2) iis 2
1002 (16) (B) 2
1002 (35) 2

29 U.S.C. § 1002 (37) ‘ 2
29 U.S.C. § 1145 17, 20
29 U.S.C. § 13801 (a) (3) 2

29 U.S.C.
29 U.S.C.
29 U.S.C.
29 U.S.C.
29 U.S.C.
29 U.S.C.
29 U.S.C.
29 U.S.C.
29 U.S.C.
29 U.S.C.
29 U.S.C.
29 U.S.C.
29 U.S.C.
29 U.S.C.
29 U.S.C.

1301 (a) (10)

1301 (b) (1)

1363

§ 1881-145]

1382

1383 9,17,
1383 (a) 16
1383 (a) (1) 20
1383 (a) (2) 20
1383 (d) 19
1383 (d) (:
1384 19
1385 12, 19, 24
1385 (a) 18
1385 (b) (1) 11, 28

nm =
m= Www kW LY

—
or“
~~
Iho

Awe)
—

~e)

>
S

29 U.S.C. 386 (a) (2) (A) 11, 28
29 U.S.C. § 1388 (d) 18,19
29 U.S.C. § 1892 (c) 19

29 U.S.C.
29 U.S.C.
29 U.S.C.
29 U.S.C.
29 U.S.C.
29 U.S.C.
29 U.S.C.
29 U.S.C.

1399 (b) (1) 3
1399 (b) (2) 3
1401 (a) 3
1401 (a) (1) 5
1401 (b) (2) 3,6
1451 (d) 11
1461 (h) (1) 27
1485 (b) (1) 1]

(On CO? 0 DR? SP LK YR SR SP Sr SH SR Uf SR SRP SR LR LHP Lr Cr OP LR De OP COP COR GL

Cnr worn LN

viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
OTHER AUTHORITIES

Deficit Reduction Act of 1984, Section 558

Hearings on the Multiemployer Pension Plan
Amendments Act of 1979: Hearings on H.R.
8904 Before the Taskforce on Welfare and
Pension Plans of the Subcommittee on Labor-
Management Relations of the Committee on Ed-
ucation and Labor, 96th Cong. 1st Sess. (June 5
and 7, 1979). sarees ORE eae? ~

H. Rep. No. 96-869, Pt. 1, 96th Cong. 2d Sess. 73,
reprinted in 1980 U.S.C.A.N. at 2936

IN THI

»

Sigrenw Court of thy United States

OCTOBER TERM. 1992

CENTRAL STATES, SOUTHEAST AND SOUTHWEST AREAS
PENSION FUND, ef al
Petitioners.
= Vv.
CROWN CORK & SEAL COMPANY, INC..,

Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

OPINIONS BELOW
The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals fo
the Third Circuit is reported at 982 F.2d 857 and
reproduced as Appendix A, infra, pp. la-19a. The un

published district court opinion Is reproduced at Append)»

The following Central State
J. Baker, Howard McDougall, Arthur H. Bunte, Jr.. R.V. Pulliar
Sr., R. Jerry Cook, and Harold D. Leu. Loran W. Kobbins, a di
fendant in Case No. 84-5737 (E.D. Pa.), and Robert C. Sansone :
Marion M. Winstead, defendants in that case and plaintiffs in Ca

91-4423 (E.D. Pa.), are no longer

-
> ‘5 ) 1 : > rt 13) >
1 yp ZVUa re Bite rt »> « . 1 IS Cproaucec

: ,
, ae |
) 1¢ \ A pp tia il
wre — ;
JURISDICTION
i CG | C11¢ (yT) . i\v< ked Inde
+ 4 . 7 5 ;
Y >. ( l13 $U01(6b)(2) and
5 T} urisdicti yf th rt oO iD I< \
UTISCICI { t Ol] ppe
5 5 7 |
b ’e Ss. p. ihe judgement ot t
. :
of appeals affirming the district court was terec
| } 2 Oo” .
i) D¢ >. 1Y9 eliitl ) 4 I qgeny i .
: tered on January 19, 1993. This Court's juris
) 1s
\ qu | 5 | ‘5 .( | + i )

hee 4A

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
l. The Parties

l j \ | S T

I C ent Stat or Pen mn i d Ss mult
mplover pension plan within the meaning of Section:
3(2), (35). (37) and 4001(a)(3) of ERISA, 29 U.S.C
1002(2). (35) 37) and !1301(a)(3)." The trustees

of Central States are collectively the ‘“‘plan sponsor
within the meaning of 29 U.S.C. SS 1002(16)(B) and

| 30] a | 1Q) ( | Wh ( ( rk & Se i] ( ompany Inc

(“Crown Cork’) is a Pennsylvania corporation, which

}
l'} yrvity, ? \? \ y é ri " et ray hetweer thy,
( Yr conce) cre Sry ‘ The ,
¢ j ; t ? T) } ( |
( oul } red or vecen ©) ) 19OX® I} ‘
1 tne rt i 1 actiol is rted t 881] F.9d 1]
i ( ) LORD ( ; ‘ the Apper x ) } ( if te hh) |

we

previously made pension fund contributions to Central
States pursuant to the terms of a collective bargaining
agreement between itself and a local union affiliated with
the International Brotherhood of Teamsters, Chauffeurs.
Warehousemen and Helpers of America

2. The Statute

fitle IV of the Employee Retirement Income Securit
\ct of 1974 (“ERISA”), 29 U.S.C. § 1301 et seg. was
amended by the Multiemployer Pension Plan Amendments
\ct of 1980 (“MPPAA”), which was codified in relevant
part at 29 U.S.C. $$ 1381-1451. Under the MPPAA
Iti

employer pension plan is liable to the plan for its share

j ] 2 | . + ’
imendments, an employer that withdraws from a mu

of the plan’s unfunded vested benefit liability... The em
ployers share is called its “withdrawal liability.” 29
U.S.C. § 1381. Upon determining that a withdrawal has

l
occurred, the plan sponsor is required to notify the em

accordance with the statute and “demand pavment i!
accordance WIL

399(bd) (1)

] ] if thea nilon’ latarmin
lf the employer disputes the plan’s determination of
h ] . lenlaty linh; . ‘ rite
ithdrawal or the calculation of liability, the stati le p
7 | ’
vides a two-step review process. First, the employer may

ren

request review by the plan itself within 90 davs of t

ltial plan notice. 29 U.S.C. § 1399(b)(2). Tf the em

ployer still disputes the liability assessment following the
plan's review, it may initiate arbitration within 60 davs
of the plan’s response (01 if earlier 1270 d

request for review). 29 U.S.C 1401(92). Within 30
days of the imsSUAaANnCEe OT the arbit itor s final d ej h .

party may bring an action in the United States distri
court to enforce, vacate, or modify t

29 U.S.C. §$ 1401(b) (2).

3. Facts and Proceedings Below

his case arose from Crown Cork & Seal Company,
Inc. (“Crown Cork”) closing of its St. Louis facility.
Production, maintenance and some clerical employees at
the plani were represented by Local Union 688 which ts
with the International Brotherhood of Teamsters.
Crown Cork & Seal Co. and Central States Pension Fund,
No. 51-621-0022-89V (Amer. Arb. Assn. 1992), App. C,
at 44a... Crown Cork’s collective bargaining agreement
with the locai union obligated Crown Cork to remit pen
sion contributions to the Central States for work per-
formed by the covered employees. Specifically, Article 2’
of the agreement required that Crown Cork contribute to
Central States for each employee, which the contract de
fined in Article 1. Section 2 as “‘all production and main
tenance employees”. In 1980 Crown Cork decided to
close the St. Louis plant.

As of March, 1980, there were 148 production and
maintenance employees and 12 clerical employees on
whose behalf Crown Cork remitted pension contributions
to Central States. By September 25, 1980, these numbers
had fallen to 44 production and maintenance employees,
and 4 clerical employees. On July 28, 1980, Crown Cork
announced that it intended to close the St. Louis plant and
on September 23, 1980, Crown Cork entered into a list
ing agreement with Turley Martin Company, a real estate
broker, to sell the St. Louis facility. (The plant was even-
tually sold by a sale agreement executed June 3. 1982.)
By December 31, 1980, 3 members of Local 688’s pro-
duction and maintenance unit and | member of the cleri
cal unit were still employed at the plant and as a result
Crown Cork continued to remit pension contributions on
their behalf. The !ast employee covered by the collective

bargaining agreement was terminated on November 6,

The fe ts of this Case art alse set ut In Cre n ( y} wo Se | (¢
nt Stat Vout / WY, Sout Lire Per , }
881 F.2d 11, 15 (3d Cir. 1989

1981: thereafter Crown Cork’s contributions to Central

States ceased

rhe Pension Fund determined Crown Cork had effected
‘Omplete withdrawal hen 1 yYrmanentlv ceased yn

a compiete withdrawal when it permanently ceased con
tributions in November, 1981. On November 2. 1983,
Crown Cork received the Pension Fund's notice and de
nand for payment of withdrawal liability. Crown Cork
requested review of the Pension Fund's withdrawal liabil-
mination by letter dated December 30, 1983

The Pension Fund responded to the review request on
March 23, 1984, and affirmed its assessment of liability.

Crown Cork then filed a declaratory action in the United
States District Court for the Eastern District of Pennsyl-
vania in November, 1984. Crown Cork sought, inter alia
a declaration that under the Deficit Reduction Act of
1984 (“DEFRA”) it owed no withdrawal liability to the
Pension Fund because (it argued) it had a binding agree-
ment to withdraw and did in fact completely withdraw in
1980. The Pension Fund filed a motion to dismiss, which
was granted in part and denied in part.

The case was then stayed because questions regarding
the constitutionality of MPPAA were pending in Pension
Benefit Guaranty Corp. v. R.A. Gray & Co., 467 USS.
717, 104 S.Ct. 2709, 81 L.Ed.2d 601 (1984) After this
Court upheld the statute, the parties filed cross-motions
for summary judgment. On December 30, 1988, the dis-
trict court issued an order granting Crown Cork’s sum-
mary judgment motion and denying the Pension Fund's

cross-motion.

The Pension Fund appealed to the United States Court
of Appeals for the Third Circuit. On July 14, 1989, the
court reversed that part of the December 30, 1988 order
granting Crown Cork’s summary judgment motion and
affirmed that part of the order that denied the Pension
Fund’s cross-motion on the ground that 29 U.S.C.
S$ 1401(a)(1) required arbitration of the dispute. In re-
sponse to Crown Cork’s contention that arbitration may

6

be bypassed in a case involving solely questions of statu
interpretation, the court held ERISA’s arbitration
lent applies even when only issues of statutory

tation are involved and that, in the present case,

number of factual issues existed which further wat

On remand to arbitration the parties stipulated to the
underlying facts of the case and submitted the case on
riefs to a neutral arbitrator. On January 15, 1991, the
arbitrator issued his decision in favor of the Pension
lund, ruling that Crown Cork did not completely withdraw
before September 26, 1980, and specifically finding that
neither the plant closing announcement nor the real estate
isting constituted a “binding agreement to withdraw” as
of September 26, 1980. App. C, at 4la-Sla. Therefore,
Crown Cork could not avoid its withdrawal liability by
operation of the Deficit Reduction Act of 1984. On June

1991, the arbitrator determined that Central States
was entitled to a judgment of $2,072,247.08 pursuant to

the original assessment schedule.

Crown Cork filed a motion to vacate the arbitrator’s
lecision with the district court under Case No. 84-5737
in order to comply with 29 U.S.C. § 1401(b)(2), which
requires an “action” to enforce an arbitration award, the
Pension Fund filed a new case, No. 91-4423, seeking
enforcement of the arbitrator’s award. On July 19, 1991,
the new action was reassigned (pursuant to a prior agree
ment) as a related case to Judge McGlynn and the cases

re consolidated.

On April 1, 1992, the district court granted Crown
Cork’s motion to vacate and denied the Pension Fund’s
request for enforcement. App. B, at 20a-38a. The dis-
trict court determined that the crucial issues of the arbitra-
tion involved mixed questions of fact and law. The court
decided to separate the legal and factual questions, and
ipply a de novo standard of review to the arbitrator’s

legal determinations and a “‘clearly erroneous” standard

to the arbitrator’s factual determinations. Applying these
tandards, the district court held that while the arbitrator
rectly determined Crown Cork had not completely

withdrawn by September 26, 1980, the arbitrator was
‘rrect when he found that Crown Cork’s announce-

nt of its plant closing and its real estate listing agree-
Hd constitute < D nd vy avreement to vith

v’’ pursuant to § 55 f DEFRA. The district court

Q n dl inal US Crown Ce rk nad Ce< d

O b ess OP ns bv De ber 31. I198O, it

| ed O] tron | ie! the pi i] nd

is effected a complete withdrawal within the period for

ich DI I R \ excused liability.

[he Pension Fund appealed to the [Third Circuit on

tiv

\pril 27, 1992. The issues presented to the court were
‘ssentially the same as those presented in the instant peti
nn. The court of appeals affirmed the district court in

espects on December 23, 1992. Rehearing was de

‘don January 19, 1993 (with three judges voting in

favor of rehearing in banc).
SUMMARY OF REASON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

[he Third Circuit held that Crown Cork effected a
‘complete withdrawal” from Central States before De-
‘mber 31, 1980, even though some of its employees con-
tinued to work (and Crown Cork continued to remit
eir behalf pursuant to the collective
bargaining agreement) until November, 1981, and not-
withstanding that the statute requires that “all covered

vy i
‘Nerations” nermanent! ._ACP This letern tiol di-
nerations’ permanently cease. his determination di
rectly conflicts with the Seventh Circuit’s earlier ruling
that when Congress specified that “all covered operations

rt
VITUl

i
must cease it meant 100 and not

tally all” covered
operations Trustees 1 ie d Pr ducts € Oorp.., 872 I 2d
208 (7th Cir. 1989). The court below did not follow the
Seventh Circuit because it believed the statutory terms
‘covered” and “operations” were ambiguous. Noting that

recourse to legislative history was thus mandated, the

court found suggestions there that covered operations
Meant only “normal business operations” and that “‘vir-
mplete” was the same as “all.” Confronted
with the sume arguments, the Seventh Circuit had re
jected recourse to legislative history because the meaning

ft the statute was evident on its face

There is, thus, a conflict between two circuits on this
point—a conflict that places muitiemployer pension plans

I'ke ( entral States mn cl

\

n untenable position. Central
states, headquartered in Chicago, covers many employers
who do business in more than one federal appeals circuit.
Venue for litigation is generous under ERISA, hence Cen
tral States often cannot know in advance which law to
follow. If it follows the Third Circuit rule that with-
drawals occur before the last contribution is made, dis-
lvantaved employers will sue in Chicago. Conversely,
t Central States follows the Seventh Circuit rule, most
Central States contributors can find venue in a different
circuit, as did Crown Cork, through a declaratory action.

The Third Circuit also disregarded this Court’s rulings

on the plain meaning rule, by turning to legislative history
to muddy the meaning of an otherwise unambiguous stat-
ute. Caminetti v. United States, 242 U.S. 470, 37 S.Ct.
192. 61 L.Ed. 442 (1917). Further, even if there were

ne ambiguity in the statute, the Pension Benefit Guar-
nty Corporation (“PBGC”), the government agency re-
sponsible for the statute, had rendered an interpretation
that the court completely disregarded contrary to Chevron,
U.S.A. v. NRDC, 467 U.S. 837, 104 S.Ct. 2778, 81
lL .Ed.2d 694 (1984). Finally, even if resort to legisla-
tive history were appropriate, the portions relied upon
by the court below were an unreliable barometer of

In further disregard of statutory plain meaning the

rt below disregarded the statutory language “binding

nent to withdraw,” which it held lacked meaning.

9

The court then rejected any help from the legislative his
tory and case law that provided examples of such agree
ments, ignored the PBGC’s views, and went directly to
congressional purpose. Ruling that Congress intended to
relieve employers like Crown Cork from withdrawal liabil-
ity, the court held that circumstances that were not bind
ing agreements to withdraw but had a similar effect were
sufficient to meet the statutory requirement. The court
was wrong as a matter of law to go outside of the statu
tory language. Moreover the arbitrator, examining all of
the facts. found that Crown Cork had no binding agree
ment, a ruling that was entitled to deference unless re-
butted by a “clear preponderance of the evidence.”

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THE DECISION OF THE COURT BELOW CON-
FLICTS WITH A SEVENTH CIRCUIT DECISION
INTERPRETING THE SAME LEGISLATIVE TEXT.

Che United States Courts of Appeals for the Third

Circuit and the Seventh Circuit have now considered the
meaning of the statutory text of 29 U.S.C. § 1383(a).
In pertinent part that text provides:
A complete withdrawal from a multiemployer plan
occurs when an employer
(1) permanently ceases to have an obligation
to contribute under the plan, or
(2) permanently ceases all covered operations
under the plan.
The Seventh Circuit held this language to be unambigu-
ous and refused to consider legislative history purporting
to explain the statutory meaning in a manner inconsistent
with the statute’s words. Trustees of Iron Workers Local
473 Pension Trust vy. Allied Products Corp., 872 F.2d
208 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 847, 110 S.Ct.
143. 107 L.Ed.2d 102 (1989). Specifically the court
held that “permanently ceases all covered operations under
the plan” requires a 100% cessation of the work which

10

gives rise to the employer’s obligation to contribute to
the plan.

In the present case the Third Circuit expressly re-
jected the reasoning of the Seventh Circuit, ruling that
two terms, “covered” and “operations,” cannot be defined
without resort to legislative history. The court rejected
the Seventh Circuit’s conclusion that “all covered opera-
tions under the plan” means 100% of bargaining unit
work that gives rise to the obligation to contribute to the
plan and adopted another view—that “all” may mean
something less than all, and that covered operations are
only the “normal” business operations of a company
(whether or not the company contributes for other opera-
tions). Thus, according to the Third Circuit, a complete
withdrawal occurs upon a “substantial cessation of normal
business operations” of the employer. App. A, at 18a.
The Seventh Circuit and the Third Circuit are thus in
conflict over the meaning of “all covered operations under
the plan,” and consequently over what constitutes a com-
plete withdrawal from a multiemployer pension plan like
Central States. This Court should issue a writ of certiorari
to the Third Circuit in order to resolve the split of
authority.

The problem created by this split is significant and will
affect most, if not every, determination of withdrawal
liability by multiemployer pension plans, particularly large
plans like Central States that are left to guess, case by
case, which rule applies. Central States operations are
nearly countrywide. Many other plans, particularly in
the trucking industry, span several circuits.° Venue for

® The Teamsters Pension Trust Fund of Philadelphia and Vicin-
ity, the North Jersey Teamsters Pension Trust, the Central Pennsyl-
vania Teamsters Pension Fund, and the Western Pennsylvania
Teamsters Pension Fund are several of the plans administered
within the Third Circuit hut Which cover employers with broader
operations. See Flying Tiger Line v. Teamsters Pension Trust
Fund 830 F.2d 1241 (3d Cir. 1987).

11

litigation is appropriate where either the pension plan
or the employer does business. 29 U.S.C. $ 1451(d).
If Central States had sued Crown Cork first in Illinois, it
would have won under the Seventh Circuit rule. But if
Crown Cork (or another employer) finds an earlier date
of withdrawal convenient, it may bring a declaratory
action in a district court within the Third Circuit (as
Crown Cork did in this case) to achieve a different result.

The circumstances leading to this problem—where a
contributing employer substantially reduces its opera-
tions——are not rare, and the date of withdrawal can sig-
nificantly affect the amount of liability. Certain partial
withdrawals span several years. 29 U.S.C. § 1485(b) (1).
The amount of unfunded vested benefits (and thus the
amount of withdrawal liability) under a plan varies from
year to year. Where liabilities are rising, withdrawing
employers may wish to have the withdrawal date occur in
earlier years by claiming their partial withdrawal is really
4 substantial cessation of “normal business operations’ —
i.e., a complete withdrawal under the Third Circuit rule.

Pension plans may also be encouraged to forum shop.
A plan must wait four years from the onset of a 10%
decline partial withdrawal before it can issue a partial
withdrawal liability assessment. 29 U.S.C. §§ 1385
(b)(1) and 1386(a)(2)(A). In cases of “substantial
cessations,” however, the plan can immediately bill for
a complete withdrawal under the Third Circuit rule.’
By acting early the plan reduces collection risks and gains
immediate payment.

Even as the Third Circuit’s opinion was rendered, Cen-
tral States was already embroiled in multi-circuit litigation

7Of course if Central States were to issue an assessment to a

Pennsylvania company, it could expect the company to file a declara-
torv action in Illinois upon receipt of the assessment. Central
States might counter this tactic by filing its own declaratory action
in Pennsylvania before or simultaneous with the employs r’s receipt

f the assessment.

that presented this very problem. Pennsylvania Truck
Lines, Inc. ceased contributing to Central States and filed
for bankruptcy in the Eastern District of Pennsylvania.
In re: Pennsylvania Truck Lines, Inc., No. 92-12370S
(Bkrtcy., E.D. Pa.). Central States filed a withdrawal
liability claim for approximately $1.7 million. Central
States also sued several non-bankrupt affiliates of Pennsyl-
vania Truck Lines in the Northern District of Illinois to
collect the same liability, which was joint and several.°
Central States, Southeast and Southwest Areas Pension
Fund, et al. v. PTL Terminal Services, Inc., et al., 92
C 4392 (N.D. Iil.).. The bankrupt company, which
continued to operate under Chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy
Code, then entered into a new collective bargaining agree-
ment requiring contributions to Central States. The new
level of covered operations was only about 10% of pre-
petition levels.

The principal defense of these companies (in both
proceedings) was that the resumption of contributions
obviated the “complete withdrawal.” If the companies
were successful in that argument, they would escape lia-
bility—at least until the time required under 29 U.S.C.
$1385 to establish partial withdrawal liability had
elapsed. In the Pennsylvania action, however, the de-
fense might fail. Under the Third Circuit rule a 90%
decline in normal operations probably constitutes a “sub-
stantial cessation of normal business activity.”*° Thus,
Pennsylvania Truck Lines wou!d appear to have had an
immediate withdrawal based on its substantial cessation

8 The joint and several liability arises from 29 U.S.C. § 1301
(b)(1). See Central States Pension Fund v. Slotky, 956 F.2d 1369
(7th Cir. 1992); PBGC v. Ouimet Corp., 630 F.2d 4, 11-22 (1st Cir.
1980).

® Indeed the new contracts did not cover any of the former opera-
tions (or employees) of the company, which permanently ceased
(at a 100% level), but were entirely new and covered a different
kind of work.

13

of “normal business operations.” The affiliates’ defense
in the Illinois action, under Allied Products, is stronger.
Thus the split in circuits leads to the incongruous result
that members of the same control group will have differ-
ent liability determinations for the same event.

Of course Central States cannot be sure that it would
prevail against Pennsylvania Truck Lines, or any other
employer, in the Third Circuit because of the ambiguity
of the new standard. The court has rejected the bright
line “all equals 100%” rule of the Seventh Circuit in
favor of an inherently subjective rule that “all equals
a substantial cessation of normal business operations.”
The Court did not, however, define normal business oper-
ations, suggest what normal business operations are for
a given employer, or establish what percentage of such
operations must cease to meet the substantiality require-
ment for a complete withdrawal.”

For example, suppose a trucking company of 100 em-
ployees contributes to Central States only for its janitorial
crew of 2 employees. If the company ceases trucking
operations but continues to employ and contribute on
behalf of its janitorial crew, has it withdrawn because it
has a “substantial cessation of normal business opera-

10 Does it mean “substantially all’ operations? Case law and
legislative history hold 85% to constitute substantially all. See
Continental Can Co. v. Chicago Truck Drivers Union Pension Fund,
916 F.2d 1154 (7th Cir. 1990). Since an employer has a substantial
cessation when only 15% of its normal operations remain and a
partial withdrawal when only 30% remain, it appears that at least
hall of all 70% decline partial withdrawals are eligible for early
assessment under the Third Circuit rule. This conflict with the
partial withdrawal rules is not at all surprising, however, because
the partial withdrawal rules were Congress’ response to the problem
of substantial cessations of contributions by employers. The Third
Circuit’s interpretive fix, thus, is redundant. See Section II, 3,
infra.

14

tions”? ‘' May Central States anticipate the ultimate ces-
sation of janitorial work (in say, 1994) and assess the
employer immediately although there is no decline in
contributions? May the employer insist on it? The fact
of the matter is that the statute focuses on contribution
levels, not operational levels. There is no withdrawal if
contributions continue to be made on behalf of the jani-
torial crews as long as the level of contributions does
not decline to partial withdrawal levels.'* Indeed, Crown
Cork did not go out of business (or substantially cease
normal business operations); it only closed a plant. If
Crown Cork had contributed to Central States for work
performed at another of its plants under a different col-
lective bargaining agreement, the fact that it closed the
St. Louis plant would not constitute a withdrawal of
any kind. This example not only underscores the am-
biguity of the Third Circuit rule, but demonstrates its
unworkability. Pension plans, employers and arbitrators
are left to assert their own interpretations of these terms,
which, of course, must ultimately be resolved by the
courts. Given the vagueness of these new standards the
courts will no doubt be forced to revisit this issue re-
peatedly. This Court should grant the petition for cer-
tiorari, reverse the Third Circuit, and adopt the Seventh
Circuit holding.

11 Under labor law and under the terms of Central States Pension
Plan, if the janitorial work is covered under a collective bargaining
agreement under which contributions are due Central States. ther
the work is covered operations notwithstanding what the empioyer
characterizes as “normal.” See Section II, A, infra.

12 The partial withdrawal rules are themselves simply mathemati
cal constructs derived solely from contribution levels, not opera-
tional levels. That the two are ofteff related does not mean that one
may be substituted for the other, as the Third Circuit did.

15

Il. BY ALLOWING LEGISLATIVE HISTORY EXCLU-
SIVELY TO DEFINE CONGRESSIONAL INTENT
AND OVERRIDE THE EXPRESS TERMS OF A
STATUTE, THE DECISION OF THE COURT BE-
LOW CONFLICTS WITH THIS COURT’S DECI-
SIONS REGARDING THE SCOPE OF JUDICIAL
INTERPRETATION OF A STATUTE.

Where the meaning of a statute is plain by its own
terms. the courts are not free to substitute a different
meaning derived from non-statutory sources. Caminetti
v. United States, 242 U.S. 470, 37 S.Ct. 192, 61 L.Ed.
442 (1917) (holding when a statute’s language is plain,
sole function of the courts is to enforce the statute accord-
ing to its terms); U.S. v. Ron Pair Enterprises, 489 U.S.
235. 109 S.Ct. 1026, 103 L.Ed.2d 290 (1989); West Vir-

vinia University Hospitals, Inc. v. Casey, —— U.S. ——-,
111 S.Ct. 1138, 113 L.Ed.2d 68 (1991); Patterson v.
Shumate, —— U.S. ——, 112 S.Ct. 2242, 119 L.Ed.2d

519 (1992). Yet this is precisely what the court below
did. As this Court’s decisions make clear, only in limited
circumstances may a court look behind the statute to
legislative history. Griffin v. Oceanic Contractors, Inc.,
458 U.S. 564, 575, 102 S.Ct. 3245, 3252, 73 L.Ed.2d
973 (1982) (literal construction of statute is conclusive
unless such an interpretation produces an absurd and
unjust result). Even if a court deems a statute ambigu-
ous, resort to legislative history is often not the best
(or even an appropriate) source of clarification. See
Chevron, U.S.A. v. NRDC, 467 U.S. 837, 104 S.Ct.
2778. 81 L.Ed.2d 694 (1984). Nonetheless, to resolve
this case the Third Circuit looked first to legislative his-
tory to develop a meaning that is contrary to the literal
language of the statute and contrary to the interpreta-
tion of the agency entrusted to administer the statute.
In reaching its decision, the Third Circuit disregarded
the statutory context, including related statutory provi-
sions and analogous use in related statutes.

Further. this case demonstrates the dangers of resort-
ing to isolated portions of legislative history. The state-

ite a ADEA AIRS LE ASA SIO IE eae oe

16

ments that the court relied upon not only conflict with
the words of the statute, but also conflict with other
portions of the legislative history. Further, the concern
addressed by the legislative history relied upon by the
court below was ultimately resolved by adding special
rules in another section of the statute," and the legisla-
tive history was apparently modified and retained in an
effort to influence then-pending litigation

A. The Plain Meaning Rule; Caminetti v. United
States.
his Court has expressed the plain meaning rule in
Caminetti v. U.S., 242 U.S. 470, 37 S.Ct. 192, 61 L.Ed.
442 (1917) and countless other cases numbering per-
haps a dozen last term alone. Under that rule the lan
guage of the statute is the starting point for statutory
interpretation and, if the language is clear, is the ending
point also. The first statute at issue here, 29 U.S.C
§ 1383(a) provides
For purposes of this part, a complete withdrawal
from a multiemployer plan occurs when an em-
ployer
(1) permanently ceases to have an obligation to
contribute under the plan, or

(2) permanently ceases all covered operations
under the plan.
The Third Circuit believed this language was not clear
enough for it to require that a// activity giving rise to an
employer's obligation to contribute to the plan pursuant

)
uA

to a collective gargaining agreement cease before a com
plete withdrawal occurs."

We find that the statutory language “all covered
operations” is not sufficiently clear and free from

13 These points were made to the court but are whollv absent

from the de cision

14 It is undisputed that Crown Cork continued to have an obliga
tion to contribute until November, 1981, and therefore did not with

draw under paragraph (1

ambiguity as to stand on its own. Resort to legisla
tive history is thus mandated. Indeed, we find that
two of the terms contained in that phrase, specill
cally “covered” and “operations,” cannot be defined
without resort to it. Our examination of the legis-
lative history leads us to conclude that substantial
cessation of normal business activity meeis the com
plete withdrawal standard.
App. A, at 18a (emphasis added). The court reached
this conclusion only after considering certain legislative
history to create the ambiguity, giving no consideration
to the words of the statute in their own context. If by
singling out a word or two and declaring their meaning,
out of context. unclear, mandates resort to legislative his-
tory, then no statute is unambiguous (or safe from jud!
cial intrusion). Legislative history must not be allowed
to first create ambiguity and then resolve it.

If the words “covered operations” are read in context,
it is clear a complete withdrawal occurs when an employe!
permanently ceases all operations that give rise to the
hligation to contribute to the plan. Can it be said that
Crown Cork’s withdrawal was “complete” although it con-
tinued (as required by the collective bargaining agree-
ment) to contribute to the plan? Is a cessation “per
manent” with respect to “all” covered operations although
contributions continue for some employees? Is it concelv-
able that Congress meant an employer could effect a col
plete withdrawal under one ERISA section (S$ 138
while still obligated to make contributions under another
ERISA section (§ 1145)? Under the plain meaning rule
the court’s analysis should have stopped with the statute

i-
~
4

for its words are clear.

This Court had an opportunity just last term to apply
the plain meaning rule to a case involving the Bank
ruptcy Code and ERISA in Patterson y. Shumate,

U.S. 112 S.Ct. 2242, 119 L.Ed.2d 519 (1992).
There the district court had concluded that Congress

18

intended a narrower reading of the statute than its literal
statement. The court of appeals reversed and this Court

affirmed the reversal. “In our view, the plain language
of the Bankruptcy Code and ERISA is our determinant.”
Id. at 2246 (citing Toibb v. Radloff, —— USS.

l11 S.Ct. 2197, 2199, 115 L.Ed.2d 145 (1991)). The
Court looked first to the natural reading of the provision
and then to whether it comports with other references in

the Bankruptcy Code. “The Code reveals, significantly,
that Congress, when it desired to do so, knew how to
restrict the scope [of the statute].” /d. The same may

ly”

in certain provisions of ERISA when it meant less than

all

be said of Congress’ use of the modifier “substantial

Thus, even if the phrase “all covered operations under
the plan” were not clear, the court should have ex-
amined related provisions of the same statute to pro-
vide further context. This approach also reveals that a
complete withdrawal requires either the cessation of the
obligation to contribute or 100% cessation of the activity
that gives rise to the obligation to contribute. The statute
provides partial withdrawal rules to cover those circum-
stances where some, but not all, of an employer’s cov-
ered operations cease. 29 U.S.C. § 1385(a). Crown
Cork was covered by these rules, its contributions (or in
the vernacular of ERISA, its contribution base units)
having declined by more than 70% in !981. Had it
continued contributions at that reduced level through
1982 and 1983, it would have become liable for a partial
withdrawal on December 31, 1983. /d. Only its 100%
decline in November 1981, converted the impending par-
tial withdrawal into a complete withdrawal. Obviously,
Congress knew how to write partial withdrawal rules
that covered employers like Crown Cork and in fact did
so. Further, Congress also wrote a special rule to cover
construction employers who reduce covered operations but
employ a token workforce to avoid liability. 29 U.S.C.
$ 1388(d). So Congress obviously knew how to deal with
severe declines like Crown Cork’s if it wished. If Con-

19

gress made § 1385, and not § 1388(d), applicable to
Crown Cork, the Third Circuit may not infer an inadvert-
ent omission and fill the gap through legislative history.
lo the contrary, it must infer deliberate action—that
Congress meant precisely what it wrote.

Other sections of ERISA provide additional relevant
context. The statute uses the terms “substantially all”
(29 U.S.C. § 1383(d)) and “substantially the same” (29
U.S.C. § 1384) where Congress meant less than all. Why
then would Congress rely on legislative history rather
than text to make the “all” in § 1383 the equivalent of
less than all? '° The obvious inference is that if Congress
meant “substantial cessation” instead of “all” it would
have written it that way, and that when it used “all” it
meant precisely that.

Next, the court might (and should) have turned to
other labor statutes and judicial decisions in the labor law
context for clarification of “covered operations under the
plan.” Under labor law, ‘covered work”’ means work de
scribed in (covered by) a collective bargaining agree
ment. See Sheet Metal Workers v. 2300 Group, Ini
949 F.2d 1274 (3d Cir. 1991); Flanigan v. Truck Drivers
Local 671, 942 F.2d 824 (2d Cir. 1991): General Truct
Drivers Local 957 v. N.L.R.B., 934 F.2d 732 (6th Cir.
1991): Carpenters Local Union 953 v. Mar-Len of Louts
iana, Inc., 906 F.2d 200 (Sth Cir. 1990): Trustees of
Iron Works Fund v. A & P. Steel, Inc., 812 F.2d
1518, reh’e denied, 824 F.2d 817 (10th Cir. 1987):
Laborers Health and Welfare Trust Fund v. Kaufman &

1%

} In fact it can be shown that these partial withdrawal rules wer

Congress’ response to concerns over employers avoiding lial 1]
maintaining small workforces following large declines in contrit
tions. See Section C, infra. Congress also provided 29 U.S.f

§ 1392(c) to allow plans to disregard transactions intended to ¢
or avoid withdrawal liability (e.g., maintaining token workforce:
The Third Circuit has undertaken to use the legislative histor
fix the same problem (to Crown Cork’s benefit) that Cong)
already fixed, apparently because the statute, in the

did not do full justice to the legislative history.

20

Broad of Northern California, Inc., 707 F.2d 412 (9th
Cir. 1983); Waggoner v. C & D Pipeline Co., 601 F.2d
456 (9th Cir. 1979). Consistent with this the Central
States Pension Plan defines “covered employment” as that
which contributions are required to be made on behalt
of an “employee,” which, in turn, is defined as one em
er the terms of a collective bargaining agree
nent. See Excerpts of Central States Pension Plan, App
G, at 68a. Indeed, ERISA itself recognizes that both doc-
vern. See 29 U.S.C. §$ 1145. With this back
ground in mind, “covered operations” clearly means those
operations that give rise to the obligation to contribute,
which in this case is defined by the collective bargaining

reement. Crown Cork’s 1981 operations were plainly

covered under the plan in this context

The Third Circuit did not address any of this. Instead
it leaped immediately to portions of the legislative his
tory, which it uncritically adopted in violation of the plain

meaning rule. Because the Third Circuit disregarded this
Court's decisions establishing the proper scheme of statu
tory interpretation, this Court should issue the writ of

certlorart.
B. Agency Interpretations: Chevron v. NRDC.

The Third Circuit's decision is also in conflict with this
Courts decision in Chevron, U.S.A. v. NRDC. 467 U.S.

Crown Cork and the Third Circuit were concerned that 138

i ? Oot be IDSsSuMmeda nae) 138 i ] don if i iit
If i Z were nly i cl I I 1] redut | f Oo! VI CT there ir’ no
shortages in our legal culture) that insures that an employer d
ne id hability with an open-ended contract—a continuing
gation” to contribute but no covered work being performed, it
would contain substance enough. If ‘a)(2) disc rages unintended
parsing of the term “obligation to contribute the it {
nulli In fact a Recall Agreement, a plant closing agr ent
evel collective ba) ning reement ma nd often do, in

n obligation upon the emp! r to contribute shoul “k
resume at the facility but would not under 2), defeat a th
drawal if there were in reality a permanent cessati f «

the statute. the court should defer
pretation. 104 S.Ct. at 2781-82. In this case a gov-
ernment agency. the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corp.
(“Fa examin ‘d the statute

| les ] ‘ ‘Tf » anit ras! . . 7.
cluded that a complete withdrawal does not occur unt

in question and con

all contributions cease and all operations giving rise to
the contribution obligation cease. App. F, at 60a. More-
ver, this court has particularly underscored the impor-
tance of PBGC’s views in interpreting Title IV of ERISA
PBGC v. LTV Corp., 496 U.S. 633, 110 S.Ct. 2668, 110
| .Fd.2d 579 (1990): Mead v. Tilley, 490 U.S. 714, 109
S.Ct. 2156, 104 L.Ed.2d 796 (1959).

Here, not only did the Third Circuit fail to defer to the
PBGC’s interpretation, it did not even acknowledge the
PRGC’s view.” Under Chevron, before the court could
formulate its own interpretation, it must find that the
agency interpretation was not based on a permissible stat-
utory construction. By ignoring this step the Third Cir-
cuit has placed itself squarely in conflict with Chevron.”
This Court should, therefore, issue the writ of certiorari.

oh,

C. This Case Is A Paradigm For the Unreliability of
Legislative History; The Legislative History Re-
lied Upon By The Court Below Advanced An
Agenda Apart From The Statute It Purported To
Explain.
nherent dangers of relying on legislative history

sted in this case.’” Even if the Third Circuit

to turn to the legislative history (i.e., if the

© truly ambiguous and the government had

d no valid interpretation), the court did not look
ee that the legislative history it chose

upon was flawed and thus a poor indicator of
ntent. For several reasons the court should
rejected the legislative history as inaccurate and

First. the two committee reports the Third Circuit re-
he reports of the first committees to con-

(the House Education and Labor Committee
Senate Labor and Human Resources Committee ).

1?

In both cases the bill was passed to another committee
House Ways and Means Committee and the Senate
Finance Committee. respectively), and both of the latter

littees issued reports amending the bill and omitting
he legislative history the Third Circuit relied upon. Thus
cannot be said that all (or even a majority) of the
committee members intended that “all” mean something
less than all. The Congress as a whole and the President,
relying if at all on the final Committee reports and the
Conference Report, had literally not a clue that the Labor
Committees might have intended this atypic meaning.
Second, if the Third Circuit had looked one level
deeper, it would have seen the origin of the legislative his-

19 See Conroy v. Aniskoff, — US ; S.Ct. 61
U.S.L.W, 4301 (1993 Sealia, J. concurring); NLRB v. Allis-
Chalmers, 388 U.S. 213, 217, 87 S.Ct. 2001, 2025 (1967) (White, J.

rl! y Se f also Contine ntal Can 0. Inc. v. Ch ICYO Truck

Lt ‘ inhy
Drivers Union Pension Fund, 916 F.2d 1154 (7th Cir. 1990
Easterbrook, J. rejecting another piece of MPPAA legislative

*
23

tory and realized its interpretation of the history was
erroneous.” Hearings on the Multiemployer Pension Plan
Amendments Act of 1979: Hearings on H.R. 3904 Before
the Taskforce on Welfare and Pension Plans of the Sub-
committee on Labor-Management Relations of the Com-
mittee on Education and Labor, 96th Cong. Ist Sess.
(June 5. 1979) (“House Labor Hearings”). Excerpted,
App. H, at 74-892! The bill originally proposed by
PBGC and introduced in Congress contained no partial
withdrawal rules. Several witnesses described abuses, cit-
ing a “virtually complete” withdrawal by a company
called Kollsman Instrument Company and pointing out
that under existing law employers like Kollsman could
escape liability even after severe declines in contributions
to the plan.” PBGC had taken the position even then
that “withdrawal” meant “complete withdrawal,” 1.¢.,
100%. The witnesses were concerned that pension plans
and PBGC were at risk while employers escaped liabil-
ity through the technical loophole of keeping a token
workforce active while curtailing most operations. See
House Labor Hearings (Statement of Don Seifman, Coun-
sel. Retail Clerks International Union) (noting PBGC's
opinion that present statute did not cover partial with-

20 If the Third Circuit were right to look at the legislative history

in the first place, was it entitled to rely only on the plain meaning

of the language of that history, or must It peal back each layer
until the whole is exposed? Ironically the legisltaive history of thi
legislative history reveals a two-] ronged intent of Congress, as this
and the next paragraph show, and neither prong supports tl Third
Cireuit’s view.

214 similar hearing was held by the S te with n
same witnesses and statements. Hearings Before the Committee on

Labor and Human Resources I'nited States Senate, 96th Cong 1st

sess June 26 and 27, 1979

22 The witnesses generally referred to lug the 4
against Kollsman by its ! imed plaintiff, 5 r. ratl }
defendant Kollsman. See S lay PBGC and Kollsman Inst nt

‘o. 504 F. Supp. 1116 (S.D.N.1 1981), aff'd 666 F.2d 28 (2d Cir

24

drawals and need for partial withdrawal rules).* In
response to these concerns the committees wrote the par-
tial withdrawal rules now found in 29 U.S.C. § 1385.”
Since the concern expressed in the legislative history was
addressed by adding what later became 29 U.S.C. § 1385,
it was wrong of the Third Circuit to resurrect the history
to apply it to § 1383 as if Congress had not acted.

Third, the court below could have asked why the legis-
lative history it relied upon stated that the concept of a
“virtually complete” withdrawal was “consistent with ex-
isting !aw” when it demonstrably was not in accord with
the existing law. See H. Rep. No. 96-869, Pt. I, 96th
Cong. 2d Sess. 73, reprinted in 1980 U.S.C.A.N. at 2936.
The then-existing law is reflected in Solar v. Pension
Benefit Guaranty Corp., 504 F. Supp. 1116 (S.D.N.Y.
1981) aff'd, 666 F.2d 28 (2d Cir. 1981). PBGC initially
took the position in So/ar that a virtually complete with-
drawal could not occur zinder section 4063 of ERISA
(the pre-MPPAA version of withdrawal liability), then
codified at 29 U.S.C. § 1363 (1976). Id. This should
have been enough of a warning for the court to re-
ject the legislative history out of hand. A bit more
investigation, however, reveals another purpose behind
this “legislative history.” In mid-litigation, PBGC
changed its mind and informed the Solar court that
Kollsman, whose participants had fallen to about 1%
of prior levels, had withdrawn after all in a “virtu-
ally complete” withdrawal. /d.°’ Virtually simultaneous

“3 Excerpts of Mr. Seifman’s testimony are set out in the App. H,
pp. 79a-8la. Also excerpted are similar statements of Robert
Georgine on behalf of the National Coordinating Committee of
Multiemployer Plans and other witnesses. App. H, at 82a-89a.

“4 The original bill Section 4201(b)(6), App. H, at 74a, allowed
PBGC to provide partial withdrawal rules by regulation. Following
these hearings the bill was amended to provide specific rules. Sec-
tion 4201(b)(6), App. H, at 77a.

25 PBGC’s brief to the Second Circuit contained a succinct history

of its position in its Statement of the Case. App. E, at 54a-59a.

5

with PBGC’s change of mind (it notified the district
court on March 27, 1980), the first Committee Report
(the House Labor Committee Report issued April 2,
1980) changed the legislative history from complaining
of existing law where there were no virtual withdrawals,
to supporting “existing law” where there were virtual
withdrawals. Thus the legislative history, far from ac-
curately reflecting the state of the law or congressional
intent, appears to be at best a predecessor to the partial
withdrawal rules, and at worst an effort to influence the

pending Solar case.”

As this case demonstrates, recourse to legislative his-
tory is inherently risky, particularly where, as here, the
legislative history is an unreliable indicator of congres-
sional intent. It is a worthy text-book sagen demon-
strating the merits of legislative text ove legislative his-
tory as a basis of statutory siden: By failing to
follow this Court's direction in Camineiti and in Crevron,
and instead following legislative history, the Third Cir-
has left the field in disarray. Pension plans and em

‘saat
Cuil Vit

ployers are left to guess as to what constitutes a complete

withdraw al.

III. THE COURT BELOW EXPANDED THE STATUTE
TO IMPLEMENT “CONGRESSIONAL INTENT”
CONTRARY TO THIS COURT’S RULING IN WEST
VIRGINIA UNIVERSITY HOSPITAL v. CASEY.

By amendment to ERISA Congress repealed some of
MPPAA’s retroactivity. Section 558 of the Deficit Re-
duction Act of 1984 (“DEFRA”). In chief the amend-
ment brought the effective date of MPPAA forward to the

26 PRGC lost the case. The Second Circuit, like the district court,

y } =. Row - ~ } ] —— —

pparently never found or, wisely, ignored the legislative history.
Solar. 666 F.2d 28, (2d Cir. 1981)

Solar was a uniquely pre-MPPAA case where there were no
statutory partial withdrawals. In the post-MPPAA and post-Solar
ld of 70% decline partial withdrawals, “virtually complete”
withdrawals (and potential for emp ployer manipulation) ceased to

1 to PBGC

26

September 26, 1980 enactment date thereby relieving em-
ployers who had withdrawn prior to the enactment date
of any withdrawal liability. In addition Congress ex-
cepted from withdrawal liability certain other employers
who withdrew after September 25, 1980, and before De-
cember 31, 1980, if the employer had entered into a
“binding agreement to withdraw” before September 26,
1980.°° DEFRA § 558(d). Thus even if the Third Cir-
cuit were right that Crown Cork “virtually withdrew”
before December 31, 1980, it was still necessary to find
a binding agreement to withdraw if Crown Cork were to
escape liability.”

The Third Circuit’s analysis is curious. It began with
the proposition that the statutory phrase “binding agree-
ment to withdraw” is ambiguous (as it must if it is going
to depart from the words of the statute), but the court
could not have meant ambiguous in the usual sense of the
word—possessing more than one meaning. To the con-
trary the court Was concerned that the term was too nar-
row—possessing too littk meaning. App. A, at Ila.
Yet the court did not find that the statute was meaning-
less or absurd. Indeed it found relevant legislative his-
tory and case law giving examples of binding agreements
to withdraw. The court determined, however, that these
examples were too unlikely to occur and thus did not pro-
vide sufficient substance to Congress’ intent.

[W]e do not believe that Congress intended to limit
DEFRA’s application to those situations in which

“7 MPPAA was enacted on September 26, 1980, but was originally
made effective April 29, 1980. See PBGC v. R. A. Gray, 467 U.S.
717, 104 S.Ct. 2709, 81 L.Ed.2d 601 (1984 DEFRA was enacted

one month after the R. A. Gray decision.

28 The arbitrator, who was factfinder below, found that Crown
Cork had no binding agreement to withdraw. The district court
recharacterized the question as purely legal and reversed. T
court of appeals also disregarded the arbitrator’s findings. 1
arbitrator’s findings should have been presumed correct by bo
courts. Only, as the Third Circuit ruled, if there is no need for a

real binding agreement may the arbitrator’s findings be bypassed.

5

a union, or any other party, had consented to the
employer’s withdrawal from the plan.

We believe that Congress, in requiring some type
of “binding agreement to withdraw,” intended to
exclude from withdrawal liability those employers
whose actions effectively and irrevocably committed
thein to withdrawing from a multiemployer plan be-
fore September 26, 1980.

\pp. A, at 12a-14a. Where did the Third Circuit find this
standard? It cites absolutely no authority except for its
own belief in what Congress meant.“ On this basis the
court held that while Crown Cork had no binding agrec
ment to withdraw, its plant closing notice and listing
agreement served a sufficiently similar purpose to satisfy
the statute.

In West Virginia University Hospitals, Inc. v. Casey
OB. , 111 S.Ct. 1138, 113 L.Ed.2d 68 (1991),
this Court rejected the notion that it is the court's duty
o ask how Congress would have decided a question had
Congress actually considered it. “This argument pro
foundly mistakes our role... . [I]t is not our function
to eliminate clearly expressed inconsistency of policy. i
Jd. at 1148. Similarly this Court has stated:
(The statute’s] language is plain and unambiguous
What the Government asks is not a construction of a
statute, but, in effect, an enlargement of it by the

court, so that what was omitted, presumably by

29 While Congress could have used those words, it did not. Maybe

Congress intended that its exception be very narrow—-pernaps

limited to only a single employer (and not Crown Cork). This, afte

all, is precisely what Congress did in adding 29 U.S.C. § 1461 h)(1

to benefit only Lady Baltimore Foods, Inc. See Central States Pen
on Fund v Lady Baltimore Foods, 960 F.2d 1339 (jth Gir.). cert

denied, U.S 118 S.Ct. 179, 121 L.Ed.2d 125 (1992

There is no rule of construction that disfavors a narrow constru

tj

tion. Moreover, a narrow construction is also consistent with the
rule of construction that ¢ xceptio! to a remedial statute MPPAA

are read narrowly

28

inadvertence, may be included within its scope. To
upply omissions transcends the judicial function

/ ( bry) / nited States 270 [ S 245, 250-251, +6 > .
248, 250, 70 L.Ed. 566 (1926)

Moreover, the Third Circuit had, but ignored, the
agency s views on this question as well. PBGC had urged
the court not to expand the scope of the statute. App r;
at 60a. [ts ignoring of the agency interpretation was thus
in conflict with Chevron

In sum, the court below tgnored the plain meaning

rule and without turning to any legitimate rule of con

truction simply announced Congress’ intent and supple

mented the statutory text with it. This Court should issue

the writ of certiorart to correct the Third Circuit’s error

IV. THE THIRD CIRCUIT'S DECISION CREATES A
PROBLEM OF NATIONAL IMPORTANCE) BE-
CAUSE MULTIEMPLOYER PENSION PLANS ARE
LEFT TO GUESS WHAT LAW APPLIES; THE
THIRD CIRCUIT’S RULING LACKS ANY MEAN.
INGFUL STANDARD FOR DETERMINING WHEN
A WITHDRAWAL OCCURS.

Multiemployer pension plans can no longer be certain
it constitutes a complete withdrawal and when it o¢
curs. If the Third Circuit is right, then a plan need not
walt until the last contribution is made before it assesses
for a complete withdrawal. But when should it act? Is
a “substantial cessation” a 70% decline? 90%°? 98%”?
Plan trustees are fiduciaries whose sole duty is to partici
pants. NLRB v. Amax Coal Co., 453 U.S. 322, 101
S.Ct. 672, 69 L.Ed.2d 672 (1981). The pressure
upon trustees to assess as soon as possible will be im
mense, particularly considering the usual alternative—the
four-year wait imposed by the partial withdrawal rulk

Of course potential withdrawal lability varics year to
year with the fortunes of the plan. In some cases the

\ 3-year testing period, 29 U.S.4 § 1285 (b 1), plus another

year to establish the pro-ration fraction, 29 U.S.C. § 1386(a) (2 A)

habilit ( QO]

Case Thay '’

int to wait until January 1 to assess a larger
may hurry to assess by December 31, as t

be). Obviously the price of the Third Circuit's

high considering potential litigation alone

suidance for the meaning of “substantial ces
|

the test afforded by “substantially all” under

1383(d)(2)."' The Seventh Circuit has ap

&

85% test to define that inherently ambiguous

term See Continental Can, 916 k.2d 1154. Coinciden

tally that
delining a
(100%) d
all par!
drawal [

tually all 4

timely colle

falls halfway between the minimum decline
nartial withdrawal (70% ) and the maximum
‘cline. Thus, if that is the test, fully half ol
withdrawals may actually be complete with
nder the Third Circuit rules, trustees of vir
nultiemployer plans have routinely failed to
ct in half of their partial withdrawal

a Chilling thought for a fiduciary

Adding

Operation

the inherent ambiguity of “normal busin
to the flexible term “substantial” invites con

tinuing conflicts. Combining these problems with those

created by
supra), i
uncommon
tantial nu
drawal Cx

the conflict in the Circuits (Section |
is evident the problern is neither trivial nor
Virtually all multiemployer plan
mber of their partial (and complete) with

posed to hopeless uncertainty to be resolved

ise by case (and surely in almost every case) by the
courts
Multiemployer plans should not be Ieft to flound Th
problem is urgent (as the Pennsylvania Truck Lines ca
sh ). Plans make daily decisio1 n whom and
to withdrawal lability Ihe problem cannot be

further case by case development of the

cult iv Fach new decision would only add = furthe
complications and new forums for attack by one or the
['} | (i { ? } )
( rie¢ ed r
mn ( tnd? al

we -
ultimately to tne

dal tic]

was designed to protect. us ¢

tly needed now. The petition for

wuld be granted and the Third Circuit

CONCLUSION

ited
order to resolve the conflict between it
ircuit. This Court should also grant
petition because the Third Circuit decision conflicts
with this Courts rulin mandating deference to plain
meaning and deference to agency interpretations of

Statutes

Respectfully submitted

THOMAS C. NYHAN *
General Counsel

TERENCE G. CRAIG

NEAL 8S. DEODHAR

CENTRAL STATES, SOUTHEAST
AND SOUTHWEST AREAS
PENSION FUND

9377 West Higgins Road

Rosemont, Illinois 60018-4938

(708) 518-9800

1 ttorne ys for Py fationers

* Counsel of Record

APPENDICES

la
APPENDIX A

5

Filed December! 23, 1992

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

PENSION FUuNbD, a Federal multiemployer employes
pension benefit plan; LoRAN W. RoBBINS: MARION M
WINSTEAD; ROBERT C. SANSONE, ROBERT J. BAKE!
Howard McDouGaLyt; ARTHUR H. BUNTE: R. JERRY
Cook and R. V. PULLIAM, its present trustees in theit

PENSION FUND, a pension trust; MARION M. WIN

STEAD; ROBERT C. SANSONE: RoperRT J BAKER
HowaRD McDouUGALL: ARTHUR H. BUNTE. Jr.: R
PrpRRY Cook: R. V. PULLIAM. SR HAROLD D. Let

aa

CENTRAL STATES, SOUTHEAST AND SOUTHWEST AREAS

PENSION FUN ion trust. and its trustees. includ
Ing MARION M. WINSTEAD, ROBERT C. SANSONE, ROB
ERT J. BAKER, HOWARD MCDOUGALL, ARTHUR H.

BUNTE, JR... R. JERRY Cook, R. V. PULLIAM, Sr. and
HAROLD D. LEt

oT Yas
pp Liants

\ppeal from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania

Argued
November 16, 1992
Before: MANSMANN,. HUTCHINSON and GARTH

Circuit Judeges

(Filed: December 23, 1992)

OPINION OF THE COURT

MANSMANN, Circuit Judee.

Crown Cork & Seal Compa [In cought to obviate.
under the Deficit Reduction Act of 1984 (“DEFRA”),
its withdrawal liability to its multiemployer pension plan
when it ceased production at its St. Louis Plant in 1980.
In order to seck the benefits of DEFRA, the company
must show that (1) it had a binding agreement to with
draw from a multiemployer plan as of September 26,
1980 and (2) that it effectuated a complete withdrawal
om the plan by December 31. 1980.

In this appeal we must interpret the term, a “binding
agreement to withdraw,” within the meaning of Section
558(d) of DEFRA and must determine whether a ces
sation of virtually all covered operations satisfies the com
plete withdrawal requirement oj 13%3(a)(2) of the
Multiemployer Pension Plan \mendments \ct

(“MPPAA”) to ERISA.

We hold that an employer’s actions committing tt to
withdraw from a multiemployer pension plan by announ
iny its plant closing, bargaining with its unions over the
effects of that closing and signing a listing agreement
placing its plant for sale satisfy the. language and siatu
tory purpose of DEFRA’s requirement of a “binding
agreement to withdraw.” We further hold that an em
ployer has completely withdrawn when it ceases Its nor
mal business operations in preparation for a shutdown.
Accordingly, we will affirm the judgment of the district

court exempting Crown Cork from withdrawal lhabilit n
closing its St. Louis Plant.
[.
In 1980. economic conditions and decreased demat
for three piece cans convinced Crown Cork to close 1
St. Louis can manufacturing plant. On July 28. 1980

Harold Abrams. Crown Cork’s Director of Industrial
Relations. sent a letter to each o
represented employees at the St
them that the company had made

close the plant. In those letters Abrams stated that ¢
Cork “expected that the closing [would

end of September, 1980.”

Produc tion nd maintel
cleric ] »T Fal Weer were renre nt ih [ ©
Clerical emplovees VOUT 1 ( CM CU
n i] Brot rhnoOoOod | ] t ; } f

4a

On July 31, 1980, Local 688’s business representative,
Ken DeGrande, sent a Ietter acknowledging receipt of
Abrams’ letter “regarding the closing of the St. Louts
plant” and requesting that Abrams meet with him “as
rapidly as possible to negotiate the effects of the closing.”
On August 13, 1980 and several occasions thereafter,
Abrams met with DeGrande to negotiate the effects of
the closing, including severance pay, vacation pay and
related matters. Local 688 did not, however, challenge
the company’s decision to close the plant.

Crown Cork proceeded to implement its decision by
a massive reduction in its work force. As a result of lay
offs, terminations and transfer, only 9 of Crown Cork’s
29 management employees remained at the St. Louis
Plant after September 26th; 44 of the 148 production
and maintenance workers remained; of 12 clerical work-
ers, only 4 remained.

On September 16, 1980, Crown Cork’s Director of
Production Control, Donald Kirkpatrick, issued an in
ternal mailgram to managers notifying them that the St.
Louis plant would close at the end of business on Sep-
tember 26, 1980, and that all orders placed at the St.
Louis plant should be switched to another point of manu
facturing before then. After this date, there was no new
can production at the St. Louis plant. Finish-up work
consisting of assembling remaining materials into cans
amounting to a field of 265 production line-hours was
performed in October. This “finish up” work was com
pleted by October 10, 1980; thereafter, the only work
performed at the St. Louis plant consisted of tasks inci
dental to the final closing of the plant; dismantling, main
tenance, clean-up and disposal of equipment and property.

On September 23, 1980, Crown Cork entered into a
listing agreement with Turley Martin, a real estate broker,
to sell the plant. The St. Louis plant was ultimately sold

on June 3, 1982.

WGN
poe)

Additional layoffs and terminations followed and by
December 3!, 1980, only three members of Local 688s
production and maintenance unit and only one membet
of Local 688’s clerical unit were still employed at the
St. Louts Plant, performing shut down work. Crown
Cork’s last production and maintenance employee was
placed on layoff on November 6, 1981. From October.
1980 through November, 1981 Crown Cork continued to
submit employee work history reports for these few re
maining employees and continued to contribute to the
Pension Fund on their behalf. -

In a letter dated October 26, 1983, pursuant to 29
U.S.C. §$ 1399(b)(1), the Pension Fund sent Crown
Cork a notice and demand for the payment of withdrawal
liability in the amount of $31,802.75 monthly, beginning
January 1, 1984 or alternatively as a lump sum amount
of $1,319,859.30 (based upon a withdrawal date of No-
vember 28, 1981). On December 20, 1983 the Pension
Fund sent Crown Cork a “past due” notice. Subsequently,
on December 30, 1983, Crown Cork requested that the
Pension Fund review its withdrawal liability determina
tion in accordance with 29 U.S.C. § 1399(b)(2)(A)
On March 23, 1984, pursuant to 29 U.S.C. § 1399(b)
(2)(B), the Pension Fund responded to Crown Cork’s

review request.

In November, 1984, after exhausting review with the
Pension Fund, Crown Cork filed suit in the United States
District Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania.
seeking a declaration that it did not owe the Pension
Fund withdrawal liability because it was exempt from
such liability under DERFA. On December 30, 1988.
the district court granted summary judgment in Crown
Cork’s favor based upon its DEFRA defense. The dis-
trict court found that Crown Cork had a “binding agree-
ment to withdrawal” in effect before Sentember 26. 1980
and had accomplished a complete withdrawal by Decem-
ber 31. 1980. The Pension Fund appealed.

6a

On July 14, 1989, we held that Crown Cork’s DEFRA

claim should be submitted to arbitration before being

subject to judicial review. Accordingly, we reversed the
order granting Crown Cork summary judgment and re

manded the case to the district court for entry of an
order to “defer the matter to arbitration” pursuant to 29
U.S.C. § 1401(a)(1) (1982). Crown Cork & Seal Co.
Inc. v. Central States Southeast and Southwest Areas
Pension Fund, 881 F.2d 11, 19-20 (3d Cir. 1989)
(“Crown Cork TI’).

\fter some procedural maneuvering,” the case was
ultimately submitted to arbitration on the basis of a stipu-
lated record. Arbitrator James Clair Duff issued an Opin-
ion and Award on January 15, 1991 in which he rejected
Crown Cork’s DEFRA defense and found, instead, in
favor of the Pension Fund. Arbitrator Duff retained
jurisdiction to determine any amounts due and owing,
issuing his final award on June 7, 1991 in which he
assessed Crown Cork $2,072,247.08 in withdrawal lia-
bility.”

-On September 13, 1989 the Pension Fund filed an action in th
[ ed State D ri¢ ( rt NO? n Distri I
Central Stat ete et C) ( & Ss ( No. 89-694
(N.D a March 7 1990 O ree i cl m t had I I
I iyvment Tt I]] O01 ( I Vas Ss ,
t he Eastern Dist P
On October 23, 1989, the United States District Cou
Easter District of P S i ente ? } ( rer
whl i directed tl il eS COE al ( > .
tne 4 ? ni d .
ce Illinois. The Pe ind
( ij i vas é | hich ‘
IY Sa nat a { ( & ( ( f Q
Southeast f No. 89-20] QO NI (
M 25, 1991 \ ( (
m } Py ( | |
199!
T rbitrato1 DEFRA’s 1 rel

7a

Subsequently, Crown Cork filed a motion to vacate the
arbitration award. The Pension Fund responded with
a motion for summary judgment to enforce the award.
On March 30, 1992, the district court granted Crown
Cork’s motion to vacate the arbitration award, holding
that Crown Cork was exempt from withdrawal liability
because it had met DEFRA’s requirements.

i district court had jurisdiction under 29 U.S.C.

1401(b)(2) (1988) (any party to an arbitration -
ceeding can request judicial review no later than thirt

days after issuance of an arbitrator’s award in ap need
federal district court). In such cases, the district court
presumes that the arbitrator’s factual findings are correct
unless they are rebutted by a clear preponderance of the
evidence. 29 U.S.C. § 1401(c); Huber v. Casablanca
Industries, 916 F.2d 85, 89 (3d Cir. 1990), petition for
cert. filed (Jan. 9, 1991). The arbitrator’s legal conclu-

Cc

sions are reviewed de novo. Id.

We have jurisdiction over appeals from final judgme nts
of district courts pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §$ 1291. In Crown
Cork I, we characterized the questions of whether Crown
Cork had a binding +e to withdraw and whether
covered operations at the St. Louis plant had permanently
ceased as mixed questions of law and fact. Crown Cork
J, 881 F.2d at 18 n.19. In reviewing mixed questions
such as these. we apply a clearly erroneous standard to
findings of lact and conduct plenary review of conclusions
of law, applying the appropriate standard to each com-
ponent. /n re Sauron Steel Corp., 871 F.2d 1217, 1222

3d Cir. 1989)

Sa

T.

Multiemployer pension plans such as the Pension Fund
are subject to the provisions of the Employee Retirement
Income Security Act, (“ERISA”), 29 U.S.C. § 1001 ef
seq. (1974). ERISA’s central purpose is to protect the
security of employee pension plans and to insure that
benefits which have vested are paid to employees. Pension
Benefit Guaranty Corp. v. R. A. Gray & Co., 467 US.
717 (1984).

Under ERISA, an employer who withdrew from a
multiemployer pension plan could be liable in some cir-
cumstances for a share of the unfunded portion of vested
benefits in the plan. 29 U.S.C.S$ 1363-64. ERISA pro-
vided, however, that if the pension plan survived for five
years after an employer withdrew, the employer would
not be liable for any unfunded benefits should the plan
fail sometime after five years. 29 U.S.C. 88 1363(c)
(1982). Acting at least partly out of a concern that
many employers were withdrawing from multiemployer
plans on the gamble that the plan would survive for five
years after their departure, and to ensure that the plans
had sufficient funds to pay benefits which had already
vested, Congress enacted the Multiemployer Pension Plan
Amendments Act, 29 U.S.C. § 1381 et seg. Central States
Southeast & Southwest Areas Pension Fund vy. 888
Corp., 813 F.2d 760 (6th Cir. 1987) (citing H.R. Rep.
No. 96-869, 96th Cong., 2d Sess. 52-57 (1980), re-
printed in 1980 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 2918,
2920-25). |

Under the MPPAA, an employer who withdraws from
a multiemployer pension plan becomes obligated to pay
a proportionate share of the plan’s unfunded vested bene
liability. Al
though MPPAA was enacted on September 26, 1980,

ts ihis debt is known as withdrawa

Congress gave the statute retroactive effect in order to
“prevent employers from taking advantage of a lengthy
legislative process and withdrawing while Congress de

I —

9a

bated necessary revisions in the statute.” Pension Benefit
Gud f COFrp. RR. 1. Gra & Co., 467 USS. Tile
723 (1984).

The U.S. Supreme Court held MPPAA’s retroactive
provision constitutional, Pension Benefit Guaranty Corp.
v. R. A. Gray & Co., supra. One month later, however,
Congress passed the Deficit Reduction Act of 1984, which
included a provision that amended MPPAA’s effective
date. Congress’ reasons for legislatively eliminating
MPPAA’s retroactive effect were twofold. The Senate
Finance Committee found that the retroactive application
of MPPAA had an unduly burdensome effect on empioy-
ers that withdrew between April and September, 1980
and was unnecessary to preserve the financial integrity
of multiemployer plans. Long Island Oil Products Co. v.
Local 553 Pension Fund, 775 F.2d 24, 27 (2d Cur.
1985).

Section 558 of DEFRA, entitled “Elimination of Retro-
active Application of Amendments Made by Multi-
ipnlover Pension Plan Amendments Act of 1980.” pro-
vides in section (a)(1) that any withdrawal liability
incurred by an employer as a result of a partial or com-
plete withdrawal before September 26, 1980 is void. For

lovers who have not completely withdrawn by
September 26, 1980, DEFRA contains a special provision
for transactions in which a binding agreement to with-
draw from a multiemployer plan was entered into before
September 26. 1980, giving employers until December 31,
980 to effectuate a complete withdrawal.* See Section

SRid).

»
°
{;
a
|
ii}
T> ‘ ; .
WErKA to t is of this case raises
| . | } vate
( ( A LC Ort Nave 1 DINGINY
| 5 !
| Lh sepnten Vor fh 1YSO? If re
' ,
; st . , +} _F | ’
( ( \W 2 I bet ITC LINC Cnd O}
‘ ‘
( nN ‘ \ LL. LO)

i Sl bsequent “elfects

th 1 real estate listing agreement met
and ftatutory purpose of} DEFRA and thus
( vn Cork had a binding agreement to
ore September 26, 1980. In so finding, the

o

held that the true purpose behind § 558\
; to allow exemptions trom withdrawal lia

1) ‘hy 7 } 1 fet bea »|
\ CTAPLlOVers WhO il VOOd faith, eHnective ly
hh | ii , wT | the wit ly Wine tT TY)
L} I WEIL U4 PLdLEE LA iA VILNGTAWI irom cl
>
" ’ , . , 4
pension plan betore September 26, 1980
' , 4 .
vl I I *. \ Lod4 } ‘
T> I . | ; T ‘
a ( \¢ }
y ] ry } y 1QR |
| fo! > 1 , ’ ’ vy ,
} } T) , } 1O&
i i I
«TY ‘ >; Las
> 4%} Rk NT ’ 194 ROG }] N
As) ~ \ ] | TORS
} I not rea U! lt r whet! !
} 1 +} { wy (*, } }
en { ' had) ' } ‘ ‘
y tt, ; +} C I>
¥ ) LORY \ ] 12

lla

Interpreting the meaning of DEFRA’s requirement of
a “binding agreement to withdraw” is not an easy task
DEFRA does not contain a definition of a “binding

.ereement to withdraw” and the legislative history of this

provision is scant. The only reference in the legislative

story to what might qualify 1s a reference made to

binding sale[s] agreement.

In the few cases which have come before the courts, the
aning of “binding agreement to withdraw” has been

rued narrowly. For example. the statute was deemed
itisfied where an executed agreement of sale existed prior

Se itembel 6 ( enti I Crates Southeast rat \ nthwest

{reas Pension Fund v. 888 Corp., 813 F.2d 760 (6th
( 1] 1987) Sec also De brecent v. Outle [ Company, 784
Fd 13. 17 (Ist Cir. 1988) (agreement of sale dated
before, but executed after, September 26, 1980 did not
constitute a binding agreement as to that date and thus
did not satisfy DEFRA): Salem Laundry Co. v. New
Fneland Teamsters and Tru kine Industry Pension Fund
899 F.2d 278 (Ist Cir. 1987) (conduct of the parties
through negotiations supported an inference that they did

' ] , | la ]
bound until a formal contract [OF saie}

sw
not intend to be
was executed

]
i

Here. the district court fund that a literal reading of
“binding agreement to withdraw from a multiemployet

plan” would create an ambiguity because an employer

‘ . _— ~ lan ee ] on .
it eX to withdraw from a plan Rather. the
nlover mav take definitive action, such as discontinu
’ - . ort — . 1, se :
operations, which results in withdrawa Opinion at
’ ] ] Wir ~*~ >,
} +! ; t; ; } ) " } } d
] 1QX() Q ft | ( r nittes | /
2 ( n. ( eral Ext OY t} R e P}
} | Oo! \ ( 1984 av 198 \y CTa

12a

p. 15. Therefore, the district court held that a more
expansive reading of the language was required.

We agree with the district court that this phrase is
ambiguous.’ Any attempt to interpret literally the lan-
guage of this phrase raises several questions about the
nature of the agreement itself: Who would be the parties
to a binding agreement to withdraw? A union? A pen-
sion fund? What provisions would underlie such an
igreement?

[he Pension Fund asserts that an employer and a un-
ion could enter into an agreement which provides that
on a certain date an employer's contributions to a multt-
employer pension plan would cease and cites Robbins
v. Lady Baltimore Foods, 868 F.2d 258 (7th Cir. 1989).
There, DEFRA’s “binding agreement to withdraw” re-
quirement was satisfied by a provision in the parties’
collective bargaining agreement which called for the ces-
sation oi contributions to the pension fund on a specified
date. That such an agreement actually existed in Lad)
Baltimore Foods does not convince us that this is the
only type of agreement that satisfies DEFRA and “binds”
an employer into withdrawing from a multiemployer pen-
sion plan. We do not believe that Congress intended to
limit DEFRA’s application to those situations in which
an employer's withdrawal was foreseeable and the em-

ployer had executed an agreement with its union in ac
vance of the situation. Economic reality indicates that.
In many situations, an employer may not anticipate hav
ing to close its business, with the consequence of with-
drawing from a multiemployer pension plan. Moreover,

we do not believe that Congress intended to limit

The issue is not only whether an employer “could” form an
agreement to withdraw from a plan, but whether it is likely that
inyone would agree to be bound by it. Counsel for the Pension
Fund conceded as much at oral argument when he noted that it
was inlikely that the Pension Fund would have signed such an

agreement had Crown Cork presented it.

DEFRA’s application to those situations in which a un
ion. or any other party, had consented io the employer's
vithdrawal from a plan. Thus “consent”, by either a
union or a pension fund, is not required as a condition
precedent to an employer's prerogative to make a busi

ness decision simply because that decision results in the

empleyer’s withdrawal from a multiemployer pension

We thus turn to Congress’ intent in enacting DEFRA.
In enacting DEFRA, Congress had concluded that
MPPAA’s retroactive effective date was unduly harsh be
cause it imposed significant unexpected liability on em-
ployers who withdraw before the statute was enacted.
Moreover, it was discovered that retroactive application
of MPPAA was unnecessary to preserve the financial in
tegrity of the plans.” In enacting DEFRA, Congress
singled out a group of employers it believed was treated
unfairly under MPPAA. We believe that Congress, in
requiring some type of “binding agreement to withdraw,”
intended to exclude from withdrawal liability those em

ployers whose actions effectively a

= aah |
nd irrevocably com

8 Congress made two findings in enacting DEFRA and removing
MPPAA’s retroactivity provision. First, Congress recognized
most of the employers who withdrew between April 29 and S
tember 26. 1980 would have done so regardless of the effective
date of MPPAA because these employers had valid reasons extrinsi
to MPPAA for withdrawing from their multiemployer pension
plans. Congress further recognized that many employers who wit}
drew during the period of retroactivity not only did not do
anticipation of MPPAA, but were instead surprised by its enactmen

Because these employers had failed to anticipate the retroactive
withdrawal provisions, they were exposed to large unexpected la

bilities. Long Island Oil Products Co. v. Local 553 Peo ion Fund,
775 F.2d 24, 28 (2d Cir. 1985). Here too, Crown Cork’s July, 1980
decision to close the St. Louis Plant was a legitimate business
decision based on decreased demand for its product. Indeed, the
district court found that there were no bad faith attempts on the
part of the company to alter its course of conduct to avoid wit

drawal liability. Opinion at p. 17%.

l4a

mitted them to withdrawing from a muitiemployer pen

<

sion pin before September 26, 1980.

Crown Cork’s actions prior to September 26, 1980, to
accomplish this objective are undisputed. Its announce
ment of its plant closing occurred in July. Immediately
thereafter Crown Cork’s unions were notified, negotia
tions over the effects of the closing were held, massive
layoffs and transfers occurred, and work already in prog
ress was “finished up” in preparation for a complete shut
down. In sum, a total liquidation was in progress. These
actions carried with them legally binding obligations and
ramifications, such as Crown’s duty to bargain over the
effects of its closing with its unions. First National Main
tenance Corp. v. NLRB, 452 U.S. 666, 676 n.15 (1981

In addition to these commitments Crown Cork had
red into a listing agreement with Turley Martin, a
c | ite bri {ix wr ob I; 0 ating Crown ( ork to sel]
]
i

produced a ready, willing and able
buyer. If Crown Cork did not go through with the sale
it would suffer substantial financial penalties. These ac
tions “bound” Crown Cork to withdraw as ef
as any contractual agreements

We cannot ignore the economic reality that factory

facilities are not readily sold. Most commercial or busi
ness transactions are not simple, one-step transfers, but
multi-step arrangements beginning with an agreement and
ending with a final closing, often many months later
C States, S« cast «& Southwest {reas Pension
Fi v. SSS Corp., 813 F.2d 760, 765 (6th Cir. 1987).
In this case, Crown Cork’s listing agreement with Turley
Martin resulted in an agreement of sale executed on June
3. 1982. close to two years after Crown Cork’s decision
to sell the — and terminate operations. We see no
reason to Stinguish between those employers who,

ugh eee fortun e or favorable market conditions
were able to conclude their business through a sale to a

ready, willing and able buyer, and those who had made

an economic decision to close their business and had
taken concrete steps to accomplish this objective but were

unable to secure a ready Duyer.

B.

Having concluded that Crown Cork satisfies DEFRA 's
first requirement, we turn now to the issue of whether a
complete withdrawal occurred before December 31, 1980.
Under the MPPAA, a complete withdrawal occurs in one
of two separate and distinct ways, when an employer
either: “permanently ceases to have an obligation to con
tribute under the plan, or (2) permanently ceases all
covered operations under the plan.” 29 U.S.C. § 1383
(a)(2). The first test focuses on the employer's con-
tribution of funds to a multiemployer pension plan. The
second test defines withdrawal based on the status of an
employer’s “covered operations.” Admittedly Crown
Cork does not meet the contributions test for withdrawal
because Crown Cork continued to make contributions
to the Pension Fund until November, 1981. The date
of a complete withdrawal is defined as “the date of the
cessation of the obligation to contribute or the cessation

of covered operations.” 29 U.S.C. § 1383(e).

The district court found that, for all practical put

poses, Crown Cork had suspended its operations by De
cember 31, 1980, thus effecting a complete withdrawal!
The district court acceptec these undisputea ractS: Crown
Cork had terminated or transferred most of its employees

n!

he “2 the ea - Vante her | t's . . nek L,
before the end of September, 1980; those employees who

remained at the plant were engaged in “‘finishing up”

work of a de minimis nature: production line-hours in
October. 1980 totalled 265 line-hours, representing roughly
$°% of a typical pre-closure monthly total of 4,419 line
hours: as of September 26, 1980 no new orders we!
processed at the St. Louis plant; after October 10, 19380
Wl production activity ceased and the only remaining ac

tivities at the plant consisted of tasks incidental to clos-

rr

loa

Ing, after December 31, 1980 the only employees remain
ing at the plant were three production and maintenancs
workers, one clerical worker and four management em

pl wWVeCReS

In its appeal, the Pension Fund argues that Crown
Cork did not completely withdraw from the Pension Fund
until November 6, 1981, when its last production and
maintenance employee was laid off and it ceased making
any contributions on behalf of this employee to the Pen
sion Fund.” The Pension Fund relics on the decision of
the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Cir
cuit that a complete withdrawal does not occur until all,
that is, one hundred percent of an employer’s covered
operations, cease. In Trustees of Tron Workers Local 473
Pension Trust v. Allied Products Corp., 872 #.2d 208
(7th Cir.). cert. denied, 493 U.S. 847 (1989). the Court
of Appeals held that 13% 3(a)(2)'s clear and unam
biguous language required that a// (100% ) of the cov
cred operations must permanently cease before an em
ployer has completely withdrawn from a plan. The court
reversed the decision of the district court which held it
sufficient if “virtually all” covered operations came to a
halt. §72 F.2d at 212. The Court of Appeals interpreted
“covered operations” under ERISA as referring to those

ad The Pension Fund a ert that because Crow: {or} Wa (
vated to contribute to the plan until November, 1981 t did not
effect i co lets thdrawal until these ontrit Lior ( f
ie, vn Cork counter LnNAL. } rder for a n of rat
to | ( r i rate from ce ihior | nt
l tL be « 1? d to meu the ct t ( } | the
(°) r) ( rk maint l het { ce t l | i I
to Oe ! the 4 } qd] s¢ if ! ( i (
1 re ? Tye . Tio; ( (¢ iboutie to t} ! B
fata ting @) Lior T¢ ty t } ryee t }
( tributior th Pens Fund I } t f I
ay T1¢ to cont) te th 1 Oo} Vitnad) fe
y ( ty of Lis QO] \ il h u 1 ry l the Tie
( tior Tl} Hit

l/7a

operations covered by the collective bargaining agreement
for which the employer must contribute to the pension
plan. $72 F.2d at 214 n.10. The issue was « haracterized
as “whether bargaining unit work is being performed fo
which contributions are being made,” not simply whethe!
production work is being performed

We are influenced again by the legislative history ol
these statutes, In the Report of the House Committce on
education and Labor discussing MPPAA’s section 1565
(a)(2). the following statement ts instructive

It 4s intended nowevel that a complete vithd

rawdi
occurs as under current law, where an employer has
ceased virtually all operations at the facility Tor

which the employer makes contributions to the plan

H Rep NO Q6-%69 Pt [ QOHth ( ong ad Se
reprinted in 1980 US.C.C.A.N. at 2936 (empha

added ) In addition a report drafted by the Senat
Labor and Human Resources Committee, discu th
requirement that a cessation of operations be per
indicates that when Congress used the term “operati
it meant normal business activit'
The committee intends that covered operations ¢
treated as having permanently ceased wl
activity substantially ceases or wl t con ies b

'
no ionger give rise to yntripbutuion Q

18a

S. Rep. 1076, 96th Cong., 2d Sess. at 12, 13. And from
the Report of the House Commitee on Education and
! Labor discussing MPPAA:

Current law does not define a withdrawal. As under
current law, a virtually complete cessation of con-
tributions, e.g., a 98 percent reduction, that has the
same effect on the plan as a complete cessation of
contributions is a complete withdrawal.

H.R. Rep. No. 96-869, Pt. I, 96th Cong., 2d Sess. 73,
reprinted in 1980 U.S.C.C.A.N. 2918, 2941.

We find that the statutory language “all covered opera-
tions” is not sufficiently clear and free from ambiguity
as to stand on its own. Resort to legislative history is
thus mandated. Indeed, we find that two of the terms
contained in that phrase, specifically “covered” and
“operations,” cannot be defined without resort to it. Our
examination of the legislative history leads us to con-
clude that substantial cessation of normal business activ-
ity meets the complete withdrawal standard.

We also join those district courts which have focused
on the type of work in which the employer was normally
engaged—its true operations. Where it was clear that
an employer had ceased its normal business operations in
preparation for a shut down, these courts have held that
the performance of non-operational tasks incidental to
a total closing of the facility does not prevent the court’s
finding that a complete withdrawal has occurred." Thus,

11 See, e.g., Speckman v. Barford Chevrolet Co., 535 F. Supy
488 (E.D. Mo. 1982) (a complete withdrawal can occur even if
the employer retains employees on its payroll to terminate the
business, thus a car dealership which had terminated all but one
of its employees from a preclosure work force of 18, to assist the
employer in the winding up of the employer’s automobile dealer-
ship business and whose remaining employee was not engaged in
selling cars had completely withdrawn); Tertile Workers Pension
Fund v. Standard Dye & Finishing Co., 607 F. Supp. 570 (S:D. N.Y
1985) (employer was not obligated to pay withdrawal assessments

ee

19a

we find the district court did not err as a matter of law

{

in finding a complete withdrawal had occurred for
DEFRA purposes.

IV

We conclude that the district court did = n

inding Crown Cork exempt from) withdrawal
because it complied with DEFRA \ccordingly,

affirm the decision of the district court
\ True Copy:

Teste:

20a
APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE
EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Civil Action No. 84-5737

CROWN CORK AND SEAL COMPANY. INC..
laintif? and

Counter-Defendant,
VS.

CENTRAL STATES, SOUTHEAST AND SOUTHWEST
AREAS PENSION FUND, ef al.,
Defendants and
Counter-Plaintiffs.

Civil Action No. 91-4423

CENTRAL STATES, SOUTHEAST AND SOUTHWES1T
AREAS PENSION FUND, et al..
Plaintiff,

CROWN CORK AND SEAL, IN«
dD. ? ndant

MEMORANDUM OF DECISION
[Filed Mar. 31, 1992]
McGlynn, J. March 30, 1992

Before the court is plaintiff Crown Cork & Seal Com-
pany, Inc.’s (“Crown Cork”) motion, pursuant to 29

2la

U.S.C. § 1401(b)(2), to vacate an arbitration award
entered on January 15, 1991 and supplemented on June
7, 1991, by Arbitrator James Clair Duff. Defendant
Central States, Southeast and Southwest Areas Pension
Fund (“Fund”) moves for summary judgment to enforce
the arbitration award and opposes Crown Cork’s motion
to vacate. For the reasons that follow, Crown Cork’s mo-
tion to vacate the arbitration award will be GRANTED.

I. FACTUAL BACKGROUND '

Crown Cork is a Pennsylvania corporation with its
principal place of business in Philadelphia. Crown Cork
manutactures and sells cans, closures, and machinery. It
previously operated a plant for such purposes in St. Louis.
Missouri. In early 1980, Crown Cork’s management con-
sidered closing the St. Louis plant because of outmoded
facilities and economic conditions. In July, 1980, Crown
Cork informed the Director of Industrial Relations, Har-
old Abrams, that management had made a final decision
to close the St. Louis plant.

Defendant Fund is a multiemployer pension plan within
the meaning of $$ 3(2), (35) and (37)(A) of ERISA,
29 U.S.C. § 1002(2), (35), and (37)(A), as amended
by the Multiemployer Pension Plan Amendments Act
(“MPPAA”), $$ 207(a) 302(a).” Employees at the St.

1 The parties have stipulated to the facts underlying this cass

“Under ERISA, an employer withdrawing from a multiemploye:
pension fund could escape withdrawal liability if the plan sur-
ived for five years after the withdrawal. 29 U.S.C. § 1364 (1982
On September 26, 1980, Congress enacted the MPPAA which im
posed “withdrawal liability” on any employer who withdrew fron
a multiemployer plan after April 29, 1980. Congress was concerned

hat employers were withdrawing from multiemployer plans, betting
that the plans would not fail for five years. If so, the employers
ould not be liable for unfunded benefits under ERISA. H.R. Rey
No. 869. 96th Cong... 2d S« ss., 54-55, reprinted in 1980 U.S. Cod

2918, 2922-23

er
aia

Louis plant were represented by four separate unions.
Production, maintenance and some clerical employees at
the St. Louis plant were represented by Locai 688 of the
Brotherhood of Teamsters (“Local 688”). Under an
agreement with Local 688, Crown Cork made pension
contributions to the Fund for those union employees.

Crown Cork’s Director of Production Control notified
all of Crown Cork’s Vice-Presidents for Sales, Plant Man-
agers, Production Managers, and all Sales Office Man-
agers, as well as other senior management personnel,
that the St. Louis plant would close at the end of busi-
ness, on Friday, September 26, 1980.

On July 28, 1990, Abrams, the Director of Industrial
Kelations, sent a letter to Ken DeGrande, Local 688’s
Business Representative, informing him that “it is ex-
pected that the closing will occur by the end of September
1980.” (Mem. of Law in Supp. of Pl.’s Mot. to Vacate
Arb. Award, App. 1. Ex. B) (hereinafter “Mot. to Va-
cate”). DeGrande acknowledged receipt of Abrams’ let-
ter. Abrams and DeGrande met on August 13, 1980, and
on several occasions thereafter to negotiate aspects of the
plant closing, including severance pay, vacation pay, and
other related matters. As of March 1980, 148 main-
tenance and production employees from Local 688
worked at the plant. After layoffs and terminations,
forty-four employees remained as of September 25, 1980.
Of the clerical unit employees of Local 688, twelve were
employed at the St. Louis plant as of March 1980. That
number was reduced to four employees as of September
25, 1980.

of a ik gthy legislative proces il withdraw } ( g
d ted necessary re ns ne s Pp ky (
nty Corp RA G & ¢ is7 t).S. 717. 737 1984 4 ;
+} Sayre ( . } oa ,
Id., Congre 1 §558 of DEFR
retroact Sl ( he MPPAA

23a

Crown Cork put the St. Louis plant up for sale by
listing it with a real estate broker, Turley Martin Com-
pany. According to the listing contract, if a qualified

buyer was produced, Crown Cork was obligated to pay
a commission whether or not a sale came to fruition.

\s of October 10, 1980, production activities at the
h

plant had ceased. The remaining work at the p

sisted of final clean-up, maintenance, dismantling, and

ant con-

disposal of equipment and property. By December 31,
1980, only four Local 688 member employees remained:
three from production and maintenance, and one member
from the clerical unit. The last production and main-
tenance unit employee was laid off on November 6, 1981.

If, PROCEDURAL HISTORY

On November 2. 1983, the Fund asserted that Crown
Cork owed over $1.3 million in withdrawal liability, pur-
suant to the MPPAA. Denying any withdrawal liability,
Crown Cork filed this suit for declaratory judgment in
November, 1984. Crown Cork asserted that the Deficit
Reduction Act of 1984 (“DEFRA”), Pub. L. No. 98-
369, § 558(a) & (d), 98 Stat. 494 (1984), reprinted at
29 U.S.C. § 1381 Note.” exempted it from withdrawal

T "TDA — > y ° a wt «
DEFRA provides in pertinent part

biUiiil

24a

liability. Crown Cork maintained that it had an egree
ment to withdraw and that all normal operations ceased
before September 26, 1980, thereby complying with the
exemntion terms of the statute. In the alternative, Crown
Cork argued that it had made a “binding agreement to
withdraw” by September 26, 1980, even if it had not
withdrawn by that date. On the absence of disputed
facts, both parties filed motions for summary judgment
This court granted Crown Cork’s motion for summary
judgment and denied the Fund’s cross motion in an order

issued on December 30, 1988

The Fund appealed to the United States Court ol
\ppeals for the Third Circuit. Crown Cork & Seal Co
v. Central States. Southeast and Southwest Areas Pension
Fund, 881 F.2d 11 (3d Cir. 1989). The Third Circuit
affirmed the order denying the Fund’s cross motion and
i tha

reversed

the order granting Crown Cork’s summary judg
ment motion. The Court remanded the case to the district
court with instructions to “defer the matter to arbitra
tion” pursuant to 29 U.S.C. § 1401(a)(1) (1982). Id

at 19-20

Within sixty days of the Third Circuit's decision, the
Fund demanded interim payments of withdrawal liability
pursuant to 29 U.S.C I401(d) (1982)° and also de
manded that Crown Cork initiate arbitration

On September 13, 1989, the Fund initiated an act
in the United States District Court for the Northern Dis
trict of Illinois, Central States, et v. Crown Cork &
Seal Co., No. 89-6943 (N.D.IIl March 7. 1990). to en
force its claim for interim payments. On October 22
1989, this court entered an Order on Remand which di

rected the parties to proceed promptly to arbitration

‘The MPAA eempow h rt to order
) thst ling rat ) S )
Vercl r ( , 889 F.2d 1 (1 198
Tiger I ] ( Stat S & S
Per ; 704 F. Supp. 1277 (D. Del. 1989
‘

25a

stayed this matter pending arbitration, and enjoined fur-
ther proceedings in the lawsuit filed in the Northern Dis-
trict of Illinois. The Fund also was granted leave to
request interim payments for the alleged withdrawal lia-

bility from this court

The Fund appealed this order to the Third Circuit.
At the urging of the Third Circuit panel hearing oral

. + > ? ! , ) "c+ ec> "“s> , ‘
argument. a stipulation was agreed to, resulting in a
licmissal of the appeal. Crown Cork & Seal Co. \ C en-

il i /}
tral States Southeast, etc., et al., No. 89-2014, Order and
Motion (3d Cir. May 25, 1990), and provided, inter alia,
that: arbitration, conducted de novo, would proceed in
Chicago; this court would retain jurisdiction over this
matter pending arbitration and any appeals from the ar-
bitration process; and the lawsuit for interim payments
filed in the Northern District of Illinois would be dis-
missed. /d. Furthermore, Crown Cork agreed to com-
mence interim payments on June 1, 1990, without for-

feiting any of Its claims or defenses.

rhe Arbitrator’s Award
The parties submitted a stipulation of facts to Arbitra-
1. James Clair Duff.’ In an opinion issued January 15,
9) rator decided in favor of the Fund, reject-
Crown Cork’s DEFRA defense. To clarity the hia-

bility payment schedule, Arbitrator Dufl retained juris

rl
yriefs submitted by the parties. His
final decision, rendered June 7, 1991, declared Crown
Cork liable in the amount of $2,072,247.08 in principal
ebruary 20, 1991. for withdrawal lia-

|

uff found

The facts on record do not warrant any conclusion
that covered operations at the Company's St. Louis
September 26, 1980 within

26a

the meaning of § 558(a)(1). In addition, there 1s
no evidence capable of sustaining a finding that as
of that date Crown had a binding agreement to with
draw from the Plan within the meaning of § 558(d)

"

Crown Cork & Seal Co. v. Central States Southeast and
Southwest Areas Pension Fund, (Amer. Arb. Assoc.) Case
No. 51 621 0022 89 V, p. 5 (1991) (Duff, Arb.) Chere
inafter ““Award”). Crown Cork’s appeal and motion to

vacate followed

[1] JURISDICTION AND STANDARD OF REVIEW

Jurisdiction of this court is predicated upon 29 U.S.¢
S$ 1401(b)(2) (1988) Cany party to an arbitration pro
ceeding can request judicial review no later than thirty
days after issuance of arbitrators award in appropriate
federal district court). The court may enforce, vacate,

or modify the arbitrator's award. /d.

In an MPAA arbitration appeal, the arbitrator's factual
findings “are presumed to be correct and are ‘rebuttable
only by a clear preponderance of the evidence. ~ Hube)

Casablanca Indus., Inc., 916 F.2d 85, 89 (3d Ci
1990). petition for cert. filed, (Jan. 9, 1991) (quoting
29 U.S.C. § 1401 (c)). The arbitrator's legal conclusions

: ,
ro re TAL > j , j
C reviewed ade hHovo., Id.

It is Crown Cork’s position that the Arbitrators award
upon a misinterpretation of MPPAA and
DEFRA §$ 558, and thus his misreading of the statutory
] 5

guage “complete withdrawal” and “binding agreement

to withdraw permit de novo review. (Crown Cork &
Seal’s Reply Mem. of Law in Supp. of Mot. to Vacate.
¢ , Tha . . > 1a 1 > ra ; 7.

c. p. 4-10) [he Fund contends the issues are mixed

questions of law and fact, and posits that “[t]hese factua

4 } I rely ni g tito? ntey
IT Mi 17 \
Lic } i j rl \ f / f f
4 r . .ORRF
; f 4 f if Ni S)-25 { | |
» Pel: ( 4 } ) RP5 | ’d 415 i) 4
1Q8
j

findines must be presumed correct and can only

butted by a clear preponderance of the evidence.” (en

phasis added) (Central States Br. in Supp. of Summ
1 for Enforcement of Arb. Award and in Opp n. to Mot
to \ ite Av ip. 13)

\ C TIX } questions of tact ind law Ih 4 estion Ol
view het Whether cred operations at the St. Lou
Mant nad ceased before Sep ber 26, i980 and whet
Crown Cork had a binding agreement to withdrayv
e characterized by tl lhird ¢ |

ng areuende that some sort of agreement

| Ajssum

iS In fact necessary to sausly sec

agreement to withdraw” requirement, it would ap

pear to be a mixed question of law and fact whether
Crown Cork’s “agreement” with Local 688 to clo
the plant. or its listing agreement with Turley Mar
tin. satisfy the statutory dictates, and a predon
nantly factual question whether the partic tended

to be bound in the requisite fashion as of September
26. 1980. See. Warner-Lambert Co. v. United Re
tail & Wholesale Emplovee’s Teamster Local Ne

Q :

3 IRT-BR (3d (

Zsa
, huestic ,{ het Crown (
nent! [d vered operations under
Prem purstiant tron 1 3A (2) by D
1 1980 t characterized a mixed

lactual and legal ons

\

Cork &
Southwest
(3d ¢ IT

Crown Seal Co. v. Central States

Pension / TAAL ~ x | |

Southeast and

{reas 2d 11, 18 n

1OK9)
Standard of Review
Ihe MPPAA

mixed

articulate no standard of review

and fact \

cribed al al

questions of law
law and fact is de

Pacts Ate

mixed question. of
question in which historical
established, the

the issue is whether

admitted of

rule of law is not

In dispute,

Stati

and the Pacts

Saursty th
whether the rule of
law as applied to the established facts is or IS not violated

Standard. Di of I rnc \

tory standard. In other words.

Pullman. Swint

In an appea

m irbitration iward ind
MPPAA, the Seventh Circuit opted for a ir] r
roneous” standard Of review for mixed (J 1] QO} la
i ract ( Ty ich Dri Cc) el | Lou Jah
Drug Co., 890 F.2d 1405. 1411 (7th Cir 1980 |

f the MPPAA r ( t

rejected the clearly erroneous standard fo mixed q
to of law and fact 5 ' Fields \ 1/ Gren. 4

OL)AAOS

1992 U.S
( 2 1992): United Stat
199? US (

$0005 \pp. LEXIS 1999 (9th Cir. J
RP f ny ‘ r] reo? }
, r? T the } i
4 b 4 lef t, y firm ¢ et } ‘ ‘
t lilegheny Int'l. Ir Synade No, 9 1
1] Bet Jey 2] 199? moti / fed Stat
Cs 264 G5 1948 q led an And
f y hie CM ¢ f fay A] 17 om 764 7 74 19%

aT, ob
Vi BY, BAL

1992 U.S
Loe khart. 7)

,
thod of fF ¥ to the matter sub
f ' amnciat rit r 7; , cl ty
l ) ) j f Mea }
| |
huttal Corny a) j f if DrepDor
’ ;

iT irhitrator bye ih t I) de
r) cor rina)
; ' , Wis tir +} ry : cj
rl SI | yt] }?| rit bysy { j
) { Hf rie | +} ; ‘ ovr ,

IV. DISCUSSTIO’

’
we)

gave rise to contributions to the plan.” The preponderance
of these facts bolsters the Arbitrator’s conclusion that cov
ered operations had not ceased before September 26,

L9OS8Q.

2. Crown Cork’s Binding Agreement to Withdraw

DEFRA sets forth another special rule which exempts
an employer from withdrawal liability. If the employer
has a “binding agreement to withdraw” in place by Sep-
tember 26, 1980, then cemplete withdrawal may occur
before December 31, 1980. Pub. L. No. 98-369, Q 558
(aj) & (d), 98 Stat. 494 (1984), reprinted at 29 U.S.C.

1381 Note (1984). Thus, a two-step inquiry ts neces-
sary: 1) Did Crown Cork have a binding agreement to
withdraw; and if so, 2) Did a complete withdrawal occur
before the end of i980.

In his decision, Arbitrator Duff reasons, “the statute
[DEFRA] contains neither a definition of a ‘binding
agreement to withdraw’ nor an explanation of the phrase.”
Award at 6. Citing no authority, he then interprets the
language of “binding agreement to withdraw” as:

[An] agreement of sale that would lead to a with
drawal from a multiemployer pension plan. This
Arbitrator is not authorized to expand exceptions to
withdrawal liability that Congress did not fashion.
The existence of an enforceable agreement on or
before September 26, 1980 committing Crown to sell
its assets would relieve Crown of its withdrawal lia-
bility, but the mere fact that de facto Crown was
committed to its plan to close the St. Louis Plant is
not enough to satisfy the statute's literal require
ments.

Award at 6-7 (emphasis added ) Reviewed de novo, the

\rbitrators legal interpretation equating “binding

s

—

33a

ment to withdraw from a multiemployer plan” with
“agreement of sale” is unpersuasive and contrary to the
spirit in which DEFRA was enacted. A literal reading of
“binding agreement to withdraw from a multiemployer
plan” creates an ambiguity. An employer cannot “agree”
to withdraw from a multiemployer plan. Rather, the em-
ployer may take definitive action, such as discontinuing
operations, which results in withdrawal. Therefore, a
more expansive reading of the language is required. “In
1984, Congress concluded that MPPAA’s retroactive ef-
fective date was unduly harsh towards employers who
withdrew from multiemployer plans after April 29 but
before September 26, 1980 and unnecessary to preserve
the financial integrity of multiemplo,c: plans.” Central
States, Southeast & Southwest Areas Pension Fund v.
888 Corp., 813 F.2d 760, 765 (6th Cir. 1987) (citing
Staff of Joint Comm. on Taxation, 98th Cong., 2d Sess.
General Explanation of the Revenue Provisions of the
Deficit Reduction Act of 1984, at 893 (Joint Comm.
Print 1985)). To remedy this, DEFRA repealed the
retroactive provisions of MPPAA._ Section 558 ol
DEFRA mandates September 26, 1980 as the new effec-
tive date of complete or partial withdrawal in order to
avoid withdrawal liability. Crown Cork argues effectively
that it falls within the ambit of Congress’ goal to alleviate
harsh consequences for such employers.

Crown Cork announced on July 28, 1980 that the St

Louis plant would close. Employees and their union

representatives were notified, massive lay-offs and_ trans
fers occurred. and finish-up work and liquidation began
Moreover, Abrams and DeGrande met on August 13
1980 and several times thereafter to negotiate certain
ispects of the closure, including severance pay. vacation

pay. and related matters.’ As Crown Cork was obligated

34a

to bargain with Local 688 over the ramifications of the
Plant closing, the actual steps toward final closing were
not executed unilaterally. The Fund itself recognizes
that the key to a pre-DEFRA commitment which would
lead to withdrawal is “the irrevocability of the employ-
ers commitment. Otherwise the employer could simply
alter its conduct and avoid a withdrawal by continuing
to contribute.” (Central States’ Br. in Supp. of Summ.
J. at 30). The true purpose, then, behind § 558 is to
allow exemptions from liability to those employers who
in good faith effectively and irrevocably were committed
to withdrawing from a multiemployer plan ‘before Sep-
tember 26, 1980. Crown Cork’s determination to close
the St. Louis Plant in July was a business decision based
upon economic realities. The effects of closing were
finalized through bargaining with the unions. Clearly
no bad faith attempts by Crown Cork to alter its course
of conduct to avoid withdrawal liability were at issue.
The logical and practical consequences of Crown Cork’s
actions resulted in a withdrawal.

To comport with his legal interpretation of “binding
agreement to withdraw.” the Arbitrator also found that
Crown Cork’s agreement with Turley Martin, a_ real
estate broker, was not a “vehicle to force Crown to sell
its plant if it chose not to.” Award at 7. However, a
more equitable and practical view of the statutory lan-
guage and Congress’ intent in enacting DEFRA negates
the Arbitrator’s narrow interpretation that only an irre-
vocabie contract of sale complies with the statute. In

l.e. misrepresentation, breach of implied contract, estoppel. Pur
suant to the NLRA, an emplover is required to bargain in good
faith regarding the cessation of operations. See, e.g., First Nat
Maintenance Corp. v. NLRB, 452 U.S. 666, 676 n. 15, 69 L. Ed. 2d
118, 101 S. Ct. 2573 (1981); NLRB v. Nat. Car Rental System, Inc.,
672 F.2d 1182, 1188 (3d Cir. 1982). In addition, Crown Cork was
yally obligated to ensure the honesty of its claims to the unions
See, NLRB v. Truitt Mfy. Co., 351 U.S. 149, 152, 100 L. Ed. 1027,
76 S. Ct. 753 (1956); Parker v. Connors Steel Co., 855 F.2d 1510

lith Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 490 U.S. 1066 (1989).

35a

addition to the above commitments by Crown Cork to
withdraw, the company entered into a listing contract
with Turley Martin on September 23, 1980. (Mot. to
Vacate, App. 1, Ex. F). The contract bound Crown
Cork to sell the Plant if the broker produced a “ready,
willing, and able” buyer. /d. If Crown Cork did not
complete the sale, the broker, nevertheless would be
entitled to a fee of $90,000. Given the substantial penalty
provision in the agreement, Crown Cork had a binding
agreement. Also of significance is the economic reality
that factory facilities are not readily sold. One court
has pointed out that:

Most commercial transactions are not simple, one-
step transfers but multi-step arrangements beginning
with an agreement and ending with a final closing,
often months later. Section (d) [of § 558 DEFRA]
is a recognition of this fact and represents a policy
choice by Congress to treat alike both employers
with binding agreements to withdraw before the new
effective date and who do withdraw within the few
months provided, and employers who in fact with-
drew before the effective date, for purposes of cal-
culating lability under MPPAA.

Central States v. 888 Corp., 813 F.2d at 765 (footnote
omitted ).

Therefore, this court finds that the contract between
Crown Cork and Turley Martin falls within the language
and statutory purpose behind “binding agreement to
withdraw.”

3. Complete Withdrawal by December 31, 1980.

Since Crown Cork’s activities constituted a binding
agreement to withdraw, the next inquiry is whether a
complete withdrawal occurred before December 31, 1980.
Under the statute a complete withdrawal occurs when an
employer “permanently ceases all covered operations un-
the plan.” 29 U.S.C. §$ 1383(a)(2). The date of

de r

36a
a complete withdrawal is declined as “the date of . . . the
cessation of covered operations. 29 U.S.C. § 1383(e)
Arbitrator Duff did not reach this inquiry, as he found
no binding agreement to withdraw. See, Award.

Courts have held that an employer is not involved in
“covered operations” when it performs “work activities”
that are “incidental to cessation of normal business ac
tivities.” Textile Workers Pension Fund v. Standard Dye
& Finishing Co., 607 F. Supp. 570, 572, 573 (S.D.N.Y.
1985). See also, Speckman vy. Barford Chevrolet Co.,
535 KF. Supp. 488, 491 (E.D. Mo. 1982) (°An em
ployer ‘ceases covered operations’ if it ceases the busi-
ness activity that gave rise to contributions to the plan.”’).
In the pre DEFRA case of JT. Cobb v. New York State
Teamsters Conference Pension & Retirement Fund, 584
F. Supp. 1181 (N.D.N.Y. 1984), the court found that
Cobb ended its covered operations when it ceased all of
its regular business operations, sold its assets and termi-
nated all of its employees but for a few retained to pe:
form “tasks incident to the closure of operations.” /d.
at 1184. Though Cobb retained between 5% and 9%
of the pre-closure workforce for two months to perform
tasks related to the closure, the court d that a com
plete cessation of covered operations with the meaning

of the MPPAA had occurred. /d. at 1185.

In the more recent case of Connors vo. Economy Blde

Systems, Inc., 651 KF. Supp. 849 (D.D.C. 1986), the
court followed a practical approach in construing “cessa
tion of operations.”” The employer, Economy. contracted
to build mine service facilities tor a coal company. The
project began in 1978 and was completed in late 1980.
During the height of construction, Economy employed
as many as fifteen workers; by August 6, 1980, the las
five employees were laid off. In October 1980, Economy
rehired two employees to do a general clean-up and to
install door hardware. /d. at 850. In that month, em

ployees performed sixty-six hours of work for which the

37a

employer paid $49.50 into the fund. Disputing the Pen
sion Plan’s assessment of $62,389.22 in withdrawal lia
bility, Economy argued that it completely withdrew from
the Plan before September 26, 1980. The court found
that the sixty-six hours of work performed was “‘inci-
dental to the real business of Economy and not of the
sort that will defeat a good faith claim that ‘covered’
operations had ceased.” /d. at 854 (footnote omitted).
Moreover, the court held that to find for the Pension
Plan would “offend the concept of proportionality” and
to hold the employer liable in the amount of $62,389.22
for a minimal amount of clean-up work performed two
months after the company had ceased its basic operations
would be “grossly inequitable.” /d.

Phe Fund, however, relies on Trustees of Iron Workers
Local 473 Pension Trust v. Allied Products Corp., 872
F.2d 208 (7th Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 847
(1989). There the court found that “all”’—100 percent
Of covered operations must cease permanently before
finding that an employer has completely withdrawn from
a multicmployer plan. Thus, any bargaining unit work
being performed, whether clean-up work or de minimus
finish-up work, precludes complete withdrawal. /d. at

Other courts have rejected a literal construction § of
the language in 1383(a)(2). See, Combs, 691. F.
Supp. at 430-31; Connors, 651 F. Supp. at 853-54:
ILGWU National Retirement Fund v. Weatherall Fash
ions, Inc., No. 84 Civ. 9772, slip op., 1986 WL 2757
(S.D.N.Y. 1986); Cobb, 584 F. Supp. at 1183; Speck-
man, 535 Fk. Supp. at 491. I am persuaded that the less
restrictive interpretation of the applicable statutes by
these cases 1S more in keeping with the intent of Congress.

[he undisputed facts show that Crown Cork had
terminated or transferred most of its employees before the
end of September, and the employees who remained were
involved in “‘finish-up” work. Only nine of the twenty-

nine Ma a} ement Cll! ibys inde YU Ol Ne produc-
tion and maintenance employees and one (tnira oF the
clerical stafl stayed on to vrap thi s up i iS pal
ent that the Plant was incapable of engaging In any
thing resembling normal operations. Some de minimus
work continued until October 10, 1980, in order to dis
pose of partially completed cans which otherwise would
have been scrapped. The production line-hours in Oc-
tober 1980 totalled 265 hours which was only 5% olf
a typical pre-closure monthly total of 4419 line hours
Thereafter, production had ceased and the only employees
who remained in the Plant after December 31, 1980 were
three production and maintenance workers, one clerical
worker and four management employees performing only
tasks incidental to plant clos

For all practical purposes, Crown Cork had suspended
its operations by December 31, 1980, thus effecting a

complete withdrawal and exempting it from withdraw:

lability.

\ CONCLUSION

oe
For the aforementioned reasons. the arbitration award

will be \ \¢ ATT ») An appr

. . rier 1]
riate OTUC! I¢ LOWS

39a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE
EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Civil Action No. 84-5

CROWN CorRK AND SEAL COMPANY, IN¢
Plaintif} and

Counter-De fendant,
VS

CENTRAL STATES. SOUTHEAST AND SOUTHWES7
AREAS PENSION FUND, ef al.,

Civil Action No. 91-4423

Cy NTRAL S1 ATES. SOUTHEAST AND SOUTHWEST
AREAS PENSION FUND, et al.,
Plaintiff,

°- « VS.

CROWN CORK AND SEAL, INC.,
Defendant.

Clerk of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit

ORDER

[Filed Mar. 31. 1992]

AND NOW, this 30th day of March 1992, upon con-
sideration of Crown Cork and Seal, Inc.’s Motion to
Vacate the Arbitration Award and defendant's opposition

thereto, it 1s

40a

ORDERED

that plaintiffs motion is GRANTED. The arbitration
award is VACATED. It is further

ORDERED

that defendant's Motion for Summary Judgment is
DENIED.
By THE CourRT:

s/ Joseph L. McGlynn, Jr.
JOSEPH L. MCGLYNN, JR.
J.

4la
APPENDIX C

AMERICAN ARBITRATION ASSOCIATION
MULTIEMPLOYER PENSION PLAN
ARBITRATION RULES

Case Number: 51 621 0022 89 V
IN THE MATTER OF THE ARBITRATION BETWEEN
CROWN CorK & SEAL COMPANY, INC.
and

CENTRAL STATES SOUTHEAST AND
SOUTHWEST AREAS PENSION FUND

AWARD OF ARBITRATOR(S)

I (WE) THE UNDERSIGNED ARBITRATOR(S),
having been designated in accordance with the Arbitra-
tion Agreement entered into by the above-named Parties,
and dated — —— and having been duly sworn and
having duly heard the proofs and allegations of the
Parties, AWARD as follows:

AWARD

Pd
Crown Cork’s reauest to be found to be exempt from
withdrawal liability ba

[Text truncated at 120,000 characters. The full text is on the page linked above.]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_2354%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
