# Opposition Brief — Scully v. Claudio

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_2271%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1993
- **Citation:** 508 U.S. 912

## Text

eupreme Court, U.S,
FILED
APR 27 1993

OF; Woe i i | i Ci ro

!
;
Dertiesasattisshittereiatnineeses

; >:

No. 92-1582

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1992

-@

CHARLES SCULLY, Superintendent
Greenhaven Correctional Facility,

Petitioner,

-V-

ANGEL CLAUDIO,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

WILLIAM E. HELLERSTEIN*

PROSKAUER ROSE GOETZ &
MENDELSOHN

1585 Broadway

New York, N.Y. 10036

(212) 969-3000

Attorneys for Respondent

*Counsel of Record for Respondent

Fae ET

i
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Second Circuit erred in holding that
respondent had a Sixth Amendment right to counsel on his pretrial
appeal to the New Ycrk Court of Appeals from the Appellate
Division’s reversal, on “he prosecution’s appeal, of the trial court’s
suppression ruling in respondent’s favor.

2. Whether the Second Circuit erred in holding that
respondent’s Sixth Amendment right to the effective assistance of
appellate counsel was violated when his attorney failed to raise, in
the New York Court of Appeals, a State constitutional right to
counsel claim which, though decided adversely by the Appellate
Division, presented a question of first impression, and was
supported by numerous Court of Appeals’ precedents. 4

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED ......... Sere)
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .................-.-. ii
FURIRDUETION .... 5. oe ce coe cence naan
STATEMENT OF THECASE ....... eer:

REASONS WHY THE PETITION SHOULD BE DENIED . 2

1. The Second Circuit’s determination, that on his
pretrial appeal to the New York Court of Appeals,
respondent had a Sixth Amendment right to counsel,
is correct under this Court’s prior rulings, including
Ross v. Moffitt, 417 U.S. 600 (1974), and it does
not, therefore, raise any question that merits
IN 6g eae se 2h esther eee 2

2. The Second Circuit’s ruling, that by failing to
protect his client’s rights under state law, a lawyer
can deprive his client of his Sixth Amendment right
to the effective assistance of counsel, is correct, and
does not merit review .........2cc0cc2es 5

3. The Second Circuit’s decision, that on the facts of
this case, respondent was denied his Sixth
Amendment right to the effective assistance of
counsel, is correct and presents no question of
significance to Sixth Amendment jurisprudence or to
federalism that merits review .............. 7

RE Sno ck vv nw es ee a eee 12

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page
Bishop v. Wood,

I kk x aw se a a ose 8 8 10
Butler v. McKellar,

ee ahs we el alu bbe «Ks e os 4
Claudio v. Scully,

ok gd Se wavs ws 6 he ee l
Coleman v. Alabama,

a a ae 2
Coleman v. Thompson,

ee 4

-Evitts v. Lucey,
ee re 7

Frisby v. Schultz,
sew ee ee 10

Hamilton v. Alabama,
er a

Jones v. Barnes,
eg pk ee eee ee ee a

Kimmelman v. Morrison,
en pa pe ee kt ee ee 6

Kirby v. Illinois,
ee ak eke wk ee 4

People v. Beam,
Br ta. 0 a0 ool, 455 N.Y.S.20 S75 (1982) ........ 10

People v. Bing,
76 N.Y.2d 331, 559 N.Y.S.2d 474 (1990) ......... 7

People v. Kinchen,
60 N.Y.2d 772, 469 N.Y.S.2d 680 (1983) ........ 1]

People v. Santorelli,
80 N.Y.2d 875, 587 N.Y.S.2d 601 (1992) ........ 1]

Planned Parenthood v. Casey,
AG Se Ms f. «Saaremaa are ee trae oe 10

Ross v. Moffitt,
re ee EE can ak ee aS ae ee 2-4

Smith v. Murray,
es I os ens 0 hn Dg ge ee ee 6

Stone v. Powell,
ee es OE. ss oo we 8 ee a eee 6

Strickland v. Washington,
nn: I, ck yu np 0 Bee eee wo ee kA 7

Teague v. Lane,
Se ED. yb 5X 0 4 4 0 0 a8 bee ee ee 4

United States v. Ash,
of fe Se 0) arr me ere 4

United States v. Wade,
BR rae 2,3

Wainwright v. Torna,
ee a SO nc kc ks Cy he ee Oe ae oe 4

West v. American Tel. & Tel. Co.,
ee Se: ee EE enc es was eee eee 8

—————

Vv Page
Withrow v. Williams,
eS Se oe 6
Statutes
os ee ee are ere ee ye I
N.Y. Crim. Proc. Law §450.50 (McKinney 1983) ........ 3
N.Y. Crim. Proc. Law §470.35 (McKinney 1983) ....... 1]

| ’

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1992
No. 92-1582
+

CHARLES SCULLY, Superintendent
Greenhaven Correctional Facility,

Petitioner,

-V-

ANGEL CLAUDIO,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

The Respondent, Angel Claudio, respectfully requests that this
Court deny the Petition for Certiorari seeking review of the Second
Circuit’s decision in this case. The Court’s opinion is reported at
982 F.2d 798 (1992) and is set forth at pages 3a-35a of the
Petition.

JURISDICTION

Petitioner invokes the jurisdiction of this Court under 28
U.S.C. §1254(1).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Respondent adopts the statement of facts in the majority
opinion of the Second Circuit set forth at Pet. App. 5a-10a.

2
REASONS WHY THE PETITION SHOULD BE DENIED

1. The Second Circuit’s determination, that on his
pretrial appeal to the New York Court of Appeals, respondent
had a Sixth Amendment right to counsel, is correct under this
Court’s prior rulings, including Ross v. Moffitt, 417 U.S. 600
(1974), and it does not, therefore, raise any question that merits
review.

Petitioner’s contention that the "Second Circuit has created a
major new exception to the rule of Ross v. Moffitt, 417 U.S. 600
(1974)" (Pet. 7), misstates the issue, misreads Ross, and ignores
entirely this Court’s rulings that guarantee criminal defendants the
right to counsel at all critical stages of the proceedings against
them. See United States v. Wade, 388 U.S. 218, 227 (1967);
Coleman v. Alabama, 399 U.S. 1, 7 (1970); Hamilton v. Alabama,
368 U.S. 52, 54 (1961).

Contrary to petitioner’s claim (Pet. 9, 10), Ross v. Moffitt did
not, irrespective of the stage of the criminal process at which a
discretionary appeal is taken, purport to create a rule governing all
such appeals. Then Justice Rehnquist, writing for the Court,
articulated the critical distinction between the post-conviction
appellate process, in which the defendant is "seeking not to fend off
the efforts of the State’s prosecutor but rather to overturn a finding
of guilt made by a judge or jury below," and the pretrial stages of
a criminal prosecution, in which the defendant "needs an attorney
... tO protect him against being ‘haled into court’ by the State and
stripped of his presumption of innocence...." Ross v. Moffitt, 417
U.S. at 610-11.

The Second Circuit assessed correctly the soundness of this
distinction and applied the Ross holding appropriately in this case.
As the court pointed out, respondent’s appeal to the New York
Court of Appeals was part of the pretrial process at which he was
still entitled to the presumption of innocence and at which he was
entitled to contest the admissibility of evidence against him. Pet.
App. 13a. It was also the final phase of an appellate process that
the prosecution, not he, had initiated. Jd. Because the trial court

3

had suppressed respondent’s confession, not only did the
prosecution have to appeal, they were required by New York Law
to certify that without the confession, the case against respondent
could not go forward. N.Y. Crim. Proc. Law §450.50 (McKinney
1983); Pet. App. 12a. To argue, as petitioner does, that in this
circumstance a defendant can be required to go it alone, is fanciful.

Both the language and logic of Ross dictate that the critical
factor as to whether the Sixth Amendment right to counsel attaches
at a pretrial stage of a criminal proceeding is not whether the
defendant’s appeal is discretionary but whether the appeal is a
critical stage of the pretrial process. Not only does Justice
Rehnquist’s "shield-sword" metaphor apply directly to any critical
stage of the trial process, this Court, in deciding "criticalness," has
always focused on whether "[w]hat happens ... may affect the
whole trial," Hamilton v. Alabama, 368 U.S. at 54, and whether
"potential substantial prejudice to defendant’s rights inheres in the
... ability of counsel to help avoid that prejudice." United State v.

Wade, supra, 388 U.S. at 227.

Petitioner is simply wrong, therefore, in asserting that "the
rationale of Ross is applicable to any second-level discretionary
appeal, whether it occurs before or after trial." Pet. 9. To ignore
the distinction between a discretionary post-conviction appeal by a
defendant who is seeking to overturn his conviction, and a
discretionary pretrial appeal in which the defendant seeks to
preserve the trial court’s suppression ruling in his favor would
create the following illogical, and arguably ludicrous, pretrial
scenario.

Under petitioner’s theory, an indicted defendant who,
indisputably, has a right to counsel at arraignment, at any post-
indictment identification procedure, at all pretrial suppression
hearings and on an interlocutory appeal by the prosecution, may
have that chain of representation broken when he is granted review
by the State’s highest court of the intermediate court’s interlocutory
ruling. But once he loses that appeal and the case is remanded for
trial, his constitutional entitlement to counsel, as it must, resumes
and remains in place through completion of his initial post-

Setar

4

conviction appeal. That this hiatus in representation occurs at the
most significant pretrial event ir. the case — the decision by the
State’s highest court as to whether the prosecution can proceed —
does not trouble petitioner is one thing; that it is an acceptable part
of the landscape of the criminal process that Ross v. Moffitt, or any
decision of this Court, contemplates, is quite something else.

Petitioner's equation of respondent’s post-indictment, pretrial
appeal, the sole purpose of which was to reinstate the trial court's
suppression order, with pre-indictment, non-custodial questioning
(Pet. 10), further exposes the weakness of petitioner’s argument.
Petitioner can point to no case in which this Court has held the
Sixth Amendment counsel guarantee inapplicable to any post-
indictment stage of the proceeding other than the post-conviction
discretionary appeal in Moffitt, and the certiorari and collateral
attack proceedings in Wainwright v. Torna, 455 U.S. 586 (1982),
and Coleman v. Thompson, 111 S. Ct. 2546 (1991). Indeed, even
at pretrial stages where counsel’s advocacy role is much more
circumscribed than it is on a defendant’s pretrial appeal to a state's
highest court, the Sixth Amendment’s right to counsel is
indefeasible. See Kirby v. Illinois, 406 U.S. 682 (1972). See also,
United States v. Ash, 413 U.S. 300, 310 (1973).

In sum, not only does the Second Circuit's decision create no
exception to any rule announced in Ross v. Moffitt, it falls easily
within the Ross rationale. Because the decision is also fully
consistent with the many decisions mandating that the Sixth
Amendment guarantees a defendant the right to counsel at all
critical stages of the proceedings, it has established no "new rule"
and thus raises no question that implicates the principles of Teague
v. Lane, 489 U.S. 288, 299 (1989) (plurality op.), or Butler v.
McKellar, 494 U.S. 407 (1990), and its progeny.

Contrary to petitioner’s assertion, the Second Circuit’s ruling
will not “open the doors of the federal courts to a substantial
number of new challenges to state criminal convictions." Pet. 11.
All that petitioner musters in support of his floodgate-like argument
is his statement that "pretrial appeals from rulings suppressing
evidence or dismissing indictments are not at all unusual." /d. It

5

should be apparent, however, that this case does not involve all
pretrial appeals by the prosecution.

As there is already a federal constitutional right to counsel on
a first appeal, even when it is post-conviction, all that this case
concerns are those few appeals, in states which have a two-tier
appellate process, in which at least eight events must occur: (a) the
intermediate appellate court has reversed a suppression or dismissal
ruling adverse to the prosecution, (b) the State’s high court has
granted review, (c) the State’s high court has affirmed the
intermediate appellate court’s ruling, (d) the defendant is convicted,
(e) the conviction is affirmed on appeal at both levels of the State’s
appellate process, (f) the defendant claims that his representation
before the State’s high court on his pretrial appeal was
constitutionally inadequate, (g) the defendant adequately presents
that claim to the State courts and (h) the State court rejects the
claim.

Therefore, to reach a federal habeas court in a case such as
this, the preconditions are so numerous that a duplication of its
procedural history would be extremely rare. That petitioner has
failed to point to any case that comes close to replicating this one
attests to its highly unique procedural posture. Consequently, the
Second Circuit’s decision will have little, if any, impact on the
work of the federal courts.

Petitioner also has pointed to no decision of any court with
which the Second Circuit’s decision conflicts. For these reasons,
review by the Court is unwarranted.

2. The Second Circuit’s ruling, that by failing to protect
his client’s rights under state law, a lawyer can deprive his
client of his Sixth Amendment right to the effective assistance
of counsel, is correct, and does not merit review.

In determining that respondent’s Sixth Amendment right to the
effective assistance of counsel was violated by his attorney’s failure
to raise a viable State constitutional claim, the Second Circuit cited
five cases that accept the proposition that an ineffective assistance

6

claim can be predicated on an attorney’s failure to secure rights
afforded by state law to his or her client. See Pet. App. 13a, n.5.
Petitioner strains mightily to separate these cases from that logical
principle by labeling them as cases in which “the omitted claims
had roots in federal as well as state law." Pet. 12.

Apart from the fact that none of these decisions even discussed
"roots," the underlying principle, that counsel’s failure to protect
a client’s state constitutional and statutory entitlements can ‘violate
the Sixth Amendment, is so fundamentally sound as to merit little
discussion. To conclude otherwise, would be to accept the
proposition that, no matter how inept counsel’s performance may
be, the Sixth Amendment guarantee of effective assistance can
never be implicated when such ineptitude results only in the loss of
a defendant’s state law rights. Though he dissented for other
reasons, Judge Newman also rejected this argument, stating his
agreement with the majority “that the federally guaranteed right to
the effective assistance of counsel includes some obligation of
counsel to assert claims and defenses grounded in state as well as
federal law." Pet. App. 24a.' Since petitioner cites no contrary

Judge Newman appears unnecessarily hesitant in so concluding. He
acknowledges that language in Smith v. Murray, 477 U.S. 527
(1986), lends support to his conclusion. He could have found even
greater support, however, in Kimmelman v. Morrison, 477 U.S. 365
(1986). In that case, the Court held that although Stone v. Powell,
428 U.S. 465 (1976), precludes the availability of federal habeas
corpus for Fourth Amendment violations, habeas corpus remains
available for Sixth Amendment ineffective assistance claims that are
predicated on counsel's failure to protect a defendant's Fourth
Amendment rights. The same logic applies here because, as in
Kimmelman, the common denominator is the Sixth Amendment's
guarantee of effective assistance, not the source of the substantive
right forfeited by counsel's incompetence. After Stone v. Powell, for
federal habeas purposes, a substantive Fourth Amendment claim is
as unavailable as a state law claim always has been. Insofar as
Kimmelman affords habeas relief where the predicate for ineffective
assistance nonetheless is grounded in the Fourth Amendment, its
logic commands the same result when the predicate is grounded in
state law. See Withrow v. Williams, 1993 WL 119753 (U.S.) 4
(continued...)

7

authority, there exists no reason for this Court to address it.

3. The Second Circuit’s decision, that on the facts of this
case, respondent was denied his Sixth Amendment right to the
effective assistance of counsel, is correct and presents no
question of significance to Sixth Amendment jurisprudence or
to federalism that merits review.

It is settled beyond dispute that the Sixth Amendment
guarantees a defendant the right to the effective assistance of
counsel on appeal. Evitts v. Lucey, 469 U.S. 387, 394-97 (1985).
The only question, therefore, is whether the court below applied
that principle correctly to the facts of the case. Because the issue
is fact-specific, there is no reason for the Court to depart from its
general practice of not reviewing discrete factual applications of
undisputed constitutional principles.

The Second Circuit’s determination that respondent’s counsel’s
failure to raise his State constitutional claim fell “outside the wide
range of professionally competent assistance" (Pet. App. 18a)
required by Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668, 690 (1984),
was correct. By 1983, no attorney practicing criminal law in New
York could fail to raise a State right to counsel claim in a case such
as this and be deemed to have rendered effective assistance. By
then, the New York Court of Appeals’ record of construing the
State constitutional right to counsel more broadly than this Court
had construed the Sixth Amendment right was legendary and a
matter of common knowledge to competent practitioners. See
People v. Bing, 76 N.Y.2d 331, 351, 559 N.Y.S.2d 474, 486
(1990) (op. of Kaye, J.) ("[o]ver the past several decades, this
court applying the New York State Constitution evolved a body of
law that ‘constitute[s] the strongest protection of the right to
counsel anywhere in the country.’").

Indeed, in this case, the District Attorney and the Appellate

'(...continued)
(Kimmelman rests on fundamental distinction between Fourth
Amendment which confers no trial right and Sixth Amendment,
which does).

8

Division both recognized that the right to counsel provision of
Article I, §6 of the New York Constitution was directly implicated.
Pet. App. 72a, 73a. The prosecutor raised and briefed the issue
fully and the Appellate Division conceded not only that
respondent’s State right to counsel had attached when respondent
confessed, but whether it had been violated was a "question of first
impression." Pet. App. 73a. Only respondent’s appellate counsel
failed to recognize the importance of the State Constitution. That
he continued to do so on respondent’s appeal to the Court of
Appeals and filed a brief that the court below found "was nearly
identical to the brief he submitted to the Appellate Division, and
contained no new information or arguments to refute the Appellate
Division decision," (Pet. App. 19a), is what rendered his
representation so egregious.”

Judge Newman errs (Pet. App. 31a, 32a) when he argues that
solely because the Appellate Division decided the State
constitutional claim adversely to respondent, respondent’s attorney
cannot be faulted for not raising it in the New York Court of
Appeals.

First, as Judge Newman recognized, this Court’s decision in
West v. American Tel. & Tel. Co., 311 U.S. 223 (1940), which
held that a state intermediate appellate court’s state law

The Court of Appeals brief was a virtual replica of counsel's
Appellate Division brief. It contained the same typographical errors
as did the Appellate Division brief and made inappropriate
references, such as referring to “this court" when citing to an
Appellate Division decision. All that differentiated the Court of
Appeals brief from the Appellate Division brief was the cover page.

A competent attorney would not submit to the State’s highest court
a brief which, in haec verba, replicates the losing brief in the lower
court. A competent attorney would not disregard the lower court's
favorable concession that the state constitutional right had attached,
especially when simultaneously, the court had held that the Sixth
Amendment right to counsel had not attached. A competent attorney
would not fail to make even the slightest reference to the
intermediate court's ruling. Respondent's counsel failed on each of
these counts.

ee

9

determinations are applicable in the same case and to the same
parties in federal court, “is not precisely applicable to a case such
as this where the question is whether appellate counsel was
constitutionally deficient in failing to seek reversal of the
intermediate court’s decision....". Pet. App. 32a, n.9.

Second, Judge Newman’s acknowledged "per se position" (id. )
is premised both on an erroneous assessment of the function of
appellate counsel and of the institutional role of the New York
Court of Appeals. To insist that an attorney can never be
constitutionally ineffective when for no strategic purpose he
abandons, on appeal to New York’s highest court, an issue that the
Appellate Division has denominated one of first impression,
deprecates the essence of appellate counsel’s role on such an
appeal. It is a perspective that overlooks entirely that the Appellate
Division’s decision, in the Court of Appeals’ judgment, may be
completely erroneous.

One need not catalogue the hundreds, perhaps thousands of
cases, in which the Court of Appeals has, over the years, reversed
Appellate Division rulings because they were based on misreadings
of New York law. The Court of Appeals sits, as does this Court,
to review in its discretion, cases that it considers to raise legal
issues of general importance. Foremost among such matters are,
by definition, “questions of first impression,” which affect the
interpretation of the State’s Constitution. The Appellate Division’s
interpretation of the Constitution, in the very case which the Court
of Appeals grants review, can never constitute the final word. That
is the institutional prerogative of the Court of Appeals.
Consequently, to argue as do petitioner and Judge Newman that, in
the presentation of a case to the Court of Appeals, defense counsel
always may ignore the issue of the correctness of the Appellate
Division’s ruling and never be deemed incompetent for doing so,
is illogical. It is precisely because the business of any State’s high
court is to correct intermediate appellate court error that counsel’s
abandonment of a meritorious claim cannot be deemed competent.
When no reason of strategy justifies its abandonment, counsel’s
obligation can be nothing less than to seek reversal of the
intermediate court’s ruling. Cf. Jones v. Barnes, 463 U.S. 745
(1983).

10

Moreover, contrary to Judge Newman’s view (Pet. App. 33a),
the role of a federal habeas court is not "broadened" when it
undertakes to determine the competence of counsel’s decision to
abandon, in the State’s highest court, a viable state constitutional
claim. That to assess the competence of counsel’s performance a
federal court may have to examine state law imposes no new task
on the court. As is true of any case in which the violation of any
federal constitutional right has, as its referent substantive state law,
a federal habeas court cannot avoid determining the meaning of
state law in this context as well. See, e.g., Bishop v. Wood, 426
U.S. 341 (1976). Indeed, unless the interpretation given state law
by the lower federal courts constitutes plain error, this Court will
defer to the lower federal courts because the “district courts and
courts of appeals are better schooled in and more able to interpret
the laws of their respective States." Planned Parenthood v. Casey,
112 S. Ct. 2791, 2822 (1992) (joint op.), quoting Frisby v. Schultz,
487 U.S. 474, 482 (1988).

In this regard, petitioner’s dual claims that (1) respondent’s
counsel was entitled to rely on the intervening Court of Appeals
decision in People v. Beam, 57 N.Y.2d 241, 455 N.Y.S.2d 575
(1982) (Pet. 15), and (2) that the State constitutional claim was not,
because of a procedural bar, raisable in the Court of Appeals (Pet.
16), also fail to enhance his quest for review.

Given this Court’s deference to interpretations of state law by
the lower federal courts, the interpretation given Beam by the
majority below, unless clearly erroneous, should be of little interest
to this Court. That it is not clearly erroneous is apparent from both
the majority’s analysis (Pet. App. 15a-17a), and Judge Newman's
acknowledgment that Beam "is arguably distinguishable, as the
majority in this case contends...." Pet. App. 31a.

The same standard of review applies to petitioner’s state law
procedural bar argument. The majority below interpreted New
York law and concluded that petitioner’s claim was “undermined
by the Appellate Division’s decision to reach the state issue and
respondent’s own brief which argued the merits of the state claim
before the Court of Appeals." Pet. App. 14a, n.7. It also
determined that the cases relied upon by petitioner were
"distinguishable from the case before the court as they do not

1]

involve claims that are strongly related and based on the same set
of facts." Id. Judge Newman, in dissent, also made no claim that
the majority’s understanding of New York law was erroneous. Pet.
App. 35a. As this Court does not concern itself, except in the
rarest instance, with issues of state law, petitioner’s disagreements
with the Second Circuit’s analysis of state law do not warrant the
Court’s attention.’

In sum, this case presents no issues worthy of review by the
Court. It involves nothing more than the factually driven issue of
whether the Sixth Amendment’s guarantee of the effective

It is worth noting, however, that the Second Circuit's
understanding of New York law is sound. In People v.
Santorelli, 80 N.Y.2d 875, 587 N.Y.S.2d 601 (1992), the
Court of Appeals rejected a prosecution claim virtually identical
to the one pressed here. There the defendant had prevailed at
the trial level on a free speech claim. On the prosecution's
appeal, the intermediate appellate court reversed, rejecting the
speech claim and also rejecting the defendant's equal protection
claim. On the defendant's appeal to the Court of Appeals, the
prosecution argued that, under N.Y. Crim. Proc. Law §470.35
(McKinney 1983), the defendant’s equal protection claim was
barred because the prosecution’s appeal was taken only from
the trial court’s free speech ruling. The Court of Appeals
rejected that argument because the equal protection claim "was
expressly passed upon by County Court, and its disposition of
that claim was a necessary basis for its order of reversal of the
Rochester City Court which had dismissed the informations."
Id. at 876.

As to petitioner’s speculation that the Court of Appeals’
disclaimer footnote (Pet. App. 57a), “may invoke the bar of
Crim. Proc. Law § 470.15, because defendant did not raise the
state constitution in the suppression court,” or in the Court of
Appeals (Pet. 19), it is answer enough that the Court of
Appeals has consistently held "that a claimed deprivation of the
State constitutional right to counsel may be raised on appeal,
notwithstanding that the issue was not preserved by having been
specifically raised in a suppression motion or at trial." People
v. Kinchen, 60 N.Y.2d 772, 773, 469 N.Y.S.2d 680, 681
(1983).

ee

12

assistance counsel was abridged. Its factual and procedural
uniqueness renders it an inappropriate vehicle for the articulation
by the Court of any significant principle of broad application.

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, the petition for a writ of certiorari should
be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM E. HELLERSTEIN*

PROSKAUER ROSE GOETZ &
MENDELSOHN

1585 Broadway

New York, N.Y. 10036

(212) 969-3000

Attorneys for Respondent

*Counsel of Record for Respondent

April 27, 1993

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_2271%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
