# Opposition Brief — Jones v. Clear Creek Independent School District

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_2254%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1993
- **Citation:** 508 U.S. 967

## Text

Suprema Court, us.
{ k i 2 1 1)

No. 92-1564 __MAY_. 17 1993

| OF i iE Uf 1 Hi

In The —— canaineanseeen

Supreme Court of the United States

- UCLOERK

>
October Term, 1992

MERRITT E. JONES, individually; PAMELA JONES, by Merritt
E. Jones, her father and next friend; JOHN DOE, individually;
JANE DOE, by John Doe, her father and next friend,

Petitioners,

CLEAR CREEK INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT,

Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of
Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

DAVID M. FELDMAN M. KARINNE McCULLOUGH
MYRA C. SCHEXNAYDER Counsel of Record
FELDMAN & ROSENBERG, L.L.P. GIESSEL, STONE, BARKER
12 Greenway Plaza, Suite 1202 & LYMAN
Houston, Texas 77046 2700 Two Houston Center
(713) 960-8300 909 Fannin Street
Houston, Texas 77010-1063
(713) 759-1990

Attorneys for Respondent

3686

Ln ellate (800) 3 APPEAL * (800) 5 APPEAL « (800) BRIEF 21
ervices, inc

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Whether the Establishment Clause prohibits a school district
from enacting a policy which permits student volunteers, at the
election of the student class (and not school officials), to deliver
nonsectarian, nonproselytizing benedictions at high school
graduation exercises?

ul

LIST OF PARTIES

Parties to the Proceedings Below:

(1)
(2)
(3)
(4)

(5)

Merritt E. Jones, Plaintiff-Appellant
Pamela Jones, Plaintiff-Appellant
John Doe, Plaintiff-Appellant

Jane Doe, Plaintiff-Appellant

Clear Creek Independent School District, Defendant-
Appellee

Amici Curiae in the Proceedings Below:

(1)
(2)
(3)
(4)
(5)
(6)
(7)
(8)

(9)

Aldine Independent School District

Alief Independent School District

Alvin Independent School District
Anahuac Independent School District
Brazosport Independent School District
Columbus Independent School District
Deer Park Independent School District

East Chambers Independent School District

Humble Independent School District

erential

(10)
(11)
(12)
(13)

(14)

il
Katy Independent School District
Klein Independent School District
Rice Consolidated Independent School District

Spring Independent School District

Waller Independent School District

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Question Presented for Review .................008.

a erreen ?. eo aus oa ea eek ce hea ee

Statement of Jurisdiction and Motionto Dismiss .......
ND oc one ne ccckae cabucuelussecens
ge dre
I. The Fifth Circuit’s decision is not in conflict with
this Court’s decision in Lee v. Weisman since the

cases are factually and, therefore, legally

ES PT TT Serr eee Terr

A. This Court’s Holding in Lee v. Weisman Is
Limited to the Facts of that Case. ..........

B. Jones Is Factually Distinguishable from Lee
rere Terr rr rer TT Pre

ear ee er oe

Page

ll

iV

10

Vy

Contents

Page
TABLE OF CITATIONS
| Cases Cited:

Jones v. Clear Creek Independent School District, 930 F.2d
ets catering og | OE OE ate ee aie 2

Jones v. Clear Creek Independent School District, 977 F.2d
PP SID ho kk os eas cua one e ecekn dev kuen. passim
Lee v. Weisman ,112 S. Ct. 2649(1992) ............... passim
Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S.602(1971) ............. G

APPENDIX

Appendix A — Appellants’ Petition for Rehearing En
Banc Dated December7,1992 ................... la
Appendix B — Per Curiam Opinion Denying Rehearing . 19a

Appendix C — Clear Creek Independent School District
en ee EET Cee PP ET eT ere eae ats 21a

No. 92-1564

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

ern
October Term, 1992
MERRITTE. JONES, individually; PAMELA JONES, by Merritt

E. Jones, her father and next friend; JOHN DOE, individually;
JANE DOE, by John Doe, her father and next friend,

Petitioners,

LAY

CLEAR CREEK INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT :
Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of
Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Respondent Clear Creek Independent School District
respectfully requests that the Petition for Writ of Certiorari filed by
Petitioners Merritt Jones, Pamela Jones, John Doe, and Jane Doe
(“Petitioners”) be dismissed on the grounds that it was untimely
filed. Alternatively, Respondent requests that the Petition be
denied since the Fifth Circuit’s opinion below is not in conflict

2

with this Court’s opinion in Lee v. Weisman, 112 S. Ct. 2649
(1992).

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION AND MOTION
TO DISMISS

The Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals rendered its initial opinion
in Jones v. Clear Creek Independent School District, 930 F.2d 416
(Sth Cir. 1991), on April 18, 1991, affirming the district court’s
order granting summary judgment in favor of Respondent Clear
Creek Independent School District. This Court subsequently
vacated the Fifth Circuit’s opinion and remanded the case for
consideration in light of Lee v. Weisman, 112S. Ct. 2649 (1992).

On November 24, 1992, the Court of Appeals for the Fifth
Circuit once again affirmed the district court’s judgment in favor of
Respondent. Jones v. Clear Creek Indep. Sch. Dist., 977 F.2d 963
(Sth Cir. 1992) (“Jones IT’). Thereafter, Petitioners filed a Petition
for Rehearing En Banc, requesting reconsideration of the panel
opinion by the full court. See Appendix A. The Court of Appeals
overruled the Petition for Rehearing En Banc on December 28,
1992. See Appendix B.

On March 25, 1993 — approximately 120 days after the Fifth
Circuit issued its opinion in Jones I] — Petitioners filed their
Petition for Writ of Certiorari seeking review of the Fifth Circuit's
opinion. Petitioners have taken the position that their Petition for
Rehearing En Banc constitutes a motion for panel rehearing for the
purpose of tolling the ninety days within which a party may file a
petition for writ of certiorari.' Supreme Court Rule 13.4, however,

1. Petitioners have taken this position regardless of the plain language
contained in their Petition for Rehearing En Banc wherein counsel for Petitioner
states that “consideration by the full court is necessary to secure and maintain
uniformity of decisions in this court.” See Appendix A at p. 4a.

3

expressly provides that “[a] suggestion . . . for rehearing en banc
... 1S not a petition for rehearing.” Thus, the Jones’ Petition for
Writ of Certiorari is untimely because it was filed more than ninety
days after the November 24, 1992, entry of the judgment that
Petitioners seek to have reviewed. Respondent respectfully moves,
therefore, for an order dismissing the Petition for Writ of Certiorari
because it is untimely. In the alternative, Respondent opposes a
grant of certiorari for the reasons set forth below.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner Merritt Jones is the father of Petitioner Pamela
Jones. Pamela is a 1987 graduate of Clear Lake High School.
Petitioner John Doe is the father of Petitioner Jane Doe. Jane is a
1988 graduate of Clear Lake High School. Clear Creek
Independent School District is a duly constituted body politic with
powers and jurisdiction pursuant to Texas law.

On May 11, 1987, Petitioners brought suit to enjoin
Respondent from allowing prayers to be delivered at its high
school graduation ceremonies. In particular, Petitioners
complained of the invocation and benediction presented during the
1986 Clear Lake High School graduation ceremonies.

Invocation
Lord,
Thank you for allowing us to obtain this

milestone in our lives. Help us always to
remember your great kindness and love

2. The parties dispute the exact wording of the invocation and
benediction. Respondent's version is based on a videotape of the ceremony
which was submitted as part of its summary judgment proof. The differences in
the two versions, however, are generally minor

4

whenever something great is accomplished in
our lives. Some say high school years are a very
painful, growing time. Undoubtedly, the many
defeats, the disappointments, and mishaps that
have occurred over the last four years would
suggest this and even back it up. Yet when we
take the time in the future to uncover our high
school years in the vaults of our memories, the
victories against all odds, the successes when
defeat was imminent, and the friendships that
will never, ever end will all shine through with
a brilliant radiance of happiness that will only
become more meaningful and beautiful as the
years pass us by. Thankfully, nothing short of
your awesome will and power will ever eclipse
these great visions and memories. It is these
unequivocal times that we are here to
commemorate this afternoon. [Sentence
unintelligible] Just bless and keep each of us
over the years, until someday we all meet
again. Amen.

Benediction

Let us pray.
Dear Lord,

As we emerge from a secluded high school
please inspire us to greater heights and greater
glories [unintelligible]. Instill in our spirit a
sense of decency and pride. Inspire us to face
all our challenges with confidence and turn
obstacles into stepping stones to success. Let
us look towards the future. Amen.

Ve

5

Petitioners have not complained of any invocations or
benedictions since those delivered at the 1986 graduation
ceremonies. In fact, Petitioners have admitted that both the
invocation and benediction delivered at the 1987 ceremony were
within constitutional parameters.

On December 15, 1987, Respondent adopted a resolution
(“the Resolution”), formalizing its previously unwritten policy
and practice, permitting the inclusion of invocations and
benedictions at high school graduation exercises. The Resolution
specifically provides that student volunteers may present
nonsectarian, nonproselytizing invocations and/or benedictions at
the discretion of the senior class.

On January 19, 1988, Respondent filed a Motion for Summary
Judgment based on case law and the Respondent’s Resolution. The
district court concluded that Petitioner’s suit no longer presented a
justiciable controversy and, further, that Respondent was entitled
to summary judgment as a matter of law.

REASON FOR DENYING THE WRIT
I,

THE FIFTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION IS NOT IN
CONFLICT WITH THIS COURT’S DECISION IN LEE V.
WEISMAN SINCE THE CASES ARE FACTUALLY AND,
THEREFORE, LEGALLY DISTINGUISHABLE.

Petitioners erroneously assert that “[t]his case raises the same
questions the Court answered in Lee v. Weisman” Petition at p.9
(citation omitted). There, according to Petitioners, this Court
concluded that “a religious exercise may not be conducted at a
graduation ceremony.” Petition at p. 9.

6

In fact, the Lee opinion does not announce a per se ban on the
inclusion of prayer in graduation exercises. Rather, this Court’s
opinion repeatedly emphasizes that the Establishment Clause
prohibits clergy-delivered prayer that is initiated and directed by
the state. Since the Resolution at issue before this Cc’:;* does not
provide for state-initiated or state-directed prayer of any sort, the
Fifth Circuit’s analysis was not constrained by the Lee holding and,
thus, the decision in Jones I] does not conflict with Lee.

A. This Court’s Holding in Lee v. Weisman Is Limited to the
Facts of that Case.

Contrary to what Petitioners suggest, Lee v. Weisman, 112 S.
Ct. 2649 (1992), does not announce an inflexible prohibition on all
religious expression in school-related activities. In the Lee
opinion, this Court emphasized that Establishment Clause
jurisprudence is an area of “line drawing, of determining at what
point a dissenter’s rights of religious freedom are infringed by the
State.” Jd. at 2661. Indeed, this Court expressly stated that its
holding should be limited to the particular facts set forth in Lee:

We do not hold that every state action
implicating religion is invalid if one or a few
citizens find it offensive. People may take
offense at all manner of religious as well as
unreligious messages, but offense alone does
not in every case show a violation. We know,
too, that sometimes to endure social isolation
or even anger may be the price of conscience or
conformity. But, by any reading of our cases,
the conformity required of the student in this
case was too high an exaction to withstand the
test of the Establishment Clause. The prayer
exercises in this case are especially improper
because the State has in every practical sense
compelled attendance and participation in an

=

7

explicit religious exercise at an event of
singular importance to every student, one the
objecting student had no real alternative to
avoid.

Id. at 2661 (emphasis added).

Invocations and benedictions delivered at school-related
activities and ceremonies are not — as Petitioners contend —
inherently unconstitutional. Rather, the Lee opinion clarifies that it
was the significant degree of “state involvement” in the
preparation and delivery of the benediction and invocation that
rendered that particular prayer unconstitutional.

Aschool official, the principal, decided that an
invocation and benediction should be given;
this is a choice attributable to the State, and
from a constitutional perspective it is as if a
Statute decreed that the prayer must occur. The
principal chose the religious participant, here a
rabbi, and that choice is also attributable to the
State.

The State’s role did not end with the decision to
include a prayer and with the choice of
clergyman. [The principal] provided [the
rabbi] with a copy of. . . [a pamphlet prepared
by the National Conference of Christians and
Jews entitled) “Guidelines for Civic
Occasions,” and advised him that his prayers
should be nonsectarian. Through these means
the principal directed and controlled the
content of the prayer.

Id. at 2655-56. From those facts, this Court concluded that the

“degree of school involvement. . . made it clear that the graduation
prayers bore the imprint of the State and thus put school-age
children who objected in an untenable position.” /d. at 2657.

B. Jones Is Factually Distinguishable from Lee v. Weisman.

Petitioners erroneously maintain that Respondent’s
Resolution “is not materially different from Providence’s
prohibited policy.” Petition at p. 10. Notwithstanding Petitioners’
characterization of the facts and Resolution at issue here, Lee is
distinguishable in at least four very important respects.

First, unlike the prayers at issue in Lee, the benedictions and
invocations delivered at Clear Creek Independent School District
(“CCISD”) high school graduation ceremonies are student
generated, rather than the product of significant state involvement.
The CCISD Resolution expressly provides that the use of an
invocation and/or benediction at high school graduation exercises
“shall rest within the discretion of the graduating senior class... .”
See Appendix C. Second, the CCISD Resolution provides that the
invocation and benediction, if used, shall be written and delivered
by a student volunteer, as opposed to a member of the clergy. /d.
Student volunteers, unlike members of the clergy, are not clothed
with the indicia of religion.

Third, the students who participate in CCISD graduation
exercises are high school seniors, normally eighteen years of age
and adults in the eyes of the law, whereas the students who attended
the promotion exercises in Lee were adolescents, primarily
fourteen years old.’ Fourth, CCISD high school graduation

3. While this Court addressed both middle school and high school
graduations, the evidence presented in Lee primarily pertained to middle school
“promotional exercises.” In fact, this Court took special note of the distinction
between “mature adults” and “primary and secondary school children. . . [who]
are often susceptible to pressure from their peers towards conformity.” Lee, 112
S. Ct. at 2658-59.

9

ceremonies are traditionally conducted off campus. The promotion
exercises in Lee, on the other hand, were conducted on school
premises.

Petitioners argue in their Petition (as they did in the court
below) that the above-referenced factors do not set this case apart
from Lee. If anything, Petitioners argue, the CCISD Resolution is
“more likely to be perceived as constituting a governmental
endorsement of religion” than the policy and practice at issue in
Lee. Petition at p. 17. Petitioners’ position, however, completely
ignores the thrust of this Court’s opinion. The gravamen of the Lee
opinion is the prohibition of state involvement in religious
exercises. Nowhere in the opinion does the Court even begin to
address prayer which is prepared and delivered outside the aegis of
the state. In fact, a careful review shows that this Court took great
pains to narrowly tailor the question presented in Lee, i.e.,
“whether including clerical members who offer prayers as part of
the official school graduation ceremony is consistent with the
Religion Clauses of the First Amendment?” Lee, 112 S. Ct. at 2652.
Likewise, the Court took great pains to narrowly tailor the reach of
its holding: “These dominant facts mark and control the confines of
our decision: State officials direct the performance of a formal
religious exercise at promotional and graduation ceremonies for
secondary schools.” /d. at 2655 (emphasis added).

In light of the factual distinctions addressed above, Jones I]
and Lee are not in conflict and, thus, the Petition for Writ of
Certiorari should be denied.‘

4. Although they have not couched the issue as an independent ground for
granting review, Petitioners have, nevertheless, taken the Fifth Circuit to task for
applying the so-called “endorsement” and “coercion” methods of analysis, in
addition to the traditional three-part test set forth in Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S.
602 (1971). See, e.g., Petition at p. 12. The Fifth Circuit's reference to alternate
methods of analyzing Petitioners’ Establishment Clause claims does not,
however, justify Supreme Court review. The only issue here is whether the Fifth
Circuit's decision is in conflict with Lee.

10
CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, Respondent respectfully
requests that the Petition for Writ of Certiorari should be dismissed
for want of jurisdiction or, alternatively, denied.

Respectfully submitted,

M. KARINNE McCULLOUGH
Counsel of Record

GIESSEL, STONE, BARKER
& LYMAN

2700 Two Houston Center

909 Fannin Street

Houston, Texas 77010-1063
(713) 759-1990

DAVID M. FELDMAN

MYRAC. SCHEXNAYDER
FELDMAN & ROSENBERG, L.L.P.
12 Greenway Plaza, Suite 1202
Houston, Texas 77046

(713) 960-8300

Attorneys for Respondent

la

APPENDIX A — APPELLANTS’ PETITION FOR
REHEARING EN BANC DATED DECEMBER 7, 1992

CERTIFICATE OF INTERESTED PERSONS

The undersigned counsel hereby certifies that the following
list of persons has an interest in the outcome of this case:

A. Plaintiffs below and appellants here are:

Merritt E. Jones
Pamela Jones
John Doe

Jane Doe

B. Defendant below and appellee here is:
Clear Creek ISD'

nd Amici Curiae in support of appellee (upon remand from
the Supreme Court) are:

Aldine ISD

Alief ISD

Alvin ISD

Anahuac ISD

Brazosport ISD

Columbus ISD

Deer Park ISD

East Chambers County Consolidated ISD
Humble ISD

1 “ISD” is used throughout this pleading as an abbreviation for “Independent
School District.” All of the school districts listed in this certificate of interested
persons are Texas school districts located in the Southern District of Texas.

$$$

2a

Appendix A
Katy ISD
Klein ISD
Rice Consolidated ISD
Spring ISD
Waller ISD
D. The following attorneys represent the parties and amici.

1. Appellants’ attorneys:

Bruce V. Griffiths, 1019 Congress, Suite 1550,
Houston, Texas 77002-1702;

Mitchell A. Seider, 3700 First City Tower, Houston,
Texas 77002.

2. Appellee’s attorneys:
M. Karinne McCullough, GIESSEL, STONE,

BARKER & LYMAN, 909 Fannin, Suite 2700,
Houston, Texas.

3. Attorneys for Amici Curiae:

David M. Feldman, VINSON & ELKINS, 2837 First
City Tower, Houston, Texas 77002-6760;

Myra C. Schexnayder, VINSON & ELKINS, 2837
First City Tower, Houston, Texas 77002-6760;

Kelly Frels, BRACEWELL & PATTERSON, 2900
South Tower Pennzoil Place, Houston, Texas 77002;

3a
Appendix A

John David Thompson, BRACEWELL &
PATTERSON, 2900 South Tower
Pennzoil Place, Houston, Texas 77002;

Janet L. Horton, BRACEWELL &
PATTERSON, 2900 South Tower
Pennzoil Place, Houston, Texas 77002.

/S/
Bruce V. Griffiths

4a

Appendix A

STATEMENT OF COUNSEL

I express a belief, based on a reasoned and studied
professional judgment, that the panel decision is contrary to the
following decision of the Supreme Court of the United States, and
that consideration by the full court is necessary to secure and
maintain uniformity of decisions of this Court:

Lee v. Weisman, 112 S.Ct. 2649 (1992).

I express a belief, based on a reasoned and studied
professional judgment that this appeal involves one or more
questions of exceptional importance:

1. Does the fact that a prayer included in the
program at a public high school graduation
ceremony is delivered by a graduating senior
rather than a clergyman take the practice
outside the holding of Lee v. Weisman, 112
S.Ct. 2649 (1992), that such prayers violate the
Establishment Clause of the First Amendment?

2. May the Court of Appeals affirm a summary
judgment that was granted three years before
the Supeme Court announced the applicable
legal standard without allowing the party
against whom summary judgment was granted
the opportunity to produce evidence relevant to
the new standard?

/S/

Bruce V. Griffiths
Attomey of Record for Appellants

Sa

Appendix A

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Statement of Interested Persons
Statement of Counsel
Table of Contents
Table of Authorities
Statement of the Issues
Statement of the Case
i. Course of Proceedings
li. Statement of Facts

Argument and Authorities

I. THE RULE OF LEE V. WEISMAN
PROHIBITS THE INCLUSION OF PRAYERS
IN PUBLIC HIGH SCHOOL GRADUATION
CEREMONIES EVEN IF THE PRAYERS ARE
DELIVERED BY GRADUATING SENIORS

RATHER THAN CLERGY

Il. THE SUPREME COURT’S DECISION IN
LEE V. WEISMAN REQUIRES, AT LEAST,
THAT THIS CASE BE REMANDED TO THE
DISTRICT COURT SO THAT THE COURT

nw

6a

Appendix A
Page
MAY APPLY THE FACTS OF THIS CASE TO
THE NEWLY ANNOUNCED - LEGAL
STANDARD 1]

Conclusion

Certificate of Service 3

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

[OMITTED]

«4

Ja
STATEMENT OF THE ISSUES

‘ THE RULE OF LEE V. WEISMAN PROHIBITS THE
INCLUSION OF PRAYERS IN PUBLIC HIGH
SCHOOL GRADUATION CEREMONIES EVEN IF
THE PRAYERS ARE DELIVERED BY
GRADUATING SENIORS RATHER’ THAN
CLERGYMEN.

Il. THE SUPREME COURT’S DECISION IN LEE V.
WEISMAN REQUIRES, AT LEAST, THAT THIS
CASE BE REMANDED TO THE DISTRICT COURT
SO THAT THE COURT MAY APPLY THE FACTS OF
THIS CASE TO THE NEWLY ANNOUNCED LEGAL
STANDARD.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

i. Statement of the Course of proceedings and disposition of
the case.

This case arises out a lawsuit filed in the spring of 1987 by
Merritt Jones and his daughter, Pamela Jones, then a senior at
Clear Lake High School, a public high school near Houston,
Texas. The Joneses? objected to and sought to enjoin the Clear
Creek Independent School District’s practice of having members
of the graduating class deliver prayers at the high school’s
graduation ceremony. Approximately six weeks before the case
was to be tried, the defendant school district adopted a formal
resolution governing invocations at its graduation exercises, and, a
few weeks later, moved for summary judgment on the basis that its

2. The Joneses were, during the pendency of the action, joined by another
father and daughter who proceeded under the pseudonym of “John Doe” and Jane
Doe.” All four plaintiffs are hereafter referred to as “Jones.”

8a

Appendix A

policy, as set out in the school district resolution, was
constitutional. The trial court canceled fhe trial setting and, 16
months later, granted the summary judgment for the school
district.

Jones appealed and this Court affirmed, Jones v. Clear Creek
1.S.D., 930 F.2d 416 (Sth Cir. 1991). Jones’ suggestion for
rehearing was denied and the plaintiffs applied to the United States
Supreme Court for writ of certiorari. On June 29, 1992, the
Supreme Court entered a brief order granting Jones’ petition,
vacating the judgment of this Court, and remanding for
consideration in light of Lee v. Weisman, 112 S.Ct. 2649 (1992),
which had been decided five daysearlier.

On November 24, 1992, a panel of this Court issued an
opinion, distinguishing the facts of this case from those of Lee and
again upholding the judgment of the district court. In response to
that decision, Jones files this petition for rehearing en banc.

ii. Statement of the Facts

For many years, it has been the practice at Clear Lake High
School’ for the high school graduation ceremony to include public
prayers (“invocations” and “benedictions”) delivered by members
of the senior class. In 1986, Merritt Jones learned of this practice
while attending the graduation exercise for his son. The following
year, the year of his daughter Pamela’s graduation, Jones contacted
school officials and requested that the 1987 ceremonies not include
prayers on the grounds that such religious activities by a public
school district had the effect of endorsing religion and thus

3. Clear Lake High School is one of two high schools operated by appellee
Clear Creek ISD.

9a
. Appendix A

violated the Establishment Clause of the First Amendment. When
school officials refused to modify their policy, Merritt and‘Pamela
Jones brought this action, seeking a temporary injunction barring
the district from including prayers in the 1987 graduation
ceremony. Jones withdrew his request for a preliminary injunction
when the district agreed to include in the 1987 ceremonies an
“invocation” which included none of the traditional attributes of a
prayer, i.e., it did not address a deity, it did not invoke the name of
God, Jesus, or any other religious figure, and it did not close with
“amen” or any similar phrase. According to his affidavit in
opposition to Clear Creek’s motion for summary judgment, Jones
agreed to the inclusion of this invocation in the 1987 ceremony not
because the invocation was “non-denominational,” but because
the invocation was not, by his lights, a prayer at all. (R.181).

Pre-trial discovery showed that the program of Clear Lake
High School had traditionally been established by an ad hoc
committee of senior class officers and academic honorees
(valedictorians), subject to the approval of the senior class
principal (a school district administrator). (R.21-25) It also
showed that the graduation ceremonies were clearly official school
events sponsored and paid for by the school district. District
administrators annually issued detailed directives to students and
parents, setting out rules of dress and deportment for these
ceremonies. (R.207-210).. The 1987 directive stated, “The
commencement is a scheduled school activity, and school
regulations shall be enforced.” (R.207). There is absolutely no
evidence in the record that the Clear Lake High School graduation
ceremony has been or has been perceived as being a public forum
in which all comers can have access to the program to speak their
minds. Rather, it is clearly a school event, sponsored by the school
district and subject to its control, at which a small group of
officially recognized representatives of the senior class are entitled
to speak.

10a

Appendix A

On December 15, 1987, a few weeks before this case was set to
be tried, the Clear Creek ISD school board adopted a resolution
which, for the first time, enacted a written policy concerning
graduation prayers. Its operative clauses read as follows:

1. The use of an invocation and/or
benediction at high school graduation exercise
shall rest within the discretion of the
graduating senior class, with the advice and
counsel of the senior class principal;

2. The invocation and benediction, if used,
shall be given by a student volunteer; and

3. Consistent with the principle of equal
liberty of conscience, the invocation and
benediction shall be nonsectarian and
nonproselytizing in nature.

(R.234).

Three weeks before the scheduled trial date, Clear Creek filed
a motion for summary judgment with a copy of the resolution
attached as the only exhibit. Jones opposed the summary judgment
and sought a continuance so that he could do additional discovery
on the issue of how this policy would actually be applied. (R.212-
225). The question of the application of the policy was particularly
problematic because the “whereas clauses” of the resolution
suggested that the written policy was a codification of previous
practice, while other evidence showed that in prior years the
district had made no effort to enforce a requirement that the
graduation prayers be nonsectarian. (R.180-183, 188-204, 21-25).
The district court denied the opportunity to do additional discovery
and granted the district’s motion for summary judgment.

lla
Appendix A
ARGUMENTS AND AUTHORITIES

THE RULE OF LEE V. WEISMAN PROHIBITS THE
INCLUSION OF PRAYERS IN PUBLIC HIGH
SCHOOL GRADUATION CEREMONIES EVEN IF
THE PRAYERS ARE DELIVERED BY
GRADUATING SENIORS RATHER’ THAN
CLERGYMEN.

The district court, in its memorandum opinion granting the

defendant’s motion for summary judgment, acknowledged that the
Supreme Court “has traditionally been highly protective of
primary and secondary school students in barring patently
religious activities . . .”. (R.127) It distinguished the Clear Lake
High School graduation exercises from these “protective” cases on
seven grounds (R.128):

(1) Theceremonies were not held on the school campus;
(2) The prayers were very brief;
(3) They were only held once a year;

(4) The audience is older than the usual student body,

consisting primarily of graduating seniors and their
parents;

(5) The school district policy requires that prayers be

nonsectarian;

(6) The prayer is delivered by a student volunteer; and

(7) Attendance at the high school graduation ceremony is

not mandatory.

12a
Appendix A

In Lee v. Weisman, 112 S.Ct. 2649 (1992), the Supreme Court,
in holding a graduation prayer to be a violation of the
Establishment Clause, expressly considered and rejected as
important distinctions all but two of the factors listed in the district
court’s opinion. Specifically, the facts at bar differ from those in
Lee in that the graduation in Lee took place on the school campus
and that the prayers in question were delivered by a student rather
than aclergyman.

On remand, the panel opinion of the Court of Appeals, while
purporting to engage in a complex analysis of the rule of Lee, in
fact seriously misreads that opinion and holds, essentially, that this
case is different from Lee because students rather than a rabbi lead
the prayers.‘

Lee v. Weisman is only the latest Supreme Court decision
holding that religious observances in public primary and
secondary schools are particularly likely to run afoul of the
Establishment Clause because the fact that school authorities
exercise such extensive control over school activities means that
religious activities in the public schools are highly likely to be
perceived as being endorsed by school officials. In a recent, post-
Lee, opinion, the Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit recognized
the same point:

Schools are not traditional public fora, and

4. The panel opinion also argues that student attendance was somehow more
“coerced” in Lee than in Jones. (Slip Op. p.1022) This argument is difficult to
understand because this Court's opinion in Lee holds that the fact that a student who
objects to prayer at his graduation is put to the choice of listening to the prayer or not
attending his high school graudation makes attendance mandatory, at least for
purposes of determining the constitutionality of graduation prayers. Pamela Jones
and Jane Doe, the graduating seniors in this case were put to exactly the same choice.
There is no distinction between the two set of facts.

13a

Appendix A

governments have much broader power over
student speech than other types of private
speech. “A school need not tolerate student
speech that is inconsistent with its ‘basic
educational mission,” even though the
government could not censor similar speech
outside the school.” Hazelwood Sch. Dist. v.
Kuhlmeier, 484 U.S. 260, 266, 108 S. Ct. 562,
567, 98 L. Ed. 2d 592 (1988) (citation omitted).
Moreover, “the Court has been particularly
vigilant in monitoring compliance with the
Establishment Clause in elementary and
secondary schools. ... Students in such
institutions are impressionable and _ their
attendance is involuntary.” Edwards y.
Aguillard, 482 U.S. 578, 583-84, 107 S. Ct.
2573, 2577, 96 L. Ed. 2d 510 (1987). “The
Supreme Court has emphasized that the
avoidance of religious divisiveness is nowhere
more important than in public education, for
‘the government’s activities in this area can
have a magnified impact on impressionable
young minds... .’ ” Mozert v. Hawkins County
Bd. of Educ., 827 F.2d 1058, 1072 (6th Cir.
1987) (Kennedy, J., concurring) (quoting
School Dist. of Grand Rapids v. Ball, 473 U.S.
373, 383, 105 S. Ct. 3216, 3222, 87 L. Ed. 2d
267 (1985)), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 1066, 108
S. Ct. 1029 (1988). See also Lee v. Weisman,
120 L. Ed. 2d 467, 112 S. Ct. 2649, 2658 (1992)
(“There are heightened concerns. with
protecting freedom of conscience from subtle
coercive pressure in the elementary and
secondary public schools.”’)

l4a

Appendix A

Americans United for Separation of Church and State v. City of
Grand Rapids, 1992 U.S.App. LEXIS 29934, p. 25 (6th Cir.
November 16, 1992).

Because of the extent to which school officials may and, in
fact, do control student speech in the course of school activities,
Hazelwood School District, supra, a student leading a public
prayer in the course of a high school graduation ceremony is more
likely to be perceived as representing the governmental
endorsement of religion than an outside clergyman who is not
subject to control by school officials. In the primary and secondary
school context, religious activities as part of an official school
activity will almost always be endorsements of religion because
schools are not traditional fora for free speech and students are not,
therefore, inclined to distinguish between messages compelled by
school authorities and ones merely permitted by them.

Indeed, the only Supreme Court case approving religious
activities in the context of the public schools, Westside Community
Schools v. Mergens, 110 S.Ct. 2356 (1990), rests its analysis
largely on the fact that the religious clubs whose recognition it
compelled were wholly student initiated and run, met outside
normal school hours, were not led or sponsored by school officials,
and were organized in schools which already recognized other
non-curricular clubs. Clear Lake High School’s graduation
ceremony, like that in Lee and most public school graduation
exercises, are clearly full-blown school functions that cannot be
mistaken for a private student club, or an open forum. Lundberg v.
West Monona Community School Dist., 731 F-Supp. 331 (W.D.la.
1989).

Neither would it be particularly significant, if it were true’,

5. As the panel notes, at page 1021 of the slip opinion, the record does not
(Cont'd)

1Sa

Appendix A

that the senior class voted to have prayers in the graduation
program. Any prayer included as part of the program of the official,
governmentally sponsored and controlled graduation ceremony
will be perceived by a reasonable observer as a governmental
endorsement of religion and will therefore be unconstitutional.
That conclusion is not changed by the fact that the school board
has, at least formally, delegated its authority to decide what will be
in the program to the senior class “with the advise and counsel of
the senior class principal.” It would require an abandonment of
district control over the ceremony much greater than is indicated
in this record before a reasonable observer could perceive these
prayers as private and unofficial.

The fact that the Lee holding would not be different if the
prayer had been led by a student instead of clergyman is
additionally demonstrated by the Supreme Court’s treatment of the
Sixth Circuit’s opinion in Stein v. Plainwell Community Schools,
822 F.2d 1406 (6th Cir. 1987), acase upholding graduation prayers
delivered by a student volunteer. Both the majority and the dissent
in the First Circuit’s opinion in Weisman v. Lee, 908 F.2d 1090 (1st
Cir. 1990) perceived Stein and Weisman as inconsistent, the
Supreme Court apparently agreed and granted certiorari to resolve
the conflict. Lee, supra, at 2655. Had the student prayer leader
been enough to save graduation prayer, it seems likely that the
Court would have explicitly distinguished Stein on that ground.

At the time of the original decision of this case, many

(Cont'd)

indicate how the “graduating senior class exercises its “discretion” to decide whether
or not to have prayers in the graduation ceremony. In light of the fact that the school
board resolution purports to be a codification of prior practice, it seems likely that the
class does not vote, but that the class officers and valedictorians make the decision
informally in consultation with the senior class principal.

16a

Appendix A

observers anticipated that the Supreme Court would use Lee v.
Weisman to repudiate the past thirty years of Establishment Clause
jurisprudence. In fact, the Court used Lee to reaffirm its precedents
and to hold that graduation prayers were unconstitutional. This
Court is compelled by stare decisis to follow the holding of the
Supreme Court and reverse the judgment of the district court.

Il. THE SUPREME COURT’S DECISION IN LEE V.
WEISMAN REQUIRES, AT LEAST, THAT THIS
CASE BE REMANDED TO THE DISTRICT COURT
SO THAT THE COURT MAY APPLY THE FACTS OF
THIS CASE TO THE NEWLY ANNOUNCED LEGAL
STANDARD.

In his original brief on appeal, Jones argued that the district
court had erred in granting defendant’s motion for summary
judgment because he had been denied an opportunity to develop
important factual issues when the court granted summary
judgment based on the school district’s eleventh hour adoption of a
formal policy. Jones has always contended that there were material
factual disputes which were relevant to the decision of this case
and which precluded summary judgment. This argument is even
stronger in the current posture of the case.

The panel opinion distinguishes this case from Lee on its facts,
yet, not surprising, the facts in a five-year old summary judgment
record that was created years before the applicable legal standard
for graduation prayers was announced by the Supreme Court are
somewhat sparse. The panel decided, in essence, that the
involvement of the “senior class” in the decision to have prayers at
graduation distinguishes this case from Lee, yet it admits that it
does not know from the record how the senior class makes this
decision. Assuming arguendo that some level of student decision-

17a
Appendix A

making could distinguish this case from Lee, it might make a
difference to the outcome of the case if during the five years since
the adoption of the Resolution the decision to pray or not to pray
(and who would conduct the prayer) has been made by school
administrators in consultation with a small group of seniors (as had
been done previously), as opposed to the decision being made in a
democratic fashion. That fact is not in the record because at the
time appellee moved for summary judgment the Resolution had
never been carried out. Five Clear Lake High School graduations
have taken place since the district filed its motion for summary
judgment, and evidence as to how the Resolution works in practice
is highly relevant to a just and legal resolution of this matter. The
panel opinion based its decision on imagined facts when the actual
facts are available on remand.

The panel opinion reveals another inappropriate reason for
refusing to remand the case for a trial. In footnote 10 of the opinion,
the Court states “We understand our present task to be limited to
determination of the Resolution’s facial constitutionality ...”.
This understanding is mistaken. This lawsuit was not filed as a
challenge to the facial constitutionality of the Resolution; it was
and is an attack on the district’s practice of permitting prayers
during its graduation ceremony. Months after plaintiffs sued them,
Clear Creek adopted the Resolution as a defense to the lawsuit and
asserted its facial constitutionality as its sole grounds for summary
judgment. Plaintiffs have always sought and continue to seek the
opportunity to try their case and to prove that defendant’s practice
is violative of the Establishment Clause, whatever its formal policy
may say.

18a

Appendix A
CONCLUSION

Jones respectfully prays that the Court of Appeals, for the
reasons set forth in this petition grant a rehearing en banc, and upon
said hearing, reverse the judgment below and remand for trial.

Respectfully submitted,

/S/

Bruce V. Griffiths

1109 Congress, Suite 1150
Houston, Texas 77002-1702
Telephone: (713) 223-5817
Facsimile: (713) 223-5821

Mitchell A. Seider

3700 First City Tower
Houston, Texas 77002

(713) 658-8881

ATTORNEYS FOR
PLAINTIFFS-APPELLANTS

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, Bruce V. Griffiths, hereby certify that I have served true
copies of the foregoing petition for rehearing en banc on counsel of
record by mailing same this seventh day of December, 1992.

/S/
Bruce V. Griffiths

19a

APPENDIX B — PER CURIAM OPINION DENYING
REHEARING

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 89-2638

MERRITT E. JONES, on his behalf and as next friend of
PAMELA JONES, achild, ETAL.,
Plaintiffs-Appellants,
versus
CLEAR CREEK INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT,
Defendant-Appellee.
Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Texas

ON SUGGESTION FOR REHEARING EN BANC

(OPINION NOVEMBER 24, 19925CIR.,19__, F.2d )
(December 28, 1992)

Before REAVLEY, GARWOOD and BARKSDALE, Circuit
Judges.

PER CURIAM:

(X) Treating the suggestion for rehearing en banc as a petition for
panel rehearing, it is ordered that the petition for panel rehearing is
DENIED. No member of the panel nor Judge in regular active
service of this Court having requested that the Court be polled on

20a
Appendix B

rehearing en banc (Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure and Local
Rule 35), the suggestion for Rehearing En Banc is DENIED.

() Treating the suggestion for rehearing en banc as a petition for
panel rehearing, the petition for panel rehearing is DENIED. The
judges in regular active service of this Court having been polled at
the request of one of said judges and a majority of said judges not
having voted in favor of it (Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure
and Local Rule 35), the suggestion for Rehearing En Banc is
DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

/S/

United States Circuit Judge

Judge KING and Judge DeMOSS did not participate in the
consideration of the suggestion for rehearing en banc.

2la

APPENDIX C — CLEAR CREEK INDEPENDENT
SCHOOL DISTRICT RESOLUTION

RESOLUTION

STATE OF TEXAS §
§

COUNTY OF GALVESTON §

WHEREAS, invocations and benedictions have been a
ceremonial tradition at graduation exercises in this District since
its inception, and at public school commencements, generally,
since the beginning of public schools in this country; and

WHEREAS, invocations and benedictions at graduation
exercises serve to solemnize the occasion, expressing confidence
in the future, and encouraging recognition of what is worthy in our
society; and

WHEREAS, a controversy now exists regarding the use of
invocations and benedictions at high school graduation
ceremonies and the practice of this District in connection
therewith; and

WHEREAS, to the extent there may be any
misunderstanding, it is in the best interests of the students, their
parents and the District, for this Board to make the practice of the
District clearly and expressly known;

NOW, THEREFORE, be it resolved by the Board of Trustees
of Clear Creek Independent School District that:

1. The use of an invocation and/or benediction at high school
graduation exercises shall rest within the discretion of the
graduating senior class, with the advice and counsel of the senior
class principal;

22a

Appendix C

2. The invocation and benediction, if used, shall be given by a
student volunteer; and,

3. Consistent with the principle of equal liberty of
conscience, the invocation and benediction shall be nonsectarian

and nonproselytizing in nature.

PASSED, APPROVED, AND ADOPTED this 15th day of
December, 1987.

/s/
President, Board of Trustees

ATTEST:

/s/
Secretary, Board of Trustees

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386011_2254%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
